Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Loca Luna

Loca Luna is Atlanta's premier dining and Entertainment venue. Offering a wide variety of Spanish & Latin dishes, this tapas style restaurant is a great venue for large parties as well as romantic dates. Featuring live salsa bands nightly, we're your good time destination. Voted one of the top 10 Latin Entertainment in America by USA today. Stop by and enjoy one of our refreshing Mojitos or Caipirinas today!

550-C Amsterdam Ave
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday thru Thursday 5:00-10:00,
Friday & Saturday 5:00- 12:30 (Venue closes at 2:30AM)
Sunday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Monroe Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 875-4494

Website:
http://www.loca-luna.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly- Featuring Live Salsa Music, Samba & Bossa.

Parking Details:
Huge Parking lot featuring self-parking as well as complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Alexander Hebert

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant is built to handle large parties. Whether it's for a party in our VIP Room (up to 50 guests) or in one of our main rooms, we can accommodate over 400 guests at one time!

Private Party Contact:
Yobi Dawit: (404) 875-4494

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Loca Luna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (12)
Live Music (11)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Fun (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Casual (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Romantic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Dancing (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Spicy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

All you can eat tapas is a great concept. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food, drinks and service was awesome. Sparkle truly outdid herself. She jumped in on our date game which made fayre night that much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was awesome and so were the drinks. Great spot to hang out and relax

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Food was very good not a place to go if you're looking for a quiet romantic dinner. Definitely a place to go for some good salsa dancing party!! Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at Loca Luna! Everything that we tried was very tasty. Tapas are my favorite, and these did not disappoint! One kind of negative is that we have the Atlanta Pass Book which has discounts for meals at participating restaurants. Loca Luna is in the book, and the page says "buy one entree, get one free." But, there are no entrees on the menu. So really, instead of being a 15-20 value (typical entree cost) it was 5-7 dollars (price of the tapa we got for free.) No big deal though! Still enjoyed very much and will return!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The live band was amazing. The service and food were out of this world. Drinks were very good. Noise level is high but expected with a live band and music. The dancing was fun....only thing I didn't like is that there is no coat/purse check if you need it because you don't want to hold your purse while dancing or if it's not a cross body.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First time there and didn't have a bad plate. Definitely going on the favorite list while in ATL.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere!! Fun place all the way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great place for tapas and drinks ! Me encanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I went to Loca Luna's to celebrate my birthday with friends. The environment was very lively and entertaining. The food and drinks were really good and I really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Grate fantastic one of the best places to enjoy the time

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I hosted my birthday dinner here, and it was great! The food, live salsa band, value all amazing. I will be definitely returning in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Disappointing first experience at Loco Luna. Food is good but expensive when you order enough to make a meal. Pallea is mostly rice, little seafood. Wait staff was horrible: items came out of the kitchen sporadically, waiter did not get the correct order, we were charged for items we did not receive. Since we were a group of 7, the tip was included. Lucky for our waiter with dirty hair as I would not have been so generous. Band was fun, they took a break while we were dancing and never returned. Restaurant has great potential, needs a good management team.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The service at Loca Luna is always about a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10, but we really go there for the fun atmosphere, the live music, and the dancing. Sometimes the food is great, sometimes it's just ok. It is noisey so if you're trying to have an intimate convo, this is not the place. But people are having fun, laughing, dancing, etc. So, it's a cool vibe. But watch out... as it get's late (a least on Saturdays) it gets really crowded and turns into a club, but you may like that! This place is an Atlanta staple, so we'll continue to support it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a great time at Loca Luna! Live music, live crowd, stiff drinks, and delicious tapas! Great for a date, family friendly, great for groups.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Always a fun place to meet up, get together and enjoy food/drinks. Plenty of parking.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 5, 2017

It's not a great place If you're gluten free unless you want plain chicken kabobs that are mini and 2 mini plantains. Definitely not the best experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Justin, our server, gave us one of the best experiences I've had there. This was my first "large party" experience and it was awesome! Loca Luna is one of the best restaurants in Atlanta to serve large parties. The food and drink packages were totally worth it! We probably ordered too much food, but the options were sounded so delicious and catered to all palettes that we couldn't help ourselves. Thank you so much for one of the best birthday dinners I've ever had!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My fiance and I love Loca Luna. His son, nephew and friends are a part of the live music so, we have nothing but great things to say. However, service can be a bit disappointing. Otherwise, great!!

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

There are simple things that I expect when I dine out... A clean table top, clean seating and clean floors. I think it's so dark in the restaurant that they don't bother taking the time to actually clean because they think to themselves that no one will see the dirt and grime anyway! I find it really disgusting to walk on a floor that my shoes stick to. And our table top was equally sticky with visible dried puddles of food/beverages which had clearly been building up there for a while. On top of that the food is just overrated given the high prices for small plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our go to place to unwind

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 28, 2017

$18 all you can eat has different menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I've been to Loca Luna for dinner and dancing and had a great time. However, I don't recommend going during Happy Hour. A friend and I were attending another event at 7pm and met at Loca Luna for early dinner & drinks. We each ordered 2-3 small plates and a cocktail. Both of our tacos were seemed thrown together, the meat was mostly fat. I sent back the salad I ordered because 1)The lettuce was soggy and brown and 2)there was a long strand of hair sitting on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I'd been to Loca Luna before and when my daughter wanted Tapas for her birthday I thought we'd take her here.
Being a weeknight I was pleasantly surprised to hear a live band playing, but was also dissapointed when we were sat right in front of them making conversation difficult. The restaurant only had about half the seating space in use that night and the most of the other tables were in use. I asked to get moved to a side table that was just a bit further from the band and was told that they could not seat us there because we had 5 people in our party and the 5th chair would be in the way, only to have a 5 person party sat there 2 minutes later. This was aggravating but before I could complain they moved us to a table in the back of the room where we were able to talk and still listen to the band which was an outstanding trio.
The menu seemed a bit more limited than the last time I was there, but they offered an "all you can eat" promotion which made sense and the food was delicious, though inconsistent.
For example, my wife ordered the calamari and said it was very good so I ordered it myself, but when it came out it was very bland and not like the one my wife had gotten. The jamon serrano on the salad I ordered was just bacon bits which tasted like the ones you buy at Kroger, but other than that everything was delicious. Knowing what to expect now I think I would come back.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Service fast but food was cold. Seat had something sticky on it as did the table. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Loca Luna is always awesome!! The drinks could have been stronger on this one day (the drinks usually are stronger there..just not Saturday 2/25/17). The music is always cool. The service was beyond amazing!! Our server took great care of our table of five! He gave great recommendations and was extremely attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was great. I would definitely go back. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was good and tasty...one of my favorite restaurants!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I usually dine here on Tuesdays when they have the unlimited tapas, which is usually a great value. I recommend unlimited tapas Tuesdays or unlimited tacos on Thursday, because if you order something that's a miss, and it will happen, you can regroup with something else. I would recommend trying at least once on the right day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loca Luna was absolutely amazing. I took my girlfriend here for Valentines, and the atmosphere was phenomenal. I loved the tables with candlelight and right in front of stage for live music. The food was delicious and it didn't cost me an arm and a leg. Definitely coming back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was good we like the place too crowded, we took our boys with us and they say that they were going to go again with their friends the band was good that waiter was very good the food was also very good we ate a paella

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Me and my husband came for a night out/early Valentine's Day dinner. Food and drinks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The speed of service was the worst I have ever experienced however the chicken empanadas and lemon drop martini made it worthy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 27, 2017

And interesting event occurred. But not enough to change my impression: good overall. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Disappointed as soon as we walked in the door. We had to eat out on the converted patio which the hostess insisted was heated, it was not. It was very cold and uncomfortable the whole meal. She told us the tables inside were reserved for a large party. They did not show and we still had to eat out on the patio, eventually they did let the seats go to people who came in after us. The ambiance was okay (it was a little dark hard to see the menu) they did have live music which is a plus. Food is pretty good if you like tapas style dining. Our waiter Justin was the only reason we stayed. He was very observant, very friendly and took care of us that night. If you make a reservation here, make sure you request an inside table if you're dining in the cooler seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious and our server was very attentive, despite being slammed. It got a bit noisy as the night wore on (combination of excellent band and raucous people shouting over each other). I'd like to go again on a weeknight, during a less boisterous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for NYE and the place was so much fun. We got there before 8:30 so there was no NYE cover. The waiter was super busy but he was great and didn't make an error on anyone's order / bill despite the hectic environment. The music was great as well. thumbs up

Tags: Tapas, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My date and I had a great time. I will return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food wasn't very good. Yuca fries were greasy. Chicken seemed under cooked. Jamón Serrano was not edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My birthday experience was amazing 😊 thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.