About Lilac

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pappardelle - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Duck Breast - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • lobster roll - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Liquid Chocolate Cake - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey) - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Mahi Mahi - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Banh Mi - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Chicken Liver Pâté - Lilac, Billings, MT
  • Herbed Fettuccine - Lilac, Billings, MT
Pappardelle - Lilac, Billings, MT
Duck Breast - Lilac, Billings, MT
lobster roll - Lilac, Billings, MT
Liquid Chocolate Cake - Lilac, Billings, MT
Sticky Toffee Pudding (Earl Grey Chocolate Chip Ice Cream, Single Malt Scotch Honey) - Lilac, Billings, MT
Mahi Mahi - Lilac, Billings, MT
Banh Mi - Lilac, Billings, MT
Chicken Liver Pâté - Lilac, Billings, MT
Herbed Fettuccine - Lilac, Billings, MT

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
4 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Best Restaurants in Billings ›

Fit for Foodies (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Authentic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My Husband and I came in and enjoyed a b ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My Husband and I came in and enjoyed a belated Thanksgiving dinner together and it was wonderful. Friendly, prompt service, excellent food, an overall great package. We look forward to coming in again!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always fun to see friends at Lilac! ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's always fun to see friends at Lilac! The service is great. I know vegan options are available with advance notice, would like to see more vegan on the regular menu. Thanks!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Lilac is in our favorite place to eat in ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lilac is in our favorite place to eat in Billings. The food is excellent. Jeremy is a tremendously talented and creative chef. He rotates his menu to capture the best of what is available. His dishes are thoughtful, creative, delicious and memorable. We highly, highly recommend Lilac and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was first visit and it was well wor ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was first visit and it was well worth it. (My boyfriend has been multiple times) The beef tongue tacos were my favorite! If I'm ever back in Billings, I will dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent meal with very creative cui ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An excellent meal with very creative cuisine. Meal portions are not too big so plan on having dessert. A great overall dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service e ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service equaled that. this is by far my favorite downtown restaurant in Billings for dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lilac is my favorite restaurant in town. ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lilac is my favorite restaurant in town. Although a bit pricey, the food is creative and always delicious. There tea infused salad is to die for! And I will always recommend their sticky toffee pudding and earl gray ice cream for dessert. My only complaint is that it can be noisy on busy Friday and Saturday nights. The service is always exceptional, though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I always enjoy the unique selections on ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I always enjoy the unique selections on the menu. The food is delicious. Lilac is a lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lilac is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lilac is one of my favorite restaurants in Billings. They always have something a little different on the menu. Flavor profiles are exceptional. My only complaint is that the desserts were pretty skimpy for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The staff are wonderful, very polite, an ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The staff are wonderful, very polite, and well informed of the meals. The waiter complimented my girl friend's hair which was in my opinion. Definitely an awesome place to go to. Highly recommend the swordfish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Major gastronomical gratification. We al ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Major gastronomical gratification. We always enjoy Chef Engebretson's creativity and use of fresh local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was very nicely prepared -- we ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our food was very nicely prepared -- we had the zucchini-stuffed chicken, which was tender and delicious. We both liked it well enough to go back sometime (we live 75 miles away) but we also both wished there were a few more menu choices in terms of entrees and desserts. We understand that a lot of the farm-to-table restaurants like this one have somewhat abbreviated menus.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Creative preparation of dishes. Great us ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Creative preparation of dishes. Great use of local ingredients. Excellent service. Will definitely return on our next trip to Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is consistently good and the se ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is consistently good and the service is as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu specials featured unusual combi ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The menu specials featured unusual combinations of ingredients that ended up being fantastic together. What I got was as an entree was superb. I will never forget the dessert--- fennel apple crisp with buttermilk ice cream!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All I can say is that everything about t ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

All I can say is that everything about this meal was fantastic! From the friendly service, the laid back yet trendy atmosphere and the scrumptious tasting food. Thanks for the best yumminess!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here twice in the past year o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I've dined here twice in the past year on visits to Billings. Menu items are fresh, creative, and healthy. Most recently, the halibut, poblano ravioli, and celeriac were great, tea infused salad was refreshing, good wine selection. The staff is friendly and efficient. A real gem in Big Sky country.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We are so fortunate to have such a great ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We are so fortunate to have such a great little place in Billings. Everything was great. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

YummY!!!! Great recommendations from ou ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

YummY!!!!

Great recommendations from our waiter!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter knew the food he has cooked it hi ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Waiter knew the food he has cooked it himself but he was more like a owner of an up-and-comming place then just an employee. Food was original and it was great to see all the chef's instead of secret microwave technicians. Had an awesome time on our anniversary! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and friendly staff

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service was great. Very welcom ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was great. Very welcoming, nice quiet atmosphere. Will be back and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the chicken skins, wasabi peas (w ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had the chicken skins, wasabi peas (which were so good we nearly fought over them), and the cheese plate, for a pre-drinks tapas meal. It was excellent, and we would go again. Please note, that the restaurant is small, and if you need a table for more than four it might be difficult. But THANK YOU for not having high tops!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was unique and tasty. This was ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was unique and tasty. This was our first dining experience at Lilac and we were pleasantly surprised! There were 3 of us and we ordered several different things and shared them so we could get a feel for the menu. It was an excellent choice -- gave us a great variety and WAYYY too much food!!! The service was outstanding and the waiter made excellent recommendations. It may have been our first time there but certainly won't be our last. Really want to try the Sunday brunch!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No wonder its voted best restuarant

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

No wonder its voted best restuarant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared the dishes which I highly reco ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We shared the dishes which I highly recommend, so we were able to taste many dishes. Lovely desserts, so save room for them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Lilac - the rib ey ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great meal at Lilac - the rib eye steak special with corn accompaniment was superb. The steak even had a nice thickness to it which is so hard to find in Billings these days. If you've not tried the doughnuts and coffee you better give them a try as they are fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is an amazing restaurant! We alwa ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is an amazing restaurant! We always have a great time with great food and service. I love the "out-of-the-box" food options. We tried the beef tongue tacos and they were so amazing. I can't stop talking about them. Try it. You will love everything!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, drinks, great.

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, drinks, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Excellent brunch; BLT with fried green t ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch; BLT with fried green tomato and goat cheese is incredible! The cornmeal pancake with blueberry was as we remembered it, a must have! When available for brunch, also have the rhubarb shrub mimosa, but think fast it sells out quick!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch and mimosas with friends w ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch and mimosas with friends was fun and food was fabulous

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time my family and I ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is the second time my family and I have visited this outstanding restaurant. It is a great place that we drive through on our annual road trip from Montana to our home in Chicago, Illinois. Both times the servers have exceeded our expectations. We went out of our way to include it in our itinerary for the leg of the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

expected more. food was just fair. a b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

expected more. food was just fair. a bit overpriced for the quality. no friendly to kids at all. they dont even try. not even a booster seat in the entire place let alone a high chair. i understand they are a wine bar ambiance - but for those w/ kids who want to try new places and find good food. no effort here at all. i wont go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Lilac is amazing! Their brunch never dis ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lilac is amazing! Their brunch never disappoints and their dinner follows suit. I would highly recommend the braised ribs paired with the secret squirrel cabrenet, or you can never go wrong with any of the specials they have. They were out of a particular champagne we ordered, but our waitress was very apologetic, and could not have been more helpful in selecting a different bottle. Lilac is perfect for anyone who enjoys a great meal accompanied by wonderful service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal. Service could no ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Another wonderful meal. Service could not be beat. One of our favorites for a reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lilac is without question the best resta ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lilac is without question the best restaurant in Billings. My wife and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner here last week. We tried 5 different played, each one better than the next!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food at Lilac. We went to br ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always good food at Lilac. We went to brunch. Excellent zucchini French toast and meat free tostada.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ourwaitress & all other staff were outst ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ourwaitress & all other staff were outstanding! Iam a coffee guzzler & wastotally takencare of with noresentment or delays. Mygrandson of age9 waspleased aswell as the hunking guys & pregnant s9n-to-be moms.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we don't go out often but Lilac is one o ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

we don't go out often but Lilac is one of our top picks. we over ordered - soup was amazing - ended up taking half of 2 dishes home and they were spectacular the next day. glad you are serving revel roasted coffee beans - wonderful and local roaster. couldn't do dessert because dinner was so fine. be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and top quality service a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious food and top quality service at a good price. Try it - You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.