About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Maui
Hawaii Regional Cuisine
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

scenic view (205)
great for outdoor dining (147)
special occasion (121)
See All
romantic (99)
fit for foodies (81)
good for groups (64)
kid-friendly (54)
hot spot (52)
great for lunch (45)
neighborhood gem (42)
vibrant bar scene (28)
notable wine list (12)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Little disappointed at our table as I as ...

Dined 4 days ago

Little disappointed at our table as I asked for beachside view and we were stuck in corner with very little view. When we got there she said there ewould be a 45 mn wait for table we asked for -- really??? I an understand 15- 20 but when i requested beachside should have been told that by message or something!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant was ok - great view. But it s ...

Dined 4 days ago

Restaurant was ok - great view. But it seemed like they were too busy and couldn't handle the rush. Drinks took a while and food was a bit overcooked. Overall nice but maybe not worth the price. Hula pie dessert was delicious though and massive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Better than expected. Even though it is ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Better than expected. Even though it is in a mall, that is under going a facelift, the ambiance was still really nice. Right on the beach with a great view of a lot going on on the beach. If your staying in Kaanapali this is a safe bet. Food took just a little long but our server kept us informed and took great care of us. His name was Anthony.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service!

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very good food and service!

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We just got back from a 12 day vacation ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We just got back from a 12 day vacation on Kaanapali Beach. We ate out each and every night. I have to say that Leilani's was our least favorite. The location is fantastic, and the views are spectacular...for most...we were seated inside near the kitchen and without a view of the ocean. That was understandable, but then the food was only average. Average food and no view in Maui - not again! Our meal at Hula Grill just across the way was ten times better!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fresh and very tasty. The ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was fresh and very tasty. The Hula pie was more than enough for all 4 of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was awesome! Great location, g ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The meal was awesome! Great location, great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent breakfast fare

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent breakfast fare

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The view is spectacular. Food was decent ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The view is spectacular. Food was decent and the server was pleasant. The food was also overpriced for what it was and we waited for about 20 minutes after we had finished out meal for someone to clear our plates. There area better choices out there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, and acvomodating staff with ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food, and acvomodating staff with my mothers walker!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have dinner our last night of wee ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Always have dinner our last night of week family vacation.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful sunset view. We were on our ho ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful sunset view. We were on our honeymoon and I got a table with a view as requested and dessert on the house. My husband had the Ahi, which was very good. I didn't feel my mahi mahi fish was very flavorful and it was very heavy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Been coming since 1985. Love the consist ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Been coming since 1985. Love the consistency. Prices however have outraced value over the years.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Ben was very pleasant. The go ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Our server Ben was very pleasant. The good was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here to celebrate our 40th weddi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We went here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and they didn't let us down! We had reservations and I had asked to sit as close to the outside beachy area as possible. When we were seated in a not so desirable spot, I mentioned that I had requested a table closer to the beach and it was our anniversary. We just sat down and settled in and the hostess came back and moved us to a nice table closer to where I had wanted to sit...it was great! Got to see the beautiful sunset that night! Serivce was great as was the food!! And, after dinner we even got hula pie on the house because we were celebrating our anniversary! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Ordered the filet surf n turf. The steak ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Ordered the filet surf n turf. The steak was amazing but the lobster was dry and rubbery. Manager happened to stop by and ask about the dinner. I told her and she promptly credited my tab and offered free desserts, explaining that she would notify the chef as well. I give the restaurant high marks. Good can always get tired waiting to be served but it's the reaction of the chef and the management that matters. I will eat here again.

food3
ambience5
service4

Gorgeous oceanfront location. I had been ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Gorgeous oceanfront location. I had been looking forward to a great steak, but unfortunately my filet mignon was too chewy/fatty. Salads were great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family went for dinner for our last n ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My family went for dinner for our last night in Maui. Requested ocean view table and got it! Amazing food! Prime rib and filet mignonette was the best we've ever had. Daughter loved grilled shrimp on pasta with lemon cream sauce. Sourdough bread was our dessert!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Frank, our waiter was awesome and so was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Frank, our waiter was awesome and so was the butterfinger hula pie!

food3
ambience5
service3

Ambiance and view are amazing, food was ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Ambiance and view are amazing, food was good and service was satisfactory Still a good experience

food4
ambience5
service4

You can't beat the gorgeous view and the ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

You can't beat the gorgeous view and the food has been very good every time we have eaten here over the years. We have always been pleased and we will return the next time we are in Maui.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Skip it...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Crowded with people. Wine list was nothing u would drink. We up and left...

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great view

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Offers an incredible view of the water and sunset, unfortunately the food is average. Wait service staff is excellent.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best. Meal. Ever.

Dined on June 8, 2016

Ahi Steak was easily the best meal I've ever eaten. I like sushi so I had it cooked rare. The flavor, texture, and especially sauce was the absolute tastiest thing I've every experienced. Price was half of comparable restaurants. The interior architecture is very unique and the outdoor seating has an amazing view. Great find and great value.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Always good

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great vacation dinner

Dined on June 6, 2016

Enjoyable dinner with outstanding view of the sunset after a day on the beach

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service2

Our family went to Leilani's last night. ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our family went to Leilani's last night. We sat inside rather than on the outdoor patio, since we had reserved a table online. It was a great location & good ambiance, with views of the sunset overlooking Kaanapali Beach. However the service was super slow -- we didn't order appetizers & it still was more than an hour from the time we sat down until our meals were served. I don't know if the kitchen was particularly backed up that night, but even if the server had stopped by our table to let us know our entrees would be out in just a few minutes (or some other reassuring phrase to let us know we had not been forgotten), it would have been appreciated. Most disappointing however was the food. Salty was the overriding theme. My husband ordered the veal rib special, which was tender, but so salty he had to scrape off the sauce. My daughter had the pan seared fresh fish -- super overcooked & again, salty. Even my mozzarella & tomato salad was so salty I could barely eat it! The large pink salt crystals were a lovely look, but totally overpowered the lighter taste of the dish. We ordered crab cakes, which had a strange flavor -- I thought it was Southwestern spices, but others thought it was curry; not a good mix with the crab. And the Parmesan crusted fresh fish was overcooked & dry. If you want a nice location & ambiance, this is a good pick, but the service was slow & our server not particularly friendly or attentive. And the food was just plain bad. We will not be returning!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our Party of eight had a variety of fish ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our Party of eight had a variety of fish dishes and appretizers - everyone enjoyed their orders.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean views, reasonable prices, and amazing food!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had read good things about Leilani's and we decided to go there for our nice dinner out. We sat in the restaurant upstairs and were blown away by the service, food, and atmosphere! We had a table right near the window so we had panoramic ocean views. Two of our party had the chefs tasting menu, great value and great food. We were impressed by the food and the prices, Leilani's is the most reasonable upscale restaurant in Lahaina that we have encountered. We loved it so much we came back the next night!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Very disappointing

Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was very rushed, requested a table with a view, had a partial view. I've been here many time, however I was really disappointed with the service. The server rushed the ordering, was very impatient. Ceasar salad, tasted like oil and ginger. Maybe this is a one off, but wouldn't really go there again,

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Our food was pretty bland, but views to ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Our food was pretty bland, but views to die for

food1
ambience3
service3

Views are greats and a festive environme ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Views are greats and a festive environment. If you are looking for fine dining you are looking at the wrong place. Similar to an Olive Garden or Outback. Seared Tuna was ice cold and rice and asparagus were warm at best. Compact and high volume restaurant not worthy of a second trip. Service met expectations.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Was very disappointed

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Arrived late and was unable to sit down for a full dinner but was invited to dine on the deck. We were glad that things turned out this way because had we arrived on time we would have paid a lot more to be unsatisfied. Our server who I believe was the head server that evening left much to be desired. He acted like all he wanted to do is get out of there, after our experience, we felt the same way.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal. Fantastic scallops ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a great meal. Fantastic scallops and wonderful steak cooked perfectly. The staff were very good and the view across the sea was fabulous. Thanks for a hreat evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful food and service. Great view. ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Great view. Hard to beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, fantastic filet, friendl ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Beautiful view, fantastic filet, friendly and accommodating

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The ahi was the best I've ever eaten

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Our server Bola was outstanding . He made our evening. I will go back just to,have him as our server

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time at Leilani's. F ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was our second time at Leilani's. Food and service were great. We will certainly be back again on our next trip to the island.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the fish is good; great Alaskan crab ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

All the fish is good; great Alaskan crab legs. The sourdough bread is awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambiance

Dined on May 19, 2016

Been coming here for 20+ years and it never disappoints, in fact seems to get better. Parmesan crusted fish was excellent, if you can find a better entree in western Maui good luck. Service and ambience equally as good. Not inexpensive but worth it.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.