About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montreal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Seasonal tasting menus

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: 5142786854x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
  • Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
  • Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
  • Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
  • Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
  • Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
  • Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran
Filet
Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (58)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Romantic (40)
Hot Spot (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Tasting Menu (10)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Authentic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a pleasant surprise. Located in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was a pleasant surprise. Located in an eclectic neighborhood, in a store front. The food was beautifully presented. Choice of only 2 options - vegetarian or non-vegetarian. Each course was a treat. Loved it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

What a fantastic little restaurant!!! Th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

What a fantastic little restaurant!!! The food was wonderful and so beautiful looked like art on a plate! I almost didn't want to eat it just stare at it. We had the four course tasting and each course exceeded my expectations. When in Montreal it's a must place to eat at. Plan in advance its a small place and fills up well in advance.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very pleasant way to enjoy bea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This is a very pleasant way to enjoy beautifully presented food with wonderful blends of flavor. Since they have only prix fix options, picky eaters may want to consider whether it will work for them. We found our courses to be terrific, without being over the top exotic. Service is super. Wonderful young vibe.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic dining experience and would re ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic dining experience and would recommend to any friends: great service, each dish was perfectly executed & decorated to feel like I was eating art. Highly impressed and it's hard to impress me as Ibe eaten at many great restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is tops for innovation, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

This restaurant is tops for innovation, taste and ingredients. Meets all the reviews I've read.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great menu, amazing service and cozy env ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great menu, amazing service and cozy environment. Recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was equally impressive this is a restaurant that is a must for all Montreal natives and tourists alike..a definitive redo

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing culinary experience! Honestly de ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Amazing culinary experience! Honestly deserves a Michelin Star!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Les Deux Singes on a regular ba ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We go to Les Deux Singes on a regular basis (2-3 times a year) but it was our first time with the fixed-price tasting menu. Everything was amazing, as always! Best restaurant I've tried in Montreal (and I've been to Toqué, Europea, Maison Boulud, etc.).

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. They've simplified the menu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great meal. They've simplified the menu to a choice of regular menu (non vegetarian) and vegetarian menu. We ordered one of each and shared. Both were delicious. Wine list is small, tidy and good value. Our wait person was delightful. Cocktails very good. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This really was a special restaurant. ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This really was a special restaurant. Lovely interesting food.

Best food we had during our visit to Toronto, Montreal and Quebec.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is rated hi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is rated high on TripAdvisor for good reason. The food is amazing and stylish and the service excellent. We had a wonderful time and would certainly return on our next trip to Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, interesting combinations and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Delicious, interesting combinations and presentations of both food and drink. Worth the price for the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my 8th visit and it only gets b ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was my 8th visit and it only gets better each time. Sean and his team have re-built my faith in human kind; when I'm lying on my death bed years from now taking inventory of my happiest moments and greatest regrets, I will think back to the many incredible evenings of culinary delight I experienced at Les deux singe and smile. If you have not been there yet, I truly don't know what you're waiting for, it's nothing short of spectacular, world class, 5 stars. The fact you can even get a table there without knowing someone is a mystery to me / if they were in London or Manhattan I'd never get in and if I could I couldn't afford it; it's such a ridiculous value for money, it's criminal that every Montrealer has not eaten there at least once as part of their cultural training. Bravo.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for a true dining exp ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

If you are looking for a true dining experience, this is the place! Although there are only two fixed price menus (Tasting and Vegetarian), each course is perfectly prepared, each is a visual and taste delight, and they are spaced with time to savor each to the fullest. The hostess was delightful and gave a complete description of each course so we could appreciate them even more. The flavors and textures were so balanced each bite was sublime. Be prepared for some sticker shock, but for this unique experience it is well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat at many places that feel like res ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We eat at many places that feel like restaurants - as one would expect. Occasionally, we come across a restaurant where they cook for you and serve you like you are in somebody's home. I've felt this way in smaller restaurants in Italy and elsewhere in Europe, but rarely in North America where great food typically comes from professional restauranteurs or restaurant groups.

At Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, the owner works the floor taking hours and checking on any requirements that a guest may have. She also makes the cocktails. The staff is pleasant and the setting is intimate.

The food was truly excellent as was the presentation, but the desert was the best I've had in my entire life. I'm not usually a big desert guy, so this is strong statement of support.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner at Les Deux Singes de M ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful dinner at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie! We had the four course tasting menu, which was the only choice (they offer a non-vegetarian and vegetarian version). It was absolutely amazing -- delicious, flavorful, beautifully presented, etc. The service was also impeccable. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed our Wedding Annive ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our Wedding Anniversary dinner here and it is well worth its #1 rating. From the initial hand-written "Happy Anniversary" sign on our table, through the multiple courses of exquisite cuisine, to the final celebratory candles with our deserts, we were delighted and astounded by the quality of our experience. Notably, contrary to some reviews, the portions were ample and the value for money is amazing, especially for the wine pairings: we paid only $200 including 15% tip for a couple for five courses, plus wine, plus cocktails and tea/coffee for far better food, service and overall quality than we've had at $250 - $300 type places (Milos being the worst value for money we've ever experienced).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I will definitely come back! Great food ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I will definitely come back! Great food great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small gem. The food was delicious and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A small gem. The food was delicious and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Believe the hype! Incredible meal that w ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Believe the hype! Incredible meal that was as good as it looked. Every course was a masterpiece. Our hostesses were lovely and it was the highlight of our trip. Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We selected this restaurant during our J ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We selected this restaurant during our Just for Laughs jaunt to Montreal based upon very positive reviews on a number of sites. We were not disappointed. Located in Outremont, a short drive from the downtown area, this restaurant seats about 30 in a converted house in what seems to be a somewhat bohemian area of the burb. Booking a reservation was simple and we received a reminder call the day before our reservation. We were promptly greeted by attentive staff who quickly supplied water and bread. The only choice at this restaurant was to choose a regular or vegetarian tasting menu. We chose the former and quite enjoyed it. Each dish was beautifully presented, colourful and enhanced by a wonderful melange of sauces. The lobster appetizer, guinea hen main and dessert were all stellar. Perhaps the only slight criticism might be the short wine list but this was not a biggie. All in all we found the evening out to be a gourmet delight and would not hesitate going back. A big thumbs up to this one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unbelievably good experience! Best food ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Unbelievably good experience! Best food I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Relatively small restaurant with outstan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Relatively small restaurant with outstanding service. Warm welcome with my name written on a stone at the table. We opted for the regular 5 course menu. Every dish shined on its own. Farm to table ingredients prepared meticulosly so every flavor would stand out in perfect balance. Ask for wine pairings and you wont be disappointed. Never felt rushed. Always felt welcomed. Hiiiiighly recomended!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a dining spot you must try wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Definitely a dining spot you must try while in Montreal. I have eaten here a total of five times and have been blown away each time. There are very few tables and this is a popular spot, so be sure to make reservations. The kitchen is open. A seat at the bar will get you very close to the artistry that is put into every bite of every meal. Casual and unassuming both inside and out, but there is nothing ordinary going on here. The food is visually beautiful and the depth of flavors remarkable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our anniversary with a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary with a tasting menu and wine pairing. Honestly the most delicious and delicately prepared food I've ever tasted. Service was exquisite as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a place. The food is simply ama ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wow what a place. The food is simply amazing. A must go to on the Montreal restaurant scene. Just to make it better the wire pairings for the tasting menu are equally delicious...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Each dish was a mouth explosion of sever ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Each dish was a mouth explosion of several flavored, distinct with every bite, yet melded perfectly. The leek course was freshness experienced.

Love this place, food and joie de vivre

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant lived up to its reputati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant lived up to its reputation. Each course was exquisitely composed, but melted into comfort food the moment it was touched by your fork. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 35 minutes late due to "getti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We arrived 35 minutes late due to "getting lost". It is in the Mile End neighborhood.

Luckily, the staff were gracious and happily seated us at our table. This is a prix-fix meal and choice is quite limited. I suggest your dinner guest pre-view the nights offering prior to arrival.

Over the top beautiful presentation with food perfectly cooked but slightly under seasoned. each course offered a nice complement to the entire meal service. This is a tight restaurant space and the chairs and table reflect that limited space. The staff service was premier in every way. Overall, a very good meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Every course was reflective of gourmet e ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Every course was reflective of gourmet excellence! Fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wow, the food was absolutely fantastic! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wow, the food was absolutely fantastic! Especially loved the lobster salad! Everything was beautiful and well thought out. Highest compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Love the pers ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service. Great food. Love the personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best food and experience ever ! High ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The best food and experience ever ! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal was delicious, the tortellini and t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Meal was delicious, the tortellini and the meringue with sour cherry sauce in particular, and the service was phenomenal. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Montreal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dishes and menus at this restaurant ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The dishes and menus at this restaurant are so exquisitely put together. It is a totally different culinary experience each time but in such a down-to-earth atmosphere. I cannot praise this restaurant highly enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem that must not be missed on your n ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A gem that must not be missed on your next stop in Montreal. Can't praise the staff and food enough. This place is not pretentious but it easily could be. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our favorite reservation after ...

vip
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our favorite reservation after dining at Bouillon Bilk, L'Express, and Barocco. The presentations were beautiful and the food excellent. The young couple who have owned this restaurant for only a few years are driven by a passion for food and do not portend to compete with Boulud or the Thomas Kellers of the world. Our party of four, including a trained chef (who has worked with Takashi and Yamauchi) would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived to the time w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everything was outstanding: ambiance, service, food, presentation, and wine recommendation. Excellent in terms of value too. Top-notch in all respects. 'Wonderful' is the description that would be apt here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.