About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Special Occasion
Baltimore / Maryland
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
6 More
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Romantic
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

special occasion (92)
romantic (64)
notable wine list (64)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great ...

Dined 3 days ago

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great special occasion place. Very good selection of wines in all price ranges. They know what they do well and don't over extend to provide extensive choices that compromise selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have ...

Dined 6 days ago

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have any, but wait! They made some calls and two 3 1/2 pounders showed up. We love Lewnes!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was delicious--cooked to perfe ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

The steak was delicious--cooked to perfection. You will love the ambience. I took my daughter here for her birthday, because she is a steak lover and she loved it!!!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had last eaten at Lewnes' years ago a ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had last eaten at Lewnes' years ago as part of a large group (8+). We remembered the steak as awesome but expensive. This time we decided to treat just the two of us to a special anniversary meal. The food and service couldn't have been better and, SURPRISE, because we shared an appetizer and a large, perfectly grilled, prime fillet the bill was quite reasonable!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I was taken to this restaurant for Fathe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was taken to this restaurant for Father's Day celebration. The food was good and the waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. The only issue I had was the waitress brought out a dessert plate, placed it in front of me, wished me a Happy Father's Day, handed out all of us spoons and we dug in. I was totally shocked when I reviewed my receipt and saw I was charged almost $6 for a square brownie with a scoop of ice cream on top of it. A dessert menu was not offered to us, I was brought out a dessert I did not request but I assumed it was the restaurants way of wishing the fathers Happy Father's Day. Boy was I wrong.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Father's Day for my steak loving husband ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day for my steak loving husband was great! The crab cakes had too much filler.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Go there as often as we can. This visit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Go there as often as we can. This visit was wonderful - as usual. Great Food and Great Service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Does not offer parking. In Annapolis th ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Does not offer parking. In Annapolis that is insane. Waiter was not warm and friendly. Butter was on the table but bread was never served. Food was nothing to rave about. Would never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Excellent restaurant with wonderful food and a great wait staff!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an e cells t meal and the waiter ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had an e cells t meal and the waiter was very professional.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible food and a wine selection tha ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Incredible food and a wine selection that I have yet to see rivaled. Also, the wait staff was exceptionable at explaining the menu and options. Best steak house in the Annapolis area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

This was my second experience dining at ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my second experience dining at Lewnes and I have to say it was much better than my first visit. The food was prepared just right, and the ambience was fantastic for the occasion I had planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Steakhouse atmosphere with outstanding p ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Steakhouse atmosphere with outstanding prime beef! Very high quality in every way. Would like to see some less expensive wine selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

I have never been disappointed with the food or service here. Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

I can truly say, as a steak aficionado, ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

I can truly say, as a steak aficionado, this place has the best steaks of any restaurant I've ever been to… And I've been to them all

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous steak & salads, cooked perfectl ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Fabulous steak & salads, cooked perfectly!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place to have steak in Annapolis

Dined on May 31, 2016

Continues to be THE place for traditional steak dinner in Annapolis (although this time I had a veal chop that was spectacular). From drinks at the bar to coffee an calvados this is the best steakhouse in Annapolis. Great cocktails, the Greek salad, the sides and a wide ranging and solid wine list; accompanied with seamless and friendly service. What more could you want???

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Great service, lousy food

Dined on May 29, 2016

The steak, potatoes, mushrooms were very salty, couldn't even finish the food it was that over powering and creamed spinach was soupy. Nothing looked fresh looked, looked reheated (and re-seasoned) from the night before. Also it was my birthday and my wife had them bring out cheesecake that tasted/smelled freezer burned and stale. Lots of money for such poor quality.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great as usual!!! Jin was ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was great as usual!!! Jin was amazing too!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Place

Dined on May 25, 2016

Good atmosphere, great food, our go to place! Good service, wine list - I love that it's local and not a chain!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We truly enjoyed our meal. The service w ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We truly enjoyed our meal. The service was excellent. The food was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent as always and our server, Dave, was very attentive to our every need. But the seafood bisque, sautéed mushrooms and lyonnaise potatoes left a lot to be desired. The seafood bisque was full of shells and the meat was so pulverized you couldn't tell what you were eating. The sautéed mushrooms were quite bland without even a hint of sherry in them. And the lyonnaise potatoes were quite greasy and inedible.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food, fine service, failed request

Dined on May 21, 2016

I treated my girlfriend to dinner at Lewnes' for our anniversary and really enjoyed the food. She had the crab cakes which were delicious and had very little filler, while I had the regular filet mignon which was beutifully cooked and very large (well worth the $43 price tag). Although the food was good, I was disappointed to see the lack of rose petals on the table that I had requested. When I asked for rose petals at Ruth's Chris, they did so and even included a card that said "Happy anniversary," so it was a bit of a let down that Lewnes' didn't do the same. Our server was attentive to our drinks but seemed to be in a hurry with us. Overall, I will probably go back again just for the food, but if I want to make any special requests, I'll take my business to Ruth's Chris.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a special anniversary at L ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated a special anniversary at Lewnes and had a wonderful meal and experience! I would definitely recommend a reservation but would not miss out on experiencing this restaurant in downtown Annapolis! Beautiful and elegant and the steaks are outstanding!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Lewnes' did not disappoint! W ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

As always, Lewnes' did not disappoint! We love the ambience, the staff, and most of all the GREAT food! Always a winner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great food, great service and tremendous wine list. Filet's were especially good but hold the butter if you want to avoid the rich flavor.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow

Dined on May 16, 2016

Took a date here because she had been once before and "raved" about the food. I have to be honest and say I was apprehensive. I have eaten at some of the best steak houses in the world (Luger's, Palm, Flemmings, etc..). I was completely floored by the food here, amazing presentation, prepared perfectly, well timed and our waiter Sean was great. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone, avoid the "chain steak houses" and support this gem in downtown Annapolis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was offered many excellent choi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu was offered many excellent choices and our waiter couldn't have been more personable and thoughtful. Each of the four us had delicious meals. We will go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service could not have better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

the food was excellent but our waiter, w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

the food was excellent but our waiter, while he was very knowledgable, kept rushing us in the beginning while we explained we were going to take our time. The restaurant was rather empty and this disturbed us some. Great Filet mignon though! When we ordered medium, it came out Med Rare so be careful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we chose LEWNES for special occasion, a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

we chose LEWNES for special occasion, a medical school graduation celebration. it was outstanding! but i have been many times and expected it to be so. and they delivered. spectacular food! great service, warm quiet ambience. just love this place. always top notch. thanks for living up to our expectations, every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience in Annapolis

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fantastic! I think I've been to just about every restaurant in Annapolis over the years, and in my opinion this is the best dining experience the city has to offer. The steaks are outstanding, this time I had the cowboy bone in ribeye, a beautiful cut of meat cooked to perfection. Clams casino and creamed spinach also out of this world. Beyond the food, the service is very professional, and personable. Even if you don't know anyone in town, you will feel important because of how you are treated while you dine. I'll also mention that you shouldn't get scared off by the prices. The steaks really are that good, and the portions are enormous, you can share everything, and eat it again the next day. An all around phenomenal experience, I would absolutely recommend it to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall, I think the restaurant is over ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall, I think the restaurant is over rated. Two out of 3 of the steaks ordered, at our table, were good. One was very tough and rubbery, not what I would have expected for the price and reputation. This was our first and now probably our last experience at Lewnes.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

I dined at Lewne's for Mother's Day dinner with my husband, our 17 year old son and our 15 year old daughter. The food was simply amazing! Lewne's offered a prix fixe menu for the holiday, and we all dined from it. For starters we enjoyed the signature Greek salad and the seafood bisque. Both were very tasty. For our main courses, we ordered the petite filets and the ribeye steaks, each served oscar style (topped with lump crab meat and hollandaise sauce). Cooked perfectly to a medium rare temperature, and full of flavor. The sides of mushrooms and potatoes were also quite good. For dessert, we enjoyed the cheesecake and vanilla ice cream. Although the service was better than at many restaurants, I expected better service at Lewne's. Our bread was not replenished until after our main course arrived. One of our side items was forgotten, and brought much later. Our drinks could have been replenished more quickly. It was by far not a terrible experience, but definitely not one of our better dining experiences. We have noticed that when we are seated downstairs, our service is amazing. When we are seated upstairs, sometimes it is down right awful, but other times just ok. Never have we had amazing service upstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem away from City Dock tourist traps.

Dined on May 8, 2016

A hidden gem away from City Dock tourist traps. The Ribeye is outstanding. Service is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food but really expensive for ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food but really expensive for Mothers Day

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steak

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great porterhouse . Excellent oysters Rockefeller ! Delicious sides and a,aging servers

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

not the best

Dined on May 2, 2016

I was very surprised to not be amazed after hearing all the wonderful things about Lewnes. Basically my New York strip was a little dry even though it was rare and it had minimal flavoring. It didn't seem to be a great cut of beef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!! Steaks are amazing! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great as always!! Steaks are amazing! Great wine selection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice. Friendly, helpful waitress.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very nice. Friendly, helpful waitress.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.