Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About LeMont Restaurant

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: (412) 431-3100 ext. 211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (44)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Waterfront (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I had a 5:30 reservation (we're old; we eat early). Because of this , the restaurant was quiet for about 20 minutes when large groups started to arrive. Because of the LeMont's separate room structure, this never became a problem for us.
My wife had some form of salmon (she always orders salmon), and I had Raspberry Duck (excellent!). The accompanying potatoes and green beans were very good also.
For dessert, my wife ordered the Crème Brulee which she rated as very good, and I had a mix of regular & decaf coffee---superb!
Our only regret? We left without our doggie bag.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The best views of Pittsburgh. Excellent wait staff and high quality food. Dinner and dessert was wonderful. Can't go wrong with this classic high end Pittsburgh favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic dinner with a fantastic view! Highly recommend this place! This was the highlight Dinner experience for our trip to Pittsburgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We live in Arizona. We have driven by the Lamont many times and promised ourselves that one day we would go in. And the other night was that evening. It was one of the most enjoyable evenings dining out that we have ever experienced. The service was superb. The repartee with our server was on the spot. We had the best seats in the house overlooking the Stadium, the Rivers and the City. The dinner was probably the best we ever had and we dine out a lot. The food portions more than ample and the temperature was perfect. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The views in both the dining room and bar areas are spectacular. Our bartender was wonderful and she checked on us even after we moved to the dining room for dinner. The waiter was attentive and knowledgeable as well. I had the lamb chops, ordered Pittsburgh Rare, and they were good. My wife's filet, medium, came out well done it was sent back and returned at the proper temperature. Neither my wife's fillet nor my sons room I had seen seasoning of any kind. The potatoes and vegetable were outstanding however not enough to compensate for the unseasoned meet at >$50 each. We are definitely going to return however plan to stay in the bar and elect to have dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I grew up in Pittsburgh and now live in Austin. We would go to LeMont for special occasions...back in the day of tipping the maitre'd for the view. I fondly remember both my father and stepfather (and a date or two) tipping their folded up bill for the view.

The view is still magnificent.

The decor is still straight 80's gold. Gold everywhere. I did notice that there is not the strict adherence to the dress code as in my younger years.

The food was good, not "spectacular" as it used to be. The kitchen relies heavily on sauces and the sides (sesame oil doused half roasted veggies) went uneaten. My filet was cooked perfectly. My french onion soup was delicious and my mother enjoyed her pork chop special. My niece loved her crab cake entree.

Our server, Beth H, was wonderful. We brought my nieces to celebrate a 16th birthday, a 21st birthday, and student council win. They were overwhelmed by the view (and the pictures for their social media) and Beth allowed us the time to let them snap away before putting their phones away and tackling the menu. She was patient with their questions and explained in detail. The portions are pretty big and if you choose to split an entree, there is a charge.

Will I go again? Most likely. It is a family tradition as well as a Pittsburgh tradition.
LeMont is a Pittsburgh staple.
It is worth a try.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Unbeatable view, attentive staff, embarrassing food. The view is terrific and probably unrivaled anywhere in the US, the ambiance is nice with older style decor that that would be super tacky if not authentic. We enjoyed every aspect about this restaurant except for the food. The price is what you would expect for this type of dining experience and view...if the food was anything more than average. Portions are large. Too large. If I am choosing quantity over quality I will go to the buffet, not here. Was shocked to experience this low quality of food at this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Perhaps the best place for food while enjoying the breath taking view of the city of Pittsburgh from Mt. Washington. The food was good (on the pricey side of course) and the portion was generous. The waiting staff was very professional and attentive. The only thing on the weak side was that we had two cocktails, both were on the too-sweet side. Overall, this is definitely the place to go when visiting the city (our first visit).

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had guests from out of town, first time to Pittsburgh, so we wisely chose LeMont. Easy to hear conversations at table for four, good food, ample space between tables, no conflict with other guests conversations. Fantastic view, can easily point out many points of interest for those with only a brief time to visit the burgh.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

A classic dining experience in Pittsburgh great service with an amazing view off the city skyline. Delicious food with awesome service. I appreciated the valet service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary---a FABULOUS evening

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

What happened to this place? A number of years ago I used to eat here regularly. So many things were disappointing. First, we had a 7:15 reservation and were not seated until 7:50. Our table had container of cream left from the prior party at the table and some of cream was spilled over our new place settings. The waiter had to repeatedly ask what we ordered and when our entrees were brought out they were all wrong. When food did come out - much later - it was mediocre at best. Also, we ordered two desserts and the 20 minutes later were told the restaurant had run out of one of the desserts. Lastly, the bus boy helping our waiter would ask to. remove our plates when we were not ready and almost knock over water glasses when filling them. He also had food spilled all over his clothes. If it was not so disappointing, it was almost comical . No encore for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food and great view! Everything was cocked to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The view and service were fantastic. The mixes drinks were excellent. The desserts, particularly the creme brulee and cakes, were delicious. The rest of the food was unimpressive and disappointing ... and we ordered three different entrees. Our cream of asparagus soup was warm and flavorless. The mashed potatoes were crusty.

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Too much chicken in Mediterranean chicken. My plate looked like an "all you can eat buffet ". The Mediterranean ingredients looked like an after thought. My guests dinners (salmon for one and surf and turf for another ) were terrific.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Had a great time. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Service and food was excellent as always. Tom was a wonderful, attentive server.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

I absolutely love LeMont! The scenic view is breathtaking, the servers are polite, the food is excellent!... I always feel like I am in paradise when I dine here.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Wonderful in every category. The food was delicious. Our waiter was excellent. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The ambiance is wonderful, our service was very good and the view is spectacular.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

As long as I've lived in Pittsburgh I have never been there. I figured that Restaurant Week would be a good time to try it. The atmosphere is wonderful and Denise our server was excellent. I personally did not care for my meal but this would not deter me from trying it again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

We loved their choices for Restaurant week. Every time the food is so good with an even better view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Beautiful view of the city of Pittsburgh. Meal was great. A terrific dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

A cut above the rest!!! Fabulous meal. Spectacular service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was excellent or server Beth and helper rico made it great. The food on the other hand, I expected more. I had peach poulet and it was very bland, the rice was very under cooked. The dessert I had to send for a new one because the funnel cake were extremely hard and dry. Over all experience was ok.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We were in town for one night and a dear friend who is from Pittsburgh gave us a gift card to La Mont. we couldn't have been happier! Dinner and service were both excellent and the view was spectacular. What a treat!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Perfect for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Lemont during restaurant week was very good. We had a window seat and it was nice looking over the city.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Awsome view. Everything was perfect, includind the service, food, wine, etc. I do recommend it for espacial ocasions. The Price is not abusive and you have many cheap wines avaiable if you do not wanna spend a lot of money on it. This was my 5th time over there and definatly we Will not be the last.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

We went for our 2 year anniversary and it was amazing!! Our server, Tom was so nice and made the evening so special. Thanks food was delicious, view was gorgeous, atmosphere was great. This is one of my favorite restaurants and the also had an amazing summer special going on. It was absolutely perfect!! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

went specifically for baked alaska and to celebrate a birthday. told there was no baked alaska (possibly put on your website that people should pre order this- I have been here before and not had a problem). told the meals were small in size so we ordered two (steak dianne and a filet)- gigantic proportions so we could have shared. feel we were told this to $$ the place.
table side is nice but they seem to allow any!! dress code now. couple next to us was in jeans and we were dressed up. This place should enforce a dress code . desert was good but my almond cake kind of fell apart. happy birthday consisted of a candle attached to a plate. ??? we needed a cab and were pretty much abandoned to find our own way.
won't go back would not recommend really, it's a lot of grandeur but lost in people in jeans and a lackluster staff who gave us limited attention. good views. I guess go for desert in a t shirt and you will be welcomed. call ahead for the infamous baked alaska

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. The view is spectacular

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great resteraunt with excellent views. The customer service is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very expensive compared to other 5 star restaurants. Meal was good but not a wow for us. Probably only paying for the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We visited on an a Sunday evening. We had an absolutely wonderful time. The servers were very attentive and the food was very good. We had the lamb and duck entrees. Don't miss dessert!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our waitress wasn't welcoming at all and when paying, she lost my bank card. Food was delicious but there needs to be more selections. There were only medley and potatoes for our starch/vegetable, everyone only had those 2, to get. For the prices, I would expect more variety. Amazing views but again, I was bothered by only medley and potatoes and no other selection. Green beans, broccoli, noodles etc. all are simple nice additions when eating out at a nice place. The views are the main thing you pay for. Request a window seat and you'll enjoy it.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We've been there before. It was very good but a bit overpriced for a steak. I got the special, & it was $65 just for the entree. I didn't ask the price before ordering it, & I was a bit surprised by the price charged to our bill! The view of the city is beautiful! We sat by the window & had a perfect view!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service was great, the dining room is tastefully decorated, and the view is amazing. Unfortunately, the food is only mediocre. The menu needs to be updated to reflect the tastes of the 21st century. At present, the menu reflects a 1970's concept of high-end dining.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing view. Perfect for celebrating a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I have been going to the Le Mont for many years to celebrate special occasions. As usual the wait staff service and the ambiance of the restaurant were top notch, but for some reason, the food was not up to the usual high standards. Probably just one of those off nights.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.