HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 2/21
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

Lokal - Wicker Park

3.8
296 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fun
  • Great for Brunch
  • Sunday Lunch

This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 904-8113
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Art Wnorowski
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
CTA Blue Line
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc
What 296 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8  based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.5
service
3.6
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Energetic
55% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ElleGee (Chicago)
3.0  Dined 3 days ago

The irony of writing an OpenTable review of a restaurant where a reservation is completely useless. After arriving at 1:30 for a 1:45 reservation, I was greeted by an empty hostess stand, which remained that way for an additional 10 minutes. When the hostess did arrive, she informed me that there were two parties ahead of mine. Normally, that is not a problem, but in this instance, however, it took an additional HOUR for my party of two to be seated.

Once seated, our friendly waitress promptly took our food and drink orders over extremely loud music (Which I enjoyed, but I also enjoy conversation). When she brought out food over, she brought it sans silverware, and it took her at least 10 minutes for her to bring the silverware. I understand forgetfulness, but dancing with patrons while my food gets cold is not a great way to ensure that your customers return.

Lokal is one of the more affordable bottomless brunches in the city, so you get what you pay for. If you decide to go, be prepared to wait.

Report
Helpful
EvanGeorge 
5.0  Dined 4 days ago

Great place, you guys kill it. I love the music and service here. Definitely going back.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation and waited 45 min for them to seat us. They never did so we left and got brunch elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on February 4, 2018

1) they auto grat everyone (even though it’s not mentioned on the menu or the website), there were 4 of us
2) the champagne they use for their bottomless brunch is SO cheap, I passed on this, but they were still out of multiple beers and couldn’t even make an Irish coffee. I guess they don’t want people spending money on normal drinks
3) they have 1 bathroom for males and 1 for females, both doors literally open up to about a foot away from
Tables, tables where people are eating- honestly this is gross
4) this place is SO loud, I couldn’t even hear our server, and we were put in a corner

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

The reservation I had was set for 11:30 and my whole party was present by 11:30, but we didn’t get seated until 12:15pm-12:30pm. Otherwise, music was great, food was bomb, service after being seated was good as well. I would go back, just with a smaller party.

Report
Helpful
viplikesgoodfood (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Very crowded....waited for table for 5 people got small booth with end chair added. All you can drink mimosas at room temp.....if you can get a second serving. Exception: Food was great!

Report
Helpful
Phillip 
1.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

While it offers a fun, vibrant environment, I was incredibly disappointed with the service. I made a reservation ahead of time, but our party ended up waiting over an hour to finally get a table!

Report
Helpful
vipFoodforfun (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

We had been there previously for brunch and loved it. They were super busy with a nice city vibe. We had tickets to a 10:30 show at the IO and want to make a last minute reservation and ended up with an8:30 reservation at Lokal. When we walked in the place was dead. There were three booths with customers including us. The floor was cleared of tables either for cleaning up after brunch or to make room for a dance floor? The waitress was lovely but more interested in the few patrons at the bar. The food was delicious and once we ordered came in a timely fashion. The ambience was just strange. We would definitely go back for brunch but probably not for dinner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

I made a reservation for 1:00 pm, when I arrived there was no one by the entrance to greet us, it was super packed and I had no idea who to inform I was there for my reservation. Once I found the person, she told me it would only be a few minutes and that they would have my table ready. Around 1:15 pm I asked her how much longer it would be and she said that they were working on getting other people seated. I reminded her I had reservation but she said I would still have to wait. My friend and I waited until 1:30 and at that point we decided to leave. I understand there would be a wait, i would've waited about 15 minutes or even 20 minutes. But not 30+ minutes when I made a reservation.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Minneapolis)
1.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

The restaurant was CLOSED for our confirmed 9:00 a.m. brunch. They did not help us find another location. I had the confirmed reservation in hand and was not notified of the fact that the restaurant opened at 10:00 a.m. Disappointed in both Open Table and Lokal.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We went early, for brunch at 9:30. The music was too loud and the service was not good even though there was hardly anyone else in the place. The waiter didn't write our order down even though he seemed unsure of it, and he did in fact get it wrong. We also had to wave him down whenever we wanted coffee or water refills. The food was fine, not amazing but not bad.

Report
Helpful
vipSandySam (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Seriously too loud. couldnt even order had to leave. Tried to cancel reservation but they did not come to help us at front entrance and then tried to call but went to voice mail Which was full. Never ate there but stood around in the noise fir a while. Really crazy.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 30, 2017

Their bottomless mimosa brunch is the greatest!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
1.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

Tried to call this restaurant a number of days and at different times leading up to our reservation and kept getting voicemail. I even tried calling the other location in case the number was wrong and also got voicemail. What restaurant has a full voicemail box or doesn’t pick up the phone? This coupled with the reviews about the rude staff and poor service was enough to not even take a chance dining here.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on December 17, 2017

TOO Loud to hear guests speaking next to you, let alone a party of 8.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on December 10, 2017

I would not recommend - this place is WAY too crowded and loud for a dining experience. They need to do some sound proofing.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on December 10, 2017

I picked LOKaL for brunch because my friends were in town and we wanted a good mimosa deal. We had a reservation but still waited minutes to be sat. Small annoyance but we asked if they could change one of the TVs to football and was told the remote was broken. Our server was nice but the atmosphere was like a Saturday night club. So LOUD and rowdy. Like people dancing in line for the bathroom and rapping/ singing outloud. You have to yell while trying to talk to the person across from you. I would not come back here.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 10, 2017

Great - fun place for brunch! Love their bottomless mimosas!

Report
Helpful
BSalgado30 (Chicago)
1.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Terribly run business. Reservations don't count. Waiters & Waitresses forget about you. The crowding is terrible. Can't imagine there being a fire or emergency in there.

Report
Helpful
vipBarbara (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

Unnecessarily loud.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on November 26, 2017

LoKal is awesome! My friends and I went to a Sunday brunch for a 25th birthday celebration and it was great! Such a lively spot, great for millennials.

Report
Helpful
LouT (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on November 25, 2017

$30 will get you a great meal and nice buzz at brunch! Definitely one of my favorite brunch spots in Chicago. The atmosphere is live and there's a nice mix in crowd. On Saturdays, they have rotating DJs who keep brunch fun.

Report
Helpful
vipiad7 (Raleigh)
5.0  Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal - Wicker Park has one of the best brunch atmospheres I have ever experienced!

Report
Helpful
AudreyTheFairy (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal is a really great and fun spot to hang out and eat with friends.
Our ONLY complaint is the wait for seating is horrible and chaotic.
Even with reservations we waited over an hour to be seated. However, once we were seated, we had an INCREDIBLE time! Service was great despise the restaurant being packed. Staff was very attentive to us and made us feel like we were the only folks there. It ended up being worth the wait for sure.

Report
Helpful
Michelle (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on November 5, 2017

LOKal was great! A friend and I headed there for brunch; our food was delicious. Our waiter was super friendly and attentive, even though the place was PACKED. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
JacquelineD (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on November 5, 2017

It was great! Food was great. The music was a little too loud for my taste(for a Sunday brunch that is), but other than that - it was fun.

Report
Helpful
Anon (Orange County)
1.0  Dined on October 29, 2017

Had a reservation here for brunch, but when we got the restaurant there was no room to even walk in there were so many people waiting! It took us a good 10-15 minutes to get the host's attention/push our way to the front of the crowd, and on top of that we were notified that the table wasn't ready and wouldn't be ready for another 15-20 minutes, even though we were on time (essentially we would've gotten seated more than a half hour after our original reservation time). Also it was super loud and crowded, we had to shout to each other.

We left and went to another restaurant around the corner that could seat us right away rather than deal with the chaos.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on October 29, 2017

Loved our server! She was sweet. The bottomless mimosas are what keep me coming back. This is my third visit in two months. I like the chill atmosphere and the staff is very nice. It’s noisy and the tables are very close together, but I don’t mind because the service and food are good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on October 28, 2017

Went for the Saturday brunch special. Overall a great experience from the start to the end. Your entire party needs to be there before they seat you, but once you do sit down you can purchase an unlimited champagne package for the duration of your meal for $16. The food was great and the service was amazing. We had Ryan as our waiter and he made the experience 100x more enjoyable. He was extremely friendly and recommended some awesome dishes to the group. He also made sure we were never waiting for a refill on the bottomless champagne and was always stopping by to chat and make sure everything was great. Super friendly staff and great atmosphere overall.

Report
Helpful
SETC (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on October 21, 2017

Reservations are completely useless. Servers rush you. Food selection is real basic. But music was good and people were having a lot of fun...comradery over champagne. Very melanated.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10