About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montreal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Seasonal tasting menus

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: 5142786854x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
  • Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
  • Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
  • Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
  • Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
  • Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
  • Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran
Filet
Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (49)
neighborhood gem (42)
See All
romantic (33)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our whole dining experience seemed perfe ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our whole dining experience seemed perfect! The atmosphere is cozy, a little off-beat, and in no way pretentious. The service was gracious, on-point, and not at all fussy. The food was incredible. Fresh seasonal ingredients and seemingly more flavor than should be possible to pack into one dish. Next time I am in Montreal I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is from heaven!!!! Don't miss!! ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is from heaven!!!! Don't miss!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting from Vancouver and beca ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We were visiting from Vancouver and became aware this resto from ratings on many sites. It lived up to its reputation. From the amuse-bouche through all courses, so creative and light fare. The wine list was a bit shallow but we found a decent bottle. Reservations are mandatory because of its size. Don't overlook this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious tasting menu, Nice cocktail li ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious tasting menu, Nice cocktail list, excellent professional friendly service, great music and ambiance - all excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience :) excellent service, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing experience :) excellent service, food and value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best meal we have ever had. T ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

By far the best meal we have ever had. The service was incredible, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The food was gorgeously plated and unbelievably delicious. We almost felt bad eating the food because it looked so beautiful. It was overall a wonderful experience and one we will never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Change in Menu

Dined on June 10, 2016

This is the 6th time we have gone to the Les Deux Singes in connection with our visit to Montreal for the Canadian GP. We have never been disappointed!! There has been a change in how the restaurant operates - from a full menu to a meat and vegetarian fixed menu. I had some concerns but our group had both fixed menus and we were very pleased. They will make limited substitutions for dietary issues. Always a pleasure going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our second visit to Deux Singes was fabulous. The table d'houte menu was amazing and well worth the price. The service was friendly and timely. Don't miss this restaurant when in Montreal. In fact visit Montreal just to come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely lovely server appeared genuin ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely lovely server appeared genuinely interested in us, made a wonderful wine suggestion and explained all our dishes with pleasure. The chef has made a tremendous commitment to keep his menu reflective of local offerings and it is simply delicious surprises for the diner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing and delicious food. T ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing and delicious food. The presentation was just as impressive, if not more. Both of us enjoyed the lovely tasting menu and haven't been able to stop talking about it! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Small & Charming

Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a wonderful neighborhood spot for a well-curated meal with lot's of detail in each dish. Vegetarian offering is a standard. Attentive service. Food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think that this has been my 6th meal a ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

I think that this has been my 6th meal at Les Deux Singes in as many years, and it remains my favorite restaurant in North America. The food is always excellent, with interesting ingredients and combinations; and the service is friendly and personal without ever being intrusive. Again, we sat at the counter, which I believe has the best seats in the house: watching the chefs prepare the plates with such love helps you to understand the development of the dishes that will eventually reach you, adding to the pleasure of tasting them. The music is always top-notch, and perfectly compliments the setting, and is never too loud. And the staff is so sincere: it's evident that they love this restaurant; and for the time that you're their guest, you feel that they love you, too! 6 stars out of 5!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent End-to-End

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dining at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie was the highlight of a week in Montreal that included many of the top rated restaurants in the city. Each dish was well composed both visually and to the palate, and my wife and I grinned compulsively as we sample each course in turn. Top marks all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

My Husband and I dined here for my Birthday and absolutely loved the whole experience. It was a bit of a last minute pick when we couldn't be bothered getting an uber to another restaurant and we are SO happy we came across this restaurant (and annoyed we hadn't found it earlier!). There are two menus - the vegetarian tasting menu and the meat tasting menu and we ordered both (vegetarian for me, meat for my Husband). We both tried each others meals and agreed that every single dish was perfect! The service was great and everything from what was on the menu to the components of the dishes was explained to us thoroughly. The quality of the food was evident with each bite. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lived up to expectations

Dined on April 30, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on its #1 ranking on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent, both in taste and presentation. The asparagus-based dish was particularly tasty. Herbs are grown right there on the bar counter so no doubts about freshness. Service was wonderful as we were waited upon by two, both being knowledgeable of the dishes they were serving and describing each. Ambient music was slightly loud for my taste. Despite being a small restaurant with only 8 tables plus bar, the noise level was quite high. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Overall a wonderful experience though and highly recommended. If travelling by car, give yourself plenty of time to find parking as finding a parking space can be difficult in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, good food.

Dined on April 29, 2016

A small restaurant doesn't even have a notable sign at the front. It took me some time to find it. The price of 5 course tasting menu is reasonable. Each course was done in perfection except one, which I found it a bit too salty. It could be just a personal preference. Service is excellent. Cozy atmosphere. Restaurant is very busy. Remember to reserve a few days in advance specially near the weekend. Parking is also an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't want to do a disservice to the o ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I don't want to do a disservice to the other dishes but the asparagus tartare with toasted brioche and tomato hollandaise was truly spectacular. As a vegetarian it is rare to feel so spoilt by a meal, every single bite was so thoughtfully put together. This was easily one of the best meals I have ever had. The wine is very reasonably priced and the service is stellar. A remarkable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and i try and come to this restaurant as often as we can. The food is simply amazing. The presentation and mix of flavours is unlike anything we have ever seen. The staff is wonderful. Very knowledgeable and classy. The restaurant is very modern with an open kitchen type of style. All the freshest ingredients are used, you can even see them growing the spices and flowers. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurent for any occasion, you wont regret it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Unsuccessful Elevation of the Basics

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited for our trip to Montreal. The food was served in multiple courses in a very small and intimate setting. First course was off-menu and the best of the night - a dumpling in house-developed sauce. Delicious! By far the most romantic meal of the trip. Unfortunately, the meal only became less impressive from this point featuring poorly seasoned vegetable and meat courses garnished with too many edible flowers in an attempt to beautify an otherwise dull presentation. Needs more focus on taste and less on colorful purees amounting to mere color on a plate.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wow. Down to earth elegance and deliciousness!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Incredibly imaginative food without being fussy and pretentious, and at reasonable price for fine dining. Down to earth, personalized and charming service. Our server genuinely remembered me and my fellow diners, and I hadn't been there in about a year. So delicious, I was ready to roll around happily on my plate. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put this is the best most unique ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Simply put this is the best most unique restaurant in Montréal. The chef really knows his stuff. The fixed menu never disappoints. The staff are super nice and can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unparalleled Food, Service & Dedication

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second visit to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie & we were certain that it would not surpass our first experience (November 2015). We could not have been more wrong. Our perfect evening began by being greeted at the door with "Welcome back!" which was surprising because it was only our second booking. This simple acknowledgement puts an instant smile on your face. We requested bar seating (highly recommended) as you can watch the process of the food becoming art on a plate. The chef & the sous chefs are absolutely meticulous in the preparation of each dish. The talent in this kitchen is categorically a site to see. And then there was the meal......there are barely words to describe it. Everything is perfect. It's visually stunning and the flavors are always perfectly balanced. The portions are in direct proportion for a tasting menu. Pure excellence. We had fun conversation with the entire staff whilst enjoying our dessert & coffee. The atmosphere amongst the staff is friendly & cohesive. It 100% carries over to the guests. There is absolutely no pretension anywhere in this establishment. The owners/staff are dedicated to the ultimate customer experience and it shows. We will continue to recommend Les Deux Singes de Montarvie to everyone we know & we look forward to future visits to this first-rate restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu was a nice change of pa ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The tasting menu was a nice change of pace. We enjoyed every bite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artists at work

Dined on March 16, 2016

One of my five best dining experiences ever. I was in Montreal alone but that has never kept me from enjoying fine food. The restaurant only seated about 30 people, including a few seats at the bar. I had reservations, but they let me choose either the bar or a table for two. I sat at the counter and watched the artists at work assembling my meal for over two hours. I chose a very reasonable fixed price option. I posted pictures on Facebook as I ate and my friends enjoyed the experience with me. The food was beautiful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant that I've ever had i ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

The best restaurant that I've ever had in mtl! Love it thank you guys gave me a great experience. Appreciate that.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, attentive service, great a ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing food, attentive service, great atmosphere. Nothing but good things to say.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite, friendly -- we're totally won over!

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is without doubt one of the finest restaurants in the city. The food is exquisitely prepared, and the service friendly, solicitous to the point of making us feel we've found a home away from home. This restaurant seats no more than a couple of dozen max, and yet makes it a policy to take one pair of patrons per table per night, to ensure a relaxed dining experience. The atmosphere is gentle, intimate, and not too formal. Having my name chalked on the reserved sign on the table was a special touch. The restaurant now offers two tasting menus (one meat, the other vegetarian) that change every three weeks -- but this ensures plenty of variety, and each plate is a work of art. This is high-end dining, but the experience is well worth the price, and we'll be regulars for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Changes...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Was there on Saturday, i was very disappointed that they change their formula. Instead of a regular menu like they use to have, they have only 2 4 services menus. I will have to find a new favorite restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awakening of the taste buds

Dined on February 17, 2016

We tried Les deux Singes de Montarvie for the first time for my wife's birthday. Along with friends, I was looking for something different that she would remember. Bullseye! The tasting menu made it easy: we could only choose between the regular and the vegetarian. It is just as well because they were not dishes that we typically would have picked but what a pleasant surprise. Every dish was a new pleasant experience for the taste buds. All of us loved it and would go back again. One of our friends took the vegetarian menu and she loved it as well. The service was great and friendly. Only low note is the wine list which was disappointing. Everything else was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience

Dined on February 17, 2016

From the moment you arrive to the restaurant, to the last bite, dinner at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is just an outstanding experience. The food is delicately presented and after feed your eyes with color and texture it explode in flavor inside your mouth. The waiting times are perfect and you never get the sensation of too much time passing between dishes. The portions may look tinny, however, be patient, the full experience seems designed to fit every spark of flavor on your dinner. Believe me, you will end satisfy and not being able to get another bite. Fresh herbs and flowers are add to the dishes. Strange and exotic flavors are mixed with well know ones. The fact you have just two choices make it even greater, you just have the sensation of the chef surprising you with his own skills. You feel this is the best you can get when you let the professionals do their job. The service was also fantastic. Kind and opportune, never interrupting our conversation but integrating in a really smooth way the experience. People smile at you and you feel good to be dinning there. The ambiance is also really nice, the restaurant is tinny what gives you a sensation of exclusivity. Even the size, you do not feel like it is overcrowded. We want to come back for sure, and we truly recommend this place. We were so happy to have taken the chance to experience Les Deux Singes de Montarvie.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu was outstanding.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Tasting menu was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Believe the hype

Dined on February 14, 2016

Spectacularly good... food, presentation, service, every little thing was perfection. Sit at the bar if you can to watch these talented young chefs in action. Killer vibe and energy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were recommended this hotel by a colleague of my husbands, and what a marvellous suggestion. Small but stylish with an open kitchen so if you are eating at the bar you can see everything that is going on. Wait staff very efficient. Set menu if three courses but an amous-bouch, all were excellent. We gave already recommended and will go again

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though you don't really get to pick ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Even though you don't really get to pick your food from the menu, our food experience at this restaurant was amazing! They change their menu every month or so and it is an incredible culinary experience. The chef knows what he's doing and the service is top notch. So many layers of flavour to each dish. Food served hot which is very important to me. Loved the whole place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in all respects

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. We had to wait a long time to get a reservation. They seemed to have one sitting and may be better with a early and later dinner. Every dish was creative and tasteful. There is a prix fixe vegetarian and meat menu. It could be a problem if you do not like the dish on the menu on a given night. We found it charming and romantic and the food was oh so good !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Every course of the tasting menu was excellent. We loved sitting at the bar and watching the prep. Service was outstanding and a reasonable wine selection. Great place, highly recommend! We will be back the next time we're in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely exquisite food

Dined on February 5, 2016

This is a restaurant that gets everything right - keeping it simple with two tasting menus and putting out inventive and exquisitely presented meals in a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed each course, particularly the poutine of squash which I could have over and over again. Who new you could feel healthy eating poutine?? I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Thank you for a memorable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on February 2, 2016

It was our second time at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie and, again, it was a delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.