About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
8 More
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Romantic
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Most Booked
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

special occasion (98)
romantic (77)
notable wine list (75)
See All
neighborhood gem (48)
fit for foodies (45)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always I believe they serve the best ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always I believe they serve the best steak dinner you will ever eat. It is a family owned establishment in Annapolis MD

Jin was our waitress who did an exceptional job!

My wife and I will definitely be back!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife for our wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

I took my wife for our wedding anniversary and it was one of the best dinners we've had together. We received excellent service and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be dining at Lewnes' again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful wedding anniversary d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful wedding anniversary dinner there. Everything was perfect. They treated like special guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time I've eaten here and everything ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

2nd time I've eaten here and everything was exactly as I had remembered. Of course the steak was juicy and loaded with flavor and perfectly done as per ordered. Side dishes were also well prepared and full of flavor. Everything came out of the kitchen in perfect order.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Everything was great, save the steaks. A ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was great, save the steaks. And, after all, this is a steak house. My friend and I both had the New York strips.

I order mine Pittsburgh rare and he, medium rare. They both were cook to perfection. Unfortunately, the taste was just ok and not all that tender.

A few weeks previous, my wife picked up some prime strips at Costco and quite honestly, they were better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is an outstanding restaurant. You p ...

 
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. You pay for the rare level of beef found in only a few true steakhouses, but you get a great atmosphere with high-back booths and warm lighting to go with mature wait staff and knowledgeable recommendations. Add the Annapolis setting with plenty more to do on a day or night out, and you have a superb combination.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and wonderful food .St ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent service and wonderful food .Steaks cooked perfectly. Great ambiance and exceptional staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lewnes is always on target For a Perfect ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lewnes is always on target

For a

Perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have lived in Annapolis for 30 years ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have lived in Annapolis for 30 years and this was our first visit to Lewnes. I'm sorry it took us so long. Nick, our server was great. Very attentive without hovering. When I was deciding between two different wines, he brought me a taste of each. The best part, of course, were the steaks. They were absolutely melt in your mouth delicious. My husband ordered the ribeye and he could cut it with his fork. We will definitely come back again soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent high quality food and excelle ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistent high quality food and excellent service, make Lewnes a true destination. Dinner here is always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Annapolis to see our so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were visiting Annapolis to see our son and daughter-in-law, and to see their new house. We were looking for a "special" place. LEWNES' was the perfect place.

Our steaks were cooked to perfection. Although side dishes are not included with the entree, they were served family style

Our waiter was wonderful- attentive without being overbearing. He had a dry sense of humor.

LEWNES' is a great place for a celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and very large portions ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was amazing and very large portions. Listen to the server, he/she gives good advice on food and wine selections. Had dinner here because we had a gift card. Will return because of the food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They forgot to bring us our salad. Food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

They forgot to bring us our salad. Food was not as hot as it should have been. Timing seemed to be off tonight. Service was not up to their usual high level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

An old school steakhouse. Impeccable ser ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

An old school steakhouse. Impeccable service. Waiter knowledgeable about menu, wines and pairings. Food arrived in proper order and only when previous course was finished. Steaks were properly cooked the first time. Menu is ala cart so you may order what you want and capable of eating. The old saying; if you have to ask the price, you cannot afford it. Although Lewnes is no more expensive than any other quality steakhouse, price is very, very, worth visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, no, superior steaks and great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent, no, superior steaks and great wine, seafood, vegetables, and service. Ever hear the phrase "You get what you pay for"? You absolutely do get some of the best food and service but please don't think it is inexpensive. It is a luxury. I had an amazing cowboy cut ribeye with the "oscar" option which was a generous helping of lump crab in a bearnaise sauce. My wife had the filet mignon which was beautifully cooked. We both shared some sauteed spinach which was delicious also (onions and garlic were assertive but not overpowering - unless you're a fan of bland). We had a very nice bottle of Italian wine to enjoy with the meal. You get what you pay for. Our server was kind enough to comp us a delicious pecan pie ala mode for our anniversary. Really really very tasty. It didn't taste like grocery store ice cream or pie, it tasted fresh, not like it was full of preservatives. We got there early and basically had the place to ourselves until we were leaving and business started picking up. We had enough to bring home for a fantastic lunch the next day. I will definitely go back, I'll just need to save up if I want the most extravagant items on the menu again. A wonderful night though and a beautiful lady to spend it with.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We always love going to Lewnes for any s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always love going to Lewnes for any special occasion. Our waiter, Nick was wonderful and had great suggestions on the menu and the wine. Our food came out at a leisurely pace and we enjoyed every bite we had. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the wine that was suggested was just what we wanted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great special occasion place. Very good selection of wines in all price ranges. They know what they do well and don't over extend to provide extensive choices that compromise selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have any, but wait! They made some calls and two 3 1/2 pounders showed up. We love Lewnes!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was delicious--cooked to perfe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The steak was delicious--cooked to perfection. You will love the ambience. I took my daughter here for her birthday, because she is a steak lover and she loved it!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had last eaten at Lewnes' years ago a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We had last eaten at Lewnes' years ago as part of a large group (8+). We remembered the steak as awesome but expensive. This time we decided to treat just the two of us to a special anniversary meal. The food and service couldn't have been better and, SURPRISE, because we shared an appetizer and a large, perfectly grilled, prime fillet the bill was quite reasonable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was taken to this restaurant for Fathe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was taken to this restaurant for Father's Day celebration. The food was good and the waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. The only issue I had was the waitress brought out a dessert plate, placed it in front of me, wished me a Happy Father's Day, handed out all of us spoons and we dug in. I was totally shocked when I reviewed my receipt and saw I was charged almost $6 for a square brownie with a scoop of ice cream on top of it. A dessert menu was not offered to us, I was brought out a dessert I did not request but I assumed it was the restaurants way of wishing the fathers Happy Father's Day. Boy was I wrong.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Father's Day for my steak loving husband ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day for my steak loving husband was great! The crab cakes had too much filler.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Go there as often as we can. This visit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Go there as often as we can. This visit was wonderful - as usual.

Great Food and Great Service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Does not offer parking. In Annapolis th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Does not offer parking. In Annapolis that is insane. Waiter was not warm and friendly. Butter was on the table but bread was never served. Food was nothing to rave about. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food and a great wait staff!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an e cells t meal and the waiter ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had an e cells t meal and the waiter was very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and a wine selection tha ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Incredible food and a wine selection that I have yet to see rivaled. Also, the wait staff was exceptionable at explaining the menu and options. Best steak house in the Annapolis area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my second experience dining at ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my second experience dining at Lewnes and I have to say it was much better than my first visit. The food was prepared just right, and the ambience was fantastic for the occasion I had planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Steakhouse atmosphere with outstanding p ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Steakhouse atmosphere with outstanding prime beef! Very high quality in every way. Would like to see some less expensive wine selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great place

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have never been disappointed with the food or service here. Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can truly say, as a steak aficionado, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I can truly say, as a steak aficionado, this place has the best steaks of any restaurant I've ever been to… And I've been to them all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous steak & salads, cooked perfectl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Fabulous steak & salads, cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place to have steak in Annapolis

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Continues to be THE place for traditional steak dinner in Annapolis (although this time I had a veal chop that was spectacular). From drinks at the bar to coffee an calvados this is the best steakhouse in Annapolis. Great cocktails, the Greek salad, the sides and a wide ranging and solid wine list; accompanied with seamless and friendly service. What more could you want???

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, lousy food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The steak, potatoes, mushrooms were very salty, couldn't even finish the food it was that over powering and creamed spinach was soupy. Nothing looked fresh looked, looked reheated (and re-seasoned) from the night before. Also it was my birthday and my wife had them bring out cheesecake that tasted/smelled freezer burned and stale. Lots of money for such poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was great as usual!!! Jin was ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was great as usual!!! Jin was amazing too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Favorite Place

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Good atmosphere, great food, our go to place! Good service, wine list - I love that it's local and not a chain!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We truly enjoyed our meal. The service w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We truly enjoyed our meal. The service was excellent. The food was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent as always and our server, Dave, was very attentive to our every need. But the seafood bisque, sautéed mushrooms and lyonnaise potatoes left a lot to be desired. The seafood bisque was full of shells and the meat was so pulverized you couldn't tell what you were eating. The sautéed mushrooms were quite bland without even a hint of sherry in them. And the lyonnaise potatoes were quite greasy and inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great food, fine service, failed request

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I treated my girlfriend to dinner at Lewnes' for our anniversary and really enjoyed the food. She had the crab cakes which were delicious and had very little filler, while I had the regular filet mignon which was beutifully cooked and very large (well worth the $43 price tag). Although the food was good, I was disappointed to see the lack of rose petals on the table that I had requested. When I asked for rose petals at Ruth's Chris, they did so and even included a card that said "Happy anniversary," so it was a bit of a let down that Lewnes' didn't do the same. Our server was attentive to our drinks but seemed to be in a hurry with us. Overall, I will probably go back again just for the food, but if I want to make any special requests, I'll take my business to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We celebrated a special anniversary at L ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated a special anniversary at Lewnes and had a wonderful meal and experience! I would definitely recommend a reservation but would not miss out on experiencing this restaurant in downtown Annapolis! Beautiful and elegant and the steaks are outstanding!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.