Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Romantic (62)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Notable Wine List (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Business Meals (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (26)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Seasonal (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply elegant! A nice quiet and relaxing escape with excellent service and food. The chicken was cooked and flavored superbly. Also the vegetarian lasagna was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

The service at Lemaire is outstanding and the food is very good. Unfortunately some of the complex sides or additional sauces for the food are not items I enjoy eating so I was unable to give them a 5 star for food. My filet was very good, not the best I've eaten in Richmond, but absolutely nothing wrong with it. If you have a special occasion let them know and they will put that on the menu or desert plate. It was a very good time and worth the visit so I do recommend trying Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The beautiful setting, delicious food and amazing service made our anniversary a great memory.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Beautiful historic hotel and dining room. Andrew was an excellent server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an incredible 20th anniversary experience. The night started in the lounge with drinks and perfect appetizers, culminating with one of the best meals we both have ever enjoyed. The filet, cooked to medium rare perfection, and the scallops seasoned just right. We finished the night off with a rich brownie dessert in the room. Lori made the dining experience complete with her thorough knowledge of the menu and the patience to allow ample time between courses. From presentation to the full flavored entrees , the dining experience was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

When directed to our table it was a very small table, yes only two of us. However, when you are at a higher end restaurant I don't want to be crowded, there is a time and place for that. I requested a change and we got upgraded to a table of four. Only negative was that we sat across from the kitchen doors which made for high traffic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our server was very nice and attentive. For supper we picked the crusted halibut, scallops, roasted prime beef strip lion, fig salad and they were all very good. The bread and special sorghum butter was okay. The place is very old but seemed clean and neat. We would dine here again and will recommend to all our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very good food and service. Nice wine list. Seated promptly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Waiter was outstanding and not intrusive, but the hostess was frigid and not at all hospitable on arrival.
Maybe replace her for a better initial impression.
Also should offer to carry guests' drinks from lounge to table on a tray rather than having guests ferry them personally.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Authentic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was a fantastic meal and service. Hope to do it again real soon.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Brought our granddaughter fir her 21st birthday. She will always remember this night and the attentive service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The wait staff was admiral. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service in an iconic hotel. The menu was not huge but very well balanced - an excellent and diverse selection of food choices. My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary there and we appreciated the thoughtful recognition of the occasion without it being overdone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was great and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was really exceptional, not only in flavor, but also in aesthetic. We loved everything about the Jefferson, but the most incredible part was the parking staff noticed that I had a flat tire, and promptly when ahead and changed out the tire with a spare while we were eating dinner. This was just a pretty amazing experience and we will for sure be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 26, 2017

LeMaire never disappoints, whether it's a special occasion or cocktail hour, it's always a RVA staple.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Phenomenal food. Extraordinary service. It was a perfect dining experience !!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My experience was absolutely beautiful. I was surprising my boyfriend with dinner and the gentlemen in valet, the women at the reservation desk, and the waiter all helped to make my efforts come to reality. We both loved our evening. Amazing food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Lemaire at the Hotel Jefferson is the place that my wife and I go when we want to treat ourselves to a special evening. It is a marvelous restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We celebrated our birthdays at the Lemaire. Everything was delicious and the service was top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent cocktail's, food, and service! Will definitely eat here again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Beautiful old hotel, lovingly maintained. Staff capable and friendly. Service was a bit slow that night. Food was excellent though I wouldn't say "wow" to those accustomed to fine dining. Expensive, but I wouldn't say overpriced. One has to expect a location like this to enter into the price, as opposed to a hole in the wall somewhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

It was a great dinner that ended our southern trip. The service was on point with the waiter being very informed and welcoming. The place lives up to the hype of the food quality and elegance that is expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Lemaire, and it was the perfect place for this milestone memory.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated birthdays for 3 friends. Wonderful experience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best restaurant in Richmond. We went here for a special occasion and we were treated very well. Love the staff and food. We can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a beautiful hotel. Portion sizes are large and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We hosted two friends celebrating their birthdays. The service was swell and the staff attentive to our celebration with greetings on the menu and verbally. We enjoy Lemaire as a place we can take friends and have conversation. The pace of the drinks and food delivery was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything about this experience was amazing. From when we arrived at the building with the complementary vallet service to the check. Everything in between was a joy. What a wonderful experience

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have eaten at great restaurants all over the world, but only a handful of meals would surpass this one. Beautiful venue inside historic Jefferson Hotel, friendly and knowledgeable server (Melanie) who not only knew the wines on the list well, but offered to bring tastes of two reds I asked about (even though I was just ordering by the glass since dining alone). Imaginative menu, much of the food locally sourced, nicely presented. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never fails to live up to high ratings and expectations!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced for the level of quality. Our Server Kyle was awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

One of our family favorites, Lemaire never disappoints. Our server, Nick, was friendly but never intrusive. The staff is well trained, and they handle all the little things quietly and quickly without you having to ask. It is my favorite place for a special family dinner, because we can just sit and have an unhurried delicious meal with all the trimmings. Yes, it's an expensive meal--however, it is worth every single penny. A great value, and an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Gazpacho with blue crab excellent; mixed green salad with pecorino delicious. Scallops entree and cobia creatively prepared. Service of entres was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Elegant, sophisticated ambience. Tables set far apart to allow intimate conversation. Attentive service. Appetizers and entrees executed perfectly. Overall, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner, exceptional food & service, reasonable prices. Great ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have been going to Lemaire for many years, and it is always fabulous. The food is wonderful especially the crab cakes and fried oysters. The seasonal soups are delicious as well and appealingly served table side from a silver pitcher. While there are old favorites on the menu, there are frequent enough changes to keep it interesting and seasonally appropriate. The cocktails are imaginative and the wine list a treat. The Spanish albarino is especially delicious with the seafood . The service is excellent at Lemaire - professional without being stuffy and it is never intrusive.The timing of drinks and courses is always perfect. Special occasions are recognized with a little something extra with the marvelous desserts. And all of this in a beautiful historic space that enhances every occasion. Lemaire is hands down the most special restaurant in Richmond- a great place for visitors to have a memorable evening as well as the perfect place for lucky Richmonders to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, and holidays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Lemaire Restaurant was chosen because I wanted to be treated special. We were celebrating 21 years of marriage. We now have a great memory to share and have already told many friends and shared pitures of this beautiful place. Our food was delicious! The presentation was phenomenal. The setting was so romantic. Our service was impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Only mild criticism was the arrogance of our waiter, who apparently didn't approve of us as a couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.