About L'Oceano Ristorante

833 Haddon Ave
Collingswood, NJ 08108
View Larger Map

A hip & chic Italian Seafood Restaurant nestled in the quaint town of historic Collingswood, NJ.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Fern Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(856) 833-9888

Website:
http://www.loceanoristorante.com/

Entertainment:
Located on Haddon Avenue in the heart of Collingswood. Haddon Avenue offers guest a multitude of things to do during a night out.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available, please contact us for details

Parking Details:
Street Parking available. Also conveniently located minutes from the Collingswood train station station.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is accessible by public transportation.

Executive Chef:
Ellias Medinas

Additional:
BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View

Special Events & Promotions:
$35 Four Course Tasting Menu * Not offered on Saturday

Restaurant Photos

  • L'Oceano Ristorante
L'Oceano Ristorante

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

L'Oceano Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Seafood
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Overall
New Jersey Suburbs
3 More
Best Food
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Service
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Ambiance
New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Collingswood ›

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Scenic View (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for a birthday dinner and as alw ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went for a birthday dinner and as always the food was fantastic. The service is friendly and personable. An A+ once again

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We took our daughter and son in law for ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We took our daughter and son in law for their anniversary and had a great time. The seafood dishes were outstanding and much to our surprise, elk was a special offer. Should be permanently on the menu. Their gnocchi are fantastic.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and great service. We loved h ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food and great service. We loved how the owner came over and did an excellent job describing the specials. First time, but we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wes very nice food was authentic

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wes very nice food was authentic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is refreshing to have a seafood resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It is refreshing to have a seafood restaurant with many dishes with original and unique flavor combinations. My butterfish special was a home run! The scallop barbecue appetizer and lobster Mac and cheese were excellent. My wife loved the fish of the day with Mediterranean sauce she described as delishious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time. We ordered the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This was our first time. We ordered the four course meal and everything was excellent. We liked it so much we are going back with 2 other couples in a few weeks. The service was top notch too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Perfect place ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. Perfect place for a first date or that special occasion. The manger Chris took personal care of us and others, like we were all regulars. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luckily, we visited on a Saturday night ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Luckily, we visited on a Saturday night during the summer when everyone was else was at the Shore. Food is consistently good and the service is attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff was awesome - attentive and sw ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The staff was awesome - attentive and sweet - and the ambience was really nice. Food was ok - we ordered the scallops as an appetizer and the tuna and salmon, respectively, for entrees. It was disappointing how over-sauced everything was, masking the flavor of the food. Without the sauce, I'm sure everything would have been amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

For a first try we'd go back. Although w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

For a first try we'd go back. Although we thought it was a bit pricey, the food was of good quality. My husband and I shared the grilled Romaine salad, and the server pre-plated the portions on separate plates, which I appreciated. My red snapper was very well seasoned and didn't need additional salt. The risotto that came with it was a little bland, but I only wanted to taste it, not eat it, so that suited me fine. (If it was better, it would have been difficult for me not to eat it.) My husband's pasta dish looked like it was made with an entire box of pasta, way too much pasta. But the flavor was good, and he brought home the leftovers and ate them the next day, which is high praise since he's not one to like leftovers. It's BYOB, and they accommodated the corking graciously.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I picked L'Oceano at random for a spur o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I picked L'Oceano at random for a spur of the moment date night and I am so glad I did. Without question, one of the best meals we've had in 10 years. From the time we walked in to the time we left we were treated to an amazing experience. We look forward to returning very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great time celebrating my mom's ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my mom's birthday. We all got the tasting menu and everything was fantastic! Service was impeccable, too! Can't say enough good things!

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very welcoming and caring! Great dinner ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very welcoming and caring! Great dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service. The manager C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, great service. The manager Chris, treats everyone with his personal touch to insure the food and service are always perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at L'Oceano on 8/16 for the fir ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We dined at L'Oceano on 8/16 for the first time. We found the atmosphere to be friendly, open and pleasant. Indeed Chris and his staff made us feel welcome and at home. The service was impeccable and the dinners we had were expertly done and pleasing to the palette. That night we enjoyed the sampler menu and found the four course dinners including the desserts to be delicious while being reasonably priced with more than enough food to satisfy our appetites. No doubt that L'Oceano is a neighborhood gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the best seafood restaurant in S ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the best seafood restaurant in South Jersey....probably Philly too. The food is excellent, the atmosphere is lively and staff is wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made this reservation a week before fo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I made this reservation a week before for 6 people. We were seated at a 4 top booth and told that if we wanted a different table it would be 45 minutes. Not only were we all squished in a tiny booth, the pipes above our heads were dripping water on us. The AC must have been broken because it was so hot in the restaurant. The food was not good. Not one person in our group of 6 liked their meal. The only item that was halfway decent was the lobster mac and cheese. The handwritten check came and it was stamped "cash tips appreciated". How tacky. Will not be returning.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

This was our first visit of what I expec ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first visit of what I expect will be many more. The food and service were outstanding. From the moment we walked in the door we were shown a level of service that unfortunately is rarely experienced when dining out. We could tell our business was appreciated and they did everything possible to ensure our expectations were exceeded. Kudos to the entire staff at L'Oceano!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu and friendly attentive servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great menu and friendly attentive service. Chair backs are too short so seating is attractive but not easy to sit in for 2 hours. Pompano very good. I did not like the sauce on the grilled oysters. I thought the bill was high for 4 (240) as this is a byob

Overall I will come back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The owner is very hands on and attentive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The owner is very hands on and attentive. The food & service were excellent.

We had not been there in some time but have resolved to go more often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome meal! Staff was awesome too. Wil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Awesome meal! Staff was awesome too. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place first time, very nice calm p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place first time, very nice calm place, chef actual gave us a free crab salad was delicious. Food was good servers great attitude on time and fast.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic and delicious. Absolutely wond ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fantastic and delicious. Absolutely wonderful service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The warm welcome, the personalized revie ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The warm welcome, the personalized review of the night's menu, the table-side conversation and the overall outstanding service are trademarks of Chris and his team. And the food, once again outstanding! We started this visit with the shrimp and grits, the grilled romaine with shrimp and crab and tonight's "appy" special, soft shell crab puttanesca. Wow! They were all excellent but the shrimp and grits was just one step above. Must have been the Thai chili sauce that did it for me.

Entrees, three of us ordered the special. Rock fish over arugula. Again, with a touch of Thai chili which was a perfect touch. The icing on the cake, literally, was the carrot cake for dessert. I'm not big into messaging, but OMG! The carrot cake was a perfect ending to another perfect dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been hearing a lot of great things ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I had been hearing a lot of great things about this restaurant lately, so we decided to check it out. As soon as I stepped in I was greeted by the owner. He was very friendly and personable. We were seated right away and the owner opened my wine and told us about the menu which included an assortment of fresh fish caught recently . Soon after the waitress came and took our order. The food was brought out in a timely manner and piping hot and cooked correctly. The restaurant was well decorated and clean. Open kitchen gave the quaint 1 room dinning a nice feel. Great Place be sure to make a reservation and go check it out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris always does a superb job. Great fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chris always does a superb job.

Great food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely delicious, and the staff were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Absolutely delicious, and the staff were very nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent menu with some of the best tas ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent menu with some of the best tasting sauces ever. Very friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The fish of the day is usually what we t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The fish of the day is usually what we tend to order with either the Sicilian sauce or the roasted garlic (both are delish) The owner is very accommodating to special requests and dietary restrictions and really worked with me, as I am on a special eating plan, to order things which would make my dinner be within my dietary restrictions and provide optimal taste. The staff is courteous, knowledgable and efficient. One of my new favorite places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very fresh fish, beautifully prepared, g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Very fresh fish, beautifully prepared, gracious service. Attention to detail. Personalized service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was exceptional from the brea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was exceptional from the bread spread to entree. Service was 5 star..... Definitely am returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our evening was wonderful. We were met ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our evening was wonderful. We were met at the door and shown a great deal of hospitality right from the start. Service throughout the evening was outstanding as a number of servers addressed our every need. The food was delicious from with a number of unique and flavorful approaches to each segment of the menu. We had a great time and will recommend it to all our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food! Great service! Great atmosp ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great food! Great service! Great atmosphere! Chris is the ultimate host! Thanks for another lovely evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Very nice ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Very nice Italian restaurant specializing in very fresh seafood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My partner and I met up with another cou ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

My partner and I met up with another couple to enjoy Farm to Fork week. We had a great time with our BYOB wines and the main event, the food, was superb! If you are still reading this, stop and head to L'Oceano NOW!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish was fresh, Mac and cheese was aweso ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fish was fresh, Mac and cheese was awesome as well as gnocchis. Owner was very attentive and service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. It's an upscale BYOB ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I love this place. It's an upscale BYOB that is a perfect date night or girls night out. The Lobster Mac and Cheese is the best thing on the menu hands down.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fish and seafood at this restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The fish and seafood at this restaurant are fresh, and prepared with care. Delicious and interesting choices in addition to salmon and tuna. The service was attentive and responsive. It can be a little noisy depending on the other diners, but it is a gem of Collingswood.

Parking is easy, as the bank across the street allows diners to park in the evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Christopher and his staff a make every d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Christopher and his staff a make every diner feel like a regular and are accommodating to special requests. Don't miss it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. If anyone ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great food and great service. If anyone has been to Collingswood before and walked into the place thinking it looks familiar that is because it probably is. It is used to be Joe Pesce's, a favorite of ours.

We went for our anniversary and did the tasting menu. We enjoyed every bit of our meal.

It's BYOB.

Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.