About Local Restaurant and Bar

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: 3072011717x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
4 More
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Special Occasion (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
See All
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (11)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was great, he made nice recom ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter was great, he made nice recommendations on the wine pairings, the entrees and proper level of doneness for the meat and even the cheeses on the appetizer menu. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Jackson Hole to try.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Oyster Rockafellers!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great Oyster Rockafellers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We love the style of the restaurant and ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We love the style of the restaurant and the feel when eating at Local. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had a great time dining with you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Maybe I expect more when I'm paying near ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Maybe I expect more when I'm paying nearly $40 for a smaller than average piece of halibut. The Local replaced Cadillac Grille on the town square as of recent. It was packed to the brim with hungry tourists and locals alike. We had a 7:45 reservation, but didn't get seated until 8:15. Our party of 7 came to the table famished, but left wondering what all the fuss was about. I'd read some pretty decent reviews about this place. All in all, we ordered salads, pasta, shrimp appetizer, pork chop, trout and that disappointing piece of halibut. The trout and pork, I'm told, were pretty good. Everything else was mediocre at best. Maybe it was an off night. I don't like writing negative reviews, but this meal was definitely not worth the money. Hopefully, you had a better meal than we did.

Next time, I'll go back to the Snake River Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

first time in JH, and this was a lovely ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

first time in JH, and this was a lovely meal to cap off a short trip. Steaks were cooked perfectly, and the charcuterie plate was great (pheasant sausage! WHO KNEW IT WAS SO GOOD?). We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great, but WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. Everythin ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great, but WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. Everything is ala carte...salad, sides. Bread and butter is good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Great food with a funky and fresh menu. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food with a funky and fresh menu. Seems like a good mix of locals and visitors. The actual service was great. However the hostess was very rude even when we had a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous dinner and service. A must if y ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fabulous dinner and service. A must if you visit Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best meal we had in Jackson ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was the best meal we had in Jackson during our vacation - highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Local is a beautiful restaurant , but ou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Local is a beautiful restaurant , but our dining experience was less than great. We changed our reservation because of Delta Airline's computer failure and the lateness of our arrival into Jackson. We told the server we were extremely tired and hungry and needed to be served promptly. That did not happen at all. We kept asking and kept being told it was being prepared. When our meals came, we were not hungry but ate a portion because we dislike taking left-overs .

We would probably have enjoyed Local had we not been so tired, but we were not accommodated at all.

We also feel the value was not comparable to the food costs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Quite disappointing. the wine list was s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Quite disappointing. the wine list was small with few fairly priced wines. The food was extremely disappointing. The bar was the only positive part of our experience. ad our experience cost one-half what we paid, the opinion of the place would be the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Local is a great restaurant in Jackson. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Local is a great restaurant in Jackson. The food and service is wonderful. Highly recommend this to any visitor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Buffalo Tartare? Really good and about a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Buffalo Tartare? Really good and about as positive as the night and experience was.

Steak for two? Well two need to cut it cause it comes out in 1 piece vs. the kitchen cutting up and portion out for presentation. If you want to present it go ahead and do that, but please don't ask two people to work out how to each cut the piece of meat in the middle.

Steak medium rare? Well thanks for the medium / medium well temp and ruining a $100 ribeye meant for two. I can live without the apology.. but apologize to the cow you ruined.

Creamed Spinach? more like spinach soup

Service? Awful body language and standoffish after probably realizing how awful the mains came out. When asked about if we need to really cut the large piece of steak for two ourselves the snarky reply of well we each have knives to do it doesn't usually fly. Special thanks for dripping all the steak juice on the cutting board as it was brought to the table all over the person i brought for a business dinner and not even acknowledging it.

Local really gives Jackson Hole Local dining a bad name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Wonderful food and service but really wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful food and service but really wish there was more than 1 vegetarian entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We eat at Local every time we are in Jac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We eat at Local every time we are in Jackson, great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

short ribs alway great; friend , however ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

short ribs alway great; friend , however, was a little disappointed with the rib eye size for the price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It took almost TWO hours after ordering ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It took almost TWO hours after ordering until we received our meal. While the server and the manager were apologetic, and comped us two beverages each, we were less than impressed. My medium rare ribeye was closer to well done, but at that point, I was afraid to send it back! Unfortunately, I think this restaurant suffers from the resort town "we won't ever see you again" mentality, which is a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wow! Exceeded my expectations! All food was delicious from appetizers to desserts and service was excellent! Local is kid-friendly for those with a developed palate -- ours enjoyed the watermelon arugula salad, elk chop, and strawberry rhubarb polenta crisp. This dinner was a wonderful ending to our trip Yellowstone & Grand Teton trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Will be ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Will be back next time we are in Jackson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, a great experience. From appe ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

As always, a great experience. From appetizers to dessert, all was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible service . I was embarrassed bc ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Terrible service . I was embarrassed bc we had business guests. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Was the best meal we had in Jackson Hole ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Was the best meal we had in Jackson Hole. Tim, our waiter was superb even gave us some tips on where to see Moose. Food and Drinks were great! Highly Highly recommend!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really disappointing. Had heard good thi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Really disappointing. Had heard good things but not good after all. Pork chop with grilled peaches was dry as a bone with what tasted like canned peaches. Waitress comped our $9 dessert instead of the $36 pork chop of which I took only two bites cuz it was so bad. I might give them another try as the spinach and mushroom pasta dish was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We went on July 4th, and we were really ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went on July 4th, and we were really disappointed. We arrived early for our reservation, and just decided to eat at the bar. The bartender that waited on us had zero personality, and when we asked for recommendations he basically blew us off, by saying, "I don't know...I guess some people like the elk ." Not the most passionate recommendation, and the rest of the meal he was just as indifferent. The charcuterie tray was wonderful, but the trout was dried out like it had been cooked hours before I ordered it, and the side dish was rich and over powered the trout. No dimension in any of the dishes. It is a beautiful restaurant, but in my opinion not worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Admittedly, it was July 4th, but this pl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Admittedly, it was July 4th, but this place was a serious disappointment. Though many of our friends in the Jackson area swear by Local, the food was at best mediocre. A second rate salad was followed by burgers that wouldn't make it in a half-way competent diner. The staff was trying but was clearly overwhelmed and service was slow. The room itself is nothing special - just the usual faux cowboy jive and seating was close and uncomfortable. Maybe on a quiet night this becomes a passable steakhouse, but there was little evidence of that during a busy lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

The best meal we had in Jackson, bar non ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best meal we had in Jackson, bar none! Elegant but down to earth. Steaks were sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food very busy. Wish they had more ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food very busy. Wish they had more than just fries as a side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was excellent and the staff was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the staff was very nice. Despite the good intentions, service was a little slow and it was loud inside. We would go again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great experience here. Family-friendly a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great experience here. Family-friendly and ideal with little ones. Outstanding wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Local twice while we visited ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We visited Local twice while we visited Jackson Hole. The first evening we took our two boys. Service was outstanding and food was delicious. Notable dishes: steak cooked as ordered (loved the addition of tarragon), trout. Wine list was an interesting mix of Old and New World. Opted to purchase a bottle (great price points) and take the remainder back to our rental. In our dining area were couples having romantic dinners as well as families. Some were dressed casually and some dressed up a bit. This was a great fit for anyone who walked through the door.

The second night we opted to sit at the bar and had a more casual meal. The charcuterie tray was terrific. Real finesse in butchery and aging. I ordered th halibut-- crisped exterior and flaky, moist interior. A+. Billy, our bartender, encouraged us to taste a couple of the local beers which we ended up ordering. The spirit selection was enchanting with a vast array of whiskey and whisky as well as some top nitch mescals. We owe Billy for telling us about a nearby cocktail bar that is off the radar for visitors. We had a great time there too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved our meal the first night, and e ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We loved our meal the first night, and ended up at the Local on the 2nd night (when another restaurant for which we had a reservation was unexpectedly closed). The food was delicious, the service was excellent, and overall we loved this restaurant. We heartily recommend it to all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right when we were seated we asked our w ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Right when we were seated we asked our waiter his name. He was hesitant to tell us. Not sure why. Table next to us was complaining about both food and service. We ordered French onion soup as one of our starters, they loaded the soup with sugar. Who does that? YUCK! First bad French onion soup we ever had. Overall, we figure they pay off the hotels to send the tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was ok but quit expensive and small ...

 
 (Ruhrgebiet)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was ok but quit expensive and small. Even we had a reservation we had to wait for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely loved the food here! Great lo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely loved the food here! Great location too...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Local

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great menu. Food was delicious but expensive. Only complaint would be the staff is not very friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, very reasonable. Good ambianc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food, very reasonable. Good ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the gems on the Square!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a favorite when I'm in town! Great menu that is interesting and delicious. Wait staff and management are on top of their game! My guest had the trout and almost licked the plate! And the presentation was fabulous! I'm a "burger" person - and theirs never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! I ordered the filet and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Love this place! I ordered the filet and it was cooked perfectly and the fries were delicious! The happy hour from 4-6 is really good too! 1/2 price cocktails and wines by the glass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious and they had a very impressive whiskey and cocktail menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in Jackson Hole

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our "big city" group of 4 spent a 4 day weekend in Jackson Hole and enjoyed lunch and dinner at recommended restaurants each day. The Local was our favorite, and the only one we returned to during our stay. Diverse and interesting mostly locally sourced menu with delicious, high quality entrees and wonderful side dishes that worked for the vegetarians and meat eaters. We were served by an engaging bartender our first day in town and returned for dinner based on his excellent service and recommendations. We highly recommend The Local to Jackson Hole visitors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.