Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Lilac

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Seasonal (3)
Casual (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Made reservation at Lilac on a friend's recommendation. Awesome place for brunch on a Sunday morning. The Poutine special was phenomenal. My wife had the cinnamon babka french toast. She enjoyed it quite a bit. I highly recommend this little gem for a romantic brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Went to Lilac on a Saturday night, again the food was superb, service was perfect, it is always a great lively environment, and great local artwork on the walls. Chef Jeremy personally came to talk to us about his local garden and tonight's creations. Wine list is very well-stocked, so ask for recommendations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was great and inventive as always, but the server, though friendly, was inattentive and led a very slow experience full of heads looking for a possible visit to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I wanted to take my sister and her daughter to a really nice place for brunch. Someone had suggested Lilac and I am so glad they did. From the time we arrived we were spoiled with great service, mimosa's and wonderful food. We will be back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our first visit to Lilac after a recommendation from a neighbor. Quaint restaurant, with good lighting and acoustics. Service was excellent and timely.
We shared a garden salad that had fresh ingredients. It tasted as if everything was just picked before serving.
I had the special; swordfish, which was prepared with a tasty sauce, but didn't overwhelm the dish. She had their signature braised short ribs. A flavor that's hard to describe (I ate half). The ribs made their own sauce in a dish with gnocchi. One of the best dishes we've ever tasted. Highly recommend.
And affordable pricing, with only the special reaching $30.
We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Fantastic food - annoying server, disrupted our conversations way too often just to make small talk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We were visiting Billings for the night on a cross country road trip. We were so happy to find Lilac. Food was wonderful, atmosphere was fantastic, and our server Christie was superb... nicest server we've had in a long time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is exquisite and beautifully prepared. The service was also top notch. We live out of town and Lilac is well worth the road trip for a romantic meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fabulous dinner. You must try the jicama tacos as an appetizer, then the pork belly with Brussels sprouts. Thanks again Jeremy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

On our way from Denver to Whitefish, we're happy to know that Lilac is in Billings, always our half-way stop. The food is delicious, and the service is gracious, welcoming. Sitting at the bar so that we could split dishes, we started with bubbles and the bone marrow custard. It was rich and a perfect complement to the wine. Then we had the endive and roasted beet salad with supremes of mandarin citrus, a great blend of sweet, salt, acid and crunch that was a nice contrast to the richness of the custard. We finished with halibut served on a bed of Montana lentils with sautéed sprouts paired with Pinot Noir. Dandelion is proud of sourcing local products, and its kitchen is not only skillful but also inventive. We will be back for both food and hospitality. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We love having Sunday brunch at Lilac. Took a friend and her husband to celebrate her 50th birthday. Was a fabulous meal and a fun celebration with friends. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was really disappointed with our visit to Lilac, considering all of the hype I've heard about the chef and the use of local ingredients. The food was generic and my dish was so salty I didn't eat more than three bites. The service wasn't terrible, but our server was very awkward and made us feel pretty uncomfortable. Maybe they were having an off night, but I would not recommend Lilac, especially not for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lilac has a creative menu, good list of beers and wines, and the dining room is intimate. It was a gem among the Billings fare.

We ordered the swordfish special and bucatini ratatouille. The swordfish was seared, cooked medium, deliciously seasoned, served on fried potato slices and asparagus sauce that hinted slightly of goat cheese. Altogether very tasty, portioned appropriately, and presented well. Wife's bucatini was cooked perfectly with a delicious mixture of vegetables, also seasoned well. The food was outstanding.

However, the service was inattentive and awkward. The lowlight was seeing the server sit with the neighboring table while we waited for our entrees, only to be asked to reorder our entrees. Saying, "You're beautiful," to the appetizer after a moment of silent gazing, being unable to indicate the appetizers versus entrees on the menu, and seeing another neighboring table's scraps taken and returned boxed after our scraps are taken but before our scraps were returned were par for the evening.

I'm bummed because I really liked the food, but it can't justify the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for Mother's Day with my wife. We are from out of town and have always loved this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff knows menu inside out. A little bit on the loud side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great! Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Birthday dinner. Great food. A bit pricey but probably the best in Billings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was excellent. It was a very fun evening with my daughter. I liked the different menu, not the same old thing. Dessert was different and very tasty

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food in a cool setting. May I recommend the pineapple basil mimosa?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous!!!! Great service and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was great. A variety of food for the whole family. Service was prompt.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The restaurant was in walking distance from our hotel. It was recommended by friends who live here. The menu was unique and was limited in choices. The waitress was friendly and the bartender was very knowledgable about the wine pairings. Does not have a full bar offering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very cute little restaurant great for a weekend brunch with friends! Delicious mimosas!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Must try. Wonderful food every time. Great service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My dad was in town, so my wife and I took him to our favorite restaurant: Lilac! The menu is modern, creative and seasonal. The stalwarts (shortrib) are always good to fall back on if making tough decisions isn't your thing. Great place for a date or to have a nice dinner out with friends. Great wine, beer, food, and location. Great for walking around before or after.

There's not really a bar to grab a drink at before/after, but the distillery is just a block away and there is a good brewery across the street.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Lilac is always n enjoyable experience and is consistently outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Quite delightful! Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Well prepared, creative dishes. My salad of Belgian endive sprinkled with chili powder and anchovy vinaigrette was truly unique and delicious. A real find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the menu variations. We had a lentil Arancini starter, it was unique and tasty. Main course of duck was excellent and prepared perfectly to medium rare, the pork steak was also great. Chef Jeremy is doing an excellent job with creativity and flavor profiles.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food is incredible! Love this place! Favorite restaurant in Billings😃

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We very much enjoyed our Sunday brunch with family. The selections are always interesting and delicious. Everything from the standard breakfast fare to adventurous choices we would most likely never be creative enough to make at home. Great, friendly, prompt service. Food is wonderful! Delicious and creative and delightful - I recommend Lilac wholeheartedly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lilac is a wonderful restaurant. We had a group of six there for my birthday. The food and the wine were great. The service was good too. I had the duck breast - it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

After one hour, the waitress admitted to us that she forgot to put our order in (despite a few trips to our table earlier saying our food was almost up). I would have given a lower rating, but the waitress compensated our entire meal without prompting. I do feel like that was more than fair because this is one of the more expensive restaurants in town and you expect a certain level of service for the price. The fries were really good and our entrees were pretty good. Hard to say if we'd return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great place, everything was cooked to perfection. Thanks to the crew ands chefs

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Amazing service, great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was soooo good. I thought it might be eclectic, weird, girl food but my husband had a steak and it was one of the best ever! :) The mussels were awesome and the braised short rib with homemade gnocchi melted in your mouth. YUM!!:)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the Lilac. Our server was awesome and the food was delicious!

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The dinner was great. They were out of the beef special. We split the pork and the flavor was fantastic. The appetizers were also great. I loved the dishes...they were fresh and unique with great flavor. I definitely would go again. Only wish was that the pork had a few more greens.
The wine was great too!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This restaurant is definitely on my "Things I miss about living in Billings" list. The menu is unique, delicious and changes regularly so you always have the option to try new things. The staff has always been helpful and friendly every time we've been in. The atmosphere is great for an intimate dinner or an outing with friends. It can be quite loud at times as other diners are usually there laughing and participating in animated conversation. You definitely want to make a reservation. We always use the open table app.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been to Lilac several times but my companion had not been. We both loved it and he said we will be back. That was Friday and on Saturday I took another friend for the first time and she loved it too. Always something different on the menu but the fries and sticky pudding remain staples as they should.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

While I've been impressed with every meal I've had at Lilac, this time I was blown away!! Everything was SO DELICIOUS!! We had a super great waitress and the wine was awesome. We ended up staying there for 3 hours without realizing the time and no one said a word - we felt completely welcome!! Bravo and BRAVA to the whole staff!! What a treat!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.