Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (53)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
See All
Romantic (51)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (30)
Cozy (26)
Authentic (19)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Comfort Food (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Family Style (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

All was well as usual the only problem was that there were a group of three men having dinner across from who were quite loud and swearing. They had a few too many drinks but besides that it was a great dining experience as usual when dining at Lewnes

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food was heavenly and the ambiance was perfect. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The entire experience was just outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 13, 2017

What a wonderful throwback. Sometimes you want to be pampered and eat in an unhealthy fashion and are willing to pay for it. This is dark booths and expensive steaks. Lighthanded yet impeccable service. The lady across ordered the 3lb lobster. I did a porterhouse. My wife claimed to be stuffed and unable to do dessert. I had the pecan pie and she ordered the Key Lime to be polite. She commented on how big a piece it was and then ate every morsel. Great wine list. No need to wander into the next block where Ruth's Chris is the interloper. Avoid the chain and get the xtra funk of a local place with an excellent steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The filet was out of this world. Best steak I've eaten in a while. I usually do not order steak when dining at a restaurant. I like my meat well done. I can never seem to get my meat the way I like it. This chef had no problem cooking my meat just the way I like it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were able to celebrate my son's birthday without breaking the bank. The steak was outstanding. The sides served family style we delicious.

We will return and bring our family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

we had the prime rib, asparagus, mushrooms, shrimp cocktail and of course the great bread. Everything was excellent!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Lewnes is one of our favorite restaurants to visit when we are in Annapolis. The setting is what you would expect at a steakhouse and the background music is appropriate both in volume and selection. The pictures on the walls are interesting. We have enjoyed shrimp cocktails, crabcakes, and strip steaks as well as the creamed spinach and Lyonaise potatoes. Serving size is appropriate for the price and the kitchen has been willing to accomodate specal requests, such as half-orders of the sides. At this visit we had a pecan pie for dessert that was one of the best I can recall. Service was professional , attentive, and prompt. The wine list is interesting, although I wish they had more wines available by the glass and/or half-bottle. We definitely recommend Lewnes and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

This is a consistently good steak house! Great service, superb wine list, and a comfortable environment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 3, 2017

a wonderful anniversary experience
food was superb and sean our waiter was just terrific!!
we loved every moment

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

as always, GREAT MEAL, Service was excellent thanks NICK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We came to Annapolis for a long weekend with our three kids. My husband has been to Lewnes' Steakhouse before on a work trip and said we should go as a family. It was a hit. Our waiter was a highlight with the entire family. He made great suggestions and the kids thought he was the best. The food was out of this world - wish we lived closer so we could go more often.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Nick was our server and he was amazing. He cracked us up, but never showed a hint of a smile. He started with "they keep me upstairs so the other servers don't have to deal with me"! So nice and extremely knowledgeable about the various cuts. As a result, we ended up trying our first porterhouse, the double porterhouse special, and it was fantastic! I gave two 4-star ratings: food for lack of dry aged selection & no creme brule and ambiance for being a little too dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband and I wanted to take our son for a really nice steak dinner the night before reporting for his USNA Plebe Summer. Lewne's was highly recommended by a local friend; our friend also recommended to call Patty when making our reservation. Patty was exceptional in accommodating our schedule, and once there, she made the experience warm and complete for our family. The food was excellent and we all felt at home (though 500 miles away). It was truly a memorable experience for our son. Good food and excellent service are priceless. Thank you!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was fantastic. The service was outstanding. We were there to celebrate an anniversary and the atmosphere was perfect. I high recommend this great steak restaurant!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was excellent. We had a 4 pound lobster that was absolutely amazing. Steak was fantastic. Service left a little to be desired but the food was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Lewnes is always an amazing experience. Fantastic food and service every visit. One of our favs for a very special dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Second time there and will be back again. Excellent service and food. A bit pricey but worth every penny. Can't wait to get back to Annapolis to eat at this gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We celebrated Father's Day with lunch at Lewnes'. Our server Nick was friendly, and very knowledgeable and creative coming up with fun drinks as well as lunch ideas. He truly made the experience a joy for our family.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Compared to other great steak houses nationwide that I have been to, Lewnes was below average across the board. Interior was in need of upgrade and steaks were OK, but not great. I am glad to have tried out this local establishment, but it is not close to great steak houses in the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very good steaks, excellent service. A bit pricey, but worth a visit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Best steak in town. Seafood bisque is also a must.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was wonderful. Great experience overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Anniverdary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing restaurant for any occasion. Consistently awesome. Great food, exceptional service. A family run gem!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal, Casual, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Again an excellent evening at Leaned. The lobsters were outrageous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Second visit to Lewnes in the last few years and it definitely did not disappoint. In a day and age where there are a million steakhouses and places to grab a piece of beef, Lewnes definitely stands out and does not disappoint. Great atmosphere, great meal, and excellent service. It's not a cheap meal by any means, but it definitely is worth the spend. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 8, 2017

All and all it was a decent experience. Drove about 35min to check the place out. Was recommended from a restaurant owner in Baltimore city. My food was good had petite Filet oscar style. My girlfriend had petite filet with a crab cake the unfortunate part was that they over cooked her steak. The lyonnaise potatoes were great. Just was a little perturbed about my girlfriends steak. When you go to one of the best steakhouse's in Md you don't expect to have your steak over cooked. Over server Eric was cool obviously not his fault he hooked us up with a dessert on the house. We'd go back but I not sure if I would go out of my way or make it a point to tell ppl they gotta go here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Best steak I've ever head (New York strip). Excellent sides. Great service. Generous martinis. Zero complaints.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lewnes is hands down my favorite steak house and wouldn't miss it when visiting Annapolis. Outstanding prime beef and impeccable service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great anniversary dinner with my wife. Thoroughly enjoyed the Cowboy Ribeye, recommended by our waiter. My wife enjoyed her Ribeye, and the ala carte vegetables.

We were pleasantly surprised dessert compliments of Lewnes.

Our waiter was outstanding, his recommendations were spot on, from
cocktails to our dinner selections.

We look forward to our next dining experience at Lewnes.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything was AMAZING just wished our waitress had a little more personality. Definitely will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wow!! I was told the best steakhouse!! Now I'm convinced!! Great service, fun staff and outstanding food, drinks, wine!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I'm local and frequently have dinner here. Second straight time that food was average. My wife chose the 3.5 Lb lobster and there's no way it weighed that, and we paid by the pound. She cannot eat a 3.5 lber. This happens often. I chose the salmon due to a dietary restriction. Salmon was overcooked and dry.

Disappointing considering a $225 dinner for 2 for anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Awesome!
My top choice restaurants and all of Annapolis!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Lewne's and we enjoyed it greatly. Our server, Nick, has worked there for years and was very helpful and knowledgeable of the menu, etc. He suggested that we could share the salad and sides to save us some money and that the portions would still be adequate-he was right. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and were absolutely great. The meal ended with a surprise free dessert to help celebrate our anniversary. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

A favorite place of ours for steak in Annapolis. When we lived in the area it was great for family birthday. Whenever we visit we try to have dinner there and it never disappoints. Very consistently has good service and food. Nice long wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent service and food for our 1st anniversary. Wish they had valet parking available, but other than that no improvements suggested. They have a good menu, with some unique items you'd not find elsewhere as well as traditional high-end steak house items. She had the filet,
medium-well (superb! best we've had in quite a while, and this includes the other high-end steakhouse just down the street), I had the lamb chop, medium (never had one - it was even more tender than her filet, and very tasty). We also had the creamed spinach (quite good, but a bit heavier on the clove seasoning and oil than I'm used to) and mashed potatoes (super)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Superb steak and lobster! It's a good idea to split the vegetables because the portions are so large.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Awesome! Filet was great with creamed spinach!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.