About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine and a full service bar, the Butterjoint. Legume is now serving lunch Monday through Friday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! Our private dining room seats up to 12 people, making it ideal for an intimate dinner. Several menu options are available, including a custom chef's tasting menu.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Hooper: 4126212700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
  • Raclette
  • Veal Knockwurst
  • Chocolate Truffle Cake
  • Burger With Gruyere
6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
Raclette
Veal Knockwurst
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Burger With Gruyere

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
1 More
American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

Fit for Foodies (103)
Special Occasion (81)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
See All
Good for Groups (39)
Romantic (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Notable Wine List (25)
Hot Spot (18)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was an exceptionally delicious meal ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was an exceptionally delicious meal. We had salads, soup and fish dishes.

Dessert was a yummy cobbler we shared.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service - we always e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and service - we always enjoy Legume for a very nice evening dinner out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, but our server was a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent, but our server was amazing. The right balance of attention without interrupting. It was a terrific night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, deliciously prepared, an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food, deliciously prepared, and outstanding service personable service. My husband and I love going here for date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I indicated noise level as moderate - th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I indicated noise level as moderate - this may have been largely due to the fact that we were seated near the kitchen.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually love this restaurant but our ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We usually love this restaurant but our experience was terrible with a one hour wait for our food and inattentive wait staff. Please hire people who care about what they do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Take it from a Frenchman who is used to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Take it from a Frenchman who is used to good food, the modestly called "Bistro Legume" serves delicious dishes. The emphasis here is on the quality of the food, but the atmosphere and the service are very nice as well. My wife and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with everything: the smoked bluefish pâté (an unusual appetizer that we highly recommend), the striped bass with creative accompaniment, the outstanding veal loin entrée, and finally the remarkable peach and blueberry crisp with vanilla ice cream for dessert. Our wines included an excellent prosecco (much better than most), an interesting capa (spanish bubbly), and a great pinot noir from California. Valet parking is across the street for only $3. The overall price reflects the high quality but you come out feeling that it was well worth the very satisfying experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely loved Legume - I'd describe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I absolutely loved Legume - I'd describe it as a place with really balanced, delicate flavors, which are pretty rare even in high-end restaurants. Everything we ate was elegantly presented and tasted wonderful.

We were there for dinner for a special occasion, and the staff worked hard to deliver on a dietary restriction and birthday surprise. I can't remember the name of the hostess and the server, but both were friendly, funny, and engaging!

I will be visiting Legume again the next time I'm in Pittsburgh. Would recommend 11/10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh!!! Grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh!!!

Great for vegetarians & meat-lovers alike.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, creative cocktails....tr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food, creative cocktails....try "Bartender's Choice" and have a tasty surprise well crafted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A wonderfully paced meal with special in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A wonderfully paced meal with special ingredients, prepared thoughtfully and served with profession and care by Jennifer our server. Legume is a special dining experience that has a limited daily menu that provides freshly sourced meals to a discerning diner. It is not the place to rush a meal but to relax, enjoy your company and soak up the niceties in life. Wonderful drinks, wine list and desserts. Without a doubt one of Pittsburgh's gems.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Being v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Being vegetarian I was happy to see that I had choices and they were extremely delicious.

The chocolate truffle cake was heaven and just the right size. I dislike large servings and all the servings were appropriate, at least for me.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a disappointing evening. I norma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was a disappointing evening. I normally visit the restaurant when in Pittsburgh. They were overbooked and understaffed. Dinner took 1 hour and 10 minutes to arrived. People next to us complained and were treated to appetizers. Salad with roasted peaches excellent. Vegetarian platter was very good but a bit too much oil. Desserts looked better than they tasted. Bread always excellent sour dough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

There were some timing issues with the s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

There were some timing issues with the service, but the staff was friendly and the food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent farm-fresh simple food. Attent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent farm-fresh simple food. Attentive service in a relaxing environment.

Great for both vegetarians and carnivores.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and amazing food. Ca ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional service and amazing food. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere, service was great. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food, atmosphere, service was great. Very accommodating to my food allergies.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, and I found Legume on Open Table. A friend then confirmed that it was a good choice. Portion sizes were perfect--not huge--just enough to eat and still have room for a superb dessert. Appreciated the special July vegetarian focus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I st ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I still remember the foie gras. Wine choices were excellent. Duck and Red Snapper were cooked to perfection attended by a wonderful sauce. My wife and I had a delightful time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here for dinner on my husband's bir ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came here for dinner on my husband's birthday and couldn't be happier with the service and food. Great menu selection with a variety of different items. Steak cooked perfectly, chicken nice and juicy, tasty vegetables and grains with each meal. Love seeing Arsenal cider on the drink menu as well! For dessert, our server brought out our peach crisp with a candle on it for the birthday celebration, but nothing more dramatic than that, which was fantastic. A little special treat without being overblown and embarrassing. Thanks Legume!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was wonderful and Jen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always the food was wonderful and Jenn H., our server that evening, kept up the high standards of service that marks Legume. She was very willing to assist in our menu decisions and recommend a good bottle of wine. Keep up the great work. I can't wait to get back and dine again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely served. We weren't rushed through the meal even on a Friday night. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely noisy party i n next room made ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Extremely noisy party i n next room made it impossible to talk. Very disappointed in the vegetarian choices (for which we came) -- terribly salty, too much pickled stuff, very oily. Pretty bad, considering our non veggie friends had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

My sisters and I ate dinner here before ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My sisters and I ate dinner here before an event. We are not in Oakland very often and were unsure where to go so we typed in the zip code in OT and found a reasonably priced place with an open reservation close to the venue. We were unsure what to expect but Legume impressed us greatly! The service was friendly, helpful and quick. The food was amazing!!! The menu scared us a little because we aren't foodies and were unsure about a lot but we were pleasantly surprised by all 3 of our dishes and the appetizer. Next time we will make sure we save enough time to try dessert. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Legume and enjoy when we come he ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love Legume and enjoy when we come here for a special occasion. My wife and I are both vegetarian and they typically have very good options for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Legume many times, never ha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Have been to Legume many times, never had such a bad experience. Food took FOREVER to arrive - 2 hours from start to finish. Our waiter was rude (Alan). I ordered ravioli and my boyfriend ordered the walleye. My dish was really undercooked, the pasta was chewy. The walleye dish was soupy and tasteless. I don't know if the restaurant was short staffed, but I have doubts about ever returning after this experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Vegetarian tasting menu was great. A gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu was great. A great addition to the Pgh dining scene. Wine list is pricey; did not see one table with a bottle of wine. There is a half-litre carafe option that is reasonable. We'll be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place! July is vegetarian month, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place! July is vegetarian month, and all of the vegetables were amazing, even the chickpea stew, which had enough spices and greens to be delicious, and the borscht and steak tartare were even better (the kitchen had run out but was able to make us a half-portion). That brings me to the service, which was excellent. Our server was incredibly fun and helpful with my food allergies, and an expert on the food. The wine list had a lot of great options, and the cocktail bar next door is a great place to hang out before or after dinner! My only quibble would be with the dessert--the pavlova was overbaked and far too sugary, making it very dry. Overall though, a great experience; we'll definitely return the next time we're in Pittsburgh!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Just right. Interesting but not self ind ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Just right. Interesting but not self indulgent variations on bistro fare and American standards. Great cocktails too. Nice prix fix menu. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legume never disappoints. You leave feel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Legume never disappoints. You leave feeling satisfied from a healthy and deliciously fresh meal. The service is always great and any question you ask about menu/food is met with a knowledgable response. All food is seasonal, fresh and perfectly prepared. Sure to please the palette of any foodie.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our second visit to Legume and i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is our second visit to Legume and it was as good as ever. We enjoyed their fish dishes in particular this time. And the pavlova was amazing. Lovely atmosphere and the service attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings, Lunch, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romance, Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One can tell that the ingredients of eve ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

One can tell that the ingredients of every dish are fresh. The menu does not offer too ample a selection but one can expect anything on it to be just perfect. I had calf liver (which is hard to cook well) and it was delicious. My husband steak was as tender as butter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Menu was a little disappointing- not as ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Menu was a little disappointing- not as many things sounded good to me or my husband. So we both had the same thing which I hate to do! Both had the salmon. It was delicious. Perfectly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. The food was good, but not especially notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. C ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Consistently delicious, creative, and relaxing. We appreciate that they try to offer locally sourced food. The portions are just the right amount and I'm always pleasantly full and not stuffed, and sometimes have food for the next day. I love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! My dinner was exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful experience! My dinner was excellent. The service was great. I will continue to return to Legume!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD peop ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD people.. The waiter we had (forgot his name) moved us to a quiet area without any issue at all. We were the last ones left in the restaurant, and nobody was pushing us to leave... Great staff, eclectic menu, pretty good wine.. definitely reccomend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing, so was the service. I wish we were able to try more different dishes there, so will have to come back again :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have eaten there before and food was exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Have eaten there before and food was excellent (as it always has been). Desserts were also excellent.

Server was very knowledgeable and patiently explaining the various menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, a res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, a restaurant that is a "must visit" every time we are in Pittsburgh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.