About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali, Lahaina, HI

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Scenic View (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (68)
Waterfront (65)
See All
Special Occasion (58)
Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Casual (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
People Watching (21)
Fun (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Authentic (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Cozy (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Business Meals (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Music (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife has a shellfish allergy and they ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife has a shellfish allergy and they did a wonderful job ensuring her dining experience was a positive one. The food was good and the service equally as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very tasty. But portions are wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very tasty. But portions are way to small for the price

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

All staff was incredibly friendly. Lobst ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 28, 2016

All staff was incredibly friendly. Lobster was soft and the taro chips were excellent. Salad was fresh as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most delicious food at Whalers Village a ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Most delicious food at Whalers Village and Kaanapali. Service was impeccable. The restaurant sits right on Kaanapali Beach. I highly recommend any of the fish dishes. Just delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food in a great setting next t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food in a great setting next to the ocean. John our server was excellent and despite having to wait 20mins for an ocean view table it was well worth it. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a special occasion meal out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the few was eve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was amazing and the few was even better! The Alaskan king crab legs were one of the best I've ever had and my husband loved the prime rib. We would definitely recommend Leilani's and plan on going back during our next trip to Maui.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We had two meals at Leilani's while visi ...

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had two meals at Leilani's while visiting in Maui. Each meal was fantastic as well as their cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amber in the dining room was great, effi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amber in the dining room was great, efficient and nice can do aloha spirit!

Tako is always a ray of sunshine at the hostess desk!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We have been at this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We have been at this restaurant many times and this was the first time we had ate on the outside patio. Even though it was a windy night, the surroundings protected the patio from the wind. The food and service was great and we were not rushed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful food and ambiance on this drea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance on this dream Hawaiian vacation!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal, with equally great service. ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great meal, with equally great service. My husband eats prime rib world wide, and this was among the best tasting. My Ahi was dreamy, especially with the beure blanc. We liked it so much we repeated the meal two nights later.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was ok. I had the seared ahi which ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Food was ok. I had the seared ahi which I thought was wonderful but the other 6 at our table were underwhelmed with the food. Service and drinks were amazing though so I wish I could give a 3.5 for that. Maybe the bar area is a better choice?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The sesame crusted ahi was very cold in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The sesame crusted ahi was very cold in the center. I have raw ahi on a regular basis, and it has never been served that cold. There was a long wait for the entres and the manager visited our table and at least one more to acknowledge the delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We each had the opakapaka prepared wit s ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We each had the opakapaka prepared wit strawberry papaya and asparagus and Molikai sweet potatoes in a delicious reduction. It was fabulous! We had a beautiful table overlooking the ocean,and very good service from Spencer! This is our favorite on Maui!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef's special was fresh opakapaka ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The chef's special was fresh opakapaka with an amazing prep! It was fabulous! Everything was fantastic! Our favorite on Maui!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and great service. Everyth ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Fabulous food and great service. Everything our server (Lisa) recommended was fantastic. We ate here our first night in Maui and our last night was were highly satisfied both meals. You can't go wrong eating here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leilani's on Kaanapali Beach was a great ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Leilani's on Kaanapali Beach was a great find. Two choices for dining: the dining room or beach bar which is more casual. We chose the dining room with a view of the ocean and began with two of us splitting a wedge salad which is on most menus these days, but this one had a more flavorful twist. The dressing? The Duroc bacon bits? Prime rib cooked perfectly to our order of medium rare, tender and juicy. The pork tenderloin was so moist and flavorful and the chile plum glaze spicy and spectacular. Don't skip the Hula Pie. Kimo's original created right here in the Islands. It's gigantic so sharing is possible. Yummy! There are lots of fish selections too which we didn't try but sound delicious. Our server, Chris A. was great very attentive and gave us good recommendations for snorkeling. We loved Leilani's so much we are going back tonight for a last dinner before we leave tomorrow.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Service was excell ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service was excellent, food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening out and Open Table mad ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent evening out and Open Table made reservations easy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I ordered Ahi, it was very sinewy, waite ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I ordered Ahi, it was very sinewy, waiter never came by after delivering meals to check on us, when we did tell him, he made no effort to address issue. My husband spoke with manager who couldn't have been ruder!!!

We will never eat there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service. Nice view of wat ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service. Nice view of water . Recommend for nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early reservation & took advan ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had an early reservation & took advantage of the chef tasting menu for $26 pp We had a lovely table to view the sunset & enjoyed a delicious dinner. The quality & taste of the food was wonderful. This dinner was the best value meal we've had in two weeks & one of the tastiest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leilani's gave us the best dinner dining ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Leilani's gave us the best dinner dining experience of our stay on Maui. The seared ahi was done to perfection, the opah was fine. The small room we were in was quiet and very pleasant, with attractive lapstrake boards resembling what I guess might have been the way old ship's captains' cabins might have looked. Service was exemplary, and the whole experience was a delight.

We highly recommend Leilani's/Whalers Village.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always try to visit Leilani's for a m ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We always try to visit Leilani's for a meal anytime we are in Maui. I tried the Leilani version of French Onion Soup--was good but very salty and the goat cheese sprinkles didn't add much to the flavor. Wife and I both had the fish special, and it was wonderful. Our waiter, Bula, was fun and energetic and made the meal more enjoyable. Finished with a Hula Pie for a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food pasta dish excellent

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great food pasta dish excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the scallops with khale and carrot ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I had the scallops with khale and carrot sauce. The scallops were cooked to perfection and the kale and carrot sauce were so delicious. --And this comment is coming from someone who doesn't like vegetables. There were only 3 scallops though. For the price I think there shold have been a few more. My spouse had pistachio encrusted fish. Lover it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think we had the best seat in the hous ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I think we had the best seat in the house! The food and service complimented the amazing sunset. We've been to Leilani's numerous times and have never been disappointed! Mahalo!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent overall, especially the sunset ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 3, 2016

excellent overall, especially the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gluten free options exceptional!! Great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Gluten free options exceptional!! Great meal & took extra care in prep due to my having celiac & requiring GF with no contamination. One of the best meals we have had on Maui this trip!!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very well organised and efficient servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Very well organised and efficient service. Too big and noisy for an intimate dinner. They want you out as soon as possible.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Friendly waitress and good food.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Friendly waitress and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Leilani's on the Beach for my ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went to Leilani's on the Beach for my birthday dinner. We had a nice view of the ocean. The fish was delicious and so was the Pono Pie. My desserts need to be gluten free and mostly dairy free. It was perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to rate them 5 stars but, we ha ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wanted to rate them 5 stars but, we had to remind them that we had reservations. We were included with the walk-ins and waited 15 mins before we were sat. Otherwise the wait would have been longer.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Two words: Hula Pie!

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Two words: Hula Pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great area on ocean, food is good could ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great area on ocean, food is good could have more exciting dishes on menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice outside table overlooking the ocean ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Nice outside table overlooking the ocean.

Drinks were very good , and the sunset was beautiful

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My Wife and I come here from the other s ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My Wife and I come here from the other side of the island for the food and atmosphere. We have had Brooke as our server on numerous occasions and she is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't order from their 5 to 5:45 three c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Don't order from their 5 to 5:45 three course early dinner menu! Sounded good, but it wasn't. We each had a salad, which were fine, although my Caesar did not come with any Caesar dressing on it. Just dry. We both ordered surf and turf which was a petit filet and shrimp. I ordered medium rare and my wife medium. They showed up and both were medium well to well done. They were smaller, but we expected that. I saw a lady order the filet from the regular menu, ordered medium rare and hers was cooked to order. As well as a lot larger than ours. Also, more mashed potatoes on hers. My guess is that they precooked these ones for the early bird dinner and let them sit under a heater until they were all well done. The dinner also included desert which were both good, although each a smaller portion than the usual desert off the menu. Anyway, it was a good deal price wise, but you did not get as much and the filet was not cooked medium rare. Next time I would just order off the regular menu. They only had a few types of scotch, but I guess you are supposed to order foo foo drinks when in Hawaii.

On the good side, it was a beautiful view. The waitress was great, the other staff were great. The food did taste good, just overdone. The deserts were very good. There is a less expensive restaurant down below, also part of Leilani's. And if youv'e never had it, the Hula pie is a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have eaten here often and always enjo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We have eaten here often and always enjoyed. This time it was more than just a bad night The food was cold. The server never checked to see if we were okay. We ordered a bottle of wine and he never offered to fill our glasses. They did not refill water glasses, did not offer coffee after dinner, and the list goes on. There are too many good restaurants in Maui to ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Great food

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.