About Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa

Chef Michael Price has refined the menu at LIV Restaurant to reflect the seasons and focus on locally grown produce. The ambiance at LIV is muted and chic, creating a relaxing, contemporary dining experience. This modern and award winning Niagara-on-the-Lake restaurant is passionate about providing the highest level of service and an extensive and authentic Niagara Wine list along with it. T

253 Taylor Road SS4
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L2J 2V8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday
5:00pm - 10:00pm
Breakfast Daily
7:00am - 11:00am

Cross Street:
Glendale Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 688-2550 ext. 5248

Website:
http://www.whiteoaksresort.com/liv-restaurant.html

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary. Valet parking is also available.

Executive Chef:
Michael Price

Additional:
Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Liv Restaurant - White Oaks Resort & Spa Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Romantic (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Everything was great except the strip steak I purchased (special) meat was chewy, more done on part and more rare at other end, otherwise everything else was good, atmosphere, service....

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The menu changes often by what's in season. So check online first for an up to date version. Excellent service and great food.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The expensive steaks were over salted- they offered to re-do them but really, if you are charging $50+ per steak you should be bang on every time. They took my friends Martini's off the bill (so I got no steak and my friends were rewarded w free drinks) and they brought us a desert on the house (I would never order ). They tried to make up for it but overall it was disappointing. For the price
point the quality control isn't there. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We made this reservation based on previous, highly positive reviews. We were celebrating our thirtieth wedding anniversary by spending a couple of days in the Niagara-on-the-Lake /Niagara Falls area. The restaurant was easy to access within the White Oaks Resort and Spa complex. We were greeted immediately and taken to a table beside the window. I had commented, when i made the reservation, that we would be celebrating our anniversary. We were surprised to open our menus and find them to be customized on the inside cover to mark our anniversary. Our waiter, "Stan", quickly introduced himself and provided us with complimentary champagne glasses, filled with sparkling white wine, to mark the occasion. Stan was very polite and cordial throughout the evening, as was Jessica, his assistant server. We were unaware that a Thursday feature is a shared dinner for two. This included our individual choice of one of two available aperitifs, one entree from a choice of three and a chocolate fondue plate for dessert for $65. Although the dinner menu offered many excellent options, we chose to go with the special and we are pleased that we did. The food was truly excellent as was the local red wine that we selected. The restaurant was quiet and the ambiance permitted us to reflect back on our thirty years together at a normal level of conversation. Upon leaving, we both indicated that we would readily recommend the restaurant to our friends and that we would make a point of eating at LIV again when we return to the area. A truly great evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing Amazing Amazing!!! Great food with great service from Stan. Thank you very much!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great time today with close friends. The service was impeccable. Good attention to detail. Pleasure to receive the quality service. The food was excellent. Had the Mussels, Seafood appy 4x and Halibut. All were great.
The Martini's were spot on.
Had the fondue for two.
Great place for a classy special occasion. Prices are somewhat higher but worth the price.
The ambience is restive and the decor is quite exquisite.
Give your Wife a special treat and go there.
Highly recommended.
Rob Colorado

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Exceeded all expectations! Would recommend for all occasions although they did go out of their way for our special occasion.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was awesome had the whole restaurant to ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Amazing food! Amazing service! Will be most definitely returning!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Lovely dining experience.
Downside, the mix of noisy (kids) family dinner at table next to ours when we were celebrating a special occasion 25 th anniversary/birthday. I am a mum, have done the family dinner. Had hoped when booking 'two can dine' event the restaurant would have adult/fine dining rather than family dining.
Otherwise excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My wife and I frequent LIV because the quality of food is outstanding with a selection that is enjoyable. Service is impeccable and there is no urgency as is is delivered at the right time.

Recommendable!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fish and meat was cooked perfectly.. service was top shelf outstanding.. sauces for the fish and pork could have been better but overall, excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

This was our third time at White Oaks Resort. Liv Restaurant is fantastic we have order from the menu as well as there Thursday Couple Night Special which was amazing for the price. Service was excellent our waitress and her assistant where very professional and polite. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone that I know is heading to Niagara On The Lake

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The host and servers were excellent. Knowledgeable about the menu and always ensuring you are taken care of. Great atmosphere and the food was superb

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

We stayed at White Oaks for our honeymoon. The food was terrific. Our server was very personable. All of our courses were prompt. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Perfect place for anniv dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 9, 2017

It was clean, quiet, food was delicious and brought in a timely fashion. It was fine dining at its best, no complaints.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing service and ambiance plus stellar food preparation and presentation. Some of my favourite meals have been at LIV. The people who work there delight in creating a happy dining experience for you. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent, again. This restaurant just has that touch. Those little extras without feeling snobby and snotty, but the fine touches that make you feel extra special each time you dine here. The food consistent and delicious each and every time.
You really have to take that special someone here.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent quality food presented very well and with great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Spectacular. We were there for our elopement dinner and they made it special. The chef offerings and palette cleansers were fabulous, the menu was varied and everything we ordered absolutely delicious. The wine and aperitif menus impressive. The staff was friendly and attentive and laughed at all of my father in law's dad jokes. We highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Outstanding service was displayed by all staff members. As usual

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We arrived to a lovely dining room with a view of the gardens. Our servers brought us a sparkling wine and warm clothes to clean our hands as soon as we arrived. Then a smoke salmon appetizer. We chose the dinner for 2 and after appetizers lime sherbet was brought to cleanse palate. Entrees were wonderful as we the chocolate fondue for desert. Service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Amazing food with vegan options. Service was very fast except waiting to have our plates collected after the main course. Would love to see a vegan appetizer option, but it was a great place to celebrate birthday or anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Was a very nice dining experience. The staff were excellent with our boys. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This was an excellent meal. The service was also great. Yes, the prices are high, but you get what you pay for. It is a dressy restaurant. Great job Jacob.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Brad was amazing!!! Beyond excellent service and everyone had wonderful meals! Can't believe we have lived here for 8 years and never tried it! Looking forward to going back soon!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Thanks for another fabulous experience at Liv. Father's Day breakfast with my husband and our teenage daughters was absolutely wonderful. Fantastic food and attentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Very nice atmosphere and excellent service. I got a bison and mashed potato dish, potatoes were excellent but bison was a bit over cooked. Drinks were just ok. My husband got a spicy pasta dish and really enjoyed it.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My girlfriend and I had spent the weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake and our way back to Toronto we thought we would stop by LIV and we were not disappointed. As a matter of fact even though we had an incredible weekend in NOTL she said that our dinner at LIV was the highlight of the weekend. Wonderful staff, amazing food, beautiful décor, very clean and neat restaurant/seating area and awesome service. They went over and above for us and it was a great experience with very fair pricing. I would highly recommend LIV to anyone going to or staying in NOTL. I just wish they had a large sign out front as it is located inside the White Oaks Conference Resort and Spa. I feel a larger sign would help people find it as opposed to the small sign that they have out front that really doesn't do it justice as this is a gem waiting to be found.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Fun, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Seasonal, People Watching, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Organic, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The atmosphere was very modern and romantic. I thought the food was good not great. Both fish meals were saturated in sauce, which was not noted in the menu description. The server was just ok but the rest of the wait staff was wonderful. I would probably order two small plates if we venture back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 22, 2017

My last visit was several years ago when White Oaks offered an 1-2-3 deal -- and that's great value. I did not stay at the Resort but came to LIV just for the breakfast buffet and dinner. Same friendly service and ambience of tranquility and steam-ironed tablecloth right at the table as they set the table. At dinner, their starter of "Shellfish 4X" with crab cake, avocado aioli; lobster spring roll, ponzu glaze; seared scallop, bourbon bbq sauce; jumbo prawn, citrus garlic butter is absolutely delightful ($23). I enjoyed the well-seasoned 8 oz Beef Tenderloin - with tarragon demi-glace, buttery rustic mashed potato - cooked to medium-rare and tender. The meal ends with their classic vanilla creme brulee with tuile cookie. All in all, an unhurried and enjoyable dinner overlooking their well-landscaped garden. Recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. Highly recommend for a simple breakfast or a fancy dinner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful dining experience, waiter Stan completed the excellent experience! Everything delightful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Henne was fantastic! Excellent service. Good food. Great for special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent dinner. Salmon was very nicely cooked. Very nice atmosphere. Thursday night special is a real deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The meals at Liv restaurant are the best hands down my husband and I have eaten in our lives. We go on special occasions just the two of us. The tastes and flavors that we have experienced at Liv are simply to die for. Every single time we go we are blown away with their amazing dishes. You need to eat here. Thank you Liv for making our date nights so wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing service. Stan was our server and he and his team were exceptional. The right amount of attention and courtesy provided at every opportunity. The food was perfect. Great selection on the menu for a wide variety of tastes. Ian, manager, was attentive and a pleasure to speak with. We will return at our next opportunity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Recommend changing the menu as we have been a few times. More selected fish items, more wine selections but overall very good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

we have been several times and food is always good. You can take new people there and trust it will be good food. They do not rush you between courses of food. Excellent wine list.
Good for conversation. Little things are nice the hot towel, the sorbet between courses, bread, little taste from the cook.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.