About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Scenic View (75)
Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (55)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Waterfront (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Live Music (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
380 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

we were in for duquesne 50th college reu ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

we were in for duquesne 50th college reunion. my husband had had many a wonderful experience at this restaurant. this was not one of them. the ambiance was great and service as well. the escargot was awful which was sent back. the caesar was awful only topped by the dreadful rack of lamb. such a shame. i can only hope the restaurant benefits from this review since i rarely if ever give a bad review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was impeccable as well as all en ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was impeccable as well as all entrees. First time in many years that we had visited the Lemont and everything is still as wonderful as it was 40 years ago!!

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is worth the price of admission ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The view is worth the price of admission. Saturday nights with live music makes for a very enjoyable evening. Our waiter, Marco was very attentive and made good recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Dancing, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday evening veal porterhouse w/seaf ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Saturday evening veal porterhouse w/seafood(2), duck with raspberry sauce( 1) was great but the salmon with strawberry was not to any of our liking. Potatoes were a bit dry instead of creamy. vegies were good. crème brule was good also. Service - Denise - was great, timely and not overbearing. The table/seating with a view was excellent. We had a great evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to The Le Mont for my three year an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went to The Le Mont for my three year anniversary with my girlfriend. Our seat overlooking Pittsburgh offered a great view. The food was excellent and there were many options on the menu. Our server was fantastic and took great care of us.

Would absolutely recommend this Restaurant for any special occasion.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved LeMont. Old fashioned elegant ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We loved LeMont. Old fashioned elegant charm and excellent service. The view is spectacular and we loved every minute of our meal there. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service all around cold food never ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Poor service all around cold food never offered a wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

THE ATMOSPHERE WAS AMAZING, LIVE MUSIC. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

THE ATMOSPHERE WAS AMAZING, LIVE MUSIC. THE FILET MIGNON WAS SUPERB. STAFF WAS PLEASANT. THE VIEW WAS SECOND TO NONE. WILL BE BACK.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of Pittsburgh's finer dining ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of Pittsburgh's finer dining experiences with a knockout view of the city.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view from the table over looking the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The view from the table over looking the Pittsburgh Skyline and 3 rivers was simply awesome, I'm not sure you could find or ask for a better view anywhere!

Service was outstanding as well and the restaurant's décor etc. was first class all the way!

Food was good but in comparison to the view, service, décor and seeing that it is Pittsburgh's only 5 star restaurant, in my opinion the food didn't measure up.

Not that the food was bad or anything it was in fact good but I have had better for less money.

If the food had been like the view, service and décor it would have been an incredible dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

French Onion soup was very good. Duck an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

French Onion soup was very good. Duck and sea bass were both good. The potatoes were very dry and the vegetables were just average. Dessert was very good as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Anniversary celebration with my wife. We ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Anniversary celebration with my wife. We had a great server and the view from the Lemont is amazing. However the food was average at best. Very old fashioned. If not for the view and our friendly server, it would have been a poor overall review. The view sells this place so the food does not need to sell it. The NY Strip had so much bleu cheese on top that it was basically inedible. My wife's filet was pretty good. The sides on each plate were an average steamed mix of veggies and some watery mixture. Chocolate cake for dessert was stale.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a beautiful view of the Pittsburg ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a beautiful view of the Pittsburgh skyline and the 3 rivers. Great service and able to relax.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband had me pick a restaurant for ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband had me pick a restaurant for my birthday. I chose LeMont because the online menu looked fabulous, and we hadn't had a Caesar salad prepared tableside in years. Although the food was good, the actual menu was very limited and boring, and the waiter informed us that they don't prepare Caesar salads tableside unless they're not busy. The waitstaff catered mostly to the numerous large parties, and as the night went on they paid less and less attention to our party of two. We asked our waiter to see the dessert cart, and he never did bring it. We finally just flagged him down to get our check and pay our $200 bill, regretting that we hadn't gone to The Carlton instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

amazing experience there food and people ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

amazing experience there food and people were great :)

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The décor and view are great. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The décor and view are great. The food was good, not great. I honestly expected better since it's "Le Mont". Three people asked for medium rare steaks, all received medium well, which isn't acceptable for any restaurant let alone a nice one. They have a very nice $30 bottle wine list which is a great deal. However, we didn't get the wine we ordered- but I blame us for not noticing sooner and we didn't then say anything about it. I would go for the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They certainly have restored to physical ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

They certainly have restored to physicality of the restaurant to its original grandeur, perhaps beyond, but you can't eat chandeliers. The presentation of the oysters was a culinary sin. Piled high with the chunkiest mignonette I have seen, the oysters themselves were bereft of flavor, I suspect they had been rinsed. The entree, a special, was a grizzly steak topped with crab and a bearnaise sauce. Unfortunately the steak, past the grizzle, had no color nor flavor. The crab was such an overwhelming portion that it overpowered the dish with flavorless richness. Other food observations were cooked tomatoes that hadn't had skins removed, a pile of escargot vs normal portions, an overdressed Caesar salad, and diner worthy dessert selections. Service was competent, but uniforms didn't fit and looked unkempt. At $125 per person, a very disappointing celebration, especially since there are so many wonderful alternatives in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Wonderful evening. Food was great, servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful evening. Food was great, service impeccable and atmosphere delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have dined at LeMont sever ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I have dined at LeMont several times over the last 25 years. Unfortunately, the upscale atmosphere has been dampened by the newly relaxed dress code. The food quality has also suffered. Due to these factors, I would only recommend this place for the scenic views that it offers. The food, atmosphere and service have all evolved into just average and over priced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The look of the restaurant was beautiful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The look of the restaurant was beautiful. We were early so we went to the bar and had some great cocktails. When we were taken to our table I was a little disappointed because I wanted to sit by the window but it was crowded so it was okay. The food was awesome! Great portion sizes and steak cooked exactly how I asked. And I usually don't order steak because it's never right or has too much fat. And of course dessert was amazing. This was my first time at the LeMont and I hope to go back again some day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner, the restaurant week me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner, the restaurant week menu was impressive. We were early for the reservation & it was no problem, our server was very knowledgeable & friendly!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised. Hadn't been there ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Hadn't been there for dinner in many years, it had gone down in quality a while back. We were there for the Restaurant Week special menu, and were very pleased with everything....first class all the way, especially our waitress, Beth, a real pro.

We'll be back, for sure.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service with a fantastic view. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service with a fantastic view. Went for the Restaurant Week special 3-course meal. All of the food was cooked well and of high quality. Flavors were average and portions were appropriate. Go for the view and the experience and the romance.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a 7 p.m. reservation. Arrived a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a 7 p.m. reservation. Arrived about 10 minutes early. Hostess asked us to wait in the bar as it would be a few minutes before table was available. After 30 minutes, inquired if our reservation was lost and was informed they were running behind because earlier guests arrived late. About 15 minutes later were finally seated. Made no effort to keep us informed as to what was occurring and were not at all apologetic about it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was fantastic and our server wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fantastic and our server was great! The only issue is that our reservation was at 7:30 and we didn't get our food until 8:40. It was very busy for restaurant week, though, and I do not expect that that is the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The LeMont is a very nice upscale restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The LeMont is a very nice upscale restaurant . You can't beat the scenery with floor to ceiling windows . A nice place for a nice date, maybe one of those pop the question outings, pretty pricey though . Look ahead at the menu to get an estimate ;-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Waited till 7:40 for our 7:00 table. Ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Waited till 7:40 for our 7:00 table. Service wasn't very good , the cheese broccoli soup was regular eat and park quality . The steak was decent , the mozerlla and tomato salad was decent and the creame brulet was very good

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Was in town for one night and someone th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was in town for one night and someone that had been there many years ago recommended. The view was great as was our server. Food was not good. In retrospect , we should have gone for cocktails and view and had dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Very disappointed. The vegetables were b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very disappointed. The vegetables were barely cooked, shrimp over cooked & filet looked as if it was beat with a tenderizer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. The view of the Pittsburgh skyline is fabulous. Taking the incline to the restaurant was a unique experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My food was good my dinner companions wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My food was good my dinner companions was not good. We received our meals rather quickly. Never asked if we wanted desert or anything esle, felt we were being rushed out door. We aslo were the only couple of color in the restaurant. Wil not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent dining experience. Our server ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Our server was the best we have ever had. Exceptional food, drinks, and dessert. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our anniversary. Fireworks were going off at eye level through the immaculate Windows. Very romantic atmosphere. Little to no noise. Recommended to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love The LeMont! An incredible view of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love The LeMont! An incredible view of the city and outstanding food and service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was with a guest from Brazil, four boa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was with a guest from Brazil, four board members, and three others. We sought a restaurant with a view and outstanding food. Where else but the LeMont? One friend ordered the Rasberry Duck, his favorite. Amazing! Others ordered the Filet Mignon, the Chicken Caprese, the Cedar Salmon and more. Mine was a specialty: the Coconut Chilean Sea Bass. We were delighted with each dish. I dream about their sea bass; the coconut is the perfect topping. Several ordered dessert: creme brulee and chocolate mousse cake. But the best was the flaming bananas foster prepared tableside for the fortunate three. Mark was our waiter; he anticipated and fulfilled our every need. Dani, the maitre 'd, made our flaming desserts. She's beautiful and talented. The view atop Mount Washington is the best in the city (and one of the best in the world that overlooks a city center). This was the perfect complement to our business meeting. Quiet. Elegant. Great food. Indescribable view. Doesn't get better than the LeMont!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeMont is like the Space Needle in Seatt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

LeMont is like the Space Needle in Seattle - you go there for the view, not the food. It is elegant, lovely and a great place to go for the beautiful view. The food is perfectly fine, just somewhat bland and unoriginal. The prices are high, but typical for an establishment of this kind. Don't let me dissuade you from going, you'll have a good time, but if the food matters more to you than just the dressy atmosphere, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Outst ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Outstanding restaurant! Service, menu selections, and the view were great. The only negative was not the fault of the restaurant. Cab service from LeMont was terrible. We waited almost one hour (with three phone calls) for a taxi.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Le Mont is an old school experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Le Mont is an old school experience. The food was good, not great. This place is all about the ambience and view though, and my parents loved it. We went there for their 80th and 75th birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Dined at LeMont with my husband on Sunda ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Dined at LeMont with my husband on Sunday, July 31. I requested and got a table with a scenic view of the the Point and the fountain. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive and prepared my entree (tournedos of beef flambeed table side in wine and mushrooms--the sauce was outstanding and the steaks were done perfectly as ordered 'medium rare'. My husband's entree was twin filets with crab and petite lobster tails (langoustines). Though not flambeed at table, the steak was scrumptious and again, done perfectly--medium rare. We ordered a bottle of wine--petite syrah--which was reasonably priced at $33 and was quite tasty but then we are partial to petite syrahs. We both started with appetizers (brie with an almond and berry sauce of raspberries, blackberries, blueberries served with toast points--fantastically delicious; ahi tuna carpaccio--excellent); the appetizers were large and could have been shared. However, as we were not sharing, we had no room for dessert--and that is a crying shame as the dessert choices are huge and include some of my favorites--cherries jubilee, bananas foster, crepes suzette (flambeed at table side), souffles including Grand Marnier (my favorite) as well as a vast number of apres' diner' drinks including some rare ports (again, a personal favorites). I probably should have skipped the appetizer--and maybe I will next time--and there will be a next time.

GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE and I recommend going on a Sunday evening when the restaurant, kitchen and servers are less busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner with amazing views! The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous dinner with amazing views! The service was outstanding! It is truly the best place restaurant to share with your out of town guests, not only an excellent meal and service, but a one of a kind view of our beautiful city -Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.