About Lewnes' SteakHouse

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: 4102631617x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Baltimore / Maryland
Steakhouse
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
6 More
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Best Service
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Romantic
Greater Annapolis
Special Occasion
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Annapolis ›

Special Occasion (96)
Romantic (79)
Notable Wine List (73)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
514 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. Staff was wonderful. Nic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food. Staff was wonderful. Nice place to go for a celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing. As well as the service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was amazing. As well as the service and reception. I've never had a bad meal here, and they made accommodations for dietary restrictions.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved the food and serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I loved the food and service was great! We enjoyed celebrating are Wedding Anniversary with a nice romantic dinner setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Annapolis. Best serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best restaurant in Annapolis. Best service, best food, best place. Thanks again for a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Pat, was knowledgeable and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Pat, was knowledgeable and friendly. Rib eye was outstanding as was the veal chop. Great place. Really enjoyed everything about it. Definitely will go back when we visit Annapolis again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really outstanding in every way. Love th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really outstanding in every way. Love this place and will be back. Everything was prepared perfectly - outstanding talent of the Chef; Service was outstanding - attentive but not intrusive and helpful with choices, explanations, etc.; Atmosphere was lovely - steakhouse and Annapolis charm blended for a relaxing, upscale dining experience. Don't change a thing !!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was real pleasure to spend a nice rom ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was real pleasure to spend a nice romantic evening with my husband having dinner at Lewnes'.

Delicious food, great in terms of quality/price, amazing wine list , awesome and very attentive service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed in food. I ordered lam ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very disappointed in food. I ordered lamb chops and requested they be cooked to medium rare. When the lamb chops came they looked and tasted like someone had microwaved them first then put them on the grill. The texture was poor...they were still cool in the middle. My son had roast beef. It arrived arrived in swimming pool of juice. I have never seen anything like it. There was so much juice the waitress spill a good quarter of a cup just serving it. It seem like the roast beef had been cook a long time ago. Very little taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Made reservations but table wasn't ready ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Made reservations but table wasn't ready upon arrival. Once seated, took 30 minutes to order. After we told the waiter we were now a bit pressed for time, the service was excellent. Food was good, but not great for the price. Sides are advertised as enough for two; when they brought out the baked potato, it was large, but was simply served on a plate - was not cut into two, no butter or extras, etc. Salad was small

Parking is also a challenge.

All in all, a good restaurant, but not great. A little pricy for the quality. Will look for other options next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our anniversary celebration at Lewnes' c ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our anniversary celebration at Lewnes' confirmed the obvious: it is a reason to visit Annapolis, we'll definitely dine here again. The steaks (porterhouse and New York strip) were cooked to perfection, appetizers and wine were superb. Just a reminder that this place is more formal and on the expensive side.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Lewnes many times. It i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been to Lewnes many times. It is our favorite restaurant in Annapolis. The steaks are delicious and always cooked to perfection. The dinners come a la carte but the sides are generous portions served family style. This is a great restaurant for special occasions because the noise level is kept to a minimum and you don't have to scream to be heard by the other people at your table/booth.

The wait staff is professional and service is excellent. The wine list is very extensive with prices ranging from moderate to extravagant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been there several times, but on ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I have been there several times, but on this occasion I took my daughter for her 23rd birthday. It was her first time and she absolutely loved it. They walked us through the wine room upon request as an extra treat! Can't wait to visit again, as their steaks are perfectly cooked and always mouth watering!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance....whatever the ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food, service, ambiance....whatever the category, Lewnes' was "spot-on". Our meals were perfectly cooked and our waiter (Richard) knew his craft....food, wine, and attentiveness....isn't that why we go to nice places. We're looking forward to our next visit to Lewnes'. Truly a treat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuts of beef were excellent. The si ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cuts of beef were excellent. The sides were as enjoyable as the beef. Our waitress was efficient, knowledgeable and most of all...fun!

Lewne's is my new go to steak joint!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I moved to Annapolis 10 years ago, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

When I moved to Annapolis 10 years ago, I was made aware of Lewnes' and I must admit, whomever was responsible for that deserves an undying debt of gratitude. It is a traditional steak house, but with an Annapolitan flare. You know you're in a steak house, but the casual ambience of Annapolis pervades throughout. Not to say people don't get dressed up or use it as a more formal setting for special occasions, but the regulars (who often dine at the bar) are just as likely to show up in sailing attire as they are in business attire! But don't kid yourself: People go there for hand cut, in house aged, prime beef. Their NY Strip is as good as any steakhouse in the country. They confirm the temperature (medium rare is warm red center, and that is what you'll get) and they execute it flawlessly. Split up a Greek Salad after you try the Oysters Rockefeller, and then wait for the steak and sides (Lyonnaise potatoes are always solid, creamed spinach, mushrooms, asparagus....what you expect to find in a traditional steak house is there and prepared brilliantly). The wine list is wonderful, but the highlight invariably (aside from the protein offerings) is outstanding service. They will accommodate you at every turn, with knowledgeable suggestions and a keen desire to make you very happy. Lewnes' is a gem for those who live here and for those visitors to Annapolis (and Eastport) who have been fortunate to find it during their stays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening was a delight! Everyt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The entire evening was a delight! Everything was amazing, Food, Waitstaff, Location and Ambiance...I highly recommend the dirty martini w/ blue cheese stuffed olives, filet and mashed potatoes (you can add in toppings) we went for bacon and blue cheese...they were awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic steak house atmosphere and menu. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Classic steak house atmosphere and menu. Food was good even if a little bland. After 10 minutes with their "notable" wine list, we picked the perfect bottle and dinner. "Oh sorry, we ran out of that wine." Nothing worse for someone who loves wine and decides on their whole course, only to be told their choice ran out 10 minutes later after the food order is submitted. Total amateur hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The best steakhouse in town. Large port ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The best steakhouse in town. Large portions on the sides (everything can be split and they can serve it split ahead of time). and the wine list is amazing, wish there would have been more than two of us so that we could indulge in another bottle. Remember Maryland now allows you to take home unfinished bottles. Waiter Nick was exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in town.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Best steak in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sorry, this was as disappointment. While ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Sorry, this was as disappointment. While the crab cake was good, the filet was not hot, only warm, and not very tasty. One large baked potato for two was plunked down whole on the table. Not very elegant. While there is an extensive wine list, few are offered by the glass. Parking is hard to come by and a hassle. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our first visit recommended by ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was our first visit recommended by friends. It was the best filet we've ever eaten and the crab cakes were to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the food and wine, but especi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We enjoyed the food and wine, but especially the service. Our server, Eric, was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always I believe they serve the best ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

As always I believe they serve the best steak dinner you will ever eat. It is a family owned establishment in Annapolis MD

Jin was our waitress who did an exceptional job!

My wife and I will definitely be back!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took my wife for our wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I took my wife for our wedding anniversary and it was one of the best dinners we've had together. We received excellent service and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be dining at Lewnes' again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful wedding anniversary d ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful wedding anniversary dinner there. Everything was perfect. They treated like special guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time I've eaten here and everything ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

2nd time I've eaten here and everything was exactly as I had remembered. Of course the steak was juicy and loaded with flavor and perfectly done as per ordered. Side dishes were also well prepared and full of flavor. Everything came out of the kitchen in perfect order.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Everything was great, save the steaks. A ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was great, save the steaks. And, after all, this is a steak house. My friend and I both had the New York strips.

I order mine Pittsburgh rare and he, medium rare. They both were cook to perfection. Unfortunately, the taste was just ok and not all that tender.

A few weeks previous, my wife picked up some prime strips at Costco and quite honestly, they were better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This is an outstanding restaurant. You p ...

 
 (Beirut)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. You pay for the rare level of beef found in only a few true steakhouses, but you get a great atmosphere with high-back booths and warm lighting to go with mature wait staff and knowledgeable recommendations. Add the Annapolis setting with plenty more to do on a day or night out, and you have a superb combination.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and wonderful food .St ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent service and wonderful food .Steaks cooked perfectly. Great ambiance and exceptional staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lewnes is always on target For a Perfect ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Lewnes is always on target

For a

Perfect meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have lived in Annapolis for 30 years ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have lived in Annapolis for 30 years and this was our first visit to Lewnes. I'm sorry it took us so long. Nick, our server was great. Very attentive without hovering. When I was deciding between two different wines, he brought me a taste of each. The best part, of course, were the steaks. They were absolutely melt in your mouth delicious. My husband ordered the ribeye and he could cut it with his fork. We will definitely come back again soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistent high quality food and excelle ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Consistent high quality food and excellent service, make Lewnes a true destination. Dinner here is always a pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting Annapolis to see our so ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were visiting Annapolis to see our son and daughter-in-law, and to see their new house. We were looking for a "special" place. LEWNES' was the perfect place.

Our steaks were cooked to perfection. Although side dishes are not included with the entree, they were served family style

Our waiter was wonderful- attentive without being overbearing. He had a dry sense of humor.

LEWNES' is a great place for a celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and very large portions ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was amazing and very large portions. Listen to the server, he/she gives good advice on food and wine selections. Had dinner here because we had a gift card. Will return because of the food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They forgot to bring us our salad. Food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

They forgot to bring us our salad. Food was not as hot as it should have been. Timing seemed to be off tonight. Service was not up to their usual high level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

An old school steakhouse. Impeccable ser ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

An old school steakhouse. Impeccable service. Waiter knowledgeable about menu, wines and pairings. Food arrived in proper order and only when previous course was finished. Steaks were properly cooked the first time. Menu is ala cart so you may order what you want and capable of eating. The old saying; if you have to ask the price, you cannot afford it. Although Lewnes is no more expensive than any other quality steakhouse, price is very, very, worth visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, no, superior steaks and great ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent, no, superior steaks and great wine, seafood, vegetables, and service. Ever hear the phrase "You get what you pay for"? You absolutely do get some of the best food and service but please don't think it is inexpensive. It is a luxury. I had an amazing cowboy cut ribeye with the "oscar" option which was a generous helping of lump crab in a bearnaise sauce. My wife had the filet mignon which was beautifully cooked. We both shared some sauteed spinach which was delicious also (onions and garlic were assertive but not overpowering - unless you're a fan of bland). We had a very nice bottle of Italian wine to enjoy with the meal. You get what you pay for. Our server was kind enough to comp us a delicious pecan pie ala mode for our anniversary. Really really very tasty. It didn't taste like grocery store ice cream or pie, it tasted fresh, not like it was full of preservatives. We got there early and basically had the place to ourselves until we were leaving and business started picking up. We had enough to bring home for a fantastic lunch the next day. I will definitely go back, I'll just need to save up if I want the most extravagant items on the menu again. A wonderful night though and a beautiful lady to spend it with.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We always love going to Lewnes for any s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We always love going to Lewnes for any special occasion. Our waiter, Nick was wonderful and had great suggestions on the menu and the wine. Our food came out at a leisurely pace and we enjoyed every bite we had. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the wine that was suggested was just what we wanted.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Back booths very warm and cozy. Great special occasion place. Very good selection of wines in all price ranges. They know what they do well and don't over extend to provide extensive choices that compromise selections.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We came for lobster, Lewnes did not have any, but wait! They made some calls and two 3 1/2 pounders showed up. We love Lewnes!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.