About Line & Lariat

220 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Line & Lariat specializes in modern Texan cuisine. Located within Hotel ICON, the historic former Union National Bank building, our intimate alcoves and vaulted ceilings are sure to offer a memorable dining experience.

Experience Line & Lariat for a quick bite before the ballet or ballgame; New Happy Hour featuring wine, beer, and specialty cocktails from 4pm - 6pm Monday through Friday. Celebrate a special occasion with dinner and drinks in one of the city's most unique turn-of-the-century venues.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:

Monday - Friday 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Saturday & Sunday 7:00am - 11:00 am

Dinner:

Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

L & L Bar

Daily: 11:00 am to Late Night

Cross Street:
Congress

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 667-4470

Website:
http://www.hotelicon.com/dining/

Catering:
Please call 832-667-4468 to book your special event.

Parking Details:
Valet is $6 when dining with us and is located on Congress Street entrance.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located just north of the Metro Rail's Preston Station on Main St. We are at the corner of Main Street and Congress.

Executive Chef:
Laura Trigo

Private Party Facilities:
Four separate private rooms including the Wine Vault (32 guests) and the Arcadia Room (24 guests).

Private Party Contact:
Michael McVey: (832)667-4464x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Line & Lariat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (3)
fit for foodies (2)
good for groups (2)
See All
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
special occasion (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Read some great reviews on this restaura ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Read some great reviews on this restaurant...but it is nothing to write home about...tables are essentially in the lobby of a hotel. Our table was the only table ocupied when we arrived and only two others by the time we left. If I was staying at the hotel I might eat here...but otherwise no.

food4
ambience4
service5

Steak was not as tender as would have li ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Steak was not as tender as would have liked, but overall the meal was excellent

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Disappointing restaurant in top resto's Houston

Dined on May 7, 2016

Quite disappoitnig despite the fact it was in the top list of resto's in Houston. Would not recommend it. Slow service (despite almost nobody there) and quite plain food.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Not going back. Quiet because no one was ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Not going back. Quiet because no one was there. It was Easter and we went after a play. Early dinner. Maybe bad timing. Weren't impressed.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love is in the Air

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ambience is simply amazing, as the Restaurant is set in Historic 1911 Union National Bank with marble columns and the original vault still intact. The bartender started me off with a fresh twist on French 75, one of my favorites! Enjoyed the filet mignon which was cooked to perfection, along with caprese salad, and mouth watering chocolate mousse cake. The wine recommend was superb! My first time and I will definitely be returning!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Sedate and Elegant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Line and Lariat again gave us what we bargained for. We sometimes want a quiet, elegant place as opposed to popular bustling hot spots. Of course the food must be good but we'll settle for less than the latest and greatest to get other amenities. Line and Lariat consistently delivers.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The name implies a Texas theme, but it is not.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Brought a friend here to show him a Texas restaurant. It was just a plain old place to eat. Nothing special. The food was good, but nothing special that you could not find at 200 other places in Houston. It was almost empty in the place, and I can see why.

food5
ambience5
service5

We stay at the Hotel Icon 6-9 times a ye ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

We stay at the Hotel Icon 6-9 times a year for opera weekends or to attend the ballet. We've always been pleased with our meals there...breakfast, lunch or dinner. This experience was great. We especially enjoyed our gumbo.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Line and Lariat good, not great

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was well prepared, but the service was distinctly second-rate. The waiter obviously knew nothing about wine and appeared bewildered when asked a few basic questions. Set in a very large lobby, the ambiance is anything but intimate. But it has a great-looking bar. I'd recommend this restaurant, but not too enthusiastically.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

I am in Houston once a year on business and I always make sure I eat at Line & Lariat. Truly delicious and interesting food, beautiful decor in an old bank, and never crowded or loud.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Reliable Date Night

Dined on January 10, 2016

My husband and I have been here 4 times. The first time was during Restaurant Week a few years ago . The restaurant was relatively busy and food was good. We've gone back and consistently enjoyed our meals. Our other visits have been much less crowded. We love the ambiance and decor. Only criticism on the food is that it's sometimes over sauced (too much dressing on the salad, too much sauce on the steak). If that bothers you, I recommend just having it served on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5

Look forward to dinning here every year

Dined on December 12, 2015

Each year my wife and I have dine here before attending Houston Ballet's The Nutcracker. We love the ambiance, the wait staff is wonderful, and their steaks are cooked to perfection. We can't wait to dine here again next year.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

I like this place

Dined on November 1, 2015

I have been here regularly. The last time the service was slow which was unfortunate as we were tight on time and had to rush the food. Also the wait staff that served us wasn't appropriate for a restaurant with the ambiance and the price paid. Too casual by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2

Executive Lunch without the Stuffiness

Dined on October 27, 2015

I had a lunch here during the week with some colleagues. I expected it to be stuffy and boring, but I was pleasantly surprised by the décor and comfortable feeling. There were five in my party and we sat a round table with huge cushioned wingback chairs, which made for a feeling of privacy. There are huge windows to provide natural lighting and high ceilings that make it feel open and airy. The food was great! We started off with the Texas caviar (pimento cheese) from the bar menu. It comes in the form of sandwich; we didn’t expect that since most of us order sandwiches for our entrée. Someone opted to build their own salad which allows for as many items as you can imagine in a salad. I chose the grilled cheese and tomato soup combo. The soup was tasty and the grilled cheese was huge Texas toast that I could have shared with someone. As for the service, I expected better since this was hotel restaurant, but wasn't terrible. I will definitely come back and recommend this place for a group lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2

Line & Lariat Flatlined

Dined on October 24, 2015

I hoped to be more impressed by Line & Lariat, but my expectations were clearly underwhelmed. I ordered the meatloaf with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies, which seems a quintessential American meal by all standards. The meatloaf was a power punch packed with explosive flavor while the mashed potatoes and vegetables lacked any distinct flavors at all besides bland. The meal felt vastly unbalanced with an over-flavoring of the bacon-wrapped, sauce-smothered meatloaf and tasteless side dishes. Reasonable service and an ambient atmosphere were nice though.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service1

Our meal was good, the appetizers were b ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Our meal was good, the appetizers were better than the entrees. The service was really poor. Our waiter just didn't seem to have any sense of urgency and didn't even know the menu very well. And we were the only group there. Terrific looking place, however.

food4
ambience5
service4

Line and Lariat Dinner

Dined on October 3, 2015

So very romantic and quiet. Nicely tucked away from the noise of downtown Houston. Food was divine, drinks were bubbly, and service was wonderful. We tried the duck sliders just for the heck of it, and how amazingly surprised we were, they were mouth watering. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Nice surprise

Dined on September 6, 2015

We went for restaurant weeks because the menu looked interesting. Did not realize it was in the Hotel Icon. The restaurant was very attractive. Service was attentive. The food was wonderful, but their regular menu is more casual. We are going to try it for lunch before the ballet. It was lovely and quiet. We were a group of 6 and could actually hear each other without shouting. Had a good visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was really quite good.

Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife enjoyed the fixed price Houston Restaurant week menu. I ordered a wedge salad and meatloaf. The texture of the meatloaf was unlike other's I have tried. No doubt due to the fine grind and the inclusion of the lamb and chorizo. Very interesting and quite tasty. The green chile mac and cheese was decadent with a hint of hot. All in all, thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the former bank building with the great pillars.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great location and very good food

Dined on September 5, 2015

The crab-stuff portabello mushroom is a meal in itself - seriously, order it with a salad and you're good to go. We also had the filet, which was very good but not the quality of cut you will get at Eddie V's or Capital Grille. The apple cobbler with vanilla bean ice cream was just okay. We had a good California wine for about $40, so very reasonable. Service is prompt and attentive. We were there on a Friday evening from about 7:00 - 8:30 and there was only one other couple there. I didn't understand that at all, unless people just don't think to go to a restaurant in a hotel. Trust me, it's a great meal and worth your time, especially since you can finish dinner and stroll through Market Square and the Theater District after. Valet parking is half price ($6) once the restaurant validates your ticket. We enjoyed dinner and would dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service1

Beautiful space, ok food and bad service

Dined on August 27, 2015

I love the decor and feel of Line & Lariat, but the service was disappointing. Hostess was rude and we waited well over 20 minutes for the server to collect our check. I came for a business meeting over breakfast - wouldn't come back.

food1
ambience1
service1

I have been 2 Hotel Icon before but this was awful

Dined on August 16, 2015

We came back to try out the restaurant for Restaurant Month in Houston - and boy was it a disappointment. We came for the filet with cheese/bacon and crawfish only to find out they ran out and we were offered a Ribeye - anyone knows they are no the same. So I settle for the ribeye and was still charged the FULL 45$ for a ribeye vs the Filet....very disappointing. To top it all off a couple next to me order AFTER I did and after further persistance they DID receive a Filet as described on the menu. I will never return here for dinner very disappointing - not mention the service was very SLOW for 930p reservation and only about 3 tables occupied when we arrive.

food4
ambience3
service1

Good food slow service

Dined on August 15, 2015

We tried this for Houston restaraunt weeks. Their menu for it looked great. The earliest reservation available for 5 on a Friday was 8:30. When we arrived there were only a couple tables. The entire dinning process was slow. Bringing menus, taking drink orders, bringing drinks and most importantly the food. The food was great but they were out of a couple items on the special menu. They did substitute. We did not leave until 11:15 pm. The place was not busy and we were not given a reason for the wait. There are plenty of other places with better atmosphere and service.

food3
ambience2
service1

Disappointing

Dined on August 14, 2015

The food was decently ok for what I was expecting. Service was slow.

food3
ambience3
service1

Decent food, mediocre service

Dined on August 13, 2015

For the Hotel Icon, I expected better. Most of our party liked their salads, but the kale in mine was not prepared properly. Additionally, the place was not busy, yet our waiter was inattentive and disappeared for long periods of time.

food3
ambience2
service3

Needs to redo the dinner menu

Dined on June 28, 2015

We had reservations but decided to leave due to a lack of a decent wine list and better dinner options. In addition the restaurant was not busy at all even though there were many events downtown that night and a full capacity hotel. That should speak for itself. However, we did have breakfast there the next day, food was nice, and the staff was very friendly.

food3
ambience4
service4

OK, Not as good as expected

Dined on June 26, 2015

The service and ambiance were very good. However, the food was hit or miss; my sea bass was excellent, but my wife's steak was chewy.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service3

Underwhelming

vip
Dined on June 14, 2015

Well I took this place on a 1,000 point table thinking it couldnt' be too bad. It wasn't awful, but for the price it was just too average to be worth returning. The food was average and the atmosphere was so open and spread out, which did not provide a very good feel. This place just did not do it for me. With that in mind, if you're at the hotel, the restaurant bar seems like a decent place for a drink, and of course, if you're on an expense account, you could find worse food for more of hassle.

food4
ambience4
service5

Underappreciated

vip
Dined on May 2, 2015

Great food and service but hardly any patrons, this is a real gem that needs to be discovered, an easy walk away from the culture center institutions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

You are well treated here

vip
Dined on April 18, 2015

Nice place before downtown events. Convenient walk to the culture center, quite good food, service is just superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

The brunette male bartender is very rude ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2015

The brunette male bartender is very rude.

food5
ambience5
service3

Upscale downtown Houston restuarant

Dined on March 7, 2015

Prices are upscale as are the food options. This is not a good family restaurant. Also not for those who like hotel restaurants, which this is. This place is in an old, renovated hotel, and has the ambiance of old elegance. The windows all around look onto downtown. The chairs and tables are unusually large, elegant and private. The food was delicious, from the jalapeno cornbread to the entrees. I had the meatloaf which included 3 kinds of meat and was so tender it would be able to have been cut with cheap plasticware. He lady had salmon in a lemon sauce equally good. The sides were just as good. We had garlic mashed potatoes, seasonal vegetables, and rice pilaf. The place was maybe 25% full on a Saturday night. Being on Main Street, it might do better on weekdays and weeknights. Despite the small number of customers, service was only adequate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant evening. Food was excelle ...

Dined on February 21, 2015

Very pleasant evening. Food was excellent, atmosphere was pleasant, and you could carry on a conversation without shouting.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Laid back quiet meal

vip
Dined on February 16, 2015

I am not sure if our experience on a Sunday night is representative of the rest of the week since the restaurant is in a downtown hotel. When we arrived the restaurant - kind of in the lobby/ bar area of the hotel, was pretty empty. The servers were laid back but attentive. Food took a long time to arrive but was pretty good. I would not venture here from a distance but can see myself drop in for a meal if I am in the area.

Tags: late-night find
food2
ambience2
service2

Lost its charm and quality.

Dined on February 15, 2015

We got married in this hotel back when the restaurant was called "the Bank" and the food back then was amazing. The decor used to have upscale charm with long red velvet drapes from the ceiling and grand golden pillars. Now the decor reminds me of an upscale Luby's and the food was way over priced for the quality. Our Valentines special was Stripped bass and Filet mignon. The filet tasted like a mid grade grocery store cut of meat that was very chewy. The Bass was covered in a sauce to mask the fact that it was over cooked. Everything was just blah... Ice burg lettuce for a salad? The meal plus 2 drinks each was 200+tip. I had 2 scotch's (Obon not very expensive) and she had a cosmo and raspberry tinni. We're unimpressed with the entire experience and will not be going back. We are sad to see it go.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Valentines Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2015

Made reservation for Valentine's Day because we had opera tickets and the restaurant is relatively near Wortham Center. I didn't have too high expectations because I had red many bad reviews. This restaurant turned out to be a total treat. My husband and I ordered the Valentine's Day 4 meal course. The lettuce wedge salads were good with hug chunks of bacon. The lobster bisque was good but the corn chowder was great. The most impressive was the filet mignon. It was super tender and the reduced sauce was amazing. The fish served over a white bean bed was also super. Dessert was ok with two huge chocolate covered strawberries, strawberry cream and a just ok crème brulee. Overall though the food was excellent. The service was also very good. The waiters were very attentive. My least favirote part is that the restaurant feels a little like it is in the lobby of the hotel. I will definitely come though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Nothing spectacular

Dined on February 13, 2015

We made reservations at Line & Lariat prior to a show at the Hobby Center. Our early dinner reservations were for 5:30 p.m. Upon entering the hostess, who admitted she was new, was in outer space. A manager quickly spotted this and helped the hostess to select one of many open tables for our party of four. Wait staff was sluggish to greet the table. Bar drinks were overpriced and two of the glasses where chipped on the rim. We did not complain about this, but drank from the opposite side of the glass. Dinner of four entrees were presented to the table at a nice pace. The food was okay but not what you would expect of the high end restaurant for which Line & Lariat is billed. The food was, in fact, uninspired. Overall, our dinner was just over $200 with tip. I had read other reviews of Line & Lariat and was a bit hesitant. Trust the reviews you see. The restaurant is beautiful indeed but the food, prices, and service were flat, uninspired, and disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service4

patk

vip
Dined on February 8, 2015

The salmon and meatloaf were terrific entrees and was given large portions. The server was attentive but we had to ask for more bread, more water, more coffee etc. Often in nice settings your needs are filled before asking! The dessert we had was great, also.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

I don't usually fill these out

Dined on January 25, 2015

I am not a foodie, and I don't consider myself a complainer. I have also never written a bad review for a place. However, my experience at Line and Lariat was a joke. And since this survey came via email, I will oblige. Let me breakdown our 1.5 hour excersise in how to lose customers: -Reservation was for 6:15pm on a Saturday. Cab was late so I tried to call and let them know we were running 5-10 minutes behind. It took me 2 calls to the restaurant and another to Hotel Icon to get to a hostess. -Arrive at 6:20. Hostesses arguing over where to seat us. Not crowded, so this should have been a red flag regarding the upcoming experience. -Sit down at a lovely table and see the waiter finishing up with a couple at the next table. It would be a good 5-10 min before we saw him again. -As we sat there with no drinks or water looking at the menu, we notice more disfunction among the wait staff. It was clear they were arguing over who was going to have the pleasure of serving us. -The waiter finally came over when we made eye contact with him. He was knowledgable and the food sounded great. We ordered and continued our conversation. -Soup and salad came and it was ok, nothing to write home about, but we were both looking forward to the entrees. Too bad because after literally not seeing anyone after the buss boy took or salad plates for 30 minutes. I decided to go find someone. -The only staff in sight was a bartender. No hostess, no wait staff, no one. I went and sat back down. A minute later our food came out. Everything was cold and bland. You could taste the lack of effort or care in everything. -Sensing our eagerness to leave the waiter quickly brought our check. For the price point the whole meal was terrible. Not one aspect of the entire evening was worth the price. Keep in mind this was a Saturday and when we left at 7:40, prime dining time, the place was still relatively empty. Don't bother trying this place, there are too many better options.

food4
ambience5
service5

Highly Recommend

Dined on January 11, 2015

Elegant dining area and great food in a great location! The service was highly satisfactory.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.