About Lidia's Pittsburgh

1400 Smallman Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Lidia's Italy is owned by the author, television personality and world renown Chef Lidia Bastianich. Located in The Strip, Lidia's offers an inviting menu made fresh daily from all natural ingredients. We offer food and menus to match every palate. A complete wine selection is available by the bottle or glass.

We offer one of the finest brunches in Pittsburgh on Saturday and Sunday.

For your social or business meeting, we offer Lidia's loft. Designed to ensure privacy, yet offering a view of the main dining room to allow you to enjoy the ambience of the restaurant.

The private loft may seat up to 80 guests, or may be divided for smaller groups. A variety of private dining menus are available, for lunch, dinner, brunch, and receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 552-0150

Website:
http://www.lidias-pittsburgh.com/

Parking Details:
We offer on valet and public parking. Street parking is also available near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Neely

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating the Release of her
New Book, Lidia’s Egg-Citing Farm Adventure.”

Lidia’s Pittsburgh
March 18, 2015
5:00-9:00 PM

$50 per person
$30 optional wine pairing

Antipasti

Fritatta with Sausage and Peppers
Rice and Zucchini Crostata
Asparagus, Scallion and Egg Salad
Celery and Mozzarella Salad
Pork Tenderloin in Tonnato Sauce

Bastianich “Flor” Prosecco NV

Pasta


Ravioli Gnudi with Sage Butter

Rigatoni all'Amatriciana

La Mozza “I Perazzi” Morellino di Scansano 2013


Secondi

Chicken and Mushroom Gratinate with Braised Swiss-chard and Cannellini Beans

Bastianich Vespa Rosso 2011

Dolce

Zabaglione with Roasted Fruit
Ricotta Cookies

Lidia’s House Infused Fig Grappa




Restaurant Photos

Braised Beef Short Rib with Mashed Potatoes
Cannelones
Burata with broccoli rabe and focaccia
Osso Bucco Di Maiale, Pork Shank With Barley Risotto
Sauted Chicken Livers With Polenta And Fried Onions
Pollo Alla Ca
Penne With Butternut Squash
Cookie Plate
Caesar Salad
Linguini With Calamari, Cherry Tomatoes And Pesto
Bruschetta
Fritto Misto
Gnocci Gorgonzola
Pollo al Limone
Roasted Red And Golden Beets
Arugula, Walnut, Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
Scallops
Pork Osso Bucco
Porchetta Appetizer
Salmon Club
Butternut squash ravioli
Grilled Octopus
Trio Pasta

Private Dining

Lidia's loft can accommodate groups of up to 80 guests. Whether you are looking for a social function or a business meeting, the loft overlooks the main dining room has been designed to privacy while still enjoying the ambience of the entire restaurant. Restaurant also available for buyouts.

Lidia's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (129)
fit for foodies (105)
good for groups (98)
See All
great for lunch (52)
romantic (48)
neighborhood gem (47)
great for brunch (43)
notable wine list (42)
kid-friendly (24)
hot spot (17)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is outstanding. And everyone is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 2 days ago

Service is outstanding. And everyone is so friendly. Pasta trio:can't go wrong! Limoncello tiramisu - yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find. I came back and looked up th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great find. I came back and looked up the New York restaurants that Lidia owns. We travel there frequently and will definitely visit the other locations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had such a dichotomy in one ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have never had such a dichotomy in one restaurant. The food was excellent. The bus boy and host were fabulous. Liz, our waitress, however, was the worst service worker I have ever suffered through. She was inattentive to the point that we had to ask other waitstaff to do her job. The restaurant was only a quarter filled and all of the other waiter/waitresses appeared to be engaging and attentive. This was my wife's birthday and a special night was ruined by Liz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Went for Sunday Brunch. Service was very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Sunday Brunch. Service was very good. Made very nice accommodations for two of our guests with gluten allergies. Food was a little over cooked, especially the eggs which were to be soft cooked but were hard in the centers. Salad table had a nice selection. Dessert table had fruit flies swarming around.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Authentic Italian! We stopped in for bru ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Authentic Italian! We stopped in for brunch, our server was Kody and she was a doll! Friendly and knew that menu like the back of her hand. One of the best servers we have had at any dining establishment. Now to the brunch, the food was simply amazing. Homemade noodles, the manicotti is rich and the portions are huge. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved going there for brunch. Food was g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved going there for brunch. Food was great, as was the service.

The only thing that bothered me was at the table they sat us at - the wall had

food stains on it. ( right by the door you come ). Needs some cleaning.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Lidias in Pittsburgh is one of the top ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lidias in Pittsburgh is one of the top 10 restaurants that I have ever dined at. Their weekend brunches are extraordinary. Antipasto buffet cannot be topped.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wait staff was very prompt and responsiv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wait staff was very prompt and responsive to our requests. Salmon has been wonderful in the past and did not disappoint this night. Risotto with shrimp was good but not very impressive. Manicotti and meatballs were very good; portions were quite large. We loved the bread and spreads served prior to the meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed wonderful meal with friend du ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We enjoyed wonderful meal with friend during. Recent convention.

Pasta wonderful (tasting and tenn all you could eat) . Pork oaso buuco outstanding. Service great!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went as part of a large party. Service w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went as part of a large party. Service was a little slow to start...waited a while for water and the wine list. Picked up during the meal, but slowed down at the end and took forever to get the check.

Food was excellent. Most in our party ordered the pasta trio and no one was disappointed. Chicken and seafood dishes were also delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was just OKAY. I did not leave there ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was just OKAY. I did not leave there feeling like I would definitely need to return. Food was good not great. ( We ordered seared duck, salmone and osso bucco.) My son loved his lasagna. Our waiter was mildly pretentious (or perhaps insecure in the best ways to order at Lidia's.) He had his memorized list of descriptive words and rattled them off in record time. So many words and adjectives but not good information that could be processed as he spoke. When we asked questions to describe things, he (mildly annoyed) said the same memorized list. Not very helpful. But on the positive note, his service was very good. We ordered Lemon cello tiramisu and it was delightful. Nothing was bad, it was good, just not very good or great. So I guess that I would say "it was just OKAY." In a competitive market, there are better restaurants available in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We were travelling from Harriburg to Cle ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were travelling from Harriburg to Cleveland and stopped through Pgh. just to eat at Lidia's. We love the show, and the food was fabulous. We each chose the pasta trio, and loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were the only two people at the bar a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were the only two people at the bar and service was lacking. Food in dining room was good. Had the pasta trio but was difficult to get refill as service was lacking. The pasta was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Came in from the airport for dinner. Pas ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Came in from the airport for dinner. Pastas were great, specials were ok. Great salads. Wine list (glass) could have better reds. Drinks were great. Worth the 100$ plus round trip fr airport though. Enjoyed it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have food allergies and both the maitr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I have food allergies and both the maitre d' and my waitress checked and rechecked my orders for any food allergies. I have been watching Lidia on TV for years and couldn't visit Pittsburgh without dining at the restaurant. Everyone was so nice. Loved the décor and privacy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I visited Lidia's on our v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I visited Lidia's on our vacation. We watch her on PBS daily and fell in love with her and her simple pasta dishes. I now experiment making simple pasta dishes and my family loves them. We love grandma coming to the table at the end of each episode to taste test. She is a spitting image of my Italian grandma. We would recommend Lidia's kitchen to everyone. Thank you for the great dining experience

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! My parents were visiting ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food! My parents were visiting from New York, we ordered the pasta trio it was excellent and it is as much is you can eat. We are not big eaters so the price 22.00 a person for one plate of pasta was a bit high but definitely worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Variety in the appetizer and the dessert ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Variety in the appetizer and the dessert buffet has markedly diminished since our last visit several years ago while the price of the buffet has increased. The sangria was watered down didn't taste like sangria. Bellini would have been better but that is not offered anymore. The Sunday buffet that we went to did not have too many people eating there. Does that say something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went for a special brunch with out-of-to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went for a special brunch with out-of-town guests. Great food. Great service. Delightful experience. Terrific value!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were very disappointed with our dinin ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were very disappointed with our dining experience at Lidia's. Inattentive service, and lackluster food. The two hallmarks of a great dining experience were missing! I think they were understaffed and did not have enough help to handle the big Saturday night crowd. I found the trio of signature pastas to be very underwhelming. The manicotti was good.

I had been looking forward to the dining experience, but it did not deliver. Lidia's is of our Pittsburgh list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was our first visit and we enjoyed it ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was our first visit and we enjoyed it very much

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Lidia's many times in th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have been to Lidia's many times in the past. The past couple of times we were disappointed in the quality of the food and service. Lidia's Pittsburgh, you turned it around! The food was fabulous, the service was excellent!!!! The antipasto bar was to die for! Good job!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great brunch everone was very friendly. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great brunch everone was very friendly. We traveled from Columbus Oh it was great time. We love Lidia's.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I love everything about Lidia's. This ex ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I love everything about Lidia's. This experience and the selection of food was perfect for our five year anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a bit chilly in the restaurant b ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a bit chilly in the restaurant but otherwise very enjoyable. Valet didn't bother to open passenger door which I thought was rude for the stiff valet price ($7). Food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was VERY slow. We were ther ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was VERY slow. We were there for 45 minutes before we got drinks, and even longer before bread was brought to the table. The food was ok, but it certainly wasn't what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I have been to Lidia's many times. On t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I have been to Lidia's many times.

On this last occasion, the service was really bad.

Food was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

ALWAYS EXCELLENT....THANKS TEAM LIDIA'S. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

ALWAYS EXCELLENT....THANKS TEAM LIDIA'S..SERVICE , FOOD PREP , WELCOME

AND WARM ATTITUDES.....!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time visit to Lidia's. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was my first time visit to Lidia's. I was not disappointed. The food and service was excellent. I will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lidia's is always suburb. Great service. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Lidia's is always suburb. Great service. Wonderful homemade pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I recently had dinner at L ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My friend and I recently had dinner at Lidia's. We loved the bread plate that was served with our wine, and we both ended up ordering the lemon chicken. The portions were very generous, and the chicken was done just right, not at all dried out. Capers added a little pop of tartness, and overall the dish was nicely done. We did feel like our server was a bit over solicitous, kind of rushing us through. We ordered dessert - a biscotti plate with ice cream and the trio of sorbet/ice cream - and received the check before we even ordered coffee, which added to the rushed feeling. However, despite that, we enjoyed our dinner and would recommend Lidia's.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Foodie-recommended for a three-generatio ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Foodie-recommended for a three-generations short stay vacation in Pittsburgh, Lidia's served up great food, hospitality and a memorable meeting with Lidia, herself - the perfect moment for my fan-mom. Authentic taste and friendly service made our one planned meal perfectly gratifying. Thank you Lidia and Lidia's!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic Italian food. Relaxed atmosphe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Authentic Italian food. Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food we thought lacked seasoning. No S&P ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food we thought lacked seasoning. No S&P on the table. The Octopus was the best dish of the evening. Odd wine glass. The service was top notch !! The menu description of the dishes has your mouth watering. The disappointment was the lack of "punch" at the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu has shrunk since last visit. Servic ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Menu has shrunk since last visit. Service was terrible, although there was only one other occupied table, we had to ask three times for butter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Nice choice for our mixed group of local ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Nice choice for our mixed group of locals and out-of-towners. Staff was very accommodating dealing with requests to change items to meet dietary needs. Entrées were very good, salads very lackluster would really recommend skipping them.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was excellent - I'm not norma ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Everything was excellent - I'm not normally a mushroom person, but the mushroom ravioli were exceptional. Unlimited pasta is a great deal and lets you try several things.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Attentive to our 2 small ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service. Attentive to our 2 small children

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food on the floor near my chair; told an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food on the floor near my chair; told an appetizer had 8-9 pieces but appetizer had 3 pieces; waiter did not speak clearly, could barely understand or hear him; waiter told me salmon was fresh caught and farm raised; food was mediocre, but potatoes and green beans passed as did fresh cold filtered water which I was told was not from the tap. I was afraid to order dessert. Did not.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.