Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Little Savannah

YOUR DESTINATION FOR MODERN INSPIRED SOUTHERN CUISINE.

Located in the tight knit historic Forest Park neighborhood in Birmingham, AL,
Little Savannah Restaurant & Bar takes great pride in honoring its Southern roots and heritage. Walking in the door at Little Savannah, it's like you are walking into your own home. We look forward to having dinner with you.

3811 Clairmont Avenue
Birmingham, AL 35222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar opens at 4: pm daily featuring bar specials!

Cross Street:
39th Street South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 591-1119

Website:
http://www.littlesavannah.com/

Catering:
From business dinners and birthday parties to rehearsal dinners and wedding showers, Little Savannah can accommodate any occasion. We offer a variety of off-premise catering venues and menu options and work on an individual level to help create your personalized event. Contact 205-591-1119 for more information.

Executive Chef:
Clifton Holt

Private Party Facilities:
Our Main Dining Room is available to rent for private dining events on week nights and weekends. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays which allow us to have the entire restaurant available. Wedding Receptions are welcome. We cater off site as well.

Private Party Contact:
Chef Clif Holt: (205) 591-1119

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Little Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Casual (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Loved the environment where you can talk and enjoy conversation comfortably. Food was delicious and creative. This was our second visit and will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I was wanting to take my bride to a new place. This was the perfect place! Amazing food, atmosphere, and totally diverse, totally higher than my expectations! This will most definitely be our new spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

There is nothing more comfortable than the patio in nice weather. The food and service are wonderful, but what is really special is the easy atmosphere. it is fine to drink, talk and eat in a leisurely fashion, nobody brings a check or makes you feel like they are eager for you to give up the table. The place may not be as fancy as some , but the food is equal to any of the other fine dining in Birmingham.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great service, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Burger was delicious! Highly recommended. We went for anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This place was insanely over priced for the quality of food. I love fine dining but I was highly unsatisfied with all 3 meals I ordered. I would not recommend. Also, it took an hour and a half for our food to come out, and we didn't even order any meat. Sitting there for that long was miserable. I have no idea why this place came so highly recommended but I would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful food and evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful unique cuisine that represents Birmingham

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was great - bar was EXCELLENT! Wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Can't wait to give Sunday brunch a try.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Perfect meal: friendly, personable but unobtrusive service from beginning to end. Very accommodating with a table change and splitting wine and entrees between two people. Food was served in a reasonable time (not too fast; not too slow) and was delicious. Fabulous vanilla bean bread pudding. Good wine selection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was outstanding. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fun Prom night dinner! The chef even came out for some lovely conversation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolute worst dining experience ever in Birmingham... maybe the food is good but because we were never seated despite having reservations it is a moot point. I made reservations a month in advance. Arrived a few minutes early. Waited 1.5 hours past reservation time. Asked hostess numerous times of guess on remaining wait time however, she kept seating 4 and 2 top tables... never pushing them together to equal 6 (our party size). The owner?? Came out finally and told us he wasn't sure when we would be seated... no additional service was offered??? That is a first when management is fine with you leaving after long wait. We had yummy cocktails while trying to wait to be seated...So we did try to enjoy atmosphere and we did spend money. My in-laws were with us and we knew they needed food soon after long wait. The customer service was so poor that this restaurant has to be scratched off our list. There are plenty of amazing restaurants in Birmingham with great service. I haven't returned to this restaurant in years (favoring Bottega, Chez fon fon, Hot & Hot, etc.) and now I remember why....not the same level overall. We left starving without a plan. We drove down the road to Slice and had amazing service and food. Not what we set out to do but pizza and beer at Slice was a better choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I think they way underestimated how big their Easter brunch crowd was going to be. We were on time for our reservations, but it still took them 25 minutes to seat us. The wait staff was obviously stretched thin (the hostess and the bartender were doing the majority of the bussing), so the service was pretty poor. When our waiter was present he was very good. The food was good, but not great. My wife and I have both waited tables and we know how hard it can be if you're understaffed. BUT...you'd think they'd plan to be busy on Easter for brunch and actually have enough staff to handle the crowd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food took ONE HOUR to come out and portions VERY small. No apologies by waiter or staff. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We loved the patio seating and appreciated being accommodated early, however, our Server was nice enough but slow and not very personable. The food was fine, but took a long time to get to us and didn't knock our socks off. Last year we had a fantastic Easter brunch, but didn't enjoy it as much this year.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch. The food was great. The service was friendly. A little disorganized and we felt a little left out, maybe because it was early Easter brunch and they were still getting it together and rolling. But overall, we enjoyed it and probably would go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Booked a table for two early Saturday evening. Perfect window seating, very accommodating hostess (Jessica?), and wait staff. Excellent menu selections at comfortable prices, delightful martinis. Enjoyed the small, quiet and intimate restaurant atmosphere - a rare find in today's Birmingham!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We live in the neighborhood, and Little Savannah is our go to place for special evenings. The food is excellent, the staff friendly, and the ambience is personal and intimate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Delicious food, great ambience and nice service.
Coffee Rubbed Beef Brisket is so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great meal and evening. Food was outstanding, presentation unusual and attractive. Nice selection of wines. Service attentive. Chef came out and talked to us. New decor very inviting. Great place to meet friends for dinner or for a special occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Delicious food, outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious food, outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was very average & definitely not worth the price. Service was great & is the patio. I would only go again for drinks outside

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was delicious and we will be going back soon. The food was creative and it is a quiet restaurant. I loved the bar area as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Awesome food and the bar tender, Emily, is outta this world, concocting all her own unique recipes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Terrific experience! Had not been in a while. Will go again soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

In-laws were visiting from Jacksonville, FL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had the most perfect date night experience! Everything was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Music was a little loud for the small amout of tables that were there. Food was amazing and service very good as well. Eat here please - you will love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great atmosphere and the staff was very helpful. We started out with the blue crab cake. It was the best part of the meal. My wife and son each had the Coffee Rubbed Beef Brisket & both were very disappointed. Unfortunately , the Southern Bouillabase was not much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Overall very good, but uneven. We ordered a steak which was absolutely amazingly fabulous, but it was served with kale, which was almost raw and rather tasteless. The other order was brisket and that was OK, but not great. We also had macaroni and cheese, which was delicious. For dessert we had churros, which were little bites of heaven and creme brulle, which was divine. The service was also spotty - the bartender, Emily, was on point, but the food servers were less attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We had a friend get together here. The food and service were great! I recommend you save room for dessert. The Churro's will not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's night, set menu, five different entrees, the kitchen was not prepared as they ran out of the beef entree by 8 p.m.The roast duck was fabulous. The lamb shank was under seasoned and Bland, but wonderfully tender. Beet salad was small but very good and the desert was tasty. Seating was in very close quarters but we made friends with the two couples next to us. Had fun, great time, but I'm dinging the restaurant for running out of one of their entrees! That's not what you want to hear when you're spending $200 on a couples meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We were there for valentine's day. I wasn't aware there would be a set menu for the night. That kind of bummed me out, but was workable. We were at the tables to the left as soon as you walk in. We were basically crammed in there with other couples hoping to have a quiet romantic night. Our waiter was either new or way off his game. Our reservations were at 6. We didn't leave til 8:30. Our pace was extremely slow. The food, when we got it was very good, but the ambiance was lacking and the service was not up to par. Our bill was 250 and I tipped 50. I hope it was just an unlucky night, but for $300 I expect more. There are plenty of other restaurants we could go to for the same price range or much cheaper and have the same quality food with better service and a little room to not have to also carry on a conversation with the tables to our right and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines date. Food was just average but way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was very slow and they were over committed for the evening. Food was good. Women's bathroom was broken and men's had a very long line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love the food and the chef. This visit was a rare bad experience. We were met with a hostess who was wearing sickeningly strong perfume. We were seated near the hostess stand so we never quite recovered from the smell. The service was just terrible. The server asked us (and the table next to us) to remind him of the order several times and still got it wrong. We were offered someone else's drinks and later someone else's food. When my wife was served the pasta instead of the duck she ordered, the server offered to take it back and take mine back too to be reserved later, but we opted to accept what had been served. A large party had reserved the dining room adjoining the bar so we were seated in the bar. The large group, of course, gathered in the bar which was deafening. No comp was offered for these repeated mistakes. I think the server was high.
This Resturant is a jewel and the cooking is second to none, but this was a very disappointing experience. It will be a while before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was great but the service was not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Quite a few years ago, Little Savannah used to be one of a handful of nice restaurants in Birmingham with inventive food. The dining scene is hot now, though, and Little Savannah has definitely not kept up. Everything about our experience had the sad affect of a former minor celebrity now a slightly desperate has been. Given the proliferation of choices, I had not been to Little Savannah in a couple of years, and am not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.