About Lokal - Wicker Park

1904 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map


This European-flecked neighborhood restaurant gets the urban vibe going with its stylish interior dressed in square tables, white molded chairs, and large canvases of modern art. The lounge area hosts guest DJs who pump up the volume when the lights go down, augmenting the retro feel. At Lokal - Wicker Park, lunch and dinner offer wholly different experiences, but each is worthy on its own. Brunches include: Duck Confit Benedict, Braised Pork Belly, French Omelets; while the dinner menu is more complex (showcasing the likes of NY Steak with truffle fries and apple slaw, Pork Tenderloin with potato pancake and mushroom cream or Goat Cheese Risotto with confit tomatoes, sweet peas and butternuts squash) . Lokal - Wicker Park is lauded for its fresh, first-rate ingredients often supplied by local farmers including Gunthrrop Farm, Nichols Farm, AquaTerra Farms and others.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 3:30pm

LOKaL Wicker Park Does Not Take Reservations For Saturday or Sunday Brunch

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 904-8113

Website:
http://www.lokalchicago.com/

Entertainment:
DJs after 10:00 PM

Wednesdays - House Music
Thursdays - Old School Hip-Hop / R&B
Fridays - Top 40
Saturdays - Party Jams

Public Transit:
CTA Blue Line

Executive Chef:
Art Wnorowski

Special Events & Promotions:
Birth Day, Rehearsal Dinner, Special Occasions, etc

Lokal - Wicker Park Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.4

ambience

3.3

value

3.4

noise

Energetic

64% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Chicago / Illinois
Great for Brunch
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Bucktown / Wicker Park ›

Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ended up not eating here since we arr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

We ended up not eating here since we arrived early and had to wait 45 minutes after our scheduled reservation and ended up leaving. There is no point to be open table if you do not adhere to reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Went there for a bachelor party brunch. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went there for a bachelor party brunch. Service was awesome. Food was fantastic. Literally exactly what we were looking for. I would highly recommended this place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing!! And the happy hour dea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food is amazing!! And the happy hour deals are great! On Tuesdays, all the appetizers are half off. Me and a friend ordered 4 appetizers for $30 and we had alot of leftovers.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious and I ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and I was a big fan of their brunch special. Our waitress was great, but the hostess was pretty awful. I would have given the restaurant 5 stars if not for the hostess.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We arrived on time for a Saturday brunch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We arrived on time for a Saturday brunch reservation. Unfortunately, even though we booked a reservation through Open Table, the hostess said they didn't have any tables available and we would have to wait approx 30 minutes. She did not want my name (for the reservation). The restaurant was packed - seems to be a very popular spot, so much so that they have trouble managing/honoring reservations. We left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great spot for brunch. Be sure that your ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot for brunch. Be sure that your group can project and have good hearing. The acoustics aren't the best so you can barely hear over other tables. Food was good. Service was also good, had to wait 30 mins although we had a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I can't speak for the food or value sinc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I can't speak for the food or value since we were never actually seated, but I gave that a 1-star rating based on everything else. It's possible the food/value are actually great, but I guess I'll never know.

Made a reservation for 1:15pm for brunch. Arrived at 1:00pm knowing I was early, but was told it would be 30 minutes before I could get seated. "Even with a reservation?" "Yea we're really busy." It was very clear that they don't even check a reservation system as the hostess was randomly wandering around and never once checked a computer/reservation system. We waited for about 10 minutes and in that time, another couple came in after us (a walk-in, I heard them say they don't have a reservation) and were promptly seated at the bar. That wasn't even offered to us as an option. I also saw other people waiting who had drinks in hand, and again, the option to order drinks while we waited wasn't offered. Won't be going here again, and if you do go here, don't bother booking a reservation.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This review is for open table rather tha ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

This review is for open table rather than the restaurant. They showed us it was open at noon when the restaurant doesn't even open until 5pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Get there early. And make reservations. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Get there early. And make reservations. When it starts to get busy some of the waiters and other staff start to hover over you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Went early for brunch as they promoted b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went early for brunch as they promoted bottomless mimosas. Very simple bar/restaurant. Food was good and service was good. Had a toddler with us and they were very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Really great place for brunch. Staff was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Really great place for brunch. Staff was very accommodating. Server was amazing! Def will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

We had reservations. Waited 15 minutes, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had reservations. Waited 15 minutes, were not seated. Couldn't get anyone's attention to tell us how long of a wait. We ended up leaving.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My experience was unfortunate. The resta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My experience was unfortunate. The restaurant was so under managed for the amount of volume it was trying to handle. There was no host or manager. I was at my table and then asked to get up. When I tried to speak with someone about how wrong it is to ask a table to get up after being sat I was only met with attitudes. I blaim this on under staffing a busy (actually uncomfortably busy) restaurant. You should not have a head waiter taking tables and having to speak to customers because "we don't have a manager". They told us to get up from our table because we weren't complete. When I explained that i wanted to speak to the highest authority the young man told me he wasn't going to "WASTE A TABLE ON US." I recognize this is a busy establishment and the loss of my business meant nothing but I won't ever return. I feel sorry for the staff that was set up to fail there.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I would say Lokal is best suited for tho ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I would say Lokal is best suited for those on a budget looking for a bottomless mimosa/bloody deal...but not for someone looking for quality drinks or food. The noise level was so loud as well, I'd compare this to a duffy's all you can drink brunch vibe.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

They were very friendly and went out of ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They were very friendly and went out of their way for my friend's birthday brunch. They hid a cake we brought for her in the back and gave us free birthday shots. Great ambiance.

The food was delicious, with interesting takes on benedicts such as pork belly or scallop.The bottomless mimosas hit the spot too and they were quick with carafes and refills. My one complaint was the temperature. We had a great, big square table in the back but it was like a sauna. Other than that, I'd go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a 11:15 AM reservation. Entire party arrived at 11:17 AM but we had to wait until 11:45 AM to be seated. It looked like they gave away our reserved table right at 11:15 AM because our entire party was not there, though we all arrived 2 minutes later. Would not recommend or return.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Top notch service with top notch food. I ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Top notch service with top notch food. I was in town visiting family and Lokal was a recommendation and I was not disappointed. Our service was excellent. The food was excellent and I will definitely recommend Lokal as a great place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I booked the reservation for 10:15 and got ther only to find out the kitchen closed at 10.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We didn't even get to seated ..45-hr wait even though we reserved. 1st time attempting to try, horrible experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The staff was great! Very accommodating ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff was great! Very accommodating & friendly! They really helped make my birthday brunch fun!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was the bomb. We enjoyed her wonderful service! The manager is ALWAYS sweet too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, but if you ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food and service were great, but if you are expecting a quiet dining experience, this is not the place. Music is extremely loud. The restaurant did not have A/C working, and the day we went was extremely hot.

If you have a large party, just an FYI, they will not seat you until the entire party is present.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was spotty and overall it wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The service was spotty and overall it was a chaotic scene for brunch. We waited quite a while despite having reservations. The coffee and food arrived cold. Our server seemed nice but was absent for our meal and did not check in with us as is customary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Always a good time!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This is definitely one of my favorite brunch spots in the city. Everything on the menu is so good that I try to get something new every time I'm there. The bottomless mimosa deal is worth it as well, you definitely won't leave out of there disappointed! If you're going with a bigger group of people, a reservation would probably be the best idea as it can be a long wait if you decide to just drop by on a whim. The restaurant can be a little noisy, but the music selection is good so it wasn't a huge problem for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was an out of town visitor and this re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I was an out of town visitor and this restaurant was highly recommended by a friend of mine. I along with six other friends made reservations and were not disappointed. The staff was great. The food was just as good. Bottomless mimosas for $10, you can't beat that. Did I say the staff was great?? This is an energetic brunch spot and the staff appreciates it if you exude some energy as well. On my next visit to the Chi I will make sure to brunch here again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No point in having a reservation.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We made a reservation, couldn't be seated until our last friend arrived...40 minutes later. Pressured us to leave our table after only 2 hours max. because people "with reservations are coming in"...like didn't we have one too? I probably wouldn't choose to go back here with a group of friends if hanging out and catching up at brunch is what you want to do (which is how everyone brunches, no?)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great potato pancake entree and our serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great potato pancake entree and our server was funny, friendly, and prompt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was awesome and food was very g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Waitress was awesome and food was very good. Know this place likes to make dishes unique so somethings listed as one item, have a twist, but in a good way. Definitely would come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The special burger was great and the service was fantastic! Our server took his time explaining specials and even brought our group of gals a shot before we left. We were celebrating a job promotion and he went the extra mile to make us feel special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered scallops - came with two only. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Ordered scallops - came with two only. Was surprised

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

It was a nice meal but the place is smal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

It was a nice meal but the place is small and the music and people are loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

just Okay

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was bad. The table was sticky. The food was okay. There's nothing special on the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Not exceptional

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

LOUD. And rude service. Food was acceptable, but not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Awesome experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

If you like lots of energetic people, hip hop, good food, and mimosa brunches, then this is the place for you. Went on a Saturday afternoon, and plan to return many many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

So loud, busy, just too many people in g ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

So loud, busy, just too many people in general. Food was just ok. Eggs benedicts need more hollandaise. Poached eggs were over-cooked for both orders we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Solid Brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing and the service was good. Only complaint was that it was a tad crowded and loud.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nothing special, slow service

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Beware if you book through Open Table as the restaurant doesn't have a good hostess system to keep track of how many tables need to be saved. Once we were seated it took 10 to 15 minutes for someone to come to our table. Once we were served, had the BLT, Reuben, and a Benedict at our table. All were good but nothing extraordinary. The wait staff had too many tables each and service was slow (too slow for bottomless mimosas and bloody marys). There are many other more friendly and more delicious places to have brunch in the area. Perhaps the service would be better for a group of 2 or not on Sunday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Must try!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The atmosphere is kind of small but the food and service was great. The only issue was that we had a reservation and the hostess sat other tables before us knowing we had a bigger party. We had one person left to show up and she wouldn't seat us. Once our complete party was there we still had another 30 minute wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Boozy Brunch!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Literally one of the funnest boozy brunches I've ever been to. The music was awesome, the server was so fun and nice! I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Our experience was a special one that's for sure. Thanks to Open Table for getting me a 10 top on a Sunday for brunch. But real special thanks to the staff for getting 14 of us at that table. I know our group and staff got off to a rough start because we did not know all the rules of the bottomless brunch and wanted to upgrade by speaking with the manager. But once that was settled we were back in good graces. Our server Gina was incredible to deal with our group. She was on top of everything and made sure we enjoyed bottomless brunch. The atmosphere was fun, with great music. We were seated once most of the party showed up without a problem, our table was ready when we got there 15 mins early. Food was great and came out quickly. I will definitely be back. Thank you Lokal

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.