About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Virginia
Special Occasion
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
10 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

special occasion (140)
romantic (114)
fit for foodies (100)
See All
notable wine list (62)
good for groups (35)
neighborhood gem (31)
vibrant bar scene (25)
great for brunch (25)
scenic view (15)
hot spot (14)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We were dining for a special date night. ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were dining for a special date night. Both of us have eaten there before and noticed a decline in quality. This night we ordered a tuna appetizer and a shrimp appetizer. The tuna was low quality and chewy. The shrimp was basically unsauced shrimp on a dry piece of bread. The steak was visually offputting but tasted ok. The one redemption was the dessert which was fantastic. The wine service from the cellar was quite slow, and our steak got dropped off while we sat waiting with empty glasses. It is disappointing to see this is that current state of Lemaire.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the finest restaurants in ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants in the country. The food and service are the best you will find anywhere. My wife and I never pass up an opportunity to eat at the Lemaire, whenever we are in Richmond, VA.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his br ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his bright disposition set a positive mood for the excellent meal and service that followed. The service I repeat was excellent, food and drinks were served promptly , fresh and correct temperatures. It was a pleasure . We tried some new dishes to us , and his description was right on . We eat out often but believe the chef did a fantastic creation of spices with a great presentation..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two of three entries were under cooked a lot, we sent them back ( do not usually do that) and they came back still unetable . I fed my dog a $30. Filet.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was great. Food wonderfu ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The experience was great. Food wonderful. Service perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were exquisite. I'll de ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service were exquisite. I'll definitely be going back...once I save up some money.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent especially the sw ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent especially the swordfish special. The vegetarian dish was well received as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner in June was wonderful. We started with unique and delicious craft cocktails. My friend selected the swordfish special and was utterly delighted with it. My salmon was equally perfect. Service and ambience are just as excellent at Lemaire.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience - I now understand ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

An amazing experience - I now understand what true gourmet food is about. The flavor nuisances of each dish - ahi tuna tartare, sunchoke bisque, cracker meal crusted chesapeake bay oysters & pineapple upside down cake - were a true delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at th ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Lemaire restaurant at The Jefferson Hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Each of our selections was delicious. I look forward to out next visit to Lemaire.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Signature and memorable venue. Superb f ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Signature and memorable venue. Superb food, presentation, service. A must dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Must Experience

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

I travel for work and live in NYC. This was one of the best salmon meals I have experienced. Cooked perfectly. For a city with no more charm and only restaurant's, this is the place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to expectations

Dined on June 5, 2016

This 5-star hotel restaurant is just an outstanding place to have a special occasion meal. Our party of 4 each enjoyed our menu choices, and the wine selection was extensive. The setting is incredible. Next time I hope to be a hotel guest and enjoy the restaurant more then once.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful building, drink selection, gre ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Beautiful building, drink selection, great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience!

Dined on June 3, 2016

A great dining experience the food was awesome and the a service was just as good. The patio dining area was a perfect spot to enjoy a great meal. My first time but definitely not my last time. See you soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, french influenced south ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Incredible food, french influenced southern comfort. ..wow! Incredibly attentive service and exceptional wine list. We will be back. Thank you Matt

food4
ambience5
service4

Amazingly beautiful place to dine.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazingly beautiful place to dine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant decor

Dined on May 27, 2016

I love the decor of the hotel, both inside and outside. The food was farm to table, it was our first experience with that concept. Great service, and very full of spices. Would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm new to Richmond and had some friends ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I'm new to Richmond and had some friends visit from out of town. I love the ambience of the Jefferson and wanted to try out this restaurant. the food was amazing. surprisingly two of us got the burger which was outstanding. the duck emulsion was so good. the waiter did a great job with wine pairing as well. can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food & a great wine list.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best wine list in Richmond. All three courses were perfectly prepared and in combination of tastes were outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best....

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

I am impressed again by the new chef. He is obviously inspired by Walter Bundy but his cuisine has a few more layers and is garnished a bit more. Love his pasta addition and the new take on the Tuna app...Very nice. Love the use of the seasonal mushrooms as well. His dishes seems to be lighter on garlic as well. NICE.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an absolute great choice for a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was an absolute great choice for a romantic anniversary dinner with my Honey. The service, from valet to the kitchen, was pleasantly accommodating. This is a must do dining experience again!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 18, 2016

Went here for an anniversary dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service to food to atmosphere were all outstanding. Great value as well! Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Entertained an internationally known sch ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Entertained an internationally known scholar with sophisticated tastes. Four of us dined together and all reported that the food was outstanding including duck, scallops, beef and pork. Guests said the architecture of the room compared favorably with outstanding restaurants in Europe.

food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, but this is to be expected at The Jefferson Hotel. The service is top notch and they came to the table just when needed, never too frequently and not seldom enough that you wondered what was going on in the room. The mix of southern food with French techniques creates an interesting mix of things that work well together and offer balance to two styles of food that can definitely be rich and over the top. The fact that the whole menu uses a farm to table concept shows that it is possible to have amazing food with fresh local ingredients. Overall the restaurant deserves its reputation and is an experience. It is definitely one of the best places to dine in Richmond.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniv ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our anniversary at Lemaire. The staff was wonderful and they made it special by adding a lovely message to our dessert. We celebrated our anniversary there last year, and I'm sure we will be there again next year to celebrate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Besides the fact that it was full of people much older than us, my boyfriend and I had a great time. The food was very very good but the selections are extremely extensive so check the menu before hand. The Jefferson is beautiful and a cool place to walk around after or before dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We very much enjoyed a special dinner be ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We very much enjoyed a special dinner before my son's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was pretentious, blend, and not ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food was pretentious, blend, and not well executed. Half of the mussels were even not cooked to open shells when they are served. Blend halibut wasn't generously bathed in sauce. I think the chef is trying to imitate European cuisine too hard, but only on the presentation level. It's mediocre at its best, definitely not worth the money.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service & Food

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service and food was excellent. One of our favorite restaurants. Drinks and dinner were excellent. It was a relaxing evening, never rushed by the server. Everyone was friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We highly recommend Lemaire as a romanti ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

We highly recommend Lemaire as a romantic , intimate dining experience. Our service was excellent and we followed our server's advice on wine and appetizers. The halibut was outstanding and the crab cakes were fresh, full of crab and not bread crumb fillers.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding and as antici ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everything was outstanding and as anticipated at the beautiful restaurant and hotel. Food, ambiance, and service could not have been better.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

top notch food and service

Dined on May 1, 2016

We arrived early and were able to be seated 15 minutes ahead of our reservation. While waiting we walked the Jefferson and enjoyed the art and architecture. The meal was very good. We skipped first course/appetizers. We ordered The scallops entree and the steak special with a family side of mac. All of the food came out cooked perfectly and well presented. My only misgiving was the lack of dress code. We were dressed in evening formal and the table we walked past to be seated was in jeans. It spoiled the otherwise romantic/formal ambience somewhat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good & average

Dined on April 28, 2016

Some of our food was very good, some average. My wife's mussels were very good- her strawberry ricotta maple salad was average. My Spring Lamb Porterhouse were very good & my hearts of romaine salad was good, but not outstanding. Her dessert, milk chocolate caramel bar , was not very good and she only had a couple of bites. My dessert, frozen blueberry cheesecake, was good but disappointing in that it was nothing like the cheesecake I was expecting. But all considering, the prices were not excessive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Setting beautiful and historic restored ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Setting beautiful and historic restored to period time the food was presented well great tasting meal would recommend the halibut and crab cakes

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb

Dined on April 25, 2016

My fiancee and I dined here to celebrate our engagement and were extremely pleased with the wonderful and amazing food and service. The tuna loin, in particular, was out of this world, as was the shrimp tartine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

5 star dining at the Jefferson

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a great meal at the Jefferson's LeMaire. Food and service were great! However, the rock and roll music piped into a speaker on the other side of the dining room seemed out of place. When asked to adjust the music to something more soothing and appropriate for the setting, say Frank Sinatra or John Coltrane, nothing was done. The halogen lights from the entrance to the hotel shined into my companion's eyes. The waiter remedied that by closing the heavy floor to ceiling drapes. All together, still a 5 star dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The best restaurant in Richmond

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I must say I am a big fan of chef Bundy but the new chef is really great. You can see his influence from Bundy, but he is bringing on his own touch....his food has more layers and more garnish which can be good or bad...but so far it is great. Fabulous pasta dish and I love the use of the local mushrooms.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service in a gorgeous ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Wonderful food and service in a gorgeous setting!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, wonderful service.

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had the pleasure of dining at Lemaire for a special occasion of friends getting together after not seeing each other for years. It was a fabulous time. There was no rush to the dinner. Each course was delivered in a timely manner but allowed us to enjoy our company and time together. Although on the higher end pricewise it was worth it. A definite place to eat in Richmond, inside a glorious hotel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.