About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22kitchenandbar.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
See All
Good for Groups (30)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Romantic (4)
Sort By:
Newest
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Interesting food, well done for the most ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting food, well done for the most part. The salads were well done. The hush puppies and pimiento cheese a little overwrought. The prices were in line for the most part. The AC issue seemed ongoing but it was not so warm to upset our dining. good beer selection. Attentive waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice casual restaurant here. The servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice casual restaurant here. The service was fine; the food, mixed. The Greek salad was excellent as was the cold soup. The tile fish was excellent, but the baked trout was dried out and the lamb was overcooked. This is an interesting locavore restaurant. I think we'll be back, but it's not first on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was pretty good, the service wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was pretty good, the service was poor and the restaurant was uncomfortably hot. The manager's response was, "Yeah, that's the landlord's fault. There's nothing we can do about it."

I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is always a pleasant occasion. My wife and I enjoy it and return there frequently. Recently, we've noticed a troubling lack of sensitivity to gluten-related issues. My wife suffers from gluten-sensitivity and we noticed on our last visit to Local 22 that even the fingerling potatoes had been dredged in flour. This is totally unnecessary and retrograde. All gluten-sensitive and celiac persons are *strongly* advised to ask the wait staff if a particular item is gluten-free before ordering it. Too many restaurants have become cavalier on this issue. Local 22 was going in the right direction until they had a change of staff. The new people seem a bit clueless. Buyer beware.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate outside... lovely night... Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We ate outside... lovely night... Food was outstanding.. the best Caesar salad ever...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal at Local 22. Everyth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a great meal at Local 22. Everything was really delicious and fresh. Although it's in a strip mall, the ambiance is really quite nice, and there is a range of cuisine (healthy to comfort food). It is a little expensive so it's not for every night, but would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

More casual and affordable alternative t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

More casual and affordable alternative to nearby Parizade

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent. I called ahead and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was excellent. I called ahead and let them know we were celebrating my son's and granddaughter's birthdays (they were in town from England)--it was a nonevent from their point of view. There was absolutely no acknowledgement. Therefore, I don't recommend it for a special event but is great if just looking for good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A great local find. The service was atte ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great local find. The service was attentive (no delays whatsoever). The Jalapeno hush puppies in that cheese sauce was great (also not hot - chemically even w/ the jalapenos). The Local 22 Burger - a must try. The beer selection is mostly local (to North Carolina); which I enjoyed seeing supporting local breweries. But the chocolate chip bread pudding knocked the visit out of the park. Not too dense or too heavy - just right for a well made bread pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scall ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scallop entree. Both were ok. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fun and original cocktails at this resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fun and original cocktails at this restaurant. Interesting food. We had an awesome sharable brussell sprout dish to die for. Recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable Meal at Local 22 We went to L ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyable Meal at Local 22

We went to Local 22 with two friends who had never been there. All our meals were good, and our friends were happy we had introduced them to Local 22 . I had one of the salads with scallops on top. The scallops were cooked perfectly, which I know can be difficult to do, and very tasty. I appreciated that scallops were a salad topping option as they usually are not. We shared fried Brussel sprouts as an appetizer, and they were quite good. Local 22 is a great option when looking for a low-key place with good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu is broad and had far more interesting items than we were able to order, a good thing. We had the prosciutto/apple flatbread, the Brussels sprouts and the charcuterie board. Everything was just great. Our server was very good too, but seemed spread a bit thin (maybe someone else didn't show up for work?) All in all a place where we'll definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Seemed more average than on previous vis ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Seemed more average than on previous visits in both food and service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro so ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro sort of restaurant. One can come casual and feel they are in a special place or dress up a bit and feel special as well. The food never disappoints. The menu is friendly in its familiarity, but always gives up a taste surprise in presentation and enjoyment. Nice to find in an"simple" restaurant with "sophistication" not far behind.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was not as good as usual and the se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was not as good as usual and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar.... ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar......... an excellent selection of Bourbon's. Real good wine list. Menu is not extensive, but it has all the bases covered (steak, fish, vegan, scallops, chicken). Server was good, answered our questions completely. We'll go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Exceptional all around experience as al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional all around experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As usual, the food was very good, as was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, the food was very good, as was the service...until it wasn't. At some point, the waitstaff stopped checking on us. It wasn't for lack of staff or that they were too busy; they just kept wandering past, and I've been used to better service here. I'll be back again, but this visit was a little disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant is consistently deliciou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is consistently delicious. Had the scallops - cooked to perfection and Dad had the lamb chops. Outstanding! Love Local 22.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience and I will definitely g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great experience and I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brunch was terrific. Menu had plenty to choose from . EXCELLENT escape from hum drum dining!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great lunch during ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My family and I had a great lunch during triangle restauirant week and clebrating a birthday. The service was excellent and the food was good. The only downside to the restaurant is the chairs for the outdoor seating were very hard and uncomfortable. If the idea is to keep people moving in and out, this was accomplished by the chairs. I recommend cushions or softer chairs for outside. Other than that everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and loved it. We hope to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with a big group and we all loved it!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall experience was very good. They only thing I would say is that brunch is only served on Sunday. I didn't know that when I made the Saturday reservation. Really great place, in spite of the fact that we were expecting eggs & pancakes! Amazing salads and all ingredients we very "fresh" as advertised. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and wine were wonderful. The se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and wine were wonderful. The service was a little slow and frustrating. Overall, it was a positive dining experience. I would recommend Local 22 to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Should have been better

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great service, but mediocre food. Not the usual experience at Local 22 with its fabulous lamb burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

First time to Local 22 Kitchen for my wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First time to Local 22 Kitchen for my wife and I. The outdoor seating was really nice. The service was exceptional, very attentive to us...as if we were important to them.

The food was excellent as well. We had pork tenderloin and snapper. Both were cooked just right, very tender and juicy, and flavor and seasonings were perfect. We very much enjoyed our dinner from all aspects. The locaton is really nice as well. We were not that familiar with the area, but went walking after dinner. The surrounding few blocks is thriving with restaurants, cafe's shops, etc. Overall, very pleasant experience and we'll look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was Restaurant week so I ordered 3 co ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was Restaurant week so I ordered 3 course menu which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good place

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I really enjoyed this place, some of the food was good, but most of it wasnt bad. The food just lack a bit of taste of what we expected with similar resturants. The fish was really well done and fresh, but the sauce that went with it was bland for a red pepper sauce. The best thing were hushpuppies they offered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Was in attendance for Triangle Restaurant Week.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Was not worth the money that was paid. Prefix menu to entice people to come into your restaurant. It was clear, they cut their portion sizes in half. Hummus appetizer was a teaspoon of Hummus and 5 nacho chips. The food lacked seasoning, salt, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food, but slow service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

First, let me say the hush puppies were delicious and so was the cheesecake I had for dessert (and my friend's chocolate lava cake). The chicken and pasta I had was good (but not spectacular). Additionally, I had guac and chips for my appetizer, and I was literally given 6.5 tortilla chips (I counted them). Lastly, my server was super nice, but we asked for water refills 3 times before he brought it...and it was hot that day. Overall the restaurant was nice though, and the portions were good. It's also in a great location with provided parking, so I will probably come back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great service and food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were delighted with our server, who was not only efficient, but had a lovely demeanor and we enjoyed talking with both her and the manager. They also very kindly offered us a complimentary dessert upon learning of our birthday celebration! I was happy that I chose Local 22 for my guests visiting from Philly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too pricey

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

love the ambiance, been several times, food and waitstaff are excellent, only complaint is that prices are too high when compared to other Durham restaurants with similar quality/experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my daughter there for Duke graduati ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Took my daughter there for Duke graduation. Food was so so to good for brunch. Gravy on biscuits and gravy was good but overly reduced and biscuits were a bit dry. And my over easy eggs were cooked to dryness. I should have sent the eggs back. However my wife's eggs Benedict was excellent. They had several $6 drink specials. That was nice. I very much enjoyed their Bloody Mary.

Strangest thing was that they called me three times to confirm my reservation and request a CC number so they could charge me a $20 / person fee if I didn't cancel with adequate lead time. However the women who took my CC info didn't actually know what the cancellation time was... The ironic thing was that for our noon seating they were probably only at 60% capacity.

I also thought it strange that they applied an 18% tip for a party of five. I don't think I have ever had that happen. Maybe it is a Durham thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Oh what a brunch!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a large-group late brunch in celebration of my son's graduation. Our group consisted of foodies, gluten-free zealots, lactose-intolerant (but otherwise tolerant), and a token vegetarian. EVERYONE found a dish that met their needs and EVERYONE found the entire experience DE-licious! They kept the kitchen open for us even though we were initially focused more on celebrating than eating (that is until we got the food). Plus, while we were the last patrons for brunch that day, we never felt rushed.

Why a memorable brunch. I'm so glad I chose to host the event at Local 22.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

2nd time here - food was outstanding. Ingredients are fresh, preparation was perfect. I'll be back many more times, I'm sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful place with a good location and it's kid friendly too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Early Mother's Day lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had an early Mother's Day lunch and enjoyed a lovely day by eating on the porch. Everyone enjoyed the food including a child who is a picky eater. The chef made her a special grilled cheese sandwich. Couldn't have been any better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was delicious; could be a bit noisy for anyone with hearing issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.