About lolita: vinoteca+asador

90 Congress Street
Portland, ME 04101
View Larger Map

Lolita is a modern American restaurant that embraces the flavors, traditions and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine. Enter and be greeted by the warmth of the custom wood-fired grill, traditional hand-operated equipment, and rustic walls adorned with our thoughtfully curated wine collection. Reminiscent of an Old World bodega, neighbors and visitors alike gather throughout the day to share wine, small or large dishes, and a lot of congenial conversation.



Sit at the zinc bar, or cozy banquette, and savor an espresso from our vintage machine; linger over a leisurely lunch, or stay into the evening to sample our extensive menu which showcases the freshest ingredients. You can also enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail or explore our wine selection, with over 75 choices by the bottle and 15 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Brunch & Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner: Every day: 3:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 775-5652

Website:
http://www.lolita-portland.com/

Parking Details:
On-street parking is readily available in the neighborhood.

Executive Chef:
Guy Hernandez

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • lolita: vinoteca+asador
lolita: vinoteca+asador

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

lolita: vinoteca+asador Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Boston / New England
Best Food
Maine
Best Service
Maine
3 More
Best Value
Maine
Neighborhood Gem
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Hot Spot (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and wonderful service.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers were the best part of the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

The appetizers were the best part of the meal: Chicken Liver Pate was creamy and super tasty. All the entrees were just "meh": and while some were supposed to be served room temperature (brisket), most of them came out room temperature.

They forgot to put in the order for one entree (mine, with an allergy alert), and didn't realize it until all other entrees were up and served. I sat at the table while everyone ate around me, since I couldn't taste many of the other dishes because of allergies (the server did tell me one dish that I could taste from). They offered to get me more bread to tide me over, I declined as I didn't want to fill up and not be able to eat my dinner. At that point, they didn't offer any other compensation (i.e., discount/free desert; glass of wine).

Server was kind; but overall---none of us were wowed by the food enough to come back or recommend to others.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good food, very eclectic and somewh ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very good food, very eclectic and somewhat limited if you are a very fussy eater.

We really liked the neighborhood feel

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Lolita and they even provided gl ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love Lolita and they even provided gluten free crackers to go with my meal. Gluten free bread would have been even better so maybe this is something they will consider in the future. Many restaurants are realizing that some of their guests prefer gluten free whether sensitive or not. Lovely wine list and wonderfully prepared dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to go to Lolitas and had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were excited to go to Lolitas and had heard great things but were extremely disappointed with the overall experience. It's far away from anything going on and in the middle of a neighborhood. Imagine next to a small grocery store and huge trash cans outside (in case you're considering patio seating). We heard they were a tapas restaurant so we planned to stay there a while and order progressively. We initially ordered two drinks and two small plates, (which ended up being over $60). Our server assumed that was all we were planning to order and even asked "that's it?". From that point on she seemed annoyed. Never refilled our waters and did not come over to ask how our food was. We would have ordered more because the food was good, but we had the feeling we were not welcome. We were also one of two tables in the restaurant so service should have been fantastic! Very disappointing and would never go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I have celiac disease and thought the fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have celiac disease and thought the food selection for those of us with this auto-immune disease was only fair. I would be inclined to give it another try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time great food - especia ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time great food - especially the short rib (Asado) of the day, salad and bread with amazing hummus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down, one of the all time great br ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hands down, one of the all time great breakfast plates (brunch plate) served to me. Certainly top five of over 20,000 in my lifetime. Food - delicious. Presentation - equal and served at perfect temp. And the staff was professional, no attitude, attentive, friendly (but not trying to be your best friend for an hour).... Just can't say enough. Except go.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lolita is one of our favorites, since we ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lolita is one of our favorites, since we found Bar Lola! The staff is always knowledgeable and fun, the food is always superb! The gazpacho and heirloom tomato salad were outstanding to start, so different and flavorful that we wanted to order more. If you order the clams, be sure to ask for their wonderful bread to soak up the broth. The Asado with skordalia and black olive vinaigrette was amazing: delicious and tender.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This cute little restaurant in the cente ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This cute little restaurant in the center of the hipster hood of Portland had a great cocktail and wine selection and terrific small plate options, such as pickled mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our meal was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our meal was delicious. The service was a bit off. While our waitress was quite pleasant she seemed distracted and not very attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

First visit based on open table and othe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

First visit based on open table and other reviews. An unexpected find in an off the beaten track location in Portland. Although the menu is somewhat limited, all four of us found something to like. The appetizers were great and worthy of sharing. The menu lets you choose among different size plates. I had the wood roasted clams in a delicious broth. Others had pastas and a meatball dish. Everything was very tasty and the service was attentive and excellent. It is a bit of quirkly place and quite small but I would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had really enjoyable dinners at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have had really enjoyable dinners at Lolita previously, but this meal was a disaster. We waited a very long time for everything. You know when you are eyeing the water on the table next to you and trying to figure out if you can ask them to share...it was that kind of experience. After an hour and 45 minutes, we had drinks and appetizers, but our entres never came. We asked for our check and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

I had never been there before and was qu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had never been there before and was quite surprised at how nice of a place it is... Great little neighborhood restaurant... Servers were very friendly and knew the menu very well... Figuring out what you are going to order can be a little confusing at first but, servers walk you through it well.... My girlfriend and I ordered four dishes and split them family style..... Enjoyed it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great energy, warm staff and great food. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great energy, warm staff and great food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lolita's many times and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have dined at Lolita's many times and it is always consistent. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent! One of our most favorite restaurants in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inventive and delicious food. This char ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Inventive and delicious food. This charming, intimate restaurant can hold its own with the best anywhere. We enjoyed it so much we cancelled another reservation to go back for a second night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service and ex ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent value. Can not wait to come back several times with different friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and the staff was outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing food and the staff was outstanding...perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is with Open Table. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My only complaint is with Open Table. The system told us we couldn't get a reservation at our preferred time, instead offering less convenient times. But the restaurant wasn't busy at all when we arrived (we were the only table) and hardly more so when we left, shortly after the time we would have liked to arrive. Staff told us they had few reservations for that evening, so it wasn't as if we departed just before the rush. There's something wrong with this system, and I won't be using it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Lolita. Thi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second visit to Lolita. This time four of us shared several appetizers, and we also each shared entrees (two orders of lamb, two of monkfish, shared by 4 adults). Each dish was perfect.

The soft-shell crab, with its wood grill flavor, may have been the best I've had.

I also appreciate having Bissell Brothers beer on tap, something I don't get to have often since I live in another state.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience at Lolita a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Lolita and will definitely be going again! Great staff and wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lolita is consistently one of my favorit ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lolita is consistently one of my favorite dining spots in Portland. Very welcoming atmosphere and always wonderful specials added to the regular menu to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Highly recommend. Not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was amazing. Highly recommend. Not your usual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food in small quantities.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

A true taste experience, fresh ingredients prepared with a sense of adventure.

Competent and confident service, certain to steer you in the right direction.

Don't ignore the special menu of the day.

Interesting , albeit pricey , wine list with predominately French wines.

Hopefully, in the future , more local wines will be on that list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great menu. Eclectic!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Great menu. Eclectic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a terrific brunch at lolita this past weekend. Do not miss the biscuits! The torrijas (comparable to a French Toast) are very sweet, perhaps more a dessert than a breakfast. The spaghetti with squid ink and bottarga was the best squid-ink pasta I've ever had (perhaps could use a touch more bottarga). The bagel with smoked fish spread and greens was perfectly executed. We are excited to go back and try dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

What a wonderful dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We live in Boston but come up to Portland frequently, and the food never disappoints. The service was a tad slow (we had to ask for water refills a few times), and the restaurant got a little loud, but it was truly fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well worth the walk

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We decided to walk from our Old Port place on a windy but not frigid early spring evening. We were welcomed in and shown to a table immediately, but after that the pacing was ours to control. Highly recommend the featured cocktails (we had the Manhattan and a martini-like mix). The menu is simple - starters, medium plates, large plates, a huge plate for 3 or more. We went with olives (delicious choices) and steak tartare with the cocktails because we had had a late lunch, but will be back for cheeses and other starters soon. We opted for 2 medium plates each. The frisse (curly endive) salad was a perfect 1st course, preparing our taste buds for the heavier risotto and cassoulet that followed. There were fabulous options, including a lamb lasagna being eaten at a neighboring table - it made my mouth water. The cassoulet was less creamy than my husband expected, but the risotto was perfect. Flavors were terrific. We went with a light red recommended by our waitress (never hovered, always there when it was the right time, very friendly), picked from a solid list. Dessert was an amazingly light almond (and lemon?) cake - we took half home. We were at a table for 2, but noticed many other couples at the bar. This is going to be one of our special gems!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You must try this!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I had read about the restaurant and wanted to try it. I liked the way it was out of the way of the bustle of the Old Port. It was hard to decide what to have with so many delicious choices and we appreciated the small plate offerings. I got a chance to meet one of the owners, Stella, who was very gracious. Our server was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about the food. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent spot on Munjoy Hill

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great food and service. Love the menu format and variety, and the ambience is comfortable and clean. New Portland favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yum Yum Yum!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Every mouthful was tasty -- just wish there were more choices! It's a limited menu with some things I would never eat, but what I tasted (duck liver, octopus salad, pasta special) was spectacular. I'm definitely going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful local restaurant with incredib ...

 
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Wonderful local restaurant with incredible food and bar. Always full of interesting folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Surprise Discovery

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We went to Lolita because it was close to The St. Lawrence Arts Center and we wanted to eat before the theatre. We were just looking for somewhere to have a decent meal. What we found was far more than that. We discovered a creative menu, executed with verve and providing a fine culinary experience.

The small plates are tasty, imaginative, and varied. The steak tartare looked at first glance to be more accompaniements than steak, but biting into the ensemble provided a rich variety of tastes, with the steak to the forefront but not dominating. The chicken liver mousse was a delightful treat,in a pot that provided just the right amount of pate. The olives were plentiful and of 6-7 varieties in an excellent oil base.

For a main course, we chose one of the medium plates, both of us having rabbit, not always available everywhere. The braised rabbit was succulent and the accompanying juice enhanced the flavor. The dish was further elevated by a stuffed cabbage leaf filled with sausage. It complemented the dish perfectly.

Our regret was that we didn't have room for more small dishes!

We did, however, have the Citron Tart for 2. That was the one disappointment. It was fine as what it was, more of a giant lemon cookie rather than a tart shell filled with lemon. We both prefer a much tarter tart(!) and a pastry crust. But, in its own context, it was fine. It did leave me regretting not having the cheese, which I had originally intended. The coffee, not so incidentally, was excellent, not always the case.

The wine list is pricey, but by the glass reasonable. It looks a varied and decent list. I would appreciate a straight apple cider, not one with cherry, but again, that's me. My wife reports the beer excellent. We'll be back, even without the theatre as an excuse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I am a loyalist when it comes to Lolita. By far the best food in Portland. Never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The makings of a gem but falling just short

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Now let me start by saying that I rarely review restaurants. However, given my experience at Lolita, I felt the need to share in the hopes that it would help not only my fellow diners, but the management/ownership at Lolita as well.

This place has all the makings of a little neighborhood gem - tucked away, small, great interior, wine bottles on the wall... I was beyond excited when I finally walked in, having made reservations for my yearly visit to Portland about a month in advance.

The food was very good and the wine was great too (hence my star-review, above) but the damper on my Lolita experience, that took my dinner from amazing to sub-par, was the service. Our server was prompt in bringing us food and drink, I'll give him that, but in the process of doing so he looked and acted absolutely miserable. We asked for recommendations and inquired about his favorites on the menu and his responses were short, unhelpful, and teetering on just plain rude. We never got a smile. We never got the sense that he was happy to be working in such a lovely place. We felt as if we were intruding on his night by coming to Lolita.

Having worked in the restaurant industry (hosting, serving, etc...) in the past, I know how important good service is. I also know that sometimes, people just have bad days. While I left willing to give Lolita another shot because, let's face it, it's only a matter of time until someone else complains about this server, my partner had no interest in ever returning. THAT is the make-or-break effect of good versus bad service, a fact that was reinforced by the STELLAR service we received the next night at a well-known Portland restaurant that we return to each year.

I really hope Lolita reevalutes who they hire. And for what it's worth, the server for the table next to us seemed absolutely lovely. I was jealous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Always relaxing, always delicious

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Each time we eat at Lolita we enjoy not only the food but the relaxed, convivial atmosphere there. One can dine modestly there or more extravagantly , the hallmark of a great, neighborhood place. Cocktails are imaginative and enticing. Waitstaff welcoming and attentive. Lolita has become one of our favorite places in a city packed with good restaurants. We had smoked mussels, chicken liver mousse, sardine pate, and wonderful smoked Bass with flatbread, along with the Lumiere cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a 1 pm brunch reservation. Lolita ra ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Had a 1 pm brunch reservation. Lolita ran out of several

Items, had v e r y slow service and overall not the best experience. Have been there several times prior and had much better meals/experience so it was an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Valentine's Day Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Lolita:Vinoteca is a small, intimate restaurant with yummy food. We started with the jamon from Spain with a cheeseboard and it was fabulous. The scrambled eggs were creamy and savory and the Dutch french toast was to die for, and not too sweet. We will absolutely go back for dinner very soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

All-around excellence

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We were hopeful for our dinner at lolita to be a fine capper to a three-day dining adventure in Portland, and we were not disappointed. Interesting cocktails led into innovative small plates - we especially enjoyed the tuna small plate and salmon special... followed by excellent medium sized dishes. Three of the small "toasts and pots" plus two small and three larger dishes were a perfect amount, although it meant we failed to save enough room for dessert.

All in all, someplace we want to return to... and soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.