About Little River Inn Restaurant

7901 Highway One
Little River, CA 95456
View Larger Map

Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, Little River Inn is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast make you feel like part of the family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: M-Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Breakfast: Su 8:00am-12:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Brunch: Su 8:00am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Little River Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 937-5942

Website:
http://www.littleriverinn.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dym

Private Party Facilities:
Little River Inn boasts inspirational ocean views from both our conference facilities and guest rooms. Your meeting or event will be expertly handled by dedicated innkeepers whose family has been hosting guests for nearly a hundred years.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Ivankay: 7079622197

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Little River Inn Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked
Mendocino
Best Restaurants in Little River ›

scenic view (20)
romantic (17)
special occasion (17)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (4)
great for brunch (4)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
89 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The 1st night we had dinner in the main ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The 1st night we had dinner in the main dining room. My husband had the flat iron steak with berry cobbler and loved it. I had the braised short rib with pasta. It was ok. Next night, we shared the brie, had the hamburger and oysters. So yummy!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of the best tasting pine nut encrust ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best tasting pine nut encrusted salmon dishes ever! Wait staff worked smoothly and like an experienced team. The view of the beautiful Pacific and coast from this great location was a wonderful bonus. We will definitely return on our regular trips to the area. JPS, California, USA.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrific restaurant / lodging combination

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our second meal at the most convenient restaurant when staying at the Inn. Dined on a Monday evening so the restaurant was not crowded and nicely quiet. Would have been better with the ocean view tables but the trade off for an isolated table with a garden view was worth it. Oysters were tremendous as they typically are here on the Mendocino Coast. Beets on a bed of spinach was a little unimaginative, yet the fish entrees were excellent. Scallops were super. Dessert (chocolate pudding / mousse concoction in a coffee mug) was somewhat pedestrian. Bar closed far too early. We would have loved to have had a nightcap looking at the ocean. Overall, being able to walk to and from the room and enjoy this caliber of meal is a rock solid combination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We J ust happened to drive by on our way ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We J ust happened to drive by on our way to Fort Bragg. It was our 4 year wedding anniversary so I made an Open Table reservation. The food was excellent and our waitress and another lady were super friendly! We plan on going back and staying overnight!👍🏽

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was wonderful as usual. Service was spot on with everyone there, but not there, if you know what I mean. menu is well done and server had great suggestions. wife's halibut was cooked just right as was my hanger steak. Bar afterward for my Irish coffee and olallieberry cobbler were prepared to perfection. don't miss the cobbler

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3

Very noisy, and the food was ordinary.

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Very noisy, and the food was ordinary.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great find outside of Mendo

Dined on March 17, 2016

This restaurant exceeded our expectations, with fresh food in sophisticated presentations, good service and very nice ambiance. We even returned he next night to have some apps at the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The oysters were great with a nice migno ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The oysters were great with a nice mignonette.The green-lipped mussels were a nice surprise - we had not had them since we went to New Zealand.Both the pinenut encrusted salmon and scallops were excellent.The special huckleberry dessert was an unexpected pleasure.Great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were staying at little river in to celebrate our anniversary, as we have done a handful of times before. We had an 8:00 reservation(not the last available). The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived, so it wasn't like we were he only ones there. The hostess was welcoming but other than that, we really had the feeling that everyone else wanted to get the patrons the heck out and go home. Our waitress showed up and all she said was "can I take your order." Nothing about the specials, can I start you with a cocktail, are you staying with us at the inn, are you celebrating anything tonight. Nothing like that, which I would expect from this type of establishment (and we have had in the past). I chose a "pre fixe" dinner as I assumed would be good as it was a special of sorts. But you know what happens when you "assume" something. We had to ask twice for waters and bread, the second request after I was served my salad. I was served my main course, a slow braised beef, it was TASTELESS! Even after I salted and peppered it. I think that in my life I have ever sent food back twice...I hate confrontation. But I decided that it was our anniversary so it was worth waiting for good food and for $28 entree, I at least thought it should be tasty. Our waitress offered me a menu then left for a LONG TIME. While we were waiting we decided that I would just eat half of my husband's meal then order dessert. By the time the waitress came back, finally, and we told her we weren't going to order another entree, she just said,"oh, ok, I was going to tell you that the kitchen was about to close down anyway. We decided to forget dessert too, and just ask for our bill. She sent out the bill with the buss boy. To top it all off, she didn't comp a thing. No drinks, no offer to buy us coffee or dessert, NOTHING, The salad I consumed was part of the pre fixe dinner but she charged us as if we ordered it separately! I thought that we would at least get the salad comped!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining at Little River Inn Restaurant.

Dined on February 11, 2016

The food was outstanding, service was excellent and the staff was very helpful in explaining the different entrees and sides. The bread was very, very tasty and served warm with plenty of soft butter. We passed on the deserts, but did ask to see the menu so we could drool. Coffee was excellent. It was from a local company called Thanksgiving Coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice spot for the area

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

We dined here once before and had a somewhat similar experience. The service was great. The food was fine, but not exceptional. However, it is a pleasant setting and on this most recent visit, due to being off-season for the area, was very quiet. I had fish and chips which were pretty good; actually better than expected. My wife had the vegetable torte which needed to be sent back to move it from cold to warm as it was supposed to be. They apologized and comped desert. We ate there after dark, so the view of the surrounding garden was nice.The hotel in which the restaurant is located has a wonderful ocean view during daylight which, unfortunately, can only be enjoyed from the bar.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Disappointed

Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been to Little River Inn Restaurant before and had good food and service. This time it was very disappointing. Service was very bad. Rarely saw our waitress. The food was also disappointing. We ordered several appetizers and each of them was a little off. The beet and goat cheese salad had only one type of beet buried under a mound of greens and almost no goat cheese. The brussels sprouts had no caramelization. The brie plate came with only fruit, no crackers or bread. The sliders were merely average. The crab cakes were fine but had a lot of breading.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on January 23, 2016

Went to Little River Inn Restaurant while staying in the Mendocino area And really enjoyed it. Awesome crab cakes for appetizer. Pine nut salmon and steak main course were very good as well. And dont forget to get the delicious Olliaberry cobbler for dessert! Blackberry sorbet (daily special) was also excellent. Would come back again for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Two nights at the LRI and two dinners. ...

Dined on December 28, 2015

Two nights at the LRI and two dinners. Very convenient, welcoming, tasty, and fun. Two menus for those of us who enjoy variety. Side dishes were special so we loaded up on them on the first night. Second night I splurged with the hamburger with bacon and ice cream sundae. Chef Mark visited us to share background on the meat and sourcing through a local butcher and beef ranch. Special!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice dinner

Dined on December 17, 2015

The setting is very pretty with the gardens seeming to reach into the dining room. Food was well prepared and tasty. Salmon especially recommended, while the pepper steak was a bit tough, although the sauce outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Setting & Great Food

Dined on December 14, 2015

My husband and I have visited the Little River Inn and eaten at the restaurant many times over the years. The setting is gorgeous. The dinning room in the restaurant is lovely and the food is excellent. High quality service and wonderfully prepared food. What more can one ask for. The clam chowder that I ordered during our recent visit was the best that I have ever eaten. Instead of the usual thickened stock and free floating clam meat, the Little River Inn served a delicate ly flavored soup replete with whole clams in the shell. It was absolutely delicious. The Cesar salad was generous in proportion and seasoned to perfection. I had an additional plate of a half dozen oysters on the half shell. Not sure which variety, but small and incredibly tasty. Served with a lovely tangy vinegrette sauce. Desert was the Little river Inn's fabulous Ollalie Berry tart served hot in it's own individual porcelain ramakin and with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. A most memorable dinning experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

The beef bourguignon was excellent and t ...

vip
Dined on November 29, 2015

The beef bourguignon was excellent and the prix fixe menu was just the right size at a reasonable price, even on the Thanksgiving holiday. Also the bread pudding dessert which was included was equally fabulous.

food4
ambience3
service2

Reservation issue, service not great

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

When we arrived, the host was having a problem accessing their reservation system and told my fiancee that there were no tables. The hostess then seated us promptly. We were at a corner table in the main dining room. Our server was not often in the room. We noted that others were served and leaving who arrived after we did. We really liked the Mushroom Bisque and Hallibut. The bread pudding was good, but we had to send it back because it was cold.

food2
ambience1
service2

Little River INN - Expected much more.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Stayed at the Inn for a long weekend- birthday celebration. Had reservations for Friday and Sunday nights. The service was not great, food was hit and miss, too loud, some folks were dressed nicely and some were in hoodies and jeans, not the kind of atmosphere that I expected. The wait staff and mostly the bus folks kept bumping into my wife's chair, more than 1/2 dozen times. Little kids - a lot of them - not my idea of an upscale restaurant. Cancelled reservation for sunday nite and likely would only eat breakfast here.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Excellent Food

Dined on November 10, 2015

The food was delicious and memorable! The service at the bar while we waited was great. However the waitstaff was severely lacking.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Quality down but still great location

Dined on October 25, 2015

The quality of the food at this restaurant has declined but because of the location I'd still go back (and they likely know that which explains the decline). Wait staff is friendly and responsive but we found food to be bland and heavy. "Lighter" offering was beef bourguignon over heavy spaetzel style pasta with Caesar salad and bread pudding - not in the least bit light. Bread pudding was heavy and tasteless. Claim chowder flavorless, ditto for the crab cake appetizer which came with no sauce or garnish. Excellent wedge salad with blue cheese and bacon dressing. Caesar salad tasty but not the real deal. Breakfast choices heavy with hollandaise sauce, oatmeal came with nothing except brown sugar and milk, $.25 extra charge for raisins. Scones heavy, grainy first morning, better the second day we were there. Neither the consistency nor the quality one would expect from a fine restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing place

Dined on October 11, 2015

This is one of our favorite places to stay and to eat. Breakfast is as a amazing as dinner. Service is always excellent. Love the Little River Inn‼️

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great clam chowder and location!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Great clam chowder and location!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on September 13, 2015

Loved this restaurant. Food was amazing, especially the crab cakes. Would recommend this place to all my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

food mediocre, not sure halibut was real ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

food mediocre, not sure halibut was really halibut didnt taste like or have halibut texture and oil used to deep fry fish and chips needed to be replaced-chef compensates for poor quality with over large servings- server was competent and found good wine

food2
ambience2
service2

Sadly disappointed

Dined on September 7, 2015

I had been to this restaurant before some time ago, and enjoyed the experience enough to feel comfortable going back another time instead of driving ten minutes sough to the Albion River Inn, which I had been contemplating. Unfortunately, I regret the decision for multiple reasons. The food was edible, but frankly nothing at all special. and the service was just strange. We ordered appetizers, and in the middle of our salads the manager brought our entrées. He then noticed that we were still eating our salads and offered to "take the entrées back to sit under the heat lamps until [we were] ready." We told him yes; please do that because we would like to finish our salads and enjoy our meal. Without exaggeration, less than two minutes later the server brought the entrées back and set them down on the table, shoving the salad plates aside to do so. We felt like we were being rushed out of the place. Rather than make a scene, we ate. As I said, nothing remarkable about the food. It was just there. But after dinner we decided to take a chance on dessert. We ordered a couple of desserts and two glasses of 10-year old Tawny Port. The manager comes to the table and says "I'm sorry, we don't have the 10-year old Tawny. I'll tell you what: I'll give you one glass of 20-year old Tawny and one glass of [unspecified generic reserve]." We said "okay; fine; thank you." then, when he returned, he said "I changed my mind; I'm going to give you two glasses of the [unspecified generic reserve]" instead. We won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love This Place

Dined on September 6, 2015

This was our second visit to the Little River Inn. We dined in their dining room for breakfast twice and enjoyed dinner in their pet friendly Parlor one evening. The food here is amazing and the service excellent as well. The dining room is a tad crowded but worth it for the culinary experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

A little disappointed.

Dined on August 30, 2015

View was great. Service was good. Steak was cooked right, but tough and little flavor. Steamers had no flavor in broth. Calamari was good, enjoyed the mustard sauce. Crab cakes were a little cold and so-so. Chocolate dessert was good. Given that it had a Zagat rating, I guess I expected more. Perhaps they were having a bad day :-)

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

Romantic spot for dinner

Dined on August 18, 2015

The restaurant is very cute and romantic. The service was more of an order taker than anything. We later received recommendations from a local on what we "should have ordered" but no such recommendations, specials or suggestions were provided by our server. However, she did a good job and got our food there in a well coursed out manner. The food was good but NY steak I had seemed a little over priced for what I got. The best thing was the Billionare's bacon, which was incredible! Well done on that one. Overall it was a good experience. Some areas of improvement but definitely we'd go back.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Diane

Dined on August 13, 2015

Steak Diane times two, and we loved the meal! Window seat, excellent service and our food came out quickly and we complimented our dinner with a great dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service2

Very disappointed

Dined on August 6, 2015

We have dined there over the years every time we've come to Mendocino. This time we were very disappointed I ordered a Caesar salad with salmon on top, and the Caesar salad was mediocre at best. The salmon was a tough, almost inedible piece of tail section. The bread was tired and look like pop over rolls. I was asked how our dinner was, and I told our server the Caesar salad was just OK not great, that I had that better. The server than fled the scene, and we barely saw him after that. Service was spotty. My husband had a vegetable tort in a pastry that he did enjoy very much. It's such a beautiful dining room with the gardens, it's a quiet place to have a meal, and in the past it's been one of our favorites. Won't be back unless I hear that the service and the food improves greatly. In speaking to one of the locals of a shop in Mendocino, she said the reason must be that it is August and that they are tired of tourists. I would think that Mendocino is a tourist community, especially in August. The following night we ate at Flow in Mendocino and had a completely opposite experience. The waitstaff was amazing, food was great and the view spectacular.

food4
ambience3
service4

lovely meal

Dined on July 20, 2015

This is such a nice restaurant with very dependable food and service. All our dishes were very good and service very nice. It is great to stay at the Inn and walk to meals!

food3
ambience2
service2

Good food

Dined on July 18, 2015

The main dining room is very loud so if you're looking for a more quiet dinner ask for the smaller dining room, however that's not a guarantee either. The food was good, but the service was noticeably slow. It took almost an hour after our starters to receive our main courses. Overall it's a good location considering there are limited choices in the area.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great family run restaurant

Dined on July 12, 2015

Great service and good home cooked food. A great find in an otherwise rural area. Would definitely go back.

Tags: neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience! Incredible location, ...

Dined on July 5, 2015

Amazing experience! Incredible location, superb service-attentive, gracious and friendly. The food was to die for as was the wine selection. One of the most memorable foodie experiences. Will be back!!

food1
ambience3
service2

even though the food reviews were high, ...

Dined on June 28, 2015

even though the food reviews were high, I was disappointed to have both my orders slightly burned - crab cakes and scallops (chef's special)

food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasantly surprised!

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

Wow, did we have an excellent dinner here. I would highly recommend it as a quaint, much-valued hotspot in the Mendocino area. We had high expectations for a romantic dinner on our weekend getaway, and it definitely surpassed our expectations. The service was impeccable and we walked away not only thinking we'd definitely be back, but that we'd also be looking into possibly staying at the inn the next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Little River Inn Restaurant never disappoints.

Dined on June 9, 2015

We have been coming here for special occasions for several years now and it never disappoints. The service is always very personal and efficient without being intrusive. And you can't beat the location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

One Fatal Flaw

Dined on May 30, 2015

Our party of four dined on a Friday night in a full dining room. We all loved our meals (seafood) and our server was really quite superior. The dining room was lovely, and the surrounding garden was wonderfully reflected in the mirrored walls. The noise level was unfortunate, to put it mildly, and we all agreed that it is not the place for us for that reason. We are all in our 60's and prefer to converse while dining, which was quite difficult if not impossible. I will add that the fresh wild salmon was perfectly cooked and made the two who ordered very happy they had. The spring pea risotto that accompanied the halibut was exceptional. I would have been happy to have it as my entire main course.

food4
ambience4
service4

Family Treasure

Dined on May 27, 2015

My family has been going to Little River Inn for decades. It is where we celebrate many occasions. The staff is kind and helpful. The good has always been great and evolves as it should. The location is exquisite. This from a world traveler.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.