Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Romantic (54)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Cozy (38)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Business Meals (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (26)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (10)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort by
S
889 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 18 hours ago

Nick, our server, was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was excellent, Patty is extremely professional. Steak was perfect and my wife’s crab cakes could not have been better. Owners have to be proud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent. Always excellent! A wonderful steakhouse...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

WOW! Fabulous food, service was great. Waitress was extremely helpful with navigating the wine list with us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Lewnes' never fails to disappoint. The food and wine were outstanding as usual. Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Have always had a wonderful experience here, our server was less than friendly this time around, although the food was superb as always. Great for an occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

A special place...waitstaff AMAZING...always attentive...engaging...even owners son stopped by our group and spoke to us about their farm-to-table venture awesome! Meat lovers paradise!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We thought from some of the other reviews this would be a go to place. The ambience and staff were great but it was the food....prime steak should be awesome but medium rare means a little brown on the outside not blood red and cool in the center. It was barely brown. My medium was almost well done. Don’t order the hash browns I think they come from a bag in the freezer! Mushrooms were great.
Very few wines by the glass and really.......bottles of wine from $500-$2500. Too many other Steakhouse to try this again. Good luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

This was my second visit and I was so glad to go back! The service is top-notch and the staff go out of their way to make sure the experience is a positive one. The complementary onion bread is great and the steaks are fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We usually save Lewnes for special celebrations, but this time it was just for dinner with friends and it was special as always. The filets were perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Our food was just delicious. Nick, our server, was wonderful and made the evening special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Great food, great service, comfortable seating, and a great place or an occasion or date. Would recommend

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We love Lewnes and spend many special occasions here. It’s perfect for dinner at any time and has the best steak we’ve ever eaten. Drinks, appetizers, and desserts are all fantastic too. We will continue to eat here for years to come & I have recommended Lewnes to any friends or family who visit Annapolis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Food was excellent-wine list well priced and varied-Steak and Veal chop cooked as ordered-
Complimentary dessert for birthday celebration- no rush environment with comfortable roomy seating in booths. Chatted with fellow dinners in booth across aisle- not intrusive-great camaraderie in the dining room.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Like a delicious throwback to the Gordon Geckko-era, Lewnes' still does traditional steak house fare better than anyone in Annapolis. Wedge salad with blue cheese and bacon, rib-eyes cooked to perfection and delicious spuds. You can work out and eat healthy later, right?

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fantastic steak. Professional service. Order the ribeye.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Overall, a good experience. My porterhouse was undercooked (asked for medium well, came out barely rare) and when I asked for it to be put back on the grill, it came back burnt on the edges and overcooked in the filet portion. My wife's salmon was also undercooked, although she didn't ask for it to get sent back. Service was great though. Very nice environment and ambience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent food, exceptional service in a lovely, cozy setting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Lewnes' SteakHouse is by-far-and-away the best steak house in the Annapolis area. The food is always perfectly prepared and pleasingly presented. The very knowledgeable wait-staff are attentive without being intrusive. We have had dinner here on several occasions and it has always been a great evening whether we were just going out for dinner or a special event.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Poor service. Tough steak. Hard pressed to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Highly recommmended but disappointing. Steak was purple and cold in the Center (I asked for medium rare) and when it came back it was cooked unevenly: medium to well on one side, rare on the other. For that kind of money you want your meat prepared correctly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner for my sons 18th birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Lewnes was nothing special Saturday night but nothing special is still great, best steak house in Maryland and probably one of the best in the entire country. Nobody ever goes home hungry and the steaks are prepared exactly as ordered. So far as salad or appetizers are concerned again, nothing but pure quality, that's what makes Lewnes great. The garlic mash potatoes are spectacular and the spinach Ala George is worth a 600 mile drive. The wine list is extensive and very well suited to any price range. Expect to have a great meal, you will not be disappointed, Lewnes is nothing special it's simply a great place to eat.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great Restaurant. Food is wonderful -- staff is great!! Our favorite restaurant!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We go here whenever we visit Annapolis! It’s a must go!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

First time I have ever been and I must say it was AMAZING! Definitely will be coming back. Our waiter was phenomenal as well! Pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Great steaks and Greek salad, paired with an awesome bottle of wine - can't beat it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Absolutely fabulous as usual. Such a better experience than other steakhouses in town

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

We have eaten at Lewnes for many years and brought friends to enjoy the fine food. That alone indicates our satisfaction with your restaurant. Love this place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2017

The steak was perfect and my wife’s shrimp entree met her expectations. Our server was very professional and attentive to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We were celebrating 2 wedding anniversaries, it was a great place to celebrate. Service was top notch, food drinks everything was great! It is expensive but worth it for a big occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Lewnes’. Everything was cooked perfectly. The Greek salad was fantastic, the hot onion bread was amazing and the steaks were wonderful!!! Will go back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Came in with my son after a football game and they sat us at the bar. Bartender was very busy and it showed. Food was average but filets not the best and my crab cake was very average for a high end Annapolis area steakhouse. Especially disappointed with the crab cake. No lump crab meat and too much filler crab and breading.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a fantastic experience at Lewnes' Steakhouse. Food, service and atmosphere were great. I had noted on the reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary and they surprised us with a free dessert! 5 stars all around!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 21, 2017

We LOVE Lewnes!!! We live in Delaware and come to Annapolis for Lewnes! The food was outstanding and the service was just as good. The owners came around to introduce themselves which was a great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

This was mine and my wife's first time dining at Lewnes'. For all of the local hype about the place, I was expecting better...sad to say. I was very impressed with the fast response by the Manager after I had made reservations online. I thought, "well this a great start of great experience." However, when we arrived, we were not greeted right away. There was another customer trying to pay for something or whatever at the reception desk. But that didn't bother me so much, but the bar was right here upon waling in and none of the bar tenders said anything, now of the wait staff who were walking past us said anything. That is was really bothered me. I work with "high end" clients all day, and I know what customer service should be. Especially at a place the commands $200 plus for a dinner. Don't get me wrong, the food was great. Just the people bragged about. bust just not impressed with the greeting or the service. There are several other high end steak houses in my area that I have dined at and received the five star treatment one would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 21, 2017

fantastic food and service. My son loved the ribeye steak and the crab cakes were huge and delicious. Fantastic service!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Excellent service and meal. The special was prime rib and it was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Steak was outstanding. Service excellent. Limited menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Fabulous food, nice people, great atmosphere. This is a favorite for my husband and me and our guilty pleasure once a week. Last time we were there we could overhear the next table exclaim about everything they ate- steak, lobster, sides!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.