About Live Oak

100 North Sea Pines Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Located in the new Plantation Golf Club, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience showcasing Lowcountry-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products. Completely redefining traditional clubhouse fare, the restaurant's menu is infused with fresh, local offerings providing guests with an opportunity to eat healthy while enjoying the tastes and flavors of the Lowcountry.

Boasting a 35-foot rotunda ceiling and floor-to-ceiling windows that provide an incredible 270 degree golf view, the restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating options. Guests can sit alongside the copper-top bar and choose from an expansive selection of local craft beers, a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list, or a signature Bourbon collection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Southern, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7-11am
Lunch: 11am–6pm
Bar Menu: 11am-6pm
Happy Hour: 4–6pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 842-1441

Website:
http://www.liveoaklowcountrycuisine.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is provided for resort guests.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:45PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 3:45PM

Private Dining

Located in the renowned Sea Pines Resort, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience featuring Low country-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products.

Live Oak Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Low Country
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
2 More
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

scenic view (77)
great for outdoor dining (49)
special occasion (48)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
romantic (36)
neighborhood gem (30)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (21)
kid-friendly (19)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome !!! Loved it !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 hours ago

Awesome !!! Loved it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Found Live Oak on a "Top Restaurants of ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Found Live Oak on a "Top Restaurants of Hilton Head" list on-line. It was #12 overall. We didn't know it was located in the Plantation Golf Resort clubhouse. Despite being a bit hidden in the clubhouse (we followed the sounds out silver, glassware and talking to find it), we were warmly greeted once we found the host stand. Our server Andre was attentive and upbeat. The food was art of a plate. In particular the shrimp wrapped crab cake entree was outstanding. We sat along the windows and had a great view of the beautiful golf course. Overall a very nice time with excellent service. And given the quality of the presentation and flavors of the food, I would add it is actually a strong value as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service, food that is not even ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Horrible service, food that is not even warm after a long wait. Wait staff needs serious training and grace manners. We will not be back!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Family dinner on vacation. Staff / servi ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Family dinner on vacation. Staff / service was all incredible... Very welcoming with the kids. Food was incredible! Loved the cornbread skillet. Beautiful views & setting. Overall, lovely experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I highly recommend Live Oa ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I highly recommend Live Oak to anyone visiting Hilton Head Island. It is a treat that should not be missed. Every single person in the establishment went out of their way to enhance our visit...and the food was AMAZING!!! We will definitely come back here again and again and again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful views out onto Harb ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Absolutely beautiful views out onto Harbourview Golf Course! The food was spectacular. We had the filet and the pork chop and they were delicious! One of the best parts of the meal was the pimento cheese that you get before your meal with crackers and the pretzel roll!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it !!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Loved it !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love this place!!! Highly rec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Absolutely love this place!!! Highly recommend. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! I got the beef tenderloi ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was great! I got the beef tenderloin and I could cut it with a butter knife. Another member of my group got the crab cakes and they were delicious! I was also very impressed with the kids menu! I will definitely be dining there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food, service and ambiance of Live O ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food, service and ambiance of Live Oak is always first-class for a special meal with family/friends or a quick dinner for two at the bar. For the night of this review, our server (James) was cordial, professional and attentive. The food, farm to table/southern (shrimp/crabcakes, short ribs, filet mignon and sides), is always delicious, well-prepared and plated. The view of the golf course is gorgeous and there is additional seating outside (covered).

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food - we had the smokes prime ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food - we had the smokes prime rib. First time I have ever had prime rib prepared that way. Wonderful views of the golf course and surrounding area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My hubby and I chose to eat at Live Oak ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My hubby and I chose to eat at Live Oak to celebrate our 2 year dating anniversary and recent 6 month wedding anniversary. We were in town to get away for the 4th of July weekend. I had requested a window view which was perfect. Our server James was very attentive as was the manager Alex who stopped by several times to check on us. We enjoyed a glass and a half each of the Fume Blanc (James offered to split a third glass between the two of us). Our appetizer was amazing -- Crispy Oyster Lettuce Wraps. My hubby had the special -- meatloaf -- which he said was phenomenal. I had the shrimp skewers which were delicious. James worked with me on my dairy allergy which was much appreciated. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Beautiful dining room overlooking the go ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beautiful dining room overlooking the golf course. Food was delicious. Staff very attentive. Really enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff very slow and not experienced ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wait staff very slow and not experienced. Nobody in dining room for breakfast but still had to wait for food close to 15 mins for breakfast I shudder to think what it would be like for dinner with a dining room full of people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Needs more menu selection- very limited ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Needs more menu selection- very limited but the place is gorgeous and service was excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a lovely meal at Live Oak. Weather ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Had a lovely meal at Live Oak. Weather was perfect and sat outside on their expansive deck. Excellent cocktails and the food was quite good. Service was on point

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

James was our server, and was excellent! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

James was our server, and was excellent! Food was awesome as well.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer selection, and perfect recomm ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great beer selection, and perfect recommendations from the bartender. The peach spinach salad was perfect, low country Mac and cheese and short ribs outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, even better service in a bea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food, even better service in a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was particularly helpful, cou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waiter was particularly helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the dining occasion.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service...thought I wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great food, great service...thought I was in Chuckie Cheese for a minute because there were so many children there! If you want to avoid kids, go later. We dined at 6:30 because we were leaving the island the next day and had to get packed. Will go again, but later to avoid children.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful way to celebrate Fath ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was a wonderful way to celebrate Father's Day with brunch on the porch and much cooler southern breezes.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was just average but the service wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was just average but the service was less than good....staff needs better training. We were there for Sunday brunch with family. coffee was ordered it took 20 minutes for it to arrive...the same for the entire meal. Menu is very limited. for example, Eggs Benedict was only served on a very small crab cake...no traditional eggs Benedict. I ordered an omelet and only one kind was available....salmon and cream cheese....very little taste....How about more choices in omelet so. We live on Hilton Head Island and will probably go to the Life Oak again but not with house guests

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Menu is creative and food and service ar ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Menu is creative and food and service are wonderful! Lovely room and setting make for a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service - present without hovering ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service - present without hovering- thanks Christopher. Food was spectacular, as was the late evening view of the sun setting. Fried green tomatoes were delicious (though I would've liked a bit of cayenne in them) and the crab cakes were great. Seafood mac n cheese was spot on - the shrimp - Wow! Only spot of concern was the seats and floor at the table had crumbs all over. Fortunately, there was another table open and we were seated there without waiting for a sweep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This reservation was to celebrate a bir ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

This reservation was to celebrate a birthday. Very friendly greeting. At 7pm, our reservation time, the restaurant became quite busy. Server was unable to give proper attention to our table. Second round of beverages ordered long before dinners arrived but came after the dinners were served. No reason that bartender couldn't have delivered the cocktails. Service less than good. Food, though, was excellent. If schedule is important, make sure there is adequate staffing to handle a full restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

If you love golf, the view is perfect! F ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

If you love golf, the view is perfect! Food was excellent! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and atmosphere were fantastic. Prim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food and atmosphere were fantastic. Primary waiter detracted from the experience. He disappeared for long periods of time. Service staff sort of "flopped" our food into the table rather than serve politely from the left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Live Oak not only has one of the best vi ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Live Oak not only has one of the best views (golf course) on Hilton Head but also some of the best food the island has to offer. The Southern inspired menu is the best around.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience , great food , gre ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful experience , great food , great service , great setting ambiance. !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely atmosphere and delicious low country food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This was our first visit to Live Oak and we will definitely be back. The building itself is gorgeous and the restaurant did not disappoint. Everyone at the table ordered something different so we could all share. Everything was delicious. We event sent back for more of their creamy southern style grits. We are looking forward to returning when we visit HHI next summer!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mixed review

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our waiter was great. My steak was perfect. My wife loves shrimp, but the shrimp she got were tasteless. She has had shrimp with her meal three times on this Hilton Head vacation, and these were in last place (even though a little priicey). I said I would recommend this restaurant to a friend because most of our experience was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food was good but the service was very slow. There were only a few other tables but it took over 10 minutes to see a server. She stopped by to see if we wanted water. It was another 10 before we could place a drink order.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

James is a great waiter, he ensures ever ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

James is a great waiter, he ensures everything is perfect with your experience. The food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quality

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My meal was most disappointing. I ordered the benedict. Crab cake cold, egg overcooked and potatoes,coffee and bacon only warm. The other meal was OK. Our server did heat the coffee was excellent and assured us she would report to chef of the situation. We would not go back at this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovetheview

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Loved the view of the golf course. Food was nice. Limited selection. Service, attentive. Loved the petit Syrah we chose.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Live Oak was an unexpected Hilton Head d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Live Oak was an unexpected Hilton Head dining highlight that we found through Open Table. We have vacationed in Hilton Head for 20+ years and never eaten there. Our service and server were superb and the atmosphere very romantic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as fabulous as previous visits

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

A bit disappointed in this dining experience at Live Oak. Went for my wife's birthday as it is one of her favorite restaurants in Hilton Head--we all loved it when we first went a couple of years ago. New chef with a different menu, which greatly disappointed my older son--he first tried calamari at Live Oak and now loves it, but the calamari was no longer on the menu. Ribs were fine. Shrimp-wrapped crab cakes were good. Filet fair. Cheese grits tasted like nothing and had what appeared to be bits of bacon--we asked our server about it, and he didn't have an answer. One bright spot was the wine: great Rombauer cab that I'll search for again. Nothing bad about the experience--just not as great as it was when it first opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Extraordinary!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This was one of the best meals we've had on HHI in the past 10 years! Love, love, love the new menu! We had the fish specials - pan seared wahoo and grilled swordfish - both were out of this world! Our server offered to split our salad - it was like getting two salads for the price of one. The tableside visit from the head chef topped off the evening. We'll definitely return - the next time with the whole family!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great experience.

vip
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.