Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (92)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (70)
See All
Good for a Date (67)
Notable Wine List (52)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Cozy (37)
Business Meals (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Historic (25)
Authentic (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Private Room (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Family Style (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
719 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic experience from the moment we sat down for dinner. Waiter was phenomenal (Eric), his recommendations were on point, and the food was fantastic. My wife and I have been to some of the best steakhouses in Manhattan, and this was by far the best filet mignon I've ever eaten. Kudos to everyone at Lewnes, what a great night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

We take our grandchildren all the time and could not be treated better by the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Why would you go anywhere else in Annapolis? Always Lewnes. Best service, great wine list, phenomenal steaks and martinis. <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

I can see why Lewnes is listed as the best steakhouse in Maryland. The food, service and ambiance could not be better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place for a great steak. Wonder for dates or business meeting.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Notified restaurant that a party of 4 would require a high chair for our 2 yr old granddaughter and we were pleasantly surprised to see that a private room was set up. Food, service and ambiance were outstanding. It rivaled and surpassed some of the more expensive steak houses back home in New York. NY Strip was outstanding as were the sides. Can't wait until we visit Annapolis again. Everyone made this a memorable meal for our family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overall it was a lot of money for an average meal. The Greek salad was terrible and the Lyonnaise potatoes did not taste good. The steaks were prepared appropriately but were not presented well. Really, a steak on a plate with no real garnish. We expected more.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best steak I've had in a long long time! The service was top notch and the wine was amazing. The sides were also so delicious. Best date place I've been! Pricey but definitely worth it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Amazing food and wonderful experience! Thank you for making our anniversary celebration so very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good, what you would expect from a traditional steak house, still pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The front desk is never very welcoming or friendly. They just get you seated... that's IT! The waiters are all a little quirky, mostly in a good way. The steaks are REALLY good and well cooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was our first time dining at Lewnes, and it was fabulous! Each item - salad, meat, vegetables, etc. - is ordered separately. You have the option of getting half portions of the side dishes, which are big enough to serve two people. This is a fine dining establishment perfect for celebrating special occasions, which is why we went there. You will enjoy every bite of your meal from start to finish.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent Rib Eye, Baked Potato, Vegetables, Appetizers (clams casino), pinot noir, cold beer...had a very nice time. Steaks were outstanding. Baked Potato was big and beautiful.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always it is a lovely experience. The staff is attentive, very helpful, and can't do enough. The food is delicious. It is a steakhouse and the steak is WOW! The high back booths give you privacy and enable conversation with your companions. The side order portions are enough for two and they tell you that, not like some others we have dined in (but not again!).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I'm not sure if crying while enjoying my steak was appropriate for the atmosphere, but seeing how that first bite and every other bite after compelled me to put my fork and knife down to savor it while I held back tears of joy, I think... that is a mighty good steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is one of Maryland's best steakhouses. The wine list is exceptional (although a few more wines by the glass, such as a Syrah, would be nice). Steaks were perfectly prepared, delicious and tender. Chicken meal was not an afterthought but ample and well conceived, cooked and presented. Crab cakes are authentic and full of lump crab. Coffee and dessert were a fitting end. The service was exemplary. We have been here a number of times and never been disappointed. Far from inexpensive but still a top value.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was our 4th time eating at Lewnes. The prior 3 times we had very good experiences. Our server approached us in a timely manner and was very friendly. She said she would give us a few moments to look at the wine list. We waited a solid ten - fifteen minutes for her to come back. We wanted to split a steak and each get a salad. We ordered wedges and she suggested that the kitchen slice the steak and put it on top of the salad. The plate was ridiculously small for the wedge and filet. It was difficult to cut without food falling off the plate. I also had to remind the server for bread which we did not get until our meal came. I asked her for a suggestion for potatoes, and she said the french fries were the best. They were more like potato chips, which should have been explained. We would not have ordered them. Between the service, presentation of the food and the overall experience, we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent steaks cooked well with good service. Expensive and the sides are good, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our meal was perfect and the server brought us a very tasty brownie for our anniversary. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a great evening at Lewnes. The steaks were delicious and perfectly prepared. The sides were also extremely good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Best stake in Annapolis! Cooked to perfection. Wine selection was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I is an excellent dining experience. Forget the noise associated with all the new chain like restaurants. Even though the restaurant was full I never felt it. The food choices we made we're excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was very good waiter very attentive. Steak was excellent and perfectly done. They surprised my wife with a birthday dessert which was very thoughtful and delicious. Overall a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food was excellent. The best creamy spinach I've ever had. I got the rib eye and I crab cake. TThe service was stupendous. I would highly recommend this place.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent restaurant for a romantic evening... Great food... Best overall dining experience in a long time... We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The waiter was amazing and on top of his game. Friendly and really hustled to keep us happy . Food was phenomenal and the restaurant was much bigger than what I would've thought .

Totally will come again .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a planned special treat for my husband's 70th birthday...and what a treat it was! There was something for both of us on the menu (He's a meat eater...I'm a seafood lover) The service (thank you, Cheryl) was fabulous. The environment was cozy. My biggest concern was parking but we easily found street parking less than a block away. All was perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We went for an anniversary dinner. It was wonderful. Perfect ambiance for a date or special occasion. The food was spectacular and the service was great starting as soon as you enter. Our waitress walked us through the entire dinner experience so we didn't have questions. We hope to return soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Love it every visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This is our go to for every special occasional. Food is amazing, service is always spectacular ( we <3 Pattie), and the wine list and bar is awesome (good variety and price and a mean martini). Old school charm and quiet in the downstairs booths. What more could you ask for?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Second time we have eaten at this restaurant. Food is consistently good and service is outstanding. Steaks, seafood , and lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The steaks were superb. I have no issue there. The house salad was a total bore and the dessert was a a huge surprise and not a good one. We went to celebrate a birthday. After our meal the waitress brought a warm brownie with ice cream and whipped cream to celebrate the occasion. We were surprised, but not as surprised as we were when we saw that we were charged for the dessert that we did not order!! Very poor form and it left a bad taste in our mouth.

BUT, just today the manager called and offered a very sincere apology! It was an honest mistake. Go there and enjoy a perfectly prepared steak! Yum!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The restaurant is simply amazing!!!! The menu and food are excellent, the servers are knowledgeable and extremely nice. The place is very welcoming. I was uncertain in what to eat and the servers gave me many options and recommendations. The food is absolutely delicious, good bread and I love the wine and extensive selection. It has definitely become one of our new favorite places. My wife's veal chop was the best she has ever had and that is quite a statement given her high standards. #musteatandexperience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My second time dining at Lewnes ... exceptionally attentive waitress, steaks were perfect, and love that they allow you to bring your own wine in and decant and serve it for you. They also have a very nice wine list!!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wonderful time. Food was excellent. Wait staff was perfect. Could not have asked for a better setting to celebrate my wife's birthday

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Lewnes' has the best steaks in the area (in my opinion). I go for special occasions and have always been perfectly happy with the food, wine and the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lewnes Steakhouse in Annapolis was as marvelous as I had imagined it would be! It took me 2 weeks to get a Sat. night reservation- so my expectations were high. The steaks were to die for, & cooked perfectly. The wine list was impressive/intimidating. Our booth was comfortable & private. The mash potatoes were delicious. The only dish we did not care for was the creamed spinach. It was very minty tasting. The brownie dessert was wonderful. The house salad was very simple but delicious! Our server was kind & knowledgable- but I would have appreciated some wine recommendations. Overall 5 Stars! We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Private Room
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good steaks. Cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I don't have the opportunity to go out too often - so when we do....Lewnes is our choice. Once again, we were not disappointed. My husband's filet was excellent. My half portion of a Greek Salad was just as it always is.....Wonderful! I had the crab cakes (I am usually a Ribeye person) and they were very good. We really enjoy every aspect of Lewnes.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Best steak anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.