About Local Restaurant and Bar

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: 3072011717x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
7 More
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

fit for foodies (28)
vibrant bar scene (20)
special occasion (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (16)
notable wine list (15)
hot spot (14)
good for groups (14)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It took almost TWO hours after ordering ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined 6 days ago

It took almost TWO hours after ordering until we received our meal. While the server and the manager were apologetic, and comped us two beverages each, we were less than impressed. My medium rare ribeye was closer to well done, but at that point, I was afraid to send it back! Unfortunately, I think this restaurant suffers from the resort town "we won't ever see you again" mentality, which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food was delicious from appetizers to desserts and service was excellent! Local is kid-friendly for those with a developed palate -- ours enjoyed the watermelon arugula salad, elk chop, and strawberry rhubarb polenta crisp. This dinner was a wonderful ending to our trip Yellowstone & Grand Teton trip.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Will be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Will be back next time we are in Jackson.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, a great experience. From appe ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, a great experience. From appetizers to dessert, all was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible service . I was embarrassed bc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Terrible service . I was embarrassed bc we had business guests. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Was the best meal we had in Jackson Hole ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was the best meal we had in Jackson Hole. Tim, our waiter was superb even gave us some tips on where to see Moose. Food and Drinks were great! Highly Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really disappointing. Had heard good thi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really disappointing. Had heard good things but not good after all. Pork chop with grilled peaches was dry as a bone with what tasted like canned peaches. Waitress comped our $9 dessert instead of the $36 pork chop of which I took only two bites cuz it was so bad. I might give them another try as the spinach and mushroom pasta dish was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We went on July 4th, and we were really ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went on July 4th, and we were really disappointed. We arrived early for our reservation, and just decided to eat at the bar. The bartender that waited on us had zero personality, and when we asked for recommendations he basically blew us off, by saying, "I don't know...I guess some people like the elk ." Not the most passionate recommendation, and the rest of the meal he was just as indifferent. The charcuterie tray was wonderful, but the trout was dried out like it had been cooked hours before I ordered it, and the side dish was rich and over powered the trout. No dimension in any of the dishes. It is a beautiful restaurant, but in my opinion not worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Admittedly, it was July 4th, but this pl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Admittedly, it was July 4th, but this place was a serious disappointment. Though many of our friends in the Jackson area swear by Local, the food was at best mediocre. A second rate salad was followed by burgers that wouldn't make it in a half-way competent diner. The staff was trying but was clearly overwhelmed and service was slow. The room itself is nothing special - just the usual faux cowboy jive and seating was close and uncomfortable. Maybe on a quiet night this becomes a passable steakhouse, but there was little evidence of that during a busy lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The best meal we had in Jackson, bar non ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best meal we had in Jackson, bar none! Elegant but down to earth. Steaks were sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food very busy. Wish they had more ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food very busy. Wish they had more than just fries as a side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very nice. Despite the good intentions, service was a little slow and it was loud inside. We would go again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience here. Family-friendly a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great experience here. Family-friendly and ideal with little ones. Outstanding wait staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Local twice while we visited ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We visited Local twice while we visited Jackson Hole. The first evening we took our two boys. Service was outstanding and food was delicious. Notable dishes: steak cooked as ordered (loved the addition of tarragon), trout. Wine list was an interesting mix of Old and New World. Opted to purchase a bottle (great price points) and take the remainder back to our rental. In our dining area were couples having romantic dinners as well as families. Some were dressed casually and some dressed up a bit. This was a great fit for anyone who walked through the door.

The second night we opted to sit at the bar and had a more casual meal. The charcuterie tray was terrific. Real finesse in butchery and aging. I ordered th halibut-- crisped exterior and flaky, moist interior. A+. Billy, our bartender, encouraged us to taste a couple of the local beers which we ended up ordering. The spirit selection was enchanting with a vast array of whiskey and whisky as well as some top nitch mescals. We owe Billy for telling us about a nearby cocktail bar that is off the radar for visitors. We had a great time there too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved our meal the first night, and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We loved our meal the first night, and ended up at the Local on the 2nd night (when another restaurant for which we had a reservation was unexpectedly closed). The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and overall we loved this restaurant. We heartily recommend it to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right when we were seated we asked our w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Right when we were seated we asked our waiter his name. He was hesitant to tell us. Not sure why. Table next to us was complaining about both food and service. We ordered French onion soup as one of our starters, they loaded the soup with sugar. Who does that? YUCK! First bad French onion soup we ever had. Overall, we figure they pay off the hotels to send the tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was ok but quit expensive and small ...

 
 (Ruhrgebiet)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was ok but quit expensive and small. Even we had a reservation we had to wait for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely loved the food here! Great lo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely loved the food here! Great location too...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great menu. Food was delicious but expensive. Only complaint would be the staff is not very friendly.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, very reasonable. Good ambianc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food, very reasonable. Good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the gems on the Square!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a favorite when I'm in town! Great menu that is interesting and delicious. Wait staff and management are on top of their game! My guest had the trout and almost licked the plate! And the presentation was fabulous! I'm a "burger" person - and theirs never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! I ordered the filet and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Love this place! I ordered the filet and it was cooked perfectly and the fries were delicious! The happy hour from 4-6 is really good too! 1/2 price cocktails and wines by the glass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and they had a very impressive whiskey and cocktail menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in Jackson Hole

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our "big city" group of 4 spent a 4 day weekend in Jackson Hole and enjoyed lunch and dinner at recommended restaurants each day. The Local was our favorite, and the only one we returned to during our stay. Diverse and interesting mostly locally sourced menu with delicious, high quality entrees and wonderful side dishes that worked for the vegetarians and meat eaters. We were served by an engaging bartender our first day in town and returned for dinner based on his excellent service and recommendations. We highly recommend The Local to Jackson Hole visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great vibe! Great food! We sat in the ba ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great vibe! Great food! We sat in the bar and it was fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very noisy and crowded. Food was adeq ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Very noisy and crowded. Food was adequate. Service was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I'm really over eating at Local. The foo ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I'm really over eating at Local. The food is good but it's always cold. The service is always horrible. I can't believe they can't figure out how to take care of their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Sent rib eye back twice to get it cooked ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Sent rib eye back twice to get it cooked correctly to no avail. It was tasty but over cooked twice so are left and would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

So good my wife and I came back a 2nd ti ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

So good my wife and I came back a 2nd time while on vacation for a week in Jackson. However, the Lasagna was not quite as good the 2nd time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience!

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Exceeded our expectations on every level - creative menu for a town full of great steak houses- bourbon and wine list best we've seen

Great value for locals and visitors

We'll be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delicious!

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

My friend and I went to partake of their off season 2 for 1 special. I have not been to Local for years and was surprised that all of the dishes were amazing! I had the vegetarian lasagna and my friend had the burger. We also split three sides, the creamed spinach, truffle mashed potatoes and the brussel sprouts. Everything was just spectacular. My only complaint was that my friend never got the root beer she ordered.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Besides Osteria, this is our favorite fancy dining spot. We go at least once for every off-season two for ones and we recommend it when our friends come for the "on" season. Very good stuff!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat at the bar for dinner. The bar se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We sat at the bar for dinner. The bar service was terrible. The bartender gave me the wrong meal and then tried to get me to eat it and argued with me about it. It was like something out of a Saturday night live skit. In the past I have eaten in the restaurant as opposed to the bar and the service was much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Innovative and Delicious

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I don't typically participate in reviews or endorse restaurants but Local is special! The menu is heavy on steak and slightly over-priced but for an occasion is an excellent buy and it's more or less a steak house. The side serving are a pleasant mix of bistro servings, the apps are great! The cocktail and wine servings are unique and broad, the bar is lively, the food is Local! What more can you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I just really like this place. It was ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

I just really like this place. It was our first night in Jackson Hole. The waiter was super nice, and the food was outstanding. I had the ribeye, and it was one of the best I have ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good restaurant, mixed service

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Waiter was over attentive and we felt rushed. Barely time to breathe

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Just went 3 times recently since The foo ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Just went 3 times recently since The food and service was really good.The oystersRockefeller was the best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place for a Foodie Family

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We were a group of 8 adult family members and we had a blast! Steaks were delicious and the selection of sides was perfect to accompany everyone's meal/main-course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Could have been great....

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Firstly, Erin is an excellent server. But no amount of great service can overcome the overriding sound of a continuously thumping bass line coming from the music in the bar. Combined with the cacophony of voices from the large number of tables for large parties, conversation at our table was impossible. Acoustical tiles, people. I like a "vibrant scene" as much as the next guy but really?

The rainbow trout and extra veg (carrots, beets and mash) were delish. Really. Paired with a Chardonnay by the glass, that was trying very hard to be a Sauvignon Blanc, was a bit unexpected. By the glass wines, IMO, sorta need to trend toward the median on taste profile.

All in all...meh. There are lots of other places with great food in JH so I will leave this one to the folks who clearly find this to be a top hot spot.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Fabulous Food, Service holds this restaurant back

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

My daughter and I went here to celebrate my 50th birthday. She mentioned it to the server and restaurant manager, but it was never acknowledged. The wine selection was decent, but not impressive. The food was fantastic. My daughter had the mushroom and spinach lasagna, which was quite good. I had the filet mignon, which was one of the best I have had anywhere in the world. The crispy brussels sprouts with bacon vinaigrette and the Idaho potato gratin were splendid as well. For desert, we shared a banana split, with the pistachio brittle, which was delightful and a pleasant surprise vs what you would get from any other restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice both in the restaurant and the adjacent bar area. This is by far the best restaurant in Jackson. The only reason why I am not giving it 5 stars across the board is the lack of customer intimacy and service for not acknowledging our special celebration. Big miss for such a fine food establishment

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.