Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Lolita - A Michael Symon Restaurant

4.5
545 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Lolita is one of seven restaurants owned by acclaimed chef and host of television's "The Chew," Michael Symon. Located in the Tremont Street neighborhood, this is the second restaurant Symon has opened in his Native Cleveland. Since it opened in 2005, the cozy eatery has been a popular spot for locals to enjoy a night out. The exposed brick, warm lighting and comfortable leather seating at Lolita provide a hip, relaxed atmosphere.

The menu at Lolita is full of cuisine inspired by Greek and Sicilian dishes. Appetizers include ceviche, charred eggplant dip or a platter of cured meats to share with the table. For dinner enjoy dishes such as a delicious bone in pork chop, scallops, a pasta dish or one of the four types of pizzas.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner:Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(216) 771-5652
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Brad Ball
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Professor Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
On street parking where available, otherwise Valet in front of the restaurant on Literary Rd.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 545 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on January 15, 2016

The restaurant had a fire on Sunday, January 10. They did not call me to cancel my reservation until the day of the reservation (Friday, January 15), giving me only 5 hours of notice and making it virtually impossible to find other accommodations. This is not the kind of service I have come to anticipate from what used to be a reputable establishment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 9, 2016

The food was delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meals. We would go back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 5, 2016

The menu needs updating. The food was okay, but not great. We would not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 2, 2016

The dinner atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the servers are friendly and helpful, and the food is great. The lamb with fetuccini and gnocchi with smoked brisket were delicious, though the brisket was definitely the better dish. The cream cheese polenta is delicious, though usually better for splitting with a friend as it's a large side. The mixed drinks are mostly gin or bourbon, so a couple of my companions were disappointed that there wasn't a large variety in the drinks. Can't wait to go back and try more delicious dishes!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 2, 2016

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a Saturday night. The room (small although there are actually several different dining areas) was packed and loud (but not too loud). We were welcomed cordially by the hostesses and seated quickly. The table are nicely-spaced apart. I ordered a gin and tonic and it was served in a tall glass. Couldn't taste the gin with all the tonic (which was flat and out of the bar gun). When I ordered a beer, the server noticed that I hadn't finished the drink, asked if there was a problem. When I told her, she immediately apologized and said it would be removed from our bill. That was nice of her. The manager then stopped by, introduced himself, apologized and also said that there would be no charge. Very nicely done.
The food was very good. We shared everything and the portions were more than ample. The beet salad, roasted chicken and sirloin -- all flavorful. I love the feel and look of this restaurant. Open kitchen is nice too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Lolita is the foundation of clevelands food scene. Food is always excellent wether you're ordering entrees or apps at the bar...
Service is always spot on. I could eat here every meal of every day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Had dinner on New Year's Eve and we were a party of 8 people. Lolita's gave us a great table to accommodate a group this size. The food was outstanding and the wait staff were excellent. Our party had everything from scallops, steak, veal, and chicken and the sides of crispy potatoes and brussel sprouts were awesome. We would highly recommend Lolita's in Tremont.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2015

The pizza was the best, and the ham selection was to die for. All I have to say is smoked apple butter!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2015

The staff was so amenable and moved our party of three to a well lit table so my mom who is Deaf could see better for conversation. The service was timely so we could thoroughly enjoy each course. Wait staff was very friendly and turned our simple dessert request into a memorable birthday service without even asking! Mom loved our gourmet dining experience and spread her gourmand wings! We all enjoy watching Michael Symon on television and this menu reflected his personality and taste! Thanks to all for a great evening- she still raves about the pork belly and the bone marrow dishes!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2015

Fans of Michael Symon, living in MA. My wife was dying to try one of his restaurants. So for Christmas we made a reservation for a night in Cleveland. The food was nothing short of awesome! The atmosphere was very cool, dimly lit for a romantic evening. They had a great drink list, as well as wines and beers. We tried pizza, Italian style, thin, crisp, excellent. We loved the roasted marrow app perfectly delicious. I got scrumptious scallops, very good being 700 miles from the ocean, I'm used to really fresh seafood and these were good. My wife had the gnocchi and it was delicious meaty and creamy.
We ended with a great cuppa coffee, the flourless chocolate cake, and the panna cotta, and all were outstanding. Someday we'll be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming here the past 2 years for our wedding anniversary. We loved the food and the ambiance. However, this year was different. First, the greeters were not very friendly. I don't even think she smiled once, even on the way out. Second, the menu was lacking. There was nothing on it! The beloved roasted eggplant dip that I loved so much was clearly not roasted and had fennel added to it. Frankly, it tasted as it came from a jar. The steak was way over priced for the amount you got and there were not very many dinner options to select from. Lastly, I am just disappointed because Michael Symon is a great chef that makes great food. I think he would be disappointed as to what this restaurant has become. Personally, I miss Bar Symon. I wish he would bring that back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2015

This was our third time but this time was with a group of 12 from Toronto on a sports weekend and old to young loved the ambiance and food. The staff went to great lengths to accommodate our party. Food was as always very very special. Pasta dishes and pizza among best ever if not best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2015

We chose Lolita for a special day-after-Christmas dinner with our adult children who live out of town. They were both excited to dine here and consider this menu an adventure. They had prepared by reading reviews and urged us to try the crispy chicken liver appetizer, which I ordinarily would have avoided. It was outstanding! Our entrees (strip steak and scallops) were equally excellent. Excellent service throughout our visit as well. Great little place for a memorable dinner with a casual atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

The food was terrific! We had a great waiter who was helpful on portion size and options for sharing. The restaurant and bar were busy and the atmosphere was fun! A return visit is definitely in our future!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2015

Food was great, environment was great. Sorry to hear about the fire. Hopefully, when restored, it be just like old times when I visit again

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 11, 2015

The concept of an open kitchen restaurant loses a bit of its luster when you experience a line chef removing his baseball cap, brushing his hand back through his hair, replacing said cap and going back about his business without washing his hands. I point this out because we are all quick to laugh at videos posted of fast food employees caught doing disgusting things. It happens at fine dining establishments, too, folks. This incident negated what was otherwise a positive dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 5, 2015

We snagged a last minute reservation on Open Table, surprised to find a reservation available on a Saturday night when this place is always packed. We enjoyed an outstanding meal. Started with the flavorful smoked pork appetizer. For entrees, my husband absolutely loved his steak. I had the scallops and they were outstanding. Flavors really pop in every dish, making you keenly aware this is an extraordinary dining experience. Our only regret was being seated at a somewhat odd table by the entrance. It was chilly and also somewhat uncomfortable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2015

Overall experience was solid. We just moved to town from chicago recently and had been looking to check this off the list. Moderately priced for what they offer. Would return for a business meeting at some point.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 27, 2015

Disappointing esperience. Ordered 4 pizzas it was added a spicy oil not listed in the ingredients. They replaced two of them and they came back burned. Very noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2015

It would be very hard to find the type or quality of food elsewhere that you get at this restaurant. It is top-notch in terms of good food well-prepared.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2015

Our first experience at Lolita's was great.
The food was done superbly.
We had Pork Belly and octopus appetizers, our waiter suggested a white wine that went great with the Scallops my wife and I both had. The brussel sprouts I had with the scallops best I have tasted. My daughter and her fiance had the gnocchi's and both thought they were excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 20, 2015

New to Cleveland and Lolita was recommended to us. They didn't disappoint. We'll pay it forward with the same recommendation to others!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2015

I enjoyed both the food and the ambience. As a single, never felt rushed and enjoyed a delicious relaxing meal. Best brussel sprouts ever and the grilled octopus was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2015

While our service was subpar for the night, our meal was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 12, 2015

Was on vacation and close enough to take a side trip through Cleveland to eat at Lolita. We were the only couple there for dinner at the time (5:30) so thought, so far so good! The hostess sat us at the end table next to the front window--which ended up right in the path of the cold air which was not too pleasant; we asked the waiter if the air could reduced but no luck.

Had the bone marrow which was just OK; had a couple entrées which too, were good but no spectacular. What did rock was the planeta--that was worth writing home about. Overall the price of the food was too high for the quantity and quality. We can say "been there, done that" but I would not recommend it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 8, 2015

Delicious, festive ambience, attentive service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2015

My wife & I felt like it was a little dark in the interior. Our appetizer was fantastic. I really enjoyed my main course but my wife thought her macaroni course was a bit grainy in the cheese department. Our poor waiter did keep knocking his head against a pendant light and could have been slightly more attendant to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was delicious and ambiance was awesome! Will go back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

My now wife and I went here on our first date, a wedding and couple kids later we went back for her birthday. What a great reminder of our first days together. With that said I think my wife was slightly more excited by the Sturgeon than my romantic gestures. She is sentimental so that is saying a lot for the food. A+ in all categories.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2015

Lolita has a great menu and a great vibe. As expected, the food was very good. We came in late after a Cavs game and it was a perfect choice. Our primary server on the hand wasn't so great. He was snarky and impatient. For a Friday night, his attitude appeared to be him wanting to be anywhere else but there. Luckily everyone else was friendly and efficient. We'll be back but we will make sure he isn't our server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 6, 2015

A major client and his wife came in from out of town Friday 11/6, and after some insightful input from my wife, I made reservations for Lolita. The 8 pm reservation was on time and service excellent. We could hear ourselves talk while the bar and restaurant fairly buzzed -- it was a great ambiance. But then the food! We split a hangar steak and it was superb, but what blew me away was the ham plate sampler (wow!) and even more so, something I would never have ordered myself. The chicken liver app -- ordered by the client's wife -- made me wince just thinking about it before I tried it --- was amazing. Truly superb. And suddenly, what was 8 pm became 11 PM about a minute later! So once again, Lolita, you outdid yourselves, and really, the client was still raving two days later! Thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2015

I brought a very special lady to Lolita because I wanted to impress her with the food and the ambience. It is the perfect spot for a first date and we really, really enjoyed ourselves! The drinks were great and the appetizers were good with the exception of the crispy chicken livers being a little under cooked. We both ordered the hanger steak and it was excellent! I will definitely be back and would recommend your restaurant to all my friends...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2015

Worth the trip to Cleveland! Our pork for two dinner was perfection itself - imaginative and tasty - complemented by a lovely parsnip potato purée and sauerkraut melange. The beet side order was flawless - steamed with a hint of lemon. I'd eat there everyday if I could!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 4, 2015

This restaurant was recommended for a business dinner. The ambiance and food were well received. However, the couple of questions that we did ask our server, he was pompous about. A person at our table who had dined at Lolita's a few months ago had a meat and cheese tray. We asked the server about it. He let us know that Lolita's was out of cheese and acted like we should have known this tidbit of information. Other questions were asked about the menu with the same sort of responses. Another person asked if there were french fries and his remark "not since 2003." He just came off a little arrogant. There are too many great restaurants in and around Cleveland, service should not be the issue.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 1, 2015

Amazing food and great service. We would definitely go back. I got the roast chicken and the serving size was huge. The chicken was so moist and delicious. We also go the bone marrow which was amazing. So good!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2015

We were only in town for a couple of days but heard from others that a meal at Lolita should be on our list. Very nice service from the friendly wait staff. The meal was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Farm to table restaurant. Pizza was amazing. Attentive service on a busy Saturday night. One of the best dinners we have had this year.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 24, 2015

The music was too loud making it difficult to carry on a conversation or hear the waitress. Very few menu choices. Waitress was pleasant but not engaging, no divergence from the very brief script, again, difficult to converse with the music so loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 23, 2015

Good energy, good food. Great for date night. Definitely use valet, parking is a challenge in tremont.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2015

Every aspect hit a home run for why we went there.
Food was great.
Service was great. Maren was our server.
Was able to have a conversation with me wife without screaming at each other.

Plan on taking friends there.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14