About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Scenic View (173)
Great for Outdoor Dining (125)
Special Occasion (105)
See All
Romantic (95)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for Groups (52)
Hot Spot (47)
Kid-friendly (37)
Great for Lunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Notable Wine List (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Great for Brunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Easy parking. We got there earlier than ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Easy parking. We got there earlier than our reservation but got seated without wait.

Nice corner table good service food was ok . Can't help the noise we were part of it.

Overall nice experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view/location. Food and service we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great view/location. Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had such a wonderful meal at Leilani' ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had such a wonderful meal at Leilani's. The view was wonderful right on Kaanapali Beach with a lovely sunset. I had the Seafood Pasta which was delish with fish, shrimp and lobster in an excellent Meyer lemon sauce. My dad had the prime rib which was the best he's ever had. He shared a bite with me and I have to agree. Lovely meal with even lovelier views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees came to the table before we' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our entrees came to the table before we'd finished our appetizers. The waiter checked on us so many times and tried to make chit chat, that it intruded on our ability to have a conversation between us. The fish was good. The steak was poor - very small and overdone. There is a tree right next to the restaurant that is home to a flock of noisy birds - who reach a crescendo before sun sets. It was so noisy it was hard to hear each other unless sitting very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Had our last night in paradise here. I ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had our last night in paradise here. I have heard that Leilani's is owned by the same company as Hula Grill next door but boy was the service and experience different! At Leilani's, at check in, you are greeted like you've arrived at a good friend's home for dinner or almost like they are family owned. Genuine smiles by the hostesses. Our waiter was amazing, I think his name was Will. Knew the menu very well and gave excellent recommendations. Never seemed in a rush, knew it was our last night and let us soak it all in. A very gracious host. Hawaii lacks "professional" waiters, lots of young transplants from the mainland that aren't well trained, but not at Leilani's. It was our best meal all week- for the view, the hospitality, and that hula pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was dark and we could not read the me ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was dark and we could not read the menu 's. The pasta as OK .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food and friendly efficient service ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good food and friendly efficient service although avoid the pasta. Pleasant enough but expensive for what it is. There are other places on the island that give better value for money.

Tags: Child Friendly, Group Bookings, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful location right on the beach. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful location right on the beach. We were in the front so we were able to eat while watching the sun go down. Great location. Waiter was terrific. Water glass was never empty and the food was great. It is pricey but worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food scenery and service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food scenery and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place !

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Put this on your "must eat" spots. Ambia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Put this on your "must eat" spots. Ambiance was spectacular! Food delicious! Service terrific!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate some very good fish dishes at Lel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We ate some very good fish dishes at Lelani's and will be sure to return next time we visit Maui.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Space is in need of some updating. May h ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Space is in need of some updating. May have been a better experience had we had a table with a view.

Food took a long time to arrive.

My daughter's steak was dry and tough. I enjoyed my seafood pasta though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Awesome location, great food, but I was ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome location, great food, but I was not impressed with my waiter.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food was so fresh! We had a table wi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was so fresh! We had a table with an ocean view at sunset and it was gorgous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Yum! You can't beat that view....

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Yum! You can't beat that view....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent! Highly recommend!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It had been years since we've been to Le ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It had been years since we've been to Leilani's and now that we live in Maui, it was like coming back home. This wonderful experience started at the front desk...when I check in for our 7:15 reservations made on Opentable over a week ago. I requested a window table. The hostess couldn't find my reservation because it turned out I had mistakenly made it for the Next night! (Senior moment) Not a problem. They immediately sat us at a fantastic table for 2 on the outside railing with a view to die for!

Frank did a great job as our waiter....super friendly and helpful...noting my wife's food allergies. My wife ordered the Caesar salad, I ordered the Wedge....the only disappointing part of the evening. The Wedge was not only very tiny....but it was warm...and I love ice-cold lettuce right out of the refrig. This had obviously been sitting out in the warm kitchen. My wife had the Pork Tenderloin - fantastic...and I had the Prime Rib....which I actually liked better than Kimo's PR..and that one's hard to beat! We can't wait to come back with our out-of-town guest. Note: Same owners as Kimo's....a view just as nice, easier parking and outside dining. Word of caution - if you're eating inside...especially with a group, it can be hot and stuffy....so always request a table as close to the outside as possible. Same goes for Kimo's. - john k

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent, food was superb. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Service was excellent, food was superb. The Sashimi was super fresh. I can't wait to go back. Sunset is a great time to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prime rib & crab legs were great. Opakap ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Prime rib & crab legs were great. Opakapaka was sublime. Crab cakes great. Hula pie is a must

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and ambiance was great. The dr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The food and ambiance was great. The drinks are watered down and this is a problem for the price of the drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server frank was awesome and k ew al ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server frank was awesome and k ew all the specials easily. We went here for our honeymoon and Frank found out and gave us a free slice of the hula pie.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always end our Maui Vacation with Lei ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We always end our Maui Vacation with Leilani's. They are so consistant and fun. The seafood is fresh, the King Crab is insane, the table bread is addicting and the Hula Pie is a must. The service is always "on point" and professional. I have been dining at Leilani's since the mid 80's as a child and continue today as a parent with two kids myself. Thanks again Leilani's!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here 22 years ago on our honeymoon ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Came here 22 years ago on our honeymoon and this was the one place we had to come back to to celebrate a birthday during our vacation! Great food! Great service! I've always recommended this place to friends traveling o Maui.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We made a reservation on open table, for ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We made a reservation on open table, for 5 people at 6:30. We were seated promptly. Our server was professional and offered good information about the menu. Everyone enjoyed their meals, drinks and wine were great. View of sunset and Kaanapali beach walk was terrific !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Lelani's is one of those places you leav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lelani's is one of those places you leave and go WOW! Atmosphere and staff are amazing! It's a must go to when visiting Maui! Try something new and you won't be dissappinted! Love this place and will continue to visit every time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best this is why we keep coming back ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The best this is why we keep coming back every time we come to Maui at least once too and sometimes as many as three to five times food is great the views are fantastic and the service is always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Frank was very attentive & f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our server, Frank was very attentive & friendly! Nice, convenient location next to the Westin Resort & Spa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food tasted like mass produced wedding r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food tasted like mass produced wedding reception food. Weak drinks. Overpriced and underwhelmed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

One of our favorites. Never a bad meal.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

One of our favorites. Never a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service but it was very w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great food and service but it was very warm in the restaurant which made it less enjoyable than it would otherwise have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot at Whaler's Village for sunse ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great spot at Whaler's Village for sunset, sashimi and Hula Pie of course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed eating here on our last night ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We enjoyed eating here on our last night in Maui. We picked it because it was in walking distance from our hotel, and it turned out to be a great pick! The Lei's Lemonade was delicious. ;) The food was delicious, and the price range was comparable to most Maui restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was excellent! He knew his m ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our server was excellent! He knew his menu frontwards and backwards! Made great suggestions. The food was superb !! Will definitely keep this on the list to return to! Yummy! Kind employees and great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We read the outdoor menu by mistake when ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We read the outdoor menu by mistake when we made our reservation. Waiter was great and brought us the outdoor menu. Food was excellent. I don't think we could have afforded the restaurant dinner menu.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time here, even though it ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a great time here, even though it was quite windy. The food was lovely, delicate and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome food and great drinks. The crab ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Awesome food and great drinks. The crab cakes are a must order!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal and service. We had a party o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great meal and service. We had a party of 12 with 3 vegetarians and 2 glutten free. Accomodated us very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food wwas good all had fish But their w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

food wwas good all had fish

But their were a ton of flys. Made eating miserable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Enjoyed Leilani's for dinner! Great ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Enjoyed Leilani's for dinner! Great service and food! Dessert was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.