Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.40mi
  2. Distance: 0.53mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Little Savannah

YOUR DESTINATION FOR MODERN INSPIRED SOUTHERN CUISINE.

Located in the tight knit historic Forest Park neighborhood in Birmingham, AL,
Little Savannah Restaurant & Bar takes great pride in honoring its Southern roots and heritage. Walking in the door at Little Savannah, it's like you are walking into your own home. We look forward to having dinner with you.

3811 Clairmont Avenue
Birmingham, AL 35222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm,
Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Bar opens at 4: pm daily featuring bar specials!

Cross Street:
39th Street South

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 591-1119

Website:
http://www.littlesavannah.com/

Catering:
From business dinners and birthday parties to rehearsal dinners and wedding showers, Little Savannah can accommodate any occasion. We offer a variety of off-premise catering venues and menu options and work on an individual level to help create your personalized event. Contact 205-591-1119 for more information.

Executive Chef:
Clifton Holt

Private Party Facilities:
Our Main Dining Room is available to rent for private dining events on week nights and weekends. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays which allow us to have the entire restaurant available. Wedding Receptions are welcome. We cater off site as well.

Private Party Contact:
Chef Clif Holt: (205) 591-1119

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Little Savannah Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (13)
See All
Cozy (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Romantic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Delicious food, outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was very average & definitely not worth the price. Service was great & is the patio. I would only go again for drinks outside

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It was delicious and we will be going back soon. The food was creative and it is a quiet restaurant. I loved the bar area as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Historic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Awesome food and the bar tender, Emily, is outta this world, concocting all her own unique recipes!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Terrific experience! Had not been in a while. Will go again soon

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had the most perfect date night experience! Everything was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

In-laws were visiting from Jacksonville, FL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Music was a little loud for the small amout of tables that were there. Food was amazing and service very good as well. Eat here please - you will love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great atmosphere and the staff was very helpful. We started out with the blue crab cake. It was the best part of the meal. My wife and son each had the Coffee Rubbed Beef Brisket & both were very disappointed. Unfortunately , the Southern Bouillabase was not much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall very good, but uneven. We ordered a steak which was absolutely amazingly fabulous, but it was served with kale, which was almost raw and rather tasteless. The other order was brisket and that was OK, but not great. We also had macaroni and cheese, which was delicious. For dessert we had churros, which were little bites of heaven and creme brulle, which was divine. The service was also spotty - the bartender, Emily, was on point, but the food servers were less attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We had a friend get together here. The food and service were great! I recommend you save room for dessert. The Churro's will not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's night, set menu, five different entrees, the kitchen was not prepared as they ran out of the beef entree by 8 p.m.The roast duck was fabulous. The lamb shank was under seasoned and Bland, but wonderfully tender. Beet salad was small but very good and the desert was tasty. Seating was in very close quarters but we made friends with the two couples next to us. Had fun, great time, but I'm dinging the restaurant for running out of one of their entrees! That's not what you want to hear when you're spending $200 on a couples meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there for valentine's day. I wasn't aware there would be a set menu for the night. That kind of bummed me out, but was workable. We were at the tables to the left as soon as you walk in. We were basically crammed in there with other couples hoping to have a quiet romantic night. Our waiter was either new or way off his game. Our reservations were at 6. We didn't leave til 8:30. Our pace was extremely slow. The food, when we got it was very good, but the ambiance was lacking and the service was not up to par. Our bill was 250 and I tipped 50. I hope it was just an unlucky night, but for $300 I expect more. There are plenty of other restaurants we could go to for the same price range or much cheaper and have the same quality food with better service and a little room to not have to also carry on a conversation with the tables to our right and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines date. Food was just average but way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was very slow and they were over committed for the evening. Food was good. Women's bathroom was broken and men's had a very long line.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the food and the chef. This visit was a rare bad experience. We were met with a hostess who was wearing sickeningly strong perfume. We were seated near the hostess stand so we never quite recovered from the smell. The service was just terrible. The server asked us (and the table next to us) to remind him of the order several times and still got it wrong. We were offered someone else's drinks and later someone else's food. When my wife was served the pasta instead of the duck she ordered, the server offered to take it back and take mine back too to be reserved later, but we opted to accept what had been served. A large party had reserved the dining room adjoining the bar so we were seated in the bar. The large group, of course, gathered in the bar which was deafening. No comp was offered for these repeated mistakes. I think the server was high.
This Resturant is a jewel and the cooking is second to none, but this was a very disappointing experience. It will be a while before we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great but the service was not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Quite a few years ago, Little Savannah used to be one of a handful of nice restaurants in Birmingham with inventive food. The dining scene is hot now, though, and Little Savannah has definitely not kept up. Everything about our experience had the sad affect of a former minor celebrity now a slightly desperate has been. Given the proliferation of choices, I had not been to Little Savannah in a couple of years, and am not likely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server was good. I felt bad for him as he had no control over the poor quality of our entrees. My chicken was not thoroughly cooked (after waiting too long at that), my potatoes were crunchy and my wife's risotto was also crunchy. I observed two tables around us also sending food back and complaining. My chicken and our wine corkage fees were comped to help make up for the unpleasant experience which was a nice and appropriate gesture.

I hope Little Savannah gets things turned around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good food, not so good service.
We've eaten at Little Savannah many times and the food is always excellent. However this was the first time back in several months and it was disappointing to find such poor service and inconsistency with the bar service, along with significant price increases. Also, the little plate of mini cornbread muffins is no longer served at the tables. We really hope Cliff gets someone on board to help better manage/train his staff in the near future.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Being a foodie, I was very excited about dining at Little Savannah this past weekend, but unfortunately, I was very disappointed with the quality of the food. The tomato basil soup was extremely salty, almost inedible. The braised pork was tender but under seasoned, and the greens did not taste fresh. I did however enjoy the sweet potatoes. I did not enjoy the bread pudding at all, which I was very excited to try. I could barely taste the vanilla flavor and it was a bit dry. I loved the creme brulee, which was the most enjoyable part of my meal. Overall, I was not excited about the meal and would not return or recommend to anyone for the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was very good the bolognes sauce was delicious and my husband's meal of pork and sweet potatoes was amazing however for the price I feel you could go to a nicer restaurant. The seating was incredibly crowded and it was the most confined I've ever been in a dining room to the point where the servers couldn't even place plates on the table without handing them to you or leaning across you. The servers were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. It was nice to try however I don't think I would come back. Their food and servers were very good but for the price you can get comparable food in much nicer atmospheres elsewhere in Birmingham.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was great. Service excellent. Atmosphere romantic.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great place for a date! The food was really good, it was very intimate, great service! Only complaint is the dessert we wanted didn't turn out right so the chef wouldn't serve it. I guess that's a good thing but it was still a bummer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I made a reservation on the opening weekend of Birmingham Restaurant Week. I about 45 min before my scheduled seating - our party of 4 was directed to the bar or patio to wait, but were told that if we chose a patio table, we would need to take our meal there (and abandon our dining room reservation) because they were "so busy." That didn't make any sense to me at all, so we chose to wait at the bar.

The bartender seemed rude - did not allow for any questions and if you didn't produce an order immediately, she would abruptly walk away in spite of the bar being virtually empty. Two of us ordered from the cocktail menu and they were well composed. I observed her recommending a varietal of Bulleit bourbon to a patron, so maybe she was knowledgeable but I wouldn't know given our service.

Just before 8 pm, a woman other than the hostess asked us if we would be taking our meal at the bar. Of course not, we said, we were waiting for our seating time in the dining room. Just added to the general feeling that things were not running smoothly in the restaurant.

When we were seated, we got a copy of the price fix menu. One of the $40 price fix options added up to LESS than $40 if ordered off the regular menu! The couple we were with ordered an artisan cheese plate as an appetizer because by this time we had spent nearly an hour waiting and were starving -- it took nearly half an hour to arrive at the table. I ordered the soup of the day, a cauliflower soup that was much too thick, more like a puree. I had ordered the pork dish from the regular menu - but when it came to the table, I was served the pork dish from the price fix menu. I didn't correct the server initially because she was not the server who took the order, and I thought maybe I hadn't enunciated well when I placed the order. The two men in our party ordered the burger, which was excessively dry even though the color of the meat indicated it was cooked to medium. Very disappointing overall - will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a good time and the food was good. However, it took forever for the food to get out. We were there for 2 hours and we took our dessert to go because we just wanted to go home. I was so hungry and it was quite a long time to wait in between courses. It took a while to get a menu to our table. Nice servers/hostess but service was just so slow. We went there for restaurant week to try it out. May go back for drinks but waiting on the food was no fun.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for a special dessert which was not available after being advertised as the special. Dinner for two took 3 hours! BHM hamburger was great! The substitute desert was a creme brûlée which was served as a soup! Server gave us one to go to replace the unfinished one and scooped more watery custard it into a cardboard box which turned out to be a huge mess! Our bill was wrong and we had to spend time convincing and doing math for the server until he understood he made a mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service was excellent at little savannahs. But the food was very disappointing and expensive. We did enjoy the cauliflower soup although it seemed to be potato soup. The brisket was like a pot roast with frozen veggies mixed in. The steak was not enjoyable. It came with sweet potatoes like you would have at thanksgiving and sautéed kale. The kale was the best part. We really wanted to like this restaurant but will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was very disappointed in my entree which was coq au vin. The chicken was very dry and had no cooking liquid or sauce to help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I loved, loved, loved Little Savannah. I was in Birmingham for a bowl game and a friend of mine recommend Little Savannah. I had the Chicken Livers and they were fantastic. Good cocktail and wine list, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Tasty comforting food. Loved the family-style option for salad. My fave is the tenderloin and the cocktails & mocktails are quite satisfying too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Little Savannah was a nice place for dinner, very cozy, intimate. Food was delicious. The tenderloin portions were small, but the prices were reasonable. Excellent customer service. Outstanding wine selection. I made reservations, and we were seated immediately. I recommend for large can of small parties. We will definitely return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We LOVE this restaurant! We think the food is great is great and the atmosphere is wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My husband and I can't wait to go back to Little Savannah. The food and service were both amazing?

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing! TO me that is the most important part. All of my guests were satisfied. The Chef is extremely personable and his personality was authentic. I would recommend this lovely place for good food, great spirits, and a friendly ambiance. It's not stuffy or boogie, but a high end restaurant with a great neighborhood flair! Awesome...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Whole fried gulf snapper was the best fried fish that I have ever eaten. Excellent food at competitive prices.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Cozy little place with great local beer choices. We had to wait quite awhile for our table even with a reservation. Serving staff was okay. Kudos though to the pregnant hostess. She was very friendly and helpful. We had higher expectations for the food based on other reviews. We had the snapper, BHM burger and lamb all which was just okay. The burger arrived barely warm. Atmosphere is great. Great decor.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always a favorite. It's a neighborhood, friendly spot that serves incredible food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The bartender was super nice and helpful.
The problem was that after we ordered, we waited for an hour for our food to come out. An hour! Then when we got it, a substitution had been made without even asking if that was ok or being offered any different choices. I've never had a restaurant do that before. Also, my friend asked for a certain vegetable and was told that they were out of it but then they brought it to the people next to us. We were seated before them. All in all, not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The meal was superb. The BLT salad is fabulous and my tenderloin was perfectly cooked. The atmosphere was perfect for date night. Chef Holt came out to speak with us several times and that amped up the overall experience. I would absolutely recommend Little Savannah and we will be back. My only critique and it was minor, is that the server was slow to deliver our appetizer and salad. They offer cooking classes and I'm very interested in checking those out as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.