About Log Haven

6451 E Millcreek Canyon
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
View Larger Map

Log Haven, long synonymous with wildflowers, waterfalls and fine canyon dining, is located in a historic log mansion in the Wasatch National Forest, minutes from downtown Salt Lake City. Named 'Top 10 Romantic Restaurant in the U.S.' by USA Today! Consistently honored with the most national and local awards in the industry: Best Utah Restaurant, Best Salt Lake Restaurant, Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, and the coveted Hall of Fame Award. “This is the highest honor we can give a restaurant in Utah. It means that besides having great food, terrific ambiance and passionate people, something magical has happened to make this restaurant so consistently excellent on all fronts that it thrives as an inspiration to everyone in the business.” -Salt Lake Magazine

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: Begin seating at 5:30 p.m. with last seating at 9:00 p.m.

Cross Street:
3800 South

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 272-8255

Website:
http://www.log-haven.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music Friday - Sunday from 6:30 - 9:30 p.m.

Executive Chef:
Dave Jones

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Two course Steak & Lobster Special for $31 until 6:00pm Monday thru Friday. Expires April 29, 2016.

Restaurant Photos

Seared Scallops With Fried Kale And Cauiflower Puree
Whiskey Miso Halibut
Tuna Tartare With Seaweed Salad
Low-cal High Impact Entree
Grilled Calamari
Chablis Premier Cru
Smoked Duck And Serrano Chili Pasta
Tuna Tartare
Grilled Bison
Steelhead Trout With Soba Noodles
Maple Creme Brulee
Miso Black Cod
Romaine Lettuce Salad
Polenta Fontina Gratin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Log Haven is Utah's most scenic wedding and special event location. Situated on 40 private acres in the Wasatch National Forest, Log Haven offers an exceptional setting and exquisite cuisine for a variety of special events, including corporate dinners, retreats, luncheons, and wedding ceremonies.

Log Haven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Utah
Outdoor Dining
Utah
Romantic
Utah
10 More
Scenic View
Utah
Special Occasion
Utah
Contemporary American
Utah
Most Booked
Utah
Best Ambiance
Salt Lake City
Outdoor Dining
Salt Lake City
Romantic
Salt Lake City
Special Occasion
Salt Lake City
Contemporary American
Salt Lake City
Most Booked
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Holladay / Midvale / Sandy / Union ›

Scenic View (128)
Special Occasion (127)
Romantic (125)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (106)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Notable Wine List (51)
Good for Groups (31)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere. It was a little dark ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere. It was a little dark inside. The food we OK but very expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

You must the take the time to drive up i ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

You must the take the time to drive up in the mountains and enjoy the wonderful food at Log Haven. The service is impeccable, the food out of this world, and the patio ambience with the piano player makes it extraordinary.

I thoroughly enjoyed the risotto and my friend had the elk which I sampled and was instantly envious. For dessert don't miss out on the s'more tart!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience. Great ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed our experience. Great place for nice quiet dinner date or special occasion. Food was expensive but very good. The coconut banana sorbet was the perfect flavor to finish off a great meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Log Heaven, where we had our ceremony and reception. We treasured our dinner, remembering our special day with excellent foods and drink. Looking forward to come back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing venue, scenery, and ambiance. Lo ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Amazing venue, scenery, and ambiance. Loved every minute and the food was expertly cooked and displayed! My favorite restaurant in Utah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful location! Creative menu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a beautiful location! Creative menu extremely well prepared. Very quiet perfect for a romantic evening. Excellent, friendly, and attentive service. A little expensive but well worth it. A very special place.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Good and the not so Good. First, the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Good and the not so Good.

First, the Host needs to greet guests in a welcoming manner, not a simple hello and "please wait in this room until we call you." No smile or welcome greeting. The food was excellent as in the elk tenderloin. The smores dessert was not as expected in that the ganache was thick and seemed yesterday's dessert. If you enjoy a nice martini before dinner in Utah, forget it! You will be served the allowed amount of vodka with no creativity from the bartender i.e. 1" of a cocktail in your glass. Drink wine or beer which is not regulated by the state. Our service was excellent, but management could improve a rather stuffy greeting.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner h ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful anniversary dinner here a couple of days ago. We have been going to Log Haven for more years than I can recall and have never been disappointed. What a treat! Wish they still had the sleigh ride in the winter like they did when I was a kid.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Restaurant is Outstanding from A to ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The Restaurant is Outstanding from A to Z !! Food Excellent-Service Excellent-View-Excellent-

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic setting with a menu that every ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic setting with a menu that everyone can enjoy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a fantastic experience. Wonderful ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

It was a fantastic experience. Wonderful event!! Thank you for a great night.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Log Haven and it wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First time dining at Log Haven and it will not be the last. My salmon was delicious and our waitress was quite informative about all the dishes offered on the menu. Great first experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The parking was atrocious. We were place ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The parking was atrocious.

We were placed at a table in a walkway so there was constant foot traffic around us.

The noise level was high.

The menu was very limited in choice.

My wife's steak was undercooked for her.

Other than these issues, it was a nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we love this restaurant. Food was amazi ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

we love this restaurant. Food was amazing. Beautiful setting at any time of the year. if you haven't been up during the Xmas holidays... you should.. beautiful

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great experience at Log Haven. Gre ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had a great experience at Log Haven. Great food and excellent for visiting and having casual conversation with people in a comfortable environment. Will be coming back to Log Haven when back in Salt Lake City.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The outdoor setting was peaceful.

My chicken dish was tender, juicy and well seasoned. The berries went surprisingly well with the chicken and polenta. My wife's steak was not too large and was perfectly cooked and tender.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just needs to be updated. Incredible can ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Just needs to be updated. Incredible canyon location... the valet didn't look professional or sharp... the interior is old. I know it's a cabin but they really need to give it a cool factor... it feels like a musty old cabin. Outdoor seating was great--ridiculous egg-like lit globe on each outdoor table replacing a candle was unfortunate. Amazing backdrop out back is stunning. The food was good but uninspired. Stodgy old piano should be replaced by a guitar soloist or something else. If just feels really old and boring, almost everything about it. I was really excited, hadn't been there for years, won't go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We were given a wonder table inside. We ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were given a wonder table inside. We received an excellent waitress who knew the wines and also the menu. She helped make our first visit a great evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A beautiful view and a way to picnic wit ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A beautiful view and a way to picnic with gourmet dining and no bugs! A great experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu is moderately sized, which I be ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The menu is moderately sized, which I believe contributes to the quality of the food. My husband and I are pretty good cooks (not chef-quality, but pretty good), so it is always special to have great food, optimally prepared.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful and creative food and wine. Wo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful and creative food and wine. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Log Haven is one of Utah's culinary gems ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Log Haven is one of Utah's culinary gems and most gorgeous destination restaurants, set in a beautiful U.S. Forest canyon with waterfalls, scenic views, and lots of natural appeal. Chef Dave Jones' cooking is both creative and comforting, with some dishes reflecting Asian and Southwestern influences. The wine list at Log Haven is very well thought-out and offers excellent selections from around the world, as well as domestic wines. Service could not have been better. I highly recommend Log Haven - not just for special occasions, but for ANY occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As a visitor to Utah we were amazed at h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

As a visitor to Utah we were amazed at how close to the city (17 minutes) it was since it was in the hills and so completely charming, beautiful and romantic. Encased in ithe forest with deer grazing nearby. The Log architecturally perfect structure abounds with windows and charm The food was interesting and flavorful. We loved it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible restaurant. The surroundings ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Incredible restaurant. The surroundings were beautiful, peaceful, and cooler than the valley! Server was great, food delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant. However, the food was ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant. However, the food was severely over priced.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

had fabulous waiter who was very knowled ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

had fabulous waiter who was very knowledgeable and made several recommendations that where spot on

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great. Getting better all the ti ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Always great. Getting better all the time, in fact.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and awesome environment! T ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service and awesome environment! They remembered our anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was tasty, but my steak was tin ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was tasty, but my steak was tiny,for $40.t40.the menu was weird,rabbit,eElko there wild stuff I don't remember.

These typos are a problem with this form.i have more to sa,bbut giving up out of frustration

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food and service were excellent but on a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent but on a hot night, air conditioning would have been appreciated inside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

We make it an annual tradition to visit ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We make it an annual tradition to visit Log Haven. We were in town visiting family from Houston and made sure that we had reservations before we headed out. Never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must in Salt Lake City. In th ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is a must in Salt Lake City. In the middle of the mountains with the best weather and ambience. Great music and service and the food was exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

was very satisfied, great place for alon ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

was very satisfied, great place for alone time with your husband!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For those who are seeking a quiet romant ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

For those who are seeking a quiet romantic get away - Log Haven should be first choice. From your initial view from the road, to the greeting at the reception desk - the restaurant understands how to create a warm and friendly ambiance that beckons you to come back again and again. The dining is first class, so allow plenty of time to enjoy appetizers, wine and dinner. and don't forget the dessert, the pineapple upside down cake was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The location is awesome but I expected a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The location is awesome but I expected awesome food as well, and in fact, it was good but not spectacular

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a lovely place, a beautiful, rus ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is a lovely place, a beautiful, rustic restaurant in the mountains outside of Salt Lake City. The service was excellent and while we enjoyed our appetizers and entrées, we both felt that the dishes we had were overpriced. The grilled octopus was well beyond spicy and the heat dominated the dish. The ravioli accompanying the scallops were unremarkable. The Alaskan halibut was delicious and very well 🎆💀prepared with Asian flavor. The Maitake mushroom Tempura was delectable. The romaine Caesar-like salad with pine nuts was superb We were too full to sample dessert. The wine list is excellent with ample by-the-glass selections I would recommend it to those comfortable with spending $100 per person, especially in Salt Lake City where gourmet dining options are limited

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, unique scenery and relaxed at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food, unique scenery and relaxed atmosphere. All in all a great place to take friends from out of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed on my wife's birthday... N ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Disappointed on my wife's birthday...

Normally, I'd give Log Haven a pass on having a bad night. However, with the power out and the restaurant running on power from their generator, there was no offer to move us or to enhance our experience from the staff or management despite being seated just inside from their very loud generator.

The noise required them to shut the windows and doors on one of the warmest nights of the year. You can imagine, that the normally idyllic and romantic ambiance was ruined for our party of eight.

The service was mediocre at best, with members of our party having to get up periodically to get the attention of our server to do the most basic thing like refilling water glasses... perhaps she couldn't hear us over the racket?

Although the food was good, but was delayed for some reason. Four of the dishes came to the table after obviously sitting under heat lamps for extended periods.

That said, there is no excuse for us not to receive a visit (at least) from the manager to acknowledge that our dining experience was being impacted adversely by noise...heat...service.

Needless to say, but I am very disappointed in this sub-par experience and will have difficulty recommending Log Haven to my friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Log Haven is a beautiful restaurant nest ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Log Haven is a beautiful restaurant nestled up Millcreek Canyon. The biggest reason I love this place is the ambiance---the views out to the mountains, the picturesque dining area, and the live music. We were celebrating an event and enjoyed one of the specials of the night, Sirloin and Lobster tail. The lobster and side vegetables were fantastic but the steak was a little too drenched in its wine sauce for my taste. We also enjoyed the peach fruit crisp for dessert and it was heavenly! Overall this is a wonderful place to dine at in SLC.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant did everything right. Y ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant did everything right. You can't expect the run of the mill menu. Some very fun items...elk, rabbit, my corn was almond with amaretto. It's up in the National Park. We were amazed all the cars along side of the road. Popular area. But so nice to be up in the woods.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.