About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine and a full service bar, the Butterjoint. Legume is now serving lunch Monday through Friday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! Our private dining room seats up to 12 people, making it ideal for an intimate dinner. Several menu options are available, including a custom chef's tasting menu.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Hooper: 4126212700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
  • Raclette
  • Veal Knockwurst
  • Chocolate Truffle Cake
  • Burger With Gruyere
6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
Raclette
Veal Knockwurst
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Burger With Gruyere

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
1 More
American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

fit for foodies (111)
special occasion (78)
neighborhood gem (60)
See All
good for groups (45)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (24)
vibrant bar scene (24)
hot spot (21)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (5)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, and I found Legume on Open Table. A friend then confirmed that it was a good choice. Portion sizes were perfect--not huge--just enough to eat and still have room for a superb dessert. Appreciated the special July vegetarian focus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I st ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I still remember the foie gras. Wine choices were excellent. Duck and Red Snapper were cooked to perfection attended by a wonderful sauce. My wife and I had a delightful time!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here for dinner on my husband's bir ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Came here for dinner on my husband's birthday and couldn't be happier with the service and food. Great menu selection with a variety of different items. Steak cooked perfectly, chicken nice and juicy, tasty vegetables and grains with each meal. Love seeing Arsenal cider on the drink menu as well! For dessert, our server brought out our peach crisp with a candle on it for the birthday celebration, but nothing more dramatic than that, which was fantastic. A little special treat without being overblown and embarrassing. Thanks Legume!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was wonderful and Jen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always the food was wonderful and Jenn H., our server that evening, kept up the high standards of service that marks Legume. She was very willing to assist in our menu decisions and recommend a good bottle of wine. Keep up the great work. I can't wait to get back and dine again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely served. We weren't rushed through the meal even on a Friday night. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely noisy party i n next room made ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Extremely noisy party i n next room made it impossible to talk. Very disappointed in the vegetarian choices (for which we came) -- terribly salty, too much pickled stuff, very oily. Pretty bad, considering our non veggie friends had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

My sisters and I ate dinner here before ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My sisters and I ate dinner here before an event. We are not in Oakland very often and were unsure where to go so we typed in the zip code in OT and found a reasonably priced place with an open reservation close to the venue. We were unsure what to expect but Legume impressed us greatly! The service was friendly, helpful and quick. The food was amazing!!! The menu scared us a little because we aren't foodies and were unsure about a lot but we were pleasantly surprised by all 3 of our dishes and the appetizer. Next time we will make sure we save enough time to try dessert. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Legume and enjoy when we come he ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love Legume and enjoy when we come here for a special occasion. My wife and I are both vegetarian and they typically have very good options for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Legume many times, never ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have been to Legume many times, never had such a bad experience. Food took FOREVER to arrive - 2 hours from start to finish. Our waiter was rude (Alan). I ordered ravioli and my boyfriend ordered the walleye. My dish was really undercooked, the pasta was chewy. The walleye dish was soupy and tasteless. I don't know if the restaurant was short staffed, but I have doubts about ever returning after this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Vegetarian tasting menu was great. A gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu was great. A great addition to the Pgh dining scene. Wine list is pricey; did not see one table with a bottle of wine. There is a half-litre carafe option that is reasonable. We'll be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place! July is vegetarian month, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place! July is vegetarian month, and all of the vegetables were amazing, even the chickpea stew, which had enough spices and greens to be delicious, and the borscht and steak tartare were even better (the kitchen had run out but was able to make us a half-portion). That brings me to the service, which was excellent. Our server was incredibly fun and helpful with my food allergies, and an expert on the food. The wine list had a lot of great options, and the cocktail bar next door is a great place to hang out before or after dinner! My only quibble would be with the dessert--the pavlova was overbaked and far too sugary, making it very dry. Overall though, a great experience; we'll definitely return the next time we're in Pittsburgh!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Just right. Interesting but not self ind ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just right. Interesting but not self indulgent variations on bistro fare and American standards. Great cocktails too. Nice prix fix menu. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legume never disappoints. You leave feel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Legume never disappoints. You leave feeling satisfied from a healthy and deliciously fresh meal. The service is always great and any question you ask about menu/food is met with a knowledgable response. All food is seasonal, fresh and perfectly prepared. Sure to please the palette of any foodie.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Legume and i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is our second visit to Legume and it was as good as ever. We enjoyed their fish dishes in particular this time. And the pavlova was amazing. Lovely atmosphere and the service attentive and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, lunch, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One can tell that the ingredients of eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One can tell that the ingredients of every dish are fresh. The menu does not offer too ample a selection but one can expect anything on it to be just perfect. I had calf liver (which is hard to cook well) and it was delicious. My husband steak was as tender as butter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. The food was good, but not especially notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Consistently delicious, creative, and relaxing. We appreciate that they try to offer locally sourced food. The portions are just the right amount and I'm always pleasantly full and not stuffed, and sometimes have food for the next day. I love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! My dinner was exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful experience! My dinner was excellent. The service was great. I will continue to return to Legume!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD peop ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD people.. The waiter we had (forgot his name) moved us to a quiet area without any issue at all. We were the last ones left in the restaurant, and nobody was pushing us to leave... Great staff, eclectic menu, pretty good wine.. definitely reccomend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing, so was the service. I wish we were able to try more different dishes there, so will have to come back again :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten there before and food was exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Have eaten there before and food was excellent (as it always has been). Desserts were also excellent.

Server was very knowledgeable and patiently explaining the various menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, a res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, a restaurant that is a "must visit" every time we are in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

always fantastic food, serivce and overa ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

always fantastic food, serivce and overall value

best farm to table and organic offerings!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a great atmosphere for any s ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

If you want a great atmosphere for any special occasion, amazing service, and seasonal- PERFECTLY executed food than Legume is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and cocktails were amazing. On ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and cocktails were amazing. One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great experience as always. One of my f ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great experience as always. One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Consistently exceptional food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely dining room that felt open and sp ...

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Lovely dining room that felt open and spacious. We were barely aware of other customers. Wine choices were excellent. The food was exceptional, although everyone agreed my vegetarian choice was the best. They graciously served two Bowls of soup portioned into four bowls so everyone could try it. The only negative was the drinks we had in the bar prior to being seated. The drinks were uninspired, and rather light on the gin.

Overall, a very pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is absolutely a top three restauran ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This is absolutely a top three restaurant in Pittsburgh. Everything this kitchen puts out is thoroughly planned, thoughtfully paired and perfectly executed. Front of the house perfectly represents the kitchen with knowledge of the ingredients, nightly menu, and cocktail/wine pairings. Never had less than a 10/10 experience from Chef Hooper and his team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The goat was excellent. Will get it ag ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The goat was excellent. Will get it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lovely Dining Experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a writers' conference. We met my parents at Legume for dinner. It was the best meal we ate all weekend! I had the veal shoulder and my husband ordered the goat shoulder. Both dishes were perfectly cooked and delicious! We also shared the melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake dessert. The service was impeccable. Thank you, Legume, for a wonderful night out in the beautiful city of Pittsburgh!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner! The food was amazing! We truly enjoy the attention to detail, the fresh foods and the overall care to deliver amazingly crafted dishes. The service was impecable!

My only recommendation is to work on lowering the music volume. It was unusually loud, for some reason... Maybe softer music?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing but I h ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was amazing but I have to admit for the price I found the ambience just kind of blah.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Treat for out-of-towner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

An out-of-towner (Washington, DC), I discovered Legume through Pittsburgh Magazine. I actually dined there on back-to-back evenings. An excellent chilled asparagus/leek soup was the highlight both nights. An entree centering on crispy farro was creative, novel and good, if not spectacular, with a little too much emphasis on the farmers cheese, and not enough on the farro. My second entree of goat neck ravioli was very good, with the ravioli perfectly al dente. The rustic bread, with nicely softened butter, was also very good. The ambience both evenings was very nice and the service was attentive, professional and non-annoying. My partner for one meal, a Manhattanite, thought the quality of the decor did not match that of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love Legume, we have been patrons ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Always love Legume, we have been patrons since it opened in Regent Square & enjoyed the 10th anniversary special!

Love the newsletter keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Legume for many years ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been going to Legume for many years, and I never grow tired of it. The menu is short, but it changes all the time, with dishes the defy any particular category or ethnicity.

The service people are friendly and knowledgable. It's usually crowded, and a bit noisy, but not so much to prevent conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine sa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine salad were a great way to start with the Halibut and Steak entrees maybe being some of the best dishes we've ever had! Done absolutely perfectly! And save room for dessert as the buttermilk poundcake and goose egg flan were a perfect way to finish off. Thanks to Chef Trevitt and our server Jason for helping to make this a perfect Mothers Day Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious for both gluten free eaters and not.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had several choices even though I am gluten intolerant. If you do not drink they also offer mocktails which was great. My husband had the lobster ravioli which he said was delicious. I enjoyed the polenta vegetable entrée and the custard dessert. My husband had the delicious rhubarb cobbler and some nice wines. I also enjoyed their asparagus soup; he had a salad.

Overall it was a very nice dinner around 5 pm on Mother's day. Then we went to see a play.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food and drinks!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This was my second attempt at dining at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my second attempt at dining at Legume, the first shortly after they moved to Craig Street. I was not very impressed with my first dining experience although the service was excellent.

Now, a year or so later, I thought I would try again. The service was again excellent, but my entree was fair at best, although the dandelion salad was excellent. I was disappointed with the roasted chicken which came highly recommended, it being small and slightly undercooked. I probably will not try Legume a third time.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the go ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the goat sausage with onion confit and pierogies and loved them. The fourth, a vegetarian was happy with an appetizer of pickled radishes and a salad with goat cheese and some beautiful sprouts. The wait staff were very attuned to our timing as we had to be out at a certain time for a concert. They timed appetizers and entrees accordingly. Very accommodating

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.