HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM

Lilac

4.7
545 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(406) 969-4959
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jeremy Engebretson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
25th. St N
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 545 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ChandlerM (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

One of our favorites in Billings even though they are consistently out of our first choices.

Report
Helpful
JockD (Washington DC)
4.0  Dined on February 6, 2018

Good food and comfortable atmosphere

Report
Helpful
Loco90 (Montana)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Amazing food

Report
Helpful
Cuffington (Montana)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Such good food! “best cheeseburger EVER! " Tuna Tartar had impeccable seasoning!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Last brunch advertised- am gad I went- have only had dinner there, to date

Great food, reasonable price

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Amazing as always. Tuna tartare was one of the best things I have ever eaten.

Report
Helpful
NYE17 (Montana)
1.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We chose to go to Lilac after having good experiences in the past. We were extremely disappointed and unfortunately, will not be back. The service was horrible. Our salad came out with our main course, the wine was overpriced and not good, and the desert menu had little variety. When we asked for bread, we were told they didn't have bread but our friends that were also there were eating bread when we left. There was no dining experience. We love to support local chefs and restaurants but this is off our list.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

We came out for a birthday on a very cold and snowy night. This little restaurant had great service and we enjoyed the food with our "foodie" group. We were seated with our backs up to a large window and that was cold, and we had to keep our jackets over our backs. It was on the expensive side with a bill of over $350 for 5 of us (with wine and tip).

Report
Helpful
Gremily (Seattle)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent food. The restaurant was cold-- it was a wintry night and every time the door opened, a gust of cold air blew in. The waitstaff is good, the prices are great, and the food is wonderful. I come from Seattle, where great food is commonplace, so I was excited to find Lilac. It's comparable to the Dahlia in downtown Seattle, which is in my top ten favorite restaurants list. Will definitely be back when I'm in MT again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 22, 2017

Consistently excellent food and drinks. The best in Billings.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on December 15, 2017

We loved the special burger! Everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
4.0  Dined on December 9, 2017

The food and service were very good. However, the room is an echo chamber with very little to dampen the noise. We were seated near a noisy table, and my hearing is not great, so it was difficult to hear what others at our table were saying. Something to dampen the sound would make dining here even more enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
vipPatrick1 (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on December 7, 2017

Love Lilac and return nearly every time I’m in Billings.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on November 21, 2017

Exceptional food, creative menu, great wine list, our favorite

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on November 12, 2017

Lilac has a great variety of options for brunch!
Nice mimosas!

Report
Helpful
SusiB (Palm Springs)
5.0  Dined on November 12, 2017

Wonderful brunch. I’d been there for dinner, but first time to try brunch. My friend and I each had the special of the day-so delicious. We had the house mimosas too. Great service.

Report
Helpful
Scotty (Las Vegas)
5.0  Dined on October 28, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Best dining experience I've had in Montana in twenty years of trying the hotspots all over the state.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on October 24, 2017

Original , unique food of fantastic quality! The staff was very friendly

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on October 21, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and combinations. The pork chop was really good but I wasn't a fan of the cornbread side, the halibut was really good. However the rhubarb with mint sauce side was out of this world..don't miss that!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Fargo)
5.0  Dined on October 14, 2017

Didn’t know what to expect. The value definitely exceeded the price. The flavor was tremendous.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on October 12, 2017

Great experience and I will be back. Server was very professional and knowledgeable about menu choices. It was refreshing from the usual "order taker" style. Food was wonderful. It did take a bit to arrive but we had a larger group so that is to be expected. It was a bit noisy for my taste but not a deal breaker. I would prefer not to have to raise my voice so much to talk to others in my party. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on October 8, 2017

I had one of the best and most memorable meals of my life! The food combinations were amazing, beautifully presented, and the portion sizes were perfect. My server was friendly, offered suggestions on wine and beer, and was attentive but not intrusive. I woke up the next day wanting the same meal again!

Report
Helpful
thedonald78 (Montana)
4.0  Dined on October 6, 2017

Our food was excellent! The service was very good as well. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
vipPatrick1 (Minneapolis)
5.0  Dined on September 28, 2017

This restaurant never ceases to amaze me. A menu that often changes with seasonal specialties and standby favorites such as the short rib of beef and the amazing fries.

Report
Helpful
downtownJoe (Montana)
5.0  Dined on September 22, 2017

Another fantastic meal at lilac. The pastrami smoked pork belly should not be missed. Lovely friendly people working and eating.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Mobile)
5.0  Dined on September 13, 2017

Always a fantastic experience here. LOVE the food! Never disappointed. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The Chef has an amazing talent for pairing different foods and flavors! We love it!

Report
Helpful
TravelinThru (Denver)
5.0  Dined on September 10, 2017

We stopped here for brunch while traveling through and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and I was surprised that it was not more expensive. The owner was very personable. I would be excited to try dinner here as well. Overall, it was a great experience and I may well change my travel plans to be able to try dinner next time I am passing through.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
5.0  Dined on September 10, 2017

The food is always wonderful. Lilac has interesting choices on the menu. The service is superb!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Montana)
4.0  Dined on August 30, 2017

Original, expertly prepared food, great service and nice atmosphere

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was just perfect, I love the Lilac!
The service was excellent, always friendly staff!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
19