About L'Oceano Ristorante

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Authentic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Healthy (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
481 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, delicious food. Can't wai ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, delicious food. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is ALWAYS delicious, but tonigh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is ALWAYS delicious, but tonight, was a special night for my daughter and I and the owner and all staff treated us like royalty! If I could I'd dine here every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to this place a few times and the f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Been to this place a few times and the food and service have been consistently good. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was impeccable. The mess wer ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was impeccable. The mess were described with perfection and the meals delivered. The tasting menu is fantastic and allowed us to really try a lot that this little gem of a restaurant had to offer. was our first time, but definitely not our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent a number of restaurants in Co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I frequent a number of restaurants in Collingswood but had never dined here before. The food was delicious. I ordered the cedar plank salmon. The crust on top was amazing. The staff was attentive and made you feel at home. We finished off our meal with a gracious slice of carrot cake. It was perfect, not too sweet and tasted homemade. I will definitely bring family and friends here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terri and I were celebrating our anniver ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Terri and I were celebrating our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. Chris welcomed us at the door and never stopped welcoming us. We enjoyed the tasting menu and weren't disappointed. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again a fantastic meal and exceptio ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Once again a fantastic meal and exceptional service. Staff is friendly, personable & on top of everything. Their dining suggestions are right on target. I always try & introduce a different friend to an outstanding dining experience & have never failed to share with them a great time & wonderful meal. Have convinced many exclusive "meat eaters" to try seafood with success & their enjoyment. Will be back again, for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. We eat here frequentl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Never disappoints. We eat here frequently, and have tried most menu items. This night we had the whole fish with Mediterranean sauce. The fish was delicate and the sauce deliciously tangy, but not overpowering. Had the tiramisu - one of the best I've ever had. Service is always excellent, even on busy nights. Servers were courteous and attentive on this night as well. We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, a wonderful dinner. They are ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As always, a wonderful dinner. They are always so welcoming and the food never disappoints. Great date night restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here. The previ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was our second time here. The previous visit was about 6 months ago. However, this will be our last.

Service:

POOR: Our server never came back to check on us after entree's were served. She also never came back to re-fill coffee. Sadly, we still gave her 20% which she did not deserve.

Food:

BELOW AVERAGE: Japanese Seafood Risotto. No taste and extremely small shrimp. Could not find any other "seafood".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Anniversary

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it here! My husband and I had a ch ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loved it here! My husband and I had a chance for time away for a nice dinner.this was our first time at L'Oceano. It was last minute, I had booked our reservation for 5 pm on Sunday and was quickly called and notified there was a private party and we could only be seated at 6. The hospitality alone here is amazing and will keep us coming back.

I had the four course dinner I have to say the gnocchi is to die for. And the Dover sole stuffed with crab. My husband had the veal stuffed with crab. We both loved our dinners.

We are so excited to go back. Thank you Chris for an amazing dinner!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If the beet gnocchi with gorgonzola chee ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

If the beet gnocchi with gorgonzola cheese sauce if offered as a special when you are dining, get it. Phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the lobster mac and cheese... ❤❤❤

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Love the lobster mac and cheese... ❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service! Had the grilled oyste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic service! Had the grilled oysters and scallop special to start! Enjoyed everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, noisy restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, noisy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The management is wonderful, personable, ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The management is wonderful, personable, and knowledgeable. No stone was left unturned to ensure guest satisfaction. A great meal for any day of a special day.... And it's BYO! Clutch!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we choose L'Ocea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is the second time we choose L'Oceano Ristorante for our New Year's dinner. We were joined by brother and wife. We were greeted & immediately seated. Our host apologized for not being able to seat us away from the door (I requested this on Open Table), but it worked out for the best in hindsight. The coolness of the occasionally opened front door was refreshing. The hosts asked if we were newcomers to the restaurant or returning folks (we were one of each) and proceeded to explain, in detail, the evening's (delicious )specials. All yummy... I wish I could eat more, but I choose the full lobster (filleted). In fact, we had each chose a different course item. None were disappointed. As it is a BYOB, we brought several bottles of wine to supplement our dinner. The desserts were ex.cel.lent!

There was no rush for us to leave even when more patrons, with later reservations, appeared, but did not have to wait long for seating. This is a definite reservations (HIGHLY recommended)eatery. Would love to go here again. Kudos to everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent! Can't wait to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was excellent! Can't wait to go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good. Chris and his staff ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food is always good. Chris and his staff work hard to ensure a positive dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food and outstanding service. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing food and outstanding service. We have dined numerous times over the years and it's never a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

7 fish was amazing!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

7 fish was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best meals I have ever had an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever had anywhere. Creative interpretation of classic European cuisine--no trendy ingredients or culinary "fusion."

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

ate there last night with my wife and as ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

ate there last night with my wife and as always we had a great meal. For appetizers we had the Gnocci which were cooked perfectly. We also had Razor Clams in a Mango broth...wow...they were awesome too. Entrees were equally as impressive (Stuffed Veal w/Risotto and Japanese Seafood Risotto). The owner Chris knows how to run a restaurant. He is a genuine host who really wants your experience to be the best possible. He is very hands on which is missing in a lot of restaurants today. By far my favorite restaurant in Collingswood.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A long time favorite; best food and valu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

A long time favorite; best food and value in the area. This is a family establishment, reflecting the warmth and pride that comes with family. Love the BYO situation -- really enhances an already great value proposition. Easy access off Haddon Avenue; a great choice for any night of the week.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, ambiance and service was incredibl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food, ambiance and service was incredible! It was our first time there and we will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I go to L'Oceano I am not dis ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Every time I go to L'Oceano I am not disappointed. Chris always makes you feel as though you're special and the food is outstanding. It's not a place for everyday but for a special occasion, you can't beat it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always treated well and the food is amaz ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always treated well and the food is amazing. Looking forward to going back again soon. Try the whole fish with the garlic sauce!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and can't wait to retur ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 8, 2016

First time there and can't wait to return. The oysters were some of the best I've ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, great service. Highly recom ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great food, great service. Highly recommend for dinner or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service was excellent t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Amazing food and service was excellent tool. Will definitely be back soon / loved the risotto and salmon also was amazing-

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always A+ service!!! Chris never forget ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always A+ service!!! Chris never forgets a face.

Fabulous place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the ambiance was wonderful an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always, the ambiance was wonderful and the food was exquisite. The service was excellent and the food came out quick and hot. Would definitely recommend for family and friends!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another spur-of-the-moment decision to g ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Another spur-of-the-moment decision to go out to dinner so naturally we went to our local fav. Joe and the team continued the tradition of great meals combined with a comfortable environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

L'Oceano is always a great experience. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

L'Oceano is always a great experience. The food and service are exceptional. Chris is an amazing Restauranteur who makes you feel like a special guest while in his restaurant. Highly recommend for all occasions or simply as everyday dining. We'll be back soon and often.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. The ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. The service is friendly and wonderful. The food, especially seafood, is so very fresh. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have been coming here for years. Chri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have been coming here for years. Chris is fantastic and always delivers a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner's commitment to the menu and t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The owner's commitment to the menu and the personal experience of all patrons was evident. He made every customer feel like part of his family. The meal was fresh, creative and delicious. Will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.