About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallops With Fried Kale And Cauiflower Puree
Whiskey Miso Halibut
Tuna Tartare With Seaweed Salad
Low-cal High Impact Entree
Grilled Calamari
Chablis Premier Cru
Smoked Duck And Serrano Chili Pasta
Tuna Tartare
Grilled Bison
Steelhead Trout With Soba Noodles
Maple Creme Brulee
Miso Black Cod
Romaine Lettuce Salad
Polenta Fontina Gratin

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Serving a four-course Thanksgiving menu from 1:00 to 5:00 p.m.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Notable Wine List
Utah
Outdoor Dining
Utah
12 More
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

Scenic View (120)
Special Occasion (120)
Romantic (113)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (113)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fireplace (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Historic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very romantic. Lovely ambiance. Great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very romantic. Lovely ambiance. Great service. Great food. Pretty pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a beautiful dinner with my new bride ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Had a beautiful dinner with my new bride and our close family. Great food, the service was friendly, we will definitely come back for our anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Always a wonde ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food and service! Always a wonderful experience! The only negative was the hostess, she was not friendly and appeared to be new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was there for my 50th.....Cassie was gre ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Was there for my 50th.....Cassie was great & the food was incredible!

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had one very delicious entree and one ve ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had one very delicious entree and one very mediocre entree. Wonderful background music....great painist! Thx! Appreciate valet prkg too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique and beautiful setting.....very ro ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Unique and beautiful setting.....very romantic. Lovely indoor atmosphere as well as outdoor. Food wonderful!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly and were well att ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were seated quickly and were well attended by the wait staff. We started out with the charred octopus salad which was surprising different and delicious!!

I had the Bison and my wife had the Halibut. I have not had Bison before and I was nervous about it being tough and gamey, it was neither.

Probably

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Log Haven's rustic charm was the perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Log Haven's rustic charm was the perfect setting for dinner with my Midwest guests. Our server was delightful and the service was excellent. Signature cocktails before dinner were nicely crafted and tasty. I had the low cal special. The yellow fin tuna was lightly seared with sides of grilled asparagus with Parmesan shavings, mushrooms and a tarragon sauce. All were flavorful. I would have preferred a "crustier" sear on the tuna. The salad and dessert that accompanied the meal were good, but not memorable.

My dining companions' entrees were a 'Surf & Turf' (sirloin steak and lobster) and the Market Fish. The steak and lobster were nicely prepared (medium rare steak) and well-seasoned. The halibut in the market fish entree was beautifully cooked, but the spicy sauce that accompanied the fish overpowered the delicate flavor of the halibut and the hash brown potatoes that accompanied the dish. The entree portions were quite generous and in spite of being "stuffed", we just had to try the warm peach cobbler for dessert. It was very good.

We had a very enjoyable evening at Log Haven. I would recommend it to others and will surely be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent quality food. You pay for the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent quality food. You pay for the quality, but it's very tasty. The ambiance and views are amazing. We had a window view that provided an excellent view of the waterfall across the canyon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

If you are in Salt Lake you must make th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

If you are in Salt Lake you must make the beautiful drive and enjoy!

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven is a very scenic locale that o ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Log Haven is a very scenic locale that offers over the top service. Food was good and came out quickly. Log Haven to me is about the location and view.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great as always

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic venue, good service, would hav ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic venue, good service, would have loved a larger variety on the menu with more steak/pasta choices.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The best dining experience I've had in a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The best dining experience I've had in a long time. Love the Elk Filet. Romantic setting and you can't beat the ambience. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was terrible, we rarely saw h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Our server was terrible, we rarely saw her. The bar drinks were awful and taster like pure sweet and sour. The food took forever and our waiter never gave us an update; she didn't show up until we sent another server to find her and our food. It took so long we asked for our check as soon as she dropped off the plates. Our steaks were cooked wrong but we didn't even mention it in fear of getting trapped there longer. She didn't come back to run our card so we again had to ask another server to run our payment. The setting is beautiful but we will not be back or recommend. Definitely not worth the money. Worst service we have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Log Haven was a wonderful experience all ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Log Haven was a wonderful experience all around! The drive from Salt Lake City was scenic, but short, a beautiful setting! Our waiter, Erik, was wonderful, his recommendations impeccable! Our party had the delicious seasonal tomato and mozzarella with balsamic reduction appetizer. We then had three different entrees: the bison, the halibut, and the scallops with ravioli which were to die for! Desserts were lovely as well, a favorite being the house-made ice creams and sorbet. This is a don't miss spot if you are anywhere near SLC!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambience. Friendly and professiona ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great ambience. Friendly and professional service. On the pricey side but meal was excellent. No significantly chocolate option on the dessert menu was the only disappointment. We had to have that at home. Will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Loved the lo-cal option. One criticism: ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved the lo-cal option. One criticism: the salad needed some acid. Everything else we ordered was perfect.

Tags: Wood Oven, Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food took over an hour to come out and w ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food took over an hour to come out and when it did the fish was overcooked and very dry. Not very impressed for $125...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a wonder dinner for my wife's bir ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a wonder dinner for my wife's birthday. The food and atmosphere of Log Haven added to a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was wonderful as always. Wait staff ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was wonderful as always. Wait staff is attentive and knowledgable but not overbearing. We were a party of six and everyone's meal and desert was perfect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location, patio seating is incredi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great location, patio seating is incredible. Food presentation and taste was excellent. Service was OK price was high.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the Early Bird Special which is l ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had the Early Bird Special which is lobster and sirloin . The lobster was OK but the steak not that good.

I've had better at Outback or Texas Roadhouse for much less. The meal for my wife and I came to $120.00 with the tip. The service was good and the ambiance was fun, but just couldn't justify the price with the food quality.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Go to place for a special occasion! Exc ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Go to place for a special occasion! Excellent classic entrees done very well and consistent. Top notch ambience in the mountains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely love Log Haven! We were able ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely love Log Haven! We were able to get a table on the small outdoor patio (there was a wedding on the large patio area). Views, food and service were all excellent! Very happy with this visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. It was a little dark ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great atmosphere. It was a little dark inside. The food we OK but very expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

You must the take the time to drive up i ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

You must the take the time to drive up in the mountains and enjoy the wonderful food at Log Haven. The service is impeccable, the food out of this world, and the patio ambience with the piano player makes it extraordinary.

I thoroughly enjoyed the risotto and my friend had the elk which I sampled and was instantly envious. For dessert don't miss out on the s'more tart!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience. Great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience. Great place for nice quiet dinner date or special occasion. Food was expensive but very good. The coconut banana sorbet was the perfect flavor to finish off a great meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We can always count on Log Haven to prov ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We can always count on Log Haven to provide excellent food and service. The setting is lovely and it's our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Log Heaven, where we had our ceremony and reception. We treasured our dinner, remembering our special day with excellent foods and drink. Looking forward to come back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing venue, scenery, and ambiance. Lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing venue, scenery, and ambiance. Loved every minute and the food was expertly cooked and displayed! My favorite restaurant in Utah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful location! Creative menu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a beautiful location! Creative menu extremely well prepared. Very quiet perfect for a romantic evening. Excellent, friendly, and attentive service. A little expensive but well worth it. A very special place.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Good and the not so Good. First, the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Good and the not so Good.

First, the Host needs to greet guests in a welcoming manner, not a simple hello and "please wait in this room until we call you." No smile or welcome greeting. The food was excellent as in the elk tenderloin. The smores dessert was not as expected in that the ganache was thick and seemed yesterday's dessert. If you enjoy a nice martini before dinner in Utah, forget it! You will be served the allowed amount of vodka with no creativity from the bartender i.e. 1" of a cocktail in your glass. Drink wine or beer which is not regulated by the state. Our service was excellent, but management could improve a rather stuffy greeting.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner here a couple of days ago. We have been going to Log Haven for more years than I can recall and have never been disappointed. What a treat! Wish they still had the sleigh ride in the winter like they did when I was a kid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Restaurant is Outstanding from A to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Restaurant is Outstanding from A to Z !! Food Excellent-Service Excellent-View-Excellent-

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic setting with a menu that every ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic setting with a menu that everyone can enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a fantastic experience. Wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was a fantastic experience. Wonderful event!! Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Log Haven and it wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time dining at Log Haven and it will not be the last. My salmon was delicious and our waitress was quite informative about all the dishes offered on the menu. Great first experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The parking was atrocious. We were place ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The parking was atrocious.

We were placed at a table in a walkway so there was constant foot traffic around us.

The noise level was high.

The menu was very limited in choice.

My wife's steak was undercooked for her.

Other than these issues, it was a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we love this restaurant. Food was amazi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

we love this restaurant. Food was amazing. Beautiful setting at any time of the year. if you haven't been up during the Xmas holidays... you should.. beautiful

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.