About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Romantic
Utah
Scenic View
Utah
9 More
Special Occasion
Utah
Best Overall
Salt Lake City
Best Service
Salt Lake City
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Best Value
Salt Lake City
Notable Wine List
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

romantic (122)
special occasion (119)
scenic view (108)
See All
fit for foodies (67)
notable wine list (51)
great for outdoor dining (32)
good for groups (25)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Log Heaven is always definitely one of t ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Log Heaven is always definitely one of the top 3 restaurants in Salt Lake City. Everything is always impeccable and the food is exquisite. We truly enjoyed the fresh morels among the other dishes.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

How refreshing to get out of the city an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

How refreshing to get out of the city and eat in a log cabin looking at a lovely waterfall! We were in Salt Lake City for a trade show, and arranged to bring our business associates here on a Saturday night. Our experience might have been a 5-star if the restaurant had not also been the venue for a wedding party, because everything was slow. Only one bartender taking care of the wedding party and the restaurant, and for the time we waited for our food, only one cook too. The food was delicious though, and beautifully presented. I would love to try them on a weekday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Not worth the price

Dined on May 19, 2016

When I pay the kind of prices on the menu at Log Haven, I expect to have an amazing culinary experience. The tuna appetizer was quite good, but everything else was either bland or so spicy that you couldn't taste it. Very disappointing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Location, view, food were great. Barten ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Location, view, food were great. Bartender was friendly and drinks good. Maitre'd was the most unfriendly person with zero personality and it cant be blamed on being busy because we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived. Despite him, night was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Lovely setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fabulous meal and would recomme ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and would recommend this restaurant to anyone in the SLC vicinity.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent place for a romantic dinner. T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent place for a romantic dinner. The food has always been excellent. My wife and I go to Log Haven several times a year just to enjoy the excellent food and ambience. The food is very well put together. The food, spices and seasonings are vey well put together to make everything come together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Salt Lake City visit

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made this reservation to take my niece out for a special dinner to celebrate her college graduation. Log Haven didn't disappoint! Great ambience, great food, great service and great wine list.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

"I was a waiter, it's not that hard kids...

Dined on May 7, 2016

... in fact it makes it easier for everyone." We had a great night in general, the food was great, the ambience was magical, the wait service was attentive and professional, but there was one major thing that ruined an otherwise perfect night. We had a large group, we asked both of our waiter/ress at the beginning of our meal to do separate checks for different people, they told us they couldn't do that...uhm OK? It's 2016 kids. So the restaurant rather than do separate checks had us at the end of the meal go through the receipt and figure out who had what, that's fine, but then they said they can't then run each as a different ticket and that they had to run all the cards together and had US figure out the tax? What the what? So we spend 30 minutes taking up their table longer than needed doing this. We then go back to pay and the bartender had the audacity to tell us that "you guys really should have told your waiter to do separate checks at the start"...really?! "Expletive" really! This debacle totally ruined our otherwise great night. While I won't disparage Log Haven as a whole as it is a unique and almost magical step back in time, they really seem to have the inability to efficiently accommodate large groups. If you want a quiet, romantic night out for two in a mountain setting this is the place, but they seem incapable of accommodating large groups. For this reason, and this reason only I have to give them a 3 out of 5.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Closed the deal!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Held a small dinner last night in the hopes that fine food and great wine would help me close a major deal I have been working for several years. Log Haven did the trick. We sat on the outdoor patio near a lovely waterfall and listened to a piano and bass combo. It put my clients in a perfect mood. The food was excellent. I especially enjoyed the rabbit. The wine list was varied and very reasonably priced. I will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven was highly recommended on Trip ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Log Haven was highly recommended on TripAdvisor's list of Salt Lake City's best restaurants. Since I happen to be celebrating a special occasion during my one night's stay in Utah, I wanted to make sure it was memorable. It was definitely that and more! The log cabin is beautiful both from the outside and even more so inside. The tiny white lights illuminating the interior of the restaurant brings a charming effect to the place. I ordered a special 3-course meal of Arugula Salad, Ahi Tuna with Grilled Vegetables, and Strawberry Sorbet. The birthday celebrant had Roasted Beets, Ricotta Dolce salad and the Center Cut New York Steak. Both our meals were beautifully plated and cooked to perfection. The tuna was seared and served at just the right temperature. The dinner portions were perfect and there was no need to bag anything. Considering how exquisite everything was, it would be a shame not to finish the meal at all. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to experience fine dining at its best. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the service, food, and location are excellent. And there's even a couple of waterfalls you can walk up to before of after your meal right outside the establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great find

Dined on May 5, 2016

Service was unsurpassed and the food was absolutely fantastic. The wait to be seated was a bit much considering how it was not very busy at that time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Mediocre Food in a Lovely Setting

Dined on April 29, 2016

I've had good meals here in the past but something has changed. Salads pre-arranged on chilled plates had a refrigerator taste. Mushroom consommé was spoiled by cloddish mushroom ravioli (needs better pasta rolled out more thinly). Vegan cauliflower main dish was dull and unattractive (read the NYT article on this dish a few months past to get an idea of how it might look!). Tuna carpaccio dull. Seared octopus tough--and accompanied by canned artichoke mush. (Why not use fresh?) Someone is cutting corners--I won't be back until there's a new chef. Pretty setting. Service was nice, but tell servers to twist the wine bottle after pouring to avoid drips.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, staff was very helpful

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was excellent, staff was willing to accommodate requests. Enjoy eating during the spring season, normally have it in the winter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesomeness

Dined on April 25, 2016

This place nestled in the beauty of the canyons. The view sets the mood. Staff are fantastic and the food is amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

log haven

Dined on April 23, 2016

Log haven was a great experience. the grounds are beautiful, parking is convenient and it was nice to have a voucher for the park itself. Very friendly staff. Our waitress was awesome and new the menu insode and out, making it very easy for her to make great suggestions. The drinks were small and not particularly tastey, which was disappointing and not worth the expense. The food was very very good. Impressed with the bison moreso then the salmon, but overall delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We discovered The Log Haven several years ago when our daughter graduated from college in SLC. We had a great dinner and return every year when skiing in SLC . The food, service and atmosphere are top notch. We highly recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent romantic dining in the mountains

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

I am in LOVE. Excellent restaurant and food. I'm so glad Chef Jones is part of our culinary team of talented chefs. I have several allergies and health issues and they are always willing to accommodate my special requests. In addition to be so gracious to my special diet (highlights - arugula salad - the special tuna entree with the mushrooms), it is a beautiful restaurant and I always feel at peace here. I love sitting by the waterfall. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to go for birthday or anniversary.

Dined on April 10, 2016

We tried this for the first time for our anniversary! I'll just say it was not a mistake. Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints

Dined on April 7, 2016

I've been coming to Log Haven for 20 plus years for special occasions with family, friends and most recently in dating. It's a great atmosphere to bring a date as it presents a warm and inviting atmosphere that is never too noisy to have great conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch on all levels. Beautiful insid ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Top notch on all levels. Beautiful inside and out. Food was wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Memorable Evening

Dined on April 3, 2016

We ended an 11 day vacation to the Utah National Parks with our last evening's dinner at Log Haven. It was a fitting end to a wonderful vacation. The view of the surrounding mountains and waterfall was spectacular, the ambiance of the log cabin, the creative menu and the friendliness of the wait staff all contributed to make this a special evening. I would highly recommend it for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Phenomenal food and service

Dined on April 3, 2016

Phenomenal food and service

food3
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location, especially if you ge ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Beautiful location, especially if you get there before sunset. The front of house staff were very welcoming and seated us in a lovely location by the fire where we were able to have cocktails or soft drinks. The pianist added to the atmosphere. Shared appetizers are the way to go and represent the best value for money on the menu. Two between four satisfied us nicely. The main courses all sound good, though vegetarian or vegan options are very limited, however, the chef was able to convert the Shrimp Laksa to a vege dish for my wife. The favorite dish selected was caramelized pork, but they are all "much of a muchness" The highlight from a food perspective is the dessert with the butterscotch pot de creme and the flourless chocolate torte being Though I and told the frozen soufflé is the signature dish. Go for the ambience and the experience which is fabulous, rather than the food, which is good, but not great, especially for the price. We do, however, look forward to stopping by for drinks and an appetizer in the bar after a summer hike.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Place

Dined on April 2, 2016

Log Haven is a perfect, intimate place for a special occasion, anniversary, proposal, etc. with a special someone. It is quiet and the ambiance is a romantic mountain cabin experience. The food is delicious and unique and sourced from quality and responsible farms and prepared by excellent chefs that make it that much better. The servers our friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and extensive wine list. Our server was very helpful recommending entrees and selecting a good wine to pair it with. He was also very knowledgeable about how the food was prepared.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We enjoyed a very nice Easter dinner..en ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice Easter dinner..entree choices were excellent..We also enjoyed trying a new wine...finished with a creme brûlée and strawberry shortcake and coffees... Great food , great ambiance and always great service...thanks Log Haven for another fantastic dining experience..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, ambience and service!

Dined on March 22, 2016

The elk medallions were incredible! Also, the char entree' was very good. All food items were very well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent choice

Dined on March 21, 2016

The staff took good care of us, the wine list is extensive, the courses from appetizers to desert were delicious. We enjoyed some good wines, olive bread, Asiago bread, tuna tartar, romaine salad, bison with amazing andouille sausage sauce and cheesy grits, Arctic char (fish) with creamy dill sauce and roasted veggies, honey almond tart, and flour less hazelnut mocha cake. If anything could be improved I'd say the majority of the dishes had so much complexity they felt like the flavors were competing with each other rather than complimenting each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful! We had a great dinner! ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

It was wonderful! We had a great dinner! Goose, Elk, Bison. Can't go wrong. Very experienced service staff and very accommodating.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seasonal dining is fantastic (all four seasons)

Dined on March 18, 2016

Rustic venue but classy. A very nice change from downtown restaurants for a business dinner. Beautiful setting in Millcreek Canyon, waterfall and all. Our server was friendly and attentive. Overall service impeccable. Great food with nice seasonal options and wine selections. Our out-of-town clients loved this venue. Definitely a winner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the most perfect Anniversary dinn ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

We had the most perfect Anniversary dinner at Log Haven! The restaurant sits on the most beautiful surrounding and was even better than we already expected! Our server was impeccable and was very attentive to all our needs. He was happy to answer all our questions and we were very happy with his recommendations (which we asked for). The meal was so delicious and special. It was the perfect romantic dinner we wanted and if we are ever back in Salt Lake City we will be dining at Log Haven again without question!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and live piano player

Dined on March 14, 2016

Amazing food and live piano player

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a couple bugs crawling on both of us.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Other than the box elder bugs crawling on both of us; after that I had ghost bugs on me rest of meal. We both had the Steak & Lobster - loved it, enough we are talking about coming back every three months. Hopefully without the box elder bugs.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Jada

Dined on March 12, 2016

Huge wedding in main dining room and tent, restaurant should have been closed to public. Those of us with reservations were relegated to the "library" with wedding guests tromping back and forth. Very uncomfortable. Won't return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in Salt Lake!

Dined on March 10, 2016

This restaurant sits in a beautiful canyon and is stunning! The food is always outstanding with many unique selections. The wine list is excellent. Homemade desserts!! We always make this a stop on our ski trips to Salt Lake area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this place... still

Dined on March 8, 2016

Log Haven has always been a favorite of mine. It has been quite a few years since I have had the opportunity to dine there again until my birthday last Monday. The entree choices were just amazing. I really had a hard time deciding. I chose the bison and he chose the elk. The andouille sausage sauce was interesting with the bison. The meat was nicely prepared. But the elk was so tender and flavorful, and matched with the yams... OMG! Such an elegant and rustic atmosphere with perfect lighting. The fireplace and old homey feel makes this the most inviting restaurant I have ever frequented anytime of year. Although... winter- early spring will always be my favorite. Complements all around.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening from beginning to end

Dined on February 29, 2016

Really enjoyed a family dinner at Log Haven. The setting is fantastic, the food was excellent and unique (bison and elk were two of the entries we tried - both were excellent). Service was top notch. Cannot say enough about the ambiance and setting. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special night

Dined on February 28, 2016

We look forward every winter and summer to a trip to Log Haven. This year was one of the best. A short wait by the fireplace was too short! A wonderful table with immediate service which was maintained throughout the night. At no time was the waiter over attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

First Visit

Dined on February 27, 2016

The ambiance was great and the service was great. Food not so much. I had steak and lobster and the steak was tough and the lobster way overcooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Honeymoon Dinner

Dined on February 25, 2016

My husband and I ate dinner here while we were on our honeymoon. The drive there was beautiful. The atmosphere was calm and romantic inside. The service was very attentive and the food was good. Pretty expensive and a limited selection but worth it for the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.