About Little River Inn Restaurant

7901 Highway One
Little River, CA 95456
View Larger Map

Family hospitality meets fine cuisine at this landmark coastal resort. Looking out upon magnificent ocean and garden views, Little River Inn is well known for its comfortable atmosphere and enticing fresh local fare. Executive Chef Marc Dym creates dishes that are at once familiar and modern, while the friendliest staff on the coast make you feel like part of the family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: M-Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Breakfast: Su 8:00am-12:00pm
Dinner: Su-Th 6:00pm-8:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 6:00pm-9:00pm
Brunch: Sa 8:00am-10:30am
Brunch: Su 8:00am-12:00pm

Cross Street:
Little River Airport Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 937-5942

Website:
http://www.littleriverinn.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is complimentary.

Executive Chef:
Marc Dym

Private Party Facilities:
Little River Inn boasts inspirational ocean views from both our conference facilities and guest rooms. Your meeting or event will be expertly handled by dedicated innkeepers whose family has been hosting guests for nearly a hundred years.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Ivankay: (707) 962-2197

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Little River Inn Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (5)
See All
Notable Wine List (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Waterfront (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have eaten here several times in the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have eaten here several times in the past and always been happy with the food , but this time I had a crab pot pie which was dismal. It was mostly peas and potatoes. I may have had 1 1/2 ounces of crab at best. It certainly did NOT merit the $28 ala carte price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Request Carol as your server and let Joh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Request Carol as your server and let John help you with your wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for our 40th anniversary dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went there for our 40th anniversary dinner. The place was full when we arrived, but luckily we had our reservation and were seated right away at a nice table. The food was excellent and large portions. I especially liked the meat loaf from the bar menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

By far the best meal of our 3 day getawa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

By far the best meal of our 3 day getaway. Service was comfortable and casual, with the right amount of attention and personal focus. The drinks and calamari were a delcious start, the squid having a delightful mustard sauce. Our meals, pasta sugo and osso buco were perfectly cooked, ample, each bite lasting throughout the long evening. We ended with a dessert of creme brûlée, tasty, but the grayish custard a bit offputting. Overall, this place continues to provide the romantic environment and quality that Mendocino is known for.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We spent New Year's eve at this charming ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We spent New Year's eve at this charming restaurant. The food was excellent with friendly service to match. This is a great find in Bodega Bay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"Just okay" First evening in town and t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

"Just okay"

First evening in town and this was reco'd by the place we were staying.

Found it to be very busy, popular with families, and extremely noisy.. Wait staff was attentive and did the best they could

The menu read well but didn't deliver

  • chowder was flat and uninspired

  • Hangar steak Diane that the waitress said they were known for, while cooked perfectly missed on the classic "Diane flavor profile" and the meal was just average

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was excellent, though only one v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service was excellent, though only one veggie entree and an optional vegan sandwich are quite limiting options (beyond traditional American comfy food) - would expect more from a "special occasion" Restuarant like this one. Also, when we noted that it was where we came to dine after our engagement 2 years ago and we came again same date last year, they didn't honor that with any special dessert or any other manner so a bit disappointing, though my husband loved his pork shanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food and overall experience was so g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food and overall experience was so good, we went back the next night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual our meal was superb and the ser ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

As usual our meal was superb and the service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional... Arrived ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The service was exceptional... Arrived with a headache. When asked if aspirin was available, they were able to find some. My headache eased and we had the most wonderful dinner. Very friendly staff. My husband had the meatloaf and I had the chicken. Finished with a cobbler.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife had the halibut with mushroom ri ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife had the halibut with mushroom risotto which she raved about. My braised pork shank, however, was a "never again." Lots of fat, thick red sauce covered it, and couldn't really tell if it was atop mashed potatoes, polenta, or something else. The server was personable and professional. Views were non-existent. I'd seek better-ranked restaurants (Raven) before coming here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

Loved it! We were staying down the road ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Loved it! We were staying down the road at a different inn and they didn't have a large menu. This place had lots of selections and great pricing. Would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, excellent service, spect ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Fantastic food, excellent service, spectacular location. Very highly recommended.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting so you feel special going ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great setting so you feel special going in. There was a group event going on so VERY noisy and made service a little slow and spotty. Food was very good and they dropped the corking fee since service was spotty. All in all a good evening and memorable experience. WILL RETURN

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really disappointing meal. Sole almondin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Really disappointing meal. Sole almondine was bland, burger was meh, fries were soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great place to spend a couple of days. N ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great place to spend a couple of days. Nice rooms, wonderful breakfast and dinner, friendly staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service was a little slow bu ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food, service was a little slow but restaurant was busy.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is in a dramatic setting ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant is in a dramatic setting along the northern California coast. The dining room is small - read cozy - but the service is attentive and cheerful, the food is well prepared, the wine list is essentially all at retail prices and the total package makes this well worth the drive. Don't miss The Little River Inn if you are on the coast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is a country club, for after the go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a country club, for after the golf game. The food was excellent, as was the service. The dining room is crowded: the low ceiling makes for bad acoustics: very loud. We were shouting at our waitress, and she at us! But, if you can make it through to dessert, have the Chocolate Decadence. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant if you are staying in Little River or Mendocino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Lovely ambiance, quiet yet somewhat aged ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Lovely ambiance, quiet yet somewhat aged group of patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice table with sea view and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We had a nice table with sea view and the food was very good!

Just a nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

For being in the middle of nowhere this ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

For being in the middle of nowhere this place is decent. What was excellent was the service. We ordered the calamari for an appetizer which was ok, but heavy on the breading, we split a Caesar salad that was light on the dressing and for some reason chopped into minuscule pieces. Later looking on the menu I saw that they had a Romain chopped salad on the menu, thus explaining why they used the same chopped Romain for our Caesar.

I had the clams which were good and the wife ordered the broiled mussels which were huge and overcooked, making them tough and stringy to eat.

Their wine list feature great local wines which were priced very reasonable. All in all, the dinner was decent and the service excellent especially for the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was very good and was a great value ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was very good and was a great value for the type of food served. Excellent and friendly service.

Casual to business casual dress.

The petrale sole sold out but it looked well prepared and smelled delicious.

This is on our return list.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always good. Breakfast, lunch or ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food is always good. Breakfast, lunch or dinner. We eat there every time we are in the area. The halibut was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Overall a good dinner. Service was quick ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall a good dinner. Service was quick and the table kept current. Server was very friendly and helpful. Food was good but not great. My dining partner did love the halibut and said it was great. If we eat here again, we'll sit at the bar. Seems like the view is good when the fog has lifted.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The restaurant was the best part of our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The restaurant was the best part of our stay at Little River Inn - the Inn is looking tired

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

About halfway through our outstanding me ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

About halfway through our outstanding meal, a party of about half a dozen women came in screaming with laughter and continued to keep up a high-volume party. I guess there's not much that can be done about that. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dinner: fast and friendly service, fantastically good food, lovely room, we left totally satisfied and would absolutely return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had our dog with us and enjoyed a pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had our dog with us and enjoyed a private table in a room off the office with the dog at our feet. The food was exceptional and the server was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Little River always provides reliabl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2016

The Little River always provides reliable, affordable dining. We like that they are always so accommodating. The regular menu can be limiting, but combined with the bar menu, there are lots of choices. We especially enjoyed the salad with shrimp with tarragon dressing...clean and yummy! We plan to return when we visit the area again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Great place, been there many times. Bar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place, been there many times. Bar tender gray hair, best there is. And the view at the bar is unbelievable. I am ready to go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always eat here when we visit Mendoci ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always eat here when we visit Mendocino. The food is invariably excellent and the garden views from the dining room make it a special occasion. We enjoyed the vegetable torte, the beef bourginion, the BLT sliders (superb), and crab cakes. All were excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful 48th wedding annivers ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a wonderful 48th wedding anniversary dinner. What made it even more special was our server, Carol. She was so helpful and friendly. Please let her know we appreciated it. This really makes a difference!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was very friendly and they had ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everyone was very friendly and they had a nice little activity book for my kids. Service was good, food was just okay. I ordered spaghetti and meatballs - the meatballs were overcooked and the spaghetti sauce was little more than tomato sauce. They boys ordered grilled cheese sandwiches and they come with fruit or fries - the fries and olallieberry cobbler were probably the best part of the meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The evening at Little River Inn was exce ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The evening at Little River Inn was excellent. Our server, Jen, was outstanding. Food was prepared perfectly with generous portions.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Will eat here ag ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Good food and service. Will eat here again on next trip. Just wish they were open for lunch and not just Sunday Brunch. Prices reasonable. Full bar and good wine selections.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I took my daughter to Mendocino for a gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

I took my daughter to Mendocino for a graduation present. She picked this restaurant for our dinner and we both loved it !! Really wonderful food and nice location.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had both dinner and breakfast at the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We had both dinner and breakfast at the Little River Inn during a recent trip to Mendocino. The Inn is only 2 miles south of Mendocino, so very convenient to Mendocino. We dined here out of curiosity, but also because we were staying at the Stanford Inn and could not take the vegan only fare there. Both meals at the Inn were very nice. The dinner menu is extensive and creative, service was very attentive and the garden room décor is pleasant. The food at both meals was very good. Service at breakfast was a bit less attentive, but acceptable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We just love the Little River Inn and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2016

We just love the Little River Inn and the restaurant, food and service never disappoints. The bartenders and servers are always so friendly and accommodating and the food is consistently good. We like to eat sometimes in the bar and just get the delicious chowder and fish and chips but the dining room is good too. Breakfast is fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

wonderful experience

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had a lovely evening at the Little River Inn restaurant. Our food was perfectly prepared and delicious. Our waitress was super-helpful and attentive. Save room for the cobbler and ice cream dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This once esteemed restaurant needs some ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 31, 2016

This once esteemed restaurant needs some love and attention. While past generations certainly enjoyed this pearl back in the day, the property and menu have not been updated for far too long I'm afraid. The entrees are frankly boring and the flavors just tired.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.