Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.49mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Loca Luna

Loca Luna is Atlanta's premier dining and Entertainment venue. Offering a wide variety of Spanish & Latin dishes, this tapas style restaurant is a great venue for large parties as well as romantic dates. Featuring live salsa bands nightly, we're your good time destination. Voted one of the top 10 Latin Entertainment in America by USA today. Stop by and enjoy one of our refreshing Mojitos or Caipirinas today!

550-C Amsterdam Ave
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday thru Thursday 5:00-10:00,
Friday & Saturday 5:00- 12:30 (Venue closes at 2:30AM)
Sunday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Monroe Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 875-4494

Website:
http://www.loca-luna.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly- Featuring Live Salsa Music, Samba & Bossa.

Parking Details:
Huge Parking lot featuring self-parking as well as complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Alexander Hebert

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant is built to handle large parties. Whether it's for a party in our VIP Room (up to 50 guests) or in one of our main rooms, we can accommodate over 400 guests at one time!

Private Party Contact:
Yobi Dawit: (404) 875-4494

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Loca Luna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Dancing (6)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Tapas (5)
Good for a Date (4)
People Watching (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Romantic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

I've been to Loca Luna for dinner and dancing and had a great time. However, I don't recommend going during Happy Hour. A friend and I were attending another event at 7pm and met at Loca Luna for early dinner & drinks. We each ordered 2-3 small plates and a cocktail. Both of our tacos were seemed thrown together, the meat was mostly fat. I sent back the salad I ordered because 1)The lettuce was soggy and brown and 2)there was a long strand of hair sitting on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I'd been to Loca Luna before and when my daughter wanted Tapas for her birthday I thought we'd take her here.
Being a weeknight I was pleasantly surprised to hear a live band playing, but was also dissapointed when we were sat right in front of them making conversation difficult. The restaurant only had about half the seating space in use that night and the most of the other tables were in use. I asked to get moved to a side table that was just a bit further from the band and was told that they could not seat us there because we had 5 people in our party and the 5th chair would be in the way, only to have a 5 person party sat there 2 minutes later. This was aggravating but before I could complain they moved us to a table in the back of the room where we were able to talk and still listen to the band which was an outstanding trio.
The menu seemed a bit more limited than the last time I was there, but they offered an "all you can eat" promotion which made sense and the food was delicious, though inconsistent.
For example, my wife ordered the calamari and said it was very good so I ordered it myself, but when it came out it was very bland and not like the one my wife had gotten. The jamon serrano on the salad I ordered was just bacon bits which tasted like the ones you buy at Kroger, but other than that everything was delicious. Knowing what to expect now I think I would come back.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service fast but food was cold. Seat had something sticky on it as did the table. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loca Luna is always awesome!! The drinks could have been stronger on this one day (the drinks usually are stronger there..just not Saturday 2/25/17). The music is always cool. The service was beyond amazing!! Our server took great care of our table of five! He gave great recommendations and was extremely attentive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was great. I would definitely go back. Really nice atmosphere.

Tags: Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was good and tasty...one of my favorite restaurants!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I usually dine here on Tuesdays when they have the unlimited tapas, which is usually a great value. I recommend unlimited tapas Tuesdays or unlimited tacos on Thursday, because if you order something that's a miss, and it will happen, you can regroup with something else. I would recommend trying at least once on the right day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Loca Luna was absolutely amazing. I took my girlfriend here for Valentines, and the atmosphere was phenomenal. I loved the tables with candlelight and right in front of stage for live music. The food was delicious and it didn't cost me an arm and a leg. Definitely coming back!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was good we like the place too crowded, we took our boys with us and they say that they were going to go again with their friends the band was good that waiter was very good the food was also very good we ate a paella

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great Beer, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Me and my husband came for a night out/early Valentine's Day dinner. Food and drinks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The speed of service was the worst I have ever experienced however the chicken empanadas and lemon drop martini made it worthy.

Tags: Dancing, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

And interesting event occurred. But not enough to change my impression: good overall. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Disappointed as soon as we walked in the door. We had to eat out on the converted patio which the hostess insisted was heated, it was not. It was very cold and uncomfortable the whole meal. She told us the tables inside were reserved for a large party. They did not show and we still had to eat out on the patio, eventually they did let the seats go to people who came in after us. The ambiance was okay (it was a little dark hard to see the menu) they did have live music which is a plus. Food is pretty good if you like tapas style dining. Our waiter Justin was the only reason we stayed. He was very observant, very friendly and took care of us that night. If you make a reservation here, make sure you request an inside table if you're dining in the cooler seasons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was delicious and our server was very attentive, despite being slammed. It got a bit noisy as the night wore on (combination of excellent band and raucous people shouting over each other). I'd like to go again on a weeknight, during a less boisterous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for NYE and the place was so much fun. We got there before 8:30 so there was no NYE cover. The waiter was super busy but he was great and didn't make an error on anyone's order / bill despite the hectic environment. The music was great as well. thumbs up

Tags: Tapas, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food wasn't very good. Yuca fries were greasy. Chicken seemed under cooked. Jamón Serrano was not edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My birthday experience was amazing 😊 thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food !! Waiter was a little slow. But it was a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It would've have been a better experience were we not competing with a company's holiday party that hijacked the typical salsa dancing and music. But overall the food, drink, and atmosphere were festive and enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dinner, food, and music were great. The service is the issue for me. Once we were done eating it's almost like the staff completely forgot we were there and automatically asked us to move with little manners from a table that apparently got reserved after we were there. Also, when I called to change the reservation the person answering the call cut me off after I requested the change and hung up. Not even a thank you and a goodbye. Sad that service is declining at this place I use to love so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome! Enjoyed it as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Right on the park so it's easy to walk from the botanical gardens. Very good tapas and mojitos! Before 7 on Thursdays they have half off tapas and drinks. Good deal and delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Oh My! What a Perfect Choice! Survivors of Domestic Violence were brought to your establishment for an evening of fine dining and dancing. It was their first time at Loca Luna and they have not stopped talking about the experience. It was freeing and enhanced their self-worth. They felt valued and special. I will definitely return and will invite friends and Family.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I wanted to do something different so I made reservations for my wife and I. We went on Wednesday evening and they have free salsa lessons from 8-9PM. Our host, servers, and other servers were all very nice and friendly. The live band was great! Drinks were good. Food was good. The salsa dancing was fun. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a fun night!!!! The music was great and the food delicious. Will be back!!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband and I went to Loca Luna for my birthday. This was our third visit, the first two times we went was on a Saturday, this time was a Sunday. The atmospher on a Sunday is very different than Saturday's. Saturdays it's a big party, but on Sunday it was almost empty, we still enjoyed the music and the 1/2 price Paella was good. Our server Chad was great. Very friendly and even brought me a piece of Dulce de leche cake that was fabulous, when he found out it was my birthday.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food really wasn't very good. But it's a great spot for Dancing and Drinks I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Dancing, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Our waiter Tony was outstanding, personable and funny. He made our dining experience so much better. I look forward to receiving his positive energy in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We arrived at our scheduled time and waited 25 minutes and we didn't even get a cup of water or any chips with cheese. The waiters passed us on multiple occasions and it was like we weren't even there. I understand they were busy but goodness sake common courtesy would have been to at least acknowledge our presence and let us know that someone would eventually be with us. I was extremely disappointed in the fact that we go to Loca Luna all the time and the service seems to keep declining as this is one of our favorite places to hang out.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was amazing love the ambiance and food ! Great service Chad was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loca Luna was a very nice restaurant. The food and drinks are delicious. Was visiting from out of town and my friend took me here because it's one of her favorite spots. Would definitely go again when I visit Atlanta again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was extremely friendly in greeting us and generally remained attentive during our visit -we ordered the brisket as recommended by him but had to send it back as it was over done and tough-it was replaced by a delicious piece but we felt 'quality control' should never have let that plate leave the kitchen-as the band started it did get loud (already loud due to some continuous loud laughter from next table)...but then it was Saturday night- still find it a fun go-to choice whenever in the mood for tapas -but maybe a different night:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Slow service, but the music was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our experience was absolutely phenomenal! The staff was attentive and catering, especially our server, Tony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We really enjoy Loca Luna. We always have a great experience and great food. Everything is tapas on small plates so we end up ordering way to much but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very delicious. Great variety. Drinks and Latin music was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not impressed! Tapas was bland, service was lame. We had three dinners served to us that weren't ours.....hello!!! Music is great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and drinks! Casual date, great patio and very attentive service. Love Sunday half off paella special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were seated inside near the music with our table near the open doors to the patio; we felt like we were enjoying a dinner at the beach, complete with a lovely breeze, great music, and amazing mojitos. Service was fantastic. Great girls night - I'll be taking my husband back for a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Loca Luna Tuesday's have become a friend tradition within the last two months or so. The food is always delicious and quick to come out. The servers are all so sweet and the managers constantly check in to see how the meal is going. Great place full of great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.