About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommence the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (219)
special occasion (139)
romantic (101)
See All
notable wine list (88)
neighborhood gem (75)
great for lunch (57)
hot spot (56)
late-night find (30)
good for groups (25)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was fantastic. I've been there tw ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic. I've been there twice, service was slow on both occasions. I'd go back. The decor is lovely and it's a good experience. I would recommend they work on speeding up the service a bit however.

food5
ambience5
service5

Eric was great! Loved the food, loved th ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Eric was great! Loved the food, loved the service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed! Spent our 35th wedd ...

Dined 6 days ago

Never disappointed! Spent our 35th wedding anniversary here for dinner, absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The reputation is better than the delivery.

Dined on May 23, 2016

They do a good job but nothing special. Basic French competently executed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon special was a smaller portion ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The salmon special was a smaller portion than I wanted, but it was delish!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Dining Experience with Unique Options

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. Our waitress rocked and was the right level of attentive. There were three of us and we had the marrow, clams and fries for an appetizer. It was already too much really delicious food by the time we were done. The sauce on the clams was amazing and the marrow was served with garlic beef and a very fluffy and mild horse radish side along with cornichons and pickled onions. Amazing! Then for dinner we had the Coq au in, duck confit and salmon over tiny gnocchi. Another big Amazing! We walked out of the restaurant with many left overs. I probably would have forgone the coq au vin given the generous proportions and similarity to the duck. No room for dessert after this feast. I highly recommend this restaurant to fellow foodies. PS, total crack up on all the bearded men in Portland...very hipster!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The fried trout was delicious. Moo sho ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The fried trout was delicious. Moo sho pork was disappointing and difficult to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bills itself as a "Parisian" bistro. Sadly, Not

Dined on May 21, 2016

It has a very high opinion of itself. And someone associated with the establishment may even have some college French under his belt. But it serves wine that any real Parisian bistro owner would hang himself before serving it to his customers. Not even plonk. I'll give the food 'mediocre' for two items that were just shy of excellence. The fries might even have been better than McDonald's. And the ginger infused carrots were a delight. But the rest (some greasy pork, bits of crepe scraps and some unremarkable veggies) were blah. The ambience was crowded and average. Small table in a small space on an aisle, next to a partition. I've heard the happy hour is great. The food and wine probably aren't any better (and you know the ambience won't be), but it's probably cheaper.

food3
ambience3
service4

It had been awhile since we last visited ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It had been awhile since we last visited Little Bird and we were a little disappointed. The food was okay and in the case of my dessert, too edgy. Prices a bit for what you get, but then again that is what you get in Portland now that it is a foodie town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were in Portland for vacation and Little Bird had great reviews, so we knew we had to go there. Everything we ate was absolutely amazing and delicious. Everything was so fresh. Staff was fantastic, pleasant and personable. It was worth every penny spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Reasonably priced, modest menu selection ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Reasonably priced, modest menu selection, but high quality dinning. Large Selection of French wine at affordable price. Great service and warm and welcoming place to have a casual or romantic meal. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was outstanding.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Possibly over rated

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Despite high reviews we found Little Bird to be just fair. Service was good and the folks were all friendly. The wine list is good and reasonably priced and the appetizers were creative and tasty. The problem was the entre'; the food was bland to too salty and certainly not consistent between dishes. There is a large distinction between oversalted and underseasoned. The kitchen seems to prefer the former at the expense of good taste. This should have been resolved considering the reputations both of the restaurant and the owners.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Too expensive

Dined on May 9, 2016

too expensive for average food. Dinner prices on lunches with very little salad or less pricey options

food3
ambience4
service4

Lot of bones in the trout

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lot of bones in the trout

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the moment we walked we were treated warmly and efficiently shown our table for the meal. The menu though not vast , covered probably the most desired dishes available in today's world. We had a delicious King Salmon and Hangar Steak , both cooked to perfection. We will try to come to this place again when we visit Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful!! Great food and great ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

It was wonderful!! Great food and great service! Loved the setting as well!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Little Bird | Loud Bird

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Little Bird has so much to offer, not the least of which is lovely food and wine. Plus, the interior is beautiful and you feel like you might actually be in Paris. However, and it's a big "however," Little Bird is loud and noisy, as many Portland restaurants are. We tried to have a conversation with two friends who were visiting from out of town and found ourselves yelling across the table. So, my recommendation to Little Bird is soundproofing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing meal and service - tres marveilleux!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful experience at Little Bird. We were celebrating a 50th birthday and the staff was very accommodating when friends (not at dinner) called to send champagne to our table, as well as other goodies. The food was phenomenal: the gnocchi is a must, the duck is just perfectly French, steak and frites in an amazing gravy, salmon special was off the charts. the winner was the Moo Shu Pork and Crepes - such a flavorful combo! All great eats! NOTE: The restaurant is loud and busy so that should be called out but nothing less should be expected in a restaurant that puts out these great dishes. Don't miss it. Book in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service3

Not up to many past visits.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Not up to many past visits.

food5
ambience5
service3

The food was very good, and with the am ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was very good, and with the ambience of the place, it was like a little slice of Paris. The service, for this meal, was friendly but chaotic - our single course (lunch) took 40 minutes to arrive, and we were brought someone else's food first. Several nearby tables had similar problems. It wasn't clear whether it was a kitchen or waitstaff problem, or whether it was because they were busy.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

DIinner with Friends

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was good, but I had the seasonal salmon and found it to be cooked to my taste but nothing special. I was expecting more complex flavor combinations. I did not like the mini dumplings that accompanied the fish, they were bland with little flavor. On my first visit to Little Bird, I was seated down stairs where you can enjoy the feel of the restaurant. This time we were seated upstairs away from the railing which is dark and you are cut of from the ambiance and view of the rest of the restaurant. I enjoyed Little Bird a year ago on my first visit but this time it was just an average meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was really good aside from our server.

Dined on April 27, 2016

She wasn't bad but didn't seem to care about us. Manager and hostess were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best food in Portland so far and we eat out a lot

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very much worth the $. Food is outstanding! Reservations a must

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The BBQ lamb ribs dish is my all time fa ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The BBQ lamb ribs dish is my all time favorite. The meat just pulls apart from the bone so easily, the cut of the meat has a good combination of fat and lean portions.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A fantastic gift

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were gifted a gift certificate for Little Bird for our anniversary, and mutual birthdays. As we were on vacation visiting Portland, it was great to be offered such a gift and we were delighted with the menu, service, and overall experience. We'll definitely keep Little Bird on our list for the next time we're in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was delicious, fresh, unique, and beautiful. The service was great, our waiter was very helpful in choosing a wine and describing the dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The food was terrible. Period. We were ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was terrible. Period. We were shocked. We've been to Le Pigeon a couple of times and had great experiences but this was totally different. We had hanger steak and fried chicken. My husband makes both of these dishes 100% better!!! And it's much cheaper than $127. We won't be back. The ambiance was great and the waitress was good, though. Just get a new chef.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Outstanding.

Dined on April 15, 2016

We've been here before and the place just keeps getting better and better. It was a warm evening and the place was packed. From the moment we got there until we left it was flawless in every respect. We will surely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Business Lunch

Dined on April 12, 2016

Had a wonderful business lunch with colleagues. The service was outstanding! Great wine list in addition to a fabulous mend. Will return whenever I have the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have had the daily fish for my last th ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I have had the daily fish for my last three dinners at Little Bird. A-plus every time. Great cocktails.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistant

Dined on April 11, 2016

We have always loved our meals here....consistantly good, service great

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chic vibe and good food!

Dined on April 11, 2016

We enjoyed the ambiance, food, wine and service at Little Bird.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 10, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. We even had a special drink request that I contacted the bar manager about in advance, and he was kind enough to get the ingredients for the drink. The food was wonderful, and it was so lively and fun. Service was great, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a winner

Dined on April 10, 2016

Little Bird is just fantastic. My fiance and I ordered a random assortment of small plates, cocktails, and a single entree. We did notice that there were still quite a few winter dishes for an early April menu. (Chicken fried trout or Coque au vin on an 80 degree day?) We ordered both foie gras appetizers and they were to die for. The poppy seed shortbread cookies were another standout. The team of servers left nothing to be desired, but weren't intrusive at all, just the way it should be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Negative Vibe from waitstaff

Dined on April 9, 2016

Restaurant was lovely and the food was pretty good. Portions were small. Wait staff demeanor deterred from the experience. Would not return.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Not as good as last time

Dined on April 9, 2016

The first time we visited Portland in 2014 we had a delightful dinner here: Interesting tastes, nice food presentation, funky ambiance and good service. Our second time 'round in Spring 2016 was not as positive. The service was poor and we were kept waiting far too long by our server. After we placed our order which was not heavy on the alcohol the server became even more disinterested. The food was overly sauced and sloppily plated. Still tasty but they need to up their game.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A Touch of Paris in Downtown Portland

Dined on April 6, 2016

Had lunch here, and it was almost like being in Paris. Nice menu and bar area, great food. Small, intimate restaurant in downtown Portland. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on April 6, 2016

French flair, very flavorful. We had a wonderful birthday dinner with excellent wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird is a big treat!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The late night happy hour is perfect if you want to go on a date with a budget. They afford you the opportunity to eat wonderful food at a low price, in an environment that sets a regal, though unpretentious tone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.