About Loca Luna

550-C Amsterdam Ave
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Loca Luna is Atlanta's premier dining and Entertainment venue. Offering a wide variety of Spanish & Latin dishes, this tapas style restaurant is a great venue for large parties as well as romantic dates. Featuring live salsa bands nightly, we're your good time destination. Voted one of the top 10 Latin Entertainment in America by USA today. Stop by and enjoy one of our refreshing Mojitos or Caipirinas today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday thru Thursday 5:00-10:00,
Friday & Saturday 5:00- 12:30 (Venue closes at 2:30AM)
Sunday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Monroe Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 875-4494

Website:
http://www.loca-luna.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly- Featuring Live Salsa Music, Samba & Bossa.

Parking Details:
Huge Parking lot featuring self-parking as well as complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Alexander Hebert

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant is built to handle large parties. Whether it's for a party in our VIP Room (up to 50 guests) or in one of our main rooms, we can accommodate over 400 guests at one time!

Private Party Contact:
Yobi Dawit: 4048754494x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Report a photo problem

Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Chicken Empanada - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Crispy Shrimp (Wrapped In Rice Noodles With Mango And A Jicama Sweet Chili Sauce) - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Fried Calamari - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Tomato Salad - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Fish Taco - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Spanish Style Ribs - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Steak Skewers - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Beef Tongue Taco - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Red Velvet Tres Leches - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Chips and Salsa - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Traditional Paella - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA
Ceviche Callo De Hacha - Loca Luna, Atlanta, GA

Loca Luna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (7)
Tapas (6)
People Watching (5)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Live Music (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fun (4)
Dancing (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Cozy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great Beer (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
609 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for NYE and the place was so muc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for NYE and the place was so much fun. We got there before 8:30 so there was no NYE cover. The waiter was super busy but he was great and didn't make an error on anyone's order / bill despite the hectic environment. The music was great as well. thumbs up

Tags: Tapas, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food wasn't very good. Yuca fries were ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food wasn't very good. Yuca fries were greasy. Chicken seemed under cooked. Jamón Serrano was not edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

My birthday experience was amazing 😊 th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My birthday experience was amazing 😊 thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food !! Waiter was a little slow. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food !! Waiter was a little slow. But it was a good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It would've have been a better experienc ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It would've have been a better experience were we not competing with a company's holiday party that hijacked the typical salsa dancing and music. But overall the food, drink, and atmosphere were festive and enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dinner, food, and music were great. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Dinner, food, and music were great. The service is the issue for me. Once we were done eating it's almost like the staff completely forgot we were there and automatically asked us to move with little manners from a table that apparently got reserved after we were there. Also, when I called to change the reservation the person answering the call cut me off after I requested the change and hung up. Not even a thank you and a goodbye. Sad that service is declining at this place I use to love so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Awesome! Enjoyed it as always!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome! Enjoyed it as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Right on the park so it's easy to walk f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Right on the park so it's easy to walk from the botanical gardens. Very good tapas and mojitos! Before 7 on Thursdays they have half off tapas and drinks. Good deal and delicious.

Tags: Tapas, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oh My! What a Perfect Choice! Survivor ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Oh My! What a Perfect Choice! Survivors of Domestic Violence were brought to your establishment for an evening of fine dining and dancing. It was their first time at Loca Luna and they have not stopped talking about the experience. It was freeing and enhanced their self-worth. They felt valued and special. I will definitely return and will invite friends and Family.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to do something different so I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I wanted to do something different so I made reservations for my wife and I. We went on Wednesday evening and they have free salsa lessons from 8-9PM. Our host, servers, and other servers were all very nice and friendly. The live band was great! Drinks were good. Food was good. The salsa dancing was fun. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a fun night!!!! The music was g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a fun night!!!! The music was great and the food delicious. Will be back!!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Loca Luna for m ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My husband and I went to Loca Luna for my birthday. This was our third visit, the first two times we went was on a Saturday, this time was a Sunday. The atmospher on a Sunday is very different than Saturday's. Saturdays it's a big party, but on Sunday it was almost empty, we still enjoyed the music and the 1/2 price Paella was good. Our server Chad was great. Very friendly and even brought me a piece of Dulce de leche cake that was fabulous, when he found out it was my birthday.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food really wasn't very good. But it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food really wasn't very good. But it's a great spot for Dancing and Drinks I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Dancing, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter Tony was outstanding, persona ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Our waiter Tony was outstanding, personable and funny. He made our dining experience so much better. I look forward to receiving his positive energy in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at our scheduled time and wai ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We arrived at our scheduled time and waited 25 minutes and we didn't even get a cup of water or any chips with cheese. The waiters passed us on multiple occasions and it was like we weren't even there. I understand they were busy but goodness sake common courtesy would have been to at least acknowledge our presence and let us know that someone would eventually be with us. I was extremely disappointed in the fact that we go to Loca Luna all the time and the service seems to keep declining as this is one of our favorite places to hang out.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Everything was amazing love the ambiance ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was amazing love the ambiance and food ! Great service Chad was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loca Luna was a very nice restaurant. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loca Luna was a very nice restaurant. The food and drinks are delicious. Was visiting from out of town and my friend took me here because it's one of her favorite spots. Would definitely go again when I visit Atlanta again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our server was extremely friendly in gre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was extremely friendly in greeting us and generally remained attentive during our visit -we ordered the brisket as recommended by him but had to send it back as it was over done and tough-it was replaced by a delicious piece but we felt 'quality control' should never have let that plate leave the kitchen-as the band started it did get loud (already loud due to some continuous loud laughter from next table)...but then it was Saturday night- still find it a fun go-to choice whenever in the mood for tapas -but maybe a different night:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Slow service, but the music was good.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Slow service, but the music was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our experience was absolutely phenomenal ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our experience was absolutely phenomenal! The staff was attentive and catering, especially our server, Tony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoy Loca Luna. We always hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We really enjoy Loca Luna. We always have a great experience and great food. Everything is tapas on small plates so we end up ordering way to much but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very delicious. Great variety. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very delicious. Great variety. Drinks and Latin music was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not impressed! Tapas was bland, service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not impressed! Tapas was bland, service was lame. We had three dinners served to us that weren't ours.....hello!!! Music is great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food and drinks! Casual date, grea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and drinks! Casual date, great patio and very attentive service. Love Sunday half off paella special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated inside near the music wit ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were seated inside near the music with our table near the open doors to the patio; we felt like we were enjoying a dinner at the beach, complete with a lovely breeze, great music, and amazing mojitos. Service was fantastic. Great girls night - I'll be taking my husband back for a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loca Luna Tuesday's have become a friend ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Loca Luna Tuesday's have become a friend tradition within the last two months or so. The food is always delicious and quick to come out. The servers are all so sweet and the managers constantly check in to see how the meal is going. Great place full of great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lamb chops ROCKED!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The lamb chops ROCKED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The staff was very friendly and the drin ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly and the drinks and food have a nice and delicious tropical theme. Love this place each time I come in and will keep returning! I always recommend to faculty and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Walked to Loca Luna from the Jazz festiv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Walked to Loca Luna from the Jazz festival. They have a super large patio, but sat inside because of the heat. Great service and the drinks were spot on. I haven't had a mojito that refreshing in a long time. The band was incredible and whole place just seemed like a cool party.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everyone had a grand time at ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always, everyone had a grand time at Loca Luna, this place is becoming our go-to-spot for catching-up with each other! The food was delicious and plentiful! The band was hopping and moved us to dancing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tapas and live music!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Best tapas and live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live music

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Live music

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere! Marisha is a wonderful ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great atmosphere! Marisha is a wonderful waitress!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun casual birthday dinner.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 29, 2016

We came here for my birthday. This is a great place for friends to gather for a casual get together. The food and drinks were delicious and a great value. All you can eat tapas for $18. Our server was very attentive despite being busy. We never felt rushed. My favorite part was the live band. I would recommend to any looking for a relaxed spanish atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Tuesdays All U Can get Tapas ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food. Tuesdays All U Can get Tapas is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Tropicana Room definitely lights on ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Tropicana Room definitely lights on the ceiling. It's a beautiful room

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff and food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Staff very good and attentive. Kala, our server, was outstanding--when we return we will ask for her table. She definitely was intent on making our visit enjoyable--she excelled.

Food was very good with a great list of choices--something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loca Luna Valentine weekend!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had an impromptu need for food. I used OpenTable and booked a table instantly. Before I knew it, more friends decided to join me. The staff accommodated us quickly and made us all feel very welcome despite having more than originally planned. The food came out in a timely manner and the drinks were great.

The band there sounded great and the noise ratio was pleasant; not too loud or too quiet. Overall everyone had a great time. The only thing one of my guests complained about was that our waiter asked if he needed any change back (after handing him a $100 bill).

He said he hates that question. Poor guy would have gotten an even bigger tip from him if he had simply just brought back the correct amount of change.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good spot

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was great and at first appearances the prices seem reasonable, but portion to price isn't great. It's worth the visit at least once or a regular spot when you want to get out but not cost effective for everyday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Food

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 6, 2016

It has been roughly a year since our last visit to Loca Luna. I'm not sure what changes were made in the kitchen but the food is 100 times better then before. Hands down some of the best tapas in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.