About Legume

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine in a relaxed environment. Featuring poultry, pork and grass-fed beef from Western PA.

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Eastern European, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday from 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday from 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am
Closed Sundays

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $5 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! We offer two different private rooms along with a variety of menu and beverage options.

Private Party Contact:
Alex Osgood: (412) 621-2700

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (55)
Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Local Ingredients (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Cozy (24)
Romantic (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Seasonal (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Modern Decor (21)
Healthy (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (19)
Casual (16)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Organic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Fun (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great Beer (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (5)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (4)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time at Legume when we visit Pittsburgh. It was again outstanding. The service was excellent and the food top notch. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We eat here semi-regularly before chamber music concerts at the Carnegie. Extremely reliable in terms of food quality, and generally excellent choices in terms of draft beer.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time we have been in two weeks. The blue fish entree was very dry and tired. Overcooked it seemed. Other entree which was the veal shank ravioli was excellent as were the salads, the desert and the pate.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an excellent experience at Legume. I ordered the vegetarian entree and it was very good, my husband had a fish based entree and our friend had the lamb -- they thought those were excellent. The "mercy of the bartender" cocktail was outstanding. We will come back to Legume for special occasions or as a treat for family when they visit. The ambiance is peaceful and the service is attentive and knowledgable, but unfussy. We will definitely be back to Legume's bar.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

We truly enjoyed our visit at Legume! We particularly enjoyed our appetizers; steak tartar and grilled endive salad. Both were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

wonderful as always -- never disappointed at Legume - one of the jewels in the city of Pittsburgh - had friends from Des Moines, IA who we wanted to introduce to the restaurant, and they were very impressed - a delightful evening - love you, Legume!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Top five meal of my life. The walleye was excellent. Recommend the chocolate cake, grilled escarole salad. Tables too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent. Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The menu is too limited for my taste. Also, the service was way too slow - 15 minutes for a glass of wine to be brought, not just once but twice. I am an experimenter in eating but raclette with kimchi is bizarre and not tasty. Popcorn grits are to die for however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food is just wonderful! Ingredients are locally sourced. Love the tables, made from one piece of wood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The pate appetizer was tasty and the desserts were good. The entres were disappointing. One meal was dry and kept in the oven/ceramic serving ware too long. That guest ate very little of the meal which the waiter noticed and asked the reason. The manager comped the meal. The other entre was "all bone". The waiter did try to explain the cut of lamb stating that the meat "was on either side of a long bone"; however, my friend had difficulty cutting the meat away from the bone and there was very, very little to eat. It would have been better for the waiter to suggest not getting it and instead ordering the other cut of lamb which was prepared the same way. The waiter's demeanor while professional was not welcoming. We were celebrating a birthday that evening and hoped for a more memorable dinner. I would not rush to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The menu was diverse and exciting. The cocktails list was especially unique. The yellowfin tuna was prepared in a manner that made it one of the best pieces of fish I've ever tasted. We were able to get in and out quickly, but clearly could have taken as much as time as desired to enjoy our meals. I look forward to going back to another refreshing version of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first visit to Legume and we were very pleased with the experience. Our entrees were delicious, but the desserts were especially remarkable (chocolate truffle cake and black walnut cake). We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Going to Legume for dinner is always an adventure for me. I believe your prices have increased significantly since I remember being there. I'm not used to paying $42 for an entrée. However the food was well and thoughtfully prepared and very tasty. We all enjoyed our meals. The menu was innovative and our selections gave us a good mix of nutrients. Our servers were so helpful describing choices and answering our questions. The ambience was quiet and conducive to easy conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Pleasant surprise. Heard from friends how great the place is. Felt like larger cosmopolitan city restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I felt the menu was pricey for the limited items on the menu. I'd eat at Butterjoint next door to try that more modestly priced menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Exellent food as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We love love love going to Legume. I have never had anything I didn't love there. I think it is because they are so creative in their combinations and almost everything includes pickled something ( which we love) except of course desert.

Their approach to food is locally sourced, fresh is possible and if not they can or pickle or preserve themselves. YUM!

We love their date night the first Wednesday of the month so for 50 $ per couple plus a few extra dollars for booze you can have an amazing meal for two.

Have i mentioned how much i love Legume???

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This place was bloody amazing. I usually don't spend this much money, but it was worth every cent. The food was amazing and you get what you pay for in terms of portion size. Perfect for a date or anniversary.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was again very impressed with the quality of the servers. Extremely knowledgeable and professional. The creativity and quality of the food and beverage also continues to impress.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

On our second visit to Legume, we had high expectations based on our previous experience, We were not disappointed. This restaurant offers excellent cuisine that is clearly based on the owner's/chef's/whoever's vision. We enjoyed an appetizer of brandade. One entree was a wonderful version of corn grits (equivalent to polenta and the best we've ever had!) with mushrooms, baby bok choi, carrot puree, pea shoots, meyer lemon relish, etc. Superb! The other entree sounds mundane, as it was based on smoked kielbasa and pierogis, but the quality of those items plus the addition of kim chi and roasted raddichio moved it far beyond the 'everyday' category. Arsenal Cider House's 'Fightin' Elleck' cider was on tap, which was an additional treat. Desserts were first rate--black walnut cake and a cardamon mousse with added cacao pieces and whipped cream that was simply astonishing!

Service was attentive and knowledgeable without hovering; she answered a number of questions and shared the sourcing for the cornmeal used in the grits (and some cooking advice from the chef) so we could try to recreate this treat at home.

Although we live 90 minutes away, I look forward to a third, and even more, visits to Legume.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food creation superb ....our compliments to the chef.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great venue for succulent food selections and top service with a smile. Parking is available across the street and validated at Legume. The libations list offers an ample choice to accompany a most enjoyable dining experience. Unsure about the menu? Check it online - it is dynamic.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went here while catching up with a few old friends, visiting Pittsburgh for a girls weekend. We were all surprised by the quality of everything on the menu. We all loved what we ordered. Some of us being vegetarians or gluten free, we were all able to find options, and we are all "localvores" and so were thrilled with the use of local ingredients and even incorporating some traditional PA recipes. The Shaker Corn was the best corn I've ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Always inventive and wonderful food and cocktails. Great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food is always creative and excellent. Service was so bad I should have asked to speak to the manager. From the moment we sat down, our waiter constantly came to our table asking what entrees we wanted. Our total dinner time was less than an hour so it wasn't like we were just hanging around, drinking cocktail. He was rude, annoyed if we asked any questions and definitely will make me think twice to rebook at Legume. Which is a shame because it is one of the best restaurants in Pittsburgh

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food we had was good, but the menu could use more vegetarian options

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was excellent. Went for a romanitic Valentines dinner & was not disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honestly one of my favorite restaurants in Pittsburgh I would recommend any of my friends to go and enjoy an evening there. Good food wonderful ambience and great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very good, limited menu but tasty. Nice bar with cozy seating

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We asked for a quiet table due to hard of hearing and we got the very best spot! Window seating is not only quiet but great views of the busy street and easy for quiet conversation. Legume has never disappointed us and this night was no exception -- great food and great service.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Atmosphere and food was top notch. Totally enjoyed our evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We go to Legume a few times a year. It is always absolutely amazing!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Good food but I felt it was a bit overpriced for what you get. I would try it but I probably won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have been to Legume many times and have never had anything less than a fantastic experience with food (We have among us a gluten-free vegan, who is always treated with absolute respect and great food!), ambience, and service. Truly exceptional Pgh restaurant!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Everything was good: food, service, etc., but we were disappointed that when we asked for a "side salad" to accompany our entrees, we did not expect the $12 version. I suppose we could have asked, but the server also could have pointed out that what we were ordering was a lot bigger, and costlier than we had expected. Perhaps we would have shared it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Just a light supper with an old friend on a cold Wednesday evening - not full so noise level good for conversation. My friend loved the Cassoulet, and I loved the fluke with small amounts of vegetables incl. bok choy and something lemony. Pork paté always good, their breads ditto. Never had a bad meal here and always wonder why I don't come more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Our first visit since you moved to Oakland. Delicious meal and excellent service. A bit pricey for our taste, but a wonderful evening. We asked for a quiet space and were well seated. Will return for a special occasion!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding service. Wayne took excellent care of us. We have some specific food restrictions and the organic menu along with the staff made it a great experience instead of feeling like we were asking for something bothersome. The kitchen did an amazing job! Delicious!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Have been wanting to try Legume for so long and now I'm so glad we did. The ambience is so cozy and elegant. The menu is short and concentrated on local and fresh ingredients. We will be back! And the bar next door is great for a drink while waiting on table.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.