About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
5 More
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (62)
special occasion (50)
romantic (47)
See All
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (11)
notable wine list (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were greeted by the lovely hostess wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were greeted by the lovely hostess with a big smile on her face welcoming us. Our table wasn't quite ready so she escorted us to the bar and we had a drink. The entire dining experience was lovely. The view is perfect. And the music they play is perfect. Old school love songs were spot on. The decor is rich and warm. The food is delicious. One of our favorite new spots. We Will be back! Our server was Beth and she was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Entertainment, Service, View Fabulous! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Entertainment, Service, View Fabulous!

Our Waiter was Extremely busy---but did not interfere with the service we received

SO GLAD there is entertainment in the lounge--We will DEFINITELY come back

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was perfect!! They put us a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The ambiance was perfect!! They put us at the end of the ramp at the window at a private table. They had my flowers delivered from the florest before we got there. They made my spouse a birthday cake that melted in my mouth!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is absolutely spectacular. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is absolutely spectacular. The food was disappointing. Our group had crab cakes ( ate 1 but couldnt choke down the second one) duck- very bizarre sauce. Couldnt finish it. And huckleberry salmon which was not tasty at all. For a group of 5 we spent $350 & ledt the majority of food to be thrown out. Waiter never even asked if anything was qrong w our dinner! Wont be back for quite awhile.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Beautiful overlook of the city. Arrived ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful overlook of the city. Arrived early to sit at the bar only to be disappointed by the less than personable bartender (had to reorder drink due to something floating in it!) Waiter was nice, but forgot to bring our bottle of wine until we reminded him and also forgot about our dessert that came as part of meal. Not big issues, they were easily fixed, but at this level of restaurant everything should be spot-on. With that said, the ambience was great (table by window is a must if you want to watch the sunset), meal was 5-star (Duck and Pork Braciole).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary dinner here every year. The food is amazing and the service is second to none. We are always taken care of, and the price is very reasonable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed with the food presenta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very disappointed with the food presentation and taste. Beet salad was terrible. I would say canned beets were used and the greens were not crisp. My husband and I had the scallops, they were small in size and overcooked. The twice baked potato was even dry. Seems that the food was prepared earlier and microwaved. I had out of town visitors with us and I must say I was embarrassed. It certainly was not worth the price. Mike was our server and was very attentive and professional. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We always choose Le Mont for our anniver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always choose Le Mont for our anniversary--great food, great view, and romantic atmosphere. We received a special treat...great service.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After many trips to LeMont, we were fina ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

After many trips to LeMont, we were finally disappointed. As usual the service and breathy of the restaurant were great, but the food had much to be desired. Very special place. Hope the food improves.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had dinner for four celebrating an an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had dinner for four celebrating an anniversary. Food and service were great and the view of the Pittsburgh skyline was breathtaking. Recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for dinner and drin ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a great place for dinner and drinks.. And you get the best view of the City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The main entrees were tasty, but the sid ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The main entrees were tasty, but the sides were very mundane. Despite the availability of locally sourced vegetables, the veggies of the day consisted of carrots and soggy broccoli. The whipped potatoes were rather bland. The desserts appeared to be commercially sourced and not prepared by the kitchen. The rolls were tasty and bountiful. Live music was a nice touch but a bit too loud, making conversation a challenge.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great evening all around, highly recomme ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great evening all around, highly recommend this place to all!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was beautiful service was wonderful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

View was beautiful service was wonderful. We had a small appetizer, I had a salad, my husband had soup both were very good. We both had medium rare fillets. Vegetables swimming in a sweet sauce. Fingerling potatoes outstanding. Fillets were rare not medium rare. They were okay, but not prime. House wine not very good. 2 wines, one beer, plus tip $190. I would not even have minded if all of the food was really good, but it was not.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Definitely deserves its accolades. Spec ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Definitely deserves its accolades. Special experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived approximately 30 minutes earl ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We arrived approximately 30 minutes early and were seated immediately. The staff are professional and courteous. The view overlooking the city of Pittsburgh was fantastic! The food was prepared exactly as requested and was delicious. This is a five star restaurant, so it's pricey, but you get what you pay for. I highly recommend the LeMont for a romantic dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great night! Beautiful scenic view ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had a great night! Beautiful scenic view. Enjoyed music.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful, romantic dinner with ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a wonderful, romantic dinner with great food, and a helpful, yet unobtrusive staff. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The amazing food and and view of the cit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The amazing food and and view of the city were all worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We continue to dine with Lemont for our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We continue to dine with Lemont for our special occasions because of the excellent service, the excellent food, and the excellent view of our beautiful city! On top of that, they treat our grandson, Nathaniel, like a little prince! During our last experience Marco served us and he was as gracious as he always is! He took some excellent photos of our family, saw to our every need, and treated our little one like family! We can't wait to return! Thank you to the entire Lemont staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about our visit. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I loved everything about our visit. The view is one of the best in the world, overlooking the downtown area of Pittsburgh. We touched the sky as we dined in one of the many "windows on the world." The service by Denice was first-rate, supported by Dani, the Maitre 'D, a beautiful and talented woman who made the Bananas Foster to top off our visit. I had a seafood trio of lobster tail, salmon (with strawberries) and swordfish, all cooked to perfection, served with a twice baked potato, stuffed tomato and flavorful vegetables. My companion had a pasta with lobster, crab and other seafoods. Wow! Our salads were unique and presented well. All was special and delicious. We ate well and took food home. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been this restaurant and food good, ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've been this restaurant and food good, but our at 930pm results in cold food and an under-cooked steak. Ambiance, wine, waiter and view were great.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I remember when LaMont was a class act. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I remember when LaMont was a class act. Not now!! The noise from the combo playing music was overbearing. Why not just piano music until 9:00 PM then you can turn it into a disco night club if want music that loud!!! Also, I saw a man with Jeans on and another had a shirt with no collar that looked more like a tee shirt than a dress shirt. Would I recommend LaMont after this experience? I don't think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

This was our 50th anniversary and I requ ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our 50th anniversary and I requested a window table ahead of time. LeMont had a window table waiting for us when we arrived..perfect. The food was excellent as was our server. A very positive and memorable experience in all respects.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the chef's special, should have k ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We had the chef's special, should have known not to order seafood away from the coast. The salmon was ok, the swordfish was not edible, the lobster was good. The salad and the creme brulee were delicious.

Our server was great and the view was spectacular. We sat away from the bar, they had live music which was good, but would have been too loud for us if we sat close to the bar area.

I would still recommend this restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was fine except the table. Wh ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was fine except the table. While it was at the window it was extremely small. So small that we could not fit all of our food on it. That is, we couldn't have the bread or appetizer at the same time. Our main entree was pushing our glasses to the outer edges. In fact, our bottle of wine needed to be located more than six feet away, meaning we needed to wait for the waitstaff to return to refill our glasses. Kind of ridiculous for the price, really. Perhaps the should only seat people at the little table if they have simple dinners.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The delicious seafood medley was exceede ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The delicious seafood medley was exceeded only by the flaming bananas foster. Overall, surprisingly high quality food that was beautifully presented.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view is unbeatable. The food is dec ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The view is unbeatable. The food is decidedly average. The service is quite good and the restaurant is beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

I love this place

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been here multiple times , and have always been satisfied. It all begins with the vallet parking , service excellence , followed by an extravagant view , outstanding bread , succulent calamari appetizer and an amazing crab cakes dinner . Absolutely perfect .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Promise date

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I want a special place for my senior prom date. I chose this restaurant because I wanted a special memory instead of the stereotypical prom. My date and I enjoyed a fantastic dinner, view but most of all service. The waiter name was Tom. I hope his manger reads this post. Thank you for a memory..

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food...not up to snuff!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

The atmosphere is good and the service is very good. However, on a scale of 1 to 10, I rate the food a 5.5.

There was nothing special about it. I had the calamari as an appetizer and it was OK and the sauce very bland. My main course was soft shelled crabs and they weren't very soft. My husband got sea scallops and the texture was on the tough side.

We've visited this restaurant a number of times with the hope that they're improved quality of food yet it still is very lack luster!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

50 YEARS LATER

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were married in Pittsburgh 50 years ago at the Bride's home. Our rehearsal dinner was at LeMont. On May 29th we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a romantic dinner for 2 at LeMont. Still great food, great service and great view. We were quite pleased with everything, especially the attentive service provided by Raymond.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

25Th Anniversary

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My Wife and I had are 25th Anniversary on September 8 of 2015, but with are youngest son playing in his senior year of High School football, we didnt want to go to fare away from home.So needles to say, are evening out on Sept. 8 was kind of a bust .I wanted to really do something nice for my wife ,and getting engaged on top of Mt. Washington 26 years ago I decided to take her back where it all happened , so going on the internet, and finding your place, the pictures where outstanding and the menu seemed to have something for everyone ,I decided that this was the right place, and was it ever,what a evening we had it was picture perfect,the view of the city was unbelievable and your restaurant was just so beautiful and romantic we couldnt ask for anything more, are food was great, and the servers your always asking if we needed anything, what a enjoyable evening we had. I will definitely recommend your restaurant to all my friends, and my wife and I will be coming back. Thank You so much for enjoyable and romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Denny's Review

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I brought people from out of town who had never been to Pittsburgh, and the best way to introduce them to the city was Le Mont. They were duly impressed with the view, the ambience, and the food. Thank you for making my host and tour guide job easy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, great food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, it was a lovely evening at the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall, it was a lovely evening at the LeMont. Our waiter was fantastic! The bread was a bit stale and the portion of salmon, the smallest I've seen served in any restaurant we've been to prior. We will return for more dining evenings and would recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view and a wonderful restaurant fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great view and a wonderful restaurant for special occasions! One of the best spots on Mt. Washington!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pittsburgh's mount of disappointnent

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a grand disappointment to go to an iconic restaurant and see how disengaged in current practice the LeMont is. From the unfunny maitre d' to the weak menu to the slow kitchen to the lack of an experience, LeMont let us down. The owners must be absentee owners blind and deaf to the boring and mediocre offering of their restaurant. Whether on the mount or in the strip or Lawrenceville or Highland Park, we have too many good options than to pretend LeMont is anywhere near her glory of old.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The spectacular scenic view of the river ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The spectacular scenic view of the rivers and Pittsburgh along with incredible service and food made for a wonderful evening. We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Mothers Day Dinner

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

A gorgeous day and the view was great as usual. We all had a wonderful dinner. The

dinner were well prepared and the portions were large. Our wait staff was incredible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.