About Lilac

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Breast
  • Pappardelle
  • lobster roll
  • Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey)
  • Liquid Chocolate Cake
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Banh Mi
  • Chicken Liver Pâté
  • Herbed Fettuccine
Duck Breast
Pappardelle
lobster roll
Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey)
Liquid Chocolate Cake
Mahi Mahi
Banh Mi
Chicken Liver Pâté
Herbed Fettuccine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
8 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Romantic
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Most Booked
Billings
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

fit for foodies (42)
special occasion (32)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
great for brunch (22)
romantic (18)
notable wine list (13)
good for groups (10)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Small menu and ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful. Small menu and wine list but every item exquisite.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food using fresh local ingredient ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great food using fresh local ingredients. Creative brunch options. A dining must in Billings!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Some of the best food in Billings can be ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Some of the best food in Billings can be found here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food in Billings

Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect portions, simple delicious menu, wonderful service. Amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Lilac is our favorite restaurant in ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Lilac is our favorite restaurant in Billings. We love the food-the chef is creative. The ingredients are carefully chosen and locally sourced when possible. The best way I can describe the food is it tastes like ingredients are gently combined-fresh and clean. We've always had wonderful service. The dining room is small so the noise level is moderate.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is incredible! We ate here ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food here is incredible! We ate here twice while visiting Billings because the food and the service was so good. Everything is delicious, but you definitely need to try the fries, fried chicken skins, and bacon almond Brussels sprouts, and the sticky toffee dessert. They also had excellent selections for beer and wine. We felt like VIPs every time we came with the fantastic and friendly service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lilac is amazing!! I cannot say enough ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Lilac is amazing!! I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere are perfect for any and every occassion. I love Lilac and recommend it to everyone I talk to about food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, best food in town, gr ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent service, best food in town, great restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5

As always, delicious food, fantastic ser ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, delicious food, fantastic service! Can't wait for next trip there. Yum.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch ever!!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best brunch ever!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and Vibrant

Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been to Lilac many times but this night, I experienced the best meal. Starting with the roasted asparagus and beet special set the tone for my dinner. The Moroccan Carrot Matbucha was fresh and bright in flavors, adorned with fresh microgreens and accompanied with freshly fried tortilla chips. Then the Lobster Vermicelli was rustic with coconut flavor with good rice noodles mixed with lobster, mushrooms, and walnuts. My dinner companions ordered the Zucchini Naan and the Pomegranate Duck Breast and were very happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We picked Lilac for our anniversary brunch. We loved the food and coffee. The mimosas were huge and mostly orange juice, so we didn't finish them. Wish they would serve Kir Royales in addition to all of the orange juice drinks. But overall just a great restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect spot for Birthday Brunch.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lilac was awesome - so accommodating and the food was delish. Our kiddo requested plain french toast and they were happy to do it - the chef even delivered it himself! The mimosas were spectacular and the service was awesome. Everyone had a wonderful meal and can't wait to ear there again!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as ever

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch at Lilac is always a great experience. The service is warm and welcoming. The food is always perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Could be better

Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed a mediocre meal this past Saturday evening at Lilac. It did the trick for a couple of hungry travelers on their way from Great Falls to Eastern MT. Don't get me wrong, it's a very nice little place. Maybe my expectations were too high. Maybe I was just fatigued from the long drive. VERY noisy! Perhaps something could be done to abate the noise with wall coverings or ceiling coverings to absorb sound a bit. Maybe some rugs? Server was a very sweet young lady who seemed a bit less professional than she should, a bit too bubbly, a bit too familiar, a bit unfocused. There was a minor goof in our order with my wife's soup order placed and delivered at the same time as her dinner. Oops. Meals could have been more flavorful. Ambitious subjects but they just seemed tasteless. Duck was bland. Boar, the same. Bland. Overall, not bad. But it could have been better. We were disappointed that it wasn't as exceptional as we had hoped. Just OK.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal

Dined on April 10, 2016

I've enjoyed dinner at Lilac three times while visiting Billings. Consistently excellent food and service. The fries are a must, and the scallop ceviche was a delicious and unusual starter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always wonderful

Dined on April 6, 2016

Always wonderful

food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing. Allison and Kevin are th ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Always amazing. Allison and Kevin are the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Approachable and Refined

Dined on March 24, 2016

This is one of my favorite all time restaurants, and fave chefs!! I know for me and my friends, the food speaks through the need for bourgeois bullshit of crumbing etc. The food, the wine, the service is on point and I always plan a visit when I'm in Billings! Thanks for a modern fine dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Enjoyed overall flavor profiles. Price w ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Enjoyed overall flavor profiles. Price was appropriate for style and execution. Would be back again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a great experience will be back again. Great people and the food was great was definitely different but a good different.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food, love the people. There's ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Love the food, love the people. There's always something new, and it never disappoints! Something for everyone, but especially for foodies!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Lilac!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a lovely late dinner at Lilac. The restaurant is very upscale but still cozy, low ambient lighting, lots of white linen and wine glasses on the tables. The menu of small/medium/large plates has lots of things to choose from, something for everyone from adventurous to new takes on classic dishes. We had the Octopus Fritti, Pumpkin Squash soup, fried chicken skins, striped bass special, all were really tasty and well-prepared. For dessert we had a pumpkin cake with ice cream and a "coffee and doughnut" dessert which also had ice cream. Both desserts were really good and the ice cream was exceptional. Our waiter was helpful and attentive with a great sense of humor!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good choice for the night befor surgery

Dined on March 2, 2016

Wife and I came to Billings for my surgery on 3/2 at St. Vincent Hospital,decided to have a nice evening out. Bases on reviews on Open Table we chose Lilac. We were not disappointed. The French fries were a tasty starter. My wife had the duck risotto and loved it. I had the fish special. Rainbow trout,sautéed perfectly. Service was friendly and timely no rush. It was a good evening and the surgery went well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place, good concept, but food was OK.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The location, the place and the concept are great. I love the restaurant and the overall idea of the menu. They have a reasonable wine list and a good menu, I would recommend for a special occasion but... The food was only OK, it might have been my luck and I would be willing to give it another chance as the menu seems good. My experience with the food was lukewarm, the appetizer was great (octopus) and the desert was also really good but the daily special was fair at best. They offered a trout special (skin-on fillets), I was expecting a great dish but the fish was under seasoned and the skin was soggy, if you offer a skin-on fillet I expect a nice crispy edible skin. Additionally the vegetables and grains accompanying the fillet were also under-seasoned and missed a pop of flavor. I think the issue was on the execution and not in the idea of the daily special. I would definitely give the place another chance, it might have been my bad luck that day.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the Lilac

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, drink, service and atmosphere. My favorite kind of restaurant. Not a chain. Absolute attention to details. I would be surprised if the owner was NOT in the restaurant him/herself that night. You can just tell that everything's being carefully looked after.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 21, 2016

Always excellent food and service. One of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic, as always. What a great Valen ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic, as always. What a great Valentines Day treat, the meal, dessert, the wine, all of it. Ahhh.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very great. Service was great.

Dined on February 15, 2016

First time experience. Will definitely return. Definitely with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We Love Lilac

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have eaten at Lilac multiple times and love the food. The location is fun, being on Montana Avenue where micro-breweries and other nightlife abound. Thanks for another great evening of dining at Lilac Jeremy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very good food for brunch. The mimosas are excellent. Will definitely be returning there.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Brunch.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Been here many times for dinner, but decided to try their brunch this time around. Needless to say, their brunch is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Billings

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have said it time and time again; this is without question, the best restaurant in Billings. My wife and I have dined in on at least a dozen occasions. We do our best to try a new menu item during every visit. This last meal was the absolute best! We had the following: Pumpkin and Squash Soup- One of the best takes on this classic that we have ever had. The soup is a comfort food 101 and the addition of the pecans, cream and fried onion rings put it over the top! Stuffed Chicken Wings-This was the most unique twist we have ever tried on a bar classic; an awesome blend of Asian inspired sausage and pub perfect wings. I would put these up against any sauce soaked wing in I have ever tried. Sweet Potato Gnocchi with ham hock and greens- I was nervous for this dish as I am a total gnocchi nut, but a sweet potato hater. I was beyond pleasantly surprised. This goes right up there with the best gnocchi I have ever tasted. It reminded me of a Southern style dish with collard greens and Sunday Ham. Jeremy came out and let us sample the base of the sauce which is a 3 generation old pork base (a real treat). Another perfect entree'. Wild Boar Chop with cornbread dressing, roasted parsnip, maple mustard glaze- My wife had to try it just to say that she had wild boar in Billings, MT. This was another slam dunk. It nearly reminded us of Thanksgiving dinner with the dressing and parsnips. The boar was seasoned, crusted and cooked perfectly. Think of the juiciest pork chop you have ever eaten, this is better. Coffee & Doughnuts- This isn't your Sunday Dunkin' Donuts maple bar and lifeless coffee. The yeast doughnuts are paired with a stout chocolate ganache that is to die for. The mascarpone cheese and homemade coffee ice cream are the perfect accompaniments to this upscale fried delight. The french press coffee that goes alongside of it was the perfect nightcap to top off the best meal in Billings!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

nice, quiet, quaint

Dined on February 14, 2016

great selection. nice environment. downtown charm. great service and really tasty food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine date with my wife

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an excellent time, the staff treats us as if we are their favorite customers. The food is always delicious, and as I like to call it a little off the wall. By that I mean I am a meat & potatoes guy, Jeremy has a talent for making the ordinary into a unique experience. We rarely do dessert but, at the Lilac it is a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night destination

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife here for valentine's day, easy to get a reservation, server was very nice and attentive, the food was AMAZING, and the vibe in the restaurant was very quiet and calm. Very nice place we'll be back for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on February 13, 2016

This place is perfect for date nights. Could be just you and your date or a couple's date or even girls night. I wouldn't recommend more than four or five people in a party, as the space is small. It felt a little cramped where we were seated. The service was great. My waiter was friendly, and made sure we were happy. Food was good. They have a small menu, but in my opinion a smaller menu equals better food. I had sword fish, and my husband had the ribs with gnocchi. Both dishes were cooked perfectly. My husband even liked the fish, and he never likes fish. So if you are looking to try something new and more intimate, this place is one to check out!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very unique menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

We love the food that we get at Lilac's. It always has something different to try, it's not like the basis menu that you can get at most restaurants. We love the small, quaintness that you get here. We've eaten here many times, and it's always nice to have them remember when you come in.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on February 7, 2016

As always the food and service were fantastic. I had the Denver steak and my wife had the Cod which were specials for that evening. We love the interesting dishes, normal portions, great wines with nominal mark-ups and the top notch wait staff. The extra efforts brought forth by Jeremy and staff and noticed and should be applauded!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.