About Little Bird

215 SW 6th Ave
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Little Bird, the bistro by the team behind Le Pigeon, is open from 11:30 to midnight during the week, and from 5 to midnight on the weekends. The food and ambiance are inspired by the bistros of Paris, but are Portland at heart. Little Bird features a great bar, and a large selection of wines with a focus on French, as well as a selection of local options.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - Midnight
Saturday and Sunday: 5:00pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
in between OAK & PINE on 6TH AVENUE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 688-5952

Website:
http://www.littlebirdbistro.com/

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking at night, and a number of garages and parking lots within the immediate vicinity. We recommend the lot in basement of the US Bancorp Tower. The entrance is on 5th between Oak and Pine.

Public Transit:
The Green and Yellow MAX lines stop directly across the street.

The following bus lines stop within a block: 4,8,9,17,20,31,32,33,35,36,44,54,94,99.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Roasted Quail With Truffled Foie Gras Stuffing And Grape Chutney - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Charcuterie plate - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Kusshi And Netarts Oysters - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Brulee - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce Salad With Artichoke Garlic Dressing, Capers And Parmesan - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Goat Cheese Gnocci - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce, Warm Lentils, Roasted Lamb Neck, Yogurt - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Foie gras Torchon - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Crispy Sweetbreads - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Duck Confit Hand Pie - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon Burger - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Celery Root And Potato Soup - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Octopus Terrine - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Roasted Quail - Little Bird, Portland, OR
French Fries - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Alaskan True Cod - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Warm French Ham And Gruyere On Baguette - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Cauliflower Soup with Pink Peppercorn - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Lime And Orange Blossom Macaron - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Fois Gras Carpaccio - Little Bird, Portland, OR
Pork Shoulder - Little Bird, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue 2:00PM - 2:30PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Wed 2:00PM - 2:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 2:00PM - 2:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Little Bird Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Fit for Foodies (66)
Creative Cuisine (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (45)
Cozy (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
Authentic (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (14)
Seasonal (14)
Business Meals (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Fun (11)
Comfort Food (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Historic (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and JP provided awesome s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great and JP provided awesome service. Great day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lots of hype surrounding this little res ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Lots of hype surrounding this little restaurant, but the food was very good. The restaurant is small(ish) and the tables are placed close together -- we ended up, essentially, sharing meal notes and recommendations with the table sitting next to us (so if you want a really private experience, maybe look somewhere else). The bone marrow was excellent and is so much more complex than most bone marrow options I've seen other places. I had the Salmon special and it did not disappoint. Desert (crème brule), wow. We received the right amount of attention and had a very good meal. Not a cheap night, but we did not feel cheated.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Upstairs was a sauna, had to repeat ever ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Upstairs was a sauna, had to repeat everything to our waitress because she was half checked out, asked her if she could place a candle on the dessert we ordered 'cause it was my brother's bday- forgot to do, ordered coffee- tasted like it had been brewed in the morning, and the food was just okay.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

I have been to Little Bird several times ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to Little Bird several times and have always been super pleased with the quality and variety of choices. This time the food was equally good, but the choices IMHO weren't great. I realize the menu changes with seasonal ingredients, but most of the main dinner choices felt quite similar. I ended up with a cup of the amazing soup and a burger, which was very good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food, wine and service were excellen ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food, wine and service were excellent at Little Birds

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little Bird is has good food, attentive ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Little Bird is has good food, attentive staff and a great ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite lunch restaurant, a ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

This is our favorite lunch restaurant, and perhaps our favorite restaurant overall. The service is always top notch. The Belle Oiseau house wine is fabulous, and the bartender makes excellent cocktails. We both started with the soup that had a fantastic garnish on top. My spouse had the special, a root vegetable hash and I had the truffle pasta. Both were truly delicious and filling. We shared the maple ice cream for dessert, which was also excellent. Oh, and the bread service is superb. Note that Little bird does not accept tips, as it is included in the prices. At restaurants of this quality, I think this is the best way to proceed. I hope more places move in this direction.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was excellent, as well as the servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

food was excellent, as well as the service. very enjoyable experience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird never disappoints- the food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Little Bird never disappoints- the food and service are superior to any other spot in Portland!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a leek & potato soup, regretted orde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Had a leek & potato soup, regretted ordering only a cup, in lieu of a bowl. Next time, I'll do better :-). Also had a truffled fetuccini it was, very, very good. My wife had a Kale salad, which she absolutely loved. She wasn't that impressed with a salmon though. We also enjoyed a good bottle of Margaux. This is our third visit to Portland, hoped we had discovered Little Bird in one of the previous...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Service was impeccable. Food excellent. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food excellent. Good variety of choices, and preparation was really good. A delicious meal. Sweet, fun restaurant. Appropriate name.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, very well prepared and s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic food, very well prepared and served. Wine list is carefully curated and not crazy prices.

Nice touch is the fair pay policy - so gratuity is already included in the price.

Staff friendly and knowledgeable.

Will be putting Little Bird on regular dinner schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We received excellent service and our fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We received excellent service and our food and wine were delicious! Great desserts and pairings, too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such great food. It is a must every visi ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Such great food. It is a must every visit that I make to Portland. Make sure you have a reservation as it's not easy to get in. I'm gluten free... The Coq Au Vin is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous space, delicious food, and plea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Gorgeous space, delicious food, and pleasantly quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little Bird is the kind of charming rest ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Little Bird is the kind of charming restaurant that Portland seems to cultivate. The food is excellent bistro, the service is quiet and professional, the setting is small but still allows for room between tables. You could view a trip to Little Bird as suitable either for a special occasion or just a pleasant evening out and not be disappointed by either expectation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I've been here a couple times after goin ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've been here a couple times after going to see shows at the Keller. The food is phenomenal and the service always great. The atmosphere is adorable and fairly quiet. Check it out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Little Bird! They take risks that ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love Little Bird! They take risks that don't always work, but invariably there are dishes that blow your mind. Great ambiance, great service as always. The duck preparation was not as interesting as previous duck dishes they have made but was well executed. Really enjoyed the creamed and truffled runny egg dish with Rosemary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A wonderful pre-Christmas dinner for two ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A wonderful pre-Christmas dinner for two. Seared foie gras with parsnips was incredible. So was the duck breast with butternut squash. Wish we lived in PDX. We'll be back every time we visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a cold night outside, Little Bird ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was a cold night outside, Little Bird was warm and buzzing inside. Mona, our wonderful server, answered all my questions and recommended a delicious meal for my wife and I. We will be back and definitely recommend Little Bird.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tough contrast our first visit was chefs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Tough contrast our first visit was chefs selection which was fabulous would do that again this visit fell short highlight was baked eggs, pork was good but not great you're capable of great but hard to maintain

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food wasn't as good as I remembered. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food wasn't as good as I remembered...but, still, such a charming restaurant with amazing vibes and wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous meal. Everything from ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Another fabulous meal. Everything from the bread & butter to dessert was fabulous and the service is super solid. We started with the soup and some oysters. For entrees, we had a mushroom dish and the steak frites. We finished with house made ice cream. A great lunch indeed.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food and great service. Somewh ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Delicious food and great service. Somewhat noisy, but better in the balcony.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Happy Holidays.Always a favorite of ours ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Happy Holidays.Always a favorite of ours and David was an excellent server.

The last little touch of sparkling wine for our anniversary was a delight.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The entire service team did an amazing j ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The entire service team did an amazing job! Thank you for a wonderful evening. The food was delicious but your staff was what made the meal. Polished, attentive, smart and had a great sense of when to engage and when not to engage. I look forward to many more exceptional meals at your restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last two times we have been to Littl ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The last two times we have been to Little Bird we have been disappointed. Food was average fine dining. Prefer St. Jack's Restaurant in this category - better food, better ambience and clearly better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always such a fun & creative cocktail an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always such a fun & creative cocktail and food menu! One of our Portland favorites!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Little Bird and w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had a great time at Little Bird and will definitely be going back! Dinner was amazing, but dessert was the real show stopper! Definitely recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing and service was imp ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was amazing and service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyed the attentiveness by the team. Not swarming but just right. The fried chicken dish was extraordinary, so moist and thoughtful to provide boneless pieces. The seared four gras appetizer and creme brûlée dessert was perfect too. Will be back when I'm back to PDX. Mahalo for the awesome experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their drinks are excellent. Food took a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Their drinks are excellent. Food took a little longer than it should have, but it was great. Their fried chicken dish is a ten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We celebrated my birthday at Little Bird ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We celebrated my birthday at Little Bird; we flew in from CA, were staying downtown, and had read about it being a great spot to eat, and the reviews were right! We dined on a night that it snowed quite a bit, so it was a bit slow since nobody in their right mind were driving. My wife had an excellent fried chicken coq au vin, which was a refreshingly creative take on the classic dish, and I had lamb chops that were a special menu add - it was intended for a special event menu item, but the event was cancelled, and so I was able to enjoy this delicious entree that was super tender, and had a wonderful texture to it. We also had a couple of desserts that were fantastic as well.

To us, Little Bird is a fabulous value, as the cuisine is very much on point and delicious, but the price is mid-market. You can easily spend twice what we did for food that is not as good elsewhere. The atmosphere is lovely as well, and I can well imagine a positive energy level when 2+ inches of snow are not on the ground keeping everybody home.

The service we received was top-notch, and our server was very helpful in allowing me to try a few wine samples to match my taste with the lamb chops that I ordered. Attentive but not intrusive service...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, , Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The consistency of this place is phenom ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The consistency of this place is phenomenal. Consistently excellent in all aspects. Food. Wine Drinks. Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter took too long to take order. The ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Waiter took too long to take order. The tables receive lots of chill air from the street when door opens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Our group was seated promptly and lead t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our group was seated promptly and lead through the menu. The recommend items did not disappoint. You must try the charcuterie plate. Each item on the board is a must taste. Our only regret is that we did not have room for dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary experience, love everythin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Extraordinary experience, love everything about this place, will deginately be back and reccomend this to everybody that is going to Portland😀

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Little Bird never disappoints. We had a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Little Bird never disappoints. We had a great meal and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good. One of the best r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food is very good. One of the best restaurants in Portland. Great place for couples of all ages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite places in Dow ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is one of my favorite places in Downtown Portland. Excellent food, excellent service, excellent ambiance. I've never been disappointed here.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and great appetizers/salads ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Nice setting and great appetizers/salads. We all had burgers for main course, which were decent. Interesting wine selections. Only drawback was we had to wait a half hour for our reservation. It could have been that they just sat too many two tops and left an empty two top between each, so that any table for 3 and over had to wait much longer. Our server was fantastic (we were seated upstairs) -- he was the best part of the experience. Had many good recos on wine, etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.