About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22kitchenandbar.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (4)
Romantic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely place to share plates and catch u ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely place to share plates and catch up with your Duke student and friends! We had a waiter named Dieo ( so?). Attentive, entertaining and informative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for a friend's get together. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place for a friend's get together. We came in as a party of 7 for drinks and desserts in honor of a friend who is moving away. Loved the atmosphere, drink menu, desserts. Great vibe. Everyone had a good time. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. We will return again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason we had never visited thi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

For some reason we had never visited this great restaurant but we are certainly glad that we did! Personal attention and friendly staff (Oz!) made it feel so comfortable and relaxed. Meeting the chef was an extra bonus. Most importantly, the food was excellent and fit our tastes: creative but not overdone with so many ingredients the flavors are obscured. Colorful plates, flavorful tastes and a sense of classy comfort in the offerings.

Can't wait to try brunch there and to do one of their beer-tasting dinners! We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

After a brief initial service delay, thi ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

After a brief initial service delay, thing got going in the right direction very quickly. Really good food. The deviled eggs are OMG good! Added the lamb sausage to butternut squash risotto, delish, and the beet salad w/ goat cheese was well topped with a generous portion of salmon. Once it was decide who would serve our table, the server was friendly, attentive and accommodating to our need to rush off to the airport. If you're ever in Durham and/or like deviled eggs, try Local 22!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First visit to this place and we loved i ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

First visit to this place and we loved it. Daio, our very capable and affable server, was fantastic. His recommendations were spot on. Had the snapper special and the trout, which were wonderful. Beet salad to die for. Loved the ambiance. Good for groups or even singles (bar service). A TV for those so inclined at the bar. Lots of craft brews and a very nice and concise wine list with good pricing by the glass. Will return, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food from the interesting, diverse m ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our food from the interesting, diverse menu was good if not great, and cocktails and beer list were excellent. We were very disappointed in our service, however. Our waiter was clearly not happy to be working on a Friday around 5:00, and his interest in our experience was cursory at best until the last 10 minutes or so of our meal. Also made a condescending comment or two which seemed unnecessary at best. Worth checking out, but they'd not get another chance from me if service didn't improve on a return visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Pleasantly surprised. Good service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Good service and great food. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for an Anniversary Brunch with ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went here for an Anniversary Brunch with my wife. The decor reminded me of an old country store and it was very relaxed. The wait staff was polite and prompt and the food was great. My only criticism would be is that it sits back in a corner hidden. Even with GPS we had a difficult time finding it. Fortunately we called and one of the staff was kind enough to step outsife and wave us in.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food, casual atmosphere, great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious food, casual atmosphere, great service, putside seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love love love this farm to table menu! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love love love this farm to table menu! We were there on a Sunday for brunch and we will be back when we are in Durham again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We liked most of the food, which was cre ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We liked most of the food, which was creative and interesting. would unquestionably come back. If I give 4.5 stars, I would.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dropped our son off at Duke earli ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dropped our son off at Duke earlier that day, and we noticed Local 22 just across from our hotel. The restaurant looked adorable, so we checked reviews and booked a table. Wow - it was fantastic. They have a nice wine and drink menu, so I had a glass of French white wine to start. Then for dinner we enjoyed a variety of local, seasonal vegetables. They served an amazing grilled okra with a lemon butter sauce. I also had charred brussel sprouts and heirloom tomatoes. Local 22 has a flexible menu and allowed me to add grilled salmon to the tomato salad. The salmon was served in slices, almost like chicken is served. I was wonderful. My husband had a hamburger, and he was very happy too. They serve dessert in mason jars, so we shared a chocolate one. The service was relaxed, but we never had to wait. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Durham had many great restaurants to try, but I definitely plan to eat at Local 22 again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for our food took at least an h ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The wait for our food took at least an hour and then my lamb was over-cooked TWICE. At least they comped it, but still wasn't worth it at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our food was really tasty, and made with ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our food was really tasty, and made with quality ingredients. Our service was mediocre, and the staff seemed quite overwhelmed with the guests there. I'm not sure if it was an unusually busy night or if they were just short staffed.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting food, well done for the most ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Interesting food, well done for the most part. The salads were well done. The hush puppies and pimiento cheese a little overwrought. The prices were in line for the most part. The AC issue seemed ongoing but it was not so warm to upset our dining. good beer selection. Attentive waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although the staff and atmosphere remain ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although the staff and atmosphere remain great, the new menu has taken away our favorite dishes (please bring back the old Brussels sprouts). We will try the new menu again, but right now we are disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice casual restaurant here. The servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice casual restaurant here. The service was fine; the food, mixed. The Greek salad was excellent as was the cold soup. The tile fish was excellent, but the baked trout was dried out and the lamb was overcooked. This is an interesting locavore restaurant. I think we'll be back, but it's not first on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was pretty good, the service wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was pretty good, the service was poor and the restaurant was uncomfortably hot. The manager's response was, "Yeah, that's the landlord's fault. There's nothing we can do about it."

I won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is always a pleasant occasion. My wife and I enjoy it and return there frequently. Recently, we've noticed a troubling lack of sensitivity to gluten-related issues. My wife suffers from gluten-sensitivity and we noticed on our last visit to Local 22 that even the fingerling potatoes had been dredged in flour. This is totally unnecessary and retrograde. All gluten-sensitive and celiac persons are *strongly* advised to ask the wait staff if a particular item is gluten-free before ordering it. Too many restaurants have become cavalier on this issue. Local 22 was going in the right direction until they had a change of staff. The new people seem a bit clueless. Buyer beware.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate outside... lovely night... Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We ate outside... lovely night... Food was outstanding.. the best Caesar salad ever...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal at Local 22. Everyth ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a great meal at Local 22. Everything was really delicious and fresh. Although it's in a strip mall, the ambiance is really quite nice, and there is a range of cuisine (healthy to comfort food). It is a little expensive so it's not for every night, but would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

More casual and affordable alternative t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

More casual and affordable alternative to nearby Parizade

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was excellent. I called ahead and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was excellent. I called ahead and let them know we were celebrating my son's and granddaughter's birthdays (they were in town from England)--it was a nonevent from their point of view. There was absolutely no acknowledgement. Therefore, I don't recommend it for a special event but is great if just looking for good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A great local find. The service was atte ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A great local find. The service was attentive (no delays whatsoever). The Jalapeno hush puppies in that cheese sauce was great (also not hot - chemically even w/ the jalapenos). The Local 22 Burger - a must try. The beer selection is mostly local (to North Carolina); which I enjoyed seeing supporting local breweries. But the chocolate chip bread pudding knocked the visit out of the park. Not too dense or too heavy - just right for a well made bread pudding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scall ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scallop entree. Both were ok. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fun and original cocktails at this resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fun and original cocktails at this restaurant. Interesting food. We had an awesome sharable brussell sprout dish to die for. Recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable Meal at Local 22 We went to L ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Enjoyable Meal at Local 22

We went to Local 22 with two friends who had never been there. All our meals were good, and our friends were happy we had introduced them to Local 22 . I had one of the salads with scallops on top. The scallops were cooked perfectly, which I know can be difficult to do, and very tasty. I appreciated that scallops were a salad topping option as they usually are not. We shared fried Brussel sprouts as an appetizer, and they were quite good. Local 22 is a great option when looking for a low-key place with good food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu is broad and had far more interesting items than we were able to order, a good thing. We had the prosciutto/apple flatbread, the Brussels sprouts and the charcuterie board. Everything was just great. Our server was very good too, but seemed spread a bit thin (maybe someone else didn't show up for work?) All in all a place where we'll definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Seemed more average than on previous vis ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Seemed more average than on previous visits in both food and service

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro so ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro sort of restaurant. One can come casual and feel they are in a special place or dress up a bit and feel special as well. The food never disappoints. The menu is friendly in its familiarity, but always gives up a taste surprise in presentation and enjoyment. Nice to find in an"simple" restaurant with "sophistication" not far behind.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was not as good as usual and the se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was not as good as usual and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar.... ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar......... an excellent selection of Bourbon's. Real good wine list. Menu is not extensive, but it has all the bases covered (steak, fish, vegan, scallops, chicken). Server was good, answered our questions completely. We'll go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Exceptional all around experience as al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional all around experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As usual, the food was very good, as was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, the food was very good, as was the service...until it wasn't. At some point, the waitstaff stopped checking on us. It wasn't for lack of staff or that they were too busy; they just kept wandering past, and I've been used to better service here. I'll be back again, but this visit was a little disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant is consistently deliciou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is consistently delicious. Had the scallops - cooked to perfection and Dad had the lamb chops. Outstanding! Love Local 22.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience and I will definitely g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great experience and I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brunch was terrific. Menu had plenty to choose from . EXCELLENT escape from hum drum dining!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great lunch during ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My family and I had a great lunch during triangle restauirant week and clebrating a birthday. The service was excellent and the food was good. The only downside to the restaurant is the chairs for the outdoor seating were very hard and uncomfortable. If the idea is to keep people moving in and out, this was accomplished by the chairs. I recommend cushions or softer chairs for outside. Other than that everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and loved it. We hope to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with a big group and we all loved it!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall experience was very good. They only thing I would say is that brunch is only served on Sunday. I didn't know that when I made the Saturday reservation. Really great place, in spite of the fact that we were expecting eggs & pancakes! Amazing salads and all ingredients we very "fresh" as advertised. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.