About L'Etoile Restaurant

1 S Pinckney Street Suite 107
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 251-0500

Website:
http://www.letoile-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.

Executive Chef:
Tory Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

L'Etoile Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Scenic View (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (13)
Worth the Drive (10)
Seasonal (8)
Organic (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely excellent. Three-course a la ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely excellent. Three-course a la carte meal for both of us. Every dish was thoughtfully prepared and a work of art. Olin, our waiter, took great care of us. The view of the Capitol building is awesome from any table. Nice, quiet, adult patrons. People, leave your screaming kids at home; this is NOT the restaurant for them. It was so pleasant to enjoy fine dining without someone's misbehaving and undisciplined children ruining the atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was excellent food was fantas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Atmosphere was excellent food was fantastic and the waiter was second to none in service would recommend everyone to highly visit this restaurant. I took my sweetie there for Valentine's Day and we had a fantastic evening could not of been better!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner with spectacular view o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent dinner with spectacular view of the capital building under a starry sky. Perfect evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for special occasions

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect place for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was absolutely wonderful. Tha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was absolutely wonderful. Thank you for making the evening special.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Organic, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just in town visiting for a week. Food ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Just in town visiting for a week. Food and service was so amazing, I dined here three times in one week. LOVED the tasting menu!! Special thanks to Stephen and Cody for making me feel so welcome.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good. Ingredients sound simple but th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

So good. Ingredients sound simple but the taste is wonderfully complex.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly a fantastic dining experience. A n ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Truly a fantastic dining experience. A night that my wife and I will remember. We celebrated my wife's birthday in grand and romantic fashion. The view of the Wisconsin State Capitol was magical. Our seven course meal, with wine pairing, was absolutely perfect. Well worth it. Highly recommended. We will come back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, , Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant. Should have 3 Mich ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Should have 3 Michelin Stars!! Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit to this excellent resta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our second visit to this excellent restaurant. While it is pricey, it is worth it in the food, service and wine. Highly creative with local sourcing. Best restaurant service I have seen since living in Dubai. Very knowledgeable and friendly and efficient.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our daughter here for her birthd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We took our daughter here for her birthday. She summed it up best: "A magical evening!"

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic!!! I am still dre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was fantastic!!! I am still dreaming of the sturgeon, so good! They were super open to all of our asks and customized a tasting menu for us that was truly special. The ambiance was special with the view of the capital in the night. Great spot for a date and an anniversary dinner. Will probably make L'Etoile our go to place for special occasions :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were only in Madison for the weekend. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were only in Madison for the weekend. Our dinner at L'etoile surpassed many meals we've had at elegant restaurants in much larger cities. And it was a much better value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical the food was interesting and div ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Magical the food was interesting and diverse.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I applaud this restaurant for its tenaci ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I applaud this restaurant for its tenacious dedication to local sourcing. The food is always amazing and a departure from the usual. Staff, as always, were delightful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great meal and experience, as always, bu ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

great meal and experience, as always, but really priced too high for the Madison area, or any area for that matter!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably Madison's best restaurant if yo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Probably Madison's best restaurant if you're looking for high cuisine. Everything is exquisitely prepared and attended to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and most as good as Fre ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding food and most as good as French gastronomic restaurants. Personable service. Our server, Emily, was excellent and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner celebrating a milestone occasion. It was our first time after hearing about it for the better part of 20 years. The food and wine pairings were outstanding. The only reason for the 4-star review was the desert choice we made was very bland and even a bit unappetizing. But the first two courses were positively spectacular. Our service was excellent and when the server sensed our displeasure with the desert she took it off of the bill without us even asking for such generosity. The ambiance and comfort of the restaurant was outstanding.

In terms of value, it is difficult for me to say that our meal was dramatically better than what we would have experience at other higher end restaurants in the Madison area. And with a price tag that was at least double that of any other restaurant we'd have gone to, it brings the value issue into question a bit. But by no means does this make it a disappointing meal or evening. On the contrary, we had an exquisite time. Just don't know that we would go back unless we received a significant gift card or were guests of another party.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I first went L'Etoile when I was a young ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I first went L'Etoile when I was a young girl at the original location. Coming back to L'Etoile it has exceeding my expectations on what I had remembered the ambiance and menu to be. The view of the capital was spectacular with the floor to ceiling windows. The staff was very attentive and did everything possible to make it a special experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful 40th anniversary celebr ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a wonderful 40th anniversary celebration! Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite "special occasion" restauran ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My favorite "special occasion" restaurant. Great food! Decent price for how awesome it is. If you want to impress someone, take them here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific as always. Service is always f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Terrific as always. Service is always first class. We have dined here a lot and they never fail to treat us as valued guests. We nearly always dine there for special events with our children. Well behaved children are always welcomed and actively acknowledged. Our children are now 12 and 15 but they have been coming to L'Etoile since they were 7 years old. They love the food - including on this last visit "the best steak they have ever eaten and yummy spinach!"

Love the food, love the people (especially Frank!).

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for my wife's birthday. Tasting ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday. Tasting menu was spectacular. True farm to table cuisine. The wine parings were perfect and the portions were all perfectly sized. We left feeling perfectly satisfied and happy. Superb waitstaff as well. Friendly by not overbearing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing. Will always be my favorite rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing. Will always be my favorite restaurant in Madison, continues to impress everytime, with impeccable service. thank you chef Tory and staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food with adventurous flavors. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fabulous food with adventurous flavors. The most knowledgeable, conversive staff anywhere. We didn't want the evening to end!

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lovely service and food was creativ ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very lovely service and food was creative. It is a bit on the pricey side but we knew that going in. We only go there every 5-10 years for a special occasion as we just cannot afford it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food! Much fancier than other ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food! Much fancier than other Madison restaurants. Everything was delightful in flavors, very prompt service and what you would expect for a meal of that cost. They meet and exceed the flavor expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The table arrangement allows for private ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The table arrangement allows for private conversation. The menu is interesting and the food is beautiful but our waiter over explained the food and every course was barely warm. The sauce on my appetizer was so cool it formed a skin. I understand that some customers may appreciate having all the elements of the dish explained in detail but I read the menu, had no questions and would like to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

A perfect evening to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A perfect evening to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, as always. The wine pairings delightful! The service was impeccable .

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience! Both the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a great dining experience! Both the lamb and the bass dish were out of this world. The wine selection is tremendous, and the sommelier is outstanding. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking at the best of what M ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

If you are looking at the best of what Madison has to offer, look no further than L'Etoile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very lovely room. The wines, a bit on t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very lovely room. The wines, a bit on the expensive side, are such that they are at many different prices and certainly a lot from which to choose. Our waiter did a very good job at explaining many of the wines, and did the same with the menu. We were a little disappointed that bread never was offered though it was at neighboring tables. We finally requested it from another waiter. Food was very good and flavors layered well. Little things we noted that patrons experienced was, for instance, re-folded napkins whenever they left the table. Though certainly not a requirement, it's noticed when your waiter isn't as attentive as others. The birthday celebrated that evening was acknowledged which was appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I took my son (who is undergrad at U Wis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I took my son (who is undergrad at U Wisconsin) there to experience a prix fixe meal. The service & ambiance was great. Several of the courses were disappointing though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent. We celebrated my brother's re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent. We celebrated my brother's retirement in style. Wonderful service and ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife took me to L'Etoile for my birth ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My wife took me to L'Etoile for my birthday, and we both decided to do the Chef's tasting menu. Inventive, crazy, and delicious. 7 small plates, with a couple of additional bites thrown in out of the blue. Wonderful. Definitely not cheap, and not in a bad way. A truly memorable evening. If you are looking for a gastronomic experience in Madison, this is it. An experience to remember.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, L'Etoile is the dining experi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, L'Etoile is the dining experience that has no rival in Madison. Locally grown produce, personal attention and clear explanations from the staff make this a wonderful place to take family, friends and celebrate VERY special occasions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful local cuisine with a kaleidos ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful local cuisine with a kaleidoscope of flavor. They accommodated my shell fish allergy on the spot with a replacement item. Michael was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at L'Etoile. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at L'Etoile. We were visiting from Portland, Oregon, and were told by a friend that L'Etoile was their favorite restaurant in Madison. I can see why. This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The food was beautifully prepared and presented by our very knowledgeable and friendly waiter. The blending of interesting ingredients and flavors was wonderful. Everything was delicious! Unlike so many good restaurants, L'etoile has found just the right volume of music and ambient noise so that our party of 6 could actually have a conversation and hear each other (this is not the case in so many restaurants).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was Amazing! What an aw ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant was Amazing!

What an awesome find and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.