Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today
Special offers available. See details

L'Oceano Ristorante

4.7
752 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(856) 833-9888
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ellias Medinas
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fern Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday
Additional
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

What 752 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Chris made it happen. Nice guy and treats guest like family. Defenitely returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

One of the best dinners I’ve had in a while. Menu is original, and outstanding. Mussels were very good, octopus very very good, gnocchi was outstanding as was our main courses. It was her birthday dinner, and she got the lobster thermadore, which was amazing. I got the brook trout stuffed with chorizo and goat cheese. It was a treat. Staff couldn’t do enough for you. Can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Took my mom here last night for a belated Mother’s Day dinner. Had never been before and picked it solely on the great reviews and once again, they delivered. The owner was very engaged with us and every other table, all throughout dinner. The service was great and there’s just something special about dining at a locally-owned restaurant where not only do you have direct access to the owner, but he’s going out of his way to ensure your dining experience in his restaurant is nothing short of fantastic. You just don’t get that at “big” restaurants. The food...since this was our first time here, we decided to do the tasting menu to get a broad sampling of their menu. All four courses were outstanding. Between the two of us, we got stuffed long-hot peppers, mussels, lobster mac & cheese, gnocchi, maple salmon, and some fish on the special menu that I think was called dogfish shark or something like that, and we both had cannolis for dessert. The owner also brought a complementary crab & avocado salad to our table, which not only was delicious, but had a really great presentation. Bottom line...great experience from beginning to end, so if you’re looking for primarily seafood fare (with non-seafood options) don’t think twice about going to L’Oceano.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It was a great meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

A GREAT PLACE FOR FRIENDS TO MEET ,AND ENJOY A GREAT MEAL. CHRIS IS VERY PERSONABLE --GREETED US AT THE DOOR, WITH A WARM WELCOME AND SMILE.

THE FOOD IS OFF THE HOOK, GREAT SERVICE, NOTHING IS TOO MUCH TROUBLE. AND THE CHOCOLATE CAKE IS SINFUL.

NO DOUBT -- WE'LL BE BACK !! TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND GREAT TIME WITH GOOD FOOD -- COME CHECK IT OUT.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The service is the best. The apps are great, the main courses are great and the desserts are great. Lets not forget the lobster mac and cheese, great. Best I ever had. Not skimpy of serving sizes at all. BYOB of the year in NJ in my opinion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service and food were sensational

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Amazing as always!! Our go-to for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Wonderful ambiance, waitstaff and daily specials.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Love this place! Great food, super friendly and accommodating staff. I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We celebrated my husband's birthday at L'Oceano. The food was amazing and the owner was very personable, introducing himself to each table and visiting with all of us. While the dining room is relatively small, there is ample space between tables, so that you feel as though you have your own space. This is one of the best restaurants I have eaten at in recent memory and definitely the best in Collingswood! Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Fish portions were very small and service was slow. Good desserts. Owner was very sweet. Very intimate setting

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Excellent food and service!! We had a great time. The tasting menu is amazing and so worth the money!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

This may be the most consistent restaurants we ever dine at in terms of service and food. We’ve never had a bad experience and the food is terrific. On this night we had the scallop tacos, which may have been the best taco I have ever eaten. We each had the trout, which we both felt was amazing. We were disappointed to hear that both of these dishes are going to be removed from the menu shortly, because the owner likes to rotate the menu.

Speaking of the owner, he is extremely pleasant and passionate about his food. It’s the only restaurant we’ve ever been to where the owner welcomes you and also helps with waiting the table during every single visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Delicious dinner; restaurant specializes in fish and they do it well! Delicious appetizers and entrees; reasonably priced for the quality and quantity ($100 before tip, 2 apps, 2 entrees, one dessert and coffee). They also make their own pasta; gnocchi were out of this world, truly soft pillows and not those hard heavy dough balls you get in some restaurants. The owner (I assume he is the owner) was really energetic and involved, described specials to us and clearly cares that his patrons have a great, memorable meal. Sorry we had not found this gem sooner, we'll definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great dinner with friends! Love this restaurant, the food, service, and atmosphere. Every time we bring friends with us, they always want to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Fabulous as always!! L’Oceano delivers time and time again. Thank you for a wonderful meal! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Once again, a super dinner. loved the grilled romaine & crab flatbread, and the maple salmon is heaven. Staff is always attentive & seem to meet my needs before I ask! Kudo's to L'Oceano, I'll be back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

This was our first time. I love the atmosphere of the restaurant and the service was extremely good. I was a bit disappointed as I was looking forward to a menu item that I had viewed online that was not on the menu when we arrived (I am not a big seafood person and was looking forward to a pasta dish). I went with the gnocchi which was good although the sauce was very heavy and I would have preferred it with another sauce, and my boyfriend really enjoyed his seafood meal but was still hungry after and a bit disappointed in the risotto. The food was good but not amazing, and the menu is very limited. However, the service and atmosphere is wonderful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Service was horrible, server came around only to take order. Never checked or asked how we were doing. When declining and appetizer or desert, she seemed perturbed. Had better service from the water boy.

Food was just ok for the price. Small portions, except for gnocchi. Very tight, felt on top of neighboring table. I don't think I have ever left a review online, but felt compelled because my experience was so poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Me and two other friends decided to do the restaurant week menu! We were seated quickly, and staff was very nice.

For the restaurant week: They gave us four courses, and each one had a good amount of options! We were full after the third course so we took our dessert to go!

Restaurant was a very cute quaint BYOB- It was a very nice evening out!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We came in for restaurant week and the food was delicious. The food got better after each course.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

L’Oceano is one of our all time favorites. That includes ambience and friendliness. And delicious food. Both Joe and Chris always greet us with and a smile and they are sincere. The bacon restaurant week food was amazing. And we had the pleasure of having Michael, the bus boy serve us. What a great kid.
I said to Jim when we left that we have to come back once a month. Thank you.
Polly and Jim Lyons

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Everything was excellent! We enjoyed it and will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The food was amazing. The service was amazing. Menu selections were unique. GNOCCHI Is MADE In HEAVEN!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great service, great food and great atmosphere!! Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Amazing and delicious!!!!!! Visited during Bacon Week. We can't wait to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great tasing four course menu. We enjoyed the dinner and dessert. A great value!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was excellent, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, but it was too noisy.
I would love to go back, if there is a time that isn't as noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

what a fabulous restaurant! Dinner was absolutely terrific and the service was stellar. Especially loved the grilled romaine and homemade pasta :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food was really good, probably the best of the three times I've been here in the past couple of years. We had the fish specials as well as the gnocchi appetizer special and the grilled romaine. All were quite good. My only complaints with this restaurant are that reservations do not always run on time and I usually find a 15 minute wait for my reserved table. This should not be.
Secondly, the server came by way too often to ask if everything is ok but is not really asking. She is asking on her way to somewhere else. Every time she passed our table she interrupted our conversation to ask if everything was ok but was gone before anyone could even reply. It was annoying. So that if I had a real problem or concern she would not even be there long enough to hear it. I would suggest to the owner that the server stop by fewer times but really stop by when she comes over and spend a few seconds to make sure everything is truly ok.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The Romaine salad was awesome. The fish special portion was very small for the price. I left hungry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

First visit, loved it everything was great will return 😎👍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The food was very good-not great. The Service and Atmosphere were the best. We really enjoyed our evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We were at L’Oceano for our 10th wedding anniversary. Chris and his staff treated us like royalty ! We had the appetizer special called crrissel (sp?). It was great. My wife had the grilled romaine and said it was perfect. We each had the whole pompano - home run ! Bread pudding for dessert was just right & very tasty. L’Oceano combines great service, excellent food and a good value. A perfect combo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Amazing restaurant! The menu is creative. Food delicious. You can't find a more friendly staff anywhere; knowledgeable, personable, and so excited about the service they provide. Friendly yet private atmosphere. We were welcomed at the door with a smile and a kind word. Spotless restroom! Make this restaurant a priority.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

We ordered the tasting menu ,and the food was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Consistently well prepared dishes. Wide range of options. Never have been disappointed. Chris and staff are great. Definitely one of our favorite places!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The food and the atmosphere were terrific,first time there,would definitely go back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The personnel at the restaurant were extremely nice. Asked for a booth for our 40th anniversary but was told by I believe the owner that the timing was not right. However a 2 person booth was open the entire time we were there. Food was very good a little pricey but not bad. Everything was ala cart which I m not a fan of

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19

Tweets by L'Oceano Ristorante