Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 1.06mi
  3. Distance: 1.09mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About L'Oceano Ristorante

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Cozy (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

This is my second time dining here and we had a wonderful meal and good conversation with the owner/manager. He remembered me from last time, which was a nice touch. I plan on returning with family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite restaurants! Loved Wednesday's "buck a shuck"!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food, lobster mac and cheese is incredible!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second visit, and once again, everything was wonderful.
Excellent food, service- great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service! Charming restaurant in charming Collingswood! Chris treats you like family! Great dining experience for date night, special occasion or any day you need a special treat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our server seemed to be in a big rush - she was very quick as if she was running a race or had somewhere else to go. The food was good - service could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Menu is very interesting . Puts a twists on fish. Very personal atmosphere

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Awesome as always! The maple Salmon & the flatbread appetiter are amazing

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Awesome experience all around - but what set it apart was having the owner there seating and talking with his customers in the small restaurant. Super hospitable and even brought out a free appetizer after we couldn't order the one we wanted because the sauce contained gluten (my gf has celiacs). That's what really sets this place apart - feeling truly welcomed and like we were regulars. Our dinner was fantastic and the fact that it's BYO made it that much better. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a great meal and friendly courteous staff.I always return.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We came here with friends for restaurant week and it didn't disappoint...I came in the wrong entrance and was pleasantly talked to by the owner... He joked only VIP comes through the back. He escorted me to the front and found he rest of my party.
We had a couple bottles of wine and they offered to put the unopened ones in their refrigerator... From the apps to the main course to the dessert was outstanding!!! The staff were so pleasant and attentive!!! As we left the owner shook my joked about the VIP entrance and exit and said we hope you dine with us again and with that I said most definitely... If you want a great dining experience with outstanding food go to L'Oceano!!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We made error in our number of people in our reservation. Staff & management accommodated our needs easily. Service was professional & attentive.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 29, 2017

A well executed meal despite the restaurant being very busy on a SJ Chefs night. The owner, Chris, stopped and chatted with us. The other staff were efficient and very pleasant. And the menu items were terrific and inventive. An excellent dinner start to finish. BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great food paired with great service. The owner, head chef, and creator of the menu is your server and can answer any question truly an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The service was amazing. The food was fresh and delicious. I am so happy I chose to go here for my birthday. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food
Owners are super. Nice and very accommodating

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

If you haven't been to L'Oceano, go and if you have been, go back! The food is excellent (macaroni and cheese is my favorite but everything is outstanding), the service is second to none and BYOB is just the icing on the cake. Thank you for another great meal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Dinner was wonderful. Wait staff and owner were very attentive and knowledgeable. Will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Starting with the owner, Chris, to the General Manager, Joe, to wait-staff like Tricia and Lorrie, this restaurant exudes spectacular passion. The chef's preparation of each meal is meticulous. This is a special place owned and run by special people. I highly recommend!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was the most delicious dinner we have ever eaten! And we eat out at least once a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a good choice! Hubby surprised me with dinner here for our 33rd anniversary . The tasting menu is always a good choice and plenty to share. Dining high points were the crab and avacado salad,homemade gnocchi and black and blue tuna. Service and food on point this and every time we visit. The only word of caution would be dress warmly or bring a sweater, a beautiful corner restaurant with lots of Windows makes the front dining seats on the chilly side. We made an early reservation and chose to sit by the open kitchen ,nice and toasty. 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service. Chris is a great host!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome. Great staff and very consistent in terms of quality. Always creative specials. Ask for waiter Stripes. He's the best. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great meal and service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were a party of seven, celebrating our mother's 80th birthday, and everything about our experience at L'Oceano was wonderful. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great Fish!! Great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The owner Chris & his staff make you feel like you're entering their home for a meal. Top notch hospitality to go along with elevated seafood options!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of the few really great seafood restaurants in the area. I have already recommended it to one of my colleagues. Great atmosphere and convenient parking. It was our first time there but will be a "go to" in the future.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

So glad I decided to try this place owner and staff friendly great menu everything fresh and fish cooked perfectly. Looking forward to my next visit .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We pulled up outside the restaurant, and we bumped into a gentleman on the street who engaged us in a friendly conversation about our car. He was warm, friendly, and had the biggest smile! What a pleasant surprise to find that smiling face welcoming us to our table! From the moment we pulled up until the absolute last minute we were there, this was a great restaurant. The food was fresh, perfectly prepared, and delicious. Our server was friendly, and even directed my husband to a local liquor store when we realized we forgot the wine. Another restaurant would have balked at having to wait for someone to make the run to the store before they could wait on our table.

Stand outs of the evening included the lobster corn dogs. Crispy and slightly sweet on the outside, tender, delicious lobster on the inside. We were also offered a meatball appetizer that was in a tangy tomato sauce - definitely a unique taste treat. Two of us ordered the dinner special Pompano, which was brought completely deboned with a choice of sauces. We argued over which sauce was better - the roasted garlic or the Sicilian - but the truth is, they were both amazing.

Our non-seafood eater loved her chicken, and the warm tomato salad appetizer was a hit.

On a warm February evening, the spumoni dessert was just perfect. We also enjoyed the chocolately delicious tartufo.

The only small ding - we had someone in our party who is legally blind, and it was really dark in there. It was hard enough for the rest of us to see what to order, so it was pretty much impossible for him.

Excellent experience - we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a gift certificate and shared it with our daughter and her boyfriend. I loved my maple salmon, like candy, wanted to lick the cedar plank it was served on. Hubs enjoyed the andouille lasagne. Service seemed a little slow, but friendly and treated us to dessert! Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were welcomed warmly by Chris who offered us the option of immediate seating at our reservation time or waiting briefly for a more secluded table. Our wait staff were all very timely, knowledgeable and super friendly (a different Chris and two others who I regrettably did not get their names). The food was absolutely delicious! Our expectations were exceeded in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our party of six had a special birthday dinner early on a Saturday night. Many of our dishes were very good, but my trout was a little dry. And when one in our party told the oner his salmon was off, the owner tasted it right at our table, which we thought odd. He agreed it was a bad cut, and my son got his second choice dish after the rest of us were all finished eating. We appreciated the complimentary dessert sampler but expected better all-around quality for the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our first visit and we enjoy it. The staff was very friendly and attentive. We shared an appetizer which was one of the specials and it was delicious. We then ordered the steak and seafood special as well as the seafood risotto, both were phnominal! We ended with the bread pudding which was the only disappointment, it was small and dry. We will definitely go back but maybe skip dessert next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great specials! Everything was so fresh!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very pleasant atmosphere. Greeted and checked on several times by the owner. Really wants to bring something different to the table.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We made a late reservation for Valentine's Day. The service was attentive and the food was delicious. We especially liked the maple glazed salmon and the carrot cake which was plenty to share for a sweet desert. This was our first visit and we weren't disappointed. The manager and staff were very helpful as we considered various menu choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing as always! Our favorite place! Never been disappointed! Thank you to Chris, Joe and Pete!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Chris and his staff always hit it out of the park!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, a fabulous dinner to celebrate Valentine's Day. Even though the restaurant was at capacity, the service was impeccable and our meal was timed perfectly. The menu was excellent, and the meal was prepared with love.... a truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.