About Little River Inn Restaurant

7901 Highway One
Little River, CA 95456
View Larger Map

Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, Little River Inn is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast make you feel like part of the family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: M-Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Breakfast: Su 8:00am-12:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Brunch: Su 8:00am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Little River Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 937-5942

Website:
http://www.littleriverinn.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dym

Private Party Facilities:
Little River Inn boasts inspirational ocean views from both our conference facilities and guest rooms. Your meeting or event will be expertly handled by dedicated innkeepers whose family has been hosting guests for nearly a hundred years.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Ivankay: 7079622197

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Little River Inn Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Mendocino
Best Restaurants in Little River ›

Special Occasion (26)
Scenic View (22)
Romantic (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
111 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is a country club, for after the go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a country club, for after the golf game. The food was excellent, as was the service. The dining room is crowded: the low ceiling makes for bad acoustics: very loud. We were shouting at our waitress, and she at us! But, if you can make it through to dessert, have the Chocolate Decadence. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant if you are staying in Little River or Mendocino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Lovely ambiance, quiet yet somewhat aged ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Lovely ambiance, quiet yet somewhat aged group of patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice table with sea view and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a nice table with sea view and the food was very good!

Just a nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For being in the middle of nowhere this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

For being in the middle of nowhere this place is decent. What was excellent was the service. We ordered the calamari for an appetizer which was ok, but heavy on the breading, we split a Caesar salad that was light on the dressing and for some reason chopped into minuscule pieces. Later looking on the menu I saw that they had a Romain chopped salad on the menu, thus explaining why they used the same chopped Romain for our Caesar.

I had the clams which were good and the wife ordered the broiled mussels which were huge and overcooked, making them tough and stringy to eat.

Their wine list feature great local wines which were priced very reasonable. All in all, the dinner was decent and the service excellent especially for the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was very good and was a great value ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was very good and was a great value for the type of food served. Excellent and friendly service.

Casual to business casual dress.

The petrale sole sold out but it looked well prepared and smelled delicious.

This is on our return list.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always good. Breakfast, lunch or ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food is always good. Breakfast, lunch or dinner. We eat there every time we are in the area. The halibut was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall a good dinner. Service was quick ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall a good dinner. Service was quick and the table kept current. Server was very friendly and helpful. Food was good but not great. My dining partner did love the halibut and said it was great. If we eat here again, we'll sit at the bar. Seems like the view is good when the fog has lifted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The restaurant was the best part of our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The restaurant was the best part of our stay at Little River Inn - the Inn is looking tired

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

About halfway through our outstanding me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

About halfway through our outstanding meal, a party of about half a dozen women came in screaming with laughter and continued to keep up a high-volume party. I guess there's not much that can be done about that. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dinner: fast and friendly service, fantastically good food, lovely room, we left totally satisfied and would absolutely return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had our dog with us and enjoyed a pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had our dog with us and enjoyed a private table in a room off the office with the dog at our feet. The food was exceptional and the server was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Little River always provides reliabl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Little River always provides reliable, affordable dining. We like that they are always so accommodating. The regular menu can be limiting, but combined with the bar menu, there are lots of choices. We especially enjoyed the salad with shrimp with tarragon dressing...clean and yummy! We plan to return when we visit the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place, been there many times. Bar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place, been there many times. Bar tender gray hair, best there is. And the view at the bar is unbelievable. I am ready to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always eat here when we visit Mendoci ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always eat here when we visit Mendocino. The food is invariably excellent and the garden views from the dining room make it a special occasion. We enjoyed the vegetable torte, the beef bourginion, the BLT sliders (superb), and crab cakes. All were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful 48th wedding annivers ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a wonderful 48th wedding anniversary dinner. What made it even more special was our server, Carol. She was so helpful and friendly. Please let her know we appreciated it. This really makes a difference!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was very friendly and they had ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everyone was very friendly and they had a nice little activity book for my kids. Service was good, food was just okay. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs - the meatballs were overcooked and the spaghetti sauce was little more than tomato sauce. They boys ordered grilled cheese sandwiches and they come with fruit or fries - the fries and olallieberry cobbler were probably the best part of the meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The evening at Little River Inn was exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The evening at Little River Inn was excellent. Our server, Jen, was outstanding. Food was prepared perfectly with generous portions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Will eat here ag ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food and service. Will eat here again on next trip. Just wish they were open for lunch and not just Sunday Brunch. Prices reasonable. Full bar and good wine selections.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my daughter to Mendocino for a gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I took my daughter to Mendocino for a graduation present. She picked this restaurant for our dinner and we both loved it !! Really wonderful food and nice location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had both dinner and breakfast at the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had both dinner and breakfast at the Little River Inn during a recent trip to Mendocino. The Inn is only 2 miles south of Mendocino, so very convenient to Mendocino. We dined here out of curiosity, but also because we were staying at the Stanford Inn and could not take the vegan only fare there. Both meals at the Inn were very nice. The dinner menu is extensive and creative, service was very attentive and the garden room décor is pleasant. The food at both meals was very good. Service at breakfast was a bit less attentive, but acceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We just love the Little River Inn and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

We just love the Little River Inn and the restaurant, food and service never disappoints. The bartenders and servers are always so friendly and accommodating and the food is consistently good. We like to eat sometimes in the bar and just get the delicious chowder and fish and chips but the dining room is good too. Breakfast is fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the Little River Inn restaurant. Our food was perfectly prepared and delicious. Our waitress was super-helpful and attentive. Save room for the cobbler and ice cream dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This once esteemed restaurant needs some ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

This once esteemed restaurant needs some love and attention. While past generations certainly enjoyed this pearl back in the day, the property and menu have not been updated for far too long I'm afraid. The entrees are frankly boring and the flavors just tired.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The 1st night we had dinner in the main ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The 1st night we had dinner in the main dining room. My husband had the flat iron steak with berry cobbler and loved it. I had the braised short rib with pasta. It was ok. Next night, we shared the brie, had the hamburger and oysters. So yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best tasting pine nut encrust ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best tasting pine nut encrusted salmon dishes ever! Wait staff worked smoothly and like an experienced team. The view of the beautiful Pacific and coast from this great location was a wonderful bonus. We will definitely return on our regular trips to the area. JPS, California, USA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Terrific restaurant / lodging combination

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Our second meal at the most convenient restaurant when staying at the Inn. Dined on a Monday evening so the restaurant was not crowded and nicely quiet. Would have been better with the ocean view tables but the trade off for an isolated table with a garden view was worth it. Oysters were tremendous as they typically are here on the Mendocino Coast. Beets on a bed of spinach was a little unimaginative, yet the fish entrees were excellent. Scallops were super. Dessert (chocolate pudding / mousse concoction in a coffee mug) was somewhat pedestrian. Bar closed far too early. We would have loved to have had a nightcap looking at the ocean. Overall, being able to walk to and from the room and enjoy this caliber of meal is a rock solid combination.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We J ust happened to drive by on our way ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We J ust happened to drive by on our way to Fort Bragg. It was our 4 year wedding anniversary so I made an Open Table reservation. The food was excellent and our waitress and another lady were super friendly! We plan on going back and staying overnight!👍🏽

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Food was wonderful as usual. Service was spot on with everyone there, but not there, if you know what I mean. menu is well done and server had great suggestions. wife's halibut was cooked just right as was my hanger steak. Bar afterward for my Irish coffee and olallieberry cobbler were prepared to perfection. don't miss the cobbler

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very noisy, and the food was ordinary.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Very noisy, and the food was ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great find outside of Mendo

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This restaurant exceeded our expectations, with fresh food in sophisticated presentations, good service and very nice ambiance. We even returned he next night to have some apps at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The oysters were great with a nice migno ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The oysters were great with a nice mignonette.The green-lipped mussels were a nice surprise - we had not had them since we went to New Zealand.Both the pinenut encrusted salmon and scallops were excellent.The special huckleberry dessert was an unexpected pleasure.Great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointing

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We were staying at little river in to celebrate our anniversary, as we have done a handful of times before. We had an 8:00 reservation(not the last available). The restaurant was fairly busy when we arrived, so it wasn't like we were he only ones there. The hostess was welcoming but other than that, we really had the feeling that everyone else wanted to get the patrons the heck out and go home.

Our waitress showed up and all she said was "can I take your order." Nothing about the specials, can I start you with a cocktail, are you staying with us at the inn, are you celebrating anything tonight. Nothing like that, which I would expect from this type of establishment (and we have had in the past). I chose a "pre fixe" dinner as I assumed would be good as it was a special of sorts. But you know what happens when you "assume" something.

We had to ask twice for waters and bread, the second request after I was served my salad. I was served my main course, a slow braised beef, it was TASTELESS! Even after I salted and peppered it. I think that in my life I have ever sent food back twice...I hate confrontation. But I decided that it was our anniversary so it was worth waiting for good food and for $28 entree, I at least thought it should be tasty. Our waitress offered me a menu then left for a LONG TIME. While we were waiting we decided that I would just eat half of my husband's meal then order dessert. By the time the waitress came back, finally, and we told her we weren't going to order another entree, she just said,"oh, ok, I was going to tell you that the kitchen was about to close down anyway. We decided to forget dessert too, and just ask for our bill. She sent out the bill with the buss boy. To top it all off, she didn't comp a thing. No drinks, no offer to buy us coffee or dessert, NOTHING, The salad I consumed was part of the pre fixe dinner but she charged us as if we ordered it separately! I thought that we would at least get the salad comped!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Excellent dining at Little River Inn Restaurant.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

The food was outstanding, service was excellent and the staff was very helpful in explaining the different entrees and sides. The bread was very, very tasty and served warm with plenty of soft butter. We passed on the deserts, but did ask to see the menu so we could drool. Coffee was excellent. It was from a local company called Thanksgiving Coffee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice spot for the area

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We dined here once before and had a somewhat similar experience. The service was great. The food was fine, but not exceptional. However, it is a pleasant setting and on this most recent visit, due to being off-season for the area, was very quiet. I had fish and chips which were pretty good; actually better than expected. My wife had the vegetable torte which needed to be sent back to move it from cold to warm as it was supposed to be. They apologized and comped desert. We ate there after dark, so the view of the surrounding garden was nice.The hotel in which the restaurant is located has a wonderful ocean view during daylight which, unfortunately, can only be enjoyed from the bar.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been to Little River Inn Restaurant before and had good food and service. This time it was very disappointing. Service was very bad. Rarely saw our waitress. The food was also disappointing. We ordered several appetizers and each of them was a little off. The beet and goat cheese salad had only one type of beet buried under a mound of greens and almost no goat cheese. The brussels sprouts had no caramelization. The brie plate came with only fruit, no crackers or bread. The sliders were merely average. The crab cakes were fine but had a lot of breading.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great Birthday Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Went to Little River Inn Restaurant while staying in the Mendocino area And really enjoyed it. Awesome crab cakes for appetizer. Pine nut salmon and steak main course were very good as well. And dont forget to get the delicious Olliaberry cobbler for dessert! Blackberry sorbet (daily special) was also excellent. Would come back again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Two nights at the LRI and two dinners. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Two nights at the LRI and two dinners. Very convenient, welcoming, tasty, and fun. Two menus for those of us who enjoy variety. Side dishes were special so we loaded up on them on the first night. Second night I splurged with the hamburger with bacon and ice cream sundae. Chef Mark visited us to share background on the meat and sourcing through a local butcher and beef ranch. Special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

The setting is very pretty with the gardens seeming to reach into the dining room. Food was well prepared and tasty. Salmon especially recommended, while the pepper steak was a bit tough, although the sauce outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lovely Setting & Great Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

My husband and I have visited the Little River Inn and eaten at the restaurant many times over the years. The setting is gorgeous. The dinning room in the restaurant is lovely and the food is excellent. High quality service and wonderfully prepared food. What more can one ask for. The clam chowder that I ordered during our recent visit was the best that I have ever eaten. Instead of the usual thickened stock and free floating clam meat, the Little River Inn served a delicate ly flavored soup replete with whole clams in the shell. It was absolutely delicious. The Cesar salad was generous in proportion and seasoned to perfection. I had an additional plate of a half dozen oysters on the half shell. Not sure which variety, but small and incredibly tasty. Served with a lovely tangy vinegrette sauce. Desert was the Little river Inn's fabulous Ollalie Berry tart served hot in it's own individual porcelain ramakin and with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. A most memorable dinning experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The beef bourguignon was excellent and t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

The beef bourguignon was excellent and the prix fixe menu was just the right size at a reasonable price, even on the Thanksgiving holiday. Also the bread pudding dessert which was included was equally fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Reservation issue, service not great

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

When we arrived, the host was having a problem accessing their reservation system and told my fiancee that there were no tables. The hostess then seated us promptly.

We were at a corner table in the main dining room. Our server was not often in the room. We noted that others were served and leaving who arrived after we did.

We really liked the Mushroom Bisque and Hallibut. The bread pudding was good, but we had to send it back because it was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.