About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
1 More
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Scenic View (51)
Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (8)
Historic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Live Music (6)
Cozy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Dancing (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The view is spectacular! I got the Chef' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The view is spectacular! I got the Chef's Special-New York strip topped with crab and shrimp.

The steak was very disappointing...I could barely cut into it (it was cooked medium) and quite rubbery. The crab and shrimp was great! The service was also excellent...just did not care for loud holiday party in the room beside us.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

How do I start dismantling this Pittsbur ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

How do I start dismantling this Pittsburgh establishment? The take away is: “stay way at all costs.”

LeMont started in 1960. In a city that has recently strived to build a foodie community, LeMont is an embarrassment.

The menu at LeMont is “old school.” This would be fine if the food was well-prepared, but it is not. My steak was so over-salted that I have not been able to drink enough water to recover my homeostasis. I may need dialysis.

Wine is marked up over 300%.

The bottom line: if you want a view and like good food, go somewhere else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

What we expected to be a special evening ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What we expected to be a special evening was dampened by the poor food quality and service. For a restaurant that has fine dining prices the overall experience was that of an Applebee's. Food was not prepared as ordered and the sides were cold. The manager apologized for the disastrous dinner and credited our cocktails. A nice gesture however if a restaurant is going to catagorize itself as fine dining they need to be sure they can live up to its standards!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wonderful as always, outstanding service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful as always, outstanding service, food, view. Quiet so you can have conversation, enjoy a cocktail and finish the evening with good fresh coffee and amazing selection of desserts to choose from. Great valet service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was some of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was some of the best I've ever had and the view from our table was stunning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been in the united state for 3 ye ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been in the united state for 3 years from different states (FL,PA,CL)and I have never seen Best restaurants same as LeMont in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My experience was absolutely amazing!! I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My experience was absolutely amazing!! It was beautiful and the food and drinks were great. The staff, especially our waiter Marco, we're so kind and helpful also. I have plans to go back in the very near future.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got married at LeMont last year and went ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Got married at LeMont last year and went back to celebrate our first anniversary. Dinner was great as always and they even let us order a dish from our wedding that wasn't on the normal menu.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience was very pleasant. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The ambience was very pleasant. The food was outstanding and our waiter, Tommy Z. went out of his way to make sure our anniversary dinner was very memorable. Can't begin to tell you how great the view was overlooking the city of Pittsburgh. Excellent place and not overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Lemont. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful in choosing an entre. The view is always outstanding. On this occasion, we were able to see the Pitt vs. Virginia Tech game at Heinz Field. (It was also on the tv in the bar area where we were seated.) We enjoyed or food and will be going back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic. I went to propose ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. I went to propose to my fiancé and the maitre-d and waiters were spot on. Danielle and Bill were their names and they helped the event go unforgettably. The food was to die for and the atmosphere was romantic.

AND THE VIEW. GOOD LORD.

The dessert and overall dining experience were breathtaking and I will never forget my experience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Music, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Dancing, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THIS RESTAURANT IS SUPERB! GREAT SERVICE ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

THIS RESTAURANT IS SUPERB!

GREAT SERVICE AND GREAT VIEW... FOOD WAS AMAZING AND ATMOSPHERE WAS FRIENDLY AND ELEGANT.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First and foremost I have to say of all ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

First and foremost I have to say of all the "above" the standard restaurants in Pittsburgh, my experience at LeMont was less than average. I spoke with a "manager" on 3 occasions prior to my reservation and was assured that dessert would be plate of carrot cake with "happy birthday" wrote in chocolate icing. Upon requesting the dessert menu our waiter took it upon himself to bring out a generic piece of vanilla cake with a pink candle in it assuming it was my birthday and not my husband's. He was obviously told some type of instructions but was either not told properly or was ignorant to the details I had arranged prior. After the first piece was delivered and was rejected I asked for the check since the surprise for my husband was ruined. The waiter then proceeded to bring out a second piece of the same generic vanilla cake with a blue candle in it. At this point he was not listening to the customer attempting to salvage his tip. The food was not worth the price either- chicken was dry appeared to be under a warning lamp for some time while my husband's filet was ordered medium rare and it was obviously under cooked for his preference also being filled with fat in the middle.

All things considered would not recommend or return.

Pittsburgh is thriving with new up and coming restaurants that surpass this dull outdated establishment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great views, great service and great vie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great views, great service and great views. Pricey but worth the cost for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful experience. The serv ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. The service was some of the best I have experienced. Everything was served perfectly on cue. Everyone's meal was perfect! The beautiful view, live jazz music and dancing really created a glamorous atmosphere, kind of 1930's movie. Lots of fun, even for my 15 year old daughter and her friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time there and it was great. Beaut ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 12, 2016

First time there and it was great. Beautiful view of Pittsburgh

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a memorable evening for our 45t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a memorable evening for our 45th wedding anniversary. The server was Mark and he was gracious, attentive, excellent professional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal, old school under the huge ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Fabulous meal, old school under the huge chandeliers & overlooking the city. The special was surf & turf, which was delicious (but probably should've ordered medium rare instead of medium). Beware the stuffed banana peppers are VERY spicy! Among the other desserts, they serve Prantl's burnt almond torte!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service were great, but ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food and the service were great, but the view was pure entertainment. We watched Pittsburgh go from daytime to night. Beautiful!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had relatives visiting Pittsburgh for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I had relatives visiting Pittsburgh for the first time and chose the LeMont for the ambiance and great view of the city. We were seated at a table by the window and the view was terrific. Our waiter was very nice and attentive as was the hostess who seated us. Most of us selected from the 2016 celebration menu. The food was okay but not outstanding for the price. I would come back again.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was nothing special and the ser ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was nothing special and the service was awful. The view was the only thing good about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I spoke with someone from LeMont on thre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I spoke with someone from LeMont on three different occasions due to our business dinner meeting grew from 8, 10 and finally 12 people. I stressed that this was a business dinner and needed dinner to go well. With hardly any other customers in the restaurant, maybe four other tables on a Thursday evening at 7pm, they had only 1 server on our table. We were ready to order 3 or 4 appetizers but by the time we saw our server again, we skipped the appetizers and ordered dinner. The meals took a long time to be served and the manager never once stopped to ask how everything was. I apologized to my customers and would never again dine at LeMont.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

we were in for duquesne 50th college reu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

we were in for duquesne 50th college reunion. my husband had had many a wonderful experience at this restaurant. this was not one of them. the ambiance was great and service as well. the escargot was awful which was sent back. the caesar was awful only topped by the dreadful rack of lamb. such a shame. i can only hope the restaurant benefits from this review since i rarely if ever give a bad review.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was impeccable as well as all en ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was impeccable as well as all entrees. First time in many years that we had visited the Lemont and everything is still as wonderful as it was 40 years ago!!

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is worth the price of admission ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The view is worth the price of admission. Saturday nights with live music makes for a very enjoyable evening. Our waiter, Marco was very attentive and made good recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday evening veal porterhouse w/seaf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Saturday evening veal porterhouse w/seafood(2), duck with raspberry sauce( 1) was great but the salmon with strawberry was not to any of our liking. Potatoes were a bit dry instead of creamy. vegies were good. crème brule was good also. Service - Denise - was great, timely and not overbearing. The table/seating with a view was excellent. We had a great evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to The Le Mont for my three year an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went to The Le Mont for my three year anniversary with my girlfriend. Our seat overlooking Pittsburgh offered a great view. The food was excellent and there were many options on the menu. Our server was fantastic and took great care of us.

Would absolutely recommend this Restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved LeMont. Old fashioned elegant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We loved LeMont. Old fashioned elegant charm and excellent service. The view is spectacular and we loved every minute of our meal there. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service all around cold food never ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Poor service all around cold food never offered a wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

THE ATMOSPHERE WAS AMAZING, LIVE MUSIC. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2016

THE ATMOSPHERE WAS AMAZING, LIVE MUSIC. THE FILET MIGNON WAS SUPERB. STAFF WAS PLEASANT. THE VIEW WAS SECOND TO NONE. WILL BE BACK.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of Pittsburgh's finer dining ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of Pittsburgh's finer dining experiences with a knockout view of the city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the table over looking the ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The view from the table over looking the Pittsburgh Skyline and 3 rivers was simply awesome, I'm not sure you could find or ask for a better view anywhere!

Service was outstanding as well and the restaurant's décor etc. was first class all the way!

Food was good but in comparison to the view, service, décor and seeing that it is Pittsburgh's only 5 star restaurant, in my opinion the food didn't measure up.

Not that the food was bad or anything it was in fact good but I have had better for less money.

If the food had been like the view, service and décor it would have been an incredible dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

French Onion soup was very good. Duck an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2016

French Onion soup was very good. Duck and sea bass were both good. The potatoes were very dry and the vegetables were just average. Dessert was very good as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary celebration with my wife. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Anniversary celebration with my wife. We had a great server and the view from the Lemont is amazing. However the food was average at best. Very old fashioned. If not for the view and our friendly server, it would have been a poor overall review. The view sells this place so the food does not need to sell it. The NY Strip had so much bleu cheese on top that it was basically inedible. My wife's filet was pretty good. The sides on each plate were an average steamed mix of veggies and some watery mixture. Chocolate cake for dessert was stale.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a beautiful view of the Pittsburg ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a beautiful view of the Pittsburgh skyline and the 3 rivers. Great service and able to relax.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had me pick a restaurant for ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband had me pick a restaurant for my birthday. I chose LeMont because the online menu looked fabulous, and we hadn't had a Caesar salad prepared tableside in years. Although the food was good, the actual menu was very limited and boring, and the waiter informed us that they don't prepare Caesar salads tableside unless they're not busy. The waitstaff catered mostly to the numerous large parties, and as the night went on they paid less and less attention to our party of two. We asked our waiter to see the dessert cart, and he never did bring it. We finally just flagged him down to get our check and pay our $200 bill, regretting that we hadn't gone to The Carlton instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

amazing experience there food and people ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 27, 2016

amazing experience there food and people were great :)

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The décor and view are great. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The décor and view are great. The food was good, not great. I honestly expected better since it's "Le Mont". Three people asked for medium rare steaks, all received medium well, which isn't acceptable for any restaurant let alone a nice one. They have a very nice $30 bottle wine list which is a great deal. However, we didn't get the wine we ordered- but I blame us for not noticing sooner and we didn't then say anything about it. I would go for the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They certainly have restored to physical ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

They certainly have restored to physicality of the restaurant to its original grandeur, perhaps beyond, but you can't eat chandeliers. The presentation of the oysters was a culinary sin. Piled high with the chunkiest mignonette I have seen, the oysters themselves were bereft of flavor, I suspect they had been rinsed. The entree, a special, was a grizzly steak topped with crab and a bearnaise sauce. Unfortunately the steak, past the grizzle, had no color nor flavor. The crab was such an overwhelming portion that it overpowered the dish with flavorless richness. Other food observations were cooked tomatoes that hadn't had skins removed, a pile of escargot vs normal portions, an overdressed Caesar salad, and diner worthy dessert selections. Service was competent, but uniforms didn't fit and looked unkempt. At $125 per person, a very disappointing celebration, especially since there are so many wonderful alternatives in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.