Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.19mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Energetic

59% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (18)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a reservation at 1 pm and upon arriving at 1250 pm we're still waiting for our table at 2 pm....at which point we decided to leave and go elsewhere. Extremely poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Being newly engaged I searched for a place to take my girlfriends out to where I would ask them to join my bridal party. LoKal seemed like a great place to do it. Unfortunately it was not so. Although we had a reservation for noon there was no table ready for us. This being understandable since it is a very popular location. After about 25 minutes of waiting we inquired on the wait time of a table since we already had a reservation. The hostess was very accommodating and went and asked for special permission to seat us at a table in back. The food here was amazing, everyone loved what they ordered and to that there is no complaints. After everyone's plates had been taken away we were approached with the bill immediately. Since that already was a sign of being rushed I decided to present my girlfriends with their gift boxes before we left. At this time our waitress (who so happened to be the manager as well) decided to return and ask for our check (which was not yet ready). My girls continue to open their gift boxes and it's smiles laughter and tears all around until another waitress decides to come along and explicitally say "I know this isn't a good time but we have another party waiting for the table". At this point we are blatantly rushed. The bill was taken care of and the issue was brought up with the manager who stated that the restaurants expects people to be in and out in about 1-1.5 hours. My party was at the 1.5 hour mark and it was obvious they were not going to let us go past it. I simply wish that would have been stated prior to making a reservation. It was not appreciated to pay such a large bill to have such a special moment ruined. The manager offers to buy the party a shot but that didn't go very far considering everyone was outside at this point. Point blank, this place had good food and bad service.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had to wait 15 minutes for a reservation we already had. Waitress tried to seat us at a 'community table' because she was saving a booth for her family. We ended up getting the booth. Water poured into my glass still had champagne left in it after their mimosas, so they don't wash their dishes. I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went on Friday for brunch so I wasn't surprised when there were no people there. It seems like to would be very lively at night. The staff was super relaxed and nice. Bottomless mimosas were worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

No point in having a reservation because you will have to still wait. We had a reservation for 1pm for 4 and weren't seated until 40 minutes later. The food was good and priced well, so were the mimosas. The tables are too close together and hard to maneuver around. Very uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lokal was a great spot for bottomless mimosa brunch. We had a party of 5 out of towners and offered to sit at a community table because there were such long lines. I'm not sure if this was because it was the Saturday before St. Patrick's Day, or if Lokal is always this way. We had a blast with our new friends and old, and the only negative thing was the long wait despite our 1:15 reservation. I guess they don't really go by reservations, but by a first come first serve basis.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Eclectic twist on Polish food, with great variety. Wild boar gnocchi was great, mussels too. Portions very generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

FYI -- Lokal does not accept same day OpenTable reservations. Still spent 20+ waiting.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We made a reservation for 1:30, but weren't sat until 2:15 without any apology or explanation. The big draw to this brunch spot was the endless mimosas, but they were super diluted, flat and almost room temperature. I noted that they pre mix the mimosas behind the bar and the orange juice is from the soda gun. After trying the first mimosa, I asked for champagne only.
The food had good flavors (amazing potatoes) but my Benedict had gone cold by the time it got to our table.

This place would be greatly improved with better table planning, timing and more attentive staff.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Usually go to LoKal for $12 bottomless mimosas or bloody mary's. Made a 12 PM reservation on Open Table which was not even remotely honored--we were put on a "list" AKA a bunch of names scribbled on the back of a receipt, and told we would have to wait around 30 minutes. Ultimately, the waitress offered to seat us at a large "community table" in the back of the restaurant, where we were mostly ignored for our time dining. Looked to have about 5 people total working the restaurant (including bartenders and those busing tables). Got no glasses for water, since apparently a bartender the night before had broken half of the restaurants glasses and they were running short. Seriously poor management--brunch here is ALWAYS busy, please be fully staffed and don't put such heavy strain on your servers, who ultimately have to take the fall for poor management. Will probably not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is the first review I have ever written. My experience here was so bad, I felt the need to share it.

I will NOT recommend this place! I had a party of 8 booked and 1 person was going to be late. Bear in mind the 1 person who was late does NOT drink (which we made clear to the hostess). The hostesses were incredibly rude / unhelpful. They took away our table for 8 and moved us to the back at a table for 6 in front of the bathroom with a 7th chair squeezed on the end (which there was not room for). They informed us that if our 8th guest showed up, she would need to sit by herself and there is NO way to work around this. After an hour and 15 mins, they requested we leave, as they had another reservation and needed the table!

I understand they have strict rules around the entire party being present for seating, as they have a drink-deal. I am not upset about rules. I am upset with how the hostesses treated us. They were incredibly unwilling to work with us and were extremely rude. We would have left immediately if we didn't have a large enough group.

I made this reservation and was embarrassed that I had all of my friends join me and we were treated this way. Chicago has a LOT of brunch places to offer (many with drink-deals). I don't know why anyone would choose this place. Needless to say, my friends and I will NOT be going back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had to wait an hour for our table, which was quite annoying considering we had a reservation. The hostess kept saying "5 more minutes," but it was clear she wasn't telling the table where we were to be seated that another reservation was waiting. Once we were seated, the experience was great - attentive service, delicious food and awesome mimosa brunch deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Whenever I fly into Chicago I always make a reservation and Lokal (whichever location has availability). This is my go to spot and I have to say I missed the scallops Benedict this time around. Still one of my favorite places in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wouldn't choose it as a brunch spot again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best brunch spot in wicker park! The bottomless mimosas are a great deal and the food is to die for. Pretty good for dinner as well, but if you go on a Saturday or Sunday morning you can try the Nutella banana puff pastry that will take all of your problems away! I definitely recommend you make a reservation before going because it gets packed during brunch hours and there can be a wait for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a reservation for 11:30 but were not seated until about 12:30. They had a lot of reservations for the day and didn't seem prepared to handle them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waiter Donald was amazing, Food was worth every penny. Happy and energetic environment, with great music. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Even with a reservation at 1:30 we had to wait an additional thirty minutes for food. We could hardly hear each other talking, mind you we were a party of eight, because of the loud, hip hop music playing at all times. Food was average, not worth the wait and the poor service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friend and I were searching for bottomless brunch spots and hit the jackpot. The mimosas and food were delicious and we had a great dining experience. On top of the food, our waiter was very attentive and the music was on point. Glad we stumbled upon this restaurant in our google search and will definitely go again someday.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fun brunch experience, just what we were looking for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for my birthday brunch. Food was delicious and our server was attentive and fantastic, however we had a major issue with the hostess. She was extremely unprofessional and rude. We informed the manager of her behavior and the manager was apologetic and unaware.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

They were 30 minutes behind on their reservations. There was no host and we ended up having to sit at the bar. They advertise as bottomless brunch, but our drinks were empty 75% of the time. In the three hours we were there, we had a total of 2 drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was a terrible experience! My friend and I made reservations through Open Table and even arrived early but weren't ever seated! Tables kept becoming available and the hostess continued to skip us. When we asked her what the deal was she said when the restaurant is very busy they don't take reservations into account. When we reminded her that we had been the first to arrive she said when they are that busy it's not first come first serve, instead they seat larger groups first as priority. Since we were a party of two we had to been skipped 3 times and counting when we decided to just leave. We had waited about 40 minutes at this point. I have never ever been to a restaurant that does not seat their tables based on who was first to arrive; nor do I understand what's the point of taking reservations if you clearly tell people it doesn't matter. Terrible service and stupid policies. Complete waste of time! Don't bother with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Got there at reservation time - had to wait 30 minutes for a table.

There was also a broken glass on the floor. Overall, not a lot of planning went on in anticipation of reservations, or it could have been that Open table did a poor job of communicating reservations.

The food was good at least, and the staff did their best to accommodate.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

How was my visit? I arrived 15 minutes ahead of my reservation only to stand around by the front door with a dozen or so other confused patrons. I then took it upon myself to ask a bartender for a hostess, who he indicated would be right with me. 5 minutes later, after discovering that some other patrons were still waiting to be seated for a reservation an hour earlier, we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant advertised online for people to grab reservations for New Year's Day. I made a reservation for 8 at 1:30. After arriving, there were over 5 groups waiting. When I finally flagged down the host, I was told it could be anywhere from 40min to and hour wait and that it didn't matter that I had a reservation because so did everyone else. No apology, didn't take my name down for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We booked at the last minute for NY's Eve because we were attending a concert in Wicker Park and there was availability at the time that we needed. Based on other reviews, we were a little concerned but actually had a great experience. It is a really casual place, not really dive bar but sort of that vibe but there is some AMAZING artwork on display, which I loved. Our server fit the ambiance, casual but he did a great job. The drinks and food were great. The menu has a lot of options without being overwhelming. The space is small and pretty noisy but it was NY's Eve so that was to be expected. Overall, a good experience and I would definitely go back if I was in the Wicker Park area.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

To say the least LOKal was disappointing. Here is a list of the issues we encountered:

1) Two people in our party ordered dirty martinis, though the ones they received were extra, extra dirty. They only had one type of gin, Tanqueray, so they weren't able to get the gin they initially requested (which is a VERY common gin). They didn't have martini glasses or martini olives. They used those small red coffee straw and somehow stuck them through the sides of full pit olives. Aside from the fact that they brought full pit olives in a martini, they didn't even bring anything in which to spit the pits.
2) There were only two other parties in the whole place, but somehow the waiter managed to take forever to take our orders. I saw another OpenTable review for this same night where the reviewer thought the waiter did "a great job." Maybe he just focused on them instead of us or maybe my expectations are too high.
3) THREE of the entrees that myself and two others ordered were not as advertised. Myself and a friend ordered the pistachio crusted salmon, which was supposed to come with black rice, ratatouille, and fennel. They brought salmon with a small portion of mixed greens on the plate. Another friend ordered the half chicken. They brought him a chicken breast, not a half chicken. I do not recall if the sides were correct. I'm not going to speculate on the reason why they didn't serve the entrees as described on the menu, but we did not get any explanation from the waiter.
4) The bathroom in the place was disgusting. The lid on the toilet tank was missing.

In the interest of transparency, they did end up comping both salmon dishes and the chicken after we pointed out the issues. However, we still never got an explanation from the waiter as why the dishes came as they did and I wonder what the motivation was behind that. Additionally, comping some of the food doesn't and shouldn't redeem the rating because the dining experience was still poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a reservation and still waited an hour and a half for a table. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waited an hour past reservation time and never got seated. Restaurant was incredibly disorganized and seemed to randomly pick who got seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We waited 10 minutes after our reservation to be seated even though there were open tables. We were seated without the host saying anything to us. We then waited about 10 minutes before the host came back over and gave us water (again without saying anything to us). No one ever came over to greet us or take our order. After sitting for about 20 minutes with NO ONE coming over to the table to take our order (drink or food) we left and went to Lily Q's instead. There they promptly sat us (without a reservation) and a waitress came over within minutes to take our drink orders. Will never try LOKAL again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves. The only issue was had was the cold. We all had to keep our winter coats on throughout the meal and my legs were freezing even though I was wearing pants. I would recommend a revolving door. The food was tasty, the music created an fun and energetic atmosphere. However, I won't be likely to return until the winter is over.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great brunch and very fun atmosphere. We would totally return the next time we are in the Wicker Park area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went for bottomless brunch. The brunch was good but we were asked to sit at the bar so that they could seat another group. We felt slightly rushed out of our bottomless brunch especially since they weren't hurry the tables around us. Then we sat at the bar, as asked, and they asked if we could move again to make room for other guest. It was odd. Other then hurrying us out the food and bottomless champagne was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I frequent this place often but am not in the rush to go back, the food was awful and the service upon arriving was non existent until I complained and was told to be patient. That message should have been given upon arriving not 30 minutes after arriving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I brought my best friend from Atlanta GA to this bar to show her a good Chicago time. I wanted bottomless mimosas, a solid brunch and good music. I was absolutely delighted to find good service, a great menu and a superb atmosphere at Lokal. Although slightly busy, the staff was able to accommodate us rather quickly and we had a fantastic time with the Sunday brunch deal. I would recommend this to all young professionals that want a great brunch deal with yo-pro vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We showed up at 9:30 on a Saturday and it looked like the place hadn't been setup yet. Tables were sort of strewn about. The coffee area had boxes around it. There were a bunch of people just sort of milling around. We decided to go somewhere else. We actually went to the Bongo Room and had a very nice brunch instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Miserable experience and total chaos. We booked a reservation via OpenTable for 1 pm on a Saturday. Upon arrival, they said they don't prioritize reservations over walk-ins. False advertisement alert! Despite the wait of people extending outside onto the sidewalk, the hostess said it was only a 15-20 minute wait. So we put our name down. 30 minutes passed by and there were people who came in later being seated ahead of us. We asked to talk to a manager. We told her about booking through OneTable and our wait. She was apologetic and sat us at the next open table. This angered the walk-ins who were waiting since before we arrived. We felt bad, but there was absolutely no organization on Lokal's end. You would think that a brunch place making most of their money on the weekend would be better prepared...

The food was good but didn't make up for the bad taste that was in our mouth upon arrival. Be careful about booking these brunch places through OpenTable – it seems that some aren't even aware they're falsely advertising reservations...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Although we had a reservation we still had to wait 30 minutes. Parties that arrived after us were seated before us. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Be prepared to wait for Sunday brunch even if you have a reservation! I made a noon reservation and still had 3 tables in front of me waiting to be seated. I assume this is bc of the mimosa special on Sunday but still, there really was no point in even making a reservation. Waiting aside, the food and service were good. I don't know if I will rush to go back, but it's nice to know there is a mimosa deal in Wicker.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.