Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Romantic (64)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Good for a Date (59)
Quiet Conversation (57)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Business Meals (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Authentic (18)
Seasonal (15)
Cozy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

We wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary and Lemaire was the obvious choice because the food and service are always excellent and the elegance of the Hotel Jefferson is unequalled in Richmond. Our server was Sean who was exemplary. Even the valet parking staff was friendly and super efficient. We recommend this restaurant for any occasion. They can help plan your wedding dinner or you can just drop into the bar after work. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

We’ve always loved Lemaire. The service was wonderful tonight (as always). However, our food took an extended amount of time to come out. Once it did, it was obviously nuked and our waiter clearly agreed. I love the ambiance, however, I doubt we will ever be back. There are far too many excellent restaurants in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, impeccable ambiance, great ambiance. Super for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Sean and Chauncey made sure we had a delightful, relaxing evening; food was superb, esp quinoa salad. Felt like visiting friends in a really cool home.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a very, very good experience and well worth the trip

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Lemaire is tucked away in The Jefferson Hotel. The food is truly delicious and it’s abundantly clear this chef and his staff think carefully about bringing out the complexities, as well as the sublime simplicities, of the foods they choose to procure and present to their dining guests. Will absolutely go back to Lemaire when we’re next in Richmond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Lemaire is such a special place ... it's beautifully decorated, the wait staff is attentive, friendly and eager for you to have the grandest dining experience you can have ... and the chef and kitchen staff prepare a delicious, locally sourced menu, plated with artistry and care. The pavlova with honey cream, fresh figs, black berries , raspberries, pomegranate seeds, and pistachios is beyond compare. (The appetizers are sized most generously.)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The perfect place to take your date, wife, or customer for a memorable experience. Ambient noise is minimal, which allows for easy conversation. The food is amazing, and the service is impeccable. The staff was very knowledgeable about both food and wine, and they bend over backwards to make sure your visit is enjoyable in every way.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food was great and the service was fantastic. Our names and happy anniversary were even printed on the menu. It was a really special evening.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at LeMaire during our wedding weekend stay at the Jefferson Hotel. We found the menu and service to have surprising value and really appreciated our server's recommendations (the tenderloin and rockfish were excellent).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was delicious and generously portioned! We went for a birthday and they were very accommodating at making the experience very special. The prices were fair for this fine dining experience and I would not hesitate to recommend Lemaire at The Jefferson to friends or family looking for a more sophisticated dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our food was amazing and our waitress was great. We tend to take a long time when we dine out and she was patient. Very knowledgeable about the did as well. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were disappointed in the food quality and quantity especially for the price. In addition there was a very very loud woman at the next table who simply filled up the dining room with her loud voice, as if they were the only ones in the place. We last visited Lemaire when we lived in VA and were really looking forward to a nice quiet high quality meal but we left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, Bruce provided excellent service. The burger was not as special as we had hoped but we would certainly visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 4, 2017

AMAZING! Lemaire is one of those restaurants that just NEVER DISAPPOINTS! My husband and I ate at Lemaire for our anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it special. From the hostess and our server wishing us happy anniversary to being handed a custom menu with "Happy Anniversary" written on it, it was an anniversary to remember! The food was very inventive and delicious as always!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The decor is lovely and the hotel is elegant beyond our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Wonderful food wonderful service
Couldn’t ask for better

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great menu and wonderful service at a lovely and in a must see historic setting.

A nice feature was that there weee no entrees over $30 and not too expensive for a family celebration.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always nice and elegant. The wait staff were wonderful and engaging. Food was great. We love their fried oysters.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The four of us decided to eat here before going to see "Jersey Boys". Our server, Michael, was very good and attentive to us throughout the meal. The appetizers were cooked to perfection and tasted great. Two of the entree's had some cooking issues, but overall those meal were okay. The other two entree's were cooked perfectly with no problems. Sometimes you can have an off-night, hopefully, this was just a one time occurrence.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was good but our waitress was amazing made the night thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Took my wife for her birthday. It was excellent! The swordfish was outstanding and our waiter was very knowledgeable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Filet mignon was fantastic. So was the creane brûlée. our waiter did a fine job. only negative was noisy people very close to us and a large noisy party at the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Outstanding cuisine, excellent service, beautiful atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Lemaire restaurant at the Jefferson Hotel is just one part of a recent extensive renovation within the hotel that typifies the 5 Diamond Award qualities. At Lemaire, top quality food along with abundant knowledgeable and friendly service staff make for an outstanding dining experience. Pricing for the appetizers, entrees and other delightful options are quite reasonable for a venue of this quality. In addition, the Lemaire offers several isolated but conveniently placed dining areas that provide peaceful and a somewhat exclusive environment. Whether you choose to meet friends for a cocktail or take advantage of the complete dining experience, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 23, 2017

My dad and his wife like to go here when they visit Richmond. We are not sure what's changed since their last visit, the food was bland, average. We were all disappointed. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

A wonderful dining experience. Attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff. Beautiful restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Simply elegant! A nice quiet and relaxing escape with excellent service and food. The chicken was cooked and flavored superbly. Also the vegetarian lasagna was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The service at Lemaire is outstanding and the food is very good. Unfortunately some of the complex sides or additional sauces for the food are not items I enjoy eating so I was unable to give them a 5 star for food. My filet was very good, not the best I've eaten in Richmond, but absolutely nothing wrong with it. If you have a special occasion let them know and they will put that on the menu or desert plate. It was a very good time and worth the visit so I do recommend trying Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The beautiful setting, delicious food and amazing service made our anniversary a great memory.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My wife and I dine out often and make it a point to seek the very best restaurant we can locate when we travel which, for us, has included most states including Hawaii and Alaska, many Caribbean islands, Costa Rica, most European countries and a few stops in the Mediterranean. It is with great pleasure that we can say that our entire experience at Lemaire was outstanding. The Jefferson Hotel is grand including the dining area. The menu was creative and everything we ordered was prepared and presented to perfection. Our waiter was very attentive, congenial and well prepared. If we find ourselves anywhere near Richmond in the future we will absolutely revisit this magnificent restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Beautiful historic hotel and dining room. Andrew was an excellent server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed an incredible 20th anniversary experience. The night started in the lounge with drinks and perfect appetizers, culminating with one of the best meals we both have ever enjoyed. The filet, cooked to medium rare perfection, and the scallops seasoned just right. We finished the night off with a rich brownie dessert in the room. Lori made the dining experience complete with her thorough knowledge of the menu and the patience to allow ample time between courses. From presentation to the full flavored entrees , the dining experience was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2017

When directed to our table it was a very small table, yes only two of us. However, when you are at a higher end restaurant I don't want to be crowded, there is a time and place for that. I requested a change and we got upgraded to a table of four. Only negative was that we sat across from the kitchen doors which made for high traffic.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our server was very nice and attentive. For supper we picked the crusted halibut, scallops, roasted prime beef strip lion, fig salad and they were all very good. The bread and special sorghum butter was okay. The place is very old but seemed clean and neat. We would dine here again and will recommend to all our friends.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Very good food and service. Nice wine list. Seated promptly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Waiter was outstanding and not intrusive, but the hostess was frigid and not at all hospitable on arrival.
Maybe replace her for a better initial impression.
Also should offer to carry guests' drinks from lounge to table on a tray rather than having guests ferry them personally.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Authentic, Late-night Find, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was a fantastic meal and service. Hope to do it again real soon.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Brought our granddaughter fir her 21st birthday. She will always remember this night and the attentive service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The wait staff was admiral. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.