Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

About Level 31

1901 6th Avenue North
Regions-Harbert Plaza Ste. 3100
Birmingham, AL 35203
View Larger Map

x

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
x

Cross Street:
x

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
00

Website:
http://www.summit-birmingham.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking

Executive Chef:
Javier Haygood

Private Party Facilities:
Host a fabulous event and enjoy the fruits of your labor along with your guests. Our private events directors help with everything from food to decorations to entertainment, and our staff makes sure your event is truly memorable. No matter what the event, we'll create the appropriate mood and take the stress out of hosting. (Don't worry, you still get all the credit.)

Private Party Contact:
Frances Damian: 2052520088

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Level 31
  • Level 31
Level 31
Level 31

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM
Sort By:
Newest
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service2

The view from 31st floor is amazing

Dined on October 17, 2015

The view from 31st floor is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversay dinner

Dined on September 18, 2015

Conswala went out of her way to provide a special anniversary dinner for us. Food was almost as good as the serice

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1

Not what I expected.

Dined on August 23, 2015

As part of restaurant week, my fiancé and I wanted to try Level 31. I knew that our overall experience would be wonderful at such a place. It was the complete opposite. I felt that we received the "discounted, restaurant week, you're not important" service. Our waitresses were nice but not professional, and I was thirsty toward the end of my meal because we didn't get refills on our water. The steak was not hot, so dry, so bland, and not the least bit tender. The sugar snap peas were stringy and I suspected they were undercooked. The waitresses even forgot to give us our desserts; we were waiting for 30 minutes! Meanwhile they were giving wonderful, attentive service to the two tables behind us. I finally asked about our dessert. Forgetting we were doing the restaurant week special, they asked, "Wait, you guys ordered dessert?!" I was extremely disappointed. Even MORE so when I saw the $12 service charge on our ticket that wasn't deserved, but we had to pay it. We also went to the Highlands as part of restaurant week, where we received EXCEPTIONAL service and had an amazing experience. I will never be returning to Level 31, nor will I be recommending it to others. We wasted $80, and I'm kicking myself for it.

food4
ambience1
service1

slow service

Dined on August 23, 2015

Super slow service. Appetizer came after the entree was already out. Spent $200 fort wife and I. Totally regret it.

food3
ambience5
service5

Level 31

Dined on August 23, 2015

Very good food and excellent service. Food was not quiet on the level of other top-tier restaurants but still very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4

Food was not good. Returned twice. Ser ...

Dined on August 20, 2015

Food was not good. Returned twice. Service was great. Great atmosphere!! Too bad.

food4
ambience4
service4

Pleasantly Surprised

vip
Dined on August 14, 2015

I went for the view and the points. I ended up loving the chef's, bartender's, and server's abilities. I ordered a tequila sunrise with El Jimador tequila (hard to find in Birmingham). It was perfect and delicious. At first I was seated in the main dining room. Gorgeous view & nice table. Music was kind of Muzac/elevator sound. Then a family with 4 young children was seated next to me. I explored seating possibly in the bar room. I was pleasantly surprised and seated ib the bar. A wonderful jazz duo played wonderfully. There were delicious complimentary hors doeuvres ( veggie spring rolls, fried mushrooms, melon, crackers and cheese). Wonderful with my sunrise. I ordered the salmon and a side of spinach. Yummy and reasonably priced and perfectly prepared. Consuelo, my server, was a delight and competent. I will be back. I hear they are about to remodel the restaurant. Try it.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Level 31 was a great spot for our dinner.

Dined on May 3, 2015

Consuela was fantastic As our server. She has a great personality and knows her product well. The view is spectacular and it was quiet and peaceful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

This was my 2nd time at Level 31 (Summit ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2015

This was my 2nd time at Level 31 (Summit Club) and each time has been excellent.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice food, but limited selection.

Dined on April 11, 2015

Worth a trip. It is really the Summit "Club", although they do not pressure you to become a member. The wine list is good and they have creative cocktail offerings. The food selection was limited to a single dish; beef, pork, chicken and lamb. But our selection of the bone-in pork chop was excellent. Scrimpy appetizer portions the only critique. Didn't try desert, but they had appealing options. Great view of the city from the 31st floor of the Regions Bank building. Give it a try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable View

Dined on April 4, 2015

Level 31 is small and intimate. We were seated by the window with an incredible view of B'ham at night. The sauted chicken over mashed root vegetables was delicious. Our evening ended with fried peach pie! Perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3

Fantastic out of the way intamacy..

Dined on March 27, 2015

Visited with my finance as a last minute impulsive reservation. We arrived 15 minutes early, and we're gracefully accommodated with an already prepared table - with a name tag - nice touch! Initial service was fast and courteous, but the level or service declined somewhat during the evening - it appeared they were a bit understaffed, so it was understandable. However, the food wasoutstanding, along with the great view made for a very pleasant dinner in a must see location.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Find

Dined on March 15, 2015

We had a group of 8. The view was spectacular. The waitress ( Captain) Conswela, Was the best.....she chose perfect wines, and made great suggestions. The crab soup was not available, so the chef sent out complimentary oyster stew. The oysters were so awesome that we asked if the chef could make an order of fried oysters......not only were they the best oysters we ever had.....we asked the chef to make more...and he did. The Chef came out and introduced himself to not only our group, but the other tables as well.....the dining experience was awesome...the food all the way through the peach pie, key lime pie and coconut crème Brule were the best......Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

It was my first time visitingh but I enjoyed it

Dined on March 1, 2015

The scenery was to die for everything was so neat and the waiter was extremely nice I enjoyed every minute of it the only thing that I hated was that they didn't have cash to give me my change so the waiter was left with a 50.00 tip but overall I enjoyed it

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2015

We really enjoyed our evening. Server was excellent, kept us updated on our order.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service1

Service horrific food was cold not cook to order

Dined on February 15, 2015

Took over 2.5 hours to get through Dinner service. Waiter seem confused and unsure what to do or which customers need there next service. Food was served cold and not cooked to customer requirements ( ordered steak medium came out well done ). This was the most disappointing dinner I have ever had at what was suppose to be a Quality Restaurant. They have you believe its Quality but to be honest I have had better service and food at at a local mom and pop restaurant . Level 31 is in my honest opinion a 1 or 2 star restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Thumbs Up!

Dined on February 15, 2015

Romantic vibe with beautiful views and delicious food with great service! Will definitely be returning!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2

Ok.

Dined on February 15, 2015

I went for the Valentine's special and because I was interested in joining the club. Read the previous reviews and still decided to go. Ultimately, they were either "overbooked" or inexperienced or both. Took what seemed like forever to get each portion of the meal out. My date and I were served after almost everyone there. Just displeased for the cost. If it had been cheaper I probably wouldn't think so negatively but for $130 I expected more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Valentine

Dined on February 15, 2015

We would need to come back again on a regular business day because it took 3 hours for our full meal to be completely served. We were patient because we thought there was probably a greater crowd than what the servers are use too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service3

Good music, scenery. Average , but not great.

Dined on February 15, 2015

The valentines day menu included to much chocolate. .

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience2
service3

Not really fine dining despite the price tag

Dined on February 15, 2015

Ok, admittedly, we went for Valentine's day which automatically changes the kind of experience you will receive. However, I was highly disappointed that even though I reserved in advance, we were not given a table with a view. Also, we were seated in a dining room with a 30+ group who were VERY LOUD. Next, our table was arranged in such a way that we couldn't even get our legs under the table until the staff came and rotated it around, which is a detail that should not have been missed during setup. The wait staff was nice, but obviously not trained in fine dining etiquette. Wine was not presented properly, bread was not served at the proper timing or with plates, and it was very much a "hustle to the table, drop plates, scurry off, rinse repeat" with a general lack of presentation, and the waitress was very sweet but not quite formal enough with her manners, but that would improve with more training and less tables to be responsible for on such a busy night. They did their staff and their reputation a disservice by taking on so many tables at one time, and our waitress had multiple tables in multiple rooms. I WILL say, however, that the food was DELICIOUS. I was very pleased with the quality of the food, and the offerings they had for the event's Prix Fixe menu were unique and elegantly plated, and definitely the quality I expected for the price tag. In summary, the food might be worth a second visit, but I'd really like to see them up their game as far as presentation and manners.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1

Needs a chef and a wait staff

Dined on February 15, 2015

Most people around us (other than the group of 30 used as an excuse) had to wait at least 15 minutes to order a drink or get a glass of water. I understand it was Valentine's night, but they should only take the number of reservations they can accommodate. The gimmicky menu started with what must have been a culinary school assignment: six strips of bacon each dipped in chocolate stuffed in a highball glass with some shredded lettuce in the bottom. It was slammed down on the table as a "shared appetizer" by the server who went by never breaking stride. Bacon does NOT make everything taste good. The salad was a typical banquet meal strawberry with balsamic and was fine. The petit filet was cooked to the proper temperature, but the chocolate port sauce tasted like Hersey's from a squeeze bottle. Mercifully, it was served far enough away from the meat and white chocolate risotto (get the them here?) to be avoided. The final blow was the egg and sugar syrup soup served as a dessert they called cream brûlée. It claimed to have chocolate in there but you just could not get past the under cooked consistency to find it. It should have been called crime brûlée. On the table was a small foil box wrapped with a red ribbon which, after the obvious theme of the night, promised to be a chocolate truffle. Instead, it was a coupon offering to waive the $500 joining fee of the Summit Club if you would only come back to eat there. It was then we realized the true theme of the evening: My Funny Valentine.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

Valentine's Day 2015: Pretty Decent

Dined on February 14, 2015

The view was the best thing about it, as it was night time with all the city lights. Our table was right beside the window. The food was pretty good with four courses, but my filet mignon was undercooked, as I had asked for medium but came out rare. Overall not too bad, but could have been better for the price ($100 per couple with 20% added gratuity).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent, the food was excellent

Dined on February 14, 2015

Went there for Valentines Day, the service was great, the food was exceptional, the view from the 31st floor over Birmingham was wonderful. I particularly enjoyed the surroundings as they were very refined. I would definitely recommend this restaurant, but be prepared as it is expensive and the "tip" is automatically included as a service charge. I felt that the dining experience that I had was well worth the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3

Worst Meal I've Had In A Long Time

vip
Dined on August 27, 2014

This "restaurant" presents itself as high-end and exclusive and it's neither. The food is terrible and displays no attention to detail or professionalism. I ordered the Grilled Salmon & Asparagus which ended up being a relatively large bowl of tired salad greens with asparagus tops (cold) sprinkled across the greens. This was topped with the smallest and most overcooked (hard) piece of salmon I've ever been served in a restaurant. I returned it for a burger which was also lousy. My meal companion had Chopped Shrimp Cobb Salad (with Salmon instead of Shrimp) and it was also lousy. $40 later we left hungry, frustrated and committed to never returning.

food3
ambience5
service4

More staff needed

vip
Dined on August 21, 2014

We went to this restaurant last night to try it out as part of Birmingham restaurant Week. While we had a wonderful time, it was an hour before we were able to order and get a glass of wine. There were simply more guests and not enough servers. The food was enjoyable, but we did end up closing th eplace down, mainly because of the long wait times to order, and receive our 3 courses. Highlights, Conseuelo was lovely. I would definitely go back--I've never had a bad meal here--but the restaurant just needs to schedule more wait staff for special promotions such as BHam Restaurant Week.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1

Food Was Superb, Service Was Not

Dined on August 21, 2014

I wish I could say the service was as good as the food on the night we went, but it wasn't. We sat down right at seven pm. In the beginning, everything was great. Once a few more tables were filled, we noticed a large drop in the level of service. I understand people get rather busy with caring for multiple tables. However, my husband never received his dessert until we realized he had been forgotten and we waited over an hour after we ate our dessert for our ticket and when we finally got our ticket, it was the wrong one. The Again I say, the food was superb!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Pleasant Club Experience

Dined on August 16, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed dining at Level 31. Everything was nearly excellent. The food was top notch on par with any of the other top restaurants in town. The only minor issue we had was with our waitress forgetting to bring items we had requested. I would not be deterred from returning, though. I would recommend this place to friends seeking an intimate, elegant, sophisticated, and romantic experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.