About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
10 More
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Fit for Foodies
Richmond
Notable Wine List
Richmond
Romantic
Richmond
Special Occasion
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (36)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Cozy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

"This was a great place to have a specia ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

"This was a great place to have a special and romantic celebration. The service was excellent and friendly, the collection J. Mourat red wine at $30 was a hit."

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lemaire is located in the beautiful, his ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Lemaire is located in the beautiful, historic Jefferson Hotel. The service really cannot be beat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a lovely meal with friends be ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a lovely meal with friends before the symphony. Would recommend Lamaire to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Fried oysters were spectacular, only ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The Fried oysters were spectacular, only to be surpassed by the crab cakes (and we live in Virginia Beach and have come to expect excellent crab cakes). The entrees were excellent, although my fish was rather plain.

The total experience was one of the best ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An overall great experience from reserva ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

An overall great experience from reservation to evaluation via Open Table. On day of special occassion dinner, I called to ensure we were place in the celbrators favorite small dinning room.

As I stated my name and reservation day/time, the hostess replied, "Yes, Mrs Boysen we have and are holding a table in the room requested." Meal & service was very good. The table next to the fire place (5 of us)... the pink,salmond, peach room.. is difficult since it is on the path to/from the kitchen and to the lobby. Made it a bit more noisey and awkward than desired.

Lovely experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We have dined at Lemaire for many years ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have dined at Lemaire for many years for many special occasions. It continues to be a place we choose when we think of those special times. The food, service and ambiance are impeccable. Thank you again for another exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very special evening, thanks to ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had a very special evening, thanks to the extra touches Lemaire provided for our special occasion. Our server, Lori, was superb and the dinner was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband was somewhat apprehensive abo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

My husband was somewhat apprehensive about coming to Lemaire, having had a negative experience with what he denotes as "fru-fru food," at another restaurant. Lemaire gave us an exquisite food and dining experience as well as an engaging waiter who added to the evening, totally negating any previous apprehensions. From the appetizers to the main course, every morsel was fantastic. We had so much fun, and such a delightful evening, that we will be returning....soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Casual, Vegan, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we have enjoyed the Champagne Brun ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

While we have enjoyed the Champagne Brunch at the Jefferson Hotel previously, this was our first visit to Lemaire and we were not disappointed. From the first contact with our waiter to the last, everything was top drawer. Waiter was attentive and professional but not pushy and was genuinely concerned that he was meeting our expectations for a wonderful dining experience. The dining room, as explained by our waiter was recently redone and provided a very comfortable environment for an enjoyable dining experience. We felt the food was outstanding and the prices were very reasonable for the quality and presentation of the food from appetizer to desert. We enjoyed the salmon and beef tenderloin that were both prepared to perfection. My wife and I both agreed that we would place Lemaire in the top three of our all time dining experiences!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration for my wife. Just t ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Birthday celebration for my wife. Just the two of us. Service, food, surroundings all first rate. A little bit pricey though... especially the wine list (just a couple bottles on their 'discovery list' under $30; then page-upon-page of $50 > $300 bottles).

Overall, well worth it; will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I come to Richmond 2-3 times a year to v ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I come to Richmond 2-3 times a year to visit my friend. We have gotten in the habit of having dinner here. The staff always know my preferences including where we sit, wine we pre-order, fact that my friend is a vegetarian, and that I don't like to be pestered during our time together. They have gone out of their way on several occasions to make our evening memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service andfoodwereoutstanding. Would hi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Service andfoodwereoutstanding.

Would highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff And attentiveness

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great staff And attentiveness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best experience you will ever have. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The best experience you will ever have. Your service in future restaurants will be compared by the shigh standard set here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Our waiter Ja ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food, great service. Our waiter James was wonderful. My only complaints are the tables are very close together, and our table was right above the AC vent so it was very cold. By the time we were leaving, we had numb legs.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Organic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Excellent. Our waiter, Matt was superb. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent. Our waiter, Matt was superb. Very competent and professional. He really made the meal.. Mussels were very noteworthy.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was exceptional; great quality ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The meal was exceptional; great quality ingredients, food was full of flavor and beautifully presented. Our waiter was very courteous and concerned for our needs. We were not rushed through the meal. The temperature in the room was good. I mention this because it is sometimes a concern with older people. We enjoyed a wonderful celebration of my mother's 80th birthday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Though I'm not your typical "fine-diner" ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Though I'm not your typical "fine-diner" - on occasion - I do try and enjoy a very-deliciously prepared meal. It goes without saying that there is also the hope of a simultaneously enjoyable atmosphere. Years ago my eyes were opened to the tangible difference one can expect when searching for an amazing dining experience, but unfortunately - my trial & error approach, ever since, has consistently come up short of that amazing "first time" experience; until now!

The food at Lemaire was AMAZING! Our waitress was equally as impressive. My dish was the chicken breast entree, and my wife had their crab cakes. I cannot vouch for her opinion, but personally -- I never knew chicken could taste so good! I don't even remember all that supplemented the plate, but trust me - it was worth every penny...

The restaurant is also conveniently located in a hotel. We didn't stay at this particular hotel, because we didn't know anything about the area, but if we ever go back to Richmond - the Jefferson will be our first choice.

If you're ever in the Richmond area looking for a "must have" dining experience, give them a try. They were much better than ANY "brand" name restaurant I've ever been to, and currently tied for 1st place among all of my personal dining experiences...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff helped surprise my mother for her ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Staff helped surprise my mother for her 70th bday with family members arriving out of state. Food and service were both exceptional. Well worth the money for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great anniversary at Lemaire. Our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a great anniversary at Lemaire. Our server was very personable and helpful with the menu. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the service and the food was su ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the service and the food was superb. Gosh what a great place to dine in luxury

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing Anniversary dinner at Lem ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had an amazing Anniversary dinner at Lemaire while staying in Richmond. Our server was pleasant, on point, but far from overbearing. The watermelon gazpacho was a mind blowing way to start the meal, and their local beer list was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While visiting Richmond, my family had d ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While visiting Richmond, my family had dinner at the Lemaire. The food and service were wonderful. My son has a dairy allergy and they were very helpful in putting together a meal that he could eat. The dining area is beautiful. The wide spacing between tables is rarely seen anymore even at expensive restaurants. My son particularly enjoyed the panzanella appetizer, beef tenderloin, and creme brulee. I liked my gazpacho soup the best and my husband enjoyed the pineapple cake the most. We also had some very good cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I am very impressed with the new chef... ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I am very impressed with the new chef....the Sea Bass was fabulous...and the raw oysters are not to be missed...loved the gazpacho but would love more watermelon in it....the pasta dish is amazing but could due from a little less garlic cloves....

And of course Bruce is one of the top waiters in Richmond...if you are lucky enough to get him you will see what true costumer service is all about..in the old school european method. Fabulous

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening with delicious food a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful evening with delicious food and excellent service. The Rappahannock oysters were incredible! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time at this restaurant and canno ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Second time at this restaurant and cannot say enough about it - it is fabulous. Classy, delicious, excellent service, historical atmosphere - it's a perfect place to dine when in Richmond!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Lemaire with GF for a special oc ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Went to Lemaire with GF for a special occasion on a Sunday night, it was not crowded and it was quiet. First off, the staff are well trained and attentive, which can be rare nowadays. Considering that this is fine dining I think the value is excellent, you can certainly pay more for food that is not as good. We had appetizers (tuna and hierloom tomato special) both were perfectly prepared and good. The entres - halibut and salmon were again perfectly prepared and good-sized servings

Dessert was really good, we had the milk chocolate caramel bar and it very yummy can't go wrong with that. I highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a long weekend trip and this ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were on a long weekend trip and this made our last night in town fabulous! The food was excellent--wonderful waiter-- great wine! Will definitely go back when in town!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything from the appetizers to the de ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything from the appetizers to the desert looked and tasted great, service was great as well, attentive, polite, informed. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were dining for a special date night. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were dining for a special date night. Both of us have eaten there before and noticed a decline in quality. This night we ordered a tuna appetizer and a shrimp appetizer. The tuna was low quality and chewy. The shrimp was basically unsauced shrimp on a dry piece of bread. The steak was visually offputting but tasted ok. The one redemption was the dessert which was fantastic. The wine service from the cellar was quite slow, and our steak got dropped off while we sat waiting with empty glasses. It is disappointing to see this is that current state of Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

This is one of the finest restaurants in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is one of the finest restaurants in the country. The food and service are the best you will find anywhere. My wife and I never pass up an opportunity to eat at the Lemaire, whenever we are in Richmond, VA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his br ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Andrew ,was very good, his bright disposition set a positive mood for the excellent meal and service that followed. The service I repeat was excellent, food and drinks were served promptly , fresh and correct temperatures. It was a pleasure . We tried some new dishes to us , and his description was right on . We eat out often but believe the chef did a fantastic creation of spices with a great presentation..

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best place in RVA for an elegant and qui ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best place in RVA for an elegant and quiet dinner. Food is sophisticated, but the ambience is relaxed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service and ambiance was excellent. Two of three entries were under cooked a lot, we sent them back ( do not usually do that) and they came back still unetable . I fed my dog a $30. Filet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The experience was great. Food wonderfu ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The experience was great. Food wonderful. Service perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were exquisite. I'll de ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Food and service were exquisite. I'll definitely be going back...once I save up some money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent especially the sw ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was excellent especially the swordfish special. The vegetarian dish was well received as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Lemaire never disappoints and our dinner in June was wonderful. We started with unique and delicious craft cocktails. My friend selected the swordfish special and was utterly delighted with it. My salmon was equally perfect. Service and ambience are just as excellent at Lemaire.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience - I now understand ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

An amazing experience - I now understand what true gourmet food is about. The flavor nuisances of each dish - ahi tuna tartare, sunchoke bisque, cracker meal crusted chesapeake bay oysters & pineapple upside down cake - were a true delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at th ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at the Lemaire restaurant at The Jefferson Hotel. We were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Each of our selections was delicious. I look forward to out next visit to Lemaire.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.