Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Local Restaurant and Bar

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: (307) 201-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (39)
Good for a Date (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Casual (22)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Cozy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
637 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

local has an amazing happy hour packing the house with all sorts of diners. Our dinner was good however no where as distinguishable as the referrals had led on. My husbands bison was over cooked and my food while good was not amazing. This is a good place not great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a reservation and were seated quickly! Server was a nice waiter but forgot crab cakes we ordered as appetizer which was ok but then food took forever to get. Food quality was not good at all and the extras small plates we got with dinner we’re terrible other than the potatoes and they were the highlight of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Too noise, limited menu unless you want steak! Not good value. Food was just OK

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Really excellent local sourced meats. My ribeye was very tender and flavorful. Large portion.
Partner's filet also excellent. Huge side dishes, share 'em! I don't normally go for iceberg lettuce, but the wedge with pork belly and blue cheese was very good. Nice, but pricey wine list.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Service slow but food good.
Energetic lively scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Local! It was a vacation treat while visiting Jackson. The menu offered variety for beef / meat lovers as well as meatless options.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2017

They rushed us throughout our meal which is unpleasant. The server reached across me to clear a plate rather than walking around the table, and cleared three plates while the fourth person was still eating. The meal was only fine. This used to be my favorite restaurant in Jackson, but the food quality and hospitality have gone down over time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The expense of the meal, it was dirty, utensils old and,worn, service slow, steak was dry and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Local is one of our favorites in town. As always, ambiance and service were great. We had awesome appetizers (buffalo tartar and watermelon salad) which didn't disappoint. Two in our party ordered the elk chops. Perfectly done but honestly not a ton of flavor. Would have done well with a sweet sauce (i.e.huckleberry) which wasn't an option. That being said, the sides they opted for were wonderful. Another in the group had the trout which was damn DELICIOUS. (truly the winner), and one had the butternut rotollo pasta which was a mistake. Bottom line is that we still recommend Local and will return, but next time will pass on the pasta and stick with the fish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2017

For Jackson hole this REstuarant was fine I did not like my butternut squash mushroom pasta dish. Much too rich. Could not eat or! My husbands rib eye however was great done perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

They are just not keeping their standards unfortunately. We have had several really good meals there but this time no... sides were stone cold, the sprouts were a little odd to me with chunks of strawberries in them. Service was disinterested something we have never encountered here before and the fillet was a strange grainy texture not the buttery melt in your mouth we have had before it was also overdone for medium. Sad as this was such a great place I hope they can get their quality control back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Local does a fantastic all around job. Loved the wine list with multiple wines that are well known for being great while being also excellent values. And the food was tremendous as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Unique and delicious cuisine. We started with an appetizer platter with two types of game sausage, duck pastrami, three cheeses, marinated veggies, whole grain mustard and a lick the plate chutney. Two of had the trout and two of us had the ribeye steaks. The trout people enjoyed their entree and the accompaniments. The steaks were prepared as ordered and were very tasty despite not being aged. Dessert was a special treat. We ordered the strawberry rhubarb crisp and key lime panna cotta. Both were excellent. They had a very nice wine and brandy list which we took advantage of.
Our server Chris was excellent steering us to some really good eats.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was so noisy in this establishment you could not talk or hear people at your own table, the wait staff (Owen) wasn't very impressive. He acted like anything we had asked for he had to go out of his way. Maybe because the automatic tipping was added, I did ask if they were going to bring a piece of cake out for the birthday girl. I was told "we can put a candle in whatever you pay for" I would NOT recommend this dining establishment...WOW!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Not one smile from the wait staff for any table in the restaurant. Looked likely were mailing it in. Bar was slightly better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Best restaurant in Jackson Hole! Food was excellent with a great menu that had something for everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing pork loin and steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Very loud, but the food and service were top notch. The charcuterie plate we created was fantastic and generous, and the buffalo tenderloin was just amazing. The 3 sides of wild mushrooms, heirloom tomatoes and brussel sprouts were large, savory and interesting, too. We had to go boxes, but enjoyed dinner and our server so much we will be returning again later this week. Best meal we have had in our week here.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Amazing place, knowledgeable staff, delicious food. That's all you really need

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We celebrated my birthday with a delicious dinner at LOCAL: good food, great beer selection, excellent dessert, just a bit too noisy to get a 5 on all counts here.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was over the top. We both ordered steak, a filet mignon and a sirloin and both were the best we have ever had. I normally don't order steak at a restaurant because grilling is easy at home. The wine list was was well selected and full of interesting wines.
Our waiter, John, was pleasant, knowledgeable and truly interested in making sure we enjoyed our meal.
Don't miss this Jackson experience. Casual and a little loud but definitely worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was our last meal while on vacation in Jackson and by far the best we had. We ordered 3 different types of steak so we could sample a variety, and all were cooked perfectly and each had a distinct flavor - our favorite was the Rib Eye, followed closely by the NY Strip, and then the Filet. Sides were great and service was excellent. A great meal all around (and the cocktails were tasty as well)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Excellent Restaurant and dining experience. Eclectic menu options

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 28, 2017

They have The best steaks. But most importantly, they were cooked correctly. My dinner was the best I have had in two weeks on the road! Try the local Highwater Vodka, distilled in Jackson.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food is great. Strangely we were seated after 4-5 couples that arrived after we did which made no sense at all.

The "exposed lightbulb" ceiling lighting is garish cheap and most unpleasant. It's so bad that despite the great food, I'd have to think more about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Local was recommended by friend and food and service were excellent/

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

My wife ordered the Haddock and I got the pork shank. We agreed to trade bites so I can tell both dishes were great combinations of flavors and just delicious. Don't miss this place if you are in Jackson Hole area. Oh yeah get there for happy hour, 1/2 price on some very robust red wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Local is a very nice restaurant. The food, service and ambiance are all excellent. There's nothing I've ever had there that I wouldn't recommend. It's proximity to the Town Square in Jackson is basically the best location for a restaurant in Teton County. So, you basically have to expect to pay more there than you would elsewhere. In their defense, I don't know what they pay monthly to rent the space, but I'd guess it mirrors the GDP of some small countries. If you go there, expect great food, service and ambiance. But also expect to pay a little more. It's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The waitress had very good recommendations for both the food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 22, 2017

good but not great. had the rib eye for 2 and it was not quite up to the high expectations i have for this cut. everything else was first rate. and the french fries are truly addicting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Disinterested staff
Onion soup cold served in hot iron bowl
Wine choice swapped without advising us
Crispy Pork Shank had yukky green sauce
Desert disgusting
Felt rushed throughout
Would not return or recommend

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We enjoyed our meal here. My husband enjoyed the charcuterie and the halibut. I opted for a salad and the crab cake appetizer in lieu of an entree. Both were fresh and very good. The restaurant was jam-packed, yet our server and other support staff were attentive. Attire was an "anything goes" mix of casual. The ceiling of the space is low, so it was quite noisy -- not a place for date night or a special occasion. Prices were in line with others in Jackson. The location is directly across from the town square, and, in spite of the Eclipse surge of tourists, we easily found street parking. There were many large tables, yet our service was very good. The staff was clearly prepared for the situation. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent - went twice while in my short visit to Jackson. Headed out on a 8 day backpacking trip.

Tags: Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very loud! I'm glad we weren't seated in the bar area. Cute place with a good menu. The crab cakes had way too much filler, could not taste any crab. The trout dish was very tasty and the burger was done well. French fries were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our server Chris was super helpful and knowledgable. A great experience!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This is a nice place to have a meal while visiting Jackson Hole. The location is amazing, in the heart of town, across from the main square. The food and service are good, to very good, depending on what you order. I would suggest sticking to the basics, the aioli fries, steaks, etc. Portions are good too. The bar is fun and crowded. The wine list is good and reasonable.
If I go back to Jackson, I'd go back to Local.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Good food but expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent steak - best yet we've had in Jackson Hole. Veggie accompaniments equally good. Friendly and prompt service. Bonus was that the restaurant allowed our sharing a steak.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Our waiter was lovely but his support staff kept delivering our order to the table next door which prolonged our wait. The waiter did apologize but that was all. My buffalo medallions were perfectly cooked and seasoned. My husband and daughter split the 14 oz steak and loved it. My son ordered the coq au vin and enjoyed it.

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.