Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.86mi
  4. Distance: 2.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.86mi
  4. Distance: 2.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.86mi
  4. Distance: 2.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 1.12mi
  3. Distance: 1.86mi
  4. Distance: 2.03mi

About Live Oak

Located in the new Plantation Golf Club, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience showcasing Lowcountry-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products. Completely redefining traditional clubhouse fare, the restaurant's menu is infused with fresh, local offerings providing guests with an opportunity to eat healthy while enjoying the tastes and flavors of the Lowcountry.

Boasting a 35-foot rotunda ceiling and floor-to-ceiling windows that provide an incredible 270 degree golf view, the restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating options. Guests can sit alongside the copper-top bar and choose from an expansive selection of local craft beers, a Wine Spectator Award-winning wine list, or a signature Bourbon collection.

100 North Sea Pines Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Low Country, Southern, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7-11am
Lunch: 11am–3pm
Bar Menu: 11am-9pm
Happy Hour: 4–6:30pm
Dinner: 5-9pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 842-1441

Website:
http://www.liveoaklowcountrycuisine.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is provided for resort guests.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Private Dining

Located in the renowned Sea Pines Resort, Live Oak is a fresh culinary experience featuring Low country-inspired cuisine and locally sourced produce and products.

Live Oak Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.2

Noise

Quiet

69% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
See All
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Live Oak. The general manager was personable and attentive. Service was a touch slow but we didn’t mind enjoying the view from our outdoor table. We both had fish that was fresh and well prepared. The salads were generous and very fresh. The breads were homemade and delicious- served with a honey butter. We would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our experience at Live oak was very good! Food was outstanding. The ambience was quite beautiful. Wait staff was very helpful but needed further training on systematic delivery of the various courses for the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We felt the wine was overpriced for the pour. Food was ok but our service was very poor. Not going to rush back even with 20% off for residents.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Excellent food, especially the crab/parmesan crusted flounder entrée. Service person was very friendly but quite inexperienced.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Love the ambiance, have been here a number of times for dinner however, our last waiter interrupted quite a bit, he needed more guidance on etiquette. The tomato bisque was absolutely amazing but the BBQ tacos or something were just strange. Will try again because I love the view but the food was only fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Under staffed, under trained and the food was unimaginative. Of 4 appetizers ordered only the clams were worth having more than a taste of.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Sadly, this trip to Live Oak was some of the worst food we have ever had. They have changed the menu, the food delivery timing was horrible. We were comped a glass of wine and the service was friendly, but we were so disappointed! We live locally and have enjoyed many great meals in the past. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2017

The place is beautiful (very upscale). If you’re looking to impress a date/spouse this is it. If you can, try to eat before sunset to get the most out of the view of the golf course and amenities. If it’s hot, sit inside along the windows. If not, consider eating outside. Dress code is “smart casual”. I wasn’t sure what that was, but don’t feel like you can’t go because you left your fancy clothes at home. Jeans and flip-flops don’t fit here. However, I went in my best golf attire (nice golf shirt, loafers and shorts) and fit in just fine. Golf shirt with casual slacks might be better if you have them. My date dressed up a bit and made me look better. You’ll be pampered here. Food is very good and reasonably priced. Our total bill w/ tip for 2 people was about $100. That covered 2 entrees, 1 soup, 1 salad, 1 glass of wine and 2 beers. We had the catch of the day and shrimp and grits. Presentation was excellent. We felt very satisfied. Don’t expect a crowd (which was a pleasant surprise).

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Second time around for us. New menu; excellent onion rings and fiesta bread. Our meals were tasty. The service was excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Predicated on past experience @ Live Oak, it would have been GREAT! Unfortunately, Hurricane Matthew intervened. Looking forward to rescheduling at a later date following recovery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great service, great food. Shrimp and Grits were the best we've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Food and service were excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Live Oak has a stunnung "luxury modern beachy"
decor with warm blues
and beige hues, modern lighting and a beautiful terrace and view of the golf course. The menu offers southern low country cuisine. We had the shrimp-wrapped crab cakes and the Coastal Empire Mac and cheese (with gluten free pasta)!! Large portions and beyond fabulous taste. We loved every bite! The poppadom, pork rinds, and bread basket was also fabulous! Our waiter was friendly, courteous, and had a great knowledge of the menu selections. The chef also came to our table to ask if we were satisfied with our selections!! The experience began with a complentary glass of champagne...we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary! The food was fabulous and presented well, and the service was courteous and
professional! Thank you to everyone at Live Oak for a great celebration!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food keeps improving. Service is better too with the exception of the bar. It takes much too long to get a cocktail, especially when there is NOBODY sitting at the bar and the restaurant is mostly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent brunch with first rate service! The bottomless Bloody Mary's and Mimosas are a great addition. Creative southern cooking- we will be back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Stunning golf course view - with comfortable outdoor seating. The service was attentive and menu quite satisfying. Prices were very reasonable considering the locale. If we're ever in the area again, we'll definitely visit more. This would be a great spot for business lunches or dining to impress, although do be aware you have to pay about $6 to drive into the community. Not sure if there is any validation process for diners, but it's a beautiful drive regardless and a nice spot for brunch that's off the beaten path.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wonderful meal and evening. Best grits I've ever had and I was born in Louisiana!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was a fantastic restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is a newer restaurant and it is truly an amazing experience. Definitely one for the foodie in all of us. The chef did not share his secret low country recipes but it was all delicious, beautiful view of the new Davis love course. Staff was very friendly and attentive. This is a not to be missed when staying in Hilton head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The country thyme drink is my fav here on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Friendly, comfortable country club dining at its best. Beautiful dining room overlooking golf course, with veranda dining. I had Mahi and it was very good, service was just as good. I mentioned it was my birthday and to my surprise received a complementary chocolate fudge cake ... and it was delicious. Will definitely return on my next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great service and loved the country thyme drink. My fav so far here on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We came here for Sunday brunch, with high expectations since it was in Sea Pines Resort at the nice and new Plantation Club. While the atmosphere overlooking the golf course was quite beautiful, and the weather was delightful, the food and service were anything but. Our server was courteous, but when I ordered the unlimited mimosa, I never received a single refill request until I was presented with the check.

I ordered the Southern Pulled Pork and Potato Hash. The pulled pork was pretty good, and the BBQ sauce was very delicious. But the potato hash seemed like it was just deep fried cubes of potato... and don't get me wrong, I love deep fried potato (french fries of all types) but these didn't seem freshly deep fried just before serving to me.

My wife was equally disappointed with her Crab Cake and fried green tomato (Live Oak Lunch on the Porch). Her words: It was terrible. I don't know exactly what that means, but I do know she knows what a good crab cake should be.

So, we won't be coming back. Our hunt for fine dining in Hilton Head continues (haven't found it yet).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Waiter didn't really know the items on the menu...he seemed new to the job. Food was average, but desserts were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Impressive as you enter the well maintained (still looks new) entry and lobby area. The pro shop to the right (every shirt is perfectly folded) and the staff is professional. Live Oak to the left. The room there is beautiful, high ceilings, loads of windows... modern, clean, a bit sterile. Some great table options.

The service is a bit slow but friendly. Apps here blew away the main courses. We loved the crab cake, the fried green tomatoes, the chicken wings were ok enough but too much breading. Bread basket showed the talents of the pastry chef... perfect rolls, flatbread/cracker bread.

We weren't impressed with the pulled pork... pork chop was better but very plain... the ribs were the best entree. Sides were all very good. Desserts (cheesecake, key lime pie parfait, cookies were all weak... I'd recommend skipping.

So, if you order the fried green tomatoes or the crab cake... then the ribs... skip dessert... you'll do fine. I imagine there are a few other dishes that will please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Well staffed restaurant with low country menu. Food was very good and the service was exceptional. Will return next time in Hilton Head!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Chef was very charming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was delicious and the server was nice however it took a long time for meals to come out and they completely forgot about our desserts (a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a slice of cheesecake). the server kindly took the items off the bill and wrapped to the cheesecake to go. Over all it was a lovely experience in a beautiful setting and I plan to return in the future and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food exceptional - will be going again this vacation! Our waiter Christopher was extremely knowledgable, pleasant, and on point with food and pairing recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I'd highly recommend Live Oak. Beautiful setting. Excellent food. Great service. Awesome menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went here for dinner. Had a 6:30 reservation and we were seated immediately. Server was nice but very inexperienced. He had no idea how the dishes on the menu were prepared. You expect slow service for "island time" but dinner took 3 hours. Food was delicious but portions were excessive. The cornbread is made to order and is worth the 25 min wait. Too full for dessert 🙁

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent and informative server. We enjoyed all our appetizers, except the bacon cornbread which was just "ok." The gumbo was delicious with a nice smoky flavor and blackened shrimp lettuce wraps tasty as well. I enjoyed the fried green tomatoes, a favorite of mine. The shrimp wrapped crab cakes were good but not special. My son's pork chop was , however, outstanding, moist, cooked and seasoned perfectly. The catch of the day also delicious. They give you a great deal of food since each entree comes with two sides. Try the cheesy grits. Yum!! The restaurant is on the golf course and you can dine inside or outside. We dined in and were seated by a window with a lovely view. The thing we all noted first after dining was that we were not rushed. We ate at a relaxing pace and were even encouraged by our waitress to relax and enjoy! Would definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 10, 2016

A wonderful dinner overlooking the golf course. The new plantation club is beautiful. Andre, our waiter, was very good, helpful, and funny. The menu was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Live Oak is the sister restaurant of Links. It promised excellent low country Southern Cuisine. And boy did it deliver!
As of tonight this is my favorite restaurant in Savannah/ HHI. From the Skillet pan bacon Corn BREAD, Low Country Crab Cake appetizer, Shrimp wrap crab cakes, and Coastal Empire Mac n Cheese....loaded with seafood. This last dish is so wonderful, we are returning tmw for lunch.
The restaurant, just like Links is architecturally beautiful.... beautiful water views... A true Southern experience...
I can not in good conscience give this landmark restaurant a 5..... I must give it 5+++.
The Jamaican staff are courteous, lovingly attentive, and a most important part of the entire experience. Yeah mon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding dinner with beautiful golf course views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were in HHI on vacation. What a beautiful view to sit and enjoy dinner. Food was delicious, and wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Awesome. Loved it !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is a wonderful place to eat. Food was great, although menu could have a few more options. Great wine list and the atmosphere both in and out is fantastic. We always eat outside and our server was more than gracious. It's a little pricey and well worth it. We enjoyed seafood and fried green tomatoes outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2016

I wasn't expecting much, even though I had read several positive reviews. I was very impressed. Great setting, great view, and not crowded- a rarity in summer in Hilton Head. Great outdoor dining if you have little ones. The food was sophisticated-- my mahi- mahi was done perfectly with a nice, light sauce. Dessert was also very good. This is a hidden gem, I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food was exceptional and service was awesome. The views over the course were great at sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.