About L'incontro Italian Restaurant

35 State Rd 60 W
Lake Wales, FL 33853
View Larger Map

L’incontro is an Italian word that means, “The Meeting Place.”

Located in Lake Wales, the heart of central Florida, is L’incontro Restaurant, “A Place Where People Gather to Enjoy Classic Italian Food.” Our family’s interest in Italian cuisine began in the 1960s when my uncle immigrated to the United States. He worked hard to bring other family members to the States to live the American dream. Now, our family includes about 160 people, mostly living in New York and Florida. Four of my uncles are now Italian cuisine chefs or own their own restaurants. Through the years they have cooked for many famous people. Oprah Winfrey, the President of France, and other well-known celebrities have enjoyed their old world-style dishes that showcase the variety and distinct characteristics of Italy’s regional cuisines. “The journey from humble beginnings of washing dishes in fine Italian restaurants to owning an Italian restaurant hasn’t been easy…but it’s definitely been worth it.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twin Lake Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 676-7400

Website:
http://www.lincontrofl.com/

Entertainment:
Live music and dancing every second and forth thursday of every month by Joni Canova. The show starts at 6:00pm to 9:00pm, join us for a unforgettable night of fun and happiness.

Catering:
L'incontro italian restaurant also does the cooking for you're next affair, special occasion, or business meeting at your location or home. Please ask us about catering.

Parking Details:
We offer our private parking lot rite outside of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
None available.

Executive Chef:
Jose Uzhca/Frank Rivera

Private Party Facilities:
Inquire within.

Private Party Contact:
alex: (863) 676-7400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'incontro Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Outstanding Value (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We usually enjoy our meal at L'Incontro, ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

We usually enjoy our meal at L'Incontro, which is our "go to" special dinner place. Tonight's meal was average, and service was poor. We were never even offered dessert. The meal took 2 hours and we continually had to ask for items from our server and waitstaff. I am not sure why the difference in level of service. Hopefully they were just experiencing an off night. We did not see the usual manager and did not recognize many of the servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The best place to eat in Lake Wakes, Flo ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

The best place to eat in Lake Wakes, Florida. Five Stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my new favorite restaurants! The ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my new favorite restaurants! The food and service are always very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Food and Great Service. We ar ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic Food and Great Service.

We are trying to figure out how to come more often from Winter Haven, as it is well worth the drive.

JFS

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find. The food was deli ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a great find. The food was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Ambiance. I found this Ge ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Food and Ambiance. I found this Gem in 2014, after trying other Italian Eateries in a 20 mile radius. The Italian Food is Outstanding. this is not a pizzaria or a place for people in a hurry. Great staff and management. My favorite dish is Steak Pizziola,(not on Menu) but Alex and Chefs will cook to perfection. The Veal Parmigiana will melt in your mouth. Have a couple of Glasses of Sangria and you are good to go. Great appetizers and deserts. I recommend dinner reservations on weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, , Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I unexpectedly dined alone on New Year's ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I unexpectedly dined alone on New Year's Eve, but the hostess was so sweet and made sure I was comfortable where I sat. Not the greatest wine selection by the glass, but it was okay for $6. Food and dessert and service were great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

As usual the food was outstanding. Beca ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding. Because the room is small, and the number of diners was large, the noise level prevented a higher ranking.

Still, if you're in Lake Wales and want some great food...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a great meal here. I will come ba ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great meal here. I will come back. We just found a new go to spot for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. Our server was ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was professional. Seats were to hard.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised. Varied menu. Excee ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Varied menu. Exceeded expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed taking Orlando friends to one of ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed taking Orlando friends to one of our wonderful restaurants in LW. They thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We discovered this restaurant about a ye ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We discovered this restaurant about a year ago and have taken friends with us a few times since. Everyone is delighted with L'incontros from the service to the menu plus the specials. We will be returning everytime we are looking for some place special.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday evening was our second visit to t ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friday evening was our second visit to this restaurant, my husband and I were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary and they did not let us down. Service and food was excellent!! Can't wait to go back again. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: , Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait for food was long. This place n ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

The wait for food was long. This place needs more waiters. Felt sorry for the waiter.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We always enjoy our food and the service ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

We always enjoy our food and the service is very good. The specials are abundant and enticing. It is important to know most things are ala carte.

I would recommend reservations as the restaurant is small and often very full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was great. Nice selection of ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service was great. Nice selection of dinner entrees and appetizers. The specials were creative. I had the tenderloin risotto which was delicious. Great wine selection. Small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Huge portions and well prepared Italian ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Huge portions and well prepared Italian classics. Off the beaten path, but worth a drive down to Lake Wales.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I, along with another cou ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple, had dinner at L'incontro for the first time about a month ago. Everything was excellent and our waiter, a black gentleman, was exceptional. Everyone, including the owner, were very warm and friendly. It was for these reasons I highly recommended this restaurant to one of our doctors (who is opening an office in Lake Wales in January). I literally copied the front of your menu for him so he would know exactly where you are located. I also recommended we celebrate my birthday, as well as our friend's birthday and Veteran's Day at L'Incontro. Our friend, Frank, a birthday celebrant, served in Viet Nam, contracted agent orange is now legally blind from diabetes and is in stage 5 renal failure......this was to be a very special day for him. Upon arriving, the owner wasn't friendly, questioned whether I had a reservation and when I mentioned I highly recommended his restaurant to my doctor, he was blasé at best. Our friend's wife commented she thought he was rude! When I mentioned to our server that the bread was stale, she got very defensive and stated the bread was made fresh daily.....so be it. We all agreed it was stale. Bottom line, our first visit was a 10, this last visit.....a four. While my dinner was just as delicious as the first time, the other diners were not impressed with theirs. I was thrilled to have found L'incontro but Veteran's Day was an entirely different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal, wait staff and General M ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal, wait staff and General Manager Alex very friendly. Very cozy and classy atmosphere....nice variety of food to choose from.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant, great food selec ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

A wonderful restaurant, great food selection, very attentive server and staff . It would be nice to have a full bar, but the wine selection was fine. This was our third time dining and each time was a very pleasurable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We first found L'incontro Italian Restau ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We first found L'incontro Italian Restaurant in 2013 during our annual family vacation on Crooked Lake in Lake Wales. There is absolutely nothing like it in the area. On this Sunday in September, we celebrated our daughter's 40th birthday. We were a party of 13 which included one child and three teenage boys. We had a reservation, arrived on time at 5:30 and were promptly seated. They had called to confirm our number earlier in the day and the table was set up perfectly. Christopher, our server, along with the rest of the staff was attentive, pleasant and service was very good. Christopher was helpful with our selections for appetizers and entrees; all of which were delicious. Some favorite appetizers: the bruschetta, the melon and prosciutto, the tomato caprese - delicious! Notable entrees: Veal Sorrentino - our daughter-in-law raved about it; I had the tortellini soup and Chicken Francese - loved both, and the accommodated a switch in pasta for me. I had the gorganzola gnocchi which was also delicious. Our grandson had the special stuffed pork chop. He said it was as phenomenal as it looked. Two in our party had the Linguini Pescatore. One loved his; the other wished he changed from marinara to Alfredo sauce but still enjoyed it. The birthday girl had the Chicken Parm- always her favorite and she said it was good. Their pizza looks terrific - our son enjoyed his regular crusted pizza, but we plan to go back before our vacation ends to try the thin crust pizzas. And we can't forget about the desserts: cannolis, tortuffo, and limoncello cake - all fantastic. If you happen to be anywhere near Lake Wales and like Italian food, we highly recommend stopping here for lunch or dinner! Delicioso!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is the best in lake wales. It w ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is the best in lake wales. It was a little pricy but for how good the food tasted it was worth it and I would go their again.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation wasn't in their book but ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our reservation wasn't in their book but they found us a quiet table

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food and variety. Excellent servic ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and variety. Excellent service. Our party tried the Lasagne, L'Incontro Pasta and the Mushroom ravoli. All three were excellent. House salad was very good. My wife is in a wheelchair and they readily accommodated us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed two of the special ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed two of the specials the chef prepared for the evening. I had the pork chop special and my wife had the seafood risotto special. Both entrees were absolutely delicious. The presentation was excellent. We will definitely be dining there again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

good Italian food. Took my grand daught ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

good Italian food. Took my grand daughter to experience. She was also impressed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good local restaurant with excellen ...

 
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good local restaurant with excellent food. Alex the manager is always there and is very hospitable. The waiters are outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is wonderful and elegant. Fo ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is wonderful and elegant. Food is excellent. We always love this place and will always come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian Food at its Best!

 
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have eaten at L"Incontro before and no matter what I order, it has been fantastic. Food was served piping hot, fesh pasta (yummy) and perfect flavoring. I have brought company there for dinner and the raves were great. Will definitely go to the restaurant again and again. Thanks to all who made the meal complete.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud!

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day and they had a singer playing to a soundtrack. It's a pretty small restaurant and the singer was too loud for the space. The louder he sang, the louder people talked. Other than that, good dining experience. I prefer going when they don't have entertainment! Food is top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We always a great dining experience at L'Incontro

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. The food is very good and the service is excellent. It is a small intimate restaurant and the ambiance is very nice. They now have live music every other Friday which is a nice addition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our 4PM seating was in a nice quiet corner

 
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our order, the specialty, was very good. We did order a Pinot Grisio and the selection was minimal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this restaurant. Chef prepared Italian.

 
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful food, very healthy portions. I returned for lunch the next day after my dinner. I had their green bean salad....wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner selections

 
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the veal parmesan and the side vegetables cooked exactly as we requested. desert, our tiramisu was delicious. We shall return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

31

 
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by a friend and everything was great. Food choices, very attentive staff, manager checked to verify service and food quality was as expected. Good menu for kids and the prices were very reasonable. Great to be able to reserve and be seated on time. Check it out you should enjoy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this restaurant.

 
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My only suggestion is to improve the wine list. The current selection of house wines was not to my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food

 
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The menu at L'Incontro is so wonderful that it is hard to make a dinner selection. Everything we have ever ordered has been excellent. The have great consistency in their meals every visit. The manager Alex goes out of his way to make the dinner guests feel welcome and satisfied. I never order until we hear their interesting daily specials, which I usually end up ordering. It's hard to find a restaurant where everything is good---the pasta, the chicken, the veal , the beef,and the seafood dishes. They make a chilled green bean salad occasionally that is delicious and we always order when it is available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good food

 
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Nice to go to for a date night or special occasion. The food is good and a good selection of wines. Prices are about normal for a more classy establishment. The only thing I did not like was people that ordered over the phone for pick up walked through the restaurant where everyone was dinning in and most of the them seemed to lack class. I felt they should have a separate area for guest who place pick up orders. Trashy people bumping your table is not a good way to run an establishment of this sort.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 3 course fixed price menu for $10.99.

 
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Fabulous food for a great price. We took a chance in a town we didn't know and b/c Travel Advisor said it was #3 we went for it. Great Italian restaurant in the middle of the State.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.