About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallops With Fried Kale And Cauiflower Puree
Tuna Tartare With Seaweed Salad
Whiskey Miso Halibut
Grilled Calamari
Low-cal High Impact Entree
Chablis Premier Cru
Steelhead Trout With Soba Noodles
Grilled Bison
Tuna Tartare
Smoked Duck And Serrano Chili Pasta
Romaine Lettuce Salad
Maple Creme Brulee
Polenta Fontina Gratin
Miso Black Cod

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
10 More
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

special occasion (115)
romantic (112)
scenic view (108)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
great for outdoor dining (58)
notable wine list (46)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Log Haven, is truly a haven. Nestled in ...

Dined 4 days ago

Log Haven, is truly a haven. Nestled in Millcreek canyon the scenery alone is worth a visit. The food was excellent and fresh. Bring a light jacket and be prepared to be enchanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined at Log Haven many times an ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Log Haven many times and have always enjoyed stellar food and service in one of Utah's prettiest restaurants. Last night was no different. Everyone was delighted by their menu choices but I think the stand-outs were the Alpine Nachos (ADDICTIVE), the perfectly cooked scallops and the bacon-wrapped elk loin. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I went with my 4 year old daughter and m ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

I went with my 4 year old daughter and myself. I got the steak and lobster she got the roasted chicken breast and the s'more dessert. I've been going to Loghaven for the past 20 years and I recommended my friends have their wedding there which they did. Food has usually been great, but my steak wasn't great and my lobster was over cooked and didn't taste good. I was disappointed that I spent that much on a mediocre dinner, but the service and atmosphere was excellent. Don't mind spending the money, but I'm not sure if I would go back because unfortunately it wasn't worth it. I know food and how to cook so I go out a lot so it might have just been a bad night. It happens.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best food I have ever had! I will be bac ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

best food I have ever had! I will be back, the views are incredible

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was very quiet and peaceful, ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Log Haven was very quiet and peaceful, beautiful patio seating with a outdoor feel comfort indoor dining, managers very friendly brought out a blanket for my girlfriend well kept cozy with a propane heater just enough take any . The waiter was nice there with drinks and knew how treat a customer. Thank for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great anniversary dinner! Tempu ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner! Tempura mushrooms for appetizer were really good except they only give you three for $12. Four, at least, would have been nice for us to share, but they did seem like really fancy shrooms. The salmon dish was wonderful, veal milanese was good - though a little plain. We tried to fit in fruit crisp for dessert after all the yumminess - the apricots were a bit tart for me, but my husband liked them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was rated 4.5 stars on Yelp a ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

This place was rated 4.5 stars on Yelp and it did not disappoint! Extremely delightful experience from start to finish. I brought my wife here for a her birthday dinner and every single thing we got resulted in a clean plate. The wait staff was extremely friendly, polite and knowledgeable. The ambience was absolutely wonderful. I could not recommend this place more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique menu. Portions small to just righ ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Unique menu. Portions small to just right. Great attentive service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The ambiance on the patio is simply beau ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The ambiance on the patio is simply beautiful and filled with the lovely aromas of pine trees and mineral water...the sound and view of the pretty waterfall is wonderful!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We've known about Log Haven for over a y ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We've known about Log Haven for over a year, but wanted to wait for a special occasion to go there. The wait was most definitely worth it! The setting is glorious and the food is exceptional: both perfectly prepared and different from the typical offerings at high-end restaurants. We won't wait a year to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy Log Haven, it is our special oc ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoy Log Haven, it is our special occasion restaurant of choice. The menu is creative, the service is impeccable, the ambiance is to be appreciated. I look forward to our visit. By the way , their wine list is first class! Bon Appetite

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was awesome. We went up for ou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Log Haven was awesome. We went up for our anniversary and everything was perfect. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The menu selection was limited for the p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The menu selection was limited for the price paid and the food taste was just okay. Ambiance however is amazing at this location. Make sure you have reservations. Outdoor seating is the best in the summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The wife and i spent our anniversary the ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The wife and i spent our anniversary there. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful 'away' place. Quiet and priva ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful 'away' place. Quiet and private place to have a special dinner. Service was excellent and the food was prepared perfectly. We make this a place to go with special friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I chose to try Log Haven ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

My husband and I chose to try Log Haven for a much needed date night away from our baby. The food was wonderful and the service was on point! I ordered the bison steak, my husband chose the scallops, and we had tuna tartar as a starter. All plates were cleaned! Thanks for a great evening, we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service and great set ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food and service and great setting. We ate outside and had a wonderful time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Log Haven for our fancier din ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We went to Log Haven for our fancier dinner during our honeymoon, and it was truly lovely. Its location in the canyon blew us away, and our waiter was kind and involved -- you could tell he wanted us to enjoy our time there. The food itself was just wonderful, with robust flavours and stunning presentation, our meal was delicious to eat AND to look at. Definitely coming here again if we make it back to the Salt Lake City region, and definitely recommending this restaurant to our friends and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful place in the mountains. Exce ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

A wonderful place in the mountains. Excellent helpful service, good food. Especially the Morel mushrooms were delicious. After the dinner we enjoyed our walk through the property. Great place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Date-Night Locale

Dined on June 6, 2016

Fantastic environment, stellar staff. Food was PAR, nothing special. Would visit again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique dining experience in the Wasatch NF.

Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined on the outdoor deck, they opened the room allowing a scenic view of the mountains. If your not from an area where you see a lot of pine trees in a rather steep scenic manner the view would be wonderful. Coming from Idaho and camping and backpacking a lot it was nice but not overwhelming. Got chilly on the deck. Waiter brought my wife a blanket which was a nice touch. Food was great, no issues. Price is expensive but inline with this type of restraint. Small tip, use the valet service. It was crazy busy on the Saturday night we went. Valet saved us a fair amount of time and walking as we had spent the day hiking and goofing off at Park city mountain resort. Valet service saves you the $3 at the park entrance as you leave and time spent exchanging funds at the 'guard shack'.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed my husband’s 60th surprise bi ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We enjoyed my husband’s 60th surprise birthday and had guests fly in for the occasion. I would like to thank the manager, Stephan for handling our event with such care and attentiveness. My husband was very surprised and it was a delightful evening. Excellent food, service, and the lovely setting is why we selected Log Haven. Thank you - we are looking forward to visiting you again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Very Special Evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

My family and I enjoyed a wonderful evening at Log Haven. The food, ambiance, music, and service were all outstanding. We started out on the beautiful outdoor patio, but were not quite prepared for the drop in temperature when the sun set. When we asked to move our group indoors, the staff did not hesitate for a second. I will remember this dinner for a long time to come and would absolutely recommend this beautiful spot to anyone who wants a special dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So enjoyable!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Beautiful and peaceful setting. Great service and food. An absolutely enjoyable setting!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was wonderful. Service was lovely. ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was wonderful. Service was lovely. Live piano player had us singing along even on the way home. 5 star restaurant with a 5 star price. Worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Wonderful!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Log Haven was wonderful from start to finish. The food was outstanding, the service was excellent, and the place was beautiful. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Log Heaven is always definitely one of t ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Log Heaven is always definitely one of the top 3 restaurants in Salt Lake City. Everything is always impeccable and the food is exquisite. We truly enjoyed the fresh morels among the other dishes.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

How refreshing to get out of the city an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

How refreshing to get out of the city and eat in a log cabin looking at a lovely waterfall! We were in Salt Lake City for a trade show, and arranged to bring our business associates here on a Saturday night. Our experience might have been a 5-star if the restaurant had not also been the venue for a wedding party, because everything was slow. Only one bartender taking care of the wedding party and the restaurant, and for the time we waited for our food, only one cook too. The food was delicious though, and beautifully presented. I would love to try them on a weekday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not worth the price

Dined on May 19, 2016

When I pay the kind of prices on the menu at Log Haven, I expect to have an amazing culinary experience. The tuna appetizer was quite good, but everything else was either bland or so spicy that you couldn't taste it. Very disappointing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Location, view, food were great. Barten ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Location, view, food were great. Bartender was friendly and drinks good. Maitre'd was the most unfriendly person with zero personality and it cant be blamed on being busy because we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived. Despite him, night was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous meal and would recomme ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the SLC vicinity.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent place for a romantic dinner. T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent place for a romantic dinner. The food has always been excellent. My wife and I go to Log Haven several times a year just to enjoy the excellent food and ambience. The food is very well put together. The food, spices and seasonings are vey well put together to make everything come together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salt Lake City visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made this reservation to take my niece out for a special dinner to celebrate her college graduation. Log Haven didn't disappoint! Great ambience, great food, great service and great wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

"I was a waiter, it's not that hard kids...

Dined on May 7, 2016

... in fact it makes it easier for everyone." We had a great night in general, the food was great, the ambience was magical, the wait service was attentive and professional, but there was one major thing that ruined an otherwise perfect night. We had a large group, we asked both of our waiter/ress at the beginning of our meal to do separate checks for different people, they told us they couldn't do that...uhm OK? It's 2016 kids. So the restaurant rather than do separate checks had us at the end of the meal go through the receipt and figure out who had what, that's fine, but then they said they can't then run each as a different ticket and that they had to run all the cards together and had US figure out the tax? What the what? So we spend 30 minutes taking up their table longer than needed doing this. We then go back to pay and the bartender had the audacity to tell us that "you guys really should have told your waiter to do separate checks at the start"...really?! "Expletive" really! This debacle totally ruined our otherwise great night. While I won't disparage Log Haven as a whole as it is a unique and almost magical step back in time, they really seem to have the inability to efficiently accommodate large groups. If you want a quiet, romantic night out for two in a mountain setting this is the place, but they seem incapable of accommodating large groups. For this reason, and this reason only I have to give them a 3 out of 5.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closed the deal!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Held a small dinner last night in the hopes that fine food and great wine would help me close a major deal I have been working for several years. Log Haven did the trick. We sat on the outdoor patio near a lovely waterfall and listened to a piano and bass combo. It put my clients in a perfect mood. The food was excellent. I especially enjoyed the rabbit. The wine list was varied and very reasonably priced. I will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was highly recommended on Trip ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Log Haven was highly recommended on TripAdvisor's list of Salt Lake City's best restaurants. Since I happen to be celebrating a special occasion during my one night's stay in Utah, I wanted to make sure it was memorable. It was definitely that and more! The log cabin is beautiful both from the outside and even more so inside. The tiny white lights illuminating the interior of the restaurant brings a charming effect to the place. I ordered a special 3-course meal of Arugula Salad, Ahi Tuna with Grilled Vegetables, and Strawberry Sorbet. The birthday celebrant had Roasted Beets, Ricotta Dolce salad and the Center Cut New York Steak. Both our meals were beautifully plated and cooked to perfection. The tuna was seared and served at just the right temperature. The dinner portions were perfect and there was no need to bag anything. Considering how exquisite everything was, it would be a shame not to finish the meal at all. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to experience fine dining at its best. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the service, food, and location are excellent. And there's even a couple of waterfalls you can walk up to before of after your meal right outside the establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find

Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was unsurpassed and the food was absolutely fantastic. The wait to be seated was a bit much considering how it was not very busy at that time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Mediocre Food in a Lovely Setting

Dined on April 29, 2016

I've had good meals here in the past but something has changed. Salads pre-arranged on chilled plates had a refrigerator taste. Mushroom consommé was spoiled by cloddish mushroom ravioli (needs better pasta rolled out more thinly). Vegan cauliflower main dish was dull and unattractive (read the NYT article on this dish a few months past to get an idea of how it might look!). Tuna carpaccio dull. Seared octopus tough--and accompanied by canned artichoke mush. (Why not use fresh?) Someone is cutting corners--I won't be back until there's a new chef. Pretty setting. Service was nice, but tell servers to twist the wine bottle after pouring to avoid drips.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, staff was very helpful

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was excellent, staff was willing to accommodate requests. Enjoy eating during the spring season, normally have it in the winter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.