About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (89)
Scenic View (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (86)
See All
Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (47)
Local Ingredients (47)
Casual (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (27)
People Watching (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Authentic (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Healthy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Family Style (11)
Cozy (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Seasonal (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 19 hours ago

I was at first skeptical, thinking this would be over-priced tourist food, but was thankfully proven wrong beyond any shadow of a doubt. The fresh salad was delicious with locally sourced ingredients, including Surfing Goat Cheese and toasted macadamia nuts.

The fresh catch of the day (opa) grilled with Asian veg was fantastic, and our other main, the ahi was seared to perfection with the tastiest shiitake, butter sauce, subtle yet rich coconut rice, and perfectly al dente nori-bundled asparagus compliments.

The cellar choice Australian blend Torbreck Cuvée Juveniles was a delicious compliment to both meals.

I just wish we'd had room for the Hula Pie. It sounds awesome.

Service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was great, the food was good but overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent as always. Great wine recommendation. Exceptional service - always fun! Great food, greatview and perfect atmosphere.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Casual, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great in almost every way. Bar preparation of cocktails needs a lot of improvement.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 7 days ago

Good good and service. The coconut mac calamari was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

very good seafood and fish with great service. right on the beach with great sunsets.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Our order did not come as described on the menu; missing gnocchi with our fish. Vegetables were underdone in some cases; the green beans.

We did have a great table overlooking the ocean which was the best thing about dining there.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Scallops were excellent and the service very good. Beautiful view of the sunset over the ocean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food, gorgeous view and outstanding service. Had a lovely time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great Restaurant. Food was awesome. Bula our wsiter was also awesome

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Booked this for Valentine's day and it was very nice. Make reservations and ask for a table upstairs with ocean view. Food was very good, staff was good. Only thing wrong with this place is to get to the tables you must walk by kitchen which is busy with staff running in and out.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of our favourite places for dinner in Maui 😋Great food, super service always

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

it was great overall. the food was great, and great value. it seems to me that we get a better table when booked through open table but i can't confirm always. we had a very good table this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have dined here many times before. The Valentine's Day dinner was perfect. Beautiful location and excellent service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Used to be our favorite. food quality has deteriorated badly over the past 2 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Leilani's on the Beach had a great selection of fresh fish and also a nice choice of preparations.

Our table was in a smaller quiet area that was outside and was a delightful place to spend time with friends. It also had a nice view. It was probably noisier inside.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Worst meal ever at Leilani's. It may drop off of our list for Maui completely. Slow service, the special fish was so over cooked you would choke on it. Very disappointing since we had brought friends on a first visit. I am sure that they won't rush back. The quality was gone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, very attentive servers. Reservation in advance highly recommended. Fresh, pan-seared Mahi Mahi was outstanding. Sirloin was very good and done to a perfect medium rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Beautiful beach location and fanulois fresh fish offerings. The special preparations of the Hawaiian fish specials made for a difficult choice as all sounded so enticing. Fortunately we chose various entrees and could sample each others'. Made for a great evening to share with friends.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great view and very popular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great steaks. Service was over the top and the atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very experienced wait staff, superb food, beautiful view of the sunset

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service was good. Food was just average. We both had the fish specials. Just ok

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sheena had excellent suggestions and we all appreciated the input. Go for the seasonal Hula Pie with Marshmallow, Salted Caramel and PoundCake to finish off a great evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic! Food was amazing, service prompt and friendly. Crab cakes meaty and most, so good. Sirloin cooked perfectly and flavourful. Bacon mashed potatoes so tasty. Be sure and try the hula pie..wow. Nothing but good things to say about Leilani's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Our second time here and we loved it! Great food and excellent service! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I had the most delicious lobster tail ever. Yum. Would definitely go there again next time I am in Maui.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Have been there many times. Went there for my 60th birthday. Bula was our waiter. I highly recommend him he was fantastic. Great food great location great service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We ate here several times six years ago, and had to come back. Bringing our theee adult children on Sunday 😎

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The view is amazing from the upper deck. Ocean front . Service was overall good. Food was great. The place is very busy and for being so busy they seem to keep things on track. Reservations needed to get a good table.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Delicious, fresh, and local. Very satisfied! I would return again.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My wife and I arrived at Leilani's and we were shown to a lovely table. We ordered drinks and enjoyed our time. The salads arrived, and being from New York we usually eat fairly quickly. But less than five minutes and about half way through our salads, our dinners arrived. The dinner was dropped on our table and we felt rushed. The dinner was fair at best, but for a dinner that we had hoped to enjoy, feeling rushed was not how we wanted to spend our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 7, 2017

As always, Leilani's serves the best fish tacos in Maui and they were delicious! Our waiter was a little loud and awkward. The view of the ocean was outstanding and we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Had dinner with island friends and enjoyed meeting at Leilani's! Beautiful dinner with fresh ingredients, salad and fresh fish scarfed down! Waiter was attentive and cheerful and the evening was a hit. Comfortable atmosphere and delicious dinner=good times!

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had asked for a view table in the booking notes and were shown to a perfect spot - upstairs, on the outside in the corner so private, quiet and delightful - thank you to the hostesses). Very good and knowledgable service (thank you Nathan). Both my husband and I ordered fish dishes and they were delicious. We shared the salad with pickled beets, fresh greens and goat cheese - also very tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good Monchong fish dish with upcountry Maui salad. My lava cake and coffee was very good. Great Pinot Gris and 1944 drink. Great meal and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent meal with a beautiful ocean view. Service was also excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Leilani's is a wonderful place to dine with friends because the oceanfront view is excellent and the fish tacos are the best on Maui! We had a great time and our server was terrific.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent, food was fresh and beautifully prepared. A nice dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

A family friendly spot on the beach. Our group of 6 had a very nice meal and will go back again next year when we visit Maui.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The best in Maui, we love it , never been let down, you guys rock!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great dinner, great kids' meals too. Skipped dessert but the menu looked amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great Service. Even better food with an attentive staff. Would recommend Leilani's as a must go in Kaanapali area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We arrived early and had a great cocktail at the lower bar. Appetizers were wonderful. The bar tender was very friendlywere seated early while being extremely busy. We were seated early and had wonderfull service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Location and scenery makes the average over-priced food tolerable. Been going here since 2006 and the interior decor hasn't changed, a little sad looking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very good atmosphere. Food was delicious. Staff was very nice and very attentive.

Steaks were done right and my wife loved the fish. If you go have to have the Hula Pie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Long wait, but friendly hostesses to keep things moving. Good choices for wine, drinks and food. I had the seafood chowder as an sppetized and it came out luke warm-kind of scary for seafood and dairy. Rolls were also barely warmed. Entrees were delicious, and wait staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, good dinner, but not quite what I am used to. Also, receipts no longer give a free piece of hula pie with next visit. So I will think twice about making the drive to eat there next time I'm on the island given the number of restaurants with similar themes and offerings.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This place is always enjoyable. The service, the food, the desert are all exceptional. I highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Ask for the casual downstairs menu if someone in your party does not want to order off of upstairs dining menu, but you are sitting upstairs!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food, beautiful sunsets, awesome place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.