Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Local Restaurant and Bar

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: (307) 201-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Hot Spot (21)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Romantic (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
People Watching (4)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 7 days ago

Local is a place that seems very special and the price and surroundings contribute to that vibe. What is so disheartening however, is the quality of the food that does not live up to that expectation. The service is great, as is the location and atmosphere. Paying so much for a meal though makes you think that you're really going to eat something special, and you don't.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A bit pricey, but that seems to be the norm for Jackson. Food was decent; location is good. Nicely decorated. Would have expected friendlier hosts and wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic! We frequently dine at NYC's top steakhouses and our new favorite is Local Restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waiter commented to my teenage girl "that's a lot of food" after she ordered. I expressed my dismay at his comment which he ignored. It really upset my daughter as he was an attractive young man (in appearance.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location and tasty foods! Definitely come back!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Special anniversary night..everything was perfect!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Simply Stellar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The dry aged rib eye was slightly overlooked. But there was a lot of flavor in the meat itself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Best steaks in Jackson and the service is always excellent. We will come back👍🏿👍🏿👍🏿

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We love eating here and always know we will always get a great steak! Love the wedge salad!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Delicious dinner with exceptional service! We went during happy hour and though we didn't try the wings which specially priced , the young guys at the table seated next to us had them and told us they were as delicious as they smelled to us. The waitress was able to ask the chef to make the fish dinner without the pecan crust and it was divine with the apple slaw and Brussels sprouts. The guys had the steak and they were cooked perfectly! Pricey but so worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great place. Loved the Buffalo medallions. Server was attentive. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was outstanding!! Best place in all of Jackson for steak, bison and lamb chops. We have been coming to Jackson for many years and always look forward to dining at the Local. It has never disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is a place that serves classy high quality foods to regular customers just out for a nice dinner. We didn't feel obligated to dress up or leave the kids at home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What a fun place! Full of locals and a huge bar scene. And the food was just outstanding. Better plan ahead though; this place is very popular. Try the crab claws....

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had a wonderful meal here. Pricey but not out of line for food quality. 2 cocktails, appetizer, 2 entrees and a shared dessert for around $150. Atmosphere is fun yet romantic and the server was great at giving helpful guidance. Food was interesting and fresh with lots of local delicious ingredients. We will visit again!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great vibe, great food, except for the onion soup, and we would go back anytime!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Started with terrific cocktails: we had the Local, a bourbon drink that has been on the menu since the beginning, and the mezcal cocktail, forget the name ..something from Oaxaca. Prime Rib with sides of Brussels sprouts and mushrooms was terrific, though I'm not as excited about the Brussels sprouts with sweet (I think it was apple) as the earlier version with bacon. Terrific attentive knowledgeable service; the floor team works well together to serve, clear, and attend to. Great place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Local fiid abd fare was fantastic. Service was great and the restaurant was well represented by same.

Good bar scene and drinks leading up to the seating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great dinner in a beautiful location across from Jackson square.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We often go for the steaks but tried the Lamb chops and the vegetarian Rotolo and both were outstanding. They changed their Brussel sprout recipe but we were just as pleased with the new dish as with the old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Seated immediately at our reservation time although a very busy night. Food was very good

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Local was AMAZIN, three of the guys with us got steak and they said it was the BEST steak they had in Jackson! I had the Trout and it was fabulous, also great craft cocktails! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Jackson. Love this place!!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had an amazing dinner here with great wine and great service. It was very loud though so not great for conversation unless you were willing to be very loud as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on March 4, 2017

By far the best meal we had on our recent holiday in Jackson Hole. Jackson and the Village are expensive, but here you get what you pay for; superb food, wine and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Fun, lively, and loud. Good food. A nice place for a group dinner and people watching.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Someone told my husband they have an elk burger and that's why we orginally made the reservation (they don't). But, the meal we had was very good and the servers were attentive and friendly. There is a good view of town square from dining area. I probably had a better experience than my husband as he was alittle disappointed about having to change his meal plan.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food and atmosphere in general but extremely loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Solid food choice in Jackson. All of us really enjoyed our entrees and wine pairing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Incredible meal with outstanding service. Leave room for dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

perfectly prepared Buffalo tenderloin medallions and Elk chop. Prime Rib special was over the top. hand-crafted cocktails were scrumptious- home-made ginger beer, and the jalapeño-infused tequila each had the right amount of kick. home-made cheesecake was the best dessert

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my 5th visit to The Local. I absolutely love this restaurant. Make reservations at height of ski season as well as any time in the summer, it is very popular and busy. Don't expect to walk in and get a table right away. The food is fantastic. Generous portions, creative, seasonal, and local. Varied and thoughtful wine menu. Great cocktails. Seasonal soup was lentil puree with chive oil sprinkled on top, delicious. Rather filling, though, so I would recommend maybe sharing it to not ruin your appetite. I ordered the Beef Ragu and my husband ordered the Seared Buffalo Medallions. Both very, very good. We were sad to see that the Elk Medallions were gone, but there are so many great options, you won't be disappointed. I want to make a plea, however, to put the spicy elk sausage pasta back on the menu!! :) Service is top-notch and friendly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was scrumptious, wait staff attentive! Had reservationswhich is highly recommended.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food! Lamb t-bone, and the chicken, how did they get chicken to taste so good?! Never been disappointed with a meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was very good but service very poor . Waiter was inattentive and inexperienced .

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 21, 2017

The meals, service and ambeience were outstanding.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Waiter was an excellent guy great to talk to food came at a reasonable pace being we ordered appetizers. Pretty casual place food was out standing would go again if I get the chance

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

this is our second excellent experience at Local. We had a group of 6. Service could not have been better. Our server was really great. Everyone's food was excellent. The wine list is in line for this level of restaurant. The bar scene is very lively but other parts of the restaurant are much quieter. In a town of over rated places, Local is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.