About L'Etoile Restaurant

1 S Pinckney Street Suite 107
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 251-0500

Website:
http://www.letoile-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.

Executive Chef:
Tory Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'Etoile Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (26)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Scenic View (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Organic (7)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This is the sort of restaurant where eating a meal is like going on a luxury vacation, in all the best possible ways! We each had the tasting menu, and we split one wine pairing since we're such lightweight drinkers (although we also had a cocktail apiece to start). Absolutely everything was exquisite; every bite was an experience. Such a fabulous evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely excellent. Three-course a la carte meal for both of us. Every dish was thoughtfully prepared and a work of art. Olin, our waiter, took great care of us. The view of the Capitol building is awesome from any table. Nice, quiet, adult patrons. People, leave your screaming kids at home; this is NOT the restaurant for them. It was so pleasant to enjoy fine dining without someone's misbehaving and undisciplined children ruining the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful Thursday evening at L'Etoile in mid-February. Although it had been a while since we'd last dined there, it was as delightful as ever! Both of us chose the tasting menu, along with the wine pairings. The food would have been spectacular on it's own, but each of the paired wines was great complement to the applicable course. The service was personal, attentive, and expertly delivered; the staff was friendly, professional, and very knowledgeable. The setting goes well with the food and the service, and the overall ambience is very warm and pleasant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Atmosphere was excellent food was fantastic and the waiter was second to none in service would recommend everyone to highly visit this restaurant. I took my sweetie there for Valentine's Day and we had a fantastic evening could not of been better!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent dinner with spectacular view of the capital building under a starry sky. Perfect evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect place for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was absolutely wonderful. Thank you for making the evening special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just in town visiting for a week. Food and service was so amazing, I dined here three times in one week. LOVED the tasting menu!! Special thanks to Stephen and Cody for making me feel so welcome.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So good. Ingredients sound simple but the taste is wonderfully complex.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Truly a fantastic dining experience. A night that my wife and I will remember. We celebrated my wife's birthday in grand and romantic fashion. The view of the Wisconsin State Capitol was magical. Our seven course meal, with wine pairing, was absolutely perfect. Well worth it. Highly recommended. We will come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Should have 3 Michelin Stars!! Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our second visit to this excellent restaurant. While it is pricey, it is worth it in the food, service and wine. Highly creative with local sourcing. Best restaurant service I have seen since living in Dubai. Very knowledgeable and friendly and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We took our daughter here for her birthday. She summed it up best: "A magical evening!"

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was fantastic!!! I am still dreaming of the sturgeon, so good! They were super open to all of our asks and customized a tasting menu for us that was truly special. The ambiance was special with the view of the capital in the night. Great spot for a date and an anniversary dinner. Will probably make L'Etoile our go to place for special occasions :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were only in Madison for the weekend. Our dinner at L'etoile surpassed many meals we've had at elegant restaurants in much larger cities. And it was a much better value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Magical the food was interesting and diverse.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I applaud this restaurant for its tenacious dedication to local sourcing. The food is always amazing and a departure from the usual. Staff, as always, were delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great meal and experience, as always, but really priced too high for the Madison area, or any area for that matter!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Probably Madison's best restaurant if you're looking for high cuisine. Everything is exquisitely prepared and attended to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food and most as good as French gastronomic restaurants. Personable service. Our server, Emily, was excellent and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating a milestone occasion. It was our first time after hearing about it for the better part of 20 years. The food and wine pairings were outstanding. The only reason for the 4-star review was the desert choice we made was very bland and even a bit unappetizing. But the first two courses were positively spectacular. Our service was excellent and when the server sensed our displeasure with the desert she took it off of the bill without us even asking for such generosity. The ambiance and comfort of the restaurant was outstanding.

In terms of value, it is difficult for me to say that our meal was dramatically better than what we would have experience at other higher end restaurants in the Madison area. And with a price tag that was at least double that of any other restaurant we'd have gone to, it brings the value issue into question a bit. But by no means does this make it a disappointing meal or evening. On the contrary, we had an exquisite time. Just don't know that we would go back unless we received a significant gift card or were guests of another party.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I first went L'Etoile when I was a young girl at the original location. Coming back to L'Etoile it has exceeding my expectations on what I had remembered the ambiance and menu to be. The view of the capital was spectacular with the floor to ceiling windows. The staff was very attentive and did everything possible to make it a special experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a wonderful 40th anniversary celebration! Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My favorite "special occasion" restaurant. Great food! Decent price for how awesome it is. If you want to impress someone, take them here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Terrific as always. Service is always first class. We have dined here a lot and they never fail to treat us as valued guests. We nearly always dine there for special events with our children. Well behaved children are always welcomed and actively acknowledged. Our children are now 12 and 15 but they have been coming to L'Etoile since they were 7 years old. They love the food - including on this last visit "the best steak they have ever eaten and yummy spinach!"

Love the food, love the people (especially Frank!).

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. Tasting menu was spectacular. True farm to table cuisine. The wine parings were perfect and the portions were all perfectly sized. We left feeling perfectly satisfied and happy. Superb waitstaff as well. Friendly by not overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing. Will always be my favorite restaurant in Madison, continues to impress everytime, with impeccable service. thank you chef Tory and staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fabulous food with adventurous flavors. The most knowledgeable, conversive staff anywhere. We didn't want the evening to end!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very lovely service and food was creative. It is a bit on the pricey side but we knew that going in. We only go there every 5-10 years for a special occasion as we just cannot afford it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food! Much fancier than other Madison restaurants. Everything was delightful in flavors, very prompt service and what you would expect for a meal of that cost. They meet and exceed the flavor expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The table arrangement allows for private conversation. The menu is interesting and the food is beautiful but our waiter over explained the food and every course was barely warm. The sauce on my appetizer was so cool it formed a skin. I understand that some customers may appreciate having all the elements of the dish explained in detail but I read the menu, had no questions and would like to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A perfect evening to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, as always. The wine pairings delightful! The service was impeccable .

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a great dining experience! Both the lamb and the bass dish were out of this world. The wine selection is tremendous, and the sommelier is outstanding. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

If you are looking at the best of what Madison has to offer, look no further than L'Etoile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very lovely room. The wines, a bit on the expensive side, are such that they are at many different prices and certainly a lot from which to choose. Our waiter did a very good job at explaining many of the wines, and did the same with the menu. We were a little disappointed that bread never was offered though it was at neighboring tables. We finally requested it from another waiter. Food was very good and flavors layered well. Little things we noted that patrons experienced was, for instance, re-folded napkins whenever they left the table. Though certainly not a requirement, it's noticed when your waiter isn't as attentive as others. The birthday celebrated that evening was acknowledged which was appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I took my son (who is undergrad at U Wisconsin) there to experience a prix fixe meal. The service & ambiance was great. Several of the courses were disappointing though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent. We celebrated my brother's retirement in style. Wonderful service and ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My wife took me to L'Etoile for my birthday, and we both decided to do the Chef's tasting menu. Inventive, crazy, and delicious. 7 small plates, with a couple of additional bites thrown in out of the blue. Wonderful. Definitely not cheap, and not in a bad way. A truly memorable evening. If you are looking for a gastronomic experience in Madison, this is it. An experience to remember.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, L'Etoile is the dining experience that has no rival in Madison. Locally grown produce, personal attention and clear explanations from the staff make this a wonderful place to take family, friends and celebrate VERY special occasions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful local cuisine with a kaleidoscope of flavor. They accommodated my shell fish allergy on the spot with a replacement item. Michael was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at L'Etoile. We were visiting from Portland, Oregon, and were told by a friend that L'Etoile was their favorite restaurant in Madison. I can see why. This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The food was beautifully prepared and presented by our very knowledgeable and friendly waiter. The blending of interesting ingredients and flavors was wonderful. Everything was delicious! Unlike so many good restaurants, L'etoile has found just the right volume of music and ambient noise so that our party of 6 could actually have a conversation and hear each other (this is not the case in so many restaurants).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant was Amazing!

What an awesome find and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Always, for many decades!, the finest dining, and with friendly, experienced people serving and discussing all the food and beverages.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

From the moment we were greeted, it was glorious. The quiet chatter of the patrons, the Saturday night "fever" of downtown, and the gorgeous views of the capital imploded our senses.

Jonathon did an expert job is staying near by w/o hovering.

It was an extremely busy night, yet there was no rushing. And his literary command and ease of explanations for every single word/garnish/food prep on the menu is exemplary.

Do not miss their Smoky martini - the duet of chubby blue cheese-stuffed olives is a symphony.

The small touches; continual water fills, healthy wine pours, savory gifts from the kitchen to say, "hello," and more, combine seamlessly to make a Saturday into a celebration. I can heartily recommend the red snapper and the halibut - preparation was simply divine. Kindly note that the presentation of even a cloth napkin is stellar.

The dark chocolate orbs presented at the evening's close were tiny jewels of decadence - not a good bye, but a "farewell until we meet agin!"

L'Etoile is understated coolness; a farm-to-table restaurant that seems as if you, and you alone, are the only ones in the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the ultimate locally sourced foodie delight. You will not be disappointed unless you are looking to save money. Well worth the occasional indulgence.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband brought me here to celebrate my birthday. We were both highly impressed with the ambiance (modern, clean, warm decor). The staff was extremely friendly and took the time to explain the intricacies of the offerings. After dinner cocktails at the bar were fabulous! A very swanky but not ostentatious vibe--comfortable and welcoming. Very expensive but so worth it for a special evening. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Was it good? Yes. Great? No. Since chef is a James Beard award winner, I was expecting more from the actual food. I just didn't leave thinking that I had to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We don't live in Wisconsin but anytime we get even close to Madison we make a point to swing into L'Etoile and it never disappoints. Amazing, thoughtfully-prepared food and wonderful wine pairings. The view of the capitol is also lovely from the dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our server Emily was excellent. Michael the sommelier was a little distant . The wines were pared with our selections. They were excellent. Michael seems to have favorites in the dining room . He was fawning over another couple that evening. I would have liked more interaction with him but he was not interested in us. This was not the case with Emily.She answered all our questions and was extremely helpful at every turn. The food was very creative and was flavorful. I would say this is a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A very good well paced meal with very attentive service. It was a great location for our group of four friends (including two out of town friends) to have a good relaxed meal and lots of conversation. Their wine selection was very good, but so was their selection of non-alcoholic cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, People Watching, Organic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.