About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22kitchenandbar.com/

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (55)
good for groups (37)
neighborhood gem (35)
See All
great for outdoor dining (28)
great for lunch (23)
special occasion (19)
hot spot (16)
great for brunch (15)
romantic (11)
late-night find (11)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (6)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

too pricey

Dined on May 15, 2016

love the ambiance, been several times, food and waitstaff are excellent, only complaint is that prices are too high when compared to other Durham restaurants with similar quality/experience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my daughter there for Duke graduati ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Took my daughter there for Duke graduation. Food was so so to good for brunch. Gravy on biscuits and gravy was good but overly reduced and biscuits were a bit dry. And my over easy eggs were cooked to dryness. I should have sent the eggs back. However my wife's eggs Benedict was excellent. They had several $6 drink specials. That was nice. I very much enjoyed their Bloody Mary. Strangest thing was that they called me three times to confirm my reservation and request a CC number so they could charge me a $20 / person fee if I didn't cancel with adequate lead time. However the women who took my CC info didn't actually know what the cancellation time was... The ironic thing was that for our noon seating they were probably only at 60% capacity. I also thought it strange that they applied an 18% tip for a party of five. I don't think I have ever had that happen. Maybe it is a Durham thing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oh what a brunch!

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a large-group late brunch in celebration of my son's graduation. Our group consisted of foodies, gluten-free zealots, lactose-intolerant (but otherwise tolerant), and a token vegetarian. EVERYONE found a dish that met their needs and EVERYONE found the entire experience DE-licious! They kept the kitchen open for us even though we were initially focused more on celebrating than eating (that is until we got the food). Plus, while we were the last patrons for brunch that day, we never felt rushed. Why a memorable brunch. I'm so glad I chose to host the event at Local 22.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

2nd time here - food was outstanding. Ingredients are fresh, preparation was perfect. I'll be back many more times, I'm sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere!

Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful place with a good location and it's kid friendly too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early Mother's Day lunch

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had an early Mother's Day lunch and enjoyed a lovely day by eating on the porch. Everyone enjoyed the food including a child who is a picky eater. The chef made her a special grilled cheese sandwich. Couldn't have been any better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Dinner!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was delicious; could be a bit noisy for anyone with hearing issues.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect night for patio dining

Dined on May 2, 2016

Noise level much less outdoors. Good options for vegetarians. Very friendly and efficient service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, nice ambiance

Dined on April 24, 2016

A friend and I ate outside last weekend. She had salmon; I had the mushroom flatbread. We each had a glass of Pinot Grigio, and we shared the bread pudding for dessert. The food and wine were good, and it was lovely to sit outside in a relaxing and peaceful environment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved both experiences here. You have ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We loved both experiences here. You have to try the jalapeño hush puppies and grilled wings!! They are the best. The local 22 made burger is one of the best I have had.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

my first two visits were very good, grea ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

my first two visits were very good, great food and excellent service. the third time was horrible. i don't know if it was an off night or if things are actually going downhill in quality. food was mediocre and the service was awful. our server was not polite and seemed to hate her job. pork belly was dry and chicken biscuit sandwich and mushroom risotto were both okay.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Good!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Try whatever hushpuppies they have on special. Awesome cocktails and great wait staff. Specials are always done well. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb flatbread is amazing!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Lamb flatbread is amazing!

food1
ambience2
service3

Our meals were terrible. The salad was ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Our meals were terrible. The salad was so overdressed, it was inedible. My daughter's flat bread was very greasy and tasteless.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love the French Toast!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second brunch visit to Local 22 with our Duke daughters and some of her friends. It was again a great experience and I highly recommend it for wonderful food and atmosphere. Our server this time was a bit inexperienced and forgot to bring one of two bloody Mary's and was a bit awkward but it didn't detract from another great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & ambiance!

Dined on March 12, 2016

A good selection for vegetarians--soup, salad, appetizers, entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

A Little Disappointed

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I've eaten at Local 22 several times before and always loved the both the food and the service. This time I was a little disappointed by the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is fairly good but rather limit ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

The menu is fairly good but rather limited. I would like to see some pasta and tomato based options and more choices.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tee

Dined on February 28, 2016

Nice place to go out with friends. I will go again especially for the duck. The waitress was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Flat Bread Pizza Perfection

Dined on February 27, 2016

While the atmosphere is "crab shack cool" the service is very strong. The reason to go back is the flat bread pizza. Sophisticated without stuffy. Good find!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Bass was prepared with just the right am ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Bass was prepared with just the right amount of spices so that it didn't overpower. Served with amazingly creamy and flavorful polenta. Loved it. Also lovely butternut squash soup.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love it!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Loved the atmosphere, great date night. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. The food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect

Dined on February 14, 2016

We eat at Local 22 every time we are in Durham. It's a casual setting, yet the food is upscale and delicious. The wine selection is lovely. It's great for a large group - and, we love eating at the bar when it's just 2 people .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place! Great atmosphere, delicio ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Awesome place! Great atmosphere, delicious food and very informed and attentive staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The server knew a lot of about the menu ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

The server knew a lot of about the menu and made great recommendations.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best in Durham <3

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Every bite I've had at Local 22 has been super-scrumptious delicious! And that's a lot of bites! It always feels like home--comfy, cozy, great people, lots of smiles.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

I have been to this restaurant a couple of times and I love the atmosphere here! It has this rustic, eclectic vibe that makes you want to hang out there. The food is fabulous - I'm gluten free and I haven't had any issues there. They even have one of the menus labeled with what they can do GF and there's a large variety! The service has been outstanding every time I've come - very attentive and accommodating.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Tried it once

Dined on January 31, 2016

Tried this restaurant during Triangle Restaurant Week, even with reservations we had to wait a few minutes before the table was ready. The table was a window seat, and one of the guests had to sit facing the window, sitting in the way of traffic. The waitress was attentive enough to our drinks staying full, but was not very talkative. We each had a different item for all three courses, and the food arrived quickly. All the food was seasoned well, and we enjoyed the food. The atmosphere was vibrant and to an older crowd, it may seem to be loud, but we did not have any issues with that. I would recommend this restaurant to friends, just not during peak times or special promotions. Overall, good, fresh food, fair wait staff, and lively atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good for Appetizers and drinks

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went Restaurant Week with the pre fix menu. We ordered appetizers from regular menu and really loved the hush puppies and wings. The salads were great too. Our main dish was not hot and serving size was ok. Taste was "good." Brownie was yummy but disappointed with the teaspoon "ala mode" serving of ice cream. Will visit again but probably stick with appetizers and bar drinks. Good beer choices. Waiter was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable of menu and bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Overall, great experience HOWEVER

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was great. We didn't do the restaurant week menu, but split a cheese/ sausage board, mac n' cheese, hush puppies, and oysters. Everything was super delicious. The beer selection was great, didn't try any cocktails. The ambiance was perfect for a Friday night dinner- I saw friends, families, and couples all enjoying the set up. Our waitress was nice enough, nothing terrible or exceptional in the service. Overall, a really nice experience. Except for this one thing that's still bugging me. We had reservations for 7:15, got there closer to 7:25 after getting lost, and waited until 7:40 for a table (which is what I expect when I'm 10 minutes late and it's restaurant week). Some of the earlier diners overstayed the projected time, so there were quite a few of us waiting. Then three, different groups of diners who finished their meal walked through the people waiting and apologized for taking so long to finish their meal and leave (because the hostess told them there were people waiting for that table). No matter how frazzling it can be, it's wildly inappropriate to rush diners out of their table. Then, when we got our table, the hostesses and staff popped their head around the corner every three minutes to see where diners were at in their meal. It got to the point that I decided not to order a second beer and got the check so we could get out of the way. They either need to re-configure their projected timing when making reservations, or do their best to accommodate the people waiting without interrupting the diners. They should not rush out the people who are eating, or in any way make them feel the need to apologize to other diners on the way out. That's 100% a logistics/ staff problem.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Visited during restaurant week and had t ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Visited during restaurant week and had the prix fixe. Food was good but nothing exceptional. I'd like to go back and try the regular menu.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I wanted to like this place

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Went to Local 22 for the second time. First time was shortly after it opened, which didn't go so great. We nursed some cocktails while it seemed our oven baked dinners were kept warm in the oven and arrived dried out and way over done. We chalked it up to their still getting the kinks out. We liked the ambiance and warmth of the place, so after a long time we let it out of the penalty box. I was nearly ecstatic that they played whole albums by The Cure and Depeche Mode back-to-back while I enjoyed a Porter I hadn't tried before that our server recommended. My fellow diners didn't appreciate the alt 80's music much, but I was giddy as a school girl. I went for a smoked trout appetizer and beet salad. The trout was all onion, but the platter was nice overall with various bread samples and a delicious deviled egg served in a tiny pool of grainy mustard. I may never be able to eat deviled eggs without grainy mustard again. The salad was unfortunately not to my taste. I learned that I really don't like green goddess dressing with (a) beets and (b) spinach and maybe (c) at all. The chef also got a little too creative with the croutons. Polenta--I get it--not cornbread, polenta, but it just didn't work. I like polenta, but the texture was just confusing in this salad: not crunchy, just hard and very dense, like little polenta bricks. Every time my teeth caught one, it was alarming, like I bit down on something that wasn't supposed to be there. I still like the ambiance, the warmth, and the drinks, but it's back in the penalty box.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place!

Dined on January 21, 2016

Eaten here several times before Dpac performances. It is consistently great. Service great! It's amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, delicious food

Dined on January 16, 2016

Came here for my birthday, ambiance was relaxed. Our server was extremely attentive and great to talk to. As a group of four we decided to eat family style which was a wonderful idea because all the food was great. I highly recommend this place, it's definitely one of my new favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food but a bit pricey

Dined on January 9, 2016

This was our first time at Local 22 and overall a good experience. The menu was varied but not overwhelming, and as expected a lot of local sourced ingredients. Draft beer selection leaned towards heavy and/or hoppy which is not my palate but there were good bottle options. The tuna taco appetizer was quite good and could be a meal, especially if you got a side or a soup. My friend got the swordfish special which was very tasty, well pre-pared and a nice piece of fish for the cost ($24). I got the other special which was a breaded pork chop over grits and green beans with gravy. The chop was tasty but small and $25 was a lot for what you got.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on January 9, 2016

We had a good experience with all aspects of our visit. Seating was prompt, the drink and appetizer recommendations were perfect. Most of our group had been to Local 22 previously, so we knew it would be great, and the first-timers were very impressed. Our entrees arrived with perfect timing, just as ordered. Desserts were shared around the table with not a bite remaining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great locally sourced food

Dined on January 3, 2016

Really glad we splurged on the board of smoked foods, it was amazing. The friend Brussels sprouts were so good I ate them all myself. Unfortunately the scallops had no flavor and plenty of sand, but husband's burger was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service1

Need to train the staff food below aver ...

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

Need to train the staff food below average. Disappointing

food3
ambience3
service2

Food not up to par, service disappointing

Dined on November 16, 2015

I dined at Local 22 Kitchen and bar Sunday November 16 with my boyfriend. We ordered two appetizers, the mac n'cheese and the pork belly, which were tasty enough. Everything went fine until the entrees came out. My boyfriend had ordered the steak fries and I had gotten the beet salad with added steak. However, my server mistakenly though I had requested a 'steak knife' with my salad instead of actual steak. He quickly left to go put the steak addition in, only to have to come back and ask what temperature I wanted it cooked (medium rare). Several minutes later, I receive a small plate of 4 unappealing 'chunks' of well done steak sitting in pink water juices. That, with the bland and unexciting beet salad, made me lose my appetite. Additionally, my server didn't check on us to refill drinks or water unless we asked. Ultimately, I was disappointed in the night because the menu and atmosphere looked exciting but overall fell short of expectations. Would not dine again.

Tags: late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Cured salmon flatbread was perfect balan ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Cured salmon flatbread was perfect balance of savory, salty, and creamy flavors.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.