About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallops With Fried Kale And Cauiflower Puree
Tuna Tartare With Seaweed Salad
Whiskey Miso Halibut
Grilled Calamari
Low-cal High Impact Entree
Chablis Premier Cru
Steelhead Trout With Soba Noodles
Grilled Bison
Tuna Tartare
Smoked Duck And Serrano Chili Pasta
Romaine Lettuce Salad
Maple Creme Brulee
Polenta Fontina Gratin
Miso Black Cod

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Utah
Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
15 More
Outdoor Dining
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

special occasion (126)
scenic view (122)
romantic (122)
See All
great for outdoor dining (85)
fit for foodies (67)
notable wine list (50)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (18)
great for brunch (10)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great. Getting better all the ti ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Always great. Getting better all the time, in fact.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and awesome environment! T ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service and awesome environment! They remembered our anniversary.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was tasty, but my steak was tin ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was tasty, but my steak was tiny,for $40.t40.the menu was weird,rabbit,eElko there wild stuff I don't remember.

These typos are a problem with this form.i have more to sa,bbut giving up out of frustration

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food and service were excellent but on a ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Food and service were excellent but on a hot night, air conditioning would have been appreciated inside.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We make it an annual tradition to visit ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We make it an annual tradition to visit Log Haven. We were in town visiting family from Houston and made sure that we had reservations before we headed out. Never disappoints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must in Salt Lake City. In th ...

vip
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a must in Salt Lake City. In the middle of the mountains with the best weather and ambience. Great music and service and the food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was very satisfied, great place for alon ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

was very satisfied, great place for alone time with your husband!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For those who are seeking a quiet romant ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

For those who are seeking a quiet romantic get away - Log Haven should be first choice. From your initial view from the road, to the greeting at the reception desk - the restaurant understands how to create a warm and friendly ambiance that beckons you to come back again and again. The dining is first class, so allow plenty of time to enjoy appetizers, wine and dinner. and don't forget the dessert, the pineapple upside down cake was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The location is awesome but I expected a ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The location is awesome but I expected awesome food as well, and in fact, it was good but not spectacular

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a lovely place, a beautiful, rus ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a lovely place, a beautiful, rustic restaurant in the mountains outside of Salt Lake City. The service was excellent and while we enjoyed our appetizers and entrées, we both felt that the dishes we had were overpriced. The grilled octopus was well beyond spicy and the heat dominated the dish. The ravioli accompanying the scallops were unremarkable. The Alaskan halibut was delicious and very well 🎆💀prepared with Asian flavor. The Maitake mushroom Tempura was delectable. The romaine Caesar-like salad with pine nuts was superb We were too full to sample dessert. The wine list is excellent with ample by-the-glass selections I would recommend it to those comfortable with spending $100 per person, especially in Salt Lake City where gourmet dining options are limited

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, unique scenery and relaxed at ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, unique scenery and relaxed atmosphere. All in all a great place to take friends from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed on my wife's birthday... N ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Disappointed on my wife's birthday...

Normally, I'd give Log Haven a pass on having a bad night. However, with the power out and the restaurant running on power from their generator, there was no offer to move us or to enhance our experience from the staff or management despite being seated just inside from their very loud generator.

The noise required them to shut the windows and doors on one of the warmest nights of the year. You can imagine, that the normally idyllic and romantic ambiance was ruined for our party of eight.

The service was mediocre at best, with members of our party having to get up periodically to get the attention of our server to do the most basic thing like refilling water glasses... perhaps she couldn't hear us over the racket?

Although the food was good, but was delayed for some reason. Four of the dishes came to the table after obviously sitting under heat lamps for extended periods.

That said, there is no excuse for us not to receive a visit (at least) from the manager to acknowledge that our dining experience was being impacted adversely by noise...heat...service.

Needless to say, but I am very disappointed in this sub-par experience and will have difficulty recommending Log Haven to my friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Log Haven is a beautiful restaurant nest ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Log Haven is a beautiful restaurant nestled up Millcreek Canyon. The biggest reason I love this place is the ambiance---the views out to the mountains, the picturesque dining area, and the live music. We were celebrating an event and enjoyed one of the specials of the night, Sirloin and Lobster tail. The lobster and side vegetables were fantastic but the steak was a little too drenched in its wine sauce for my taste. We also enjoyed the peach fruit crisp for dessert and it was heavenly! Overall this is a wonderful place to dine at in SLC.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant did everything right. Y ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant did everything right. You can't expect the run of the mill menu. Some very fun items...elk, rabbit, my corn was almond with amaretto. It's up in the National Park. We were amazed all the cars along side of the road. Popular area. But so nice to be up in the woods.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Log Haven could not have b ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our dinner at Log Haven could not have been better. Every detail from the friendly valet to the food and great service was exemplary. I have come to Log Haven since I was a little girl and it has only gotten better over the years! We love that it is in our back yard.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends log cabin. Great scenic views. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting up Millcreek Canyon is compl ...

 
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The setting up Millcreek Canyon is completely lovely but the service lacked grace and the food was only adequate. The experience was not in accord with the high prices.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Log Haven is lovely. On busy nights, the ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Log Haven is lovely. On busy nights, the traffic up the canyon can be tough, but they have valet parking, which is very nice.

We were greeted briskly (not welcomed), and despite having made a reservation early, we were seated at a poor table with limited views. The service was ok; we were served one item incorrectly and had to ask/remind several times for refills, additional glasses, etc. The food was good.

While I love the idea of this restaurant, this experience didn't make me a rabid fan. I will probably come back because the drive is beautiful. The live piano music was definitely the best part.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the food and service were exc ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always, the food and service were excellent. The menu is creative and you can't beat the location. With it's popularity for weddings it's hard to sit on the patio, but the deck is a great deck is a nice option.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening as the food was d ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed our evening as the food was delicious, the view was fabulous, and the service was impeccable! We highly recommend Log Haven!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is average. The restaurant is i ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is average. The restaurant is in a beautiful area but the food is definitely disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Great Food, the server was awesome! We ...

vip
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great Food, the server was awesome! We came up to sit on the patio, but there was a wedding party. The table in the dining room had a great few of the waterfall and the windows were open so it felt like we were outside. A wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good. Very pretty setting. ...

 
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was very good. Very pretty setting. Food is pricey, but our meals were very good, so I think it was worth it. If I lived locally, I would return for birthdays or special occasions.

I had the tuna and it was delicious. My son had surf and turf and his was also wonderful... Hubby liked his as well.

One complaint, My wine pour seemed small which bothers me when you are paying a premium.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Log Haven, is truly a haven. Nestled in ...

 
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Log Haven, is truly a haven. Nestled in Millcreek canyon the scenery alone is worth a visit. The food was excellent and fresh. Bring a light jacket and be prepared to be enchanted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have dined at Log Haven many times an ...

 
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have dined at Log Haven many times and have always enjoyed stellar food and service in one of Utah's prettiest restaurants. Last night was no different. Everyone was delighted by their menu choices but I think the stand-outs were the Alpine Nachos (ADDICTIVE), the perfectly cooked scallops and the bacon-wrapped elk loin. Thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with my 4 year old daughter and m ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I went with my 4 year old daughter and myself. I got the steak and lobster she got the roasted chicken breast and the s'more dessert. I've been going to Loghaven for the past 20 years and I recommended my friends have their wedding there which they did. Food has usually been great, but my steak wasn't great and my lobster was over cooked and didn't taste good. I was disappointed that I spent that much on a mediocre dinner, but the service and atmosphere was excellent. Don't mind spending the money, but I'm not sure if I would go back because unfortunately it wasn't worth it. I know food and how to cook so I go out a lot so it might have just been a bad night. It happens.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

best food I have ever had! I will be bac ...

 
·Dined on June 24, 2016

best food I have ever had! I will be back, the views are incredible

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was very quiet and peaceful, ...

 
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Log Haven was very quiet and peaceful, beautiful patio seating with a outdoor feel comfort indoor dining, managers very friendly brought out a blanket for my girlfriend well kept cozy with a propane heater just enough take any . The waiter was nice there with drinks and knew how treat a customer. Thank for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great anniversary dinner! Tempu ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner! Tempura mushrooms for appetizer were really good except they only give you three for $12. Four, at least, would have been nice for us to share, but they did seem like really fancy shrooms. The salmon dish was wonderful, veal milanese was good - though a little plain. We tried to fit in fruit crisp for dessert after all the yumminess - the apricots were a bit tart for me, but my husband liked them.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was rated 4.5 stars on Yelp a ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

This place was rated 4.5 stars on Yelp and it did not disappoint! Extremely delightful experience from start to finish. I brought my wife here for a her birthday dinner and every single thing we got resulted in a clean plate. The wait staff was extremely friendly, polite and knowledgeable. The ambience was absolutely wonderful. I could not recommend this place more!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique menu. Portions small to just righ ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Unique menu. Portions small to just right. Great attentive service

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance on the patio is simply beau ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The ambiance on the patio is simply beautiful and filled with the lovely aromas of pine trees and mineral water...the sound and view of the pretty waterfall is wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We've known about Log Haven for over a y ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've known about Log Haven for over a year, but wanted to wait for a special occasion to go there. The wait was most definitely worth it! The setting is glorious and the food is exceptional: both perfectly prepared and different from the typical offerings at high-end restaurants. We won't wait a year to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had fantastic cocktails and a delicio ...

vip
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had fantastic cocktails and a delicious meal on the main patio. The atmosphere is extremely beautiful and romantic. We would recommend this restaurant to those coming to the area and looking for a unique dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoy Log Haven, it is our special oc ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We enjoy Log Haven, it is our special occasion restaurant of choice. The menu is creative, the service is impeccable, the ambiance is to be appreciated. I look forward to our visit. By the way , their wine list is first class! Bon Appetite

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Log Haven was awesome. We went up for ou ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Log Haven was awesome. We went up for our anniversary and everything was perfect. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu selection was limited for the p ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The menu selection was limited for the price paid and the food taste was just okay. Ambiance however is amazing at this location. Make sure you have reservations. Outdoor seating is the best in the summer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The wife and i spent our anniversary the ...

 
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The wife and i spent our anniversary there. Love the food and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful 'away' place. Quiet and priva ...

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful 'away' place. Quiet and private place to have a special dinner. Service was excellent and the food was prepared perfectly. We make this a place to go with special friends and family.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I chose to try Log Haven ...

vip
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My husband and I chose to try Log Haven for a much needed date night away from our baby. The food was wonderful and the service was on point! I ordered the bison steak, my husband chose the scallops, and we had tuna tartar as a starter. All plates were cleaned! Thanks for a great evening, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.