Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
Good for a Date (74)
See All
Romantic (70)
Historic (63)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Notable Wine List (40)
Business Meals (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Local Ingredients (35)
Worth the Drive (33)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Authentic (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Private Room (15)
Seasonal (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Healthy (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Fun (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Fireplace (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

The Lemaire offers a bevy of gastronomic delights that tantalize and awaken the palate. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just having cocktails, Lemaire provides worthy offerings.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for our 9 year anniversary. When you want to celebrate something special, be a tad fancy, eat good food, and experience friendly service, this is where you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding and our server Matt was very knowledgeable about each dish. Everything we ordered was beautifully plated and perfectly cooked. Nice, quiet and unhurried dinner in a classic setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary by having dinner at Lemaire. Through Open Table I had let them know we were celebrating our anniversary and asked for one of their better tables. We were seated in one of the smaller and quieter rooms next to a window. The staff added little touches to make the occasion truly special -- the waiter wished us a happy anniversary as he introduced himself, our menu had "Happy Anniversary" printed at the top and even our dessert had a special message written in chocolate sauce. These things, combined with the impeccable service and extraordinary food, made our celebration memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and LeMaire was the perfect location. Beautiful space and excellent food. We had the oysters and the rabbit w/pasta from for firsts "hot" list and both were fabulous. I had the Loch Duarte salmon and my husband had the lamb shank. Also excellent. If I'm in Richmond again I will return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and total experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

Not a good menu for someone that doesn't eat a lot of meat. Vegetables were funky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food here is absolutely excellent and the ambiance is great. Our only complaint was slow service, but the restaurant was very busy so we attributed the service to this. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A beautiful atmosphere with amazing customer service! The food was delicious.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I added simple comment when entering reservation that it was for our anniversary. The hostess had special menu, the waitress immediately said Happy Anniversary, and more. Very conscientious and top-notch experience. Food all goes together so well. Lamb was tender and delicious. Scallops were a buttery treat with perfect sides.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and had a great meal. Oysters were amazing. We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We recently dined for the first time at Lemaire. We spent a couple of days at The Jefferson for our 40th anniversary. Dinner was outstanding. Despite the fact that they were very busy that night (graduation weekend), we were seated with no delay. Our menus had been specially labeled with "Happy Anniversary". Both of us would rate our food as outstanding. My husband had melt in your mouth lamb shank-a generous serving. I had a delicious beef tenderloin. Being a big vegetable person, I must say all of the accompanying vegetables were outstanding as well-both in appearance and in taste. For dessert, we were both treated with a beautiful and to-die-for chocolate concoction of brownie, ganache, drizzled chocolate and raspberries-with "happy anniversary" drizzled in chocolate. I might also add the wine selection was varied and we had a wonderful bottle of a cabernet sauvignon. All in all, a memorable dinner and served by an attentive and charming young lady. We will not wait 40 more years to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server Melanie, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the menu and history of the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent Service and staff remembers the preferences of frequent diners. Food focuses on local products and offers healthy choices. Elegant and dignified atmosphere promotes pleasant noise levels as opposed to people screaming as though at a ballgame.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our server had the answer to all of our questions and steered us in the perfect direction for our "stepmother's day" special dinner. Barely a bite was left on either of our plates at the end of each course. We loved the creativity of the cocktails as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Most of my family is gluten-free, so getting to try fried oysters for the first time in our lives was exciting. Our server was kind and attentive and the staff had kindly given us specialized menus with "Congratulations" written at the top, in celebration of one of our graduations. Great meal and warm, inviting ambiance. We all left happy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful time belatedly celebrating our birthdays and were treated like special guests. We had an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyed appetizers, entrees and dessert. We were impressed with the wine selection. I highly recommend the Meyer lemon tart - so delicious.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was WONDERFUL!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

What's not to like? Part of beautiful and classic historic hotel, with excellent and creative food, generous portions and great service! Will go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We were seated by the window, which was fine. The only issue was the A.C. was under the window blowing up. We were a little chilled. Otherwise, a great experience. Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing food!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Tried Lemaire during Richmond Rest. week. Great value for the set price. Fried oysters were perfect and beautifully displayed with new potatoes, lettuce, ham, etc. Salmon was so moist - never had better. Polenta was delicious as well as all other accoutrements. Chocolate caramel cake with dark chocolate ice cream - heaven! Service was impeccable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for my anniversary! The food was excellent and served by a gracious and knowledgable waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were there for Restaurant Week--first time Lemaire participated.
As always, great experience! Hard to beat

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Meal

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Delicious dinner for restaurant week. One diner had the filet mignon and the other had the salmon. Both were excellent and well prepared. The cracker meal oysters were particularly great as well as the maple creme brulee! Attentive server without being intrusive. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Wonderful food in beautiful dining room. Look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

This was my first time here and I can tell you that it won't be my last. The food was cooked and plated to perfection. Every morsel was delectable. The service was TOP SHELF and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, the preparation of the foods and the mindset of the chef. As a foodie, I not only enjoyed the food, but I enjoyed the conversation with the server learning about the different dishes. This restaurant is definitely a gem in Richmond VA and it deserves every bit of the national acclaim that it receives.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Delicious - Went for restaurant week and was thrilled. Everything tasted so good. The raw oysters and creme brulee were total hits. Steak was delicious and well done. Service was incredible, our server Michael was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was excellent if a little pricy but well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My wife and I went for Restaurant week. My wife had the beet appetizer, chicken entree and lemon tart dessert, I had the breaded oyster appetizer, beef tenderloin entree and creme brulee dessert, everything was awesome. Service by Michael was great, there when we needed something, but not intrusive, and told us somewhat about the history of the facility and the alligators. The dining room was elegant. Apparently they have done some tweaking to lessen their prices, this has not lessen the quality nor elegance of the restaurant

One of the best restaurants we have been to in greater Richmond.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We went during restaurant week. Although portions were smaller than normal we got a 3 course meal for under $30 and part of that went to the local food bank. The restaurant always is worth a visit and the high national rating is well deserved.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Fine dining at it's finest. Historic restaurant with outstanding service and an amazing wine cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This elegant restaurant with top notch food and service made for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was amazing!! Service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always everything was great and on this visit we had an exceptional waitperson, Melanie, she was excellent and actually seemed like she enjoyed her job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed the bar prior to the dining room. The service was excellent and the food was very good. The atmosphere was perfect for a quiet dinner for two. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was great! Everything tasted fantastic and we had wonderful and attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great restaurant . Great food . Attentive staff 5 stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter Matt was awesome! I would highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.