Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Romantic (76)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Notable Wine List (59)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Business Meals (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Cozy (38)
Authentic (25)
Historic (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Private Room (14)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
744 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

First-time visit...last minute thought on a Sunday night- we usually go to Carol's Creek or Ruth's Chris. Easy reservations for 2. Meal was amazing! Steak perfectly prepared. Service was super attentive! Felt very pampered. We will return with bells and whistles on. Kudo's to the team!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is our favorite steak place. We use to live in Annapolis so we're only 30 minutes away. We now live in WV & drive 2 hours but it is worth it. Service is always great & the food is awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great steaks food was tasty service very attentive . Would definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great dinner, as usual! Always a wonderful evening at Lewnes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The most amazing steak and seafood house in all of the DC Metro Area. Once you eat there, you will want to come back again and again.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Two of the steaks were really dry.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was excellent as expected! Ambiance was very nice also.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

From entry to end it was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lewnes has been our FAVORITE area restaurant for years. However, our last 2 dining experiences this year were very underwhelming... borderline disappointing. The steaks used to be served very hot on sizzling plates. The last few times our ribeye steaks were just warm, but not hot. The service staff was good, but in the past the wait staff used to be exceptional. We thought the experience on our earlier visit this year was just an anomaly... but sadly this past weekend's visit was just as mediocre. We're bummed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server Nick was incredibly attentive and the food was off the chart spectacular! His recommendations for selections and sharing were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Steaks were excellent. Hash Browns diced, soggy, disappointing...Mash potatoes, thin/slightly runny. Brownie/ice cream/whip cream birthday desert was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had never been to Lewnes' though have lived in the area for over 30 years. It is expensive, but the steaks and sides are phenomenal. Plus, don't be apprehensive to ask if they can be flexible or what else they can offer. Our waiter, Nick, who has been with the restaurant for 13 years, knew his their offerings for food and wines, and can read his customers very well. No rush, take your time, savor and enjoy. Started with the wedge salad - fantastic and can be shared. I had the filet medium-rare while my friend enjoyed the Rib Eye cooked medium. Both were cooked perfectly with sautéed mushrooms and Lyonnaise potatoes which again, can be shared. There is a cost for such a nice atmosphere, excellent food and service, but after this evening, I am looking forward to a return trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Lewnes is always a grwat experience. The steaks are always incredible and cooked to perfection. Staff is pleasant and warm. Can never go wrong dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The meat was perfectly cooked and high quality. Creamed spinach was awesome. Nice wine list, had a great Barolo with my meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of my wife and I's favorite steakhouses. Not only is the food always amazing and perfect but the service is just as good. They make sure you're taken care of but never bother you and I have been requesting a specific waiter lately and they always make a note when I make my reservation. I am in the service business myself and I am very hard to please lol but they make it happen everytime. Thanks again Lewnes

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great meal. They really know how to cook a steak here. I had the veggie platter. A fantastic accommodation for a vegan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This is the place to go for outstanding steaks and great family style sides. I had a bone in rib-eye cooked perfectly medium rare. The service was old fashion great. Lewnes had a very nice atmosphere, not noisy and small dining rooms so you can have an intimate dinner or you can get a larger able and have a nice business or family dinner. I have been there on many special occasions and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I don't understand the rave reviews! Mediocre at best...been there four times, this will be the last. I can order steaks from the best places on the web for less, prime AND dry aged, for less than they charge u. Wet aged steaks is the cheap way out Lewnes'...... too many people don't care, apparently. Steaks were chewy and undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The restaurant has always been consistent the quality of the food and service no matter when we dine there. It is our favorite place in Annapolis.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent meal. Only complain was my ribeye was slightly over cooked. Great staff and friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

It was a really nice experience, something to remember for sure. Went there for our 10 year anniversary and I feel that we couldn't have picked a better place. Couldn't be happier. Thank you lewne's for making our 10 year anniversary a memorable one.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Fine steakhouse experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fantastic experience from the moment we sat down for dinner. Waiter was phenomenal (Eric), his recommendations were on point, and the food was fantastic. My wife and I have been to some of the best steakhouses in Manhattan, and this was by far the best filet mignon I've ever eaten. Kudos to everyone at Lewnes, what a great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We take our grandchildren all the time and could not be treated better by the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Why would you go anywhere else in Annapolis? Always Lewnes. Best service, great wine list, phenomenal steaks and martinis. <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I can see why Lewnes is listed as the best steakhouse in Maryland. The food, service and ambiance could not be better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great place for a great steak. Wonder for dates or business meeting.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Notified restaurant that a party of 4 would require a high chair for our 2 yr old granddaughter and we were pleasantly surprised to see that a private room was set up. Food, service and ambiance were outstanding. It rivaled and surpassed some of the more expensive steak houses back home in New York. NY Strip was outstanding as were the sides. Can't wait until we visit Annapolis again. Everyone made this a memorable meal for our family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall it was a lot of money for an average meal. The Greek salad was terrible and the Lyonnaise potatoes did not taste good. The steaks were prepared appropriately but were not presented well. Really, a steak on a plate with no real garnish. We expected more.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best steak I've had in a long long time! The service was top notch and the wine was amazing. The sides were also so delicious. Best date place I've been! Pricey but definitely worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful experience! Thank you for making our anniversary celebration so very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good, what you would expect from a traditional steak house, still pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The front desk is never very welcoming or friendly. They just get you seated... that's IT! The waiters are all a little quirky, mostly in a good way. The steaks are REALLY good and well cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first time dining at Lewnes, and it was fabulous! Each item - salad, meat, vegetables, etc. - is ordered separately. You have the option of getting half portions of the side dishes, which are big enough to serve two people. This is a fine dining establishment perfect for celebrating special occasions, which is why we went there. You will enjoy every bite of your meal from start to finish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent Rib Eye, Baked Potato, Vegetables, Appetizers (clams casino), pinot noir, cold beer...had a very nice time. Steaks were outstanding. Baked Potato was big and beautiful.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always it is a lovely experience. The staff is attentive, very helpful, and can't do enough. The food is delicious. It is a steakhouse and the steak is WOW! The high back booths give you privacy and enable conversation with your companions. The side order portions are enough for two and they tell you that, not like some others we have dined in (but not again!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I'm not sure if crying while enjoying my steak was appropriate for the atmosphere, but seeing how that first bite and every other bite after compelled me to put my fork and knife down to savor it while I held back tears of joy, I think... that is a mighty good steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is one of Maryland's best steakhouses. The wine list is exceptional (although a few more wines by the glass, such as a Syrah, would be nice). Steaks were perfectly prepared, delicious and tender. Chicken meal was not an afterthought but ample and well conceived, cooked and presented. Crab cakes are authentic and full of lump crab. Coffee and dessert were a fitting end. The service was exemplary. We have been here a number of times and never been disappointed. Far from inexpensive but still a top value.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.