Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

LeMont Restaurant

4.5
661 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Scenic View
LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 431-3100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Vargo
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Fine Dining
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Meridan St
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano, easy-listening
icon/ic_gift_cardCreated with Sketch.
Gift Card
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate event, LeMont Restaurant can accommodate all of your special event needs.

View Private Dining Details
What 661 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.6
service
4.8
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Great scenery. Wonderful staff. Give them the highest grade. Food was very disappointing. Dry mash potatoes. Filet was dry and overcooked. Asked for medium well, understood...... but should be charred a bit, slightly pink and very juicy. I do it all the time on my own grill.

Everything else was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has really gone downhill. We arrived a few minutes early for our 8:30 reservation with a window table request, however rather than asking us when we arrived if we would accept a non-window table, they had us wait until after 9:00 before even offering one. We did check with the hostess after 20 minutes waiting in the lounge and she assured us they had not forgotten us. It was about 9:10 by the time we were finally seated on the balcony which is nowhere near the windows. The food wasn't even good enough to be called mediocre. It was downright awful. We ordered the swordfish, which was tasteless and dry except for the sauce served on the side, and the stuffed veal which looked and tasted like frozen and reheated leftovers, and had no flavor whatsoever...plus the seafood stuffed inside was fishy tasting and below average quality. Everything on my plate was smashed together, another sign that it was likely reheated leftovers. The mashed potatoes were hard and not hot, clearly not fresh. The vegetables were overcooked and faded in color. The lemont salad and rolls were ok. The Merlot wine was very good. Our waiter Raymond was also very good and our food came out very quickly, again because it wasn't anything near fresh. I've been there several times over the years when it was much better, but we decided to quit going several years ago when we sensed it was going downhill. Thought we'd give it another shot since it had been a while. This time was definitely our last time. You're paying for the view more than anything, but the food used to be exceptional, while this time it wasn't even passable. We can get a view outside for free and get fast food that's fresher.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed in the food quality. Given the expenditure, I would have expected a substantially better meal. The waiter recommended the chop and although the size of the entree was overwhelming, there was so much fat and gristle it was unappetizing and difficult to eat. The potato dish appeared as if it were created with an instant recipe and little flavor. I would not eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated my mom's 75th birthday and was so happy we chose the LeMont for the occasion. The service was great, food was good and the view was spectacular. We thank the captain for giving us a window table. If you order the French onion soup, it was the best I've ever had, but is huge and very filling. I wasn't able to finish my main course for being so full.
Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always good food and great atmosphere at the LeMont. Impressive view too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

If you are looking for the best city view in the USA, great service and good food go to the LeMont. If those things don’t interest you.. go someplace else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It is so hard to believe that after all these years as being an iconic restaurant with their view that they can't get a chef that can make food taste good. Just try the absolutely dried out tasteless crusted swordfish dish and/or the gritty poor texture fillet and see for yourself. It is so sad. I WANT this place to be better. The chef either smokes and has no taste buds...or simply does not test his food...or both. very disappointing. At lease the service, bar and music plus view were good So just go for drinks and eat at home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Gorgeous view outside. Classically beautiful inside. Polite and accommodating staff. Delicious food. Special place. Gem of Pittsburgh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Beautiful view of the city. Great food and great bar selection

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate a special occasion. The food and the service were great. The view was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

View and Service were great. Food could be more imaginative.
Vegetable melody was plain and potatoes were stiff and dry.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The view is fantastic. The staff was very friendly and excellent overall. The food was mediocre to poor, sadly. The decor seems old.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Overall a fine dining experience. Ambience is very nice. Nice quiet place and view that is hard to beat. Food was good but not ‘great’. Osso Bucco was slightly drier than hoped. Wife’s steak was good but not great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Service was subpar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Outstanding service from Tom. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Fish was dry and bland. The duck was overcooked, very fat and the skin was nearly burnt. The souce was very nice. Boiled carrots in sugerwater and salted potates were ok but did little to save the meal. The service was very good. The ambiance very nice and spetecular views.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Lemont was so delicious and was everything we expected from the food to the views it did not disappoint

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

This is a Pittsburgh staple. Older male waiters in tails, some table side preparation if you ask for it. WAY over priced for the quality of the food but the view and experience is worth it for a special occasion. The bar is absolutely beautiful. The crystal chandelier's are stunning. It's fun for the glitz and the glam but don't go to have your best meal ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Beautiful scenery

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Delicious meal and excellent service from Tom. Combined with the beautiful surroundings and exceptional view, a truly memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our waiter Raymond was great! Can’t beat the view!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Wonderful experience as always, prompt service and personal attention. Ordered the lamb rack and was delicious and hubby has the steak which was done

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Fantastic everything! Great food as well as the view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Wounderful dinner, but unfortunately, we booked during a Penguins loss, so the noise level was higher than anticipated. Regardless, this restaurant has amazing views of the river & downtown Pittsburgh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The LeMont was recommended by a local friend and it did not disappoint. Absolutely exceptional! From the moment the valet parked the car the service was first class. The food was wonderfully prepared and the views of the City of Pittsburgh are second to none. They allow you to relax and enjoy every course of your meal and truly savor the experience. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We enjoyed everything. Unbelievable view and delicious food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The food was wonderful and the view was better! We went at open and pretty much had the restaurant to ourselves. This was great because we had just gotten engaged, our waiter Thomas took great care of us in making our special day even more special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The LeMont is an experience. The food is not "foodie" food but good traditional restaurant food. They have a fixed prix menu which is a great value. The service is great. Go for the view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

The service was excellent! Tom was an amazing server. He was very attentive to our every need. The view was amazing! We recommend this restaurant for those who want an elegant experience. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Fabulous view, food and service. The Caesar salad made tableside is a wonderful start and the desserts round out just a top notch experience. This place never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

For my kids the experience was about the location and view, the highlight of the night. Staff is excellent but the food is mediocre. Will choose another restaurant in this location next time. Completely overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Friends of ours from out of town joined us to experience the Duquesne incline and an evening of fine dining. LeMont did not disappoint! The server was top notch and very attentive yet not intrusive. Our meals were beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. We were placed by a window (I had requested this) and the view was (is) extraordinary. The only suggestion the 4 of us agreed on, was to remove the Tv from the bar area. It reflected on our view, and quite frankly seemed out of place in this elegant restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I had my wedding reception there 11 years ago. We had a gift card to use up so we decided for our anniversary we would go back. The decor is beautiful and so is the ambiance but the food needs updated. I was not wowed by anything on the menu. We got the crab meat hoelzel and asked for a crab cake too. I saw one for an entree and asked if it could be served as an appetizer, the server said yes, we will charge you half--that was fine but when it came that was the most underwhelming $20.00 crab cake of my life. It tasted very mediocre and average. I had the grilled swordfish with rice and mixed vegetables for my entree. It was just ok. The wine was served in a wine glass thicker than I am used to drinking wine out of. Our reservation was late (9:15pm) and I felt that the server didn't take his time with us, it felt hurried. He was still a good server, but overall not the best experience and the food was just very underwhelming for the price. I feel that the Lemont is a great landmark and will stay make its budget by resting on it's laurels but in order to take things to the next level, the food desperately needs updated and freshened up.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Food was wonderful, view was great, excellent service. The rolls were a little dry though... maybe they're supposed to be that way, just not my preference.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

My wife and I had out anniversary dinner at Lemont. Arrived a little early. Seated promptly. Excellent seats overlooking Pittsburgh. Evening views are spectacular from here! Dinner was wow good. Food temp was perfect. Steak was perfect. Dessert was perfect. What more needs to be said.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

It's a great restaurant for that special occasion or when you want to treat yourself or that special someone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

The view is amazing looking across Pittsburgh at nigbt. The ambiance is great and our waiter Marco was awesome. I would highly recommend the lemont. It is a little pricy for our budget but worth it for special nights.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Excellent service from Tom, food was excellent, atmosphere and view of
City was great

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Very dependable and classy! It is a pure glimpse of our great city's past and my heart is warmed when a younger generation is having special evenings by the windows. Great food...no! Very good food.... yes! Ambiance.... perfect! It is always a great night at the LeMont! I hope they stay there forever! And if they ever remodel, I hope they keep the elegance that we have come to love.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Must do restaurant when visiting Pitt. Amazing view of the city. Outstanding service and dining. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17