About L'incontro Italian Restaurant

35 State Rd 60 W
Lake Wales, FL 33853
View Larger Map

L’incontro is an Italian word that means, “The Meeting Place.”

Located in Lake Wales, the heart of central Florida, is L’incontro Restaurant, “A Place Where People Gather to Enjoy Classic Italian Food.” Our family’s interest in Italian cuisine began in the 1960s when my uncle immigrated to the United States. He worked hard to bring other family members to the States to live the American dream. Now, our family includes about 160 people, mostly living in New York and Florida. Four of my uncles are now Italian cuisine chefs or own their own restaurants. Through the years they have cooked for many famous people. Oprah Winfrey, the President of France, and other well-known celebrities have enjoyed their old world-style dishes that showcase the variety and distinct characteristics of Italy’s regional cuisines. “The journey from humble beginnings of washing dishes in fine Italian restaurants to owning an Italian restaurant hasn’t been easy…but it’s definitely been worth it.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twin Lake Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 676-7400

Website:
http://www.lincontrofl.com/

Entertainment:
Live music and dancing every second and forth thursday of every month by Joni Canova. The show starts at 6:00pm to 9:00pm, join us for a unforgettable night of fun and happiness.

Catering:
L'incontro italian restaurant also does the cooking for you're next affair, special occasion, or business meeting at your location or home. Please ask us about catering.

Parking Details:
We offer our private parking lot rite outside of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
None available.

Executive Chef:
Jose Uzhca/Frank Rivera

Private Party Facilities:
Inquire within.

Private Party Contact:
alex: 8636767400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

L'incontro Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Value
Orlando
4 More
Neighborhood Gem
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
Special Occasion
Orlando
Italian
Orlando

special occasion (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
romantic (9)
See All
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (6)
good for groups (4)
notable wine list (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
83 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good local restaurant with excellen ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good local restaurant with excellent food. Alex the manager is always there and is very hospitable. The waiters are outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is wonderful and elegant. Fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is wonderful and elegant. Food is excellent. We always love this place and will always come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian Food at its Best!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have eaten at L"Incontro before and no matter what I order, it has been fantastic. Food was served piping hot, fesh pasta (yummy) and perfect flavoring. I have brought company there for dinner and the raves were great. Will definitely go to the restaurant again and again. Thanks to all who made the meal complete.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day and they had a singer playing to a soundtrack. It's a pretty small restaurant and the singer was too loud for the space. The louder he sang, the louder people talked. Other than that, good dining experience. I prefer going when they don't have entertainment! Food is top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We always a great dining experience at L'Incontro

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. The food is very good and the service is excellent. It is a small intimate restaurant and the ambiance is very nice. They now have live music every other Friday which is a nice addition.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our 4PM seating was in a nice quiet corner

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our order, the specialty, was very good. We did order a Pinot Grisio and the selection was minimal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this restaurant. Chef prepared Italian.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful food, very healthy portions. I returned for lunch the next day after my dinner. I had their green bean salad....wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner selections

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the veal parmesan and the side vegetables cooked exactly as we requested. desert, our tiramisu was delicious. We shall return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

31

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by a friend and everything was great. Food choices, very attentive staff, manager checked to verify service and food quality was as expected. Good menu for kids and the prices were very reasonable. Great to be able to reserve and be seated on time. Check it out you should enjoy.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this restaurant.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My only suggestion is to improve the wine list. The current selection of house wines was not to my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

The menu at L'Incontro is so wonderful that it is hard to make a dinner selection. Everything we have ever ordered has been excellent. The have great consistency in their meals every visit. The manager Alex goes out of his way to make the dinner guests feel welcome and satisfied. I never order until we hear their interesting daily specials, which I usually end up ordering. It's hard to find a restaurant where everything is good---the pasta, the chicken, the veal , the beef,and the seafood dishes. They make a chilled green bean salad occasionally that is delicious and we always order when it is available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Nice to go to for a date night or special occasion. The food is good and a good selection of wines. Prices are about normal for a more classy establishment. The only thing I did not like was people that ordered over the phone for pick up walked through the restaurant where everyone was dinning in and most of the them seemed to lack class. I felt they should have a separate area for guest who place pick up orders. Trashy people bumping your table is not a good way to run an establishment of this sort.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 3 course fixed price menu for $10.99.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

Fabulous food for a great price. We took a chance in a town we didn't know and b/c Travel Advisor said it was #3 we went for it. Great Italian restaurant in the middle of the State.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved This Place!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

I was very impressed with L'incontro Italian Restaurant. Rather small but very nicely done, ambiance is wonderful. Great food, Fair prices for the quality and presentation. Service was very good, great staff. I will definately be back and send others that way too. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Italian treat all the way around. Very attentive weight staff. Green ben salad is a must if it is on the menu.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Food!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Everyone loved their meals. The food was very fresh tasting with quality ingredients and fairly priced. The service was lacking, our waiter never checked on us once the food came (and someone else took our order), and we had to ask someone else for our check. We also waited about 40 minutes for our food once we ordered, but at least it was worth the wait!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

A Wonderful Surprise

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

First time and will certainly return next time we visit Lake Wales .

Based upon the reviews we stopped to meet friends for lunch.

The lunch special was exceptional in quality of food ,very reasonable price and excellent service.

The restaurant was very inviting and exeptionally clean.

It was very nice to have one of the owners come to table and ask how thing were. A nice touch !

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything. Food was awesome. Atmosphere ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything. Food was awesome. Atmosphere was nice. Music set a romantic dinner and the service was excellent. I love going to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful and intimate .

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful and intimate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great people! Great food!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We go to L'incontro a few times a year and almost every Valentine's Day. We find the restaurant to be very romantic and intimate as the floor layout allows for each table to have a sense of privacy. I don't think there is really a bad seat in the place. The staff members are outstanding and very customer service oriented. They work as a team so everything flows very well and there is never a missed step in the process. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that is looking for a non-chain intimate experience. This is absolutely a family friendly place and I would recommend any family to take advantage of this gem!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Birthday

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a very pleasant and relaxed time with you. My Riesling was very good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice dinner at L'incontro

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made dinner reservations for the Saturday night before Valentines because the restaurant is so small and romantic and quaint and the food is always exceptional. The food was really good- I had the Sea Bass and my husband had the Striped Bass special. The house salad was included with a pasta and the salad dressing was fabulous . There was only 1 down side which was the fact that we had reservations and they put us on the back patio even though we asked for inside (hostess flat out said "NO") and there were at least 3 open tables in the dining room. It was cold outside and I had to keep my coat around me. The manager was very nice and brought out a heater which helped but that back patio was ugly with patio type furniture and just the pavement for a floor. Ugly and not what we wanted for a Valentines dinner. In the future, because we will go back, we will request an INSIDE table and probably call them and make sure. They would have received a 4-star if it hadn't been for that hostess and the patio.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Green bean salad and spinach ravioli were excellent enjoyed specials. Will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great local Italian

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here several times. The atmosphere is relaxing, the food is excellent and the service staff is very attentive. This is a great place for a nice peaceful dinner, there is no sense of being rushed. I'd highly recommend L'incontro.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small in area, but great food and atmosphere.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Went with a group of six for a birthday dinner. The waitress was excellent as she explained the menu and specials in detail. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Everyone was pleased with the house wine and chianti. Through the resturant is small it provides a great atmosphere for dinner and conversation.

I would highly recommend this itialian restaurant. But be sure to make a reservation, as space is limited.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to L'Contro was favorabl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Our first visit to L'Contro was favorable. Food was well prepared and served. Coming from an area of great Italian restaurants in NY, L'Contro lived up to what we were used to in the way of outstanding Italian food. The service seemed a little slow, but they had a full restaurant including a large party group. Due to the group, it seemed pretty loud as there entertainment spilled over into our dining area. All in all a good experience. We will return and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful all the way around!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This was our first-time at L'incontro's, and we were delightfully surprised by the service, the food, and the atmosphere. From the appetizer to the dessert; it was divine. We are so happy to find a good Italian restaurant nearby, without having to drive to Orlando for a great meal and evening out. Thank you and God bless you!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked by Opentable but they didn't h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We booked by Opentable but they didn't have our reservation. They put us in the back part of the restaurant with lots of mosquitoes and next to the garage. Food was not relevant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Cramped and just regular food

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We were not impressed- it was not bad, just not as good as we thought it would be. Hubby got chicken marsala- he said it wasn't nearly as good as Carrabbas or Outback. I got the ziti with cheese- some of the cheese was so chewy that it was like having a gumball in my mouth. I had to tear it apart with my tongue so I could chew it up. It had a good taste but nothing special. The meals do not come with a salad! I think the best part of our meals was the breads and marinara sauce- now that was yummy. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

GOOD FOOD, GREAT SERVICE

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

My husband and I found the food good. the service was very good. We found our total bill a bit high for what we got. My husband's pasta could have had more flavour.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

PEARL OF THE AREA

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

I reserved the place to celebrate my mother's 78th bday. I love everything about this place however, food prep takes a bit longer than other places. With that said, food is very good. On a separate note, I was running very late and was unable to buy flowers and balloons for my mother and make it there on time for the reservation -- I called the manager and she took care of it. Side note, she did say they did not do that type of service but I explained the situation and she made an exception and went out of her way to get the flowers and the balloons before we arrived. That alone won me over -- you cannot find people like that anymore.

Give this place a try and you will enjoy your meal. My .02

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new Favorite

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

We were all pleasantly surprised at the quality of food at this restuarant. By far the best meal I've had in this area since we started coming to Florida 5 years ago. 5 stars for service, atmosphere, food and variety of choices. YUMMY

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

This restaurant is an excellent choice for a special occasion as well as just a night out. The food is great as is the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Had a 6:30 reservat ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

Food was delicious. Had a 6:30 reservation but was not seated until 6:50 and then was seated at a table by the front door which we were not happy about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Welcome Surprise

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on November 13, 2015

As we were passing through Lake Wales we found a little bit of Italy! We were very surpised how L'incontro Italian Restaurant has maintained it's Italian roots. The food was equal to any location in Italy and the service far better than the norm in Florida.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great Food!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

L'Incontro offers excellent food and good service. It is small and intimate with a menu to please landlubbers and seafood lovers. I have introduced numerous friends to this gem and they have all returned with other friends. Wish it was close!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a great restaurant

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

My husband and I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. The atmosphere is great and the service is superb. Our food has always been above average and served with perfection. We would highly recommend going here as you will have a wonderful evening. On our last visit one of the specials was a pork chop which I ordered. It was excellent served in a white wine truffle sauce. I chose the spinach as my side and it was delicious. Having said that, I have always enjoyed whatever I ordered so I can't say I have a favorite as everything is good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food; great service - look no further

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 26, 2015

I have dined here on several occasions over the past year with friends and in a group setting and have yet to be disappointed. Chefs Jose and Frankie have both excelled and have spent time with diners explaining their specialties (as time permitted) . Their veal dishes - a rare find in this area - are excellent; and the eggplant rollettini is an exceptionally light appetizer. Servers , notably Tyler and Brenda, are both well versed in the various dishes and the evening specialties - quite ably describing content and preparation. And both are quite capable of recommending a suitable wine, by glass or bottle, to accompany your dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We will not be back

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

This was our second time dining at this restaurant. We liked it so much the first time we thought it was time to pay them another visit. We walked in and there were tables full of people dining with their families. We were seated right away and then? We waited... And we waited... FIFTEEN MINUTES came and went. The manager and two servers made eye contact with my husband and I but never came to our table. Finally the manager sees the looks of sustain in our faces and asks if we are ready to order. I immediately snap back and tell him we haven't even ordered drinks. Manager took our order and waited on us the remainder of the night. I ordered chicken marsala and it was soupy and gross. The manager did the bare minimum to make sure we only had what we absolutely needed. We never got a server. I'm not sure who our tip went to and I guess it doesn't matter. We will never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.