About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montreal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Seasonal tasting menus

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: 5142786854x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Filet
  • Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
  • Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
  • Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
  • Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
  • Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
  • Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran
Filet
Scallops With Kiwi Pesto
Tartare De Vivaneau, Mangue, Vinaigrette Lime-Gingembre
Capelleti , Sauce Aux Fines Herbes Et Champignons Sauvages
Gamelle D'agneau À La Berbère
Poisson Du Jour: Vivaneau , Sauce Citron Et Aneth , Riz Sauvage
Pave De Fletan , Risotto D'orge, Cremeuse De Saffran

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
14 More
Best Ambiance
Montreal / Quebec
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Special Occasion
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Romantic
Montreal
Special Occasion
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (60)
neighborhood gem (49)
See All
romantic (42)
hot spot (16)
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Definitely a dining spot you must try wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Definitely a dining spot you must try while in Montreal. I have eaten here a total of five times and have been blown away each time. There are very few tables and this is a popular spot, so be sure to make reservations. The kitchen is open. A seat at the bar will get you very close to the artistry that is put into every bite of every meal. Casual and unassuming both inside and out, but there is nothing ordinary going on here. The food is visually beautiful and the depth of flavors remarkable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate our anniversary with a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary with a tasting menu and wine pairing. Honestly the most delicious and delicately prepared food I've ever tasted. Service was exquisite as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow what a place. The food is simply ama ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wow what a place. The food is simply amazing. A must go to on the Montreal restaurant scene. Just to make it better the wire pairings for the tasting menu are equally delicious...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Each dish was a mouth explosion of sever ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Each dish was a mouth explosion of several flavored, distinct with every bite, yet melded perfectly. The leek course was freshness experienced.

Love this place, food and joie de vivre

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant lived up to its reputati ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant lived up to its reputation. Each course was exquisitely composed, but melted into comfort food the moment it was touched by your fork. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 35 minutes late due to "getti ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We arrived 35 minutes late due to "getting lost". It is in the Mile End neighborhood.

Luckily, the staff were gracious and happily seated us at our table. This is a prix-fix meal and choice is quite limited. I suggest your dinner guest pre-view the nights offering prior to arrival.

Over the top beautiful presentation with food perfectly cooked but slightly under seasoned. each course offered a nice complement to the entire meal service. This is a tight restaurant space and the chairs and table reflect that limited space. The staff service was premier in every way. Overall, a very good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Every course was reflective of gourmet e ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Every course was reflective of gourmet excellence! Fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wow, the food was absolutely fantastic! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wow, the food was absolutely fantastic! Especially loved the lobster salad! Everything was beautiful and well thought out. Highest compliments to the chef!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome meal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Love the pers ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service. Great food. Love the personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Meal was delicious, the tortellini and t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Meal was delicious, the tortellini and the meringue with sour cherry sauce in particular, and the service was phenomenal. I will definitely be back the next time I'm in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem that must not be missed on your n ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A gem that must not be missed on your next stop in Montreal. Can't praise the staff and food enough. This place is not pretentious but it easily could be. Wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our favorite reservation after ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

This was our favorite reservation after dining at Bouillon Bilk, L'Express, and Barocco. The presentations were beautiful and the food excellent. The young couple who have owned this restaurant for only a few years are driven by a passion for food and do not portend to compete with Boulud or the Thomas Kellers of the world. Our party of four, including a trained chef (who has worked with Takashi and Yamauchi) would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived to the time w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everything was outstanding: ambiance, service, food, presentation, and wine recommendation. Excellent in terms of value too. Top-notch in all respects. 'Wonderful' is the description that would be apt here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our whole dining experience seemed perfe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our whole dining experience seemed perfect! The atmosphere is cozy, a little off-beat, and in no way pretentious. The service was gracious, on-point, and not at all fussy. The food was incredible. Fresh seasonal ingredients and seemingly more flavor than should be possible to pack into one dish. Next time I am in Montreal I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie was a delig ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie was a delightfully charming restaurant experience in a beautiful And hip Montreal neighborhood. The tasty food coupled with the friendly and attentive service made it a winner for me! I'll definitely be back as often as possible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food is from heaven!!!! Don't miss!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is from heaven!!!! Don't miss!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting from Vancouver and beca ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We were visiting from Vancouver and became aware this resto from ratings on many sites. It lived up to its reputation. From the amuse-bouche through all courses, so creative and light fare. The wine list was a bit shallow but we found a decent bottle. Reservations are mandatory because of its size. Don't overlook this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious tasting menu, Nice cocktail li ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Delicious tasting menu, Nice cocktail list, excellent professional friendly service, great music and ambiance - all excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience :) excellent service, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Amazing experience :) excellent service, food and value.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best meal we have ever had. T ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

By far the best meal we have ever had. The service was incredible, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The food was gorgeously plated and unbelievably delicious. We almost felt bad eating the food because it looked so beautiful. It was overall a wonderful experience and one we will never forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Change in Menu

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is the 6th time we have gone to the Les Deux Singes in connection with our visit to Montreal for the Canadian GP. We have never been disappointed!! There has been a change in how the restaurant operates - from a full menu to a meat and vegetarian fixed menu. I had some concerns but our group had both fixed menus and we were very pleased. They will make limited substitutions for dietary issues. Always a pleasure going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Our second visit to Deux Singes was fabulous. The table d'houte menu was amazing and well worth the price. The service was friendly and timely. Don't miss this restaurant when in Montreal. In fact visit Montreal just to come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely lovely server appeared genuin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Absolutely lovely server appeared genuinely interested in us, made a wonderful wine suggestion and explained all our dishes with pleasure. The chef has made a tremendous commitment to keep his menu reflective of local offerings and it is simply delicious surprises for the diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing and delicious food. T ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Absolutely amazing and delicious food. The presentation was just as impressive, if not more. Both of us enjoyed the lovely tasting menu and haven't been able to stop talking about it! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small & Charming

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a wonderful neighborhood spot for a well-curated meal with lot's of detail in each dish. Vegetarian offering is a standard. Attentive service. Food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I think that this has been my 6th meal a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I think that this has been my 6th meal at Les Deux Singes in as many years, and it remains my favorite restaurant in North America. The food is always excellent, with interesting ingredients and combinations; and the service is friendly and personal without ever being intrusive. Again, we sat at the counter, which I believe has the best seats in the house: watching the chefs prepare the plates with such love helps you to understand the development of the dishes that will eventually reach you, adding to the pleasure of tasting them. The music is always top-notch, and perfectly compliments the setting, and is never too loud. And the staff is so sincere: it's evident that they love this restaurant; and for the time that you're their guest, you feel that they love you, too! 6 stars out of 5!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent End-to-End

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dining at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie was the highlight of a week in Montreal that included many of the top rated restaurants in the city. Each dish was well composed both visually and to the palate, and my wife and I grinned compulsively as we sample each course in turn. Top marks all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fantastic restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My Husband and I dined here for my Birthday and absolutely loved the whole experience. It was a bit of a last minute pick when we couldn't be bothered getting an uber to another restaurant and we are SO happy we came across this restaurant (and annoyed we hadn't found it earlier!).

There are two menus - the vegetarian tasting menu and the meat tasting menu and we ordered both (vegetarian for me, meat for my Husband). We both tried each others meals and agreed that every single dish was perfect!

The service was great and everything from what was on the menu to the components of the dishes was explained to us thoroughly. The quality of the food was evident with each bite.

Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to expectations

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on its #1 ranking on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent, both in taste and presentation. The asparagus-based dish was particularly tasty. Herbs are grown right there on the bar counter so no doubts about freshness. Service was wonderful as we were waited upon by two, both being knowledgeable of the dishes they were serving and describing each. Ambient music was slightly loud for my taste. Despite being a small restaurant with only 8 tables plus bar, the noise level was quite high. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Overall a wonderful experience though and highly recommended.

If travelling by car, give yourself plenty of time to find parking as finding a parking space can be difficult in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service, good food.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

A small restaurant doesn't even have a notable sign at the front. It took me some time to find it. The price of 5 course tasting menu is reasonable. Each course was done in perfection except one, which I found it a bit too salty. It could be just a personal preference. Service is excellent. Cozy atmosphere. Restaurant is very busy. Remember to reserve a few days in advance specially near the weekend. Parking is also an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't want to do a disservice to the o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I don't want to do a disservice to the other dishes but the asparagus tartare with toasted brioche and tomato hollandaise was truly spectacular. As a vegetarian it is rare to feel so spoilt by a meal, every single bite was so thoughtfully put together. This was easily one of the best meals I have ever had. The wine is very reasonably priced and the service is stellar. A remarkable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and i try and come to this restaurant as often as we can. The food is simply amazing. The presentation and mix of flavours is unlike anything we have ever seen. The staff is wonderful. Very knowledgeable and classy. The restaurant is very modern with an open kitchen type of style. All the freshest ingredients are used, you can even see them growing the spices and flowers. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurent for any occasion, you wont regret it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unsuccessful Elevation of the Basics

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited for our trip to Montreal. The food was served in multiple courses in a very small and intimate setting. First course was off-menu and the best of the night - a dumpling in house-developed sauce. Delicious! By far the most romantic meal of the trip.

Unfortunately, the meal only became less impressive from this point featuring poorly seasoned vegetable and meat courses garnished with too many edible flowers in an attempt to beautify an otherwise dull presentation.

Needs more focus on taste and less on colorful purees amounting to mere color on a plate.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Wow. Down to earth elegance and deliciousness!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Incredibly imaginative food without being fussy and pretentious, and at reasonable price for fine dining. Down to earth, personalized and charming service. Our server genuinely remembered me and my fellow diners, and I hadn't been there in about a year. So delicious, I was ready to roll around happily on my plate. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Simply put this is the best most unique ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Simply put this is the best most unique restaurant in Montréal. The chef really knows his stuff. The fixed menu never disappoints. The staff are super nice and can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unparalleled Food, Service & Dedication

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second visit to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie & we were certain that it would not surpass our first experience (November 2015). We could not have been more wrong.

Our perfect evening began by being greeted at the door with "Welcome back!" which was surprising because it was only our second booking. This simple acknowledgement puts an instant smile on your face.

We requested bar seating (highly recommended) as you can watch the process of the food becoming art on a plate. The chef & the sous chefs are absolutely meticulous in the preparation of each dish. The talent in this kitchen is categorically a site to see.

And then there was the meal......there are barely words to describe it. Everything is perfect. It's visually stunning and the flavors are always perfectly balanced. The portions are in direct proportion for a tasting menu. Pure excellence.

We had fun conversation with the entire staff whilst enjoying our dessert & coffee. The atmosphere amongst the staff is friendly & cohesive. It 100% carries over to the guests. There is absolutely no pretension anywhere in this establishment. The owners/staff are dedicated to the ultimate customer experience and it shows.

We will continue to recommend Les Deux Singes de Montarvie to everyone we know & we look forward to future visits to this first-rate restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was a nice change of pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The tasting menu was a nice change of pace. We enjoyed every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.