Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Local Restaurant and Bar

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: (307) 201-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service! I took my 11 year old son, and he found something he liked even though the menu was pretty adult. I'll definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. I highly recommend the bison steak -- best I've had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined 5 days ago

If you want to enjoy your meal, do not sit on the bar side of the restaurant! Had reservations and the hostess seated us near the bar area. A way over served patron at the bar ruined the evening for everyone in the area we were seated in. Several tables complained, but the manager said there was nothing they could do. It took over 30 minutes just to get our salads and another 30 minutes to get the entrees. I've heard of doing things on mountain time......but really? The wait staff could have cared less if we were there or not. They were very dismissive. Remember, tourists are the ones keeping your restaurant in business. Treat them well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a great meal with excellent service. The thing that really annoyed me was that when the bill was presented , a 20% tip was already included. My standard tip is 20%, and would likely have been higher based on the experience we had. However, I find it incredibly presumptuous to include the tip on a party of five without any prior communication. I realize this is a tourist area and there are probably some bad tippers, but our waiter probably cost himself an extra $20 or so and left a bad taste for us on what had otherwise been a really nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Ambiance and staff were pretty good, but the food was only ok and the price was pretty steep for the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The Local is good!! My husband and I both had the local trout which was really good. Potatoes were slightly undercooked on my plate but the flavors were delicious. They have a decent wine & beer list, good choices for a charcuterie plate and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Good service. Great location right on the town square

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing local food. Great service , awesome cocktails, wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It certainly is worth the money if you are in Jackson for a few nights. If you want a steak then you will be shelling out some cash. The mixed meat hamburger was the best I have ever had and fairly-priced at $18.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The service was the best I have had in Jackson but the steak had no flavor and was pretty overcooked. It says the steaks take time to prepare but based on the fact we were in and out of there in less than an hour leads me to believe my steak was pre-cooked and re-heated before being served to me which would explain the overdone as well as very dry meat. The sauce was good, I had the whiskey sauce but am not a sauce person. I had to use it to eat the half a steak I ate. The Potatoes augrautin were inedible. The waiter should have notice that I am my wife each had a small bite and the dish was still 98 percent full when we were done. Her steak was way over cooked and she only ate about a third of it herself. They were extremely busy which is also why I expect they were precooked but that is a poor excuse if they were. If they were not then that is even worse. It came as a recommendation but I should have spoken to more people who seemed to have a similar experience, I found out afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was very good, but the place was quite noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food was sub-par. My husband ordered sirloin that was bland and overcooked. I ordered the watermelon salad to start (great in theory, but not executed well) and the butternut squash pasta (drowning in oil and far too sweet and cheesy). We didn't stay for dessert because we were so disappointed in the main course. We were seated next to a large table of no less than 10 noisy children. Definitely not our favorite restaurant in Jackson. I doubt we will return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Overall it was excellent! I had the Alaskan Halibut and it was out of this world! However, my husband ordered a ribeye steak, cooked medium rare and it was more medium. We just expected a little higher quality and more attention to detail and at this upscale spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our family was in Jackson Hole for a vacation. Our visit to The Local was a fabulous experience and added to the whole experience. We highly recommend the M & M platter. We so enjoyed the amazing fresh meats they prepared for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent meal! Lived up to recommendation we had received. Highly recommend to others.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Soup (French onion and beef minestrone) was fair, steak (ordered the bone in rib eye for two, medium rare) was overly charred on outside (burnt beyond being edible) but inside was cooked to perfection, asparagus was good, morels were only fair for being so expensive, potatoes au gratin were tasteless. It was an okay dining experience but far from what we expected based on previous reviews. I would try somewhere else if wanting a great steak dinner.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Fabulous restaurant recommended by the locals.
Wagu beef steaks are unbelievably great! Wide variety of appetizers, entrees, desserts along with an extensive wine and bourbon lists.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

If you are in Jackson and want a truly inspired meal, go here. We started with a Charcuterie plate with elk, duck, local cheeses and jam. Then we dove into elk chips, burgers and a bacon wedge to die for. If you love meat go here!!!
The service was attentive but not overbearing, the noise level was lively and the beer, cocktail and wine selection was broad. We had gone fly fishing and white water rafting and every person we asked recommended this place first for great food. Price point- $200 for three people with drinks and apps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Charlotte recommended the M and M meal for our family of five, and it did not disappoint, meats were great and service better! Great place to dine in the Jackson square!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was spot on (we had the trout and buffalo medallions - both were amazing); space and ambience are really nice - nicely finished with a bit of rustic charm; works for casual or finer dining experience; only complaint was mediocre service (waiter seemed scattered; awkward in delivering recommendations; no major blunders but did not add to the dining experience); definitely would dine here again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Local is perfect for both visitors and locals in our resort community. From excellent greeters/hosts and servers, to food and clean, vibrant atmosphere. It's heart of town
location cannot be beat. One of my favorite go to restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We went to Local for our last meal in Jackson to end our vacation and we're thrilled with the experience. Brandt was terrific as our server, food was great, steaks excelled. Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Was looking for a light locally sourced meal for the end of our vacation but food was more on heavy side. Very large portions, my husband and I should have split the meal. Staff friendly and service great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great meal. High-quality ingredients. Local food. Loved it!

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent local game selections! Fun atmosphere. Appetizers were really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Casual, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Very good restaurant! A little LOUD and perhaps just a hair understaffed, but otherwise highly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our meal was delicious. Steaks are pricey! The sides were good - standard offering mixed in with some different ones. Service was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our first visit to Jackson Hole and to Local which was fabulous! It was a busy evening--rain brought a lot of people into town and wanting food--but our reservation was honored ON TIME!! Our server, Erin, was terrific--helpful yet not hovering. We ordered filets--both were perfectly cooked--but the star of the evening were the crunchy brussel sprouts--they were heavenly! My husband who is not a fan of brussel sprouts couldn't stop raving about them. A wonderful restaurant--looking forward to a future visit when I am in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My girlfriend and I both ordered the burgers for dinner. They were very good and tasty although my friends was over cooked. She declined to send it back. We also ordered three side dishes which were delicious. Overall it was a nice experience if a bit expensive. Others that were dining there that we knew ordered some of the entrées like Buffalo medallions and said that it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent charcuterie. Grilled meats over two dinners terrific, especially the elk. Service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delicious food and great use of local ingredients! We arrived at 5:30 for our dinner reservation and had to wait about 20 minutes before we were seated which ruined the beginning of our dinner experience. The night was better from there - excellent cocktails, delicious steak and elk entrees, great beer list, and a charismatic waiter!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very enjoyable experience with the exception of the noise level....poor acoustics create sort of an echo effect. Some sound absorbing furnishings need to be added to cut down the "tinny" sound.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was great. The food was good. Very noisy. We enjoyed our meal and would probably recommend this to a friend. The burger was delicious.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We came here on a recommendation from a friend and couldn't have been more pleased! Our waiter and waitstaff was top notch as was alllllll the food. We were lucky enough to score a window seat so we could people watch too. Definitely go here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had great food with great service. Too bad it was ruined by a noise level that was totally unacceptable. We couldn't order without shouting and the server had to repeat herself several times.
The food was excellent--both the trout and Coq A Vin were outstanding. Not too excited about the strawberry tiramisu. Nice try for something different, but strawberries were very tart and overall it tasted like it had been made many days ago.
Take earplugs if you eat here. We were relieved to walk out of the restaurant onto the busy street after dinner! It was much quieter than inside, even with pretty heavy traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Local is a well known restaurant in the heart of Jackson. Well known for their burgers and at a relatively fair price. Good for casual dining. We were there with 18 year old grandchildren and they loved the place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent meal and excellent service. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for with delicious, well prepared food. This is a lively atmosphere. Seating is close together, so I wouldn't pick this place if you're looking for a quiet atmosphere. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our meal. Our server was great, food was very tasty, with lots of fun side dishes. It was fun. We will definitely go there again next time we're in Jackson.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Food was excellent! I ordered the crispy pork shank with the salsa verde on top. I had more than half of it left over, so my wife arranged for it to have a place in our cooler for the trip back to our home in Illinois. Two nights after our return home, my wife took the leftover pork shank and turned it into a hash with easy over eggs for dinner for the two of us. The restaurant was inviting, a little on the loud side until a couple of the larger tables cleared out. Wine list was excellent and well priced. The buffalo tartare was tasty (first time I have tried buffalo anything), and the rhubarb cobbler for dessert paired well with the remainder of our wine. Our waitress, Erin, was great! Very friendly and down to earth...great conversationalist and had a great smile. Made my wife and I feel very much at home. Wish we could have her wait on us at every restaurant we visit!

Tags: Spicy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Nice ambiance. Steak was good but on the salty side and a bit more cooked than I had ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We thought Local would be a nice option for dinner, but I was sadly disappointed in the dry (not crispy!) and not well seasoned pork shank on some super-sweet mushy squash "thing." My husband fared better with his salmon, but was still not excited. Next time, we're going to Bubba's--it might not be haute cuisine, but it will be flavorful and good value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.