About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

scenic view (215)
great for outdoor dining (166)
special occasion (137)
See All
romantic (110)
fit for foodies (94)
good for groups (68)
kid-friendly (55)
neighborhood gem (51)
hot spot (51)
great for lunch (45)
vibrant bar scene (25)
notable wine list (12)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Leilani's. F ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time at Leilani's. Food and service were great. We will certainly be back again on our next trip to the island.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the fish is good; great Alaskan crab ...

Dined 7 days ago

All the fish is good; great Alaskan crab legs. The sourdough bread is awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambiance

Dined on May 19, 2016

Been coming here for 20+ years and it never disappoints, in fact seems to get better. Parmesan crusted fish was excellent, if you can find a better entree in western Maui good luck. Service and ambience equally as good. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! We were seated a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food and service! We were seated at a table overlooking the beach just as we requested.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Busy place, but we got a nice quiet tabl ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Busy place, but we got a nice quiet table with a decent ocean view. Ordered crab cakes, very good with a little spice. Ordered the ahi and opah special, both very very good.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I loved everything about ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My husband and I loved everything about our dining experience. Beautiful place to watch the sunset. The fresh fish along with the preparation methods made for a delicious dinner. We can't wait to go back. This was our 3rd time here and it's been great each time. Our server, Brian, was very knowledgeable about the fish and preparation methods.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5

Hostess was willing to seat is 20" earli ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Hostess was willing to seat is 20" earlier than our scheduled reservation. Staff were all very pleasant with the "Aloha Spirit". Our waiter, Spencer was really personable and courteous. We enjoyed our food. Make a reservation between 5-5:30 so you can get the tasting menu: appetizer, entree and dessert for a good price. I'd only say the dessert was too sweet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and great food

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had an unforgettable time at Leilanis. The food was excellent and the service impeccable. One of our party had some food restrictions and the menu from the bar was a better fit, although we were sitting in the upstairs dining room. The staff went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and we were able to order from both menus. The view, especially at sunset, is breathtaking and I can highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our 25th anniversary and the mana ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

It was our 25th anniversary and the manager Jason helped us with our camera and got great sunset pictures of us to remember the ocassion. He went above and beyond to make it a special night. Our waiter, Frank, was very attentive and got our order perfect taking our special requests. It was a great way to celebrate and remember our 25th.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10th Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

the wait staff is incredible and they take such great care of the special occasion. The Hula Pie is unstoppably delicious. The fish is so fresh and full of flavor. Every time we come to Maui we make reservations here. Do not miss this gem!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood pasta and filet mignon were ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The seafood pasta and filet mignon were outstanding. Great value. Great service. We enjoyed the sunset view over the ocean from our table.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As a residents of Lahaina we rate Leilan ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

As a residents of Lahaina we rate Leilani's as one of our favorites! We always make a point to take visitors there. The tasters or early bird menu has some very good choices if you are looking for a good deal. The surf and turf is a great example. The steak is very tender and the prawns tasty. The kalua pork wontons are exceptional and the desserts offered are very good. Combine this with a fantastic view and great service and you can't go wrong with Leilani's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Great place to view the sunset. Good service and food. The tasting menu (early bird) is one of the best values in the Lahaina area.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The view can't be beat!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The view can't be beat!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Bayside view and great food unbeatable combo

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Ate at upstairs main restaurant, not bar below, with table situated so had best bayside/ocean view. Located in Whaler's Village, easily walkable from hotels adjacent such as Marriott Ocean Villas. Food excellent. Had ravioli appetizer, garden salad and Ahi followed by the not to miss Hulu pie. Great service, atmosphere, and reasonable prices make this a must stop place around sunset!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the prime rib and crab cakes, bot ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We had the prime rib and crab cakes, both were great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect fine dining for adults

Dined on May 4, 2016

The service was some of the best on the island, portions were perfect, and the atmosphere was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4

The Ono was Ono (Hawaiian for good). Se ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

The Ono was Ono (Hawaiian for good). Service was good but business like. Waited to make a second drink order but waiter could not be found. View to the ocean was very nice despite being in the back of the dining room.

food1
ambience1
service4

This restaurant had such a high rating a ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This restaurant had such a high rating and the only thing to recommend is the location. Food was awful!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Just ok

Dined on May 1, 2016

Felt very rushed entrees were plopped in front of us even though we were still eating the appetisers. Service was weird and overall felt like we couldn't enjoy the meal or sunset becz they just wanted the table back. Food was ok.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner. The filet and shrimp ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Excellent dinner. The filet and shrimp were tender and tasty. Others in our group ordered fish and were equally pleased. Server Chris (?) was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Visited the restaurant twice in a row! ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Visited the restaurant twice in a row! Ahi tuna, sea food pasta and the crusted parmesan fish were amazing!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Leilani's

Dined on April 28, 2016

Leilani's is a gem on the Ka'anapali beach boardwalk and Whaler's Village. We always visit Leilani's for our final dinner before returning back home, but this trip we ended up eating there twice for lunch and twice for dinner. The view is unbelievably gorgeous, the staff are delightful and the food is divine! I especially like their Sesame Crusted Ahi Steak, such a delicate texture and perfect sear, it's fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

John in dining room is the best. So kind!

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We loved our meal. John was so kind and helpful. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful sunset viewing combined with a ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Beautiful sunset viewing combined with awesome food makes Leilani's a definite return spot. Loved it!!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great view - slow service and food was so so

Dined on April 22, 2016

Took quite a while to get drinks. No bread or appetizer plates. Had to ask for them. I ordered the marinated serloin it was flavorless. Would not recommend to friends.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Make reservations for a very good dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had already enjoyed a casual dinner at Leilani's Beachside Grill so we decided to give Leilani's on the beach, their less casual restaurant, a try for dinner. The Beachside Grill has steak and fish selections (one of each) but it's mostly a pupus, burgers, sandwich and drinks spot. It has a great location for people watching and a nice view of the ocean with catamaran's coming and going right up to their location. Well worth a try. The dining room at Leilani's On the Beach is upstairs and if you get a table directly above the Beachside Grill has a great ocean view. Let me say you absolutely want to make reservations in advance (which we did) or be prepared for a long wait for a table. I ordered the chef's special fish of the day which was monchong, pan seared and served on a polenta type side that had some olives and capers and was surprisingly tasty. It didn't look all that appetizing at first but it was quite good. Monchong is a very delicate fish and when prepared as it was is a bit mushy for my taste. It was good but I kept wondering if it was cooked as I'm not a sushi fan. My wife had the Jidori chicken which she liked but she especially enjoyed the Maui Pasta Co. gnocchi which accompanied the chicken. We ended the meal with Kimo's mud pie which is always a treat. If you haven't had it yet get to Kimo's or Leilani's and have a slice, you'll thank me. The service was excellent and we enjoyed our evening at Leilani's.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite spot and this didn't d ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Always a favorite spot and this didn't disappoint. We both had salads then shared the onion soup with Maui onions and locally produced goat cheese. Best onion soup ever. My wife had a surf and turf daily special and said her filet was cooked perfect and tasted great. I had the sesame crusted seared ahi. Tasted fabulous and I could cut it with a fork. My wife had pineapple crisp for desert as we watched the sunset from the upper deck.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

We love going here everytime in Maui. This time we had our 2 year old with us and it was just as perfect as when we would go there just the two of us great views and amazing food

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal.

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Excellent meal.

food2
ambience3
service3

It was ok. Convenient and fine - nothin ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

It was ok. Convenient and fine - nothing to write home about. The ahi poke appetizer with taro chips was exceptional and was the exception.

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was good . Our server Bula made it ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Food was good . Our server Bula made it a memorable night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, beautiful view, wonderful ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Great service, beautiful view, wonderful food. Would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Hawaiian fish and we were seat ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious Hawaiian fish and we were seated right on time and got to enjoy the sunset!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining in style

Dined on April 9, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner, the view was awesome.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice atmosphere.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Very nice atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Happy Hour

Dined on April 8, 2016

We have been coming to Leilanl's for over 15 years and always enjoy our experience there. Love the Happy Hour on Friday and Saturday. J D puts on a great show.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was ok, nothing to brag about. Ba ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Food was ok, nothing to brag about. Basic island fare, great location though.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Vacation fun

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

This Lahaina restaurant was a great find, beautiful sunset view and Leilani's fish special was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Not bad...but not great. Food was just o ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Not bad...but not great. Food was just ok. We would not return - much better places around to go.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.