Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.26mi

About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (58)
Historic (58)
See All
Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Business Meals (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Authentic (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Private Room (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Seasonal (14)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Cozy (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful, historical hotel that everyone should see. The dining room and menu, I believe, have been updated. The offerings are fairly mainstream, and the execution just average, at least based on our experience. My filet mignon was HUGE, but a bit undercooked and not especially tender. The service was adequate, but definitely not up to luxury hotel standards.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

always fun to take an out of town business guest here. was a bit cold in that secluded room but our server turned the heat up a bit and was comfortable. Got the wine order wrong but otherwise a nice experience and great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Amazing experience. The best meal I have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a great pleasure to dine at Lemaire. Michael was our server, and he a fantastic job - very polite and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent and very convenient if staying at The Jefferson Hotel

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Lemaire was a great choice for a birthday/pre-concert dinner. The service and attention given were outstanding. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Each guest praised his/her particular dinner selection. We had a time constraint and we were in and out without feeling rushed.
Great restaurant for a special occasion without feeling it was over-priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My meal came out quickly nice and hot !! Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lemaire is one of those restaurants you want to visit at least once on a trip to Richmond. We had a birthday dinner with friends in one of the private rooms. Service and food was top notch. The hotel and restaurant pride themselves on providing a five star experience, and it did not disappoint. The bar in the next room was lively for an after dinner drink, but the restaurant was quiet and we were able to actually talk.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everytime we go to Richmond, The Lemaire is always our restaurant of choice!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Elegant dining. The dinner was delicious. Great for an occasion. We were staying at the hotel and treated ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Amazing service that was personal. Probably one of the best dining experiences my wife and I have had together! That made the birthday occasion very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We had an absolutely phenomenal meal. Every plate was heaven. Terrific wine list. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good Service was pretentious ambiance classy

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 3, 2017

An excellent meal. The chef is incredibly accommodating with food intolerances / allergies. The duck and the scallops were enjoyed by all. Don't skip dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Lemaire @ The Jefferson is always a great meal out - just because you get to go to The Jefferson. The food was fantastic as with our more recent visits. The barrelfish special was well prepared and unique. My wife's pork chop was outstanding. One of the most moist and tender chops I've had in a restaurant. Our friends both got the beef tenderloin and said it was excellent. We also opted for the pumpkin cake dessert, which was very tasty. Service was a little slow given the smaller crowd on a week night, but not horrible. Overall, very enjoyable experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Excellent Service, Fair Food Quality (great Mussel Dish, uninspiring Pork Belly, great attempt to make the flavors work, but did not succeed. Rockfish was very disappointing , not fresh, fishy and bland in seasoning . Service saved the evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Wow! Lemaire hits it out of the ballpark yet again! Excellent ambience, service, presentation, and taste from the squash bisque to the flavorful filet to the melt in your mouth pecan pie bread pudding. Can't wait to return. Did I mention-- all at very reasonable prices? If you haven't been, you must put it at the top of your list.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Celebrating my daughter's major achievement

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent quality food and service with great ambience. Protein portion was a little small but acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We chose this to celebrate a milestone birthday for an elderly friend. We were presented with a special Birthday Menu, and the friend's dessert came on a platter with Happy Birthday written in chocolate around the brim. We began with a lovely sparkling rose, and had a wonderful French burgundy with our dinner, recommended by the waitress. We were seated in a separate lovely area with maybe 3 other couples, none of whom were noisy, so we were able to talk about our experience at the opera, which we'd attended just before arriving for dinner. Everything about the Jefferson is always first class and then some, and this was no exception. We go there usually with friends from out of town because it is just too special not to show off and share!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Really loved the historical character of the "Library Room." Service was efficient and not pretentious, and we enjoyed some of the best steaks we've ever eaten. Saw people of all ages and dress - don't be intimidated - try it!

Tags: Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Why we waited so long to try Lemaire is beyond me. It was an elegant evening of great food and made better by the wonderful and informative waitress we had. Everything was impressive from the suggested wine, by our waitress ,to the scrumptios meals of crab cakes, scallops and rockfish. We will definetly be back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Creative menu featuring locally sourced ingredients. All expertly prepared. Energetic, professional service. Only complaint... Caeser salad had obviously been pre-prepared and kept in the fridge, so it was absolutely ice-cold, spoiling the taste. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Stayed the night in the hotel while passing through Richmond so we decided to try the restaurant. I ordered the steak which was cooked just as I had asked and was delicious. My two kids who are 15 and 12 both ordered the lemaire’s “barnyard” burger which was a little undercooked but still tasty and enjoyable. My wife ordered the cast iron seared jumbo sea scallops which were unfortunately so salty that she did not enjoy her meal. Service was attentive and friendly so I have no problem recommending you give this restaurant a go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

As is always the case, Lemaire didn't disappoint. Superb food, excellent service and unmatchable atmosphere. Pricey? Yes, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Travel to Richmond often and was staying at the Jefferson and have heard from many friends that Lemaire is doing well with its new Kitchen group - Well they were correct , The cast iron seared Scallops and the pan roasted Rock Fish were prepared perfectly ! Salads are very creative and we really liked the Mussels . Desserts were another hit! Why the mediocre overall review ? The Hostess was non friendly , seated us at a bad table next to the sever bar in a half empty room , We requested a change and we seemed to really annoy her -she was seen walking around the room taking notes at the table and as we were leaving was on her phone , didn't look up at us to say anything , didn't offer to get our coats and just made an otherwise wonderful experience not as good .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent healthy food and decor in a luxury historic hotel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Will definitely return to try more dishes. Everthing from taste to portion size was well worth the money all the way down to after dinner coffee. The service was excellent. Our server offered to validate our vallet ticket without having to ask.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. The ambience was lacking. We were in the Library(?) for an early Valentine's dinner after a theater matinee and they sat us in a room with a table for seven that was obviously celebrating something. They weren't obnoxious but they were loud and we were in a confined space and the only seated tables were us and them. It would have been more appropriate to seat other tables for 4+ and had couples seated in a better atmosphere. It just takes an awareness of who is seated in confined spaces like that and let couples enjoy each other's company and not compete with the noise level.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

LeMaire was wonderful until we got to the dessert menu, then all in our party were disappointed that there was no all chocolate dessert. The chocolate was always mixed with something else like bananas or peanut butter. The staff was very sympathetic with our position, and offered to see if they could get us some chocolate ice cream. It was delicious and rich; it was called "decadence" and it was the perfect end to the meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was very fresh, appetizing and presented well on the plate and palate. The atmosphere was quiet and elegant and the service from our waiter Michael was absolutely outstanding. He answered all questions concerning menu choices and knew about each dish we discussed. He was very attentive without being overly distracting. A very fine dining experience and the entire staff was very friendly and accomodating

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lemaire is always amazing. It's so great to have a gorgeous historic hotel and a stunning dining room with young servers and amazing, creative food. There's nothing stuffy about Lemaire these days. We treasure our evenings at Lemaire for quiet "together" time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good just like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was i mpeccable. The tortelli my wife had and the scallops I had were made less tasty by over powering sauces. The cheme buele we had for dessert, however, was perfect. We would go back, but ask the kitchen to back off on the sauces for the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best places to go in Richmond for an upscale delicious dinner! Outstanding service, great food and wine all at reasonable prices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent appetizers and entrees. Fish was cooked perfectly and was very fresh. Dessert choices were just ok. The peanut butter s'more was disappointing. Marshmallow base had no flavor and ganache was thin and not very gooey. But ambience and service was excellent and everything seemed priced fairly for a 5-star hotel restaurant. Especially compared to NY or LA restaurant of comparable quality and venue

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It's the Jefferson. The attention to details is unsurpassed. Service at every yurn was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wow amazing food amazing atmosphere! The Jefferson is absolutely beautiful and the service couldn't have been better! Expensive but certainly worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding dinner! The restaurant was perfect, our waiter Mark, was knowledgeable and attentive. He was great! The wine list and food were 1st class!
I'll be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.