About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made, entirely from scratch, with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh. Every day Lidia's offer a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork & beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs, including gluten free items. Lidia's is located in the Historic Freighthouse, a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes 3 hand-blown chandeliers, a 3 story slate fireplace and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lidia's Restaurant
Pasta Trio
Tiramisu
Gnocchi With Braised Duck Ragu
Bronzino
Sunday Sauce
Coffee
Ricotta Cake Pear Caramel Sauce
Fettuccini Alfredo
Lasagna Bolognese
Chocolate Torte With Esspresso Ice Cream
Caesar Salad
Copa Di Avena E Mora
Mista Salad
Olive Spreads
Gnocchi Con Anitra In Guazzetto
Canalleni Bean And Spinach Soup
Spinach ricotta ravioli
Handmade Pasta
Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli
Cavatappi
Bread
Olive spread
Cesar Salad
Pasta tasting
Pasta Tasting Trio
Tirimisu
Complimentary Bread
Teramisu
Peroni Beer
Cabbage Rolls
Brunch Desserts.
Duck Gnocchi
Traditional Pork Shank
Fritto Misto
Spaghetti
Pork Chop
Trout With Grilled Scallions & Potatoes
20oz Bone-In Ribeye
Endive Salad, Walnuts, Apples, Blue Cheese
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake with Blood Oranges and Blood Orange Sauce
Housemade Cotechino Sausage with Lentils, Root Vegetable and Mustard Sauce
Candied Celery Dessert
Rib Eye Steak
Spaghetti With Fried Shrimp And Calamari
Salmon Tostada & Ceasar Salad
Beef Short Rib Braised in Red wine with Spinach Spaetzle and Carrots
Barramundi With Polenta In Tomato Caper Sauce
Spinich Canneloni
Polpette
Crab And Scallion Risotto
Griiled Octopus With Potatoes, Capers, Olives, Green Beans And Frisee
Semifreddo Alla Ricotta
Argula Salad
Gnocchi
Boulevard Stout Cake
Crab and Scallion Risotto Cake
Chicken Scallopine, Garlic Confit, Capers, Castelvetrano Olives, & Spinach

Private Dining

Lidia's Loft features private dining for parties of 10-100. Only at Lidia's will guests enjoy true Italian cuisine and warm hospitality in a comforting and impressive Kansas City environment. Lidia's Loft features exposed, open beam ceilings, original 19th century brick walls, and more!

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (197)
fit for foodies (145)
good for groups (117)
See All
romantic (111)
notable wine list (75)
neighborhood gem (63)
great for lunch (63)
great for brunch (60)
great for outdoor dining (38)
hot spot (34)
scenic view (25)
kid-friendly (24)
vibrant bar scene (17)
late-night find (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Lidia's many times. This ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Lidia's many times. This was the worst experience. The room was barely air-conditioned, there was a fly buzzing around our food, the other diners mostly looked like they were dressed to go to McDonald's and the ambience was, basically, Grand Central Station, especially with the big additional glassed-in room with more tables. Our food was mostly good but delivered so hot we had to wait to eat it. My fried calamari appetizer was a ridiculously large portion padded with fried vegetables. Another reviewer said it best: Lidia's has become a food factory. Lidia herself needs to come to Kansas City and check things out, because the love is totally gone. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

The place is awesome. The staff are awes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

The place is awesome. The staff are awesome. The food is beyond awesome!

In a word ... delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since I no longer live in the KC area, I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Since I no longer live in the KC area, I make sure to return to Lidia's when I am in town. Each meal I have is more memorable than the previous one! Food outstanding (I had 4 courses) great drinks, my server Billi is great every time, and I am treated with the utmost kindness and respect by everyone I come in contact with. I would be in heaven if a location was built in the Orlando/Winter Park area where I now reside. Lidia-are you listening?! Such a great memory that night which makes me smile still.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK but the service left a lot t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was OK but the service left a lot to be desired. I got the prixe fix meal of the day with wine pairings and the wine was not served with the food but rather as an afterthought. Not well paired either. I would describe the restaurant as a food factory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

After watching Lidia on PBS for years, w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

After watching Lidia on PBS for years, we finally had the chance to eat at her restaurant. Our whole family thought it was great.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very disappointed in the service. Long ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very disappointed in the service. Long wait to refill drinks. Pasta was not cooked properly. Some pasta was under cooked & some was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Very nice experience. I had requested a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very nice experience. I had requested a quiet table and this was accommodated to me and my friend. Thank you so much !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome as usual, but service w ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was awesome as usual, but service was lacking. Took almost 20 min to get a bottle of wine, we were there at least an hour before the food came out. Waiter was very inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were there to celebrate a birthday an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were there to celebrate a birthday and they did give us a free cookie sampler dessert. The tiramisu was standard but yummy. The rest of the food was bland and uninteresting. The pasta trio claimed to have meat in it but none was in our portions. The risotto had no flavor. We were to have unlimited pasta but never received an offer of more than one serving. Our waitstaff checked out half way through our meal - and those of the table surrounding us. VERY disappointing. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Food was good. However We thought we wou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was good. However We thought we would walk into a romantic setting for our date night. And our first table for two was in the middle of two large loud groups. We asked if we could be switched. We then went all the way back to the hostess desk and he decides to sit us right next to the bar next to a family with children. It was so loud instead of looking into my boyfriends eyes during the meal and have a nice conversation I wound up sitting right next to him just so we wouldn't be yelling at each other at our dinner. Food was good. We were trying something new something different and we won't be back. My company asked if I would recommend the place. I told them I won't be back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Great food and service. Servings are hug ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food and service. Servings are huge! Calamari appetizer was delish!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was outstanding, the waiter ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our service was outstanding, the waiter was on his game and we appreciated his efforts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly & helpful staff. Wonderful ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very friendly & helpful staff. Wonderful food! Our group had a lovely experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lidia's is my wife and my favorite resta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lidia's is my wife and my favorite restaurant for Sunday Brunch. The antipasti bar is always a pleasant surprise and the dessert bar is great for a sweet treat. The service is great, my favorite server is Peter and he is very knowledgeable, professional and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress - clinicaly depressed Table - i ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Waitress - clinicaly depressed

Table - in the middle of grand central station

Food - Meh

Service - like a soup kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Last time I came to Lidia's was nearly f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Last time I came to Lidia's was nearly five years ago. The changes they've made have completely changed the once attentive and delightful dining experience, and the quality of the food has tanked. I'd been talking this place up for years, not knowing that it had evolved into something barely better than Olive Garden. It's a real shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Service was on it. Very attentive withou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was on it. Very attentive without being in the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food , Great Service, perfect for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great Food , Great Service, perfect for a birthday celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service is lacking in a major way. We or ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service is lacking in a major way. We ordered the pasta trio and had to ask for the cooks to come over several times when in the past I've never had to. Then we waited. We waited for the meal from the beginning. We sat with empty plates while the rest of our guests let their food get cold. The cooks seemed to be very attentive to a table of young ladies but ignored everyone else. Our server was polite but seemed too busy to help the pasta issue. At the price we paid I expect much much more. I used to love Lida's and until changes are made I will not return.

Also, the bathrooms are outdated and disgusting. My point is, this is supposed to be a high class restaurant and I felt like I was at Applebee's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The antipasto was excellent. The pasta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The antipasto was excellent. The pasta trio was good not excellent. We always enjoy Lidias Restaurant but feel it's somewhat overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Birthday- service was great. Had a weird ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Birthday- service was great. Had a weird smell that I guess we eventually got used to. Husband loved his food. All others were decent but not outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Just very okay in terms of the food for ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Just very okay in terms of the food for price point and ambiance.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service was good but was very e ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food and service was good but was very expensive. Wasn't worth a $100 bill.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant is beautiful and the serv ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful and the service is good, not great. The food was at best disappointing. Totally uninspired and passion free. There is nothing local about the menu and the waiter told me they have exactly the same menu in Pittsburg! Reminds me of Brio! Enough said really. Don't want to waste any more time on this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

It as a very lovely evening and we will ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

It as a very lovely evening and we will recommend it and return. Definitely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of my wife's favorite places to eat. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of my wife's favorite places to eat. Food and service were both very good.

Well enjoyed.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was blown away by the food and service ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was blown away by the food and service at Lidia's KC. Wojo our waitress was fun, professional and helpful in making our food and wine selection. I'll be stopping in again on my next trip to KC.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, drink, ambiance, service and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good food, drink, ambiance, service and vibe. Recommended. 2 thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

You really can't go wrong with the pasta ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

You really can't go wrong with the pasta trio. We love to visit Lidia's for anniversaries and special occasions. Here's a secret we've discovered - the ice cream at Lidia's is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to Lidia's. I ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was my first visit to Lidia's. I had heard wonderful things and wanted to check it out. Was not disappointed and will be back soon. The sampler was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, but for a Tuesda ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food was delicious, but for a Tuesday evening the service was a bit slow.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was so delicious and the wine p ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was so delicious and the wine pairings were brilliant. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience and always enjoyed ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful experience and always enjoyed by the family

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate in the newer addition, it was a g ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We ate in the newer addition, it was a great room. would be beautiful esp. when there is snow.

our food was great and our waitress Liz was super pleasant! It was really a great dining experience! The only thing to make better for me would be to have Brut champagne by the glass.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 6:00 pm dinner reservations, for ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had 6:00 pm dinner reservations, for us a great time...quiet when we arrived yet a full restaurant when we left! Noise level was low enough to carry on a conversation, yet full enough when we left that gave the restaurant a good, "live" energy!

Food was delicious - wait staff very attentive

Would visit again the next time in KC!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Phenomenally and exceptionally good food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Phenomenally and exceptionally good food. Service was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was very nice but could hav ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our waitress was very nice but could have been a little more attentive. Wine a bit over priced.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Definitely save up your appetite if you ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Definitely save up your appetite if you plan to do dinner. Calamari and antipasto appetizers are big enough for at least four per appetizer. By the time we got to the pasta of the day entree I couldn't even finish half my plate. Very good value and really good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I read a number of reviews beforehand. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I read a number of reviews beforehand. It surprised me that there were quite a few reviews that were not very good. I love Lidia's cooking show and couldn't imagine the restaurant being sub par but was worried as I organized the group and led them all to Lidia's!

Well, I should have trusted my instincts. The restaurant was beautiful. The waiter was quite good. And, the food was exceptional.

I would recommend Lidia's without reservation. We all enjoyed ourselves.

BRAVO.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.