About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
3 More
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (56)
special occasion (50)
romantic (45)
See All
good for groups (12)
fit for foodies (10)
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful, romantic dinner with ...

Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful, romantic dinner with great food, and a helpful, yet unobtrusive staff. It was perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5

The amazing food and and view of the cit ...

Dined 5 days ago

The amazing food and and view of the city were all worth it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We continue to dine with Lemont for our ...

Dined 5 days ago

We continue to dine with Lemont for our special occasions because of the excellent service, the excellent food, and the excellent view of our beautiful city! On top of that, they treat our grandson, Nathaniel, like a little prince! During our last experience Marco served us and he was as gracious as he always is! He took some excellent photos of our family, saw to our every need, and treated our little one like family! We can't wait to return! Thank you to the entire Lemont staff!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about our visit. The ...

Dined 5 days ago

I loved everything about our visit. The view is one of the best in the world, overlooking the downtown area of Pittsburgh. We touched the sky as we dined in one of the many "windows on the world." The service by Denice was first-rate, supported by Dani, the Maitre 'D, a beautiful and talented woman who made the Bananas Foster to top off our visit. I had a seafood trio of lobster tail, salmon (with strawberries) and swordfish, all cooked to perfection, served with a twice baked potato, stuffed tomato and flavorful vegetables. My companion had a pasta with lobster, crab and other seafoods. Wow! Our salads were unique and presented well. All was special and delicious. We ate well and took food home. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I've been this restaurant and food good, ...

Dined 6 days ago

I've been this restaurant and food good, but our at 930pm results in cold food and an under-cooked steak. Ambiance, wine, waiter and view were great.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I remember when LaMont was a class act. ...

Dined 6 days ago

I remember when LaMont was a class act. Not now!! The noise from the combo playing music was overbearing. Why not just piano music until 9:00 PM then you can turn it into a disco night club if want music that loud!!! Also, I saw a man with Jeans on and another had a shirt with no collar that looked more like a tee shirt than a dress shirt. Would I recommend LaMont after this experience? I don't think so.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our 50th anniversary and I requ ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our 50th anniversary and I requested a window table ahead of time. LeMont had a window table waiting for us when we arrived..perfect. The food was excellent as was our server. A very positive and memorable experience in all respects.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the chef's special, should have k ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had the chef's special, should have known not to order seafood away from the coast. The salmon was ok, the swordfish was not edible, the lobster was good. The salad and the creme brulee were delicious. Our server was great and the view was spectacular. We sat away from the bar, they had live music which was good, but would have been too loud for us if we sat close to the bar area. I would still recommend this restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was fine except the table. Wh ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Everything was fine except the table. While it was at the window it was extremely small. So small that we could not fit all of our food on it. That is, we couldn't have the bread or appetizer at the same time. Our main entree was pushing our glasses to the outer edges. In fact, our bottle of wine needed to be located more than six feet away, meaning we needed to wait for the waitstaff to return to refill our glasses. Kind of ridiculous for the price, really. Perhaps the should only seat people at the little table if they have simple dinners.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The delicious seafood medley was exceede ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The delicious seafood medley was exceeded only by the flaming bananas foster. Overall, surprisingly high quality food that was beautifully presented.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience5
service5

The view is unbeatable. The food is dec ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The view is unbeatable. The food is decidedly average. The service is quite good and the restaurant is beautiful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been here multiple times , and have always been satisfied. It all begins with the vallet parking , service excellence , followed by an extravagant view , outstanding bread , succulent calamari appetizer and an amazing crab cakes dinner . Absolutely perfect .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Promise date

Dined on June 3, 2016

I want a special place for my senior prom date. I chose this restaurant because I wanted a special memory instead of the stereotypical prom. My date and I enjoyed a fantastic dinner, view but most of all service. The waiter name was Tom. I hope his manger reads this post. Thank you for a memory..

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food...not up to snuff!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The atmosphere is good and the service is very good. However, on a scale of 1 to 10, I rate the food a 5.5. There was nothing special about it. I had the calamari as an appetizer and it was OK and the sauce very bland. My main course was soft shelled crabs and they weren't very soft. My husband got sea scallops and the texture was on the tough side. We've visited this restaurant a number of times with the hope that they're improved quality of food yet it still is very lack luster!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

50 YEARS LATER

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were married in Pittsburgh 50 years ago at the Bride's home. Our rehearsal dinner was at LeMont. On May 29th we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a romantic dinner for 2 at LeMont. Still great food, great service and great view. We were quite pleased with everything, especially the attentive service provided by Raymond.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25Th Anniversary

Dined on May 27, 2016

My Wife and I had are 25th Anniversary on September 8 of 2015, but with are youngest son playing in his senior year of High School football, we didnt want to go to fare away from home.So needles to say, are evening out on Sept. 8 was kind of a bust .I wanted to really do something nice for my wife ,and getting engaged on top of Mt. Washington 26 years ago I decided to take her back where it all happened , so going on the internet, and finding your place, the pictures where outstanding and the menu seemed to have something for everyone ,I decided that this was the right place, and was it ever,what a evening we had it was picture perfect,the view of the city was unbelievable and your restaurant was just so beautiful and romantic we couldnt ask for anything more, are food was great, and the servers your always asking if we needed anything, what a enjoyable evening we had. I will definitely recommend your restaurant to all my friends, and my wife and I will be coming back. Thank You so much for enjoyable and romantic evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Denny's Review

Dined on May 27, 2016

I brought people from out of town who had never been to Pittsburgh, and the best way to introduce them to the city was Le Mont. They were duly impressed with the view, the ambience, and the food. Thank you for making my host and tour guide job easy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, great food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall, it was a lovely evening at the ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall, it was a lovely evening at the LeMont. Our waiter was fantastic! The bread was a bit stale and the portion of salmon, the smallest I've seen served in any restaurant we've been to prior. We will return for more dining evenings and would recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great view and a wonderful restaurant fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great view and a wonderful restaurant for special occasions! One of the best spots on Mt. Washington!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Pittsburgh's mount of disappointnent

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a grand disappointment to go to an iconic restaurant and see how disengaged in current practice the LeMont is. From the unfunny maitre d' to the weak menu to the slow kitchen to the lack of an experience, LeMont let us down. The owners must be absentee owners blind and deaf to the boring and mediocre offering of their restaurant. Whether on the mount or in the strip or Lawrenceville or Highland Park, we have too many good options than to pretend LeMont is anywhere near her glory of old.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The spectacular scenic view of the river ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The spectacular scenic view of the rivers and Pittsburgh along with incredible service and food made for a wonderful evening. We would definitely go again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Mothers Day Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A gorgeous day and the view was great as usual. We all had a wonderful dinner. The dinner were well prepared and the portions were large. Our wait staff was incredible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our entire party raved about the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Awful service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We decided to celebrate a special occasion at LeMont on Saturday night. When we walked into the restaurant, we were "greeted" by a man who didn't even look up or say hello/welcome. He pointed and said to wait at the bar. While we waited at the bar for our table, we were greeted with the same level of enthusiasm by the bartender who later sprayed three members of the party with beer while opening a bottle in a hurry. A little discouraged but still excited for the meal, we were seated at a table within the bar. This was extremely disappointing since reservations were made six weeks in advance. The bar had a big screen tv playing the pens game where other patrons were loudly cheering and fist pumping... Not the mood or atmosphere we expected at a restaurant that is supposed to be for nice occasions. Our server finally came to the table, didn't introduce himself and blank stared at us without asking if we'd like a drink. He was slow, inattentive, and probably one of the worst servers I've ever experienced. I've been using Open Table for over 5 years and have never written a review. Our experience was so bad and so disappointing I felt the need to share with others so they don't make the same mistake. There are so many great restaurants in Pittsburgh don't waste a night trying LeMont unless you are looking for buffet style service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to the Lemont for my daughter's graduation from the University of Pittsburgh. We were on a tight schedule and had scheduled dinner between ceremonies. We told the waitress our schedule, she was very accommodating and we were served in a manner that we didn't feel rushed, but were able to finish our meal within the time needed. We even had time for a wonderful desert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeMont - one of those true special occasion places

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

LeMont has really come into its own again after a few years where I didn't feel it was so special. I am so happy that it has regained the high quality dining experience level. We have family dinners there about 3-4 a year, and last Friday, April 29, 2016 was no exception. Love the service, the food, the entire staff who is very attentive to everything from pulling out your chair, to refreshing your coffee, and serving food elegantly and piping hot. Our guests were elderly, and the staff was very accommodating to their needs. It was a true pleasure and worth every penny. I also like the seasonal menu that's been offered twice now since I've been there. One price includes everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

35th Anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

Denise was superb. She made my wife & I feel very special through a very down-to-earth approach while still maintaining an impressive professionalism. This was a return to the restaurant after 38 years and the experience was delightful due to a kind, personal touch

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great view. Good food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The views rule this experience. Went before sunset and saw the city transition from day to night. Lovely. The food was good, well-prepared, classic, American stuff. (They still flambee at the table -- cherries jubilee and bananas foster). If you are a foodie or a frilly, you may be disappointed. The cook their meats (lamb, steak, seafood) excellently. The sashimi was perfectly cooked but the sauce was more sweet than spicy (not my preference). Some of the dishes were a bit overpriced, but you are paying for more than the food. There is a small dance floor near the bar. Souffle was tasty -- order it with your meal order. The waitstaff could work on the pacing of the meal: 4 desserts at 4 different times. I was done with my soufflé before the others had ordered. Then 2 of those came out, then the flambéed one occurred. Weird. They were friendly and helpful, but not good with timing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

LeMont is a great choice

Dined on April 16, 2016

The view is spectacular, so try to get a window seat if you can. The inside of the restaurant is quite stunning as well; I know they have a lot of weddings there. The service was superb; our server was polite, friendly, and fast. The food was quite good as well. The main dishes were prepared excellently, and the portions were large. The side dishes were nothing spectacular, but that's alright, because we were stuffed. The price was what you would expect from a high end restaurant, but all things considered, I'd probably pay more and still be satisfied.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Incredible view of the city superb servi ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Incredible view of the city superb service and ambiance. Steaks were just adequate but sausage stuffed peppers appetizer is delish! Desserts were delectable too! A great experience....we'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

This was our first time at the lemont and everything was perfect. We were celebrating our anniversary and between the fabulous service, great view and amazing food it was definitely a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on April 2, 2016

I would to thank everyone at Lemont Restaurant for the wonderful hospitality and generous staff! Everyone went above and beyond our expectations, the atmosphere, food,view, and overall dining in general was pure excellence! I highly recommend Lemont, thank you Tommy Z (our server) it was an honor and a pleasure meeting you! Sincerely Brad & Kelsey Crispen

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

The waterboy poured water into our glasses and walked away. I noticed it had floating things in the glasses. Right there I said "this is going to be a bad evening at a nice place. " The server quickly removed the glasses and gave us fresh and clean glasses. Drink was good. Salad was good. Sirloin steak was fatty but was able to eat it. The best part was the Grand Marinier souffle. It was the best. I bet the pastry chef is paid well. I go to many places and order souffle and was horrible. Be sure to order the souffle at the time you order your meal. It was hot!! LeMont has the best souffle. We were in a time crunch and the server kept things moving but not pushy. The server was a good man. Good job. Most definitely will be back if we are in Pittsburgh again. Thank you for a nice evening!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

To be honest, this is not the place for ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

To be honest, this is not the place for delicious food, but they provide good service and excellent view of pittsburgh. The food is below average that I cannot understand how the chef can create such strange tastes. I strongly recommend the restaurant owner change the chef, and the restaurant will have a boost sales.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

winter celebration menu

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Four of us went for the Winter Celebration Menu - the salad was fresh and good, we all had the surf & turf 5 oz. filet which was cooked to perfection and delicious and shrimp, with fingerling potatoes and fresh vegetalbes - also dessert, everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food !

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent service, great food !

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved Le Mont

Dined on March 19, 2016

Diner was good service was very nice and the view is great! If you are into old school classic elegant places go ahead and try this one!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MK Blast in the Burgh16

Dined on March 17, 2016

I had a group of ladies coming in for the annual Mary Kay Career Conference from Syracuse, NY. I wanted to show them the Best of Pittsburgh. By having dinner at the LeMont I hoped that they would be impressed by the great food & amazing vista of our beautiful city. As always the LeMont did not disappoint. The food & beverages were delicious. The service was to say the least excellent. My friends said it took their breath away & for that reason it met & exceeded my expectations . Thank you one & all for making this experience fantastic for my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service.....!!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great Service from the time you arrive at the door. John greeted me upon arrival like I was an old friend and I haven't been to LeMont in some time. Great Staff... Great Service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.