About Lidia's Pittsburgh

1400 Smallman Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Lidia's Italy is owned by the author, television personality and world renown Chef Lidia Bastianich. Located in The Strip, Lidia's offers an inviting menu made fresh daily from all natural ingredients. We offer food and menus to match every palate. A complete wine selection is available by the bottle or glass.

We offer one of the finest brunches in Pittsburgh on Saturday and Sunday.

For your social or business meeting, we offer Lidia's loft. Designed to ensure privacy, yet offering a view of the main dining room to allow you to enjoy the ambience of the restaurant.

The private loft may seat up to 80 guests, or may be divided for smaller groups. A variety of private dining menus are available, for lunch, dinner, brunch, and receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 552-0150

Website:
http://www.lidias-pittsburgh.com/

Parking Details:
We offer on valet and public parking. Street parking is also available near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Neely

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating the Release of her
New Book, Lidia’s Egg-Citing Farm Adventure.”

Lidia’s Pittsburgh
March 18, 2015
5:00-9:00 PM

$50 per person
$30 optional wine pairing

Antipasti

Fritatta with Sausage and Peppers
Rice and Zucchini Crostata
Asparagus, Scallion and Egg Salad
Celery and Mozzarella Salad
Pork Tenderloin in Tonnato Sauce

Bastianich “Flor” Prosecco NV

Pasta


Ravioli Gnudi with Sage Butter

Rigatoni all'Amatriciana

La Mozza “I Perazzi” Morellino di Scansano 2013


Secondi

Chicken and Mushroom Gratinate with Braised Swiss-chard and Cannellini Beans

Bastianich Vespa Rosso 2011

Dolce

Zabaglione with Roasted Fruit
Ricotta Cookies

Lidia’s House Infused Fig Grappa




Restaurant Photos

Zuppa Di Pes
Costoletta
Anitra
Osso Buco
Smallmans Mule
Braised Beef Short Rib with Mashed Potatoes
Cannelones
Burata with broccoli rabe and focaccia
Osso Bucco Di Maiale, Pork Shank With Barley Risotto
Sauted Chicken Livers With Polenta And Fried Onions
Pollo Alla Ca
Fritto Misto
Caesar Salad
Penne With Butternut Squash
Linguini With Calamari, Cherry Tomatoes And Pesto
Bruschetta
Cookie Plate
Gnocci Gorgonzola
Pollo al Limone
Roasted Red And Golden Beets
Arugula, Walnut, Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
Scallops
Pork Osso Bucco
Porchetta Appetizer
Salmon Club
Butternut squash ravioli
Trio Pasta
Grilled Octopus

Private Dining

Lidia's loft can accommodate groups of up to 80 guests. Whether you are looking for a social function or a business meeting, the loft overlooks the main dining room has been designed to privacy while still enjoying the ambience of the entire restaurant. Restaurant also available for buyouts.

Lidia's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (127)
Fit for Foodies (99)
Good for Groups (85)
See All
Romantic (47)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Notable Wine List (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Kid-friendly (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Three of the five in our party were ther ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

Three of the five in our party were there for the first time and we knew it would be a favorite of theirs as it is for the two repeat diners. We were right. Can't wait to go back.

Quality is outstanding and service friendly and knowledgeable. Will always recommend Lidia's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic meal! I can't say ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic meal! I can't say enough good about this place. The service was terrific, the food was great. Save the long flight to Italy, just go to Lidia's.

Tags: Fireplace, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place for a casual dinner. Service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice place for a casual dinner. Service wasn't as great this time but overall a good experience and meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing special. Had visited the KC res ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nothing special. Had visited the KC restaurant several years ago and was looking forward to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was spot on, the visit did no ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Everything was spot on, the visit did not disappoint. It was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the whole experience except for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Enjoyed the whole experience except for the tiny gnats near our table. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lasagna, Oso Bucco were both very good. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lasagna, Oso Bucco were both very good. We had hoped to try the Sunday special but by 7:30 they were all out. The service was very good. We just thought the food did come out a little slow. Dessert was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good but service was soooooo sl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was good but service was soooooo slow. It seemed like they were under staffed big time. Also, the outside needs to be sprayed with weed killer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lidia's Pittsburgh offers good Italian f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Lidia's Pittsburgh offers good Italian fare near the strip. If you are looking to be amazed and astounded, look elsewhere. Try the homemade pasta.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Everyone had a great meal. I had the bo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everyone had a great meal. I had the bone in ribeye and it was seasoned and cooked to perfection. Very reasonable wine list with regard to price as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We booked a late reservation and were no ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We booked a late reservation and were not as hungry as we would have liked to be. The food, from bread to dessert, was excellent. The decor is accented by amazing blown-glass chandeliers, but we found the restaurant to be rather loud. The senior wait staff was not as friendly as the junior wait staff, so we complimented the junior staff to the manager, who could have cared less. The only disappointment was a caramel topped custard - tasted fine, but grainy in texture. Overall experience - nice, just pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server, Liz was not in a very good m ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our server, Liz was not in a very good mood and she treated us as if we were inconveniencing her by being at Lidia's!

We asked for coffee. She served us our first cup. When we asked for a refill she brought us cold coffee. Then she disappeared , which she did for most of our meal.

Lidia's was always an upscale restaurant in our minds. That is no longer the case.

Pasta trio and our salads were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

We waited 40 minutes betweenappetizers a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We waited 40 minutes betweenappetizers and the main course....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience at Lydia Pittsburg was wo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our experience at Lydia Pittsburg was wonderful. We were visiting Pittsburg from Buffalo,ny. We were held up in traffic jam and called Lydia's because we were going to be late due to the traffic. The hostess calmed our nerves about being late and because we were so disappointed that we would have to miss our reservation she said that they would accommodate us whenever we got there. We were delighted! The server,Ashley, was knowledable about the menu and wines,all of which were great. The valet even was helpful taking our picture so we could remember our wonderful experience. We recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Pittsburg,PA.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a get away weekend for us Wife ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was a get away weekend for us Wife watches Lidia's cooking show all the time and I thought it would be nice to take her to Lidia's resturant. She was not disappointed and enjoyed the experience very much. I would definitely bring her here again. Would reccomend the resturant to friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Pittsburgh on vacation with f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were in Pittsburgh on vacation with friends. It was our first time in Pittsburgh and did not know the city or where to have dinner. Looked in the Internet for a restaurant not too far from our hotel. Coming from NY we knew of Lydia and her food. The food and service were excellent and the restaurant was decorated well. Would recommend it to anyone going to Pittsburgh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Lido as is just average. Food was ok. Se ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Lido as is just average. Food was ok. Service was not good. We waited very long for our food to arrive. The waitress never checked on us offered us more coffee. The was am mediocre dinner and with so many excellent restaurant s to choose why would you go to Lidias

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Food & service was great. Our only compl ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food & service was great. Our only complaint was it was so cold in there it was hard to enjoy the food. We mentioned it to out server, but it never got any warmer.

Our desert took a long time, so we got it free, that was VERY nice of the managers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Lidia ' s lived up to its reputation. Th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lidia ' s lived up to its reputation. This was our first visit, we plan to return! The food was amazing, great wine section. Trio of pasta, Mangia!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, our expectations on the food we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Overall, our expectations on the food were higher than the restaurant delivered. We chose the chef's pasta trio dinner and would say only one of the trio was above average. The other two were average, somewhat bland.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attentive wait staff, as usual. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very attentive wait staff, as usual. The duck was slightly overdone. The fruit flies buzzed us all thru dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Will return. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will return. Have been here many times. Love the pasta trio.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We choose to return to Lidia's after bei ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We choose to return to Lidia's after being away from Pittsburgh for 9 years since it was one of our favorites when we lived there. Best pasta ever and we love the pasta tasting menu. Service in the bar was excellent. Not so great once at our table. After 15 minutes at our table and the place was close to empty since it was early, we finally asked the bus boy if we had a waiter or not. Not what we remembered.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lydia's was a great experience! They wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lydia's was a great experience! They wished us Happy anniversary multiple times during the night. They also provided us with a cookie tray as an anniversary wish. Service was exceptional and the manager checked in with us during dinner to ensure our experience met our expectations. The meal was excellent. We had The Pasta Trio and The pork shoulder. I would recommend Lydia's to anyone!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and reasonably pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Our waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about the restaurant & menu. My only complaint was that our waiter was slow to come by to ask for our dessert & coffee order

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have wanted to eat in one of Lydia's r ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I have wanted to eat in one of Lydia's restaurant for years! It did not disappoint! The food as superb we had the house speciality of the pasta samplers. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Honestly we had high expectations and it ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Honestly we had high expectations and it was just good/ok. The meatballs were very good, that was the highlight of our meal. Expensive, we here there are better choices before you go to Lidia's. the Ceasar salad was below par, Just my honest opinon, even the locals are not impressed with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing food! The butter selections were ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing food! The butter selections were great. The unlimited trio pasta was the way to go. The desserts were incredible. The brunch buffet part was alright, with the trio and dessert being so amazing, the other food appeared to not be as good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Waitress wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent food and service! Waitress was very informative! Great anniversary night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was amazing! Good was absolut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This place was amazing! Good was absolutely delicious. Staff was great. I'm not a wine drinker, but our waitress recommended a wine I loved. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice time but there a coup ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a very nice time but there a couple of surprises. My friend's lasagna was tepid and had to be returned to the kitchen to heat through; it was returned piping hot but after a fifteen minute wait. The menu was also not as seasonally-based I would have expected. Most of the entrees seemed more suitable for fall or winter. Having said that, the Potato Gnocchi with Duck Ragu was delicious and the Butterscotch Budino was pure heaven.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The six of us travelled from Canada to d ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The six of us travelled from Canada to dine at Lydia's. We were very disappointed with the trio pasta. The linguine was over cooked, the ravioli was tasteless and the ziti was o.k. The appetizers were the best part of the meal. The waiter was very attentive and even gave us some touring tips for the city. Overall we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food. I had the trio pasta tasting ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good food. I had the trio pasta tasting with salad and dessert. I definitely left stuffed. I was a bit disappointed with the service of the food though. The pasta dish I ordered was supposed to be refilled by staff coming around with the pans but only one staff came by and our plates were cleared immediately after.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

There were fruit flies buzzing around ou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

There were fruit flies buzzing around our table and the tables beside us. Everyone was swatting at them. Our table was rocking. I hate a rocking table, that's the worst. The server said they had just moved tables around that day. They should check that they do not rock when they move tables. She fixed it. We ordered coffee after dinner and it was barely warm. Our dessert never came. Appetizers were great. The other people seemed to enjoy their entre but mine was just okay. I've had it before and it was much better. There was too much time between appetizer and dinner and one of the dinner orders was wrong. Not sure who was at fault for that one. Overall it was not the best experience I had at this restaurant. Server apologized for everything each time something new happened. Sent us home with a box of cookies. I have eaten there every time I come to Pgh and I always recommend it to other travelers. Hope this is not the beginning of the end of a good thing. My ratings are based on this experience and past experiences. If it was just this one, it wouldn't be so good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Only time inPittsburgh. Could eat the wh ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Only time inPittsburgh. Could eat the whole menu. Or the show for that matter.. Did not disappoint. Great wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twin in from SanFrancisco. Both of us ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Twin in from SanFrancisco. Both of us watched Lidia on tv. We were very disappointed. Best food was octopus appetizer. Main courses were not hot. Pasta was clumpy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service is outstanding. And everyone is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service is outstanding. And everyone is so friendly. Pasta trio:can't go wrong! Limoncello tiramisu - yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find. I came back and looked up th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great find. I came back and looked up the New York restaurants that Lidia owns. We travel there frequently and will definitely visit the other locations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had such a dichotomy in one ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

I have never had such a dichotomy in one restaurant. The food was excellent. The bus boy and host were fabulous. Liz, our waitress, however, was the worst service worker I have ever suffered through. She was inattentive to the point that we had to ask other waitstaff to do her job. The restaurant was only a quarter filled and all of the other waiter/waitresses appeared to be engaging and attentive. This was my wife's birthday and a special night was ruined by Liz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Went for Sunday Brunch. Service was very ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Went for Sunday Brunch. Service was very good. Made very nice accommodations for two of our guests with gluten allergies. Food was a little over cooked, especially the eggs which were to be soft cooked but were hard in the centers. Salad table had a nice selection. Dessert table had fruit flies swarming around.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.