About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
5 More
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Most Booked
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
See All
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (37)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Cozy (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (21)
Authentic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Private Room (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary recently at Lewnes and had a great time. The food and service was impeccable! Best filets we've ever had too. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Authentic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you are offered a table in the small ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

If you are offered a table in the small dinning room off the entry in the bathroom hallway get moved.

This is was my second time here and not as good.

Food was great but the service was really lacking we sat for almost 10 minutes to be greeted be a waitress that you could tell was more interested in getting to her other tables then taking care of my son and me. The rest of the service was fine quick and and on the slow side but fine. Until we were done we waited over 15 minutes with full table of dirty dishes.

When are waitress finally made it back to our table and I joked we thought you had forgotten us she replied "I am really slammed in the dinning room" I wish my nearly $200 bill for my 12 year old son and I would have gotten us into the

"dinning room"

Like the place just don't let them seat you in the bathroom hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Excellent service and great food. Just t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service and great food. Just tell the server exactly how you like your steak cooked and they will do the math to serve a custom and enjoyable piece of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lewnes' is a classic steak house like Ru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Lewnes' is a classic steak house like Ruths or Mortons but with a Greek flair. The steak is outstanding as are the sides. The atmosphere is nice but a bit dated. The wine selection is extensive. I've been there several times and it's been outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It took well over an hour and 15 minutes ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

It took well over an hour and 15 minutes to get our actual dinner entrées. We had no appetizers but a salad and no wine or cocktails. The whole experience was about 2 1/2 hours which is way longer than I expected considering again we had very simple food orders. We also were sat by the kitchen when I made reservations in advance telling them that we had three special family celebrations out of the four people there. It was irritating to be set back in that area when they were much nicer tables available. On a brighter note we did receive three surprise desserts with candles acknowledging our three special occasions. And when our waiter had time to talk with us he was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The staff was very friendly. The service ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The staff was very friendly. The service was great. The food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First the service was top notch! Took h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First the service was top notch! Took his time, explained, added options...Food was tremendous.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, very good quality food. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service, very good quality food. We will definitely be back. Superior to the "name brand" steak chains nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

There is something to be said about gett ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

There is something to be said about getting the basics RIGHT, and they did! Enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the fast service once ordered.

I would recommend the restaurant look in to some better values of wine for those who are not high rollers and are out on a rare dining date. We found a half bottle price for $30.00 of Merlot, but it is only two small glasses at best. Good wine, but expensive on top of other things for little value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just the very best classic steakhouse on ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Just the very best classic steakhouse on the east coast. Service perfect! Steaks that melt on your tongue. Ambiance is classic elegant where you hear Frank Sinatra in the music and think Mad Men in our comfortable private booth. We love it. We will be back of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lewnes' is a family favorite, took my be ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lewnes' is a family favorite, took my best friend out to dinner after we attended the Opera. A terrific way to end the evening. If you haven't dined at Lewnes' I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lewnes is our favorite go-to for their q ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Lewnes is our favorite go-to for their quality meat, consistent food and service, and extensive wine list. It's not everyday we eat like this, so we said yes to extra butter on our steaks! The meats were cooked just right, juicy and flavorful. Our server was so professional and friendly, and despite our button-popping fullness, she gave me a birthday treat of the warm brownie and ice cream, which we all of a sudden found room for! Delicious. Despite other corporate steak houses in town, we prefer the independently owned Lewnes for the Annapolis feel and intimacy. We are never disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most amazing evening at Lewne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had the most amazing evening at Lewnes! We were in Annapolis celebrating our 20th anniversary and wanted it to be special! The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Elaine was an exceptional server and very helpful as we made our wine and dinner choices. The added surprises to help us celebrate were unexpected but so appreciated. Lewnes steaks are truly the best we've ever eaten. The way they sear the butter and spices on the meat is truly unique and melts in your mouth like no other. This kind of quality experience will ensure a return visit whenever we are back in town! Thank you so much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must admit, this was a very unique din ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I must admit, this was a very unique dining experience. Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding and he explained the many options of dining at Lewnes' Steak House. We could order whatever we wanted or family style, or...get this...half portions if desired (even share a cup of soup) in order to enjoy small tastes of several foods. We shared the Oysters Rockefeller, the Wedge Salad, the "special" Lewnes French Fries then we each ordered a different individual steak; however, we could have shared that as well. Nick was quite the waiter...full knowledge of our particular steak preferences, offered suggestions when needed and was quite ready to fill our glasses of wine on spot notice. He made the evening very special. The steaks were outstanding and yes, you could cut them with a fork if need be. We will definitely return and most definitely ask for Nick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are never disappointed by consistentl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We are never disappointed by consistently good service, food and atmosphere at Lewnes SteakHouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice prime steak meal with my son a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very nice prime steak meal with my son after attending a Navy football game. Hard to beat the delicious steaks which were prepared perfectly. The crab cake was good but by no means the best I have had. I would recommend Lewnes to my out of town friends.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Nice histor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. Nice historical steakhouse setting. Excellent wine list with very reasonable prices on very good wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always the food was wonderful and the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 2, 2016

As always the food was wonderful and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent. You could defini ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

The food was excellent. You could definitely tell that it was locally raised meat from the local 4-H.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Been there before and always had great s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Been there before and always had great steaks. Had a veal chop this time and it wasn't good, very tough. Mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were lukewarm at best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

An amazing experience has always! Thanks ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on October 29, 2016

An amazing experience has always! Thanks to Amy and the rest of the staff for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at great Steakhouses prior ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I have eaten at great Steakhouses prior to eating here; and let me be frank. This place is above all of the others. I have never eaten a steak, and I grew up on a farm and have a degree in Agriculture, that can literally be cut with a fork. I am not talking struggling to cut it I am talking it basically melted away. The ambiance of this place is absolutely superb. I will never look at another Steakhouse the same, knowing I could just drive however long, no matter where and get this type of service and dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expect much more for high priced steak h ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Expect much more for high priced steak house. Meat was Mediocre at best. Mashed potatoes were runny, butter was water so I suspect not real butter for lobster. No cocktail menu, bar could not make any special drinks. Server was abrupt and appeared disinterested. Overall a very bad experience for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent steaks! Great service! If in ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent steaks! Great service! If in Annapolis and you like steaks then this is a must for some fine dining.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Elaine provided amazing and friendly, ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Elaine provided amazing and friendly, yet not overbearing service. Great place to celebrate our anniversary, and one of the best steaks I've ever had. Everything we ordered was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lamb was horrible, for how expensive th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Lamb was horrible, for how expensive the food the service was sub-par, the waitress forgot to bring out my salad.

Don't waste your money, go to Ruth cris right down the road...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

BEST restaurant in town. This place is ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

BEST restaurant in town. This place is a must for locals and visitors. Staff is exceptional and food is wonderful. Steaks are cooked perfectly and wine list is excellent. Sit in a booth and ask for Patty. You will have a wonderful evening.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We look forward to a special meal here w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We look forward to a special meal here when we come through Annapolis on our boat. It is always consistent; portions can be split which is plenty of food and makes for good value. Old, classic steakhouse ambience can't be beat if that is what you are looking for.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lewnes' is a classic steakhouse, but it ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Lewnes' is a classic steakhouse, but it is more than a cut above mass-market joints like Outback or Texas Road House. Sam Lewnes began serving the public in 1916. Today his descendants are still doing just that, with loving care and attention to detail clearly evident in the prime beef, perfectly trimmed and exactingly cooked. There are also a few chicken and seafood entrées for those who don't care for beef but are with someone who does.

There is a full bar with skilled bartenders handling a fine selection of distilled spirits. There is also a world-renowned wine list for those special occasions. To accompany our drinks we ordered fresh tomatoes and onions with a light vinaigrette; we enjoyed these with a complimentary fresh warm onion boule.

We ordered petite filets mignon. Lewnes' steaks tend a little to the rare side, so I ordered medium rare while my dining partner ordered medium. Both filets were spot on what we expected, and they were superb. Richly marbled, they had the perfect sear top and bottom, and the middles were micrometer precise in terms of cooking, mine just to the rare side of medium rare and my partner's just to the medium side of medium rare. Lewnes' serves its steaks in butter but is happy, as noted on the menu, to omit the butter on request. There was enough butter on our filets to impart a light flavor without overwhelming the richness of the beef.

Sides are well chosen, fresh and of high quality, and properly prepared and presented. We ordered sautéed asparagus, nice fat and juicy spears, and richly beefy Lyonnais potatoes. Our server let us in on a secret that might better have been printed on the menu, i.e., any given side portion is big enough that it will probably serve four people. We asked for half portions to share of the asparagus and potatoes and were more than amply fed.

Our server was attentive and prompt but never intrusive: props! Prices are not low; you pay for what you get, but you definitely get what you pay for.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lewnes' never disappoints. We make a po ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Lewnes' never disappoints. We make a point to have a date night here ever other month or so. The Clams casino are out of this world.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived the setting was nicely l ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When we arrived the setting was nicely lit and romantic. Nice quaint restaurant. We ordered the filet mignon, lyonnaise potatoes and sautéed asparagus all which were delicious. The steak was the tenderest well done steak I've had from any steakhouse. Will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy Lewnes, it's a bit of a ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We always enjoy Lewnes, it's a bit of a drive for us, so we go for special occasions. If closer, we would visit more often. The meals and service are exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I went for my birthday and it was lovely ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I went for my birthday and it was lovely. The food was delicious. I loved the booths, very cozy and private.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When in Annapolis Lewnes Steak House is ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

When in Annapolis Lewnes Steak House is a must stop for great service and a great meal. Best onion rings, bone in cowboy 24 oz. rib eye perfect and can be shared. All in all never had a bad meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and as my waiter (Sean) sa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great service and as my waiter (Sean) said, "I don't want to over sell it, but the food speak for itself". Do yourself a favor, skip the chain steakhouse and go to this restaurant. You are not going to regret it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall the best steakhouse on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Just overall the best steakhouse on the east coast in my eyes. Service is consistently perfect. Yes, perfect. Wines are paired precisely without breaking the bank. Every steak craving I get in Annapolis, we go directly to Lewnes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the good. Crush the waitstaff was m ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Love the good. Crush the waitstaff was more personable instead of being so robotic! Half of the fun of dining out is the interaction with a great &?fun server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

terrific! the filet is amazing. wort ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 10, 2016

terrific! the filet is amazing.

worth it.

terrific! the filet is amazing.

worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been eating here for 20 years. I ha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I've been eating here for 20 years. I have eaten at steak houses all over the country and this is still my favorite. I went to another "prime beef"steak house last week and it was so poor I made an excuse to come back to Lewnes' from New York City to get properly picked and cooked prime steak. I would like to know what happened to all of the wine they used to have. The wine list from 15 years ago beat anything in the country I've ever seen. The cuts of meat were also creative rather than just a transverse section of the Psoas Major. I am sad to see the wine list and the steak cuts have been "dumbed" down or modernized over the years but it is still world class. Skip the chain restaurant and go to Lewnes'.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We can never say enough good things abou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We can never say enough good things about Lewnes Steakhouse. Time and again we are able to enjoy a truly memorable steak dinner without the pretention that seems to be the norm at other upscale restaurants. I would not hesitate to recommend Lewnes to anyone looking for a steak dinner that cannot be matched, great atmosphere and perfect service.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.