About Lokal - Wicker Park

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.4

ambience

3.1

value

3.3

noise

Energetic

67% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
See All
Fun (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I brought my best friend from Atlanta GA ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I brought my best friend from Atlanta GA to this bar to show her a good Chicago time. I wanted bottomless mimosas, a solid brunch and good music. I was absolutely delighted to find good service, a great menu and a superb atmosphere at Lokal. Although slightly busy, the staff was able to accommodate us rather quickly and we had a fantastic time with the Sunday brunch deal. I would recommend this to all young professionals that want a great brunch deal with yo-pro vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We showed up at 9:30 on a Saturday and i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We showed up at 9:30 on a Saturday and it looked like the place hadn't been setup yet. Tables were sort of strewn about. The coffee area had boxes around it. There were a bunch of people just sort of milling around. We decided to go somewhere else. We actually went to the Bongo Room and had a very nice brunch instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Miserable experience and total chaos. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Miserable experience and total chaos. We booked a reservation via OpenTable for 1 pm on a Saturday. Upon arrival, they said they don't prioritize reservations over walk-ins. False advertisement alert! Despite the wait of people extending outside onto the sidewalk, the hostess said it was only a 15-20 minute wait. So we put our name down. 30 minutes passed by and there were people who came in later being seated ahead of us. We asked to talk to a manager. We told her about booking through OneTable and our wait. She was apologetic and sat us at the next open table. This angered the walk-ins who were waiting since before we arrived. We felt bad, but there was absolutely no organization on Lokal's end. You would think that a brunch place making most of their money on the weekend would be better prepared...

The food was good but didn't make up for the bad taste that was in our mouth upon arrival. Be careful about booking these brunch places through OpenTable – it seems that some aren't even aware they're falsely advertising reservations...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Although we had a reservation we still h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Although we had a reservation we still had to wait 30 minutes. Parties that arrived after us were seated before us. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Be prepared to wait for Sunday brunch ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Be prepared to wait for Sunday brunch even if you have a reservation! I made a noon reservation and still had 3 tables in front of me waiting to be seated. I assume this is bc of the mimosa special on Sunday but still, there really was no point in even making a reservation. Waiting aside, the food and service were good. I don't know if I will rush to go back, but it's nice to know there is a mimosa deal in Wicker.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I absolutely LOVE the food, music, barte ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I absolutely LOVE the food, music, bartenders, environment etc!!!! They always keep the Mimosas coming & they always seem to give out one complimentary shot. I just wish it were a little bit bigger in space but the lack of space has yet to take away from my overall experience! Lokal is ABSOLUTELY one of my favorite places to brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One star b/c... It was open. I had reser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One star b/c... It was open. I had reservations at this establishment and was basically ignored for the first hour. Because it was my bday and had friends meet here, we stuck around. Thankfully, after numerous attempts to be seated, a friend raised hell and they "took care of us". Once we were seated we were served FLAT champagne - as in no bubbles at all. We paid and left without drinking what was served. If you are 30+ years old, do yourself a favor and skip this place. It is extremely loud, as in you cannot hear each other speak and just awful. I have had better service at a drive thru.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our group of four went for brunch with 1 ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our group of four went for brunch with 11:15 reservations. We were sat within five minutes and greeted with waters right away. It went downhill from there. Our food order took about 30 minutes to arrive--not terrible on a busy Sunday, but not great. Two of our party had their meals and no silverware for five minutes while two of us had nothing. The eggs on the benedicts were overcooked and both (salmon and spinach mushroom) were dry and bland. The truffle fries, chicken sandwich, and potato pancakes were pretty good. Our server was attentive with water refills and seemed pleasant enough until she plopped the check back on our table without a smile or "thank you". This was before we'd had the chance to tip on the credit card, so we weren't sure why she was suddenly cold. The noise level made it hard to talk and enjoy ourselves. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Love coming here for brunch. Lots of gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love coming here for brunch. Lots of great options and having some place that still offers a breakfast cocktail deal is great in my book. Definitely recommend to all my friends!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Initial impression: I had made a reserva ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Initial impression: I had made a reservation online here and when my friend and I arrived, they told us we could sit at the bar otherwise we had to wait for a table. That turned me off since we had a reservation and she didn't even acknowledge it and there were two open booths. So we squished up on the bar.

The bartender was really friendly and the bottomless mimosas deal is great. However the food was pretty mediocre. My friend ordered steak and eggs and the steak was super over cooked even though she ordered medium rare and the eggs on my Benedict weren't poached at all, they were cooked through.

Overall it was ok, great if you want to get a bunch of mimosas or bloody Mary's but the initial impression really turned me off from going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

food was delicious and environment was f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

food was delicious and environment was fun! just wish we had known about the "3 cards only" rule beforehand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If I was able to put negative stars I wo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

If I was able to put negative stars I would. I planned a brunch for some of my friends who came into town to visit. We were a decently big group ( 6 adults) . The hostess placed us at two uneven two top tables with 6 chairs squished between two other parties. Waited almost 5-10 minutes before we were greeted by any server/staff. After we got waters/coffees ( we did not participate in their bottomless mimosas) it took about another 10 minutes for our order to be taken. This is were it got extremely frustrating. I have worked in the service industry for 3.5 years. I understand a busy Sunday brunch. I understand being short staffed. I understand mistakes happen. I get getting weeded. What I don't get is the lack of management and lack of customer service our table received. We waited almost a full hour with out our food. Two parties that sat well after us got their orders ( one a party of two the other a party of 14). We never once were spoken to by our server about the food delay. A manager never checked to see why a party of 6 was sitting there with just coffees/waters. I believe our server never placed the ticket only because the manger when trying to cover her tracks told us the time the ticket went in ( right after one of our party requested an update on the order). At that point the server said he was sorry about the delay and he'd take care it by offering 50% off the check. Food came out shortly after the apology ( not worth the hour wait sad to say). Orders were not correct then fixed shortly there after. When the check arrived the 50% was not placed on check. We asked to speak with a manager who quite frankly failed at her job that particular day. She was rude and combative. She threw her employee under the bus, backhanded apologized, and by the end was straight up rude. She told us the owner was not there after saying she spoke with them about said incident was brought to their attention. The owner should be ashamed of how this all was handled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The pictures on open table are misleadin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The pictures on open table are misleading. The pictures make this restaurant look cute and classy.. however, it's just a hole in the wall, bar. Service was decent, food was ok. Drinks were alright. Over all, I probably wouldn't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

What is the point of a reservation if we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What is the point of a reservation if we're not going to be sat for almost a hour after arriving? The hostess even said it only "sort of helps" to have a reservation. It was very annoying and a bit disappointed. The food was good but not worth the aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The server was a sweet heart and doing t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The server was a sweet heart and doing the best she could with all the people in at that time, but they kept forgetting to bring silverware. However, they did bring us two rounds of shots.. So, all was forgiven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I will NEVER recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I will NEVER recommend this restaurant. We had reservations after a very special occasion - our daughter's graduation from graduate school. Our daughter was even in her cap and gown, but they did not honor our reservation, even though we were there 10 minutes early. They told us it would be at least 45 min. That was not going to work as our other daughter had to leave within two hours to catch a flight. Why take reservations if your policy is not to keep them!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My salmon Benedict was probably worst I' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My salmon Benedict was probably worst I've ever had. Terrible bland chunks of salmon instead of smoked salmon & it was lukewarm.

Great server but I wouldn't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

I had been here once before for brunch a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had been here once before for brunch and loved it. It was slammed that time so I was surprised to see it pretty empty when we went. But not to fear, it was all still delicious and there were more people coming in later. We had the flat bread, the egg plant (must get), the wings (yum) and very surprisingly the mac & cheese with sausage and kraut - really good. Thought everything was delicious. In my neighborhood so will definitely head back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone's brunch was delicious (went on ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everyone's brunch was delicious (went on a Saturday). However, the service was super slow and bill ended up wrong in the end. It was very noisy and you had to speak loudly to hear each other. Music was trendy and upbeat!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We ended up not eating here since we arr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We ended up not eating here since we arrived early and had to wait 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation and ended up leaving. There is no point to be open table if you do not adhere to reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went there for a bachelor party brunch. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Went there for a bachelor party brunch. Service was awesome. Food was fantastic. Literally exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommended this place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing!! And the happy hour dea ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food is amazing!! And the happy hour deals are great! On Tuesdays, all the appetizers are half off. Me and a friend ordered 4 appetizers for $30 and we had alot of leftovers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious and I ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and I was a big fan of their brunch special. Our waitress was great, but the hostess was pretty awful. I would have given the restaurant 5 stars if not for the hostess.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We arrived on time for a Saturday brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We arrived on time for a Saturday brunch reservation. Unfortunately, even though we booked a reservation through Open Table, the hostess said they didn't have any tables available and we would have to wait approx 30 minutes. She did not want my name (for the reservation). The restaurant was packed - seems to be a very popular spot, so much so that they have trouble managing/honoring reservations. We left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great spot for brunch. Be sure that your ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot for brunch. Be sure that your group can project and have good hearing. The acoustics aren't the best so you can barely hear over other tables. Food was good. Service was also good, had to wait 30 mins although we had a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I can't speak for the food or value sinc ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I can't speak for the food or value since we were never actually seated, but I gave that a 1-star rating based on everything else. It's possible the food/value are actually great, but I guess I'll never know.

Made a reservation for 1:15pm for brunch. Arrived at 1:00pm knowing I was early, but was told it would be 30 minutes before I could get seated. "Even with a reservation?" "Yea we're really busy." It was very clear that they don't even check a reservation system as the hostess was randomly wandering around and never once checked a computer/reservation system. We waited for about 10 minutes and in that time, another couple came in after us (a walk-in, I heard them say they don't have a reservation) and were promptly seated at the bar. That wasn't even offered to us as an option. I also saw other people waiting who had drinks in hand, and again, the option to order drinks while we waited wasn't offered. Won't be going here again, and if you do go here, don't bother booking a reservation.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This review is for open table rather tha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

This review is for open table rather than the restaurant. They showed us it was open at noon when the restaurant doesn't even open until 5pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Get there early. And make reservations. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Get there early. And make reservations. When it starts to get busy some of the waiters and other staff start to hover over you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Went early for brunch as they promoted b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went early for brunch as they promoted bottomless mimosas. Very simple bar/restaurant. Food was good and service was good. Had a toddler with us and they were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Really great place for brunch. Staff was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Really great place for brunch. Staff was very accommodating. Server was amazing! Def will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

We had reservations. Waited 15 minutes, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had reservations. Waited 15 minutes, were not seated. Couldn't get anyone's attention to tell us how long of a wait. We ended up leaving.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My experience was unfortunate. The resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

My experience was unfortunate. The restaurant was so under managed for the amount of volume it was trying to handle. There was no host or manager. I was at my table and then asked to get up. When I tried to speak with someone about how wrong it is to ask a table to get up after being sat I was only met with attitudes. I blaim this on under staffing a busy (actually uncomfortably busy) restaurant. You should not have a head waiter taking tables and having to speak to customers because "we don't have a manager". They told us to get up from our table because we weren't complete. When I explained that i wanted to speak to the highest authority the young man told me he wasn't going to "WASTE A TABLE ON US." I recognize this is a busy establishment and the loss of my business meant nothing but I won't ever return. I feel sorry for the staff that was set up to fail there.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I would say Lokal is best suited for tho ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

I would say Lokal is best suited for those on a budget looking for a bottomless mimosa/bloody deal...but not for someone looking for quality drinks or food. The noise level was so loud as well, I'd compare this to a duffy's all you can drink brunch vibe.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

They were very friendly and went out of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

They were very friendly and went out of their way for my friend's birthday brunch. They hid a cake we brought for her in the back and gave us free birthday shots. Great ambiance.

The food was delicious, with interesting takes on benedicts such as pork belly or scallop.The bottomless mimosas hit the spot too and they were quick with carafes and refills. My one complaint was the temperature. We had a great, big square table in the back but it was like a sauna. Other than that, I'd go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party arrived at 11:17 AM but we had to wait until 11:45 AM to be seated. It looked like they gave away our reserved table right at 11:15 AM because our entire party was not there, though we all arrived 2 minutes later. Would not recommend or return.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Top notch service with top notch food. I ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch service with top notch food. I was in town visiting family and Lokal was a recommendation and I was not disappointed. Our service was excellent. The food was excellent and I will definitely recommend Lokal as a great place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and got ther only to find out the kitchen closed at 10.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wai ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wait even though we reserved. 1st time attempting to try, horrible experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The staff was great! Very accommodating ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff was great! Very accommodating & friendly! They really helped make my birthday brunch fun!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her wonderful service! The manager is ALWAYS sweet too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.