About Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa

LIV Restaurant is the award-winning, unforgettable gem, located at White Oaks Resort in Niagara on the Lake. The locally inspired wine list, lighting and music in LIV provide a fantastic backdrop to a spectacular dining experience. The service exemplifies the Four Diamond level the hotel is known for and provides for an experience truly beyond expectations. Chef Michael Price and his team have done something extraordinary. They have taken Canada’s Basic Food Guide and transformed it through international cooking styles and seasonings to create an unparalleled, globally inspired four diamond menu. All of the ingredients are natural, each one chosen for its uncompromising purity. Our team are more than willing to come out of the kitchen (time permitting) to discuss the menu or any special dietary concerns you may have. The menu changes slightly every season to take advantage of the locally grown produce that is so abundant in the Niagara Region. The atmosphere is chic/sexy.

253 Taylor Road SS4
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L2J 2V8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:As of Monday July 11th,2011-Monday September 5th, 2011 LIV will be serving Breakfast daily between 7:00am- 11:00am. LIV is Closed for Lunch. Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Glendale Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 688-2550 ext. 5248

Website:
http://www.whiteoaksresort.com/liv-restaurant.html

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary. Valet parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Michael Price

Private Party Facilities:
White Oaks is pleased to offer a number of beautifully appointed banquet rooms to accommodate a variety of functions. Room selection is based on the number of guests and special requirements. White Oaks hosts a variety of wedding parties and special events throughout the year; from small, intimate parties to large affairs of up to 500 people. Whether your event is large or small, the White Oaks team of Hospitality Specialists is dedicated to the success of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Sarah Clark: (905) 704-5695

Additional:
Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service. Stan was our server and he and his team were exceptional. The right amount of attention and courtesy provided at every opportunity. The food was perfect. Great selection on the menu for a wide variety of tastes. Ian, manager, was attentive and a pleasure to speak with. We will return at our next opportunity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Recommend changing the menu as we have been a few times. More selected fish items, more wine selections but overall very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we have been several times and food is always good. You can take new people there and trust it will be good food. They do not rush you between courses of food. Excellent wine list.
Good for conversation. Little things are nice the hot towel, the sorbet between courses, bread, little taste from the cook.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Excellent good and service. Lovely ambiance. Excellent varied menu. Good was delicious and service was very very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Went for Thursday date night which is great value. Limited menu but done very well with generous portions.
Would certainly go back again for this Thursday option as regular menu a little steep for me to frequent.
Service was fantastic and a great spot for a special or any evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This was a mid week getaway and our second time dining at Liv.
Overall Excellent value for you money. Great ambiance for quiet romantic dinner, special occasions or casually dinner with friends.
Service was outstanding- very attentive and willing to please.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to return again sometime in the near future

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Liv was great! Food was wonderful, service was a bit slow/awkward but didn't ruin the evening. Very quiet for dinner time. Room was a bit cold.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. Outstanding mouth-watering food and kind, humble service. Well done!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere were all amazing!!!!!!! Thursday couples deal is a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was exquisite and the service excellent. I'd definitely visit again. My friend and I had a great time, thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were there for my wife's birthday and the treatment was fantastic. We had an awesome time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As with other visits, the food and staff made dinner another memorable experience. We celebrated a birthday and although no mention of it was made st the time of our reservation, they still pulled out all the stops. Dishes made with local ingredients and some wonderful local wines makes this the place to dine in NOTL.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Staff and chefs go the extra mile to make your dining experience extra special. Will definitely plan a return trip for our anniversary!!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant meet our expectations and more. We were extremely happy with both the service and the great quality dishes. Compliments to the chef for a great job. The portions were very filling and unfortunately we had no room to try desert but the desert menu look delicious. Thanks for making our anniversary dinner so special. Complimentary champagne when we arrived was a nice added touch. Thanks again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

5 friends celebrating birthdays, 3 of which were "big" ones. After our breakfast they treated us to a special birthday desert. The service was outstanding, our server was attentive and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went back to Liv for our 10th anniversary dinner (we were there 10 yeras ago). The service was snappy but not intrusive, recommendations were good and the food did not disappoint. They had a cute note in the menu to recognize our special day and some bubbles to start us off which was very thoughtful. overall lovely experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The meal was excellent! One of the best I've ever had anywhere! Service was also excellent, our waiter gave us tastings of wine first to decide which one we preferred - thank you Stan so much! I recommended LIV to my friend and she joined me for a night's get-away and she was SO impressed! She has suggested we go back in the Spring for another lovely meal at LIV and wonderful stay at White Oaks!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We were here not too long ago and found the food not the same. The seacar salad seemed to lacking dressing. The lamb shank had hard dry spots on it and was lacking flavor. The service was average and very slow. It was very busy that evening so I think the staff could not keep up to the demand. The previous time we dinned here the service and food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Overall very enjoyable experience. We went here as a last minute idea when I received an email invitation for Table for Two evening with an extra 15% off if we showed the email ad upon arrival to the hostess. The email and booking service was misleading but the meal in itself and the restaurant was nice. When we went to reserve online it showed the 7pm slot as being full - so we booked 7:30 - we were coming from out of town and ended up early - there was a sign out from of the restaurant saying it was closed for setting up and there was no hostess so we went to the other restaurant and got some assistance. When we went in it was for the most part empty and obviously the 7:00 slot was available. We almost didn't go because we didn't want to go too late and weren't sure if we could make 6:30. Don't know why the online reservation said it was full when it truly wasn't close to being so - when we arrived there were two couples and one family of four. They gave us lovely seats by the window. Took a long time to get a drink order - almost 10 minutes but there were only two servers on staff at time. We were told the 15% didn't apply to the dinner so that was annoying only because the email was very clear that it would and I read all the fine print. Not sure if that mistake is the restaurants or the online email/reservation company - either way the email was misleading and written incorrectly. Regardless, meal was delicious and all the extras they bring you were nice - bread basket, sorbet inbetween courses, etc.... food was exquisitely presented. Washrooms are not convenient - one was through doors attached to an event hall and there was only one women's washroom with a line up a mile long because all the people attending the event.....so I then walked back through restaurant out the other way through a wedding reception and used their restrooms. Server was polite, friendly and professional. Atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. Will go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Group of us ordered a la carte breakfast items on a Saturday and we weren't impressed. All our bennies had eggs that were overcooked... for $18, I'm pretty sure we can get better egg benedict dishes in many other places. Potato hash were pretty good though, and the nice table set up made up for the special occasion that we were celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great food; a little expensive but a very relaxed and un rushed dinner experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The extra care that was taken to help us celebrate a special birthday was amazing.
I loved the "Happy Birthday" on the menu for the Birthday Girl and the glasses of champagne was extra special.
Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went to celebrate friends birthday. Wonderful extras or his birthday,made it even that much more enjoyable. Although the price point on the menu is higher, you definitely et your money's worth. Service was timely and friendly. Food was amazing from start to finish.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

LIV was excellent as expected. Second time there and were really pleased again. Seems they might have reduced the size of the restaurant since the last time we were there but I may be wrong. Solid spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our server was excellent, the food was average. There was a women on the phone (FaceTime) user the speaker for about 20 minutes. It couldn't have been more disrespectful to everyone in the restaurant yet no one from the restaurant said a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This evening was a friends birthday celebration to our surprise the wait staff knew immediately whose birthday it was and wished her the appropriate greeting, in addition our entire table was treated to a welcome prosecco! We had an inter mezzo of sorbet and amuse bouche which were both a welcome surprise. Our wait staff was professional and efficient without being overly bothersome. Our food and drinks were fabulous. Not a detail was missed by the servers, bus help, mixologist or the hostess.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food, attentive service, quiet and peaceful room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

For Brunch, I recommend that you order from the Menu, do not go for the Buffet Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a 'special occasion' restaurant...it is a bit expensive, but worth it. It is in a very nice complex (White Oaks) and has a pleasing ambience. The windows are expansive, the lighting is muted, the music is "new age." The service is excellent, the wine list is mostly local, and the food is very good in both preparation and presentation (we had both a seafood entree and a red meat main dish). We will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good food. Great ambiance. Perfect for special occasions. Staff was very attentive. Had a great time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding service. Thank you Stanley and Jennifer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely beautiful place !! Great ambiance and Excellent service. Superb top notch food even down to kids menu!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were extremely pleased with the quality and the presentation of the food as well as the professional service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with friends and found the staff to be exceptional. I will certainly recommend this restaurant to friends and family. A great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Recently took my husband to LIV for his birthday. The staff were wonderful and took extrodinary care of us. The Menu was limited but very posh featuring local foods and very flavourful. The ambiance was intimate and somewhat contemporary. The value for the food is reflected in its price as you can most definitely tell how well prepared the food is and the taste says it all. Portions are moderate, you would for sure require an appetizer to feel satisfied. I would recommend this place to others however, I would be select on who I would recommend to go there as it's not a place I would take small kids or a lively group.

:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

After being seated, we were given a glass of sparkling wine, which was very nice. However, I did not like the fact that we were charged for it and not given the option of accepting or declining the drink. I ordered the branzino and did not like it at all. I am not an avid fish eater, but was told it was very mild, so I thought I would try it. Very disappointed. However, my mother loved her steak, which is good, because we were there to celebrate her birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely awesome experience, from start to finish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2016

LIV completely exceeded our (high) expectations. Superb food and service - they went out of their way to accommodate food ingredient restrictions, while still providing the best dining experience we had in the Niagara-on-the-Lake and St. Catherines area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the ambience, the service was impeccable, and we were particularly surprised and delighted by the starters that we didn't order. They were compliments of the chef!! Very nice, and made the evening an event rather than just another meal out...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.