About Little Cleo's

5632 N. 7th St
Phoenix, AZ 85014
View Larger Map

We are now serving HAPPY HOUR! Join us Mon-Sat from 4PM-5PM to enjoy food and drink specials. Full menu is also available. Reservations are also accepted during this time.

Little Cleo’s, named after the iconic fishing lure is located at The Yard — a unique, neighborhood-inspired development project. When you step inside Little Cleo’s, you’ve discovered a hidden coastal gem in the heart of a Central Phoenix neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
E Bethany Home Rd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 680-4044

Website:
http://www.foxrc.com/restaurants/little-cleos-seaf

Executive Chef:
Eric Ramirez

Private Party Facilities:
This small, intimate restaurant radiates ease with a dash of vintage 40’s style, while offering an assortment of fresh ocean fare.

Private Party Contact:
Lexingten (Lexi) Vallery: 6024298034x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 11:00PM

Little Cleo's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

fit for foodies (64)
neighborhood gem (44)
special occasion (43)
See All
great for outdoor dining (42)
hot spot (32)
vibrant bar scene (24)
romantic (23)
good for groups (21)
late-night find (16)
great for lunch (10)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
Sort By:
Newest
336 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for a special occasion and arranged ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for a special occasion and arranged for a rose to be at our places. They helped and pulled it off perfectly. Excellent seafood in imaginative servings. King Crab in butter served in a mason jar with garlic toast. Sounds crazy but soooo good. The service is a little over the top. They check with you a bit too often but their intentions are good. Go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a wonderful Mother's Day brunch at Little Cleo's. The patio seating was beautiful and the food was delicious. Service was a little slow, but we weren't in any hurry and the server was very sweet, so it was fine. Kind of spendy, so just a place for special occasions for this family, but lovely experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and excellent service, but a bit noisy.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch. Menu was very good. All the meals were very good. Service was very good. Only down side is for a table of 8 we had a hard time hearing each other because it was so noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a great place that I think gets ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is a great place that I think gets overlooked at the Yard. The food is really, really good. On several different visits, the food has been consistently fresh, well seasoned, and on point. I would recommend Little Cleo's! On this particular night, we happened to sit next to a very loud table, though the restaurant was not necessarily noisy. The service was ok- our server wanted to take our order about 30 seconds after we sat down, and we hadn't looked at the menu at all. She then disappeared for a very lengthy amount of time. Someone else had noticed we were waiting a long time and took our drink orders. The menu us a bit pricey, especially the main/ larger dishes, but the quality and freshness is there. The ambience is refined casual. Give this place a try if you're craving seafood, the food will be great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Nice ambiance, great service and we loved the food! Only negative was finding it and the parking situation!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Simply Amazing

Dined on May 1, 2016

Never thought we could have such fresh seafood in the desert. Amazing. Server was amazing. Kinda pricey -- but you get what you pay for!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fun spot!

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was such a great find if you're a foodie...great seafood selections, cocktails were on point, service was amazing. If you're looking for a spot for a fun night out with a great meal, look no further than Little Cleo's at The Yard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Some Food Missed the Mark

Dined on April 30, 2016

Overall this was a good experience. Server was excellent & they comped our dessert & coffee for our anniversary. The corn hush puppies were very salty. Had to scrape salt off. My lobster roll lacked flavor & a seasoning over took any lobster flavor. The banafee dessert was underwhelming as well. On the plus side my wife loved her ahi appetizer & bouillabaisse main course. Obviously I'm the picky one! The atmosphere @ the Yard was great but we were overdressed. Very casual place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Little Cleo's Really Understands Service

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our party decided to visit Little Cleo's at the last minute. Good thing it was late afternoon and not evening because the place is quite popular. The menu has a decent selection of fish dishes as well as more typical saloon standards. Everyone in our party found something to enjoy. Food was well-prepared and delivered quickly. Most notable thing about Little Cleo's was the level of service. The waiters were back often to check on things. The runners always inquired about satisfaction. Even two vists from the floor manager -- wow! The great service makes up for some smaller shortcomings. We'll be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the lobster rolls, the bun was de ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had the lobster rolls, the bun was delicious, we were Maniacs for 12 years, so we are definitely lobster lovers. Can't wait to try some of the other entree's!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good seafood restaurant with great service.

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Always good seafood and modest but good wine list. Happy hour is a good deal although it is only 1 hour long.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Gem!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

had a request in the group we were traveling in for seafood. well when in phoenix you don't necessarily get seafood, but I opened my Open Table app, typed in seafood and up popped Little Cleo's. All the reviews were great and it was 14 minutes from downtown. We loaded in a Uber and were on our way. The restraurant is in a group of restaurants that share a common space. Each restaurant has its own seating area, but there is an outside common area that is great! Flat Screen TVs, games and lots of people. Menu was incredible and the food, fantastic. The king crab in a jar is AMAZING!!!! Crab with butter and truffle oil and bread. Salads are delicious and so are the scallops. Decent wines and the service is great!!!! Amazing find.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Cleos

Dined on April 19, 2016

The seafood is some of the freshest possible in Phoenix. The frog legs are delicious, and the service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food if u wanna hang out afterward ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great food if u wanna hang out afterwards

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quaint Seafood Restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

For fresh seafood in Phoenix, Little Cleo's is a quaint, charming restaurant tucked away among the other restaurants at The Yard. They have great absinthe cocktails, some good wines, Americana feel/style, and a great menu that offers fresh seafood. We had their Fresh Seafood platter for our appetizer and shared the lobster roll and squid ink pasta with mussels and topped off with their banana and chocolate torte desert. All dishes were very good. The seafood tasted fresh and was cooked perfectly. Coming to their restaurant reminds me a little like being in a quaint seafood restaurant in San Francisco. If you want to start your night with oysters and cocktail shrimp, they offer happy hour with sparkling wine, absinthe cocktails along with oyster and shrimp on their happy hour menu. If you're looking for a fun night, they have ping pong tables and other games you can enjoy at The Yard after or before dinner and other neighboring bars to hop around to.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed they were out of lobster ro ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Disappointed they were out of lobster rolls, but in the end every single item the four of us ordered was amazing. Do not miss the crab in a jar appetizer, it is worth $21!

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Sadly, Little Cleo's seems to serve some of the same dishes offered at its immediate neighbor Culinary Drop Out and for more money. This applies to the fish and chips and the roasted Brussels sprouts. Both of which were okay, but not up to the hype of a "legend". One dish unique to Cleo's menu was the grilled squid which was tasteless and squishy, although the quantity was what one would expect from a small plate item. The two tiny potato rounds served on the small plate were hardly worth the effort. The sweet corn hush puppies were very good. Overall, nothing special in terms of ambiance, menu choice or food quality.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not Recommended

Dined on April 8, 2016

Lobster roll was drenched in butter and lobster was water logged as if it was stored in ice water. Grilled octopus was not properly cooked and was served Luke warm. Very expensive for the poor qaulity.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding from service ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

Everything was outstanding from service to food.

food4
ambience4
service4

Tone down noise inside. Otherwise love ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Tone down noise inside. Otherwise love it.

food3
ambience2
service3

First time there , food was OK but not 5 ...

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

First time there , food was OK but not 5 stars

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! Oysters were fre ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food and service! Oysters were fresh and just what I was looking for. Also, they had Benovia wine, which is one of my favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Total find

Dined on April 1, 2016

Sit at the bar and watch the cook - it is a real experience - just ordered a bunch op apps (not a cheap way to go) but everything was fantastic

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service

Dined on March 30, 2016

Little Cleo's had very tasty seafood, but that was only enhanced by a fine waitress. It is not always easy to cook seafood (boulebaise) with all ingredients being properly done. Little Cleo's did so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Every thing about this place was just pe ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Every thing about this place was just perfect today. You know outdoor on the patio beautiful day everyone on the staff was just as friendly and professional the food was delicious, grilled octopus, lump crab Benedict, lobster fritatta, diver scallop, with a bubbly blood orange and pineapple royale....definitely going back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The warm crab in butter...

Dined on March 26, 2016

My hubby and I needed seafood...and this restaurant didn't disappoint! We started with the warm crab in butter and it was truly amazing! I had the fish and chips which was yummy and my hubby had the lobster roll. It was delicious...very expensive but yummy! We had a great dinner! We'll be back...after we save up some funds!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was excellent and entire ambience a ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food was excellent and entire ambience at The Yard was great!!! If you like seafood definitely check it out.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent appetizer selection!

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent appetizer selection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great for date night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was great, cocktails were some of the best I've ever had. The crowd over in The Yard were a little rowdy which is probably my only complaint about the overall experience but in no way reflects on Little Cleo's

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, Terrific food.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Brought out of town family...thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Great for foodies! A little gem!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great time and service, food wa ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a great time and service, food was great! Had the oysters and crab dip which was fantastic. Would recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on March 8, 2016

This was about our 5th or 6th trip to Little Cleo's. Love the food, the service is very attentive but not overbearing, and while moderately expensive, the quality is top notch. Most recent visit was to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently Good

Dined on March 6, 2016

I looked forward to the crab in a jar small plate and was not disappointed. The 4 of us each had some. It is wonderfully rich and the bread served with it is wonderful. My bream fish, which I had never heard of, was very good. It was a light fish and the portion was generous. One person had the bouillabaisse and said there was not one bad morsel in the dish. The lobster roll was loaded and delicious. The sorbet was sent back as those who had ordered it found it tasteless, but the Chocolate Banana ice cream was good. Service was very good and the only drawback to us, being senior citizens, is the noise level. The restaurant wasn't packed and we ate early so it was fine this Saturday night. I would highly recommend Little Cleo's.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Big Jm & the Frog Legs

Dined on February 21, 2016

Seafood is fresh, prepared simply, & made for good bites & conversation. Don't miss the hush puppies, & "jar of Crab". It is to die for...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We chose Little Cleo's for seafood and were very pleased. It is in a space that has other restaurants as well as an open area for gathering and drinks. Very interesting. We had a great meal and would visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

WONDERFUL!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We are so glad that we found this place, great food and atomosphere. Everything was so FRESH and prepared to perfection. It was heaven on a plate.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quality Seafood in a Cool Atmosphere

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food and service were fantastic! Succulent oysters and some of the best clam chowder I have ever had. King crab in butter was overdone and not very flavorful- sent it back and server was very gracious. Removed from bill. Dessert was delicious as well. We will be back. Hard to go wrong with Fox Concepts restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Dinner

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The pre set menu was fantasti. You had a choice of a few different items for each course. The lobster bisque was amazing to start and the fish was so good. Oh and dot forget the dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Little Cleo's never disappoints! The atm ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Little Cleo's never disappoints! The atmosphere is great, we love to sit at the counter and watch the chefs prepare one plate at a time. Their thoughtful preparations and attention to detail set them apart. Chef Eric runs a tight ship where every team member seems to enjoy what they do. The servers and hosts are attentive and intuitive in their service.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Nothing too special

Dined on February 14, 2016

Not too bad, but nothing that I haven't had better elsewhere. What was good- kale salad, oysters (a little pricey at $3.50/oyster though), and frog legs. What was Not good- the grilled octopus. I was expecting a thick, tender tentacle steak like I usually get elsewhere. This was baby octopus with the head still on, and it was very tough, rubbery, fishy tasting, and totally bland. I can't believe it was offered on the menu. What was so-so- the seafood stew (spicy but not that much flavor otherwise, no pasta with it), the warm crab in butter (just crab soaked in butter). Portion sizes were small. The banoffee dessert was decent but it was a tiny sliver, not enough to share and had no presentation. Just a small pie on a plate; no sauce or garnishes. Atmosphere was loud and chilly. It was nice to try a new restaurant, but nothing here to keep me coming back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.