Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.2

ambience

3.3

value

3.7

noise

Energetic

62% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Casual (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for a Date (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service from Jessica; the pulled pork brunch nachos exceeded expectations; bottomless bloody Marys and mimosas for $12; the atmosphere is fun and vibrant with an awesome soundtrack. This place is super noisey which is great is that is what you are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Worst customer support in Chicago! Charged $100 more than my bill was worth and instead of an apology, we were asked to leave so another party could sit at he table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Three of us ate here with great success. Everything we ordered was delicious. Highlight was the mussels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE, but the noise level is just insane. Installing some acoustic boards to help absorb some of the sound would be nice. I'd love to go back, but too noisy. We couldn't even hear each other across the table.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Place was loud and service was a little slow but the bottomless mimosas and great food made up for it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is great and the bottomless deal is great. The only problem is that it's pretty disorganized. They don't tell you how it works when you sit down (1 1/2 hours for bottomless) and if they have a wait they will rush you out the door. They need to inform dinner what the deal is beforehand. Also if you're not going to seat the party until everyone arrives but still count that toward the 1 1/2 hours you're not going to have very happy customers. The experience would be so much better if it wasn't so disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My kind of music! Definitely going there again for the mimosas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time here last weekend and it was a great time. The food and mimosa deal was really good - my only complaint was that they wouldn't seat us until the whole party got there even though we were only missing 2 people, so we had to wait until the whole group was there. Otherwise would recommend just make sure no one is your party is late or ya can't eat!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was atrocious, the place was over crowded and so noisy we couldn't hear anyone at our table & we found bugs on the lemons and limes in our bloody Mary's which tasted like vodka mixed with something between pasta sauce and pizza sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I actually can only review the reservation process, because we never made it to the meal. I made a reservation for 12 at 11:30am on a Saturday--due to the fact Lokal is one of the few places that takes brunch reservations in the area. We arrived at 11:30 with our full party, and waited until 12:30, at which point our table was still not available. by 12:45 we gave up, and went to a different place entirely. While the hostess was apologetic and very nice throughout the process, it is unacceptable to allow reservations for large parties if you cannot accommodate them. 12 people had made plans and arranged to be there and waited almost an hour and a half outside on the curb. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

They might as well not take reservations, because you may still face a long wait even if you have one. There's no system for the host/hostess. Also, the food was not great. A friend got the smoked salmon Benedict and it literally had canned salmon!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Made a reservation. But there was no point. There is no hostess to keep track of who they need to seat whether they have a reservation or not! Otherwise food and mimosas were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Incredible service, we got there at 10am for brunch and it didnt really get busy until 11am. Excellent brunch food and drink specials. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The menu is diverse, not your typical brunch items, but the food was good. A little too loud for my liking, it was hard to hear conversation over our table, which was rather small.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The best part about this place is the value. We did brunch with bottomless mimosas and each persons bill was around $25 which is a steal for brunch in Chicago. The only thing is I think we were expecting it to be a little more lively (arrived at 11am), they kept turning up the music and then it would disappear again. However, by the time we left at around 1 it was a lot more poppin'.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was a fun experience. We had a reservation and they got us right in to sit. The bottomless has a catch though as it stops after you get your entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They didn't honor the reservation. We waited for 40 minutes only to have to go to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service wasn't that great. It's been a few days since I ate at this restaurant and I am still dealing with billing issues.

Tags: People Watching, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Mimosas were flat and had too much orange juice and not enough sparkling wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food is amazing & you can't beat $12 bottomless mimosas, but the service was AWFUL. We first walked in (with a reservation already made) and no on approached us for at least 5 minutes. All of the hostesses and waiters were just standing at the bar talking... Finally, we get seated in a tiny booth that can barely squeeze 4 and we had 6 people, so we asked to be moved. We were moved to a slightly bigger table but not much bigger. The food was great and we had a good time until the rude hostess came to our table & said "we have other reservations that need a seat, so you'll need to finish drinking your mimosas at the bar." I also still had food in front of me at this point, so it was very rude of her to just push us out of our table that we had reserved. Overall, it's a fun place with a great atmosphere, but if they want to keep their guests happy & returning, they should hire some new employees with better manners.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The day before I went to the one in Lincoln Park and it was great so a friend and I went to the on in Wicker Park. I enjoyed it all. It's a tad smaller than the one in Lincoln Park and there are some some menu items that aren't at this location that are at the other one. Mimosas were A1! Music was ON-POINT!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

A 1:15 pm reservation wasn't seated until 2:30 pm!! The service was rude and unapologetic and we were not compensated for the ridiculous wait and were not told the wait would be this long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had a reservation at 1 pm and upon arriving at 1250 pm we're still waiting for our table at 2 pm....at which point we decided to leave and go elsewhere. Extremely poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Being newly engaged I searched for a place to take my girlfriends out to where I would ask them to join my bridal party. LoKal seemed like a great place to do it. Unfortunately it was not so. Although we had a reservation for noon there was no table ready for us. This being understandable since it is a very popular location. After about 25 minutes of waiting we inquired on the wait time of a table since we already had a reservation. The hostess was very accommodating and went and asked for special permission to seat us at a table in back. The food here was amazing, everyone loved what they ordered and to that there is no complaints. After everyone's plates had been taken away we were approached with the bill immediately. Since that already was a sign of being rushed I decided to present my girlfriends with their gift boxes before we left. At this time our waitress (who so happened to be the manager as well) decided to return and ask for our check (which was not yet ready). My girls continue to open their gift boxes and it's smiles laughter and tears all around until another waitress decides to come along and explicitally say "I know this isn't a good time but we have another party waiting for the table". At this point we are blatantly rushed. The bill was taken care of and the issue was brought up with the manager who stated that the restaurants expects people to be in and out in about 1-1.5 hours. My party was at the 1.5 hour mark and it was obvious they were not going to let us go past it. I simply wish that would have been stated prior to making a reservation. It was not appreciated to pay such a large bill to have such a special moment ruined. The manager offers to buy the party a shot but that didn't go very far considering everyone was outside at this point. Point blank, this place had good food and bad service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had to wait 15 minutes for a reservation we already had. Waitress tried to seat us at a 'community table' because she was saving a booth for her family. We ended up getting the booth. Water poured into my glass still had champagne left in it after their mimosas, so they don't wash their dishes. I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went on Friday for brunch so I wasn't surprised when there were no people there. It seems like to would be very lively at night. The staff was super relaxed and nice. Bottomless mimosas were worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

No point in having a reservation because you will have to still wait. We had a reservation for 1pm for 4 and weren't seated until 40 minutes later. The food was good and priced well, so were the mimosas. The tables are too close together and hard to maneuver around. Very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lokal was a great spot for bottomless mimosa brunch. We had a party of 5 out of towners and offered to sit at a community table because there were such long lines. I'm not sure if this was because it was the Saturday before St. Patrick's Day, or if Lokal is always this way. We had a blast with our new friends and old, and the only negative thing was the long wait despite our 1:15 reservation. I guess they don't really go by reservations, but by a first come first serve basis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Eclectic twist on Polish food, with great variety. Wild boar gnocchi was great, mussels too. Portions very generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

FYI -- Lokal does not accept same day OpenTable reservations. Still spent 20+ waiting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We made a reservation for 1:30, but weren't sat until 2:15 without any apology or explanation. The big draw to this brunch spot was the endless mimosas, but they were super diluted, flat and almost room temperature. I noted that they pre mix the mimosas behind the bar and the orange juice is from the soda gun. After trying the first mimosa, I asked for champagne only.
The food had good flavors (amazing potatoes) but my Benedict had gone cold by the time it got to our table.

This place would be greatly improved with better table planning, timing and more attentive staff.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Usually go to LoKal for $12 bottomless mimosas or bloody mary's. Made a 12 PM reservation on Open Table which was not even remotely honored--we were put on a "list" AKA a bunch of names scribbled on the back of a receipt, and told we would have to wait around 30 minutes. Ultimately, the waitress offered to seat us at a large "community table" in the back of the restaurant, where we were mostly ignored for our time dining. Looked to have about 5 people total working the restaurant (including bartenders and those busing tables). Got no glasses for water, since apparently a bartender the night before had broken half of the restaurants glasses and they were running short. Seriously poor management--brunch here is ALWAYS busy, please be fully staffed and don't put such heavy strain on your servers, who ultimately have to take the fall for poor management. Will probably not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is the first review I have ever written. My experience here was so bad, I felt the need to share it.

I will NOT recommend this place! I had a party of 8 booked and 1 person was going to be late. Bear in mind the 1 person who was late does NOT drink (which we made clear to the hostess). The hostesses were incredibly rude / unhelpful. They took away our table for 8 and moved us to the back at a table for 6 in front of the bathroom with a 7th chair squeezed on the end (which there was not room for). They informed us that if our 8th guest showed up, she would need to sit by herself and there is NO way to work around this. After an hour and 15 mins, they requested we leave, as they had another reservation and needed the table!

I understand they have strict rules around the entire party being present for seating, as they have a drink-deal. I am not upset about rules. I am upset with how the hostesses treated us. They were incredibly unwilling to work with us and were extremely rude. We would have left immediately if we didn't have a large enough group.

I made this reservation and was embarrassed that I had all of my friends join me and we were treated this way. Chicago has a LOT of brunch places to offer (many with drink-deals). I don't know why anyone would choose this place. Needless to say, my friends and I will NOT be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had to wait an hour for our table, which was quite annoying considering we had a reservation. The hostess kept saying "5 more minutes," but it was clear she wasn't telling the table where we were to be seated that another reservation was waiting. Once we were seated, the experience was great - attentive service, delicious food and awesome mimosa brunch deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Whenever I fly into Chicago I always make a reservation and Lokal (whichever location has availability). This is my go to spot and I have to say I missed the scallops Benedict this time around. Still one of my favorite places in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wouldn't choose it as a brunch spot again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best brunch spot in wicker park! The bottomless mimosas are a great deal and the food is to die for. Pretty good for dinner as well, but if you go on a Saturday or Sunday morning you can try the Nutella banana puff pastry that will take all of your problems away! I definitely recommend you make a reservation before going because it gets packed during brunch hours and there can be a wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 11:30 but were not seated until about 12:30. They had a lot of reservations for the day and didn't seem prepared to handle them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waiter Donald was amazing, Food was worth every penny. Happy and energetic environment, with great music. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Even with a reservation at 1:30 we had to wait an additional thirty minutes for food. We could hardly hear each other talking, mind you we were a party of eight, because of the loud, hip hop music playing at all times. Food was average, not worth the wait and the poor service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.