Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.82mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About L'incontro Italian Restaurant

L’incontro is an Italian word that means, “The Meeting Place.”

Located in Lake Wales, the heart of central Florida, is L’incontro Restaurant, “A Place Where People Gather to Enjoy Classic Italian Food.” Our family’s interest in Italian cuisine began in the 1960s when my uncle immigrated to the United States. He worked hard to bring other family members to the States to live the American dream. Now, our family includes about 160 people, mostly living in New York and Florida. Four of my uncles are now Italian cuisine chefs or own their own restaurants. Through the years they have cooked for many famous people. Oprah Winfrey, the President of France, and other well-known celebrities have enjoyed their old world-style dishes that showcase the variety and distinct characteristics of Italy’s regional cuisines. “The journey from humble beginnings of washing dishes in fine Italian restaurants to owning an Italian restaurant hasn’t been easy…but it’s definitely been worth it.”

35 State Rd 60 W
Lake Wales, FL 33853
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Twin Lake Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(863) 676-7400

Website:
http://www.lincontrofl.com/

Entertainment:
Live music and dancing every second and forth thursday of every month by Joni Canova. The show starts at 6:00pm to 9:00pm, join us for a unforgettable night of fun and happiness.

Catering:
L'incontro italian restaurant also does the cooking for you're next affair, special occasion, or business meeting at your location or home. Please ask us about catering.

Parking Details:
We offer our private parking lot rite outside of our restaurant.

Public Transit:
None available.

Executive Chef:
Jose Uzhca/Frank Rivera

Private Party Facilities:
Inquire within.

Private Party Contact:
alex: (863) 676-7400

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'incontro Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Casual (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Made reservations in advance with a few special requests. They went several steps further than we requested, ensuring a fine experience. The service was excellent, checking on us many times during the meal. The only word for the meal would be EXCELLENT! Highly recommend and we will most certainly will return both for the lunch special and for fine dining in the evening. Only one very minor negative: the on-line wine list was out of date and they were out of Merlo but did have excellent replacement..

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed our evening here. Our server was polite, friendly and had a sense of humor. The food was amazing! The best Italian we have had in a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 18, 2017

To start out, when I made the reservation I asked if you do anything for birthdays. No response through e-mail then I got a phone call, she left a message stating that they did do something with birthdays, and wanted to discuss it with me, a phone number was left, but all I got was a standard recording with no option to contact the person who attempted to call me. I was'nt able to talk to anyone, so I left a message and still no response. It was a birthday celebration for my daughter. My daughter and her husband came from St. Cloud Fl, brother came from Orlando and my husband and myself from Haines City Fl. This was the second time my husband and I ate at your restaurant.
My husband, upon arriving mentioned, in Italian so my daughter wouldn't know what was being said, not knowing that no one spoke Italian, asked about birthday suprises, but no response.
I was kind of hoping that something would happen anyway due to the fact I had left a phone message to that effect.

I can't understand the lack of communication about such a simple request .

We won't be back, but I will recommend you because of your very pleasant staff, good food, and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Awesome Food!
You will not be disappointed!
The service was excellent. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Three people really enjoyed three different dishes. The sauce accompanying the shrimp scampi is in the top 5 of any sauce I have ever had.
Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had reservations and arrived slightly early, but were seated around our reservation time. Then it took several minutes for an acknowledgement at the table. Granted it was Saturday night and very busy. The restaurant is small and very, very loud. We ordered an appetizer and it was delivered to our table a little slow but within an acceptable time. It then took a while before our server came back for our entree order. We waited near 45 minutes for our dishes to be served. Which in my opinion is too long especially for a grilled chicken and sautéed sea bass dish. The food was not bad but not great. My fish was actually cold in the middle. We probably won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We sat on the patio so the noise level was low ... Mosquito :-(
Our waitress was lovely, attentive without overdoing.
The food was somewhat bland. Being Italian, I would have expected more garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good Italian food in an area not populated with a great number of good restaurants. The thin crust pizza is outstanding!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Second time. Had a great time and excellent food. Definitely want a reservation on Sat nite.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This restaurant had over priced food with poor quality. The dessert was also horrible. Stay away. I know there are not many Italian restaurants around but this one is a waste of time and money. Just because you decorate the room doesn't make it food worrhy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Has always been a great place to eat! Nice place to take a date or just for a great dinner out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Solid italian...service was way above average...wine lis was above averge and reasonable prices. ..would go again and recommend

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday pick of my sister. Veal was mouth watering. Meatballs were just ok (used to meatballs cooked in sauce for more flavor). We keep going back for Italian in a neighborhood setting.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was excellent!! The waiters were very attentive and it was a busy spot at 5:45 p.m.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was excellent. Our server was also excellent, we felt well cared for!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 22, 2017

L'Incontro is our favorite Italian restaurant. Wonderful food cooked the way you want it. Very nice ambiance with service people making sure everything is to your liking. The BEST!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We usually enjoy our meal at L'Incontro, which is our "go to" special dinner place. Tonight's meal was average, and service was poor. We were never even offered dessert. The meal took 2 hours and we continually had to ask for items from our server and waitstaff. I am not sure why the difference in level of service. Hopefully they were just experiencing an off night. We did not see the usual manager and did not recognize many of the servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The best place to eat in Lake Wakes, Florida. Five Stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my new favorite restaurants! The food and service are always very good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic Food and Great Service.

We are trying to figure out how to come more often from Winter Haven, as it is well worth the drive.

JFS

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was a great find. The food was delicious. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great Food and Ambiance. I found this Gem in 2014, after trying other Italian Eateries in a 20 mile radius. The Italian Food is Outstanding. this is not a pizzaria or a place for people in a hurry. Great staff and management. My favorite dish is Steak Pizziola,(not on Menu) but Alex and Chefs will cook to perfection. The Veal Parmigiana will melt in your mouth. Have a couple of Glasses of Sangria and you are good to go. Great appetizers and deserts. I recommend dinner reservations on weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I unexpectedly dined alone on New Year's Eve, but the hostess was so sweet and made sure I was comfortable where I sat. Not the greatest wine selection by the glass, but it was okay for $6. Food and dessert and service were great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding. Because the room is small, and the number of diners was large, the noise level prevented a higher ranking.

Still, if you're in Lake Wales and want some great food...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a great meal here. I will come back. We just found a new go to spot for dinner.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was professional. Seats were to hard.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Varied menu. Exceeded expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed taking Orlando friends to one of our wonderful restaurants in LW. They thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We discovered this restaurant about a year ago and have taken friends with us a few times since. Everyone is delighted with L'incontros from the service to the menu plus the specials. We will be returning everytime we are looking for some place special.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friday evening was our second visit to this restaurant, my husband and I were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary and they did not let us down. Service and food was excellent!! Can't wait to go back again. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The wait for food was long. This place needs more waiters. Felt sorry for the waiter.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We always enjoy our food and the service is very good. The specials are abundant and enticing. It is important to know most things are ala carte.

I would recommend reservations as the restaurant is small and often very full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The service was great. Nice selection of dinner entrees and appetizers. The specials were creative. I had the tenderloin risotto which was delicious. Great wine selection. Small cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Huge portions and well prepared Italian classics. Off the beaten path, but worth a drive down to Lake Wales.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My husband and I, along with another couple, had dinner at L'incontro for the first time about a month ago. Everything was excellent and our waiter, a black gentleman, was exceptional. Everyone, including the owner, were very warm and friendly. It was for these reasons I highly recommended this restaurant to one of our doctors (who is opening an office in Lake Wales in January). I literally copied the front of your menu for him so he would know exactly where you are located. I also recommended we celebrate my birthday, as well as our friend's birthday and Veteran's Day at L'Incontro. Our friend, Frank, a birthday celebrant, served in Viet Nam, contracted agent orange is now legally blind from diabetes and is in stage 5 renal failure......this was to be a very special day for him. Upon arriving, the owner wasn't friendly, questioned whether I had a reservation and when I mentioned I highly recommended his restaurant to my doctor, he was blasé at best. Our friend's wife commented she thought he was rude! When I mentioned to our server that the bread was stale, she got very defensive and stated the bread was made fresh daily.....so be it. We all agreed it was stale. Bottom line, our first visit was a 10, this last visit.....a four. While my dinner was just as delicious as the first time, the other diners were not impressed with theirs. I was thrilled to have found L'incontro but Veteran's Day was an entirely different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal, wait staff and General Manager Alex very friendly. Very cozy and classy atmosphere....nice variety of food to choose from.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A wonderful restaurant, great food selection, very attentive server and staff . It would be nice to have a full bar, but the wine selection was fine. This was our third time dining and each time was a very pleasurable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We first found L'incontro Italian Restaurant in 2013 during our annual family vacation on Crooked Lake in Lake Wales. There is absolutely nothing like it in the area. On this Sunday in September, we celebrated our daughter's 40th birthday. We were a party of 13 which included one child and three teenage boys. We had a reservation, arrived on time at 5:30 and were promptly seated. They had called to confirm our number earlier in the day and the table was set up perfectly. Christopher, our server, along with the rest of the staff was attentive, pleasant and service was very good. Christopher was helpful with our selections for appetizers and entrees; all of which were delicious. Some favorite appetizers: the bruschetta, the melon and prosciutto, the tomato caprese - delicious! Notable entrees: Veal Sorrentino - our daughter-in-law raved about it; I had the tortellini soup and Chicken Francese - loved both, and the accommodated a switch in pasta for me. I had the gorganzola gnocchi which was also delicious. Our grandson had the special stuffed pork chop. He said it was as phenomenal as it looked. Two in our party had the Linguini Pescatore. One loved his; the other wished he changed from marinara to Alfredo sauce but still enjoyed it. The birthday girl had the Chicken Parm- always her favorite and she said it was good. Their pizza looks terrific - our son enjoyed his regular crusted pizza, but we plan to go back before our vacation ends to try the thin crust pizzas. And we can't forget about the desserts: cannolis, tortuffo, and limoncello cake - all fantastic. If you happen to be anywhere near Lake Wales and like Italian food, we highly recommend stopping here for lunch or dinner! Delicioso!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food is the best in lake wales. It was a little pricy but for how good the food tasted it was worth it and I would go their again.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Our reservation wasn't in their book but they found us a quiet table

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.