Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.95mi
  4. Distance: 1.06mi

About Little River Inn Restaurant

Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, Little River Inn is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast make you feel like part of the family.

7901 Highway One
Little River, CA 95456
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: M-Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Breakfast: Su 8:00am-12:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Brunch: Su 8:00am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Little River Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 937-5942

Website:
http://www.littleriverinn.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dym

Private Party Facilities:
Little River Inn boasts inspirational ocean views from both our conference facilities and guest rooms. Your meeting or event will be expertly handled by dedicated innkeepers whose family has been hosting guests for nearly a hundred years.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Ivankay: (707) 962-2197

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Little River Inn Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Waterfront (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice ambiance, good service, food was inconsistent. The Caesar salad was not fresh, old lettuce; one entrée was good the other was not so good; one desert was good the other average.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Generally excellent food and very large portions. However, on this visit the petrale sole dish left a lot to be desired. The Eggplant dish was excellent. The caesar salad was very ordinary.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

As always the food was excellently prepared and presented. Peppercorn N.Y. steak was over the top good as was the Petrale Sole. Spring greens salad were very tasty and refreshing. Service was impeccable
Came back for breakfast and the avocado,bacon and sour cream omelet was to die for as well as the homemade scones. Made our mini trip to Mendocino an experience to remember. Going back in September 2017.Patrick

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Little River Inn & restaurant is a gem! Not easy to get to, but so worth the drive. We've had many breakfasts & dinners here, and have always been impressed with the food and service. Try their killer Bloody Mary's, they're the best. Simply put, I love Little River Inn.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Made reservations for and ate in the main dining room. Bar menu on back of menu left the impression that you had to be in the bar to order from this section. Not the case... and my fault for not asking. If the main meals were good, no need to second guess myself. Since they weren't, I feel like a good meal slip away. Other diners around us ordered from bar menu and it looked and sounded from the comments like it was great. Oh well.. maybe next time.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our experience here and had exceptional service along with a great window view of the ocean and sunset

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The best dining experience we had during a week of enjoyable dinners in Mendocino. I had perfectly crisped eggplant with zucchini papardelle. We will make the Little River Inn a vacation destination next so we can also experience breakfast, lunch, brunch, and the bar, which has its own menu and incredible view of the Pacific. Wonderful local hospitality.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We loved our meal. My husband has the Bouillebase and I had the scallops. Both dishes were very tasty. The service was excellent; the ocean view enchanting! We would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We ate off in a side room so the noise level was low as compared with the main dining. The bouillaibaise was extraordinary. The views to the sea or garden make for a beautiful setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Meal was excellent and Melissa our server was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Each time we stay in Mendocino, we have dinner at the Little River inn. Friendly serve, profesdional, seasonal and regular menu items, local wines, and fabulous desserts...if you have room. Reasonable price for upscale comfort food quality. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The headline chef was not on duty. The food was just mediocre, and quite disappointing. I recommend that people call ahead to determine who will be running the kitchen before deciding on a reservation.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Loved the brunch so we thought dinner would be good. Uninspired flavors in the fresh and local fish. Pricey too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This restaurant caters to an older crowd in my opinion; 50+. I expected more from a 5 star chef and the attached price tag. I would recommend this place for a beer and brew. The service was exceptional. The location is also exceptional. Get reservations!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We ate there twice this past weekend and were impressed each time with the food, and service. Add to that the ocean view and the garden setting, you have a great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We absolutely loved our experience there, and we will most definitely return every time we are back in Mendocino.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We loved the non touristy atmosphere, the service and everything about our experience. It was magical

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Loved this bar and restaurant, friendly atmosphere, great food and reasonably priced, spectacular view! What more could you ask for??

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious salmon and halibut. Server was professional and friendly. Was helpful in describing dishes. Beautiful setting

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Bar was a little crowded and we couldn't get a drink there before dinner. Better if restaurant would open at 5:30. Fresh clams great in chowder but could have been better seasoned. Crab cakes superb. Salmon very good. Great service and nice room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is one of our all-time favorite restaurants! We always dine their when we are in Mendocino. Terrific setting, food, ambiance, everything!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent menu, long wine list, impeccable yet friendly service and, best of all , outstanding food preparation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We were in Mendocino for birthday weekend. Little River recommended by family that visited regularly ( 10+ years ago). Part of resort complex. Dining room a bit dated, bar is sparse, views to the Pacific are impressive. Great maitre d' service, very professional.
Service was pleasant and responsive. Wine list well rounded and fitting of abundant local wineries. Crab cakes and oyster fresh, wedge and beet salads abundant. Osso Bucco very well done but Vege Torta was doughy. No recognition of birthday even w reservation comment.
Restaurant empty when we left at 9:30p w only local guests at the bar.
Worthy but value not fully equal to the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Our server was very attentive and extremely accommodating. I would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Every time we go up to Mendocino we always eat at the Little River Inn. We have never been disappointed with the menu selections and the service is very good. We sometimes set in the bar area and have a beer and fish and chips, But the dinning area has a relaxing view and get for breakfast and dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My favorite California coastal dining experience. Wonderful interpretations of classic dishes. Perfect staff. Well priced. Stunning views. Absolutely perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

As usual the meal was good and the venue was nice. Jennifer our waitress was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Solid, down to earth, friendly, good food and wine. Very sweet place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was bland and the menu was not what I expected.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

went for a birthday dinner during a trip to mendocino and LOVED the sunset view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have eaten here many times, always go back for more..

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent meals with menu that changes daily. Outstanding, friendly staff.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This restaurant was so good we went back a second night and for breakfast!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Even though we will continue to recommend this restaurant to friends etc., please note that we were very disappointed with certain dishes at our annual family get together. Normally, every dish is superb, which we have become accustomed to over several decades of family gatherings. This time, however, the sole almondine (two of us ordered that dish) was mediocre, and only mildy flavorful. I think it was perhaps overcooked and therefore two 'squishy'. The chicken dish ordered by another of our group was similarly not all that good. The crab cakes were excellent, as were the salads. I think they may have been a bit understaffed, as it took way too long to get a class of lemonade to our grandson - well into the meal. I don't blame our server, as she was constantly busy.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Delicious dinner in a quaint inn. Great service, friendly servers. Definitely do again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Ate here on our Anniversary and were given a nice table with a great view of the ocean and the whales passing by. Food was excellent. They wished us a happy Anniversary on more than one occasion and even presented us with special chef-made truffles for our late night celebrating. They went the extra mile with the service and it was very much appreciated.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

lovely, old fashioned restaurant with a twist. Food was delicious and I even had a 2nd serving of the mussels with a topico cream sauce - delicious.
Lovely service, good wine list, great food options, and a good value.
I would certainly recommend coming here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have eaten here several times in the past and always been happy with the food , but this time I had a crab pot pie which was dismal. It was mostly peas and potatoes. I may have had 1 1/2 ounces of crab at best. It certainly did NOT merit the $28 ala carte price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Request Carol as your server and let John help you with your wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went there for our 40th anniversary dinner. The place was full when we arrived, but luckily we had our reservation and were seated right away at a nice table. The food was excellent and large portions. I especially liked the meat loaf from the bar menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.