About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallops With Fried Kale And Cauiflower Puree - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Whiskey Miso Halibut - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Tuna Tartare With Seaweed Salad - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Low-cal High Impact Entree - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Grilled Calamari - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Chablis Premier Cru - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Smoked Duck And Serrano Chili Pasta - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Tuna Tartare - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Grilled Bison - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Steelhead Trout With Soba Noodles - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Maple Creme Brulee - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Miso Black Cod - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Romaine Lettuce Salad - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT
Polenta Fontina Gratin - Log Haven, Salt Lake City, UT

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
3 More
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

Scenic View (71)
Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (68)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Cozy (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Worth the Drive (39)
Fireplace (36)
Historic (34)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Authentic (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Live Music (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (11)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (7)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1538 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have always enjoyed going to Log Have ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

We have always enjoyed going to Log Haven, but at Christmas time is a little more special! The service was excellent and the food was special! The only thing missing was a bar area to have a drink and socialize before dinner.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting is stunning and the holiday ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The setting is stunning and the holiday decor added an extra level of beauty. Truly a stunning setting. Service and food were exceptional.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Octopus appetizer was good, the wild gam ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Octopus appetizer was good, the wild game bolognese barely had any meat but was tasty. Scallop entree was delicious. No valet this Tuesday so parking was difficult in the snow and finding the entrance was a bit treacherous but it was very cozy once we got inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Friends visiting from back East wanted e ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Friends visiting from back East wanted elk. Log Haven's was perfectly delicious. Setting was winter wonderland. Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Log Haven is our special spot for my ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The Log Haven is our special spot for my husband's birthday each year. It is peaceful, romantic and the food is exquisite!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was perfect. Food was ok but not ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Service was perfect. Food was ok but not that,great for the price paid. Lots of other places in slc with a bigger menu for same $$$ paid.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, food and one hell of ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service, food and one hell of a great location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They never let us down...always a GREAT ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

They never let us down...always a GREAT meal, GREAT service and WONDERFUL atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and great ambience on a w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very good food and great ambience on a winter night. The only downside was handicapped access. Main entrance is up a long and somewhat steep path with 5 steps at the end. Only one hcp parking spot, ramp has 4 switchbacks in the back, dark path to a locked door. After much knocking, door was finally opened. We will return, but not in winter weather.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and had a gr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We went for our anniversary and had a great time. It definitely does have a romantic ambiance and overall the food was good. There were some somewhat unique options that we got to try including elk and duck. Both were great. We thought the nachos were a little more greasy than we would prefer but otherwise everything was fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Thanksgiving Dinner at Log Haven was MAG ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner at Log Haven was MAGIC!!!!! the ambiance, the freshly fallen snow, the food was magnificent, I cherish every moment that I spent there!! Go and experience it.....you will never forget it. I live in Georgia and the holiday at Log Haven is something to be seen to be believed!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent traditional Thanksgiving dinne ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent traditional Thanksgiving dinner. The 4 course meal was served a bit too fast, probably so that the restaurant could turn the tables. We needed more time to talk between courses, but the dinner was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A group of friends went for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A group of friends went for Thanksgiving, and the entire experience was excellent! T he ambiance was beautiful, the service excellent, and the food superb.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite thing about Log Haven was th ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 22, 2016

My favorite thing about Log Haven was the variety of unique dishes. Nearly every dish I found myself saying "I've never tried that before," which was great for my wife and I who like trying new things. My wife had the bison and I had the goose, and both were tasty, though I was a little bummed to find out that goose basically tastes like ham. We absolutely loved the cauliflower appetizer!

Since we went in late November, we didn't realize that Log Haven has some beautiful grounds that they maintain, and it would have been nice to go and explore, so I'd recommend allocating some time before or after dinner to take a look around.

On the down side, one of the windows that we were next to had a breeze coming in due to a caulking leak or something. Nothing we couldn't solve with a jacket, though.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to LogHaven for children's birthday ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Went to LogHaven for children's birthday. They thought this was the best restaurant they had every eaten at.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very good restaurant. Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Very good restaurant. Food was delicious and setting was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening with this gro ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with this group of dinner friends. Wine and food was excellent.

Kasey our server was flawless...

Splitting the check was quite the task for staff and management. It was a frustration and tarnished the experience at the end. You would think splitting a check between 5 parties would not be so difficult for such a high end restaurant. Epic failure on the part of Ian, the manager. Ran my card 2 times for $222.00 each. Ian explained to me... 'The charges will drop off in a few days'. Thanks Ian!

Hmmm I'm out $444. Dollars for a few days.

A special night out was great until the end. Wow!

A call to my bank on the phone for an hour resolved it.

#loghaven #millcreek #saltlakecity

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Fireplace, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful setting. A little noisier than ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Beautiful setting. A little noisier than expected. Sound carries.

Food is well prepared and presented. Had swordfish special which was above average. My wife had the steak and lobster. Lobster was a bit on the dry side. Overall an enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great location, ambiance and food. Alwa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great location, ambiance and food. Always a favorite for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with Log Haven. Wen ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I was very impressed with Log Haven. Went here on a date with my girlfriend and we both thoroughly enjoyed our experience. We went on a Saturday night, and there was live piano music the entire time. The cozy venue had a very relaxing, romantic, and conversation inducing feel. Between the warm fire in the fireplace and the piano music, we didn't really want to leave. I'd say we spent 2+ hours in the restaurant, and I loved that our waitress encouraged us to stay as long as we wanted and never once rushed us. The food was also excellent. I highly recommend Log Haven--especially if you are looking for a relaxing, romantic, cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was definitely eclectic yet del ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was definitely eclectic yet delicious, especially the elk sirloin. My fiancé took me for my birthday, it was romantic and the noise level was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had high expectations, but Log Haven ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had high expectations, but Log Haven did not meet all of them. The food, and service were good but it was not worth the price or the long drive . We were disappointed when we got there and the rabbit had been taken off the menu. We then were going to go for the goose but then the server said that too was off the menu. We were sad to here this since we drove a ways for this specifically. It would have been nice to know this before the drive. Scenery and ambience helped the mood and we had an overall good night. We were just expecting more because of the awards. I would recommend a place like Copper Onion over this. Slightly less pricey, great food, and good ambience. This is more for older folks who do not mind spending the extra money on the valet parking and pricey plates.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent, and my server ch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was excellent, and my server charming. I intend to go back next time I am in SLC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jason was extremely attentive. He very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Jason was extremely attentive. He very expertly was able to suggest vegetarian options when one of our guests requested it. Our drinks were kept full, dirty plates cleared and clean silverware set out without disrupting the conversation. The setting was lovely. I can see that it might have been more difficult to carry on a conversation had the restaurant been full, but luckily for us it was not. The food was delicious!

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience for our 43rd annive ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Excellent experience for our 43rd anniversary celebration! We highly recommend this restaurant for the food, atmosphere, service and picture window views.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Since you asked...It is a beautiful sett ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Since you asked...It is a beautiful setting. I had wanted to go to this restaurant for years. We are from out of town. It was Halloween and the decorations were awful. I was in Salt Lake City for serious medical testing, and seeing dead people coming out of coffins and hands with blood on the wrists was not what I needed to see that evening. My husbands steak was very tough. My salmon was pretty good, but the asparagus was woody and cold. I had high hopes because it is such a quaint building and I will say again a beautiful setting.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was disappointing for any price ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was disappointing for any price. The service mediocre, and the interior needs to be remodeled. I used to like this place, but I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The restaurant was fully decked out for ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The restaurant was fully decked out for Halloween, which was fun and unexpected. The servers were also in costume. Reliably good restaurant with good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Even though we had reservations we still ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Even though we had reservations we still had a long wait. I had my diabetic alert service dog with me. Some of the customers made some extremely rude remarks. The food was not prepared as requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

There was 8 of us and most of us had the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

There was 8 of us and most of us had the halibut. It was excellent! The Halloween decorations were great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding everytime.... especially aro ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Outstanding everytime.... especially around Halloween

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entire experience was wonderful. Very pl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Entire experience was wonderful. Very pleasant, cheerful staff. Stunningly beautiful setting and atmosphere. I strongly recommend this one.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time, service and ambiance my wife ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great time, service and ambiance my wife's 68th birthday was a success. Thanks for making me a hero to my wife of 41 years.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Log Haven is a beautiful cabin setting n ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Log Haven is a beautiful cabin setting nestled in the woods. The ambience is good for a romantic dinner or a quiet place to have a business meeting/dinner. The food is excellent and the choice of various game meats is befitting of the setting.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Historic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a little bit of a drive to get th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

It is a little bit of a

drive to get there, but a pretty drive. there is a pretty waterfall across the street. this restaurant is located in a state park in a canyon! unique setting. the atmosphere is friendly and upscale and welcoming. the décor is woodsman style and 'log cabin'. the entrees looked great (examining those that were delivered to neighboring tables), and our entrees also were quite delicious. all in all, this is an excellent adventure and 'special occasion' dinner treat! enjoy !

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food we had (bison and salmon) was v ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food we had (bison and salmon) was very delicious in so much that I was quite disappointed when it was gone. My wife ordered the Caeser salad as well but said it was somewhat of a disappointment. She said it lacked flavor. Overall, I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a beautiful background l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food with a beautiful background location. Everyone was very friendly although service was a little slower this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience with Log Haven was once a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our experience with Log Haven was once again outstanding. The atmosphere, service and incredible food make this a great spot for special occasions or any occasion for that matter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was romantic, unique, and a gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Log Haven was romantic, unique, and a great experience overall. The food was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Definitely recommend to anyone who is visiting in the area.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.