About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: 4126212700x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Raclette - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Veal Knockwurst - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Chocolate Truffle Cake - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Burger With Gruyere - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA

Report a photo problem

6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
Raclette - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
Veal Knockwurst - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
Chocolate Truffle Cake - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA
Burger With Gruyere - Legume, Pittsburgh, PA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Legume is offering a special prix fixe menu for Valentine's Day, along with a la carte options. Our bar, Butterjoint, will be open for walk-ins and will offer the full Legume menu as well.

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Local Ingredients (38)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Seasonal (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Healthy (20)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Casual (14)
Organic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Great Beer (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The evening was ok. We were seated early ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The evening was ok. We were seated early. We ordered drinks and an appetizer. They were delayed being served. The main course came immediately thereafter so we were unable to relax and enjoy cocktails and appetizer. The food was undercooked. Dessert was modest nothing special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our experience at Legume was terrific. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience at Legume was terrific. Each of our meals was exactly what we hoped for, although my son's cassoulet may have been my favorite. We were seated immediately, our waiter was very attentive, food arrived in a timely manner- not too fast, not too slow. It was crowded but not loud. Even though every table was filled I felt like our conversation was still private - the tables are appropriately spaced.

I will be back here soon!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of our meals were fantastic and they ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 8, 2017

All of our meals were fantastic and they timed the delivery of the dishes well even though we ordered things with very different cooking times.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Legume is quickly becoming one of our fa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Legume is quickly becoming one of our favorite restaurants. Everything about this lovely restaurant seems pretty close to perfect to us.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant, helpful waiter, ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant, helpful waiter, extremely tasteful food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fresh. I felt full even tho ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was fresh. I felt full even though the food was light, which I am happy about. The choclate truffle cake wass outstanding. I appreciated their patience...I was 45 mins late for my reservation and they let me order food right before the kitchen closed.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, as always. Legume is probably t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Amazing, as always. Legume is probably the best place in Pittsburgh for a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time enjoying the "Ch ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our first time enjoying the "Cheap Date Night" offer of three courses for two people for $50 (total). It was an excellent value. More important, the food was delicious--both the meat (veal sausage) and vegetarian (goulash) options. Indeed, both the soup and the salad options for the opening course were excellent. There was no sense of providing less than Legume's usual fine culinary experience just because it was a special, less expensive offer (including even a discount of the house wine and two draft beers). We hope to go back next month on the first Wednesday for another "cheap date."

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a friends get together with 3 cou ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We had a friends get together with 3 couples (6 of us total). The food was excellent. At first in looking at the menu nothing really jumped out sounding super delicious but when the food came everything was so good. We had the steak, scallops, sweet potato raviolis, and chicken. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their dishes. The waiter was a little short in his answers and wasn't overly nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We went for the 1st Wednesday of the mon ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We went for the 1st Wednesday of the month Date Night! It's a Great bargain and wonderful food/atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate there on New Year's Eve, service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate there on New Year's Eve, service and food was great, our server remembered us from our last visit, which was over a month ago. That was pretty cool I thought. They take their time to insure you fully understand the menu and the specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went out to celebrate New Year's Eve. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went out to celebrate New Year's Eve. I initially thought we need to buy the menu, but it turned out we could also order a la carte. I had an amazing rib steak and my fiance had the mackarel. We shared a chocolate truffle cake. Everything was outstanding. The server was a bit strange--I think it was her personality that was a bit rough and perhaps a bit too direct. I guess she was really tired and overwhelmed. She did not rush us, but I could sense that she was very stressed. She radiated stress. The other staff was much more relaxed and friendly.

The place was packed, as it always is.

We loved the food and the atmosphere and we shall definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We have been eating at Legume since they ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We have been eating at Legume since they opened in our neighborhood of Regent Square.

We love everything about Legume and Butterjoint, home of the best burger in the world.

Legume has been our New Year's Eve celebration since they opened on Craig. (That year I had the best soup I've ever had, beef cheek and beet soup.) Unbelievable! The food is spectacular and the wine pairings so much fun!

We can't wait for Pie for Breakfast!

Tags: Vegan, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for New Year's Eve dinner. Fo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went there for New Year's Eve dinner. Food was good, not over the top great but good. A bit pricey for the meal, but I understand that for a holiday limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent all around. Food was superb. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent all around. Food was superb. Great apps and drinks in the bar.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was very tasty - especially t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everything was very tasty - especially the steak tartare, and the fermented pickle starter. There were 2 people in our party who aren't adventurous eaters, and while the menu certainly isn't adventurous, they were a bit concerned with the small selection of entrees. I'm please to report that both thoroughly enjoyed their meal! Our server was very knowledgeable, and attentive. I'd highly recommend Legume.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service...farm to table food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding service...farm to table food prepared carefully and deliciously.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legume is by far one of the best restaur ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Legume is by far one of the best restaurants in the city. The seasonal menu, and how perfectly everything is prepared, will constantly entice you to return. Their soufflé was absolutely phenomenal, the duck, pork, and sausage were succulent beyond belief. My date tried the beef rib steak and believed it was to die for. Not to mention the deserts like the gingerbread and truffle cake were simply astronomical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legume has a very lovely and sophisticat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Legume has a very lovely and sophisticated, but not pretentious atmosphere. The cuisine is mostly local and on point with those who enjoy delicious food. It's a great date place, friend meeting place and business place. The bar, Butterjoint, is connected and has delightful cocktails and a small but intentioned beer list. I recommend for just about any occasion!

Tags: Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was delicious and well-presented. The serving size was just right for our party. The wait staff was very attentive. It was well worth an hour+ drive to eat at this restaurant. I wish the prices were a little lower so that we could afford to eat there more often.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful experience, loved every bite.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wonderful experience, loved every bite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another superb cassoulet from Trevett an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Another superb cassoulet from Trevett and staff. We always look forward to this time of year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OOUTSTANDING AND THE SERVICE WAS WON ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

OOUTSTANDING AND THE SERVICE WAS WONDERFUL WE HAD A GREAT TIME

Tags: Organic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was generally good, t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I thought the food was generally good, though a bit on the ungapatchka side. With a bit more restraint, it would be a top place. For instance, they are not immune to the aioli-with-everything fad. Still, even if you feel like I do that simplicity is a virtue, you'll be fine here as they're happy to omit the ornamentation. Nice beer and wine list, and a good overall balance on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best food we had in Pittsburgh!!! We too ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Best food we had in Pittsburgh!!! We took the cheap date menu, it was perfect and very friendly waiter.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent, servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent, service attentive and professional and overall comfortable and accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu, which changes daily, was mix ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The menu, which changes daily, was mixed in terms of its appeal to our quartet of diners. For example, one of us could find nothing that appealed to her and thus ordered two appetizers. A second member of our party ordered the chicken bolognese, which she disappointedly averred was bereft of flavor. A third ordered what the menu described as "chewy steak from grass-fed beef." He and I, who was offered a sample, agreed that it was not chewy, was quite tasty, and was cooked to order, viz., medium rare. My order, the pork porterhouse, was the evening's catastrophe, for part-way through I discovered to my shock and horror that, while the server had stated when taking my order that it would be cooked to medium, it was bloodily rare, something IMHO to be absolutely avoided when eating pork, irrespective of where it's sourced. To be sure, when alerted to the situation the server apologized and had the remainder of the pork porterhouse retired. Subsequently, and as I would expect from an establishment of the caliber of Légume, I was informed that my meal would be comped and further apologies were offered. Nevertheless, I am far from happy that an inattentive kitchen staff allowed a rare, bloody pork porterhouse to be served and, though this was not my first visit to Légume, I harbor no confidence that I will return. On a more positive note, the cocktails were creative and well-prepared, the wine list was sufficiently extensive to elicit the approval of the oenophile in our party, and the server was efficient and cordial without being intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I would recommend going to Legume for a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I would recommend going to Legume for a special occasion. The food is excellent. The menu is somewhat limited in choices, but they switch it up everyday. Our server and bartender were not overly friendly, but they were very efficient. I would come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great good, we got a new waiter so had s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great good, we got a new waiter so had some issues there but he did his best, not too many complains. Great place would be back soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went here for dinner after Phipps Conser ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Went here for dinner after Phipps Conservatory. There is a parking garage conveniently located across the street so that was very nice. My mom had the rib steak which was tasty and perfectly cooked. I had the pork porterhouse which was also perfectly cooked and extremely flavorful. We ended with getting two desserts, chocolate truffle cake and the gingerbread, to split and both were delicious!

The ambience was very cozy and it was a quiet evening even though most tables looked full.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at.this ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our dinner at.this unique and friendly restaurant. While the menu was small on options, we found interesting entrees that were well prepared and reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One word: Disappointing. I made a reser ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2016

One word: Disappointing. I made a reservation for a Tuesday at 5:45pm, so that we could dine before going to see a 7:30pm show at CMA. We arrived promptly and were quickly seated in the less than crowded dining room. We quickly decided on on of the "signature" cocktails, a blue cheese salad, and an appetizer of goat cheese crostini. The appetizer, salad, and cocktail arrived in a timely manner and were of average tastiness and freshness, but were small in comparison to other nice restaurants in the city. Now we placed our entree orders for the chicken dinner at the exact same time as we placed our salad and appetizer order. So, I was agitated that we waited an HOUR to before our entrees were served. During this inexplicable HOUR long wait, our waitress walked right by us, barely acknowledging us, to wait on other dinners. Finally, at the 55 minute mark our waitress informs us that our entrees are "being plated now." Five minutes later they are finally served to us. Now, being extremely pressed for time we begin to consume the entrees at a less than enjoyable pace. But only after a few bites my date exclaims that his "chicken is still bleeding." Sure enough I looked over at his plate and his chicken leg was oozing blood all over his plate. I offered him my plate, as within the first few bites I had not encountered the same issue and he accepted. However, he again cut into the leg portion of the chicken and yet again, it was so dangerously undercooked that it was bleeding. We quickly gave up, flagged our waitress down and requested the check immediately, as we were going to be late for our show; we also explained to her that our chicken entrees were so undercooked they were not safe to consume. She apologized, brought the check and stated that she had taken the appetizers off of our bill.... that's right the appetizers, the one portion of the meal we completely consumed and mildly enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We went for the Pie for Breakfast previe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went for the Pie for Breakfast preview and it was AMAZING. My friend had the 'Pie for Breakdast', dutch apple pie with cheese and bacon, and I had the breakfast bowl. The breakfast bowl was very flavorful, light but filling. The apple pie was superb as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I enjoyed the variety of food on the men ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I enjoyed the variety of food on the menu even found some vegan choices.

Service was good.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delish as always! Bravo chef Cooper!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Delish as always! Bravo chef Cooper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still my most favorite restaurant in Pit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Still my most favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. This place is fantastic. Highly recommended. I have always had a stellar experience here.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rather disappointed in the cuisine execu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Rather disappointed in the cuisine execution, especially after reading other, far more favorable reviews. Perhaps the Tues nite chef didn't execute properly. Two of the main entrees on the already limited menu were unavailable by 7pm, which seems kind of lame given the holiday week and the very early dinner time. The greens throughout the meal were under-cooked -- I am a fan of braised greens, but these were barely charred and tough to cut with a knife and to chew. The ravioli were practically tasteless with little of the brown butter sauce visible. The best dish (despite the barely-braised greens) was the kale salad, but it boosted but a single white anchovy and practically no Parmesan. Similarly, there was barely a thimble-full of blue cheese on the other salad. Given the prices and reputation, we expected far more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food. Terrible service and took fo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food. Terrible service and took forever. Comped a meal but still wasn't a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Dining at Legume was a fantastic experie ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Dining at Legume was a fantastic experience! Delightful, friendly staff with delicious dishes and crafty cocktails made for a perfect night. I highly recommend Legume!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend Legume for any occasion ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Highly recommend Legume for any occasion - a romantic intimate dinner, great for a group of friends, a business gathering- exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.