About Lokal - Wicker Park

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Chicago / Illinois
Great for Brunch
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Bucktown / Wicker Park ›

great for brunch (28)
good for groups (16)
hot spot (11)
See All
vibrant bar scene (9)
fit for foodies (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They were very friendly and went out of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They were very friendly and went out of their way for my friend's birthday brunch. They hid a cake we brought for her in the back and gave us free birthday shots. Great ambiance.

The food was delicious, with interesting takes on benedicts such as pork belly or scallop.The bottomless mimosas hit the spot too and they were quick with carafes and refills. My one complaint was the temperature. We had a great, big square table in the back but it was like a sauna. Other than that, I'd go back!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party arrived at 11:17 AM but we had to wait until 11:45 AM to be seated. It looked like they gave away our reserved table right at 11:15 AM because our entire party was not there, though we all arrived 2 minutes later. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Top notch service with top notch food. I ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch service with top notch food. I was in town visiting family and Lokal was a recommendation and I was not disappointed. Our service was excellent. The food was excellent and I will definitely recommend Lokal as a great place to eat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and got ther only to find out the kitchen closed at 10.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wait even though we reserved. 1st time attempting to try, horrible experience.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The staff was great! Very accommodating ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff was great! Very accommodating & friendly! They really helped make my birthday brunch fun!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her wonderful service! The manager is ALWAYS sweet too

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, but if you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and service were great, but if you are expecting a quiet dining experience, this is not the place. Music is extremely loud. The restaurant did not have A/C working, and the day we went was extremely hot.

If you have a large party, just an FYI, they will not seat you until the entire party is present.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was spotty and overall it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was spotty and overall it was a chaotic scene for brunch. We waited quite a while despite having reservations. The coffee and food arrived cold. Our server seemed nice but was absent for our meal and did not check in with us as is customary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Always a good time!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is definitely one of my favorite brunch spots in the city. Everything on the menu is so good that I try to get something new every time I'm there. The bottomless mimosa deal is worth it as well, you definitely won't leave out of there disappointed! If you're going with a bigger group of people, a reservation would probably be the best idea as it can be a long wait if you decide to just drop by on a whim. The restaurant can be a little noisy, but the music selection is good so it wasn't a huge problem for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was an out of town visitor and this re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was an out of town visitor and this restaurant was highly recommended by a friend of mine. I along with six other friends made reservations and were not disappointed. The staff was great. The food was just as good. Bottomless mimosas for $10, you can't beat that. Did I say the staff was great?? This is an energetic brunch spot and the staff appreciates it if you exude some energy as well. On my next visit to the Chi I will make sure to brunch here again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No point in having a reservation.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We made a reservation, couldn't be seated until our last friend arrived...40 minutes later. Pressured us to leave our table after only 2 hours max. because people "with reservations are coming in"...like didn't we have one too? I probably wouldn't choose to go back here with a group of friends if hanging out and catching up at brunch is what you want to do (which is how everyone brunches, no?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great potato pancake entree and our serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great potato pancake entree and our server was funny, friendly, and prompt.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was awesome and food was very g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitress was awesome and food was very good. Know this place likes to make dishes unique so somethings listed as one item, have a twist, but in a good way. Definitely would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The special burger was great and the service was fantastic! Our server took his time explaining specials and even brought our group of gals a shot before we left. We were celebrating a job promotion and he went the extra mile to make us feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered scallops - came with two only. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Ordered scallops - came with two only. Was surprised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

It was a nice meal but the place is smal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a nice meal but the place is small and the music and people are loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

just Okay

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was bad. The table was sticky. The food was okay. There's nothing special on the menu.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not exceptional

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

LOUD. And rude service. Food was acceptable, but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Awesome experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

If you like lots of energetic people, hip hop, good food, and mimosa brunches, then this is the place for you. Went on a Saturday afternoon, and plan to return many many times.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So loud, busy, just too many people in g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

So loud, busy, just too many people in general. Food was just ok. Eggs benedicts need more hollandaise. Poached eggs were over-cooked for both orders we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Solid Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and the service was good. Only complaint was that it was a tad crowded and loud.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nothing special, slow service

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Beware if you book through Open Table as the restaurant doesn't have a good hostess system to keep track of how many tables need to be saved. Once we were seated it took 10 to 15 minutes for someone to come to our table. Once we were served, had the BLT, Reuben, and a Benedict at our table. All were good but nothing extraordinary. The wait staff had too many tables each and service was slow (too slow for bottomless mimosas and bloody marys). There are many other more friendly and more delicious places to have brunch in the area. Perhaps the service would be better for a group of 2 or not on Sunday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Must try!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The atmosphere is kind of small but the food and service was great. The only issue was that we had a reservation and the hostess sat other tables before us knowing we had a bigger party. We had one person left to show up and she wouldn't seat us. Once our complete party was there we still had another 30 minute wait.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Boozy Brunch!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Literally one of the funnest boozy brunches I've ever been to. The music was awesome, the server was so fun and nice! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Our experience was a special one that's for sure. Thanks to Open Table for getting me a 10 top on a Sunday for brunch. But real special thanks to the staff for getting 14 of us at that table. I know our group and staff got off to a rough start because we did not know all the rules of the bottomless brunch and wanted to upgrade by speaking with the manager. But once that was settled we were back in good graces. Our server Gina was incredible to deal with our group. She was on top of everything and made sure we enjoyed bottomless brunch. The atmosphere was fun, with great music. We were seated once most of the party showed up without a problem, our table was ready when we got there 15 mins early. Food was great and came out quickly. I will definitely be back. Thank you Lokal

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Horrible. I celebrated my birthday party here on a Saturday night — we only had 10 people in our group. Our server was incredibly slow and dismissive of my table. Multiple times she kept saying she couldn't take our order because she had to go and get a pad of paper to write down our food. She also kept making the wrong drinks for my guests.

The drinks themselves took nearly twenty minutes to arrive. We were there an hour and a half and could only fit in two rounds at the speed they were being delivered to the table.

We were not allowed to split our check more than three ways via card, and then when we figured that out we had to split up one check ourselves (tally each order and write down the amount per card).

I would understand if our waitress was busy, but there was literally only two other tables, and whenever I looked over to see the progress of our drinks, she was chatting with her fellow servers rather thank completing our order.

I will never go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Not Ready for Party of 20

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I rarely review, but I think our experience warrants a review. We made a reservation for a group of 20, which this restaurant happily accepted. When we arrived, we realized the place was in general far too small for a party of this size, and more importantly, it had not prepared a table for us. We waited over an over until they somehow scraped a few tables together and could finally seat us. We came for champagne brunch. They ran out of orange juice, and served us pineapple juice instead, without even telling us beforehand. They ran out of straws for bloody mary's. Our food took almost an hour to arrive. All in all, it seemed they were unprepared for us, so I would advise that they do not take a reservation for a party next time which they are unable to accommodate. We would have happily reserved a table elsewhere had we known about this. And because of this, our monthly friend brunch suffered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food but you will be pushed out

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is great and so are the mimosas. But when you pay for a mimosa brunch you want to stay there a while... the hostess here will rush you.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food mediocre, service slow

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was mediocre - vegetables under cooked, scallops chewy, specifically ordered a plain burger and this order was incorrectly place. By the time it was "fixed" by the kitchen, all other meals were cold. Floor seemed well staffed, crowd was light, yet service was slow.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mimosa brunch + awesome food = :)

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We were visiting Chicago with a large group - found this place via other reviews. Total gem. Awesome mimosa brunch, were able to accommodate a large reservation, great food, killer play list on the sound system, and everyone left happy. I'll say that's an A+.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't go wrong for brunch & bottomless mimosas

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The menu was awesome - it was so hard to choose between all the options. And we were very satisfied with our meals. I just wish they were better about refilling your mimosa glasses...

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Reservations Highly Recommended

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I went to Lokal for the first time to celebrate my birthday with a group of friends for brunch. I chose Lokal based on the variety of menu options and also the cheap Mimosa deal. It's all you can drink while dining for $10/person. We made sure to eat really slow and drink really fast so we got a lot for our money. But the food was excellent and our server was a sweetheart. It's a very small place so if you don't want a long wait for a table you should definitely make a reservation. Note that you must have all people in your party present before they will seat you. I understand they wouldn't have started the AYCD mimosa deal yet but it got really crowded at the entrance with us and another large party that were waiting for our last 2 people to arrive. There were probably 12 people all crammed in the tiny space by the door. Also, we would've liked to at least have some waters and peruse the menu while waiting for our other guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Overall service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

This is the second time I went there in the past two weeks and there was a 35+ min wait when I had made a reservation on Open Table. They claimed to have "lost" my reservation. First time I chalked it up to a computer glitch, but second time, I was disappointed with the service. My waiter was awesome and once I was seated I was satisfied with service. However if I make a reservation, I expect to not have to wait 35+min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

They refused to honor our opentable rese ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

They refused to honor our opentable reservation and had us wait in walk-inline instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Disappointed

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Made a reservation the day of and looked forward to a good brunch. Once we arrived, The hostess was hard to find (no hostess stand? come on). We were told they didn't have our reservation because Open Table was down for them. Tons of other unhappy people were waiting for a table (at least half were open...seems efficiency isn't a priority). Hostess couldn't estimate a wait time so we left and went some where near by; luckily there are other places in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

They didn't have my reservation when I a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

They didn't have my reservation when I arrived. Still had to wait for a table. Ended up leaving. So many other options in the neighborhood with better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Vegetarian Options

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We had a good experience at Lokal. This was my second time there. I especially like the number of vegetarian and vegan options on the menu.

The only thing that could be improved is that the service was a little slow. The staff was friendly but we had to wait quite a while for our food although the place was not that crowded.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We went early before a show at the Doubl ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We went early before a show at the Double door. It was quiet and fast. Good good and great drinks. It was very low key at 7PM

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best brunch spots in Chicago

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

I've been scouring Chicago for a better unlimited bloody mary or mimosa brunch and I haven't found it yet. LoKal in Wicker Park is the best value vs. quality for food. Their portions are fair, the mimosas are flowing, and the taste is great. You may wait a while to get seated on the weekends, but once you're seated everything moves very quickly and efficiently and your drinks will rarely be empty. Servers are friendly and good at what they do.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.