L'Etoile Restaurant

4.6
1054 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 251-0500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tory Miller
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
East Washington
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1054 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 17, 2018

Seasonal menu, beautifully done. The pork with peas and strawberries was one of the most memorable dishes I’ve had. Great seating by the window too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 16, 2018

My wife and I dine out quite a bit. We have had good experiences at L’Etoile in the past, so I made reservations for her birthday and we dined there Saturday night. We were seated at 6:45pm and immediately informed our server that we needed to leave by 8:30pm (because I needed to get my wife to her surprise party). About 20 minutes after being seated, we received our drinks, ordered a first and second course with wine pairings, and a dessert. Remarkably, we did not receive our wine pairings or our first course until 8:10!!! And that was only after I had to get up to inform someone that we needed to leave in 20 minutes. We were then rushed to eat our courses back to back, practically “chug” our wine, and then canceled our dessert altogether because we didn’t have time. To our server’s credit, we were told that the next time we came in (which I doubt will happen), we will receive a free dessert. Whatever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

This was by far the best meal I have ever had. I had the tasting menu with wine pairings. What a treat! the location, the wait staff, the setting were all amazing! World class.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

30th anniversary

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Maybe I'm too critical

Lots of anticipation around having dinner here.
We've dined at L'Etoile many times but never in their new location.
The cocktails were great; mixed with care and experience.

the service is exquisite. The captain and waitstaff are there for you with great attitude.

the food did not live up to the previous comments.
We had the Lobster and Octopus appetizers followed by the Bass and the Halibut.
It was not remarkable. I expected it to be...
I felt the fish was overcooked which took away from the delicate taste which it should have delivered.

Not sure i'd return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

There was a rare and unique technical difficulty the day of our reservation. The restaurant was very apologetic and even gave us an extra course with our tasting menu as well as champagne and a lovely wine pairing with the extra course. This was unexpected and certainly would have e been a great experience without these nice gestures. Truely a classy place. The maitre d and the rest of the staff were very knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful with the menu and the wine and mixed drink choices. If we are ever in Madison again we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

One of our Madison favorites. You can never go wrong by choosing L'Etoile. Tory Miller is one of the best chefs in the mid west.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Amazing food, amazing service, amazing experience. Easily a Michelin restaurant if it was in one of the cities Michelin rates in.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Superb restaurant! I dined here prior to Ironman Wisconsin 70.3 and was treated to an incredible meal. Food was tasty and presented beautifully. Service was excellent and friendly. I ordered a la cart, but next time I would try to do the tasting menu with wine pairings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The slow dining pace was elegant. The food and recommendations were fantastic. Our waiter was very clear and helped with selections. What a great evening!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Food, service, ambience all first-rate. Will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The entire experience was fantastic, as always. Amazing flavors, great service, wonderful location. So glad to have this as part of our city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great experience, polished team, location on square overlooking the Capitol. Wine recommendations were very good. If there was one complaint it would be it be that it was fast paced. We ordered the tasting menu with upgraded wine pairings and a few more minutes between courses would have been appreciated. Menu celebrates local and seasonal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

For a very special birthday occasion L'Etoile was an exceptional choice. Our meals were outstanding, creative and very tasty. Chef prepared his Chef's Tasting to perfection and all courses were served with minimal to no delay throughout the evening. We could not have asked for a better ambiance and level of service. Our table host and all of the servers were simply wonderful, conversational and knowledgeable on what was served. For my beautiful best half, we could not have asked for a better evening. Thank you wholeheartedly to all! Bravo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

One of the greatest dining experiences I've had in the Madison area and high on my personal list overall. I recommend the tasting menu with wine pairing to get a wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Outstanding services. Great food. I definitely will go back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Food, drink, service, ambience were all first-rate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

This place is awesome! The service was impeccable. The views of the Capitol (and people watching) are fantastic. Food was perfect. Oh, and I ordered a specialty cocktail called Sky Vanilla. 10/10! It is fairly expensive so don't go in looking for anything cheap, you won't find it here, but you absolutely get what you pay for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fabulous food, beautiful setting, great service. Expensive, but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Another great special occasion date at L’Etoile. The rabbit and halibut dishes were outstanding! Our server added items to our order two different times that we didn’t choose and spoke too quietly, but he did make great recommendations so it wasn’t a big deal, just a little odd. Love our visits we have had here.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We have been to l'Etoile for many years since 2 of our children attended the university in Madison. We went last year for our daughter's graduation and again this year for our son's. However the tasting menu this year was not as great, although it is required because of graduation weekend, there is no other option. But the chef would be better off preparing a menu with 3 courses, each with 3 different choices, instead of this long extended menu with tiny portion, and a service that takes for ever. Although we had a reservation at 9:30 p.m it still took for ever to be served. Our server took almost 45 minutes to even take our order. The temperature this weekend being on the chilly side, the restaurant was like a refrigerator, and it took a lot of convincing to raise the temperature (but they did graciously - so thank you). My advice for next graduations, less of such an extensive set tasting menu - shorter menu would be best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Dining at L’Etoile was a fantastic culinary experience. Their exceptional cuisine and service made our special occasion very memorable!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food and atmosphere were wonderful - a great place for a special occasion. I was a bit taken back by the price - was unaware that only a tasting menu would be offered. Would have preferred an a la carte option as well - the tasting menu was a lot of food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Outstanding server-
Very helpful in wine and dinner selection. Great sense of humor.
In regards to the food,
Less cheese on salad a bit salty.
All other food selections phenomenal, perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Our window table looked over the State Capital building and the sidewalk so people watching was great. Then the food came and all else was forgotten. It was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Very worth the drive from Milwaukee.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This restaurant was very cozy and the food was very good! The portions are a little small for the price, but overall it was a satisfactory experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My wife wanted to go here as a gift for finishing up her doctorate program and it was a gift she will never forget....absolutely loved everything about the evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We have dined at L’Etoile each year for the past several years to celebrate our anniversary. It is always a wonderful evening punctuated by mouth-watering morsels, perfect wine pairings, and superb service. This year did not disappoint, even with a curveball of our reservation via Open Table not being in their system. Luckily, they had a table and were able to seat us immediately. The staff was highly apologetic and provided us with complimentary glasses of champagne the moment we sat at the bar for a cocktail. They also quickly made personalized menus for us when we shared that we frame them in our home as a remembrance.

We were treated to yet more champagne when we were seated, which I especially enjoyed. Each dish was amazing, and we tasted incredible wines that made the food sing even more. My husband enjoyed the small dishes of the seven course tasting menu while I opted for the a la carte approach (I could eat the rabbit I was served in the first course every day). After our dessert course, we toasted with a complimentary pour of a 17-year Madeira that brought it all together.

Our window view of the capitol was lovely, our server was charming, the maitre d’ incredibly attentive and accommodating, and the overall experience delighted from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

L’Etoile remains one of THE best restaurants ever!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Exemplary food and service, as we've found in the past

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Words cannot describe the amazing flavor symphony in each dish we tried! The food was beautiful in presentation and phenomenal in taste. The service was amazing. The view of the Capitol building at night was a stunning backdrop for our meal. The food here is pricey but honestly worth every penny. This is more than a meal, it is an event that will be remembered fondly for a long time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Amazing experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Entire staff was extremely accommodating to any dietary needs, placed special emphasis on the Birthday Boys! We truly enjoyed the wine pairing, both delicious and informative. Thank you for a delightful special evening out with my family!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

L’Etoile has moved to new shinny digs since the last time I dined there. The old charming restaurant with exposed brick on a second floor has been replaced by gigantic glass picture windows and IMHO a cold decor without character. The tight quarters of the old location with creaky and slanting wooden floors are replaced by carpet and spacious interior. Don’t get me wrong - it is nice modern look. But it doesn’t compare to the charming character of previous location.

Food was good - not great. I had fish entrees and an appetizer while my colleague had octopus app & duck for main course. Of all the items the octopus app was probably the most memorable plate.

Service is great. I would suggest to go to their sister restaurant - Graze next doors. It definitely was a more lively of the two.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was phenomenal, especially the octopus and the pork belly starters - some bites we will never forget!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We had an outstanding meal! Service was top notch and definitely will be back again for a special night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Dinner was great. Our server did an awesome job explaining what was in each dish. Food was delicious and in perfect quantities.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The food is way overpriced for the quantity and quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

One of the best meals I have ever had in the US.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

A special dinner to celebrate my son’s 25th birthday. We had a table by the window with a beautiful view of the capital. We started with a delicious glass of champagne, the chef created a lovely cheese board, then enjoyed a delicious dinner and dessert with a candle. Everything was outstanding. Excellent service-very attentive but not in the way. This is where we always go for an extra-special dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27

Tweets by L'Etoile Restaurant