About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22kitchenandbar.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

fit for foodies (39)
great for outdoor dining (39)
neighborhood gem (30)
See All
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (16)
special occasion (16)
great for brunch (12)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
romantic (3)
Sort By:
Newest
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great local find. The service was atte ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

A great local find. The service was attentive (no delays whatsoever). The Jalapeno hush puppies in that cheese sauce was great (also not hot - chemically even w/ the jalapenos). The Local 22 Burger - a must try. The beer selection is mostly local (to North Carolina); which I enjoyed seeing supporting local breweries. But the chocolate chip bread pudding knocked the visit out of the park. Not too dense or too heavy - just right for a well made bread pudding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scall ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had the shrimp appetizer and the scallop entree. Both were ok. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Fun and original cocktails at this resta ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Fun and original cocktails at this restaurant. Interesting food. We had an awesome sharable brussell sprout dish to die for. Recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a really nice dinner here. The menu is broad and had far more interesting items than we were able to order, a good thing. We had the prosciutto/apple flatbread, the Brussels sprouts and the charcuterie board. Everything was just great. Our server was very good too, but seemed spread a bit thin (maybe someone else didn't show up for work?) All in all a place where we'll definitely return!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Seemed more average than on previous vis ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Seemed more average than on previous visits in both food and service

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro so ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great ambiance and charm for a bistro sort of restaurant. One can come casual and feel they are in a special place or dress up a bit and feel special as well. The food never disappoints. The menu is friendly in its familiarity, but always gives up a taste surprise in presentation and enjoyment. Nice to find in an"simple" restaurant with "sophistication" not far behind.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was not as good as usual and the se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was not as good as usual and the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar.... ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice place. A VERY well-stocked bar......... an excellent selection of Bourbon's. Real good wine list. Menu is not extensive, but it has all the bases covered (steak, fish, vegan, scallops, chicken). Server was good, answered our questions completely. We'll go back.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Exceptional all around experience as al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional all around experience as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As usual, the food was very good, as was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As usual, the food was very good, as was the service...until it wasn't. At some point, the waitstaff stopped checking on us. It wasn't for lack of staff or that they were too busy; they just kept wandering past, and I've been used to better service here. I'll be back again, but this visit was a little disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This restaurant is consistently deliciou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This restaurant is consistently delicious. Had the scallops - cooked to perfection and Dad had the lamb chops. Outstanding! Love Local 22.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience and I will definitely g ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great experience and I will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A delightful stopfor Sunday meals! Brunch was terrific. Menu had plenty to choose from . EXCELLENT escape from hum drum dining!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great lunch during ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

My family and I had a great lunch during triangle restauirant week and clebrating a birthday. The service was excellent and the food was good. The only downside to the restaurant is the chairs for the outdoor seating were very hard and uncomfortable. If the idea is to keep people moving in and out, this was accomplished by the chairs. I recommend cushions or softer chairs for outside. Other than that everything else was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We came for restaurant week (lunch) and loved it. We hope to return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with a big group and we all loved it!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Overall experience was very good. They only thing I would say is that brunch is only served on Sunday. I didn't know that when I made the Saturday reservation. Really great place, in spite of the fact that we were expecting eggs & pancakes! Amazing salads and all ingredients we very "fresh" as advertised. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and wine were wonderful. The se ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food and wine were wonderful. The service was a little slow and frustrating. Overall, it was a positive dining experience. I would recommend Local 22 to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Should have been better

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great service, but mediocre food. Not the usual experience at Local 22 with its fabulous lamb burgers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

First time to Local 22 Kitchen for my wi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

First time to Local 22 Kitchen for my wife and I. The outdoor seating was really nice. The service was exceptional, very attentive to us...as if we were important to them.

The food was excellent as well. We had pork tenderloin and snapper. Both were cooked just right, very tender and juicy, and flavor and seasonings were perfect. We very much enjoyed our dinner from all aspects. The locaton is really nice as well. We were not that familiar with the area, but went walking after dinner. The surrounding few blocks is thriving with restaurants, cafe's shops, etc. Overall, very pleasant experience and we'll look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was Restaurant week so I ordered 3 co ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It was Restaurant week so I ordered 3 course menu which was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good place

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I really enjoyed this place, some of the food was good, but most of it wasnt bad. The food just lack a bit of taste of what we expected with similar resturants. The fish was really well done and fresh, but the sauce that went with it was bland for a red pepper sauce. The best thing were hushpuppies they offered.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Was in attendance for Triangle Restaurant Week.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Was not worth the money that was paid. Prefix menu to entice people to come into your restaurant. It was clear, they cut their portion sizes in half. Hummus appetizer was a teaspoon of Hummus and 5 nacho chips. The food lacked seasoning, salt, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Good food, but slow service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

First, let me say the hush puppies were delicious and so was the cheesecake I had for dessert (and my friend's chocolate lava cake). The chicken and pasta I had was good (but not spectacular). Additionally, I had guac and chips for my appetizer, and I was literally given 6.5 tortilla chips (I counted them). Lastly, my server was super nice, but we asked for water refills 3 times before he brought it...and it was hot that day. Overall the restaurant was nice though, and the portions were good. It's also in a great location with provided parking, so I will probably come back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great service and food

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We were delighted with our server, who was not only efficient, but had a lovely demeanor and we enjoyed talking with both her and the manager. They also very kindly offered us a complimentary dessert upon learning of our birthday celebration! I was happy that I chose Local 22 for my guests visiting from Philly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too pricey

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

love the ambiance, been several times, food and waitstaff are excellent, only complaint is that prices are too high when compared to other Durham restaurants with similar quality/experience

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my daughter there for Duke graduati ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Took my daughter there for Duke graduation. Food was so so to good for brunch. Gravy on biscuits and gravy was good but overly reduced and biscuits were a bit dry. And my over easy eggs were cooked to dryness. I should have sent the eggs back. However my wife's eggs Benedict was excellent. They had several $6 drink specials. That was nice. I very much enjoyed their Bloody Mary.

Strangest thing was that they called me three times to confirm my reservation and request a CC number so they could charge me a $20 / person fee if I didn't cancel with adequate lead time. However the women who took my CC info didn't actually know what the cancellation time was... The ironic thing was that for our noon seating they were probably only at 60% capacity.

I also thought it strange that they applied an 18% tip for a party of five. I don't think I have ever had that happen. Maybe it is a Durham thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Oh what a brunch!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a large-group late brunch in celebration of my son's graduation. Our group consisted of foodies, gluten-free zealots, lactose-intolerant (but otherwise tolerant), and a token vegetarian. EVERYONE found a dish that met their needs and EVERYONE found the entire experience DE-licious! They kept the kitchen open for us even though we were initially focused more on celebrating than eating (that is until we got the food). Plus, while we were the last patrons for brunch that day, we never felt rushed.

Why a memorable brunch. I'm so glad I chose to host the event at Local 22.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

2nd time here - food was outstanding. Ingredients are fresh, preparation was perfect. I'll be back many more times, I'm sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful place with a good location and it's kid friendly too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Early Mother's Day lunch

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had an early Mother's Day lunch and enjoyed a lovely day by eating on the porch. Everyone enjoyed the food including a child who is a picky eater. The chef made her a special grilled cheese sandwich. Couldn't have been any better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Dinner!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was delicious; could be a bit noisy for anyone with hearing issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

perfect night for patio dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Noise level much less outdoors. Good options for vegetarians. Very friendly and efficient service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, nice ambiance

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A friend and I ate outside last weekend. She had salmon; I had the mushroom flatbread. We each had a glass of Pinot Grigio, and we shared the bread pudding for dessert. The food and wine were good, and it was lovely to sit outside in a relaxing and peaceful environment.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved both experiences here. You have ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We loved both experiences here. You have to try the jalapeño hush puppies and grilled wings!! They are the best. The local 22 made burger is one of the best I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

my first two visits were very good, grea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

my first two visits were very good, great food and excellent service. the third time was horrible. i don't know if it was an off night or if things are actually going downhill in quality. food was mediocre and the service was awful. our server was not polite and seemed to hate her job. pork belly was dry and chicken biscuit sandwich and mushroom risotto were both okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Always Good!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Try whatever hushpuppies they have on special. Awesome cocktails and great wait staff. Specials are always done well. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lamb flatbread is amazing!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Lamb flatbread is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meals were terrible. The salad was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Our meals were terrible. The salad was so overdressed, it was inedible. My daughter's flat bread was very greasy and tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Love the French Toast!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our second brunch visit to Local 22 with our Duke daughters and some of her friends. It was again a great experience and I highly recommend it for wonderful food and atmosphere.

Our server this time was a bit inexperienced and forgot to bring one of two bloody Mary's and was a bit awkward but it didn't detract from another great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food & ambiance!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

A good selection for vegetarians--soup, salad, appetizers, entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.