About Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa

253 Taylor Road SS4
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L2J 2V8
View Larger Map

LIV Restaurant is the award-winning, unforgettable gem, located at White Oaks Resort in Niagara on the Lake. The locally inspired wine list, lighting and music in LIV provide a fantastic backdrop to a spectacular dining experience. The service exemplifies the Four Diamond level the hotel is known for and provides for an experience truly beyond expectations. Chef Michael Price and his team have done something extraordinary. They have taken Canada’s Basic Food Guide and transformed it through international cooking styles and seasonings to create an unparalleled, globally inspired four diamond menu. All of the ingredients are natural, each one chosen for its uncompromising purity. Our team are more than willing to come out of the kitchen (time permitting) to discuss the menu or any special dietary concerns you may have. The menu changes slightly every season to take advantage of the locally grown produce that is so abundant in the Niagara Region. The atmosphere is chic/sexy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:As of Monday July 11th,2011-Monday September 5th, 2011 LIV will be serving Breakfast daily between 7:00am- 11:00am. LIV is Closed for Lunch. Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Glendale Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 688-2550 ext. 5248

Website:
http://www.whiteoaksresort.com/liv-restaurant.html

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary. Valet parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Michael Price

Private Party Facilities:
White Oaks is pleased to offer a number of beautifully appointed banquet rooms to accommodate a variety of functions. Room selection is based on the number of guests and special requirements. White Oaks hosts a variety of wedding parties and special events throughout the year; from small, intimate parties to large affairs of up to 500 people. Whether your event is large or small, the White Oaks team of Hospitality Specialists is dedicated to the success of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Sarah Clark: 9057045695

Additional:
Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Toronto / Ontario
Best Food
Toronto / Ontario
Best Service
Toronto / Ontario
10 More
Best Ambiance
Toronto / Ontario
Romantic
Toronto / Ontario
Special Occasion
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Niagara
Best Food
Niagara
Best Service
Niagara
Best Ambiance
Niagara
Best Value
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
Special Occasion
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

special occasion (24)
romantic (19)
good for groups (13)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
great for brunch (6)
notable wine list (6)
neighborhood gem (2)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I actually took my husband for his Fathe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I actually took my husband for his Father's Day celebration (a little early). We have always enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and Fiona has been a great server for us on several occasions. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service,food and ambience are all top no ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service,food and ambience are all top notch. Melt in your mouth steaks and sides to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional Service and Meal

Dined on May 3, 2016

We arrived at Liv Restaurant on a Tuesday night at 5:30 p.m. The servers and staff were very attentive and the timing of the courses were well timed. A complimentary ahi tuna appetizer was provided that was very tasty. A selection of fresh breads with dips were provided next. We ordered a Naan pizza appetizer and it was hot and flavourful. After each course silverware was removed and freshened. A pallette cleanser of lemon sorbet was provided and it was refreshing and of creamy consistency. Our main dishes ordered were sea scallops on a bed or risotto and a peppercorn crusted beef tenderloin. The dishes were well presented, hot and flavourful. We had no room for dessert, but since we were celebrating our anniversary and my wife's birthday they brought us a complimentary plate of small desserts, with congratulations written in chocolate sauce. A very thoughtful gesture and much appreciated. Our server was engaging, friendly and spent the right amount of time engaging in pleasantries and conversations. Well done staff, we will be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just love this restaurant

Dined on April 17, 2016

Never a disappointment. Ambiance is great, service fantastic and food delicious. Looking forward to outlet next stay.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT!

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. Service was great as was the food. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Dinner for two was great value although I found the regular menu pricey.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved our visit, outstanding food and wine

Dined on March 3, 2016

Always enjoy fabulicious, you are number one with us

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Fabuliscious Menu

Dined on March 2, 2016

I have been attending Fabuliscious for a number of years, finally found the best one going. I will be back every year going forward, I was blown away by the flavours, portions and little extras.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulicious!

Dined on February 28, 2016

My friend and I went to Liv for dinner during an event they call "Fabulicious" and let me tell you that the meal and service lived up to the event's name! Fabulous, and delicious! I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a meal that impresses! I chose a Buffalo Mozzarella salad, Chicken Supreme for my main course and a Toblerone cheesecake for dessert. My friend had the same salad and a Beef tip linguine main course and the cheesecake as well. They served amuse bouche in the beginning and a lemon sorbet before the main course. I love going to restaurants that offer these types of things in a meal. I would definitely go back there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always !!

Dined on February 26, 2016

LIV always exceeds expectations. The service , the food and the ambiance are 5 star !!! Love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on February 18, 2016

From the moment we entered Liv we were treated special. From the Happy Birthday note in my husband's menu , celebratory complimentary bubbly wine , and treats from the chef my husband's 75th will be remembered fondly. Kudos to your wait staff, especially Fiona who was informative and friendly and did not rush us. I appreciated Jessica's extra thoughtfulness of having my purse being placed on a small ottoman beside me so that it was off the floor.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautifull setting and good food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The LIV is situated in a beautiful location within the hotel/resort. Overlooks the gardens. Service is impeccable and very courteous. The food is very good (breakfast) but maybe a bit on the expensive side. Tried the Vegan Hash but was not really crazy about it. Maybe I like my hash browns a bit more crispy - but ok overall (I guess healthier when not fried :)) I would recommend the restaurant but maybe save it for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Thanks to all staff at Liv restaurant for the outstanding service and cuisine. The food was absolutely delectable. Our waitress, Lexie was incredible. The mixologist, Corey was a delightful addition to the awesome experience. A lovely surprise was the complimentary champagne and dessert plate with Happy Birthday written for my boyfriend's birthday. Overall, a most memorable experience. Thanks again! :-)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Next to perfect!

Dined on February 7, 2016

We recently celebrate our anniversary at Liv restaurant, after a friend described a meal here as the best of her life. We were impressed with the service and small touches like a special insert in our menus! Each bite of food was delicious, and we ate every bite. I have already recommended this restaurant to several people with special events coming up! Perfect way to cap off a day trip from Toronto!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our evening at LIV was ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Everything about our evening at LIV was fabulous. Second time having the mussels which are awesome. And even for me who is gluten free they were accommodating with some gluten free bread. Great Caesar Salad and Chicken Linguine and Sea Bass Pad Thai for entree. Both amazing. and nothing completes a night better than a perfect creme Brulee. And our server made everything perfect!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience at Liv Restaurant

Dined on January 30, 2016

This was out second time spending the weekend at White Oaks Resort and what we were looking forward to the most was our dinner at Liv Restaurant. We loved it the first time and we definitely were not disappointed the second time. All of our dishes were delicious! The service was 5-star service and all the extras are such a nice touch. Great ambiance too! We highly recommend this restaurant and we will return soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favourite restaurant in the Niagara Region!

Dined on January 16, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the Niagara Region. The atmospere is elegant and relaxing. The service is amazing. The food selection is great, there's such a broad choice of food. You will not be disappointed. It will become your favourite too!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Magnificent Experience

Dined on January 10, 2016

An absolutely magnificent experience that both my wife and i enjoyed. The waitress was extremely pleasant and helpful. The entire staff went to great lengths to make sure all of our needs were met. Highly recommend this spot to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service3

I honestly cannot believe how bad the fo ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

I honestly cannot believe how bad the food was. As soon as you walk in the restaurant is so obviously trying too hard to be "cool". I asked the server if the caesar salad dressing was made I'm house to which she responded yes. If the caesar dressing is made in house Liv must have stolen their head chef from Kraft. The charcuterie board consisted of some supermarket meats cut far too thick, a few chunks of cheese and some very odd tasting pickled vegetables. On the the main courses. The gnocchi arrived and resembled more of a soup (my wife looked at me and noted that she had never been served gnocchi floating in a lagoon). I ordered the bison tenderloin and I wish they would have provided me with a hacksaw rather than a steak knife to cut through the three hunts of meat scattered in my plate. I could literally hear my knife tearing through the leathery meat during the approximately 20 knife strokes it took me to get through it. The only saving grace on the plate were the mashed potatoes which were edible. Almost $200 later and I can honestly say I've never been more disappointed in a dining experience please save yourself time and money and do not dine at Liv.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food Kingdom

Dined on January 1, 2016

Service, selection and quality...all above expectation. Size of each servings is incredible. We love good portions a great food. LIV scores high above expectations in all categories. Food quality and servers attention details and the presentation is incredible! Wow! - will sum it up best.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

pricey but good food

Dined on December 31, 2015

only had breakfast at Liv Restaurant. was a little on the pricey side, about $12-$18 for breakfast they also had a buffet option for $17. I had an omelet and my gf had the buffet. the omelet was very good and portion size was big. I would recommend Liv and White Oak only if you got one of their deals or packages, otherwise I thought the place was a bit over priced. The outlet mall is across the street if you are into shopping, but note that it is an outdoor mall.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food is excellent

Dined on December 31, 2015

Went to LIV on Dec 30th. Have dined there before. Food was very good. Ordered steak there and it was cooked to perfection, exactly how I wanted it. Service was not as good as last time I went there. Waitress seems inexperienced for this class of restaurants. Forgot to ask us for drinks, dived right into asking for our orders without telling us whether there was any special for the day. Did not come to my table much at all during our whole time there. Felt left out, especially it was not even a busy night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Top Drawer !

Dined on December 13, 2015

Enjoyable overall dining experience...delicious food...great service...however, be prepared for to empty your wallet...$$$$...definitely a "special" occasion venue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing

Dined on November 29, 2015

I have been to this restaurant many times and I can't say I have been disappointed. The service is amazing, the ambiance is beautiful and the food is fantastic. I can't wait until my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

If it ain't broke.. don't fix it !

Dined on November 18, 2015

I truly cannot find a negative thing to say about LIV. Amazing food, outstanding service ( Lexie & Cole) and meticulous attention to detail. Extra touches including an amuse bouche, sorbet intermezzo and ice cream truffles to end the dinner completed this fine dining experience. Look forward to my next visit !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Recommended!

Dined on October 29, 2015

The food was absolutely delicious! The presentation was lovely and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant experience

Dined on September 19, 2015

We had an incredible experience at this restaurant from start to finish. Our server was friendly and attentive. Our appetizers, entrees (veal chop and filet) and desserts were incredible. I'd have to say the filet was one of the best I've ever had the the presentation was very nice as well. We were even served a sorbet to cleanse our palettes before the entree came out which was a nice touch. I would definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great restaurant

Dined on September 18, 2015

Had a great dinner for two with the fixed price three course menu plus wine pairings. The food was delicious and the paired wines were excellent. Service was prompt and courteous (thanks Jacob and Cole). We will definitely come back again.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Best food & service in Niagara Region

Dined on September 16, 2015

I do not ever give reviews to any business but Liv stood out as being superior. One of the best meals(Bison & Veal) we've eaten in years.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Resort fine dining

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

Located in a “resort” (which is multi story building next to the freeway that has a gym and indoor pool), Liv is surprisingly elegant and refined. We dined there on a recent visit to Niagara on the Lake. The wait staff was helpful and pleasant; the food was surprisingly good; the wine list had some interesting selections. The grilled swordfish with Kalamata remoulade was particularly good and the chili pomme frites with avocado aioli were to die for. Striving for the top end, the meal comes with an amuse bouche and an intermezzo. We enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Niagara-on-the-Lake region

Dined on September 5, 2015

Thanks to its incredibly polished and attentive staff along with superb food creations by the kitchen and some great foccaia bread, not to mention the outstanding wine line and little things they do without being asked: amuse bouche-after dinner mints. So many people we know from the area and outside tell us that LIV is far and away their favorite restaurant and especially for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

A Little Disappointed

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

I have always thought of this restaurant as Number One and look forward to visiting every year after a Shaw performance. It is expensive but does extra little things that make you feel special This time the duck was tough. They were very quick to respond and took the wine off our final tab.. I was asked if I wanted something else....I didn't but appreciated the offer

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

Was okay!!!

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

We had dinner reservations for 730 restaurant almost empty upon arrival! My fish was cold and under done! Had to ask for coffee several times!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely incredible. The ...

Dined on August 29, 2015

The food was absolutely incredible. The service was great, the wine pairing was exceptional. We went for our wedding anniversary and would never hesitate to go back, even if we weren't staying at the White Oaks!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot!!!

Dined on August 21, 2015

We had excellent food and amazing service!!! Thank You!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Another very memorable anniversary dinner!

Dined on August 16, 2015

This was our fifth wedding anniversary dinner in a row at Liv Restaurant, and undoubtedly our best yet! As we choose to dine early, the restaurant was very quiet and the server (Derek)was willing and able to give us his full attention in a very professional manner, along with his assistant (Cole). Not only was the service outstanding but the food was absolutely delicious - - a full three course dinner special (for two) for just under $100, excluding wine! This restaurant really lives up to its five star rating. Congratulations to the chefs and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Too expensive for the quality of food

Dined on August 9, 2015

This restaurant is lovely. Our expectations for a wonderful meal were quite high due the prices on the menu. The staff were wonderful, friendly and worked very hard to please us. Unfortunately, the quinoa salad was totally flavourless, needing both herbs as well as dressing. The waiter did bring more dressing but the base was just lacklustre. Then, the fish arrived, plated in a colourful and pleasing manner. Unfortunately, it to was just a bit overcooked and without taste. I never complain in restaurants, but at these prices, did feel the staff should be notified. They were most accommodating and gave us a credit, but I would have preferred to have had the wonderful dinner I had hoped to enjoy.

food4
ambience4
service5

Recommended

Dined on August 8, 2015

Food was fitting for a premium fine dining restaurant. The service was exceptional, which contributed to a memorable experience with a dear loved one. Would visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great dining venue.

Dined on August 8, 2015

Our experience at Liv was the best the four of us have had in a long time. Food was spectacular!! My husband and I had the beef tenderloin. It was cooked to perfection. Staff was very accommodating. Great place to get together for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

a real gem

Dined on August 6, 2015

From the moment we walked in we could feel the attention to detail. The price fix menu was an outstanding value. The wine list was nice and not overpriced, the waiter brought us another wine to try not to sell it to us but just for the informational value. He directed us to a couple of local wineries we wouldn't have known about. For a Thursday night the restaurant was fairly busy, probably the price fix special. Service was attentive but not pretentious, food was tasty and well presented will absolutely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional

Dined on August 3, 2015

Great food. Great service. Not a single bad thing to say about this restaurant. Hotel is one of the nicest I have ever seen!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.