About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
5 More
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Scenic View
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

Scenic View (70)
Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (52)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The décor and view are great. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The décor and view are great. The food was good, not great. I honestly expected better since it's "Le Mont". Three people asked for medium rare steaks, all received medium well, which isn't acceptable for any restaurant let alone a nice one. They have a very nice $30 bottle wine list which is a great deal. However, we didn't get the wine we ordered- but I blame us for not noticing sooner and we didn't then say anything about it. I would go for the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful view and a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They certainly have restored to physical ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

They certainly have restored to physicality of the restaurant to its original grandeur, perhaps beyond, but you can't eat chandeliers. The presentation of the oysters was a culinary sin. Piled high with the chunkiest mignonette I have seen, the oysters themselves were bereft of flavor, I suspect they had been rinsed. The entree, a special, was a grizzly steak topped with crab and a bearnaise sauce. Unfortunately the steak, past the grizzle, had no color nor flavor. The crab was such an overwhelming portion that it overpowered the dish with flavorless richness. Other food observations were cooked tomatoes that hadn't had skins removed, a pile of escargot vs normal portions, an overdressed Caesar salad, and diner worthy dessert selections. Service was competent, but uniforms didn't fit and looked unkempt. At $125 per person, a very disappointing celebration, especially since there are so many wonderful alternatives in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Wonderful evening. Food was great, servi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful evening. Food was great, service impeccable and atmosphere delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have dined at LeMont sever ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I have dined at LeMont several times over the last 25 years. Unfortunately, the upscale atmosphere has been dampened by the newly relaxed dress code. The food quality has also suffered. Due to these factors, I would only recommend this place for the scenic views that it offers. The food, atmosphere and service have all evolved into just average and over priced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The look of the restaurant was beautiful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The look of the restaurant was beautiful. We were early so we went to the bar and had some great cocktails. When we were taken to our table I was a little disappointed because I wanted to sit by the window but it was crowded so it was okay. The food was awesome! Great portion sizes and steak cooked exactly how I asked. And I usually don't order steak because it's never right or has too much fat. And of course dessert was amazing. This was my first time at the LeMont and I hope to go back again some day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner, the restaurant week me ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Wonderful dinner, the restaurant week menu was impressive. We were early for the reservation & it was no problem, our server was very knowledgeable & friendly!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised. Hadn't been there ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pleasantly surprised. Hadn't been there for dinner in many years, it had gone down in quality a while back. We were there for the Restaurant Week special menu, and were very pleased with everything....first class all the way, especially our waitress, Beth, a real pro.

We'll be back, for sure.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service with a fantastic view. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent service with a fantastic view. Went for the Restaurant Week special 3-course meal. All of the food was cooked well and of high quality. Flavors were average and portions were appropriate. Go for the view and the experience and the romance.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a 7 p.m. reservation. Arrived a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a 7 p.m. reservation. Arrived about 10 minutes early. Hostess asked us to wait in the bar as it would be a few minutes before table was available. After 30 minutes, inquired if our reservation was lost and was informed they were running behind because earlier guests arrived late. About 15 minutes later were finally seated. Made no effort to keep us informed as to what was occurring and were not at all apologetic about it.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was fantastic and our server wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fantastic and our server was great! The only issue is that our reservation was at 7:30 and we didn't get our food until 8:40. It was very busy for restaurant week, though, and I do not expect that that is the norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The LeMont is a very nice upscale restau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The LeMont is a very nice upscale restaurant . You can't beat the scenery with floor to ceiling windows . A nice place for a nice date, maybe one of those pop the question outings, pretty pricey though . Look ahead at the menu to get an estimate ;-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Waited till 7:40 for our 7:00 table. Ser ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Waited till 7:40 for our 7:00 table. Service wasn't very good , the cheese broccoli soup was regular eat and park quality . The steak was decent , the mozerlla and tomato salad was decent and the creame brulet was very good

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Was in town for one night and someone th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Was in town for one night and someone that had been there many years ago recommended. The view was great as was our server. Food was not good. In retrospect , we should have gone for cocktails and view and had dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Very disappointed. The vegetables were b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very disappointed. The vegetables were barely cooked, shrimp over cooked & filet looked as if it was beat with a tenderizer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The food and the service were excellent. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food and the service were excellent. The view of the Pittsburgh skyline is fabulous. Taking the incline to the restaurant was a unique experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience. Our server ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Our server was the best we have ever had. Exceptional food, drinks, and dessert. Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our anniversary. Fireworks were going off at eye level through the immaculate Windows. Very romantic atmosphere. Little to no noise. Recommended to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love The LeMont! An incredible view of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love The LeMont! An incredible view of the city and outstanding food and service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was with a guest from Brazil, four boa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I was with a guest from Brazil, four board members, and three others. We sought a restaurant with a view and outstanding food. Where else but the LeMont? One friend ordered the Rasberry Duck, his favorite. Amazing! Others ordered the Filet Mignon, the Chicken Caprese, the Cedar Salmon and more. Mine was a specialty: the Coconut Chilean Sea Bass. We were delighted with each dish. I dream about their sea bass; the coconut is the perfect topping. Several ordered dessert: creme brulee and chocolate mousse cake. But the best was the flaming bananas foster prepared tableside for the fortunate three. Mark was our waiter; he anticipated and fulfilled our every need. Dani, the maitre 'd, made our flaming desserts. She's beautiful and talented. The view atop Mount Washington is the best in the city (and one of the best in the world that overlooks a city center). This was the perfect complement to our business meeting. Quiet. Elegant. Great food. Indescribable view. Doesn't get better than the LeMont!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeMont is like the Space Needle in Seatt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

LeMont is like the Space Needle in Seattle - you go there for the view, not the food. It is elegant, lovely and a great place to go for the beautiful view. The food is perfectly fine, just somewhat bland and unoriginal. The prices are high, but typical for an establishment of this kind. Don't let me dissuade you from going, you'll have a good time, but if the food matters more to you than just the dressy atmosphere, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Outst ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday. Outstanding restaurant! Service, menu selections, and the view were great. The only negative was not the fault of the restaurant. Cab service from LeMont was terrible. We waited almost one hour (with three phone calls) for a taxi.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Le Mont is an old school experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The Le Mont is an old school experience. The food was good, not great. This place is all about the ambience and view though, and my parents loved it. We went there for their 80th and 75th birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Dined at LeMont with my husband on Sunda ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Dined at LeMont with my husband on Sunday, July 31. I requested and got a table with a scenic view of the the Point and the fountain. Our waiter was knowledgeable and attentive and prepared my entree (tournedos of beef flambeed table side in wine and mushrooms--the sauce was outstanding and the steaks were done perfectly as ordered 'medium rare'. My husband's entree was twin filets with crab and petite lobster tails (langoustines). Though not flambeed at table, the steak was scrumptious and again, done perfectly--medium rare. We ordered a bottle of wine--petite syrah--which was reasonably priced at $33 and was quite tasty but then we are partial to petite syrahs. We both started with appetizers (brie with an almond and berry sauce of raspberries, blackberries, blueberries served with toast points--fantastically delicious; ahi tuna carpaccio--excellent); the appetizers were large and could have been shared. However, as we were not sharing, we had no room for dessert--and that is a crying shame as the dessert choices are huge and include some of my favorites--cherries jubilee, bananas foster, crepes suzette (flambeed at table side), souffles including Grand Marnier (my favorite) as well as a vast number of apres' diner' drinks including some rare ports (again, a personal favorites). I probably should have skipped the appetizer--and maybe I will next time--and there will be a next time.

GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE and I recommend going on a Sunday evening when the restaurant, kitchen and servers are less busy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner with amazing views! The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fabulous dinner with amazing views! The service was outstanding! It is truly the best place restaurant to share with your out of town guests, not only an excellent meal and service, but a one of a kind view of our beautiful city -Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant relaxed atmosphere! The view was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Elegant relaxed atmosphere! The view was outstanding! You can see a beautiful skyline and clearly where the three rivers meet.Our server was excellent and checked with the chef to answer my questions for specific menu items. I didn't care for the carppaccio (seemed to have a strong burny(raw onion?) taste. The bibb salad was gorgeous(contained flowers) and had an exceptionally good flavor. My plank salmon tasted delicious although i wish i had requested for it to be cooked less. My husband was disappointed with the calamari(was greasy and not crisp)but he enjoyed the LeMont salad and thought that the sea bass entree was outstanding!!! I tasted it and agree with him.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were greeted by the lovely hostess wi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were greeted by the lovely hostess with a big smile on her face welcoming us. Our table wasn't quite ready so she escorted us to the bar and we had a drink. The entire dining experience was lovely. The view is perfect. And the music they play is perfect. Old school love songs were spot on. The decor is rich and warm. The food is delicious. One of our favorite new spots. We Will be back! Our server was Beth and she was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Entertainment, Service, View Fabulous! ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Entertainment, Service, View Fabulous!

Our Waiter was Extremely busy---but did not interfere with the service we received

SO GLAD there is entertainment in the lounge--We will DEFINITELY come back

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was perfect!! They put us a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The ambiance was perfect!! They put us at the end of the ramp at the window at a private table. They had my flowers delivered from the florest before we got there. They made my spouse a birthday cake that melted in my mouth!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is absolutely spectacular. The ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is absolutely spectacular. The food was disappointing. Our group had crab cakes ( ate 1 but couldnt choke down the second one) duck- very bizarre sauce. Couldnt finish it. And huckleberry salmon which was not tasty at all. For a group of 5 we spent $350 & ledt the majority of food to be thrown out. Waiter never even asked if anything was qrong w our dinner! Wont be back for quite awhile.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Beautiful overlook of the city. Arrived ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful overlook of the city. Arrived early to sit at the bar only to be disappointed by the less than personable bartender (had to reorder drink due to something floating in it!) Waiter was nice, but forgot to bring our bottle of wine until we reminded him and also forgot about our dessert that came as part of meal. Not big issues, they were easily fixed, but at this level of restaurant everything should be spot-on. With that said, the ambience was great (table by window is a must if you want to watch the sunset), meal was 5-star (Duck and Pork Braciole).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I enjoy our anniversary dinner here every year. The food is amazing and the service is second to none. We are always taken care of, and the price is very reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed with the food presenta ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very disappointed with the food presentation and taste. Beet salad was terrible. I would say canned beets were used and the greens were not crisp. My husband and I had the scallops, they were small in size and overcooked. The twice baked potato was even dry. Seems that the food was prepared earlier and microwaved. I had out of town visitors with us and I must say I was embarrassed. It certainly was not worth the price. Mike was our server and was very attentive and professional. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

We always choose Le Mont for our anniver ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We always choose Le Mont for our anniversary--great food, great view, and romantic atmosphere. We received a special treat...great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After many trips to LeMont, we were fina ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

After many trips to LeMont, we were finally disappointed. As usual the service and breathy of the restaurant were great, but the food had much to be desired. Very special place. Hope the food improves.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had dinner for four celebrating an an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We had dinner for four celebrating an anniversary. Food and service were great and the view of the Pittsburgh skyline was breathtaking. Recommend for any special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for dinner and drin ...

vip
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a great place for dinner and drinks.. And you get the best view of the City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The main entrees were tasty, but the sid ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The main entrees were tasty, but the sides were very mundane. Despite the availability of locally sourced vegetables, the veggies of the day consisted of carrots and soggy broccoli. The whipped potatoes were rather bland. The desserts appeared to be commercially sourced and not prepared by the kitchen. The rolls were tasty and bountiful. Live music was a nice touch but a bit too loud, making conversation a challenge.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great evening all around, highly recomme ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great evening all around, highly recommend this place to all!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was beautiful service was wonderful ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

View was beautiful service was wonderful. We had a small appetizer, I had a salad, my husband had soup both were very good. We both had medium rare fillets. Vegetables swimming in a sweet sauce. Fingerling potatoes outstanding. Fillets were rare not medium rare. They were okay, but not prime. House wine not very good. 2 wines, one beer, plus tip $190. I would not even have minded if all of the food was really good, but it was not.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Definitely deserves its accolades. Spec ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Definitely deserves its accolades. Special experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.