Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Good for Anniversaries (79)
Romantic (78)
See All
Good for a Date (68)
Quiet Conversation (59)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
Business Meals (37)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Historic (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Seasonal (16)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Fireplace (4)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Only mild criticism was the arrogance of our waiter, who apparently didn't approve of us as a couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were excellent and made for a relaxing, enjoyable special evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Lemaire was a bit disappointing. It wasn't bad, but it didn't wow. The appetizers were average , entrees above average, desserts outstanding. We expected Lemaire to be outstanding across the board.

The crabcake appetizer was not nearly as good as Acacia's or several others in town. The soup had us wondering if it had gone "off" a bit. The fried oysters were fine, but not as good as Pearl Oyster Bar. The tuna tartare was very weak, with small diced pieces of tuna.

Scallop entree was delicious. Cobia and salmon were very good. Pork chop was fine.

Creme brulee and chocolate cake were outstanding.

Attentive service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb! Lived up to my expectations and past reviews!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful dining experience in an amazing, historic hotel in downtown Richmond. Waitress (Lori) was fabulous and very knowledgable . The food was amazing and fabulously prepared (looked GREAT and tasted even better). Nice library room where we dined was very comfortable and quite. Would encourage anyone looking for an elegant dining experience to try this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful experience! We do wish they had a dress code. It is a first class restaurant in terms of food, service, decor ... a bit disconcerting to see someone come in dressed in white t-shirt and shorts & flip flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a great anniversary dinner here at the restaurant. Elina was wonderful to us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Just in Richmond for a day trip what better place to have an early dinner than the Jefferson's Hotel Lemaire restaurant. A must if you want to enjoy Southern cuisine in a refined atmosphere at prices which are fairly reasonable. Everything perfect, the food, the drinks, the desserts and above all, the service. Not to be missed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome! Food was great and so were the cocktails. Highly recommend. Reasonable for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful experience once the hostess seated us at a decent table (we had reservation, were guests at the hotel, and asked for a nice table at hostess desk but were given the absolute worst-I sometimes wonder what they are thinking as we immediately refused it and were then seated at a quite nice table). Loved the food. Service started strong but did slow down toward the end of the meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous! Great service and very accommodating staff, amazing wine list that was reasonably priced. The food had a little extra in each preparation and presentation. Definitely go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Headed further south in VA and decided to stay in Richmond. Did a little research and we were NOT disappointed. Food that is well thought out, our waiter (Andrew) could describe the food preparation in in way that made it just that more delicious. Try the Cabernet Franc from VA really good bottle of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our meal was excellent in every way. The waiter, the wine selection and the menu were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

From start to finish our dinner experience was perfect. Professional, unrushed service. Great food, served hot. The hotel itself is a work of art. It is truly magnificent. Walk around after dinner and enjoy the refined opulence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Matt was a very rude server. We came there for my wifes birthday and ruined our entire dinner. Her dinner was very salty, and he did not care about making it right for her even though it was her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I can see why it is always ranked towards the top of best places to eat in Richmond. The Jefferson Hotel is a beautiful place and the ornate details in Lemaire follow in suit. Service was above and beyond, they even stepped up for me when I failed to get flowers delivered to the table in time for my wife's birthday.

Food was everything we hoped for, so delicious and fresh. We did several appetizers, then split a main, and of course capped things with dessert. Everything was great.

Will absolutely come here again and will recommend to friends fo sho.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Lemaire met all our expectations. Great Service, Food and great place to take that Special Person in your life. We celebrated our 40 th Anniversary and look forward to more trips to Lemaire!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We often head to Lemaire for dates and special occasions. I've never left anything less than satisfied. Wonderful all around!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food! But a bit pricey for the portions received.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Lamb shank had a lot of fat and gristle. Otherwise, dinner was wonderful, especially garlic soup and fried oysters.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

After a horrendous drive in torrential rain, it was a miracle we made it. The waiter was extremely knowledgeable about both beer & wines. The oysters were delicious both fried and raw (farmed no less)! Duck breast entrees were creative and flavors mixed not in an ordinary way.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My husband and I take my mom and sisters to Lemaire when we are in Richmond at Christmas. This year, we took them when we were in Viringina on July 4th, to commemorate my late dad's birthday. As always, the food, wine, service, and ambiance were exceptional. Bruce was there when we needed him but never hovered. To start, theee of us had oysters on the half shell, one had the roasted garlic soup and my husband had the corn custard. Everyone raved. Then we all had the beef tenderloin entree with asparagus and roasted potatoes. We split the chocolate cake, lemon tart, and maple crepe brûlée for dessert. We enjoyed two bottles of wine off the reasonably priced Discoveries section of the list through the meal. A wonderful evening! We will be back around Christmas.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always the perfect spot for special occasions. Relaxed but elegant atmosphere. And quiet for conversation - unusual in the hip restaurant scene. Food and service superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Food is barely average, price is high in the area. Very disappointed about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Classic cooking updated in an historic setting! The meals were very good. When they did not have gluten free fried oysters on the menu, their "real chef" accommodated my gluten allergy with some great cornmeal encrusted bi-valves.
The cooked in warm water, in the bag with olive oil Cobia was a fan favorite for 3 of 4 of us.
My swordfish steak was perfect, but too small. The fennel was under cooked and tough.
The Meyer Lemon Tart was zesty, sweet and perfection. The bread pudding, which I would never order because of my gluten allergy, was devoured by our son. The maple flavored creme brulee was worth the calories. Expensive, yes. Worth eating, definitely yes. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Went for a special occasion and absolutely loved it. Great service and great food, plus the ambiance of the Jefferson.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent service, great ambience, and terrific food. The only unfortunate part is that with only 2 people dining you don't get to try very many items from the menu but what we had was very, very good. Starting with salad and mussels (where you want a loaf of bread to dunk in the broth) to the lamb shank and beef tenderloin entrees everything was hot, seasoned well, and cooked to the right tenderness. Lamb shanks must be considered a specialty of theirs because it seemed like someone at every table was being served one. Portion sizes were good. As a result didn't have room for dessert. And the bonus was you could actually hear your companion throughout the meal without having to raise your voice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent overall, especially service and creative dishes

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I'm sorry, but the food is just not on a par with the lovely space. Our server was top notch, but great service cannot compensate for mediocre food. The menu is not very exciting, so it was difficult to even choose. The crabcake is definitely NOT lump, and could have been found in any chain restaurant. The sauces were interesting but not enough to make the dish a winner. Too bad, Lemaire! You should be great but you're just so-so. I won't be returning when there are so many great choices in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I think we're done with Lemaire. Between the insanely loud bar and TV, an uninspired menu, and competent but indifferent service over the last few visits, it just isn't a good dining experience. Still a beautiful room, but that isn't enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This is the best restaurant that I have been in Richmond! I would definitely go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

exceptional, as always. Creative and superbly prepared meal with well thought out pairings for flavor and balance. Wine list extensive, though menu favors whites, list sstrongly fav ors reds; overalll mnarkup about 250 %. Sev eral cheap bottles for those not into over priced fine wines. Waiter extremelly knowledgeable about the food, it's origin and preparation; personable and professional. Overall great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Began our Anniversary celebration with Champagne Cocktails at the bar. Once seated in the classically designed, high ceiling Spanish Baroque dining room, we had Mussels and Oysters as appetizers. Entrees were Beef Tenderloin and Drum, both cooked precisely. The beef was accompanied by fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The Drum rested on a bed of sautéed kale with black eyed peas with country ham and a side of fried green tomatoes. Both dishes were delicious. We shared a dessert of pecan pie bread pudding, containing lots of pecans, topped by butterscotch ice cream. A perfect ending to a wonderful dinner experience.
Our servers were pleasant, attentive, and anticipated our needs, while not being intrusive. The noise level was low, allowing for easy conversation without being able to hear nearby patrons.
Overall, classy, decadent and a real pleasure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We enjoyed another delicious meal at Lemaire. Great service, great food, great time. I tried the squash blossom appetizer because I had never tried a squash blossom. It was very good. Goat cheese stuffed blossom with a very light tempura type batter and deep fried. I had tenderloin steak and it was cooked perfectly; tender and flavorful served with asparagus. My husband really enjoyed the liver terrine with rabbit, duck and chicken livers with polenta toast appetizer and the rock fish with green fried tomatoes and Swiss chard. Dessert was lemon tart and pecan pie bread pudding. Fantastic meal as always. Looking forward to our next trip to Richmond, The Jefferson, and Lemaire!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Marriage Proposal

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Every minute of our experience was exceptional. The service was excellent and we all agreed the food was the best we'd had in ages. Our compliments to the chef! The dining room was beautiful and comfortable. We were very pleased with the wine selections. Prices are comparable or better to other fine dining restaurants and the food is outstanding. Lemaire will be our first choice in the future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great menu, excellent and reasonably priced wine list, great staff. Nick was a perfect waiter - knowledgable and respectful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Awesome food and excellent service. The food was unique and totally fresh. Clearly the chef puts thought and consideration into each menu item. The mix of flavors and textures made each course a delight.

The service was excellent. Matt provided many thoughtful and excellent suggestions which matched our likes and desires.

We are going back !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

One of the best meals I can ever remember. Food was out of this world especially the fried oysters. Service was excellent, ambiance was excellent and the location is gorgeous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A very special and welcoming place. Felt like a million bucks without the pretense. Very well prepared food, attractive plating and congenial service. Recommended without reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.