Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi
  1. Distance: 0.39mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.55mi

About Lewnes' SteakHouse

The Lewnes family has been in the food business since 1921. Lewnes' Steakhouse opened in 1994, specializing in USDA prime beef and exquisite seafood dishes. With its high back booths, low-lit ambiance and a waitstaff that is dedicated to first class service, Lewnes' is the premier spot for special occasions or private dining. Lewnes' boasts a Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence" award winning wine list with over 450 wine selections to pair with your meal.

401 Fourth Street
Annapolis, MD 21403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 4pm - 10pm
Friday & Saturday: 4pm - 10:30
Sunday: 4pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Severn Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 263-1617

Website:
http://www.lewnessteakhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available and a public parking lot is located catty corner from the restaurant. Only a short walk from historic downtown Annapolis; cross the Eastport bridge, take a left at the stop light, and the restaurant is on the corner two blocks down.

Public Transit:
Water taxis drop off and pick up at the end of fourth street, less than a half block from the restaurants location.

Executive Chef:
Lester Snowden

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining rooms are available upon request. Private dining menus, room configurations, and special requests can be organized with managers over the phone or on location.

Private Party Contact:
Paul Miguez: (410) 263-1617

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Lewnes' SteakHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (57)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Business Meals (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Authentic (29)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort by
S
938 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

I've been going to Lewnes' since it first opened, and through all of its competitors who have come and gone - Morton's, Governor's Grill - and the couple that have stayed - Ruths' Chris and Chop House - none leave me anywhere near as satisfied as Lewnes'. And it's local.

In the past few weeks I have been to Ruths' Chris in Annapolis and The Prime Rib in DC. And had rib steaks at each - with The Prime Rib being extremely disappointing. And then last night I was at Lewnes' and got the bone-in rib steak - Pittsburgh, medium rare. A new reminder as to why I love Lewnes' - this steak was cooked perfectly and could not have been tastier.

All of this is combined with a very relaxed and local atmosphere, a very professional and friendly wait staff, and owners who care about their customers. And Lewnes', unlike any of the others, is so flexible with sides - 1/2 orders of sides and salads so two people have some choices without wasting a lot of food and money.

I will likely stray again in the future, but when it is up to me, and I want a steak, I will lead the charge to Lewnes'. It's a great place and a special meal, but I've realized I don't need a special reason to go. Thanks Lewnes'

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Lewnes features outstanding steaks and sides. Expensive but well worth it for special occasions. Portions are very generous and can be split.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2018

Great spot for special occasions...went to celebrate birthday and did not disappoint. Steaks were perfect, side were big enough to share, wine list was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Everything was wonderful. From the server to all the food. It's nice to have an awesome dinner !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Service is always wonderful. Steaks melt in your mouth. Love the feeling of a family owned restaurant with incredible food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Lewnes is our favorite steak house in Annapolis. Since we had friends from out of state it was a “no brainer” to take them to Lewnes for a fantastic dinner. Comfortable- relaxed atmosphere. Thank u, we have never been disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

The steaks were outstanding and the service was superb. Great way to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Everything was amazing! The steak was worth the price and the atmosphere was really cozy. It was great for our anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 4, 2018

Absolutely AMAZING experience!!! Everything from the atmosphere, service and food.....top notch and very much worth it. Most strongly recommend to anyone looking for a fine-dining experience to remember.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2018

We went on New Years Day and everything was perfect! The waiter couldn’t have been nicer, and even gave us a complimentary dessert which was amazing! It’s our annual tradition and they never disappoint. Highly recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Lovely New Year's Eve dinner with friends -- super wait staff, timing all.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

My girlfriend and I went here for a date night.. It was wonderful Our waitress was very good.. I how fancy it was something you dont do every time you go on a date!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We love Lewnes and had not been there for several years. In town for our anniversary, we made reservations and looked forward to our return. We were delighted that it was exactly as we remembered it - quiet, intimate and the food was fabulous! I had the ribeye and my best girl had the lamb chops. They were sensational. We split hash browns (extra crispy) and a half order of their delicious creamed spinach. Yum!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Wonderful meal with excellent service - great place to celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great service and nice dining atmosphere
Food was okay - not as exceptional as I expected

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Lewnes’ has always been a nice date night dining place for my significant other and I. Their food is beyond amazing accompanied with a nice glass of wine and great service. But my recent time here it was not what I am used to recieving, the service was phenomenal but the food was subpar. The meal was decent but it was unlike what I usually experience and for the price. I do not mind paying more for a great meal but this recent experience did not have me leaving Lewnes’ satisfied like usual. I ordered the filet and it was a little on the rough side, strange for a filet. We ordered mashed potatoes (which were one of my favorite sides on the menu) and I’m not sure if they were boxed this time or if box mixture was added to the potatoes but they didn’t taste right at all. I’m displeased with my recent experience, I previously wrote a review of how wonderful this place is but my recent experience has me questioning my return if I have the chance of receiving the same outcome of my last meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent classic steakhouse cuisine. The meats and seafood were exceptional. We really enjoyed the salads and sides--the wedge salad and the sautéed mushrooms were especially delicious. Our server was very knowledgable and guided us through the menu. Overall, an excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The appetizers & the entrees were great. The salads were drenched in salad dressing, and we scraped off as much of the dressings as we could. Our server, Patty, was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Good time with friends following the Military Bowl food and service was great! Always the best steak experience.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

The steaks are the best in town. The Oysters Rockefeller and seafood bisque were also fantastic. Service was friendly and very professional.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had a great dinner experience on Christmas Eve. The food, service, and atmosphere were all great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

We had never been here before and we were extremely happy. The service was wonderful, our waiter knew it was our first time there and gave great recommendations and finished off our meal with a free dessert. The food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Dinner was excellent. We will definitely be back...we talked about making this a Christmas tradition.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 23, 2017

Fantastic meal and service provided per usual. I would eat here everyday if I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Steaks as usual were perfect and Elaine our server is the complete professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Nothing bad to say. Chose a nice wine had a great steak and after dinner drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Pros: remarkable service, great ambiance for a date spot, located next to a parking garage for easy accessibility in a dense area.

Cons: food was average/bland, not worth $50 a steak.

I’m rarely critical of restaurants but my level of disappointment was due to the rave reviews I’ve heard about this restaurant. I got the Porterhouse and my date got the NY strip (both Med-Rare). There was nothing to separate the steaks here versus the average run of the mill steakhouse, well except the price tag. Although a chain, Capital Grille made Lewnes steak resemble Outback Steakhouse. If you’re going to pay $260 for 2 people (bottle of wine) my expectations where high and unfortunately not met. I’m fine spending $50 a steak but there are better options.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Steak was great as always but service was totally miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Usually Lewnes get my highest rating and so I will consider this an anomaly. More than a week before this dinner I informed the Lewnes staff that I wanted 3 lobsters more than 3 lbs each. This order was verified several times by phone. The late afternoon of the dinner reservation, I was called and told that the supplier only had 2 lobsters and that the staff had gone to a seafood market and purchased a lobster that was smaller than I had requested. At that late point and since it was a birthday gift to my wife, I agreed to accept the smaller lobster. When we arrived at the restaurant, and before the lobsters were served, the host informed me that the lobsters were molting and that they were smaller than anticipated and that he would, because of this, comp one of the lobsters over my objection. The lobsters appeared and what a disappointment! We've had lobsters at Lewnes many, many times and I can tell you that these lobsters were puny! Each of us looked at each other wondering where the over 3 lb lobsters were...one was supposed to be 3.7 lbs, the second 3.2 lbs and the recently purchased 2.5 lbs. These guys, however, could not have been larger than 2 lbs if they were that large and each only had only one claw. Now I must admit that I've never seen a molting lobster before but if, as I was told, these lobsters lose weight and get smaller during molting, then it will be the best weight lose program I've ever seen. The restaurant, we love and will always go back, but this was an amazing and totally unexpected disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Everything was great. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 13, 2017

A Hidden Gem in Eastport. Hadn't been here before, but it now is my favorite restaurant in Annapolis. There were four of us and we all had different main courses, they were all great. Appetizers were wonderful, the wine was perfect. the waiter was knowledgeable and left us alone when we wanted to talk. The desert was a perfect end to the evening.

If you haven't tried this place you are missing the best of Annapolis.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Very nice Anniversary spot, we pampered and received a complimentary dessert that was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Brought friends from out of town. Wonderful conversation with a Lewnes son. Wonderful tour of the wine cellar. Love this place. We have been in Eastport for 3 months and it is an immediate favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The owners have a lot to be proud of, after all these years they still maintain a well run business. Very good service and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Food was served lukewarm. Baked Potato was hard. We asked for hollandaise sauce on asparagus;waiter said that could be done but was not served that way. Steak was okay, not memorable. Expensive for the experience. Waiter was knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2017

We were there to celebrate two birthdays and we really enjoyed it, Service was great and the steak was so tender and cooked just right.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 2, 2017

I would caution people I recommended that the prime steak did not meet my definition of prime. The flavor was excellent but the steak was a little tough. The sides were excellent, and the service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Service service and service. Dinner was amazing but the service was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

REALLY good food. Both my wife and I had the NY Strip Steak. Menu items sold separately which I don't like for the price you pay.
Great taste and good staff.
I only will come on special occasions because of the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This steakhouse was everything I had heard and everything I had hoped it would be. And outstanding dinner experience for someone visiting Annapolis or a lifelong resident alike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.