Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.7

Noise

Energetic

54% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Casual (8)
See All
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2018

1) they auto grat everyone (even though it’s not mentioned on the menu or the website), there were 4 of us
2) the champagne they use for their bottomless brunch is SO cheap, I passed on this, but they were still out of multiple beers and couldn’t even make an Irish coffee. I guess they don’t want people spending money on normal drinks
3) they have 1 bathroom for males and 1 for females, both doors literally open up to about a foot away from
Tables, tables where people are eating- honestly this is gross
4) this place is SO loud, I couldn’t even hear our server, and we were put in a corner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2018

The reservation I had was set for 11:30 and my whole party was present by 11:30, but we didn’t get seated until 12:15pm-12:30pm. Otherwise, music was great, food was bomb, service after being seated was good as well. I would go back, just with a smaller party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Very crowded....waited for table for 5 people got small booth with end chair added. All you can drink mimosas at room temp.....if you can get a second serving. Exception: Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2018

While it offers a fun, vibrant environment, I was incredibly disappointed with the service. I made a reservation ahead of time, but our party ended up waiting over an hour to finally get a table!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We had been there previously for brunch and loved it. They were super busy with a nice city vibe. We had tickets to a 10:30 show at the IO and want to make a last minute reservation and ended up with an8:30 reservation at Lokal. When we walked in the place was dead. There were three booths with customers including us. The floor was cleared of tables either for cleaning up after brunch or to make room for a dance floor? The waitress was lovely but more interested in the few patrons at the bar. The food was delicious and once we ordered came in a timely fashion. The ambience was just strange. We would definitely go back for brunch but probably not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2018

I made a reservation for 1:00 pm, when I arrived there was no one by the entrance to greet us, it was super packed and I had no idea who to inform I was there for my reservation. Once I found the person, she told me it would only be a few minutes and that they would have my table ready. Around 1:15 pm I asked her how much longer it would be and she said that they were working on getting other people seated. I reminded her I had reservation but she said I would still have to wait. My friend and I waited until 1:30 and at that point we decided to leave. I understand there would be a wait, i would've waited about 15 minutes or even 20 minutes. But not 30+ minutes when I made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The restaurant was CLOSED for our confirmed 9:00 a.m. brunch. They did not help us find another location. I had the confirmed reservation in hand and was not notified of the fact that the restaurant opened at 10:00 a.m. Disappointed in both Open Table and Lokal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We went early, for brunch at 9:30. The music was too loud and the service was not good even though there was hardly anyone else in the place. The waiter didn't write our order down even though he seemed unsure of it, and he did in fact get it wrong. We also had to wave him down whenever we wanted coffee or water refills. The food was fine, not amazing but not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Seriously too loud. couldnt even order had to leave. Tried to cancel reservation but they did not come to help us at front entrance and then tried to call but went to voice mail Which was full. Never ate there but stood around in the noise fir a while. Really crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Their bottomless mimosa brunch is the greatest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Tried to call this restaurant a number of days and at different times leading up to our reservation and kept getting voicemail. I even tried calling the other location in case the number was wrong and also got voicemail. What restaurant has a full voicemail box or doesn’t pick up the phone? This coupled with the reviews about the rude staff and poor service was enough to not even take a chance dining here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2017

TOO Loud to hear guests speaking next to you, let alone a party of 8.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I would not recommend - this place is WAY too crowded and loud for a dining experience. They need to do some sound proofing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

I picked LOKaL for brunch because my friends were in town and we wanted a good mimosa deal. We had a reservation but still waited minutes to be sat. Small annoyance but we asked if they could change one of the TVs to football and was told the remote was broken. Our server was nice but the atmosphere was like a Saturday night club. So LOUD and rowdy. Like people dancing in line for the bathroom and rapping/ singing outloud. You have to yell while trying to talk to the person across from you. I would not come back here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great - fun place for brunch! Love their bottomless mimosas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Terribly run business. Reservations don't count. Waiters & Waitresses forget about you. The crowding is terrible. Can't imagine there being a fire or emergency in there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Unnecessarily loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2017

LoKal is awesome! My friends and I went to a Sunday brunch for a 25th birthday celebration and it was great! Such a lively spot, great for millennials.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2017

$30 will get you a great meal and nice buzz at brunch! Definitely one of my favorite brunch spots in Chicago. The atmosphere is live and there's a nice mix in crowd. On Saturdays, they have rotating DJs who keep brunch fun.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal - Wicker Park has one of the best brunch atmospheres I have ever experienced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal is a really great and fun spot to hang out and eat with friends.
Our ONLY complaint is the wait for seating is horrible and chaotic.
Even with reservations we waited over an hour to be seated. However, once we were seated, we had an INCREDIBLE time! Service was great despise the restaurant being packed. Staff was very attentive to us and made us feel like we were the only folks there. It ended up being worth the wait for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

LOKal was great! A friend and I headed there for brunch; our food was delicious. Our waiter was super friendly and attentive, even though the place was PACKED. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was great! Food was great. The music was a little too loud for my taste(for a Sunday brunch that is), but other than that - it was fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had a reservation here for brunch, but when we got the restaurant there was no room to even walk in there were so many people waiting! It took us a good 10-15 minutes to get the host's attention/push our way to the front of the crowd, and on top of that we were notified that the table wasn't ready and wouldn't be ready for another 15-20 minutes, even though we were on time (essentially we would've gotten seated more than a half hour after our original reservation time). Also it was super loud and crowded, we had to shout to each other.

We left and went to another restaurant around the corner that could seat us right away rather than deal with the chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Loved our server! She was sweet. The bottomless mimosas are what keep me coming back. This is my third visit in two months. I like the chill atmosphere and the staff is very nice. It’s noisy and the tables are very close together, but I don’t mind because the service and food are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Went for the Saturday brunch special. Overall a great experience from the start to the end. Your entire party needs to be there before they seat you, but once you do sit down you can purchase an unlimited champagne package for the duration of your meal for $16. The food was great and the service was amazing. We had Ryan as our waiter and he made the experience 100x more enjoyable. He was extremely friendly and recommended some awesome dishes to the group. He also made sure we were never waiting for a refill on the bottomless champagne and was always stopping by to chat and make sure everything was great. Super friendly staff and great atmosphere overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Reservations are completely useless. Servers rush you. Food selection is real basic. But music was good and people were having a lot of fun...comradery over champagne. Very melanated.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2017

epic....just epic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lokal decided to ignore any Opentable reservations, including ours and at least 2 other groups who were there at the same time. Do not bother making a reservation here, they do not care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service was amazing, and the bottomless mimosas were constantly flowing. I was there on a Big 10 game day so the inside was very loud, but the servers relocated us outside which was relaxing brunch. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Nice brunch place for Wicker Park area, a bit small but its to be expected for the places on North Ave. The $12 bottomless mimosa were a hit and the food selection and taste was very good for their brunch menu. DJ was good and atmosphere was energetic of the pre and post Millennial crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Make sure your whole party has arrived to get seated. It's a fun place with a group. Food is alright, tiny spot but great idea for brunch on a Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It’s was pretty hot on this day and they said their air conditioning had been broken for 3 weeks. Besides that, it was a wonderful time. Ryan was a great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Came here for brunch with my wife and 24-year old daughter to enjoy brunch with a friend and his family. We haven't seen each other in person for 28 years and was looking forward to a nice enjoyable catch-up over brunch. Unfortunately the noise level was absolutely ridiculous. I don't mean it was loud...I mean RIDICULOUSLY LOUD. Heavy metal standing by the speakers concert loud. And this is not just the 50 years saying so...but the ones in their mid-20's too. In part this was because it's a small place and was crowded with people—but more so because they have a big speaker hanging on the back wall with the music volume turned up to 11. Which in turned caused every person at every table to scream their conversations. (I knew this not because I could hear them but because of the strain on their faces as they conversed.)

We ate here once before for dinner and the atmosphere was much, MUCH more pleasant—and the food was good. But this time it was such an unpleasant experience that I can't even tell you if the food was good or not. I think it was...but I can't be 100% sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had the ahi tuna burger, yum!! We chose to do the champagne brunch well worth the price of $16. Two people, two bottles, can't beat it. The other member of my party had the Lokal burger and she loved it as well. Only downfall, it was super loud! I must be getting old! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waited over half an hour for our brunch reservation- aggressive rap music was SO loud we couldn't even have a pleasant conversation, so we ended up leaving prior to getting seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Brunch was honestly too loud - it was next to impossible to hold a conversation. But other than that, I love Lokal. The food was great, the service was great and the mimosa deal is great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was really bad.. won’t be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was poor quality. They wouldn't seat a party of four at our scheduled reservation time with only three of us there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Bottomless mimosas were truely amazing and bottomless!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.