Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Line & Lariat

Line & Lariat specializes in modern Texan cuisine. Located within Hotel ICON, the historic former Union National Bank building, our intimate alcoves and vaulted ceilings are sure to offer a memorable dining experience.

Experience Line & Lariat for a quick bite before the ballet or ballgame; New Happy Hour featuring wine, beer, and specialty cocktails from 4pm - 6pm Monday through Friday. Celebrate a special occasion with dinner and drinks in one of the city's most unique turn-of-the-century venues.

220 Main St.
Houston, TX 77002
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday - Friday 6:30 am - 11:00 am
Saturday & Sunday 7:00am - 11:00 am

Lunch
Daily 11:00 am - 2:00 pm

Dinner
Daily 5:30pm - 10:00pm

L&L Bar Hours
Daily 11:00 am - Late Night

Cross Street:
Congress

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(832) 667-4470

Website:
http://www.hotelicon.com/dining/

Catering:
Please call 832-667-4468 to book your special event.

Parking Details:
Valet is $6 when dining with us and is located on Congress Street entrance.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located just north of the Metro Rail's Preston Station on Main St. We are at the corner of Main Street and Congress.

Executive Chef:
Laura Trigo

Private Party Facilities:
Four separate private rooms including the Wine Vault (32 guests) and the Arcadia Room (24 guests).

Private Party Contact:
Michael McVey: (832) 667-4464

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Line & Lariat Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.3

value

2.7

noise

Moderate

44% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
See All
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made Mother's day reservation for the brunch...arrived with mom excited, valet parked, walked in and they had CANCELED THE MOTHER'S DAY BRUNCH due to low reservations. I never received a call. I was LIVID AND EMBARRASSED. The waiter Tilman and the Front desk manager was our saving grace. That's why I rated the service. They help make situation better by giving us grilled chicken and turkey wrap with dessert. Hotel Icon has changed. New ownership and it's horrible. The entire spirit has changed. Used to be one of the top hotels in Houston....that is of the past. Never again!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our server was very nice, I felt bad for him since he can't be making very much money as there were only a few tables in the whole restaurant and when we went there was only one other table occupied.

We read really good reviews and had high hopes however we were worried as soon as the stale bread came out. The menu was very small and we wanted to try the cheese plate, a staple of ours for fancy date nights. We got it and the grapes looked amazing, the pita bread was warm but also not fresh-likely from a bag and the cheese left a LOT to be desired. The portion was large but each of the three cheeses were indistinguishable. Each was nearly the same texture and was not good quality. We had planned to order the sliders but decided to leave early and go to another restaurant. We spent nearly $30 on one glass of okay wine and a horrible cheese plate.

I would not recommend this restaurant when there are so many incredible places in Houston at around the same price point, serving the same style cuisine with FAR FAR superior food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The waiter didn't seem to be normally a waiter. Barely spoke two words to us. Food was good for a fair price. Restaurant was very empty for being in the more active areas of Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch at the Icon hotel several years ago; I am afraid this year's brunch was rather disappointing.
Brigitte Steiner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The dining room is nice, but was not decorated with any flowers or Easter décor. The buffet was too high for the kids (although found this place on a top 10 kid friendly brunch list) and did not offer plain waffles or pancakes. The waffles were mixed in with jalapenos and the kids did not want to eat them. The website had promised an Easter bunny, but none appeared. The price was expensive for the quality and variety of food offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent, brussel sprouts were just amazing. We actually ordered seconds as everyone at the table devoured them.

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We want to go back to try the breakfast. I wished they could serve breakfast all day. There were a gnat or two flying around. The view was nice. This was our first visit.

Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was a pre-theater meal on Sunday afternoon. Restaurant is in a hotel lobby, but don't let that scare you off. The food and service were very good. Portions were large. Each course was large enough to be the meal. We will go back and eat here for dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Husband and I stayed in Hotel Icon 8 or so years ago and loved lunch at the L&L which was a lovely nouvelle cuisine, very elegantly and well done. The restaurant has gone waaaayy downscale now to have just a few sandwiches, soup and salad. Big disappointment. We will not be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really enjoyed the meal had the special and wasnt disappointed. The bar tender Hurbert has a real wealth of information about the downtown scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 10, 2016

Read some great reviews on this restaurant...but it is nothing to write home about...tables are essentially in the lobby of a hotel. Our table was the only table ocupied when we arrived and only two others by the time we left. If I was staying at the hotel I might eat here...but otherwise no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Steak was not as tender as would have liked, but overall the meal was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Quite disappoitnig despite the fact it was in the top list of resto's in Houston. Would not recommend it. Slow service (despite almost nobody there) and quite plain food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Not going back. Quiet because no one was there. It was Easter and we went after a play. Early dinner. Maybe bad timing. Weren't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Ambience is simply amazing, as the Restaurant is set in Historic 1911 Union National Bank with marble columns and the original vault still intact. The bartender started me off with a fresh twist on French 75, one of my favorites! Enjoyed the filet mignon which was cooked to perfection, along with caprese salad, and mouth watering chocolate mousse cake. The wine recommend was superb! My first time and I will definitely be returning!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Line and Lariat again gave us what we bargained for. We sometimes want a quiet, elegant place as opposed to popular bustling hot spots. Of course the food must be good but we'll settle for less than the latest and greatest to get other amenities. Line and Lariat consistently delivers.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Brought a friend here to show him a Texas restaurant. It was just a plain old place to eat. Nothing special. The food was good, but nothing special that you could not find at 200 other places in Houston. It was almost empty in the place, and I can see why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2016

We stay at the Hotel Icon 6-9 times a year for opera weekends or to attend the ballet. We've always been pleased with our meals there...breakfast, lunch or dinner. This experience was great. We especially enjoyed our gumbo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2016

The food was well prepared, but the service was distinctly second-rate. The waiter obviously knew nothing about wine and appeared bewildered when asked a few basic questions. Set in a very large lobby, the ambiance is anything but intimate. But it has a great-looking bar. I'd recommend this restaurant, but not too enthusiastically.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2016

I am in Houston once a year on business and I always make sure I eat at Line & Lariat. Truly delicious and interesting food, beautiful decor in an old bank, and never crowded or loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 10, 2016

My husband and I have been here 4 times. The first time was during Restaurant Week a few years ago . The restaurant was relatively busy and food was good. We've gone back and consistently enjoyed our meals. Our other visits have been much less crowded. We love the ambiance and decor.
Only criticism on the food is that it's sometimes over sauced (too much dressing on the salad, too much sauce on the steak). If that bothers you, I recommend just having it served on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 12, 2015

Each year my wife and I have dine here before attending Houston Ballet's The Nutcracker. We love the ambiance, the wait staff is wonderful, and their steaks are cooked to perfection. We can't wait to dine here again next year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 1, 2015

I have been here regularly. The last time the service was slow which was unfortunate as we were tight on time and had to rush the food. Also the wait staff that served us wasn't appropriate for a restaurant with the ambiance and the price paid. Too casual by far.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2015

I had a lunch here during the week with some colleagues. I expected it to be stuffy and boring, but I was pleasantly surprised by the décor and comfortable feeling. There were five in my party and we sat a round table with huge cushioned wingback chairs, which made for a feeling of privacy. There are huge windows to provide natural lighting and high ceilings that make it feel open and airy.

The food was great! We started off with the Texas caviar (pimento cheese) from the bar menu. It comes in the form of sandwich; we didn’t expect that since most of us order sandwiches for our entrée. Someone opted to build their own salad which allows for as many items as you can imagine in a salad. I chose the grilled cheese and tomato soup combo. The soup was tasty and the grilled cheese was huge Texas toast that I could have shared with someone. As for the service, I expected better since this was hotel restaurant, but wasn't terrible.

I will definitely come back and recommend this place for a group lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 24, 2015

I hoped to be more impressed by Line & Lariat, but my expectations were clearly underwhelmed. I ordered the meatloaf with mashed potatoes and mixed veggies, which seems a quintessential American meal by all standards. The meatloaf was a power punch packed with explosive flavor while the mashed potatoes and vegetables lacked any distinct flavors at all besides bland. The meal felt vastly unbalanced with an over-flavoring of the bacon-wrapped, sauce-smothered meatloaf and tasteless side dishes. Reasonable service and an ambient atmosphere were nice though.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Our meal was good, the appetizers were better than the entrees. The service was really poor. Our waiter just didn't seem to have any sense of urgency and didn't even know the menu very well. And we were the only group there. Terrific looking place, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 3, 2015

So very romantic and quiet. Nicely tucked away from the noise of downtown Houston. Food was divine, drinks were bubbly, and service was wonderful. We tried the duck sliders just for the heck of it, and how amazingly surprised we were, they were mouth watering. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 6, 2015

We went for restaurant weeks because the menu looked interesting. Did not realize it was in the Hotel Icon. The restaurant was very attractive. Service was attentive. The food was wonderful, but their regular menu is more casual. We are going to try it for lunch before the ballet. It was lovely and quiet. We were a group of 6 and could actually hear each other without shouting. Had a good visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 5, 2015

My wife enjoyed the fixed price Houston Restaurant week menu. I ordered a wedge salad and meatloaf. The texture of the meatloaf was unlike other's I have tried. No doubt due to the fine grind and the inclusion of the lamb and chorizo. Very interesting and quite tasty. The green chile mac and cheese was decadent with a hint of hot. All in all, thoroughly enjoyed the evening and the former bank building with the great pillars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 5, 2015

The crab-stuff portabello mushroom is a meal in itself - seriously, order it with a salad and you're good to go. We also had the filet, which was very good but not the quality of cut you will get at Eddie V's or Capital Grille. The apple cobbler with vanilla bean ice cream was just okay. We had a good California wine for about $40, so very reasonable. Service is prompt and attentive. We were there on a Friday evening from about 7:00 - 8:30 and there was only one other couple there. I didn't understand that at all, unless people just don't think to go to a restaurant in a hotel. Trust me, it's a great meal and worth your time, especially since you can finish dinner and stroll through Market Square and the Theater District after. Valet parking is half price ($6) once the restaurant validates your ticket. We enjoyed dinner and would dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2015

I love the decor and feel of Line & Lariat, but the service was disappointing. Hostess was rude and we waited well over 20 minutes for the server to collect our check. I came for a business meeting over breakfast - wouldn't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2015

We came back to try out the restaurant for Restaurant Month in Houston - and boy was it a disappointment. We came for the filet with cheese/bacon and crawfish only to find out they ran out and we were offered a Ribeye - anyone knows they are no the same. So I settle for the ribeye and was still charged the FULL 45$ for a ribeye vs the Filet....very disappointing. To top it all off a couple next to me order AFTER I did and after further persistance they DID receive a Filet as described on the menu. I will never return here for dinner very disappointing - not mention the service was very SLOW for 930p reservation and only about 3 tables occupied when we arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 15, 2015

We tried this for Houston restaraunt weeks. Their menu for it looked great. The earliest reservation available for 5 on a Friday was 8:30. When we arrived there were only a couple tables. The entire dinning process was slow. Bringing menus, taking drink orders, bringing drinks and most importantly the food. The food was great but they were out of a couple items on the special menu. They did substitute. We did not leave until 11:15 pm. The place was not busy and we were not given a reason for the wait. There are plenty of other places with better atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2015

The food was decently ok for what I was expecting. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2015

For the Hotel Icon, I expected better. Most of our party liked their salads, but the kale in mine was not prepared properly. Additionally, the place was not busy, yet our waiter was inattentive and disappeared for long periods of time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 28, 2015

We had reservations but decided to leave due to a lack of a decent wine list and better dinner options. In addition the restaurant was not busy at all even though there were many events downtown that night and a full capacity hotel. That should speak for itself. However, we did have breakfast there the next day, food was nice, and the staff was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2015

The service and ambiance were very good. However, the food was hit or miss; my sea bass was excellent, but my wife's steak was chewy.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 14, 2015

Well I took this place on a 1,000 point table thinking it couldnt' be too bad. It wasn't awful, but for the price it was just too average to be worth returning. The food was average and the atmosphere was so open and spread out, which did not provide a very good feel. This place just did not do it for me.

With that in mind, if you're at the hotel, the restaurant bar seems like a decent place for a drink, and of course, if you're on an expense account, you could find worse food for more of hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Great food and service but hardly any patrons, this is a real gem that needs to be discovered, an easy walk away from the culture center institutions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Nice place before downtown events.
Convenient walk to the culture center, quite good food, service is just superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.