Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About L'Oceano Ristorante

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Starting with the owner, Chris, to the General Manager, Joe, to wait-staff like Tricia and Lorrie, this restaurant exudes spectacular passion. The chef's preparation of each meal is meticulous. This is a special place owned and run by special people. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

It was the most delicious dinner we have ever eaten! And we eat out at least once a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a good choice! Hubby surprised me with dinner here for our 33rd anniversary . The tasting menu is always a good choice and plenty to share. Dining high points were the crab and avacado salad,homemade gnocchi and black and blue tuna. Service and food on point this and every time we visit. The only word of caution would be dress warmly or bring a sweater, a beautiful corner restaurant with lots of Windows makes the front dining seats on the chilly side. We made an early reservation and chose to sit by the open kitchen ,nice and toasty. 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Chris is a great host!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome. Great staff and very consistent in terms of quality. Always creative specials. Ask for waiter Stripes. He's the best. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great meal and service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were a party of seven, celebrating our mother's 80th birthday, and everything about our experience at L'Oceano was wonderful. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Fish!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The owner Chris & his staff make you feel like you're entering their home for a meal. Top notch hospitality to go along with elevated seafood options!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the few really great seafood restaurants in the area. I have already recommended it to one of my colleagues. Great atmosphere and convenient parking. It was our first time there but will be a "go to" in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So glad I decided to try this place owner and staff friendly great menu everything fresh and fish cooked perfectly. Looking forward to my next visit .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We pulled up outside the restaurant, and we bumped into a gentleman on the street who engaged us in a friendly conversation about our car. He was warm, friendly, and had the biggest smile! What a pleasant surprise to find that smiling face welcoming us to our table! From the moment we pulled up until the absolute last minute we were there, this was a great restaurant. The food was fresh, perfectly prepared, and delicious. Our server was friendly, and even directed my husband to a local liquor store when we realized we forgot the wine. Another restaurant would have balked at having to wait for someone to make the run to the store before they could wait on our table.

Stand outs of the evening included the lobster corn dogs. Crispy and slightly sweet on the outside, tender, delicious lobster on the inside. We were also offered a meatball appetizer that was in a tangy tomato sauce - definitely a unique taste treat. Two of us ordered the dinner special Pompano, which was brought completely deboned with a choice of sauces. We argued over which sauce was better - the roasted garlic or the Sicilian - but the truth is, they were both amazing.

Our non-seafood eater loved her chicken, and the warm tomato salad appetizer was a hit.

On a warm February evening, the spumoni dessert was just perfect. We also enjoyed the chocolately delicious tartufo.

The only small ding - we had someone in our party who is legally blind, and it was really dark in there. It was hard enough for the rest of us to see what to order, so it was pretty much impossible for him.

Excellent experience - we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a gift certificate and shared it with our daughter and her boyfriend. I loved my maple salmon, like candy, wanted to lick the cedar plank it was served on. Hubs enjoyed the andouille lasagne. Service seemed a little slow, but friendly and treated us to dessert! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were welcomed warmly by Chris who offered us the option of immediate seating at our reservation time or waiting briefly for a more secluded table. Our wait staff were all very timely, knowledgeable and super friendly (a different Chris and two others who I regrettably did not get their names). The food was absolutely delicious! Our expectations were exceeded in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our party of six had a special birthday dinner early on a Saturday night. Many of our dishes were very good, but my trout was a little dry. And when one in our party told the oner his salmon was off, the owner tasted it right at our table, which we thought odd. He agreed it was a bad cut, and my son got his second choice dish after the rest of us were all finished eating. We appreciated the complimentary dessert sampler but expected better all-around quality for the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our first visit and we enjoy it. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We shared an appetizer which was one of the specials and it was delicious. We then ordered the steak and seafood special as well as the seafood risotto, both were phnominal! We ended with the bread pudding which was the only disappointment, it was small and dry. We will definitely go back but maybe skip dessert next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great specials! Everything was so fresh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere. Greeted and checked on several times by the owner. Really wants to bring something different to the table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made a late reservation for Valentine's Day. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. We especially liked the maple glazed salmon and the carrot cake which was plenty to share for a sweet desert. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. The manager and staff were very helpful as we considered various menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing as always! Our favorite place! Never been disappointed! Thank you to Chris, Joe and Pete!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chris and his staff always hit it out of the park!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, a fabulous dinner to celebrate Valentine's Day. Even though the restaurant was at capacity, the service was impeccable and our meal was timed perfectly. The menu was excellent, and the meal was prepared with love.... a truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

An excellent dining experience which we have come to expect at this neighborhood gem

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We dined this evening at L' Oceano for the first time. We chose L'Oceano Ristorante based on the excellent reviews it has received, and because it was local. What a great choice we made!! The food was spectacular. Had the Buffalo Scallops and the Brussel Sprouts stuffed with crab as appetizers, and the Pompano with a Mediterranean sauce, and a seafood pot pie as out entrees. All highly recommended. Topped it off with an amaretto ice cream. We also had the Mac and Cheese with lobster. Huge pieces of lobster. You must try it!!

What we were impressed with even more than the food was how welcome we were made to feel. Chris is a fantastic host. He stopped by a few times to check on us. More importantly he spoke to us as old friends, and not first time customers. There are many good restaurants, with nice people and good food, but L'Oceano Ristorante is genuine. We felt at home from the minute we arrived.

Do yourself a favor and make the time to visit. You will not be disappointed. We plan on returning often.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love this place! Great food and the staff is very attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I am never ever disappointed with L'Oceano! Great service, accommodating, genuine, friendly, great menu, great chef and owner! Thank you Chris!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent meal and outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

You cannot go wrong with going to L'Oceano. It is our favorite restaurant in Collingswood. Never have we had a bad meal - food is ALWAYS fantastic! All the servers are super friendly and the owner Chris is the BEST - you have to experience the energy he brings to L'Oceano.
Can't wait to go back in March!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I wanted to try a new seafood place out with the girl. Decided to go here and couldn't have been happier. Great food; amazing staff. Weekly specials on top of the great menu. Highly recommend. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food is always outstanding and the service always top notch. All the servers and Chris(the owner) make you feel like family!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great service, delicious food. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food is ALWAYS delicious, but tonight, was a special night for my daughter and I and the owner and all staff treated us like royalty! If I could I'd dine here every night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Been to this place a few times and the food and service have been consistently good. I'm definitely going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The service was impeccable. The mess were described with perfection and the meals delivered. The tasting menu is fantastic and allowed us to really try a lot that this little gem of a restaurant had to offer. was our first time, but definitely not our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I frequent a number of restaurants in Collingswood but had never dined here before. The food was delicious. I ordered the cedar plank salmon. The crust on top was amazing. The staff was attentive and made you feel at home. We finished off our meal with a gracious slice of carrot cake. It was perfect, not too sweet and tasted homemade. I will definitely bring family and friends here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Terri and I were celebrating our anniversary and we couldn't have picked a better place. Chris welcomed us at the door and never stopped welcoming us. We enjoyed the tasting menu and weren't disappointed. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Once again a fantastic meal and exceptional service. Staff is friendly, personable & on top of everything. Their dining suggestions are right on target. I always try & introduce a different friend to an outstanding dining experience & have never failed to share with them a great time & wonderful meal. Have convinced many exclusive "meat eaters" to try seafood with success & their enjoyment. Will be back again, for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Never disappoints. We eat here frequently, and have tried most menu items. This night we had the whole fish with Mediterranean sauce. The fish was delicate and the sauce deliciously tangy, but not overpowering. Had the tiramisu - one of the best I've ever had. Service is always excellent, even on busy nights. Servers were courteous and attentive on this night as well. We will return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

As always, a wonderful dinner. They are always so welcoming and the food never disappoints. Great date night restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.