About Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa

253 Taylor Road SS4
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L2J 2V8
View Larger Map

LIV Restaurant is the award-winning, unforgettable gem, located at White Oaks Resort in Niagara on the Lake. The locally inspired wine list, lighting and music in LIV provide a fantastic backdrop to a spectacular dining experience. The service exemplifies the Four Diamond level the hotel is known for and provides for an experience truly beyond expectations. Chef Michael Price and his team have done something extraordinary. They have taken Canada’s Basic Food Guide and transformed it through international cooking styles and seasonings to create an unparalleled, globally inspired four diamond menu. All of the ingredients are natural, each one chosen for its uncompromising purity. Our team are more than willing to come out of the kitchen (time permitting) to discuss the menu or any special dietary concerns you may have. The menu changes slightly every season to take advantage of the locally grown produce that is so abundant in the Niagara Region. The atmosphere is chic/sexy.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:As of Monday July 11th,2011-Monday September 5th, 2011 LIV will be serving Breakfast daily between 7:00am- 11:00am. LIV is Closed for Lunch. Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Glendale Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 688-2550 ext. 5248

Website:
http://www.whiteoaksresort.com/liv-restaurant.html

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary. Valet parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Michael Price

Private Party Facilities:
White Oaks is pleased to offer a number of beautifully appointed banquet rooms to accommodate a variety of functions. Room selection is based on the number of guests and special requirements. White Oaks hosts a variety of wedding parties and special events throughout the year; from small, intimate parties to large affairs of up to 500 people. Whether your event is large or small, the White Oaks team of Hospitality Specialists is dedicated to the success of your event.

Private Party Contact:
Ms. Sarah Clark: 9057045695

Additional:
Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Toronto / Ontario
Best Overall
Niagara
Best Food
Niagara
4 More
Best Service
Niagara
Best Value
Niagara
Romantic
Niagara
Special Occasion
Niagara
Best Restaurants in Niagara-on-the-Lake ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (25)
Fit for Foodies (16)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LIV was excellent as expected. Second ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

LIV was excellent as expected. Second time there and were really pleased again. Seems they might have reduced the size of the restaurant since the last time we were there but I may be wrong. Solid spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was excellent, the food was a ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Our server was excellent, the food was average. There was a women on the phone (FaceTime) user the speaker for about 20 minutes. It couldn't have been more disrespectful to everyone in the restaurant yet no one from the restaurant said a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

This evening was a friends birthday cele ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This evening was a friends birthday celebration to our surprise the wait staff knew immediately whose birthday it was and wished her the appropriate greeting, in addition our entire table was treated to a welcome prosecco! We had an inter mezzo of sorbet and amuse bouche which were both a welcome surprise. Our wait staff was professional and efficient without being overly bothersome. Our food and drinks were fabulous. Not a detail was missed by the servers, bus help, mixologist or the hostess.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, attentive service, quiet and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food, attentive service, quiet and peaceful room.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For Brunch, I recommend that you order f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

For Brunch, I recommend that you order from the Menu, do not go for the Buffet Brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This is a 'special occasion' restaurant. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This is a 'special occasion' restaurant...it is a bit expensive, but worth it. It is in a very nice complex (White Oaks) and has a pleasing ambience. The windows are expansive, the lighting is muted, the music is "new age." The service is excellent, the wine list is mostly local, and the food is very good in both preparation and presentation (we had both a seafood entree and a red meat main dish). We will definitely go again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Great ambiance. Perfect ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very good food. Great ambiance. Perfect for special occasions. Staff was very attentive. Had a great time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and outstanding service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding service. Thank you Stanley and Jennifer.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely beautiful place !! Great ambi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Absolutely beautiful place !! Great ambiance and Excellent service. Superb top notch food even down to kids menu!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were extremely pleased with the quali ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were extremely pleased with the quality and the presentation of the food as well as the professional service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating my birthday with frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I was celebrating my birthday with friends and found the staff to be exceptional. I will certainly recommend this restaurant to friends and family. A great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recently took my husband to LIV for his ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Recently took my husband to LIV for his birthday. The staff were wonderful and took extrodinary care of us. The Menu was limited but very posh featuring local foods and very flavourful. The ambiance was intimate and somewhat contemporary. The value for the food is reflected in its price as you can most definitely tell how well prepared the food is and the taste says it all. Portions are moderate, you would for sure require an appetizer to feel satisfied. I would recommend this place to others however, I would be select on who I would recommend to go there as it's not a place I would take small kids or a lively group.

:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

After being seated, we were given a glas ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

After being seated, we were given a glass of sparkling wine, which was very nice. However, I did not like the fact that we were charged for it and not given the option of accepting or declining the drink. I ordered the branzino and did not like it at all. I am not an avid fish eater, but was told it was very mild, so I thought I would try it. Very disappointed. However, my mother loved her steak, which is good, because we were there to celebrate her birthday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely awesome experience, from star ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely awesome experience, from start to finish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LIV completely exceeded our (high) expec ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

LIV completely exceeded our (high) expectations. Superb food and service - they went out of their way to accommodate food ingredient restrictions, while still providing the best dining experience we had in the Niagara-on-the-Lake and St. Catherines area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the ambience, t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the ambience, the service was impeccable, and we were particularly surprised and delighted by the starters that we didn't order. They were compliments of the chef!! Very nice, and made the evening an event rather than just another meal out...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff went above and beyond! The s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The staff went above and beyond!

The staff were very knowledgeable about the food and wine. One of our party was celebrating a birthday, and prior to our dinner at Liv, I spoke to the staff to arrange a birthday cake. The cake was absolutely delicious, and the everyone from the bar staff to the servers, made sure to wish the birthday boy a 'Happy Birthday' and make our evening very, very, memorable.

Breakfast the following day was a great start to our day, with a varied menu that offered something for everyone, plus the restaurant was also happy to accommodatethe food allergies of one of our party.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant , and feel sure that other guests will have the same wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb food, attentive service, magnific ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Superb food, attentive service, magnificent overall dining experience. Pick up a bottle of local wine and take advantage of the corkage service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. We enjoyed th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was outstanding. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the staff and especially the food. We had no idea how good the food was going to be. We will recommend this restaurant to friends for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second annual celebration a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our second annual celebration at Liv. We were thrilled with the attention provided by our server and her crew. Our server was well versed in the menu and wine selections for each of our group. The chef provided a varied and delicious menu including beef, lamb and fish. The ambiance was wonderful, quiet enough and well appointed yet friendly and relaxing; the yummy interludes between courses as well as the personalized dessert were a high end feature. We will definitely return for our third annual get-away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside, which is very casual. D ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We sat outside, which is very casual. Dress code is stated as smart casual, which is not necessary for the outdoor dining. To make the evening a little more special, indoor seating probably would have been better as they had white table clothes, candles and a more intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Still one of our favourite restaurants o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Still one of our favourite restaurants over the past decade. From food to service to ambience, everything is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food! The wine list is ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service and food! The wine list is great.

We would definitely come back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the momenet we arrived, the level o ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From the momenet we arrived, the level of service and attention to detail was top notch. Definitely made our anniversary feel special and would recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food. My only co ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional service and food.

My only complaint was that all parties of 4 had tables on the opposite side of the window seats. These were reserved for parties of 2. There was an opportunity to make changes as we arrived early at 6 but the flexibility didn't exist. Ultimately we sat in between 2 families with young children while ours were at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I actually took my husband for his Fathe ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I actually took my husband for his Father's Day celebration (a little early). We have always enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and Fiona has been a great server for us on several occasions. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service,food and ambience are all top no ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Service,food and ambience are all top notch. Melt in your mouth steaks and sides to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Service and Meal

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We arrived at Liv Restaurant on a Tuesday night at 5:30 p.m.

The servers and staff were very attentive and the timing of the courses were well timed. A complimentary ahi tuna appetizer was provided that was very tasty. A selection of fresh breads with dips were provided next. We ordered a Naan pizza appetizer and it was hot and flavourful.

After each course silverware was removed and freshened.

A pallette cleanser of lemon sorbet was provided and it was refreshing and of creamy consistency.

Our main dishes ordered were sea scallops on a bed or risotto and a peppercorn crusted beef tenderloin. The dishes were well presented, hot and flavourful.

We had no room for dessert, but since we were celebrating our anniversary and my wife's birthday they brought us a complimentary plate of small desserts, with congratulations written in chocolate sauce. A very thoughtful gesture and much appreciated.

Our server was engaging, friendly and spent the right amount of time engaging in pleasantries and conversations.

Well done staff, we will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just love this restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Never a disappointment. Ambiance is great, service fantastic and food delicious. Looking forward to outlet next stay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect. Service was great as was the food.

Staff was very friendly and attentive.

Dinner for two was great value although I

found the regular menu pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our visit, outstanding food and wine

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Always enjoy fabulicious, you are number one with us

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Fabuliscious Menu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I have been attending Fabuliscious for a number of years, finally found the best one going. I will be back every year going forward, I was blown away by the flavours, portions and little extras.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulicious!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My friend and I went to Liv for dinner during an event they call "Fabulicious" and let me tell you that the meal and service lived up to the event's name! Fabulous, and delicious! I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a meal that impresses! I chose a Buffalo Mozzarella salad, Chicken Supreme for my main course and a Toblerone cheesecake for dessert. My friend had the same salad and a Beef tip linguine main course and the cheesecake as well. They served amuse bouche in the beginning and a lemon sorbet before the main course. I love going to restaurants that offer these types of things in a meal. I would definitely go back there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always !!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

LIV always exceeds expectations. The service , the food and the ambiance are 5 star !!!

Love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

From the moment we entered Liv we were treated special. From the Happy Birthday note in my husband's menu , celebratory complimentary bubbly wine , and treats from the chef my husband's 75th will be remembered fondly. Kudos to your wait staff, especially Fiona who was informative and friendly and did not rush us. I appreciated Jessica's extra thoughtfulness of having my purse being placed on a small ottoman beside me so that it was off the floor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautifull setting and good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The LIV is situated in a beautiful location within the hotel/resort. Overlooks the gardens. Service is impeccable and very courteous. The food is very good (breakfast) but maybe a bit on the expensive side. Tried the Vegan Hash but was not really crazy about it. Maybe I like my hash browns a bit more crispy - but ok overall (I guess healthier when not fried :))

I would recommend the restaurant but maybe save it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal experience!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Thanks to all staff at Liv restaurant for the outstanding service and cuisine. The food was absolutely delectable. Our waitress, Lexie was incredible. The mixologist, Corey was a delightful addition to the awesome experience. A lovely surprise was the complimentary champagne and dessert plate with Happy Birthday written for my boyfriend's birthday. Overall, a most memorable experience. Thanks again! :-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Next to perfect!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We recently celebrate our anniversary at Liv restaurant, after a friend described a meal here as the best of her life. We were impressed with the service and small touches like a special insert in our menus! Each bite of food was delicious, and we ate every bite. I have already recommended this restaurant to several people with special events coming up! Perfect way to cap off a day trip from Toronto!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about our evening at LIV was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Everything about our evening at LIV was fabulous. Second time having the mussels which are awesome. And even for me who is gluten free they were accommodating with some gluten free bread. Great Caesar Salad and Chicken Linguine and Sea Bass Pad Thai for entree. Both amazing. and nothing completes a night better than a perfect creme Brulee. And our server made everything perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience at Liv Restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This was out second time spending the weekend at White Oaks Resort and what we were looking forward to the most was our dinner at Liv Restaurant. We loved it the first time and we definitely were not disappointed the second time. All of our dishes were delicious! The service was 5-star service and all the extras are such a nice touch. Great ambiance too! We highly recommend this restaurant and we will return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.