Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About L'Oceano Ristorante

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (37)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Cozy (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Authentic (17)
Casual (17)
Fun (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent! Love this place! It's becoming my go-to date spot. The food is always on point, and the staff is top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2018

I took a party of 6 there for my birthday & everyone enjoyed their meals. The tasting menu is an excellent value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 9, 2018

Went for a birthday dinner. Everything we ordered was delicious! Service was friendly and excellent! Definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2018

I tried the tasting menu (four courses for $39) and was happy with the quality and choices. I'd recommend the mussels, gnocchi, whole fish with the lemon/olive oil and the cannoli's.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 3, 2018

We visited for the first time and it will not be our last! We feel that we have found a treasure...and it is BY)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Chris and his team are always welcoming and deliver a great meal. Awesome seafood and the gnocchi is always a favorite. Great vibe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Very welcoming staff. We go every New Years Eve and we're never dissappointed.
I had the grilled oysters appetizer - I usually prefer raw oysters, but these were cooked perfectly and the sauce was really good!
Lobster Thermador for dinner - a large portion of lobster cooked perfectly. Again with an awesome sauce. I'd definitely have itagain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Christmas Eve dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Usually everything here is outstanding. This meal was uneven mainly because food was not served hot. The clams were mediocre.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Excellent as usual as Chris and his staff are always making your dining experience special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Fabulous appetizers and entrees -
The seafood pot pie was out of this world!
Grilled romaine with crab meat was spilt for two people- delicious and huge portions.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2017

It is very, very good. We were greeted friendly and seated quickly. We had an early reservation, 6:00, but it was quite. The tasting menu was excellent and reasonably priced. The gnocchi was absolutely divine. Correct size and cloud like. Beautifully seasoned and beautifully presented. My wife had the tiramisu which she loved. I had the bread pudding which I’ll not have again. It wasn’t bad but I think of bread PUDDING not BREAD pudding. In the meca of bread pudding, NOLA, both kinds are made so it wasn’t wrong but it wasn’t my taste. The coffee that accompanied it was hot and properly brewed. THE GNOCCHI WAS EXCELLENT!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 19, 2017

Our second time visiting was my older sons birthday. As before, the service was fantastic and the food delicious. We all left room for dessert and ordered different desserts all of which were great. My sons dessert was on the house. We had a wonderful time and a fantastic meal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2017

As always, wonderful dinner. My husband and I try to get here at least once a month. Chris and his staff never disappoint. Atmosphere is great and food is always yummy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Great food, great service. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Small BYOB with outstanding people skills from the host to the waiter and the busboy . Service was excellent . I had the whole fish with sicilian style sauce , delicious . My wife had the special appetizer which was roasted beets topped with crab meat and gorgonzola with arugula , it was as good as it sounds . Then the Seafood Pot Pie stole the show . If you enjoy the independent BYOB like i do , this one is a must try .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

My husband and I have been going to L'Oceano for some time now and we are always happy and please with our meal, the service and everything about this place. Never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2017

It was phenomenal! Will definitely be returning soon!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

My wife and I went to L'Oceano for a date night, and couldn't have picked a better spot. The food was fantastic - both the whole fish and the salmon filet were outstanding. Dessert was even better - had the Vanilla Crunch cake, but it was truly difficult making a decision among all of the great choices! The service, from the owner greeting us and seating us, to the waitstaff being the perfect mix of attentive, but not overbearing, just made the meal that much better. You could tell there were a lot of neighborhood regulars, as several guests were greeted by name (soon to be us too, I would think!) The restaurant isn't overly large though, so i would definitely make reservations before heading over. Perfect place for a romantic evening out, or to celebrate a special occasion. BYOB! We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Everything was outstanding. We had an excellent meal and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Great place for an intimate dinner. The seafood pot pie and lobster mac & cheese are delicious. You must have dinner here because you definately will not be disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 3, 2017

It’s the Best place in Collingswood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Food was delicious and the service was superb, especially our server, Chris.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Wonderful combination of excellent fresh fish and Italian food. I had a beautiful beet and goat cheese salad that was wonderful in flavor and beautiful to view
Then Pompano was available as today’s special and it was perfect
Then almond glazed bread pudding
Everything was perfect! I will be back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This lovely spot is perfect as a destination or a neighborhood drop in. The atmosphere is warm and intimate, the food consistently delicious and the owners and servers are personable and accommodating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2017

We returned and found the food to be excellent again. Service is spot on and the owner is part of the service, you are treated like a friend. I tried the stuffed trout and it was delicious. All the food is very good and the menu is well thought out. We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Oyster with cheese sauce - the sauce overpower the taste of oyter
Scallops with buffalo sauce the same problem. Too much sauce couldnot taste de scallops
The rest of the tapas great more light is need

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

One of favorite spots for my entire family. This is our go to when we want excellent seafood and fish. We have never been disappointed with a meal! I recommend the grilled Romain salad for appetizer or the lamb chops. Lobster Mac is also a favorite for dinner.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Lovely meal with my adult children who live in NYC. They are both foodies and they really enjoyed the food and the selection at l’Oceano. The service was excellent with great explanations of the featured dishes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

A wonderful and resplendent dining experience from the moment we entered and were greeted by Chris, the owner. From there, Chris made us feel like special guests as he detailed the night’s specials. Everything including the food, service, and atmosphere was professional and extra-special.
Well done Chris and extraordinary staff for a memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

The best restaurant. Could eat here every night. Crab ragoon flatbread is sumptuous. Venison meatballs terrific. Special app of little red peppers stuffed with crab and gorgonzola. Can't figure how Chris dreams this stuff up. Seafood pot pie special was superb. Chris is a wonderful host. Always love eating at L'Oceano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We always have a great meal of seafood or fish. Service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Super meal! Chris the owner is delightful & welcoming and every item was delicious. Homemade gnocchi appetizer was light, fluffy and served with a perfect marinara sauce. Mussels appetizer with a brandy cream sauce was spicy, garlicky and great for dipping. Standout was the whole-fish done scampi style served with spinach and zucchini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We spent another fabulous evening at L'Oceano! The food was amazing, and the service was (as usual) extraordinary. This is, hands down, our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Chris was spectacular. We arrived 45 minutes early for our reservation and he moved some things around so we didn't have to wait. His attention to detail made us feel welcomed and the experienced felt personalized. We would go back here anytime!

Oh yea, and the food was creative and fun. Not your everyday menu! Try the lobster arincini's!.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2017

I have no words... 4 different meals, and everything was awful, bland... inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

The staff made us feel like family from the second we walked in. The only thing that outstaged the phenomenal service was the incredible food. Large portions with robust flavor. Mussels and Gnocchi are must trys.
Highly recommend this for a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2017

Fantastic food and service greeted us when we went to celebrate a friend's birthday. It was a Tuesday night and very quiet. Service was wonderful, food delicious and we really enjoyed the warm and friendly atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent seafood and gnocchi appetizer. Great service by the chef & owner. Even received a free cannoli, which was excellent, since it was our anniversary. Our first time there, but we will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Awesome anniversary dinner. Owner is friendly and amazing.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.