About L'Oceano Ristorante

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Restaurant Photos

  • L'Oceano Ristorante, Collingswood, NJ
L'Oceano Ristorante, Collingswood, NJ

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Seafood
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
New Jersey Suburbs
3 More
Best Food
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Service
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Collingswood ›

Creative Cuisine (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service. Highly recom ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service. Highly recommend for dinner or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always outstanding

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always A+ service!!! Chris never forget ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always A+ service!!! Chris never forgets a face.

Fabulous place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the ambiance was wonderful an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

As always, the ambiance was wonderful and the food was exquisite. The service was excellent and the food came out quick and hot. Would definitely recommend for family and friends!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another spur-of-the-moment decision to g ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Another spur-of-the-moment decision to go out to dinner so naturally we went to our local fav. Joe and the team continued the tradition of great meals combined with a comfortable environment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

L'Oceano is always a great experience. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 17, 2016

L'Oceano is always a great experience. The food and service are exceptional. Chris is an amazing Restauranteur who makes you feel like a special guest while in his restaurant. Highly recommend for all occasions or simply as everyday dining. We'll be back soon and often.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming here for years. Chri ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I have been coming here for years. Chris is fantastic and always delivers a great night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. The ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. The service is friendly and wonderful. The food, especially seafood, is so very fresh. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The owner's commitment to the menu and t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The owner's commitment to the menu and the personal experience of all patrons was evident. He made every customer feel like part of his family. The meal was fresh, creative and delicious. Will definitely be returning and recommending to friends.

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fun, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Small restaurant but seating was comfort ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Small restaurant but seating was comfortable. Owner and staff were very attentive. Food arrived quickly and was well prepared. Menu is good but somewhat limited. The sauce on my entrée, pasta with lobster, was a bit bland but adequate. Prices are moderate with two different prices for a small and larger plate on some items. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding menu. Outstanding service. M ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Outstanding menu. Outstanding service. Many interesting options to choose from. Very nice atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a party of four so the opinions ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We were a party of four so the opinions were a little mixed. We loved the appetizers we chose. The lamb chops, flat bread pizza and lobster mac and cheese were all very, very good. My husband thought the oysters were small and the sauce a little overwhelming. Two of us ordered a special of Seafood Pot Pie. I thought it was delicious but after eating the mac and cheese I was on a richness overload (the sauces were very similar). My friend was underwhelmed with the seafood pot pie. My husband ordered the whole fish and while he thought it was good the portion was small and the price high. I would revisit because there were other things on the menu that looked interesting. Service was terrific.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good except for the wi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The food was very good except for the wild boar meatballs which were served cold. Service needs to be improved. Our party had to wait a long time for entrees and one waiter tried to offer us desserts before we had been served our main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome as usual!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit to this casual ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was our second visit to this casual yet elegant restaurant. This time we went for husbands birthday. We both love seafood and really enjoyed our first visit. This time around we were just as happy. I had the roasted red beet with goat cheese and the Japanese risotto. Both were delicious and I normally hate red beets. The risotto was very flavorful with lots of seafood. Even tasted good the next day. My husband had the boar meatballs and dover sole. I tired the fish which was nicely done, fresh and flaky. We finished with creme brulee cheescake and it was a perfect ending to a wonderful evening. Both times the service was great. Starting with the friendly and warm greeting at the door all the way throughout the evening. The owner makes it a point to make each quest feel special. The place is not too big so even when the restaurant is full it doesn't feel too crowded. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and even better staff! Wort ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great food and even better staff! Worth driving to from anywhere in the Philly area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chris was attentive & cordial as usual. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Chris was attentive & cordial as usual. When there was a mistake on the order, he was quick to acknowledge the mistake, took care of it promptly, and even went so far as to remove the entree error from the bill because of the delay in getting it right. The food, as usual, was very good. We brought friends for their first visit and they enjoyed it as well. Everyone does things the right way at this restaurant from preparation to service and Chris is the best at running the show!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I love to try new places ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My husband and I love to try new places . I'm so glad I chose this restaurant! It's a BYOB & when I realized that I forgot to bring the wine from home, I called L'Oceano and the owner's wife was very understanding about our late arrival. A great 'perk' is that about a half a mile down the road there is a State store with a decent selection of chilled white wines. We arrived & were seated immediately. The weather was perfect so we sat outside. It was quiet and relaxing. For starters we chose to share an appetizer special consisting of a seafood imperial rolled and stuffed into layers of prosciutto ham which was then fried and finished with a balsamic reduction drizzle. It was amazing. We weren't sure if we should split the grilled romaine Mediterranean salad so we ordered 2. I'm glad we did because it was out of this world! A cleaned, grilled head of romaine lettuce topped with fresh shrimp and lump crabmeat was huge but we managed to tackle the entire dish. It wasn't overly dressed or soggy at all and this will definitely be one of my favorites at this place. For our entrees we both ordered specials. My husband chose the whole Pompano fish which was fileted perfectly without one bone in sight...a rarity indeed. I chose a sea bass topped with heirloom grape tomatoes, avocado, lump crabmeat over a bed of arugula in a white wine sauce. It was out of this world and so fresh and mild. One of my favorite ideas that the owner/chef offers on the menu for the fresh fish selections is a "sauce menu", if you will. You are given a choice of 4 or 5 different sauces to accompany your entrée from a simple but light olive oil and lemon to more complex creations that will please almost anyone. Above all, our experience was memorable, the food was excellent and the service was beyond expectations. We will definitely be returning soon with friends. I'll need to remember the wine next time! Great job L'Oceano we will be back Chris!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant! The food - especi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! The food - especially the lobster mac and cheese - was all incredibly well done. Service was incredibly attentive and friendly and worked to make everyone feel at home. Will definitely be going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Greatly enjoyed the price fixed four-cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Greatly enjoyed the price fixed four-course menu during Restaurant Week!! Food was awesome. Service staff was happy and alternative. Couldn't ask for a better experience. We'll definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you are in the mood for seafood thi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When you are in the mood for seafood this spot should definitely be on your list. Friendly waitstaff in a nice interior with affordable pricing. It's BYOB that they handle pleasantly. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent grilled oysters!

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent grilled oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and the service was great! Easy to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Food and the service was great! Easy to find with street parking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time at the restaurant. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was my 3rd time at the restaurant. Another very enjoyable meal. Appetizers (grilled oysters and soft shell crabs) were great. I am a fan of grilled fish served whole... this place does it very well. Service and food have been consistently good. I will be back.....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the food was very fresh. Service was go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

the food was very fresh. Service was good and the owner was great. Seating arrangement not the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent as always! Thesis one of our ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent as always! Thesis one of our favorite places to eat. The appetizers specials were amazing. The beet salad was perfectly prepared as were the baby lamb chops. I usually gofer the lobster mac and cheese, but this time I tried the Japanese Seafood risotto with shrimp and crab. Loved it! We even got a surprise dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb appetizer was cooked perfectly ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The lamb appetizer was cooked perfectly and the horseradish parm sauce was a great compliment.

My boyfriend and I shared the 4 course tasting menu so we were able to sample 8 different dishes the restaurant had to offer and each was amazing. We had a wonderful experience and we can't wait to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a huge menu, but everything is amazi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Not a huge menu, but everything is amazing from the appetizers to the desserts. They give such great attention to the way each meal is prepared. The owner and entire staff are very attentive and personable, they really go out of their way to make sure your overall experience is nothing short of perfect! I cannot say enough good things about this place! The food is so great here!! I can't wait to go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and ambiance, but unfortun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service and ambiance, but unfortunately both fish entrees were very much over-cooked and just not cooked properly. We didn't have the heart to tell them because we still enjoyed ourselves and the service was excellent but for that price point, the chef needs to consistently deliver on the entrees, at the least. I hate to say it and we would never do this, but both entrees should've been sent back, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We went for a birthday dinner and as alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner and as always the food was fantastic. The service is friendly and personable. An A+ once again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took our daughter and son in law for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We took our daughter and son in law for their anniversary and had a great time. The seafood dishes were outstanding and much to our surprise, elk was a special offer. Should be permanently on the menu. Their gnocchi are fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and great service. We loved h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and great service. We loved how the owner came over and did an excellent job describing the specials. First time, but we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wes very nice food was authentic

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wes very nice food was authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is refreshing to have a seafood resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

It is refreshing to have a seafood restaurant with many dishes with original and unique flavor combinations. My butterfish special was a home run! The scallop barbecue appetizer and lobster Mac and cheese were excellent. My wife loved the fish of the day with Mediterranean sauce she described as delishious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. We ordered the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This was our first time. We ordered the four course meal and everything was excellent. We liked it so much we are going back with 2 other couples in a few weeks. The service was top notch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Perfect place ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. Perfect place for a first date or that special occasion. The manger Chris took personal care of us and others, like we were all regulars. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luckily, we visited on a Saturday night ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Luckily, we visited on a Saturday night during the summer when everyone was else was at the Shore. Food is consistently good and the service is attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was awesome - attentive and sw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The staff was awesome - attentive and sweet - and the ambience was really nice. Food was ok - we ordered the scallops as an appetizer and the tuna and salmon, respectively, for entrees. It was disappointing how over-sauced everything was, masking the flavor of the food. Without the sauce, I'm sure everything would have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

For a first try we'd go back. Although w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2016

For a first try we'd go back. Although we thought it was a bit pricey, the food was of good quality. My husband and I shared the grilled Romaine salad, and the server pre-plated the portions on separate plates, which I appreciated. My red snapper was very well seasoned and didn't need additional salt. The risotto that came with it was a little bland, but I only wanted to taste it, not eat it, so that suited me fine. (If it was better, it would have been difficult for me not to eat it.) My husband's pasta dish looked like it was made with an entire box of pasta, way too much pasta. But the flavor was good, and he brought home the leftovers and ate them the next day, which is high praise since he's not one to like leftovers. It's BYOB, and they accommodated the corking graciously.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I picked L'Oceano at random for a spur o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I picked L'Oceano at random for a spur of the moment date night and I am so glad I did. Without question, one of the best meals we've had in 10 years. From the time we walked in to the time we left we were treated to an amazing experience. We look forward to returning very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.