Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

Noise

Energetic

62% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal - Wicker Park has one of the best brunch atmospheres I have ever experienced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Lokal is a really great and fun spot to hang out and eat with friends.
Our ONLY complaint is the wait for seating is horrible and chaotic.
Even with reservations we waited over an hour to be seated. However, once we were seated, we had an INCREDIBLE time! Service was great despise the restaurant being packed. Staff was very attentive to us and made us feel like we were the only folks there. It ended up being worth the wait for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

LOKal was great! A friend and I headed there for brunch; our food was delicious. Our waiter was super friendly and attentive, even though the place was PACKED. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

It was great! Food was great. The music was a little too loud for my taste(for a Sunday brunch that is), but other than that - it was fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had a reservation here for brunch, but when we got the restaurant there was no room to even walk in there were so many people waiting! It took us a good 10-15 minutes to get the host's attention/push our way to the front of the crowd, and on top of that we were notified that the table wasn't ready and wouldn't be ready for another 15-20 minutes, even though we were on time (essentially we would've gotten seated more than a half hour after our original reservation time). Also it was super loud and crowded, we had to shout to each other.

We left and went to another restaurant around the corner that could seat us right away rather than deal with the chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Loved our server! She was sweet. The bottomless mimosas are what keep me coming back. This is my third visit in two months. I like the chill atmosphere and the staff is very nice. It’s noisy and the tables are very close together, but I don’t mind because the service and food are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Went for the Saturday brunch special. Overall a great experience from the start to the end. Your entire party needs to be there before they seat you, but once you do sit down you can purchase an unlimited champagne package for the duration of your meal for $16. The food was great and the service was amazing. We had Ryan as our waiter and he made the experience 100x more enjoyable. He was extremely friendly and recommended some awesome dishes to the group. He also made sure we were never waiting for a refill on the bottomless champagne and was always stopping by to chat and make sure everything was great. Super friendly staff and great atmosphere overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Reservations are completely useless. Servers rush you. Food selection is real basic. But music was good and people were having a lot of fun...comradery over champagne. Very melanated.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 21, 2017

epic....just epic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Lokal decided to ignore any Opentable reservations, including ours and at least 2 other groups who were there at the same time. Do not bother making a reservation here, they do not care.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The service was amazing, and the bottomless mimosas were constantly flowing. I was there on a Big 10 game day so the inside was very loud, but the servers relocated us outside which was relaxing brunch. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Nice brunch place for Wicker Park area, a bit small but its to be expected for the places on North Ave. The $12 bottomless mimosa were a hit and the food selection and taste was very good for their brunch menu. DJ was good and atmosphere was energetic of the pre and post Millennial crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Make sure your whole party has arrived to get seated. It's a fun place with a group. Food is alright, tiny spot but great idea for brunch on a Sunday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

It’s was pretty hot on this day and they said their air conditioning had been broken for 3 weeks. Besides that, it was a wonderful time. Ryan was a great waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Came here for brunch with my wife and 24-year old daughter to enjoy brunch with a friend and his family. We haven't seen each other in person for 28 years and was looking forward to a nice enjoyable catch-up over brunch. Unfortunately the noise level was absolutely ridiculous. I don't mean it was loud...I mean RIDICULOUSLY LOUD. Heavy metal standing by the speakers concert loud. And this is not just the 50 years saying so...but the ones in their mid-20's too. In part this was because it's a small place and was crowded with people—but more so because they have a big speaker hanging on the back wall with the music volume turned up to 11. Which in turned caused every person at every table to scream their conversations. (I knew this not because I could hear them but because of the strain on their faces as they conversed.)

We ate here once before for dinner and the atmosphere was much, MUCH more pleasant—and the food was good. But this time it was such an unpleasant experience that I can't even tell you if the food was good or not. I think it was...but I can't be 100% sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had the ahi tuna burger, yum!! We chose to do the champagne brunch well worth the price of $16. Two people, two bottles, can't beat it. The other member of my party had the Lokal burger and she loved it as well. Only downfall, it was super loud! I must be getting old! Lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Waited over half an hour for our brunch reservation- aggressive rap music was SO loud we couldn't even have a pleasant conversation, so we ended up leaving prior to getting seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Brunch was honestly too loud - it was next to impossible to hold a conversation. But other than that, I love Lokal. The food was great, the service was great and the mimosa deal is great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was poor quality. They wouldn't seat a party of four at our scheduled reservation time with only three of us there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Bottomless mimosas were truely amazing and bottomless!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had to wait a half an hour for a table to sit down even though we had made reservations. Made reservations and they didn't have a table to seat us when we got there. The waitress was fantastic for how busy the restaurant was. Place was very not managed well and disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were given plastic cups for our water for some reason. Service was warm and efficient. Food was mediocre. Noise was obscene.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The place was so loud and packed we never got to our reservation no one was around to help or greet at the door. After standing waiting for someone to acknowledge us we just walk out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Beware of 20% automatic service charge they won't tell you about. Our table was only 3 people. Service was very slow, the severs unhelpful. They were getting busy, you'd think they'd want to turn over the table but had to request check twice. Food was ok, but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Horrible service to begin with. The hostess had no idea what was going on. We had a reservation and it was not honored. We did not sit down until 12:45 and it was ridiculous. She had not idea what was going on. One of the girls in our party didn't get her food until we had all finished eating because our food started to get cold. All around horrible experience and I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Only giving one star because I have to!!!!
Long story short...

-Made reservations and still waited 45 minutes for a table. (To be clear we have been wanting to try this place for a while so we sucked it up and hoped it would be worth the wait) people were seated before us that came after us. People were blocking the door way and hitting as when we finally got to the table. Because there is no room to wait and people just kept coming in.

-food was OK... nothing major...

-waiter couldnt even get to our table he was shouting from a table or two away from us majority of the time.

-double charged us for mimosas with out explaining the prices. Prior to the bill he just stated as long as we sit there we can do the package. ( to be clear I don't mind paying I'm not cheap but tell me and state it on the menu that it is per person prior to the bill. It was not cold either it was warm.m

- AND added automatic gratuity which was way to high for the crap we dealt with and to only have a 2 people at the table. Such a scam!!!!!

As long as we waited and the experience that we had it should have been free, at the least discounted!!!

Maybe that wasn't short but whatever.

I'll never go back and I wouldn't recommend it at all!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had friends in from out of town and we wanted a good brunch place! This place has bottomless mimosas and great food!! We got there pretty early for brunch so we were one of the only people in there. Once it got closer to noon the place started to fill up and it got a little loud. Overall it was a great experience and we would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

First time in Chicago and went to Lokal! Awesome vibe! The drinks were on point! Tried the Nutella Frites... it is a must have! Best item on the menu! But nothing compares to the best server I've had in the longest time. The one and only, sexy blue eyed Ryan!!! Our server Ryan, exceeded our expectations. He went far and beyond! He made the experience even better! If you haven't gone to Lokal yet then you are surely missing out! Come to Lokal and meet Ryan. He ROCKS!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Don't rely on OpenTable's times. We had two reservations- one for 3:15 and then changed to 3pm because we were there early. Lokal wouldn't seat us. We got a "kitchen's closed" as our greeting and the guy walked away. Soooo yea. :-/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was very dark and extremely loud during brunch hours. Staff was great and the service was good. I just didn't enjoy the noise level because I couldn't hear anyone at my table talk and it was so dark inside the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great service from Jessica; the pulled pork brunch nachos exceeded expectations; bottomless bloody Marys and mimosas for $12; the atmosphere is fun and vibrant with an awesome soundtrack. This place is super noisey which is great is that is what you are looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Worst customer support in Chicago! Charged $100 more than my bill was worth and instead of an apology, we were asked to leave so another party could sit at he table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Three of us ate here with great success. Everything we ordered was delicious. Highlight was the mussels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE, but the noise level is just insane. Installing some acoustic boards to help absorb some of the sound would be nice. I'd love to go back, but too noisy. We couldn't even hear each other across the table.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Place was loud and service was a little slow but the bottomless mimosas and great food made up for it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is great and the bottomless deal is great. The only problem is that it's pretty disorganized. They don't tell you how it works when you sit down (1 1/2 hours for bottomless) and if they have a wait they will rush you out the door. They need to inform dinner what the deal is beforehand. Also if you're not going to seat the party until everyone arrives but still count that toward the 1 1/2 hours you're not going to have very happy customers. The experience would be so much better if it wasn't so disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My kind of music! Definitely going there again for the mimosas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time here last weekend and it was a great time. The food and mimosa deal was really good - my only complaint was that they wouldn't seat us until the whole party got there even though we were only missing 2 people, so we had to wait until the whole group was there. Otherwise would recommend just make sure no one is your party is late or ya can't eat!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The service was atrocious, the place was over crowded and so noisy we couldn't hear anyone at our table & we found bugs on the lemons and limes in our bloody Mary's which tasted like vodka mixed with something between pasta sauce and pizza sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I actually can only review the reservation process, because we never made it to the meal. I made a reservation for 12 at 11:30am on a Saturday--due to the fact Lokal is one of the few places that takes brunch reservations in the area. We arrived at 11:30 with our full party, and waited until 12:30, at which point our table was still not available. by 12:45 we gave up, and went to a different place entirely. While the hostess was apologetic and very nice throughout the process, it is unacceptable to allow reservations for large parties if you cannot accommodate them. 12 people had made plans and arranged to be there and waited almost an hour and a half outside on the curb. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.