About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours through Labor Day
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 9:30 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (62)
Local Ingredients (54)
Good for a Date (49)
See All
Special Occasion (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Seasonal (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Romantic (28)
Organic (25)
Authentic (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Healthy (21)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fun (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (6)
Vegan (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great food at Legume, and discreet, though friendly service. A favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The meat and salmon amazing. Chicken was under cooked and they forgot to bring apart of the order. Place was empty by 10:30 pm.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Farm to table restaurant with fresh seasonal vegetables and sustainable meat and fish products. Service team is super knowledgeable and had great menu suggestions. Highly recommend for a special occasion! Although pricey, worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was absolutely delicious. We started with the salmon tartar, served with crustini, which was awesome. Then we had the three course menu, which started with a soup, then a corn grit caked served over carrot puree an trumpet mushrooms (which might have been the tastiest thing I've ever had), and then finished with goat legs in a rubard chutney, which was also excellent. The service was also wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Old friends who used to live in San Diego and now line in Pittsburgh and New York. We hadn't seen each other in 5 years and came to dinner pre-concert. Chris our server was attentive and charismatic. We were comfortable and the food was amazing! We enjoyed pre-dinner drnks and wine with our meal of salmon. Here are a few pics. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was absolutely fabulous! One of the best meals I've had in quite some time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We went for their "Cheap Date Night" (The first Wednesday of the month), where they put together a 3 course meal for $50 PER COUPLE! The food was so unbelievable that we booked a reservation for next month before even leaving the restaurant!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is a place that never disappoints. The food is fresh and every detail is attended to. Our server was being trained, as his training waitstaff indicated to us at the outset, but he was already very sharp and familiar with most of the menu items first hand. The evening's menu is posted at 5 p.m. each day and I had surveyed it in advance. I was in the mood for beef and was disappointed that a previously listed ribeye steak had been replaced by a "bavette" which I had to look up. It's essentially flank steak/london broil. All of the butchering of beef is done at the restaurant from grass fed, recently slaughtered animals, so I had no hesitation in selecting this and was very pleased with my quite generous and very delicious med-rare entrée. The chilled soup wih mint first course was a wonderful, non-filling way to start off, and the wines-by-the glass selections were top notch. Although it was really not a problem, our table was in the window on the other side of which was the sidewalk with pedestrians walking by. Go there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was delicious and fun and beautiful and we loved it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Exceptional food, service and overall experience. Cannot wait for this establishment's new restaurant Pie for Breakfast to open this year. Legume is a real gem in our great city. The local sourcing of food and commitment to organic sources is tremendous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always very much enjoy Legume. The food and wait staff were excellent as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Staff is attentive, the meal of bluefish, fresh asparagus was perfectly prepared. A rhubarb glaze provided slight sweetness to the fish and grilled vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food great,as is service,love the wines -a bit pricey

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Outstanding meal from start to finish. Great service and amazing food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Legume has been the best restaurant in the Oakland/Shadyside region of Pittsburgh for a decade without question. In fact, though I think of it as a "neighborhood" restaurants, it is worth a drive. Everything about it is outstanding...and they even hard indoor parking across the street at almost no cost!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Exceptional costumer service and even better food. Will continue to go here for exquisitely cooked fish.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Graduation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice new vib; fresh seasonal ingredients; very well versed waiter with the dishes; one of Pittsburgh's new foodie restaurants

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was amazing. Felt the Staff could have been more attentive. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have enjoyed about 10 dinners at Legume over the past two years. The food has always been excellent. This restaurant has always been my first choice when I want to chat with friends and enjoy a great meal.

However, I do not plan to return to Legume because, during my most recent visit, the noise level was too high; and, the noise was rap music played through the restaurant's stereo system!

We, 3 women, had a 5:30 pm reservation on a Monday evening. We were seated in the front room , (with windows facing Craig St.)

On arrival, we asked the hostess to turn down the volume of the music. Even after she reduced the volume, the noise was still very annoying. When we asked if she would turn the music off in our room, she told us that she needed to please other patrons. The only other patron was an elderly man eating alone, reading a newspaper.

Finally, we asked to speak to the manager. He told us that many people want to hear music when they enter a restaurant.

When I told him that I was not planning to return to Legume because of this annoying ambience, he said, "Fine, I'll turn it off."

It is a shame that the careful work performed by owner, Mr. Hooper, in the creation of a fine restaurant can be ruined by an employee's choice of the volume and type of music.

My friends, retirees with money and the time to enjoy good food in a pleasant environment, avoid those restaurants where the noise level is so high that conversation is impeded.

I strongly suggest that Mr. Hooper survey his restaurant clients regarding the preferred auditory environment during a good meal with friends. If he learns that most clients share my preference, I hope he chooses a background of silence. And, I hope he informs me of this improvement.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A hot date. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic -- our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh

Tags: Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was excellent and the staff superb...our waiter especially so as he was familiar with the wine list, the pairings and the food and it's sourcing.

We really enjoyed the grass-fed steak and innovative appetizers and entrees.

Highly recommend!!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Surprisingly few vegetarian options for a restaurant named Legume. Limited menu with everything very fresh and well prepared. Good selection of bourbon and scotch. Great bar with delicious high-end hamburgers next door.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Efficient but not pushy service. Food was interesting and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a very nice dinner, as usual. The service was slow this particular visit. We were a bit slow to order but waited a very long time between our 2nd and 3rd courses. No explanation was given. Other tables seemed to be served in a timely manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Phenomenal dinner during Legumes Rosé week-3 courses paired with absolutely perfectly matched wines. One of the best dinners we've had in recent years. Thoughtful tasty dishes. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall, a very positive experience -- the food was excellent, marred just a bit by the otherwise tasty sausage being a tad too salty for my taste.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The food was fantastic. I had the curried goat shoulder as my entree and it was excellent. Not quite a fine dining restaurant​ but everything I ordered had amazing flavor. I would definitely recommend Legume.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent nouveau American using locally sourced ingredients. Menu changes with the season but options are probably always fresh and inventive. Raclette with kimchi appetizer, faro, and halibut with asparagus were favorites. Dessert menu is also very well done. Service is more formal than the restaurants atmosphere might suggest, but this doesn't detract from the overall experience. Just keep in mind the room can be a bit dark and noisy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Not sure why he'd been to Legume for a year. It is always great and was again on Saturday. Seasonal ingredients are featured on a limited ever-changing menu. The only consistency is the quality of the service and very informed helpful wait staff. Stinging nettle soup is not something you run across everywhere, but if it can made this good you'd want it more than once in a lifetime. A unique preparation of beef liver, cut in the shape of a filet mignon, wrapped in ramp and roasted, a perfect medium rare; it tasted like liver but also like a fine steak. Served with "running onions" and smashed potatoes. Topped the meal off with a light panna cotta with [probably NOT locally sourced] mango. Even the beer was unusual [a sour taste that went perfectly with the bread and butter and the soup] and excellent.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had the rhubarb-glazed bluefish, which was excellent. All the food is natural, local, and seasonal. The menu has great vegetarian options. Our waitress was very attentive. The ambience is very comfortable and quiet on one side, ideal for conversation, and more upbeat and exciting at the neighboring bar. This is a great place for a date.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was nothing exciting. Kind of tastless. Won't go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had heard such great things about this restaurant, but the menu was very weird. Among us, it was hard to find something to order! It was even tricky to figure out the menu. I understand and appreciate creative cuisine, but the chef was trying so hard to be unique that it's challenging to find something on the menu that seem palatable. Food was good, but not great, which makes the creativity, in my mind, an unsuccessful attempt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

we went with a group, was seated right away with reservation, drink selection was great. food was amazing and different.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great meal! This is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best service I've had in many years! Fantastic food!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Outstanding! The server was extremely knowledgeable of the entire menu. She recommended a great wine and her smile was extremely warm and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We dined here for the first time to celebrate our first year of dating, and just dined here again for our first wedding anniversary. Everything we've tried has been incredible.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.