About Lidia's Restaurant

101 W 22nd Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Lidia's features authentic, regional Italian cuisine. Every item at the restaurant is house-made, entirely from scratch, with the best ingredients available. Breads and desserts are baked in house daily and each salad and entree is prepared fresh. Every day Lidia's offer a sampling of seasonal, daily-made pastas. We also feature many seafood, chicken, pork & beef options. We are happy to accommodate your dietary needs, including gluten free items. Lidia's is located in the Historic Freighthouse, a beautiful 19th century building. The stunning decor includes 3 hand-blown chandeliers, a 3 story slate fireplace and cozy, New York style seating.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm ; Dinner: Monday - Thursday 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday 5:00pm - 10:00pm. Saturday 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday 4:00pm - 9:00pm ; Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:30am - 2:00pm Happy Hour available Monday - Friday 4:00 - 6:00pm

Cross Street:
20th and Baltimore

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 221-3722

Website:
http://www.lidias-kc.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is located on the south side of the Freighthouse. There is no fee for parking.

Executive Chef:
Dan Swinney

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Lidia's Loft features private dining for parties of 10-100. Only at Lidia's will guests enjoy true Italian cuisine and warm hospitality in a comforting and impressive Kansas City environment. Lidia's Loft features exposed, open beam ceilings, original 19th century brick walls, and more!

Lidia's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Kansas City
Italian
Kansas City, MO
Most Booked
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Crossroads / Freight District / Boulevard ›

special occasion (232)
fit for foodies (153)
romantic (148)
See All
good for groups (122)
notable wine list (91)
great for lunch (77)
great for brunch (75)
neighborhood gem (68)
great for outdoor dining (54)
scenic view (44)
hot spot (37)
kid-friendly (21)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (10)
 (5)
 (4)
 (4)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4

My husband got the pasta sampler. It was ...

Dined 4 days ago

My husband got the pasta sampler. It was so much food and soo delicious! Mushroom ravioli was great! I had the special that night which was a chicken dish on polenta and was perfect. I had a cocktail from the bar. It was like a Moscow mule but a different name and it was great too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & conversation!

Dined 5 days ago

My daughter & I were having lunch with a former student who was in town performing at Starlight in "Matilda" . Not only was the food wonderful as usual, but the wait staff were very professional and didn't rush us. We thoroughly enjoyed a great lunch and had a fabulous visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated a colleague's birthday at Lidia's

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The pear ravioli was a surprise combination that we all particularly liked. We always enjoy our meals at Lidia's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very different experience tha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was a very different experience than expected. My friend picked this as a restaurant for is to meet for a monthly gathering. When they said Italian, I immediately pictured heavy cream and cheese based sauces. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the sauces were very light and the pasta extremely fresh. Their 3-pasta sampler with table side service was excellent. I highly recommend the sampler dinner especially if you have a difficult time deciding on one main dish. You can eat as much as you want or as little. The coolest part is knowing it won't be the same 3 pasta sampler the next time you come in as it rotates daily.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lidia o' Lidia

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The new layout opened up the main dining room and the bar area has a new look too Much needed

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This should have been a four star plus r ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This should have been a four star plus review, however, the epic fail upon departing this past Sunday evening still leaves a bad taste in my mouth. After enjoying very good food and service (our server was Billie), our group of 12 was allowed to slowly exit the restaurant (past at least one manager and several staff) without even a simple "thank you" or even "good night." After dropping several hundred dollars on dinner and tipping over 20%, I am still stunned how our group was ignored after paying the check. It makes me regret spending my money here. How do you do so many things right and drop the ball so badly on a simple parting comment?Hospitality and Seamless Service 101. Ugh.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food presentation was wonderful.

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food presentation was wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Purpose: small family reunion. Superlat ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Purpose: small family reunion. Superlative potables and comestibles. A bit noisy. Waiting service efficient, indulgent and accommodative. Main problem: reserved time not honored; about a half-hour delay.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place for an enjoyable, relaxing di ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Good place for an enjoyable, relaxing dinner with attentive service. Hubby's was 5star, mine 3.5. Great night overall.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had one of the best servers in any resta ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Had one of the best servers in any restaurant, pleasant, courteous but not hovering-great evening.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the new bar design! The value $32 ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the new bar design! The value $32 bottles are great! Dinner was delish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with our two special gr ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent dinner with our two special granddaughters before we went to Kauffman Center last Friday night. We will be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Best Restaurant in KC

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

We tried Lidia's for the first time on a Tuesday evening and ordered the 3 course daily special. Every course was exquisite, perfectly prepared with interesting combinations of ingredients. The waiter was knowledgeable, friendly but not pushy. The Wine List included a list of "value priced" wines which we ordered. It was a terrific Chard from Sicily that I had never heard of. The ambience of the restaurant which was a freight house for Union Station is charming and romantic. The overall price for dinner for two with wine was about $100 which I consider one of the best values in KC for the quality, service and ambience. This is Italian food at it's BEST!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Appetizers were outstanding (Frisco and ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Appetizers were outstanding (Frisco and Fritto Misto). Cesare salad was great and Pasta Trio was also very good. Chocolate Dessert was also great. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I booked a table for 7, at Lidia's, to c ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I booked a table for 7, at Lidia's, to celebrate the graduation of a relative. It was my first time to Lidia's, tho I had watched her cooking show for years. All that I can say is that I have only positive things to relay. Great building, knowledgeable and patient service. Check this out, I bring a vegan, a meat eater, a kid and a person with a stomach problem to dinner. I'm thinking there is no way they can all be made happy...wrong. The waiter helped us find the best for everyone. Food -- incredible. Go there. You'll like it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing Service and Food

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our waiter was extremely friendly and made us feel like we were friends right away. The service was incredible; we were sat, ordered, and had food within 20 minutes since we ordered the special. The food itself was incredible as well. Super flavorful and delicious. I felt like I was at an extremely fancy restaurant but the price was not bad at all. I will definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Many happy returns

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We have been dining at Lidia's 2-3 times a year for many years. I sneak in a couple of business lunches there annually, as well. In all of that time, I have only had one minor complaint about the food: too much dressing on the Caesar salad--once. That's it. Every other meal has been well-prepared and delicious. My wife loves the Zuppa di Pesce (even after they switched in cous cous for the corona beans awhile back). The portions are ample. We even like sitting at those little two-tops down the center if they put us there. The new 'outdoor' dining area is spectacular. The new bar area is much better. It's all good. Go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had excellent service & since it was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had excellent service & since it was our first visit we had questions that were all answered knowledgeably. My husband raved about his lamb chops & veggies (succotash?), plus gobbled the potatoes instantly. I enjoyed the duck with polenta & asparagus- altho I prefer the duck fat to be rendered a bit more. We enjoyed the house Pinot Grigio & shared dessert- the hazelnut & chocolate concoction was divine! Definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was amazing .... the pasta trio ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food was amazing .... the pasta trio with salad and dessert was fantastic. My friend and I both loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Not our usual great experience.

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went early and the restaurant was not very busy yet. After being seated for about 5 minutes, our server said on her way by, 'be right with you'. After another 10 minutes, my husband finally went to the bar on his own and got us drinks. The server was miffed but we felt like there was no excuse for the wait. She was attentive for the rest of the meal but it started it off on a bad note.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I found the food to be just ok, and the price high

Dined on May 8, 2016

The title sums it all up! The food was just ok like a regular fast food restaurant. I didn't find anything here that made it pop out from others around town.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4

The service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Too many patrons for the Kitchen Staff

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reservation for 11:00am for three (Mother's Day). Arrived 5 - 10 minutes early and immediately seated. Water came quickly - waitress not as fast. My wife had questions answered "so-so" by waitress. Bellini's came soon - hot tea took two trips. Antipasta was good and flavorful. Then we waited. and waited. and waited. At 11:40 am our waitress came by; I asked if there was a problem in the kitchen. She said "Yes. The chef was having a heart attack (not really)." Tables seated well after us had been served their entrees, but not us. it was a "fixed menu" with limited selections (approx. eight) and we were an early seating (11:00 am). The waitress brought two more Bellini's however we refused them - we wanted our meals. The Manager came by with no explanation for the delay - just an apology. The waitress returned and said our food would be served shortly. I responded "do you mean within five minutes?" She said "Yes." Finally at 11:55 am (right at the five minute mark) the entrees were delivered. My mother's salmon was ok but only warm. my wife's pasta with shrimp was very flavorful and so were the mixed vegetables. I had the "tasting trio." The fettuccini was too salty (cooked with prosciutto), the ravioli was bland, the farfalle was good. The dessert pastries came quickly soon followed by the bill (no adjustment for the delay). Entrees delivered at 11:55 am. We had completed our meal including dessert, paid our bill, and at our car by 12:20 pm. No one asked if we wanted an after-dinner coffee or drink. No additional apology; no offer of discount for our next visit; no acknowledgement of a problem. No refill of the hot tea (or even acknowledgement that I might want more hot water). Over-priced for the quality and service. In adequate planning for the large Mother's Day crowd. Too many patrons for the kitchen staff. I don't know if I will ever return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this restaurant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is my go-to place for special dates. The food and serve are top notch. Love Lydia's!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Underwhelming

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I took a dear friend to celebrate Mothers Day. She is Italian. She had never been and we were bragging about the food and past brunches we had been to. Two of the pasta trio were excellent. The rest was for employee convenience and no way to honor mothers. Frozen desserts and splitting a tomato three ways along with some other items that aren't antipasta. No antipasta and dessert tables. Also you might dust the gorgeous chandeliers. You can see how caked on it is....each globe.

food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing menu and the food was excellent ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing menu and the food was excellent peter d Malone

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and loved it. Great menu, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We sat outside and loved it. Great menu, the waiter was great Simar? the spelling. He was very informative and friendly. He also told us about other places in KC to visit and eat when we asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Great Meal; Great Restaurant; Arrogant Host

Dined on May 7, 2016

Lidia's always delivers when it comes to authentic Italian dining. Delicious. The never-ending pasta trio was simply excellent; it never disappoints. And both the salmon and swordfish were phenomenal. The service, however, was below par. We had to ask three times for an additional helping of fettuccine bolognaise. Drinks were not refilled timely. The server never asked if we wanted a second glass of wine. Most unfortunate was the arrogant and unfriendly host. Lidia's is apparently renovating its bar area. When asked about the construction, the host looked at us like we were vagrants dirtying up the lobby and gave a short, rude remark. He never smiled. And he kept us waiting 20 minutes past our reservation time. Put a friendly face up front and demand more attention from the servers and it would make a near-perfect evening.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the second time we visited Lidia ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is the second time we visited Lidia's so we thought we would try the unlimited pasta special this time. We were disappointed with the pasta selection for Saturday evening. It was just too much pasta! If you like only pasta as for your meal, you would have been pleased. Personally, I prefer some meat as the main ingredient for my meal so next time we'll pass on the unlimited pasta special.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

Great spot! I expected more from a basti ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great spot! I expected more from a bastianich restaurant.. Food was okay, and we got the popular pasta trio. Should have been better in my opinion. I'm being hard on them because food should be on point every time

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

High Prices

Dined on May 7, 2016

I felt like the prices were def. on the high side for what it is. The server was awkward and came off rude. She NEVER looked any of us in the eye including when telling us about specials or taking payment. She also never asked us a drink order which was really weird. Especially at an Italian restaurant where most people would drink wine. I had a very difficult time getting her attention to take it---or ever come back to ck on us. The runners on the other had did ALL the work and were wonderful! If not for them our experience would've been completely terrible. They were attentive, asked how we were doing etc. She was a waste of payroll.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointing

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The restaurant was under construction for a new bar. So instead of making their enclosed patio a temporary bar, they installed mini bars for the servers. It looked like a mini bar at a party. We were served $9.25 Cosmopolitans that arrived in whiskey glasses and were clearly not worth the price paid. Food was average. The service was very good but I will say that the feeling of service "efficiency " left one with the feeling of being "herded" so the table could be turned for the next customer. I realize that it was First Friday but that was my impression. It will probably be awhile before I'm ready to give it another try. I think they have some work to do before I would tell someone to have dinner there.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 3, 2016

Arrived with reservations to an empty restaurant. Think they thought we were with a large group scheduled upstairs. Seated at a poor table and had to ask for menus. Food took forever to arrive. Waitress apoligized. Food average. Skipped dessert. Will not come again soon.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Even the iced tea was delicious! We arrived 15 minute early, but the maître d' found us a table immediately. We both ordered one of the specials: 1 sausage, 1 meatball, and a small portion of melt-in-your-mouth pork shoulder in carbonara sauce over pasta, followed by tiramisu. The free house appetizer was a basket of 3 sliced breads and some breadsticks, with a plate of two house spreads in a bed of oil. Each item was unique and truly delicious. The service was quite good. At one busy point, even the maître d' pitched in to bus tables, with grace and a smile on his face! A bit noisy with a crying infant and we were seated next to the bussing station--clank!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 1, 2016

Brought my parents here for Brunch to celebrate an early Mother's Day and wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience - the food was fantastic and reasonably priced. It was worth the 3 hour drive to dine here. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was the best ItalianI have ever ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food was the best ItalianI have ever had. We had the Ceasar salad and pasta sampler. The pasta was fresh made and absolutely amazing. The salad was delicious as well. Highly recommend this restaurant!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Under Renovation and Noisy

Dined on May 1, 2016

My wife and I visited Lidia's while in KC for a weekend getaway. We were hoping for a quiet restaurant to enjoy a nice meal on a Saturday night. Unfortunately the bar area was closed off for renovation which made for a crowded feel to the restaurant. The lack of booths and level of background noise made conversation difficult. The food was excellent, as was our waitress, but all in all it wasn't what we were hoping for in a fine Italian restaurant. Add some booths around the perimeter and I think Lidia's could be a real winner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good place to take out of town guests

Dined on April 30, 2016

We take a lot of guests to Lidia's. Always good food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

An absolutely awesome evening in spite o ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

An absolutely awesome evening in spite of the rain and wind. Perfectly prepared food and excellent service. As one of Lidia's biggest fans she would be very proud of this place that bears her name.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

my first trip to Lidia's

Dined on April 29, 2016

We liked the atmosphere and decor. The food was good, getting it was a problem. There must be assigned roles there because the person that greeted us and took our order did not bring the food. We ordered the triple something to split. Drinks, salad and breads showed up just fine. The first two of the three entry dishes made it just fine but the third never showed up. The person that took our order showed up with our bill and was surprised that the third dish never made it. I am pretty sure that it was just an oversight in the kitchen but it made the trip and experience slightly disappointing.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.