About Local Restaurant and Bar

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: (307) 201-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favorite place when visiting Jackson. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite place when visiting Jackson. There are several choices in town for steak, however this place is on point every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, , Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had one night in town. Excellent servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had one night in town. Excellent service, enjoyed the well crafted salad. Entire meal was excellent. Would definately go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just simply liked this place. Beer samp ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Just simply liked this place. Beer sampler nice selection and great value. Wasn't real hungry so got cauliflower soup and beer salad. Bread served was perfect to dip into creamy soup. Beet salad was small but good. Son loved the beef and pork ragu. I'd go back to try a steak when I'm hungrier....neighbors food looked good !😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed they took off the vegetaria ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Disappointed they took off the vegetarian lasagna as its replacement was not nearly as good. It was also disappointing to have been placed right by the kitchen door considering how many times I have been there over the past couple of years. Frankly speaking it was my favorite restaurant in town but I think I will take a break for awhile and explore / revisit some other restaurants...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A very good experience. I inadvertently ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A very good experience. I inadvertently made an on line reservation FOR THE WRONG DAY. I arrived at the obviously fully booked restaurant & was treated courteously & they found a table for my son & I. Food & Service were excellent. Really nice people, really nice place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love coming to this gem year after ye ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We love coming to this gem year after year. The food is prepared with great quality and service is always friendly and unobtrusive. We will continue to return whenever we are in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

What a wonderful meal! The ingredients ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

What a wonderful meal! The ingredients were local (as the name suggests), there was a large variety, the staff was very nice, and the drink menu was very diverse! The brussel sprouts are amazing and my husband got the trout and loved it. Moreover, the waitress knew we were on our honeymoon so she served us creme brulee for free, which was fantastic! Definitely great for a special occasion and no need to dress up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved our meal at the Local! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Absolutely loved our meal at the Local! Excellent service, the food was amazing (we had oysters, bison tartare and steaks with sides and all were exceptional. Get fois gras on your steak if you're feeling fancy.) Great cocktail and whiskey selection. And at the end of the night when our bill came it was less than we were expecting for a meal of that quality so that's always a pleasant surprise. Definitely our favorite dining experience in Jackson!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! Service was horrible ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was fantastic! Service was horrible. We had the crab legs special and asked for wet wipes (every place I've eaten crab they've provided them) and was told by our server they don't have any because they normally don't have crab on their menu. That answer would have been fine, except crab is on their menu all the time. Server rarely checked on us and was not friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Always very good, excellent service and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always very good, excellent service and interesting choices by the Chef.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average, had to send side back ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was average, had to send side back because it wasn't cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great restaurant with a gorgeous view of ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great restaurant with a gorgeous view of the town square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and vibe but children's menu i ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food and vibe but children's menu is the worst I have seen at comparable quality restaurants...how about even offering a small steak or something which is a house specialty ?...think only hot dog, hamburger and al dente pasta (FYI kids don't like it al dente)...on wine pours (my pet peeve) they look good but glass is a bit narrow so volume is on the light side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time at Local and we loved our exp ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 28, 2016

First time at Local and we loved our experience. The restaurant is cozy, food was wonderful and service was outstanding (thanks Ben!). We were lucky to have our table in one of the side rooms with lower ceilings, as the noise in the bar area can get quite loud. The specialty drinks were creative, but the wine list was limited. That being said, what was on the list was quite good, so all good int he end. Local will be on the list during our next trip out to Jackson.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Christmas prix fixe menu was $85 per ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Christmas prix fixe menu was $85 per person for 3 mediocre courses, my duck breast was as tough as rubber and the bread pudding was luke warm/cold in spots. Total rip off. On top of that for a restaurant called "local" the only thing local on their menu was the sparkling water that was from WY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Love this place, although last time we w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place, although last time we were there it was quite cold, particularly at floor level.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was poor- probably because it was t ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was poor- probably because it was the holidays. One meal was almost inedible because it was oversalted. Crab claws were small and old. Local is not a restaurant in JH I would spend too much time in. Too many other better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Are part time residents of JH and come h ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Are part time residents of JH and come here often. We asked for a window table. And while I understand that's not always doable we were seated right outside the kitchen and bus area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Amazing Ragu!!!! Spicy Margarita was gre ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing Ragu!!!! Spicy Margarita was great too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal! Salmon, scallops and the ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful meal! Salmon, scallops and the bison medallions were fantastic. I must try in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Local several times for lunc ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We dined at Local several times for lunch and dinner during a recent trip to Jackson Hole. For lunch, they boast the best Reuben sandwich any of us had ever tasted. The spicy margarita laced with jalapenos and vanilla beans will knock your socks off. At dinner, we all had pasta and each dish was superb and made from scratch. Definitely a local gem!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly knowledgeable server and delici ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Friendly knowledgeable server and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little loud upon our arrival at 7pm, b ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little loud upon our arrival at 7pm, but quieted down as the evening went on. Our server and the hostesses were very helpful and accommodating- they found a good seat for my elderly grandmother and our server (can't remember her name, but she was GREAT!) was able to counsel me on good, non-steak entree options as I was on a limited diet (partially-wired jaw, so soft food only). Wild mushroom rotollo was apparently a new dish that was being tested and MAN was it good. Never had a bad experience here, and I'd recommend this place to anyone who will listen long enough!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Courteous Staff, able to hear conversat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Courteous Staff, able to hear conversation at the table, good location, open on Mondays,

diverse menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Simplicity on a plate: a tarragon compou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Simplicity on a plate: a tarragon compound butter garnished with a steak. If you love tarragon, and have been waiting for a dining experience where you can pay $40 for a plate featuring a luxurious, redolent exploration of Tarragon and nothing else, you, my friend, have finally found your restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

One of the best meals from sit down to f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

One of the best meals from sit down to finish! Service and food were perfect! I rarely can say that, I would love to go back.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had dinner here. My d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner here. My daughter had a filet mignon and I had the salmon. Both were delicious, the service excellent! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great oysters Rockefeller and good servi ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great oysters Rockefeller and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

4th time here in one week - love it so m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

4th time here in one week - love it so much! 3x dinner, once lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate there three times: lunch and twic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We ate there three times: lunch and twice dinner. Food excellent. Place excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

For the first time we had to wait on our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For the first time we had to wait on our reservation. There were 3/4's of the tables empty. The service was OK and the food was excellent, but the two hostesses looked confused and not at all organized.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very romantic date night. We were seate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very romantic date night. We were seated near the bar and just loved the energetic atmosphere but yet felt that we had a romantic night. He had a rare steak (very pink and perfect) and I had the halibut. We ordered 3 side orders. Everything was cooked to perfection. The waitress was a bit standoffish and rolled her eyes at me (can't help if I'm a bit specific when I order). But the dinner was well worth it so we left her a great tip.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice restaurant, waiter was great. Food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice restaurant, waiter was great. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love this place! I think it's all about ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Love this place!

I think it's all about the atmosphere. Very friendly bar scene and comfortable and quiet dining room. Both atmospheres in the same great spot

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is too loud. Everything else ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place is too loud. Everything else was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Local was fabulous on all levels. I wou ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Local was fabulous on all levels. I would recommend for every taste From steaks to fish and dessert A 10

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started with the wedge. Great version us ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Started with the wedge. Great version using smoked grape tomatoes and fried pork belly. Excellent dressing. Had the Filet Mignon and truffle mashed potato. Filet was seasoned perfectly but cooked a bit longer than expected. The mash potato was marvelous. Would have to say the best I have ever tried. Service was great and enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Foodies have to love this place! Artistr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Foodies have to love this place! Artistry in menu and dish preparation! Such unique spices and flavors in all dishes. Loved the Idaho trout and the duck breast was served to perfection. Espresso at the end of the meal made this a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating my parents' 50th ann ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We were celebrating my parents' 50th anniversary. On the reservation we requested a quiet booth. Upon arriving at the restaurant we were promptly seated at a quiet corner booth by the window - just what we'd asked for. The food was delicious - Oysters Rockefeller for a starter; salads and then entrees - buffalo medallions, elk chop, and trout. All were delicious. We concluded the meal with a small sweet treat for my parents, brought over compliments of the manager. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Local when it first opened an ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We went to Local when it first opened and had elk medallions with huckleberry sauce. They were absolutely worth writing home about. However, when we went back this year on our anniversary, we were both disappointed in the meal. It was far from bad, but it was also far from anything to write home about :-(. Disappointing, but good ambiance and decent service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.