About L'Oceano Ristorante

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Smoking Area, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Restaurant Photos

  • L'Oceano Ristorante
L'Oceano Ristorante

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New Jersey Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Collingswood ›

fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (42)
special occasion (26)
See All
romantic (11)
good for groups (11)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I had dinner here for my ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

My husband and I had dinner here for my birthday celebration. We were first timers and will come back. We tried the tasting menu (4 courses for $35) and were very pleased. The only drawback of the evening was that there was no gnocchi on the menu that evening, leaving only 1 choice for the pasta course. We muddled through with the mac and cheese and added lobster for another $5. That may have been the highlight of the meal. The dining room is cozy and we were warmly greeted as we came in. The service was top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The owner Chris, took great care of us a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The owner Chris, took great care of us and made sure that we were happy with the food and service. Eceryone there was great. My first time there but wont be my last.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Oceano was great, as usually. Chris a ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

L'Oceano was great, as usually. Chris and his staff are professional, friendly and always make you feel welcomed. Chris is constantly adding new items to his menu to keep it interesting. His seafood is always fresh and deliciously prepared, and his home made gnocchi is made with a different sauce every week and is simply the best. Thanks again, Chris for a memorable dinner. Cathy and Rich D'Adamo

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Orange roughy and pompano fish dishes we ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Orange roughy and pompano fish dishes were excellent! Mushroom stuffed with crab imperial was fabulous!!! Service can not be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner. Oyster app was great, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious dinner. Oyster app was great, gnocchi like pillows & salmon was fantastic. The carrot cake was to die for!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our second time eating at L'Oce ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

This was our second time eating at L'Oceano and we would definitely go back again and again. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was truly amazing . The place was not crowded at the time so it was quiet and the service was very attentive. My only comment was that my fish had a lot of bones in it but I mentioned it to the owner and he treated us to a dessert and was very apologetic. I'm looking forward to more delicious meals there in the future.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place! Service, service, service!!!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was excellent as well. A little heavy on the seafood but it is called L'Oceano for a reason. If you like seafood even a little bit, this place is for you. If not, go with friends who do like seafood and treat yourself to a flank steak saltimboca.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

food was very good but prices are high f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

food was very good but prices are high for the portion size

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Neighborhood gem

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Neighborhood gem

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Fish!

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Love this place! Although this is one of our favorite spots and we will be back, we were a little disappointed with the value this visit. As an appetizer we tried the soft shelled crab special and the grilled romaine Caesar with shrimp and crab. When we got our check we were surprised that the soft shell crab was $18.95 for just one soft shell crab. Very good, but not worth it for just one soft shell crab. Then the grilled romaine was skimpy on the seafood. For $15.95 we expected better . . . much better. Then we ordered the fish special which was Pompano. Again, it seemed like a smaller portion than usual . . . but of course the price wasn't. Overall everything tasted delicious and the service was prompt and friendly, but the prices were too high based on the portions. Suggest they either lower the prices or bring back hearty portions or both. Hope they can get this right next time as L'Oceano is one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great little restaurant

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was excellent. Server very knowledgeable and attentive. Food was prepared to order. The food was excellent and the macaroni and cheese was delicious. I thought the tasting menu was perfect.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Perfect.

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food. Great service. Perfect.

food3
ambience5
service5

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service

food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! Great seafood selections. Favs were ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wow! Great seafood selections. Favs were the Buffalo lobster & the glazed salmon. The spinach gnocchi were delicious. Will be back soon

food5
ambience5
service5

Chris is always drumming up new ideas, s ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Chris is always drumming up new ideas, searching for different flavors to blend together. He is passionate about finding ways to make old dishes new to please his customers. You can eat there for weeks in a row and never order off the printed menu as there's address always unique "specials. " it is our favorite #1 restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 29, 2016

Didn't know anyone who ever ate here before and thought we would try it. The service was EXCELLENT, well timed between courses, food was delicious and can't wait to go back. Staff was excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been here a few times and it was always very good. This night we thought it was really poor . I ordered the Mahi Mahi and it was not good, the piece was way too thick and greasy. Ontop of really tasteless risotto. My husband ordered the pork dish and it was tough. We were really disappointed . This place is really expensive for terrible food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Everything from the Gnocchi appetizer of the day including the mussels and Caribbean red ling entree was absolutely fabulous!! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were excellent! Wil ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food and service were excellent! Will definitely be back!

food2
ambience3
service4

We were not impressed with the food. 2 o ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We were not impressed with the food. 2 of our party ordered the special fish ,each with a different sauce. They both had the same reaction "tasteless". It's s shame because the service was good but the food was lacking.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Underwhelmed

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had heard such great things that I was looking forward to the meal. Descriptions sounded so wonderful and service was great. However my Thai waffle with fried shrimp was very disappointing. About 3 very tiny shrimp atop a huge waffle. Same for the buffalo appetizer. Three kind of small pieces of fried lobster, at $19 for an app ...again disappointing. While my entree salmon was good , not great again at $30 some grilled vegetables or something on the side would have been nice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Oceano is consistently excellent!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Chris always has new ideas for appetizers and once again they hit a home run. The arancini stuffed with crab and the breaded lobster “buffalo style” were amazing. We also had the lamb chops which is a favorite of ours. I typically try the whole fish with one of the choice sauces but this time I decided on the stuffed trout. Very Very good!! And desserts, wow! Pretzel bread pudding with Mexican chocolate. What a way to end the meal. I have to say that Chris and his team provide 5-star service each time we dine at L'Oceano.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good times.

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my second visit and brought some friends. Great food and service both times. Owners and staff were very attentive but not overbearing. The place had a nice lively (not loud) vibe. Everyone had a great time. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a birthday dinner

Dined on April 13, 2016

Slow night (Tuesday) so we received lots of attention. Food and service were spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Average BYOB in Collingswood

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Have eaten here several times, but was very disappointed this last visit. Appetizers were good, but everything went down hill after that. Fish of the day was bland. One entre went back three times and they still did not get it right. Good wait staff, but they are certainly at the mercy of the kitchen.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

'Wonderful Dining Experience -- Again!

Dined on April 8, 2016

L'Oceano is our go-to restaurant for trying something new, enjoying a great meal with great service, and spending a special evening with friends. We all loved the Brussels sprouts stuffed with crab, wrapped in prosciutto, appetizer. What a fabulous creative dish! We'll be heading back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

I thoroughly enjoyed, my first visit to ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed, my first visit to L'Oceano. The food was fresh and well-prepared and the service was warm and welcoming. I wish there was a bit more space but that's a minor concern. I will be bringing a great bottle of wine and making this my new date night spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish!

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable evening!!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Our daughter was here from Colorado and wanted a seafood dinner. Pace of the courses was well timed, food was great, service also. The owner was there and checked on us and the host was delightful. Very enjoyable evening!! We will be back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole staff is outstanding. You don' ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The whole staff is outstanding. You don't have 1 server you have everyone. Especially Chris G who is always there to meet, greet and make sure everything is perfect. The menu along with the specials are unique and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time here and OMG. Th ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was my second time here and OMG. The appetizers tonight were off the chart. They had a meatball that was made of fish related to the red snapper. If they have it when you go, I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is spectacular and the staff ar ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is spectacular and the staff are all very friendly and helpful!

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good Meal

Dined on March 17, 2016

We went for restaurant week. The food was excellent. The service was over the top. We had 3 waiters and it was too much service!! Someone was always asking us how things were. The regular prices are high. They are almost $30.00 an entree. The ambiance was very plain. We might go back for another restaurant week but not a regular day. The food is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service

Dined on March 16, 2016

The staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating, especially the owner. First class all the way.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! Stellar food abd service.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Dined and had a reservation for 2. The service was amazing and the food was stellar. Each bite was better than the last! Everything was fresh and perfectly prepared. Loved everything! Will definitely be back to dine again! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great deal for restaurant week.

Dined on March 13, 2016

The staff was friendly, well-mannered, and well put together. The restaurant is small, but the decor is cute and the food was delicious. The meals looked on the pricier side, had we not been there for restaurant week. We drink lots of water and our glasses did not go empty, including our wine. Very attentive. Our apps came as they were ready, which means in one case I got mine before my boyfriend. I did not like my mac and cheese, so I did not eat it. The waiter offered to wrap it, but did not realize I did not eat because I did not like. I am glad we came here and if I didn't like to always try new places, I would return again. Definitely a sit down and enjoy dinner place, not somewhere you come in and get out. Or bring children.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends from PA

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Our first time at L'Oceano, The owner was great! The staff was hospitable and tended to all of our needs. There was so much to choose from and we chose a lot of food. We just had to try it. The food did not disappoint. Go there, its a gem in a great neighborhood. I recommend it and look forward to going back! Shout out to the owner and staff....Thanks for a great night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Excellent food and service!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and even better service. We ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food and even better service. We were a group of 6 that became a group of 5 and then one of our group was vey late. They took it all in stride. And, we were going to show and despite our lateness they got us out on time, without rushing us and with a smile. Everybody raved about their meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for the second time and don't ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Dined here for the second time and don't know why I waited so long to go back! Loved the new menu that had many things to choose from. We were not disappointed! Top notch service that makes you feel at home.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.