About Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

176, Saint-Viateur Ouest
Montreal, QC H2T2L3
View Larger Map

Seasonal tasting menus

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Vegetarian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00 pm -10:30 pm

Cross Street:
De l'Esplanade & Waverly

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 278-6854

Website:
http://www.lesdeuxsingesdemontarvie.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking, paid and unpaid

Public Transit:
Metro Rosemont or Metro Laurier
Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.

Executive Chef:
Sean Murray Smith

Private Party Facilities:
For group reservations 7 people and more

Private Party Contact:
Nada Abou Younes: 5142786854x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montreal / Quebec
Best Food
Montreal / Quebec
Best Service
Montreal / Quebec
10 More
Best Value
Montreal / Quebec
Fit for Foodies
Montreal / Quebec
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal / Quebec
Best Overall
Montreal
Best Food
Montreal
Best Service
Montreal
Best Ambiance
Montreal
Best Value
Montreal
Fit for Foodies
Montreal
Neighborhood Gem
Montreal
Best Restaurants in Mile End ›

fit for foodies (52)
special occasion (49)
neighborhood gem (44)
See All
romantic (34)
hot spot (13)
notable wine list (11)
good for groups (6)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great staff, great meal, fair pricing

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent End-to-End

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dining at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie was the highlight of a week in Montreal that included many of the top rated restaurants in the city. Each dish was well composed both visually and to the palate, and my wife and I grinned compulsively as we sample each course in turn. Top marks all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

My Husband and I dined here for my Birthday and absolutely loved the whole experience. It was a bit of a last minute pick when we couldn't be bothered getting an uber to another restaurant and we are SO happy we came across this restaurant (and annoyed we hadn't found it earlier!). There are two menus - the vegetarian tasting menu and the meat tasting menu and we ordered both (vegetarian for me, meat for my Husband). We both tried each others meals and agreed that every single dish was perfect! The service was great and everything from what was on the menu to the components of the dishes was explained to us thoroughly. The quality of the food was evident with each bite. Definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lived up to expectations

Dined on April 30, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on its #1 ranking on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. The food was excellent, both in taste and presentation. The asparagus-based dish was particularly tasty. Herbs are grown right there on the bar counter so no doubts about freshness. Service was wonderful as we were waited upon by two, both being knowledgeable of the dishes they were serving and describing each. Ambient music was slightly loud for my taste. Despite being a small restaurant with only 8 tables plus bar, the noise level was quite high. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Overall a wonderful experience though and highly recommended. If travelling by car, give yourself plenty of time to find parking as finding a parking space can be difficult in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, good food.

Dined on April 29, 2016

A small restaurant doesn't even have a notable sign at the front. It took me some time to find it. The price of 5 course tasting menu is reasonable. Each course was done in perfection except one, which I found it a bit too salty. It could be just a personal preference. Service is excellent. Cozy atmosphere. Restaurant is very busy. Remember to reserve a few days in advance specially near the weekend. Parking is also an issue.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I don't want to do a disservice to the o ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I don't want to do a disservice to the other dishes but the asparagus tartare with toasted brioche and tomato hollandaise was truly spectacular. As a vegetarian it is rare to feel so spoilt by a meal, every single bite was so thoughtfully put together. This was easily one of the best meals I have ever had. The wine is very reasonably priced and the service is stellar. A remarkable experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and i try and come to this restaurant as often as we can. The food is simply amazing. The presentation and mix of flavours is unlike anything we have ever seen. The staff is wonderful. Very knowledgeable and classy. The restaurant is very modern with an open kitchen type of style. All the freshest ingredients are used, you can even see them growing the spices and flowers. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurent for any occasion, you wont regret it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Unsuccessful Elevation of the Basics

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited for our trip to Montreal. The food was served in multiple courses in a very small and intimate setting. First course was off-menu and the best of the night - a dumpling in house-developed sauce. Delicious! By far the most romantic meal of the trip. Unfortunately, the meal only became less impressive from this point featuring poorly seasoned vegetable and meat courses garnished with too many edible flowers in an attempt to beautify an otherwise dull presentation. Needs more focus on taste and less on colorful purees amounting to mere color on a plate.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wow. Down to earth elegance and deliciousness!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Incredibly imaginative food without being fussy and pretentious, and at reasonable price for fine dining. Down to earth, personalized and charming service. Our server genuinely remembered me and my fellow diners, and I hadn't been there in about a year. So delicious, I was ready to roll around happily on my plate. I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put this is the best most unique ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Simply put this is the best most unique restaurant in Montréal. The chef really knows his stuff. The fixed menu never disappoints. The staff are super nice and can't wait to go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unparalleled Food, Service & Dedication

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was our second visit to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie & we were certain that it would not surpass our first experience (November 2015). We could not have been more wrong. Our perfect evening began by being greeted at the door with "Welcome back!" which was surprising because it was only our second booking. This simple acknowledgement puts an instant smile on your face. We requested bar seating (highly recommended) as you can watch the process of the food becoming art on a plate. The chef & the sous chefs are absolutely meticulous in the preparation of each dish. The talent in this kitchen is categorically a site to see. And then there was the meal......there are barely words to describe it. Everything is perfect. It's visually stunning and the flavors are always perfectly balanced. The portions are in direct proportion for a tasting menu. Pure excellence. We had fun conversation with the entire staff whilst enjoying our dessert & coffee. The atmosphere amongst the staff is friendly & cohesive. It 100% carries over to the guests. There is absolutely no pretension anywhere in this establishment. The owners/staff are dedicated to the ultimate customer experience and it shows. We will continue to recommend Les Deux Singes de Montarvie to everyone we know & we look forward to future visits to this first-rate restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The tasting menu was a nice change of pa ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The tasting menu was a nice change of pace. We enjoyed every bite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artists at work

Dined on March 16, 2016

One of my five best dining experiences ever. I was in Montreal alone but that has never kept me from enjoying fine food. The restaurant only seated about 30 people, including a few seats at the bar. I had reservations, but they let me choose either the bar or a table for two. I sat at the counter and watched the artists at work assembling my meal for over two hours. I chose a very reasonable fixed price option. I posted pictures on Facebook as I ate and my friends enjoyed the experience with me. The food was beautiful and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best restaurant that I've ever had i ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

The best restaurant that I've ever had in mtl! Love it thank you guys gave me a great experience. Appreciate that.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, attentive service, great a ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Amazing food, attentive service, great atmosphere. Nothing but good things to say.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite, friendly -- we're totally won over!

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is without doubt one of the finest restaurants in the city. The food is exquisitely prepared, and the service friendly, solicitous to the point of making us feel we've found a home away from home. This restaurant seats no more than a couple of dozen max, and yet makes it a policy to take one pair of patrons per table per night, to ensure a relaxed dining experience. The atmosphere is gentle, intimate, and not too formal. Having my name chalked on the reserved sign on the table was a special touch. The restaurant now offers two tasting menus (one meat, the other vegetarian) that change every three weeks -- but this ensures plenty of variety, and each plate is a work of art. This is high-end dining, but the experience is well worth the price, and we'll be regulars for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Changes...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Was there on Saturday, i was very disappointed that they change their formula. Instead of a regular menu like they use to have, they have only 2 4 services menus. I will have to find a new favorite restaurant.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awakening of the taste buds

Dined on February 17, 2016

We tried Les deux Singes de Montarvie for the first time for my wife's birthday. Along with friends, I was looking for something different that she would remember. Bullseye! The tasting menu made it easy: we could only choose between the regular and the vegetarian. It is just as well because they were not dishes that we typically would have picked but what a pleasant surprise. Every dish was a new pleasant experience for the taste buds. All of us loved it and would go back again. One of our friends took the vegetarian menu and she loved it as well. The service was great and friendly. Only low note is the wine list which was disappointing. Everything else was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience

Dined on February 17, 2016

From the moment you arrive to the restaurant, to the last bite, dinner at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is just an outstanding experience. The food is delicately presented and after feed your eyes with color and texture it explode in flavor inside your mouth. The waiting times are perfect and you never get the sensation of too much time passing between dishes. The portions may look tinny, however, be patient, the full experience seems designed to fit every spark of flavor on your dinner. Believe me, you will end satisfy and not being able to get another bite. Fresh herbs and flowers are add to the dishes. Strange and exotic flavors are mixed with well know ones. The fact you have just two choices make it even greater, you just have the sensation of the chef surprising you with his own skills. You feel this is the best you can get when you let the professionals do their job. The service was also fantastic. Kind and opportune, never interrupting our conversation but integrating in a really smooth way the experience. People smile at you and you feel good to be dinning there. The ambiance is also really nice, the restaurant is tinny what gives you a sensation of exclusivity. Even the size, you do not feel like it is overcrowded. We want to come back for sure, and we truly recommend this place. We were so happy to have taken the chance to experience Les Deux Singes de Montarvie.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasting menu was outstanding.

Dined on February 16, 2016

Tasting menu was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Believe the hype

Dined on February 14, 2016

Spectacularly good... food, presentation, service, every little thing was perfection. Sit at the bar if you can to watch these talented young chefs in action. Killer vibe and energy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Little gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were recommended this hotel by a colleague of my husbands, and what a marvellous suggestion. Small but stylish with an open kitchen so if you are eating at the bar you can see everything that is going on. Wait staff very efficient. Set menu if three courses but an amous-bouch, all were excellent. We gave already recommended and will go again

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Even though you don't really get to pick ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Even though you don't really get to pick your food from the menu, our food experience at this restaurant was amazing! They change their menu every month or so and it is an incredible culinary experience. The chef knows what he's doing and the service is top notch. So many layers of flavour to each dish. Food served hot which is very important to me. Loved the whole place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in all respects

Dined on February 6, 2016

The food and service were wonderful. We had to wait a long time to get a reservation. They seemed to have one sitting and may be better with a early and later dinner. Every dish was creative and tasteful. There is a prix fixe vegetarian and meat menu. It could be a problem if you do not like the dish on the menu on a given night. We found it charming and romantic and the food was oh so good !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find!

Dined on February 5, 2016

Every course of the tasting menu was excellent. We loved sitting at the bar and watching the prep. Service was outstanding and a reasonable wine selection. Great place, highly recommend! We will be back the next time we're in Montreal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely exquisite food

Dined on February 5, 2016

This is a restaurant that gets everything right - keeping it simple with two tasting menus and putting out inventive and exquisitely presented meals in a cozy and relaxed atmosphere. I thoroughly enjoyed each course, particularly the poutine of squash which I could have over and over again. Who new you could feel healthy eating poutine?? I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Thank you for a memorable meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on February 2, 2016

It was our second time at Les Deux Singes de Montarvie and, again, it was a delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good but not great

Dined on February 2, 2016

Tried this restaurant based on its #1 rating on TripAdvisor and was left a little underwhelmed. Food was good but not great, and so for the price, felt it wasn't a good value. The best dish was the amuse bouche. Their tasting menu changes however so it's possible we had one that didn't quite suit our tastes. Service was great. Portions were good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A wonderful experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for dinner, four of us. The whole menu was a delight, very different but extremly tasty. We shall return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at a great price

Dined on January 29, 2016

The food at Les Deux Singes is exquisitely prepared. Creative and novel without being gimmicky or bizarre. Sensitively balanced flavors with stunning presentation. At first I was a littl bummed I was seated at the bar. But I really enjoyed watching the prep cooks assemble their masterpieces with fresh herbs cut right in front of me and delicate floral arrangements. The backless stool at the bar did start to get uncomfortable after about an hour. The wine pairings were perfectly done and it was a lot of fun chatting with the friendly waiter and hostess about the selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, What a Discovery

Dined on January 28, 2016

Unbelievable. On a side street in a neighborhood remote from downtown Montreal. Barely a sign on the outside of the small window front establishment and the decor on the inside slightly removed from neglected sweat shop, however, the professionalism and attentiveness of the staff was perfect. My wife and I met my cousin's husband there and the staff were so gracious in allowing us to catch up on 30 years of family matters, intervening only at the most appropriate times. The food is indescribable. A fixed price menu with a vegetable selection and a meat and fish selection. We all chose the meat and fish menu. Each course was a piece of art which you were able to observe being created in the open kitchen by a team of true professionals. Each bite of each course was an explosion of incredible gustatory pleasure. We have had the good fortune of traveling all around the world, and the experience we had in this little gem of a restaurant was as good or better than we have experienced anywhere. We cannot recommend the place any more highly and can't wait to return. What a wonderful evening they provided us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Passionately Creative

Dined on January 27, 2016

Creative dishes with great plating but a bit too salty & desert was a bit too sweet. Disappointed the Pork Osso Bucco was a bit dry & overcooked. Perhaps pre-prepared in large quantities since everyone gets the same dish because of their fixed menu formula. However, the Mushroom Carpaccio was spot on! The eclectic vibe is very enjoyable & their passion is palpable.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Just really tasty. Bold flavours, not de ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Just really tasty. Bold flavours, not delicate, but just enough to wake up your taste buds. Menu changes often.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Toque wife onbirthday diner,fantastic experience!

Dined on January 20, 2016

really good food, really good wine, super service!! already recommended to all my friends!! C

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Intimae gem in Montreal's Plateau district

Dined on January 16, 2016

Given the #1 rating on TripAdvisor, this restaurant was smaller and more homey than we expected. The menu was very limited -- just the six-course prix fixe, vegetarian or with meat -- but the food itself was excellent: tasty, inventive without being weird, portions just large enough, beautifully presented. Unusual, well-priced wine as well. The waiter was just the right amount of friendly. I could imagine making this a regular spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting food - Great service!

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food here was inventive and interesting. Not everything was executed perfectly.... the quail was dry etc.... The service was very good and the drinks were excellent! Good value for the money.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice food and lovely service

Dined on January 8, 2016

We had dinner at this restaurant and tasted their special 4 course meal. I took the vegetarian option and my husband the non vegetarian. All four courses were very tasty and special. Portions were just the right size and the service was excellent. The wine list is OK but could be expanded.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When in Montreal, explore the neighborhoods.

Dined on January 8, 2016

When you start off the year at le deux singes, it will be hard to top this experience in 2016. Charming neighborhood gem on Rue Saint- Viatur. Dinner memorable and prices amazing for this New Yorker. Ambiance warm and inviting. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Hard to return to NYC where bad service is too often de rigeur.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is good and there is Le deux Les Deux Singes

Dined on January 7, 2016

I went with y girlfriend to surprise her, "pour la gâter" how she says in french. We ordered the two fixed menus. Vegetarian Tasting and Regular Tasting + a bottle of white wine (sauvignon) . The Restaurant fulfill all my expectations and even more. The staff is incredible, and the Chef is just amazing!! I sat at the bar (with close view to all the kitchen staff) to see them work the magic, is a little cozy place that, for sure I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.