About L'incontro Italian Restaurant

35 State Rd 60 W
Lake Wales, FL 33853
View Larger Map

L’incontro is an Italian word that means, “The Meeting Place.”

Located in Lake Wales, the heart of central Florida, is L’incontro Restaurant, “A Place Where People Gather to Enjoy Classic Italian Food.” Our family’s interest in Italian cuisine began in the 1960s when my uncle immigrated to the United States. He worked hard to bring other family members to the States to live the American dream. Now, our family includes about 160 people, mostly living in New York and Florida. Four of my uncles are now Italian cuisine chefs or own their own restaurants. Through the years they have cooked for many famous people. Oprah Winfrey, the President of France, and other well-known celebrities have enjoyed their old world-style dishes that showcase the variety and distinct characteristics of Italy’s regional cuisines. “The journey from humble beginnings of washing dishes in fine Italian restaurants to owning an Italian restaurant hasn’t been easy…but it’s definitely been worth it.”

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twin Lake Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 676-7400

Website:
http://www.lincontrofl.com/

Entertainment:
Live music and dancing every second and forth thursday of every month by Joni Canova. The show starts at 6:00pm to 9:00pm, join us for a unforgettable night of fun and happiness.

Catering:
L'incontro italian restaurant also does the cooking for you're next affair, special occasion, or business meeting at your location or home. Please ask us about catering.

Parking Details:
We offer our private parking lot rite outside of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
None available.

Executive Chef:
Jose Uzhca/Frank Rivera

Private Party Facilities:
Inquire within.

Private Party Contact:
alex: 8636767400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'incontro Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Orlando / Central Florida East
Special Occasion
Orlando / Central Florida East
Italian
Orlando / Central Florida East
4 More
Best Value
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
Special Occasion
Orlando
Italian
Orlando

Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (8)
Good for a Date (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
93 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Huge portions and well prepared Italian ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Huge portions and well prepared Italian classics. Off the beaten path, but worth a drive down to Lake Wales.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I, along with another cou ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple, had dinner at L'incontro for the first time about a month ago. Everything was excellent and our waiter, a black gentleman, was exceptional. Everyone, including the owner, were very warm and friendly. It was for these reasons I highly recommended this restaurant to one of our doctors (who is opening an office in Lake Wales in January). I literally copied the front of your menu for him so he would know exactly where you are located. I also recommended we celebrate my birthday, as well as our friend's birthday and Veteran's Day at L'Incontro. Our friend, Frank, a birthday celebrant, served in Viet Nam, contracted agent orange is now legally blind from diabetes and is in stage 5 renal failure......this was to be a very special day for him. Upon arriving, the owner wasn't friendly, questioned whether I had a reservation and when I mentioned I highly recommended his restaurant to my doctor, he was blasé at best. Our friend's wife commented she thought he was rude! When I mentioned to our server that the bread was stale, she got very defensive and stated the bread was made fresh daily.....so be it. We all agreed it was stale. Bottom line, our first visit was a 10, this last visit.....a four. While my dinner was just as delicious as the first time, the other diners were not impressed with theirs. I was thrilled to have found L'incontro but Veteran's Day was an entirely different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal, wait staff and General M ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal, wait staff and General Manager Alex very friendly. Very cozy and classy atmosphere....nice variety of food to choose from.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful restaurant, great food selec ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A wonderful restaurant, great food selection, very attentive server and staff . It would be nice to have a full bar, but the wine selection was fine. This was our third time dining and each time was a very pleasurable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We first found L'incontro Italian Restau ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We first found L'incontro Italian Restaurant in 2013 during our annual family vacation on Crooked Lake in Lake Wales. There is absolutely nothing like it in the area. On this Sunday in September, we celebrated our daughter's 40th birthday. We were a party of 13 which included one child and three teenage boys. We had a reservation, arrived on time at 5:30 and were promptly seated. They had called to confirm our number earlier in the day and the table was set up perfectly. Christopher, our server, along with the rest of the staff was attentive, pleasant and service was very good. Christopher was helpful with our selections for appetizers and entrees; all of which were delicious. Some favorite appetizers: the bruschetta, the melon and prosciutto, the tomato caprese - delicious! Notable entrees: Veal Sorrentino - our daughter-in-law raved about it; I had the tortellini soup and Chicken Francese - loved both, and the accommodated a switch in pasta for me. I had the gorganzola gnocchi which was also delicious. Our grandson had the special stuffed pork chop. He said it was as phenomenal as it looked. Two in our party had the Linguini Pescatore. One loved his; the other wished he changed from marinara to Alfredo sauce but still enjoyed it. The birthday girl had the Chicken Parm- always her favorite and she said it was good. Their pizza looks terrific - our son enjoyed his regular crusted pizza, but we plan to go back before our vacation ends to try the thin crust pizzas. And we can't forget about the desserts: cannolis, tortuffo, and limoncello cake - all fantastic. If you happen to be anywhere near Lake Wales and like Italian food, we highly recommend stopping here for lunch or dinner! Delicioso!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is the best in lake wales. It w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is the best in lake wales. It was a little pricy but for how good the food tasted it was worth it and I would go their again.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation wasn't in their book but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our reservation wasn't in their book but they found us a quiet table

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great food and variety. Excellent servic ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food and variety. Excellent service. Our party tried the Lasagne, L'Incontro Pasta and the Mushroom ravoli. All three were excellent. House salad was very good. My wife is in a wheelchair and they readily accommodated us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed two of the special ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed two of the specials the chef prepared for the evening. I had the pork chop special and my wife had the seafood risotto special. Both entrees were absolutely delicious. The presentation was excellent. We will definitely be dining there again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

good Italian food. Took my grand daught ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2016

good Italian food. Took my grand daughter to experience. She was also impressed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good local restaurant with excellen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good local restaurant with excellent food. Alex the manager is always there and is very hospitable. The waiters are outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is wonderful and elegant. Fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place is wonderful and elegant. Food is excellent. We always love this place and will always come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Italian Food at its Best!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have eaten at L"Incontro before and no matter what I order, it has been fantastic. Food was served piping hot, fesh pasta (yummy) and perfect flavoring. I have brought company there for dinner and the raves were great. Will definitely go to the restaurant again and again. Thanks to all who made the meal complete.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went on Mother's Day and they had a singer playing to a soundtrack. It's a pretty small restaurant and the singer was too loud for the space. The louder he sang, the louder people talked. Other than that, good dining experience. I prefer going when they don't have entertainment! Food is top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We always a great dining experience at L'Incontro

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our favorite Italian restaurant. We have been there many times and have never been disappointed. The food is very good and the service is excellent. It is a small intimate restaurant and the ambiance is very nice. They now have live music every other Friday which is a nice addition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our 4PM seating was in a nice quiet corner

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our order, the specialty, was very good. We did order a Pinot Grisio and the selection was minimal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love this restaurant. Chef prepared Italian.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Wonderful food, very healthy portions. I returned for lunch the next day after my dinner. I had their green bean salad....wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner selections

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2016

We enjoyed the veal parmesan and the side vegetables cooked exactly as we requested. desert, our tiramisu was delicious. We shall return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

31

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by a friend and everything was great. Food choices, very attentive staff, manager checked to verify service and food quality was as expected. Good menu for kids and the prices were very reasonable. Great to be able to reserve and be seated on time. Check it out you should enjoy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I love this restaurant.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 2, 2016

My only suggestion is to improve the wine list. The current selection of house wines was not to my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Food

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2016

The menu at L'Incontro is so wonderful that it is hard to make a dinner selection. Everything we have ever ordered has been excellent. The have great consistency in their meals every visit. The manager Alex goes out of his way to make the dinner guests feel welcome and satisfied. I never order until we hear their interesting daily specials, which I usually end up ordering. It's hard to find a restaurant where everything is good---the pasta, the chicken, the veal , the beef,and the seafood dishes. They make a chilled green bean salad occasionally that is delicious and we always order when it is available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, good food

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2016

Nice to go to for a date night or special occasion. The food is good and a good selection of wines. Prices are about normal for a more classy establishment. The only thing I did not like was people that ordered over the phone for pick up walked through the restaurant where everyone was dinning in and most of the them seemed to lack class. I felt they should have a separate area for guest who place pick up orders. Trashy people bumping your table is not a good way to run an establishment of this sort.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a 3 course fixed price menu for $10.99.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2016

Fabulous food for a great price. We took a chance in a town we didn't know and b/c Travel Advisor said it was #3 we went for it. Great Italian restaurant in the middle of the State.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved This Place!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I was very impressed with L'incontro Italian Restaurant. Rather small but very nicely done, ambiance is wonderful. Great food, Fair prices for the quality and presentation. Service was very good, great staff. I will definately be back and send others that way too. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Italian treat all the way around. Very attentive weight staff. Green ben salad is a must if it is on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Food!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Everyone loved their meals. The food was very fresh tasting with quality ingredients and fairly priced. The service was lacking, our waiter never checked on us once the food came (and someone else took our order), and we had to ask someone else for our check. We also waited about 40 minutes for our food once we ordered, but at least it was worth the wait!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

A Wonderful Surprise

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 22, 2016

First time and will certainly return next time we visit Lake Wales .

Based upon the reviews we stopped to meet friends for lunch.

The lunch special was exceptional in quality of food ,very reasonable price and excellent service.

The restaurant was very inviting and exeptionally clean.

It was very nice to have one of the owners come to table and ask how thing were. A nice touch !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything. Food was awesome. Atmosphere ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Everything. Food was awesome. Atmosphere was nice. Music set a romantic dinner and the service was excellent. I love going to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, wonderful and intimate .

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food, wonderful and intimate .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great people! Great food!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We go to L'incontro a few times a year and almost every Valentine's Day. We find the restaurant to be very romantic and intimate as the floor layout allows for each table to have a sense of privacy. I don't think there is really a bad seat in the place. The staff members are outstanding and very customer service oriented. They work as a team so everything flows very well and there is never a missed step in the process. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that is looking for a non-chain intimate experience. This is absolutely a family friendly place and I would recommend any family to take advantage of this gem!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Birthday

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a very pleasant and relaxed time with you. My Riesling was very good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice dinner at L'incontro

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We made dinner reservations for the Saturday night before Valentines because the restaurant is so small and romantic and quaint and the food is always exceptional. The food was really good- I had the Sea Bass and my husband had the Striped Bass special. The house salad was included with a pasta and the salad dressing was fabulous . There was only 1 down side which was the fact that we had reservations and they put us on the back patio even though we asked for inside (hostess flat out said "NO") and there were at least 3 open tables in the dining room. It was cold outside and I had to keep my coat around me. The manager was very nice and brought out a heater which helped but that back patio was ugly with patio type furniture and just the pavement for a floor. Ugly and not what we wanted for a Valentines dinner. In the future, because we will go back, we will request an INSIDE table and probably call them and make sure. They would have received a 4-star if it hadn't been for that hostess and the patio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Outstanding food and service

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Green bean salad and spinach ravioli were excellent enjoyed specials. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great local Italian

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here several times. The atmosphere is relaxing, the food is excellent and the service staff is very attentive. This is a great place for a nice peaceful dinner, there is no sense of being rushed. I'd highly recommend L'incontro.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small in area, but great food and atmosphere.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Went with a group of six for a birthday dinner. The waitress was excellent as she explained the menu and specials in detail. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Everyone was pleased with the house wine and chianti. Through the resturant is small it provides a great atmosphere for dinner and conversation.

I would highly recommend this itialian restaurant. But be sure to make a reservation, as space is limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our first visit to L'Contro was favorabl ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Our first visit to L'Contro was favorable. Food was well prepared and served. Coming from an area of great Italian restaurants in NY, L'Contro lived up to what we were used to in the way of outstanding Italian food. The service seemed a little slow, but they had a full restaurant including a large party group. Due to the group, it seemed pretty loud as there entertainment spilled over into our dining area. All in all a good experience. We will return and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful all the way around!

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 9, 2016

This was our first-time at L'incontro's, and we were delightfully surprised by the service, the food, and the atmosphere. From the appetizer to the dessert; it was divine. We are so happy to find a good Italian restaurant nearby, without having to drive to Orlando for a great meal and evening out. Thank you and God bless you!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked by Opentable but they didn't h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2016

We booked by Opentable but they didn't have our reservation. They put us in the back part of the restaurant with lots of mosquitoes and next to the garage. Food was not relevant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Cramped and just regular food

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2015

We were not impressed- it was not bad, just not as good as we thought it would be. Hubby got chicken marsala- he said it wasn't nearly as good as Carrabbas or Outback. I got the ziti with cheese- some of the cheese was so chewy that it was like having a gumball in my mouth. I had to tear it apart with my tongue so I could chew it up. It had a good taste but nothing special. The meals do not come with a salad! I think the best part of our meals was the breads and marinara sauce- now that was yummy. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.