About Local Restaurant and Bar

55 North Cache St.
Jackson Hole, WY 83001
View Larger Map

Local is a modern American steakhouse and bar located on Jackson’s historic Town Square. The menu features both classic and specialty cuts of locally ranched meats and wild game alongside fresh seafood and shellfish, custom house ground burgers and seasonally inspired food. Owned and operated by Chefs Will Bradof and Paul Wireman of Trio, An American Bistro, Local showcases their passion for in-house butchery, with a focus on dry aged steaks, house-made sausages, an extensive wine list and an abundance of locally sourced products. Local offers a casual and vibrant bar atmosphere with over 12 local beers on tap as well as a relaxed dining room with contemporary western design. Local is the perfect spot to grab a burger for lunch or drinks and dinner with friend, all while you sit and watch the action on the Town Square.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily 11:30 - 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Happy Hour: Daily 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Bar Menu: 2:30pm to close

Cross Street:
Between Broadway and Deloney

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 201-1717

Website:
http://www.localjh.com/

Catering:
We cater small private dinner parties to large events, please visit our catering & event tab on our website for more information regarding catering.

Parking Details:
There is plenty of on-street parking surrounding Jackson's Town Square.

Public Transit:
Jackson's S.T.A.R.T. bus stops across the street. (Town Square stop)

Executive Chef:
Will Bradof and Paul Wireman

Private Party Facilities:
Our Private Dining Room is available for seated dinners up to 30 or cocktail parties for 40. The view from the dining room overlooks the antler arches on Jackson’s Town Square.

We also have private and semi-private dining available for parties up to 100.

Private Party Contact:
Laken Rush: 3072011717x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host everything from corporate events to family reunions. Please contact our Events Director, Laken Rush, at laken@localjh.com with any questions.

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $85.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $85.00

Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $85.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Saturday Dec 31, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Local will be serving a special prix fixe Christmas Dinner for $85 per person.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Trio will be serving an $85 per person pre fixe menu only on NYE. A credit card is required for all reservations.

Local Restaurant and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Most Booked
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Jackson ›

Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little loud upon our arrival at 7pm, b ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A little loud upon our arrival at 7pm, but quieted down as the evening went on. Our server and the hostesses were very helpful and accommodating- they found a good seat for my elderly grandmother and our server (can't remember her name, but she was GREAT!) was able to counsel me on good, non-steak entree options as I was on a limited diet (partially-wired jaw, so soft food only). Wild mushroom rotollo was apparently a new dish that was being tested and MAN was it good. Never had a bad experience here, and I'd recommend this place to anyone who will listen long enough!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Courteous Staff, able to hear conversat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Courteous Staff, able to hear conversation at the table, good location, open on Mondays,

diverse menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Simplicity on a plate: a tarragon compou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Simplicity on a plate: a tarragon compound butter garnished with a steak. If you love tarragon, and have been waiting for a dining experience where you can pay $40 for a plate featuring a luxurious, redolent exploration of Tarragon and nothing else, you, my friend, have finally found your restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

One of the best meals from sit down to f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 26, 2016

One of the best meals from sit down to finish! Service and food were perfect! I rarely can say that, I would love to go back.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had dinner here. My d ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 18, 2016

My daughter and I had dinner here. My daughter had a filet mignon and I had the salmon. Both were delicious, the service excellent! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great oysters Rockefeller and good servi ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great oysters Rockefeller and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

4th time here in one week - love it so m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

4th time here in one week - love it so much! 3x dinner, once lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate there three times: lunch and twic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We ate there three times: lunch and twice dinner. Food excellent. Place excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

For the first time we had to wait on our ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

For the first time we had to wait on our reservation. There were 3/4's of the tables empty. The service was OK and the food was excellent, but the two hostesses looked confused and not at all organized.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very romantic date night. We were seate ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very romantic date night. We were seated near the bar and just loved the energetic atmosphere but yet felt that we had a romantic night. He had a rare steak (very pink and perfect) and I had the halibut. We ordered 3 side orders. Everything was cooked to perfection. The waitress was a bit standoffish and rolled her eyes at me (can't help if I'm a bit specific when I order). But the dinner was well worth it so we left her a great tip.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice restaurant, waiter was great. Food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Nice restaurant, waiter was great. Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love this place! I think it's all about ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Love this place!

I think it's all about the atmosphere. Very friendly bar scene and comfortable and quiet dining room. Both atmospheres in the same great spot

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is too loud. Everything else ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place is too loud. Everything else was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Local was fabulous on all levels. I wou ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Local was fabulous on all levels. I would recommend for every taste From steaks to fish and dessert A 10

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Started with the wedge. Great version us ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Started with the wedge. Great version using smoked grape tomatoes and fried pork belly. Excellent dressing. Had the Filet Mignon and truffle mashed potato. Filet was seasoned perfectly but cooked a bit longer than expected. The mash potato was marvelous. Would have to say the best I have ever tried. Service was great and enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Foodies have to love this place! Artistr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Foodies have to love this place! Artistry in menu and dish preparation! Such unique spices and flavors in all dishes. Loved the Idaho trout and the duck breast was served to perfection. Espresso at the end of the meal made this a fabulous restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating my parents' 50th ann ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We were celebrating my parents' 50th anniversary. On the reservation we requested a quiet booth. Upon arriving at the restaurant we were promptly seated at a quiet corner booth by the window - just what we'd asked for. The food was delicious - Oysters Rockefeller for a starter; salads and then entrees - buffalo medallions, elk chop, and trout. All were delicious. We concluded the meal with a small sweet treat for my parents, brought over compliments of the manager. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Local when it first opened an ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We went to Local when it first opened and had elk medallions with huckleberry sauce. They were absolutely worth writing home about. However, when we went back this year on our anniversary, we were both disappointed in the meal. It was far from bad, but it was also far from anything to write home about :-(. Disappointing, but good ambiance and decent service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I had never been to Jackson Hole. This ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had never been to Jackson Hole. This restaurant was recommended to us and all 4 of us loved it. From the French onion soup to the wedge salad to the steaks and fish........everything was wonderful! The restaurant itself is very nice, the staff friendly and the service excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we had in Jackson. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

One of the best meals we had in Jackson. After reading reviews we gave it a try and it far exceeded our meal at Snake River Grill the previous night. I had the buffalo medallions and they were expertly prepared -- melted in my mouth. The coffee rub added a unique flavor and paired with the sweet potato puree and huckleberry glaze, it was a taste sensation not to be forgotten. My husband had a steak, and again this was perfectly cooked and packed with flavor. Our appetizers were amazing as well. A definite must when in Jackson!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice dinner. The wait staff seeme ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very nice dinner. The wait staff seemed "less than completely trained," but overall, no big complaints.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have dined at Local many times. It's ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We have dined at Local many times. It's always excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a reservation on a Sat ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My wife and I had a reservation on a Saturday night. Upon arrival we were assigned a table, but we asked to get another one that we liked better. The hostess gave us the other table. Thank you.

Service and food were outstanding. We loved our dinner and we will return during our next stay in the Jackson Hole area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service (Lacy, the ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

great food, great service (Lacy, the server did an outstanding job!)

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience all around, as us ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding experience all around, as usual!

Gets better every time.

Only issue was we had a 5:30 reservations as we had plans after and the hostess has no help getting people seated which was disappointing. Lots of wait staff and other staff running by- they all should have helped out to get the 5:30 reservations seated right away - not 10-15 minutes later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seats were too close together. We we ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The seats were too close together. We were touching arms with the people next to us and it was very uncomfortable. The food was ok but I do not think you get what you pay for. Drinks were not the best either. No pleased

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the evening. Food and service wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Enjoyed the evening. Food and service was good except my husbands steak had to be sent back as too rare and came back a little too charred. The small dining area is intimate and away from noise of the bar. Bar was busy and also enjoyable while we waited for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Local. The f ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is our second visit to Local. The first was 3 years ago and it ranked as one of the most memorable meals. When we knew we would be back in Jackson, we booked a reservation. It didn't disappoint. The food was exceptional. The cocktails were delicious. The ambiance was perfect for a get-together or for a special occasion (which this visit was). Try the brussel sprouts, they are absolutely delicious. And if you're a meat eater you can't go wrong with the burger. But, honestly, everything our table got was top notch. Worth every penny!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were ready for some "finer" dining af ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were ready for some "finer" dining after three weeks in the State Parks; we were not disappointed. This restaurant is a cut above; it deserves its good reputation in Jackson. The menu is varied and it has some creative twists.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My 65th birthday dinner was fantastic! O ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 9, 2016

My 65th birthday dinner was fantastic! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and good.

Thanks for the memorable evening!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My steak salad was decent, but a bit tou ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 8, 2016

My steak salad was decent, but a bit tough. I enjoy a quick lunch, but I wouldn't eat dinner here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Lindsey was the best waitress we've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Lindsey was the best waitress we've had in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like it....but don't love it There are ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I like it....but don't love it

There are other options that are much better

Snake River or Trio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Earlier this week four of us visited Loc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Earlier this week four of us visited Local and had a disappointing experience. We had bison, a ribeye steak, a New York steak, and a burger. The ribeye and the burger were good. The bison as rare instead of medium rare and was somewhat tough. The New York steak was very tough. My wife described it as the toughest steak she had ever had, and I had to help her cut her meat. We told the server about this, and she replied that New York steak is not the most tender cut (no surprise to us). We have had more than a few New York steaks in our live and know that a Filet is a more tender cut. However, I've never had to cut my wife's meat for her. This was a very disappointing response from the server.

For dessert two of us had the flourless chocolate cake and enjoyed it. Another person had the peanut butter pie and described it as good but rich.

This was not a satisfactory dinner for $200 before including any alcoholic beverages. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I had the Lockhart Beef Ragu and my husb ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I had the Lockhart Beef Ragu and my husband had the Seared Buffalo Medallions. It definitely wasn't worth the price. The food lacked flavor. I felt like the staff were trying to rush us out as soon as we sat down. With that being said, the service was fast.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were on vacation and I remember havin ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were on vacation and I remember having a great meal here a few years ago. This time I was there with my husband and knew he would enjoy Local. We had the filet mignon with wild mushrooms and it was probably the best cut of beef we could remember eating. We went again the following night and ordered the same thing and the potato gratin. Amazing again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for a very tasty meal with ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 4, 2016

A great place for a very tasty meal with plenty of options. Nice ambiance, modern with warmth. Service was very attentive. The Elk chop cooked perfectly had no gamy flavor. Sides were interesting and tasteful. Wine list was adequate. A very pleasant place to go in Jackson.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

the Local was recommend by our hotel. Wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

the Local was recommend by our hotel. Walking distance from Hotel.

attentive wait staff.

Food delicious ...intersting choices

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and the service was great. Th ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and the service was great.

The interiour sound level was much greater than I would expect for a fine dining experience.

I will have to say this, during our week in Jackson Hole, "Local" is where we had the best meal and service during our entire vacation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.