About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made, entirely from scratch, with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh. Every day Lidia's offer a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork & beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs, including gluten free items. Lidia's is located in the Historic Freighthouse, a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes 3 hand-blown chandeliers, a 3 story slate fireplace and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lidia's Restaurant
Pasta Trio
Tiramisu
Bronzino
Gnocchi With Braised Duck Ragu
Sunday Sauce
Coffee
Ricotta Cake Pear Caramel Sauce
Fettuccini Alfredo
Lasagna Bolognese
Chocolate Torte With Esspresso Ice Cream
Caesar Salad
Copa Di Avena E Mora
Mista Salad
Olive Spreads
Gnocchi Con Anitra In Guazzetto
Canalleni Bean And Spinach Soup
Spinach ricotta ravioli
Handmade Pasta
Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli
Cavatappi
Bread
Olive spread
Cesar Salad
Pasta tasting
Pasta Tasting Trio
Tirimisu
Complimentary Bread
Teramisu
Cabbage Rolls
Peroni Beer
Brunch Desserts.
Duck Gnocchi
Traditional Pork Shank
Fritto Misto
Spaghetti
Pork Chop
Trout With Grilled Scallions & Potatoes
20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Endive Salad, Walnuts, Apples, Blue Cheese
Housemade Cotechino Sausage with Lentils, Root Vegetable and Mustard Sauce
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake with Blood Oranges and Blood Orange Sauce
Candied Celery Dessert
Rib Eye Steak
Salmon Tostada & Ceasar Salad
Spaghetti With Fried Shrimp And Calamari
Beef Short Rib Braised in Red wine with Spinach Spaetzle and Carrots
Barramundi With Polenta In Tomato Caper Sauce
Spinich Canneloni
Polpette
Crab And Scallion Risotto
Griiled Octopus With Potatoes, Capers, Olives, Green Beans And Frisee
Semifreddo Alla Ricotta
Gnocchi
Argula Salad
Crab and Scallion Risotto Cake
Boulevard Stout Cake
Chicken Scallopine, Garlic Confit, Capers, Castelvetrano Olives, & Spinach

Private Dining

Lidia's Loft features private dining for parties of 10-100. Only at Lidia's will guests enjoy true Italian cuisine and warm hospitality in a comforting and impressive Kansas City environment. Lidia's Loft features exposed, open beam ceilings, original 19th century brick walls, and more!

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

Special Occasion (225)
Fit for Foodies (151)
Romantic (128)
See All
Good for Groups (111)
Notable Wine List (94)
Great for Brunch (73)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
Great for Lunch (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Hot Spot (36)
Scenic View (33)
Kid-friendly (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Late-night Find (13)
Sort By:
Newest
3626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great from the server, h ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was great from the server, however the food seemed to take a long time. Our reservation was at 7:45 and we got our table right away. Our server was great. Our orders were taken in a timely manner. We ordered antipasti, which was also very timely (understandably, since it requires no cooking.) Our entrees didn't come until almost 9:00; this seemed like an excessive amount of time. Two of our party had the pasta trio and requested a second round of ravioli. The ravioli didn't arrive until the two people who hadn't ordered the trio had completely finished their meals, their plates were cleared, and then sat several minutes waiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was absolutely delicious. The H ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious. The Homemade goodness was worth every penny and the drive. The wait staff was fantastic. The restaurant was a bit loud and made it difficult to hear across the table but this didn't effect the evening. I definitely would recommend Lidia's to all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I guess we don't know what the big deal ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

I guess we don't know what the big deal is. This was the 3rd time to try and eat at Lidia's and the first successful time in being able to complete a meal. The last two our reservations were not honored and we waited anywhere from 30 to 75 minutes before finally having to leave and go somewhere else. We ate outside this time which is why I list it as quiet. Inside was extremely noisy and not conducive to to carry on a conversation at all.

Food was OK, I had the Prorchetta and my wife had the 3 pasta meal. The waitress asked if we wanted a to go box for the pasta and then never brought one. We waited until almost the end of the meal before our water and ice tea was refilled. The pasta my wife had while she thought it was good was never served hot it seemed that she always got the tail end of the pan that was brought around. She could see the steam rising off of it when they first came out the door to the outside but it never quite made it to our table while in that steaming state.

In the end I would not go out of my way to eat here again there are many restaurants in KC that truly want your business and have servers that go out of their way to make your evening enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We are always greatly satisfied with the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

We are always greatly satisfied with the food and service at Lidia's. We had the pasta trio and it was outstanding. Their Caesar salad is always fresh and crisp. Their desserts are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about the dinner. The service was outstanding and the food was perfect for all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

James and Kayla were excellent. The did ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

James and Kayla were excellent.

The did was as great as NYC!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There isn't much to add to the rave revi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

There isn't much to add to the rave reviews that Lidia's has garnered since its opening. Don't worry about calories for one glorious meal. Go there. You won't be disappointed. Order the pasta trio, even if you aren't a pasta hound. You will adore it. I considered proposing marriage to the trio. Don't fill up on the bread and divine spreads, but do sample. Also order the beet and pear salad if available. Sounds odd, but oh my heavens was it lovely,. A treat for the eyes and the palate. Wine by the glass selections are slim, but the flights are terrific, and the bottle choices are impressive. We passed on dessert because, well, pasta is not a light meal, and three pastas make one consider ordering a crane for assistance in returning to one's car, but the descriptions looked heavenly. Go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We're great fans of Lidia's; her cookboo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We're great fans of Lidia's; her cookbooks and her show on Create TV. We were not disappointed by the food or the service -- everything was very good. We got the Tuscan Grill special with wine tastings and it was a great value. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We all had the three pasta special so we ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We all had the three pasta special so we could try more! I had heard the pasta and sauce was amazing! What we had was very mediocre! I felt I could do that at home! Very disappointed as it was my birthday!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We went to Lidia's for a birthday celebr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went to Lidia's for a birthday celebration. The food was excellent. Service was great. It was a little pricey. But overall , very very good. Noisier than we expected but it was a rather large room with a vaulted ceiling so I guess a little noise would not be out of the question. Would highly recommend this establishment to friends and family. Next time we will try the patio seating to eliminate some of the noise.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall great! Staff was AMAZING! I was ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall great! Staff was AMAZING! I was disappointed with the trio-plate of pasta. My friend had something with sausage in it hers was better! It's Italian so pasta is pasta. Drink menu was great and bar tender mixes well. Wine selection is awesome! It's Kansas City I think barbecue was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great service,food and facility. This i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service,food and facility. This is our favorite Italian Restaurant in KC for lunch, dinner and brunch. Great food and wine served by great people.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Kansas City for the wee ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were visiting Kansas City for the weekend from New York City and were looking forward to sharing a great meal with friends. We know Lidia Bastianich by her excellent reputation and had high expectations for the meal. The service was slow from the outset. We were probably seated for 10 minutes before our wine order was taken. We ordered frou salads in total, two of the same each, but when the food was brought to the table, there was only one of each. It was not delivered by our waiter and we waited several minutes before we were able to report that we only had half of our order. He acknowledged that there was a mistake made in the kitchen and our other 2 salads would be out shortly which they were. They were delicious. We then had the wrong tables entrees brought to our table. Another apology. When our entrees were finally delivered, the waiter explained that my husband's monkfish (the special fish of the day) was being served a different way than advertized. It was supposed to be with some kind of potato, collard greens and something else I cannot recall. Instead, there was a tomato sliced on the plate with some cause - a bit disappointing, and very different to what was ordered but no check back prior to serving to see if he wanted to change his order. The monkfish was very salty. Everyone else was happy with their entree. We ordered desserts and coffee which were good all around. When we checked the bill, the coffees had not been included - we pointed it out to the waiter and he told us not to worry, but it was clear that it was a mistake, as opposed to a nice gesture to make up for the not so great service. Although the waiter was very pleasant and polite, the overall experience was disappointing and I would not be enthusiastic about recommending it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I had a reservation for dinner on Saturd ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I had a reservation for dinner on Saturday evening. It was our first time dining with you, and while I like your venue, I was quite disappointed in the service. We were celebrating my sister & her husband's birthday (they're 3 days apart), and I asked the host if they could do something special & that I'd be happy to just pre-order a dessert. He said you'd take care of dessert and that he'd pass that information along to our server, which I believe he did, but she was clearly aloof.

Everything about the experience took longer than it should have. She forgot one of the drinks, we had to repeatedly flag down ppl for refills, a refill was uktimately left on a ledge, share plates weren't brought for either course (requested both), we didn't have enough dessert spoons, and the birthday wasn't even acknowledged despite asking the host and having presents at the table. It's really not at all about missing out on a free dessert that was delivered for the table with a birthday behind us -- just disappointed that all of the little things were seemingly lacking on what was supposed to be a special night out. A candle at the very least would have been nice. I don't know if the server had too many tables, and I don't normally write these sort of reviews, but the fact that I'm still disappointed three days later fele compelling enough to write.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Only had problems with the nats/flies. B ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Only had problems with the nats/flies.

But understand with outside dinning and doors open and close .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was awesome... as was the food an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Server was awesome... as was the food and ambiance. We visited KC from St. Louis for a day trip for my boyfriend's birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Lidia's a few times. Mo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been to Lidia's a few times. Most of the time the food is very good, but it was just so-so this time. We each had the pasta trio and found that two of the three choices were very bland. The ravioli was pretty good. In general, it was a very lackluster meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant is beautiful. My friend ( ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful. My friend (who had never been to Lydia's) and I both ordered the pasta trio lunch special (which is their feature). The caesar salad was drowned in dressing. The pastas were just ok, nothing special. It was $17, which is pricey for a Kansas City lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

We have been dining at Lidia's for years ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We have been dining at Lidia's for years . The food is delicious , the service excellent . One of the most beautiful venues in Kansas City .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The checked on us often and answered que ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The checked on us often and answered questions as it was our first time. A lady checked how we liked our dining experience but introduce herself. My friend Nina has watched Lidia for 20 years on television and has often talked about coming. This was her 75th birthday celebration. We've been friends over 25years. I recently lost a young friend of cancer. It seemed important celebrate our friendship on this special day. We were stuffed! Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't go wrong with Lidia's. Great f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

You can't go wrong with Lidia's. Great food, great service. We were there to celebrate our first anniversary, and they brought us a decadent dessert, on the house! The Duck Gnocchi is to die! It's the only thing on the menu I order, because it's so dang good!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and i had high hopes for Lidia's ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and i had high hopes for Lidia's, but they didn't live up to our expectations. The ambiance is nice, service was delightfully mediocre, the food was, well, bad. Burnt garlic, overcooked pasta, pasta sauces completely lacking flavor, the list goes on. On a positive note, the cucumber/greens salad was really good, the bread and infused butters were also nice.

Super disappointed, but maybe it was just an off day for them. I won't be back to find out. :(

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

I have watched Lidia cook on TV for year ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have watched Lidia cook on TV for years PBS, wanted to dine in her restaurant for a longtime to sample foods as well as atmosphere. Was very pleased with the experience, my guest was please as well. Our hostess named Liz was OUTSTANDING, her attention to our needs and comfort was commendable. Left the restaurant pleased, looking forward to next occasion to dine at Lidia's kc. Italian Restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant has a wonderful feel. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The restaurant has a wonderful feel. We sat outside, in a lovely patio area. The food was excellent, and delivered by a well trained staff. Many choices on the menu, and the pasta trio, which is the special was outstanding. Will recommend to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, upscale, Italian dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service are outstanding as alwa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food and service are outstanding as always. Our favorite in the world!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dining experience, first rate ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Superb dining experience, first rate service, and wonderful Italian food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is elegant but not stuffy an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is elegant but not stuffy and the food and service are top of the line. It's not inexpensive but not overpriced. It's my go to place for taking out family when I'm in KC.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lidia's never fails to amaze us with the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Lidia's never fails to amaze us with the deliciousness of her food!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Kansas City to follow ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We were visiting Kansas City to follow the Toronto Blue Jays.....are big fans of Lidia! It was an obvious choice and we were not disappointed! Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful outting! We even had the kids ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful outting! We even had the kids with us and it worked. The Brunch buffet was lovely with plenty of yummy options. Great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal started out really good. The a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The meal started out really good. The appetizers and drinks came quickly and were very good. However after that things went downhill. It took about 30-45 minutes for our main entrees to come. When they did come, one pork chop was totally undercooked. The other meals were only warm. The side of meatballs were closer to cold than even warm. When the undercooked pork chop came back it was dry where I had made a couple of cuts into it. The waitress did give all of us free dessert. The food had very good flavor, but the cooking of it was very disappointing. I also expected the manager to come over since the waitress said she would tell them of the problems we had. He/she never did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good. Service was severely lack ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good. Service was severely lacking . For such a high bill you'd think we'd be waiting on. That definitely wasn't the case.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Server was great, server-assistant not s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Server was great, server-assistant not so much we felt rushed and were asked multiple times if we were done or needed a box?! Most likely just an incident would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

There were three tables around us, all t ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

There were three tables around us, all three tables turned over twice in the time it took us to order, eat, order dessert, eat that, and get our tickets. Like 20 minutes between times the waiter would come by the check on us, it was kind of ridiculous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyable ., out waiter, David, was awes ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyable ., out waiter, David, was awesome . The house wine is expensive @ 17$ glass ., otherwise no complaints !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Don't dine here often, just for special ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Don't dine here often, just for special occasions - still, I can never get past the pasta trio. The choices are always unique and the dishes are consistently fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the Caesar salad and the pasta t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Enjoyed the Caesar salad and the pasta trio was amazing. Dessert left something to be desired. Too much basil in my dessert. If I had stuck to something more traditional like Tira Misu I would probably have been happy. My server was awesome but was very very busy and spread thin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Their nightly pasta special is a great v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Their nightly pasta special is a great value, make sure you go there hungry. Food tasted great and portions were large. Service was good, especially the staff that went around serving the unlimited portions of the trio of nightly pasta specials from the sauté pans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant. The patio was nois ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. The patio was noisy. Next time we'll ask for a table inside. Great food, great service

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.