Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (68)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for a Date (66)
See All
Historic (64)
Romantic (62)
Quiet Conversation (50)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Notable Wine List (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Business Meals (35)
Local Ingredients (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Authentic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Seasonal (16)
Private Room (16)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Healthy (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1816 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time here and I can tell you that it won't be my last. The food was cooked and plated to perfection. Every morsel was delectable. The service was TOP SHELF and our server was very knowledgeable about the menu, the preparation of the foods and the mindset of the chef. As a foodie, I not only enjoyed the food, but I enjoyed the conversation with the server learning about the different dishes. This restaurant is definitely a gem in Richmond VA and it deserves every bit of the national acclaim that it receives.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious - Went for restaurant week and was thrilled. Everything tasted so good. The raw oysters and creme brulee were total hits. Steak was delicious and well done. Service was incredible, our server Michael was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went for Restaurant week. My wife had the beet appetizer, chicken entree and lemon tart dessert, I had the breaded oyster appetizer, beef tenderloin entree and creme brulee dessert, everything was awesome. Service by Michael was great, there when we needed something, but not intrusive, and told us somewhat about the history of the facility and the alligators. The dining room was elegant. Apparently they have done some tweaking to lessen their prices, this has not lessen the quality nor elegance of the restaurant

One of the best restaurants we have been to in greater Richmond.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We went during restaurant week. Although portions were smaller than normal we got a 3 course meal for under $30 and part of that went to the local food bank. The restaurant always is worth a visit and the high national rating is well deserved.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Fine dining at it's finest. Historic restaurant with outstanding service and an amazing wine cellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This elegant restaurant with top notch food and service made for a memorable dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food was amazing!! Service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

As always everything was great and on this visit we had an exceptional waitperson, Melanie, she was excellent and actually seemed like she enjoyed her job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I truly enjoyed the bar prior to the dining room. The service was excellent and the food was very good. The atmosphere was perfect for a quiet dinner for two. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was great! Everything tasted fantastic and we had wonderful and attentive waitstaff.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great restaurant . Great food . Attentive staff 5 stars.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter Matt was awesome! I would highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Exquisite! We were celebrating both a birthday and a retirement and all was perfect. Drinks and apps were fabulous, dinner mouth-watering wonderful (especially the soups and the rock fish!), dessert was so flavorful (lemon tart). We topped it all off with a Brandy Alexander (which not just any bartender can make anymore! Wonderful experience - highly recommended!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Overall, probably the best restaurant outside of Washington DC in the entirety of Virginia.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Organic, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Great Beer, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We were welcomed every step of the way to our reserved table. The wait staff were all attentive; Nick, our server was very careful to make sure we were pleased throughout the meal. We both enjoyed a Manakin salad which was unique and delicious. Entree presentation was excellent which matched the taste of the 'Pan Seared Scallops' for me and 'Pork Chop' for my guest. We both ended with a delightful, nutty bread pudding with butterscotch ice cream and cups of wonderful de-caff coffee...Nick was generous with some refills. The birthday celebrant loved his "Special" dessert plate! I can think of no place that would have done things better!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Nick was prompt and provided superior service. Our 2nd anniversary celebrated at Lemaire and it was remarkable again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 2, 2017

Hadn't been to Lemaire in years, but will not wait so long before next visit. A beautiful place to dine with excellent service. The menu is interesting without being intimidating or prissy. Lemaire is also a great place to go for just a drink in bar/lounge area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First time visit. Beautiful restaurant but small so need reservations. Limited menu but nice selection. Food arrived barely lukewarm for both appetizer and entre. Asked to reheat my vegetable. Nothing special for the value of the meal. Probably would not go back soon. Maybe just an off nite. I went with someone who had been before and they loved it but this time he said food was just average. Nothing great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The best. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My wife and I ordered the fried oyster starter and it was delicious. Three oysters were large and 2 were medium.
The broiled rock fish was excellent and perfectly cooked; large enough for my wife to take some home for a later meal. The vegies provided with the fish were also excellent and I would guess some were locally grown.
We enjoyed a bottle of Pinot Gregio from the nearby Barboursville vinyards, was a good match with the fish.
The pecan bread pudding topped with ice cream and cups of coffee was an outstanding finish to this wonderful evening

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The stay at the Jefferson was one of the highlights of the Preservation Warrenton Spring Tour. Everyone on the tour was very pleased with the rooms and loved the dining experiences. The Jefferson was the perfect hotel for our group, which is historically and house preservation focused. The many architectural elements were of great interest to our members. A great compliment to our visits to historic houses on the James River. I hope we have the opportunity to come back for a stay.

Noel R, President, Preservation Warrenton, N.C.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Better than I ever dreamt of! This occasion was my mother's 90th birthday and every decision made was a fabulous suggestion from the staff! TOTALLY MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I went here for my anniversary and the atmosphere and staff were outstanding. I want to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Historic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Ambiance is lovely. Menu is creative with beautiful presentation. Our server was knowledgeable about menu and made helpful suggestions. 3 of us decided to each order 2 appetizers as our dinner and it was more than enough and we had fun sampling the menu. A truly excellent meal and fun evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Celebrated a birthday with a lovely dinner. Had very good and friendly service. Enjoyed the crab cake appetizer and the scallops for the main. They were very good about accommodating my request for no meat on the fish dishes, which is something I wish chef's would stop doing. The ambiance is great. They provided a very nice birthday wish on the dessert, which was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Lemaire at a The Jefferson Hotel was outstanding in every way. Our party of 7 was treated like royalty. This was our 50th wedding anniversary celebration and it could not have been better.
The wine and food were outstanding and the ambiance was perfect. One party was late arriving from Chicago and the staff was very accommodating. Our grandson was honored and "pampered" and that made us very happy. All of our guests were thrilled with their entrees.
Having a private room was not requested and yet it was greatly appreciated. Everyone commented about the excellent service and accommodating staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome meal. Service was great and food was incredible. Best place in town for a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Lemaire offers a beautiful setting for a nice meal.
The quality has remained high even with Walter's departure.
The food is always well prepared and nicely presented.
A Zagat 26/30 in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Wonderful, historical hotel that everyone should see. The dining room and menu, I believe, have been updated. The offerings are fairly mainstream, and the execution just average, at least based on our experience. My filet mignon was HUGE, but a bit undercooked and not especially tender. The service was adequate, but definitely not up to luxury hotel standards.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 20, 2017

always fun to take an out of town business guest here. was a bit cold in that secluded room but our server turned the heat up a bit and was comfortable. Got the wine order wrong but otherwise a nice experience and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience. The best meal I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a great pleasure to dine at Lemaire. Michael was our server, and he a fantastic job - very polite and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent and very convenient if staying at The Jefferson Hotel

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lemaire was a great choice for a birthday/pre-concert dinner. The service and attention given were outstanding. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Each guest praised his/her particular dinner selection. We had a time constraint and we were in and out without feeling rushed.
Great restaurant for a special occasion without feeling it was over-priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My meal came out quickly nice and hot !! Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lemaire is one of those restaurants you want to visit at least once on a trip to Richmond. We had a birthday dinner with friends in one of the private rooms. Service and food was top notch. The hotel and restaurant pride themselves on providing a five star experience, and it did not disappoint. The bar in the next room was lively for an after dinner drink, but the restaurant was quiet and we were able to actually talk.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everytime we go to Richmond, The Lemaire is always our restaurant of choice!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Elegant dining. The dinner was delicious. Great for an occasion. We were staying at the hotel and treated ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing service that was personal. Probably one of the best dining experiences my wife and I have had together! That made the birthday occasion very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had an absolutely phenomenal meal. Every plate was heaven. Terrific wine list. Can't wait to return!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.