About Local Restaurant and Bar

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: 3072011717x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (30)
Hot Spot (20)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice dinner. The wait staff seeme ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice dinner. The wait staff seemed "less than completely trained," but overall, no big complaints.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have dined at Local many times. It's ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

We have dined at Local many times. It's always excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a reservation on a Sat ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I had a reservation on a Saturday night. Upon arrival we were assigned a table, but we asked to get another one that we liked better. The hostess gave us the other table. Thank you.

Service and food were outstanding. We loved our dinner and we will return during our next stay in the Jackson Hole area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service (Lacy, the ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

great food, great service (Lacy, the server did an outstanding job!)

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience all around, as us ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding experience all around, as usual!

Gets better every time.

Only issue was we had a 5:30 reservations as we had plans after and the hostess has no help getting people seated which was disappointing. Lots of wait staff and other staff running by- they all should have helped out to get the 5:30 reservations seated right away - not 10-15 minutes later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seats were too close together. We we ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The seats were too close together. We were touching arms with the people next to us and it was very uncomfortable. The food was ok but I do not think you get what you pay for. Drinks were not the best either. No pleased

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the evening. Food and service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Food and service was good except my husbands steak had to be sent back as too rare and came back a little too charred. The small dining area is intimate and away from noise of the bar. Bar was busy and also enjoyable while we waited for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Local. The f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is our second visit to Local. The first was 3 years ago and it ranked as one of the most memorable meals. When we knew we would be back in Jackson, we booked a reservation. It didn't disappoint. The food was exceptional. The cocktails were delicious. The ambiance was perfect for a get-together or for a special occasion (which this visit was). Try the brussel sprouts, they are absolutely delicious. And if you're a meat eater you can't go wrong with the burger. But, honestly, everything our table got was top notch. Worth every penny!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My 65th birthday dinner was fantastic! O ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

My 65th birthday dinner was fantastic! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and good.

Thanks for the memorable evening!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lindsey was the best waitress we've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lindsey was the best waitress we've had in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Earlier this week four of us visited Loc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Earlier this week four of us visited Local and had a disappointing experience. We had bison, a ribeye steak, a New York steak, and a burger. The ribeye and the burger were good. The bison as rare instead of medium rare and was somewhat tough. The New York steak was very tough. My wife described it as the toughest steak she had ever had, and I had to help her cut her meat. We told the server about this, and she replied that New York steak is not the most tender cut (no surprise to us). We have had more than a few New York steaks in our live and know that a Filet is a more tender cut. However, I've never had to cut my wife's meat for her. This was a very disappointing response from the server.

For dessert two of us had the flourless chocolate cake and enjoyed it. Another person had the peanut butter pie and described it as good but rich.

This was not a satisfactory dinner for $200 before including any alcoholic beverages. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I had the Lockhart Beef Ragu and my husb ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had the Lockhart Beef Ragu and my husband had the Seared Buffalo Medallions. It definitely wasn't worth the price. The food lacked flavor. I felt like the staff were trying to rush us out as soon as we sat down. With that being said, the service was fast.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were on vacation and I remember havin ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were on vacation and I remember having a great meal here a few years ago. This time I was there with my husband and knew he would enjoy Local. We had the filet mignon with wild mushrooms and it was probably the best cut of beef we could remember eating. We went again the following night and ordered the same thing and the potato gratin. Amazing again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a very tasty meal with ...

vip
·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great place for a very tasty meal with plenty of options. Nice ambiance, modern with warmth. Service was very attentive. The Elk chop cooked perfectly had no gamy flavor. Sides were interesting and tasteful. Wine list was adequate. A very pleasant place to go in Jackson.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

the Local was recommend by our hotel. Wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

the Local was recommend by our hotel. Walking distance from Hotel.

attentive wait staff.

Food delicious ...intersting choices

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and the service was great. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and the service was great.

The interiour sound level was much greater than I would expect for a fine dining experience.

I will have to say this, during our week in Jackson Hole, "Local" is where we had the best meal and service during our entire vacation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

All I can say is: OUTSTANDING

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

All I can say is: OUTSTANDING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibrant scene, the place to be kind of r ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Vibrant scene, the place to be kind of restaurant! When I didn't see exactly what I wanted on the menu, they created a dinner for me! They combined a small filet mignon with their watermelon salad to create a "steak salad". It was delicious and very reasonably priced. Make sure you have reservations - even on a Tuesday night in late August the place is packed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A decent burger and beverages. Excellent ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A decent burger and beverages. Excellent friendly service. The salad selections were good and by the time we got around to considering dessert we were too full! French fries and other side dishes were provided in generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our waitress Danielle was extremely rude ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our waitress Danielle was extremely rude. She was annoyed at any question regarding menu. She overcharged us and the ribeye steak given to my son was disappointingly small. My NY strip was bigger. She didn't Care whether our meals were satisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Our waiter was great, he made nice recom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waiter was great, he made nice recommendations on the wine pairings, the entrees and proper level of doneness for the meat and even the cheeses on the appetizer menu. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Jackson Hole to try.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food!! Delicious Brussel sprouts.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food!! Delicious Brussel sprouts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Oyster Rockafellers!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great Oyster Rockafellers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We love the style of the restaurant and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We love the style of the restaurant and the feel when eating at Local. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had a great time dining with you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maybe I expect more when I'm paying near ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Maybe I expect more when I'm paying nearly $40 for a smaller than average piece of halibut. The Local replaced Cadillac Grille on the town square as of recent. It was packed to the brim with hungry tourists and locals alike. We had a 7:45 reservation, but didn't get seated until 8:15. Our party of 7 came to the table famished, but left wondering what all the fuss was about. I'd read some pretty decent reviews about this place. All in all, we ordered salads, pasta, shrimp appetizer, pork chop, trout and that disappointing piece of halibut. The trout and pork, I'm told, were pretty good. Everything else was mediocre at best. Maybe it was an off night. I don't like writing negative reviews, but this meal was definitely not worth the money. Hopefully, you had a better meal than we did.

Next time, I'll go back to the Snake River Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

first time in JH, and this was a lovely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

first time in JH, and this was a lovely meal to cap off a short trip. Steaks were cooked perfectly, and the charcuterie plate was great (pheasant sausage! WHO KNEW IT WAS SO GOOD?). We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great, but WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. Everythin ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great, but WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. Everything is ala carte...salad, sides. Bread and butter is good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food with a funky and fresh menu. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food with a funky and fresh menu. Seems like a good mix of locals and visitors. The actual service was great. However the hostess was very rude even when we had a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous dinner and service. A must if y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous dinner and service. A must if you visit Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best meal we had in Jackson ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was the best meal we had in Jackson during our vacation - highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Local is a beautiful restaurant , but ou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Local is a beautiful restaurant , but our dining experience was less than great. We changed our reservation because of Delta Airline's computer failure and the lateness of our arrival into Jackson. We told the server we were extremely tired and hungry and needed to be served promptly. That did not happen at all. We kept asking and kept being told it was being prepared. When our meals came, we were not hungry but ate a portion because we dislike taking left-overs .

We would probably have enjoyed Local had we not been so tired, but we were not accommodated at all.

We also feel the value was not comparable to the food costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Quite disappointing. the wine list was s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Quite disappointing. the wine list was small with few fairly priced wines. The food was extremely disappointing. The bar was the only positive part of our experience. ad our experience cost one-half what we paid, the opinion of the place would be the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Local is a great restaurant in Jackson. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Local is a great restaurant in Jackson. The food and service is wonderful. Highly recommend this to any visitor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buffalo Tartare? Really good and about a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Buffalo Tartare? Really good and about as positive as the night and experience was.

Steak for two? Well two need to cut it cause it comes out in 1 piece vs. the kitchen cutting up and portion out for presentation. If you want to present it go ahead and do that, but please don't ask two people to work out how to each cut the piece of meat in the middle.

Steak medium rare? Well thanks for the medium / medium well temp and ruining a $100 ribeye meant for two. I can live without the apology.. but apologize to the cow you ruined.

Creamed Spinach? more like spinach soup

Service? Awful body language and standoffish after probably realizing how awful the mains came out. When asked about if we need to really cut the large piece of steak for two ourselves the snarky reply of well we each have knives to do it doesn't usually fly. Special thanks for dripping all the steak juice on the cutting board as it was brought to the table all over the person i brought for a business dinner and not even acknowledging it.

Local really gives Jackson Hole Local dining a bad name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful food and service but really wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful food and service but really wish there was more than 1 vegetarian entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We eat at Local every time we are in Jac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We eat at Local every time we are in Jackson, great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

short ribs alway great; friend , however ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

short ribs alway great; friend , however, was a little disappointed with the rib eye size for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It took almost TWO hours after ordering ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It took almost TWO hours after ordering until we received our meal. While the server and the manager were apologetic, and comped us two beverages each, we were less than impressed. My medium rare ribeye was closer to well done, but at that point, I was afraid to send it back! Unfortunately, I think this restaurant suffers from the resort town "we won't ever see you again" mentality, which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food was delicious from appetizers to desserts and service was excellent! Local is kid-friendly for those with a developed palate -- ours enjoyed the watermelon arugula salad, elk chop, and strawberry rhubarb polenta crisp. This dinner was a wonderful ending to our trip Yellowstone & Grand Teton trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Will be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Will be back next time we are in Jackson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.