Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

61% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had the ahi tuna burger, yum!! We chose to do the champagne brunch well worth the price of $16. Two people, two bottles, can't beat it. The other member of my party had the Lokal burger and she loved it as well. Only downfall, it was super loud! I must be getting old! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waited over half an hour for our brunch reservation- aggressive rap music was SO loud we couldn't even have a pleasant conversation, so we ended up leaving prior to getting seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Brunch was honestly too loud - it was next to impossible to hold a conversation. But other than that, I love Lokal. The food was great, the service was great and the mimosa deal is great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was poor quality. They wouldn't seat a party of four at our scheduled reservation time with only three of us there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Bottomless mimosas were truely amazing and bottomless!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had to wait a half an hour for a table to sit down even though we had made reservations. Made reservations and they didn't have a table to seat us when we got there. The waitress was fantastic for how busy the restaurant was. Place was very not managed well and disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were given plastic cups for our water for some reason. Service was warm and efficient. Food was mediocre. Noise was obscene.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The place was so loud and packed we never got to our reservation no one was around to help or greet at the door. After standing waiting for someone to acknowledge us we just walk out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beware of 20% automatic service charge they won't tell you about. Our table was only 3 people. Service was very slow, the severs unhelpful. They were getting busy, you'd think they'd want to turn over the table but had to request check twice. Food was ok, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Horrible service to begin with. The hostess had no idea what was going on. We had a reservation and it was not honored. We did not sit down until 12:45 and it was ridiculous. She had not idea what was going on. One of the girls in our party didn't get her food until we had all finished eating because our food started to get cold. All around horrible experience and I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Only giving one star because I have to!!!!
Long story short...

-Made reservations and still waited 45 minutes for a table. (To be clear we have been wanting to try this place for a while so we sucked it up and hoped it would be worth the wait) people were seated before us that came after us. People were blocking the door way and hitting as when we finally got to the table. Because there is no room to wait and people just kept coming in.

-food was OK... nothing major...

-waiter couldnt even get to our table he was shouting from a table or two away from us majority of the time.

-double charged us for mimosas with out explaining the prices. Prior to the bill he just stated as long as we sit there we can do the package. ( to be clear I don't mind paying I'm not cheap but tell me and state it on the menu that it is per person prior to the bill. It was not cold either it was warm.m

- AND added automatic gratuity which was way to high for the crap we dealt with and to only have a 2 people at the table. Such a scam!!!!!

As long as we waited and the experience that we had it should have been free, at the least discounted!!!

Maybe that wasn't short but whatever.

I'll never go back and I wouldn't recommend it at all!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had friends in from out of town and we wanted a good brunch place! This place has bottomless mimosas and great food!! We got there pretty early for brunch so we were one of the only people in there. Once it got closer to noon the place started to fill up and it got a little loud. Overall it was a great experience and we would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

First time in Chicago and went to Lokal! Awesome vibe! The drinks were on point! Tried the Nutella Frites... it is a must have! Best item on the menu! But nothing compares to the best server I've had in the longest time. The one and only, sexy blue eyed Ryan!!! Our server Ryan, exceeded our expectations. He went far and beyond! He made the experience even better! If you haven't gone to Lokal yet then you are surely missing out! Come to Lokal and meet Ryan. He ROCKS!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Don't rely on OpenTable's times. We had two reservations- one for 3:15 and then changed to 3pm because we were there early. Lokal wouldn't seat us. We got a "kitchen's closed" as our greeting and the guy walked away. Soooo yea. :-/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was very dark and extremely loud during brunch hours. Staff was great and the service was good. I just didn't enjoy the noise level because I couldn't hear anyone at my table talk and it was so dark inside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service from Jessica; the pulled pork brunch nachos exceeded expectations; bottomless bloody Marys and mimosas for $12; the atmosphere is fun and vibrant with an awesome soundtrack. This place is super noisey which is great is that is what you are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Worst customer support in Chicago! Charged $100 more than my bill was worth and instead of an apology, we were asked to leave so another party could sit at he table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Three of us ate here with great success. Everything we ordered was delicious. Highlight was the mussels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE, but the noise level is just insane. Installing some acoustic boards to help absorb some of the sound would be nice. I'd love to go back, but too noisy. We couldn't even hear each other across the table.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Place was loud and service was a little slow but the bottomless mimosas and great food made up for it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is great and the bottomless deal is great. The only problem is that it's pretty disorganized. They don't tell you how it works when you sit down (1 1/2 hours for bottomless) and if they have a wait they will rush you out the door. They need to inform dinner what the deal is beforehand. Also if you're not going to seat the party until everyone arrives but still count that toward the 1 1/2 hours you're not going to have very happy customers. The experience would be so much better if it wasn't so disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My kind of music! Definitely going there again for the mimosas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time here last weekend and it was a great time. The food and mimosa deal was really good - my only complaint was that they wouldn't seat us until the whole party got there even though we were only missing 2 people, so we had to wait until the whole group was there. Otherwise would recommend just make sure no one is your party is late or ya can't eat!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was atrocious, the place was over crowded and so noisy we couldn't hear anyone at our table & we found bugs on the lemons and limes in our bloody Mary's which tasted like vodka mixed with something between pasta sauce and pizza sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I actually can only review the reservation process, because we never made it to the meal. I made a reservation for 12 at 11:30am on a Saturday--due to the fact Lokal is one of the few places that takes brunch reservations in the area. We arrived at 11:30 with our full party, and waited until 12:30, at which point our table was still not available. by 12:45 we gave up, and went to a different place entirely. While the hostess was apologetic and very nice throughout the process, it is unacceptable to allow reservations for large parties if you cannot accommodate them. 12 people had made plans and arranged to be there and waited almost an hour and a half outside on the curb. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

They might as well not take reservations, because you may still face a long wait even if you have one. There's no system for the host/hostess. Also, the food was not great. A friend got the smoked salmon Benedict and it literally had canned salmon!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Made a reservation. But there was no point. There is no hostess to keep track of who they need to seat whether they have a reservation or not! Otherwise food and mimosas were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible service, we got there at 10am for brunch and it didnt really get busy until 11am. Excellent brunch food and drink specials. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The menu is diverse, not your typical brunch items, but the food was good. A little too loud for my liking, it was hard to hear conversation over our table, which was rather small.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The best part about this place is the value. We did brunch with bottomless mimosas and each persons bill was around $25 which is a steal for brunch in Chicago. The only thing is I think we were expecting it to be a little more lively (arrived at 11am), they kept turning up the music and then it would disappear again. However, by the time we left at around 1 it was a lot more poppin'.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was a fun experience. We had a reservation and they got us right in to sit. The bottomless has a catch though as it stops after you get your entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They didn't honor the reservation. We waited for 40 minutes only to have to go to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service wasn't that great. It's been a few days since I ate at this restaurant and I am still dealing with billing issues.

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Mimosas were flat and had too much orange juice and not enough sparkling wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food is amazing & you can't beat $12 bottomless mimosas, but the service was AWFUL. We first walked in (with a reservation already made) and no on approached us for at least 5 minutes. All of the hostesses and waiters were just standing at the bar talking... Finally, we get seated in a tiny booth that can barely squeeze 4 and we had 6 people, so we asked to be moved. We were moved to a slightly bigger table but not much bigger. The food was great and we had a good time until the rude hostess came to our table & said "we have other reservations that need a seat, so you'll need to finish drinking your mimosas at the bar." I also still had food in front of me at this point, so it was very rude of her to just push us out of our table that we had reserved. Overall, it's a fun place with a great atmosphere, but if they want to keep their guests happy & returning, they should hire some new employees with better manners.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The day before I went to the one in Lincoln Park and it was great so a friend and I went to the on in Wicker Park. I enjoyed it all. It's a tad smaller than the one in Lincoln Park and there are some some menu items that aren't at this location that are at the other one. Mimosas were A1! Music was ON-POINT!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A 1:15 pm reservation wasn't seated until 2:30 pm!! The service was rude and unapologetic and we were not compensated for the ridiculous wait and were not told the wait would be this long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a reservation at 1 pm and upon arriving at 1250 pm we're still waiting for our table at 2 pm....at which point we decided to leave and go elsewhere. Extremely poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Being newly engaged I searched for a place to take my girlfriends out to where I would ask them to join my bridal party. LoKal seemed like a great place to do it. Unfortunately it was not so. Although we had a reservation for noon there was no table ready for us. This being understandable since it is a very popular location. After about 25 minutes of waiting we inquired on the wait time of a table since we already had a reservation. The hostess was very accommodating and went and asked for special permission to seat us at a table in back. The food here was amazing, everyone loved what they ordered and to that there is no complaints. After everyone's plates had been taken away we were approached with the bill immediately. Since that already was a sign of being rushed I decided to present my girlfriends with their gift boxes before we left. At this time our waitress (who so happened to be the manager as well) decided to return and ask for our check (which was not yet ready). My girls continue to open their gift boxes and it's smiles laughter and tears all around until another waitress decides to come along and explicitally say "I know this isn't a good time but we have another party waiting for the table". At this point we are blatantly rushed. The bill was taken care of and the issue was brought up with the manager who stated that the restaurants expects people to be in and out in about 1-1.5 hours. My party was at the 1.5 hour mark and it was obvious they were not going to let us go past it. I simply wish that would have been stated prior to making a reservation. It was not appreciated to pay such a large bill to have such a special moment ruined. The manager offers to buy the party a shot but that didn't go very far considering everyone was outside at this point. Point blank, this place had good food and bad service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had to wait 15 minutes for a reservation we already had. Waitress tried to seat us at a 'community table' because she was saving a booth for her family. We ended up getting the booth. Water poured into my glass still had champagne left in it after their mimosas, so they don't wash their dishes. I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.