Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About L'Etoile Restaurant

L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.

1 S Pinckney Street Suite 107
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 251-0500

Website:
http://www.letoile-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.

Executive Chef:
Tory Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'Etoile Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Local Ingredients (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Scenic View (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (6)
Organic (6)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
941 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was beautiful and the flavors lovely. Andrew, our waiter, was a gem. If we lived in Madison we'd be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We save this place for big occasions when splurging is expected and justified. A very special experience, starting with the view of the Capitol building, the general ambience, the wine selection, unmatched service, and of course, the imaginative and delicious food. I guarantee you will find food here that is unique. We are saving up for our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was very good but over priced for what we got. Scallop dish had only two scallops and presentation on a unappealing plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

What a pleasant surprise! Ridiculously creative cuisine---flavorful, fresh, rich, and paired wonderfully with cellar selections. Menu looked good online but product was better in reality. Has to be the best plate in Madison. Also awesome service and atmosphere. Not inexpensive but worth every penny. We will be back when in town again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Hadn't been here in several years and it was great to find the quality has been maintained. Our server (Alden) choreographed the meal expertly. Wife enjoyed the tasting menu with wine pairings immensely.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Wonderful dinner celebrating a milestone Anniversary! Best service from Michael and the rest of the staff. Food was outstanding! Tuned up to diners with dietary restrictions. Memorable celebration! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The tasting menu was a blast. My wife went ala cart and we had plenty to share

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We celebrated our 50th anniversary and had a wonderful experience - the staff was very informative and kind, the food was beyond expectation and the ambiance was perfect for an intimate celebration. Thank you.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This is quite simply the best restaurant in Madison - but it is the most expensive, too. The food was perfect, the ambience was warm but not at all stuffy, and the waitress and sommelier were experts. Slow service is to be expected at a super-fine dining establishment, but I don't like waiting 30 minutes for bread and the bottle of wine and I don't like spending 2.5 hours at a restaurant for dinner. Those minor issues aside, if you have the money and/or it's a special occasion, there is no restaurant I would recommend more than this one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

After reading a good review on TripAdvisor, I thought I'd take my wife there for our Anniversary. The Maitre'd had a hard time finding our reservation (made online). Then we were given about the poorest table in the place (reservation for 6:45). They nicely had an Anniversary menu prepared and offered some complimentary beverage and small snacks. We consistently were waiting on the waitress - her service was quite slow. The food was disappointing. The presentation was average, the portions notably small, and the food was only warm. I think the food sat too long waiting to being served. Unfortunately, we expected much more for the price. We'd been there years before, but it's lost a lot of quality. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Just absolutely wonderful all around.....at all times we felt catered to and appreciated. :)

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great place to celebrate big events, enjoy great food, and impeccable service and experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is my favorite special occasion restaurant in Madison. Bar none. Definitely worth the price. The tasting menu was fabulous. The combination of flavors is surprising and amazing. Will go again and again and again....

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Staff was great and made sure this event was special for my wife's birthday!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We decided to go here for our 1st anniversary. I had read many good reviews, all of which lived up to their expectations. The staff was very friendly. The food is wonderful. My only regret is not getting the tasting menu. Would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent food and service. Lived up to its reputation!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were visiting Madison where I used to live for five years and there was only truly one place to consider for a romantic date night, L'Etoile. Great food, fantastic wine options, local tastes and ingredients. The meal was lovely, the octopus cooked to perfection. The only downside was that service was a bit spotty as our server disappeared from the time apps came out until dessert time and we had to get her colleagues to pick up the slack, all of whom were most cordial. Highly recommended fine dining.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food is sensational! Always come here for anniversaries. Dinner for 2 took 3 1/2 hours and loved every minute o it. Service is exceptional with very knowledgeble wait staff and somalier. Come here with someone you care for. Do not use cell phone. Just enjoy the food!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The best restaurant around. Fine dining, creative menu, excellent service, spacious and calming environment. Brilliant wine menu, flexibility to suit all tastes and dietary restrictions (let them know in advance). Waiters are well-informed and pleasant; their expertise shines through and they are perfectly willing to help. A perfect evening all round!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had a lovely, long evening over the table. We elected to have the Seven-course tasting menu with the enhanced wine pairing. First-rate service; the food was sublime and the sommelier knew his stuff. Looking forward to coming again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Upscale food, using "Modernist Cuisine" techniques. Local suppliers. Creative ingredients. Impeccable service. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Creative tasting menu with expertly chosen wine. Passionate and knowledgeable staff. A delicious way to celebrate a special day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing. The food was so unique and each dish was better than the last!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We eat here once a year and this was the best year ever. We are thrilled with the new pastry chef, and the main courses were brilliant. Perfection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This is one of the five best restaurants in North America that I have been to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 14, 2017

High end food that makes asserted effort to use Wisconsin food products.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent in all respects. Food was fantastic. Our server was wonderful. Wine pairings were perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service is top notch. The pork belly dish was phenomenal. We always enjoy going there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Top-flight grace, service, craft, creativity, and sense of place. Delicious flavors and textures, beautifully and thoughtfully presented on the plate, paired with spot-on wines both interesting and engaging. A world class restaurant from a world class chef, embracing this beautiful, bountiful part of the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great dishes but rather high in price Service is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have been raving about our dining experience at L'Etoile, and I will definitely return for another special occasion. The food, service, wine and overall experience are among the best dining experiences we have had. Our home city is Chicago, so that's saying a lot. Two in our party had the tasting menu, while the other two ordered from the a la carte side of the menu. Everything on the tasting menu was outstanding. The a la carte stand outs were the rabbit first course and the sea scallops second course. Our server and the sommelier were attentive, informative and friendly rather than overly formal. We had wine pairings and were extremely impressed with the offerings. This was truly a superb way to celebrate an anniversary. Kudos to the chefs and everyone on the L'Etoile team.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Unparalleled service. Fantastic cuisine executed flawlessly. Memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Very knowledgeable staff and outstanding food made for a special and memorable celebration. Definitely an experience we will remember.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The seven course chef's tasting and wine pairing was excellent. Portion size[s] were French continental cuisine consistent. Service, course timing, wine, and food presentation were all top notch. Great restaurant for special remembrances and occasions. My wife loved the scallops which were perfect in preparation and taste.... obviously a meal with someone special is a tremendous sharing opportunity!

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant in Madison. The chef is a true artist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had been anticipating a return after many years, but were disappointed. So much time went into the descriptions of the ingredients and preparation, but the outcome for the price was missed. The dishes were beautifully presented. The servers were efficient and knowledgeable. The tiny bite extras were cute, tasty, and unusual, but did not fill in completely for the overall main entrees. The pork was so rare that it cooled too rapidly. It was questionable what part the hay played. Another dish had excelllent scallops, but the rhubarb was unable to be sliced or eaten. Overall, the food was fussy, but not exceptional. The wines were pricey, but good. We probably would not return.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Phenomenal!! Our server, Emily, was the most knowledgeable person about the menu that we have ever met! The sommelier was also incredible. If you want to splurge on a phenomenal meal and wine, and be filled up, this is the place!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Gorgeous and inventive food. Each of the 7 tasting menu courses could have graced the cover of Food & Wine... very well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.