Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: (808) 661-4495

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (150)
Scenic View (134)
Great for Outdoor Dining (117)
See All
Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (86)
Romantic (79)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Local Ingredients (69)
Casual (64)
People Watching (43)
Fun (39)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for Groups (35)
Hot Spot (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Worth the Drive (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Authentic (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Happy Hour (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Cozy (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great Beer (7)
Live Music (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Business Meals (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (3)
Family Style (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2136 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 21 hours ago

The environment upstairs on the balcony was very nice- sit outside if you can. Crab cakes and crab legs were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service
Expensive though friendly

Blah Blah Blah

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very disappointed with my visit. I expected amazing food and a great ambiance and was let down. The views of the water are beautiful, but the decor inside and the food were lacking. Save your money and go to Merriman's instead!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointed in food. Our server was fabulous and fun. Sat on side no view. Justba partial of front. Drink was good but I won't go back for a meal. Sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was exceptional and the server was attentive and helpful
Great place for a graduation celebration !!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We made a reservation through Open Table, arrived on time, but still waited 30 minutes to be seated in a cramped part of the dining room right by the server's station. The restaurant was not at capacity, so I was puzzled why a family of 5 would be hidden away in a dark corner. Next time I'm in town, I will skip the fine dining room and opt for the ocean grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service was excellent. All of the dishes were great from Ahi to lobster. We had three older children in our party and all found items on the menu they liked and were treated very politely by the staff. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I love this place. Second time I've been here, and it was great. Food was fresh and delicious, service was awesome and the view was beautiful. Definitely Not a tourist trap, even though it's located in whalers village. The drinks were perfect (mai tai was delicious), The poke was fresh and my main course was divine. My favorite restaurant in Kaanapali for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Got a seat on the outside with a terrific view of the ocean and sunset. Service was great and food was excellent. I would recommend for dinner.

Tags: People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was amazing. The service was outstanding. Would go back for sure,

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our meals of Hawaiian fish were excellent. We had a great table to enjoy the sunset. Our server was very helpful with the menu and with every aspect of taking care of us and making it a good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Friday night dinner and they quickly found a spot for us with better lighting, which was wonderful for me as I have extreme night blindness. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Had the ribeye special and wife had the pork chop. Everything was properly prepared and tasty. We'll definitely be putting Leilani's on our list of West Side regulars!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overpriced, mediocre food. The fish was overcooked and the vegetables were under-cooked. Go next door to Hula Grill for much better food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My daughters and I enjoyed a great dinner at Leilani's after a long day of sight seeing. We had the filet mignon, flat iron steak and shrimp, and seafood pasta..everything was wonderful. The ambiance, view, and excellent service were great as well! We highly recommend Leilani's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Ono was way overdone. Seared Ahi was excellent. Ono was replaced by another Ahi dinner but unfortunately had to wait a very long time for it to come. We had 2 Mai Tais and 2 glasses of wine. While they did give us a hula pie for our anniversary I felt that a comped glass of wine would have been a nice touch for the inconvenience and assurance of valued customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Service was slooow took 35 mins for our entrees, we didn't complain but the manager gave us a dessert for free. We didn't get to pick they gave us a Hula Pie, (which we had just eaten one the night before at Dukes). Meals were good. Views were amazing I would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Waited a very long time for dinner. Although good, fish was over cooked. My daughters dinner was not what she ordered but didn't want to wait to eat any longer so we didn't send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wonderful meal always consistently good. Great for a first night in a Maui. Too full for the aloha pie though. We'll have to go back and only have that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The service was outstanding and food was delicious. Very friendly staff I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Not cheap. But expected it to be at this location.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was good but it took almost an hour to get to our table. Our server & service was really bad. If you don't mind waiting a long time for your food than this is the place to go. They made it up to us by giving us a free dessert .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fantastic service. Unbeatable location. A bit pricey however nice for a special occasion for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was good. A bit pricey and noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Although the ambience and the service was excellent. The food wasn't excellent. Our steaks weren't cooked right and our 'molten chocolate cake' was no where close to being a lava cake.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The fish was super
The pork chop not so good
The place was busy
We wanted a view table and had to wait
We would go back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We went there for a meal after our vow renewal with a group of friends for dinner. The menu was great and we all very much enjoyed our food. We sat upstairs so had the sea view so watched the sunset which was lovely. Our particular waiter, Brian was brilliant and also really fab with the young kids at our table, making jokes with them and chatting. Another waitress we encountered was not so friendly but it didn't spoil our experience. I highly recommend eating here and recommend booking in advance so you can get an upstairs table with a view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2017

What a beautiful place to enjoy the Maui sunset, the service was Impeccable. Best dinner I have had so far during my trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We dined at Leilani's on the Beach with family while staying in Maui! This was our first time dining here and I would definitely go back, the food was delicious, specifically all of the fish, you just can't go wrong with the fresh catch in Hawaii. Also the Hula pie was amazing! Great views during sunset as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We spent the last night of our Maui vacation here. We had such a great dinner at Dukes the other night and always had great experiences at all the TS restaurants we've visited. We were a little let down with this one. The food was still quite good but our server, Amber did not make us feel nearly as welcome as we've felt at other restaurants. We had an early dinner with the kids and the restaurant offers a pretty nice 3 course tasting menu at a great price for 5-530 seatings. We received a warm welcome upon arrival but as soon as we inquired about the tasting menu we got a pretty chilly response. She was clearly not thrilled. We decided to take advantage of it anyway. The food was good but we didn't walk away feeling our business was very appreciated. Why offer an early bird special if you don't want people to order it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great location, we sat outside and it was a beautiful evening with a good view. We all had steak, filet very good, flat iron very good, prime rib so-so. Would recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Leilani's is great for any occasion !
It is one of our favorite restaurants on Maui!
Great meal and location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Leilani's at the Beach lived up to a meal in paradise. Great views, good food and even better company! We'll be back! Mahalo!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Aaron our server was awesome.
The prime rib was off the hook, the chicken with the sweet potato gnocchi was also Delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Perfect table to watch the sunset and the seven catamarans unload on Kaanapali Beach. The fish was excellent, and the lilikoi pie was to die for.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server, Steve, was great and took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Awesome location. Great option for my kid with severe food allergies. No issues with that. Guarantee stop each time we are in Maui.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Casual, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great service at our table for two on the railing. The usual amazing Maui sunset and the excellent food choices made this a wonderful experience. Shop around Whalers Village before dinner for fun too.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 26, 2017

First night in Maui. Anniversary dinner. Arrived early and had a drink at the bar below and enjoyed the hip vibe and nice servers. We were seated on time at requested table with sunset beach view. Server, Steve, knew the menu and was attentive but did not rush us. We chose local fish entrees. The food was spectacular and the presentation was superb. Price was as expected for a resort area. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We visited Leilani's twice, the first time we received excellent service. We were greeted upon arrival, we were given choices of two different menus and treated with the utmost comfort and respect. We were seated right next to the ocean with an excellent view and our waiter Sam was an absolute doll with excellent insight on the menu and recommendations on drinks. He was an absolute pleasure to be around. The information he gave us about the Island helped make our adventure the best yet.

We actually came back and booked a table through opentable because we had such a great experience. Unfortunately our second trip wasn't as great. Upon arrival I stood at the receptions desk with a nice smile on my face politely waiting to be addressed and to announce our arrival. Both the receptionist looked at me and went on to help other guest who didn't have a reservation or were more than 30 minutes early. She didn't acknowledge me for quite some time and when she finally was free she still didn't acknowledge me until I just interrupted that we had a reservation. The curtly asked what time and I told her 8pm and she realized that our table was waiting for us and then seated us.

The view was ok, we were seated with a partial view of the ocean but there was a kiosk right outside the restaurant and the attendant kept smoking. Our table was on top of the table next to us and it seemed like the gentleman at the next table was actually seated between my husband and I. We couldn't hear each other so we moved the table away a bit. The waitress was fine. She took our order and the food was brought out by others, she did come to check on us.

The second visit wasn't as great as the first visit but the food was amazing both times. Melt in your mouth dishes, sweet and potent drinks, great beer and wine topped off with amazing desserts.

The only thing they don't serve is espresso with dessert, but coffee worked in a pinch. :D

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We always have a meal here when in Maui. The food and service are always very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.