Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Little River Inn Restaurant

Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, Little River Inn is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast make you feel like part of the family.

7901 Highway One
Little River, CA 95456
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: M-Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Breakfast: Su 8:00am-12:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Brunch: Su 8:00am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Little River Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 937-5942

Website:
http://www.littleriverinn.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dym

Private Party Facilities:
Little River Inn boasts inspirational ocean views from both our conference facilities and guest rooms. Your meeting or event will be expertly handled by dedicated innkeepers whose family has been hosting guests for nearly a hundred years.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Ivankay: (707) 962-2197

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Little River Inn Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Waterfront (11)
Scenic View (11)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Delicious salmon and halibut. Server was professional and friendly. Was helpful in describing dishes. Beautiful setting

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Bar was a little crowded and we couldn't get a drink there before dinner. Better if restaurant would open at 5:30. Fresh clams great in chowder but could have been better seasoned. Crab cakes superb. Salmon very good. Great service and nice room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is one of our all-time favorite restaurants! We always dine their when we are in Mendocino. Terrific setting, food, ambiance, everything!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent menu, long wine list, impeccable yet friendly service and, best of all , outstanding food preparation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were in Mendocino for birthday weekend. Little River recommended by family that visited regularly ( 10+ years ago). Part of resort complex. Dining room a bit dated, bar is sparse, views to the Pacific are impressive. Great maitre d' service, very professional.
Service was pleasant and responsive. Wine list well rounded and fitting of abundant local wineries. Crab cakes and oyster fresh, wedge and beet salads abundant. Osso Bucco very well done but Vege Torta was doughy. No recognition of birthday even w reservation comment.
Restaurant empty when we left at 9:30p w only local guests at the bar.
Worthy but value not fully equal to the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Our server was very attentive and extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Every time we go up to Mendocino we always eat at the Little River Inn. We have never been disappointed with the menu selections and the service is very good. We sometimes set in the bar area and have a beer and fish and chips, But the dinning area has a relaxing view and get for breakfast and dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My favorite California coastal dining experience. Wonderful interpretations of classic dishes. Perfect staff. Well priced. Stunning views. Absolutely perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As usual the meal was good and the venue was nice. Jennifer our waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Solid, down to earth, friendly, good food and wine. Very sweet place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was bland and the menu was not what I expected.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Have eaten here many times, always go back for more..

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

went for a birthday dinner during a trip to mendocino and LOVED the sunset view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent meals with menu that changes daily. Outstanding, friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This restaurant was so good we went back a second night and for breakfast!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Private Room, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Even though we will continue to recommend this restaurant to friends etc., please note that we were very disappointed with certain dishes at our annual family get together. Normally, every dish is superb, which we have become accustomed to over several decades of family gatherings. This time, however, the sole almondine (two of us ordered that dish) was mediocre, and only mildy flavorful. I think it was perhaps overcooked and therefore two 'squishy'. The chicken dish ordered by another of our group was similarly not all that good. The crab cakes were excellent, as were the salads. I think they may have been a bit understaffed, as it took way too long to get a class of lemonade to our grandson - well into the meal. I don't blame our server, as she was constantly busy.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious dinner in a quaint inn. Great service, friendly servers. Definitely do again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Ate here on our Anniversary and were given a nice table with a great view of the ocean and the whales passing by. Food was excellent. They wished us a happy Anniversary on more than one occasion and even presented us with special chef-made truffles for our late night celebrating. They went the extra mile with the service and it was very much appreciated.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

lovely, old fashioned restaurant with a twist. Food was delicious and I even had a 2nd serving of the mussels with a topico cream sauce - delicious.
Lovely service, good wine list, great food options, and a good value.
I would certainly recommend coming here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have eaten here several times in the past and always been happy with the food , but this time I had a crab pot pie which was dismal. It was mostly peas and potatoes. I may have had 1 1/2 ounces of crab at best. It certainly did NOT merit the $28 ala carte price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Request Carol as your server and let John help you with your wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went there for our 40th anniversary dinner. The place was full when we arrived, but luckily we had our reservation and were seated right away at a nice table. The food was excellent and large portions. I especially liked the meat loaf from the bar menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

By far the best meal of our 3 day getaway. Service was comfortable and casual, with the right amount of attention and personal focus. The drinks and calamari were a delcious start, the squid having a delightful mustard sauce. Our meals, pasta sugo and osso buco were perfectly cooked, ample, each bite lasting throughout the long evening. We ended with a dessert of creme brûlée, tasty, but the grayish custard a bit offputting. Overall, this place continues to provide the romantic environment and quality that Mendocino is known for.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We spent New Year's eve at this charming restaurant. The food was excellent with friendly service to match. This is a great find in Bodega Bay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

"Just okay"
First evening in town and this was reco'd by the place we were staying.

Found it to be very busy, popular with families, and extremely noisy.. Wait staff was attentive and did the best they could

The menu read well but didn't deliver
- chowder was flat and uninspired
- Hangar steak Diane that the waitress said they were known for, while cooked perfectly missed on the classic "Diane flavor profile" and the meal was just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was excellent, though only one veggie entree and an optional vegan sandwich are quite limiting options (beyond traditional American comfy food) - would expect more from a "special occasion" Restuarant like this one. Also, when we noted that it was where we came to dine after our engagement 2 years ago and we came again same date last year, they didn't honor that with any special dessert or any other manner so a bit disappointing, though my husband loved his pork shanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and overall experience was so good, we went back the next night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As usual our meal was superb and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was exceptional... Arrived with a headache. When asked if aspirin was available, they were able to find some. My headache eased and we had the most wonderful dinner. Very friendly staff. My husband had the meatloaf and I had the chicken. Finished with a cobbler.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife had the halibut with mushroom risotto which she raved about. My braised pork shank, however, was a "never again." Lots of fat, thick red sauce covered it, and couldn't really tell if it was atop mashed potatoes, polenta, or something else. The server was personable and professional. Views were non-existent. I'd seek better-ranked restaurants (Raven) before coming here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved it! We were staying down the road at a different inn and they didn't have a large menu. This place had lots of selections and great pricing. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service, spectacular location. Very highly recommended.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great setting so you feel special going in. There was a group event going on so VERY noisy and made service a little slow and spotty. Food was very good and they dropped the corking fee since service was spotty. All in all a good evening and memorable experience. WILL RETURN

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Really disappointing meal. Sole almondine was bland, burger was meh, fries were soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great place to spend a couple of days. Nice rooms, wonderful breakfast and dinner, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food, service was a little slow but restaurant was busy.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is in a dramatic setting along the northern California coast. The dining room is small - read cozy - but the service is attentive and cheerful, the food is well prepared, the wine list is essentially all at retail prices and the total package makes this well worth the drive. Don't miss The Little River Inn if you are on the coast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a country club, for after the golf game. The food was excellent, as was the service. The dining room is crowded: the low ceiling makes for bad acoustics: very loud. We were shouting at our waitress, and she at us! But, if you can make it through to dessert, have the Chocolate Decadence. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant if you are staying in Little River or Mendocino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Lovely ambiance, quiet yet somewhat aged group of patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a nice table with sea view and the food was very good!
Just a nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.