About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine and a full service bar, the Butterjoint. Legume is now serving lunch Monday through Friday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! Our private dining room seats up to 12 people, making it ideal for an intimate dinner. Several menu options are available, including a custom chef's tasting menu.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Hooper: 4126212700x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
  • Raclette
  • Veal Knockwurst
  • Chocolate Truffle Cake
  • Burger With Gruyere
6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
Raclette
Veal Knockwurst
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Burger With Gruyere

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
1 More
American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

fit for foodies (101)
special occasion (74)
neighborhood gem (60)
See All
good for groups (39)
romantic (30)
vibrant bar scene (27)
notable wine list (22)
hot spot (17)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Our server, Jason, made our meal for us. The food was good, but not especially notable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. C ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Consistently delicious, creative, and relaxing. We appreciate that they try to offer locally sourced food. The portions are just the right amount and I'm always pleasantly full and not stuffed, and sometimes have food for the next day. I love this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience! My dinner was exc ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Wonderful experience! My dinner was excellent. The service was great. I will continue to return to Legume!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD peop ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Got seated next to some REALLY LOUD people.. The waiter we had (forgot his name) moved us to a quiet area without any issue at all. We were the last ones left in the restaurant, and nobody was pushing us to leave... Great staff, eclectic menu, pretty good wine.. definitely reccomend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Amazing place! The food was mind blowing, so was the service. I wish we were able to try more different dishes there, so will have to come back again :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Have eaten there before and food was exc ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Have eaten there before and food was excellent (as it always has been). Desserts were also excellent. Server was very knowledgeable and patiently explaining the various menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, excellent service, a res ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, a restaurant that is a "must visit" every time we are in Pittsburgh.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always fantastic food, serivce and overa ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

always fantastic food, serivce and overall value best farm to table and organic offerings!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you want a great atmosphere for any s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

If you want a great atmosphere for any special occasion, amazing service, and seasonal- PERFECTLY executed food than Legume is the place to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The food and cocktails were amazing. On ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

The food and cocktails were amazing. One of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as always. One of my f ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great experience as always. One of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh. Consistently exceptional food.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely dining room that felt open and sp ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Lovely dining room that felt open and spacious. We were barely aware of other customers. Wine choices were excellent. The food was exceptional, although everyone agreed my vegetarian choice was the best. They graciously served two Bowls of soup portioned into four bowls so everyone could try it. The only negative was the drinks we had in the bar prior to being seated. The drinks were uninspired, and rather light on the gin. Overall, a very pleasant evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is absolutely a top three restauran ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is absolutely a top three restaurant in Pittsburgh. Everything this kitchen puts out is thoroughly planned, thoughtfully paired and perfectly executed. Front of the house perfectly represents the kitchen with knowledge of the ingredients, nightly menu, and cocktail/wine pairings. Never had less than a 10/10 experience from Chef Hooper and his team.

food5
ambience4
service5

The goat was excellent. Will get it ag ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The goat was excellent. Will get it again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely Dining Experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

My husband and I were in town for a writers' conference. We met my parents at Legume for dinner. It was the best meal we ate all weekend! I had the veal shoulder and my husband ordered the goat shoulder. Both dishes were perfectly cooked and delicious! We also shared the melt-in-your-mouth chocolate cake dessert. The service was impeccable. Thank you, Legume, for a wonderful night out in the beautiful city of Pittsburgh!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner! The food was amazing! We truly enjoy the attention to detail, the fresh foods and the overall care to deliver amazingly crafted dishes. The service was impecable! My only recommendation is to work on lowering the music volume. It was unusually loud, for some reason... Maybe softer music?

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The food and service was amazing but I h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service was amazing but I have to admit for the price I found the ambience just kind of blah.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Treat for out-of-towner

Dined on May 20, 2016

An out-of-towner (Washington, DC), I discovered Legume through Pittsburgh Magazine. I actually dined there on back-to-back evenings. An excellent chilled asparagus/leek soup was the highlight both nights. An entree centering on crispy farro was creative, novel and good, if not spectacular, with a little too much emphasis on the farmers cheese, and not enough on the farro. My second entree of goat neck ravioli was very good, with the ravioli perfectly al dente. The rustic bread, with nicely softened butter, was also very good. The ambience both evenings was very nice and the service was attentive, professional and non-annoying. My partner for one meal, a Manhattanite, thought the quality of the decor did not match that of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Legume, we have been patrons ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always love Legume, we have been patrons since it opened in Regent Square & enjoyed the 10th anniversary special! Love the newsletter keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been going to Legume for many years ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been going to Legume for many years, and I never grow tired of it. The menu is short, but it changes all the time, with dishes the defy any particular category or ethnicity. The service people are friendly and knowledgable. It's usually crowded, and a bit noisy, but not so much to prevent conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine sa ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Steak tartare and the grilled romaine salad were a great way to start with the Halibut and Steak entrees maybe being some of the best dishes we've ever had! Done absolutely perfectly! And save room for dessert as the buttermilk poundcake and goose egg flan were a perfect way to finish off. Thanks to Chef Trevitt and our server Jason for helping to make this a perfect Mothers Day Dinner!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious for both gluten free eaters and not.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had several choices even though I am gluten intolerant. If you do not drink they also offer mocktails which was great. My husband had the lobster ravioli which he said was delicious. I enjoyed the polenta vegetable entrée and the custard dessert. My husband had the delicious rhubarb cobbler and some nice wines. I also enjoyed their asparagus soup; he had a salad. Overall it was a very nice dinner around 5 pm on Mother's day. Then we went to see a play.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Great food and drinks!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and drinks!

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

This was my second attempt at dining at ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was my second attempt at dining at Legume, the first shortly after they moved to Craig Street. I was not very impressed with my first dining experience although the service was excellent. Now, a year or so later, I thought I would try again. The service was again excellent, but my entree was fair at best, although the dandelion salad was excellent. I was disappointed with the roasted chicken which came highly recommended, it being small and slightly undercooked. I probably will not try Legume a third time.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the go ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Dinner was lovely. Four of us had the goat sausage with onion confit and pierogies and loved them. The fourth, a vegetarian was happy with an appetizer of pickled radishes and a salad with goat cheese and some beautiful sprouts. The wait staff were very attuned to our timing as we had to be out at a certain time for a concert. They timed appetizers and entrees accordingly. Very accommodating

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on May 6, 2016

I'll keep this short: my absolute favorite place in Pittsburgh. I have never been disappointed - in fact, I always leave this place thinking about how awesome it is and wondering when I can come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special meal with aging parents.

Dined on May 6, 2016

We took our folks, 89 and 85 years old, out for a special meal, and they made it very special. We started with the pickle plate, which was delightful, mom especially liked the pickled cherry. I had a nettle soup that was very tasty, and both the folks had the halibut, and they ate every bite (most unusual). The truffle cake was so delicious, with a texture that is completey unique. Dad had the baked Alaska, and again ate every bite. Nice to see them enjoy food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Very pleasant from arrival to departure ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Very pleasant from arrival to departure - comfortable pace for leisurely evening

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Out of good menu items; very slow

Dined on April 28, 2016

After discovering that our food choices were not available, the food we did order took almost an hour to reach our table - and then only after we complained.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was spectacular, service impres ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food was spectacular, service impressive and the ambiance delightful. These folks love what they do and it's reflected in everything they do. Definitely worth a visit

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice find in Oakland.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Elegant restaurant with limited menu. The rib steak was tasty, but not cooked to perfection. The ravioli was to die for. Service was exceptional, attentive but not overwhelming. Would eat here again even though I thought it was a small menu.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh -- good ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh -- good wine, great food, nice art -- love it!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally good service and food. Ac ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Exceptionally good service and food. Acoustics in places is somewhat difficult - and with a noisy group next to us - a bit distracting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and presentation ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, service and presentation! Will definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, beautifully presented. G ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food, beautifully presented. Great service.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall Great Experieince

Dined on April 9, 2016

Three of us ordered different entrees to mix and match. The thick cut pork chop and the Sirloin steak both were excellent tasting and nice sized. The ravioli option was relatively small and expensive for the portion received. Meat options were large enough to share so all were happy.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Legume was wonderful as always ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Dinner at Legume was wonderful as always. Loved the nettle soup - such a unique option that exceeded expectations. And I can't put into words how delicious dessert was. Thanks for a fabulous evening, Legume!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

perfect for celebration or a casual festivity

Dined on April 6, 2016

We shared beef tartare and pickles, delicious. For entrees: 2 porkchops, satisfying and mouthful. I've been coming to Legume since they were in a small storefront in Regent Square. They're more expensive now, but also far more glamorous. Menu is bigger, food still excellent, maybe better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

great as usual

Dined on April 6, 2016

Love Legume for the rotating local food items, always very delicious. The beef tartare was awesome. We had a group from work taking out an old friend & it was lovely!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dined at legume a few d ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I dined at legume a few days ago. We had a great experience. The service staff was on point. Our food was great. We will definitely dine here again!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.