About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Romantic (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Historic (18)
Authentic (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Private Room (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LEWNES' STEAKHOUSE - GO THERE... EAT, DR ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

LEWNES' STEAKHOUSE - GO THERE... EAT, DRINK AND BE MERRY!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good steak. Not the best I've had, but ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Good steak. Not the best I've had, but not bad for Annapolis.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love Lewnes! Not your chain steak hous ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I love Lewnes! Not your chain steak house. In downtown Annapolis. The steaks are always delicious. Potatoes anyway you can think of. Their Greek salad is as change from your usual steak house salads. The staff on all levels are excellent and attentive. Wish it had beers on tap. I used to go to the Prime Rib in Baltimore but this beats it in food and atmosphere! A winner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was out of this world!!!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I had in along time!! Seasone ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best steak I had in along time!! Seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was awesome, the food was aw ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was awesome, the food was awesome, however the atmosphere is another story. The tables had 1 dollar salt and pepper shakers, nothing of quality. The walls in the both is chipped, the light was crooked. There was a dry spill down the back of my seat.

The mens rooms was horrific and needs immediate attention, dirty, like a cheap diner (Double T as an example).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great meal and awesome service even on a ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal and awesome service even on a busy holiday. We love this place and every time we come to Annapolis our first choice for dinner is Lewnes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was excellent and prepared wel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The steak was excellent and prepared well. The lobster was also good, but smaller than expected.

The California wine was very good.

The salad was sub par as was the potato side dish.

The service was very good. The ambiance was a little old and tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service, fantastic food. This is o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, fantastic food. This is one of our favorite places to eat in Annapolis. Best steaks in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated her birthday an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday and it was outstanding from beginning to end. We were seated on time for reservation. The steaks age the best we ever had. The food was awesome and drinks were fantastic. Can't say enough about this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, , Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and Ambiance, this is our go ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Food and Ambiance, this is our go to spot for a quiet, quality dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife & I dined at Lewnes' Steakhouse ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife & I dined at Lewnes' Steakhouse the evening of December 28, 2016, celebrating our anniversary. Several months ago, I saw Lewnes' Steakhouse on a list of the 50 Best Steakhouses in America, so I emailed the link to our daughter since she lives in Maryland (my wife & I live in Florida). While visiting our daughters during the Christmas break to meet our grandtwins for the first time, our daughter suggested that we go to Lewnes' Steakhouse for our anniversary. Turned out to be a great suggestion.

I ordered the ribeye medium rare, & my wife ordered the petite filet well done. Both were cooked perfectly! The flavor was exceptional. The side dishes (we had the mushroom & onions, & the mashed potatoes) were also excellent.

As a resident of Florida, I have been to Bern's Steakhouse in Tampa a couple of times. Their steak is also excellent, however, I don't recall leaving there thinking that was the best steak I have ever had. I left Lewnes' Steakhouse feeling like it may very well have been the best steak I have ever eaten. Our server, Patti, was great, & her knowledge of the history of the building & surrounding area added to the enjoyment of the evening. In fact, the entire staff was very friendly. We would both highly recommend Lewnes' Steakhouse, & we already have to friends & family.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A really good steakhouse with great seaf ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A really good steakhouse with great seafood also. Was recommended to me and definitely didn't disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful family dinner spot. Best steak ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Wonderful family dinner spot. Best steaks in Annapolis!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal steaks! Just an all around g ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Phenomenal steaks! Just an all around great evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very good service and very good food. W ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

very good service and very good food. Worth the drive from Ellicott City, MD

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Authentic, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down best steakhouse in Annapolis. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Hands down best steakhouse in Annapolis. A must go to restaurant when in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We experienced a splendid evening. A nic ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We experienced a splendid evening. A nice, cozy booth, low lights and fantastic food. We were able to choose from a very expansive wine list full of wonderful selections. The entrees were cooked to perfection and fancibly presented. A truly memorable night with my lovely wife.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I went to Lewnes for a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Lewnes for a dinner date and had an amazing time. The food was incredible and worth the price, our waitress was attentive and friendly, and the atmosphere was quiet and cozy and great for a date or special occasion. We both agreed we will be coming back in the future and would both highly recommend Lewnes to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great! Staff went ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food and service was great! Staff went out of their way to make it an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak cooked to perfection!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Steak cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THIS WAS MY SECOND TRIP TO LEWENS- THE F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

THIS WAS MY SECOND TRIP TO LEWENS- THE FOOD QUALITY AND COMBINATION OF DISHES WERE AVERAGE AT BEST.

OUR FILETS WERE OVER COOKED AND THE QUALITY OF MEAT WAS NOT FIRST CLASS.

WE WERE DISAPPOINTED AND WILL NOT BE RETURNING

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I took my husband out for his birthday t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I took my husband out for his birthday to Lewnes' (after going back and forth between a couple other steakhouses in the area.) I choose Lewnes' because of their steller reviews across Yelp, Google, and Open Table, and also because they've won 5 or 6 awards such as Best Overall, Best Steakhouse in the Annapolis/Baltimore region, etc. Decor is a noir feel--40s and 50s era with tall booths, low lighting, and just a cozy feel overall. The waiter was amazing, we never felt pressure or rushed, and were well taken care of.

Food: My husband enjoyed his medium Cowboy Ribeye and I haven't had a filet that tender and amazing in years. By far, one of the top two steaks I've ever had. I usually get my meat medium well and the amount of pink was absolutely perfect. We shared, family style, hashbrowns and asparagus (and had to take some home along with the rest of our steaks.) The table bread is served right away with butter, it's an onion loaf that is so soft and delicious... Also, my husband loved his starter of mussels. At the end, they brought us out a homemade brownie with icecream, whipped cream, and two candles on top. Nothing embarrassing, no clapping and singing, just a very classy birthday dessert on them. For two people, appetizer, 2 steaks, 2 sides, Manhattan, glass of Pinot Noir, coffee, and slightly over 20% tip (it's Christmas, y'all), came out to $178. Worth. Every. Penny. This is a must go to and it lives up to every expectation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was delicious. Our ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious. Our wait staff was efficient, and polite, but not terribly friendly.. A bit abrupt.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The overall experience was great! The st ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The overall experience was great! The steak was one of the best I've ever had. The only drawback was the service. The waitress seemed to be a bit distracted and sort of forgot about us for a majority of the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The waiter was extremely helpful and the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The waiter was extremely helpful and the food was excellent!

Wine list and overall cost to dine here is a bit pricey! If it were a few points less expensive we would dine here more often but is great for a special occasion. Thank You!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have NEVER had a better steak and I ha ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I have NEVER had a better steak and I have eaten at all the 'name' steak places all over the country. Great service, go for steak, share the side dishes. We have eaten here several times with family and friends. We always look forward to returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perennial favorite - classic American ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A perennial favorite - classic American steakhouse, straightforward menu, top-quality meat, excellent service, blessedly quiet dining room where conversation can easily be had because of table spacing. We usually go a few times a year, but I think we will go more often. It's so peaceful compared to on-trend restaurants. No one called us "guys" here either ...

Special requests were easily accommodated. I wanted no butter and a lemon half to squeeze over my veal chop, the way I used to like it in Italy. No problem.

The gentlemen in our party enjoyed the fact they were perfectly fine in a sportcoat and no tie. Nice mix of clientele from young couples on up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have meals at Lewnes on sp ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and I have meals at Lewnes on special occasions and any other time we want a great steak or lobster dinner. Lewnes is outstanding and I would put it up against any other steak house in the country. We love it and will continue to visit and dine there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A first time experience and a fantastic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

A first time experience and a fantastic find! A cozy setting with steaks (and sides) that rival any New York steakhouse. Great wine collection and a fine wait-staff. From a business dinner to a romantic evening, Lewnes can provide it. This will be a definite do-again for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Having read many favorab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Disappointing. Having read many favorable reviews and waiting three years to try Lewnes, the experience for us on a Sunday evening was so-so. The crab balls appetizer was very ordinary and the cowboy steak recommended by the server was mostly gristle. The mushroom, potato, and asparagus side dishes were nothing special. The restaurant interior itself could use a facelift, and our server had no charm at all. The bottle of wine was very good, but it should have been for $95. Now that I've tried Lewnes, I'll go to Ruth Chris steakhouse next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The steaks were excellent, particularly ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The steaks were excellent, particularly the tender, flavorful porterhouse. Truly a prime cut of meat and perfectly seasoned and cooked. The clams casino app was delicious, too. The potatoes lyonnaise and creamed spinach were fine, nothing exceptional. You certainly won't go hungry.

But what stood out was the host. After getting stuck in an hour-plus of crazy traffic and realizing the bridge to the area was closed, I called to cancel the reservation, realizing we'd be at least half an hour late. I was on the verge of tears because this my husband's 40th birthday dinner, and with small kids at home, we really don't get out much. The host who answered was warm and sympathetic, and assured me he could hold our booth with no problem, which is notable on a busy Saturday night. His kindness and hospitality made me feel about 1000x better. Oh, and they brought a complimentary birthday dessert with a candle and, happily, no singing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friends we hadn't seen in a while came ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Friends we hadn't seen in a while came to town. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the wine and the steak cooked to perfection with each of us specifying something entirely different. The waiter was caring and efficient and the staff was very accomodationg including finding my friends earring on the stairs and searching us out to see if one of us had lost it! We caught up on lost time and there was no interference or loud noise!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary recently at Lewnes and had a great time. The food and service was impeccable! Best filets we've ever had too. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are offered a table in the small ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

If you are offered a table in the small dinning room off the entry in the bathroom hallway get moved.

This is was my second time here and not as good.

Food was great but the service was really lacking we sat for almost 10 minutes to be greeted be a waitress that you could tell was more interested in getting to her other tables then taking care of my son and me. The rest of the service was fine quick and and on the slow side but fine. Until we were done we waited over 15 minutes with full table of dirty dishes.

When are waitress finally made it back to our table and I joked we thought you had forgotten us she replied "I am really slammed in the dinning room" I wish my nearly $200 bill for my 12 year old son and I would have gotten us into the

"dinning room"

Like the place just don't let them seat you in the bathroom hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Lewnes' is a classic steak house like Ru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lewnes' is a classic steak house like Ruths or Mortons but with a Greek flair. The steak is outstanding as are the sides. The atmosphere is nice but a bit dated. The wine selection is extensive. I've been there several times and it's been outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and great food. Just t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Just tell the server exactly how you like your steak cooked and they will do the math to serve a custom and enjoyable piece of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took well over an hour and 15 minutes ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

It took well over an hour and 15 minutes to get our actual dinner entrées. We had no appetizers but a salad and no wine or cocktails. The whole experience was about 2 1/2 hours which is way longer than I expected considering again we had very simple food orders. We also were sat by the kitchen when I made reservations in advance telling them that we had three special family celebrations out of the four people there. It was irritating to be set back in that area when they were much nicer tables available. On a brighter note we did receive three surprise desserts with candles acknowledging our three special occasions. And when our waiter had time to talk with us he was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The staff was very friendly. The service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly. The service was great. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First the service was top notch! Took h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First the service was top notch! Took his time, explained, added options...Food was tremendous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.