About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommence the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Little Bird
Foie gras Torchon
Duck Confit Hand Pie
Goat Cheese Gnocci
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt
Crispy Sweetbreads
Celery Root And Potato Soup
Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney
Charcuterie plate
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan
Foie Gras Brulee
Le Pigeon Burger
Roasted Quail
Octopus Terrine
French Fries
Alaskan True Cod
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron
Fois Gras Carpaccio
Pork Shoulder

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Portland
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

fit for foodies (207)
special occasion (133)
romantic (83)
See All
notable wine list (72)
neighborhood gem (69)
great for lunch (49)
hot spot (44)
late-night find (24)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (15)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic soup, main course and wine. Pr ...

Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic soup, main course and wine. Prompt and friendly service. Really unusual menu items that would definitely be appreciated by adults, but perhaps not kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Highly recommend this spot. We booked a ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Highly recommend this spot. We booked a table at Little Bird for an early Father's Day celebration and were thrilled with the selection. They had a kind staff and incredible presentation. We saw immediately why it was such a hit in town. Order the chicken fried trout and the seasonal gnocchi - you won't be disappointed!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Hello fellow PDX foodies, This Little bi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Hello fellow PDX foodies, This Little bird review is tricky I've eaten the confit de canard, aka duck confit, every time its offered at a French restaurant. My palate is experienced and loves this dish. However I must admit that I didn't like the dish @LittleBird . My wife had the Iron Steak and it was just 'ok' AND what's with serving only French fries with steak? I really wanted to enjoy this restaurant but because nothing was the best it fell very short of expectations. I will not be dinning at this restaurant again but I think its ok to recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our second time dining here and it was just perfect. There were three of us dining, and we were here for my mother's birthday. Every dish was delicious! We had two appetizers, three entrees, three desserts, and two cocktails. Somehow the tab was still under $200 (including tip!). For such amazing food, great service, and a cool atmosphere, this was a steal. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful dining experience. The ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

What a wonderful dining experience. The wine was exceptional, and dinner great new flavors. Room makes you feel like Paris. Don't miss this. Trout outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice vibe. Food "Meh."

Dined on June 10, 2016

Friday lunch scene. The waiter recommended the special roast pork platter. It was basically tastless and the portions were meager. The rhubarb sorbet was the most tasteful part of our experience. Great baguette accompanied the lunch. The waiter said the bread came from the Grand Central Bskery.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will return here many times I suspect

Dined on June 9, 2016

This is a good French bistro. Food was good, service was good, comfortable surroundings.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful French food in downtown Portla ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Wonderful French food in downtown Portland! I loved the very French ambiance. The steak frites were perfect. The moishui pork portion was overwhelming and should have been smaller. The meringue desert was quite good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great oysters; best tartare I've ever ha ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Great oysters; best tartare I've ever had; great market fish as usual; wonderful desserts.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant in Portland.

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had the hammer steak, and my wife had the duck. The duck was a great dish, the steak was very good. We ate upstairs overlooking the main floor. The noise level was lower than the main floor. Service was attentive and knowledge of the menu was detailed. Wine selections were above average. Highly recommend for a great meal at a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and amazing service. Brough ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service. Brought visiting friends who were blown away by the food and the great service. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience3
service5

We dined atLittle Bird for the first tim ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We dined atLittle Bird for the first time on 6/7/2016 and both had the Salmon based bouillabaisse served on shaved fennel. It was delicious not to mention the salad greens with Meyer lemon vinaigrette. Dessert was great too and service excellent. I'd go back anytime.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice quaint place

Dined on June 5, 2016

The seared foie gras was excellent. The drinks list like whisky or draft beer selection could improve.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food. Tables are a little too close ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Good food. Tables are a little too close together though. Food comparable to a moderate Napa, CA restaurant.

food1
ambience5
service4
value2

double disappointment

Dined on June 3, 2016

I The soup was delicious and the side dishes were very well seasoned. The preparation of the main dish was disappointing, even the replacement dish, too. The Server was friendly and helpful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful!

Dined on June 1, 2016

This restaurant provided one of the finest dining experiences we have had in a long time. We are from the San Francisco Bay area and have high standards. I have never seen a restaurant where everything moved so seamlessly. The hostess, waitstaff and managers all seemed to help each other in every aspect of running the restaurant. There was no frenetic hustling, everything just flowed. I can't say enough about Little Bird . The food was great as befits the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love love loved this place!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Cheryl totally took care of us and the food was amazing. We wished we were staying in Portland longer so we could go back. Definitely get the charcuterie board - it was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food ever! Possibly the best meal I've had!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Reading the reviews I was prepared to have a terrific meal, but oh my! If I could have licked every plate I would have. We had a meal that was filling yet light, full of flavor but not overdone. If I lived in Portland I would come here all the time! We enjoyed a gorgonzola gnocchi with browned butter carrot sauce. Sounds a little odd but I've been dreaming of that dish since we left. It's one of those where you find yourself actually sad the bowl is empty. We also shared a nicely dressed mixed green salad, not too much dressing and it was full of flavor. For an entrée we went with the salmon and were not disappointed as it was prepared beautifully and was delicious. For dessert we had the strawberry pavlova, again light and full of flavor. The meal was so amazingly good. Our server was attentive but not intrusive in any way and the ambiance of the place is quite nice. We really enjoyed our experience and I would recommend it to anyone to try at least once and explore the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Went to Little Bird to celebrate my husb ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Went to Little Bird to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was ok, the ambiance was ok, the noise level was way too loud and it was a disappointment.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The server was very knowledgable, helpfu ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The server was very knowledgable, helpful and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Superb

Dined on May 26, 2016

Everything we had there was really, really good. The variety of dishes and combination of flavors made the meal memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was fantastic. I've been there tw ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was fantastic. I've been there twice, service was slow on both occasions. I'd go back. The decor is lovely and it's a good experience. I would recommend they work on speeding up the service a bit however.

food5
ambience5
service5

Eric was great! Loved the food, loved th ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Eric was great! Loved the food, loved the service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed! Spent our 35th wedd ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Never disappointed! Spent our 35th wedding anniversary here for dinner, absolutely amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The reputation is better than the delivery.

Dined on May 23, 2016

They do a good job but nothing special. Basic French competently executed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The salmon special was a smaller portion ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The salmon special was a smaller portion than I wanted, but it was delish!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Dining Experience with Unique Options

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful experience from start to finish. Our waitress rocked and was the right level of attentive. There were three of us and we had the marrow, clams and fries for an appetizer. It was already too much really delicious food by the time we were done. The sauce on the clams was amazing and the marrow was served with garlic beef and a very fluffy and mild horse radish side along with cornichons and pickled onions. Amazing! Then for dinner we had the Coq au in, duck confit and salmon over tiny gnocchi. Another big Amazing! We walked out of the restaurant with many left overs. I probably would have forgone the coq au vin given the generous proportions and similarity to the duck. No room for dessert after this feast. I highly recommend this restaurant to fellow foodies. PS, total crack up on all the bearded men in Portland...very hipster!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The fried trout was delicious. Moo sho ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The fried trout was delicious. Moo sho pork was disappointing and difficult to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bills itself as a "Parisian" bistro. Sadly, Not

Dined on May 21, 2016

It has a very high opinion of itself. And someone associated with the establishment may even have some college French under his belt. But it serves wine that any real Parisian bistro owner would hang himself before serving it to his customers. Not even plonk. I'll give the food 'mediocre' for two items that were just shy of excellence. The fries might even have been better than McDonald's. And the ginger infused carrots were a delight. But the rest (some greasy pork, bits of crepe scraps and some unremarkable veggies) were blah. The ambience was crowded and average. Small table in a small space on an aisle, next to a partition. I've heard the happy hour is great. The food and wine probably aren't any better (and you know the ambience won't be), but it's probably cheaper.

food3
ambience3
service4

It had been awhile since we last visited ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

It had been awhile since we last visited Little Bird and we were a little disappointed. The food was okay and in the case of my dessert, too edgy. Prices a bit for what you get, but then again that is what you get in Portland now that it is a foodie town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were in Portland for vacation and Little Bird had great reviews, so we knew we had to go there. Everything we ate was absolutely amazing and delicious. Everything was so fresh. Staff was fantastic, pleasant and personable. It was worth every penny spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Reasonably priced, modest menu selection ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Reasonably priced, modest menu selection, but high quality dinning. Large Selection of French wine at affordable price. Great service and warm and welcoming place to have a casual or romantic meal. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was outstanding.

Dined on May 13, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Possibly over rated

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Despite high reviews we found Little Bird to be just fair. Service was good and the folks were all friendly. The wine list is good and reasonably priced and the appetizers were creative and tasty. The problem was the entre'; the food was bland to too salty and certainly not consistent between dishes. There is a large distinction between oversalted and underseasoned. The kitchen seems to prefer the former at the expense of good taste. This should have been resolved considering the reputations both of the restaurant and the owners.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Too expensive

Dined on May 9, 2016

too expensive for average food. Dinner prices on lunches with very little salad or less pricey options

food3
ambience4
service4

Lot of bones in the trout

Dined on May 8, 2016

Lot of bones in the trout

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food!

Dined on May 6, 2016

From the moment we walked we were treated warmly and efficiently shown our table for the meal. The menu though not vast , covered probably the most desired dishes available in today's world. We had a delicious King Salmon and Hangar Steak , both cooked to perfection. We will try to come to this place again when we visit Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful!! Great food and great ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

It was wonderful!! Great food and great service! Loved the setting as well!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Little Bird | Loud Bird

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Little Bird has so much to offer, not the least of which is lovely food and wine. Plus, the interior is beautiful and you feel like you might actually be in Paris. However, and it's a big "however," Little Bird is loud and noisy, as many Portland restaurants are. We tried to have a conversation with two friends who were visiting from out of town and found ourselves yelling across the table. So, my recommendation to Little Bird is soundproofing!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing meal and service - tres marveilleux!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful experience at Little Bird. We were celebrating a 50th birthday and the staff was very accommodating when friends (not at dinner) called to send champagne to our table, as well as other goodies. The food was phenomenal: the gnocchi is a must, the duck is just perfectly French, steak and frites in an amazing gravy, salmon special was off the charts. the winner was the Moo Shu Pork and Crepes - such a flavorful combo! All great eats! NOTE: The restaurant is loud and busy so that should be called out but nothing less should be expected in a restaurant that puts out these great dishes. Don't miss it. Book in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.