About lolita: vinoteca+asador

90 Congress Street
Portland, ME 04101
View Larger Map

Lolita is a modern American restaurant that embraces the flavors, traditions and simplicity of Mediterranean cuisine. Enter and be greeted by the warmth of the custom wood-fired grill, traditional hand-operated equipment, and rustic walls adorned with our thoughtfully curated wine collection. Reminiscent of an Old World bodega, neighbors and visitors alike gather throughout the day to share wine, small or large dishes, and a lot of congenial conversation.



Sit at the zinc bar, or cozy banquette, and savor an espresso from our vintage machine; linger over a leisurely lunch, or stay into the evening to sample our extensive menu which showcases the freshest ingredients. You can also enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail or explore our wine selection, with over 75 choices by the bottle and 15 by the glass.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:

Brunch & Lunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner: Every day: 3:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 775-5652

Website:
http://www.lolita-portland.com/

Parking Details:
On-street parking is readily available in the neighborhood.

Executive Chef:
Guy Hernandez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • lolita: vinoteca+asador, Portland, ME
lolita: vinoteca+asador, Portland, ME

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

lolita: vinoteca+asador Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Maine
Neighborhood Gem
Maine
Best Restaurants in Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Tapas (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Wood Oven (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Cozy (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The quality and creative dishes are amaz ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The quality and creative dishes are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, modern, upscale dining! Plen ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Beautiful, modern, upscale dining! Plenty to like here, from the extensive wine list, great food, terrific and knowledgeable service, to a decor that is gleaming, clean and gorgeous. There are plenty of small bites and larger fare to suit all. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty and innovative food - we especiall ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Tasty and innovative food - we especially liked the 3 for $10 appetizer options. also ihe medium-sized entrees were very good and different. But with one cocktail and one glass of wine, the total quickly hit $100 for two - which seems rather pricey for not enormous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Limited selections and very average food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Limited selections and very average food/dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent. Went for a Monday tapas night ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent. Went for a Monday tapas night, wine pairing with a small bite of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

intimate dining area, very creative meal ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

intimate dining area, very creative meals. we enjoyed the small "pots" as appetizers. cooking done in the open in an open wood fired oven. great wine list, wait staff, very knowledgeable and friendly. a bit out of the downtown area, in a residential neighborhood. Unfortunately, there was sand in the bottom of the clam cassoulet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was just a great night out - very m ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

this was just a great night out - very much enjoyed the food and atmosphere - many different dishes just made the night out even more pleasant

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Portland! Served Italian b ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Best steak in Portland! Served Italian biftecca style... this porterhouse for 3 is delicious and a great value.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charming neighborhood bistro away from t ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Charming neighborhood bistro away from the Old Port touristy hustle and bustle. Excellent wood oven roasted clams and most flavorful ever mixed greens salad. You will feel like you escaped to Paris for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dining at this restaurant was a wonderfu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Dining at this restaurant was a wonderful and different culinary experience. The food was fresh and most was from the local region. Our servers were gracious and patient as they explained the various options on the menu and that all of the food is prepared over an open fire. Our meal was delicious and the interior of the restaurant is very unique.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had Sunday brunch and though the menu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had Sunday brunch and though the menu was limited there were still a number of options that made it hard for me to decide. My server was welcoming, warm, and patient with answering questions and allowing me time to decide. The dish I chose was more of a lunch item, since I was not going to be able to try a dinner. (I am not a resident but was visiting Portland)

I enjoyed the pasta dish and side green salad, the sauce was interesting and had a nice bit of spice to it. I could tell they care about quality of ingredients, flavor and creative cooking. (Local and in season matters to me and I strive for those kinds of places as much as possible.) If I were to return for Brunch again I would try a more "breakfasty" item to see how they do eggs and such. The atmosphere was low key at the beginning of brunch. The environment was fun and I can imagine that on a busy night it could be louder and a very "happening" kind of vibe. Lolita was one of the places recommended by the host of the airbnb I stayed in and when choosing on line for where to actually go, Lolita appealed and I was not disappointed. (They did not have availability for a night visit when I made my reservations, so I opted for trying the Brunch.)

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have heard amazing things about Lolita ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have heard amazing things about Lolita for a long time and I was so pleased that it lived up to its hype. I went with a friend and got some of the 3 for $10 toasts, pots, and snacks (I really recommend the tuna , the steak tartare, and the eggplant! So delicious! We also shared a bowl of the gnocci with sage broth and carrots; which was cozy- but in comparison to the other bites we had, it was bland in contrast. The duck confit served in the little cast iron pan with the egg and jalapeno was my favorite of the night! Our servers were absolutely stellar as well. Katie was a sweetheart and Montana was divine.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great waitress, amazing food and wine. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great waitress, amazing food and wine. This was our second time there. Can't wait to go back to Maine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We cannot stay away from this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We cannot stay away from this restaurant! All of the awesomely wonderful restaurants in Portland that we've tried and this is one of four that we return to frequently. the bresaola was so tender and tasty; the marmitako ( perfectly cooked tuna topped with mussels in a broth) was deliciously different; the asado was lamb that was so tender and delicious with the skordalia and fennel! and always, a great bottle of wine! The waitstaff is always friendly, extremely knowledgeable and just plain awesome. We walk away, happy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lolita never disappoints - food, wine, s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Lolita never disappoints - food, wine, staff always great!

Tags: Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wonderful service.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers were the best part of the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The appetizers were the best part of the meal: Chicken Liver Pate was creamy and super tasty. All the entrees were just "meh": and while some were supposed to be served room temperature (brisket), most of them came out room temperature.

They forgot to put in the order for one entree (mine, with an allergy alert), and didn't realize it until all other entrees were up and served. I sat at the table while everyone ate around me, since I couldn't taste many of the other dishes because of allergies (the server did tell me one dish that I could taste from). They offered to get me more bread to tide me over, I declined as I didn't want to fill up and not be able to eat my dinner. At that point, they didn't offer any other compensation (i.e., discount/free desert; glass of wine).

Server was kind; but overall---none of us were wowed by the food enough to come back or recommend to others.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very good food, very eclectic and somewh ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very good food, very eclectic and somewhat limited if you are a very fussy eater.

We really liked the neighborhood feel

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great, as always!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Lolita and they even provided gl ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We love Lolita and they even provided gluten free crackers to go with my meal. Gluten free bread would have been even better so maybe this is something they will consider in the future. Many restaurants are realizing that some of their guests prefer gluten free whether sensitive or not. Lovely wine list and wonderfully prepared dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to go to Lolitas and had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were excited to go to Lolitas and had heard great things but were extremely disappointed with the overall experience. It's far away from anything going on and in the middle of a neighborhood. Imagine next to a small grocery store and huge trash cans outside (in case you're considering patio seating). We heard they were a tapas restaurant so we planned to stay there a while and order progressively. We initially ordered two drinks and two small plates, (which ended up being over $60). Our server assumed that was all we were planning to order and even asked "that's it?". From that point on she seemed annoyed. Never refilled our waters and did not come over to ask how our food was. We would have ordered more because the food was good, but we had the feeling we were not welcome. We were also one of two tables in the restaurant so service should have been fantastic! Very disappointing and would never go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I have celiac disease and thought the fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have celiac disease and thought the food selection for those of us with this auto-immune disease was only fair. I would be inclined to give it another try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a great time great food - especia ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had a great time great food - especially the short rib (Asado) of the day, salad and bread with amazing hummus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down, one of the all time great br ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Hands down, one of the all time great breakfast plates (brunch plate) served to me. Certainly top five of over 20,000 in my lifetime. Food - delicious. Presentation - equal and served at perfect temp. And the staff was professional, no attitude, attentive, friendly (but not trying to be your best friend for an hour).... Just can't say enough. Except go.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lolita is one of our favorites, since we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Lolita is one of our favorites, since we found Bar Lola! The staff is always knowledgeable and fun, the food is always superb! The gazpacho and heirloom tomato salad were outstanding to start, so different and flavorful that we wanted to order more. If you order the clams, be sure to ask for their wonderful bread to soak up the broth. The Asado with skordalia and black olive vinaigrette was amazing: delicious and tender.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This cute little restaurant in the cente ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

This cute little restaurant in the center of the hipster hood of Portland had a great cocktail and wine selection and terrific small plate options, such as pickled mussels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our meal was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Our meal was delicious. The service was a bit off. While our waitress was quite pleasant she seemed distracted and not very attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

First visit based on open table and othe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2016

First visit based on open table and other reviews. An unexpected find in an off the beaten track location in Portland. Although the menu is somewhat limited, all four of us found something to like. The appetizers were great and worthy of sharing. The menu lets you choose among different size plates. I had the wood roasted clams in a delicious broth. Others had pastas and a meatball dish. Everything was very tasty and the service was attentive and excellent. It is a bit of quirkly place and quite small but I would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had really enjoyable dinners at ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have had really enjoyable dinners at Lolita previously, but this meal was a disaster. We waited a very long time for everything. You know when you are eyeing the water on the table next to you and trying to figure out if you can ask them to share...it was that kind of experience. After an hour and 45 minutes, we had drinks and appetizers, but our entres never came. We asked for our check and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

I had never been there before and was qu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I had never been there before and was quite surprised at how nice of a place it is... Great little neighborhood restaurant... Servers were very friendly and knew the menu very well... Figuring out what you are going to order can be a little confusing at first but, servers walk you through it well.... My girlfriend and I ordered four dishes and split them family style..... Enjoyed it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great energy, warm staff and great food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great energy, warm staff and great food. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lolita's many times and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have dined at Lolita's many times and it is always consistent. The food, service and atmosphere are excellent! One of our most favorite restaurants in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inventive and delicious food. This char ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Inventive and delicious food. This charming, intimate restaurant can hold its own with the best anywhere. We enjoyed it so much we cancelled another reservation to go back for a second night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service and ex ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service and excellent value. Can not wait to come back several times with different friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and the staff was outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Amazing food and the staff was outstanding...perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is with Open Table. Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My only complaint is with Open Table. The system told us we couldn't get a reservation at our preferred time, instead offering less convenient times. But the restaurant wasn't busy at all when we arrived (we were the only table) and hardly more so when we left, shortly after the time we would have liked to arrive. Staff told us they had few reservations for that evening, so it wasn't as if we departed just before the rush. There's something wrong with this system, and I won't be using it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This was our second visit to Lolita. Thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second visit to Lolita. This time four of us shared several appetizers, and we also each shared entrees (two orders of lamb, two of monkfish, shared by 4 adults). Each dish was perfect.

The soft-shell crab, with its wood grill flavor, may have been the best I've had.

I also appreciate having Bissell Brothers beer on tap, something I don't get to have often since I live in another state.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience at Lolita a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Lolita and will definitely be going again! Great staff and wonderful food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lolita is consistently one of my favorit ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lolita is consistently one of my favorite dining spots in Portland. Very welcoming atmosphere and always wonderful specials added to the regular menu to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing. Highly recommend. Not ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was amazing. Highly recommend. Not your usual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.