About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Summer Hours through Labor Day
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 9:30 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 for up to two hours and an additional $1 per hour after that.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (66)
Local Ingredients (55)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Creative Cuisine (50)
Special Occasion (47)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Seasonal (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (33)
Romantic (32)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Healthy (28)
Cozy (23)
Business Meals (23)
Authentic (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Organic (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Casual (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vegan (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were a party of 4 celebrating birthdays. We had an absolutely wonderful first experience. The food was fresh, delicious, and presented beautifully. We checked the menu before arriving to see the new items added for that evening. We had appetizers which were a wonderful start to the meal. The smoked whitefish was fabulous as was the Baby YaYa carrots. The pork shoulder entree made use of in season peaches. It was literally the best pork I've ever eaten. Dessert was the finishing touch with a perfect chocolate torte and wonderful coffee. The carrot cashew cake was also terrific. I had a really nice mojito and the mint tea mocktail was also a hit. Service was the perfect balance, friendly and attentive but not overly solicitous. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

You can't go wrong with any choice here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing experience. We frequent Legume and always leave feeling like we
had a fantastic meal, from the creative locally inspired dishes to the on point
service. Its a neighborhood gem!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and service is always outstanding. Love how innovative the menu is using high quality local ingredients. We are always blown away by the flavors even when simple ingredients are used. We always look forward to our dinners at Legume - it is by far our favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Legume always delivers a great meal! It's great for vegetarians.

Tags: Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Thanks for offering the Date Night option! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

4 of us went for my best friends birthday and 3 of us had never been including myself. Everything from the service to the food and drinks was absolutely amazing. 10 outta 10 would recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Wonderful food. Limited, but creative menu. Hallibut was fantastic. Peach salad and carrot appetizer very tasty. Sorry to learn the special was sold out by 7:30 on a slow night. Attentive, informed service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The menu changes every day so we expected a surprise; however the biggest surprise was that 4 of the 6 entrees and several share plates were sold out. About 50% of the tables were vacant (Tuesday night) which indicates that the restaurant didn't prepare its grocery order well.

The steak quality was moderate to poor (especially given the price) and the service was overly attentive before ordering and disappeared once food was delivered. The saving grace was the drink menu: we all enjoyed the cocktails.

To conclude: skip the restaurant and head straight to their bar next door. It might have been an off night so I would be open to trying again in the future but ultimately it fell short of hyped expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We were challenged getting to the restaurant on time for our reservation because of numerous events, but when we called to say we were running late, they were happy to accommodate us. The service was great, we sampled beer, and picked a good one, and the food was beyond amazing. Definitely worth the obstacles we faced getting there!

Tags: Great Beer, Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Dining at Legume was a treat. Our daughter is going to the University of Pittsburgh and we are looking for good restaurants in the area. The food was excellent as was the service. We were very happy with our experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service. We at for our one year anniversary and the server brought us both a glass of champagne. Very attentive and food was delicious. Loved the use of seasonal vegetables. Perfect place for vegetarians and meat eaters.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for the vegetarian tasting menu (July 2017) and the food was all amazing. Enjoyed the dinner as always!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The atmosphere was quite nice. We quickly received our drinks and delicious pate appetizer. For an entree, I was quite disappointed in my lamb leg steak with yellow corn grits, grilled radicchio and rhubarb chutney. The lamb leg steak was a very thin piece of meat and quite overcooked varying from medium well to well done. The grilled radicchio was charred and bitter. The corn grits and chutney, however, were quite delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Legume is always outstanding in all respects, including service, food, drinks. It's one of our favorite special occasion restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Eclectically delicious food, great staff, wonderful ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Couldn't have been happier. Our guest said"best meal of her life" and she is 80.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening. The cocktails were perfect and a unique variety. The wine list was excellent. Four of us had Halibut. It cooked to perfection. One member had the ravioli and said it was stuffed with a very creamy cheese. The other guest had the veg. Tasting. It was tasty. Desserts were just as good. The waitress was amazing. We asked if we could change our table as a group of people near us were noisy . There was no problem and we were seated at a quiet area near the back. She knew about all food choices and was able to recommend choices. we were dismayed to learn the one entree was sold out...the goat. Plan to go back if they have it again.
I'd say it is one of the Burgh's best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Fantastic, as usual. Even what seems like a simple dish - market salad of beets, cukes, radishes, snap peas - was outstanding - every bite was the "best" bite of X you have every had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Outstanding food and excellent service. The goat loin (don't flinch, try it!) was delicious, as was the halibut served in broth. Nice attenton to imaginative sides. Just the right leve of staff attention. Thank you Legume!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

not up to its usual standard! Steak sinewy. Mushrooms resulted in two queasy stomachs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The Haddock was the best we have ever eaten. The goat cheese salad was nicely presented and deliciously fresh. The soup was unusual, but very tasty. Desserts were more than satisfying and can easily be shared.
The prices are high for ala carte menu.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent! We enjoyed the pork and pistachio pate, an order of tallow fried potatoes , and beef tartare. We shared the skillet fried chicken with grits and and garlic scrapes entree. Ending with a perfect pavalova and decadent chocolate dessert. Being an avid foodie with always a measure of constructive criticism to offer, I have to say there was nothing I would have changed albeit the loud patrons seated near us. Service was attentive not intrusive. Having recently returned from a stay in Italy and Paris this meal was on point and memorable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Legume Bistro is a true gem in Pittsburgh. I have been enjoying their sensibly sourced, delicious food since the night they opened in Regent Square 10 years ago. As a vegetarian, I am always able to find thoughtful delicious food. The staff at Legume is exemplary, kind, knowledgable and joyful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lamb steaks were nicely prepared - two in our party had them; one had the three course vegetarian special of the day which they really enjoyed. It took an inordinate amount of time between conclusion ofour salad course and service of our entree. The restaurant became very noisy as seating rose to barely 50% capacity. Service was very informed and reasonably attentive ... could've been more informative during the long lapse of time between salad & entree and after the bill was presented. Parking in the area for this restaurant is horrendous - their site could do more to explain where parking is available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We enjoy Legume ever since they were down the street from us in in Regent Square & it's even better now. We celebrated my 67th birthday and everything was wonderful the desserts are to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Cheap date night was fun as always. There were a few substitutions, which was fine. Tasty. Love the borscht. Great service.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

It was a very nice experience at the Legume date night. They offer a special menu with $50 for two people, three courses per person. I had the vegetarian borscht, goat rib ravioli, and we split the two desserts, a merengue-type one with almond filling, and one flourless chocolate cake. All the food was delicious, and it paired well with the date night drink specials ($5 wine). I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Both Legume's food and service consistently make for more than a great meal, but a special one to be both savored and remembered.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent food with careful attention to presentation. Locally sourced ("food with a face") with integrity. Enjoyed the house-made paté, goat loin, and grass-fed beef rib steak followed by fresh mint-infused pot du creme with fresh blueberries. Primarily French and other European wine list. Chose an excellent dry red from the Duoro region in Portugal, Quinta do Crasto. All in all a very nice meal and evening. The only issue was the long wait between courses on a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We had a great experience celebrating our anniversary here. I had lamb steak that was perfection, and my partner had very good walleye. I always get the beef tartare here because it is superb. Make sure to let them know in the reservation request if it's a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Pittsburgh. Excellent food. Impeccable personable service. Fantastic cocktails. Beautiful décor. Convenient parking.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This restaurant had different and delicious offerings. Never disappointed when I eat here and always try something that I haven't had pre iously. Great service (thank you, Chris). Had the lobster ravioli which is featured now and again. It was superb as was the other things that I had. Bravo! Keep up the great work. Check out when the Weds date night monthly specials are offered. Terrific value and great way to check this place out.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed a terrific dinner. Server was knowledgeable, attentive yet unobtrusive. Food was excellent (lobster ravioli that I'd read about in email from Legume was all that I hoped it would be; friend started with amazing cold herb soup followed by lamb steak that was well prepared; shared fruit clafouti dessert to finish). Very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I loved this place for my birthday. Had such a Pittsburgh vibe while really delighting our taste buds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We were hosting two out of town business partners and took them here after a long day of meetings. They and we walked away very happy with our experience. The Garlic scapes and my rib steak were especially noteworthy.

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

rely on LeGume to offer truly excellent food with comfortable ambience and fine service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I took my husband here for a birthday dinner. Our server was excellent. He was very helpful explaining the menu and making recommendations. When we told him we were just moving to the area he gave us suggestions for other places to try and things to see. The cocktails were creative and really good, as was the food. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Cocktail and dessert were good. Starter and salad came quickly, but entrees were not served until after 20 or 30min. Really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.