About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (51)
Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (46)
See All
Historic (46)
Good for a Date (43)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Business Meals (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Authentic (15)
Afternoon Tea (14)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Seasonal (12)
Private Room (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

first time there for supper. the place ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

first time there for supper. the place was not busy, yet we were put in a corner, so about all i saw of the place was the pillar behind my friend. not impressed with that. i had scallops for dinner. they were not brought out piping hot. nothing less impressive than just warm scallops. could the kitchen be too far from the dining room or did my dinner sit in the kitchen too long before it was brought out? doubt i would go back again for anything but Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A wonderful dining experience with wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

A wonderful dining experience with wonderful ambiance. Truly a meal to be savored. Southern cooking with a French theme makes for some amazing plates!

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious dinner accompanied ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely delicious dinner accompanied with outstanding service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this experience was abs ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Everything about this experience was absolutely excellent. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. I am thrilled to have had an opportunity to dine at Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was wonderful! We ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful! We were celebrating my husband's retirement and my 62nd birthday! The service, food, dining room were all stellar! Thank-you for a lovely time

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my fiancé for a special dinner at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I took my fiancé for a special dinner at Lemaire after proposing to her. The food was excellent and the staff helped to make the evening truly special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beautiful historic dining room was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The beautiful historic dining room was our setting for a lovely dinner with delicious fresh local food prepared with a modern twist. I love that I got a unique, generous combination of vegetables with my salmon meal and the preparation was light, healthy and so flavorful. The romesco cauliflower appetizer was fabulous. Scallop entree was delicious also, said my husband. Our service by Matt was perfect. I give the new chef and Lemaire a 10!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at Lemaire while we were staying at the Jefferson Hotel. Our server, Matt, was very knowledgable about the menu and made good recommendations. I had the fried oyster appetizer and they were among the best I've ever had! All four of us thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening.

This was truly fine dining at a reasonable price, since all entrees are under $ 30.

We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in Richmond for New Years and the Jefferson was at the top of the list of places to experience. The setting of the Jefferson was out of this world. Wish I could go higher than 5 stars. Phenomenal. The food was average - my duck was overcooked, but the mussles appetizer was very good. After dinner we went to the bar downstairs (closed early) and then the bar upstairs. The Service in the restaurant and at both bars was VERY good. The value of the food / drinks and the people watching was unreal. Overall, even with average food, the Jefferson was OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Always an outstanding experience! We com ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always an outstanding experience! We come every year over the holidays for dinner, always consistent and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food & service. We went right ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic food & service. We went right after Christmas and the Jefferson Hotel looked amazing with all the decorations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of the Jefferson Hotel is w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The ambiance of the Jefferson Hotel is wonderful, and the restaurant's service was outstanding. However, the food, while good, was over priced for what it was even at around $30 per entree. I think you are paying for the location more than anything. I would recommend the setting for special occasions but not for regular dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server Mallory was very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our server Mallory was very knowledgeable and very attentive. Food was good and the atmosphere was easy you would expect at The Jefferson. Very nice overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the last several years, my husband a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For the last several years, my husband and I have taken my family to Lemaire in celebration of Christmas while we are with them in Richmond for the holidays. The atmosphere, quality of the food and service, and overall experience was outstanding once again. The wine list includes several bottles of white and red "Discoveries" priced at $30 and below -- the mark-up is very low/reasonable for a restaurant of this calibre. We took advantage of the value by ordering three different bottles to share. Upon request, we were seated in the library in a corner table for 6, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar. Service was expert with salads/soups all arriving simultaneously and timing of entree delivery spaced out perfectly. We plan to return again next year!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great, service and fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The restaurant was great, service and food but was surprised that the some of the customers were dressed down. I always thought men had to have a sports cost or nice sweater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely evening and we got the q ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was a lovely evening and we got the quiet table we requested, a real plus

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Jefferson at Christmas is so beautif ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The Jefferson at Christmas is so beautiful. It never disappoints with decorations of the season and a complimentary menu. The newer rooms are magnificent.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Am all around wonderful experience. The ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Am all around wonderful experience. The som recommended a wonderful wine, a Spanish white, which went superbly with the chicken. Just wish I had saved room for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening! The food was perfect ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Wonderful evening! The food was perfect and our waitress, Tenille, was outstanding!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is definitely a 5 star restaurant! ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This is definitely a 5 star restaurant! From ambience, service to an outstanding menu.

It is a wonderful experience . This year we had an outstanding waiter, Michael!

He was so attentive, and knowledgable , he made the evening perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for an anniversary dinner. The plac ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner. The place is fantastic and the service was outstanding. Unfortunately the food was below expectation. We had mussels and scallops and while the food was fresh, the preparation was average, no fantasy, no passion, just regular taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

As always, Lemaire didn't disappoint. T ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

As always, Lemaire didn't disappoint. Thus, the reason we keep coming back. Food and service was amazing. Sorry, I don't remember our servers name, but he was very attentive. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal with friends for the holidays. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Nice meal with friends for the holidays. Hotel is decorated so beautifully for the holiday season. It's a must see in Richmond!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a wonderful experience that I am sur ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Was a wonderful experience that I am sure we will plan for again in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding and so ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding and so was his assistant, whose name I do not remember.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

GREAT food that is priced well for an up ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2016

GREAT food that is priced well for an upscale meal.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely restaurant --- fancy, old fashion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Lovely restaurant --- fancy, old fashioned, but with charming contemporary food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful birthday dinner in ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday dinner in every respect and would highly recommend them to anyone celebrating a special event.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was as lovely as LeMaire has been ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner was as lovely as LeMaire has been every single time we have ever been, and there have been many, many times. It's precisely why we return over and over. Nothing like the Jefferson and certainly hope guests dont feel like they need to venture out for a superb dining experience, because it's right inside at LeMaire. Thank you again for a lovely time..........cant wait until March!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Lemaire. Our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Lemaire. Our server was funny, knowledgeable and respectful all at once. The food was lovely. All around 5- star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic and attentive service which ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Fantastic and attentive service which made sure to note our anniversary celebration on our dessert without any special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience was amazing. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Experience was amazing. Our waitress was so professional yet made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected more for the price. Service wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Expected more for the price. Service was slow but the restaurant was not full. The bar service was not up to a five-star hotel. The cosmopolitan was terrible, they did not know how to make a blue martini! The pork dish was over cooked. The tenderloin was excellent but for the price ($30) expected more on the plate. We thought they changed the chef but were disappointed. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful evening. Waiter was outstandin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful evening. Waiter was outstanding and the hotel was decorated with Christmas and was stunning. Couldn't have planned a better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at LeMaire ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at LeMaire. My mother's 88th birthday celebration was memorable. The ambiance, service and food were all outstanding! The Christmas decorations beyond expectations! Thank you for a lovely evening !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time--high expectations since ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our first time--high expectations since it's rated #1 in Richmond. The appetizer--cracker crusted fried oysters were excellent and so were the salads. Dave's pork chop, which apparently is a signature dish, were really good. My scallops were...boring. The brussel sprouts on the plate were underdone, yuck, and the other flavors on the plate didn't come together. Nothing delicious about it, esp. give them the cost. If I were to go back, I'd get a salad and maybe two appetizers instead of an entree.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our reservation was 6:15 and we were run ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our reservation was 6:15 and we were running late. I called and let them know. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had our granddaughter and her roommate from VCU with us.

We all enjoyed our selections. It was a lovely evening. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The risoto disappointed, sadly dry and l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The risoto disappointed, sadly dry and lacked the typical creaminess.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to Lemaire on Monday when I arrived ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to Lemaire on Monday when I arrived in Richmond. Beautiful hotel and beautiful restaurant. I was seated promptly and the staff was very courteous and very attentive. My starter was the:

Marinated ahi tuna tartare /castelvetrano olive tapenade / cured egg yolk / lavash crisps / tomato vinaigrette

It was delicious with lovely flavors and a generous portion. My entrée was:

Wildflower honey glazed duck breast/carrot-ginger puree / bok choy / shiitake mushrooms / virginia peanuts / naval orange jus

Also very nicely done. Service is top notch and definitely a dining gem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasant atmosphere and the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very Pleasant atmosphere and the food was very good. The beef tenderloin was excellent. Some of the best beef, if not the best beef I've ever had. It melts in your mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.