About Lokal - Wicker Park


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.2

ambience

3.4

value

3.3

noise

Energetic

61% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (15)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dancing (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a reservation for 11:30 but were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a reservation for 11:30 but were not seated until about 12:30. They had a lot of reservations for the day and didn't seem prepared to handle them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Waiter Donald was amazing, Food was wort ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Waiter Donald was amazing, Food was worth every penny. Happy and energetic environment, with great music. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even with a reservation at 1:30 we had t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Even with a reservation at 1:30 we had to wait an additional thirty minutes for food. We could hardly hear each other talking, mind you we were a party of eight, because of the loud, hip hop music playing at all times. Food was average, not worth the wait and the poor service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

My friend and I were searching for botto ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My friend and I were searching for bottomless brunch spots and hit the jackpot. The mimosas and food were delicious and we had a great dining experience. On top of the food, our waiter was very attentive and the music was on point. Glad we stumbled upon this restaurant in our google search and will definitely go again someday.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun brunch experience, just what we were ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fun brunch experience, just what we were looking for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went for my birthday brunch. Food was de ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went for my birthday brunch. Food was delicious and our server was attentive and fantastic, however we had a major issue with the hostess. She was extremely unprofessional and rude. We informed the manager of her behavior and the manager was apologetic and unaware.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They were 30 minutes behind on their res ...

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 21, 2017

They were 30 minutes behind on their reservations. There was no host and we ended up having to sit at the bar. They advertise as bottomless brunch, but our drinks were empty 75% of the time. In the three hours we were there, we had a total of 2 drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This was a terrible experience! My frien ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was a terrible experience! My friend and I made reservations through Open Table and even arrived early but weren't ever seated! Tables kept becoming available and the hostess continued to skip us. When we asked her what the deal was she said when the restaurant is very busy they don't take reservations into account. When we reminded her that we had been the first to arrive she said when they are that busy it's not first come first serve, instead they seat larger groups first as priority. Since we were a party of two we had to been skipped 3 times and counting when we decided to just leave. We had waited about 40 minutes at this point. I have never ever been to a restaurant that does not seat their tables based on who was first to arrive; nor do I understand what's the point of taking reservations if you clearly tell people it doesn't matter. Terrible service and stupid policies. Complete waste of time! Don't bother with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Got there at reservation time - had to w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Got there at reservation time - had to wait 30 minutes for a table.

There was also a broken glass on the floor. Overall, not a lot of planning went on in anticipation of reservations, or it could have been that Open table did a poor job of communicating reservations.

The food was good at least, and the staff did their best to accommodate.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

How was my visit? I arrived 15 minutes a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

How was my visit? I arrived 15 minutes ahead of my reservation only to stand around by the front door with a dozen or so other confused patrons. I then took it upon myself to ask a bartender for a hostess, who he indicated would be right with me. 5 minutes later, after discovering that some other patrons were still waiting to be seated for a reservation an hour earlier, we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The restaurant advertised online for peo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The restaurant advertised online for people to grab reservations for New Year's Day. I made a reservation for 8 at 1:30. After arriving, there were over 5 groups waiting. When I finally flagged down the host, I was told it could be anywhere from 40min to and hour wait and that it didn't matter that I had a reservation because so did everyone else. No apology, didn't take my name down for the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We booked at the last minute for NY's Ev ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We booked at the last minute for NY's Eve because we were attending a concert in Wicker Park and there was availability at the time that we needed. Based on other reviews, we were a little concerned but actually had a great experience. It is a really casual place, not really dive bar but sort of that vibe but there is some AMAZING artwork on display, which I loved. Our server fit the ambiance, casual but he did a great job. The drinks and food were great. The menu has a lot of options without being overwhelming. The space is small and pretty noisy but it was NY's Eve so that was to be expected. Overall, a good experience and I would definitely go back if I was in the Wicker Park area.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

To say the least LOKal was disappointing ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

To say the least LOKal was disappointing. Here is a list of the issues we encountered:

1) Two people in our party ordered dirty martinis, though the ones they received were extra, extra dirty. They only had one type of gin, Tanqueray, so they weren't able to get the gin they initially requested (which is a VERY common gin). They didn't have martini glasses or martini olives. They used those small red coffee straw and somehow stuck them through the sides of full pit olives. Aside from the fact that they brought full pit olives in a martini, they didn't even bring anything in which to spit the pits.

2) There were only two other parties in the whole place, but somehow the waiter managed to take forever to take our orders. I saw another OpenTable review for this same night where the reviewer thought the waiter did "a great job." Maybe he just focused on them instead of us or maybe my expectations are too high.

3) THREE of the entrees that myself and two others ordered were not as advertised. Myself and a friend ordered the pistachio crusted salmon, which was supposed to come with black rice, ratatouille, and fennel. They brought salmon with a small portion of mixed greens on the plate. Another friend ordered the half chicken. They brought him a chicken breast, not a half chicken. I do not recall if the sides were correct. I'm not going to speculate on the reason why they didn't serve the entrees as described on the menu, but we did not get any explanation from the waiter.

4) The bathroom in the place was disgusting. The lid on the toilet tank was missing.

In the interest of transparency, they did end up comping both salmon dishes and the chicken after we pointed out the issues. However, we still never got an explanation from the waiter as why the dishes came as they did and I wonder what the motivation was behind that. Additionally, comping some of the food doesn't and shouldn't redeem the rating because the dining experience was still poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a reservation and still waited an ho ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a reservation and still waited an hour and a half for a table. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Waited an hour past reservation time and ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Waited an hour past reservation time and never got seated. Restaurant was incredibly disorganized and seemed to randomly pick who got seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We waited 10 minutes after our reservati ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We waited 10 minutes after our reservation to be seated even though there were open tables. We were seated without the host saying anything to us. We then waited about 10 minutes before the host came back over and gave us water (again without saying anything to us). No one ever came over to greet us or take our order. After sitting for about 20 minutes with NO ONE coming over to the table to take our order (drink or food) we left and went to Lily Q's instead. There they promptly sat us (without a reservation) and a waitress came over within minutes to take our drink orders. Will never try LOKAL again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My friends and I really enjoyed ourselve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves. The only issue was had was the cold. We all had to keep our winter coats on throughout the meal and my legs were freezing even though I was wearing pants. I would recommend a revolving door. The food was tasty, the music created an fun and energetic atmosphere. However, I won't be likely to return until the winter is over.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great brunch and very fun atmosphere. We ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great brunch and very fun atmosphere. We would totally return the next time we are in the Wicker Park area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for bottomless brunch. The brunch w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Went for bottomless brunch. The brunch was good but we were asked to sit at the bar so that they could seat another group. We felt slightly rushed out of our bottomless brunch especially since they weren't hurry the tables around us. Then we sat at the bar, as asked, and they asked if we could move again to make room for other guest. It was odd. Other then hurrying us out the food and bottomless champagne was good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I frequent this place often but am not i ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I frequent this place often but am not in the rush to go back, the food was awful and the service upon arriving was non existent until I complained and was told to be patient. That message should have been given upon arriving not 30 minutes after arriving.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

I brought my best friend from Atlanta GA ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I brought my best friend from Atlanta GA to this bar to show her a good Chicago time. I wanted bottomless mimosas, a solid brunch and good music. I was absolutely delighted to find good service, a great menu and a superb atmosphere at Lokal. Although slightly busy, the staff was able to accommodate us rather quickly and we had a fantastic time with the Sunday brunch deal. I would recommend this to all young professionals that want a great brunch deal with yo-pro vibes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We showed up at 9:30 on a Saturday and i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We showed up at 9:30 on a Saturday and it looked like the place hadn't been setup yet. Tables were sort of strewn about. The coffee area had boxes around it. There were a bunch of people just sort of milling around. We decided to go somewhere else. We actually went to the Bongo Room and had a very nice brunch instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Miserable experience and total chaos. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Miserable experience and total chaos. We booked a reservation via OpenTable for 1 pm on a Saturday. Upon arrival, they said they don't prioritize reservations over walk-ins. False advertisement alert! Despite the wait of people extending outside onto the sidewalk, the hostess said it was only a 15-20 minute wait. So we put our name down. 30 minutes passed by and there were people who came in later being seated ahead of us. We asked to talk to a manager. We told her about booking through OneTable and our wait. She was apologetic and sat us at the next open table. This angered the walk-ins who were waiting since before we arrived. We felt bad, but there was absolutely no organization on Lokal's end. You would think that a brunch place making most of their money on the weekend would be better prepared...

The food was good but didn't make up for the bad taste that was in our mouth upon arrival. Be careful about booking these brunch places through OpenTable – it seems that some aren't even aware they're falsely advertising reservations...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Although we had a reservation we still h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Although we had a reservation we still had to wait 30 minutes. Parties that arrived after us were seated before us. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Be prepared to wait for Sunday brunch ev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Be prepared to wait for Sunday brunch even if you have a reservation! I made a noon reservation and still had 3 tables in front of me waiting to be seated. I assume this is bc of the mimosa special on Sunday but still, there really was no point in even making a reservation. Waiting aside, the food and service were good. I don't know if I will rush to go back, but it's nice to know there is a mimosa deal in Wicker.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I absolutely LOVE the food, music, barte ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I absolutely LOVE the food, music, bartenders, environment etc!!!! They always keep the Mimosas coming & they always seem to give out one complimentary shot. I just wish it were a little bit bigger in space but the lack of space has yet to take away from my overall experience! Lokal is ABSOLUTELY one of my favorite places to brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One star b/c... It was open. I had reser ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One star b/c... It was open. I had reservations at this establishment and was basically ignored for the first hour. Because it was my bday and had friends meet here, we stuck around. Thankfully, after numerous attempts to be seated, a friend raised hell and they "took care of us". Once we were seated we were served FLAT champagne - as in no bubbles at all. We paid and left without drinking what was served. If you are 30+ years old, do yourself a favor and skip this place. It is extremely loud, as in you cannot hear each other speak and just awful. I have had better service at a drive thru.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our group of four went for brunch with 1 ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our group of four went for brunch with 11:15 reservations. We were sat within five minutes and greeted with waters right away. It went downhill from there. Our food order took about 30 minutes to arrive--not terrible on a busy Sunday, but not great. Two of our party had their meals and no silverware for five minutes while two of us had nothing. The eggs on the benedicts were overcooked and both (salmon and spinach mushroom) were dry and bland. The truffle fries, chicken sandwich, and potato pancakes were pretty good. Our server was attentive with water refills and seemed pleasant enough until she plopped the check back on our table without a smile or "thank you". This was before we'd had the chance to tip on the credit card, so we weren't sure why she was suddenly cold. The noise level made it hard to talk and enjoy ourselves. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Love coming here for brunch. Lots of gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love coming here for brunch. Lots of great options and having some place that still offers a breakfast cocktail deal is great in my book. Definitely recommend to all my friends!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Initial impression: I had made a reserva ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Initial impression: I had made a reservation online here and when my friend and I arrived, they told us we could sit at the bar otherwise we had to wait for a table. That turned me off since we had a reservation and she didn't even acknowledge it and there were two open booths. So we squished up on the bar.

The bartender was really friendly and the bottomless mimosas deal is great. However the food was pretty mediocre. My friend ordered steak and eggs and the steak was super over cooked even though she ordered medium rare and the eggs on my Benedict weren't poached at all, they were cooked through.

Overall it was ok, great if you want to get a bunch of mimosas or bloody Mary's but the initial impression really turned me off from going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

food was delicious and environment was f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

food was delicious and environment was fun! just wish we had known about the "3 cards only" rule beforehand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If I was able to put negative stars I wo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

If I was able to put negative stars I would. I planned a brunch for some of my friends who came into town to visit. We were a decently big group ( 6 adults) . The hostess placed us at two uneven two top tables with 6 chairs squished between two other parties. Waited almost 5-10 minutes before we were greeted by any server/staff. After we got waters/coffees ( we did not participate in their bottomless mimosas) it took about another 10 minutes for our order to be taken. This is were it got extremely frustrating. I have worked in the service industry for 3.5 years. I understand a busy Sunday brunch. I understand being short staffed. I understand mistakes happen. I get getting weeded. What I don't get is the lack of management and lack of customer service our table received. We waited almost a full hour with out our food. Two parties that sat well after us got their orders ( one a party of two the other a party of 14). We never once were spoken to by our server about the food delay. A manager never checked to see why a party of 6 was sitting there with just coffees/waters. I believe our server never placed the ticket only because the manger when trying to cover her tracks told us the time the ticket went in ( right after one of our party requested an update on the order). At that point the server said he was sorry about the delay and he'd take care it by offering 50% off the check. Food came out shortly after the apology ( not worth the hour wait sad to say). Orders were not correct then fixed shortly there after. When the check arrived the 50% was not placed on check. We asked to speak with a manager who quite frankly failed at her job that particular day. She was rude and combative. She threw her employee under the bus, backhanded apologized, and by the end was straight up rude. She told us the owner was not there after saying she spoke with them about said incident was brought to their attention. The owner should be ashamed of how this all was handled

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The pictures on open table are misleadin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The pictures on open table are misleading. The pictures make this restaurant look cute and classy.. however, it's just a hole in the wall, bar. Service was decent, food was ok. Drinks were alright. Over all, I probably wouldn't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

What is the point of a reservation if we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What is the point of a reservation if we're not going to be sat for almost a hour after arriving? The hostess even said it only "sort of helps" to have a reservation. It was very annoying and a bit disappointed. The food was good but not worth the aggravation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The server was a sweet heart and doing t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The server was a sweet heart and doing the best she could with all the people in at that time, but they kept forgetting to bring silverware. However, they did bring us two rounds of shots.. So, all was forgiven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I will NEVER recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I will NEVER recommend this restaurant. We had reservations after a very special occasion - our daughter's graduation from graduate school. Our daughter was even in her cap and gown, but they did not honor our reservation, even though we were there 10 minutes early. They told us it would be at least 45 min. That was not going to work as our other daughter had to leave within two hours to catch a flight. Why take reservations if your policy is not to keep them!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My salmon Benedict was probably worst I' ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My salmon Benedict was probably worst I've ever had. Terrible bland chunks of salmon instead of smoked salmon & it was lukewarm.

Great server but I wouldn't eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

I had been here once before for brunch a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I had been here once before for brunch and loved it. It was slammed that time so I was surprised to see it pretty empty when we went. But not to fear, it was all still delicious and there were more people coming in later. We had the flat bread, the egg plant (must get), the wings (yum) and very surprisingly the mac & cheese with sausage and kraut - really good. Thought everything was delicious. In my neighborhood so will definitely head back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everyone's brunch was delicious (went on ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everyone's brunch was delicious (went on a Saturday). However, the service was super slow and bill ended up wrong in the end. It was very noisy and you had to speak loudly to hear each other. Music was trendy and upbeat!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We ended up not eating here since we arr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We ended up not eating here since we arrived early and had to wait 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation and ended up leaving. There is no point to be open table if you do not adhere to reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.