About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours through Labor Day
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 9:30 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 for up to two hours and an additional $1 per hour after that.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Local Ingredients (57)
Creative Cuisine (56)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good Vegetarian Options (36)
Healthy (35)
Romantic (33)
Seasonal (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Cozy (21)
Authentic (20)
Organic (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Casual (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great Beer (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

First time visit, the food was delicious. Looking forward to a second visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

have been to Legume many times, starting out when it was located in Regent Square, and always looked forward to dining there as it never let us down. Not sure what happened on the Thursday night we recently dined there, but service was so very disappointing. It took forever to get the waitress to the table to ask if we wanted drinks and then more time than necessary for those ordered drinks to reach the table. After ordering starters, another long time in making it to the table. But the worst part was to come when we ordered our entrees....we began to wonder if the orders ever reached the kitchen. And then once they finally made it to our table, the entrees had apparently been sitting and waiting for the waitress to pick up for delivery to the table because they were at best luke warm. It was a very busy night at the restaurant and we believe that perhaps the restaurant did not prepare for such a huge crowd and were understaffed. Giving Legume the benefit of doubt and being that we always, always enjoyed this restaurant thinking it was one of the best in the 'Burgh, we did not make a complaint that evening and we did not penalize our waitress by leaving a frugal tip. As we are hoping we hit the restaurant on just one of those crazy nights that happens to all of us, we would certainly return to the restaurant. BUT should we face the same situation next time around, we would have to check Legume off our list of restaurants deserving of repeat visits. Knowing the quality of service and attention to detail of service with our past visits, am sure we just picked a bad night for dining at Legume - that should never be the case for restaurants in a highly competitive business but in an imperfect world, who are we kidding, it happens. Next dining night at Legume will hopefully be filled with comments of praise on the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Delicious food but way to make a customer feel UNwelcome. Coming in to Pittsburgh from out of town, I had an 8pm reservation for 6, made more than 2 weeks in advance on Open Table. While on the plane the night before, I received a phone message asking me to confirm the reservation. Already a little weird, as I had not cancelled.... the next day I called and was unable to get through, but finally got a voicemail box and said No I would not be cancelling. When we arrived the next day at 750, a dismayed and ditzy employee told us our table was not ready. 15 minutes later, it still was not ready. Several people had been seated in the interim, but it was not until 8:10 that we were seated. With a view right into the kitchen from my seat (see attached photo). Just wish I could share a recording of the sound of clattering dishes and kitchen that we endured. Yes, the food was delicious. But who wants to start a $320 meal that way?!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh! Wonderful food and excellent service.
Legume exceeds our expectations every time! The attention to every detail combined with their amazing food, makes it truly special.
I love sharing this special place with friends and giving their gift certificates as Birthday, Anniversary, or even Wedding Presents.
Thank you for being such a wonderful gift to the Burgh!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Organic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Phenomenal!!! Truly this is a fantastic restaurant. We took out our friends as a thank you for their help at our wedding. The meal started with my wife and I splitting the squash and mussel soup; it was out of this world. Then we had the beef tartare; excellent. My friend and I both had the chicken breast, which I had had before and was blown away by and this time it was equally amazing. I don't think we had to wait 45 minutes for it to cook, which it warns on the menu. Our waitress said that they roast so many each evening and they had not yet exceeded that number for the 45 wait to kick in. I was drinking a cream ale with coffee flavor and it was excellent, but they were out by the next round, so I went with a brown ale. For dessert we got the lardacious pound cake and pavlova to split four ways. The pavlova is incredible. It was a perfect way to end the best meal I've had in a long long time. The prices are steeper than I can afford regularly, but for a special occasion this is a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Legume is always a delicious meal with locally sourced ingredients combined in innovative ways! The liver pate with Concord grape jelly and lavash was delicate and a wonderful start to a fantastic meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Legume never disappoints! The staff take excellent care of you and the chef’s creations are always delicious! We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our meal. The highlight for me was the Berbere spiced carrots.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 11, 2017

My friends, one of whom is a foodie, and I continue to enoy dining at legume. The wheelchair access is excellent. One can go in through the front door and enjoy all parts of legume proper with an excellent restroom. We go regularly and have yet to be disappointed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Légume is truly a gem. The menus are always creative and delicious, with produce and meats from local farms, and desserts from Heaven. At the same location is the Butterjoint, an expanded bar with additional menu items and, my friends say, the best burgers in Pittsburgh. They are expanding once again to include Pie for Breakfast, a new cafe setting. My daughter and her friends love an evening called "Cheap Date Night" which is an innovative prix fixe menu for two one night a month. You cant go wrong with Légume.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Authentic, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

I already wrote my review on Yelp, but I'll keep it short for here. I came for Cheap Date Night. I enjoy the dark and woody atmosphere of Legume, because it still feels personal between you and your date or whomever you're dining with.

FOOD: The first course was amazing, pumpkin-mussel soup. Second course was also tasty, but presentation wise I thought it was lacking a pop of color. Third course was most disappointing, a chocolate truffle cake that wasn't sweet at all. I do enjoy dark chocolate but the chocolate flavor was too strong here and wasn't sweet enough.
SERVICE: Very good. Waitresses were very nice and timely about refilling waters and asking if we were enjoying our meal.

I'd like to come back again and I would recommend Legume to friend's if they're looking to splurge a little.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

Absolutely delicious as always. The rotating menu means that the options will often be completely different every time you go, but in the best way possible. They always have something new up their sleeve, easily the best restaurant in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I have never had a even just an average meal. Creative menue and exceptional/natural service.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Four of us ate at Legume on a long weekend in Pittsburgh. The menu was interesting and the food was delicious. The service was excellent. Legume is modern with an emphasis on locally sourced foods but not at all pretentious. Ambience is pleasant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

What a pleasant surprise in north oakland. The ambiance is great and the food was seasoned perfectly. I had their half chicken with potatoes and the chicken was crispy on the outside and moist and succulent on the inside. The price was also reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Nice ambiance, great wine and fresh food. Portions were just perfect in size. Pricing was reasonable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Local, fresh, delicious. So nice to be able to get a humanely raised steak and amazingly prepared vegetables in a beautiful space.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Legume provides a superior dining benue in the oakland neighborhood. Not only is the place handicapped accessible but the restroom is also accessible. This gem never fails to deliver a delightful dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I have been to Legume many times and always enjoy my meal and the great service.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

We had a great experience. Our server was exceptionally good. We will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Good food, friendly but not in-your-face service, excellent value. Very much enjoyed my time eating there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 25, 2017

vegetarian plates were very good.
fish, bluefish, was ok.
The dining room is very comfortable and easy to relax and service is excellent. I like the restaurant a lot and have gone there many times over the years.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent dishes as always... seasonal sharing plate of pickled items, halibut, and mushrooms on crostini were delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food. Great ambience. Great server, Jason! We got the Barrelfish and the Lamb. Delicious!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 22, 2017

great food. only thing to be aware of is portions vary in size : your delicious dish may be generous or small! ask your server, I guess...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The Pinot Noir and the Chardonnay served in the same smaller size wine glass.
The small plates, appetizers and enter have unique preparation and sauces.. seasonal menu . All good

Parking in garage across the street.. no validation And you pay for parking plus Valet!

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

We went for the first time on my birthday Saturday night. The service was nothing special and they were out of things on the menu leaving us with very limited options. They also did nothing for our special occasion (dessert, free corkage, etc). We were slightly disappointed and probably won't make a trip back anytime soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I celebrated a milestone birthday here and enjoyed every morsel. Julia took excellent care of our table and helped with the food, cocktail, wine and beer selections. Hand crafted martinis were enjoyable. The food was amazing! We tried the fish, steak, chicken, and ravioli. All were delicious. The steak was seasoned with the freshest herbs and the halibut was perfect. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service as very good. Limited menu though. Would return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

It was ok. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Excellent Food & Service. We dined with out of town friends and had a
wonderful experience. Its a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy, Vegan, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Very good food and service and we have recommend this restaurant to friends

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I took an old friend to dinner who's a great cook herself. As usual at Legume, I had an excellent meal with an original touch [ratatouille cooked down to savory mash and placed on top of our perfectly cooked ravioli with a soft cheese inside and a handful of tiny haricots vert followed by a lovely panna cotta with little crunchy things on it. [We'd had our appetizer course at home first]. Decent wines available by the glass for a fair price. I always wonder after coming why I don't come more often, even on my own. Chris was an excellent waiter who kept a discreet eye on our needs - no constant interruptions with a noisy water jug full of ice cubes - so perfect for anyone who likes Legume's interpretation of French and Italian cuisine with an American touch.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The chef of Legume is awesome. Each bite a yummy surprise of flavors. So delectable!!
I'd never eaten an anchovie. One appeared on my salad recommended by the server. The salad was amazing as was the anchovies. Plus the acoustics are excellent & we could talk and visit. Absolutely one of the best dining experiences ever. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 8, 2017

The food & service were outstanding. This is a restaurant to dine not to go out and eat. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Outstanding flavors and combinations. For a place known for vegetarian options the meat dishes were superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

The service was friendly as could be. This is a favorite With my foodie parents, who often visit from Boston. We have fond memories of dining here with them, but we came here recently to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and had the nicest time. Complimentary champagne was brought to both of us, and when I explained I didn't drink, our waitress brought a specially concocted (and delicious) mocktail. The food did not disappoint. Just a cozy, delicious gem. Thank you, Legume!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A marvelous dining experience, fitting for our Anniversary. Everything about the food is amazing, both presentation and taste. Though not extensive, the menu has wide variety. For entree, I chose the bass, my wife the Rib Steak. The corn soup is delightful. Every item we chose was excellent. The service is outstanding and our waiter was both helpful snd friendly. The price reflects the quality and atmosphere, but is an amazing value compared to other "fancy" restaurants that charge more and satisfy less. I have resided in Pittsburgh area since 1984. I've not found a better restaurant than Legume.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Had a very enjoyable dinner and would return. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.