Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today

Lokal - Wicker Park

3.7
350 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Hot Spot
  • People Watching

This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 904-8113
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Art Wnorowski
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTA Blue Line
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc
What 350 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.6
service
3.5
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Energetic
58% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

It was soooooooooooooo LIT! I’ll definitely be back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

There is no AC here- beware! Very hot and very loud

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

No air conditioning on a 94 degree day and extremely loud music. Ended up leaving and going somewhere else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

A/C was out unfortunately so we were roasting inside the restaurant. It was 90+ outside and not much cooler inside. Would have been nice if staff would have been more attentive with ice water to compensate. Food was excellent and previous experiences were better so we will be back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Service sucks but the food was great

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

Had a reservation and waited for an hour and ended up leaving! We had a party of 6 and they let a party of 7 sit before us because the table was for 7 or more people. Really!!! We had a reservation! Won’t be going back

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

This was the worst brunch experience ever. Very poor service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Although I love this place... they need to replace the furniture, the tables are all very wobbly. It’s very irritating for me to hold on to my food and my drinks because I feel like they are going to go sliding off the table if I move around too much!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was way too loud and only played hard core rap. Not going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Had the best time there. This is my new go-to!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Had a reservation but it was useless as we still had to wait an hour. We couldn’t even order drinks (bottomless mimosas) as we waited which sucked. Music was way too loud and it was super hot in there. Will never go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

A server had to take our table after the original server didn't great us for the first 10 minutes. Then we waited another 5-10 minutes before getting our mimosas. Server was great though and brought shots to make up for our time. Ambiance lacks in the back of the restaurant. It's way to dark in the back for a brunch. It could definitely use some brighter lights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Everything was great! The music, the food, the service, THE MIMOSAS...Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The fact that there's no functioning phone number is absolutely insane

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Place is loud as can be with the music wearing. We had breakfast there and the outlets were very good as were the Nutella fritters. If you are looking to be able to communicate with your friends bring your phones to text

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 28, 2018

I booked a reservation several days in advance for brunch this morning. I was never notified by OpenTable or the restaurant that Lokal is actually closed today. My plans were ruined and we were unable to get in another restaurant due to the holiday. I am extremely disappointed in the poor customer service from both companies.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I strongly do NOT recommend this location for brunch. We made a reservation for 11:30 to celebrate my sister's birthday. I tried to adjust the number on the reservation/call to inform them it was a special occasion and no one answered the phones. Voicemail was not available. When we arrived the hostess was friendly, but informed us that a table was not available yet. Why allow reservations if you don't keep them? Also, the restaurant was extremely hot with a lack of air flow/temperature control. Worst of all, the music was playing at an ear splitting level. I understand this place is supposed to be hip, but it was louder than most bars and clubs. In the end, after waiting about 10 minutes, we didn't even stay to eat.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had reservations for Mother’s Day. We walked in and music was blasting like a club. We couldn’t hear everything and everyone around us was screaming to communicate. Plus no service staff tried to talk to us. We immediately turned around and walked out. This place has a very niche atmosphere and is not conducive for most dining experiences.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

great place for Sunday brunch..! not too big but is perfect to enjoy a good brunch..not lots of selection for food but it was good ambiance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had the best Mother’s Day ever. Thanks to Lokal!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Made reservations for Mothers Day brunch. When we arrived on time, we were informed of a 20 minute wait. We may have been willing to wait that long or longer, but the absence of a reasonable place to wait, along with bone-shaking volume of the music made that prospect unappealing. We couldn't wait to get out of there. Walked to a diner for Mothers Day, which was nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We didn’t end up eating here, because the place smelled like bleach. It was nice to know it’s clean, but the smell was overwhelming. The server was nice but the Rose was warm. The menu had some enticing items, but we just couldn’t deal with the bleach smell.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was good except the fact that their system to take reservations went down so we made a reservation for no reason and waited almost 2 hours. Other than that, the service was great!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I had a reservation here on the 22nd for brunch for my wife's birthday. When we arrived we were told "they didn't have access to their reservations." and we would have to wait 45 min to an hour for a table. Even when showed that we had a confirmed reservation, they would not honor it and and refused to be of any assistance. I had been here for other occasions and was a place I wanted to bring friends when they came in town, but this horrible service and how badly they screwed up plans for my wife's birthday I will not be returning and will be sure to tell others the same.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Lokal was a cool spot. This was my first time at the Wicker Park Location. My only complaint was that I made reservations via Open Table for 9+ people and when we all arrived I was told that since the systems were down we had to wait. This was very unfortunate and disappointing to hear especially since I had an email confirmation. We were a large party ready to enjoy drinks and eat. By the time we got seated, we only had an hour to enjoy the mimosa brunch special. It was not the best experience and I was really disappointed that we had to wait.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We walked into a very busy Saturday brunch and was told the reservation system was down for brunch and they would not honor the reservation. Almost felt like they were lying about the system being down. Then hostess sat a party that came in after us and lied to her manager when we complained. Please keep in mind this is 30 minutes past our reservation. Manger said she would work something out but instead never came back. It was painfully obvious she and the hostess were talking negatively about us. They were both very young and immature. All and all the staff made it very clear that they did not need our business that day. I just hope you are this busy every night that you do not need us to return. If I was the GM I would have a serious talk with the female floor manager and hostess working on 4/21.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great food and brunch drink specials! Loud music (don’t come here if you’re looking for quiet) and energetic space - go here for a fun brunch to kick off the rest of your Saturday!
They have a good variety off eggs benedict - I recommend the pierogi one! And try the Nutella frites.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Terrible service. I made reservations for Sunday the April 14 and when I get there the host tells me their system was down and they couldn’t see reservations list. She then tells me they doing first come first serve. I made reservations over a week prior and I couldn’t even get a notification! Highly disappointed and they didn’t even try to make it better. The host looked like she didn’t want to be there and didn’t want to be bothered... smh

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Asked them to turn down the music, they did but turned it back up. Coffee machine was broken. Very much of an extension in Saturday night partying, not a nice brunch.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

I reserved a table for 5 at 9:00am and then changed it to 9:30am for this location and when we arrived, we were told by the worker that the restaurant opens at 10:00am. According to Google, Yelp and Open Table the opening time is 9:00am. Please update this for future customers. We were forced to find another breakfast location nearby and suffered long wait times despite planning for a reservation here. Needless to say, we were displeased with this situation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were served by Gale. She seemed nice at first but when a friend of mine asked a couple different questions, she responded in a rather nasty manner. She also made us divide the check ourselves with we didn’t appreciate nor expect. When we come to a diving experience, we shouldn’t be expected to do that extra work of figuring out who owes what.

Desire that, the food was AMAZING and we loved the atmosphere and music. I would recommend this place for young adults. They played great music which is something you don’t usually get when you’re out to eat. I would return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Went for my hubbys 23d birthday. Second time there, enjoyed my food more and the music selection is pretty live. I’ll definitely go again in the future!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Didn’t get to eat! Claimed their system was down and the wait would be 45-60 minutes.
I read other reviews after the fact turns out they are always having system problems.
I was looking forward to having a good time on a Sunday Funday.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Their computer system was down so they did not have access to our open table reservation. So we would have had to wait for a table. She estimated a 20 minute wait but the restaurant was so LOUD while we were waiting we decided to leave. You could barely hear the person next to you talking. It was not what I was expecting at all.
We did not stay for the food so I cannot comment on that. I would not return - not my style place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

SUPER BUSY for Brunch, as expected. Definitely expect a long wait, but the food, mimosas and price make up for it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

This brunch was so fun for our large group looking to get our party on. The mimosas were flowing and the food was incredible. I would have given 5 stars HOWEVER, I made a reservation a month in advance and we still had to wait 45 minutes for a table. It was worth the wait but we were all hungry and had to wait outside in the cold due to it being too crowded inside.

The mimosa deal - AS SOON as you put your napkin on your plate after finsihing eating, the check is brought and mimoas are over. If I were you, I'd take my time choose a meal, wait a bit to order, take your time eating to prolong how long you get your bottomless for. We ended up getting them for about 2 hours which was well over enough time.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The experience was awful. I made a reservation for no reason. I waited for 45 minutes past my reservation time and I was never seated, I ended up leaving. The space is packed, small, and the service sucked. The "hostess" was running around like crazy. We had to grab her attention after standing around for 10 minutes insteading of her asking how she could assist. Ill never go back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We had reservations and there was no way we were going to be sat anytime soon. It was extremely loud and it took 10 minutes to even let someone know we were there.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Lokal - Wicker Park