About L'Etoile Restaurant

1 S Pinckney Street Suite 107
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

L'Etoile is a fine dining restaurant on the Capitol Square that focuses on local and sustainably sourced ingredients. Our menu is influenced by numerous culinary traditions and seasonality. Inquire about our monthly wine dinners and tasting menus. Full bar service available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
East Washington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 251-0500

Website:
http://www.letoile-restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the corner of East Washington and Webster Street, behind the American Exchange Bank. Alternate Parking may be found at the Tenney Street parking ramp, located on the corner of Webster and Main Street. Street parking is also available on the Capitol Square most days after 6 P.M.

Executive Chef:
Tory Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Amuse Bouche - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Nutella Semifreddo - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Beef - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Yellow Fin Tuna - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Ricotta Tortellini - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Snacks - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Sockeye Salmon - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Duck Breast - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
15 Year Cheddar - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Carrot molasses spice cake, vanilla custard, mixed berries, whipped Capri chèvre - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Snug Haven heirloom tomatoes, baby cucumber, radishes, peekytoe crab salad, toasted pine nuts - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Sweet corn and bacon risotto, summer squash, squash blossom, sungold tomatoes - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Amuse bouche – cayenne and black pepper gougères, whippe chèvre - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
American red snapper, grilled apricot, lonza, confit fingerling potatoes, baby zucchini - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Jones Valley Farm artichokes, cauliflower, ground cherry jam, black olives, shallots, fennel blossom - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Caraway glazed chocolate donuts, rye ice cream, barley, IPA apricot mousse, smoked caramel - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Spanish octopus, fairytale eggplant, pearl onion, chorizo, jalapeño, yuzu foam - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Mignardise – caramel popcorn, strawberry pâte de fruit, white chocolate bourbon coconut truffles - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Creekside mixed greens, kohlrabi, radishes, SarVecchio cheese, cherry tomatoes, Dijon vinaigrette - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Amuse bouche – BLT riff, pank bread crumbs, basil aioli, cherry tomato, bacon, charred little gem lettuce - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
NY Strip Steak - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pork Belly - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Maine Lobster - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Spicy Citrus Soup - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Fresh Rigatoni - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Blue Mont Dairy Alpine Renegade - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Bay Scallop Ceviche - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Chocolate Bourbon Tart - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Assorted Desserts - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Cioppino - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Chips & Dip - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
cheese and crackers - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Complimentary Dessert Trio - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Roasted Beet Salad - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Creme Brulee - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Braised Lamb Shoulder Raviolo - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Red Snapper - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Aligot Potatoes - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
pan roasted duck breast - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Braised Short Rib and Foie Gras Terrine - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Cappuccino - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Dark Chocolate Cake - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Truffles - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Korean BBQ Rack Of Lamb  - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Scallops - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Fruit Gelee - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Black Truffle Crépinette  - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Lemon Risotto - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Soup - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Corned Beef Tongue - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Beef Carpaccio - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Menu - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Chocolate - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Raspberry Lemon Mille Feuille (Napoleon) - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Stuffed Squash Blossoms - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Sweet corn risotto - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Crispy Chèvre Gnudi - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Sorbets - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Wreckfish - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Cauliflower "Steak" With Crispy Duck Egg - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Whole Roasted Branzino - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Chinese Five-Spiced Turbot - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Smoked Mushroom & Goat Cheese Ravioli Al Forno - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pan Roasted Pheasant - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Crispy Pork Belly - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Rack of Lamb - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Jones Valley Farm Roasted Baby Beet Salad With Duck Confit & Pickled Green Beans - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Balsamic Glazed Pork Belly With Strawberries, Frisee, Marcona Almonds - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Salad - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Egg - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Avocado-Lime Sorbet with Coconut Blancmange and Tropical Fruit Compote - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Vegan House-Made Tofu with wood-grilled root vegetables, roasted red pepper coulis, and salsa verde. - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Vegan Amuse Bouche - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Vegan Meyer Lemon Risotto with pomegranate-apple salad and peavine. - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Watermelon and Capri Feta Salad - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pan-Seared John Dory With Salt Cod Fritter, Citrus-Braised Napa Cabbage, Pommes Duchesse, Blood Orange Relish, Herb-Caper Crème Fraîche - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Halibut - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Donut And Coffee Ice Cream - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Bourbon Mint Julep Creme Brulee - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
flourless chocolate cake - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pheasant - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Ribeye - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Frisee Salad - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Ham & Biscuits - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
charcuterie - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Canapés - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pineapple caramel cake - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Wild Alaskan king crab salad - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Pappardelle - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Smoky Martini - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
French Press Coffee - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Perre Jacques 2010 - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Beef Tongue - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Cheese Plate - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Prosciutto-wrapped Spanish Mackerel - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Meyer lemon curd tart - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
A Close Shave - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Garlic Mustard Green And Ramp Risotto - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
House Vodka, Watermelon, & Raspberry Sorbet - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI
Chocolate Bomb Cheesecake - L'Etoile Restaurant, Madison, WI

L'Etoile Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Wisconsin
Best Food
Wisconsin
Best Service
Wisconsin
12 More
Best Ambiance
Wisconsin
Fit for Foodies
Wisconsin
Notable Wine List
Wisconsin
Romantic
Wisconsin
Special Occasion
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Madison
Best Food
Madison
Best Service
Madison
Best Ambiance
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Special Occasion
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Tasting Menu (26)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Scenic View (20)
Modern Decor (17)
Worth the Drive (14)
Seasonal (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Organic (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food! Much fancier than other ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food! Much fancier than other Madison restaurants. Everything was delightful in flavors, very prompt service and what you would expect for a meal of that cost. They meet and exceed the flavor expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The table arrangement allows for private ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The table arrangement allows for private conversation. The menu is interesting and the food is beautiful but our waiter over explained the food and every course was barely warm. The sauce on my appetizer was so cool it formed a skin. I understand that some customers may appreciate having all the elements of the dish explained in detail but I read the menu, had no questions and would like to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

A perfect evening to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A perfect evening to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was amazing, as always. The wine pairings delightful! The service was impeccable .

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great dining experience! Both the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a great dining experience! Both the lamb and the bass dish were out of this world. The wine selection is tremendous, and the sommelier is outstanding. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed an elegant dinner with excell ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed an elegant dinner with excellent service. Loved the variety and presentation, some locally sourced foods, and the unexpected tastes of tiny hors d'evores. Waiters had excellent command of the menu making choices comfortable. Always a great choice for a special occasion or an introduction of an out of town guest to the best of Madison.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value3

If you are looking at the best of what M ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

If you are looking at the best of what Madison has to offer, look no further than L'Etoile.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very lovely room. The wines, a bit on t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Very lovely room. The wines, a bit on the expensive side, are such that they are at many different prices and certainly a lot from which to choose. Our waiter did a very good job at explaining many of the wines, and did the same with the menu. We were a little disappointed that bread never was offered though it was at neighboring tables. We finally requested it from another waiter. Food was very good and flavors layered well. Little things we noted that patrons experienced was, for instance, re-folded napkins whenever they left the table. Though certainly not a requirement, it's noticed when your waiter isn't as attentive as others. The birthday celebrated that evening was acknowledged which was appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I took my son (who is undergrad at U Wis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I took my son (who is undergrad at U Wisconsin) there to experience a prix fixe meal. The service & ambiance was great. Several of the courses were disappointing though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent. We celebrated my brother's re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent. We celebrated my brother's retirement in style. Wonderful service and ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife took me to L'Etoile for my birth ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My wife took me to L'Etoile for my birthday, and we both decided to do the Chef's tasting menu. Inventive, crazy, and delicious. 7 small plates, with a couple of additional bites thrown in out of the blue. Wonderful. Definitely not cheap, and not in a bad way. A truly memorable evening. If you are looking for a gastronomic experience in Madison, this is it. An experience to remember.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, L'Etoile is the dining experi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As always, L'Etoile is the dining experience that has no rival in Madison. Locally grown produce, personal attention and clear explanations from the staff make this a wonderful place to take family, friends and celebrate VERY special occasions.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful local cuisine with a kaleidos ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Wonderful local cuisine with a kaleidoscope of flavor. They accommodated my shell fish allergy on the spot with a replacement item. Michael was a wonderful server, very knowledgeable. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening at L'Etoile. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at L'Etoile. We were visiting from Portland, Oregon, and were told by a friend that L'Etoile was their favorite restaurant in Madison. I can see why. This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. The food was beautifully prepared and presented by our very knowledgeable and friendly waiter. The blending of interesting ingredients and flavors was wonderful. Everything was delicious! Unlike so many good restaurants, L'etoile has found just the right volume of music and ambient noise so that our party of 6 could actually have a conversation and hear each other (this is not the case in so many restaurants).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was Amazing! What an aw ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant was Amazing!

What an awesome find and the food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always, for many decades!, the finest di ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Always, for many decades!, the finest dining, and with friendly, experienced people serving and discussing all the food and beverages.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the ultimate locally sourced foo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is the ultimate locally sourced foodie delight. You will not be disappointed unless you are looking to save money. Well worth the occasional indulgence.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we were greeted, it was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

From the moment we were greeted, it was glorious. The quiet chatter of the patrons, the Saturday night "fever" of downtown, and the gorgeous views of the capital imploded our senses.

Jonathon did an expert job is staying near by w/o hovering.

It was an extremely busy night, yet there was no rushing. And his literary command and ease of explanations for every single word/garnish/food prep on the menu is exemplary.

Do not miss their Smoky martini - the duet of chubby blue cheese-stuffed olives is a symphony.

The small touches; continual water fills, healthy wine pours, savory gifts from the kitchen to say, "hello," and more, combine seamlessly to make a Saturday into a celebration. I can heartily recommend the red snapper and the halibut - preparation was simply divine. Kindly note that the presentation of even a cloth napkin is stellar.

The dark chocolate orbs presented at the evening's close were tiny jewels of decadence - not a good bye, but a "farewell until we meet agin!"

L'Etoile is understated coolness; a farm-to-table restaurant that seems as if you, and you alone, are the only ones in the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband brought me here to celebrate ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My husband brought me here to celebrate my birthday. We were both highly impressed with the ambiance (modern, clean, warm decor). The staff was extremely friendly and took the time to explain the intricacies of the offerings. After dinner cocktails at the bar were fabulous! A very swanky but not ostentatious vibe--comfortable and welcoming. Very expensive but so worth it for a special evening. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was it good? Yes. Great? No. Since chef ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Was it good? Yes. Great? No. Since chef is a James Beard award winner, I was expecting more from the actual food. I just didn't leave thinking that I had to come back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We don't live in Wisconsin but anytime w ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We don't live in Wisconsin but anytime we get even close to Madison we make a point to swing into L'Etoile and it never disappoints. Amazing, thoughtfully-prepared food and wonderful wine pairings. The view of the capitol is also lovely from the dining room.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Emily was excellent. Michael ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our server Emily was excellent. Michael the sommelier was a little distant . The wines were pared with our selections. They were excellent. Michael seems to have favorites in the dining room . He was fawning over another couple that evening. I would have liked more interaction with him but he was not interested in us. This was not the case with Emily.She answered all our questions and was extremely helpful at every turn. The food was very creative and was flavorful. I would say this is a great restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good well paced meal with very at ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A very good well paced meal with very attentive service. It was a great location for our group of four friends (including two out of town friends) to have a good relaxed meal and lots of conversation. Their wine selection was very good, but so was their selection of non-alcoholic cocktails.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, People Watching, Organic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal I've had in a long time--a jew ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Best meal I've had in a long time--a jewel of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and great service. It's a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent food and great service. It's always special to dine here and the tasting menu changes so each time we come it makes it a real treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, good wines. Homeless pers ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great dinner, good wines. Homeless person made his bed for the night outside window....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food & service were fabulous- thanks for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food & service were fabulous- thanks for the super experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Etoile is the best restaurant in Wisco ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2016

L'Etoile is the best restaurant in Wisconsin, perhaps beyond!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Birthday Dinner for my wife. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful Birthday Dinner for my wife. It began with a special menu and a special treat . The food was excellent although I would have benefitted from more guidance in my choices. The wines were superb. We look forward to celebrating with L'Etoile again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Still there after so many years. It is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Still there after so many years. It is hard to argue with that. The food was very good overall, though very expensive. That's always been true here, however. Portions are Midwestern generous. The only weak spot was the desserts, which are significantly below the standard of the other items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing if pricey. Tasty changing menus. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Amazing if pricey. Tasty changing menus. Knowledgeable staff. Enough said.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

I had the tasting menu and another order ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I had the tasting menu and another ordered a la carte for this birthday dinner. We both loved the play of flavors within each dish. Service was helpful, informed, and attentive; she was able to speak in detail about all the dishes and wines. As there was a party of 12 there that night, we were given seating options to ensure their noise wouldn't interfere with our conversation. Enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, and great service. Somet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic food, and great service. Sometimes complicated food can flop... not the case for this meal. Two of us did the 7-course menu with wine pairing, the third ala carte, and all of our food was thoroughly enjoyed.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Having just the 2 nights before eaten at ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Having just the 2 nights before eaten at Boka and Alinea in Chicago, L'Etoile had a tough couple of acts to follow. However, they lived up to it! We 3 all had the tasting menu with paired wines. The whole experience was excellent and great fun. My husband actually thought L'Etoile had better wine pairings than Alinea. We had a corner table right at the window (the reward for early dining) with a fabulous view of the street scene and Capital building.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our birthdays and we ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were celebrating our birthdays and went with the tasting menu. The meal was exquisite, the wine pairings were perfect and the service was lovely. We cannot afford to do this often, but it was perfect for our special occasion. We will do it again and recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been to L'Etoile many times and hav ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Have been to L'Etoile many times and have never been disappointed with any of the wonderfully creative dishes. The tasting menu offers the perfect way to try new cuisine and flavor combinations. There is no comparable restaurant in Madison!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef's specials were excellent and o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The chef's specials were excellent and or waiter "Frank" made the night with his commentary of the courses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to its reputation and then some ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Lived up to its reputation and then some. Service was outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fun, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service. OK food. Too much em ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Horrible service. OK food. Too much emphasis on creativity, while losing site of what is important - taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We have eaten at L'etoile twice and each ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have eaten at L'etoile twice and each time we have been delighted by the wonderful food and superior service. They even accommodated our request for an appetizer of an item off the tasting menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's supposed to be the best restaurant ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's supposed to be the best restaurant Madison and I think it probably still deserves that title. Service and timing were very impressive and the food was generally excellent. We ordered a la carte instead of having the seven course tasting menu and everything we had was very good. The wine list is spectacular if you want to splurge.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.