About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The open air dining room offers sweeping ocean views and features a menu of fresh Island fish, seafood, prime rib, and steaks. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both residents and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Private Party Facilities:
A spectacular setting, perfect for your celebration-

Experience the spirit of Aloha from the crashing waves, the finest steaks and Hawaii's best seafood along with the genuine friendly service that is a signature of Leilani's.

Consider our dramatic oceanfront restaurant for your next special event. The Dining Room offers sweeping views of the Pacific and can seat up to 90 people.

Exclusive use of the entire restaurant or sections of the restaurant may also be possible with some limitations.

Private Party Contact:
Kako Egi: 8086614495x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali
Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Maui
Most Booked
Maui
Best Restaurants in Lahaina ›

Scenic View (134)
Great for Outdoor Dining (112)
Special Occasion (80)
See All
Romantic (71)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Hot Spot (32)
Kid-friendly (31)
Great for Lunch (30)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Waterfront (19)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Casual (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Fun (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stay on the Kaanapali strip every yea ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We stay on the Kaanapali strip every year, and always take a couple nights to dine at Leilani's. The outside menu is great for casual dining, and the inside full menu is, in my opinion, the best on the strip. Whereas neighboring venues continue to disappoint, Leilani's always comes through - starting with exceptional service and ending with an exceptional plate.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We've dined here for over 25 yrs and ne ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

We've dined here for over 25 yrs and never get tired of it. Leilanis is a tradition when we vacation on Maui

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great - our server Dan was exce ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great - our server Dan was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Leilani's is one of our favorites on Mau ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

Leilani's is one of our favorites on Maui. Better than the Hula Grill, which everyone raves about. Just go, and get the Hula Pie for dessert!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nathan was one of the best servers I've ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nathan was one of the best servers I've ever had

Amazing service, atmosphere , and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Maui for the first time. We h ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were in Maui for the first time. We had eaten dinner at a couple of other places already that were ok but not perfect.. Leilani's was GREAT! The location, food, price, staff. Perfect!! By far the best place we ate at while in Maui! Definitely will go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Leilani's has the best fish tacos that I ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Leilani's has the best fish tacos that I have ever had. The seasoning on the fish was a perfect combination with the cabbage, sauce, and cheese... Yes, cheese on a fish taco. It works. The staff was nice and attentive. We would absolutely come back the next time we find ourselves in paradise.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, locationand ambience! Defini ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food, locationand ambience! Definitely recommend the Hula Pie for desert.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I went to Maui for our anniv ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My wife and I went to Maui for our anniversary. We ate at Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali 3 times in one week. The menu had great choices of meat and fish. Everything was prepared as we wished and the wait staff was great.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here with my wife and we were reall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Went here with my wife and we were really impressed with the chef's special. The apple pineapple crumble cake was a melt in your mouth delicious treat. We are definitely going back before we leave.

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A family tradition when we come to Kaana ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A family tradition when we come to Kaanapali! A little challenging to get to this time due to the Whalers Village construction and massive rains but still they were welcoming and we were thrilled to spend our first night here after a long travel day. Our 2 kids (4 years old and 17 months) did great worth the kids menu (Mac and cheese and chicken) and we ordered the wedge and Maui salads along with the pan seared moon fish. Loved my salad moon fish was great but sides were overly salted. Nothing beats the warm bread Ana whipped butter! Our server Tiffany was phenomenal, super positive, upbeat, and attuned to our needs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Went f R early d net and had the chef ta ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went f R early d net and had the chef tasting menu which was a good value. The filet was excellent. My husbands fish was blander than he executed but still good. Overall and enjoyable evening. Our server Sam was ver good.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our waitress Brooke was awesome! Great f ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our waitress Brooke was awesome! Great food and table with view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent seafood dishes and stellar ser ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent seafood dishes and stellar service from Ben.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The view from the outside lanai is nice ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The view from the outside lanai is nice to see the sunset and watch the boats and people walking the beach. The food is just ok. When we made our reservation we told them that it was our 50th anniversary dinner but there was no mention of it the entire evening. Really disappointing.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service at a fair price t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service at a fair price the sunsets are fantastic from your restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is in a great location w ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This restaurant is in a great location with a nice breeze coming in off the ocean. The atmosphere is great. My fish (oni) was overcooked and dry, but they graciously exchanged it for their ahi tuna, which was probably the best meal I've had in Maui. It is worth saving room for the hula pie for desert. You won't regret it and it can easily be split among 2-3 people. We will definitely return again when we are back in Maui.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our meal and the waiter w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal and the waiter was very friendly. The opah was excellent. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of our favorite places for dinner. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of our favorite places for dinner. Another great meal and a beautiful sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservations 3 weeks in advance for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Made reservations 3 weeks in advance for 2 couples anniversaries and mentioned this on the reservation. After waiting an acceptable 15 minutes to be seated, and gave us one of the worst tables in the place. We declined, waited another 30 for an OK table, and had no mention of the occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Only negative was low alcohol content in ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Only negative was low alcohol content in the drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thank you! Once again we enjoyed our din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Thank you! Once again we enjoyed our dinner. The food was wonderful and our waiter was exceptional!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always come to Leilani's for our fare ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always come to Leilani's for our farewell dinner in Maui every September and it is always one of our most favorite meals and a wonderful tradition for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best views I have ever experi ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the best views I have ever experienced. I would go time and time again if we were still on Maui!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not happy AT ALL with manager's decision ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Not happy AT ALL with manager's decision to not honor free Hula Pie dinner receipts. Manager says Hula Pie is "sacred." His exact word. Therefore, he must charge for it and not honor past dinner receipts. Manager is a blowhard salesman, who is incapable of answering a simple question. We spend over $100.00 when we dine at Leilani's, including drinks. We can't get a Hula Pie? No aloha here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Our favorite restaurant on Maui (dining ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Our favorite restaurant on Maui (dining room, not beach seating) and even after eating there 3 times in 3 weeks, it didn't disappoint. Best preparation is the parmesan encrusted fish in lemon caper sauce, so don't be afraid to ask them to do whatever fresh fish you want that way. Great wedge salad, caprese, bread, and of course Hula Pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, farm fresh and local. All food wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great, farm fresh and local. All food was super flavorful, and all preparations brought out the true flavors of everything. Need to come back for the hula pie!! We were too full for dessert!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good location, good food and helpful ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Good location, good food and helpful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service good food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was next door to our hotel. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Restaurant was next door to our hotel. Very convenient. Food was excellent and portions were great for the price. Wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and specials for the evening. Loved that when you are seated, the waiter for your table walks you to your seat, not the hostess. Conversation begins there and they immediately begin taking care of you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good beach environment. Good food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very good beach environment. Good food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Special menu between 5-5:45 very good! O ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Special menu between 5-5:45 very good! Our server Nathan was exceptional.,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great view of the ocean. staff was very ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

great view of the ocean. staff was very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Easy parking. We got there earlier than ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Easy parking. We got there earlier than our reservation but got seated without wait.

Nice corner table good service food was ok . Can't help the noise we were part of it.

Overall nice experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4TH VISIT. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. WEIRD ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

4TH VISIT. NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE. WEIRD SEATING..ASKED TO BE MOVED. OPEN TABLE HAS ALWAYS BEEN MET WITH AN EXCELLENT TABLE SELECTION. NOT SO THIS VISIT. WE ATE WELL THOUGH.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great view/location. Food and service we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great view/location. Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We had such a wonderful meal at Leilani' ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had such a wonderful meal at Leilani's. The view was wonderful right on Kaanapali Beach with a lovely sunset. I had the Seafood Pasta which was delish with fish, shrimp and lobster in an excellent Meyer lemon sauce. My dad had the prime rib which was the best he's ever had. He shared a bite with me and I have to agree. Lovely meal with even lovelier views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees came to the table before we' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our entrees came to the table before we'd finished our appetizers. The waiter checked on us so many times and tried to make chit chat, that it intruded on our ability to have a conversation between us. The fish was good. The steak was poor - very small and overdone. There is a tree right next to the restaurant that is home to a flock of noisy birds - who reach a crescendo before sun sets. It was so noisy it was hard to hear each other unless sitting very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Had our last night in paradise here. I ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had our last night in paradise here. I have heard that Leilani's is owned by the same company as Hula Grill next door but boy was the service and experience different! At Leilani's, at check in, you are greeted like you've arrived at a good friend's home for dinner or almost like they are family owned. Genuine smiles by the hostesses. Our waiter was amazing, I think his name was Will. Knew the menu very well and gave excellent recommendations. Never seemed in a rush, knew it was our last night and let us soak it all in. A very gracious host. Hawaii lacks "professional" waiters, lots of young transplants from the mainland that aren't well trained, but not at Leilani's. It was our best meal all week- for the view, the hospitality, and that hula pie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was dark and we could not read the me ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was dark and we could not read the menu 's. The pasta as OK .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.