Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Max's Bistro & BarMax's Bistro & Bar
(435)
Seafood | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
CampagniaCampagnia
(400)
Californian | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Five RestaurantFive Restaurant
(320)
Italian | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Lime LiteLime Lite
(68)
American | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Cafe 225Cafe 225
(102)
Californian | Visalia, Visalia
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - FresnoFleming's Steakhouse - Fresno
(272)
Steak | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Ruth's Chris Steak House - FresnoRuth's Chris Steak House - Fresno
(255)
Steakhouse | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Black Angus Steakhouse - FresnoBlack Angus Steakhouse - Fresno
(466)
Steakhouse | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Elephant Bar Restaurant - FresnoElephant Bar Restaurant - Fresno
(16)
Global, International | Fresno, Fresno
Reserve Now
Harris Ranch SteakhouseHarris Ranch Steakhouse
Reviews Coming Soon
Steakhouse | Coalinga, Coalinga
Reserve Now

About LeLa's Restaurant

7089 N. Marks #101
Fresno, CA 93711
View Larger Map

Lela's Restaurant hosts old friends from the neighborhood and new friends from the Central Valley. Our California comfort cuisine contains the choicest ingredients sourced from local producers, prepared by Executive Chef Manuel Carr and paired with fine wine to create an exciting seasonal menu and a great dining experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Californian, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: T-Th 5:00pm-9:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Herndon/Marks

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 432-9900

Website:
http://www.lelasrestaurant.com/

Executive Chef:
Manuel Carr

Private Party Facilities:
Availble to rent out restaurant

Private Party Contact:
Manuel Carr: 5594329900

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My fave.

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Never disappointed. Great food and service. Portions are tremendous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service and tasty food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Lela's for Valentine's Day after reading online reviews and seeing pictures of their food. When we arrived, it was brighter than I imagined for a romantic Valentine's Day dinner. We were really looking forward to the food, however, unfortunately, they were serving a limited menu this weekend, so I was unable to order one of their steaks (no steaks on the menu during a busy, holiday weekend?).

We were disappointed with the abbreviated menu because steak was on our mind, but decided to enjoy the experience as much as possible. The service was great and our waiter suggested helped us pick a nice Cab vs the Syrah we were contemplating. We paired the wine with their cheese plate, which had many tasty choices to choose from - 3 types of cheeses, several crackers, figs, and a spicy dipping sauce.

We would like to return on another evening when they have their full menu. From what we saw, the other patrons were enjoying their food and the orders had a good portion size.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Awesome as always!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and cooked to per ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The food was delicious and cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous service....Great food!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

7 friends got together.

We all enjoyed our meals...enjoyed the wine recommendations...and enjoyed conversation. Service was outstanding. Our waiter Ryan was fun and attentive. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting cuisine

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I"ve had several meals at LeLa's and was a bit disappointed with my most recent meal. I felt the food was over-flavored with tastes that were not compatable. My husband and I split a Caesar salad and the dressing had too much anchovy flavor for my taste, my husband loved it but I did not. My husband had the chicken and loved it too (I had a taste and can confirm that it was very good.) I had the filet mignon and thought it had too much going on. The seasoning was strong and it was covered with a generous portion of a blue cheese which wasn't very appealing to me (and I love blue cheeses). The garlic mashed potatoes were too garlicky and the vegetables had a lot of seasoning too and the combination of flavos on the plate just didn't add up for me. The flan for dessert was outstanding. The wine list is very heavy on reds so us white wine drinkers don't have much of a selection.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Friendly fine dining in Northwest Fresno

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Before I left Lela's in Northwest Fresno, located in the shopping center at the northwest corner of Marks and Herndon, following our third meal there in mid-December, I sent a few pictures of the food and our enthusiastic recommendation to two of our friends, one responding that he and his wife were already customers and agreed with me entirely!

On this visit, my properly-cooked medium-rare lamb was accented by a Mexican-inspired mildly spicy green tomatillo sauce, cilantro with queso fresco, served with very tasty mashed potatoes. My wife had the generously sized bone-in pork chop I had enjoyed on a prior visit, couldn't finish it, so I had the pleasure of finishing it the next night at home.

We have had other entrees at prior visits, including a salmon preparation my wife really enjoyed, and once I had a steak dish. Salads have been very good, and I think once we found room for a desert. The service on all three occasions has been polite, helpful and professional. I find the prices very reasonable for the quality of the food.

On the Zagat scale of 0-30, cuisine, ambiance and service, and making a comparison to restaurants elsewhere in California, eastern major cities, and even overseas, a rating for Lela's would approximate: 25 for food, 22 for ambiance, 25 for service. Lela's is one of the few restaurants in Fresno where I would take an out of town visitor who was knowledgeable about finer dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

this was an anniversary dinner for us and the entire restaurant staff was just fabulous! the wait staff is very knowledgeable about the food and wine pairings, servings were generous and of course, Manny was just super! Thanks so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

The food was magnificent. Our server was darling and the executive chef Manuel (Manny) came to our table personally to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the new fall menu; especially ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We enjoyed the new fall menu; especially the short ribs; elegant comfort food. What could be better?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

We came to this restaurant as a recommendation from a friend. The food was remarkable and the service was great as well. I will recommend L─ôlas to everyone I know. Thank- you

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Happy Aniversery

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

The service was outstanding from greeting to end. Our server suggested some House specialties and created a memorable dessert. All of the food was executed to perfection from starter to dessert. We will be returning to enjoy more experiences at LeLa's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant Dinner

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Enjoyable dinner place. The menu is rather short and there was only one off menu special. So, I got the impression that they focus on a limited number of dishes and do them well. I thought the portions were on the large size. I had the pork chop and started with the pork belly salad. The salad was outstanding. The pork chop was cooked slightly more than I prefer. One interesting thing about the wine list is that they had several South African wines.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Awesome food! Great place!

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Stop reading reviews and just make a reservation now! Its worth it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Beautiful and Tasty.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

My only complaint is that their red wine is too warm. Which is very sad when purchasing a high end bottle of red.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine2dine

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

The chicken entree is to die for, the lamb entree (ordered rare) was over cooked. The service was very attentive and the wine list was balanced and many quality selections. Give it a try!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Great food......great service......already recommended to friends......we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Well done

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

A surprisingly good place to eat with wonderful staff and a chef who makes himself available.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner on Aug 1st

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

We truly enjoyed the food. It was awesome. They say they are known for their porkchop and they did not disappoint. This was our 2nd visit, the food and service were very, very good. The air conditioner was not working well so it go a little warm in the restaurant. It was not overly busy, which is surprising because this place is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoy the seasonal menu

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

We really enjoy the seasonal changes to the menu; especially the wonderful produce, much of which is grown on a small farm here in Fresno.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Two $$'s are misleading

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 18, 2015

There were 6 of us. The shrimp and pasta was a bit too spicy for the ladies. The steaks were great and I highly recommend the rib eye. Service was very good and the staff dialed into our personalities in short order. The ambiance is weak and no way this is a $$ menu. large portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Food is good, but the dining room is too small. It can't help arrange us a quiet table for our anniversary. Not a good place for special event, sorry.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Glad we took the chance

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

We wanted to try someplace new and when making reservations for ourselves and another couple, saw that LeLa's was rated highly so we gave it a try. Very glad we did! The food was exceptional and Manny and his staff went above and beyond to make our dining experience pleasurable. Each of us ordered something different but ended up sharing the dishes so we could all get a taste. Will definitely be back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Evening starts with homemade hummus and ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Evening starts with homemade hummus and pita chips delivered to the table. The food is absolutely delicious, and it's presentation is great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We appreciate the personalized service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

On this visit, the sommelier was away for part of the night but as he had seen our OpenTable reservations on the books, he selected two wines for us and left them with the head waiter. We always appreciate and look forward to Randy's recommendations and we're grateful for his thoughtfulness and planning on this occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

First timers here we will be back. Fantastic service pleasant and attentive. Food was very good. Ahi special salad was excellent great recommendations from wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, great staff but weird location....

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 26, 2015

I found this restaurant on OT and after reading the great reviews decided to take some friends for dinner. I had also reviewed the menu and was a bit surprised and concerned when we arrived and found they are located in the middle of a strip mall.

It turned out to be a small restaurant.(guessing about 8 booths and 8 tables by memory) The groups on either side of us were extremely loud and made it difficult for us to have conversation.

However, being a dinner regular at med to upscale restaurants, the staff and food made up for the shortcomings of the ambience. They didn't have the braised short ribs on risotto that was on their online menu. (Disappointing that they had changed the menu but not online - but understandable) So we ordered the rib eye special which turned out excellent. The staff were very attentive, good natured and accommodated our needs.

Overall, I would recommend this restaurant. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Everything about this place was great, e ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Everything about this place was great, except for the price tag. I thought that for the location it was just a bit too expensive. The food was great, don't get me wrong, but not $50+ a person in a Fresno strip mall. Sorry :/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

you need to go!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

it's very simple, food was amazing, service was amazing. my wife and I will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A MUST TRY!!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Just amazing!!! The service was impeccable, the food was probably the best we have ever eaten in Fresno, great wine and craft beer list. Must go and often!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Every time we go we receive great service and great food. It's truly a neighborhood gem we will consistently going back to time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Service, Exceptional Cuisine

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 17, 2015

We always look forward to dining at Lela's. Chef Carr's recipes and preparation are unique and delicious! We appreciate the friendly, attentive service and enjoy introducing friends to this northwest Fresno treasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Outstanding!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

Fantastic menu items prepared by the owner and an outstanding wine list prepared by a sommelier who is the front of house manager. Manny and Randy truly focus on providing you an incredible experience. Stop going to chain restaurants and start living and experiencing local food, excellent wine, and local ownership!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Must Visit

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

When traveling, you never know what you will get if you don't get personal recommendations from friends. I came away from this place knowing that I will be back whenever I am even close to the Fresno area. The staff was great (Ryan was my server) and everyone seemed genuinely happy to be part of the staff. The food was outstanding and in a way that it was like a find in a large Urban community. I had one of the craft beers offered, the Coconut Curry soup, and the Salmon. Every taste was delicious and the presentation matched. I highly recommend this place and don't note the ambiance mark very heavily; it is simply because a strip mall area will be hard to make too unique. Overall this is a must if you are looking for great food and personable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food, meh service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

A group of us went to celebrate a friend's milestone birthday. When we got there, not all of the party had arrived, so we were sat while waiting for the rest. We were handed a wine menu and nothing else.

We quickly got our pita and hummus (EXCELLENT!) and the rest of our party arrived shortly. We were wanting to order wine, but no one came to take our order. After about 15-20 minutes, our waiter asked if we had any questions about the menu... which we did not have. He said he'd be right back. He wasn't.

He came back about 5-10 minutes later and again asked us if we had questions. We still didn't have menus.

On the 3rd attempt, we had received our menus and were prepared to order.The staff seemed a little distracted and didn't always have answers for simple things like soup of the day.

I will say, the food was wonderful and everyone in our group (including the Birthday Girl) enjoyed our meals- even the next day (YAY, leftovers!)

The server staff was pleasant if not a little ADHD.

I would still recommend this place, just with a heads up!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Dinner at Lela's

 
·Dined on March 12, 2015

Three of us dined at LeLa's Wednesday, March 11th. Two of the three thought the food was outstanding. We had the lamb medallions and Le La's Pork Chop, both dishes were wonderful exquisitely prepared.

The third had the Grilled Salmon, she thought it was dry and way over salted.

The hummus was a special treat and very good.~ Service by the young waiter was outstanding and helpful.

However...the $$ stated by Open Table was WAY understated! All entrees were in the $30's and up.

The wine list had nothing in the way of "value wines" to enjoy...nothing under $40. (If you want to enjoy wine with your meal bring your own ~ corkage was only $15.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was outstanding & very savory/tast ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Food was outstanding & very savory/tasty & a beautiful presentation. Romantic environment. The waiter was very attentive & knowledgeable. We truly enjoyed celebrating our anniversary with you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food, service were both impeccable. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

The food, service were both impeccable. A restaurant of this calibre is usually only found in larger metropolitan areas (L.A., San Francisco).

From the wait staff to the quality, freshness, tastes and presentation ...... It was a great way to spend an evening with the wife. I was so impressed, I'm taking two other couples along with my wife and I this weekend. You won't be disappointed at LeLa's!

I would recommend the pork belly appetizer, house salad, filet mignon along with the white chocolate bread pudding. Their wine selection is great too, or you can take your own bottle for corkage. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great little place!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

Loved the food, the server and the wine. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fresno's Finest

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Did a great job all around. Food was beyond excellent. Service was impeccable. A wonderful way to celebrate my 32nd with family/friends. All the positive reviews and awards this restaurant has received are, in my opinion, for good reason. Will definitely be back for future experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.