About Local Restaurant and Bar

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: 3072011717x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
5 More
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Fit for Foodies
Jackson Hole
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

fit for foodies (33)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
See All
special occasion (22)
good for groups (21)
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
romantic (12)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem in Jackson Hole

Dined 6 days ago

Our "big city" group of 4 spent a 4 day weekend in Jackson Hole and enjoyed lunch and dinner at recommended restaurants each day. The Local was our favorite, and the only one we returned to during our stay. Diverse and interesting mostly locally sourced menu with delicious, high quality entrees and wonderful side dishes that worked for the vegetarians and meat eaters. We were served by an engaging bartender our first day in town and returned for dinner based on his excellent service and recommendations. We highly recommend The Local to Jackson Hole visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great vibe! Great food! We sat in the ba ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great vibe! Great food! We sat in the bar and it was fun!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very noisy and crowded. Food was adeq ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Very noisy and crowded. Food was adequate. Service was ok

food3
ambience4
service4

Sent rib eye back twice to get it cooked ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Sent rib eye back twice to get it cooked correctly to no avail. It was tasty but over cooked twice so are left and would not go back

food5
ambience5
service5

So good my wife and I came back a 2nd ti ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

So good my wife and I came back a 2nd time while on vacation for a week in Jackson. However, the Lasagna was not quite as good the 2nd time around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Exceeded our expectations on every level - creative menu for a town full of great steak houses- bourbon and wine list best we've seen Great value for locals and visitors We'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything was delicious!

Dined on April 29, 2016

My friend and I went to partake of their off season 2 for 1 special. I have not been to Local for years and was surprised that all of the dishes were amazing! I had the vegetarian lasagna and my friend had the burger. We also split three sides, the creamed spinach, truffle mashed potatoes and the brussel sprouts. Everything was just spectacular. My only complaint was that my friend never got the root beer she ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely

Dined on April 21, 2016

Besides Osteria, this is our favorite fancy dining spot. We go at least once for every off-season two for ones and we recommend it when our friends come for the "on" season. Very good stuff!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Innovative and Delicious

Dined on April 17, 2016

I don't typically participate in reviews or endorse restaurants but Local is special! The menu is heavy on steak and slightly over-priced but for an occasion is an excellent buy and it's more or less a steak house. The side serving are a pleasant mix of bistro servings, the apps are great! The cocktail and wine servings are unique and broad, the bar is lively, the food is Local! What more can you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I just really like this place. It was ou ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

I just really like this place. It was our first night in Jackson Hole. The waiter was super nice, and the food was outstanding. I had the ribeye, and it was one of the best I have ever eaten!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good restaurant, mixed service

Dined on March 9, 2016

Waiter was over attentive and we felt rushed. Barely time to breathe

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Just went 3 times recently since The foo ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Just went 3 times recently since The food and service was really good.The oystersRockefeller was the best !

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Place for a Foodie Family

Dined on February 27, 2016

We were a group of 8 adult family members and we had a blast! Steaks were delicious and the selection of sides was perfect to accompany everyone's meal/main-course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Could have been great....

Dined on February 23, 2016

Firstly, Erin is an excellent server. But no amount of great service can overcome the overriding sound of a continuously thumping bass line coming from the music in the bar. Combined with the cacophony of voices from the large number of tables for large parties, conversation at our table was impossible. Acoustical tiles, people. I like a "vibrant scene" as much as the next guy but really? The rainbow trout and extra veg (carrots, beets and mash) were delish. Really. Paired with a Chardonnay by the glass, that was trying very hard to be a Sauvignon Blanc, was a bit unexpected. By the glass wines, IMO, sorta need to trend toward the median on taste profile. All in all...meh. There are lots of other places with great food in JH so I will leave this one to the folks who clearly find this to be a top hot spot.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous Food, Service holds this restaurant back

Dined on February 23, 2016

My daughter and I went here to celebrate my 50th birthday. She mentioned it to the server and restaurant manager, but it was never acknowledged. The wine selection was decent, but not impressive. The food was fantastic. My daughter had the mushroom and spinach lasagna, which was quite good. I had the filet mignon, which was one of the best I have had anywhere in the world. The crispy brussels sprouts with bacon vinaigrette and the Idaho potato gratin were splendid as well. For desert, we shared a banana split, with the pistachio brittle, which was delightful and a pleasant surprise vs what you would get from any other restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice both in the restaurant and the adjacent bar area. This is by far the best restaurant in Jackson. The only reason why I am not giving it 5 stars across the board is the lack of customer intimacy and service for not acknowledging our special celebration. Big miss for such a fine food establishment

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Recommended with caveats

Dined on February 21, 2016

I would recommend the restaurant with a caveat: beware of ordering the $95 steak for two. While my entree of Idaho trout was excellent, as were the ala carte vegetables, my friends who shared a 32 oz ribeye were not pleased. The steak was "chewy" (their words) and not what they expected. They also questioned whether it was really 32 oz. (They didn't send it back because they didn't want to cause a scene, but were disappointed with their meal). Service was good, not great. It took quite a while to get our food even once we ordered (upwards of 30 minutes).

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was fantastic, despite 3 row ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

The service was fantastic, despite 3 rowdy little boys at the table!

food2
ambience4
service4

Food was average and for the price, belo ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Food was average and for the price, below average. Nice ambiance, but if you're a real foodie, I enjoyed the food much more at The Gun and Barrel and for that I can give up the elegant ambiance of Local.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Variety of food, wine, and whiskeys!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The Local was a great restaurant with all kinds of great choices for those looking to experience unique local dishes. They have a great variety of whiskeys, wines, and beers. The food was excellent and I feel fairly priced given the portions and quality of the meats. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Way too loud for a romantic dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

We always enjoy the Local, but it loud, loud, loud. Just set your expectations toward that and you will be good to go!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent. The waiter was v ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was excellent. The waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly. We felt rushed though. Food and drinks came out very quickly with very little time between courses.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a great experience at Local! It came highly recommended from a friend and we read many positive reviews prior to going. Local didn't disappoint and we would definitely go back. My husband had the burger, which was recommended by his friend as "the best burger you'll ever eat" and it was definitely one of the best he's had. I had the bacon wrapped pork, which was cooked perfectly and delicious. Great, lively atmosphere, and you can't beat the location. I highly recommend this place and we'll definitely go back if we go back to Jackson Hole.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot. Not mushroom.

Dined on February 7, 2016

Great spot. Not mushroom.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambiance!

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food was awesome, great atmosphere, overly-attentive service, high prices. Worth it, but expect to walk out with a $100 bill for two people. We'll happily come back next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great Value

Dined on January 28, 2016

We arrived for lunch and took advantage of the Burger and beer special for $10 . What a deal! even with the burger add ons the meal was very reasonably priced, not to mention exceptionally delicious. The next day we returned for happy hour where we received half price drinks and because it looked so good at lunch, ordered a French onion soup which was spot on. Don't miss this spot!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food, too Loud

Dined on January 26, 2016

We have been here twice (4 people) and both times the food was delicious, but so loud you couldn't hold a conversation. There were two parties of 8 by us and they tried to talk over each other.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Local is a must in Jackson

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

a great spot in downtown Jackson. Great service, good wines by the glass, good culinary combinations and a vibrant bar scene.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Enjoyed the dinner but a bit hyped

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

Enjoyed the dinner but a bit hyped

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Decent, not exceptional.

vip
Dined on January 7, 2016

Food decent but not exceptional. Our server was very good. Noise level tends to be loud; better than it was originally, but still pretty loud (OT apparently calls this "energetic", I say "loud").

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GO LOCAL!

Dined on January 5, 2016

Delicious food in the heart of town. Of course we went all out with appetizers, entrees, 3 sides, and dessert. The flavor pairings were perfect. The portion size is right on and the service was great. Thank you for a memorable experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Year' Eve

Dined on January 1, 2016

Apart from having to wait a bit past our reservation for the table, our dinner at Local was delicious beyond our expectations. The New Years Eve menu was superbly prepared and the service was attentive but never nagging. Great downtown restaurant with a lively bar attached

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Nothing special

Dined on January 1, 2016

I was expecting a lot more- my wagu steak was fatty , the elk steak was very salty and spicy. The service was very nice though and our waitress was very accomodating and pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loud, crowded, and friendly. Cool atmos ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Loud, crowded, and friendly. Cool atmosphere - great food. Everyone was pleased with their meal. The banana split was great too.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Local Part 2

Dined on December 30, 2015

Our second trip to Local in as many weeks, this time with the entire family. As with our previous trip, great food, great service, great atmosphere. Definitely a little pricier for a family meal, but well worth it. The steaks were cooked just as ordered, wife's bacon wrapped pork tenderloin very good, and the teenager's cheeseburger disappeared in what seemed to be a matter of seconds. Will definitely look to dine at Local again on our next trip to Jackson. Recommend it to all that visit the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and Well-Executed Dishes

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

A friend recommended this restaurant for dinner. I didn't have high expectations since Jackson is a tourist town and everything is overpriced. The moment we walked in, I was impressed by the cozy decor. We were quickly seated at a corner booth. We ordered the french onion soup, a couple sides, the bacon pork chop, trout, lamb pasta, filet mignon, and charcuterie. Everything was delicious with balanced flavors. Nothing was bland or over salted. They put a candle on our banana split since we were celebrating a birthday. Great place overall!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

excellent food

Dined on December 25, 2015

we had the bacon wrapped pork and lamb pasta. amazing flavors. Service was very good. Ambiance was great. would return in a heartbeat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local says it all.

Dined on December 24, 2015

Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful setting yet not overly stuffy. Food done to perfection and a variety for all...including a gluten and dairy free member of our party. Fantastic desserts. Would go again in a heart beat. Might break the budget for a large family but adults will appreciate it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food & service! A little loud but ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Great food & service! A little loud but that was due to people seated next to us.

food5
ambience4
service5

Top-notch choice for dinner in Jackson!

Dined on December 11, 2015

With family in town for a holiday visit, it wasn't hard to decide on a dinner at Local. Wonderful atmosphere, attentive service, and excellent menu choices, from fish to pork to aged beef. We especially enjoyed the extra sides available for sharing, which included brussels sprouts, truffled mashed potatoes, and creamed spinach. The dessert du jour was a cinnamon creme brûlée, just enough sweet to cap things off. It was a memorable evening and after dinner we stepped right outside to the square for a photo of the lit antler arches. Recommended for locals and visitors alike!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch for 10 at Local

Dined on December 10, 2015

Our lunch experience at Local for ten ladies could not have been better. I think nearly every guest stopped at the desk on the way out to thank them for the service, the patience and the food. Because an early request was made, they accommodated us with 10 separate checks (terrific time saver for a group where everyone wants to order independently and not just divide the bill at the end with 10 credit cards) and the waitress was totally unflappable in her approach to the situation. None of the guests were difficult at all but it was, after all, 10 ladies:). Great seating at one long table. Terrific food. It was all good. Thanks, Local!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.