Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Little Cleo's

4.6
738 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for a Date
When you step inside Little Cleo’s, you’ve discovered a hidden coastal gem in the heart of a Central Phoenix neighborhood. Our intimate restaurant serves an assortment of fresh seafood daily. Don’t miss out on one of the best happy hours in town. Between 4 and 5 Monday through Saturday, Little Cleo’s serves up juicy shrimp and fresh oysters for only a dollar apiece. Guests can also enjoy $2 champagne pours, $4 beer and $5 wines. Step inside Little Cleo’s and discover a hidden coastal gem in the heart of Phoenix.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(602) 680-4044
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jacob Anderson
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
This small, intimate restaurant radiates ease with a dash of vintage 40’s style, while offering an assortment of fresh ocean fare.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Lauren Lombard: (602) 429-8034
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E Bethany Home Rd
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine
What 738 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Not for people who are hard of hearing. Visiting would not be satisfactory We were surprised 9 our first time to go) and we enjoyed it very much although we are in our late 70's. We will definitely go back but probably just the two of us as it is so noisy that any conversation would be a bunch of "what did you say?" But i would recommend it for a couple. I am sure that it would be very popular for younger people.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Little Cleo's Seafood Special plate was extraordinary. The food was very fresh, cold, and tasty. Best raw oysters I've had in Arizona. The plate at $55. was enough for two if you have salad and an entree to follow; therewise, order one for each person and be satisfied without disappointment. The soup/salad portions were OK, and the Roasted Salmon was tasty, but skimpy; enough for a small piece of toast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great seafood place with good priced happy hour fare and drinks. Oysters ($1.00 at happy hour) are great and other more expansive selections are available. Good small plate selection and wines are attractively priced. Next door Urban Kitchen gives a great vibe to the outdoor tables!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was good. The service was intermittent. We had oysters and one was skunky. That is always such a big turn off. The atmosphere was nice. It’s an interesting place to dine

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I brought my friend there for her birthday and there was nothing special about the experience, knowing it was her birthday the waiter didn’t even offer us the dessert menu to look over, just handed us the bill. We were surprised at the limited grilled fish options- we love fox restaurants but will probably skip this one on our rotation! The Brussels sprouts were the highlight of the visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Consistently fresh seafood, excellent service and fun atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Excellent fresh seafood and Happy Hour cocktails.
Paige our server was professional and efficient. Great place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Very slow service, food average, first time there, usually Fox restaurants are great, this one not so much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We have been here several times and EVERY time they are out of Lobster Rolls.. If you have a restaurant with that on your menu, you should NOT run out, 1 hour after you open. Seriously, who does the odering? If it is an item you anticipate running out of order more. If not take off your menu. 4 out of the 5 of us had to decide on something else, which was ridiculous. And to that the waitress should have said it to us right away so we could have had time to get up and leave or take more time to decide on something else. Last time I will suggest this FOX Restaurant as there are many more places to choose from in that area with a menu that has items they advertise on it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We came for Easter brunch and it was our first time. I can’t say enough how fabulous the food was as well as the service. We ordered west coast oysters and the crispy Brussel sprouts to start. The bouillabaisse was excellent !
I highly recommend this place for seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A terrific Easter Sunday Brunch! We loved the appetizer of the jar filled with butter and king crab with a float of truffle oil and herbs. What calories?! The lobster rolls were divine.
Service was terrific. What a fun way to spend Easter Sunday brunch!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I had oysters on my mind and Little Cleo's is usually one of my choices to satisfy that urge. Happily it did not disappoint. I'm not thrilled with their charging policy as I like to get a variety without having to get a mixed half dozen and pay for all at the most expensive rate.

I did still order three different varieties and they were all wonderfully fresh, sweet and briny. We were two so a tasty bowl of chowder and a tuna poke bowl to share made for a satisfying meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Outstanding, imaginative menu! We ordered small plates as a tapas dinner.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Very noisy with average food. Parking was hard to reach even with using valet. Just very congested area. Better seafood restaurants in area that are easier to access and quieter to be able to hear your dinner companions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great spot. Neighboring Culinary Dropout was busy and loud but didn’t take away from a fun evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Enjoyed the food immensely! You must order the warm crab in a jar...absolutely delicious! We ordered fish & chips, lobster roll and brussel sprouts. All outstanding. Service was way above average. We left full and happy. Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Best seafood restaurant in Phoenix! Seafood tastes fresh as if food is delivered daily! Service quality is amazing and I love the open kitchen format with the urban chic feel. My favorite dish is the Maine Lobster Roll!!!! OMG! Prices are decent for the food and service quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

I love this restaurant! I should have stuck to my favourites. There was a special on soft shell crab in a brioche bun. I usually order the lobster in the brioche bun but decided to try something different, big mistake. The crab was fishy, not much of it and left a terrible taste in my mouth for the rest of the evening. Note to self never order that again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is my favorite restaurant. It takes us 40 min but worth the drive!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The food quality and taste were quite good; however, portions were embarrassingly small. My first drink, a chamomile gin and tonic was in a tiny glass, jam-packed with ice. My fiancé's entrée, the lobster roll looked literally as if it were from a child's menu it was so small. My meal, the bouillabaisse, looked like a scoop dropped into a bowl, though it did have two large scallops and two pieces of slightly burned bread. Both of our entrees were from the "Large Plates" section of the menu. The prices were $26 and $24 respectively, and we both left hungry. We did order two of the oysters which were delicious. Overall, this was a very disappointing experience. People should never leave a restaurant hungry, particularly after spending $100.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Frog legs not as expected. Service good. Just an ok atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

I’m delighted to say that our first wonderful dinner here was not the exception. We returned this week to celebrate our anniversary again (thanks, mom and dad!) and it was every bit as perfect.

The happy hour is truly a pleasure, with crisp chilled flavorful shrimp, oysters for my husband to moan about, and $2 champagne pours. This time we came hungry and added a few extra treats, including garlic fries that had been perfectly double fried, some cheesy garlic toast and an order of their lightly battered rockfish with more chips and slaw that instantly shot to the top of my list. Simple yet divine.

The indoor eating space is sterile, mostly white and old, and reminds me of the Oyster Bar at Grand Central in Manhattan...without the stench of diesel fumes or the rush of frantic commuters trying to catch the 5:46 to Poughkeepsie. While we can, we’ll continue to enjoy the garden and yard area, complete with ping pong tables and Culinary Dropout guests. The food makes this an extraordinary experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Our waiter was fabulous ... am so sorry I didn't get his name. We were there early (5pm reservation) on St. Patrick's day, and sat inside. Hope you can ID him & reward for great service.

Food good. Lobster roll ok, crab in butter fabulous, veggies delightful. House white wine lovely. Disappointed cappuccino not available.

Noise level deafening. Any conversation, inside or out, required shouting. Not at all conducive to a pleasant dining experience. If ear splitting outside, might inside be for those who want to interact with one another?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

This is a hidden gem. My husband is from Boston and he said the lobster roll was better than anything he’s ever had. He had to turn in his Masshole card. We sat at the bar and not only was the service excellent but it was fun watching the chefs. It’s a well oiled machine. The food is spectacular. Try the hush puppies. I had to order 2 baskets of them. The only thing I didn’t care for too much was the clam chowder. But crab in a jar with grilled bread and the shrimp cocktail. Wow. So good! And I am going to have to order my own lobster roll next time. My husband almost stabbed me when I tried to take a bite of his.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

At first it seemed odd this restaurant was within Culinary Dropout but the atmosphere was nice despite its smaller space. The service was great and the food was delicious. We started with oysters and corn hush puppies followed by some small plates, ahi tar tar; king crab; and grilled octopus. For desert we had the New Orleans pecan pie. We are definitely planning to come back and will have a hard time trying different things since these were all so wonderful but there were various other items on the menu that looked equally as good. Prices were very reasonable for the great quality and portion size!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Fantastic ambience. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Food was delicious, very fresh and interesting choices. Crab in butter in a jar, with toast, to share as an appetizer, was awesome. Would highly recommend this place!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Love this place. It never disappoints. Would love if it was open for lunch. This is one, of only a few, seafood restaurants in the Phoenix area. Always fresh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

The crab legs were very good. Will go back just for that. Had the Cajun shrimp which was fairly good but needs more Cajun. Oysters were good but a little disappointed in the size.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

This was our first visit to Little Cleo’s and we will be back. Top notch seafood/shellfish, great service and well paced order arrival made for an enjoyable experience. Their own brand of Pinot Noir was delicious and priced fairly and the staff really watchhed over each others areas to insure a total team experience and service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Second visit. Very disappointed compared to last year. Something has gone in the wrong direction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

This was our sixth trip to the restaurant and they always hit the mark. A fantastic evening of dining! We are no where near a coast however, the seafood is fresh and handled with care. Well worth a visit or six! We will continue to dine here...great food all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This was our second visit to Little Cleo's and again they blew us away with the quality, service and taste. I'm almost a little reluctant to say how wonderful it is lest the restaurant get so busy I can't get in. If you like shrimp cocktail and oysters then you need to get to Little Cleo's for their 4-5pm HH. OMG you can gorge yourself. One of these days we'll have to have dinner there but after going on Saturdays for HH we roll out of there stuffed. Only way this could be better is if we lived within walking distance!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The waitress was awesome. Attentive but not overwhelming. Food was delicious and the best butternut squash dish I think I have ever had. The hush puppies were light and fluffy and the crab in ajar perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Outstanding food, amazing service. I have yet to eat anything I don’t like. The restaurant was too cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Every single bite was divine. We came for happy hour and stayed for dinner and dessert. The oysters and shrimp are large and fresh. The shrimp have that satisfying crunch and are boiled in a perfect mix of herbs.

The sides with my salmon sounded like perfection and tasted even better: parsnips. Shaved Brussels sprouts, berries. Crispy potato in tiny wedges.

Service was graceful and gracious. Relaxed yet quick. We would eat here daily if it was closer to home.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Good food, fun atmosphere. Just a note that the happy hour listed on opentable is not accurate to the restaurant. It is 4-5pm only.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not worth the money we paid for the meal. Fish and chips were just mediocre, not worthy of the reviews posted at all!!
Chowder was good, also the bouillabaisse was not worthy of the price at all.
My husband and I were disappointed with the quality of the food.

Pauline Mortimer

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

So happy to have found Little Cleo's. OMG the happy hour is unbelievable! Husband I stopped in before the Miranda Lambert concert, sat at the bar and ate the $1 oysters and $1 shrimp. Oysters were medium to small, which I prefer, and fresh and tasty. Sitting at the bar you can watch the "show" of shucking the oysters. And they churn them out. The $1 shrimp were plump and firm and HUGE. The $2 champagne isn't swill like I was afraid it would be. Tasty and good-sized pour. We got out of there full and for under $50 with tip. Definitely putting this place in our dining out rotation. Almost forgot: the dinners being cooked smelled oh so delicious. We wished we'd had more of an appetite (or stretchy pants) to keep eating. Service was attentive, friendly and welcoming. What more could you ask for?

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 15, 2018

This was my 3rd time visiting Little Cleo's and my 1st time for Valentine's Day! But I have to say, the food was sub par, main entree specifically, especially for the price. My boyfriend had the steak and I had the fish and both were lacking flavor, which made for a overall disappointing dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We live in Gilbert and passed right through the "foodie" district in downtown to make the 45 minute drive. I'm in love with this place. Btw, DT Gilbert has room for a seafood spot!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19