About L'Oceano Ristorante

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Romantic (16)
Open Kitchen (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were welcomed warmly by Chris who off ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We were welcomed warmly by Chris who offered us the option of immediate seating at our reservation time or waiting briefly for a more secluded table. Our wait staff were all very timely, knowledgeable and super friendly (a different Chris and two others who I regrettably did not get their names). The food was absolutely delicious! Our expectations were exceeded in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant atmosphere. Greeted and c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Very pleasant atmosphere. Greeted and checked on several times by the owner. Really wants to bring something different to the table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a late reservation for Valentine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We made a late reservation for Valentine's Day. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. We especially liked the maple glazed salmon and the carrot cake which was plenty to share for a sweet desert. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. The manager and staff were very helpful as we considered various menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing as always! Our favorite place! N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing as always! Our favorite place! Never been disappointed! Thank you to Chris, Joe and Pete!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris and his staff always hit it out of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Chris and his staff always hit it out of the park!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a fabulous dinner to celebrat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

As always, a fabulous dinner to celebrate Valentine's Day. Even though the restaurant was at capacity, the service was impeccable and our meal was timed perfectly. The menu was excellent, and the meal was prepared with love.... a truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent dining experience which we ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An excellent dining experience which we have come to expect at this neighborhood gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined this evening at L' Oceano for t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We dined this evening at L' Oceano for the first time. We chose L'Oceano Ristorante based on the excellent reviews it has received, and because it was local. What a great choice we made!! The food was spectacular. Had the Buffalo Scallops and the Brussel Sprouts stuffed with crab as appetizers, and the Pompano with a Mediterranean sauce, and a seafood pot pie as out entrees. All highly recommended. Topped it off with an amaretto ice cream. We also had the Mac and Cheese with lobster. Huge pieces of lobster. You must try it!!

What we were impressed with even more than the food was how welcome we were made to feel. Chris is a fantastic host. He stopped by a few times to check on us. More importantly he spoke to us as old friends, and not first time customers. There are many good restaurants, with nice people and good food, but L'Oceano Ristorante is genuine. We felt at home from the minute we arrived.

Do yourself a favor and make the time to visit. You will not be disappointed. We plan on returning often.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Great food and the staf ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place! Great food and the staff is very attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I am never ever disappointed with L'Ocea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I am never ever disappointed with L'Oceano! Great service, accommodating, genuine, friendly, great menu, great chef and owner! Thank you Chris!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, , Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and outstanding service.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent meal and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot go wrong with going to L'Ocea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

You cannot go wrong with going to L'Oceano. It is our favorite restaurant in Collingswood. Never have we had a bad meal - food is ALWAYS fantastic! All the servers are super friendly and the owner Chris is the BEST - you have to experience the energy he brings to L'Oceano.

Can't wait to go back in March!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Healthy, , Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to try a new seafood place out ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I wanted to try a new seafood place out with the girl. Decided to go here and couldn't have been happier. Great food; amazing staff. Weekly specials on top of the great menu. Highly recommend. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food is always outstanding and the service always top notch. All the servers and Chris(the owner) make you feel like family!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, delicious food. Can't wai ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service, delicious food. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is ALWAYS delicious, but tonigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food is ALWAYS delicious, but tonight, was a special night for my daughter and I and the owner and all staff treated us like royalty! If I could I'd dine here every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to this place a few times and the f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Been to this place a few times and the food and service have been consistently good. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was impeccable. The mess wer ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was impeccable. The mess were described with perfection and the meals delivered. The tasting menu is fantastic and allowed us to really try a lot that this little gem of a restaurant had to offer. was our first time, but definitely not our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent a number of restaurants in Co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I frequent a number of restaurants in Collingswood but had never dined here before. The food was delicious. I ordered the cedar plank salmon. The crust on top was amazing. The staff was attentive and made you feel at home. We finished off our meal with a gracious slice of carrot cake. It was perfect, not too sweet and tasted homemade. I will definitely bring family and friends here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terri and I were celebrating our anniver ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Terri and I were celebrating our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. Chris welcomed us at the door and never stopped welcoming us. We enjoyed the tasting menu and weren't disappointed. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again a fantastic meal and exceptio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Once again a fantastic meal and exceptional service. Staff is friendly, personable & on top of everything. Their dining suggestions are right on target. I always try & introduce a different friend to an outstanding dining experience & have never failed to share with them a great time & wonderful meal. Have convinced many exclusive "meat eaters" to try seafood with success & their enjoyment. Will be back again, for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. We eat here frequentl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Never disappoints. We eat here frequently, and have tried most menu items. This night we had the whole fish with Mediterranean sauce. The fish was delicate and the sauce deliciously tangy, but not overpowering. Had the tiramisu - one of the best I've ever had. Service is always excellent, even on busy nights. Servers were courteous and attentive on this night as well. We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful dinner. They are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As always, a wonderful dinner. They are always so welcoming and the food never disappoints. Great date night restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here. The previ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our second time here. The previous visit was about 6 months ago. However, this will be our last.

Service:

POOR: Our server never came back to check on us after entree's were served. She also never came back to re-fill coffee. Sadly, we still gave her 20% which she did not deserve.

Food:

BELOW AVERAGE: Japanese Seafood Risotto. No taste and extremely small shrimp. Could not find any other "seafood".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Anniversary

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it here! My husband and I had a ch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loved it here! My husband and I had a chance for time away for a nice dinner.this was our first time at L'Oceano. It was last minute, I had booked our reservation for 5 pm on Sunday and was quickly called and notified there was a private party and we could only be seated at 6. The hospitality alone here is amazing and will keep us coming back.

I had the four course dinner I have to say the gnocchi is to die for. And the Dover sole stuffed with crab. My husband had the veal stuffed with crab. We both loved our dinners.

We are so excited to go back. Thank you Chris for an amazing dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the beet gnocchi with gorgonzola chee ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If the beet gnocchi with gorgonzola cheese sauce if offered as a special when you are dining, get it. Phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lobster mac and cheese... ❤❤❤

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Love the lobster mac and cheese... ❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service! Had the grilled oyste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service! Had the grilled oysters and scallop special to start! Enjoyed everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, noisy restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, noisy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The management is wonderful, personable, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The management is wonderful, personable, and knowledgeable. No stone was left unturned to ensure guest satisfaction. A great meal for any day of a special day.... And it's BYO! Clutch!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we choose L'Ocea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the second time we choose L'Oceano Ristorante for our New Year's dinner. We were joined by brother and wife. We were greeted & immediately seated. Our host apologized for not being able to seat us away from the door (I requested this on Open Table), but it worked out for the best in hindsight. The coolness of the occasionally opened front door was refreshing. The hosts asked if we were newcomers to the restaurant or returning folks (we were one of each) and proceeded to explain, in detail, the evening's (delicious )specials. All yummy... I wish I could eat more, but I choose the full lobster (filleted). In fact, we had each chose a different course item. None were disappointed. As it is a BYOB, we brought several bottles of wine to supplement our dinner. The desserts were ex.cel.lent!

There was no rush for us to leave even when more patrons, with later reservations, appeared, but did not have to wait long for seating. This is a definite reservations (HIGHLY recommended)eatery. Would love to go here again. Kudos to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent! Can't wait to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was excellent! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Chris and his staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food is always good. Chris and his staff work hard to ensure a positive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and outstanding service. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing food and outstanding service. We have dined numerous times over the years and it's never a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

7 fish was amazing!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

7 fish was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I have ever had an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had anywhere. Creative interpretation of classic European cuisine--no trendy ingredients or culinary "fusion."

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

ate there last night with my wife and as ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

ate there last night with my wife and as always we had a great meal. For appetizers we had the Gnocci which were cooked perfectly. We also had Razor Clams in a Mango broth...wow...they were awesome too. Entrees were equally as impressive (Stuffed Veal w/Risotto and Japanese Seafood Risotto). The owner Chris knows how to run a restaurant. He is a genuine host who really wants your experience to be the best possible. He is very hands on which is missing in a lot of restaurants today. By far my favorite restaurant in Collingswood.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.