Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Romantic (80)
Good for Anniversaries (78)
See All
Good for a Date (73)
Quiet Conversation (58)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Notable Wine List (41)
Local Ingredients (39)
Business Meals (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Historic (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Authentic (16)
Seasonal (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

We celebrated our birthdays at the Lemaire. Everything was delicious and the service was top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent cocktail's, food, and service! Will definitely eat here again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful old hotel, lovingly maintained. Staff capable and friendly. Service was a bit slow that night. Food was excellent though I wouldn't say "wow" to those accustomed to fine dining. Expensive, but I wouldn't say overpriced. One has to expect a location like this to enter into the price, as opposed to a hole in the wall somewhere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great dinner that ended our southern trip. The service was on point with the waiter being very informed and welcoming. The place lives up to the hype of the food quality and elegance that is expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Lemaire, and it was the perfect place for this milestone memory.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated birthdays for 3 friends. Wonderful experience. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best restaurant in Richmond. We went here for a special occasion and we were treated very well. Love the staff and food. We can’t wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in a beautiful hotel. Portion sizes are large and food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We hosted two friends celebrating their birthdays. The service was swell and the staff attentive to our celebration with greetings on the menu and verbally. We enjoy Lemaire as a place we can take friends and have conversation. The pace of the drinks and food delivery was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything about this experience was amazing. From when we arrived at the building with the complementary vallet service to the check. Everything in between was a joy. What a wonderful experience

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have eaten at great restaurants all over the world, but only a handful of meals would surpass this one. Beautiful venue inside historic Jefferson Hotel, friendly and knowledgeable server (Melanie) who not only knew the wines on the list well, but offered to bring tastes of two reds I asked about (even though I was just ordering by the glass since dining alone). Imaginative menu, much of the food locally sourced, nicely presented. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Never fails to live up to high ratings and expectations!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was fantastic and reasonably priced for the level of quality. Our Server Kyle was awesome!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 2, 2017

One of our family favorites, Lemaire never disappoints. Our server, Nick, was friendly but never intrusive. The staff is well trained, and they handle all the little things quietly and quickly without you having to ask. It is my favorite place for a special family dinner, because we can just sit and have an unhurried delicious meal with all the trimmings. Yes, it's an expensive meal--however, it is worth every single penny. A great value, and an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Gazpacho with blue crab excellent; mixed green salad with pecorino delicious. Scallops entree and cobia creatively prepared. Service of entres was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Elegant, sophisticated ambience. Tables set far apart to allow intimate conversation. Attentive service. Appetizers and entrees executed perfectly. Overall, a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner, exceptional food & service, reasonable prices. Great ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I have been going to Lemaire for many years, and it is always fabulous. The food is wonderful especially the crab cakes and fried oysters. The seasonal soups are delicious as well and appealingly served table side from a silver pitcher. While there are old favorites on the menu, there are frequent enough changes to keep it interesting and seasonally appropriate. The cocktails are imaginative and the wine list a treat. The Spanish albarino is especially delicious with the seafood . The service is excellent at Lemaire - professional without being stuffy and it is never intrusive.The timing of drinks and courses is always perfect. Special occasions are recognized with a little something extra with the marvelous desserts. And all of this in a beautiful historic space that enhances every occasion. Lemaire is hands down the most special restaurant in Richmond- a great place for visitors to have a memorable evening as well as the perfect place for lucky Richmonders to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, graduations, and holidays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Lemaire Restaurant was chosen because I wanted to be treated special. We were celebrating 21 years of marriage. We now have a great memory to share and have already told many friends and shared pitures of this beautiful place. Our food was delicious! The presentation was phenomenal. The setting was so romantic. Our service was impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Only mild criticism was the arrogance of our waiter, who apparently didn't approve of us as a couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food and service were excellent and made for a relaxing, enjoyable special evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Lemaire was a bit disappointing. It wasn't bad, but it didn't wow. The appetizers were average , entrees above average, desserts outstanding. We expected Lemaire to be outstanding across the board.

The crabcake appetizer was not nearly as good as Acacia's or several others in town. The soup had us wondering if it had gone "off" a bit. The fried oysters were fine, but not as good as Pearl Oyster Bar. The tuna tartare was very weak, with small diced pieces of tuna.

Scallop entree was delicious. Cobia and salmon were very good. Pork chop was fine.

Creme brulee and chocolate cake were outstanding.

Attentive service and beautiful surroundings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Superb! Lived up to my expectations and past reviews!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful dining experience in an amazing, historic hotel in downtown Richmond. Waitress (Lori) was fabulous and very knowledgable . The food was amazing and fabulously prepared (looked GREAT and tasted even better). Nice library room where we dined was very comfortable and quite. Would encourage anyone looking for an elegant dining experience to try this restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful experience! We do wish they had a dress code. It is a first class restaurant in terms of food, service, decor ... a bit disconcerting to see someone come in dressed in white t-shirt and shorts & flip flops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had been looking forward to my first visit to LeMaire since my husband has been several years ago for business. The rooms and restaurant are lovely and elegant. The food for the starter and main course were great. We purposely did not finish because we wanted to have dessert. The bread pudding was overcooked and the tablespoon of ice cream was skimpy for a HUGE portion of pudding. I brought it to our server's attention and he walked away.
We had requested our leftovers from the main course but, sadly, when we opened the box the next day, I was disappointed that mine was not there. No lunch for me. So, we paid $30 for 5 scallops and 2 clams.
We were also very disappointed that there is NO dress code whatsoever. Kids in t shirts, flip flops and cargo shorts sat nearby. A woman sat next to me in shorts and a tank top. LeMaire is suppose to be fine dining. They have a more casual restaurant downstairs, which is where they belong.
There are many great places to eat in Richmond now so I don't need to return. I'm sorry I didn't go in the "glory days" when my husband's colleague was offered a "loaner jacket" for dinner. Additionally, I cannot remember the last time a server did not give me my food to take home. I believe his name was Bruce.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Had a great anniversary dinner here at the restaurant. Elina was wonderful to us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Just in Richmond for a day trip what better place to have an early dinner than the Jefferson's Hotel Lemaire restaurant. A must if you want to enjoy Southern cuisine in a refined atmosphere at prices which are fairly reasonable. Everything perfect, the food, the drinks, the desserts and above all, the service. Not to be missed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome! Food was great and so were the cocktails. Highly recommend. Reasonable for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful experience once the hostess seated us at a decent table (we had reservation, were guests at the hotel, and asked for a nice table at hostess desk but were given the absolute worst-I sometimes wonder what they are thinking as we immediately refused it and were then seated at a quite nice table). Loved the food. Service started strong but did slow down toward the end of the meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely gorgeous! Great service and very accommodating staff, amazing wine list that was reasonably priced. The food had a little extra in each preparation and presentation. Definitely go.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Headed further south in VA and decided to stay in Richmond. Did a little research and we were NOT disappointed. Food that is well thought out, our waiter (Andrew) could describe the food preparation in in way that made it just that more delicious. Try the Cabernet Franc from VA really good bottle of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Our meal was excellent in every way. The waiter, the wine selection and the menu were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

From start to finish our dinner experience was perfect. Professional, unrushed service. Great food, served hot. The hotel itself is a work of art. It is truly magnificent. Walk around after dinner and enjoy the refined opulence.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Matt was a very rude server. We came there for my wifes birthday and ruined our entire dinner. Her dinner was very salty, and he did not care about making it right for her even though it was her birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I can see why it is always ranked towards the top of best places to eat in Richmond. The Jefferson Hotel is a beautiful place and the ornate details in Lemaire follow in suit. Service was above and beyond, they even stepped up for me when I failed to get flowers delivered to the table in time for my wife's birthday.

Food was everything we hoped for, so delicious and fresh. We did several appetizers, then split a main, and of course capped things with dessert. Everything was great.

Will absolutely come here again and will recommend to friends fo sho.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Lemaire met all our expectations. Great Service, Food and great place to take that Special Person in your life. We celebrated our 40 th Anniversary and look forward to more trips to Lemaire!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We often head to Lemaire for dates and special occasions. I've never left anything less than satisfied. Wonderful all around!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food! But a bit pricey for the portions received.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.