Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Lola - A Michael Symon RestaurantLola - A Michael Symon Restaurant
(5520)
American | Downtown Cleveland, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Dante Next DoorDante Next Door
(105)
Contemporary Italian | Cleveland West, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Parallax Restaurant & LoungeParallax Restaurant & Lounge
(1031)
Global, International | Tremont, Cleveland
Reserve Now
DANTEDANTE
(1559)
American | Tremont, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Fahrenheit - ClevelandFahrenheit - Cleveland
(1548)
Contemporary American | Tremont, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Punch Bowl Social - ClevelandPunch Bowl Social - Cleveland
(32)
American | Cleveland West, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Tandul IndianTandul Indian
(4)
Indian | Tremont, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Crop BistroCrop Bistro
(2085)
Contemporary American | Downtown Cleveland, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Market Garden BreweryMarket Garden Brewery
(422)
Brewery | Ohio City, Cleveland
Reserve Now
The Black PigThe Black Pig
(544)
Contemporary American | Ohio City, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Bar CentoBar Cento
(608)
Italian | Ohio City, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Touch Supper ClubTouch Supper Club
(223)
Fusion / Eclectic | Ohio City, Cleveland
Reserve Now
The Greenhouse TavernThe Greenhouse Tavern
(2421)
Gastro Pub | Downtown Cleveland, Cleveland
Reserve Now
Heck's Cafe - ClevelandHeck's Cafe - Cleveland
(197)
American | Ohio City, Cleveland
Reserve Now
ChinatoChinato
(1430)
Italian | Downtown Cleveland / E. 4th Street, Cleveland
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Lolita - A Michael Symon Restaurant

900 Literary Rd
Cleveland, OH 44113
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Lolita is one of seven restaurants owned by acclaimed chef and host of television's "The Chew," Michael Symon. Located in the Tremont Street neighborhood, this is the second restaurant Symon has opened in his Native Cleveland. Since it opened in 2005, the cozy eatery has been a popular spot for locals to enjoy a night out. The exposed brick, warm lighting and comfortable leather seating at Lolita provide a hip, relaxed atmosphere.

The menu at Lolita is full of cuisine inspired by Greek and Sicilian dishes. Appetizers include ceviche, charred eggplant dip or a platter of cured meats to share with the table. For dinner enjoy dishes such as a delicious bone in pork chop, scallops, a pasta dish or one of the four types of pizzas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:


Dinner:Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Professor Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 771-5652

Website:
http://www.lolitarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
On street parking where available, otherwise Valet in front of the restaurant on Literary Rd.

Executive Chef:
Brad Ball

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really Lolitas?

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

The restaurant had a fire on Sunday, January 10. They did not call me to cancel my reservation until the day of the reservation (Friday, January 15), giving me only 5 hours of notice and making it virtually impossible to find other accommodations. This is not the kind of service I have come to anticipate from what used to be a reputable establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Place!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

The food was delicious! Everyone enjoyed their meals. We would go back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The menu needs an updating

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

The menu needs updating. The food was okay, but not great. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Love Lolita's!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The dinner atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, the servers are friendly and helpful, and the food is great. The lamb with fetuccini and gnocchi with smoked brisket were delicious, though the brisket was definitely the better dish. The cream cheese polenta is delicious, though usually better for splitting with a friend as it's a large side. The mixed drinks are mostly gin or bourbon, so a couple of my companions were disappointed that there wasn't a large variety in the drinks. Can't wait to go back and try more delicious dishes!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Does Not Disappoint

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I visited this restaurant on a Saturday night. The room (small although there are actually several different dining areas) was packed and loud (but not too loud). We were welcomed cordially by the hostesses and seated quickly. The table are nicely-spaced apart. I ordered a gin and tonic and it was served in a tall glass. Couldn't taste the gin with all the tonic (which was flat and out of the bar gun). When I ordered a beer, the server noticed that I hadn't finished the drink, asked if there was a problem. When I told her, she immediately apologized and said it would be removed from our bill. That was nice of her. The manager then stopped by, introduced himself, apologized and also said that there would be no charge. Very nicely done.

The food was very good. We shared everything and the portions were more than ample. The beet salad, roasted chicken and sirloin -- all flavorful. I love the feel and look of this restaurant. Open kitchen is nice too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cutting edge classic

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Lolita is the foundation of clevelands food scene. Food is always excellent wether you're ordering entrees or apps at the bar...

Service is always spot on. I could eat here every meal of every day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New Year's Eve Dinner

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Had dinner on New Year's Eve and we were a party of 8 people. Lolita's gave us a great table to accommodate a group this size. The food was outstanding and the wait staff were excellent. Our party had everything from scallops, steak, veal, and chicken and the sides of crispy potatoes and brussel sprouts were awesome. We would highly recommend Lolita's in Tremont.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

OMG!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The pizza was the best, and the ham selection was to die for. All I have to say is smoked apple butter!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday dinner with Mom

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The staff was so amenable and moved our party of three to a well lit table so my mom who is Deaf could see better for conversation. The service was timely so we could thoroughly enjoy each course. Wait staff was very friendly and turned our simple dessert request into a memorable birthday service without even asking! Mom loved our gourmet dining experience and spread her gourmand wings! We all enjoy watching Michael Symon on television and this menu reflected his personality and taste! Thanks to all for a great evening- she still raves about the pork belly and the bone marrow dishes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome, and cool, all the way from Boston!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Fans of Michael Symon, living in MA. My wife was dying to try one of his restaurants. So for Christmas we made a reservation for a night in Cleveland. The food was nothing short of awesome! The atmosphere was very cool, dimly lit for a romantic evening. They had a great drink list, as well as wines and beers. We tried pizza, Italian style, thin, crisp, excellent. We loved the roasted marrow app perfectly delicious. I got scrumptious scallops, very good being 700 miles from the ocean, I'm used to really fresh seafood and these were good. My wife had the gnocchi and it was delicious meaty and creamy.

We ended with a great cuppa coffee, the flourless chocolate cake, and the panna cotta, and all were outstanding. Someday we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is not the same place I used to love.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

My husband and I have been coming here the past 2 years for our wedding anniversary. We loved the food and the ambiance. However, this year was different. First, the greeters were not very friendly. I don't even think she smiled once, even on the way out. Second, the menu was lacking. There was nothing on it! The beloved roasted eggplant dip that I loved so much was clearly not roasted and had fennel added to it. Frankly, it tasted as it came from a jar. The steak was way over priced for the amount you got and there were not very many dinner options to select from. Lastly, I am just disappointed because Michael Symon is a great chef that makes great food. I think he would be disappointed as to what this restaurant has become. Personally, I miss Bar Symon. I wish he would bring that back.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Third time and loving it

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

This was our third time but this time was with a group of 12 from Toronto on a sports weekend and old to young loved the ambiance and food. The staff went to great lengths to accommodate our party. Food was as always very very special. Pasta dishes and pizza among best ever if not best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We chose Lolita for a special day-after-Christmas dinner with our adult children who live out of town. They were both excited to dine here and consider this menu an adventure. They had prepared by reading reviews and urged us to try the crispy chicken liver appetizer, which I ordinarily would have avoided. It was outstanding! Our entrees (strip steak and scallops) were equally excellent. Excellent service throughout our visit as well. Great little place for a memorable dinner with a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 5 Star Experience!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

The food was terrific! We had a great waiter who was helpful on portion size and options for sharing. The restaurant and bar were busy and the atmosphere was fun! A return visit is definitely in our future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, environment was great. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Food was great, environment was great. Sorry to hear about the fire. Hopefully, when restored, it be just like old times when I visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The concept of an open kitchen restauran ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

The concept of an open kitchen restaurant loses a bit of its luster when you experience a line chef removing his baseball cap, brushing his hand back through his hair, replacing said cap and going back about his business without washing his hands. I point this out because we are all quick to laugh at videos posted of fast food employees caught doing disgusting things. It happens at fine dining establishments, too, folks. This incident negated what was otherwise a positive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious dining

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

We snagged a last minute reservation on Open Table, surprised to find a reservation available on a Saturday night when this place is always packed. We enjoyed an outstanding meal. Started with the flavorful smoked pork appetizer. For entrees, my husband absolutely loved his steak. I had the scallops and they were outstanding. Flavors really pop in every dish, making you keenly aware this is an extraordinary dining experience. Our only regret was being seated at a somewhat odd table by the entrance. It was chilly and also somewhat uncomfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Overall experience was solid. We just mo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Overall experience was solid. We just moved to town from chicago recently and had been looking to check this off the list. Moderately priced for what they offer. Would return for a business meeting at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Disappointing esperience. Ordered 4 pizz ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Disappointing esperience. Ordered 4 pizzas it was added a spicy oil not listed in the ingredients. They replaced two of them and they came back burned. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Really, really good food here.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

It would be very hard to find the type or quality of food elsewhere that you get at this restaurant. It is top-notch in terms of good food well-prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food, good wine

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Our first experience at Lolita's was great.

The food was done superbly.

We had Pork Belly and octopus appetizers, our waiter suggested a white wine that went great with the Scallops my wife and I both had. The brussel sprouts I had with the scallops best I have tasted. My daughter and her fiance had the gnocchi's and both thought they were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

New to Cleveland and Lolita was recommen ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

New to Cleveland and Lolita was recommended to us. They didn't disappoint. We'll pay it forward with the same recommendation to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed both the food and the ambience ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 19, 2015

I enjoyed both the food and the ambience. As a single, never felt rushed and enjoyed a delicious relaxing meal. Best brussel sprouts ever and the grilled octopus was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Will definitely go again!!!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

While our service was subpar for the night, our meal was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Was hoping for something a little better

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

Was on vacation and close enough to take a side trip through Cleveland to eat at Lolita. We were the only couple there for dinner at the time (5:30) so thought, so far so good! The hostess sat us at the end table next to the front window--which ended up right in the path of the cold air which was not too pleasant; we asked the waiter if the air could reduced but no luck.

Had the bone marrow which was just OK; had a couple entrées which too, were good but no spectacular. What did rock was the planeta--that was worth writing home about. Overall the price of the food was too high for the quantity and quality. We can say "been there, done that" but I would not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

More good than bad

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

My wife & I felt like it was a little dark in the interior. Our appetizer was fantastic. I really enjoyed my main course but my wife thought her macaroni course was a bit grainy in the cheese department. Our poor waiter did keep knocking his head against a pendant light and could have been slightly more attendant to us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was delicious and ambiance was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food was delicious and ambiance was awesome! Will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for a romantic reminder

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

My now wife and I went here on our first date, a wedding and couple kids later we went back for her birthday. What a great reminder of our first days together. With that said I think my wife was slightly more excited by the Sturgeon than my romantic gestures. She is sentimental so that is saying a lot for the food. A+ in all categories.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service not so much

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Lolita has a great menu and a great vibe. As expected, the food was very good. We came in late after a Cavs game and it was a perfect choice. Our primary server on the hand wasn't so great. He was snarky and impatient. For a Friday night, his attitude appeared to be him wanting to be anywhere else but there. Luckily everyone else was friendly and efficient. We'll be back but we will make sure he isn't our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Once again superb!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

A major client and his wife came in from out of town Friday 11/6, and after some insightful input from my wife, I made reservations for Lolita. The 8 pm reservation was on time and service excellent. We could hear ourselves talk while the bar and restaurant fairly buzzed -- it was a great ambiance. But then the food! We split a hangar steak and it was superb, but what blew me away was the ham plate sampler (wow!) and even more so, something I would never have ordered myself. The chicken liver app -- ordered by the client's wife -- made me wince just thinking about it before I tried it --- was amazing. Truly superb. And suddenly, what was 8 pm became 11 PM about a minute later! So once again, Lolita, you outdid yourselves, and really, the client was still raving two days later! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought a very special lady to Lolita ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

I brought a very special lady to Lolita because I wanted to impress her with the food and the ambience. It is the perfect spot for a first date and we really, really enjoyed ourselves! The drinks were great and the appetizers were good with the exception of the crispy chicken livers being a little under cooked. We both ordered the hanger steak and it was excellent! I will definitely be back and would recommend your restaurant to all my friends...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Worth the trip to Cleveland!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

Worth the trip to Cleveland! Our pork for two dinner was perfection itself - imaginative and tasty - complemented by a lovely parsnip potato purée and sauerkraut melange. The beet side order was flawless - steamed with a hint of lemon. I'd eat there everyday if I could!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Server could have made experience much better

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

This restaurant was recommended for a business dinner. The ambiance and food were well received. However, the couple of questions that we did ask our server, he was pompous about. A person at our table who had dined at Lolita's a few months ago had a meat and cheese tray. We asked the server about it. He let us know that Lolita's was out of cheese and acted like we should have known this tidbit of information. Other questions were asked about the menu with the same sort of responses. Another person asked if there were french fries and his remark "not since 2003." He just came off a little arrogant. There are too many great restaurants in and around Cleveland, service should not be the issue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Amazing food and great service. We would ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Amazing food and great service. We would definitely go back. I got the roast chicken and the serving size was huge. The chicken was so moist and delicious. We also go the bone marrow which was amazing. So good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive and delicious

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We were only in town for a couple of days but heard from others that a meal at Lolita should be on our list. Very nice service from the friendly wait staff. The meal was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Remarkable food!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Farm to table restaurant. Pizza was amazing. Attentive service on a busy Saturday night. One of the best dinners we have had this year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Just ok

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

The music was too loud making it difficult to carry on a conversation or hear the waitress. Very few menu choices. Waitress was pleasant but not engaging, no divergence from the very brief script, again, difficult to converse with the music so loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Good energy

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Good energy, good food. Great for date night. Definitely use valet, parking is a challenge in tremont.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Every aspect hit a home run for why we w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

Every aspect hit a home run for why we went there.

Food was great.

Service was great. Maren was our server.

Was able to have a conversation with me wife without screaming at each other.

Plan on taking friends there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything You'd Expect

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

Iron Chef Symon's glorious sister restaurant is everything you'd expect. Starting with exceptional, genuine, engaged service to the decor and everything in between you will feel totally engaged.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.