Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (122)
Great for Outdoor Dining (107)
Scenic View (102)
See All
Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (61)
Local Ingredients (60)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Romantic (56)
Casual (49)
People Watching (37)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Fun (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Happy Hour (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Kid-friendly (19)
Family Style (18)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Healthy (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Live Music (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Historic (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant was more crowded than usual but we only had a short wait for our 6:45 reservation. The view is great and if you time it right you can see Maui's famous sunset. My husband orders Ahi at almost every restaurant we go to and he can tell you where it is the best. He was pleased with the preparation and that it wasn't a duplicate of Duke's, a sister restaurant. I ordered the herb roasted fish, which was Monchong this evening. Delicious and the fish just melted in your mouth. Overall a nice dining experience. Definitely will eat there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Undercooked seafood, raw lobster tail. Waiters are doing cocktails , not a bartender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful restaurant to watch the sunset on the beach! Food was delicious and service was very good. Celebrated my birthday and a complimentary scrumptious ice cream Hula pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot and good/wine but super crowded. Make a reservation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This was out of this world the food, waitress, and the scene was all great. I would recommend this place to all friends, family and strangers

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was busy but very nice. Food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Best mahi mahi in maui, better than kimos and plantation house/ this is the upstairs restaurant a little confusing/ kimos mahi mahi was disgusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food and service from our waiter Bula. Good location in Kaanapali

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Anniversary dinner. Only thing is it's weird when the lady with the IPad walks by every few mins looks at you and your table like we were in the clock. Very disconcerting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We eat here yearly when visiting Maui. Wonderful food and ambience. The downstairs beachside is casual, and walk-in only. This time we ate in the upstairs dining area at a cozy table for two overlooking the ocean. Service was extremely friendly and helpful, and the food fresh, creative and delicious. The upstairs dining room does take reservations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always been a fan of Leilani's but felt this visit did not match expectations. Suggested to our serve that perhaps the cook scaled back on the avocado when preparing our ahi poke - we couldn't find any

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Great restaurant by the beach in Kaanapali. Great place to watch the sunset, enjoy a Lava Flow, hang out and try their Hula Pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything was great and we didn't know there was an early bird special which most of us ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Disappointed been coming for years . Rolls were store bought , salad wasn't good too much dressing tomatoes weren't good. My husbands ceasar so ancovy couldn't eat. Our drinks weren't very good. The steak and fish was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. Parmesan crusted fresh fish and the hula pie were our favorites.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went back the next night. Was sensatiibal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful food and waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had another great meal. We come here at least 3 or times per year.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic experience.. Great tasty food with a nice selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fish was delicious. Avoid the Prime Rib and Sirloin Steak. We ordered medium rare and got raw meat. Beef was generally poor quality. Too bad...the ambience was lovely but I won't dine here again. Maybe consider this place for cocktails and puppus at beachside. Dine elsewhere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good is amazing and location is awesome. We always come here and are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

1st night 35th wedding anniversary trip! Table #9 was perfect for sunset!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great service great food, great view!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

very good service. location wonderful food very good, a little pricey bit for the overall ambience, it is worth it for a special occasion

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great birthday celebration!! Staff was great!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding waitress, great views, amazing presentation of plate, food was outstanding. Definitely recommend this place, call for reservations if you want in at specific time

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Service and food were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We have sadly skipped this place for the last 10+ consecutive trips to Maui (over 7 years) because of their previously strict separation of two kitchens /two menus with very few vegetarian options. Most of the veggie options are beach which was not an option to wait long times with small kids. We were so relieved to be offered the chance to blend menus from the two kitchens, including chef's menu. The entire staff took notice of the reservation notes and made us feel welcome. The house made quinoa vegan burger was truly exceptional, and our kids gobbled the kale-topped ravioli from the chef's menu. Thank you! We will be thrilled to return every time in the future!

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good meal with a great place to watch the sunset in Maui. We sat upstairs which was pretty busy so the service was a bit off due to the volume. Even with it being outdoor dining, the noise level was quite high making conversation, at times, challenging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing! We loved it

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous view, great service and good food. The crab legs were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food. Beautiful view. Spectacular fresh fish. The service from Sheena was far above expectations. She helped make this dinner a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

my husband and I had reservations, we were seated within minutes of arriving, great food, great service and great atmosphere!! 😊😊

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Very good server named Ben !!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Service staff seemed more focused on cleaning up for the night than providing attentive service. They were cleaning up the drink area right by our table, banging around ice buckets an hour before they closed. We waited 45 minutes for our food and it was really nothing special (especially for the price). I don't even remember what I ordered and we went there as a special night out; not bad food, just nothing remarkable. There was no excuse for the long wait - it was an 8:15 reservation and they were not busy. No apologies for the long wait and the server didn't come to our table for more than 20 minutes. We sat with empty drinks. A different server brought our food and was not polite. The only saving grace for this restaurant was the view. A big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Was very , very disappointed with the service.
1. Never was asked if I wanted a refill on my drink, nor was Amy of my children.
2. Took a while to order (over 15 minutes).
3. Food was brought out & by another person & never saw our server until we were almost done eating.
4. Heard Mngr go around to other tables asking how the meal was. NEVER came to our table once.
5. I felt we were not taken care of as others were because I was dining with my 3 young children.
Again, overall very disappointed as I was really excited to dine at Leilani's. Sadly I would never recommend to families if this is how a family with young kids is treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great spot for families. Beautiful sunset. Good value. Service was a bit slow at first but competent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Steak cooked wrong but kitchen replaced the meal. Server was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent fish, steak and wine. You must try and share the Hula pie.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Slooooowwww even for folks that were on island time. Poke was good. Special fish was good but little flavor.

If you're making reservations, it's for the fine dinning section. The casual dinning is walk in only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.