Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About L'Oceano Ristorante

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Open Kitchen (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (7)
Healthy (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food at atmosphere. It's BYOB so the bill is a little more reasonable. The host was very accommodating and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants - period! The best in Collingswood ( in a town with many fabulous restaurants)! Chris (owner) is the BEST. He really makes you feel special.

Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

The Maple Salmon is to die for!!! My wife only orders this for her main dish, although Chris (the owner) has such a variety of entrees and appetizers to choose from, but the Maple Salmon is pretty darn good!! Great place!!!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Very Cozy little restaurant... Chris the owner made us feel right at home. Great selections to chose from. Best gnocchi I ever had!!!! So light and fluffy

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our second visit for dinner, and we really enjoyed both experiences. The food has been excellent each time, and the service was very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful service and creative cuisine, always. The seafood is outstanding and gnocchi is stellar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our first visit to L'Oceano. Very interesting menu. Very professional and friendly service. Thought prices a little high as no s salad offered and just a dollop of potatoes.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

What a great restaurant.  Convenient corner restaurant with plenty of street parking - even at a couple of bank lots across the street that can be used after the bank closes. After Memorial Day they will have outside seating.  My wife had one of their specials - a copi fish dish along with a mushroom/spinach risotto (not sure of the spelling of the fish.) Very tasty.  I had the four course tasting meal.  I choose the Seafood Terrine which was very good, mac and cheese with lobster - lots of lobster.  Then as the main entrée I had turkey cutlet parmesan with garlic mashed potatoes.  So good.  Mashed potatoes were homemade.  Lots of cheese on the turkey cutlets.  My only disappointment was the cannoli for dessert.  It is just me -  because I hold Philadelphia's Termini's as the king of cannoli's.  My wife ordered the Pistachio Napoleon which I enjoyed more than my dessert.  Overall you will enjoy what they prepare for you.  And such a helpful staff especially with my wife who uses a mobility scooter. My only negative I have is that there is no handicap entrance for those who really need it.  They have three steps of various heights - just a fact for those who need it. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came in for Mother's Day dinner and everything was great! The food was delicious and the service was helpful and friendly, we all had a lovely time and will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great ambiance ! Food was exceptional !! It is a must try in a quaint neighborhood in NJ ! I will rave about this spot for a long time !!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Intimate place with great food and staff! We went for my mom's bday/mother's day. My parents enjoyed every dish and talked about them again the next day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner. Had tasting menu and additional apps: soft shell crab parm and lobster roll. For tasting menu tried mussels and Brussels sprouts both of which were fantastic. Both had gnocchi with a cream sauce for pasta course. My wife had the Mahi Mahi and I paid the extra $6 for some type of Hawaiian fish filet. Wife thought the soy glaze on Mahi was a tad salty so we switched up and both were very good especially the firm flesh Hawaii fish. Had bread pudding and something else for dessert both good. For $40 can't beat it. Great service too

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was perfectly seasoned & cooked & very fresh! Wait staff is very knowledgeable regarding menu & very attentive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Wait staff friendly and efficient...ambiance great, able to watch as the meals are prepared....small, yet nice...

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Vegan, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

First timer...the experience was amazing. The service was stellar and the food was innovative and delicious. Highly recommend and will return very soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Awesome Sunday crab gravy special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The whole fish, Pompano, was delicious and
very well prepared. Was advised that it is delivered
daily from Florida. Also, the Sunday gravy with crabmeat over fettucini is ver good. Homemade cannolis were a good end to a tasty meal. Restaurant is very small so
I would think reservations are a good idea. We
ate on a Sunday so it wasn't packed and we had
room between us and other couples. Most of the
seating is small tables lined up against a wall with
little space between them so if crowded, you
will be sitting very close to other diners. The
kitchen is open and across from the main
seating area. There are a few 2 person booths
in the back which I will request next time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We dine there as part of my birthday celebration. As expected the entries were excellent and the service was impeccable. It's a great place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is my second time dining here and we had a wonderful meal and good conversation with the owner/manager. He remembered me from last time, which was a nice touch. I plan on returning with family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants! Loved Wednesday's "buck a shuck"!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fantastic food, lobster mac and cheese is incredible!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was my second visit, and once again, everything was wonderful.
Excellent food, service- great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service! Charming restaurant in charming Collingswood! Chris treats you like family! Great dining experience for date night, special occasion or any day you need a special treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our server seemed to be in a big rush - she was very quick as if she was running a race or had somewhere else to go. The food was good - service could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Menu is very interesting . Puts a twists on fish. Very personal atmosphere

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome as always! The maple Salmon & the flatbread appetiter are amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Awesome experience all around - but what set it apart was having the owner there seating and talking with his customers in the small restaurant. Super hospitable and even brought out a free appetizer after we couldn't order the one we wanted because the sauce contained gluten (my gf has celiacs). That's what really sets this place apart - feeling truly welcomed and like we were regulars. Our dinner was fantastic and the fact that it's BYO made it that much better. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great meal and friendly courteous staff.I always return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We came here with friends for restaurant week and it didn't disappoint...I came in the wrong entrance and was pleasantly talked to by the owner... He joked only VIP comes through the back. He escorted me to the front and found he rest of my party.
We had a couple bottles of wine and they offered to put the unopened ones in their refrigerator... From the apps to the main course to the dessert was outstanding!!! The staff were so pleasant and attentive!!! As we left the owner shook my joked about the VIP entrance and exit and said we hope you dine with us again and with that I said most definitely... If you want a great dining experience with outstanding food go to L'Oceano!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We made error in our number of people in our reservation. Staff & management accommodated our needs easily. Service was professional & attentive.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

A well executed meal despite the restaurant being very busy on a SJ Chefs night. The owner, Chris, stopped and chatted with us. The other staff were efficient and very pleasant. And the menu items were terrific and inventive. An excellent dinner start to finish. BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food paired with great service. The owner, head chef, and creator of the menu is your server and can answer any question truly an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was amazing. The food was fresh and delicious. I am so happy I chose to go here for my birthday. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food
Owners are super. Nice and very accommodating

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

If you haven't been to L'Oceano, go and if you have been, go back! The food is excellent (macaroni and cheese is my favorite but everything is outstanding), the service is second to none and BYOB is just the icing on the cake. Thank you for another great meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Wait staff and owner were very attentive and knowledgeable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Starting with the owner, Chris, to the General Manager, Joe, to wait-staff like Tricia and Lorrie, this restaurant exudes spectacular passion. The chef's preparation of each meal is meticulous. This is a special place owned and run by special people. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was the most delicious dinner we have ever eaten! And we eat out at least once a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a good choice! Hubby surprised me with dinner here for our 33rd anniversary . The tasting menu is always a good choice and plenty to share. Dining high points were the crab and avacado salad,homemade gnocchi and black and blue tuna. Service and food on point this and every time we visit. The only word of caution would be dress warmly or bring a sweater, a beautiful corner restaurant with lots of Windows makes the front dining seats on the chilly side. We made an early reservation and chose to sit by the open kitchen ,nice and toasty. 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Chris is a great host!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.