About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
3 More
Best Ambiance
Pittsburgh
Romantic
Pittsburgh
Special Occasion
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Mt. Washington ›

scenic view (62)
special occasion (51)
romantic (49)
See All
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (10)
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, ...

Dined 7 days ago

Breathtaking views, exceptional service, great food

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great view and a wonderful restaurant fo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great view and a wonderful restaurant for special occasions! One of the best spots on Mt. Washington!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Pittsburgh's mount of disappointnent

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was a grand disappointment to go to an iconic restaurant and see how disengaged in current practice the LeMont is. From the unfunny maitre d' to the weak menu to the slow kitchen to the lack of an experience, LeMont let us down. The owners must be absentee owners blind and deaf to the boring and mediocre offering of their restaurant. Whether on the mount or in the strip or Lawrenceville or Highland Park, we have too many good options than to pretend LeMont is anywhere near her glory of old.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The spectacular scenic view of the river ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The spectacular scenic view of the rivers and Pittsburgh along with incredible service and food made for a wonderful evening. We would definitely go again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Mothers Day Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A gorgeous day and the view was great as usual. We all had a wonderful dinner. The dinner were well prepared and the portions were large. Our wait staff was incredible.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our entire party raved about the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Awful service

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We decided to celebrate a special occasion at LeMont on Saturday night. When we walked into the restaurant, we were "greeted" by a man who didn't even look up or say hello/welcome. He pointed and said to wait at the bar. While we waited at the bar for our table, we were greeted with the same level of enthusiasm by the bartender who later sprayed three members of the party with beer while opening a bottle in a hurry. A little discouraged but still excited for the meal, we were seated at a table within the bar. This was extremely disappointing since reservations were made six weeks in advance. The bar had a big screen tv playing the pens game where other patrons were loudly cheering and fist pumping... Not the mood or atmosphere we expected at a restaurant that is supposed to be for nice occasions. Our server finally came to the table, didn't introduce himself and blank stared at us without asking if we'd like a drink. He was slow, inattentive, and probably one of the worst servers I've ever experienced. I've been using Open Table for over 5 years and have never written a review. Our experience was so bad and so disappointing I felt the need to share with others so they don't make the same mistake. There are so many great restaurants in Pittsburgh don't waste a night trying LeMont unless you are looking for buffet style service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to the Lemont for my daughter's graduation from the University of Pittsburgh. We were on a tight schedule and had scheduled dinner between ceremonies. We told the waitress our schedule, she was very accommodating and we were served in a manner that we didn't feel rushed, but were able to finish our meal within the time needed. We even had time for a wonderful desert.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeMont - one of those true special occasion places

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

LeMont has really come into its own again after a few years where I didn't feel it was so special. I am so happy that it has regained the high quality dining experience level. We have family dinners there about 3-4 a year, and last Friday, April 29, 2016 was no exception. Love the service, the food, the entire staff who is very attentive to everything from pulling out your chair, to refreshing your coffee, and serving food elegantly and piping hot. Our guests were elderly, and the staff was very accommodating to their needs. It was a true pleasure and worth every penny. I also like the seasonal menu that's been offered twice now since I've been there. One price includes everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

35th Anniversary

Dined on April 24, 2016

Denise was superb. She made my wife & I feel very special through a very down-to-earth approach while still maintaining an impressive professionalism. This was a return to the restaurant after 38 years and the experience was delightful due to a kind, personal touch

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great view. Good food.

Dined on April 16, 2016

The views rule this experience. Went before sunset and saw the city transition from day to night. Lovely. The food was good, well-prepared, classic, American stuff. (They still flambee at the table -- cherries jubilee and bananas foster). If you are a foodie or a frilly, you may be disappointed. The cook their meats (lamb, steak, seafood) excellently. The sashimi was perfectly cooked but the sauce was more sweet than spicy (not my preference). Some of the dishes were a bit overpriced, but you are paying for more than the food. There is a small dance floor near the bar. Souffle was tasty -- order it with your meal order. The waitstaff could work on the pacing of the meal: 4 desserts at 4 different times. I was done with my soufflé before the others had ordered. Then 2 of those came out, then the flambéed one occurred. Weird. They were friendly and helpful, but not good with timing.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

LeMont is a great choice

Dined on April 16, 2016

The view is spectacular, so try to get a window seat if you can. The inside of the restaurant is quite stunning as well; I know they have a lot of weddings there. The service was superb; our server was polite, friendly, and fast. The food was quite good as well. The main dishes were prepared excellently, and the portions were large. The side dishes were nothing spectacular, but that's alright, because we were stuffed. The price was what you would expect from a high end restaurant, but all things considered, I'd probably pay more and still be satisfied.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Incredible view of the city superb servi ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Incredible view of the city superb service and ambiance. Steaks were just adequate but sausage stuffed peppers appetizer is delish! Desserts were delectable too! A great experience....we'll be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

This was our first time at the lemont and everything was perfect. We were celebrating our anniversary and between the fabulous service, great view and amazing food it was definitely a great time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on April 2, 2016

I would to thank everyone at Lemont Restaurant for the wonderful hospitality and generous staff! Everyone went above and beyond our expectations, the atmosphere, food,view, and overall dining in general was pure excellence! I highly recommend Lemont, thank you Tommy Z (our server) it was an honor and a pleasure meeting you! Sincerely Brad & Kelsey Crispen

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

The waterboy poured water into our glasses and walked away. I noticed it had floating things in the glasses. Right there I said "this is going to be a bad evening at a nice place. " The server quickly removed the glasses and gave us fresh and clean glasses. Drink was good. Salad was good. Sirloin steak was fatty but was able to eat it. The best part was the Grand Marinier souffle. It was the best. I bet the pastry chef is paid well. I go to many places and order souffle and was horrible. Be sure to order the souffle at the time you order your meal. It was hot!! LeMont has the best souffle. We were in a time crunch and the server kept things moving but not pushy. The server was a good man. Good job. Most definitely will be back if we are in Pittsburgh again. Thank you for a nice evening!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5

To be honest, this is not the place for ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

To be honest, this is not the place for delicious food, but they provide good service and excellent view of pittsburgh. The food is below average that I cannot understand how the chef can create such strange tastes. I strongly recommend the restaurant owner change the chef, and the restaurant will have a boost sales.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

winter celebration menu

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Four of us went for the Winter Celebration Menu - the salad was fresh and good, we all had the surf & turf 5 oz. filet which was cooked to perfection and delicious and shrimp, with fingerling potatoes and fresh vegetalbes - also dessert, everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, great food !

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent service, great food !

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved Le Mont

Dined on March 19, 2016

Diner was good service was very nice and the view is great! If you are into old school classic elegant places go ahead and try this one!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MK Blast in the Burgh16

Dined on March 17, 2016

I had a group of ladies coming in for the annual Mary Kay Career Conference from Syracuse, NY. I wanted to show them the Best of Pittsburgh. By having dinner at the LeMont I hoped that they would be impressed by the great food & amazing vista of our beautiful city. As always the LeMont did not disappoint. The food & beverages were delicious. The service was to say the least excellent. My friends said it took their breath away & for that reason it met & exceeded my expectations . Thank you one & all for making this experience fantastic for my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service.....!!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great Service from the time you arrive at the door. John greeted me upon arrival like I was an old friend and I haven't been to LeMont in some time. Great Staff... Great Service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Older crowd and the food wasn' t that g ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Older crowd and the food wasn' t that great. Band was too loud.

food4
ambience5
service1
value5

The experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food is amazing here! The valet gentlemen are extremely kind. The atmosphere and view are both breathtaking! LeMont's is a great restaurant for almost any occasion but I would say it's more of a romantic setting depending on the time of day. If you have never been you need to try it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening at the Lemont....our waiter Tom was beyond excellent....the food was delicious, and the atmosphere is absolutely gorgeous...we had a window table and the view was so beautiful...we would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone for a special night out...or for that matter anytime..we will definitely be going back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Worst Valentine's Day dinner ever

Dined on February 14, 2016

So I made this reservation MONTHS before Valentine's Day on OpenTable. In the little notes section I requested a table by the windows. I just got engaged and this was supposed to be pretty special for me. I arrived 5 minutes before my reservation and was immediately seated NOT in front of a window like 99% of the restaurant was. Actually, my fiancé and I were the ONLY ones NOT sitting in a window seat! I was upset and told the girl who was seating us I asked for a window seat. She was not nice at all and just said those seats aren't guaranteed. So I decided to ask to speak with someone else so I could get the seat I reserved. Had to wait 30 minutes at the bar to get a seat by the window. (If you have never been to the LeMont, you will totally understand that there is no point dining there other than for the view). Like I said, this was my first Valentine's Day engaged, I bought a new outfit for this and paid to get my makeup done. We are a young couple and not rich by any means and I quickly noticed we were the best dressed people in the restaurant! In were walking men wearing grey sweatpants and the table sitting next to us by the window after we finally got the seat I asked for in the first place, they were wearing jeans and Affliction t shirts. It was horrible. I never got an apology for not giving us normal seating but I quickly got over it. Our waiter was OK (interrupted my fiancé while he was ordering to talk to a couple leaving which I thought was pretty rude), but the food was the absolute WORST. I read other reviews before coming here and saw multiple people say the food tasted microwaved and frozen for them. That's exactly what I thought. I ordered the filet mignon that was supposed to be bacon wrapped. The bacon must have been burned off because there wasn't any on it. My fiancé got stuffed chicken and it was tasteless. One thing I was looking forward to after our horrible food was baked Alaska dessert. OFCOURSE they were out of it on Valentine's Day.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Not What I Expected

Dined on February 14, 2016

Ambiance, view and service was wonderful!! Food was bland, served at room temperature. "Sides" were ONE unseasoned fingerling potato and five green beans, and five julienned carrots. The food is definitely not a reason to go to this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

ONLY GOOD FOR THE VIEW & A DRINK AT THE BAR

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant like the title says is only good for the view. Food, especially for the price, is sub par. I ordered the Duck which was recommended by the waitress. The duck itself was dry, hard to cut, and even harder to chew. The duck came with a side of veggies (cut strips of carrots, green beans, and fingerling potatoes) that were well over steamed and had no taste; the must have just been for decoration because they were inedible. It wasn't just this one meal that was bad, the starter soup, which was crab & lobster bisque, was bland, had no lobster, and was watered down. My partner had the crab cakes to which we each found a shell while eating - very discomforting feeling while eating; completely ruins you from eating the rest for fear of finding another. Other than the food, the rest of the experience was okay but again sub par. When you are paying for a fine dining restaurant, you expect to be treated and server as such. Save your money and time and go somewhere with better food, atmosphere, and value!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone was great from the waiters and ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Everyone was great from the waiters and waitresses to the bus boys to the coat check ladies. The food was cooked to perfection and of course the view was to die for.

food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great food

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service were terrific however the restaurant needs to invest in updating everything; dishes, glassware, dessert cart (specifically silverware). The decor is also really outdated.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Only good for the view.

Dined on February 11, 2016

Outdated menu of assembly line wedding reception style food. Here's you're inoffensive protein with the same vegetable and potato thing that everyone gets. No seasoning, fresh herbs, or spices. Can't even specify cooking technique, however a man in a tux will give you cold butter cubes put of a bowl.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

The view was very nice however I was not ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The view was very nice however I was not too impressed with the entree. The salad that came with the entree was delicious, I loved the balsamic dressing. The rolls on the table were rock hard. Our server was very nice and brought us fresh ones.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinning experience. Outstanding staff

Dined on January 30, 2016

I used the resultant to get engaged. Staff was helpful in planing the date. Would highly recommend for a romantic dinner. And any special event.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Meh...honestly just ok

Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was ok. The New York strip had a great deal of fat. The chocolate soufflé was not what I was expecting and arrive almost 30 minutes after our meal ended. The decor was opulent, but a little gaudy.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR TRADITION

Dined on January 17, 2016

I have loved this restaurant for over 20 years. I am never disappointed. We come here on special occasions , mostly our anniversary. The ambiance , service and food are all top notch. Our server Marco was a pleasure and very knowledgeable also very accommodating. the anniversary dessert was such a wonderful gesture . thank you for helping us build amazing memories . The reservation process could not have been any smoother

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Traditions sometimes need to change

Dined on January 15, 2016

Le Mont can't be beat for location and view. However, in today's food scene, food quality, freshness of ingredients and creative menus are essential. My family recently dined there for Restaurant Week, which is a time when I would assume restaurants want to attract new patrons and impress with their best culinary offerings. We were sorely disappointed. Each of the four of us selected a different entree from the menu so we could try different things. I ordered the "tangerine" sword fish, which was so overcooked and underseasoned, I could not eat it. THe "tangerine" was actually what appeared to be canned mandarin oranges with cantaloupe and honeydew, which did not pair with the fish at all. THe side of vegetables was simply steamed carrots, beans and fingerling potatoes, but "simply" translated to no salt and no flavor. My daughter's Asiago tortellini was more flavorful, but topped with blackened chicken tenderloins that were also overcooked and dry. My husband's mini fillet was a bit better but we would not consider any of our meals outstanding. In fact, they reminded me of the restaurants of the 80's - no local ingredients, no creativity, and no flavorful dishes that make your taste buds celebrate. As disappointing as our meal at Le Mont was, it did make us appreciate the plethora of new establishments opening that value fresh food and simple presentations that make the diner want to come back time and again to try the latest offerings of the season. Unfortunately, Le Mont is stuck in days gone by and today's diners won't be swayed by just location.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night out

Dined on January 14, 2016

Everything about the Lemont was great! From the moment we walked through the door, we felt extremely welcomed by the entire staff. Our server had a great sense of humor which we really appreciated and he was there right before we ever needed him for anything. Everything about the food was spectacular, and our wine was great too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined there previously. Went for ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

We have dined there previously. Went for restaurant week because the pre-fixe menu looked good-it was amazing!

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

I would say this is a Pittsburgh experie ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

I would say this is a Pittsburgh experience that you should have. My experience was similar to what's been described to me before. The dining room is gorgeous, the city views are beautiful and the service is wonderful. The food, on the other hand, is only mediocre. I think as long as you go into it know that that you are there for the experience and not the best food you've ever had in your life, then you will enjoy your night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Years Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

Being New Years Eve, most restaurants were booked, I made this reservation 5 weeks early, was notified 2 days before to make sure we still needed the table. Table was ready on time, beautiful restaurant and view, food was gteat, overall a great experience. Would definitely go back

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.