About Local Restaurant and Bar

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: (307) 201-1717

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Bar Seating (13)
See All
Hot Spot (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
496 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter was an excellent guy great to tal ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was an excellent guy great to talk to food came at a reasonable pace being we ordered appetizers. Pretty casual place food was out standing would go again if I get the chance

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is our second excellent experience ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

this is our second excellent experience at Local. We had a group of 6. Service could not have been better. Our server was really great. Everyone's food was excellent. The wine list is in line for this level of restaurant. The bar scene is very lively but other parts of the restaurant are much quieter. In a town of over rated places, Local is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charging your customer for a slice of on ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined 6 days ago

Charging your customer for a slice of onion on their hamburger is absurd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, lively atmosphere, wines by t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, lively atmosphere, wines by the glass were short pours and vegetables were over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went to the Local with my dad after skii ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went to the Local with my dad after skiing. They had the best local, grass fed steak and my choice of dipping sauce/glaze. I also had an awesome old fashioned to drink.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, , Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and nice environment

 
 (London)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food and nice environment

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

You have to eat here when in Jackson. Tr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

You have to eat here when in Jackson. Try the Cassandra mixed drink if you like things spicy! Our waitress was fantastic. Food was super yummy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited Local during our trip to Jack ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We visited Local during our trip to Jackson from NC. The service was outstanding and food was great. I had the filet and my girlfriend had the trout. I will absolutely be visiting Local on my next trip to Jackson.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I came here before a da ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My boyfriend and I came here before a dance. It was ok, really loud and hard to talk to each other. We also were right next to a set of cabinets that people kept opening so it was really busy next to us. The food was good, he got the lamb and it was 90% bone. The little lamb that was there was good but there wasn't much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, appetizers

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food, appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

A & B loved the place ! It was a lively ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A & B loved the place ! It was a lively Jackson Hole hot spot for fine dining after a long day of skiing . The atmosphere was lively , the staff was attentive and the food was great. We had a good time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best place to eat in Jackson. The food i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best place to eat in Jackson. The food is all locally sourced, service is great and fantastic location. Good for a date, family dinner or group of friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local spot...recommended by a frie ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great local spot...recommended by a friend for the steaks. Was not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Local is great. Delicious food and great ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Local is great. Delicious food and great service (not easy to find in a Jackson) consistently. Fun bar scene as well. Tables are close together, so there's not much privacy, but the food makes up for it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food! Great atmosphere! A little ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! A little loud, but only added to the fun vibe. Don't go if you want a quiet dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You cannot order burgers if seated for d ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

You cannot order burgers if seated for dinner. You must sit at the bar or at a small room just off the bar with tables. That area fills very fast. The dinner area was pretty sparse. I think they should just change their burger policy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service in a restaurant w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and service in a restaurant with ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had really good experience in Local, ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had really good experience in Local, food was tasty, especially steak and mushroom sauce. Service was excellent, everything on the time, even earlier than expected. Staff is well organized and they are doing wonderful. Thanks!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, lively spot in downtown Jackson. Ex ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fun, lively spot in downtown Jackson. Excellent service although the hostess had an attitude...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My favorite place when visiting Jackson. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My favorite place when visiting Jackson. There are several choices in town for steak, however this place is on point every time.

Tags: Happy Hour, , Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful evening! Our server Ch ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Such a wonderful evening! Our server Chris was great and the food was all amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had one night in town. Excellent servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had one night in town. Excellent service, enjoyed the well crafted salad. Entire meal was excellent. Would definately go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just simply liked this place. Beer samp ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Just simply liked this place. Beer sampler nice selection and great value. Wasn't real hungry so got cauliflower soup and beer salad. Bread served was perfect to dip into creamy soup. Beet salad was small but good. Son loved the beef and pork ragu. I'd go back to try a steak when I'm hungrier....neighbors food looked good !😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed they took off the vegetaria ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Disappointed they took off the vegetarian lasagna as its replacement was not nearly as good. It was also disappointing to have been placed right by the kitchen door considering how many times I have been there over the past couple of years. Frankly speaking it was my favorite restaurant in town but I think I will take a break for awhile and explore / revisit some other restaurants...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

A very good experience. I inadvertently ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A very good experience. I inadvertently made an on line reservation FOR THE WRONG DAY. I arrived at the obviously fully booked restaurant & was treated courteously & they found a table for my son & I. Food & Service were excellent. Really nice people, really nice place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love coming to this gem year after ye ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We love coming to this gem year after year. The food is prepared with great quality and service is always friendly and unobtrusive. We will continue to return whenever we are in town.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

What a wonderful meal! The ingredients ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

What a wonderful meal! The ingredients were local (as the name suggests), there was a large variety, the staff was very nice, and the drink menu was very diverse! The brussel sprouts are amazing and my husband got the trout and loved it. Moreover, the waitress knew we were on our honeymoon so she served us creme brulee for free, which was fantastic! Definitely great for a special occasion and no need to dress up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved our meal at the Local! ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Absolutely loved our meal at the Local! Excellent service, the food was amazing (we had oysters, bison tartare and steaks with sides and all were exceptional. Get fois gras on your steak if you're feeling fancy.) Great cocktail and whiskey selection. And at the end of the night when our bill came it was less than we were expecting for a meal of that quality so that's always a pleasant surprise. Definitely our favorite dining experience in Jackson!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! Service was horrible ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was fantastic! Service was horrible. We had the crab legs special and asked for wet wipes (every place I've eaten crab they've provided them) and was told by our server they don't have any because they normally don't have crab on their menu. That answer would have been fine, except crab is on their menu all the time. Server rarely checked on us and was not friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

Always very good, excellent service and ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always very good, excellent service and interesting choices by the Chef.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was average, had to send side back ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was average, had to send side back because it wasn't cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Great restaurant with a gorgeous view of ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great restaurant with a gorgeous view of the town square.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and vibe but children's menu i ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food and vibe but children's menu is the worst I have seen at comparable quality restaurants...how about even offering a small steak or something which is a house specialty ?...think only hot dog, hamburger and al dente pasta (FYI kids don't like it al dente)...on wine pours (my pet peeve) they look good but glass is a bit narrow so volume is on the light side

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

First time at Local and we loved our exp ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 28, 2016

First time at Local and we loved our experience. The restaurant is cozy, food was wonderful and service was outstanding (thanks Ben!). We were lucky to have our table in one of the side rooms with lower ceilings, as the noise in the bar area can get quite loud. The specialty drinks were creative, but the wine list was limited. That being said, what was on the list was quite good, so all good int he end. Local will be on the list during our next trip out to Jackson.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Christmas prix fixe menu was $85 per ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The Christmas prix fixe menu was $85 per person for 3 mediocre courses, my duck breast was as tough as rubber and the bread pudding was luke warm/cold in spots. Total rip off. On top of that for a restaurant called "local" the only thing local on their menu was the sparkling water that was from WY.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Love this place, although last time we w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place, although last time we were there it was quite cold, particularly at floor level.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was poor- probably because it was t ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was poor- probably because it was the holidays. One meal was almost inedible because it was oversalted. Crab claws were small and old. Local is not a restaurant in JH I would spend too much time in. Too many other better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Are part time residents of JH and come h ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Are part time residents of JH and come here often. We asked for a window table. And while I understand that's not always doable we were seated right outside the kitchen and bus area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Amazing Ragu!!!! Spicy Margarita was gre ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing Ragu!!!! Spicy Margarita was great too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal! Salmon, scallops and the ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful meal! Salmon, scallops and the bison medallions were fantastic. I must try in Jackson.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.