About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
4 More
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Romantic
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

special occasion (118)
romantic (93)
notable wine list (85)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
neighborhood gem (53)
good for groups (21)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

The cowboy ribeye steaks were excellent as always and our server, Dave, was very attentive to our every need. But the seafood bisque, sautéed mushrooms and lyonnaise potatoes left a lot to be desired. The seafood bisque was full of shells and the meat was so pulverized you couldn't tell what you were eating. The sautéed mushrooms were quite bland without even a hint of sherry in them. And the lyonnaise potatoes were quite greasy and inedible.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Lewnes' did not disappoint! W ...

Dined 4 days ago

As always, Lewnes' did not disappoint! We love the ambience, the staff, and most of all the GREAT food! Always a winner!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service and tremendous wine list. Filet's were especially good but hold the butter if you want to avoid the rich flavor.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow

Dined on May 16, 2016

Took a date here because she had been once before and "raved" about the food. I have to be honest and say I was apprehensive. I have eaten at some of the best steak houses in the world (Luger's, Palm, Flemmings, etc..). I was completely floored by the food here, amazing presentation, prepared perfectly, well timed and our waiter Sean was great. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone, avoid the "chain steak houses" and support this gem in downtown Annapolis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was offered many excellent choi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu was offered many excellent choices and our waiter couldn't have been more personable and thoughtful. Each of the four us had delicious meals. We will go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service could not have better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

the food was excellent but our waiter, w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

the food was excellent but our waiter, while he was very knowledgable, kept rushing us in the beginning while we explained we were going to take our time. The restaurant was rather empty and this disturbed us some. Great Filet mignon though! When we ordered medium, it came out Med Rare so be careful

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we chose LEWNES for special occasion, a ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

we chose LEWNES for special occasion, a medical school graduation celebration. it was outstanding! but i have been many times and expected it to be so. and they delivered. spectacular food! great service, warm quiet ambience. just love this place. always top notch. thanks for living up to our expectations, every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience in Annapolis

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fantastic! I think I've been to just about every restaurant in Annapolis over the years, and in my opinion this is the best dining experience the city has to offer. The steaks are outstanding, this time I had the cowboy bone in ribeye, a beautiful cut of meat cooked to perfection. Clams casino and creamed spinach also out of this world. Beyond the food, the service is very professional, and personable. Even if you don't know anyone in town, you will feel important because of how you are treated while you dine. I'll also mention that you shouldn't get scared off by the prices. The steaks really are that good, and the portions are enormous, you can share everything, and eat it again the next day. An all around phenomenal experience, I would absolutely recommend it to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall, I think the restaurant is over ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Overall, I think the restaurant is over rated. Two out of 3 of the steaks ordered, at our table, were good. One was very tough and rubbery, not what I would have expected for the price and reputation. This was our first and now probably our last experience at Lewnes.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on May 9, 2016

I dined at Lewne's for Mother's Day dinner with my husband, our 17 year old son and our 15 year old daughter. The food was simply amazing! Lewne's offered a prix fixe menu for the holiday, and we all dined from it. For starters we enjoyed the signature Greek salad and the seafood bisque. Both were very tasty. For our main courses, we ordered the petite filets and the ribeye steaks, each served oscar style (topped with lump crab meat and hollandaise sauce). Cooked perfectly to a medium rare temperature, and full of flavor. The sides of mushrooms and potatoes were also quite good. For dessert, we enjoyed the cheesecake and vanilla ice cream. Although the service was better than at many restaurants, I expected better service at Lewne's. Our bread was not replenished until after our main course arrived. One of our side items was forgotten, and brought much later. Our drinks could have been replenished more quickly. It was by far not a terrible experience, but definitely not one of our better dining experiences. We have noticed that when we are seated downstairs, our service is amazing. When we are seated upstairs, sometimes it is down right awful, but other times just ok. Never have we had amazing service upstairs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem away from City Dock tourist traps.

Dined on May 8, 2016

A hidden gem away from City Dock tourist traps. The Ribeye is outstanding. Service is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Excellent food but really expensive for ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food but really expensive for Mothers Day

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steak

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great porterhouse . Excellent oysters Rockefeller ! Delicious sides and a,aging servers

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

not the best

Dined on May 2, 2016

I was very surprised to not be amazed after hearing all the wonderful things about Lewnes. Basically my New York strip was a little dry even though it was rare and it had minimal flavoring. It didn't seem to be a great cut of beef.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great as always!! Steaks are amazing! ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Great as always!! Steaks are amazing! Great wine selection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice. Friendly, helpful waitress.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very nice. Friendly, helpful waitress.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific Steakhouse Experience

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Lewnes is our favorite steakhouse in Annapolis (and well beyond). Lovely intimate ambience in a quirky Eastport building, lots of winding ways and booths. The steaks are outstanding (you may want to engage the waiter in a discussion about what constitutes "medium rare" if that's your preference ), sides are great. They have an excellent wine menu. Service is attentive but discreet - just right. It's not cheap, so we tend to go on special occasions, but it has never disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak house !

Dined on April 18, 2016

If you looking for looking for a legit steakhouse here it is ! Simple menu done right ! Full bar and great wine selection . Took my wife to dinner and we will be back . Menu is not gigantic but they prepare what they offer to perfection . Has a oldschool feel with top notch knowledgeable service .

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak me and my fiance have ever had!

Dined on April 17, 2016

My fiance and I each had the petite filet medium rare (8 oz.) and it was prepared perfectly! It was also more than enough food. On the side we got, sauteed mushrooms and the fried onion rings. Both of them were very good. The wine selection was very good - and their house options were perfect for us. This was a special occasion for us and we were very happy with it. The service was also very good and the waitress was very knowledgeable and offered advice/recommendations for us from the menu. We have already told friends about this, it was so good!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steak Around

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We have dined at many steak places and most come up short - less than stellar quality along with stratospheric prices. After dining at Lewnes' Steakhouse several times now, I would recommend this establishment to everyone. Very good quality steaks, tasty sides, top level service and a relaxed atmosphere. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steaks!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Lewnes is the BEST steak house in Annapolis! Awesome service and great menu selection!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Lewnes is a wonderful, local, premium st ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Lewnes is a wonderful, local, premium steak house. Comfortable atmosphere, quiet, the food is consistently delicious and the service is outstanding. A perfect example of keeping it simple and doing what you do really well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing cuts of meat, incredibly prepared, extensive wine list, absolutely delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful steak house!!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Our meal was wonderful for our second anniversary. Both of our meals were delicious. The mash potatoes were unbelievable!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was phenomenal. The food wa ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was phenomenal. The food was amazing. I was happy about every part of our dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Relaxed atmosphere, great food and wonde ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Relaxed atmosphere, great food and wonderful service. All around a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Favorite Place

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Lewnes' is one of the top restaurants in Annapolis. Great Steaks, great service, great wine list. It is pricey for sure but worth it as a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatest steak house in Maryland.

Dined on March 21, 2016

We've eaten at Lewnes for over 22 years, it has been our "go to" place for special occasions, just because and every other reason in between. Never had a bad meal there, The oysters Rockefeller, crab balls, filet and even the coffee is superior all served up in a relaxing, clubby atmosphere, a place where jeans are as acceptable as a suit and tie. Years ago, we were worried when Ruth opened up down the street, but were assured by the manager that "they welcomed Ruth because they would have a place to send their guests that they couldn't accommodate". A must if you are visiting Annapolis, be sure to make reservations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on March 21, 2016

Enjoyed an excellent meal. Steaks were prepared exactly as we like Food only surpassed by the excellent service Received from Elaine

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Oysters Rockefeller was great and the Gr ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Oysters Rockefeller was great and the Greek Salad was wonderful. The Ribeye steak was one of the best that I have had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience I truly lost all track of time!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellet service combined with the best food in Annapolis and top choices in wine. My favorite place to always make me smile and feel like home away from home!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our steak was cooked perfectly—medium ra ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Our steak was cooked perfectly—medium rare, just as requested—and we were able to order half-portions of the family-style sides. The service was excellent, as always, and the wine selection was good. Our server recommended a good bottle in our price range. It was a great way to escape the St. Patrick's a Day crowds for a date night.

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite steak house. Wait staff and ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

My favorite steak house. Wait staff and bartenders are pros every time. Excellent wine list fairly priced....not to be confused with inexpensive. I have thoroughly enjoyed every visit whether business or special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved Lewnes. The food wa ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We absolutely loved Lewnes. The food was amazing and We also had an outstanding server (Jen). We will definitely be coming back the next time we are in Annapolis.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great steaks and service

Dined on March 13, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever eaten (bone-in Rib eye). Cooked to perfection. And our server was excellent. Very Pricey but the food was worth what we paid. We also ordered a dozen oysters on the 1/2 shell, and all got dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious high quality food!! Greek sala ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Delicious high quality food!! Greek salad was excellent and filet Mignon was the best I have ever eaten! Cheryl was an excellent waitress as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great but not perfect!

Dined on March 6, 2016

The Pluses: Nice greeting by server, prompt cocktail service, good introduction by server to Lewnes' and menu items, server very patient, entrees excellent, asparagus side good, prices most reasonable. Fantastic wine list, think about putting it on IPads, similar to Flemings. All in all, we had a very enjoyable evening. Good possibility we'll be back. This is a favorite of many of our friends. The Minuses: No valet parking, or at least, none available. Server, great personality but should have been more polished for the upscale atmosphere (demeanor was more appropriate for Applebees/TGI Fridays, not that there is anything wrong with that). Server did a great job with a challenging group. Somehow, creamed spinach served, very good, but not ordered. Potatoes Lyonnaise ordered, not served, but when received, they weren't the best. I'd seek other recipe preparations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When you're looking for a prime beef steak

Dined on March 4, 2016

I've long maintained that Lewnes' is an underreported treasure in Eastport. It is one of the best true steak houses in the Eastern United States, including NY, Miami, Atlanta, Boston varietals. The experience is old school, masculine and as heady as you want it to be. Appetizers like their Oysters Rockefeller are always outstanding, the salads or soups are always well presented and the traditional sides such as lyonnaise potatoes, spinach (either way), mushrooms are always on point. But you come to Lewnes' for the steaks....USDA Prime, hand cut, house aged....and they're cooked as you order them (and if you order them Well Done, please, there's an Outback Steakhouse about 15 minutes away.....you might want to go there instead). I live walking distance and trust me, I'd walk in a violent downpour to get there (and I have). It's not cheap, but it is a dining experience and I assess the value based on the clean plates around the table upon the meal's conclusion. Well worth it, always!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant

Dined on March 4, 2016

We had the most incredible dining experience! The food, atmosphere and drinks were awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.