Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Quiet Conversation (49)
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Business Meals (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (28)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
832 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

The very best steakhouse in Annapolis. Also, some of the sweetest and largest lobsters in town. Staff is top notch and most have been together for years. The only thing better than the food is the service! I have been a regular since 1996. The Lewnes family makes you feel like part of their family.

Marriott Winchester

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2017

A great restaurant, not overly attentive staff, great food well prepared, and a pleasant background of vintage jazz.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Very good service; booth-tables add to "private dining" feel and quieter atmosphere; a bit tight for wheelchairs at entrance but ample room in dining area, seated at open table end of booth

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We absolutely loved our anniversary dinner at Lewnes. This exceptionally old school (high back, black leather booths which allow for an intimately cozy couples experience) and their exceptionally high quality steaks and service, never disappoints. From our calm waiter who said, " I am on your time," as we decided to enjoy our drinks and order appetizers in a bit, to their famous in-house made onion bread, huge wedge salad, or perfectly executed steaks, or fresh seafood or side dishes (roasted mushrooms, roasted asparagus, incredible battered onion rings, our dining experience was superb and memorable. Even the unexpected gifted anniversary dessert confirmed that Lewnes steak house is a class act.
The only wish I have is for them to bring back their prime rib but I will still come back and I'm sure their consistency will bring you back too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wife's birthday. We generally go here for all our special occasions and enjoy the place very much. Much better than Ruth Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have dined at Lewnes' several times. The servers are friendly and helpful. The servings are plentiful and the food is delicious. The only difficulty that I have experienced is that they have a hard time providing a medium well done Steak. The chef must be disturbed in thinking that anyone would like their steak cooked throughout.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Everything was very good. Probably a bit overpriced. We enjoyed the steak and lobster. Might have been helpful if the waiter told us how much lobster was before we ordered it. The steak was excellent! Service was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

My husband and I went for our 9th year anniversary and it was wonderful. Our waiter, Sean was knowledgeable on all the wine list and was very attentive. The food was worth every penny. I will come back to Lewne's again and recommend to my friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We went to this restaurant based on a recommendation and were not disappointed. Although pricey the food was outstanding. First time in a long time I actually had my steak done Pittsburgh rare as I like it. The Chef definitely knows how to prepare a steak. Butter is the final additive to all steaks. We had the special "cowboy rib-eye" which we knew would be huge (and they were) and took the remainder home for steak salads. Everything is al a carte but the sides are served family style. The salads are made to be shared but a half order can be done as I had a Greek salad. Fresh seafood for appetizers were great. Intend to return with friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Outstanding oysters Rockefeller, cowboy ribeye steak, and sides.
Would like to see wider range of quality and prices for wines available by the glass as current Cabernet replacing Roth lacks distinction.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Phenomenal, by far the best Steaks in the Annapolis area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A bit disappointed in the food. Steak and Salmon was great. All the sides and desserts were fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great customer service, good drinks and food nicely done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great food, wonderful atmosphere, not stuffy at all. Classic family owned steak house!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

One of my favorite treats is a nice meal, my boyfriend and I love to dine at steakhouses once a month. We have never been to Lewnes' before, chop house was the familiar restaurant for friends of ours so we chose to dine there times before. From my recent experience here, the steaks blow chop house out of the ballpark, hands down. Every bite was beyond amazing, along with the side. A job well done! I can't wait to enjoy an extraordinary meal from here again.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

lewnes is for lovers - super steaks and romantic ambience. pricey Annapolis landmark in Eastport restaurant row neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Best restaurant on Annapolis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Best Steak we have ever put in our mouths bar none! We split the large fillet mignon so we each had about a 7oz portion along with mushrooms and lyonnaise potatoes. This was after a starter of a delicious greek salad. Everything was yummy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Traditional steak house with a substantial wine list and equally substantial pricing to accompany. Disappointed on last visit - our chosen wine was listed on the menu at one price but charged a higher price. Too, we ordered 2 espresso and paid $8 each. These unnecessarily high prices are only okay for special occasions only. Dinner for two cost us $200

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We decided to give this restaurant the benefit of the doubt, especially given the mixed reviews/ some of the negative reviews. Unfortunately, the entire dining experience -from the food, ambiance, and service- was just terrible. How can a steak house not know how to season and cook steaks??!!!! The menu says they cook their steaks in butter, but what it does not tell you is that your steak will arrive on your plate in a pool of butter without seasoning and nowhere near the way you asked them to cook it. I asked for a medium well filet mignon. What showed up on my table was a rare filet in a pool of butter with no seasoning and my cousin experienced the same with his New York strip. We also happen to hear how a table next to us received the double fudge brownie dessert in compensation for how their steaks were cooked.... rather not cooked! They sat us by the kitchen door when other seats were available, the booth seat was dirty, the "service" provided by the waitress was just barely passable as was her demeanor, they were out of baked potatoes, the sauteed asparagus left a lot to be desired, and we made the mistake of getting the Double Fudge Brownie dessert which was just disgusting! I LOVE chocolate and couldn't even get by two bites. Will never go there again.... would have been better ordering takeout Chinese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2017

What a special meal should be. Quiet enough for conversation. Sensational wine selection. Excellent, unobtrusive service ... and great steak!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful evening as always!! Great place! One of our favorite places to go for any occasion or just to go out!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever eaten. Filet was perfect and tasty, service was excellent. Highly recommend. Only negative parking in the area is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Four of us celebrated a grandsons imminent departure for college. All had excellent porterhouse steaks and shared potatoes and asparagus. Excellent. Only discordant note was my tomato and onion salad. Three small onion slices and about half a slice of onion. Skimpy; not good value.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Outstanding meal. Oysters Rockefeller were amazing. Our waiter, Eric, is hands down the best in Annapolis. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Lewnes was absolutely terrific. Very old school steak house, short food menu and LONG (fabulous) wine list. Service was perfect. We came here for an anniversary (18!) and will totally come back before another year has passed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Always a go to when we are in Annapolis! Consistently great food and service.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

In all respects, the evening exceeded our expectations. It will be a "must" return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was very good and cooked to proper temperature. The portions are very large but very expensive. The tomato and onions salad was the only dish I would avoid as the tomato was too firm and tasteless and the onions too scarce of a feature. Our server was very attentive, helpful and friendly. It was a pleasure to dine here and avoid the overrated chain steakhouse down the street from Lewnes. I would definitely dine here again but will skip a meal or two before hand so I can avoid asking for a doggie bag.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This was the restaurant my husband and I ate at on our first vacation together 23 years ago. We came back to celebrate our wedding anniversary and it was just as good as we'd remembered!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We made reservations at Lewnes for our 15th anniversary. As Annapolis natives, we enjoyed drinks and dinner there many times when we were dating, but unfortunately had to move away for several years at the mercy of the US Air Force. We recently moved back to the area and were excited to celebrate again at one of our favorite spots.

Perhaps what (who) made the night most memorable was our server, Patty. We walked in the door, she said "you're with me tonight" and made everything perfect from that point on. From drinks to steak, sides and wine recommendations, her pacing, professionalism and quick wit made us want to hang out all night.

Thanks for a great night. Lewnes...Patty is one of your best! See you again soon!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The steaks were great, the wine list had a good variety. Sean was our waiter and he was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy dining at Lewnes. The cozy atmosphere and their selection of piped-in music adds to the relaxing feeling we always get there. Food is always delicious and their steaks are the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

A very nice place for Sunday dinner. The fillet and asparagus were excellent. bread that was served at the beginning was the best that I have had in a while. They have quite the selection of wine. The chardonnay that we had was excellent. I look forward to returning the next time I am in Annapolis!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful Dinner. Our server was just fantastic. Crab cake and petit filet off the hook. Will be back! One small suggestion...not so much feta on the house greek salad.

Loved it....& thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our dining experience is always great when we dine here. The food and the service are exceptional. Pricey but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful. She was extremely kind, and knew the food and how to prepare it. It was a pleasure to have her serve us.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great Annapolis place, we go a couple times a year. Always know what you're going to get, no surprises.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Overall everything was excellent! We were a party of five and all agreed that two ribeyes and three filet mignons were the best steaks we had ever put in our mouths!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Dining at Lewes is a very pleasant experience. The ambiance, food, and service are excellent!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.