About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Foie gras Torchon
Duck Confit Hand Pie
Goat Cheese Gnocci
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt
Crispy Sweetbreads
Celery Root And Potato Soup
Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney
Charcuterie plate
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters
Foie Gras Brulee
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan
Le Pigeon Burger
Octopus Terrine
Roasted Quail
French Fries
Alaskan True Cod
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron
Fois Gras Carpaccio
Pork Shoulder

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (163)
Special Occasion (126)
Romantic (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (59)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Hot Spot (39)
Great for Lunch (37)
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Late-night Find (24)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sublime food. Outstanding service. A mus ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Sublime food. Outstanding service. A must when in Portland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a little disappointed with the a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were a little disappointed with the ambience and the service. We were sat at a 4-top that they split up

to accommodate two parties of two. Unavoidably we were privy to an intimate (but energetic) conversation with the couple next to us. The menu didn't offer what we came for, even though all of the online reviews we read were focused on it. Seems like they should have modified their online menu (hey, it's the digital age...should be easy to make those changes)! Worse, the server was not warm and her service was perfunctory. The seared fois gras was very good, but the burger was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Little Bird is very different from Le Pi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Little Bird is very different from Le Pigeon. It's a great place to take eaters who are not necessarily very adventurous. It's the perfect combination of unique and traditional. I'll be back in a couple months when everything on the menu changes again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service - just the right amoun ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent service - just the right amount of attentiveness.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird was delicious. The cheese bo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Little Bird was delicious. The cheese board was inventive, everything was beautifully presented, and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were underwhelmed with our experience ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We were underwhelmed with our experience at Little Bird. After rave reviews from our friends we decided to reserve a night out for my birthday. The host was friendly and we were seated right away but this is where the nice experience ends. Our server was dull and seemed to be uninterested in working that day. His energy was so distant I almost reached out to find a pulse! Once we labored through our order the food arrived and looked amazing. Upon tasting our food we found it to be incredibly salty. I will say the presentation and overall taste was good if you could get beyond the saltiness. The gentlemen who brought out our dishes was polite and seemed to be generally happy to be there. By the end of the evening I worried our server might be in the bathroom slitting his wrists, but he did eventually appear with our check only to muster a quiet and distant "thank you". We left feeling down...I sure hope the server is OK! We most likely wont return to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I enjoyed my dinner at Little Bird. The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I enjoyed my dinner at Little Bird. The food definitely lives up to the expectations. I had the fried chicken coq au vin which was delicious. The fried chicken was tender and juicy. My husband had the pork chop, the portion size was huge and it was delicious but pretty fatty. The portion size for the chicken was large too. We were worried about having enough to eat because the entrees don't come with sides but we didn't need them. I also had the butternut squash soup which was creamy and delicious too. The only complaints I have is that the service was a little slow. We ended up waiting a few times for our server to come wait on us. He seemed to have a lot of tables. It also is a small space so the tables are crowded very close to each other. You can basically hear your neighbors conversations. The prices for the food are high but it's worth it for the quality and quantity of food you get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The waitress for our table looked like s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The waitress for our table looked like she hated her job. She didn't bring us bread or butter. It took a long time for our water pitcher to be refilled. The restaurant didn't look that big so not sure why it took so long for more water (we were there at 10pm so it wasn't the busiest time for meals either)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was slow, however the sommelier ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was slow, however the sommelier was very helpful. The food was overall just average. It was creative but average in execution. The scallops weren't quite done, the chicken Gnochii was under seasoned but the chicken was excellent

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Little Bird's food is sensational. You ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Little Bird's food is sensational. You can always count on having a wonderful dining experience there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasty food. Nice ambience, service was g ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Tasty food. Nice ambience, service was great. Would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and ambiance says they kno ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food, service and ambiance says they know and love what they do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came in for the seared foie gras at lu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I came in for the seared foie gras at lunchtime. I made a reservation but they would have been able to accommodate me as a walk in. I sat at the bar and asked for a wine pairing recommendation for the foie, and the bartender suggested the house white, which was perfect and not too sweet. The foie app was priced higher than similar foie gras dishes at other restaurants and the piece wasn't that large, but it was seared to perfection, and the only place in Portland that served it for lunch. The accompanying waffle, marrow butter and sliced peaches went very well. Would order again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is 2nd time I ate at little bird, t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is 2nd time I ate at little bird, the food and services were great. I ordered different things in the menu then first time. I had fried chicken as main dish and gnocchi which was a good surprise because I'm the past I always felt gnocchi was just too doughy and chewy, they did an excellent job by served with almond butter and sour carrot to add intense flavor and gnocchi itself wasn't too doughy and it's cooked. Fried chicken was just blew me away. The chicken fried trout was as excellent as first time. Dessert were pretty good as well. Overall I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I had the prix fixe lunch menu, and it w ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had the prix fixe lunch menu, and it was great. A fabulous butternut squash soup, followed by a slice of top grade salmon perfectly cooked, with yummy accompaniments. A lovely berry pot de creme for dessert. This is food fit for foodies, with attentive service. Pleasant ambiance, and not too noisy. Recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable And personable service even f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Impeccable And personable service even for a late night dinner and drinks love the cozy bar and delicious food. Highly recommended for a night out with the girls, the guys, or the guys and girls

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a mixed group of people - friend ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were a mixed group of people - friends and family. We were seated at a round table in the window at the front of the restaurant. The ambiance in the Little Bird is fun and inviting. The food was delicious. We began with the charcuterie platter -- a nice mix of pates, and cheeses -- a bit pricey but great for sharing with our group. The steak tartare is a large portion and tasty too. The chicken coq au vin was amazing -- crunchy, fabulous flavor of the mushrooms and sauce, on a bed of potatoes. Also delicious was the beautifully presented trout -- yum...my mouth is watering! The burger and Duck were both well received by those in our party. If you like a crusty topping, the mac and cheese ( large portion ) is a good bet for a side to share. wine selection is good, but we brought our own. ( there is a $25 corkage fee, fyi ) -- not to be missed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Little Bird is an excellent restaurant! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Little Bird is an excellent restaurant! The food was very good, especially the bone marrow appetizer. The specialty drinks were thought provoking and very enjoyable. Our server picked up on the pace we were on and adjusted accordingly. The ambiance is very nice and the music was appropriately in the background. we had a delightful date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This was our first time dining at Little ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This was our first time dining at Little Bird but it Will not be our only. Little Bird is our new favorite restaurant. I cannot say enough good things about it. The food is amazing. We had four courses, and each was spectacular. Drinks from the bar are created by a well seasoned bartender, and our server was excellent. Great for a romantic dinner or special day. Luv luv luv.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff knowledgeable but could be mo ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wait staff knowledgeable but could be more friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and they had a delicious spin I've never tried before! Also, the scallops and steak were fantastic!!! The restaurant had a great atmosphere and great service. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary. Truly one of the best meals I have had in a very long time. Started with bone marrow. Lovely. Steak was perfectly prepared. Service was top notch. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird is exactly what you would ex ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Little Bird is exactly what you would expect from the sister restaurant time Le Pigeon. The happy hour is spectacular with great treats at a great bargain.

Great bartender who was friendly and made really good recommendations.

-Stupid Delicious Food

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but not interesting enough for the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good but not interesting enough for the price tag

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good and for the most part ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was very good and for the most part service was very good as well. Took a little long for the main course to come after our appetizer. We would go back again as I would rate this 4 1/2 based on everything.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Simply great & interesting food. Well d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Simply great & interesting food. Well done atmosphere with good character. Would have liked more wine options by the glass and a bigger cocktail list, but overall greatly enjoyed the experience and would come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We took a very late reservation and were ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We took a very late reservation and were really impressed that when we walked in 15 minutes early they sat us right away. There was a constant crowd of others waiting to be seated. Our waitress gave us just the right amount of attention. The food was delicious. All very rich. We were too stuffed to contemplate dessert but we found room for the miniature macaroons they brought with the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. We really enjoyed the food and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Amazing. We really enjoyed the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place, very interesting and unique ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great place, very interesting and unique taste, friendly staff.

Cheese plate was joyful, especially because it was complimentary since we had to wait extra time. All dishes presentation was super artistic. Great place to go on a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We adore Little Bird. The staff is super ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We adore Little Bird. The staff is superb, Marcelle is a phenomenal chef and we cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very wonderful and special even ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a very wonderful and special evening and will return again

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got bone marrow, creme brûlée, and a nic ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Got bone marrow, creme brûlée, and a nice glass of wine and it was wonderful! I will be coming back. My server was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious and beautiful presentation, ex ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Delicious and beautiful presentation, extensive wine list, classic era building details, very helpful and attending staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Portland for the first ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were visiting Portland for the first time and had read very good reviews on Little Bird. We went on a Saturday night and it was fairly busy. We were seated upstairs which was perfect. It was a bit quieter and had a great view overlooking the whole restaurant. The food was fantastic! We started with the gnocchi and it was the best I have ever had. I had the chicken fried trout for my entrée and it was very good, though quite rich. But it was cooked very nicely and had lots of fresh herbs to impart a really nice flavor. My fiancé had the Coq au Vin. That was absolutely delicious--the sauce particularly had a great depth of flavor. The server was prompt and helpful with suggestions. Overall, a great experience. I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambience, staff, food...excellent, e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The ambience, staff, food...excellent, excellent, excellent!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was disappointing. The cheese ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was disappointing. The cheese plate was great. The lamb ribs were mediocre as the lamb flavor overpowered all other flavor son the plate. I have the scallop succotash and visually it was completely unappetizing and brown but the flavored were ok. The steak my husband had was ok, not great. The ice cream sandwich was good but not great. The service was fair at best. Disappointing. Expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Was visiting Portland and this place was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Was visiting Portland and this place was highly recommended by a foodie friend. This place was great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, quaint atmosphere, delici ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service, quaint atmosphere, delicious food! What else could you ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We ate our way through Portland, and thi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate our way through Portland, and this was our favorite. The four of us shared a variety of menu items and it was all delicious! We had a quiet table upstairs. Our waiter was helpful, friendly, and attentive. This is the restaurant that I would recommend to my friends!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Late seating at the bar. The bartender h ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Late seating at the bar. The bartender has offered a great service, was really concerned about offering the best advice on the menu items and the whole staff was very welcoming. Food was among the best I have had in restaurants in North America. Very refined, fresh and all the elements where well balanced in the plate. Very casual atmosphere but the food and service is of a very high level. Would recommend this bistro experience to anyone, especially those who set the bar very high!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.