About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (80)
Waterfront (76)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
See All
Special Occasion (55)
Good for a Date (49)
Local Ingredients (40)
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Casual (33)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Fun (25)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
People Watching (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Kid-friendly (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Family Style (12)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (3)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1739 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this place. Great food and excellen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 21 hours ago

Love this place. Great food and excellent service. Will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately it was due to poor weather ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately it was due to poor weather. The power went out in the restaurant. Previous meals here have been wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Made online reservations and got in imme ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Made online reservations and got in immediately no wait. Great service, great food. I will definitely recommend and will come back again.

Mahalo

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is always good whether you ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The food here is always good whether you are eating at the beach front or the main dining room. The staff is very knowledgeable about the fish offerings.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good birthday dinner on the water. Servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good birthday dinner on the water. Service and food very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved every course. We split the entree ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved every course. We split the entree and they did excellent job. More expensive places just bring us an extra plate. Fish cooked to perfection. Something we did not get earlier this week at a much more "elite" restaurant earlier this week in downtown Lāhainā.

Definitely will go there again this Maui visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and swevice were good. We both had ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and swevice were good. We both had fish and the dishes were nicely seasoned and well presented. Bread served with dinner was not as good as prior visits and disappointed they are no longer giving free hula pies on return visits to restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was wonderful, as it always is. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was wonderful, as it always is. The service wasn't quite as good as usual. Perhaps the waiter was trying to serve too many tables. Empty water glasses and drink refills were hard to come by.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Was really impressed. Seated right away, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Was really impressed. Seated right away, great table w a view. Service was good but in no way pushy. Despite the fact that it's in a high tourist area, it was super relaxed and the food was good and reasonable given the location. Would definitely go again

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went twice on our honeymoon. My wife lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went twice on our honeymoon. My wife loved it. She had the Parmesean crusted catch of the day. I had the filet. Both were well worth the price. Hula pie for dessert is a definitely worth a try. Never heard of it before. It was really good. Overall great place. Would definitely go back when were in Maui.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made the reservation one day in advanc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I made the reservation one day in advance but was pleasantly surprised to find out we got a table overlooking the sun setting over the ocean. It wasn't expected but appreciated just the same. The bottled sparkling water was not our first choice but the Crystal Guyser was fine. We had salads since we are not big eaters and they were delicious. With just a salad we had room for desert so my wife chose vanilla ice cream with hot fudge and I chose the sorbet trio. The trio was of nearby flavors of strawberry, mango, and dragonfruit. Absolutely delicious all around. The waitress was very nice along with the team of hostesses. A wonderful experience one again. We will be back before this vacation ends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ocean view was relaxing and beautifu ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The ocean view was relaxing and beautiful. The food was very delicious and the staff was very attentive. The price was a little on the higher side, but it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Met friends for dinner. Very attentive a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Met friends for dinner. Very attentive and helpful service. Great sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance very lovely but food was less t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Ambiance very lovely but food was less than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was too salty

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Food was too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Have eaten at the more casual beachfront ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Have eaten at the more casual beachfront patio which we love, but this was the first time we have visited the dining room. Food, service and ambiance were all top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Get a table upstairs to get a perfect oc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Get a table upstairs to get a perfect ocean front view. We were able to watch the sun set over Lahai and watch the boats all evening. The fresh fish was excellent. The Hula Pie is always good.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

50 characters minimum. Ha. I wound need ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

50 characters minimum. Ha. I wound need 5000. . simply put ,our waiter John was fantastic, and the Tuna ,,,,the best Ahi ever........

We're going back Sunday. 5 stars all around

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience from being seated t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent experience from being seated to dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was absolutely perfect and our se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Dinner was absolutely perfect and our server Tiffany was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and requested an oce ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We had reservations and requested an oceanfront table. Upon arrival, the hostess said there would be a waiting list but seating one row back was available, which we agreed to. She then turned us over to another seating person who wanted to seat us at the back wall and said there would be at least a 30 minute wait for a table one row back. After a minor tiff with her and my husband requesting that she go downstairs and bring the original hostess up to discuss this, she seated us at an empty table in the row we were promised. That said, we put it behind us and had a very nice dinner. Our server was friendly and attentive and timed our salads perfectly after we finished our drinks. My husband's seafood pasta was excellent with a wonderful cream sauce and a small lobster tail, a very good value for the money. My seared ahi was top quality and the soy mushroom sauce excellent. My only "con" was that the dish, including the rice and sauce was cold. I expect the ahi to be cold inside but was disappointed that the rest of the dish was also. We were reminded that the noise level is high, which we'd forgotten from our visit a year ago.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Leilani's has it all...great ocean front ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Leilani's has it all...great ocean front dining, wonderful fresh fish, delightful servers, and reasonable prices..especially on their terrific Early Bird Three Course Dinner...appetizer entre and dessert. There may be a wait to get in if you do not have reservations...but it is worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salade wedge excellente Taco poisson exc ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Salade wedge excellente

Taco poisson excellent

Hula pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was decent. We had a table outs ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was decent. We had a table outside, which was great. I would not have liked to be inside, looked dark and dreary. It was a fine place - nothing outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had friends coming to visit Maui for ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had friends coming to visit Maui for the first time. This restaurant is just down the hill from our condo in Ka'anapali Royal. I was glad we had made reservations because there was a significant line of folks waiting. Our server was very pleasant. The fresh fish choices were fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious place, we keep coming back :)

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicious place, we keep coming back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Leilani's was good. We ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our experience at Leilani's was good. We weren't blown away by anything. The food was good, service was good, outdoor seating and view were great! More affordable than other restaurants in the area. Overall pretty decent and we'd go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good basic restaurant on a long beach in ...

 
 (Monaco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Good basic restaurant on a long beach in Maui, located among a row of soulless hotels without any meaningful restaurants . Great sunset views of Molokai and Lanai. Simple but good menu, friendly waiters, and a reasonable but not outstanding wine list. If you stay somewhere on Kaanapali Beach in Lahaina, this is the right place for everyday dinners.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an absolutely fabulous meal! Deli ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We had an absolutely fabulous meal! Delicious fish, salads and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed our meal. Unfortunately, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal. Unfortunately, the next day I had an upset stomach and others in my party also had some stomach issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Best meal on our trip!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best meal on our trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice and friendly place for a famil ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice and friendly place for a family dinner. Great food and beautiful view of Kaanapali beach.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Anniversary

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dark, small portions,limited menu, must ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dark, small portions,limited menu, must like fish.....or beet

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Average. It used to be better. The food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Average. It used to be better. The food wasn't great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was outstaning and our server w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was outstaning and our server was extremely knowledgable & friendly.

Despite the cold/rainy weather during our meal, the experience was great!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very impressed. Great taste and valu ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was very impressed. Great taste and value. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful views, delicious food and amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Beautiful views, delicious food and amazing dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All our dishes were really tasty. Servic ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 28, 2016

All our dishes were really tasty. Service was very good. Place was packed and was running 25 mins late even though we had reservations. Was worth going and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner. Thanks.

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great dinner. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.