About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommence the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Foie gras Torchon
Duck Confit Hand Pie
Goat Cheese Gnocci
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt
Crispy Sweetbreads
Celery Root And Potato Soup
Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney
Charcuterie plate
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan
Foie Gras Brulee
Le Pigeon Burger
Roasted Quail
Octopus Terrine
French Fries
Alaskan True Cod
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron
Fois Gras Carpaccio
Pork Shoulder

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (195)
special occasion (125)
romantic (72)
See All
neighborhood gem (67)
notable wine list (64)
great for lunch (48)
hot spot (43)
good for groups (20)
late-night find (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While traveling to Portland from Denver, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

While traveling to Portland from Denver, I did a fair amount of research into where to eat. Little Bird did not disappoint! Portland has a serious food scene and Little Bird was on the top of the list. Every component of each dish had a purpose and so much flavor! I would highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister ordered her salmon medium well ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

My sister ordered her salmon medium well, after our waiter explained that they typically cook it medium rare. It still came out rare to medium rare. Although it was still very good, the fact that she specifically called out the cooking temp, and it was ignored was a bit disappointing. Our waiter was terrific, and we had a lovely time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Late lunch great

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 7 days ago

Late lunch great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sorry, I was so disappointed in my first ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Sorry, I was so disappointed in my first visit to this restaurant. The person waiting our table was rude and looked as if someone had stepped on her toes. She came to the table without introducing herself and launched into the soup special for the evening. She brought bread to our table with 1 pad of butter. There were four of us. When I requested more butter she brought us two pads of butter. She went to the bread cutting board near our table and cut the bread resembling someone using a machete. She was scary! I asked her if she had introduced herself to us and she abruptly said it was not the policy of the restaurant. ( I think I may know why she was reluctant to give her name.) She finally stated her name, Ali or Ally, not certain of spelling. When she poured our water she missed the glass and doused the table. Never soaked the spill with a towel. When she poured the $100. bottle of wine she missed the glass and spilled the wine on the table. Never once apologizing for the waste of wine. Since there were several French speakers at our table, I asked politely if she spoke French. Her response, "well if Portland French Restaurants had to rely on staff that spoke French there would not be any one in business." I had enough with her and left the table to complain to the manager. He was gracious and apologetic and evidently told her to wait on the other tables on the mezzanine floor. The remainder of the evening... Tough duck breast, and chewy flank steak. The occasion was my wife's birthday dinner. I chose this restaurant because of the rave reviews about it. I am still in dis belief my experience was so polar opposite of other reviews I have read.

Will be finding a more pleasant, cheerful place to dine in the future. Maybe Little Bird has become too precious for some of us,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Food and dood options great. Menu not ov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food and dood options great. Menu not oversized but good variety and selection

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Little Bird remains one of our favorites ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Little Bird remains one of our favorites. We were pleased with everything. You just must plan ahead because everybody knows about Little Bird.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

sat at the bar and a lovely bartender se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

sat at the bar and a lovely bartender served me. drank a wonderful bordeaux paired with a fried chicken coq au vin atop some of the most decadent cheesy mashed potatoes i've ever eaten. how could that be bad?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has consistently been one of our fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This has consistently been one of our favorite restaurants. The food is creative, well-executed, and at times can be revelatory. The food and bar service is always professional and efficient. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent dining experience. The wait s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent dining experience. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Offered great selections and shared drink recipes. Food was ample and tasty. My friend loved his steak and sides. I had the Moo Shoo Pork, very good, although a tad salty for me. Overall, excellent dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Little Bird was overall really good. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Little Bird was overall really good. The good was very well prepared and everything was unique. I took my wife and her parents here for her birthday. We sat upstairs and the ambiance was great, a little noisy but overall a nice setting for the meal. The only down side to our night was our waitress. She was very off putting and rude to my mother in law when she was asked a question regarding the special on the menu that night. The waitress seemed like she hated her job. It was a rare site to see at a restaurant such as little bird. We might be back, but the service put such a damper on the evening that we probably won't arrange to eat here again, even though I'll have dreams about the double Brie burger...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

While the tomato lentil salad was tasty, ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

While the tomato lentil salad was tasty, the meal was overpriced and the kitchen was very inflexible in response to requests for adaptations to accommodate food sensitivities.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Tables a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Tables are close together so if you have enthusiastic talkers next to you (we did), it is challenging to hear your dining mate speak. Once our noisy neighbors left, our new neighbors were quieter..so the energetic hum of the restaurant wasn't obtrusive.

Prices were a little high but the food was beautifully prepared and presented. Service was professional and attentive. It was our first time at Little Bird. I'm sure we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My office is across the street from Litt ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My office is across the street from Little Bird, so I use plan business lunches there quite frequently. I was beginning to tire of the lunch menu so I tried their heirloom tomato salad and the ham baguette lunch. I am so glad that I changed it up. I really enjoyed my food. And I highly recommend the heirloom tomato salad (though I may ask them next time to go a little easier on the sale). Over all I could not be more pleased at dining at Little Bird. I will continue to use it as my go to place for a business lunch.

Good job!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had an amazing experience. Our waitre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had an amazing experience. Our waitress was one of the best we have ever had. Informative and knowledgable. We have a table for two in the balcony and loved the view of the restaurant. Truly amazing food. All around wonderful, it's a must go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was one of the best meals I have ever had. Creative with the ingredients but simple and delicious cooking. I was satisfied but not overly/uncomfortably stuffed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved this place. Food was great. As ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We loved this place. Food was great. As usual we over-ordered! Some great classics and some fresh menu items too. I would go back tomorrow if I lived in Portland! Try the gnocchi!

By the way, we were seated upstairs where they had just 5 tables and we loved it. Less crowded and a great view of the bistro. Service was great even though we were upstairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing, the server was moo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The food was amazing, the server was moody, the tables are really close together and the restaurant is kind of loud. The food is so good, though, that it's easy enough to forget the other stuff. Good drinks and wine list, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The only issue I had was with the Open T ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The only issue I had was with the Open Table app. When I opened it and requested a 6 pm reservation time, the app said the only times available were 5pm and 8:15pm. I called the restaurant and they said 6pm was fine. Why did Open Table not recognize that a 6pm reservation time was OK?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

With mixed reviews we were hesitant to b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

With mixed reviews we were hesitant to book a birthday lat lunch, but we are glad we did! Everything was perfect from service to soup and entree. We will go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The moment we arrived in Portland everyo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The moment we arrived in Portland everyone suggested Little Bird. It lived up to its reputation. I feel like it's a must experience if you ever have the pleasure of spending any time in Portland. The staff was warm, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. The food was amazing.

Thank you for a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terribly disappointed. Had two meat dis ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Terribly disappointed. Had two meat dishes and both were served with an overabundant amount of fries. Can't they think of something more creative/healthy instead of mediocre fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great place. Relaxing. Food and service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great place. Relaxing. Food and service are always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu, professional service, upbeat ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Great menu, professional service, upbeat atmosphere. Wish it was on my town.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice ambience - starters were very good ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice ambience - starters were very good - however major disappointment with the main courses - the fries were frozen fries - for a $200 authentic French bistro meal expect a lot more than McDonalds fries to go with the main course. Good wait service though.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent service and even better food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent service and even better food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the chance for one dinner in Portlan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had the chance for one dinner in Portland and Little Bird was a good pick. Limited menu with french bistro food as a basis and then the creativity kicks in. Good wine by the glass so you can taste a variety or wines and match to different courses.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

At first I was annoyed because In additi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

At first I was annoyed because In addition to making a reservation on Open Table I had to call to confirm but it was really worth it. The food and drinks were exquisite and the service was impeccable I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. A well crafted menu ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was great. A well crafted menu as far an interesting options, the food was exceptionally well executed. I loved that it felt like a bar, not a fancy restaurant - it was like the best happy hour meal imaginable. The service was very attentive, meticulous really, but without being "right there" as with fine service. It was just a great low-key meal, with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious, cocktails were good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food was delicious, cocktails were good and strong, had a great experience. That said, it's one of the only restaurants we dined at while in Portland so not sure how it compares to others. The atmosphere was quaint and the dishes were unique so for that reason, we liked it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Perfection. Lovely wine list. Wonderfu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Perfection. Lovely wine list. Wonderful service and food was outstanding without being pretentious or overly trendy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place!!!! Everything was jus ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this place!!!! Everything was just fantastic....

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was lovely; professional and per ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Service was lovely; professional and personable. Drinks were some of the best we've had. The food was fine, just fine.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely dinner in a nice French environme ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Lovely dinner in a nice French environment. Service is strong and menu items are creative and well executed. The mix of flavors/textures can be unusual: French with a Portland twist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat upstairs and it was very quiet an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We sat upstairs and it was very quiet and peaceful although the lunch crowd was busy downstairs. Service and food were outstanding.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little Bird came highly recommended from ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Little Bird came highly recommended from a friend of ours, a Portland native. Food was outstanding. I really enjoyed my Old Fashioned, which included Lapsang Souchong tea. I had an eclectic take on Mushu Pork (a la Parisenne). My wife tried the green bean tart- very interesting. The star of the evening was the artichoke lemon soup- so searching for artichoke flavor here. Delicious! Nice wine selection, particularly French. We will definitely return- or try their sister restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Expectations were high because of online ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Expectations were high because of online comments. Hostess and place was nice. Sitting upstairs was cool and more intimate. However, the waiter acted rather snooty/rude/irritated to my friend when he was simply inquiring about the various entrees. AND, it wasn't even busy on a Monday night. I had fried chicken coq au vin, and my friend had fried trout, reportedly a fave by commenters. We also ordered 2 sides: cauliflower and heritage tomatoes. All the dishes we had were vinegary and horrible. Is this how French food tastes? Even if the dishes were not French, they were overly, zealous with the vinegar. The chicken and mashed potatoes could've done without the vinegary coq au vin. Horrors! The tomatoes were doused with capers which overpowered the side dish. The fish had too many flavors going on and too much vinegar. The cauliflower was inedible to me with whatever spices it had. Too many flavors going on again. The entire meal was completely horrible and disappointing. On top of the horrible food, we paid absolutely too much for the meal. I would not recommend the place to any friend or even enemies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not a good day too go, just got out of h ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Not a good day too go, just got out of hospital yesterday and wanted some real food. Service was great but good was disappointing... Probably my fault as I didn't really have an appetite..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

So disappointed. Ate there three years a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

So disappointed. Ate there three years ago and it was wonderful. Bragged to our friends that it was a must stop for our visit to Porrtland. Our waiter visited our table three times , said hello and said he would be right back. Never came back after the third visit. Watched him take care of a table that came in after us with total attention. I Ordered a glass of wine . When I ordered a second glass they told me they had no more and switched me to another wine that was not nearly as good . I refused it. My wife ordered a Cosmo. She was told they only had enough cranberry juice for one drink . Two of the dishes were at best mediocre......the moo shoo pork and hanger steak.

What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Service was a bit unprofessional for the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Service was a bit unprofessional for the venue. Food on the verge of being to salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Been there twice now and will definitely ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Been there twice now and will definitely go back. A sweet french bistro kind of feeling and great food to go along with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.