About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Open from 4p-8p we are offering our a la carte menu featuring some of our favorite spring dishes!

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (62)
Good for a Date (57)
Local Ingredients (55)
See All
Special Occasion (53)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Seasonal (29)
Romantic (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Cozy (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Healthy (22)
Authentic (21)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Organic (19)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (7)
Vegan (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful and delicious seasonal , locally -sourced food. Everything we ordered was first rate .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good atmosphere. High quality ingredients. Amazing dishes.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love going to Legume, but I think the chef uses too much salt in the starters and entrees. Although I appreciate that salt can enhance taste, I think there needs to be less used, so that the natural flavors of the ingredients can show. Even when I request that no added salt be used, the item is still too salty. I also recognize that many of your items--i.e. Kimchi, marinated parsnips, etc. are, by their nature, salty. I am not referring to these, but to the amount salt used on the starters and entrees.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service attitudes were blase. I just did not get the warm and inviting personality that you want when eating in a restaurant of this caliber. No chit chat or small talk. All business.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I took my niece to Legume for dinner.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.
Excellent choice!
Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My favorite Pittsburgh restaurant. Never disappoints!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Drove 4h. Our one dinner out in PGH-fantastic in every way

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We've gone a couple times and I must say I'm a huge fan. All of the ingredients are local with a rotating seasonal menu. They are very transparent with you about the food, the waiters are knowledgeable and their email newsletter is great. I've experienced some very unique dishes there, and I couldn't be happier with it. I've gone for both a normal sit down dinners and the $50 date night they do the first Wednesday of every month. Date night is a great first time experience for anyone hesitant about their normal prices. There are several selections and you really get a feel for what their menu is like. Can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I am a big fan of Legume and an even bigger fan of cheap date night. The food and the service are excellent. Great drinks and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A favorite with foodies, Legume has great ambiance and service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Legume is an excellent farm-to-table restaurant. Amazing and creative locally-sourced dishes, and the rotating menu leads to cool surprises, with particularly phenomenal desserts! The espresso pot de creme is PERFECT and the royal trumpet mushrooms in the duck ravioli were amazing. Service, seating, ambience was all very nice. Also appreciate that you can get a pot of tea for more than 1 person for $4 (rather than paying $4-5 per person).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Legume has never disappointed. We've eaten here several times and the food and service have always been outstanding. They always have at least one vegan dish, and one seafood; my only desire would be to have a choice of at least two vegan dishes, but this is a minor criticism.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a nice place to eat. For the price and type of food the portions are small, but good. The service is excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Even for regulars as my friend and I are, our Saturday night dinner was outstanding. We had the lamb steak and the walleye pike. We love the Shaker corn as an appetizer and rated the buttermilk sherbert as one of the best ever desserts there. The flavors are outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My friend visiting from out of town and I are foodies, and we both loved all of our courses, her glass of wine, and my Sazerac. I look forward to the next meal at Legume.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Good dinner. Friendly atomsphere nice bar attached to restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

It has been awhile since we have been to Legume. As in the past, the food was delicious and different than any other place we've visited. Our waiter, Jason is the best! Very knowledgeable about the menu and helpful on making a decision on what to order. This is one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very nice dining spot in North Oakland with being stuffy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Loved the tar tar, goat cheese crostini, and the selection of picklebacks was so awesome we had to sample all three! And the bartender made a great French 75.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great anniversary meal. Loved the daily menu, locovore focus and well spaced seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Interesting, creative menu. Service relaxed but sufficiently attentive. Associated with Butterjoint, the bar next door, drink offerings and wine list are extensive for a small restaurant. Other diners mostly elite University crowd on a Tuesday night.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This was our second time at Legume when we visit Pittsburgh. It was again outstanding. The service was excellent and the food top notch. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We eat here semi-regularly before chamber music concerts at the Carnegie. Extremely reliable in terms of food quality, and generally excellent choices in terms of draft beer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Second time we have been in two weeks. The blue fish entree was very dry and tired. Overcooked it seemed. Other entree which was the veal shank ravioli was excellent as were the salads, the desert and the pate.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had an excellent experience at Legume. I ordered the vegetarian entree and it was very good, my husband had a fish based entree and our friend had the lamb -- they thought those were excellent. The "mercy of the bartender" cocktail was outstanding. We will come back to Legume for special occasions or as a treat for family when they visit. The ambiance is peaceful and the service is attentive and knowledgable, but unfussy. We will definitely be back to Legume's bar.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We truly enjoyed our visit at Legume! We particularly enjoyed our appetizers; steak tartar and grilled endive salad. Both were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

wonderful as always -- never disappointed at Legume - one of the jewels in the city of Pittsburgh - had friends from Des Moines, IA who we wanted to introduce to the restaurant, and they were very impressed - a delightful evening - love you, Legume!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Top five meal of my life. The walleye was excellent. Recommend the chocolate cake, grilled escarole salad. Tables too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent. Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The menu is too limited for my taste. Also, the service was way too slow - 15 minutes for a glass of wine to be brought, not just once but twice. I am an experimenter in eating but raclette with kimchi is bizarre and not tasty. Popcorn grits are to die for however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food is just wonderful! Ingredients are locally sourced. Love the tables, made from one piece of wood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The pate appetizer was tasty and the desserts were good. The entres were disappointing. One meal was dry and kept in the oven/ceramic serving ware too long. That guest ate very little of the meal which the waiter noticed and asked the reason. The manager comped the meal. The other entre was "all bone". The waiter did try to explain the cut of lamb stating that the meat "was on either side of a long bone"; however, my friend had difficulty cutting the meat away from the bone and there was very, very little to eat. It would have been better for the waiter to suggest not getting it and instead ordering the other cut of lamb which was prepared the same way. The waiter's demeanor while professional was not welcoming. We were celebrating a birthday that evening and hoped for a more memorable dinner. I would not rush to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The menu was diverse and exciting. The cocktails list was especially unique. The yellowfin tuna was prepared in a manner that made it one of the best pieces of fish I've ever tasted. We were able to get in and out quickly, but clearly could have taken as much as time as desired to enjoy our meals. I look forward to going back to another refreshing version of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Legume and we were very pleased with the experience. Our entrees were delicious, but the desserts were especially remarkable (chocolate truffle cake and black walnut cake). We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Going to Legume for dinner is always an adventure for me. I believe your prices have increased significantly since I remember being there. I'm not used to paying $42 for an entrée. However the food was well and thoughtfully prepared and very tasty. We all enjoyed our meals. The menu was innovative and our selections gave us a good mix of nutrients. Our servers were so helpful describing choices and answering our questions. The ambience was quiet and conducive to easy conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Pleasant surprise. Heard from friends how great the place is. Felt like larger cosmopolitan city restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I felt the menu was pricey for the limited items on the menu. I'd eat at Butterjoint next door to try that more modestly priced menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Exellent food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We love love love going to Legume. I have never had anything I didn't love there. I think it is because they are so creative in their combinations and almost everything includes pickled something ( which we love) except of course desert.

Their approach to food is locally sourced, fresh is possible and if not they can or pickle or preserve themselves. YUM!

We love their date night the first Wednesday of the month so for 50 $ per couple plus a few extra dollars for booze you can have an amazing meal for two.

Have i mentioned how much i love Legume???

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.