Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.22mi

About Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali

Located right on famous Ka’anapali Beach, Leilani’s offers the perfect vantage point for viewing amazing sunsets framed by the islands of Lanai and Molokai. The outdoor Beachside Grill has long been a popular place for both visitors and locals to enjoy their favorite casual fare while sipping exotic cocktails, craft beers and enjoying live entertainment. Menu offerings include appetizers, salads, sandwiches, burgers, Hawaiian local plates, fish & chips and for dessert Kimo’s Original Hula Pie. Please join us in our Beachside Grill as we complete renovations to our Dining Room. The Beachside Grill is seated on a walk-in basis. The Dining Room will reopen in Spring 2018.

2435 Kaanapali Pkwy. Bldg J
Bldg. J
Lahaina, HI 96761
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Hawaii Regional Cuisine

Hours of Operation:
Beachside Grill: Monday-Sunday: 11:00am - 10:30pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Sunday: 3:00pm - 5:00 pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 30

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 661-4495

Website:
http://www.leilanis.com/

Entertainment:
Come to our Award Winning "Best Bar on Maui" and enjoy Live Music Wednesday through Sunday from 3-5pm.

Parking Details:
A three story parking structure is adjacent to the Whalers Village. Validation available for 3 hours with purchase.

Public Transit:
Maui bus stops right in front Whalers Village every hour!

Executive Chef:
Ryan Luckey

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Leilani's on the Beach - Kaanapali Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (29)
Waterfront (29)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Romantic (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fun (10)
Authentic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
2190 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2017

We caught Leilani's a few days before they closed the upstairs dining room for six months to renovate. The place was packed, but our server was very prompt and courteous. Drinks and appetizer were delivered pronto, and when we asked for a second round of drinks with dinner they were delivered almost before we got the order out of our mouths. The food was exceptionally good - I had the port chop and my wife had fish. You cannot beat the combination of quality, service and price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A great place to go to watch the sunset. The wait staff seemed genuinely interested in our experience, unlike nearby restaurants. Tip: Ask the price of the specials before ordering. While my ahi was great, I wouldn't have paid the $38 if I had known the price in advance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Tasty food and great service. It's in the mall, and I was seated outside, so it was a bit noisy, but a nice spot to watch the sunset.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great food, service and friendly staff. Great location by the sea

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Wonderful, as always! Sesame crusted Ahi is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I had a great meal at Leilani's. I dined on opah on a bed of local vegetables with a special sauce. Fish was cooked perfectly. Everything about the night at Leilani's was perfect. I was seated within 5 minutes of my reservation time on a busy night. I'm single, still got a great table overlooking the beach. The service was prompt and the waiter, Uli, (I think that's what he said) recited the special and told me about all the seafood specials in detail without notes! Uli came out to the table after about 15 minutes to say the entree was delayed, but it came out a minute later! This is a professional restaurant, I could see people cooperating, for example I saw a service person take some plates from another service person. To speed back to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great as usual. Have been coming since 1990. Great atmosphere and especially convenient when staying at the Westin nextdoor

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Best Ahi Steak I've every had. Service was good, but almost a bit rushed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always a great meal and great service. Views are incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Malgré le faite que nous parlons en peu anglais, le service était parfait. La serveuse à vraiment été serviable et compréhensible à notre égard.
Sinon pour le reste, qualité/prix irréprochable.
Nous avons super bien mangé.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was excellent and well priced. Server was knowledgable about wines.
.no complaints

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Brian our waiter was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

This was a pleasant surprise....we had a fabulous table on a small outdoor patio. It felt quite private away from the crowded main dining room, had beautiful views of the ocean/sunset. The cocktail menu had the usual island drinks ( lava flow, mai tai, etc)... nothing looked particularly creative. We opted for a bottle of wine. My fish was over cooked and dry, so that was disappointing. ( however, that is exactly how my husband likes his fish, so he was happy). The hula pie for dessert was perfect -a huge portion, so definitely meant to be shared - perhaps by more than 2 people because we sure couldn't finish it! Overall, the food was average, the service was fine and the table was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Good food and good service and great view. Would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Kate provided great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Have been to Leilani's many times over the years and the food is consistently good. The service is always perfect, we never feel rushed and the waitstaff is attentive. Of course the ambiance is amazing, you cannot perfect nature! The food is always great in the downstairs bar - we love the pork nachos, but dinner upstairs was not exceptional, and the all four of us felt our fish was overdone. Not the end of the world! We will go back.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Wonderful evening, great service, beautiful view, delicious food. Definitely worth the trip!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 18, 2017

It's been a number of years since we've been to Leilani's and not much has changed. Solid drinks and appis. Fresh fish was well prepared. The rail offered a great view. It's going to close for 6 months for a much needed remodel so will have to try again if we return next year. Our server was a sweetheart also and the whole staff was very pleasant. Fun time.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very Hawaiian. The Hula pie was one of the best deserts we've ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Fantastic service and fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a reservation right at 5pm and were able to take advantage of their "early" menu which was three small courses and a great value. Our waiter was friendly and helpful, and the food was good. I didn't order a drink but saw some awesome cocktails pass by. Only downside was that it was a hot, humid day and there is no true indoor seating/AC. So, not the best choice for a humid day or wait until after sunset.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Loved eating upstairs on the deck. Make sure to leave room for the Hula Pie

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food was the just ok....the fish was as dry as a bone! Waiter was nice just seemed overwhelmed. Our table was stuck near the stairs and was in the line of hustle and bustle of waitstaff. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Great food & ambiance. New server could have done better. My friends who ate there for the first time enjoyed everything. We all finished our meals & had a great time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2017

When in Maui we go there at least once if not more.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We have been here many many times and we are always happy with the good and the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Tremendous dining experience here. The ambiance is perfect, the staff is awesome (thanks Desiree and Steve) and the food is delicious. My wife and I have enjoyed dinner here three times in the last year and its been great each time. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Slow and inattentive service ruined our evening. Tourist trap. Interior dining rooms are dismal. Just awful, a complete waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

We really loved the ambiance of Leilani's. The food was incredible and our waiter was just the best. I wish I could remember his name, but he really made the visit so wonderful. I had the scallops and they were delicious. My husband had the seafood pasta and his was our favorite. Even my son's mac and cheese was great. We really enjoyed the homemade Hawaiian rolls at the start of the meal. We just loved it!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Have been coming here for years, it's a staple in Kaanapali. Food is consistent, atmosphere is great, the only thing inconsistent is the pricing always on the rise. This trip we had Maia as our server, very knowledgeable and personable.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great ocean view, especially at sunset. Food and service was good. Typical menu in Hawaii.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We were lucky enough to get a oceanfront table right at sunset. The view was amazing. The food and drinks were both very good. I would say our service was good but not great. It didn't take away from a nice dinner experience.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Leilani's was exceptionally crowded. We had a reservation. It were seated at a table right by the stairs and it was hot and noisy. Bula was a good server. Food was good. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food value fir the money. Service always good
Sunset view amazing never disappoints! Come back every year to your spot!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Surprisingly better than expected. Would go back. All very. Tasty and fresh

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a warm and friendly staff that catered to our dining needs. Our server was quite helpful in describing the various fresh fish options available that evening and easily recommended appropriate wines to compliment our meal. The view was outstanding and was only topped by the perfectly prepared fish. We will definitely return on our next visit and would highly recommend the restaurant to our friends and family!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The Parmesan crusted Mahi was to die for. It was a perfect setting for a sunset dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Outstanding food and service. One of our very favorite spots in Maui. The Maui Onion Sirloin w/bacon smashed potatoes is out of this world! Don't get me started on the Hula Pie!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Good Happy Hour in the bar-great drinks and food. Followed by dinner in the dining room with a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. Best service in our two week trip. Food was a bit pricey as is everything in Maui but excellent and creative. We would definitely go back--our new favorite restaurant in Maui.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

One of the best dinners we've had here by far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.