About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made, entirely from scratch, with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh. Every day Lidia's offer a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork & beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs, including gluten free items. Lidia's is located in the Historic Freighthouse, a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes 3 hand-blown chandeliers, a 3 story slate fireplace and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lidia's Restaurant
Pasta Trio
Tiramisu
Gnocchi With Braised Duck Ragu
Bronzino
Sunday Sauce
Coffee
Ricotta Cake Pear Caramel Sauce
Fettuccini Alfredo
Lasagna Bolognese
Chocolate Torte With Esspresso Ice Cream
Caesar Salad
Copa Di Avena E Mora
Mista Salad
Tirimisu
Complimentary Bread
Olive Spreads
Gnocchi Con Anitra In Guazzetto
Canalleni Bean And Spinach Soup
Spinach ricotta ravioli
Handmade Pasta
Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli
Cavatappi
Bread
Olive spread
Cesar Salad
Pasta tasting
Pasta Tasting Trio
Teramisu
Peroni Beer
Cabbage Rolls
Brunch Desserts.
Duck Gnocchi
Traditional Pork Shank
Fritto Misto
Spaghetti
Pork Chop
Trout With Grilled Scallions & Potatoes
20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Endive Salad, Walnuts, Apples, Blue Cheese
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake with Blood Oranges and Blood Orange Sauce
Housemade Cotechino Sausage with Lentils, Root Vegetable and Mustard Sauce
Candied Celery Dessert
Rib Eye Steak
Spaghetti With Fried Shrimp And Calamari
Salmon Tostada & Ceasar Salad
Beef Short Rib Braised in Red wine with Spinach Spaetzle and Carrots
Barramundi With Polenta In Tomato Caper Sauce
Spinich Canneloni
Polpette
Crab And Scallion Risotto
Griiled Octopus With Potatoes, Capers, Olives, Green Beans And Frisee
Semifreddo Alla Ricotta
Argula Salad
Gnocchi
Boulevard Stout Cake
Crab and Scallion Risotto Cake
Chicken Scallopine, Garlic Confit, Capers, Castelvetrano Olives, & Spinach

Private Dining

Lidia's Loft features private dining for parties of 10-100. Only at Lidia's will guests enjoy true Italian cuisine and warm hospitality in a comforting and impressive Kansas City environment. Lidia's Loft features exposed, open beam ceilings, original 19th century brick walls, and more!

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (203)
fit for foodies (142)
good for groups (117)
See All
romantic (116)
notable wine list (79)
great for brunch (64)
neighborhood gem (64)
great for lunch (62)
great for outdoor dining (46)
hot spot (32)
scenic view (27)
kid-friendly (20)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
3531 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience and always enjoyed ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful experience and always enjoyed by the family

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate in the newer addition, it was a g ...

Dined 4 days ago

We ate in the newer addition, it was a great room. would be beautiful esp. when there is snow. our food was great and our waitress Liz was super pleasant! It was really a great dining experience! The only thing to make better for me would be to have Brut champagne by the glass.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenally and exceptionally good food ...

Dined 4 days ago

Phenomenally and exceptionally good food. Service was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely save up your appetite if you ...

Dined 7 days ago

Definitely save up your appetite if you plan to do dinner. Calamari and antipasto appetizers are big enough for at least four per appetizer. By the time we got to the pasta of the day entree I couldn't even finish half my plate. Very good value and really good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I read a number of reviews beforehand. ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

I read a number of reviews beforehand. It surprised me that there were quite a few reviews that were not very good. I love Lidia's cooking show and couldn't imagine the restaurant being sub par but was worried as I organized the group and led them all to Lidia's! Well, I should have trusted my instincts. The restaurant was beautiful. The waiter was quite good. And, the food was exceptional. I would recommend Lidia's without reservation. We all enjoyed ourselves. BRAVO.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was fantastic as usual. Service was ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual. Service was slow and inattentive, not what we are used to at Lidia's

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food Choices are too limited. Very rich ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food Choices are too limited. Very rich sounding dishes that were not of interest.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always anticipate good service and go ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We always anticipate good service and good food -- I am never disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The bread basket was fantastic. The sala ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The bread basket was fantastic. The salads are fine, but the broccoli and cauliflower dish was spicy and the broccoli was over cooked. The bow-tie pasta was spicy, the raviolis were nothing special, the fetuccini bolognese were absolutely wonderful. My waiter (I think her name is Tabitha) was wonderful too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love the brunch. The pasta trio is al ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the brunch. The pasta trio is always good as are the desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lydia's is known for it's Italian cuisin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Lydia's is known for it's Italian cuisine, and is generally very good. We always end up with the Pasta Trio which is always good. The entire dining experience is very good, and I would recommend this place for anyone who is hungry for great food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We first visited Lidia's when our Grandd ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We first visited Lidia's when our Granddaughter was 1 year old. She is now 18. We have observed Father's Day there ever since. We plan to add a second day this year when our Granddaughter returns home from her first year in college this December.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

There was a private party on the other s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

There was a private party on the other side of a fabric screen directly behind our table, the private party was so loud we could not hear the person next to you speak. It was extremely rude and an awful experience. The private party should have been moved or been told to PLEASE quiet down. I don't think that they actually cared that anyone else was in the restaurant. I'm absolutely positive that the restaurant was not worried about the regular patrons of the restaurant only the bigger ticket of the private party. We had wanted to go to Lidia's for a long time and finally found an opportunity to do so absolutely positive that we will not be returning!

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not sure what I exactly expected but I w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Not sure what I exactly expected but I was under-impressed. The building was very nice and scenic, the first of the pasta trio (ravioli) was superb and the strawberry dessert was excellent, the rest was average in my humble opinion. Service was OK. Pasta serving guy got in a hurry and dropped some tomato Alfredo right from the pan on my off-white pants, never stopped or said a word, just acted like it was normal. Had to ask for my wife's ice tea to be refilled, and I know this makes me sound like a red-neck, but my beer is Bud Light...Saturday night, 5P, and they are out of Bud Light? Perhaps it was what I have heard prior to the visit and I expected too much. Would I go back again, with other people sure, but I don't think my wife and I would go there for just the two of us and spend $100 again.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lidia's is consistently fine offering di ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Lidia's is consistently fine offering dishes from Ms. Bastianich's Italian point of view. I am uncertain why we are so fortunate in Kansas City to have been chosen for an outpost of this New York icon's restaurant group. The meal began with the frico appetizer which consists of a cheese crisp with pancetta. I have enjoyed this many times and it never disappoints. I opted for the pasta trio, a grouping of three hot pasta dishes--they vary nightly--served hot by runners who offer you as much as you want and more than you could ever eat. My companions opted for salmon and lemon chicken. We paired our meal with a random selection from the $35 wine list--tonight a chianti. Located in Kansas City's historic "Freight House District," there is an urban vibe accompanied by suburban parking opportunities...an interesting mix when you think about it. Reasonable prices, great food, great service and inexpensive but very good wine are housed in a newly remodeled location where they improved the bar but kept the striking backlit rear wall. As you can tell, I love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Flavor of food was good but the food tem ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Flavor of food was good but the food temperature needed to be warmer. Overall, portions were quite small. Service was very good. Our server knew the menu well and made good recommendations. She was attentive but not hovering.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit to Lydias, we hav ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Lydias, we have tried to go once a year. We really enjoy the brunch so we can try all the different appetizer buffet, salads, and of course, the desserts. The tiramisu is the highlight of the desserts, I've never had better anywhere. The atmosphere of fine dining just makes the meal that much better. I don't drink, so can't speak about the drinks, but the the bar looks fabulous along with the overhead lighting in that area. We drive thru 2 states to get there, and it's worth it to us. Looking forward to our next visit, may not wait another year!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner at Lidia's was wonderful. We ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our dinner at Lidia's was wonderful. We both had the pasta trio and we enjoyed a lot. The pasta with shrimp was slightly spicier than we usually eat, but still liked it a lot. The desserts were winners!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, great food, great ambianc ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service, great food, great ambiance. We drove to Kansas City from Springfield, MO specifically to eat at Lidia's. We planned the outing around our dinner reservation going to the WWI museum and taking the tour at the Roasterie. I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Lydias

Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant is lovely, has great food, and great service. Our server, Billie, was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy Lidia's when we are in K ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

We always enjoy Lidia's when we are in Kansas City.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is excellent, and generous portions ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Food is excellent, and generous portions. Would recommend for dates, anniversaries, etc. Brand new bar area that's been redone since I was last there a year ago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Service, food and staff all outstanding . Chef Cody always does an outstanding job and our server Peter is one of the best we have ever had. Lidia's is our favorite restaurant for lunch, dinner or brunch plus we are going to meet the lady herself on Monday evening for the Grand Opening of the new bar area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS a pleasure to have dinner at Lidia's.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

The new bar is stunning and a wonderful new addition to the interior. Having Peter as our server adds to the experience of having dinner at this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lasagna is incredible! Three of us order ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Lasagna is incredible! Three of us ordered it and we all loved it. Others in our group had the Pasta Trio and said it was delicious. I also had a Caesar salad and it was very good. Lidia's is one of my favorite restaurants in Kansas City.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The pasta trio and osso bucco were both ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The pasta trio and osso bucco were both excellent. Service was attentive. The caesar salad could have been fresher. The enclosed patio was probably not the best choice for ambience for our anniversary dinner, as the servers were continually using the doors by our table in order to accomodate the outside diners.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very nice meal on Saturday evening, although the service was slow, our waiter was pleasant but had other tables that took alot of his time. We were waiting a long time for table side pasta and pork dish. The food was very good but the service was mediocre at best. Would expect better.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was the best part, he was so ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The server was the best part, he was so nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return visit required.

Dined on June 4, 2016

We love Lidia's. We visit Kansas City often and always make sure we dine at Lidia's. We order the pasta trio and is different every time. It is the best!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have such a wonderful time, the food ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

we have such a wonderful time, the food was outstanding, the waiter was great, and the place was so inviting. it was our first but won't be our last time there.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for a Wonderful Dinner. We w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great Place for a Wonderful Dinner. We went here for a 25th Wedding Anniversary for Parents and the waitstaff was just wonderul to our son who is 8 years old. The waitor was very nice and helpful.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Special Occasion

Dined on May 28, 2016

I was looking for a nice and romantic place for my wife and I because she has been taking care of me after a health issue. Lidia's was a beautiful place with some of the best Italian food one could ask for. I was very surprised how unfriendly the staff was from the moment we walked in the door. The front of house man never smiled and I felt like i was bothering him asking for your table. The waitress was ok but didn't seem too excited to be serving us. Despite this the food was amazing. I would probably go back but it didn't make my top 10 because when i go out i like good service for this price point.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband got the pasta sampler. It was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband got the pasta sampler. It was so much food and soo delicious! Mushroom ravioli was great! I had the special that night which was a chicken dish on polenta and was perfect. I had a cocktail from the bar. It was like a Moscow mule but a different name and it was great too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & conversation!

Dined on May 27, 2016

My daughter & I were having lunch with a former student who was in town performing at Starlight in "Matilda" . Not only was the food wonderful as usual, but the wait staff were very professional and didn't rush us. We thoroughly enjoyed a great lunch and had a fabulous visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely to look at, food less than stellar

Dined on May 27, 2016

The ambiance and the service were beyond reproach, however, the food was just average, sad to say.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappoints!

Dined on May 26, 2016

This was not my first visit to Lidia's. I am always impressed by every aspects of this restaurant. The service is fabulous and the food is amazing. This is the first time I have not ordered the pasta trio (which I highly recommend) and I was still very satisfied with my choice. On this occasion I was bringing company visitors from NYC and Canada and everyone commented on the food. One guest was a vegetarian and they altered his pasta trio to fit his WOE. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a colleague's birthday at Lidia's

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

The pear ravioli was a surprise combination that we all particularly liked. We always enjoy our meals at Lidia's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very different experience tha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was a very different experience than expected. My friend picked this as a restaurant for is to meet for a monthly gathering. When they said Italian, I immediately pictured heavy cream and cheese based sauces. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the sauces were very light and the pasta extremely fresh. Their 3-pasta sampler with table side service was excellent. I highly recommend the sampler dinner especially if you have a difficult time deciding on one main dish. You can eat as much as you want or as little. The coolest part is knowing it won't be the same 3 pasta sampler the next time you come in as it rotates daily.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lidia o' Lidia

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The new layout opened up the main dining room and the bar area has a new look too Much needed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This should have been a four star plus r ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This should have been a four star plus review, however, the epic fail upon departing this past Sunday evening still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. After enjoying very good food and service (our server was Billie), our group of 12 was allowed to slowly exit the restaurant (past at least one manager and several staff) without even a simple "thank you" or even "good night." After dropping several hundred dollars on dinner and tipping over 20%, I am still stunned how our group was ignored after paying the check. It makes me regret spending my money here. How do you do so many things right and drop the ball so badly on a simple parting comment?Hospitality and Seamless Service 101. Ugh.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.