Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Bettola
63 reviews
Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Galley and Garden
202 reviews
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Bottega
716 reviews
Mediterranean | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Hot and Hot Fish Club
161 reviews
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Dyrons Low country
374 reviews
Low Country | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
The Grill - Iron City
24 reviews
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Highlands Bar & Grill
1393 reviews
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Ocean
549 reviews
Seafood | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Vino
31 reviews
Mediterranean | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
John's City Diner
172 reviews
Comfort Food | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Cafe Dupont
66 reviews
Contemporary Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Harvest, Restaurant & Bar
17 reviews
Contemporary Italian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Habitat Feed & Social
43 reviews
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Bistro Two Eighteen
168 reviews
French | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now

About Little Savannah

3811 Clairmont Avenue
Birmingham, AL 35222
View Larger Map

Maureen and Clif Holt welcome you to Little Savannah Restaurant and Bar, a unique Southern Bistro located in the heart of Forest Park Village where locals and travelers alike enjoy our distinctive hospitality daily. From fresh locally-grown Alabama produce to one-of-a-kind cocktails, Little Savannah has made its mark as one of Birmingham"s finest restaurants. Enjoy supper in one of the quaint dining rooms or pull up a chair at the bar and spend some time with the locals. In warm weather months, dine out back on the wooden deck beside Maureen's back of the house garden. She grows berries, herbs, and even has a concord grape vine. Meat and produce from farmers across North Alabama help "keep it local," along with fresh, seasonal libations and work from featured local artists hanging on the walls. The dinner menu changes daily to highlight the freshest local ingredients and the award-winning wine list compliments each dish. Join us tonight and see why the locals "feel right at home."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
WE ARE NOW OPEN ON MONDAYS!!!
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Bar opens at 3:45pm daily featuring bar specials!
We are closed on Sundays

Cross Street:
39th Street South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 591-1119

Website:
http://www.littlesavannah.com/

Catering:
From business dinners and birthday parties to rehearsal dinners and wedding showers, Little Savannah can accommodate any occasion. We offer a variety of off-premise catering venues and menu options and work on an individual level to help create your personalized event. Contact 205-591-1119 for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is available. Complimentary valet parking is available Fridays and for special events.

Executive Chef:
Clifton Holt

Private Party Facilities:
Our Main Dining Room is available to rent for private dining events on week nights and weekends. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays which allow us to have the entire restaurant available. Wedding Receptions are welcome. We cater off site as well.

Private Party Contact:
Maureen Holt: 2055911119x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
To view upcoming special menus, visit the following link: http://www.littlesavannah.com/uploads/specialmenus.pdf

Tuesday Nights come join us for 'Tuesday Tini's' for specialty hand crafted cocktails!

Every Third Friday of the month Forest Park merchants participate in "Third Friday in the Park." Stores remain open late (8pm) and we always have a special libation menu.

2013 Wednesday nightx we will be hosting our Community Farm Table dinners. $35 prix fixe—meet and greet with the week’s featured local farmer/ purveyor and chef. Everyone sits at the same table with friends both new and old. All reservations will be taken in-house.

Restaurant Photos

Little Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (22)
special occasion (18)
See All
romantic (14)
notable wine list (5)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't know why I don't come here more ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

I don't know why I don't come here more often. I love the place. Well, that settles it. I'm going more often. Very highly recommended.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Spot. Good Food in an unexpected location

Dined on March 23, 2016

The banana pudding was amazing and the cheese plate was delectable. The pork chop with asparagus was very good. The grits were only ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Food Again, Inconsistent Service

Dined on March 13, 2016

This was our 2nd time to eat here. The overall experience brought us back. Food was amazing as before but the service was off. Long lapses between seeing our waiter either indicated inderstaffing or subpar service. The menu and food more than made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming

Dined on March 12, 2016

Little Savannah is one of the great restaurants in Birmingham! Seems like the owners have tried hard to keep it's charm and local flavor. Small and quaint - but delicious and a good mix of young and old folks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Our visit was on Valentine's Day, so the ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our visit was on Valentine's Day, so the menu/crowd was not normal. The restaurant was packed to capacity. However, the food was excellent and the staff did fairly well keeping up. We very much enjoyed it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always enjoyable

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day. We were seated right away. We have had really good food consistently ever time we have came

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sat Date Night

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Great experience, friendly greeting and prompt seating. Love the laid back cozy atmosphere. Manager checked often to make sure all was good. Enjoyed the meal, everything prepared very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding neighborhood fine dining

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Little Savannah is a joy for anyone interested in a neighborhood fine dining experience. The menu is focused on southern cuisine, with a variety of upscale traditional (and not so traditional) options. The specialty drinks are creative, yet still comfortable. But, perhaps the best part of the experience is the service. The waiters are friendly and knowledgeable, and the head chef will often come around to check on your food and to make sure your experience is the best. By the way, enjoy the cornbread muffins!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening with family

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Little Savannah. The food was wonderful, from the scallops and pulled short ribs, the lobster macaroni and cheese, th e beef tenderloin, the lamb shank, to the catfish. Derrick's service was fantastic, as always, and it was good to see Maureen in the restaurant as we were leaving. Good times.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A little dissappointed

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We have dined at this restaurant several times over the years and decided to revisit and support our neighborhood merchants. We dined around 8PM on a Friday night and there were very few tables eating, it was mostly a bar scene and they were not serving in the main dining room. It just seemed as if they have lost their edge which may be why there were very few diners. There are lots of great options in the area and they need to step up their game a bit if they want to compete in this market at that level.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good food, reasonable portions, exc ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very good food, reasonable portions, excellent and unusual wine list. Welcoming atmosphere, unpretentious and well-staffed.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

Dined on January 8, 2016

This is the kind of restaurant we all wish we had in our neighborhood, or at least I do. The food ranges from good to very good. The service was outstanding. It's a cute facility. The staff all seem to be genuinely happy to see dinner guests. I was there with a group of family on a mid-week night and we had a great time. The restaurant did everything possible to accommodate us. Our waiter made sure everything was taken care of perfectly (sorry, don't remember his name but he really was great). We were never rushed, the food came out at just the right time, water glasses and drinks were filled appropriately. I really enjoyed my shrimp and grits, some of the others had the scallops with short ribs and raved about it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Little Savannah, Birmingham

Dined on December 22, 2015

Little Savannah is wonderfully small, quiet, and intimate. Wait staff most attentive. Delightful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2

First time at the restaurant and was loo ...

Dined on November 20, 2015

First time at the restaurant and was looking forward to it as it always looked interesting and unique. Disappointed overall, but I would probably give it a second chance as sometimes it's just an "off night". The food took a long time to reach us and mine and a friend's dish was cold. Wine did not taste that great either. I will say one friend said the scallops were delicious. Overall not the best experience unfortunately.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another Wonderful Evening

Dined on November 14, 2015

Whenever we are in Birmingham my wife and I love to visit this restaurant gem. From their inventive cocktails to excellent wine pairings ( by our extremely knowledgable server) to their farm to table dishes we are always extremely satisfied. At our last visit my wife enjoyed fresh grouper and I had duck both interestingly prepared. Prior to our entree we enjoyed an excellent charcuterie plate and interesting salad. We look forward to our next opportunity to visit Little Savannah!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We Wanted to Lick the Plates

Dined on November 13, 2015

Little Savannah is one of my favorite local restaurants. It has a quiet and cozy atmosphere, the owners and staff are attentive and fun, but most importantly, the food is exquisite! It is a farm to table restaurant, and it’s obvious that the dishes are made with only the freshest ingredients. As far as the libations, they have seasonal specialty cocktails that are, again, made with fresh ingredients and out of the ordinary liquors. For oenophiles, they have a variety of wines that can be purchased by the glass or by the bottle. The homemade desserts are decadent, and a cordial of house made cello goes really nice with the desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Service

Dined on October 31, 2015

Food Great! Our server (Derek?) was awesome and owner Maureen came by to check on us and make sure we were satisfied. The creative cocktails were a hit!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, we would come back....

Dined on October 23, 2015

We dined at the bar. The bartender was a very gracious host. The fried chicken was excellent. Combined with good bourbon and great company, we would definately come back again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great dinner at Little Savannah

Dined on October 22, 2015

My birthday group loves Little Savannah. They always go out of their way to make us feel special-- including bringing sparkling wine to kick us off. Our server was very knowledgeable, gave us great recommendations, and fabulous desserts. They never disappoint!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

We arrived late due to traffic. We had called to let them know and they adjusted their schedule and our table was ready when we arrived. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. The butternut squash soup was delicious. I also highly recommend the flat iron steak. The chorros for dessert were also great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The breakfast @nite, duck breast, pork t ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

The breakfast @nite, duck breast, pork tenderloin and lavender honey creme brûlée were to die for and the staff was gracious and welcoming.

food5
ambience5
service5

Forest Park local gem

Dined on September 11, 2015

We enjoyed an evening with out of town friends at Little Savannah. The cocktails, food and wine were very good. The pork entree was absolutely delectable. The cocktail menu was very creative and fun. Ambience is intimate and relaxed. Our waiter was very engaging and informative about menu items. Overall excellent experience. I have nothing negative to say.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite for my wife and I

Dined on September 5, 2015

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions and romantic dates. The food is amazing and much of it locally sourced. The wait staff is attentive and very knowledgeable about the food and the preparation. We have not ordered anything there that was sub par.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2

different and delicious

Dined on August 30, 2015

Little Savannah has good food inspired by the South and Europe. It is a little overpriced. On the night I went, the waiter was subpar but the couple next to us had a much better, more attentive waiter so I assumed the restaurant was just under-staffed that night. Overall...worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1

Confused waitstaff

Dined on August 21, 2015

I have lived in Birmingham for eight years and I've heard about this place and decided to try it during restaurant week. I was very disappointed in my service and the overall experience.The servers seemed very confused about where they were supposed to be and what tables they were supposed to be serving. The appetizer and main entrée came out within two minutes of each other. We did not have any plates for the appetizer.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

A delicious evening out!

Dined on August 17, 2015

Had been here twice for lunch, and we were delighted with the atmosphere (quiet: we did go early), the menu and especially the service! Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in Forest Park!

Dined on August 15, 2015

Our dinner on Saturday, August 15, was superb! The food was incredible and the cocktails were perfect. Even better: the service. I love those people!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Still the one

Dined on August 14, 2015

Haven't visted in awhile, but nothing has changed here except the menu and that is a good thing. Consistent. Everything from the cocktail to the server. Consistent. Love it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food

Dined on August 13, 2015

Good food, not outstanding. Our server was great, very friendly and knew the menu perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2

Food we had was good, but room for improvement

vip
Dined on August 4, 2015

Food we had was good, but there were a few items that we ordered that the restaurant ran out on. From appetizer, entree and yes even dinner. Very dissapointing. Service was okay, the staff need to know the menu when the customer ask about it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined at Little Savannah several ...

Dined on July 31, 2015

I have dined at Little Savannah several times with great satisfaction.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat, drink and be happy;)

Dined on July 21, 2015

Friendly and thoughtful staff, beautiful presentation, delicious food and Frank Family Chardonnay, what else could a girl ask for? I saw their ad in Good Grit Magazine, so glad we came in:)

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Little Savannah is good but...

vip
Dined on July 18, 2015

Four of us enjoyed dinner at Little Savannah. The food was fresh and good but not as good as on the past. The service was slow.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

I asked for gluten free suggestions, the ...

Dined on July 7, 2015

I asked for gluten free suggestions, they made it, I ordered it, and the salad that came with it had croutons.

food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and atmosphere. The service c ...

Dined on July 2, 2015

Great food and atmosphere. The service could have been a little better but that wouldn't hinder recommendations.

food3
ambience1
service1

Food was decent, that's it.

vip
Dined on June 26, 2015

We dined here the other night and the food was decent but kind of a limited menu. Also the cornbread didn't come out till midway through the meal and one of the desserts wasn't ready till well after the other one had come and was eaten. Our server acted put out when we asked for things. We won't be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

Unique but crowded spot in Birmingham

Dined on June 20, 2015

The wait staff were very nice, but made several mistakes throughout the night, forgetting to bring the wine, giving us steak knife's after we had finished our meal. Also, the tables are very close together resulting in the other diners body parts hanging over our food as they tried to get to their seats. There was no ability to have a private conversation. I had the Pappardelle which was tasteless, but my husband had some sort of fish with remoulade which he thought was wonderful.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and friendly wait staff. ...

Dined on June 12, 2015

Great service and friendly wait staff. Good was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Nice place but nothing I'd go out of my way for.

Dined on June 12, 2015

The celebrated peach margarita was good but nothing wonderful. One was enough. It was advertised as spicy but the habanero was barely detectable. For the price the portions were very small but I can't deny they were tasty. I especially loved the shrimp and grits appetizer. The name was appropriate only in that the dishes served were very coastal Georgia. The atmosphere was local dive.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best Catfish in Alabama

Dined on June 12, 2015

We had the southern English dish with truckstop fries which was absolutely fantastic! At other times we've had the fried catfish with blue grits dish which was also phenomenal! At the end of the day, we've never had a bad dish here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.