About Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel

101 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23220
View Larger Map

New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal traditions and bounty of Virginia. The new Lemaire will deliver the quality and service The Jefferson Hotel is known for, but in an accessible format without the pretense, formality or expense!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Bar and Lounge: Monday - Sunday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 649-4629

Website:
http://www.lemairerestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Patrick Willis

Private Party Facilities:
Lemaire is a New American restaurant and bar that is inspired by the agricultural and coastal bounties of Virginia. We are located inside The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. We offer five different dining rooms and a dedicated event planner to personalize every aspect of your event!

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Warner: (888) 652-6750

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We offer five different private dining venues. We will provide you with a dedicated contact on our team to assist you in personalizing every detail of your event, including the menu, specialty drinks, wines, flowers, music and audio visual.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Lemaire at The Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (58)
Historic (52)
See All
Good for a Date (51)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Private Room (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (14)
Seasonal (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Afternoon Tea (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We chose this to celebrate a milestone b ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We chose this to celebrate a milestone birthday for an elderly friend. We were presented with a special Birthday Menu, and the friend's dessert came on a platter with Happy Birthday written in chocolate around the brim. We began with a lovely sparkling rose, and had a wonderful French burgundy with our dinner, recommended by the waitress. We were seated in a separate lovely area with maybe 3 other couples, none of whom were noisy, so we were able to talk about our experience at the opera, which we'd attended just before arriving for dinner. Everything about the Jefferson is always first class and then some, and this was no exception. We go there usually with friends from out of town because it is just too special not to show off and share!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved the historical character of ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Really loved the historical character of the "Library Room." Service was efficient and not pretentious, and we enjoyed some of the best steaks we've ever eaten. Saw people of all ages and dress - don't be intimidated - try it!

Tags: Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Why we waited so long to try Lemaire is ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Why we waited so long to try Lemaire is beyond me. It was an elegant evening of great food and made better by the wonderful and informative waitress we had. Everything was impressive from the suggested wine, by our waitress ,to the scrumptios meals of crab cakes, scallops and rockfish. We will definetly be back and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative menu featuring locally sourced ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

Creative menu featuring locally sourced ingredients. All expertly prepared. Energetic, professional service. Only complaint... Caeser salad had obviously been pre-prepared and kept in the fridge, so it was absolutely ice-cold, spoiling the taste. You can't go wrong!

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

As is always the case, Lemaire didn't di ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

As is always the case, Lemaire didn't disappoint. Superb food, excellent service and unmatchable atmosphere. Pricey? Yes, but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Travel to Richmond often and was staying ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Travel to Richmond often and was staying at the Jefferson and have heard from many friends that Lemaire is doing well with its new Kitchen group - Well they were correct , The cast iron seared Scallops and the pan roasted Rock Fish were prepared perfectly ! Salads are very creative and we really liked the Mussels . Desserts were another hit! Why the mediocre overall review ? The Hostess was non friendly , seated us at a bad table next to the sever bar in a half empty room , We requested a change and we seemed to really annoy her -she was seen walking around the room taking notes at the table and as we were leaving was on her phone , didn't look up at us to say anything , didn't offer to get our coats and just made an otherwise wonderful experience not as good .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent healthy food and decor in a lu ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent healthy food and decor in a luxury historic hotel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely return to try more dishe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Will definitely return to try more dishes. Everthing from taste to portion size was well worth the money all the way down to after dinner coffee. The service was excellent. Our server offered to validate our vallet ticket without having to ask.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and service were wonderful. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and service were wonderful. The ambience was lacking. We were in the Library(?) for an early Valentine's dinner after a theater matinee and they sat us in a room with a table for seven that was obviously celebrating something. They weren't obnoxious but they were loud and we were in a confined space and the only seated tables were us and them. It would have been more appropriate to seat other tables for 4+ and had couples seated in a better atmosphere. It just takes an awareness of who is seated in confined spaces like that and let couples enjoy each other's company and not compete with the noise level.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

LeMaire was wonderful until we got to th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

LeMaire was wonderful until we got to the dessert menu, then all in our party were disappointed that there was no all chocolate dessert. The chocolate was always mixed with something else like bananas or peanut butter. The staff was very sympathetic with our position, and offered to see if they could get us some chocolate ice cream. It was delicious and rich; it was called "decadence" and it was the perfect end to the meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very fresh, appetizing and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was very fresh, appetizing and presented well on the plate and palate. The atmosphere was quiet and elegant and the service from our waiter Michael was absolutely outstanding. He answered all questions concerning menu choices and knew about each dish we discussed. He was very attentive without being overly distracting. A very fine dining experience and the entire staff was very friendly and accomodating

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lemaire is always amazing. It's so grea ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Lemaire is always amazing. It's so great to have a gorgeous historic hotel and a stunning dining room with young servers and amazing, creative food. There's nothing stuffy about Lemaire these days. We treasure our evenings at Lemaire for quiet "together" time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Private Room, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good just like always

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good just like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was i mpeccable. The tortel ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was i mpeccable. The tortelli my wife had and the scallops I had were made less tasty by over powering sauces. The cheme buele we had for dessert, however, was perfect. We would go back, but ask the kitchen to back off on the sauces for the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best places to go in Richmond ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best places to go in Richmond for an upscale delicious dinner! Outstanding service, great food and wine all at reasonable prices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent appetizers and entrees. Fish w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent appetizers and entrees. Fish was cooked perfectly and was very fresh. Dessert choices were just ok. The peanut butter s'more was disappointing. Marshmallow base had no flavor and ganache was thin and not very gooey. But ambience and service was excellent and everything seemed priced fairly for a 5-star hotel restaurant. Especially compared to NY or LA restaurant of comparable quality and venue

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's the Jefferson. The attention to det ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 2, 2017

It's the Jefferson. The attention to details is unsurpassed. Service at every yurn was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wow amazing food amazing atmosphere! Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Wow amazing food amazing atmosphere! The Jefferson is absolutely beautiful and the service couldn't have been better! Expensive but certainly worth it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner! The restaurant was p ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding dinner! The restaurant was perfect, our waiter Mark, was knowledgeable and attentive. He was great! The wine list and food were 1st class!

I'll be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An elegant restaurant in the most elegan ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

An elegant restaurant in the most elegant of hotels. Beautiful presentation, well-served and executed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The best hotel and Restaruant in the sta ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The best hotel and Restaruant in the state

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We traveled from Maryland to have a cele ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We traveled from Maryland to have a celebratory dinner with our friend/artist who did a painting for us. We let him select the venue, and the total experience was wonderful, magical ! Bruce, our server, was attentive, and added to the experience in such a wonderful way.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening at the Jefferson was fabulou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our evening at the Jefferson was fabulous in every way. The food was excellent and the service was attentive. We never felt rushed. The dining room was beautiful. If you would like to thoroughly enjoy your evening out, make a reservation at Lemaire at the Jefferson Hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,great service, good time to ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food,great service, good time to celebrate our 41first anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved every moment of our experience ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We loved every moment of our experience at the Lemaire Restaurant in the Jefferson Hotel. The hotel lobby, grand staircase, and gift shop were lots of fun even before we entered the restaurant. Our dining experience could not have been better. The wine list offered a number of very reasonably priced options, and service was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

first time there for supper. the place ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

first time there for supper. the place was not busy, yet we were put in a corner, so about all i saw of the place was the pillar behind my friend. not impressed with that. i had scallops for dinner. they were not brought out piping hot. nothing less impressive than just warm scallops. could the kitchen be too far from the dining room or did my dinner sit in the kitchen too long before it was brought out? doubt i would go back again for anything but Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A wonderful dining experience with wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

A wonderful dining experience with wonderful ambiance. Truly a meal to be savored. Southern cooking with a French theme makes for some amazing plates!

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious dinner accompanied ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious dinner accompanied with outstanding service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this experience was abs ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Everything about this experience was absolutely excellent. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. I am thrilled to have had an opportunity to dine at Lemaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was wonderful! We ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful! We were celebrating my husband's retirement and my 62nd birthday! The service, food, dining room were all stellar! Thank-you for a lovely time

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my fiancé for a special dinner at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I took my fiancé for a special dinner at Lemaire after proposing to her. The food was excellent and the staff helped to make the evening truly special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beautiful historic dining room was o ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The beautiful historic dining room was our setting for a lovely dinner with delicious fresh local food prepared with a modern twist. I love that I got a unique, generous combination of vegetables with my salmon meal and the preparation was light, healthy and so flavorful. The romesco cauliflower appetizer was fabulous. Scallop entree was delicious also, said my husband. Our service by Matt was perfect. I give the new chef and Lemaire a 10!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful New Year's Eve dinner at Lemaire while we were staying at the Jefferson Hotel. Our server, Matt, was very knowledgable about the menu and made good recommendations. I had the fried oyster appetizer and they were among the best I've ever had! All four of us thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening.

This was truly fine dining at a reasonable price, since all entrees are under $ 30.

We will certainly be returning.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in Richmond for New Years and the Jefferson was at the top of the list of places to experience. The setting of the Jefferson was out of this world. Wish I could go higher than 5 stars. Phenomenal. The food was average - my duck was overcooked, but the mussles appetizer was very good. After dinner we went to the bar downstairs (closed early) and then the bar upstairs. The Service in the restaurant and at both bars was VERY good. The value of the food / drinks and the people watching was unreal. Overall, even with average food, the Jefferson was OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Always an outstanding experience! We com ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Always an outstanding experience! We come every year over the holidays for dinner, always consistent and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food & service. We went right ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic food & service. We went right after Christmas and the Jefferson Hotel looked amazing with all the decorations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance of the Jefferson Hotel is w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The ambiance of the Jefferson Hotel is wonderful, and the restaurant's service was outstanding. However, the food, while good, was over priced for what it was even at around $30 per entree. I think you are paying for the location more than anything. I would recommend the setting for special occasions but not for regular dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server Mallory was very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our server Mallory was very knowledgeable and very attentive. Food was good and the atmosphere was easy you would expect at The Jefferson. Very nice overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the last several years, my husband a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For the last several years, my husband and I have taken my family to Lemaire in celebration of Christmas while we are with them in Richmond for the holidays. The atmosphere, quality of the food and service, and overall experience was outstanding once again. The wine list includes several bottles of white and red "Discoveries" priced at $30 and below -- the mark-up is very low/reasonable for a restaurant of this calibre. We took advantage of the value by ordering three different bottles to share. Upon request, we were seated in the library in a corner table for 6, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar. Service was expert with salads/soups all arriving simultaneously and timing of entree delivery spaced out perfectly. We plan to return again next year!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great, service and fo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The restaurant was great, service and food but was surprised that the some of the customers were dressed down. I always thought men had to have a sports cost or nice sweater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.