Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (86)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Romantic (67)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Historic (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (36)
Local Ingredients (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Authentic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Seasonal (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Private Room (9)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Healthy (8)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Fireplace (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Every minute of our experience was exceptional. The service was excellent and we all agreed the food was the best we'd had in ages. Our compliments to the chef! The dining room was beautiful and comfortable. We were very pleased with the wine selections. Prices are comparable or better to other fine dining restaurants and the food is outstanding. Lemaire will be our first choice in the future.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great menu, excellent and reasonably priced wine list, great staff. Nick was a perfect waiter - knowledgable and respectful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome food and excellent service. The food was unique and totally fresh. Clearly the chef puts thought and consideration into each menu item. The mix of flavors and textures made each course a delight.

The service was excellent. Matt provided many thoughtful and excellent suggestions which matched our likes and desires.

We are going back !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

One of the best meals I can ever remember. Food was out of this world especially the fried oysters. Service was excellent, ambiance was excellent and the location is gorgeous.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in celebration of our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We selected the Chenin Blanc from the impressively large wine list and sipped it while deciding on our meal selections. We were never rushed as we shared an additional glass of Chardonnay. Everything we ate was delicious. The white almond garlic bisque was distinctive, the scallops were sweet and tender, the salmon tasty, and the chocolate caramel brownie was decadent. My husband had the tangy Meyer Lemon tart. This was a delightful experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lemaire is a special place in all respects. This dinner gathering is an annual event (since 2010) is where we get to play host to family and friends from Franklin, VA. The lemaire staff is so cordial and professional in all respects and the food and service is always perfect. We all look forward to next time. Thanks so much!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner at Lemaire was wonderful. The food was delicious. The waiter was knowledgeable and answered all our questions regarding the menu. To celebrate a special occasion, I had ordered flowers for my girlfriend to be at our table when we arrived and the staff made sure that happened. We will be dining there again. Very nice and romantic restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Very noisy,next to bar. Not what I expected from such a wonderful historic place

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Portions are small and prices are high. However, we were celebrating a special occasion and enjoy the atmosphere and still left feeling that we'd eaten a well-prepared, delicious full meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 30, 2017

This was my first time at the Jefferson since they remodeled and got their new chef. menu seems to be a bit simpler than previously, but the food did not disappoint. Had the salmon dish, another diner in our party had the swordfish, someone had the pasta. We all enjoyed our meals and the guests were very pleased with the food quality.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The best restaurant in the city of Richmond. Excellent food, waiter (thanks Bruce) ...front bar server (Emily) and friends are the Best of the Best for our city.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2017

41st Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our server, Matt, really made the evening by being engaging and a conversationalist. Food was wonderful, as always, with good portion sizes. We enjoyed a drink at the bar before dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Lovely anniversary dinner location. Service was impeccable, food perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Lemaire has evolved from our special occasion, now date night go to. Great food, great price, great place!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Celebrated my wife's 65 th birthday. Waiter was great! Never had to wait for anything. Thought prices were good. Food was delicious! Was not aware of the happy hour. Wish we did so we could of taking advantage of it by coming a little earlier. Maybe next time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The Lemaire offers a bevy of gastronomic delights that tantalize and awaken the palate. Whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just having cocktails, Lemaire provides worthy offerings.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Went there for our 9 year anniversary. When you want to celebrate something special, be a tad fancy, eat good food, and experience friendly service, this is where you go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was outstanding and our server Matt was very knowledgeable about each dish. Everything we ordered was beautifully plated and perfectly cooked. Nice, quiet and unhurried dinner in a classic setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary by having dinner at Lemaire. Through Open Table I had let them know we were celebrating our anniversary and asked for one of their better tables. We were seated in one of the smaller and quieter rooms next to a window. The staff added little touches to make the occasion truly special -- the waiter wished us a happy anniversary as he introduced himself, our menu had "Happy Anniversary" printed at the top and even our dessert had a special message written in chocolate sauce. These things, combined with the impeccable service and extraordinary food, made our celebration memorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and LeMaire was the perfect location. Beautiful space and excellent food. We had the oysters and the rabbit w/pasta from for firsts "hot" list and both were fabulous. I had the Loch Duarte salmon and my husband had the lamb shank. Also excellent. If I'm in Richmond again I will return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent meal and total experience. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Not a good menu for someone that doesn't eat a lot of meat. Vegetables were funky.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food here is absolutely excellent and the ambiance is great. Our only complaint was slow service, but the restaurant was very busy so we attributed the service to this. Overall, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A beautiful atmosphere with amazing customer service! The food was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I added simple comment when entering reservation that it was for our anniversary. The hostess had special menu, the waitress immediately said Happy Anniversary, and more. Very conscientious and top-notch experience. Food all goes together so well. Lamb was tender and delicious. Scallops were a buttery treat with perfect sides.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My husband and had a great meal. Oysters were amazing. We will definitely dine here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We recently dined for the first time at Lemaire. We spent a couple of days at The Jefferson for our 40th anniversary. Dinner was outstanding. Despite the fact that they were very busy that night (graduation weekend), we were seated with no delay. Our menus had been specially labeled with "Happy Anniversary". Both of us would rate our food as outstanding. My husband had melt in your mouth lamb shank-a generous serving. I had a delicious beef tenderloin. Being a big vegetable person, I must say all of the accompanying vegetables were outstanding as well-both in appearance and in taste. For dessert, we were both treated with a beautiful and to-die-for chocolate concoction of brownie, ganache, drizzled chocolate and raspberries-with "happy anniversary" drizzled in chocolate. I might also add the wine selection was varied and we had a wonderful bottle of a cabernet sauvignon. All in all, a memorable dinner and served by an attentive and charming young lady. We will not wait 40 more years to return!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server Melanie, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the menu and history of the restaurant

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent Service and staff remembers the preferences of frequent diners. Food focuses on local products and offers healthy choices. Elegant and dignified atmosphere promotes pleasant noise levels as opposed to people screaming as though at a ballgame.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our server had the answer to all of our questions and steered us in the perfect direction for our "stepmother's day" special dinner. Barely a bite was left on either of our plates at the end of each course. We loved the creativity of the cocktails as well!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Most of my family is gluten-free, so getting to try fried oysters for the first time in our lives was exciting. Our server was kind and attentive and the staff had kindly given us specialized menus with "Congratulations" written at the top, in celebration of one of our graduations. Great meal and warm, inviting ambiance. We all left happy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a wonderful time belatedly celebrating our birthdays and were treated like special guests. We had an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyed appetizers, entrees and dessert. We were impressed with the wine selection. I highly recommend the Meyer lemon tart - so delicious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything about this restaurant was WONDERFUL!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

What's not to like? Part of beautiful and classic historic hotel, with excellent and creative food, generous portions and great service! Will go again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We were seated by the window, which was fine. The only issue was the A.C. was under the window blowing up. We were a little chilled. Otherwise, a great experience. Thanks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing food!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Tried Lemaire during Richmond Rest. week. Great value for the set price. Fried oysters were perfect and beautifully displayed with new potatoes, lettuce, ham, etc. Salmon was so moist - never had better. Polenta was delicious as well as all other accoutrements. Chocolate caramel cake with dark chocolate ice cream - heaven! Service was impeccable.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for my anniversary! The food was excellent and served by a gracious and knowledgable waiter.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We were there for Restaurant Week--first time Lemaire participated.
As always, great experience! Hard to beat

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.