About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made entirely from scratch with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in-house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh.

Every day Lidia's offers a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork, and beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs including gluten-free items.

Lidia's is located in the historic Freighthouse-- a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes three hand-blown chandeliers, a three-story slate fireplace, and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Public Transit:
We are conveniently located within short walking distance of the KC Streetcar stops at 18th and Main and the Union Station stop.

From both stops, you will find a staircase leading to the Freighthouse District just south of 20th and Main on the West side of the street.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pasta Trio - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Bronzino - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi With Braised Duck Ragu - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Coffee - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Tiramisu - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Olive Spreads - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi Con Anitra In Guazzetto - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Canalleni Bean And Spinach Soup - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Spinach ricotta ravioli - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Handmade Pasta - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Cavatappi - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Bread - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Olive spread - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Cesar Salad - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Pasta tasting - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Pasta Tasting Trio - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Tirimisu - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Complimentary Bread - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Teramisu - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Cabbage Rolls - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Peroni Beer - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Brunch Desserts.  - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Duck Gnocchi - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Traditional Pork Shank - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Sunday Sauce - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Fritto Misto - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Spaghetti - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Pork Chop - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Trout With Grilled Scallions & Potatoes - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
20oz Bone-In Ribeye - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Mista Salad - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Chocolate Torte With Esspresso Ice Cream - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Endive Salad, Walnuts, Apples, Blue Cheese - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Ricotta Cake Pear Caramel Sauce - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Housemade Cotechino Sausage with Lentils, Root Vegetable and Mustard Sauce - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Meyer Lemon Cheesecake with Blood Oranges and Blood Orange Sauce - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Candied Celery Dessert - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Lasagna Bolognese - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Rib Eye Steak  - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Fettuccini Alfredo - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Salmon Tostada & Ceasar Salad - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Spaghetti With Fried Shrimp And Calamari  - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Beef Short Rib Braised in Red wine with Spinach Spaetzle and Carrots - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Barramundi With Polenta In Tomato Caper Sauce - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Caesar Salad - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Copa Di Avena E Mora - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Spinich Canneloni - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Polpette - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Crab And Scallion Risotto - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Griiled Octopus With Potatoes, Capers, Olives, Green Beans And Frisee  - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Semifreddo Alla Ricotta - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Gnocchi - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Argula Salad - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Crab and Scallion Risotto Cake - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Boulevard Stout Cake - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Chicken Scallopine, Garlic Confit, Capers, Castelvetrano Olives, & Spinach - Lidia's Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Delectable dining, impeccable service, and unparalleled elegance accompanied by the delicious Northern Italian cuisine of famed Chef Lidia Bastianich await you and your guests in our two private dining spaces, The Loft and The Terrazza.

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for a Date (99)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
See All
Fit for Foodies (76)
Romantic (69)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Authentic (60)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Business Meals (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for Groups (50)
Comfort Food (40)
Fireplace (38)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Historic (34)
Modern Decor (33)
Casual (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fun (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Cozy (27)
Great for Brunch (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Tasting Menu (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Family Style (20)
Seasonal (19)
Private Room (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Scenic View (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4029 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a solid restaurant

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined a day ago

Always a solid restaurant

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Plats réconfortants
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it is not genuine italian food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

it is not genuine italian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fun server, delicious food.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Fun server, delicious food.

Tags: Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time experiencing Lidia' ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a wonderful time experiencing Lidia's a la restaurant week. Food and service was great, especially on a cold January night. Had a great time. Will recommend and be back. Big thanks to owners for doing Restaurant Week!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, dining at Lidia's was a top-no ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

As usual, dining at Lidia's was a top-notch experience. We dined there during Restaurant Week and even though the restaurant was crowded, the staff did a great job of welcoming us and making us feel comfortable. We were seated immediately in the new section of the restaurant, and we were waited on promptly. Our waitress (I wish I could remember her name), was very familiar with the menu and the wine list and made excellent recommendations regarding both. She was also extremely nice and professional.

The food was quite good for a Restaurant Week arrangement--especially the Endive Salad, Pasta Tasting and the Chocolate Brownie dessert.

Lidia's is beautifully decorated and it was a great place for a romantic date. Lidia's has expanded their seating, but even though it's a little louder than I remembered, it didn't affect our dining experience one bit. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service and generous portions.

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Good service and generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great atmospere Bread i ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great atmospere Bread is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We live out of town so coming to Lidia's ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

We live out of town so coming to Lidia's takes planning. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with friends at Lidia's, birthdays, and brought out of state friends to show off

Kansas City. We love the atmosphere and especially, the weekend brunch. We have tried many

different items on the menu and have never been disappointed. The price is a little steep for us

but not for Kansas City. So for a very special occasion, Lidia's is a perfect choice one can budget for in advance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible and the food wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was terrible and the food was okay. Granted it was restaurant week but we would go 45-minutes before asking to see our server every time. We also thought the food would be better for the prices they charge. Probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Great Restaurant Week menu, great value. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Restaurant Week menu, great value. Definitely an experience if you get a chance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the look of the place though with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the look of the place though with the high ceilings it was quite loud. The food was incredible and wine pairings chosen for each course was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

As always the food was great, the atmosp ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

As always the food was great, the atmosphere delightful, especially in the new addition, and the service attentive to our table. A great place for business lunches.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress, Rachael, was very professional ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Waitress, Rachael, was very professional and made every attempt to give us great service. She was very helpful with food and beverage selections and made us feel like regulars. The one issue we had were the gentlemen walking around serving additional plates of pasta. Each one made it awkward when they approached the table and just served the pasta, no conversation. The bussers were very unfriendly and cold.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business lunch

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Business lunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service I've ever had anywhere in t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Best service I've ever had anywhere in the world so far. Price was about $10 dollars higher than I thought it should have been for the tasting trio. But overall I was still very satisfied with the place and will go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lidia's has done a little remodeling and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lidia's has done a little remodeling and opened up the entrance and bar area, I think it is more welcoming.

The brunch is wonderful. You can not beat the antipasto and dessert tables. I had the pasta trio and my wife had the Sunday Sauce and both were very tasty.

My server, Peter, was excellent. He is there when needed and not hovering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent delicious food. Our wait ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very consistent delicious food. Our waitress Tabitha was excellent and we had very good service. We have had her before and wanted her again. The pasta trio is a most if you are new to Lidia's.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was amazing as always. The serv ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was amazing as always. The service usually is great but we had a rough experience. We waited for a long time for wait staff to approach our table and finally flagged someone down to help us. The service was very slow throughout the evening. We asked for seconds of one of the pasta trio dishes and it never came, although our waitress asked for someone to bring it to us. I hope this was just a one time bad service experience. Lidia's is one of our favorite special occasion spots in KC.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a wonderful evening and went with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a wonderful evening and went with the Tuesday special and wine pairing. The food was delicious and our server Joshua was great with all recommendations and wine knowledge.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rachel was excellent. Overall great expe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Rachel was excellent. Overall great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food, pleasure to enjoy our me ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very good food, pleasure to enjoy our meal together there great variety on the menu. Wonder, fresh food. Beautiful decor

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Day brunch. Fun time with so ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Day brunch. Fun time with so many different items to try. Service was very good and food was up to Lidia's usual fine dining. Nice event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Details matter! I was excited to dine ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Details matter!

I was excited to dine at Lidia's. As a chef, I admire her technique and her passion. Maybe it was my late dinner reservation 10 p.m., maybe it was that it was New Year's Eve, but, my plates were a bit clunky. We can start with the plate as a vessel. It look beat up and marked up. When it arrived at the table it was obvious that the expediter or the person in charge of the pass failed to rim the plate clean of drips. The Polpettine themselves came out lukewarm with the Polenta a bit chunky. The veal sugo was not as rich and delicate as one would hope, instead it tasted like a mash-up of tomato sauce and demi-glace.

My second course of a half order of a Caesar Salad arrived. The dressing was tight and pretty spot on, although a few more anchovies would have help to elevate it. The disappointing part of the salad was with the crouton, far too big and the Romaine. My salad was mostly the ribs of the Romaine with very little leaf. All of which left me slightly bitter over my salad.

My Braised Duck with Gnocchi was good. But that is it! The Gnocchi was a bit over done and thus tight and chewy and there simply was too much sauce for the plate. Again it came out warm, but, hot. Getting a piece of Cartridge in the dish also caught me by surprise.

My waiter Tony was without question the highlight of my dinner. He was courteous, knowledgeable and very professional. All in all, I expect more from a restaurant with such a reputation. As I said in the opening, Details matter and in this case, with my experience, they seemed to be ignored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were at Lidias on New Years Eve with ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were at Lidias on New Years Eve with our children 13, 11, and 7. Our waiter was awesome with the children and my food allergies. It was louder than normal because of the evening. It was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my family to Lidia's for New Year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I took my family to Lidia's for New Year's Eve, when I was hoping for a delicious and festive evening where we could relax and enjoy the place and one another's company. Lidia's was just right. We had a short, but expected wait, for our table but then could really take our time and enjoy the ambience, the wonderfully attentive, but not overbearing, service and the very special and plentiful food. Our beverages were just right, too. We are from around the country, but we would all be delighted to return.

Tags: Family Style, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I went to Lidia's for New Years Eve dinn ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I went to Lidia's for New Years Eve dinner with my girlfriend and a couple good friends. This was the first time I had been, and as soon as I walked in, I was impressed. The decor was classy and inviting, the servers were friendly, and the food was delicious. We had a couple instances (most likely due to the size of the NYE crowd) where service was a bit slow or delayed, but our server even gave us a free round of drinks to compensate for it. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I love this restaurant, but I've decided ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love this restaurant, but I've decided ordering the pasta trio usually ends in moderate satisfaction. We ate there New Year's Eve and the service was great, as always, but the food was just ok. One dish included in the pasta trio was shrimp and lobster risotto that had no shrimp or lobster. I took someone new to KC there and suggested afterwards to come back and simply order something off the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a very nice New Years Eve dinner wit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had a very nice New Years Eve dinner with the family. A wide variety of orders in our group and everyone was happy. Pasta trio was amazing!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants, but jus ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants, but just discovered they serve weekend brunch. Perfect way to begin the day

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful choice for brunch and my bi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A delightful choice for brunch and my birthday! The brunch choices are outstanding and the server gave me a beautiful dish of blood orange and coconut sorbet for birthday dessert. Recommended!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very poor food quality. Been there many ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very poor food quality. Been there many times. Worst ever. Spinach ravioli poor quality. Not cooked. Appraiser the shrimp with noodles. Basic. Basic shrimp. Basic noodles. Entree of Wild Boar ravioli cold and tasteless. Ravioli cold. Not hot at all on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Fabulous dinner once again. Lidia's rel ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous dinner once again. Lidia's reliably delivers every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always fun to have dinner at Lidia ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

It is always fun to have dinner at Lidia's. It always has a great buzz. The food is incredible--and consistently good. And with Peter as our server, it is perfection!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fun, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have watched Lidia's television show ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We have watched Lidia's television show for the past three years...it was a delight to enjoy the restaurant. It was on our KC To-Do list. We will come again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Lidia's, and we don't eat there ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We love Lidia's, and we don't eat there often, maybe four or five times a year. This time we experienced something which we've noticed before, but never mentioned: our server asking if we've dined there before. First, don't get the wrong impression: we do not expect to be remembered or recognized, as we are not famous or especially memorable. But if you haven't dined there, you may be reluctant to say, as you might feel as if you are being tested, somehow, or, second, if you have dined there, and say so, it has the flavor of "being in the club," which is odd. The question feels artificial, leading one to believe that this is part of training. If it matters to the administration, then inform the server when the table is assigned that this is a repeat diner, as you usually know when a table is reserved if the name is already in the system. If the server even sort of knows or cares that the diner has eaten there previously, fine: no one feels awkward or as if they're missing something. Our server, Rachel, was very competent and did a perfect job, but we thought it odd that a professional would have to ask that question. Of course, Lidia's is not the only place asking, but it has the feeling of "locals vs. tourists" and is offputting. I suggest that in training, instead of giving the server a question to ask, have them learn to actively listen for certain questions or confusion pertaining to the menu. If the diner seems not to understand something (like the pasta tasting), explain that. Next time, the diner will know all about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a wonderful evening. Our waite ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This was a wonderful evening. Our waiter was very attentive. It was our anniversary, and he thoughtfully brought us a glass of champagne to celebrate. We were a table of 10, and they brought some of the food out too early. Other than that, an excellent experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were 15 minutes late for our reservat ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were 15 minutes late for our reservation. I called and they were gracious to accommodate. It's one big, open room, a renovated old building. I love the brick, the high ceiling and wooden beams. It's very cool. There'should a lot to look at, and good people-watching. We've been there before, so there were no surprises. Some of the best food in town. Our bill added up to over a hundred dollars with tip for two people, but mainly because of the 3 mixed-drinks. The food seems to be priced fairly. I can't go here to often, due to cost, but will definitely be back again!

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Lidia's! The qual ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Another great meal at Lidia's! The quality and freshness of the food is always a treat! Love the decor and overall ambiance. Everyone enjoyed themselves and the service was excellent, as usually. Will be back again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was a little disappointed in this visi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I was a little disappointed in this visit to Lidia's. I take my sister to Lidia's every year for a Christmas/birthday meal and it wasn't as good as it normally was. Printed on the menu was the pear and cheese ravioli (our favorite - and we were really looking forward to it)...but what came out was different. We asked the waiter what happened to the pear and cheese ravioli and he said they changed it to a different kind of ravioli without telling him and without changing the menu. The new option was good, but not our favorite. Also, Lidia's has upgraded the bar but I don't feel the new bar is authentic as the old layout. The lighting and ambiance was just different - they used to have a backlit wine section which was really cool, but these lights were turned down and the dining room lights were blasting. Overall, just not as good as an experience as we've had other times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an AMAZING dinner! Everything exc ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had an AMAZING dinner! Everything exceeded our expectations and we most certainly will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.