Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Romantic (60)
Notable Wine List (56)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Cozy (34)
Business Meals (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Historic (27)
Authentic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Private Room (14)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for an anniversary dinner. It was wonderful. Perfect ambiance for a date or special occasion. The food was spectacular and the service was great starting as soon as you enter. Our waitress walked us through the entire dinner experience so we didn't have questions. We hope to return soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Love it every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

This is our go to for every special occasional. Food is amazing, service is always spectacular ( we <3 Pattie), and the wine list and bar is awesome (good variety and price and a mean martini). Old school charm and quiet in the downstairs booths. What more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time we have eaten at this restaurant. Food is consistently good and service is outstanding. Steaks, seafood , and lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steaks were superb. I have no issue there. The house salad was a total bore and the dessert was a a huge surprise and not a good one. We went to celebrate a birthday. After our meal the waitress brought a warm brownie with ice cream and whipped cream to celebrate the occasion. We were surprised, but not as surprised as we were when we saw that we were charged for the dessert that we did not order!! Very poor form and it left a bad taste in our mouth.

BUT, just today the manager called and offered a very sincere apology! It was an honest mistake. Go there and enjoy a perfectly prepared steak! Yum!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The restaurant is simply amazing!!!! The menu and food are excellent, the servers are knowledgeable and extremely nice. The place is very welcoming. I was uncertain in what to eat and the servers gave me many options and recommendations. The food is absolutely delicious, good bread and I love the wine and extensive selection. It has definitely become one of our new favorite places. My wife's veal chop was the best she has ever had and that is quite a statement given her high standards. #musteatandexperience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My second time dining at Lewnes ... exceptionally attentive waitress, steaks were perfect, and love that they allow you to bring your own wine in and decant and serve it for you. They also have a very nice wine list!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful time. Food was excellent. Wait staff was perfect. Could not have asked for a better setting to celebrate my wife's birthday

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Lewnes' has the best steaks in the area (in my opinion). I go for special occasions and have always been perfectly happy with the food, wine and the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lewnes Steakhouse in Annapolis was as marvelous as I had imagined it would be! It took me 2 weeks to get a Sat. night reservation- so my expectations were high. The steaks were to die for, & cooked perfectly. The wine list was impressive/intimidating. Our booth was comfortable & private. The mash potatoes were delicious. The only dish we did not care for was the creamed spinach. It was very minty tasting. The brownie dessert was wonderful. The house salad was very simple but delicious! Our server was kind & knowledgable- but I would have appreciated some wine recommendations. Overall 5 Stars! We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good steaks. Cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I don't have the opportunity to go out too often - so when we do....Lewnes is our choice. Once again, we were not disappointed. My husband's filet was excellent. My half portion of a Greek Salad was just as it always is.....Wonderful! I had the crab cakes (I am usually a Ribeye person) and they were very good. We really enjoy every aspect of Lewnes.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Best steak anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fabulous. Haven't found a better steak around. And the wine list.... one of the best!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Lewnes was worth every penny. We've been to Ruth's Chris several times in the past, but after trying Lewnes' steaks, we won't be going to RC any longer. Sorry Ruth's Chris, but Lewnes' steaks are so much better! They are seasoned and cooked perfectly. The sides, desserts, and cocktails were just as delish. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We have been coming to Lewnes for years now. This is by far our favorite steak house in Annapolis. As a pescatarian, steak house menus can be difficult to accommodate but Lewnes seafood selection makes it the perfect mix of surf and turf. Perfect Lewnes order: greek salad to start, petite filet or Garides Scortholemono (greek shrimp) as entree, side of potatoes lyonnaise/asparagus and a brownie a la mode. If this is a really special evening, order the lobster (if available). That is the perfect meal!

The service is always on point and the food never disappoints.

Patty is an amazing server, so request her when possible but really all of the servers are top notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Bar Seating, Private Room, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went for restaurant week. Enjoyed the Greek salad and bread -- the Petit filet was amazing. Enjoyed a great half-bottle of Napa wine. It is an extensive list, so I recommend doing a little research ahead.
The veggies were frozen/soggy; I was quite disappointed with that - I could give the carrots a B- but broc/cauliflower were total mush, a D-.
Otherwise it was a fantastic evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was great! Our server was the best. Only issue I have is that the main course course was luke warm. Delicious but not hot enough for my standards. Wonderful overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been here many times, and dined here during Restaurant Week. We each had the filet on the RW menu. We couldn't understand why they put what looked like microwaved mixed veggies on the plate, they didn't look very appetizing. The steak was good, as it usually is, but the watery looking veggies left us confused.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent New York style steak house. Always a good meal. Great sides but pricey. Worth the price.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our food was lukewarm when it was brought to us, had higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We love this restaurant and plan to be there for all of our special occasions and most date nights!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went during Annapolis Restaurant Week. Table was ready. First-floor dining area best-kept secret. Good for disabled access since there is no elevator to upstairs dining room. Outside of husbands filet almost burnt -- he didn't mention this until after it was eaten -- thus wasn't very enjoyable for him. Fresh salmon done just right -- moist/not dry and flaked nicely. Meal came with a nice medley of fresh vegetables. Good choice of sides -- fresh and more than enough for two (ala cart at extra cost). Salad interesting and made with fresh ingredients. During Restaurant Week, an excellent value for the cost.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week and it was exceptional. Server, Patty, was top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We had really enjoyed it previously but this time, all 6 steaks at the table were WAY undercooked, the side veggies were frozen and soggy, one steak wasn't even seasoned oddly, the service was very slow and the server unprofessional... it was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great Dinner, Great Service(WE LOVE PATTY!)
Favorite place

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The ambience is wonderful. Food was good even though the brownie was overbaked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Lived up fully to its reputation for highest-quality beef and impeccable service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Awesome place/Awesome food/Awesome service/for a great price!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Literally the best steak my husband and I have ever had!!!! Can't compare to Ruth Cris.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always a good choice for excellent dining. The wine list can give you a scare though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was the first experience here. I must say from what I was told, Lewnes lived up to every word. The steak even though a bit on the high priced side was very good. The service was great and will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I dined at Lewnes for the first time this week. We chose the location because we had heard wonderful reviews and the restaurant lived up to expectations. Excellent on all levels.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always enjoy our tone at Lewnes! It's become a Valentine's Day tradition and other times when we need a nice night out.
The service is always attentive and the food is to die for!
Thank you so much for everything!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant great food an drinks and the service you receive from the time you arrive to the time you leave is top notch..

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food as always was to die for and the service is impeccable from the time you walk in to the time you leave. I love this place this is my favorite steakhouse is Maryland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, Lewnes' Steakhouse ranks supreme. From the great service by our favorite waiter, Shmitty, to the perfectly cooked meats, Lewnes' has never dissappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delicious and the staff was very friendly - will definitely head back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great dinner!!! Service was outstanding!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Too much nutmeg on the cream spinach. Lyonisse potatoes were too salty and greasy. Steaks were good. Very loud exhaust fan going on and off. The bathrooms were like ones at a cheap gas station. Things were dusty and just dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.