About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Little Bird, Portland, OR
Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Charcuterie plate - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Brulee - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Goat Cheese Gnocci - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Foie gras Torchon - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Crispy Sweetbreads - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Duck Confit Hand Pie - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon Burger - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Celery Root And Potato Soup - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Octopus Terrine - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Roasted Quail - Little Bird, Portland, OR
French Fries - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Alaskan True Cod - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Fois Gras Carpaccio - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Pork Shoulder - Little Bird, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (84)
Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (63)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Local Ingredients (38)
Cozy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Authentic (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Great for Lunch (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Hot Spot (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Seasonal (17)
Fun (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Waiter took too long to take order. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter took too long to take order. The tables receive lots of chill air from the street when door opens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Our group was seated promptly and lead t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Our group was seated promptly and lead through the menu. The recommend items did not disappoint. You must try the charcuterie plate. Each item on the board is a must taste. Our only regret is that we did not have room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary experience, love everythin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

Extraordinary experience, love everything about this place, will deginately be back and reccomend this to everybody that is going to Portland😀

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Little Bird never disappoints. We had a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Little Bird never disappoints. We had a great meal and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good. One of the best r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The food is very good. One of the best restaurants in Portland. Great place for couples of all ages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite places in Dow ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of my favorite places in Downtown Portland. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance. I've never been disappointed here.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and great appetizers/salads ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice setting and great appetizers/salads. We all had burgers for main course, which were decent. Interesting wine selections. Only drawback was we had to wait a half hour for our reservation. It could have been that they just sat too many two tops and left an empty two top between each, so that any table for 3 and over had to wait much longer. Our server was fantastic (we were seated upstairs) -- he was the best part of the experience. Had many good recos on wine, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Little Bird is a consistent, dependable ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Little Bird is a consistent, dependable winner in the PDX restaurant landscape. High quality food and service served in one of PDX's most comfortable settings.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service - great food. Chopped Kale ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Good service - great food. Chopped Kale salad was hearty and blue cheese - sesame full. The salmon special sitting on a bed of pistachio / brussel sprout slaw and topped with cranberry chutney was perfectly prepared and too delicious to describe.

This place specializes in flavors that delight. I could not have been happier with my meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If your looking for authentic French, th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

If your looking for authentic French, this is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Get the seared fois gras. Als ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Fantastic. Get the seared fois gras. Also, the service was superb, very knowledgeable and gracious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose this restaurant because it was h ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I chose this restaurant because it was highly rated. However, the food was not good at all. I ordered the duck. It was completely flavorless, and very chewy. The server had a little bit of an attitude too, like the client is lucky to dine at the restaurant, as opposed to the restaurant being grateful for clientele. I would not recommend it for food or for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We stopped in for a late snack. My frien ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We stopped in for a late snack. My friend had the hangar steak whilst I had the steak tartare and a cup of pumpkin spice soup.

One cocktail, dinner, shared dessert with aperitif = $100. A great last minute craving solution.

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was outstanding and our server was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was outstanding and our server was extremely knowledgeable and her recommendations were on point. They happily replaced one entree with another when, faced with two foie gras options, we chose the one with the mildest taste. Beyond expectations for both food and service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, drinks, and service. K ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food, drinks, and service. Knowledgeable servers, great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have long been trying to get a table ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We have long been trying to get a table at Little Bird but usually it is sold out by the time we try to get a reservation. We were lucky that the Sunday after Thanksgiving there were several empty tables. The menu is very interesting, but we found the food to be disappointing. My wife ordered the chicken-fried trout. The mustard sauce overwhelmed the flavor of the fish. I ordered the seared duck breast. It was essentially raw and the exterior fat layer had not been cooked enough to bring out the flavors. The wine list is great, and we had a Burgundy that was the high point of the evening. The poppy cake dessert was also delicious. All in all, it was pretty disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Everyone was wonderful, caring and thoug ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everyone was wonderful, caring and thoughtful. Thank you. The two disappointments were: It was freezing downstairs due to the door issue especially. Second, the salmon special (very pricey) was very dry, definitely not up to your standards. I thought maybe you would take something off of the price, but no, that wasn't offered. Our wonderful waitress offered to redo the meal, but it doesn't make sense for one person to eat their meal while the other one awaits an entire new one. I would love your take on this. This was my fourth time at Little Bird, and the other three were perfect. This was my husband's first and he liked it a lot all but the dry salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was disappointed with our dinner at Li ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was disappointed with our dinner at Little bird. I've eaten here 4 years ago but the quality of food wasn't the same from the last time I was in. I understand its been 4 years but a great restaurant is consistent over time.

It's still "good" food but isn't the "very good" or "outstanding" food I remembered eating.

Same with the service, it was "good" not "very good."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Little Bird has always been great. Frien ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Little Bird has always been great. Friendly and professional service and always great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved Little Bird when it opened up. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I loved Little Bird when it opened up. It was a real French bistro and excellently executed. Still had a Portland vibe with locally sourced items.

I preferred it to Le Pigeon because it was less busy and not so rich and heavy.

Over the years, the restaurant has migrated to the richness and over the top approach of Le Pigeon.

Often would go there for lunch, but it is impossible to get anything if you want to eat in moderation, let alone want a light meal.

Used to have a lovely trout dish, now it is fried trout with a heavy batter.

Hardest thing is deciding what to order, not because of all of the things I want to eat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome food and service. Best Burger ev ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Awesome food and service. Best Burger ever!!!

Have ate at Little Bird a number of times and have never

been disappointed!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening at Little Bird t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a lovely evening at Little Bird this weekend. Excellent service, great food and a warm, buzzing atmosphere. We asked for help on our wine choice and received excellent advice, well within our price range and then our server overheard our conversation about our daughters recent birthday ... she added a candle to my daughters dessert - it was such a lovely thing to do! We'll definitely be returning, next time we're in town

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic as always. Food was really goo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic as always. Food was really good. We both had the fish special. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just landed from LA and this was our fir ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Just landed from LA and this was our first meal in Portland. We came for happy hour after 10 and it was amazing and cheap. Cant beat it. Burger and mac and cheese were out of this world. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a lovely gem in the downtown/cul ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This is a lovely gem in the downtown/cultural district. The upstairs balcony is a wonderful vantage point and much quieter than downstairs. Very warm and cozy, and very French. In fact, be prepared for classic French - very rich (they have TWO preparations of foie gras on the menu!) and very delicious. French sauces, but a perfect size serving so the richness doesn't overwhelm you. Wine list mostly French wines, and extensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been here in 5 years or so but ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

I haven't been here in 5 years or so but something I remember vividly was the burger of all things. It used to be AMAZING. Top 5 in the city for sure....maybe even in my top 2 favorites. At some point you changed it though because the burger I had this Sunday wasn't memorable whatsoever. Save the blue cheese burgers for Red Robin and get chèvre back on your burger like any high end burger should have. The rest of my family had the hanger steak which tasted great. No complaints with any other food, just reinstate a good (and memorable) burger please!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First meal great, second disappointing. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2016

First meal great, second disappointing. Specials of the day were the same items 3 days later. Pork fantastic, duck and trout entrees not so great and trout definitely not "French"! Meal of appetizer combos might be the best option. Service good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Love the special they were having on the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love the special they were having on the night we were having dinner. It was an octopus pasta with citrus and garlic chili oil. Bone Marrow lived up to its reputation and seared duck breast as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As a surviving combat veteran of Viet Na ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As a surviving combat veteran of Viet Nam, I went here to celebrate Veteran's Day. The service and the artichoke and turnip soup was wonderful as were the Frites. My Chicken, Coq au Vin, was wonderful except for the chicken which was very fatty with very little meat. However, I appreciated that 5% of the bill was donated to the Returning Veteran's Project. This is my second visit and to Little Bird and I was so disappointing I am not likely to return to this restaurant, although I hope this was a momentary lapse.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We paid Little Bird a visit for a busine ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We paid Little Bird a visit for a business lunch. First off, sitting upstairs, it was noisy enough that we had difficulty holding a conversation at a normal volume. The staff was very attentive, but the food was a bit disappointing, especially for the price. I had the Baked Eggs with Rosemary cream and it was fairly overdone. Little balance to the flavors as the acidity of the chutney overtook the rest of the dish (reminded me of eating at one of Booby Flays restaurants which is not a good thing). One of my counterparts had the sausage special that was being pushed and upon trying it, we both agreed it was very disappointing. The only thing suggesting it might be inspired was the price, but the sausage was bland and again, the recipe was poorly balance in terms of flavor combinations. Our third party tried the Crispy shrimp soft roll and said, it was fairly flavorful, but messy in its construction and very difficult to eat. From reviews and cost, I would have expected more. For the price, there are a lot better options in Portland.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely delicious "Baguette" sandwich ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Absolutely delicious "Baguette" sandwich. It's hearty and a large plate. Great bartender at lunch (and probably all day.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed the Pork Belly it self, but wo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

I enjoyed the Pork Belly it self, but would suggest another type of veggie & the dressing. There really was no favor. Plus the noise level was bad.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value3

The food was fine, but for the cost and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food was fine, but for the cost and the hype I was expecting to wowed. The service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent dining experience. I went to t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent dining experience. I went to try the Fried-Chicken dish. Unfortunately, it's sold out. I ended up eating the Chicken-Fried Trout and it's awesome! Will definitely dine in again at Little Bird when I get back to Portland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had some yummy dishes - shared the Se ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had some yummy dishes - shared the Seared Foie Gras to start, then I had the Maple Brined Pork Shoulder, and hubby had the Coq Au Vin. The pork shoulder was a little on the dry side and all the dishes were a bit too salty for my taste, but the flavors were well-matched and the dishes were expertly put together from a presentation perspective. Very helpful and friendly staff. The house cocktails we had (Gran Expatrie and an Old Fashioned) were well made, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately, my wife, two friends and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Unfortunately, my wife, two friends and I found dinner to be disappointing. Escargot were rubbery and lacked the simplicity of the classic french preparation style; too much "breading"/grain obliterated the escargot. Scallops were undercooked; associated grain-and-mushroom accompaniment, though, was excellent. Seared Fois Gras was undercooked and stringy (riddled with fibrous material that was surprisingly difficult to cut; sauce with which the Fois Gras was cooked and accompanying veggies were excellent. Ice cream reset was just "OK". Amari (italian digestives") "flight" presented was, with the exception of the Cynar, too bland (not sufficiently bitter/herbacious). In short, this dinner in no way compared to the quality of the meals that I had at Little Bird a few years back; its a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I went here after a business conference ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I went here after a business conference with 6 others. We ordered several appetizers to share and all enjoyed them. Everyone seemed to enjoy their entrees as well as desserts. We were all impressed with the size of the entrees. The portions are much larger than any French restaurants any of had been to previously. After several rounds of drinks and plenty of food we were all surprised at how little the bill was at the end of the night.

Overall I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

It's great for special occasion or regul ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's great for special occasion or regular date night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional French inspired food and exc ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Exceptional French inspired food and excellent service. Our waiter was a sommelier who recently moved to Portland. Very knowlegable. Try for a mezzanine table if one is available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is quaint restaurant with a French- ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is quaint restaurant with a French-themed interior. The waiter was extremely friendly and so knowledgeable about wine and their wine list. He made a fabulous recommendation for our meals. The mains were the egg/mushroom dish and the daily special of scallops. The scallop dish was wonderful with couscous and this perfect sauce. The egg dish was very rich and delicate. It reminded me of dish you get in France. Overall it was a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.