About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (76)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Notable Wine List (50)
Romantic (50)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Cozy (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Business Meals (29)
Historic (29)
Authentic (23)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Private Room (11)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Family Style (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for Restaurant Week and it was exceptional. Server, Patty, was top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

We had really enjoyed it previously but this time, all 6 steaks at the table were WAY undercooked, the side veggies were frozen and soggy, one steak wasn't even seasoned oddly, the service was very slow and the server unprofessional... it was a bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Great Dinner, Great Service(WE LOVE PATTY!)

Favorite place

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambience is wonderful. Food was good even though the brownie was overbaked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Lived up fully to its reputation for highest-quality beef and impeccable service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome place/Awesome food/Awesome service/for a great price!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Literally the best steak my husband and I have ever had!!!! Can't compare to Ruth Cris.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a good choice for excellent dining. The wine list can give you a scare though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

This was the first experience here. I must say from what I was told, Lewnes lived up to every word. The steak even though a bit on the high priced side was very good. The service was great and will definitely come back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I dined at Lewnes for the first time this week. We chose the location because we had heard wonderful reviews and the restaurant lived up to expectations. Excellent on all levels.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We always enjoy our tone at Lewnes! It's become a Valentine's Day tradition and other times when we need a nice night out.

The service is always attentive and the food is to die for!

Thank you so much for everything!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant great food an drinks and the service you receive from the time you arrive to the time you leave is top notch..

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food as always was to die for and the service is impeccable from the time you walk in to the time you leave. I love this place this is my favorite steakhouse is Maryland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As usual, Lewnes' Steakhouse ranks supreme. From the great service by our favorite waiter, Shmitty, to the perfectly cooked meats, Lewnes' has never dissappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delicious and the staff was very friendly - will definitely head back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great dinner!!! Service was outstanding!! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Too much nutmeg on the cream spinach. Lyonisse potatoes were too salty and greasy. Steaks were good. Very loud exhaust fan going on and off. The bathrooms were like ones at a cheap gas station. Things were dusty and just dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have dined here several times. Always great food and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fabulous food, service and ambiance. We would definitely recommend this wonderful Annapolis fine dining restaurant. It a wonderful destination for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hadn't been to Lewnes in a few years, but we were really in the mood for steaks for Valentine's Dinner. The people who greeted us at the door, our waitress (Patti), the servers, everyone, was first class. Friendly, helpful, attentive to our needs. Our waitress, Patti, was all of the above and just a very nice person who made the visit even better. My wife and I split an order of Oysters Rockefeller, both had the porterhouse (hungry), split a huge baked potato, and had separate orders of creamed spinach and spinach st. george. A lot, yes, but sooooo good! We did save room for desert. A plain NY Cheesecake slice and a slice with fresh strawberries and cream and cups of cappucino. The dessert and cups were free for Valentine's Day! Expensive, but this visit was well worth the cost.

Visited February 2017 This is the review I sent to Trip Advisor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been to Lewnes' several times and they never disappoint! The seafood bisque and the filet were excellent and prepared perfectly. Our server, Amy was excellent as well. Don't waste your money at Ruth's Chris next door. Lewnes' is so much better

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was excellent and wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Decor is a dated (old) however sitting (only) seems to have been recently updated. Went for a pre-Valentine dinner, looking for quality time and conversation. A group, appeared to be business dinner, of ten was next to us ...couldn't hear ourselves over them most of the time. Probably rare but maybe the host should have thought to seat the couple of two, they too sat other couples in the same area, elsewhere.... Restruant 101

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Prices are not cheap, but you can't beat the quality of the food and service. That makes it worth the cost. We both got the filet and it is by far the best I've ever tasted. Mine was topped with lump crab. Again, a little pricey but the portion and taste made it worthwhile. Wish I could eat here every week, but it tops my list for special occasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great experience as always, Wait staff is amazing. We recommend chris, he took care of a issue we had (not with service or food, but with other guests) like it was nothing. It didn't even phase him and he comped our dessert, which was not necessary at all, but a nice gesture. Lewnes is our go to spot for a speacil occassion, (and sometimes that special occassion just happens to be a really yummy steak) we have been many times. The setting is intimate and perfect for a celebration with your loved ones. The Wine list is awesome and steak is phenomenonal! We highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A very relaxed atmosphere for dining. The steaks are top notch and there is an extensive wine list. Service is professional and attentive. Everything is a la carte but the side dishes are served family style and are good sized portions. It is expensive but worth the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just a great steakhouse!

Great food. Steaks cooked perfectly !

A La Carte ... sides are shareable size.

Excellent wine selection

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I took my aunt to Lewnes to celebrate her birthday. We arrived shortly before our reservation time and were greeted by the hostess who offered to check our coats and then seated us. Our waiter, Sean, was very attentive the entire evening, and took the time to go over the menu with us and offer suggestions for dinner that were not listed on the menu.

My wife ordered the seafood bisque which the soup of the day; she really enjoyed it. My aunt and I both ordered oysters on the half-shell, which Sean indicated were from the James River. They were very tasty.

We all ordered steak; unfortunately, my aunt's was a bit undercooked; Sean noticed immediately and offered to have it reheated. My wife's filet was a perfect medium rare. I opted for one of the creations suggested by Sean, a petite filet with crab (ala Oscar). He explained this was a combination of their crab dip appetizer with steak; I could choose any steak for it to be served with but opted for the petite filet, which was a perfect medium rare. We shared lyonaise potatoes and sauteed asparagus.

Deserts were cheesecakes and key lime pie. All in all this was a very enjoyable meal; the food, service and atmosphere were all first rate.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great filet, average veal chop. The veal was chewy and there was very little meat on the bone. Would not recommend it. The filet was well prepared and a nice cut of meat.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife & I were slightly disappointed that there wasn't a cocktail nor beer menu and sadly, my baked potato was undercooked.

Tags: Great Beer, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lewnes' Steakhouse is an excellent restaurant to take a family to and/or have a romantic dinner. The service provided to my family and I was outstanding and I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Could have used some music post 1920, but that's about it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Lewnes never disappoints. Best dinning in Annapolis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Loved the meal, perfect date night location! Will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was ok. Service was excellent and the folks sitting near us were extremely loud. I didn't care for the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We had an anniversary to celebrate and we have been seeking a decent steak in the Annapolis area as our long-time favorite has failed us four times in a row. Our second favorite failed us so badly that we won't return there. So, we decided to try Lewnes again (years between visits as it is not inexpensive). Everything about our visit was wonderful...including the steak. Our waiter, Adam, was the soul of professionalism, watching out for us but never being obtrusive. The evening was a great success!

If you want good steak in Annapolis, you HAVE to PAY for it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

One of the few places in Annapolis to get lobster! Service was excellent with only a couple pace issues! High prices for quality food!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and delicious steaks. Can't find a better steak any place on annapolis.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My husband and I come to Lewnes to celebrate our anniversary. We started this tradition in 2001 on our 20th anniversary. We love the scotch and wine selections. The filet mignon and lamb chops are always tender and grilled perfectly. I love the saute spinach La George and my husband loves the mash potatoes. We recommend this classic neighborhood steakhouse for any occasion. We always feel special when we arrive and the service is excellent. It's the best steakhouse in Annapolis!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely evening at Lewnes'. Celebrated a friend, enjoyed a delicious meal and had excellent service! We look forward to coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Lewnes, blew us away with the quality of their food and its amazing environment. The steak beat Ruth Chris, we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amy is the best server - she helps to make our dining experience that much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

An online resource stated that Lewnes' was the best steakhouse in Maryland. My wife loves steak, so I wanted to take her there. It definitely lived up to the hype. I'm a vegetarian, but my sides were wonderful also. We WILL be back!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

LEWNES' STEAKHOUSE - GO THERE... EAT, DRINK AND BE MERRY!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good steak. Not the best I've had, but not bad for Annapolis.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I love Lewnes! Not your chain steak house. In downtown Annapolis. The steaks are always delicious. Potatoes anyway you can think of. Their Greek salad is as change from your usual steak house salads. The staff on all levels are excellent and attentive. Wish it had beers on tap. I used to go to the Prime Rib in Baltimore but this beats it in food and atmosphere! A winner!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was out of this world!!!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Best steak I had in along time!! Seasoned and cooked to perfection!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The service was awesome, the food was awesome, however the atmosphere is another story. The tables had 1 dollar salt and pepper shakers, nothing of quality. The walls in the both is chipped, the light was crooked. There was a dry spill down the back of my seat.

The mens rooms was horrific and needs immediate attention, dirty, like a cheap diner (Double T as an example).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I really wanted to like this place. I did a lot of research to find a nice place to take my boyfriend out for his birthday and Lewnes had excellent reviews. Unfortunately, I guess we went on an off night because the only things that were good were the shrimp cocktail and the wine. Our server was not very friendly. Whenever we asked for something, it was as if we were bothering him. We both ordered the ribeye; he had the asparagus and I had the creamed spinach. The spinach almost tasted as if it was better suited for a nursing home. Both of us agreed that we've had better steaks elsewhere. Overall, the ambiance was very nice and romantic, but I doubt I'd return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great meal and awesome service even on a busy holiday. We love this place and every time we come to Annapolis our first choice for dinner is Lewnes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.