Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Lilac

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Great for Brunch (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
491 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff knows menu inside out. A little bit on the loud side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great! Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Birthday dinner. Great food. A bit pricey but probably the best in Billings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was excellent. It was a very fun evening with my daughter. I liked the different menu, not the same old thing. Dessert was different and very tasty

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food in a cool setting. May I recommend the pineapple basil mimosa?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous!!!! Great service and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was great. A variety of food for the whole family. Service was prompt.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The restaurant was in walking distance from our hotel. It was recommended by friends who live here. The menu was unique and was limited in choices. The waitress was friendly and the bartender was very knowledgable about the wine pairings. Does not have a full bar offering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very cute little restaurant great for a weekend brunch with friends! Delicious mimosas!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Must try. Wonderful food every time. Great service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My dad was in town, so my wife and I took him to our favorite restaurant: Lilac! The menu is modern, creative and seasonal. The stalwarts (shortrib) are always good to fall back on if making tough decisions isn't your thing. Great place for a date or to have a nice dinner out with friends. Great wine, beer, food, and location. Great for walking around before or after.

There's not really a bar to grab a drink at before/after, but the distillery is just a block away and there is a good brewery across the street.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lilac is always n enjoyable experience and is consistently outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Quite delightful! Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Well prepared, creative dishes. My salad of Belgian endive sprinkled with chili powder and anchovy vinaigrette was truly unique and delicious. A real find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Really enjoyed the menu variations. We had a lentil Arancini starter, it was unique and tasty. Main course of duck was excellent and prepared perfectly to medium rare, the pork steak was also great. Chef Jeremy is doing an excellent job with creativity and flavor profiles.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food is incredible! Love this place! Favorite restaurant in Billings😃

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We very much enjoyed our Sunday brunch with family. The selections are always interesting and delicious. Everything from the standard breakfast fare to adventurous choices we would most likely never be creative enough to make at home. Great, friendly, prompt service. Food is wonderful! Delicious and creative and delightful - I recommend Lilac wholeheartedly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lilac is a wonderful restaurant. We had a group of six there for my birthday. The food and the wine were great. The service was good too. I had the duck breast - it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After one hour, the waitress admitted to us that she forgot to put our order in (despite a few trips to our table earlier saying our food was almost up). I would have given a lower rating, but the waitress compensated our entire meal without prompting. I do feel like that was more than fair because this is one of the more expensive restaurants in town and you expect a certain level of service for the price. The fries were really good and our entrees were pretty good. Hard to say if we'd return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great place, everything was cooked to perfection. Thanks to the crew ands chefs

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Amazing service, great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was soooo good. I thought it might be eclectic, weird, girl food but my husband had a steak and it was one of the best ever! :) The mussels were awesome and the braised short rib with homemade gnocchi melted in your mouth. YUM!!:)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the Lilac. Our server was awesome and the food was delicious!

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner was great. They were out of the beef special. We split the pork and the flavor was fantastic. The appetizers were also great. I loved the dishes...they were fresh and unique with great flavor. I definitely would go again. Only wish was that the pork had a few more greens.
The wine was great too!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Lilac several times but my companion had not been. We both loved it and he said we will be back. That was Friday and on Saturday I took another friend for the first time and she loved it too. Always something different on the menu but the fries and sticky pudding remain staples as they should.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This restaurant is definitely on my "Things I miss about living in Billings" list. The menu is unique, delicious and changes regularly so you always have the option to try new things. The staff has always been helpful and friendly every time we've been in. The atmosphere is great for an intimate dinner or an outing with friends. It can be quite loud at times as other diners are usually there laughing and participating in animated conversation. You definitely want to make a reservation. We always use the open table app.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

While I've been impressed with every meal I've had at Lilac, this time I was blown away!! Everything was SO DELICIOUS!! We had a super great waitress and the wine was awesome. We ended up staying there for 3 hours without realizing the time and no one said a word - we felt completely welcome!! Bravo and BRAVA to the whole staff!! What a treat!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Really great food- not the hottest once it reached the table, but is also a cold day, etc. Great service, atmosphere, menu. Love Lilac for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great dining experience; lot of taste flavors and was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Amazingly delicious food in a cozy environment. The steak was to die for as we're the triple fried French fries. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was there for a NYE dinner date with my lovely GF. Was not disappointed. I have heard from numerous people around Billings that this place is amazing. It lived up to the hype. The cook even came over to ask how was everything and was very friendly. We even had ties to his days in Missoula. Great place. Well recommended and will recommend to others. I'll be back again soon. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Historic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is simply the best place!! We took a table of 8 friends here for New Year's Eve and the service was amazing, the food was to die for and all of our friends had a great experience. Our waitress, Michelle, was knowledgeable and nice. Also, one thing I LOVE about Lilac is that it seems really team-oriented - meaning that, while Michelle was our waitress, the rest of the staff was constantly attending to our table and I think that's pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a pleasant experience and excellent cuisine

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food as always was lovely. Service was the best. Sticky toffee pudding is my favorite dessert and well worth the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Okay...so it was amazing!...I couldn't decide what to order. ...so I ordered 2 things! Best biscuits & gravy (EVER!!). And the breakfast tacos...whoa!!!!
Just go hungry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative and delicious food. A small plate type menu so we could try more than one large plate of the same thing.
The beer and wine selections are local And creative as well. We have paid more at fancy restaurants and not. Even as impressed with the quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My Husband and I came in and enjoyed a belated Thanksgiving dinner together and it was wonderful. Friendly, prompt service, excellent food, an overall great package. We look forward to coming in again!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's always fun to see friends at Lilac! The service is great. I know vegan options are available with advance notice, would like to see more vegan on the regular menu. Thanks!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lilac is in our favorite place to eat in Billings. The food is excellent. Jeremy is a tremendously talented and creative chef. He rotates his menu to capture the best of what is available. His dishes are thoughtful, creative, delicious and memorable. We highly, highly recommend Lilac and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was first visit and it was well worth it. (My boyfriend has been multiple times) The beef tongue tacos were my favorite! If I'm ever back in Billings, I will dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An excellent meal with very creative cuisine. Meal portions are not too big so plan on having dessert. A great overall dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.