About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine and a full service bar, the Butterjoint. Legume is now serving lunch Monday through Friday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! Our private dining room seats up to 12 people, making it ideal for an intimate dinner. Several menu options are available, including a custom chef's tasting menu.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Hooper: 4126212700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
1 More
American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

fit for foodies (119)
special occasion (94)
neighborhood gem (61)
See All
romantic (47)
good for groups (44)
notable wine list (29)
vibrant bar scene (28)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner! The food was amazing! We truly enjoy the attention to detail, the fresh foods and the overall care to deliver amazingly crafted dishes. The service was impecable! My only recommendation is to work on lowering the music volume. It was unusually loud, for some reason... Maybe softer music?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and service was amazing but I h ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was amazing but I have to admit for the price I found the ambience just kind of blah.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treat for out-of-towner

Dined 7 days ago

An out-of-towner (Washington, DC), I discovered Legume through Pittsburgh Magazine. I actually dined there on back-to-back evenings. An excellent chilled asparagus/leek soup was the highlight both nights. An entree centering on crispy farro was creative, novel and good, if not spectacular, with a little too much emphasis on the farmers cheese, and not enough on the farro. My second entree of goat neck ravioli was very good, with the ravioli perfectly al dente. The rustic bread, with nicely softened butter, was also very good. The ambience both evenings was very nice and the service was attentive, professional and non-annoying. My partner for one meal, a Manhattanite, thought the quality of the decor did not match that of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Legume, we have been patrons ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always love Legume, we have been patrons since it opened in Regent Square & enjoyed the 10th anniversary special! Love the newsletter keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to Legume for many years ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been going to Legume for many years, and I never grow tired of it. The menu is short, but it changes all the time, with dishes the defy any particular category or ethnicity. The service people are friendly and knowledgable. It's usually crowded, and a bit noisy, but not so much to prevent conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine sa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine salad were a great way to start with the Halibut and Steak entrees maybe being some of the best dishes we've ever had! Done absolutely perfectly! And save room for dessert as the buttermilk poundcake and goose egg flan were a perfect way to finish off. Thanks to Chef Trevitt and our server Jason for helping to make this a perfect Mothers Day Dinner!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious for both gluten free eaters and not.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had several choices even though I am gluten intolerant. If you do not drink they also offer mocktails which was great. My husband had the lobster ravioli which he said was delicious. I enjoyed the polenta vegetable entrée and the custard dessert. My husband had the delicious rhubarb cobbler and some nice wines. I also enjoyed their asparagus soup; he had a salad. Overall it was a very nice dinner around 5 pm on Mother's day. Then we went to see a play.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and drinks!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and drinks!

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

This was my second attempt at dining at ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my second attempt at dining at Legume, the first shortly after they moved to Craig Street. I was not very impressed with my first dining experience although the service was excellent. Now, a year or so later, I thought I would try again. The service was again excellent, but my entree was fair at best, although the dandelion salad was excellent. I was disappointed with the roasted chicken which came highly recommended, it being small and slightly undercooked. I probably will not try Legume a third time.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the go ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the goat sausage with onion confit and pierogies and loved them. The fourth, a vegetarian was happy with an appetizer of pickled radishes and a salad with goat cheese and some beautiful sprouts. The wait staff were very attuned to our timing as we had to be out at a certain time for a concert. They timed appetizers and entrees accordingly. Very accommodating

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 6, 2016

I'll keep this short: my absolute favorite place in Pittsburgh. I have never been disappointed - in fact, I always leave this place thinking about how awesome it is and wondering when I can come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special meal with aging parents.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We took our folks, 89 and 85 years old, out for a special meal, and they made it very special. We started with the pickle plate, which was delightful, mom especially liked the pickled cherry. I had a nettle soup that was very tasty, and both the folks had the halibut, and they ate every bite (most unusual). The truffle cake was so delicious, with a texture that is completey unique. Dad had the baked Alaska, and again ate every bite. Nice to see them enjoy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant from arrival to departure ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very pleasant from arrival to departure - comfortable pace for leisurely evening

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Out of good menu items; very slow

Dined on April 28, 2016

After discovering that our food choices were not available, the food we did order took almost an hour to reach our table - and then only after we complained.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was spectacular, service impres ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was spectacular, service impressive and the ambiance delightful. These folks love what they do and it's reflected in everything they do. Definitely worth a visit

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice find in Oakland.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Elegant restaurant with limited menu. The rib steak was tasty, but not cooked to perfection. The ravioli was to die for. Service was exceptional, attentive but not overwhelming. Would eat here again even though I thought it was a small menu.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh -- good ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh -- good wine, great food, nice art -- love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally good service and food. Ac ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Exceptionally good service and food. Acoustics in places is somewhat difficult - and with a noisy group next to us - a bit distracting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and presentation ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, service and presentation! Will definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, beautifully presented. G ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, beautifully presented. Great service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall Great Experieince

Dined on April 9, 2016

Three of us ordered different entrees to mix and match. The thick cut pork chop and the Sirloin steak both were excellent tasting and nice sized. The ravioli option was relatively small and expensive for the portion received. Meat options were large enough to share so all were happy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Legume was wonderful as always ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Dinner at Legume was wonderful as always. Loved the nettle soup - such a unique option that exceeded expectations. And I can't put into words how delicious dessert was. Thanks for a fabulous evening, Legume!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect for celebration or a casual festivity

Dined on April 6, 2016

We shared beef tartare and pickles, delicious. For entrees: 2 porkchops, satisfying and mouthful. I've been coming to Legume since they were in a small storefront in Regent Square. They're more expensive now, but also far more glamorous. Menu is bigger, food still excellent, maybe better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

great as usual

Dined on April 6, 2016

Love Legume for the rotating local food items, always very delicious. The beef tartare was awesome. We had a group from work taking out an old friend & it was lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dined at legume a few d ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I dined at legume a few days ago. We had a great experience. The service staff was on point. Our food was great. We will definitely dine here again!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always enjoy Legume! Menu well conceived, food great. Wonderful evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food but nothing spectacular (too expensive)

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food in Legume is good but to my opinion overpriced and not excellent. The dishes that my girlfriend and I received looked nice and the taste was very good. However, I was a bit disappointed in the amount of vegetables and in the preparation of them. I ordered a steak - the steak was excellent - which is according to the menu accompanied by some vegetables and mash. Although the description of the menu is correct, the amount of vegetables you receive is almost negligible. I think that a restaurant with as name 'vegetables' should always serve a lot of perfectly cooked vegetables. My girlfriend ordered the vegetarian dish and the vegetables were perfectly cooked and tasteful but nothing special was done with them. The ambiance and atmosphere is good and their drinks and wines all are excellent.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Halibut -A signature item?

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We heard about their wonderful dishes. I ordered the vegetarian meal and that was very nice. My husband ordered the Halibut which was dry and overcooked. We did not think that we would have to specify "please don't overcook the fish" when fish is a signature item. their was basically no additional side or sauce on the place. Very spartan.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious meal. Our waiter was excellent ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Delicious meal. Our waiter was excellent- so knowledgeable about the food and preparation. Pickle platter was very interesting. Sausages were amazing- so tender! Chicken cooked under skillet was really tasty. Sorry we've never eaten here before! What a gem!

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Cozy and upscale

Dined on March 18, 2016

Legume had a lovely ambiance, fancy while not being fussy. The layout of the restaurant meant it did get a bit noisy during main dinner hours. The breadbasket was delicious and still warm from the oven! I was slightly disappointed in the portion size of my lamb given its price, but the taste made up for it! It's clear they put a lot of effort into their menu to bring interesting dishes that are locally sourced and seasonally appropriate.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have never had a bad meal at Legume!

Dined on March 17, 2016

The menu is adventurous; the wine list is excellent. Wonderful service. Even on Thursday night, Butterjoint was hopping, as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely as always - service surpassed high hopes

Dined on March 12, 2016

We took my wife's Uncle out for dinner on his first trip to Pittsburgh. Our waitress made us feel instantly welcome and was superb at being lovely to our guest even though he was having difficulty choosing what he wanted to eat. Despite the restaurant being busy we wanted for nothing and the evening was a great success with him raving about the food to all of his friends and family for the next 24 hours! Job well done on every front!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Went here on recent visit to Pittsburgh when they were doing special Russian menu. Everything was great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

great spot

Dined on March 12, 2016

Really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was good, the service great and the drinks exceptional. The team running this place knows what it is doing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Evening

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was wonderful, especially the Russian Soup. The lamb was tender and near perfect. Service was great. Couldn't ask for better. My wife had the Chicken for the third time and as always was very pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

pros and cons

Dined on March 10, 2016

Novel menu; food is always delicious, but a bit pricey and noisy. Better for groups of 2-4 who are not expecting to have private or intimate conversations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was excellent (drinks not as go ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was excellent (drinks not as good as usual) - and the atmosphere was terrific as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful find in Oakland

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Legume was a wonderful meal. The staff accommodated the late arrival of our guests, had a terrific wine recommendation and an imaginative menu...5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great staff

Dined on March 5, 2016

Our waitress was very helpful and knowledgable. We had a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Cold food

Dined on March 5, 2016

Didn't ask if we wanted a second drink. Food cold had to send back . Desserts plain but good coffee hot best part of meal have had better meals (lamb) at les expensive restaurants, felt rushed did not expect that . Overall would emphatically not recommend for dinner ! Looked like bar crowd was enjoying themselves at least they probably got a good hamburger.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.