Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (109)
Great for Outdoor Dining (98)
Scenic View (98)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Good for a Date (62)
Romantic (55)
Local Ingredients (54)
Casual (50)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Good for Birthdays (34)
People Watching (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fun (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Authentic (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Outstanding Value (16)
Family Style (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great Beer (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Historic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined a day ago

The food at Hula Grill was OK. I wish we had known there are two restaurants. What we wanted to have for dinner was the fish tacos. The waiter said we could have the fish tacos but they were served front a different kitchen so the food could be served a a different time if we ordered from different menus. The cockroaches crawling all over the wall next to us (outside) were a little disturbing. I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food. Great drinks too. That lava flow...delicious. helpful and knowledgeable waiter (which is so important) but not pushy. Great dinner! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food very good service very limited menu.
Would like more fish and shrimp preparations also more steak options.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, Leilani's was outstanding! They are consistent with excellent food and awesome friendly service. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was awesome!! 6 in our party and everyone had something different and it was all delicious!! Save room for the Hula Pie!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We have visited this location many times. Sometimes it's great, sometimes not so good. This visit was a disappointment. Food and service were barely average. Other places are getting better and Leilani's needs to improve to keep up with them. Still has a great view!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This place is awesome. Right when you see the beach you know your there. This place is true to it's name

Just cruizin

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Hula Grill adjacent to Leilanis is somewhat better. Same ownership group. If you have the time, go to Lahaina Grill or Mama's Fish House in Paia. Far better quality of food, relatively same price point.

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Healthy, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Vacation in Maui.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful!! Very romantic!

Food is very pricy though! But it's Maui!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Staff was courteous and attentive. Ahi steak was perfect as well as the hula pie.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

One of our favourite places to eat and always consistently good.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 14, 2017

First....I strongly suggest Advance Reservations (OpenTable) because Leilani's is SO popular! The minute you step up to the hostess stand, you'll begin to see how well Leilani's is run. The hostess was wonderful, Carson, the manager on duty, showed us to our table, and Mandy, our waitress provided superior and attentive service. Like other TS Restaurants, you know Leilani's food will be top-notch....and ours was no exception! Two of us had the Seafood Pasta in a Lemon cream sauce. Loaded with pan-seared Mahi Mahi, 2 tail-on Shrimp and 1/2 in-shell small lobster tail. Only complaint....it's a pain in the butt to dislodge the tail when it's covered with pasta and sauce. Two dinners were the Parmesan Crusted Mahi Mahi and the other was the Prime Sirloin. Both were delicious and tender.
I did think that the vodka martini was a pretty short pour and I wish Leilani's carried the locally made Pau Vodka.
Save room for the Hula Pie....and plan on splitting it. There were 5 of us and 1 Hula Pie was plenty. Delicious!! Put Leilani's on your "must visit" restaurant list. - john k

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Scenic View, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent server, food arrived quickly. Good for families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good Prime Rib and a very good fish special with a lemon caper sauce. Eric is an outstanding waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

In the thick of the Whalers Village, this is a passable albeit pricey dinner... Been here a few times....The food was good and the service was better. Leilani's like Hula Grill are in a great location, with a big bar and a lot of families.....

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic sunset view along the railing. A "don't miss" place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Delicious seafood at Leilani's we love coming to this restaurant every year when we visit Maui. The food is consistently good and the view is hard to beat- right on the beach during the sunset as the catamarans come back in. My husband loved the seafood pasta which was loaded with various types of local fish. I had the seared ahi with fresh asparagus and rice. The meal could not have been any better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Bula was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waiter Bula was very attentive. Great food and wine. Enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

First evening in Maui with friends. Great location and atmosphere. A bit hectic and even with a reservation we had to wait for our table. Food selection and quality were very good as well as drink selections. Would certainly recommend and we will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good, just not great. Nothing special. Not a big selection. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We have visited Maui five or six times now. We discovered Leilani's on our second visit and now make a point of having one dinner there each time we visit. The food is great as is the ambience. You can view the ocean and get to see a great sunset while dining. I had the prime rib which was very good. My partner had the sirloin which he said was the best sirloin he ever had. We told our server that we were in no rush and just wanted to enjoy the evening. He was very accommodating and served our meals after we had finished our cocktails. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. We will be back next time we come to Maui.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food was very good. The service was excellent. The ambiance was very nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A good bet for dinner. The pork chop was amazing . The Mahi was just okay. Nice walk from the Marriott.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding food, on the beach at Kaanapali, great for the Hawaiian atmosphere. Be sure to make reservations as there is a lot of walk by traffic at peak hours.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Less than memorable experience. Very touristy; food was so-so.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We arrived 15 minutes early for a 7:30 reservation. Staff at front desk was very rude and we waited 45 minutes to be seated. People without reservations were seated ahead of us. Our waiter was outstanding and made up
For the front desk mess. If we hadn't just traveled for 6 hours, we would have left. Customer service please people !!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Not as good as it used to be. My fish was OK but my wife's scallop entree was under cooked and consisted of two scallops!

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was outstanding. Ocean view amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food. Amazing views. Fun atmosphere. Gave 4 stars only because there are 2 menus - outside dining area is excellent with great menu options. Inside dining menu was not that great - over priced for what you get and average meals. I would highly recommend the outside dining, but personally would skip the indoor dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Chef's tasting menu is actually the early bird special, from 5 to 5:30. $26 is a great value for the options they have. We go every year.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food and great service. We were lucky enough to see a pod of four whales swim by as we were eating at sunset!

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have been here twice, in my opinion the food at the beach bar is better than the dining room options. Nice old-Hawaiian decor with open air dining. The dining room menu was more limited than I expected, and the prices weren't outrageous but defenitely aimed at tourists. This place is nice because it's within walking distance of most kanaapali resorts and is attached to the shopping area. That being said, our service in the dining room was exceptionally slow. Peak times expect 1.5 hour wait , reservations are only taken for the dining room.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Simply wonderful food, ambiance, and experience. Location with ocean strumming in the background!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food is great and prices are pretty reasonable for Maui. Probably the best sirloin steak I've had. Some great wines for the money as well, they don't gouge you like other places.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great place get there about 30 minutes before sunset....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Beautiful view, on the beach walk of Kaanapali. Great seafood and plenty of non-seafood options.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was superb. Service was very good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 2, 2017

It's not often when we are on vacation that we will frequent the same restaurant twice but Leilani's brought us back. Great service, food was SPECTACULAR (party of 5, all different dishes and everyone loved everything), good atmosphere (casual yet classy) and just plain fun. The fresh fish simply can't beat, best Ahi Tuna I have ever had.

Don;t even think about leaving without ordering a Hula Pie for dessert but be warned, 1 slice fed our party of 5!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.