About Local 22 Kitchen and Bar

2200 W Main St
Durham, NC 27705
View Larger Map

A Southern-accented gastropub with a strong local focus.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, Gastro Pub, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday: 11 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday: 11 am - 11 pm
Friday: 11 am - 12 am
Saturday: 11 am - 12 am
Sunday: 11 am - 10 pm

Cross Street:
9th st

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 286-9755

Website:
http://www.local22durham.com/

Entertainment:
Live Blues guitar EVERY Thursday from 6 to 9 pm
DJ Late Nights from 11pm to 1pm

Catering:
Please call and ask for Jesse for any Catering needs
(919) 286-9755

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking in Erwin Square.
If you need directions please give us a call
(919) 286-9755

Executive Chef:
Yanni

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Make your reservations NOW for Graduation Weekend!!!

Restaurant Photos

  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Bar - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Flatbread - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Smoked Jalapeno Hushpuppies - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Locally Sourced Coffee From Joe Van Gogh - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
  • Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC

Report a photo problem

Bar - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Flatbread - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Smoked Jalapeno Hushpuppies - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC
Locally Sourced Coffee From Joe Van Gogh - Local 22 Kitchen and Bar, Durham, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Spoil your sweetie at Local 22! We'll be offering our a la carte menu as well as a special 3-course prix-fixe menu for $40 per person. Of course in our true Kitchen & Bar fashion will be offering woon-worthy cocktails & a special selection of bubbles!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Local 22 Kitchen and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my second visit and everything ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit and everything was very good. They always have a unique menu and several vegetarian options.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my first time dining at Local 2 ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This was my first time dining at Local 22 and was thoroughly impressed. The food, from sides to main course, was excellent. My guests also thoroughly enjoyed their meals as well. One had fish (tuna) and one had a burger. The wait staff was excellent too. The only minor drawback is that It can get a bit loud but it is not overly noisy. I would recommend it for a range of occasions including business dinner or just a casual family night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Local 22, an ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our first visit to Local 22, and we will be back! The braised beef short rib was amazing! Our server was knowledgeable, gracious, and attentive, and the manager offered expert advice on the beer menu. We felt very welcome and well cared-for.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are always top notch an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food and service are always top notch and dependable. It's my go to suggestion for people looking for a fun, local restaurant. Benjamin is very knowledgeable and entertaining. Love Local 22

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great!! A friend was in to ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This place is great!! A friend was in town and we decided on Local 22. We were at the restaurant for a while chatting and the manager let us try some dessert for free!!! It was amazing and I will definitely be coming back for more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even given recent snowstorm, Local 22 ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Even given recent snowstorm, Local 22 had a good menu and thoughtful service. Excellent for conversation with friends or business

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Out of town guests who were super impres ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Out of town guests who were super impressed

Great drinks and appetizers

Hush puppies awesome

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, , Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time, service and food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time, service and food was exceptional. Benjamin was our waiter and he did amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NYE "anti-NYE" said champagne every hour ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE "anti-NYE" said champagne every hour. Asked about that after the hour and was told she could get us some. Next hour, none was offered. Nothing special. Lamb was raw had to be sent back and cooked, nothing said about that. Service was good . A disappointment over all, but not terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The Cheerwine BBQ ribs were amazing. Ros ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Cheerwine BBQ ribs were amazing. Rosie was our server and was awesome. Ticket times were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for an early first night dinner. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for an early first night dinner. Chicken was undercooked and pork chop over cooked. When told about the chicken the waitress was dismissive. Same Justin Biber's repertoire was played over and over for our entire dinner. That and the chicken were the worst. I couldn't eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our waitress was super sweet and was ver ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waitress was super sweet and was very attentive. Thanks so much and happy new year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! Couldn't ask for mor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was great! Couldn't ask for more. The service was a little slow and it was a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The white beets and the scallops were am ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The white beets and the scallops were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent experience Food was great. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent experience

Food was great.

Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were a party of 6 for lunch on the da ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We were a party of 6 for lunch on the day before Christmas. The restaurant seemed understaffed considering the rush. The service was slow.

Besides that, the food was excellent and the beer selection was nice too.

Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Great place for a girls night!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place for a girls night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome. this is my favorite place in Du ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 22, 2016

awesome. this is my favorite place in Durham. keep up the good work

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice place...great pizza, Caesar salad, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Nice place...great pizza, Caesar salad, and loaded tater tots

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great to find a casual spot to take my t ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great to find a casual spot to take my two young adult sons- one who loves meat and one who doesn't eat meat! Service and food were very good though I thought some of the vegetable dishes were overpriced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was unique and the food was ver ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The menu was unique and the food was very good. The service was wonderful and since we were having fun visiting the waiter did not hover, which was nice. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we happened to find this restaur ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

So glad we happened to find this restaurant. The local ingredients were highlighted. The craft cocktail known as Hulk Smash was awesome, as were the veggies (can be shared family style) and the mason jar desserts!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Came for the Beer Dinner. Food and atmo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Came for the Beer Dinner. Food and atmosphere were fantastic. Staff is energetic and friendly and a great location. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have been here many times now, and every ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Have been here many times now, and every time I love it. Came with New Yorkers and Californians this time, and they loved it too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a comfortable enviro ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were looking for a comfortable environment with a local flair. We were thrilled with the result! Visiting from out of town, we had no idea what to expect. Local friends were pleased we found this gem.

The food was generous and delicious. A seared tuna special was wonderful, my wife enjoyed the steak and the sides were delicious and plentiful.

Can't wait to find a reason to get back to Durham and enjoy this place, again!

Tags: Organic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had family in town and decided to try ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had family in town and decided to try a new spot for lunch. We ordered the beet salad, the gouda burger, french fries, and a flatbread pizza. We agreed the pizza was the best...nice crisp crust, and great flavor. We sat outside on the patio...lovely sunshine. Our server was okay...answered questions but didn't offer any other helpful comments. We even had to ask about the specials. Maybe she was having an off day. Lunch was good, but not sure I'd come back. There are so many options in the area!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious fish, cleverly prepared. Blist ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Delicious fish, cleverly prepared. Blistered green beans made a yummy appetizer for two. Banana pudding made like mom wished she could! The only negative is the banquette seating. Too soft to use for some of the tables. My chin was nearly on the table when I sat down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great. We had the specials, fried oysters and braised lamb shank, as well as the bread with the pimento cheese. It may have been the best lamb I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will add to our regular rotation. Has s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Will add to our regular rotation. Has something for everyone.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Menu had a wide variety of options and e ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Menu had a wide variety of options and everything sounded fantastic. Food was excellent and they are very amicable to special requests too. Beer selection was one of the best that I have seen in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were very cooperative and attentive ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

They were very cooperative and attentive to our big group which included all ages of diners. Ours is seating was best for our large group. I didn't have to stress about anything during the meal.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had been here once before just for a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had been here once before just for a drink outside and ended up sharing the kale salad. We were pleasantly surprised and excited to try it again for dinner. We shared the kale salad again, and I ordered the burger that was on special. Unfortunately neither were very good. The salad was soggy, and the burger was overcooked and lacked any sort of real flavor. It was disappointing. Not sure if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We went to dpac and they were very conte ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We went to dpac and they were very contentious about the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fun surprise! We were touring Du ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

What a fun surprise! We were touring Duke University and need a quick lunch before . Fun environment and great fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The local fare here never disappoints! ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 17, 2016

The local fare here never disappoints! During this visit I was very pleasantly surprised in particular when I asked if they could make the macaroni and cheese with salami without salami and the waiter not only immediately said "absolutely" but then also started suggesting veggies to add if I would be interested in supplementing it with anything else. The result was wonderful!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Lots of vegetarian c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was very good. Lots of vegetarian choices. Nice varied menu. The consensus at our table was that we would definitely be back! The service was average. I noticed that our waitress gave a little more attention to some of the other tables around us. But, it was still decent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I'm sorry, but it wasn't that memorable ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 13, 2016

I'm sorry, but it wasn't that memorable of an experience. The food was ok, the service was ok and the restaurant was very noisy. I had been here before for drinks and had a good time. I dunno what changed, but not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service at Local 22. Very ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good food and service at Local 22. Very interesting, locally sourced menu options. Their sides are awesome, we really like the potato cake and the Brussels sprouts. Always interesting specials. Waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Only area for improvement was rareness options for their burgers. It was presented to us as "medium or well done". Two of us ordered medium but the burgers came out well rare of that. I would think an experienced kitchen could do something in between.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very nice bistro setting. The entrees ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very nice bistro setting. The entrees were good but the real stars were the vegetables. We had two of the side items - brussel sprouts and giant beans. Both were delicious and highly recommended. Was also impressed with the cocktail - did not try the many beers available on this visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.