About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
11 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (115)
romantic (92)
fit for foodies (84)
See All
notable wine list (54)
neighborhood gem (28)
good for groups (28)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for brunch (20)
scenic view (13)
hot spot (12)
great for outdoor dining (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great anniversary at Lemaire. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a great anniversary at Lemaire. Our server was very personable and helpful with the menu. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the service and the food was su ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the service and the food was superb. Gosh what a great place to dine in luxury

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing Anniversary dinner at Lem ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had an amazing Anniversary dinner at Lemaire while staying in Richmond. Our server was pleasant, on point, but far from overbearing. The watermelon gazpacho was a mind blowing way to start the meal, and their local beer list was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While visiting Richmond, my family had d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While visiting Richmond, my family had dinner at the Lemaire. The food and service were wonderful. My son has a dairy allergy and they were very helpful in putting together a meal that he could eat. The dining area is beautiful. The wide spacing between tables is rarely seen anymore even at expensive restaurants. My son particularly enjoyed the panzanella appetizer, beef tenderloin, and creme brulee. I liked my gazpacho soup the best and my husband enjoyed the pineapple cake the most. We also had some very good cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am very impressed with the new chef... ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I am very impressed with the new chef....the Sea Bass was fabulous...and the raw oysters are not to be missed...loved the gazpacho but would love more watermelon in it....the pasta dish is amazing but could due from a little less garlic cloves....

And of course Bruce is one of the top waiters in Richmond...if you are lucky enough to get him you will see what true costumer service is all about..in the old school european method. Fabulous

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening with delicious food a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful evening with delicious food and excellent service. The Rappahannock oysters were incredible! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time at this restaurant and canno ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Second time at this restaurant and cannot say enough about it - it is fabulous. Classy, delicious, excellent service, historical atmosphere - it's a perfect place to dine when in Richmond!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Lemaire with GF for a special oc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went to Lemaire with GF for a special occasion on a Sunday night, it was not crowded and it was quiet. First off, the staff are well trained and attentive, which can be rare nowadays. Considering that this is fine dining I think the value is excellent, you can certainly pay more for food that is not as good. We had appetizers (tuna and hierloom tomato special) both were perfectly prepared and good. The entres - halibut and salmon were again perfectly prepared and good-sized servings

Dessert was really good, we had the milk chocolate caramel bar and it very yummy can't go wrong with that. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a long weekend trip and this ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were on a long weekend trip and this made our last night in town fabulous! The food was excellent--wonderful waiter-- great wine! Will definitely go back when in town!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything from the appetizers to the de ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything from the appetizers to the desert looked and tasted great, service was great as well, attentive, polite, informed. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were dining for a special date night. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were dining for a special date night. Both of us have eaten there before and noticed a decline in quality. This night we ordered a tuna appetizer and a shrimp appetizer. The tuna was low quality and chewy. The shrimp was basically unsauced shrimp on a dry piece of bread. The steak was visually offputting but tasted ok. The one redemption was the dessert which was fantastic. The wine service from the cellar was quite slow, and our steak got dropped off while we sat waiting with empty glasses. It is disappointing to see this is that current state of Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

This is one of the finest restaurants in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants in the country. The food and service are the best you will find anywhere. My wife and I never pass up an opportunity to eat at the Lemaire, whenever we are in Richmond, VA.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his br ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his bright disposition set a positive mood for the excellent meal and service that followed. The service I repeat was excellent, food and drinks were served promptly , fresh and correct temperatures. It was a pleasure . We tried some new dishes to us , and his description was right on . We eat out often but believe the chef did a fantastic creation of spices with a great presentation..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place in RVA for an elegant and qui ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place in RVA for an elegant and quiet dinner. Food is sophisticated, but the ambience is relaxed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two of three entries were under cooked a lot, we sent them back ( do not usually do that) and they came back still unetable . I fed my dog a $30. Filet.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The experience was great. Food wonderfu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The experience was great. Food wonderful. Service perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were exquisite. I'll de ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service were exquisite. I'll definitely be going back...once I save up some money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent especially the sw ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent especially the swordfish special. The vegetarian dish was well received as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner in June was wonderful. We started with unique and delicious craft cocktails. My friend selected the swordfish special and was utterly delighted with it. My salmon was equally perfect. Service and ambience are just as excellent at Lemaire.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience - I now understand ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

An amazing experience - I now understand what true gourmet food is about. The flavor nuisances of each dish - ahi tuna tartare, sunchoke bisque, cracker meal crusted chesapeake bay oysters & pineapple upside down cake - were a true delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Lemaire restaurant at The Jefferson Hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Each of our selections was delicious. I look forward to out next visit to Lemaire.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Signature and memorable venue. Superb f ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Signature and memorable venue. Superb food, presentation, service. A must dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must Experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I travel for work and live in NYC. This was one of the best salmon meals I have experienced. Cooked perfectly. For a city with no more charm and only restaurant's, this is the place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Lived up to expectations

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This 5-star hotel restaurant is just an outstanding place to have a special occasion meal. Our party of 4 each enjoyed our menu choices, and the wine selection was extensive.

The setting is incredible. Next time I hope to be a hotel guest and enjoy the restaurant more then once.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful building, drink selection, gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful building, drink selection, great food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

A great dining experience the food was awesome and the a service was just as good. The patio dining area was a perfect spot to enjoy a great meal. My first time but definitely not my last time. See you soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food, french influenced south ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Incredible food, french influenced southern comfort. ..wow! Incredibly attentive service and exceptional wine list. We will be back. Thank you Matt

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazingly beautiful place to dine.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazingly beautiful place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Elegant decor

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I love the decor of the hotel, both inside and outside. The food was farm to table, it was our first experience with that concept. Great service, and very full of spices. Would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm new to Richmond and had some friends ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm new to Richmond and had some friends visit from out of town. I love the ambience of the Jefferson and wanted to try out this restaurant. the food was amazing. surprisingly two of us got the burger which was outstanding. the duck emulsion was so good. the waiter did a great job with wine pairing as well. can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & a great wine list.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best wine list in Richmond. All three courses were perfectly prepared and in combination of tastes were outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Simply the best....

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I am impressed again by the new chef. He is obviously inspired by Walter Bundy but his cuisine has a few more layers and is garnished a bit more. Love his pasta addition and the new take on the Tuna app...Very nice. Love the use of the seasonal mushrooms as well. His dishes seems to be lighter on garlic as well. NICE.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an absolute great choice for a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was an absolute great choice for a romantic anniversary dinner with my Honey. The service, from valet to the kitchen, was pleasantly accommodating. This is a must do dining experience again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for an anniversary dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service to food to atmosphere were all outstanding. Great value as well! Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Entertained an internationally known sch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Entertained an internationally known scholar with sophisticated tastes. Four of us dined together and all reported that the food was outstanding including duck, scallops, beef and pork. Guests said the architecture of the room compared favorably with outstanding restaurants in Europe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is to be expected at The Jefferson Hotel. The service is top notch and they came to the table just when needed, never too frequently and not seldom enough that you wondered what was going on in the room.

The mix of southern food with French techniques creates an interesting mix of things that work well together and offer balance to two styles of food that can definitely be rich and over the top. The fact that the whole menu uses a farm to table concept shows that it is possible to have amazing food with fresh local ingredients.

Overall the restaurant deserves its reputation and is an experience. It is definitely one of the best places to dine in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniv ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniversary at Lemaire. The staff was wonderful and they made it special by adding a lovely message to our dessert. We celebrated our anniversary there last year, and I'm sure we will be there again next year to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Besides the fact that it was full of people much older than us, my boyfriend and I had a great time. The food was very very good but the selections are extremely extensive so check the menu before hand. The Jefferson is beautiful and a cool place to walk around after or before dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We very much enjoyed a special dinner be ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We very much enjoyed a special dinner before my son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was pretentious, blend, and not ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was pretentious, blend, and not well executed. Half of the mussels were even not cooked to open shells when they are served. Blend halibut wasn't generously bathed in sauce. I think the chef is trying to imitate European cuisine too hard, but only on the presentation level. It's mediocre at its best, definitely not worth the money.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.