About Loca Luna

550-C Amsterdam Ave
Atlanta, GA 30306
View Larger Map

Loca Luna is Atlanta's premier dining and Entertainment venue. Offering a wide variety of Spanish & Latin dishes, this tapas style restaurant is a great venue for large parties as well as romantic dates. Featuring live salsa bands nightly, we're your good time destination. Voted one of the top 10 Latin Entertainment in America by USA today. Stop by and enjoy one of our refreshing Mojitos or Caipirinas today!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Tapas / Small Plates, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday thru Thursday 5:00-10:00,
Friday & Saturday 5:00- 12:30 (Venue closes at 2:30AM)
Sunday 4:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Monroe Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 875-4494

Website:
http://www.loca-luna.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music nightly- Featuring Live Salsa Music, Samba & Bossa.

Parking Details:
Huge Parking lot featuring self-parking as well as complimentary valet.

Executive Chef:
Alexander Hebert

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant is built to handle large parties. Whether it's for a party in our VIP Room (up to 50 guests) or in one of our main rooms, we can accommodate over 400 guests at one time!

Private Party Contact:
Yobi Dawit: 4048754494x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Loca Luna
Chicken Empanada
Crispy Shrimp (Wrapped In Rice Noodles With Mango And A Jicama Sweet Chili Sauce)
Fried Calamari
Tomato Salad
Fish Taco
Spanish Style Ribs
Steak Skewers
Beef Tongue Taco
Red Velvet Tres Leches
Chips and Salsa
Traditional Paella
Ceviche Callo De Hacha

Loca Luna Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
See All
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Dancing (3)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Live Music (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food really wasn't very good. But it ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food really wasn't very good. But it's a great spot for Dancing and Drinks I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Dancing, Late-night Find, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at our scheduled time and wai ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We arrived at our scheduled time and waited 25 minutes and we didn't even get a cup of water or any chips with cheese. The waiters passed us on multiple occasions and it was like we weren't even there. I understand they were busy but goodness sake common courtesy would have been to at least acknowledge our presence and let us know that someone would eventually be with us. I was extremely disappointed in the fact that we go to Loca Luna all the time and the service seems to keep declining as this is one of our favorite places to hang out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Everything was amazing love the ambiance ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was amazing love the ambiance and food ! Great service Chad was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loca Luna was a very nice restaurant. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loca Luna was a very nice restaurant. The food and drinks are delicious. Was visiting from out of town and my friend took me here because it's one of her favorite spots. Would definitely go again when I visit Atlanta again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our server was extremely friendly in gre ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was extremely friendly in greeting us and generally remained attentive during our visit -we ordered the brisket as recommended by him but had to send it back as it was over done and tough-it was replaced by a delicious piece but we felt 'quality control' should never have let that plate leave the kitchen-as the band started it did get loud (already loud due to some continuous loud laughter from next table)...but then it was Saturday night- still find it a fun go-to choice whenever in the mood for tapas -but maybe a different night:)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Slow service, but the music was good.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Slow service, but the music was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our experience was absolutely phenomenal ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our experience was absolutely phenomenal! The staff was attentive and catering, especially our server, Tony!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoy Loca Luna. We always hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We really enjoy Loca Luna. We always have a great experience and great food. Everything is tapas on small plates so we end up ordering way to much but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very delicious. Great variety. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very delicious. Great variety. Drinks and Latin music was on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not impressed! Tapas was bland, service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Not impressed! Tapas was bland, service was lame. We had three dinners served to us that weren't ours.....hello!!! Music is great!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food and drinks! Casual date, grea ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and drinks! Casual date, great patio and very attentive service. Love Sunday half off paella special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated inside near the music wit ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were seated inside near the music with our table near the open doors to the patio; we felt like we were enjoying a dinner at the beach, complete with a lovely breeze, great music, and amazing mojitos. Service was fantastic. Great girls night - I'll be taking my husband back for a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loca Luna Tuesday's have become a friend ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Loca Luna Tuesday's have become a friend tradition within the last two months or so. The food is always delicious and quick to come out. The servers are all so sweet and the managers constantly check in to see how the meal is going. Great place full of great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lamb chops ROCKED!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The lamb chops ROCKED!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The staff was very friendly and the drin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly and the drinks and food have a nice and delicious tropical theme. Love this place each time I come in and will keep returning! I always recommend to faculty and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Walked to Loca Luna from the Jazz festiv ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Walked to Loca Luna from the Jazz festival. They have a super large patio, but sat inside because of the heat. Great service and the drinks were spot on. I haven't had a mojito that refreshing in a long time. The band was incredible and whole place just seemed like a cool party.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everyone had a grand time at ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

As always, everyone had a grand time at Loca Luna, this place is becoming our go-to-spot for catching-up with each other! The food was delicious and plentiful! The band was hopping and moved us to dancing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tapas and live music!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Best tapas and live music!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live music

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Live music

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere! Marisha is a wonderful ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great atmosphere! Marisha is a wonderful waitress!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fun casual birthday dinner.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We came here for my birthday. This is a great place for friends to gather for a casual get together. The food and drinks were delicious and a great value. All you can eat tapas for $18. Our server was very attentive despite being busy. We never felt rushed. My favorite part was the live band. I would recommend to any looking for a relaxed spanish atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Tuesdays All U Can get Tapas ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food. Tuesdays All U Can get Tapas is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Tropicana Room definitely lights on ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The Tropicana Room definitely lights on the ceiling. It's a beautiful room

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff and food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Staff very good and attentive. Kala, our server, was outstanding--when we return we will ask for her table. She definitely was intent on making our visit enjoyable--she excelled.

Food was very good with a great list of choices--something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loca Luna Valentine weekend!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had an impromptu need for food. I used OpenTable and booked a table instantly. Before I knew it, more friends decided to join me. The staff accommodated us quickly and made us all feel very welcome despite having more than originally planned. The food came out in a timely manner and the drinks were great.

The band there sounded great and the noise ratio was pleasant; not too loud or too quiet. Overall everyone had a great time. The only thing one of my guests complained about was that our waiter asked if he needed any change back (after handing him a $100 bill).

He said he hates that question. Poor guy would have gotten an even bigger tip from him if he had simply just brought back the correct amount of change.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good spot

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was great and at first appearances the prices seem reasonable, but portion to price isn't great. It's worth the visit at least once or a regular spot when you want to get out but not cost effective for everyday dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

It has been roughly a year since our last visit to Loca Luna. I'm not sure what changes were made in the kitchen but the food is 100 times better then before. Hands down some of the best tapas in Atlanta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Rib Eye......amazing! Bacon wrapped dates...sooo good! Pork Tacos....to die for! I love this place!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not appetizing in any way. Floo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

Food was not appetizing in any way. Floor was a sticky mess. Atmosphere was noisy with a live act and house music playing at the same time. Service was quick but not exactly a place to sit and enjoy great food with company. Ok if you're on the go and just stumble upon it as we did.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I took my high-school daughter and a few ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I took my high-school daughter and a few of her friends along with my friend on a Friday night. They all loved and enjoyed the food and the live music. A super-fun place with something for everyone. I can't wait to come back for date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent tapas and the service is fanta ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Excellent tapas and the service is fantastic. Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not one to write reviews...but I had ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I'm not one to write reviews...but I had to take the time out to let all of Atlanta know that this is the place to enjoy great service, soul-fulfilling music, and ORGASMIC flavorful food. :-) the lobster and salmon skewers were "to-die for". I will most def eat here more often than usual. (I usually come just for the music and to dance) A GREAT WAY TO BRING IN THE 2016 NEW YEAR !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved it!! Only thing I didn' ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Absolutely loved it!! Only thing I didn't like was the cover charge that we were not aware of... Was not stated on website/open table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

memorable salsa night

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

i can't forget this past Wednesday before Christmas eve. not too busy but the band, the other customers, and my date were all in holiday spirits. so nice to see everyone dancing salsa together with a small crowd. very intimate and comfortable. food was great, and i appreciated that the manager sat and welcomed us. very nice experience at loca luna.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Tapas In Atlanta

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

It's been over a year since my last visit to Loca Luna and I must say I won't wait a week to go back....IT WAS SO GOOD! They have a new menu and a new chef and the food is amazing. Prices are affordable and the Foie Gras is a must have!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DELICIOUS

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

Great Food Great Service Great Time.....Loca Luna is must try if your in Atlanta

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, I can totally see the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

I love this place, I can totally see the improvements on food and service. I had a fantastic time and I will definitely come back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Left hungry...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Wow, there was just about nothing good about our experience. It was not busy on a Friday night at 8 o'clock - that should have been my first clue (made a reservation, but it wasn't needed).

The service: lacking and impersonal

The food: very small portions, even for tapas (same price as Eclipse, but smaller) and the taste was mediocre, AT BEST.

The drinks: Sangria was not on menu though they swore it was. Got a pitcher full of ice and it tasted like juice, just straight juice.

Overall: Will not come back and it's such a shame given the hopeful bar environment I experienced before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good tapas all around

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

One of the things I almost always find to be true with tapas restaurants is that the quality of the dishes varies widely. There are a few plates which are outstanding, and then a few which seem like someone just defrosted some Sam's Club meatballs and ladled salsa over top of them. This was not the case here. We way overdid it in the number of dishes, and everything was very good. There were still two standouts, in the pork tacos and the salmon skewers. They were both just fantastic, especially the salmon. The vinaigrette on the skewers is so fresh tasting, and the salmon is just cooked perfectly. We ended up ordering two. The next time I go I think I might get 3 salmon skewers and just call it a night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

All You Can Eat Tuesdays!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

I wasn't aware of all you can eat on Tuesdays. Slightly different menu, but still the same quality of food, just smaller portions... but it's all you can eat! Not too many places in Atlanta offer a deal that beats this one. 'nuff said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.