About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommence the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Foie gras Torchon
Duck Confit Hand Pie
Goat Cheese Gnocci
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt
Crispy Sweetbreads
Celery Root And Potato Soup
Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney
Charcuterie plate
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters
Foie Gras Brulee
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan
Le Pigeon Burger
Octopus Terrine
Roasted Quail
French Fries
Alaskan True Cod
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron
Fois Gras Carpaccio
Pork Shoulder

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (167)
Special Occasion (129)
Romantic (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Hot Spot (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Late-night Find (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was disappointing. The cheese ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was disappointing. The cheese plate was great. The lamb ribs were mediocre as the lamb flavor overpowered all other flavor son the plate. I have the scallop succotash and visually it was completely unappetizing and brown but the flavored were ok. The steak my husband had was ok, not great. The ice cream sandwich was good but not great. The service was fair at best. Disappointing. Expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Late seating at the bar. The bartender h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Late seating at the bar. The bartender has offered a great service, was really concerned about offering the best advice on the menu items and the whole staff was very welcoming. Food was among the best I have had in restaurants in North America. Very refined, fresh and all the elements where well balanced in the plate. Very casual atmosphere but the food and service is of a very high level. Would recommend this bistro experience to anyone, especially those who set the bar very high!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Genuinely good and imaginative bistro fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Genuinely good and imaginative bistro food. Polished service. I would go back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dined at Little Bird several times - foo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dined at Little Bird several times - food is its own, not trendy, and is really tasty

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent menu. wonderful food. highly r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

excellent menu. wonderful food. highly recommended. lovely lunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One individual in the party became sick ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 7 days ago

One individual in the party became sick from the food (he had the shrimp sandwich) and we waited very long to be served and for the table to be cleared, whilst other parties who arrived later were attended to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

On the "long list" of dining for a shor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

On the "long list" of dining for a short weekend Little Bird was recommended to everyone in our party and did not disappoint. Seated promptly. Settled with a mix of playful cocktails before we shared most of the appetizers. The fried chicken coq au vin was as good as billed. The steak frites and bean tart made a terrific split. Too full for desert (but there were a couple sweets for the road anyway).

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The duck breast was fantastic, as was th ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The duck breast was fantastic, as was the lox and fennel salad. Great wine list. We had a French Burgundy that was excellent and at a reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow.....everything was outstanding and I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wow.....everything was outstanding and I can't wait to go back! One of the best meals my wife and I have ever had. It was the highlight of our week in Oregon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Detracted for ambience only because 100 ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Detracted for ambience only because 100 degrees outside and their A/C system was incapable of cooling the restaurant interior. Too hot to enjoy the food. Will try again when a hot entree is more palatable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Waitress seemed high. Couldn't remember ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Waitress seemed high. Couldn't remember our order after telling her 3 times. Food however was excellent. Customers sitting next to us didn't help the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Great food, but the service was a bit of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, but the service was a bit off. Ordered drinks and it took 15 minutes for the drinks to be served and the Little Bird was not that full at the time. The server even when asked did not ask the bartender about the order.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were just okay. How ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food and service were just okay. However, we were disappointed that although we had booked it for a milestone birthday, the staff did absolutely nothing to help celebrate (including failing to even say happy birthday).

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing - get the fried chicken!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing - get the fried chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow is all I can say. In my top few meal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Wow is all I can say. In my top few meals in Portland EVER. Presentations were beautiful. Cocktails were great. Small but delicious wine list. Unpretentious - hard to find these days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love this place, try to get a table ever ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love this place, try to get a table every time I am in town. Only room for improvement I think is perhaps a better description of the menu. I am commonly uninspired with the menu but always surprised at the sophistication of the plate ... Suggest better description on menu or more informed service staff that describes the plates in better detail - Bravo, keep it up!'

See you next time

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere with outstanding food. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great atmosphere with outstanding food. Don't miss the trout.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liver mousse was decadent! The clams wer ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Liver mousse was decadent! The clams were perfectly cooked...wish it had a few more.

And why don't restaurants cut the baguettes all the way through???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Fantastic service and delicious food! We ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic service and delicious food! We can't wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A most memorable meal. The food was ama ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A most memorable meal. The food was amazing and the service matched.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The bread served with the steak tartare ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The bread served with the steak tartare was more than burnt, and the succotash with the scallops was so close to perfection (but a little bit lacking). Overall, everything was delish per usual, but our server was unfortunately a tad bit gruff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Food was interesting and delicious; serv ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was interesting and delicious; service was great with funny yet competent servers. Definitely a restaurant to return to as there were several menu choices that we would love to try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an incredible dining experience ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was an incredible dining experience! The food was spectular, the service was attentive and unpretentious. Merci petit oiseau!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Little Bird does not disappoin ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As always Little Bird does not disappoint. Food was local and fresh. The menu has changed to suit the season. The summer peaches matched up the the foie gras and was absolutely wonderful. Gabriel Rucker's fingerprints were all over the menu. I am so glad that he has taken a serious interest in the menu.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! I ordered the c ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was delicious! I ordered the chicken coq a vin and my friend ordered the duck. BOTH were AMAZINGLY!!! The Bordeaux was over the top perfect and the Bon bons to finish everything off was the perfect compliment. I will definitely go back. If you love French food, do not hesitate to make reservations!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Veggie plate was a few beans on puff pas ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Veggie plate was a few beans on puff pastry, really disappointed for the high price! Chesse plank was very skimpy as compared to what is served in Paris. American standard move the customer out for the next quest, not very French. Wine was nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Snug dining , but not too noisy. Food ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Snug dining , but not too noisy. Food prep & presentation excellent. Service consistently very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We attended little bird on our last even ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We attended little bird on our last evening on the recommendation of a much younger Friend who is a self-described foodie. We are seated promptly and allowed a leisure leave me out even though the restaurant was full on a Monday night. This was the best meal of our 3 week trip on the West Coast. Fresh flavours and novel presentation .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, only complaint is we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was delicious, only complaint is we had reservations at 10pm (the only open time slot when we booked) and although we arrived on time, we waited 30 minutes before being seated. The service and food were great once we were seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was OK- food was a little overwrought ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was OK- food was a little overwrought/ heavy for the time of year and the preps seemed muddled. Appetizers were good. Service was very good, but based on this experience (all three entrees at table) there are better places in town to drop this kind of cash.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

It was our first visit to Little Bird an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was our first visit to Little Bird and, I'm sure, it won't be our last.

We visit Portland a few times per year and try to find exceptional

dining options. Little Bird is on our list of great places.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Little Bird delivered! This w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As usual, Little Bird delivered! This was a birthday lunch and was everything we could have asked for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's just the best of Portland, period. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It's just the best of Portland, period. Incredibly romantic, thoughtfully French dishes, lovely drinks, and a NON pretentious vibe. Nobody is trying too hard (like they do in my hometown Seattle). Every wedding anniversary had been here the last 5 years. Here is to 50 more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird was the first restaurant my ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Little Bird was the first restaurant my wife and I dined at when we arrived at Portland. It being our first introduction to Portland's food scene, we were impressed with what the city has to offer. It set a high bar for other restaurants we were to visit after. The food at Little Bird was flavourful and intense, prepared with fresh ingredients and great technique. It is definitely worth your time visiting if you are visiting Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food were excellent. It ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The service and food were excellent. It is a smaller stylush venue. I would get reservations in advance. The menu is creative and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, creative and delish desser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Amazing food, creative and delish desserts, casual vibe, several veggie options, pricey. Worth the splurge. Nobody minded a wiggly three year old as it was loud enough to cover up her antics.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great flavor and wonderful drinks! This ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great flavor and wonderful drinks! This is the kind of place you go to when you are not quite up from dressing up or waiting through a serving of a tasting menu, but you want the wonderful flavors and textures that come from a higher class of restaurant. Little Bird does not disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easily one of the best restaurants I've ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Easily one of the best restaurants I've visited in ages. Wonderful service and great food in a beautiful setting. Easily a highlight of the Portland dining scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding bistro! Friendly and fantas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Outstanding bistro! Friendly and fantastic!! Wonderful service and great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for our dinner was really long. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The wait for our dinner was really long. The kitchen seemed behind and even the server apologized for the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.