About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Good for a Date (42)
Local Ingredients (41)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Cozy (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Romantic (20)
Seasonal (20)
Healthy (20)
Authentic (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Casual (14)
Organic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Great Beer (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here while catching up with a few o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Went here while catching up with a few old friends, visiting Pittsburgh for a girls weekend. We were all surprised by the quality of everything on the menu. We all loved what we ordered. Some of us being vegetarians or gluten free, we were all able to find options, and we are all "localvores" and so were thrilled with the use of local ingredients and even incorporating some traditional PA recipes. The Shaker Corn was the best corn I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always inventive and wonderful food and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Always inventive and wonderful food and cocktails. Great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always creative and excellent. S ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food is always creative and excellent. Service was so bad I should have asked to speak to the manager. From the moment we sat down, our waiter constantly came to our table asking what entrees we wanted. Our total dinner time was less than an hour so it wasn't like we were just hanging around, drinking cocktail. He was rude, annoyed if we asked any questions and definitely will make me think twice to rebook at Legume. Which is a shame because it is one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

The food we had was good, but the menu c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The food we had was good, but the menu could use more vegetarian options

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was incredible and the service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was excellent. Went for a romanitic Valentines dinner & was not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Honestly one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh I would recommend any of my friends to go and enjoy an evening there. Good food wonderful ambience and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good, limited menu but tasty. Nice ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good, limited menu but tasty. Nice bar with cozy seating

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We asked for a quiet table due to hard o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We asked for a quiet table due to hard of hearing and we got the very best spot! Window seating is not only quiet but great views of the busy street and easy for quiet conversation. Legume has never disappointed us and this night was no exception -- great food and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere and food was top notch. Total ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Atmosphere and food was top notch. Totally enjoyed our evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We go to Legume a few times a year. It i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to Legume a few times a year. It is always absolutely amazing!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, , Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but I felt it was a bit overpr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food but I felt it was a bit overpriced for what you get. I would try it but I probably won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We have been to Legume many times and ha ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have been to Legume many times and have never had anything less than a fantastic experience with food (We have among us a gluten-free vegan, who is always treated with absolute respect and great food!), ambience, and service. Truly exceptional Pgh restaurant!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good: food, service, etc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was good: food, service, etc., but we were disappointed that when we asked for a "side salad" to accompany our entrees, we did not expect the $12 version. I suppose we could have asked, but the server also could have pointed out that what we were ordering was a lot bigger, and costlier than we had expected. Perhaps we would have shared it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Just a light supper with an old friend o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Just a light supper with an old friend on a cold Wednesday evening - not full so noise level good for conversation. My friend loved the Cassoulet, and I loved the fluke with small amounts of vegetables incl. bok choy and something lemony. Pork paté always good, their breads ditto. Never had a bad meal here and always wonder why I don't come more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit since you moved to Oakla ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our first visit since you moved to Oakland. Delicious meal and excellent service. A bit pricey for our taste, but a wonderful evening. We asked for a quiet space and were well seated. Will return for a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding service. Wayne took excellen ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding service. Wayne took excellent care of us. We have some specific food restrictions and the organic menu along with the staff made it a great experience instead of feeling like we were asking for something bothersome. The kitchen did an amazing job! Delicious!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been wanting to try Legume for so l ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Have been wanting to try Legume for so long and now I'm so glad we did. The ambience is so cozy and elegant. The menu is short and concentrated on local and fresh ingredients. We will be back! And the bar next door is great for a drink while waiting on table.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Julia was a fabulous waitress. She was w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Julia was a fabulous waitress. She was well informed, efficient and fun. She helped make the entire meal even more pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite dinner, easy going atmosphere ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Exquisite dinner, easy going atmosphere yet so professional. This place never disappoints for us! Love what they do with pickling and fermenting, always beautifully balanced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely excellent. Both the food and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely excellent. Both the food and the service were top-notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Legume. From the comfortable dec ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I love Legume. From the comfortable decor, to the friendly and accommodating staff, to the outstanding food, it's a win all the way around. I actually wait for winter every year so I can have the chef's gingerbread. It is a transcendent experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, , Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great find - we went for the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was a great find - we went for the Cheap Date night, which happens the first Wednesday of every month. You get a 3 course meal for 2 people for $50 and $5 drinks. Really delicious food, and incredible value. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Legume for th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Legume for their "Cheap Date Night" - three courses for two for $50. This was my first time visiting Legume. The meal included your choice of soup, entree, and dessert and also offered $5 drink deals.

The ambiance is simple, clean, and modern, but the candles and wooden tabletops warm the space up. It also appears there are several larger tables which would make this space good for groups. I'd recommend the round table near the kitchen if booking a table for 6. Better for conversation than a rectangular table. The staff is also very friendly and attentive, without making you feel rushed.

We started with something off the standard menu. It was a hot slice of raclette with pickled vegetables on top. This gooey cheese paired very well with the crusty bread at the table. Highly recommend it!

For the three-course menu:

FIRST COURSE

Me: Moroccan Lentil soup with crème fraîche and cilantro

Boyfriend: spicy beef soup with kimchee, crème fraîche, and cilantro

Verdict: Morroccan Lentil soup was lighter than I expected, which was perfect given it was part of three-course meal. The beef soup was also good and subtly spicy.

ENTREES

Me: sausage with potato smash and endive (or Radicchio)

Boyfriend: sweet potato ravioli with mushrooms

Verdict: Both dishes were good, though I preferred the ravioli. There was a sweetness to the sausage or some sauce that was on the greens that really complimented the bitterness of the greens.

DESSERT

Me: chocolate cake with whipped cream on top

Boyfriend: sorbet with chocolate shavings and meringue sticks

Verdict: The cake had an almost mousse-like texture which was delightful, though rich (which we expected). The sorbet essentially tasked like a key lime pie and was my favorite for the two.

Overall, I would definitely go back to try their standard menu, but it is on the pricer side so it's worth keeping an eye out for their "cheap date night" specials.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I live in "foodie" Portland and regularl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I live in "foodie" Portland and regularly dine in cities like SF, NYC, Chicago and Boston . Legume is every bit as good as any restaurant in those larger cities. The house made Kimchi was the best I have had anywhere . The sweet potato ravioli with wild mushrooms and sage butter was perfectly prepared and incredibly delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic food, good wine choices overal ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fantastic food, good wine choices overall great experience. I can't think of a place in Pittsburgh with better food... very creative menu definitely for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to Legume several times for ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have been to Legume several times for lunch but this was the first time I had dinner there. The food is outstanding, and the portions are just right. Also, our server was above and beyond attentive, and the staff are always so welcoming. We will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice restaurant with a French cuisine ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A nice restaurant with a French cuisine (a peu). Considerate, high quality and thoughtful menu

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food, but horribly slow servic ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very good food, but horribly slow service! This was the only time though after several visits that the service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Waitress was very nice. The food was fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Waitress was very nice. The food was fabulous. It took a very long time to receive our meal. Party of five with most having the chicken under a skillet. Most people in the restaurant that evening must have ordered the same thing, because we were told that the reason for the delay was the number of chicken orders that needed to be prepared. Don't expect to rush yourself when you dine here. The rest of our experience was outstanding. Julie shared a creamy goat cheese and pepper jam appetizer during the lengthy delay, which was thoughtful and delicious!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The evening was ok. We were seated early ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The evening was ok. We were seated early. We ordered drinks and an appetizer. They were delayed being served. The main course came immediately thereafter so we were unable to relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizer. The food was undercooked. Dessert was modest nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our experience at Legume was terrific. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our experience at Legume was terrific. Each of our meals was exactly what we hoped for, although my son's cassoulet may have been my favorite. We were seated immediately, our waiter was very attentive, food arrived in a timely manner- not too fast, not too slow. It was crowded but not loud. Even though every table was filled I felt like our conversation was still private - the tables are appropriately spaced.

I will be back here soon!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of our meals were fantastic and they ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

All of our meals were fantastic and they timed the delivery of the dishes well even though we ordered things with very different cooking times.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Legume is quickly becoming one of our fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Legume is quickly becoming one of our favorite restaurants. Everything about this lovely restaurant seems pretty close to perfect to us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, helpful waiter, ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant, helpful waiter, extremely tasteful food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fresh. I felt full even tho ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was fresh. I felt full even though the food was light, which I am happy about. The choclate truffle cake wass outstanding. I appreciated their patience...I was 45 mins late for my reservation and they let me order food right before the kitchen closed.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, as always. Legume is probably t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Amazing, as always. Legume is probably the best place in Pittsburgh for a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time enjoying the "Ch ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our first time enjoying the "Cheap Date Night" offer of three courses for two people for $50 (total). It was an excellent value. More important, the food was delicious--both the meat (veal sausage) and vegetarian (goulash) options. Indeed, both the soup and the salad options for the opening course were excellent. There was no sense of providing less than Legume's usual fine culinary experience just because it was a special, less expensive offer (including even a discount of the house wine and two draft beers). We hope to go back next month on the first Wednesday for another "cheap date."

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a friends get together with 3 cou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a friends get together with 3 couples (6 of us total). The food was excellent. At first in looking at the menu nothing really jumped out sounding super delicious but when the food came everything was so good. We had the steak, scallops, sweet potato raviolis, and chicken. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their dishes. The waiter was a little short in his answers and wasn't overly nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We went for the 1st Wednesday of the mon ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We went for the 1st Wednesday of the month Date Night! It's a Great bargain and wonderful food/atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there on New Year's Eve, service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate there on New Year's Eve, service and food was great, our server remembered us from our last visit, which was over a month ago. That was pretty cool I thought. They take their time to insure you fully understand the menu and the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.