About Lilac

Lilac offers fine dining in a casual setting in the historical downtown Billings area. The restaurant is open Tuesday through Saturday evenings from 5pm to close. Our small seasonal menu changes frequently, with everything made fresh in house.

2515 Montana Ave
Billings, MT 59101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
25th. St N

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 969-4959

Website:
http://www.lilacmt.com/

Executive Chef:
Jeremy Engebretson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Lilac Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vegan (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 19 hours ago

Amazing service, great food and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was soooo good. I thought it might be eclectic, weird, girl food but my husband had a steak and it was one of the best ever! :) The mussels were awesome and the braised short rib with homemade gnocchi melted in your mouth. YUM!!:)

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined 7 days ago

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the Lilac. Our server was awesome and the food was delicious!

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dinner was great. They were out of the beef special. We split the pork and the flavor was fantastic. The appetizers were also great. I loved the dishes...they were fresh and unique with great flavor. I definitely would go again. Only wish was that the pork had a few more greens.

The wine was great too!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been to Lilac several times but my companion had not been. We both loved it and he said we will be back. That was Friday and on Saturday I took another friend for the first time and she loved it too. Always something different on the menu but the fries and sticky pudding remain staples as they should.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This restaurant is definitely on my "Things I miss about living in Billings" list. The menu is unique, delicious and changes regularly so you always have the option to try new things. The staff has always been helpful and friendly every time we've been in. The atmosphere is great for an intimate dinner or an outing with friends. It can be quite loud at times as other diners are usually there laughing and participating in animated conversation. You definitely want to make a reservation. We always use the open table app.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

While I've been impressed with every meal I've had at Lilac, this time I was blown away!! Everything was SO DELICIOUS!! We had a super great waitress and the wine was awesome. We ended up staying there for 3 hours without realizing the time and no one said a word - we felt completely welcome!! Bravo and BRAVA to the whole staff!! What a treat!

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Really great food- not the hottest once it reached the table, but is also a cold day, etc. Great service, atmosphere, menu. Love Lilac for brunch!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had a great dining experience; lot of taste flavors and was excellent

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Amazingly delicious food in a cozy environment. The steak was to die for as we're the triple fried French fries. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was there for a NYE dinner date with my lovely GF. Was not disappointed. I have heard from numerous people around Billings that this place is amazing. It lived up to the hype. The cook even came over to ask how was everything and was very friendly. We even had ties to his days in Missoula. Great place. Well recommended and will recommend to others. I'll be back again soon. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Historic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is simply the best place!! We took a table of 8 friends here for New Year's Eve and the service was amazing, the food was to die for and all of our friends had a great experience. Our waitress, Michelle, was knowledgeable and nice. Also, one thing I LOVE about Lilac is that it seems really team-oriented - meaning that, while Michelle was our waitress, the rest of the staff was constantly attending to our table and I think that's pretty cool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a pleasant experience and excellent cuisine

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food as always was lovely. Service was the best. Sticky toffee pudding is my favorite dessert and well worth the calories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Okay...so it was amazing!...I couldn't decide what to order. ...so I ordered 2 things! Best biscuits & gravy (EVER!!). And the breakfast tacos...whoa!!!!

Just go hungry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative and delicious food. A small plate type menu so we could try more than one large plate of the same thing.

The beer and wine selections are local And creative as well. We have paid more at fancy restaurants and not. Even as impressed with the quality.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My Husband and I came in and enjoyed a belated Thanksgiving dinner together and it was wonderful. Friendly, prompt service, excellent food, an overall great package. We look forward to coming in again!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Organic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It's always fun to see friends at Lilac! The service is great. I know vegan options are available with advance notice, would like to see more vegan on the regular menu. Thanks!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Lilac is in our favorite place to eat in Billings. The food is excellent. Jeremy is a tremendously talented and creative chef. He rotates his menu to capture the best of what is available. His dishes are thoughtful, creative, delicious and memorable. We highly, highly recommend Lilac and look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Family Style, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was first visit and it was well worth it. (My boyfriend has been multiple times) The beef tongue tacos were my favorite! If I'm ever back in Billings, I will dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 12, 2016

An excellent meal with very creative cuisine. Meal portions are not too big so plan on having dessert. A great overall dining experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was excellent and the service equaled that. this is by far my favorite downtown restaurant in Billings for dinner.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Lilac is my favorite restaurant in town. Although a bit pricey, the food is creative and always delicious. There tea infused salad is to die for! And I will always recommend their sticky toffee pudding and earl gray ice cream for dessert. My only complaint is that it can be noisy on busy Friday and Saturday nights. The service is always exceptional, though.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I always enjoy the unique selections on the menu. The food is delicious. Lilac is a lovely restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Lilac is one of my favorite restaurants in Billings. They always have something a little different on the menu. Flavor profiles are exceptional. My only complaint is that the desserts were pretty skimpy for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The staff are wonderful, very polite, and well informed of the meals. The waiter complimented my girl friend's hair which was in my opinion. Definitely an awesome place to go to. Highly recommend the swordfish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Major gastronomical gratification. We always enjoy Chef Engebretson's creativity and use of fresh local ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our food was very nicely prepared -- we had the zucchini-stuffed chicken, which was tender and delicious. We both liked it well enough to go back sometime (we live 75 miles away) but we also both wished there were a few more menu choices in terms of entrees and desserts. We understand that a lot of the farm-to-table restaurants like this one have somewhat abbreviated menus.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Creative preparation of dishes. Great use of local ingredients. Excellent service. Will definitely return on our next trip to Billings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is consistently good and the service is as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The menu specials featured unusual combinations of ingredients that ended up being fantastic together. What I got was as an entree was superb. I will never forget the dessert--- fennel apple crisp with buttermilk ice cream!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on October 5, 2016

All I can say is that everything about this meal was fantastic! From the friendly service, the laid back yet trendy atmosphere and the scrumptious tasting food. Thanks for the best yumminess!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I've dined here twice in the past year on visits to Billings. Menu items are fresh, creative, and healthy. Most recently, the halibut, poblano ravioli, and celeriac were great, tea infused salad was refreshing, good wine selection. The staff is friendly and efficient. A real gem in Big Sky country.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We are so fortunate to have such a great little place in Billings. Everything was great. Will definitely return!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

YummY!!!!

Great recommendations from our waiter!!!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Waiter knew the food he has cooked it himself but he was more like a owner of an up-and-comming place then just an employee. Food was original and it was great to see all the chef's instead of secret microwave technicians. Had an awesome time on our anniversary! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good food and friendly staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food and service was great. Very welcoming, nice quiet atmosphere. Will be back and recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was unique and tasty. This was our first dining experience at Lilac and we were pleasantly surprised! There were 3 of us and we ordered several different things and shared them so we could get a feel for the menu. It was an excellent choice -- gave us a great variety and WAYYY too much food!!! The service was outstanding and the waiter made excellent recommendations. It may have been our first time there but certainly won't be our last. Really want to try the Sunday brunch!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had the chicken skins, wasabi peas (which were so good we nearly fought over them), and the cheese plate, for a pre-drinks tapas meal. It was excellent, and we would go again. Please note, that the restaurant is small, and if you need a table for more than four it might be difficult. But THANK YOU for not having high tops!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

No wonder its voted best restuarant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We shared the dishes which I highly recommend, so we were able to taste many dishes. Lovely desserts, so save room for them.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is an amazing restaurant! We always have a great time with great food and service. I love the "out-of-the-box" food options. We tried the beef tongue tacos and they were so amazing. I can't stop talking about them. Try it. You will love everything!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another great meal at Lilac - the rib eye steak special with corn accompaniment was superb. The steak even had a nice thickness to it which is so hard to find in Billings these days. If you've not tried the doughnuts and coffee you better give them a try as they are fantastic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was great, drinks, great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent brunch; BLT with fried green tomato and goat cheese is incredible! The cornmeal pancake with blueberry was as we remembered it, a must have! When available for brunch, also have the rhubarb shrub mimosa, but think fast it sells out quick!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday brunch and mimosas with friends was fun and food was fabulous

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is the second time my family and I have visited this outstanding restaurant. It is a great place that we drive through on our annual road trip from Montana to our home in Chicago, Illinois. Both times the servers have exceeded our expectations. We went out of our way to include it in our itinerary for the leg of the trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

expected more. food was just fair. a bit overpriced for the quality. no friendly to kids at all. they dont even try. not even a booster seat in the entire place let alone a high chair. i understand they are a wine bar ambiance - but for those w/ kids who want to try new places and find good food. no effort here at all. i wont go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lilac is amazing! Their brunch never disappoints and their dinner follows suit. I would highly recommend the braised ribs paired with the secret squirrel cabrenet, or you can never go wrong with any of the specials they have. They were out of a particular champagne we ordered, but our waitress was very apologetic, and could not have been more helpful in selecting a different bottle. Lilac is perfect for anyone who enjoys a great meal accompanied by wonderful service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.