About Lidia's Pittsburgh

1400 Smallman Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Lidia's Italy is owned by the author, television personality and world renown Chef Lidia Bastianich. Located in The Strip, Lidia's offers an inviting menu made fresh daily from all natural ingredients. We offer food and menus to match every palate. A complete wine selection is available by the bottle or glass.

We offer one of the finest brunches in Pittsburgh on Saturday and Sunday.

For your social or business meeting, we offer Lidia's loft. Designed to ensure privacy, yet offering a view of the main dining room to allow you to enjoy the ambience of the restaurant.

The private loft may seat up to 80 guests, or may be divided for smaller groups. A variety of private dining menus are available, for lunch, dinner, brunch, and receptions.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm; Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
15th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 552-0150

Website:
http://www.lidias-pittsburgh.com/

Parking Details:
We offer on valet and public parking. Street parking is also available near the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nicole Neely

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrating the Release of her
New Book, Lidia’s Egg-Citing Farm Adventure.”

Lidia’s Pittsburgh
March 18, 2015
5:00-9:00 PM

$50 per person
$30 optional wine pairing

Antipasti

Fritatta with Sausage and Peppers
Rice and Zucchini Crostata
Asparagus, Scallion and Egg Salad
Celery and Mozzarella Salad
Pork Tenderloin in Tonnato Sauce

Bastianich “Flor” Prosecco NV

Pasta


Ravioli Gnudi with Sage Butter

Rigatoni all'Amatriciana

La Mozza “I Perazzi” Morellino di Scansano 2013


Secondi

Chicken and Mushroom Gratinate with Braised Swiss-chard and Cannellini Beans

Bastianich Vespa Rosso 2011

Dolce

Zabaglione with Roasted Fruit
Ricotta Cookies

Lidia’s House Infused Fig Grappa




Restaurant Photos

Braised Beef Short Rib with Mashed Potatoes
Cannelones
Burata with broccoli rabe and focaccia
Osso Bucco Di Maiale, Pork Shank With Barley Risotto
Sauted Chicken Livers With Polenta And Fried Onions
Pollo Alla Ca
Penne With Butternut Squash
Cookie Plate
Caesar Salad
Linguini With Calamari, Cherry Tomatoes And Pesto
Bruschetta
Fritto Misto
Gnocci Gorgonzola
Pollo al Limone
Roasted Red And Golden Beets
Arugula, Walnut, Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
Scallops
Pork Osso Bucco
Porchetta Appetizer
Salmon Club
Butternut squash ravioli
Grilled Octopus
Trio Pasta

Private Dining

Lidia's loft can accommodate groups of up to 80 guests. Whether you are looking for a social function or a business meeting, the loft overlooks the main dining room has been designed to privacy while still enjoying the ambience of the entire restaurant. Restaurant also available for buyouts.

Lidia's Pittsburgh Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (122)
fit for foodies (98)
good for groups (92)
See All
romantic (48)
notable wine list (43)
great for lunch (43)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for brunch (38)
kid-friendly (26)
hot spot (13)
scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
3135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All of the food was excellent. My wife m ...

Dined 2 days ago

All of the food was excellent. My wife made a special request as to how a salmon filet was to be prepared and they did it perfectly.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Was in PGH for a Pirate game. Took the f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Was in PGH for a Pirate game. Took the family to Lidia's for dinner. Service was great and very friendly. Food was just OK. Wife and I got the Pasta Trio and Caesar Salad. Salad was over dressed. Pasta's were good but not excellent. Lidia's was accommodating with kids dishes. But my kids did not care for the meatballs and they like all meatballs. So I tried them and they were a bit bland and the sauce was also bland. Our teenager had the Manicotti, they were extremely saucy and some what bland. Overall great service, but just good-enough food, but a little over price for the quality.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice restaurant. The food was good ...

Dined 3 days ago

Very nice restaurant. The food was good but a little over priced. What really made it a rewarding experience was the outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

We have eaten at this restaurant many ti ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten at this restaurant many times. The 3 pasta offering is an excellent option for variety & excellent flavors. I find them to be a bit noisy.

food5
ambience3
service1
value4

We must have been the unfortunate few wh ...

Dined 4 days ago

We must have been the unfortunate few who had dreadful service. Can't imagine that happening at as popular a restaurant as this. Slow to get drinks, never asked if we wanted more to drink nor if we wanted coffee with dessert. Poured our own wine and water. Bread cold, not told what the mixture in the olive oil was. Two and one half hour dinner- mostly waiting for seconds on the all-you-can-eat pasta.. The food was very good, but the delays inexcusable.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I made reservations fo ...

Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I made reservations for a special occasion and really enjoyed everything. I didn't expect it, but they seated the two of us at a large round table against the window with only one table next to us (thank you!). It went beyond my expectations for table selection. Started the night with a bottle of white wine, and the fried calamari + shrimp app. Then for entrées we chose the Chef Selection Pasta Trio and the Manicotti. Very delicious!! For desert we went with the lighter choice of the ice cream and sorbet trio. Overall it was a great night! Thanks to Cody and Eric (hopefully got your names correct)!

food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Food was outstanding but unfortunately o ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding but unfortunately our waitress must have been having a bad day. She was curt and not very helpful, very disappointing as we were from out of town and very excited to be there. However, the manager was very accommodating and seemed sincerely concerned. Great place, go and enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our experience at Lidia's was not quite ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our experience at Lidia's was not quite as good as we had hoped. While some of the food was very good (finocchio salad, Anitra (seared duck breast), burrata), other dishes were just so-so. The grilled octopus appetizer was very tasty but had so little octopus, there wasn't enough to share amongst the four diners. Maybe it was meant to be for one person but even so, the other ingredients far outweighed the octopus. I had the three pasta tasting trio which I expected to be great as I thought it was going to be prepared tableside. However, it was simply served tableside by three separate servers and two of the three pastas were very overcooked. One of our party also found a small pebble in his finocchio salad. The manager was very apologetic and deducted the cost of the salad and a drink. While our server was very friendly, service was poor. It was very slow, sometimes forgetful, and all the tables around us seemed to be having similar problems. The manager showed up numerous times throughout the dining room to fix problems. Dessert was very good as was the wine (we had a bottle of prosecco and a bottle of their wine of the month).

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Boar filled Ravioli.

Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic Boar filled Ravioli.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service from Chendo. He was knowl ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Great service from Chendo. He was knowledgeable about menu and gluten free items-more so than just saying that GF means gluten free. He was able to explain what items could be made gluten free in addition to those marked with GF. He also checked the kitchen on a few items for us. The dinner itself was very good. The fresh gluten free pasta for my wife was nice although it would have been nice to have a gluten free ravioli option, which is why we went to Lidia's. The gnocchi with duck ragu was outstanding a generous portion. This will sound odd but the only real negative was the valet. The kid was on his phone when we arrived and when we left. I held my keys until he got off the phone. Valet was $7, I paid with a $10 bill and the kid asked if I wanted change. This always annoys me, especially since he thought he was getting a $3 tip as they were not busy all the cars were just right in front. He had to walk about 25 feet. I usually tip $3 but this rubbed me the wrong way. He got a dollar.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We tried the pasta tasting trio and the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We tried the pasta tasting trio and the calamari fish sauce pasta smelled awful. The other two pastas were decent. The poor waiter was very aloof and inattentive and acted like he did not know what he was doing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lidia's was delicious. Pricey, but good ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lidia's was delicious. Pricey, but good service and atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great great great place for Sunday brunc ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great great great place for Sunday brunch!! We have been twice- once on a whim and they were so accommodating to prepare a perfect table for my husband and I and our two kids. The second time we prepared ahead and made a reservation through open table. I needed to add two people last minute which was a breeze through the app. They called to confirm a day ahead and had the highchair and booster seat ready at our table when we arrived!!

food5
ambience4
service5

We miscalculated travel time and arrived ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We miscalculated travel time and arrived about 90 minutes early. They were quite busy, but, they managed to seat us with 5 minutes anyway. Grilled octopus appetizer was delicious. Saturday special porchetta dish absolutely tremendous! Duck entree was very good (crisper skin would've put it over the top!)

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Took some friends from out of town to Li ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Took some friends from out of town to Lidia's for Saturday brunch after I had read that it was one of the best brunch places in the city. All in all we decided that it was just OK. It's a little far removed from the bustle of the strip district so the atmosphere was a bit bland. Food was good but not exactly what you'd expect for brunch, mostly dinner style entrees, not much breakfast stuff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Pittsburgh for the US Open an ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

We were in Pittsburgh for the US Open and tried Lidia's for the first time. I was glad to get a reservation through OpenTable so that I did not have to worry about where to eat dinner while I was in town. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the meal - the atmosphere, the service and, especially, the food. I am an Italian cook myself and appreciated the authentic flavors. I just wished that I lived there to go back more often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good spot for high quality food at a rea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Good spot for high quality food at a reasonable pace and price.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1

A little noisy but tolerable. Server was ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A little noisy but tolerable. Server was excellent. Very knowledgeable. Answered all questions with ease. Food was very good. Great dessert. Will definitely go back.

food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful - great food

Dined on June 17, 2016

Wonderful - great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Lidia's during the U S Open in ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We ate at Lidia's during the U S Open in Pittsburgh. We all had the pasta of the day special which were all delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We always love Lidia's. We always get th ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We always love Lidia's. We always get the pasta trio and are never disappointed. The different combinations of pastas and sauces is always a pleasant surprise. Most times they are amazing. But they are always very good. Then we can have seconds of our favorites. We love the bread and spreads served and the reasonably priced Italian wines are very good.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good not great

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was good, we were there 2.5 hours for dinner. This is a deal breaker for me. The restaurant was not busy, and it was an hour before we received our food after we ordered.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner for 10

Dined on June 4, 2016

Dinner was for 10 @ 7p. We were promptly seated, apparently a slow night for a Sat. Ordered appetizers for the table, octopus was delicious, muscles were extremely small and 1/3 of shells empty. My advice, skip the muscles! Everyone's dinner was fine except for the two duck breast, over cooked and dry. Wine options were ok, nothing to write home about. Overall, nothing special and somewhat over priced. Our server that night was great!

food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed -Pricey

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food we had seemed like it had been prepared a couple of hours ago. The lasagna was dry. The salmon had very little seasoning except salt. The asparagus was cooked to death. We won't be back, go to Hoffstots or Michael A's if you want italian at a reasonable price.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lidia needs to get back in the kitchen

Dined on June 3, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Lidia's. I wasn't real impressed the last time we ate there a number of years ago but decided to try it again before a show. The attentiveness of the server was fine but the food was mediocre. I had a Caesar salad that should have had shredded or shaved Parmesan but instead it was grated. The salad dressing was tasteless. My wife ordered the fish of the day. It was supposed to be potato encrusted cod on a bed of spinach with lemon caper sauce over it. She loves lemon caper. Instead what came out was the cod over broccolini with a drizzle of balsamic glaze. The broccolini was old so it was stringy. She couldn't cut it so twirled a piece up in a ball and ended up almost strangling on it. When the waiter came over and asked if everything was OK. My wife did the typical not wanting to make a fuss. I brought the issue up to the waiter who showed us his daily special slip clearly saying that it was on a bed of spinach and lemon caper. He offered to take it back but that never works. I already had my meal. Then he offered the typical free creme brulee that costs the restaurant less then 50 cents to make. My wife politely declined. What the waiter should have done was gone back and told the chef of his mistake. The chef should have come out and apologized for screwing up. It will probably be another couple of years before we go back to Lidia's again. I will probably have forgotten about this experience when we go back and if nothing has changed the experience will remind me again of why it is so long in between visits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on May 30, 2016

We made a res for noon on Memorial Day, and had the entire restaurant to ourselves! They treated us like royalty. It was so cool. Love Lidias...great food, great people, worth every dollar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Just OK

Dined on May 28, 2016

Lydias was just OK -- mussels were bad and sent back and the manager was very professional and took them off the bill and added a free appetizer which was more than fare. Overall the food and experience was average.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

45th

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our visit to Lidia's. The service was great, the food was very good. we felt welcomed. It was a special occasion for us.We both enjoy dining out usually a more causal fair but I am always up for an adventure and trying new things. Thanks again for a great meal.We also enjoy watching your shows on our local PBS stations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service were exceptional. Chend ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and service were exceptional. Chendo, our server, made us feel very welcome and taken care of. He was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed his recommendations. The food service was professional and the food was delicious and we were very satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with family

Dined on May 27, 2016

Classy space and special food to share with our kids visiting from Boston. Thanks so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fun birthday lunch with my girlfri ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great fun birthday lunch with my girlfriends. The service was great and it was very nice...the server presented us with a birthday dessert plate with some decadent goodies. Ate too much but wonderful experience. salmon dish was divine.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I had been to Lidia's 3 years ago when I ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I had been to Lidia's 3 years ago when I was in Pittsburgh on a business trip and I was BLOWN AWAY. It really was a meal to remember! On a more recent trip to PA my family had a terrible meal for lunch about an hour away where we were staying so I said, "We're going to drive to Pittsburgh and go to Lidia's for dinner." I was thrilled to have the opportunity to return. Sadly, the food was not as good. My son had the Sunday Special (pasta, meatball, sausage and pork shoulder) and it was sad. It wasn't very hot and quite honestly, I could have made a better and more impressive dish of pasta. My sister and I had the risotto. Meh. I actually make good risotto and it wasn't as good as mine. My husband had the Osso Bucco and there was a lot of uneaten meat left on his plate. The meals that were served were uninspired. The waiter was kind and tried but did not know the pronunciation of many of the items on the menu. I probably will not return to Lidia's again -- I'll try something new next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Gnocchi with duck ragu was amazing. The ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Gnocchi with duck ragu was amazing. The wild boar ravioli were also wonderful. Can't wait to go back and try the pasta trio.

food4
ambience3
service1

The food was delicious. Service was incr ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious. Service was incredibly slow without a packed dining room. Luckily we had great dining companions Will think twice before returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great--especially the fried ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was great--especially the fried chicken livers for an appetizer and the gnocchi with duck Confit for dinner. Will definitely go when back in Pittsburgh.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We booked the reservation based on Lidi ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We booked the reservation based on Lidia's TV reputation. The lunch was part of a special trip from our home in California. We were very disappointed in the food -- the gnocchi was tough and the sauce was marginal. The fried chicken livers with polenta and fried onion rings was greasy and the rings were much too large. There was almost no taste (other than grease) to the dish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really great Italian Food.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Excellent food and a nice atmosphere overlooking the River on the upper North side of downtown Pittsburgh. Very convenient to the Convention Center and great for entertaining clients.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal, for as long as I have ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Never a bad meal, for as long as I have frequented the establishment, never a bad meal.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We have been coming to Lidia's Pittsburg ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We have been coming to Lidia's Pittsburgh for over 10 years. Our initial experiences with the flavors and our favorite server Eric were so memorable that we kept coming back. We even held our wedding rehearsal dinner for our out of town (new york area) Italian American family there nearly 10 years ago. We even saw Lidia herself that night. My Italian aunts and mother were a bit star struck. We came in again tonight and once again had a superb meal with Eric as our food guide. 10 years later and the experience was still stellar. Highly recommend the pasta trio and the desserts.

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Ask lots of questions

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

The menu is very disappointing. Having spent ample time at Lidia's establishments in Manhattan, I had much higher expectations. An Italian restaurant with few pasta choices and no veal...who ever heard such a thing. A mint pesto that is chock full of peas???? was really just a green olive oil. So bland and no flavor. The food was cold but there is a silver lining. The service was amazing. Our waitress was so attentive and determined to do anything to make our dining experience enjoyable. The manager came over and offered apologies and a bottle of wine. While the food was disappointing, it's worth a second chance solely as a result of the service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.