About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (65)
Local Ingredients (62)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Seasonal (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Organic (23)
Cozy (23)
Healthy (22)
Business Meals (21)
Modern Decor (21)
Authentic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Vegan (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Graduation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice new vib; fresh seasonal ingredients; very well versed waiter with the dishes; one of Pittsburgh's new foodie restaurants

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A hot date. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic -- our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the staff superb...our waiter especially so as he was familiar with the wine list, the pairings and the food and it's sourcing.

We really enjoyed the grass-fed steak and innovative appetizers and entrees.

Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Surprisingly few vegetarian options for a restaurant named Legume. Limited menu with everything very fresh and well prepared. Good selection of bourbon and scotch. Great bar with delicious high-end hamburgers next door.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Efficient but not pushy service. Food was interesting and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a very nice dinner, as usual. The service was slow this particular visit. We were a bit slow to order but waited a very long time between our 2nd and 3rd courses. No explanation was given. Other tables seemed to be served in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Phenomenal dinner during Legumes Rosé week-3 courses paired with absolutely perfectly matched wines. One of the best dinners we've had in recent years. Thoughtful tasty dishes. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, a very positive experience -- the food was excellent, marred just a bit by the otherwise tasty sausage being a tad too salty for my taste.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was fantastic. I had the curried goat shoulder as my entree and it was excellent. Not quite a fine dining restaurant​ but everything I ordered had amazing flavor. I would definitely recommend Legume.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent nouveau American using locally sourced ingredients. Menu changes with the season but options are probably always fresh and inventive. Raclette with kimchi appetizer, faro, and halibut with asparagus were favorites. Dessert menu is also very well done. Service is more formal than the restaurants atmosphere might suggest, but this doesn't detract from the overall experience. Just keep in mind the room can be a bit dark and noisy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Not sure why he'd been to Legume for a year. It is always great and was again on Saturday. Seasonal ingredients are featured on a limited ever-changing menu. The only consistency is the quality of the service and very informed helpful wait staff. Stinging nettle soup is not something you run across everywhere, but if it can made this good you'd want it more than once in a lifetime. A unique preparation of beef liver, cut in the shape of a filet mignon, wrapped in ramp and roasted, a perfect medium rare; it tasted like liver but also like a fine steak. Served with "running onions" and smashed potatoes. Topped the meal off with a light panna cotta with [probably NOT locally sourced] mango. Even the beer was unusual [a sour taste that went perfectly with the bread and butter and the soup] and excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had the rhubarb-glazed bluefish, which was excellent. All the food is natural, local, and seasonal. The menu has great vegetarian options. Our waitress was very attentive. The ambience is very comfortable and quiet on one side, ideal for conversation, and more upbeat and exciting at the neighboring bar. This is a great place for a date.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was nothing exciting. Kind of tastless. Won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had heard such great things about this restaurant, but the menu was very weird. Among us, it was hard to find something to order! It was even tricky to figure out the menu. I understand and appreciate creative cuisine, but the chef was trying so hard to be unique that it's challenging to find something on the menu that seem palatable. Food was good, but not great, which makes the creativity, in my mind, an unsuccessful attempt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we went with a group, was seated right away with reservation, drink selection was great. food was amazing and different.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great meal! This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best service I've had in many years! Fantastic food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding! The server was extremely knowledgeable of the entire menu. She recommended a great wine and her smile was extremely warm and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We dined here for the first time to celebrate our first year of dating, and just dined here again for our first wedding anniversary. Everything we've tried has been incredible.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I am happy the minute I walk in the door. Food, service, atmosphere suits me down to the ground. I don't know how a place can be both cozy and elegant, but Legume artfully is. Caressable -hand-crafted tables, quality art, mostly local, adds warmth and individuality. Carefully grown and produced food products, mostly organic and local, support the skill and depth of the cooking. To say nothing of smashing cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Wonderful and delicious seasonal , locally -sourced food. Everything we ordered was first rate .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Good atmosphere. High quality ingredients. Amazing dishes.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I love going to Legume, but I think the chef uses too much salt in the starters and entrees. Although I appreciate that salt can enhance taste, I think there needs to be less used, so that the natural flavors of the ingredients can show. Even when I request that no added salt be used, the item is still too salty. I also recognize that many of your items--i.e. Kimchi, marinated parsnips, etc. are, by their nature, salty. I am not referring to these, but to the amount salt used on the starters and entrees.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service attitudes were blase. I just did not get the warm and inviting personality that you want when eating in a restaurant of this caliber. No chit chat or small talk. All business.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I took my niece to Legume for dinner.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and the food.
Excellent choice!
Will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My favorite Pittsburgh restaurant. Never disappoints!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Drove 4h. Our one dinner out in PGH-fantastic in every way

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Another lovely meal at Legume. Our drinks were delicious, the starters very yummy. Entress were good (for some reason, we always like our starers/apps more than entrees everywhere we go.) Great dessert. Server was VERY good, great wine recs to match with our meals. We just did by the glass and both loved our choices.
This is a lovely place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We've gone a couple times and I must say I'm a huge fan. All of the ingredients are local with a rotating seasonal menu. They are very transparent with you about the food, the waiters are knowledgeable and their email newsletter is great. I've experienced some very unique dishes there, and I couldn't be happier with it. I've gone for both a normal sit down dinners and the $50 date night they do the first Wednesday of every month. Date night is a great first time experience for anyone hesitant about their normal prices. There are several selections and you really get a feel for what their menu is like. Can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I am a big fan of Legume and an even bigger fan of cheap date night. The food and the service are excellent. Great drinks and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 3, 2017

A favorite with foodies, Legume has great ambiance and service.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Organic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Legume is an excellent farm-to-table restaurant. Amazing and creative locally-sourced dishes, and the rotating menu leads to cool surprises, with particularly phenomenal desserts! The espresso pot de creme is PERFECT and the royal trumpet mushrooms in the duck ravioli were amazing. Service, seating, ambience was all very nice. Also appreciate that you can get a pot of tea for more than 1 person for $4 (rather than paying $4-5 per person).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Legume has never disappointed. We've eaten here several times and the food and service have always been outstanding. They always have at least one vegan dish, and one seafood; my only desire would be to have a choice of at least two vegan dishes, but this is a minor criticism.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is a nice place to eat. For the price and type of food the portions are small, but good. The service is excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Even for regulars as my friend and I are, our Saturday night dinner was outstanding. We had the lamb steak and the walleye pike. We love the Shaker corn as an appetizer and rated the buttermilk sherbert as one of the best ever desserts there. The flavors are outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My friend visiting from out of town and I are foodies, and we both loved all of our courses, her glass of wine, and my Sazerac. I look forward to the next meal at Legume.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.