About Lightburn's - Stonewall Resort

940 Resort Drive
Roanoke, WV 26447
View Larger Map

At our impeccable lounge, enjoy a casual dinner with colleagues surrounded by shimmering lake vistas. Located in the clubhouse of The Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Course, Lightburn's light gourmet menu will suit even the most scrutinizing of tastes. Enjoy appetizers, salads, soups, and more indoors or outside. Take a seat on the outdoor deck for a panoramic view of the golf course, lake, lodge and 1,900-acre state park. Open April through October.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Daily: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 269-8894

Website:
http://www.stonewallresort.com/dining/lightburns.asp

Executive Chef:
Paco Aceves

Private Party Facilities:
Lightburns Restaurant is available for private parties when applicable.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Steffich: 3042698830

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lightburn's - Stonewall Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

scenic view (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
romantic (4)
See All
special occasion (4)
good for groups (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The waitress was more interested in help ...

Dined 4 days ago

The waitress was more interested in helping other customers who obviously had more money than our table. They had the same amount of people but were obviously well to do. I am disappointed that we were treated that way, we left a decent tip, but honestly did not want to leave anything.

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed in food, but effort was there

Dined on October 10, 2015

First, even though our reservation request noted a special occasion and asked for a table (for 2) with a decent view, when we arrived (5 minutes early), we were originally given a table in the middle of the open floor, with no view. After pointing out that there was a table open, by the window (for 2), we were told that was reserved. I kindly pointed out that we may be the ones who requested it. A manager got involved and easily made the switch. As for the dinner, the appetizers and salads were very good. However, the pork chop entree was completely overcooked and very difficult to even cut. We were asked about it, and just said we'd make do with how it was. The manager apologized and asked if we wanted a different entree, but we didn't want to take the time, so just passed. They ended up not charging for that entree, which was nice. The other entree, filet and shrimp was OK. The filet was prepared very nicely, but the shrimp were extremely small and a bit overseasoned. Not the normal size you'd expect as part of a combo platter like that. Ambiance was nice, and view was great. Very open dining with not a lot of privacy, but not too loud overall. Probably a better place for a good lunch or something.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointing Dinner

Dined on August 29, 2015

This was our second visit to Lightburn's, both times for our anniversary. The spinach artichoke dip could have been creamier and the parmesan crostini was not crispy. I had the mahi mahi, which was dry & over-cooked. My husband had the t-bone with baked potato. The t-bone had quite a lot of fat and the baked potato was overdone. The restaurant did not feel crowded, even though most tables were full; it's very spacious. The views of the resort are spectacular and there's always deer wandering in the meadows.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Friday night relaxation!

Dined on August 21, 2015

Ambiance perfect after a long hard week at work. Relaxing atmosphere, golf course and lake view. Lots of entertaining wildlife and this week a vocalist to sing to his audience. Food good, service excellent. A favorite that will draw us back for future meals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2

VERY DISAPPOINTED! !

Dined on August 8, 2015

My husband and I were so disappointed in this resteraunt! We heard it was supposed to be so good!!!! The resteraunt was not crowded when we got there and that should have been our first signal, considering the resort was booked solid! We ordered our appetizer of deviled eggs and chilled shrimp. The waitress came out and apologized that they got the hard boiled eggs out and they were slimy and should not be served to anyone!! That should have been my 2nd signal!! My husband ordered the shrimp scampi and I ordered the delmonico steak with the salt crusted baked potatoe. I think they forgot to cook his pasta and brought it out to him!!! The shrimp was the same exact taste as the chilled shrimp! !!! Hmmm!!! My steak was like something you would order from some of your chains that serve breakfast and salad buffets!!! As far as salt crusted baked potato, I think they forgot to do that!!!!! They did take off the price for the appetizers, so they knew it wasn't right! As far as our meals, we both maybe finished 1/4 of it and just said we were finished! !!!! It was very disappointing considering we heard it was so good!!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Am I dining in DC ?

Dined on August 3, 2015

Here on vacation. Food, service, wine and view were fabulous. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, portions are large enough to share.

Dined on June 16, 2015

Great food, portions are large enough to share, or take home the left overs for tomorrow. We ate on the deck, some of the tables are not under the roof overhang so if it rains, pick your table.... Waitress was great and attentive, salmon and asparagus was delicious. Berry Fruit tart a la mode was good too though not on the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice Mother's Day meal

Dined on May 10, 2015

We asked to be seated by the window and tables were rearranged to accommodate our party. We requested an appetizer that was not on the lunch menu and our server, Velvet, spoke with the chef and they graciously honored our request. Very good food, service and scenery.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Casual and Friendly

Dined on May 1, 2015

This is a good place for a casual lunch or dinner while overlooking the golf course and scenic Stonewall Jackson Lake. The menu is limited but original; it has something for everyone. We have dined here many times and have never been disappointed with the food or service. Eat inside or out. The view is superb either place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2

Can't recommend at this time.

Dined on April 25, 2015

I love Stonewall and would like to see this restaurant improve it's service and food quality. They appeared to be short staffed and the steaks were getting returned as fast as they were coming out. Pasta was undercooked as well. The view is amazing and the place has a lot of potential.

food2
ambience4
service4

Go to the resort, poor food

Dined on October 24, 2014

Great resort, poor food. The buffet is cheap, but worth even less. Under staffed, cooks who don't like the public, and cold food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and entertainment

Dined on October 18, 2014

Food and entertainment was excellent. I wish you never closed.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3

Disappointing; fairly resolved

Dined on September 12, 2014

We traveled to Stonewall resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary for the weekend. It was suggested that we go to Lightburn's for a celebratory dinner. The view was amazing! I did have to request that the lights be dimmed as they were on high like in a fast food restaurant. The service was fine; the dinner not so much. It was served partially cold. When we requested it to be warmed then the other part of the meal was returned cold. When mentioned to the management the following day, our discussion was cordial and addressed very professionally. We are appreciative of the manager's efforts to correct the situation. (Heather). PS: lunch was fabulous!

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

very nice!

Dined on August 23, 2014

We have been to Lightburn's several times in the last few years. This time we treated all of our children and their spouses. We completed the online reservation, althought the staff seemed as thought they were not expecting us. They seated us fairly quickly and all were impressed with the breathtaking view. I must say I do miss the Smoked Gouda Fettucine which has not been on the menu for some time. The food was wonderful as always and it was a very pleasant experience, thank you so much!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner up on the hill

Dined on July 30, 2014

The food, atmosphere, and view were all excellent. The crab cake sandwich I had was wonderful. My daughter had some special requests to switch out the side dishes to a soup and salad from the pasta salad & chips and they were happy to fulfill the request. The view was fantastic - it rained while we were there so we actually got a few nice pictures of a beautiful rainbow from the balcony. We finished with the Espresso Cream Brulee (yes, that's how it's spelled) - which was well worth the calories!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Closed for private party

Dined on May 2, 2014

I think you should make sure there is no available reservations when you have a private party booked. I made reservations only to be called to tell me you were having a private party.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

Less than average

Dined on August 23, 2013

Food at the main restaurant at Stonewall (Stillwaters) is always excellent. However, the golf club restaurant (Lightburns) has a long way to go to catch up. The view is great. The food at dinner is not. Appetizers appeared to be out of a bag, bottle, freezer, or can. Pasta dishes were lacking in flavor. Salads were unoriginal and appeared to be pre packaged. Expensive dinner definitely not worth the price. Would not recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Lightburns

Dined on July 16, 2013

Very friendly service, excellent food at a good price. Amazing view.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Definately worth a trip up the hill

Dined on October 14, 2011

We chose Lightburns (2 out of 3 nights) over the more popular Stillwaters hoping it would be less crowded. As it turned out, there were large parties each night. Wile enjoying a drink at the bar, we decided to eat there because our bartender, Eli, was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed talking to him so much that we dined at the bar the next night as well. The food was well prepared and delicious. Serving sizes were more than expected. My 12oz steak had to be at least 16oz and was done to perfection. Our only suggestion is that we would like to see a more extensive selection of entrees. I believe there were only about a half dozen choices and the menu has not changed in a few years.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

We love the outdoor seating

Dined on September 3, 2011

We love the outdoor seating (and optional indoor window side seating) to enjoy the view while having a relaxed, leisurely dinner. Portions here are large enough for my husband and I to share so that we can sample an appetizer, salad & main course. All were deliciously prepared and our server was attentive to our needs. We will definitely return each time we are in the area--and the restaurant is open(seasonal).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

We stayed at the resort and

Dined on July 16, 2011

We stayed at the resort and definitely enjoyed both restaurants. Lightburn's had a more laid back menu, but had a fantastic view of the mountains and lake. The fried green tomato appetizer was probably my favorite, but my wife said the half chicken was great, but a little much in size. I had the Jambalaya and enjoyed it, but the rice seemed undercooked and the sausage was fairly bland. Overall, a nice place to relax and enjoy the view and have a descent meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.