About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: 8886526750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Virginia
Best Ambiance
Virginia
Contemporary American
Virginia
8 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Virginia
Best Overall
Richmond
Best Food
Richmond
Best Service
Richmond
Best Ambiance
Richmond
Best Value
Richmond
Contemporary American
Richmond
Most Booked
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Romantic (39)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Historic (31)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Local Ingredients (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (15)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Casual (4)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding and so ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter, Nick, was outstanding and so was his assistant, whose name I do not remember.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

GREAT food that is priced well for an up ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

GREAT food that is priced well for an upscale meal.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Lovely restaurant --- fancy, old fashion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Lovely restaurant --- fancy, old fashioned, but with charming contemporary food.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful birthday dinner in ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful birthday dinner in every respect and would highly recommend them to anyone celebrating a special event.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic and attentive service which ma ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Fantastic and attentive service which made sure to note our anniversary celebration on our dessert without any special requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience was amazing. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Experience was amazing. Our waitress was so professional yet made us feel welcome and comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expected more for the price. Service wa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Expected more for the price. Service was slow but the restaurant was not full. The bar service was not up to a five-star hotel. The cosmopolitan was terrible, they did not know how to make a blue martini! The pork dish was over cooked. The tenderloin was excellent but for the price ($30) expected more on the plate. We thought they changed the chef but were disappointed. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful evening. Waiter was outstandin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful evening. Waiter was outstanding and the hotel was decorated with Christmas and was stunning. Couldn't have planned a better evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at LeMaire ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at LeMaire. My mother's 88th birthday celebration was memorable. The ambiance, service and food were all outstanding! The Christmas decorations beyond expectations! Thank you for a lovely evening !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time--high expectations since ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our first time--high expectations since it's rated #1 in Richmond. The appetizer--cracker crusted fried oysters were excellent and so were the salads. Dave's pork chop, which apparently is a signature dish, were really good. My scallops were...boring. The brussel sprouts on the plate were underdone, yuck, and the other flavors on the plate didn't come together. Nothing delicious about it, esp. give them the cost. If I were to go back, I'd get a salad and maybe two appetizers instead of an entree.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our reservation was 6:15 and we were run ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our reservation was 6:15 and we were running late. I called and let them know. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had our granddaughter and her roommate from VCU with us.

We all enjoyed our selections. It was a lovely evening. Looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The risoto disappointed, sadly dry and l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The risoto disappointed, sadly dry and lacked the typical creaminess.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went to Lemaire on Monday when I arrived ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Went to Lemaire on Monday when I arrived in Richmond. Beautiful hotel and beautiful restaurant. I was seated promptly and the staff was very courteous and very attentive. My starter was the:

Marinated ahi tuna tartare /castelvetrano olive tapenade / cured egg yolk / lavash crisps / tomato vinaigrette

It was delicious with lovely flavors and a generous portion. My entrée was:

Wildflower honey glazed duck breast/carrot-ginger puree / bok choy / shiitake mushrooms / virginia peanuts / naval orange jus

Also very nicely done. Service is top notch and definitely a dining gem.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Pleasant atmosphere and the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very Pleasant atmosphere and the food was very good. The beef tenderloin was excellent. Some of the best beef, if not the best beef I've ever had. It melts in your mouth.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good though my steak w ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was very good though my steak was undercooked, as were some others. I preferred the appetizers. The service was very efficient and good if not especially friendly. Not unfriendly, but very formal, which I guess is their thing. I like the appetizers and the desserts more than my main course. Had a good soup and some pork belly pasta and other good stuff. Also liked my cocktail and I almost never drink cocktails.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The best meal I've had at any restaurant ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The best meal I've had at any restaurant in quite sometime. The service was exceptional as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was OK but seemed too expensive. Po ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was OK but seemed too expensive. Portions were modest at best. Great atmosphere but I expected the food to be better and more imaginative. Also seems a bit out of place for such a fancy place to have people come wearing ties and jackets to sit next to people in shorts and blue jeans.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Service and food was excellent as always ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service and food was excellent as always. I would like to commend both our server Melanie and beverage manager Chauncey for their excellent service and beverage recommendation. These two individuals are top notch and make the Lemaire the great restaurant that it is.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend this restaurant ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant to people. The service was fabulous and the food was outstanding. The server was VERY knowledgeable about the history with the hotel and restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was excellent. Great service, beaut ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Meal was excellent. Great service, beautiful setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here for my birthday. The sweet pot ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Came here for my birthday. The sweet potato-parsnip bisque was sublime, and the textures paired beautifully. The main dish, the flounder, had so many flavors that worked so well that no two bites were exactly the same. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I go here every time I visit Richmond, o ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I go here every time I visit Richmond, one to two times a year. Sometimes even better than expected. Love the seasonal menu. Every item on the menu is truly a daily special. Service is impeccable. Check out the specialty cocktails. Five ✨

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Continues to set the standard in Richmon ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Continues to set the standard in Richmond for creativity, local sourcing, presentation, and somewhat unbelievably for the totality of the experience, value/cost. Have never had an occasion where we've walked away and not been deeply impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent bar with very affordable drink ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent bar with very affordable drink specials for happy hour! Dinner services was exceptional!! Food portion were appropriate and not overpriced...

We will return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food well served in a beautifu ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food well served in a beautiful room. After 10 days in Washington and New York, this was the best dining experience of our trip.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

quite nice but a little too pricy for th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

quite nice but a little too pricy for the average family to be able to enjoy. maybe again on our 50th anniversary

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

What a treat to be pampered as diners, a ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a treat to be pampered as diners, and to have wonderful meals served in such a beautiful setting. It was our first time to the restaurant, and if we go back to Richmond, we will make sure to come back here! Expensive but worth it for a celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The meal was outstanding and the service fantastic. The streak was just a tiny bit not rare. The veg was unusual but tasty. The desert looked very good. The Monument cocktail was a refreshing treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary h ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary here. Could not have made a better choice. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's Birthday was great. The food terr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Wife's Birthday was great. The food terrific as well as the service. The flowers that were ordered were on the table, ready for our meal.

A great place to celebrate and to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining in the elegant Jefferson Hotel wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Dining in the elegant Jefferson Hotel was an exquisite experience. Our wait staff, particularly Shawn, made it it even more so with his level of service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent, every morsel! Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was excellent, every morsel! The setting beautiful ans service above and beyond. Our server, Andrew, went out of his way to make our visit great and gave us tips on other things to do in Richmond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good value. Prices are 30% below wh ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very good value. Prices are 30% below what they would be in a city like miami. Food was pretty good, not spectacular, but certainly high quality. Service was friendly but not sophisticated. The place was a bit empty, which made it nice and quiet.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Everything was wonderful. The staff and ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The staff and food! Def a great place for a special occasion. The food is spectacular and so flavorable. Everything was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Lemaire is an amazing venue. This pa ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The Lemaire is an amazing venue. This past visit was for our 1st wedding anniversary and everything about it was perfect. The fried green tomatoes is an excellent appetizer followed by a well cooked / prepared beef tenderloin. The service was outstanding and we would definitely plan another dinner here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a local treasure. It was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This place is a local treasure. It was our first time ever going, but we were not disappointed. The food was sophisticated and delicious. Our waiter was knowledgable and exceptionally helpful. I was surprised how affordable the prices were considering the experience. For two people, champagne, appetizers, entrees, and desserts with cappuccinos it was $129.00. We couldn't stop eating...although we really should have. :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't say much about the waitress we had ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Can't say much about the waitress we had. Perhaps it was an off night.

The food was good and the setting is lovely.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The whole experience was excellent from ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The whole experience was excellent from arriving early to have a drink at the bar to our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aside from there being a very noisy and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Aside from there being a very noisy and hyperactive two year old in an adjoining table (thankfully they finished and left within 20 minutes), this was a flawless meal. The dining rooms that adjoin a very "happening" bar area are extremely attractive, as is everything else in the stunning Jefferson Hotel. I started with a hearts of romaine salad -- a good test because this can be a very insipid dish. It was outstanding, as was my wife's squash bisque (a special that evening). Her hamburger was unquestionably, hands down, the best burger EVER; my tenderloin filet was delicious and cooked to a perfect medium rare. No room for dessert. Our waiter was friendly and helpful -- always there when you needed him but never obtrusive. Relative to the quality of the food and the overall experience, the prices here are extremely reasonable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply put, A not to miss Richmond Dinin ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Simply put, A not to miss Richmond Dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.