About Lilac

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pappardelle
  • Duck Breast
  • lobster roll
  • Liquid Chocolate Cake
  • Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey)
  • Mahi Mahi
  • Banh Mi
  • Chicken Liver Pâté
  • Herbed Fettuccine
Pappardelle
Duck Breast
lobster roll
Liquid Chocolate Cake
Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey)
Mahi Mahi
Banh Mi
Chicken Liver Pâté
Herbed Fettuccine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
6 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Most Booked
Billings
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (23)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great meal at Lilac - the rib ey ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Another great meal at Lilac - the rib eye steak special with corn accompaniment was superb. The steak even had a nice thickness to it which is so hard to find in Billings these days. If you've not tried the doughnuts and coffee you better give them a try as they are fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is an amazing restaurant! We alwa ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is an amazing restaurant! We always have a great time with great food and service. I love the "out-of-the-box" food options. We tried the beef tongue tacos and they were so amazing. I can't stop talking about them. Try it. You will love everything!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, drinks, great.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, drinks, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent brunch; BLT with fried green t ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch; BLT with fried green tomato and goat cheese is incredible! The cornmeal pancake with blueberry was as we remembered it, a must have! When available for brunch, also have the rhubarb shrub mimosa, but think fast it sells out quick!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch and mimosas with friends w ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch and mimosas with friends was fun and food was fabulous

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time my family and I ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is the second time my family and I have visited this outstanding restaurant. It is a great place that we drive through on our annual road trip from Montana to our home in Chicago, Illinois. Both times the servers have exceeded our expectations. We went out of our way to include it in our itinerary for the leg of the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

expected more. food was just fair. a b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

expected more. food was just fair. a bit overpriced for the quality. no friendly to kids at all. they dont even try. not even a booster seat in the entire place let alone a high chair. i understand they are a wine bar ambiance - but for those w/ kids who want to try new places and find good food. no effort here at all. i wont go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lilac is amazing! Their brunch never dis ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lilac is amazing! Their brunch never disappoints and their dinner follows suit. I would highly recommend the braised ribs paired with the secret squirrel cabrenet, or you can never go wrong with any of the specials they have. They were out of a particular champagne we ordered, but our waitress was very apologetic, and could not have been more helpful in selecting a different bottle. Lilac is perfect for anyone who enjoys a great meal accompanied by wonderful service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal. Service could no ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Another wonderful meal. Service could not be beat. One of our favorites for a reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lilac is without question the best resta ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lilac is without question the best restaurant in Billings. My wife and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner here last week. We tried 5 different played, each one better than the next!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food at Lilac. We went to br ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always good food at Lilac. We went to brunch. Excellent zucchini French toast and meat free tostada.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ourwaitress & all other staff were outst ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ourwaitress & all other staff were outstanding! Iam a coffee guzzler & wastotally takencare of with noresentment or delays. Mygrandson of age9 waspleased aswell as the hunking guys & pregnant s9n-to-be moms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we don't go out often but Lilac is one o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

we don't go out often but Lilac is one of our top picks. we over ordered - soup was amazing - ended up taking half of 2 dishes home and they were spectacular the next day. glad you are serving revel roasted coffee beans - wonderful and local roaster. couldn't do dessert because dinner was so fine. be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and top quality service a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food and top quality service at a good price. Try it - You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lilac offers delicious local foods, beau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lilac offers delicious local foods, beautifully presented. Their dishes are distinctive and offered in all price ranges. This restaurant is a favorite Billings dinner spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The staff is warm and friendly. Menu ve ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The staff is warm and friendly. Menu very unique and changes often. Food is always amazing.

My wife and I have eaten here many times and we are never disappointed. Highly recommend!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As has been the case many times before, ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As has been the case many times before, Lilac did not disappoint. Making a reservation online was easy -- they even called me back after I had left a message to make a reservation over the phone before they were open. Upon arrival, I was greeted promptly, the wait staff was friendly and attentive and the food was amazing! I am very happy with my choice to recommend this to my boss and our guests from India really enjoyed their meal at Lilac and their time in Billings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy the service and food. Li ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I always enjoy the service and food. Lilac is a favorite stop!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The fried green tomato LT for Sunday bru ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The fried green tomato LT for Sunday brunch with the crisp tender tomatoes was delicious. It was a quiet Sunday but several families came in and it was fun to watch them enjoying the relaxed atmosphere. Great service and attention to detail. We enjoyed a relaxed Sunday brunch...aah.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner as always. Great presen ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful dinner as always. Great presentation from Jeremy and amazing service from PJ Smith. He is very well educated, helpful and kind. Always a pleasure dining at Lilac.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Small menu and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Small menu and wine list but every item exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food using fresh local ingredient ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food using fresh local ingredients. Creative brunch options. A dining must in Billings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oustanding food and service. The braise ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Oustanding food and service. The braised short ribs are incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Billings can be ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Some of the best food in Billings can be found here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Best Food in Billings

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Perfect portions, simple delicious menu, wonderful service. Amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lilac is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Lilac is our favorite restaurant in Billings. We love the food-the chef is creative. The ingredients are carefully chosen and locally sourced when possible. The best way I can describe the food is it tastes like ingredients are gently combined-fresh and clean.

We've always had wonderful service. The dining room is small so the noise level is moderate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food here is incredible! We ate here ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food here is incredible! We ate here twice while visiting Billings because the food and the service was so good. Everything is delicious, but you definitely need to try the fries, fried chicken skins, and bacon almond Brussels sprouts, and the sticky toffee dessert. They also had excellent selections for beer and wine. We felt like VIPs every time we came with the fantastic and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lilac is amazing!! I cannot say enough ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Lilac is amazing!! I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. The food, service and atmosphere are perfect for any and every occassion. I love Lilac and recommend it to everyone I talk to about food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, best food in town, gr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent service, best food in town, great restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, delicious food, fantastic ser ...

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

As always, delicious food, fantastic service! Can't wait for next trip there. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch ever!!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Best brunch ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fresh and Vibrant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I have been to Lilac many times but this night, I experienced the best meal. Starting with the roasted asparagus and beet special set the tone for my dinner. The Moroccan Carrot Matbucha was fresh and bright in flavors, adorned with fresh microgreens and accompanied with freshly fried tortilla chips. Then the Lobster Vermicelli was rustic with coconut flavor with good rice noodles mixed with lobster, mushrooms, and walnuts. My dinner companions ordered the Zucchini Naan and the Pomegranate Duck Breast and were very happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We picked Lilac for our anniversary brunch. We loved the food and coffee. The mimosas were huge and mostly orange juice, so we didn't finish them. Wish they would serve Kir Royales in addition to all of the orange juice drinks. But overall just a great restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect spot for Birthday Brunch.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Lilac was awesome - so accommodating and the food was delish. Our kiddo requested plain french toast and they were happy to do it - the chef even delivered it himself! The mimosas were spectacular and the service was awesome. Everyone had a wonderful meal and can't wait to ear there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing as ever

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch at Lilac is always a great experience. The service is warm and welcoming. The food is always perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could be better

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We enjoyed a mediocre meal this past Saturday evening at Lilac. It did the trick for a couple of hungry travelers on their way from Great Falls to Eastern MT. Don't get me wrong, it's a very nice little place. Maybe my expectations were too high. Maybe I was just fatigued from the long drive. VERY noisy! Perhaps something could be done to abate the noise with wall coverings or ceiling coverings to absorb sound a bit. Maybe some rugs? Server was a very sweet young lady who seemed a bit less professional than she should, a bit too bubbly, a bit too familiar, a bit unfocused. There was a minor goof in our order with my wife's soup order placed and delivered at the same time as her dinner. Oops. Meals could have been more flavorful. Ambitious subjects but they just seemed tasteless. Duck was bland. Boar, the same. Bland.

Overall, not bad. But it could have been better. We were disappointed that it wasn't as exceptional as we had hoped. Just OK.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Fabulous meal

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I've enjoyed dinner at Lilac three times while visiting Billings. Consistently excellent food and service. The fries are a must, and the scallop ceviche was a delicious and unusual starter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Always wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing. Allison and Kevin are th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Always amazing. Allison and Kevin are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.