About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Walter Bundy

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
10 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (148)
romantic (123)
fit for foodies (98)
See All
notable wine list (64)
good for groups (36)
neighborhood gem (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (17)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (9)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food & a great wine list.

Dined 4 days ago

Best wine list in Richmond. All three courses were perfectly prepared and in combination of tastes were outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an absolute great choice for a ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was an absolute great choice for a romantic anniversary dinner with my Honey. The service, from valet to the kitchen, was pleasantly accommodating. This is a must do dining experience again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined 7 days ago

Went here for an anniversary dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service to food to atmosphere were all outstanding. Great value as well! Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Entertained an internationally known sch ...

Dined 7 days ago

Entertained an internationally known scholar with sophisticated tastes. Four of us dined together and all reported that the food was outstanding including duck, scallops, beef and pork. Guests said the architecture of the room compared favorably with outstanding restaurants in Europe.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is to be expected at The Jefferson Hotel. The service is top notch and they came to the table just when needed, never too frequently and not seldom enough that you wondered what was going on in the room. The mix of southern food with French techniques creates an interesting mix of things that work well together and offer balance to two styles of food that can definitely be rich and over the top. The fact that the whole menu uses a farm to table concept shows that it is possible to have amazing food with fresh local ingredients. Overall the restaurant deserves its reputation and is an experience. It is definitely one of the best places to dine in Richmond.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniversary at Lemaire. The staff was wonderful and they made it special by adding a lovely message to our dessert. We celebrated our anniversary there last year, and I'm sure we will be there again next year to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Besides the fact that it was full of people much older than us, my boyfriend and I had a great time. The food was very very good but the selections are extremely extensive so check the menu before hand. The Jefferson is beautiful and a cool place to walk around after or before dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed a special dinner be ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We very much enjoyed a special dinner before my son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was pretentious, blend, and not ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was pretentious, blend, and not well executed. Half of the mussels were even not cooked to open shells when they are served. Blend halibut wasn't generously bathed in sauce. I think the chef is trying to imitate European cuisine too hard, but only on the presentation level. It's mediocre at its best, definitely not worth the money.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food was excellent. One of our favorite restaurants. Drinks and dinner were excellent. It was a relaxing evening, never rushed by the server. Everyone was friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We highly recommend Lemaire as a romanti ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We highly recommend Lemaire as a romantic , intimate dining experience. Our service was excellent and we followed our server's advice on wine and appetizers. The halibut was outstanding and the crab cakes were fresh, full of crab and not bread crumb fillers.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

top notch food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

We arrived early and were able to be seated 15 minutes ahead of our reservation. While waiting we walked the Jefferson and enjoyed the art and architecture. The meal was very good. We skipped first course/appetizers. We ordered The scallops entree and the steak special with a family side of mac. All of the food came out cooked perfectly and well presented. My only misgiving was the lack of dress code. We were dressed in evening formal and the table we walked past to be seated was in jeans. It spoiled the otherwise romantic/formal ambience somewhat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good & average

Dined on April 28, 2016

Some of our food was very good, some average. My wife's mussels were very good- her strawberry ricotta maple salad was average. My Spring Lamb Porterhouse were very good & my hearts of romaine salad was good, but not outstanding. Her dessert, milk chocolate caramel bar , was not very good and she only had a couple of bites. My dessert, frozen blueberry cheesecake, was good but disappointing in that it was nothing like the cheesecake I was expecting. But all considering, the prices were not excessive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Setting beautiful and historic restored ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Setting beautiful and historic restored to period time the food was presented well great tasting meal would recommend the halibut and crab cakes

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on April 25, 2016

My fiancee and I dined here to celebrate our engagement and were extremely pleased with the wonderful and amazing food and service. The tuna loin, in particular, was out of this world, as was the shrimp tartine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

5 star dining at the Jefferson

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a great meal at the Jefferson's LeMaire. Food and service were great! However, the rock and roll music piped into a speaker on the other side of the dining room seemed out of place. When asked to adjust the music to something more soothing and appropriate for the setting, say Frank Sinatra or John Coltrane, nothing was done. The halogen lights from the entrance to the hotel shined into my companion's eyes. The waiter remedied that by closing the heavy floor to ceiling drapes. All together, still a 5 star dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best restaurant in Richmond

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I must say I am a big fan of chef Bundy but the new chef is really great. You can see his influence from Bundy, but he is bringing on his own touch....his food has more layers and more garnish which can be good or bad...but so far it is great. Fabulous pasta dish and I love the use of the local mushrooms.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service in a gorgeous ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful food and service in a gorgeous setting!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, wonderful service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at Lemaire for a special occasion of friends getting together after not seeing each other for years. It was a fabulous time. There was no rush to the dinner. Each course was delivered in a timely manner but allowed us to enjoy our company and time together. Although on the higher end pricewise it was worth it. A definite place to eat in Richmond, inside a glorious hotel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Spectacular food!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Spectacular food, with amazing taste combinations! Lovely service, impressive surroundings! It was perfect for the birthday surprise I had planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Loved it! I would recommend and go back in a second. The fried oysters were my favorite!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Experience!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Everything was just great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Jefferson Hotel

Dined on April 15, 2016

Wonderful restaurant in old Jefferson Hotel, great food and service. Highly recommend. Watch out for alligators in the fountain.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely and lucious

Dined on April 15, 2016

For a special occasion dining experience you just can't beat Lemaire. The food was wonderful and we even had enough for lunch the next day. We were seated by the window facing Franklin Street which was a charming view of old Richmond residences. The bar scene looked like great fun and we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place to Go

Dined on April 11, 2016

This should be a must stop if in Richmond. The food was outstanding and the service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Richmond's best restaurants

Dined on April 10, 2016

Never disappointed with the Lemaire at theJefferson. The food is excellent and the service is exceptional.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

simply the best...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

It is always consistent and the food is fabulous. Amazing Oysters...and love that the local products used.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sisters Night Out

Dined on April 4, 2016

We wanted to have a great meal and we wanted to contribute to a good cause. LeMaire was contributing some portion of restaurant proceeds to local good causes and that was our impetus for coming. Our meals (Tuna & Scallops) were extraordinary in taste and presentation; the appetizers (Oysters and Butter Lettuce) were delicious; last, the dessert (Pineapple Upside Down cake) was a great finish to our three-hour dining excursion.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant, undoubtedly the be ...

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, undoubtedly the best ambiance and the best food in Richmond.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Exquisite

Dined on March 30, 2016

Every bite of this food tasted so fresh and delicious that it was hard not to try everyones dish. The prices were reasonable for this high of quality food.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Romantic Dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

We had some of the best food we have had in Richmond at Lemaire. We went for my girlfriend's birthday and it was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Lemaire several times. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have dined at Lemaire several times. Excellent each time. We will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and Delicious Food

Dined on March 25, 2016

The special, rockfish, was delicious. And the service was attentive. We enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience... as always at Lemaire!

Dined on March 20, 2016

If you are looking for a dining experience that will set the standard for excellence, you must visit Lemaire in the Hotel Jefferson, Richmond, VA. Great food, first-rate service, and a most pleasant atmosphere all combine to make this a memorable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food. Overpriced wine but fa ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Outstanding food. Overpriced wine but fantastic cocktails Impeccable service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 14, 2016

Everything about Lemaire was outstanding. The food and service were exceptional and the historic dining room is an architectural gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for a special occasion

Dined on March 13, 2016

We treated our adult children and spouses to a lovely and meaningful evening. Service was unobtrusive and informative. We enjoyed each delicious course served during our 2 1/2 hour meal. This was our first dining experience here and highly recommend. Plan to spend $100 per person if you enjoy everything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best value for high end dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I have dined at Top of the Rock in NYC and enjoyed lavish dinners in Europe. Lemaire rivaled any dinner we have previously had while beating them all out in price. We have paid double what we paid at Lemaire for food half as good. Overly impressed with service, food, and value.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still the best...new chef and all

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I must say I was curious to see what Lemaire was going to be like after Walter Bundy...and I was impressed there was 6 specialties for the evening and I ordered the Rockfish with shrimp over some oddly shaped pasta with mushrooms...it was divine!! The new chef took the rockfish to the next level....the oysters were amazing as well...and the cheese platter was lovely but the smoked fig jam was simply to die for. Lemaire is still the finest in Richmond and the new chef has made sure it hasn't skipped a beat...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

RELIABLE EXCELLENCE

Dined on March 8, 2016

Food was very good, wine was excellent, but the Sommelier was even better, suggesting a perfect wine, but making it very clear if for any reason we were not satisfied, we could select another wine. Not a usual policy....

Tags: notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.