Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Lilac

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Authentic (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Romantic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food is always creative and excellent. Wish they would put in some acoustic controls. One loud party makes everyone else get louder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

i love lilac...food is always spectatular...service is sketchy not because they don't try but there does not seem to be a system in place...a very knowledgeable front end manager would make the place perfecto...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The sole reason why we gave Lilac a 4 on the category "food" instead of a 5 was because the gnocci on the lamb shank was hard on the outside and dried out on the inside. Otherwise, great food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The menu was very different and we were excited to try the food but the food was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Best dinner in Billings! We had the salmon special and beef, every bite was amazing. As was the sticky toffee pudding and earl grey ice cream!! I will be back every time I visit!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Made reservation at Lilac on a friend's recommendation. Awesome place for brunch on a Sunday morning. The Poutine special was phenomenal. My wife had the cinnamon babka french toast. She enjoyed it quite a bit. I highly recommend this little gem for a romantic brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Went to Lilac on a Saturday night, again the food was superb, service was perfect, it is always a great lively environment, and great local artwork on the walls. Chef Jeremy personally came to talk to us about his local garden and tonight's creations. Wine list is very well-stocked, so ask for recommendations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was great and inventive as always, but the server, though friendly, was inattentive and led a very slow experience full of heads looking for a possible visit to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I wanted to take my sister and her daughter to a really nice place for brunch. Someone had suggested Lilac and I am so glad they did. From the time we arrived we were spoiled with great service, mimosa's and wonderful food. We will be back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our first visit to Lilac after a recommendation from a neighbor. Quaint restaurant, with good lighting and acoustics. Service was excellent and timely.
We shared a garden salad that had fresh ingredients. It tasted as if everything was just picked before serving.
I had the special; swordfish, which was prepared with a tasty sauce, but didn't overwhelm the dish. She had their signature braised short ribs. A flavor that's hard to describe (I ate half). The ribs made their own sauce in a dish with gnocchi. One of the best dishes we've ever tasted. Highly recommend.
And affordable pricing, with only the special reaching $30.
We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Fantastic food - annoying server, disrupted our conversations way too often just to make small talk.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We were visiting Billings for the night on a cross country road trip. We were so happy to find Lilac. Food was wonderful, atmosphere was fantastic, and our server Christie was superb... nicest server we've had in a long time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food is exquisite and beautifully prepared. The service was also top notch. We live out of town and Lilac is well worth the road trip for a romantic meal!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fabulous dinner. You must try the jicama tacos as an appetizer, then the pork belly with Brussels sprouts. Thanks again Jeremy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

On our way from Denver to Whitefish, we're happy to know that Lilac is in Billings, always our half-way stop. The food is delicious, and the service is gracious, welcoming. Sitting at the bar so that we could split dishes, we started with bubbles and the bone marrow custard. It was rich and a perfect complement to the wine. Then we had the endive and roasted beet salad with supremes of mandarin citrus, a great blend of sweet, salt, acid and crunch that was a nice contrast to the richness of the custard. We finished with halibut served on a bed of Montana lentils with sautéed sprouts paired with Pinot Noir. Dandelion is proud of sourcing local products, and its kitchen is not only skillful but also inventive. We will be back for both food and hospitality. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We love having Sunday brunch at Lilac. Took a friend and her husband to celebrate her 50th birthday. Was a fabulous meal and a fun celebration with friends. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was really disappointed with our visit to Lilac, considering all of the hype I've heard about the chef and the use of local ingredients. The food was generic and my dish was so salty I didn't eat more than three bites. The service wasn't terrible, but our server was very awkward and made us feel pretty uncomfortable. Maybe they were having an off night, but I would not recommend Lilac, especially not for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Lilac has a creative menu, good list of beers and wines, and the dining room is intimate. It was a gem among the Billings fare.

We ordered the swordfish special and bucatini ratatouille. The swordfish was seared, cooked medium, deliciously seasoned, served on fried potato slices and asparagus sauce that hinted slightly of goat cheese. Altogether very tasty, portioned appropriately, and presented well. Wife's bucatini was cooked perfectly with a delicious mixture of vegetables, also seasoned well. The food was outstanding.

However, the service was inattentive and awkward. The lowlight was seeing the server sit with the neighboring table while we waited for our entrees, only to be asked to reorder our entrees. Saying, "You're beautiful," to the appetizer after a moment of silent gazing, being unable to indicate the appetizers versus entrees on the menu, and seeing another neighboring table's scraps taken and returned boxed after our scraps are taken but before our scraps were returned were par for the evening.

I'm bummed because I really liked the food, but it can't justify the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for Mother's Day with my wife. We are from out of town and have always loved this joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food. Wait staff knows menu inside out. A little bit on the loud side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great! Great food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Birthday dinner. Great food. A bit pricey but probably the best in Billings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was excellent. It was a very fun evening with my daughter. I liked the different menu, not the same old thing. Dessert was different and very tasty

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food in a cool setting. May I recommend the pineapple basil mimosa?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dinner was fabulous!!!! Great service and wine!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brunch was great. A variety of food for the whole family. Service was prompt.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The restaurant was in walking distance from our hotel. It was recommended by friends who live here. The menu was unique and was limited in choices. The waitress was friendly and the bartender was very knowledgable about the wine pairings. Does not have a full bar offering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very cute little restaurant great for a weekend brunch with friends! Delicious mimosas!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Must try. Wonderful food every time. Great service.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My dad was in town, so my wife and I took him to our favorite restaurant: Lilac! The menu is modern, creative and seasonal. The stalwarts (shortrib) are always good to fall back on if making tough decisions isn't your thing. Great place for a date or to have a nice dinner out with friends. Great wine, beer, food, and location. Great for walking around before or after.

There's not really a bar to grab a drink at before/after, but the distillery is just a block away and there is a good brewery across the street.

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Lilac is always n enjoyable experience and is consistently outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Quite delightful! Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Well prepared, creative dishes. My salad of Belgian endive sprinkled with chili powder and anchovy vinaigrette was truly unique and delicious. A real find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Really enjoyed the menu variations. We had a lentil Arancini starter, it was unique and tasty. Main course of duck was excellent and prepared perfectly to medium rare, the pork steak was also great. Chef Jeremy is doing an excellent job with creativity and flavor profiles.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food is incredible! Love this place! Favorite restaurant in Billings😃

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We very much enjoyed our Sunday brunch with family. The selections are always interesting and delicious. Everything from the standard breakfast fare to adventurous choices we would most likely never be creative enough to make at home. Great, friendly, prompt service. Food is wonderful! Delicious and creative and delightful - I recommend Lilac wholeheartedly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lilac is a wonderful restaurant. We had a group of six there for my birthday. The food and the wine were great. The service was good too. I had the duck breast - it was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

After one hour, the waitress admitted to us that she forgot to put our order in (despite a few trips to our table earlier saying our food was almost up). I would have given a lower rating, but the waitress compensated our entire meal without prompting. I do feel like that was more than fair because this is one of the more expensive restaurants in town and you expect a certain level of service for the price. The fries were really good and our entrees were pretty good. Hard to say if we'd return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great place, everything was cooked to perfection. Thanks to the crew ands chefs

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Amazing service, great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was soooo good. I thought it might be eclectic, weird, girl food but my husband had a steak and it was one of the best ever! :) The mussels were awesome and the braised short rib with homemade gnocchi melted in your mouth. YUM!!:)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.