About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Hawaii
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

scenic view (178)
great for outdoor dining (124)
special occasion (101)
See All
romantic (87)
fit for foodies (64)
good for groups (54)
hot spot (46)
kid-friendly (42)
great for lunch (34)
neighborhood gem (33)
vibrant bar scene (21)
notable wine list (10)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal and service. We had a party o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal and service. We had a party of 12 with 3 vegetarians and 2 glutten free. Accomodated us very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food wwas good all had fish But their w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

food wwas good all had fish

But their were a ton of flys. Made eating miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Enjoyed Leilani's for dinner! Great ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed Leilani's for dinner! Great service and food! Dessert was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This used to be great restaurant. Not su ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

This used to be great restaurant. Not sure why it's changed so much-- but we had a terrible experience, a bad meal, in a beautiful setting. The prices are Maui high, but that's ok ( you get used to it). The problem was that all four of our meals were dry fish, overcooked. Not the tasty, sumptuous meal described. We had promoted this restaurant as a great place for our first night in Kaanapali. We were embarrassed, and deeply regretted our choice. The cosmopolitan I ordered had to sent back, not because the martini glass arrived only two thirds full, but because it was fruit juice, no vodka. The waiter was gracious and replaced the drink without complaining ( which was nice). The meals were each approximately $30+ ... And they just were not at all good. We got our free hula pie dessert, but that ice cream dud not save the meal-- ot this review. Sorry, but something is wrong on the kitchen. The following night we ate at the sister restaurant ( Hula Grill) and it was great. The kitchen at Leilani needs to be fixed...We are not going to return thus trip, and maybe ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

A perfect dinner with a great sunset. Le ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 6 days ago

A perfect dinner with a great sunset. Leilani's is one of our favorites on Maui and a "must visit" each time we come!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate upstairs and were seated right at ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We ate upstairs and were seated right at the railing - looking at the beach and sunset. It was a great view. The waitress was very nice. Food was good and we had a great dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice view of the beach/ocean at sunset, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice view of the beach/ocean at sunset, sitting near the rail. Open Table reservation worked well. Food was delicious-though mixed drinks/cocktails seemed "weak." Generously provided a giant, complimentary piece of hula pie for birthday dessert. Waiter (Anthony) was great, took time, didn't seem rushed, good sense of humor. Main complaint would be the mixed drinks....for the high price, you would have to drink several to feel like you were drinking any alcohol. Loved the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Bula was an amazing server! Food was v ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Bula was an amazing server! Food was very good. View was amazing! Very happening place. We go to Maui every other year, and I would go again and again! Aloha!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Highly recommend ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food and service. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great dining experience. Excelle ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Overall great dining experience. Excellent food, not overpriced. Superb service. Great scenery. It will be a dining must when visiting Maui from now on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food! Sat with an ocean view w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful food! Sat with an ocean view which was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was overpriced and very salty. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was overpriced and very salty. The service was excellent though. Our table was awful. The waiters kept running up and down the stairs next to us and hitting our chairs. The lights are very shiny and in your eyes. If you get a decent table, it might be ok. But the food was bad for all 3 of us. The fish was tough and over cooked. Pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

We sat up stairs. The ladies had a good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We sat up stairs. The ladies had a good view of the beach/ocean. The men faced bright lights from construction work taking place adjacent to the restaurant. Entrees were well-prepared and presented. Service was slightly slow, but we were on vacation - no hurries. Why in the word the rest room needed to be closed for nearly 30 minutes for cleaning at 8:30PM is beyond me. seems this could wait until the restaurant closed. It was clear that the person cleaning the rest room and his female associate had no intention of letting anyone interfere with their duties.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Found this restaurant through Open Table ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Found this restaurant through Open Table and it was wonderful. The food was fabulous and the service was spot on. Great location by the beach in Whaler's Village. Parking is a bit problematic, but they give you a voucher so you don't need to pay upon exit. Loved the Hula Pie!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice , decent food, amazing views g ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very nice , decent food, amazing views good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Leilani's has consistently been our go-t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Leilani's has consistently been our go-to restaurant for our special occasions. The service is always good, but more importantly the food is AMAZING!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More menu options, especially for vegans ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

More menu options, especially for vegans. We decided to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday at Leilanie's because of the scenic ocean view. Being vegan, her only choice was a salad for dinner. Our waiter informed us that the restaurant offers a dessert for the birthday guest. My daughter asked if she could have the sorbet instead because she can't eat dairy. Sadly the waiter said there were substitutions for the birthday dessert. It did not make our occasion a special one. Also missing was a Hawaiian ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and view of ocean. Serv ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Outstanding meal and view of ocean. Service was great.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the ambiance, but both our dishes ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Loved the ambiance, but both our dishes were disappointing. I had the catch day and sadly it was overcooked. My husband had lobster tail with prime rib and was given a small tail and a poor cut of meat. Wish the food would have been better...we went to other restaurants that we preferred.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

OCEANFRONT DINING WITH GREAT FOOD AND EX ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

OCEANFRONT DINING WITH GREAT FOOD AND EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Having eaten here before, we were expect ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Having eaten here before, we were expecting a nice meal in an outdoor setting. Even though we made a reservation thru Open Table, we had to wait 20 minutes for a table. We were seated in an area that had no view. Our waiter was slow to arrive. Then we were told they were out of several items, and were told the kitchen would soon be closing even though it was only 8:30. Getting our food took a long time. Food was good, but the market price items were very expensive. The overall price of the meal was extremely expensive, and disappointing.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Great spot in Whaler's Village with an a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great spot in Whaler's Village with an awesome view of the ocean. Food was very good, I would describe the menu as slightly upscale but not overly fancy. Plenty of choices for everyone, including my teenage and adult kids. Great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Little disappointed at our table as I as ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Little disappointed at our table as I asked for beachside view and we were stuck in corner with very little view. When we got there she said there ewould be a 45 mn wait for table we asked for -- really??? I an understand 15- 20 but when i requested beachside should have been told that by message or something!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was ok - great view. But it s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Restaurant was ok - great view. But it seemed like they were too busy and couldn't handle the rush. Drinks took a while and food was a bit overcooked. Overall nice but maybe not worth the price. Hula pie dessert was delicious though and massive.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Sit upstairs for the best view. Downsta ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sit upstairs for the best view. Downstairs seems to be much more casual.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Better than expected. Even though it is ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Better than expected. Even though it is in a mall, that is under going a facelift, the ambiance was still really nice. Right on the beach with a great view of a lot going on on the beach. If your staying in Kaanapali this is a safe bet. Food took just a little long but our server kept us informed and took great care of us. His name was Anthony.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and service!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very good food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We just got back from a 12 day vacation ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We just got back from a 12 day vacation on Kaanapali Beach. We ate out each and every night. I have to say that Leilani's was our least favorite. The location is fantastic, and the views are spectacular...for most...we were seated inside near the kitchen and without a view of the ocean. That was understandable, but then the food was only average. Average food and no view in Maui - not again! Our meal at Hula Grill just across the way was ten times better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was fresh and very tasty. The ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was fresh and very tasty. The Hula pie was more than enough for all 4 of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal was awesome! Great location, g ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The meal was awesome! Great location, great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent breakfast fare

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent breakfast fare

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is spectacular. Food was decent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The view is spectacular. Food was decent and the server was pleasant. The food was also overpriced for what it was and we waited for about 20 minutes after we had finished out meal for someone to clear our plates. There area better choices out there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, and acvomodating staff with ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, and acvomodating staff with my mothers walker!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always have dinner our last night of wee ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Always have dinner our last night of week family vacation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful sunset view. We were on our ho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful sunset view. We were on our honeymoon and I got a table with a view as requested and dessert on the house. My husband had the Ahi, which was very good. I didn't feel my mahi mahi fish was very flavorful and it was very heavy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Been coming since 1985. Love the consist ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Been coming since 1985. Love the consistency. Prices however have outraced value over the years.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server Ben was very pleasant. The go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Our server Ben was very pleasant. The good was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here to celebrate our 40th weddi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We went here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and they didn't let us down! We had reservations and I had asked to sit as close to the outside beachy area as possible. When we were seated in a not so desirable spot, I mentioned that I had requested a table closer to the beach and it was our anniversary. We just sat down and settled in and the hostess came back and moved us to a nice table closer to where I had wanted to sit...it was great! Got to see the beautiful sunset that night!

Serivce was great as was the food!! And, after dinner we even got hula pie on the house because we were celebrating our anniversary!

Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the filet surf n turf. The steak ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Ordered the filet surf n turf. The steak was amazing but the lobster was dry and rubbery. Manager happened to stop by and ask about the dinner. I told her and she promptly credited my tab and offered free desserts, explaining that she would notify the chef as well. I give the restaurant high marks. Good can always get tired waiting to be served but it's the reaction of the chef and the management that matters. I will eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Gorgeous oceanfront location. I had been ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Gorgeous oceanfront location. I had been looking forward to a great steak, but unfortunately my filet mignon was too chewy/fatty. Salads were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.