Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (133)
Great for Outdoor Dining (114)
Scenic View (112)
See All
Special Occasion (81)
Local Ingredients (77)
Good for a Date (77)
Romantic (76)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Casual (53)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (41)
People Watching (36)
Hot Spot (33)
Fun (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Groups (24)
Kid-friendly (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Authentic (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Healthy (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Family Style (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Live Music (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great Beer (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Great staff!!! Everyone has such positive energy!!! Wow! How do you do it! The food was excellent! I have the seafood pasta with all kinds of local fish. My son and husband had the steak and filet. The Hula pie is a Maui Must Have! We even booked another night here for dinner because they are so consistent! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Healthy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Leilani's...if we think ahead soon enough to get reservations. Yes, it is very popular, and for good reasons: wonderful food, from pupus to full course meals with amazing sauces on delicious local fish. Our server, Spencer, was terrific...cordial, efficient, and a true pro at his work. And of course, the waterfront location of this restaurant on the beautiful Ka'anpali boardwalk is divine. It is a bit pricey...but...it IS Maui!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service and cuisine selections with great ambiance

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful! Loved our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our last meal before we left the island. The food was delicious and our waiter was wonderful. The whole experience was excellent. I would highly recommend coming here. ❤️

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating an anniversary! They had us seated at what we thought was the best seat in the house and our server was great! The crab legs were amazing and the drinks even better!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We were told a out this place. We were pleasantly surprised. Loved everything. I had a sirloin my wife had prime rib. Both were great. With desert and a soda bill was $95.
Will try to stop back before we leave.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been to Leilani's several times in the past and always look forward to coming back again. The food and ambiance are wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

We felt hurried, had to ask about specials. Fish was over cooked and dry. Overall quality of food fair. We had dinner at Dukes the night before a related restaurant it was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice option for seafood in Kanaapali. Good food and nice view on the ocean.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

This place was recommended to us by a friend. Service was slow and several mistakes were made on our drink orders. The food was good but is over priced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Another fabulous dinner at Leilani's - always impressive!! The staff is attentive and lots of choices on the menu. We always look forward to the lovely view and great food. Don't forget to get the Hula Pie - yum!!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

We were part of a 12 person group. While they couldn't put us at one table, they put us next to each other. The food was fabulous! I would return in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 21, 2017

You have to try the seafood pasta! It's the best on the island and very very delicious. I highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good food, great view. Pricey but within range of similar eateries in the area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good and unique food. Great view of the beach. The seafood lemon pasta was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our fish was over cooked. I could have asked to have it redone but with a big party including kids it makes it difficult. For a reservation we were seated in the sun which made it difficult to see and we sweated all through dinner. Not very enjoyable sweating with over cooked fish (dry fish). The service was friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and great service. Weather was perfect and we were seated right away.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Never had wine with dinner delivered so fast. Great service, great food, spectacular location and view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food, amazing service, unbeatable views. Will definitely come back. Erin our waiter was outstanding, he went above and beyond to accommodate our needs, very respectful, excellent manners and knowledgeable about the menu. A must for visitors to Maui. I particularly recommend the second level as has better views and is less noisy (separate waiting list).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A nice spot in Maui. Our waitress Ann Marie was sweet and very personable. Sure it's a little pricey, but you are in vacay and it's Hawaii. We had a great time and the food and service was good:)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I had the scallops and and my granddaughter had the seafood pasta. Both were delicious. The waitress was very pleasant and accommodating. We saw the most beautiful sunset!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sam was our friendly and attentive server. We ordered the ahi tuna, Parmesan crusted mahi mahi, grilled iron steak and wedge salad. All tasted great. We had a great table with a beautiful sunset view!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful romantic dinner at Leilani's on the Beach the night before our wedding!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Tourist trap! Food not worth the price. You're paying for the location and not the food. I would skip at the prices. Much better places to choose from.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was fair not great.
Portions for the money were small.
Service was poor and initially the seating was not good at all.
The other people we were with also complained about the same things and said they were very disappointed overall with the restaurant and will not go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was delicious. The prices were reasonable and the staff was friendly. We had a great waiter Sam who went out of his way to make my sons graduation celebration a great one. Thank you Sam!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great location, most tables have an ocean view. The service was fantastic and the food was great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food yet a bit pricey. Then again there's a premium for eating in paradise!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Nice generic sterile Hawaiian dining experience in a location that specializes in that. Good food and drink, but many better options around as well.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

An absolutely perfect meal in a perfect setting. Get there just before sunset for an awesome view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent location to see the sunset. Most seats make it easy to view. And the location of the restaurant is walkable from many Kaanapali hotels, we walked from the Hyatt.
Everyday there are different fish to choose from based on the catch of the day. The fish a matched with one of four preparations. We tried each at our table and no one was disappointed. One person ordered the sea food pasta which had each of the fish in addition to a lobster tail and shrimp. We all thought her meal was the best.
We were lucky enough to have a birthday at our table that evening so we were treated to Hula Pie. It has its own plate and fork with the Hula logo. This ice cream treat is worth every calorie!
Service was excellent. Don't worry if you have to wait for your table the restaurant is attached to a nice mall or you can walk the beach.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Had made reservation And was seated right away. The view was awesome (sunset)
Filet Manigon was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Using Open Table to make our dinner reservations was wonderful! Since parking is such a prized possession in Maui, having our parking validated made the experience great! The food, drinks, and service was great! We will go back the next time we are in Maui!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Waterfront, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our waiter was spot on! I would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Every time we visit we stop by for the fish taco's. Great service with good food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Spicy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Shared an crab cake appetizer and a scallops entree and they were just perfect. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

First class dinner and service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It's my traditional farewell dinner on the last night of my annual Maui vacation on Kaanapali Beach. The open air ambiance, the ocean view and Sunset, the wine and delicious catch of the day(plus hula pie for dessert) caps off another magnificent experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great evening in Maui at Leilani's! Our waiter, Steve, was absolutely outstanding and made our already delightful dining experience that much better! We will definitely be back on our next visit here... Mahalo Leilani's!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.