About Live Oak

100 North Sea Pines Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Located in the new Plantation Golf Club, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience showcasing Lowcountry-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products. Completely redefining traditional clubhouse fare, the restaurant's menu is infused with fresh, local offerings providing guests with an opportunity to eat healthy while enjoying the tastes and flavors of the Lowcountry.

Boasting a 35-foot rotunda ceiling and floor-to-ceiling windows that provide an incredible 270 degree golf view, the restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating options. Guests can sit alongside the copper-top bar and choose from an expansive selection of local craft beers, a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list, or a signature Bourbon collection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Southern, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7-11am
Lunch: 11am–6pm
Bar Menu: 11am-6pm
Happy Hour: 4–6pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 842-1441

Website:
http://www.liveoaklowcountrycuisine.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is provided for resort guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Located in the renowned Sea Pines Resort, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience featuring Low country-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products.

Live Oak Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
3 More
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Outdoor Dining
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Scenic View (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Romantic (32)
Good for Groups (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Kid-friendly (15)
Great for Brunch (12)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
340 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was a fantastic restaurant!!

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a fantastic restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a newer restaurant and it is tru ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is a newer restaurant and it is truly an amazing experience. Definitely one for the foodie in all of us. The chef did not share his secret low country recipes but it was all delicious, beautiful view of the new Davis love course. Staff was very friendly and attentive. This is a not to be missed when staying in Hilton head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The country thyme drink is my fav here o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The country thyme drink is my fav here on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly, comfortable country club dinin ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Friendly, comfortable country club dining at its best. Beautiful dining room overlooking golf course, with veranda dining. I had Mahi and it was very good, service was just as good. I mentioned it was my birthday and to my surprise received a complementary chocolate fudge cake ... and it was delicious. Will definitely return on my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service and loved the country thym ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great service and loved the country thyme drink. My fav so far here on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for Sunday brunch, with hig ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came here for Sunday brunch, with high expectations since it was in Sea Pines Resort at the nice and new Plantation Club. While the atmosphere overlooking the golf course was quite beautiful, and the weather was delightful, the food and service were anything but. Our server was courteous, but when I ordered the unlimited mimosa, I never received a single refill request until I was presented with the check.

I ordered the Southern Pulled Pork and Potato Hash. The pulled pork was pretty good, and the BBQ sauce was very delicious. But the potato hash seemed like it was just deep fried cubes of potato... and don't get me wrong, I love deep fried potato (french fries of all types) but these didn't seem freshly deep fried just before serving to me.

My wife was equally disappointed with her Crab Cake and fried green tomato (Live Oak Lunch on the Porch). Her words: It was terrible. I don't know exactly what that means, but I do know she knows what a good crab cake should be.

So, we won't be coming back. Our hunt for fine dining in Hilton Head continues (haven't found it yet).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Waiter didn't really know the items on t ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Waiter didn't really know the items on the menu...he seemed new to the job. Food was average, but desserts were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Impressive as you enter the well maintai ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Impressive as you enter the well maintained (still looks new) entry and lobby area. The pro shop to the right (every shirt is perfectly folded) and the staff is professional. Live Oak to the left. The room there is beautiful, high ceilings, loads of windows... modern, clean, a bit sterile. Some great table options.

The service is a bit slow but friendly. Apps here blew away the main courses. We loved the crab cake, the fried green tomatoes, the chicken wings were ok enough but too much breading. Bread basket showed the talents of the pastry chef... perfect rolls, flatbread/cracker bread.

We weren't impressed with the pulled pork... pork chop was better but very plain... the ribs were the best entree. Sides were all very good. Desserts (cheesecake, key lime pie parfait, cookies were all weak... I'd recommend skipping.

So, if you order the fried green tomatoes or the crab cake... then the ribs... skip dessert... you'll do fine. I imagine there are a few other dishes that will please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Well staffed restaurant with low country ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Well staffed restaurant with low country menu. Food was very good and the service was exceptional. Will return next time in Hilton Head!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Chef was very charming!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Chef was very charming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Food was delicious and the server was ni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was delicious and the server was nice however it took a long time for meals to come out and they completely forgot about our desserts (a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a slice of cheesecake). the server kindly took the items off the bill and wrapped to the cheesecake to go. Over all it was a lovely experience in a beautiful setting and I plan to return in the future and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food exceptional - will be going again t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food exceptional - will be going again this vacation! Our waiter Christopher was extremely knowledgable, pleasant, and on point with food and pairing recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'd highly recommend Live Oak. Beautiful ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I'd highly recommend Live Oak. Beautiful setting. Excellent food. Great service. Awesome menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for dinner. Had a 6:30 reserv ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went here for dinner. Had a 6:30 reservation and we were seated immediately. Server was nice but very inexperienced. He had no idea how the dishes on the menu were prepared. You expect slow service for "island time" but dinner took 3 hours. Food was delicious but portions were excessive. The cornbread is made to order and is worth the 25 min wait. Too full for dessert 🙁

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent and informative server. We enj ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent and informative server. We enjoyed all our appetizers, except the bacon cornbread which was just "ok." The gumbo was delicious with a nice smoky flavor and blackened shrimp lettuce wraps tasty as well. I enjoyed the fried green tomatoes, a favorite of mine. The shrimp wrapped crab cakes were good but not special. My son's pork chop was , however, outstanding, moist, cooked and seasoned perfectly. The catch of the day also delicious. They give you a great deal of food since each entree comes with two sides. Try the cheesy grits. Yum!! The restaurant is on the golf course and you can dine inside or outside. We dined in and were seated by a window with a lovely view. The thing we all noted first after dining was that we were not rushed. We ate at a relaxing pace and were even encouraged by our waitress to relax and enjoy! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dinner overlooking the golf ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A wonderful dinner overlooking the golf course. The new plantation club is beautiful. Andre, our waiter, was very good, helpful, and funny. The menu was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Live Oak is the sister restaurant of Lin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Live Oak is the sister restaurant of Links. It promised excellent low country Southern Cuisine. And boy did it deliver!

As of tonight this is my favorite restaurant in Savannah/ HHI. From the Skillet pan bacon Corn BREAD, Low Country Crab Cake appetizer, Shrimp wrap crab cakes, and Coastal Empire Mac n Cheese....loaded with seafood. This last dish is so wonderful, we are returning tmw for lunch.

The restaurant, just like Links is architecturally beautiful.... beautiful water views... A true Southern experience...

I can not in good conscience give this landmark restaurant a 5..... I must give it 5+++.

The Jamaican staff are courteous, lovingly attentive, and a most important part of the entire experience. Yeah mon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dinner with beautiful golf c ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding dinner with beautiful golf course views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in HHI on vacation. What a beau ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in HHI on vacation. What a beautiful view to sit and enjoy dinner. Food was delicious, and wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome. Loved it !!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome. Loved it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This is a wonderful place to eat. Food w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a wonderful place to eat. Food was great, although menu could have a few more options. Great wine list and the atmosphere both in and out is fantastic. We always eat outside and our server was more than gracious. It's a little pricey and well worth it. We enjoyed seafood and fried green tomatoes outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wasn't expecting much, even though I h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I wasn't expecting much, even though I had read several positive reviews. I was very impressed. Great setting, great view, and not crowded- a rarity in summer in Hilton Head. Great outdoor dining if you have little ones. The food was sophisticated-- my mahi- mahi was done perfectly with a nice, light sauce. Dessert was also very good. This is a hidden gem, I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was exceptional and service was awe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was exceptional and service was awesome. The views over the course were great at sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Service is usually ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Food was really good. Service is usually very good but it was off tonight. Did not get bread after asking three times for it and water glass did not get refilled until I asked for some after dinner. Hopefully it was a one off because it is usually quite good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

All very good excellent food. Only compl ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

All very good excellent food. Only complaint are the servers standing immediately behind us while eating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live Oak's ambiance was a perfect balan ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Live Oak's ambiance was a perfect balance of elegance with an inviting Low Country style. The food was representative of that same theme. Beer can half chicken was succulent and juicy. The shrimp skewers was a generous portion with a nice delicate flavor. The waiter was attentive and friendly. Best of all was the view of the evening sky over The Heron Point golf course. Breathtaking.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and excellent overall e ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great atmosphere and excellent overall experience. Great for families with 10+ year old kids or a nice date night. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I hesitate to post this because I would ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I hesitate to post this because I would like to keep having great access to this restaurant. This is the best run eatery in Sea Pines. The other restaurants are staffed with temp workers from Jamaica while Live Oak has a fantastic core staff with only a few temps. It does not have the view of Coast, but food and service make up for that. Have a drink at the 2nd floor bar at the beach club and walk over to Live Oak for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So glad my family chose this excellent r ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

So glad my family chose this excellent restaurant for a delicious meal and memorable birthday celebration! Service was friendly and efficient (even thought it took a long time to get and pay the bill on a relatively quiet weeknight) and nearly all the food was outstanding. The fried green tomatoes and cornbread skillet appetizers were devoured quickly -- jalapeno marmalade on the latter was a spicy standout. Fried pork rinds in the bread basket didn't go over well with the girls, but they were nicely seasoned, which was unique and a pleasant surprise for those who've tried other plain ones before. Perfectly cooked shrimp skewers with strawberry bacon jam, mac-and-cheese and collard greens were very satisfying and the shrimp-wrapped crab cakes and cheese grits were equally delicious. Our oldest (10) raved about the kid's pulled pork slider, but our younger (7) one's entree looked and tasted like nothing more than Kraft mac-and-cheese from a box. (It didn't have to be spruced up the same way the homemade "adult" mac-and-cheese was, but be prepared for the difference if you order. Most kids probably prefer the more familiar recipe anyway.) Both girls loved their large bowls of fresh fruit (included) and their choice of cookies from a list of several "side dishes" -- awesome! Kid's place mats with interactive 3D iPhone app were also a cool first. Complimentary key-lime-pie-in-a-mason-jar with sparkling candles added a nice touch and was appreciated and enjoyed by all, but it would have benefited from a little more key lime flavor and fewer graham cracker crumbs. Overall, very tasty and authentic Lowcountry cuisine served by friendly staff and hosted in a beautiful setting inside and out. We highly recommend Live Oak and will definitely return on our next vacation to Hilton Head!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed the variety of low-country fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We enjoyed the variety of low-country food offered. Service was enjoyable and the view of the surrounding golf course was spectacular!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic service and food. Everybody wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Fantastic service and food. Everybody was very friendly and me and family felt very welcome.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome !!! Loved it !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Awesome !!! Loved it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Found Live Oak on a "Top Restaurants of ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Found Live Oak on a "Top Restaurants of Hilton Head" list on-line. It was #12 overall. We didn't know it was located in the Plantation Golf Resort clubhouse. Despite being a bit hidden in the clubhouse (we followed the sounds out silver, glassware and talking to find it), we were warmly greeted once we found the host stand. Our server Andre was attentive and upbeat. The food was art of a plate. In particular the shrimp wrapped crab cake entree was outstanding. We sat along the windows and had a great view of the beautiful golf course. Overall a very nice time with excellent service. And given the quality of the presentation and flavors of the food, I would add it is actually a strong value as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service, food that is not even ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Horrible service, food that is not even warm after a long wait. Wait staff needs serious training and grace manners. We will not be back!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful decor and a ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful decor and amazing food! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner on vacation. Staff / servi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Family dinner on vacation. Staff / service was all incredible... Very welcoming with the kids. Food was incredible! Loved the cornbread skillet. Beautiful views & setting. Overall, lovely experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I highly recommend Live Oa ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I highly recommend Live Oak to anyone visiting Hilton Head Island. It is a treat that should not be missed. Every single person in the establishment went out of their way to enhance our visit...and the food was AMAZING!!! We will definitely come back here again and again and again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate early so it was not very crowed, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We ate early so it was not very crowed, but the food was excellent and the service friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful views out onto Harb ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely beautiful views out onto Harbourview Golf Course! The food was spectacular. We had the filet and the pork chop and they were delicious! One of the best parts of the meal was the pimento cheese that you get before your meal with crackers and the pretzel roll!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it !!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved it !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.