About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Romantic
Baltimore / Maryland
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
8 More
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Romantic
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Most Booked
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (75)
Notable Wine List (58)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (21)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made reservations for 7PM, arrived early ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Made reservations for 7PM, arrived early and was seated right away. My girlfriends birthday, host came by to wish her a happy birthday and desert was on the house. Food was excellent, service was great, very nice atmosphere. A place to go if you want to be alone with your date.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant. Every time we go ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love this restaurant. Every time we go it is the best food and service always.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and the service, provid ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was amazing and the service, provided by Patti, was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for my son's 18th birthday fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Went there for my son's 18th birthday for a special meal - it was terrific. New York Strip was very good. Enjoyed it very much - first time there. Will go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Solid dinner . The food is amazing. Best ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Solid dinner .

The food is amazing. Best Greek salad I have ever had. Veal Chop was perfectly seasoned and cooked. I mean perfect! Wine selection is great, and recently heard that you can bring your our wine (corking fee applies, obviously)...great idea!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lewnes's doesn't disappoint. It is very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Lewnes's doesn't disappoint. It is very similar to A Ruth's Chris type steakhouse but independent, locally owned and operated. You get a nice feel for that local ownership with the service staff, many of whom are family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was fantastic! The service, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was fantastic! The service, food, atmosphere, and location combined make this restaurant exceptional. The aged steaks are well worth the cost! I would like to find something to say that could be improved, but during our dinner everything was perfect. Lewnes is not inexpensive, but the establishment does provide an exceptional total dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was too slow - server was knowle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service was too slow - server was knowledgeable but assumed never asked how to pace the meal. It was our first time there so we had a lot of questions about the food and menu.

Salad which had the word special in it was not special - lamb was great. Potatoe chips were over cooked - she called them French fries. She never offered hollandaise for our meat - not planning to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lewnes offers a lovely old-time ambiance ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lewnes offers a lovely old-time ambiance that you rarely get anymore- nice and dark enough for intimate conversation and feeling like you're the only ones there. The steaks are beautifully prepared and always tender and why we return again and again. This time, we brought our new neighbors, both steak-lovers, who said it was the best restaurant experience they'd ever had! To round out this review, the service is caring but not intrusive. It was as if we were the waiter's only diners.

We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server, Amy, was wonderful. She was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The server, Amy, was wonderful. She was there when we needed her and let us take our time. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and really helped us enjoy the evening and the delicious food. The clams casino were great, they had a crunchiness on the outside and a creaminess on the inside. The crab balls needed a little more crab. We split the cowboy steak which was done to perfection. The mashed potatoes were rich and smooth. The creamed spinach had a little sweet taste that had me intrigued. All of the staff were friendly and did their jobs very well. It seemed like everyone worked as a team. We had a very wonderful evening, the food could not have been better. At the end, we were surprised with a brownie with ice cream which capped off a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent. She made perfe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was excellent. She made perfect recommendations. We let the staff know it was our wedding anniversary and our dessert and coffe was comped. The steak was delicious and the sides were fantastic. We have dropped over $300 for a comparable dinner in Vegas (our check was half of that). We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tremendous night in all ways... Four cou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Tremendous night in all ways... Four couple get together after a long time apart...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The crab and shr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food was delicious. The crab and shrimp bisque amazing. The steaks were cooked to prefection. Desert soft warm brownie topped with ice cream could not have been better! Nick was our server was very pleasant and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite steak houses in the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of our favorite steak houses in the USA - always go there when we are visiting Annapolis which is usually once a year. Great wine selection at reasonable prices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steakhouse in Annapolis by a wide m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Best steakhouse in Annapolis by a wide margin. Greek salad is a special treat. Service is friendly and always courtious. Lewnes never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a pleasant experience. It was our ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a pleasant experience. It was our first time there celebrating my husband's birthday. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive. The Food was FANTASTIC! Hands down the best steak I have had thus far. They even gave my husband a complimentary birthday dessert. I would go back and recommend them. Thank You Lewnes for an Awesome experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Lewnes Steakhou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I went to Lewnes Steakhouse with another couple. The other couple had been very kind to us and we wanted to treat them to a great dinner. Well, it absolutely turned out to be a GREAT dinner. The atmosphere, the service, the food and the entire night was fantastic. Thank you for a top notch evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I've ever experien ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

One of the best meals I've ever experienced. Everything was perfect. Even the leftovers I had the next day were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Staff was wonderful. Nic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent food. Staff was wonderful. Nice place to go for a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing. As well as the service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was amazing. As well as the service and reception. I've never had a bad meal here, and they made accommodations for dietary restrictions.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved the food and serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I loved the food and service was great! We enjoyed celebrating are Wedding Anniversary with a nice romantic dinner setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Annapolis. Best serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Annapolis. Best service, best food, best place. Thanks again for a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Pat, was knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our waitress, Pat, was knowledgeable and friendly. Rib eye was outstanding as was the veal chop. Great place. Really enjoyed everything about it. Definitely will go back when we visit Annapolis again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really outstanding in every way. Love th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Really outstanding in every way. Love this place and will be back. Everything was prepared perfectly - outstanding talent of the Chef; Service was outstanding - attentive but not intrusive and helpful with choices, explanations, etc.; Atmosphere was lovely - steakhouse and Annapolis charm blended for a relaxing, upscale dining experience. Don't change a thing !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was real pleasure to spend a nice rom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was real pleasure to spend a nice romantic evening with my husband having dinner at Lewnes'.

Delicious food, great in terms of quality/price, amazing wine list , awesome and very attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in food. I ordered lam ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in food. I ordered lamb chops and requested they be cooked to medium rare. When the lamb chops came they looked and tasted like someone had microwaved them first then put them on the grill. The texture was poor...they were still cool in the middle. My son had roast beef. It arrived arrived in swimming pool of juice. I have never seen anything like it. There was so much juice the waitress spill a good quarter of a cup just serving it. It seem like the roast beef had been cook a long time ago. Very little taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Made reservations but table wasn't ready ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Made reservations but table wasn't ready upon arrival. Once seated, took 30 minutes to order. After we told the waiter we were now a bit pressed for time, the service was excellent. Food was good, but not great for the price. Sides are advertised as enough for two; when they brought out the baked potato, it was large, but was simply served on a plate - was not cut into two, no butter or extras, etc. Salad was small

Parking is also a challenge.

All in all, a good restaurant, but not great. A little pricy for the quality. Will look for other options next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our anniversary celebration at Lewnes' c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our anniversary celebration at Lewnes' confirmed the obvious: it is a reason to visit Annapolis, we'll definitely dine here again. The steaks (porterhouse and New York strip) were cooked to perfection, appetizers and wine were superb. Just a reminder that this place is more formal and on the expensive side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Lewnes many times. It i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been to Lewnes many times. It is our favorite restaurant in Annapolis. The steaks are delicious and always cooked to perfection. The dinners come a la carte but the sides are generous portions served family style. This is a great restaurant for special occasions because the noise level is kept to a minimum and you don't have to scream to be heard by the other people at your table/booth.

The wait staff is professional and service is excellent. The wine list is very extensive with prices ranging from moderate to extravagant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there several times, but on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have been there several times, but on this occasion I took my daughter for her 23rd birthday. It was her first time and she absolutely loved it. They walked us through the wine room upon request as an extra treat! Can't wait to visit again, as their steaks are perfectly cooked and always mouth watering!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance....whatever the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food, service, ambiance....whatever the category, Lewnes' was "spot-on". Our meals were perfectly cooked and our waiter (Richard) knew his craft....food, wine, and attentiveness....isn't that why we go to nice places. We're looking forward to our next visit to Lewnes'. Truly a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuts of beef were excellent. The si ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cuts of beef were excellent. The sides were as enjoyable as the beef. Our waitress was efficient, knowledgeable and most of all...fun!

Lewne's is my new go to steak joint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I moved to Annapolis 10 years ago, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

When I moved to Annapolis 10 years ago, I was made aware of Lewnes' and I must admit, whomever was responsible for that deserves an undying debt of gratitude. It is a traditional steak house, but with an Annapolitan flare. You know you're in a steak house, but the casual ambience of Annapolis pervades throughout. Not to say people don't get dressed up or use it as a more formal setting for special occasions, but the regulars (who often dine at the bar) are just as likely to show up in sailing attire as they are in business attire! But don't kid yourself: People go there for hand cut, in house aged, prime beef. Their NY Strip is as good as any steakhouse in the country. They confirm the temperature (medium rare is warm red center, and that is what you'll get) and they execute it flawlessly. Split up a Greek Salad after you try the Oysters Rockefeller, and then wait for the steak and sides (Lyonnaise potatoes are always solid, creamed spinach, mushrooms, asparagus....what you expect to find in a traditional steak house is there and prepared brilliantly). The wine list is wonderful, but the highlight invariably (aside from the protein offerings) is outstanding service. They will accommodate you at every turn, with knowledgeable suggestions and a keen desire to make you very happy. Lewnes' is a gem for those who live here and for those visitors to Annapolis (and Eastport) who have been fortunate to find it during their stays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening was a delight! Everyt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The entire evening was a delight! Everything was amazing, Food, Waitstaff, Location and Ambiance...I highly recommend the dirty martini w/ blue cheese stuffed olives, filet and mashed potatoes (you can add in toppings) we went for bacon and blue cheese...they were awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic steak house atmosphere and menu. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Classic steak house atmosphere and menu. Food was good even if a little bland. After 10 minutes with their "notable" wine list, we picked the perfect bottle and dinner. "Oh sorry, we ran out of that wine." Nothing worse for someone who loves wine and decides on their whole course, only to be told their choice ran out 10 minutes later after the food order is submitted. Total amateur hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The best steakhouse in town. Large port ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The best steakhouse in town. Large portions on the sides (everything can be split and they can serve it split ahead of time). and the wine list is amazing, wish there would have been more than two of us so that we could indulge in another bottle. Remember Maryland now allows you to take home unfinished bottles. Waiter Nick was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best steak in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry, this was as disappointment. While ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Sorry, this was as disappointment. While the crab cake was good, the filet was not hot, only warm, and not very tasty. One large baked potato for two was plunked down whole on the table. Not very elegant. While there is an extensive wine list, few are offered by the glass. Parking is hard to come by and a hassle. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our first visit recommended by ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was our first visit recommended by friends. It was the best filet we've ever eaten and the crab cakes were to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and wine, but especi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine, but especially the service. Our server, Eric, was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.