Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.68mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About LeMont Restaurant

LeMont Restaurant is synonymous with elegance, style and exquisite surroundings. Since 1960, we have had a glorious tradition of grandeur and fine dining. Our elegant bar is perfect for a drink with friends or a light fare.

LeMont Restaurant on Grandview Avenue on Mt. Washington is a Pittsburgh tradition. LeMont is known for its exquisite cuisine, impeccable service, romantic atmosphere and view of the city.

LeMont is known for tableside cooking

1114 Grandview Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm.

Cross Street:
Meridan St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 431-3100

Website:
http://www.lemontpittsburgh.com/

Entertainment:
Piano, easy-listening

Catering:
Fine Dining

Executive Chef:
Robert Vargo

Private Party Facilities:
All of our private dining rooms feature a bar and a view of the city of Pittsburgh

Private Party Contact:
Bill Laughlin: (412) 431-3100 ext. 211

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

LeMont Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Scenic View (31)
Romantic (31)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Waterfront (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Live Music (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Historic (6)
Fun (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Dancing (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
507 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The view was beautiful. I ordered the filet mignon and it was amazing. My girlfriend ordered a salad and she loved it. The staff was very professional, ease of making reservations was appreciated. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family and will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was very good and the view can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Awesome service from the time we walked in. The food was terrific and a great selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Diane our server was great! Joe the chef is awesome! We came to celebrate a birthday and everyone was just great!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Started coming here in the 60s with my parents. Now I come here whenever I return to town. Not only is the view spectacular. The food a service are always exemplary. If you want to treat yourself. This is the place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This place was a letdown for us, unfortunately. This was our first visit and from the moment we walked inside until the time we exited, we didn't feel welcome at all. I'm not sure if it was because we are young or what... But the staff made us feel like they weren't sure if we could afford the menu, lol. It's no surprise that this restaurant is a bit more pricey than most restaurants. My husband and I have been dining on Mount Washington for a few years now and have dropped thousands of dollars on incredible meals up there. And even though the staff couldn't have been aware of that -- if we are making reservations and show up properly attired, you can bet we probably know the price point.
Our server was rude and inattentive. We were literally left hoping that at least the food would exceed our expectations. It didn't. It wasn't fresh and the plates looked thrown together. We got dessert to go and that tasted fine, one of the only redeeming aspects of our evening at Le Mont. I'm so disappointed because I really hoped it would match the hype it gets!
The restaurant is very pretty inside and the view is breathtaking. Definitely the best view of the city from any of the other restaurants on Mount Washington.
But the view is fine from other places, with exceptionally better service and food. We will probably skip Le Mont next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I took my son there as a treat for his 20th birthday. The view was amazing, the restaurant itself is full of old-fashioned grandeur. The staff was personable and attentive. My son's dinner was delicious; he had salmon en croute. The only negative was my meal; I had the veal roulade. The veal was surprisingly tough as leather, but I didn't feel like sending it back. I was full already from the delicious 3 berry salad and the bread, and I knew I'd be having dessert, so I just ate the seafood stuffing and left the veal. I'm sure they would have graciously exchanged it; I was tired and didn't want to bother. Overall, it was a great birthday celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The onion soup and crab hozel were great. However the duck which was recommended was well done and they never heard of it being requested medium. Not edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The decor of this restaurant is very, very tired!!! The restaurant is cavernous with only a handful of occupied tables the evening we were there. The menu was very limited, most dishes had at least one or two weird ingredients . The items my husband and and I finally chose were really uninteresting. The view is unsurpassable, only positive of the experience. Skip this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

STARTING WITH AN ATTENTIVE VALET, SEATED IMMEDIATELY, WAITER WAS TERRIFIC INCLUDING THE TABLE SIDE PREPARED DESSERT AND PROFESSIONALISM. FOOD WAS GREAT AND PLENTIFUL WHICH I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETELY EAT, THAT IS UNUSUAL. IT WAS AN AWESOME WAY FOR MY WIFE AND I TO CELEBRATE 30 YEARS OF MARRIAGE WHILE WE ENJOYED THE SPECTACULAR VIEW OF OUR FINE CITY!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Made it a special anniversary celebration by seating us by window. Thanks! The Chateaubriand was too much for 2 but they made it easy to carry home. It was delicious. Really enjoyed Caesar salad prepared @ table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I proposed to my wife here in 1985, and ever since we come back for anniversaries and special occasions because it's a special place with great food, outstanding service and a stellar view as well!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always great service, fantastic view, wonderful food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner for my Mom's 90th birthday. Dining out with with my parents is a challenge since they both use walkers. LeMont service is always attentive - thank you Tom. Food was delicious and the special dessert we preordered was perfect. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It was my husband and I 10 year anniversary...we arrived 30mins early and I thought we had to wait. The hostess took every good care of us. Overall, from beginning to end...wonderful! Nothing bad to say. We will revisit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. The view can't be topped, literally or figuratively. The moment you walk in you know you are in a special place, then you walk up the stairs and your senses are jolted as the grand view of Pittsburgh hits you even more than when you come through the tubes entering Pittsburgh. At the same time the plush decor surrounds you enhanced by the background music. Remember too, that you have just arrived and the best is yet to come, from table side meal preparation to that dessert made right in front of your eyes making the dining room light up brighter than the shimmering lights of Pittsburgh below. The only complaint is that they don't stay open a bit later, so the lights of Pittsburgh could be enjoyed a time longer.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

So many times it's difficult to get one vegetarian choice at a restaurant. They had three delicious options for the main course! Mine was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our server Marco was amazing. Everyone who works there is amazing. Beautiful place food was a let down. Maybe I was expecting more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Truly one of the great views in America. Beautiful decor, great music and outstanding service. Given the enormous size of this restaurant, the food is akin to an event menu in a luxury hotel. It's good enough to enjoy if you don't expect a gourmet experience. The setting, the view and the service are enough for a truly unique experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We took our pastor there for his birthday--Beth was our server. She, and EVERYTHING else, was phenomenal! I especially appreciated her asking me and my daughter-in-law for our orders first--NEVER experienced that level of customer service in a restaurant! All of us absolutely loved the whole evening! Thank you!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Dined at the LeMont for a business dinner. The atmosphere and menu were perfect to have a very nice meal and carry on great conversation. We were meeting with folks from out of town and this restaurant gave them a great view of the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The all inclusive dinner was available this day of our daughter's college graduation which included soup, salad, entrée and dessert for one price - a great value. Food was delicious and large portions. Always lovely ambiance and beautiful scenic view. A Pittsburgh favorite. We live in the suburbs but worth the ride into the city.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, very nice. Ambiance and view are unmatched. Food was good, but was hoping for excellent. Caesar salads were tasty but were tossed with too much dressing according to 2 diners at our table. Duck was likewise over-sauced. Filets very nice; but the breaded coating on the grouper was rather dry and flavorless. Service could not have been better - attentive without annoying.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 3, 2017

One of the more beautiful restaurants.
Do not succumb to changing the decor, it makes one feel very special to be there.
The view is indescribable, it is so wonderful! Worth every penny spent on the dinner.
Drinks and meal good. One at our table, medallion was too well done, cheerfully redone.
We so appreciated that.
While very few diners there (Wed. evening), it felt very special to be there.
Two of us were there 18 years ago; I will not wait that long to come again.
Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with breathtaking views and delicious food!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Staff was all aloof. Starting with host at door, basically got my name and ran to a table, we were standing there like "ok are we too follow him or...."
time between sitting down to ordering drink was about 20 min😑.
Was given wrong menu
No draft beers.....like. Really. Come on. Get with it.
View was splendid and our waitress was very kind.
Food was nothing to brag about for sure. For the price I expected more.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went to Le Mont for son's graduation. Unfortunately the food did not meet the expectations we had for this place. Salmon was very overcooked and not fresh. Side dishes for the meals were bland. For the price paid for our meal I would have expected 5 star dining--it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is truly a Pittsburgh gem. The view is to die for...take it from a Dallas TX resident-our steaks and fish were perfect- beats the best of them. And the service was more than excellent. Did I mention the view? We had a group of 7 that included age 12-14 year olds and they were impressed too. Did I forget telling you'all that the service was fantastic from the moment you enter this beautiful Resturant and thruout the dinner. Everyone shared the scrumptious deserts too. Enjoy this gem!

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 19, 2017

A special occasion must for classic Pittsburgh. We were married here fifteen years ago and wanted to bring or twelve year old child to see the rooms we had cocktails, our wedding and reception in. They let us wander around the rooms after dinner! Really special.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What a Great Place for Quality Food, Great portion Size, Ambience, Romance, Social and All round Quality Establishment!
We would say You've not done Pittsburgh without a Visit to LeMont!
We couldn't ask for more from a Restaurant and it Delivered on Every level.
The View is Perfect too!

Tony & Lisa J Hamilton

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Marco is the finest waiter I've ever had. Amazing meal and view, very accomodating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was a perfect evening. Our waiter was very accommodating and we had a wonderful table over looking the City. It was our anniversary so the waiter brought us a complimentary piece of delicious cake to celebrate

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always a must go to for dinner! The one guy that kept refilling our water and cleared our plates was a little awkward but other than that great service and excellent food!
Side note however was our little table for 2 seemed to be in an odd place at the end of the ramp and felt like we were just shoved in there, didn't like that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

21st anniversary celebration dinner was so fabulous! All of the staff from the front of the house to the bar to the table were well trained, professional and knowledgeable. The food was back to the long time standards of LeMont . The best place for a special occasion!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I loved our table by the window - no better views of Pittsburgh - anywhere. I had not been to the Le Mont for years - it is still a traditional gem in our city! The lobster tails were scrumptious. I will return more often. Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Every time it's just fantastic .top notch service from the time you walk in til ya leave. Nothing beats the decor and view
The food A+ the desserts are A+++
Hands down Pittsburgh best crock of French onion soup

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Amazing view, elegant, live music, delicious food, excellent service....perfect in my opinion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My girlfriend and I have been going to the LeMont for the past 3-4 anniversarys and it is just outstanding. The food is amazing and noone could ever beat the service there!!! The staff are friendly, helpful, and all dressed to a T. You really feel like their there to please you. After 2 appitisers, 2 meals, 2 deserts, a bottle of wine and 3 other drinks the bill was $180. BUT the food is so great you almost need help to walk out of the door because its so filling and great!!
As Always : we will be coming back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I thought that salad was old and over dressed, dessert was horrible and the steak lacked flavor. Service was slow and did not even ask why I did not eat most of my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The LeMont has wonderful meals in a historic setting, with a beautiful view, terrific service and great atmosphere. Valet service is also a plus. - Bob

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.