About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday: 11 am - 11 pm
Friday: 11 am - 12 am
Saturday: 11 am - 12 am
Sunday: 11 am - 10 pm

Cross Street:
9th st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22durham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Blues guitar EVERY Thursday from 6 to 9 pm
DJ Late Nights from 11pm to 1pm

Catering:
Please call and ask for Jesse for any Catering needs
(919) 286-9755

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking in Erwin Square.
If you need directions please give us a call
(919) 286-9755

Executive Chef:
Yanni

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your reservations NOW for Graduation Weekend!!!

Restaurant Photos

  • Bar - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Flatbread - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Smoked Jalapeno Hushpuppies - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Locally Sourced Coffee From Joe Van Gogh - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Bar - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Flatbread - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Smoked Jalapeno Hushpuppies - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Locally Sourced Coffee From Joe Van Gogh - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Best Restaurants in Durham ›

Local Ingredients (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Casual (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fun (8)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
288 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

So glad we happened to find this restaur ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

So glad we happened to find this restaurant. The local ingredients were highlighted. The craft cocktail known as Hulk Smash was awesome, as were the veggies (can be shared family style) and the mason jar desserts!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came for the Beer Dinner. Food and atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Came for the Beer Dinner. Food and atmosphere were fantastic. Staff is energetic and friendly and a great location. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here many times now, and every ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Have been here many times now, and every time I love it. Came with New Yorkers and Californians this time, and they loved it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a comfortable enviro ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were looking for a comfortable environment with a local flair. We were thrilled with the result! Visiting from out of town, we had no idea what to expect. Local friends were pleased we found this gem.

The food was generous and delicious. A seared tuna special was wonderful, my wife enjoyed the steak and the sides were delicious and plentiful.

Can't wait to find a reason to get back to Durham and enjoy this place, again!

Tags: Organic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had family in town and decided to try ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had family in town and decided to try a new spot for lunch. We ordered the beet salad, the gouda burger, french fries, and a flatbread pizza. We agreed the pizza was the best...nice crisp crust, and great flavor. We sat outside on the patio...lovely sunshine. Our server was okay...answered questions but didn't offer any other helpful comments. We even had to ask about the specials. Maybe she was having an off day. Lunch was good, but not sure I'd come back. There are so many options in the area!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious fish, cleverly prepared. Blist ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Delicious fish, cleverly prepared. Blistered green beans made a yummy appetizer for two. Banana pudding made like mom wished she could! The only negative is the banquette seating. Too soft to use for some of the tables. My chin was nearly on the table when I sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the specials, fried oysters and braised lamb shank, as well as the bread with the pimento cheese. It may have been the best lamb I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will add to our regular rotation. Has s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Will add to our regular rotation. Has something for everyone.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Menu had a wide variety of options and e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Menu had a wide variety of options and everything sounded fantastic. Food was excellent and they are very amicable to special requests too. Beer selection was one of the best that I have seen in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very cooperative and attentive ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They were very cooperative and attentive to our big group which included all ages of diners. Ours is seating was best for our large group. I didn't have to stress about anything during the meal.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had been here once before just for a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had been here once before just for a drink outside and ended up sharing the kale salad. We were pleasantly surprised and excited to try it again for dinner. We shared the kale salad again, and I ordered the burger that was on special. Unfortunately neither were very good. The salad was soggy, and the burger was overcooked and lacked any sort of real flavor. It was disappointing. Not sure if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to dpac and they were very conte ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went to dpac and they were very contentious about the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun surprise! We were touring Du ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What a fun surprise! We were touring Duke University and need a quick lunch before . Fun environment and great fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The local fare here never disappoints! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The local fare here never disappoints! During this visit I was very pleasantly surprised in particular when I asked if they could make the macaroni and cheese with salami without salami and the waiter not only immediately said "absolutely" but then also started suggesting veggies to add if I would be interested in supplementing it with anything else. The result was wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Lots of vegetarian c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was very good. Lots of vegetarian choices. Nice varied menu. The consensus at our table was that we would definitely be back! The service was average. I noticed that our waitress gave a little more attention to some of the other tables around us. But, it was still decent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I'm sorry, but it wasn't that memorable ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I'm sorry, but it wasn't that memorable of an experience. The food was ok, the service was ok and the restaurant was very noisy. I had been here before for drinks and had a good time. I dunno what changed, but not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service at Local 22. Very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good food and service at Local 22. Very interesting, locally sourced menu options. Their sides are awesome, we really like the potato cake and the Brussels sprouts. Always interesting specials. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Only area for improvement was rareness options for their burgers. It was presented to us as "medium or well done". Two of us ordered medium but the burgers came out well rare of that. I would think an experienced kitchen could do something in between.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice bistro setting. The entrees ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very nice bistro setting. The entrees were good but the real stars were the vegetables. We had two of the side items - brussel sprouts and giant beans. Both were delicious and highly recommended. Was also impressed with the cocktail - did not try the many beers available on this visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

There was great variety staff was atten ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

There was great variety staff was attentive and food was delicious fresh and local!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place to share plates and catch u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Lovely place to share plates and catch up with your Duke student and friends! We had a waiter named Dieo ( so?). Attentive, entertaining and informative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place for a friend's get together. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great place for a friend's get together. We came in as a party of 7 for drinks and desserts in honor of a friend who is moving away. Loved the atmosphere, drink menu, desserts. Great vibe. Everyone had a good time. Our waiter was friendly and helpful. We will return again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason we had never visited thi ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

For some reason we had never visited this great restaurant but we are certainly glad that we did! Personal attention and friendly staff (Oz!) made it feel so comfortable and relaxed. Meeting the chef was an extra bonus. Most importantly, the food was excellent and fit our tastes: creative but not overdone with so many ingredients the flavors are obscured. Colorful plates, flavorful tastes and a sense of classy comfort in the offerings.

Can't wait to try brunch there and to do one of their beer-tasting dinners! We'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

After a brief initial service delay, thi ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

After a brief initial service delay, thing got going in the right direction very quickly. Really good food. The deviled eggs are OMG good! Added the lamb sausage to butternut squash risotto, delish, and the beet salad w/ goat cheese was well topped with a generous portion of salmon. Once it was decide who would serve our table, the server was friendly, attentive and accommodating to our need to rush off to the airport. If you're ever in Durham and/or like deviled eggs, try Local 22!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First visit to this place and we loved i ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 14, 2016

First visit to this place and we loved it. Daio, our very capable and affable server, was fantastic. His recommendations were spot on. Had the snapper special and the trout, which were wonderful. Beet salad to die for. Loved the ambiance. Good for groups or even singles (bar service). A TV for those so inclined at the bar. Lots of craft brews and a very nice and concise wine list with good pricing by the glass. Will return, for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food from the interesting, diverse m ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our food from the interesting, diverse menu was good if not great, and cocktails and beer list were excellent. We were very disappointed in our service, however. Our waiter was clearly not happy to be working on a Friday around 5:00, and his interest in our experience was cursory at best until the last 10 minutes or so of our meal. Also made a condescending comment or two which seemed unnecessary at best. Worth checking out, but they'd not get another chance from me if service didn't improve on a return visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Pleasantly surprised. Good service and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Good service and great food. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for an Anniversary Brunch with ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went here for an Anniversary Brunch with my wife. The decor reminded me of an old country store and it was very relaxed. The wait staff was polite and prompt and the food was great. My only criticism would be is that it sits back in a corner hidden. Even with GPS we had a difficult time finding it. Fortunately we called and one of the staff was kind enough to step outsife and wave us in.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious food, casual atmosphere, great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious food, casual atmosphere, great service, putside seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love love love this farm to table menu! ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Love love love this farm to table menu! We were there on a Sunday for brunch and we will be back when we are in Durham again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We liked most of the food, which was cre ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We liked most of the food, which was creative and interesting. would unquestionably come back. If I give 4.5 stars, I would.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had dropped our son off at Duke earli ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had dropped our son off at Duke earlier that day, and we noticed Local 22 just across from our hotel. The restaurant looked adorable, so we checked reviews and booked a table. Wow - it was fantastic. They have a nice wine and drink menu, so I had a glass of French white wine to start. Then for dinner we enjoyed a variety of local, seasonal vegetables. They served an amazing grilled okra with a lemon butter sauce. I also had charred brussel sprouts and heirloom tomatoes. Local 22 has a flexible menu and allowed me to add grilled salmon to the tomato salad. The salmon was served in slices, almost like chicken is served. I was wonderful. My husband had a hamburger, and he was very happy too. They serve dessert in mason jars, so we shared a chocolate one. The service was relaxed, but we never had to wait. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Durham had many great restaurants to try, but I definitely plan to eat at Local 22 again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for our food took at least an h ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The wait for our food took at least an hour and then my lamb was over-cooked TWICE. At least they comped it, but still wasn't worth it at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our food was really tasty, and made with ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our food was really tasty, and made with quality ingredients. Our service was mediocre, and the staff seemed quite overwhelmed with the guests there. I'm not sure if it was an unusually busy night or if they were just short staffed.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Interesting food, well done for the most ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Interesting food, well done for the most part. The salads were well done. The hush puppies and pimiento cheese a little overwrought. The prices were in line for the most part. The AC issue seemed ongoing but it was not so warm to upset our dining. good beer selection. Attentive waiter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Although the staff and atmosphere remain ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Although the staff and atmosphere remain great, the new menu has taken away our favorite dishes (please bring back the old Brussels sprouts). We will try the new menu again, but right now we are disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Nice casual restaurant here. The servic ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Nice casual restaurant here. The service was fine; the food, mixed. The Greek salad was excellent as was the cold soup. The tile fish was excellent, but the baked trout was dried out and the lamb was overcooked. This is an interesting locavore restaurant. I think we'll be back, but it's not first on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love this place-the only thing was the a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this place-the only thing was the air conditioning was broken and it was very hot! Everything was great! Go often and love everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was pretty good, the service wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was pretty good, the service was poor and the restaurant was uncomfortably hot. The manager's response was, "Yeah, that's the landlord's fault. There's nothing we can do about it."

I won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Dining at Local 22 Kitchen and Bar is always a pleasant occasion. My wife and I enjoy it and return there frequently. Recently, we've noticed a troubling lack of sensitivity to gluten-related issues. My wife suffers from gluten-sensitivity and we noticed on our last visit to Local 22 that even the fingerling potatoes had been dredged in flour. This is totally unnecessary and retrograde. All gluten-sensitive and celiac persons are strongly advised to ask the wait staff if a particular item is gluten-free before ordering it. Too many restaurants have become cavalier on this issue. Local 22 was going in the right direction until they had a change of staff. The new people seem a bit clueless. Buyer beware.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We ate outside... lovely night... Food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2016

We ate outside... lovely night... Food was outstanding.. the best Caesar salad ever...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.