Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About L'incontro Italian Restaurant

L’incontro is an Italian word that means, “The Meeting Place.”

Located in Lake Wales, the heart of central Florida, is L’incontro Restaurant, “A Place Where People Gather to Enjoy Classic Italian Food.” Our family’s interest in Italian cuisine began in the 1960s when my uncle immigrated to the United States. He worked hard to bring other family members to the States to live the American dream. Now, our family includes about 160 people, mostly living in New York and Florida. Four of my uncles are now Italian cuisine chefs or own their own restaurants. Through the years they have cooked for many famous people. Oprah Winfrey, the President of France, and other well-known celebrities have enjoyed their old world-style dishes that showcase the variety and distinct characteristics of Italy’s regional cuisines. “The journey from humble beginnings of washing dishes in fine Italian restaurants to owning an Italian restaurant hasn’t been easy…but it’s definitely been worth it.”

35 State Rd 60 W
Lake Wales, FL 33853
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twin Lake Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 676-7400

Website:
http://www.lincontrofl.com/

Entertainment:
Live music and dancing every second and forth thursday of every month by Joni Canova. The show starts at 6:00pm to 9:00pm, join us for a unforgettable night of fun and happiness.

Catering:
L'incontro italian restaurant also does the cooking for you're next affair, special occasion, or business meeting at your location or home. Please ask us about catering.

Parking Details:
We offer our private parking lot rite outside of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
None available.

Executive Chef:
Jose Uzhca/Frank Rivera

Private Party Facilities:
Inquire within.

Private Party Contact:
alex: (863) 676-7400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'incontro Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Romantic (7)
Family Style (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed Easter dinner here. We dine frequently at L'Incontro and have never been disappointed in the food or the service. The owner can often be seen visiting with customers to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. I highly recommend eating here if you haven't already!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My family enjoys meeting at L'incontro Restaurant for special gatherings. The food is always delicious and fresh and the service is excellent. The restaurant is clean and well cared for.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband and I recently visited L'incontro's on April 15 to celebrate my 53rd birthday. The food is always Devine. I had the stuffed porkchop and so did my husband, which happens to be a favorite of ours. The service has always been good and makes for a wonderful dining experience. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys great food, wine and spirits.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our second visit: the first time with two other friends and the second time on 'a blind date' with my wife. The ambience, service and the food was excellent and well managed with a good front of house team. We were lucky to arrive on an evening when there was a good evening of Freddie's music which added a fine touch to our night out. I suspect the general ambience was as close to Italian as we are going to see in South Florida - no fast food here. Enjoy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great service no rush and server knew the foods and how they ere prepared. A surprisingly high quality. Great chef.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was odd. Our waiter took the order and brought the bill, but otherwise we were served by a variety of other servers. Result was choppy haphazard service. Food was fine, well presented but not particularly outstanding. Would go back, but it is not a five star eatery

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best Italian food I've had since leaving the North End of Boston. Excellent veal and risotto special was great. Good menu options and Looking forward to trying out more items. Waiter-Christopher, the best.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great great great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Wonderful meal. Knowledgeable and attentive staff. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We enjoy this restaurant for special occasions if we don't feel like driving to Orlando. It was my husband's birthday and they brought him a mini cannolli as a dessert surprise. Staff is very friendly and food is good. Wine list is so-so. Would not want to sit on back porch due to terrible odor coming from large trash bin not far away in parking lot. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Made reservations in advance with a few special requests. They went several steps further than we requested, ensuring a fine experience. The service was excellent, checking on us many times during the meal. The only word for the meal would be EXCELLENT! Highly recommend and we will most certainly will return both for the lunch special and for fine dining in the evening. Only one very minor negative: the on-line wine list was out of date and they were out of Merlo but did have excellent replacement..

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We really enjoyed our evening here. Our server was polite, friendly and had a sense of humor. The food was amazing! The best Italian we have had in a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

To start out, when I made the reservation I asked if you do anything for birthdays. No response through e-mail then I got a phone call, she left a message stating that they did do something with birthdays, and wanted to discuss it with me, a phone number was left, but all I got was a standard recording with no option to contact the person who attempted to call me. I was'nt able to talk to anyone, so I left a message and still no response. It was a birthday celebration for my daughter. My daughter and her husband came from St. Cloud Fl, brother came from Orlando and my husband and myself from Haines City Fl. This was the second time my husband and I ate at your restaurant.
My husband, upon arriving mentioned, in Italian so my daughter wouldn't know what was being said, not knowing that no one spoke Italian, asked about birthday suprises, but no response.
I was kind of hoping that something would happen anyway due to the fact I had left a phone message to that effect.

I can't understand the lack of communication about such a simple request .

We won't be back, but I will recommend you because of your very pleasant staff, good food, and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Awesome Food!
You will not be disappointed!
The service was excellent. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Three people really enjoyed three different dishes. The sauce accompanying the shrimp scampi is in the top 5 of any sauce I have ever had.
Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had reservations and arrived slightly early, but were seated around our reservation time. Then it took several minutes for an acknowledgement at the table. Granted it was Saturday night and very busy. The restaurant is small and very, very loud. We ordered an appetizer and it was delivered to our table a little slow but within an acceptable time. It then took a while before our server came back for our entree order. We waited near 45 minutes for our dishes to be served. Which in my opinion is too long especially for a grilled chicken and sautéed sea bass dish. The food was not bad but not great. My fish was actually cold in the middle. We probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We sat on the patio so the noise level was low ... Mosquito :-(
Our waitress was lovely, attentive without overdoing.
The food was somewhat bland. Being Italian, I would have expected more garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good Italian food in an area not populated with a great number of good restaurants. The thin crust pizza is outstanding!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Second time. Had a great time and excellent food. Definitely want a reservation on Sat nite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This restaurant had over priced food with poor quality. The dessert was also horrible. Stay away. I know there are not many Italian restaurants around but this one is a waste of time and money. Just because you decorate the room doesn't make it food worrhy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Has always been a great place to eat! Nice place to take a date or just for a great dinner out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Solid italian...service was way above average...wine lis was above averge and reasonable prices. ..would go again and recommend

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday pick of my sister. Veal was mouth watering. Meatballs were just ok (used to meatballs cooked in sauce for more flavor). We keep going back for Italian in a neighborhood setting.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was excellent!! The waiters were very attentive and it was a busy spot at 5:45 p.m.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was also excellent, we felt well cared for!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

L'Incontro is our favorite Italian restaurant. Wonderful food cooked the way you want it. Very nice ambiance with service people making sure everything is to your liking. The BEST!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We usually enjoy our meal at L'Incontro, which is our "go to" special dinner place. Tonight's meal was average, and service was poor. We were never even offered dessert. The meal took 2 hours and we continually had to ask for items from our server and waitstaff. I am not sure why the difference in level of service. Hopefully they were just experiencing an off night. We did not see the usual manager and did not recognize many of the servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The best place to eat in Lake Wakes, Florida. Five Stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my new favorite restaurants! The food and service are always very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic Food and Great Service.

We are trying to figure out how to come more often from Winter Haven, as it is well worth the drive.

JFS

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a great find. The food was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Food and Ambiance. I found this Gem in 2014, after trying other Italian Eateries in a 20 mile radius. The Italian Food is Outstanding. this is not a pizzaria or a place for people in a hurry. Great staff and management. My favorite dish is Steak Pizziola,(not on Menu) but Alex and Chefs will cook to perfection. The Veal Parmigiana will melt in your mouth. Have a couple of Glasses of Sangria and you are good to go. Great appetizers and deserts. I recommend dinner reservations on weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I unexpectedly dined alone on New Year's Eve, but the hostess was so sweet and made sure I was comfortable where I sat. Not the greatest wine selection by the glass, but it was okay for $6. Food and dessert and service were great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding. Because the room is small, and the number of diners was large, the noise level prevented a higher ranking.

Still, if you're in Lake Wales and want some great food...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great meal here. I will come back. We just found a new go to spot for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was professional. Seats were to hard.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Varied menu. Exceeded expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed taking Orlando friends to one of our wonderful restaurants in LW. They thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We discovered this restaurant about a year ago and have taken friends with us a few times since. Everyone is delighted with L'incontros from the service to the menu plus the specials. We will be returning everytime we are looking for some place special.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friday evening was our second visit to this restaurant, my husband and I were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary and they did not let us down. Service and food was excellent!! Can't wait to go back again. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.