About L'Etoile Restaurant

1 S Pinckney Street Suite 107
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 251-0500

Website:
http://www.letoile-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.

Executive Chef:
Tory Miller

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Amuse Bouche
NY Strip Steak
Nutella Semifreddo
Beef
Yellow Fin Tuna
Ricotta Tortellini
Snacks
Sockeye Salmon
Duck Breast
15 Year Cheddar
Carrot molasses spice cake, vanilla custard, mixed berries, whipped Capri chèvre
Snug Haven heirloom tomatoes, baby cucumber, radishes, peekytoe crab salad, toasted pine nuts
Sweet corn and bacon risotto, summer squash, squash blossom, sungold tomatoes
Amuse bouche – cayenne and black pepper gougères, whippe chèvre
Pork Belly
Jones Valley Farm artichokes, cauliflower, ground cherry jam, black olives, shallots, fennel blossom
Caraway glazed chocolate donuts, rye ice cream, barley, IPA apricot mousse, smoked caramel
American red snapper, grilled apricot, lonza, confit fingerling potatoes, baby zucchini
Spanish octopus, fairytale eggplant, pearl onion, chorizo, jalapeño, yuzu foam
Mignardise – caramel popcorn, strawberry pâte de fruit, white chocolate bourbon coconut truffles
Creekside mixed greens, kohlrabi, radishes, SarVecchio cheese, cherry tomatoes, Dijon vinaigrette
Amuse bouche – BLT riff, pank bread crumbs, basil aioli, cherry tomato, bacon, charred little gem lettuce
Maine Lobster
Spicy Citrus Soup
Blue Mont Dairy Alpine Renegade
Bay Scallop Ceviche
Fresh Rigatoni
Chocolate Bourbon Tart
Assorted Desserts
Cioppino
Chips & Dip
cheese and crackers
Complimentary Dessert Trio
Roasted Beet Salad
Braised Lamb Shoulder Raviolo
Creme Brulee
Red Snapper
Aligot Potatoes
pan roasted duck breast
Braised Short Rib and Foie Gras Terrine
Cappuccino
Dark Chocolate Cake
Truffles
Korean BBQ Rack Of Lamb
Scallops
Fruit Gelee
Black Truffle Crépinette
Lemon Risotto
Corned Beef Tongue
Soup
Beef Carpaccio
Menu
Stuffed Squash Blossoms
Raspberry Lemon Mille Feuille (Napoleon)
Chocolate
Crispy Chèvre Gnudi
Sweet corn risotto
Sorbets
Wreckfish
Cauliflower "Steak" With Crispy Duck Egg
Whole Roasted Branzino
Chinese Five-Spiced Turbot
Crispy Pork Belly
Pan Roasted Pheasant
Smoked Mushroom & Goat Cheese Ravioli Al Forno
Jones Valley Farm Roasted Baby Beet Salad With Duck Confit & Pickled Green Beans
Balsamic Glazed Pork Belly With Strawberries, Frisee, Marcona Almonds
Rack of Lamb
Egg
Salad
Vegan Meyer Lemon Risotto with pomegranate-apple salad and peavine.
Vegan House-Made Tofu with wood-grilled root vegetables, roasted red pepper coulis, and salsa verde.
Avocado-Lime Sorbet with Coconut Blancmange and Tropical Fruit Compote
Vegan Amuse Bouche
Watermelon and Capri Feta Salad
Pan-Seared John Dory With Salt Cod Fritter, Citrus-Braised Napa Cabbage, Pommes Duchesse, Blood Orange Relish, Herb-Caper Crème Fraîche
Halibut
flourless chocolate cake
charcuterie
Pheasant
Bourbon Mint Julep Creme Brulee
Ham & Biscuits
Frisee Salad
Donut And Coffee Ice Cream
Ribeye
Beef Tongue
Canapés
Prosciutto-wrapped Spanish Mackerel
Wild Alaskan king crab salad
Pappardelle
Meyer lemon curd tart
Cheese Plate
Smoky Martini
Pineapple caramel cake
French Press Coffee
Perre Jacques 2010
Garlic Mustard Green And Ramp Risotto
A Close Shave
House Vodka, Watermelon, & Raspberry Sorbet
Chocolate Bomb Cheesecake

L'Etoile Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
9 More
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Madison
Best Food
Madison
Best Service
Madison
Best Ambiance
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Romantic
Madison
Special Occasion
Madison
Most Booked
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (65)
fit for foodies (52)
romantic (47)
See All
scenic view (39)
notable wine list (38)
neighborhood gem (8)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we have gone to L'Etoile, it ...

Dined 6 days ago

Every time we have gone to L'Etoile, it has been excellent. The food is outstanding, the service very knowledgeable and gracious. Love going there

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great surprise to find in Madison. The ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

A great surprise to find in Madison. The experience was on par with many two and three start Michelin restaurants we have to around the world. There was definite value for the money spent. Service was outstanding and our every wish was anticipated. We drove from Chicago for the Farmers Market on Sat. but had dinner Fri. night, As the seasons change and the tasting menu, we will be back before summer's end. A wonderful foodie experience . . . David

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent, the service outs ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was excellent, the service outstanding and wine list exciting (many wines I'd never tried). The Chartreuse flight was unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Etoile never disappoints, amazing food ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

L'Etoile never disappoints, amazing food and service!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive staff, great food, impeccable ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Attentive staff, great food, impeccable service, met my dietary needs

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a reservation for two. Upon arrival ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Made a reservation for two. Upon arrival we were led to the bar to wait for the table. By the end of the meal I understood why, we, too, became fully emerged in the experience. Our order was the 7 course chef's tasting menu for each of us. The locally focused ingredients were used to their potential and wait staff was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the food and it's presentation. Plating was exceptional. As the sun set the romantic lighting took hold. Expensive experience for a young couple. We have been talking about it for days. Truly amazing time. Worth it! Would have stayed all night drinking coffee if that were possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a romantic experience celebrating ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Truly a romantic experience celebrating our anniversary and also my birthday! They even printed a special menu just for me! The servers were very knowledgeable and helpful in choosing he perfect dish. Next time we're in Madison, we will go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a fantastic dining experience as ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a fantastic dining experience as always. The food was marvelous, the wine tasting was unique, and the service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good...but...

Dined on June 9, 2016

L'Etoile has been a favorite restaurant for many years. This meal was disappointing. The 40th Anniversary dinner included a salmon rillette that was much too rich and a lamb tenderloin dish on which the two dime-sized pieces of lamb were lost among a few vegetables. The dessert was without taste. Unfortunately dinner was not up to the usual Tory Miller standards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

L'Etoile is not good or great... It is F ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

L'Etoile is not good or great... It is FINE! Nor hip, nor trendy this is haute dining for adults.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real treat!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great meal showcasing seasonal ingredients and thoughtful preparation. Server, Frank was most helpful in guiding our selections. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, amazing food and great l ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, amazing food and great location

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the most amazing dining experie ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was the most amazing dining experience I have ever had. I'm so happy that we chose to celebrate our 1 year Anniversary here. Perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treated like royalty

Dined on May 21, 2016

From the time we walked in to the time we walked out we were treated as we were the only couple in restaurant. A truly remember able experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the 7 course meal with wine pairi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the 7 course meal with wine pairing. Each dish was so uniquely delicious, it was hard to pick a favorite. The wine also paired perfectly! This was a meal for a special occasion, everything was perfect. We got one seated at one of the best tables, by the windows looking out towards the capital. The waiters were also very knowledgeable and friendly. Had a wonderful experience at L'Etoile...am never disappointed by the food whenever I do go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Didn't get a view that I requested slow service

Dined on May 18, 2016

It was an anniversary dinner and made a special request to have a view of the capital but we were in a corner with no view and have the staff behind us getting things all night. Also the service was slow and it wasn't busy.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for our 30th anniversary dinner. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We went for our 30th anniversary dinner. I had ordered flowers to be delivered to the table and the restaurant had them already placed. I had informed them of the occasion and a special menu with "Happy 30th Anniversary" written across the top was on the table which was a nice touch. The wait staff and greeters were professional and friendly. We each received a complimentary glass of champagne. The meal was very expensive which is to be expected. It was also delicious and served at an appropriately leisurely pace. I am by no means a "foodie" but I can appreciate when a place really knows what they are doing and this one sure does. We were able to talk and enjoy our evening with some of the best food I have had. Lots of locally grown items too. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique

Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife and I went for our wedding anniversary on a weeknight. Ambiance, view of the capital, and service were outstanding. But the 7 course dinner is what makes this place unique. Every dish held a special combination of flavors and textures - Every dish was a new delicious experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and explanation of menu

Dined on May 14, 2016

They called me in advance to share that we experience traffic problems due to the graduation at the university. They advised that we could arrive early (in advance of our reservation), and they would take care of us. They asked in advance if we were going to the show (musical), and put us at ease that the timing of the five course meal would work out fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good but ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

... overpriced. $650 for dinner for three. Had to stop at McDonald's on the way home because I was starving.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey, but worth it. Like an art galler ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Pricey, but worth it. Like an art gallery for food.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff made the evening even more special by acknowledging our anniversary.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

TASTING HEAVEN and SPLENDID SERVICE

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We LOVE tasting menus with wine pairings. This one is not inexpensive (190.00 a person) but let me tell you, it was absolutely delicious. The seven courses were absolutely the correct portions. We left full, but not stuffed and uncomfortable. Initially we were going to do one tasting and my wife was going to order A LA CARTE. After seeing my food and pairings, she decided to shift over. She had been served a couple of her dishes and they were delicious, but she wanted the full monty. The server and our chef could not have been more gracious in shifting gears mid way through. And in a well oiled kitchen with a fine chef, I know there is more to it than just a quick change up. They were lovely about it and even adjusted our bill and didn't charge us for one of her courses. The Sockeye Salmon literally melted in your mouth. I was NUTS about it! We also especially enjoyed the duck, and neither of us tend to be fans unless it is prepared perfectly. It was. The wines were beautifully paired to bring out the flavors, and they were mostly unique to us and from small vineyards. As it was my wife's birthday, we also were generously given a champagne toast at the end of our meal, which was such a nice touch. The only thing I would have changed was that we had to rush a bit for a show after dinner. The dinner was a show in and of itself and you need to allow 2 and a half hours, maybe three if you are doing the seven course tasting. My mistake, not the restaurant's. They worked hard to consider our timing needs without making us feel rushed. They even called our theater for us to see if they could be sure our seating would be protected. It worked out fine, but next time I will spend my evening with L'Etoile, which lived up to it's name. I can't wait to return!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun, Fancy Dining

Dined on April 16, 2016

It was a fun time. Somewhere I likely wouldn't be going every weekend but it was a great experience for a special occasion or a fancy night out. My girl friend and I thoroughly enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the service. The dessert was exceptional. They have a great view of the capital building. The atmosphere is quiet but I didn't feel restricted to a whisper. The wait staff were very attentive but not too present. Will go again after I save up a few more pennies.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Excellent all around

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the hype

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great food. True art in a dish. Staff is genuinely friendly, helpful and attentive. It may be very expensive, but the food and staff are well worth it for a special night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced

Dined on April 10, 2016

Don't get me wrong---the food is good, but for >$80 per person I want to get blown away, and I just thought it was good. I didn't finish my entrée because I got bored with it by the end. The wine was excellent. The atmosphere wasn't as cozy or intimate as I remembered from 10 years ago.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely atmosphere, overpriced

Dined on April 8, 2016

Ambiance and service were wonderful. The food was very good but not outstanding. Small portions will leave you wanting if you are hungry.

food3
ambience4
service5

The tasting menu is superb ! The best ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

The tasting menu is superb ! The best ingredients, and the best chefs, in the Midwest. Fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place in Madison

Dined on March 19, 2016

Had dinner here while in Madison for the weekend - the monkfish was delicious. Service was excellent. Would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience

Dined on March 16, 2016

If you want outstanding food prepared exquisitely and presented beautifully, look no further. Our party had the 3-course dinner with wine pairings. You could not ask for better food and wine combinations than what we were served. Everything about this restaurant is done with care and thought. We have never had a bad experience at L'Etoile. If you are in Madison for one night only, do yourself a favor and dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special night out

Dined on March 12, 2016

the service was amazing, the food was special, every detail was carefully executed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding food-- it gets better and be ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Outstanding food-- it gets better and better!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best in Madison.

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Having lived in Madison for about two years now, I didn't think there were any restaurants this good in Madison. The meal I had in particular, along with wine pairings was as good or even better than some of the one star michelin restaurants I've eaten at in Chicago. I can remember every dish, not a single one was bad or even average. Only complaint would be the bread, for my taste it was a bit chewy but thats just my personal taste. Wine pairings were great. Service was not stuffy or overly formal. Beautiful modern building. Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bravo!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Tori Miller and his staff continue to raise the bar for fine dining in Madison. The ambience, menu and service at L'toile are superb. The culinary creativity with farm fresh local ingredients is spectacular. Prices may seem high but the quality of the experience is unmatched.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

L'etoile is the cream of the Madison food scene

Dined on February 28, 2016

You simply cannot go wrong with L'etoile. Each dish is thoughtfully prepared and perfectly executed. The ambiance is beautiful with a stunning view of the capitol. Great service including a sommelier on staff. It is pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Fantastic Treat!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I never knew that food could be experienced this way! My date and I spent our Valentines Day eve experiencing L'Etoile for the first time. From the first bite, we experienced complex flavors that we never had before. Our server was also attentive and helpful. It was pricy, but the experience and meal we had was well worth it. Truly a Madison gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent as was the service. It was just a little on the expensive side. Other than that, everything was great and we will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was phenomenal, wine pairings w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was phenomenal, wine pairings were incredible, service was great. Great for a fancy date night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Be prepared

Dined on February 7, 2016

Be prepared to squeeze every moment of enjoyment out of your L'Etoile experience, because dinner for two can easily set you back almost $500 including tip. Worth it? As an unparalleled dining experience, there isn't another such place in Madison.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.