About LeMont Restaurant

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: 4124313100x211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (43)
Special Occasion (40)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Historic (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Waterfront (9)
Business Meals (9)
Live Music (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Family Style (3)
Dancing (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

You are paying for the view. The duck is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

You are paying for the view. The duck is absolutely fabulous. Our $50 entrees were served with carrots and potatoes that tasted like instant. Completely bland and flavorless. Some garlic, pepper, butter... anything would have been appreciated. Again the duck was fabulous. Service is basic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Celebrated my girlfriend's 50th birthday ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Celebrated my girlfriend's 50th birthday anniversary at LeMont. Food and service were excellent. Happened to dine during Restaurant Week, so value of the special prix fixe menu was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love go come to this restaurant not j ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

We love go come to this restaurant not just for the view the food and the service are great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived no one was at the front ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

When we arrived no one was at the front to greet us we stood around for 10 mins and finally the ladies taking coats asked if had been helped. They then found someone to seat us. When the last two remaiing guest showed we had to meet them at the front as they too waited for someone to greet them. We had to ask for a wine list one was nor provided. Out waiter was more concerned about playing on his cell then us. The rolls had been hard and dry, and the food temp was warm. I am thankful that I went during restaurant week and did not pay full price. It was not worth full price.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The LaMont is an experience. The view i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The LaMont is an experience. The view is breathtaking and the ambiance is gorgeous however the meal was not good. I had the surf and turf. The shrimp and steak were not worth the price. The steak was a bland and fatty. The shrimp was also bland. The mashed potatoes were good however and the salad was made of greens and not iceberg which is a plus in my book. If you want to experience the restaurant I suggest you visit during restaurant week. You can experience the view and ambiance with out paying too much for the poor quality food.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Waterfront, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great experience. We will definitely go ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. We will definitely go back! The food was excellent, the service was great, and the view was the icing on the cake!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got nice view over the city but it is ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Got nice view over the city but it is hard to comment on the food

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic meal at an absolutely beautifu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic meal at an absolutely beautiful restaurant with wonderful view of the city. Affordable with the restaurant week specials. Great service and attention to detail.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the place!!!! The food was grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We loved the place!!!!

The food was great!

The view is outstanding !

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The night was incredible , I spent the e ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The night was incredible , I spent the evening with a beautiful women, at a wonderful Pittsburgh restaurant, we were treated very well, serve was excellent , food was very good. Looking forward to a return visit, BTW, the view is pretty awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The view was beautiful. The staff was a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

The view was beautiful. The staff was attentive. The food was delicious. Very nice evening.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and magnificent view of t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Great ambiance and magnificent view of the city. The staff were was nice and attentive. The decor is 5 star. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful. Very impressive the food is i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful. Very impressive the food is incredible.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at the LeMont occurred during ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Our dinner at the LeMont occurred during restaurant week. Every entree on the menu was $35.17. While choices were limited in number there was a good variety. We dined on shrimp stuffed with boursin and wrapped in prosciutto, pork tenderloin, and sole stuffed with crabmeat. Each of us was exceptionally pleased with the main course, though the sides were unimaginative and not particularly complimentary. Service was attentive, but lacking in the finesse one might expect for a restaurant with such an opulent decor. Soup and salad were extra charges, but also were quite tasty and reasonably priced. The view is spectacular. It was a rainy Wednesday night so the dining room was not that crowded, making conversation very easy. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I came into Pittsburgh to visit my mom a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I came into Pittsburgh to visit my mom and made a reservation at LeMont. We had a delicious cocktail at the beautiful bar. Both of us enjoyed our dinners very much. I had sole stuffed with crab imperial and my mom had a veal dish. Wonderfully prepared and 2 dishes I wouldn't attempt at home. For me, that's one of the things those of us who love to cook enjoy about dining out. Our server, Tom, was excellent; always seemed to be around if we had a question and gave us plenty of space.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed dinner at Le Mont. It was a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We enjoyed dinner at Le Mont. It was a great chance to see what the life style of rich people are like. I would probably not able to afford the food if it were not for the reimbursement from my institution. Though the food was night, it was the view, atmosphere and posh-ness that earned the price tag.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We were very pleased with Denise, she t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were very pleased with Denise, she took good care of us at dinner. Kathy , the bartender also took good care of us , it was a great way to end the night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, delicious food and amazi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Beautiful view, delicious food and amazing service. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeMont is an excellent upscale restauran ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

LeMont is an excellent upscale restaurant. It will impress.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impeccable service, incredible menu, int ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Impeccable service, incredible menu, intimate ambience and a unforgettable view of Pittsburgh. The best restaurant dining I have ever had. Definitely going back. Beautiful building as well. The best.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic evening my wife and I h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a fantastic evening my wife and I had at the LeMont! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent view overlooking the city. Ele ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent view overlooking the city. Elegant dining

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Took the dusquene incline to have desser ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Took the dusquene incline to have dessert with my wife and 7 year old son. Desserts, service, and ambiance were great. The view of the city at night was unforgettable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

everything was good. however it's a litt ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

everything was good. however it's a little odd that there is no military discount. i also didn't feel like the food was worth nearly $100 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The LeMont is a scenic landmark restaur ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The LeMont is a scenic landmark restaurant with a long standing reputation as one of the great special occasion locations in Pittsburgh. This truly is a fine dining establishment. The holiday menu was tasty and well-priced, and offered a great selection with large portions. The view is fabulous; most tables are set near wide windows and allow for a panorama of city lights. Certainly worth a return visit for all special occasions!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The view was great but for the price the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The view was great but for the price the food was just fair. The side dishes were good but the chicken was very dry. I probably won't dine there in the future.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Lovely atmosphere for celebrating pre-Ch ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lovely atmosphere for celebrating pre-Christmas. Fantastic view. Food was great but waitress got 1 of 4 entrée ordered wrong. The kitchen had the correct dinner to me in approximately 5-7 minutes which was amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at the LeMont ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at the LeMont Restaurant after seeing the PBT Nutcracker. Beth was our server and very nice and explained the menu and other options well. We also had a young man that kept our water glasses filled to the brim. We had our granddaughters with us and I thought the LeMont was very accommodating with their meals. Beth mentioned that if the girls (9 and 11) did not see anything to their liking on the main menu we could order them buttered noodles, pasta with marinara, fried shrimp, a smaller size filet and several other options which I cannot recall. (I thought that was wonderful considering the status of this restaurant). The girls opted for the fried shrimp and enjoyed it very much. Overall it was a wonderful experience. Thank you LeMont!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely outstanding evening. The food ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely outstanding evening. The food, the service, atmosphere, and view of the city were incredible.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here a birthday dinner, and had ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We went here a birthday dinner, and had an "ok" experience. The ambience is great, especially during the holidays as the decorations are fantastic. The view of downtown is one of the best in the city. The food is good, not amazing, but really you're paying for the service and view. Unfortunately for us, our service was mediocre. The valet was not outside, and we had to go inside to request someone to park the car. We were largely ignored after not ordering drinks right when we sat down, and after that it was a challenge to order much of anything. The bartender was unable to come up with anything that wasn't on the menu or a regular drink, and when our drinks did arrive our main course had already been served. While we'll admit these are annoyances we would overlook at a lot of restaurants, at $100 per person we expected a lot a better. Overall a disappointing experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

I sincerely expected an elevated level o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

I sincerely expected an elevated level of cuisine. Not one food item out of the whole table for all that was ordered was notable. Not one thing. My sister in law's swordfish was inedible and was brought an alternative chicken dish that was equally disappointing. The food seemed to be 'Heat n Serve' quality. Certainly did not have Chef driven meal. All six of us that dined there went online to read the menu anticipating delicious options, only to find that the actual menu was dreadfully limited and told the online menu's are not frequently updated and we were out of luck. Our appetizers came quickly, salads, soup, 5 minutes after app's, then entree's 5 minutes after that. We weren't even halfway done with app's and food was on the table, it was uncomfortably crowded and felt like we were being rushed. My tableside Ceasar was a joke. If only the food matched the view. Mom's 70th Birthday was a very , very expensive bust.

Tags: Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

This is one of my favorite spots for spe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This is one of my favorite spots for special meals. I love to go here to celebrate because the staff makes you celebration special. I also love to take first time visitors to our beautiful city here because of the good food & choices; also for the spectacular view of Pittsburgh. No place better to make visitors feel welcome than the LaMont.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is spectacular! I got the Chef' ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The view is spectacular! I got the Chef's Special-New York strip topped with crab and shrimp.

The steak was very disappointing...I could barely cut into it (it was cooked medium) and quite rubbery. The crab and shrimp was great! The service was also excellent...just did not care for loud holiday party in the room beside us.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

How do I start dismantling this Pittsbur ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

How do I start dismantling this Pittsburgh establishment? The take away is: “stay way at all costs.”

LeMont started in 1960. In a city that has recently strived to build a foodie community, LeMont is an embarrassment.

The menu at LeMont is “old school.” This would be fine if the food was well-prepared, but it is not. My steak was so over-salted that I have not been able to drink enough water to recover my homeostasis. I may need dialysis.

Wine is marked up over 300%.

The bottom line: if you want a view and like good food, go somewhere else.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

What we expected to be a special evening ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What we expected to be a special evening was dampened by the poor food quality and service. For a restaurant that has fine dining prices the overall experience was that of an Applebee's. Food was not prepared as ordered and the sides were cold. The manager apologized for the disastrous dinner and credited our cocktails. A nice gesture however if a restaurant is going to catagorize itself as fine dining they need to be sure they can live up to its standards!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Wonderful as always, outstanding service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful as always, outstanding service, food, view. Quiet so you can have conversation, enjoy a cocktail and finish the evening with good fresh coffee and amazing selection of desserts to choose from. Great valet service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was some of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was some of the best I've ever had and the view from our table was stunning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been in the united state for 3 ye ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been in the united state for 3 years from different states (FL,PA,CL)and I have never seen Best restaurants same as LeMont in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My experience was absolutely amazing!! I ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My experience was absolutely amazing!! It was beautiful and the food and drinks were great. The staff, especially our waiter Marco, we're so kind and helpful also. I have plans to go back in the very near future.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fun, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Got married at LeMont last year and went ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Got married at LeMont last year and went back to celebrate our first anniversary. Dinner was great as always and they even let us order a dish from our wedding that wasn't on the normal menu.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.