About Legume

214 North Craig St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
View Larger Map

Located in North Oakland, Legume serves contemporary, seasonal American cuisine and a full service bar, the Butterjoint. Legume is now serving lunch Monday through Friday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00 - 9:00 pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00 - 10:00 pm
Bar: Monday - Saturday: 4:30 pm - 12:00 am

Cross Street:
Bayard

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 621-2700

Website:
http://www.legumebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the garage across the street from Legume for $3 with a validated ticket.
Bicycle parking is available free of charge directly in front of Legume, or in the garage across the street.

Public Transit:
The 71C, 71A, 54 and 93 all stop at the intersection of N. Craig and Bayard. Additional buses stop at N. Craig and Fifth Ave., approximately 1 and 1/2 blocks south of Legume.

Executive Chef:
Trevett Hooper

Private Party Facilities:
Join us at Legume for your next business, social or family gathering! Our private dining room seats up to 12 people, making it ideal for an intimate dinner. Several menu options are available, including a custom chef's tasting menu.

Private Party Contact:
Sarah Hooper: 4126212700x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
  • Raclette
  • Veal Knockwurst
  • Chocolate Truffle Cake
  • Burger With Gruyere
6 Oz Grass-Fed Beef Rib Steak With Crushed Red Potatoes, Roasted Turnips And Red Wine
Raclette
Veal Knockwurst
Chocolate Truffle Cake
Burger With Gruyere

Legume Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
5 More
American
Pittsburgh
Best Overall
Pittsburgh
Best Food
Pittsburgh
Fit for Foodies
Pittsburgh
American
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Oakland ›

Fit for Foodies (86)
Special Occasion (65)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
See All
Romantic (37)
Good for Groups (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (12)
Healthy (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very impressed with the quality ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were very impressed with the quality of the meals and the service. Top notch as far as that "home-made" taste. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was terrific. Cooked just right ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was terrific. Cooked just right. It was a business meeting. I ordered the blue fish and my guest ordered the halibut. Both were cooked perfectly. The wine also was good. The service lagged a bit when a few other groups came in. It was a week day night, so the wait service was thin, although professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent food and service as always!

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The flavors of everything are so well de ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The flavors of everything are so well developed - each dish is surprising and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the vegetarian tasting menu a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We ordered the vegetarian tasting menu and enjoyed everything on it. Each dish was well-executed and interesting. Service was excellent. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, it was a treat, especially the ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

As usual, it was a treat, especially their Halibut & having Pavlova as a dessert option made the evening even better! It'a a family favorite when we get a chance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite surprised with Legume. We had th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Quite surprised with Legume. We had the Cheap Date Night Menu , $50. for 2 with three courses. It was perhaps the best meal that I have had out in many years. Very fresh and interesting taste. Server was just ok but the guy who bussed the table was incredible.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I've had Legume on my list to try for a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I've had Legume on my list to try for a while but because the location is not surrounded by other trending spots, I always put it off. But the experience and the meal is worth the special trip to this Oakland neighborhood. The menu is simple, offering something for everyone, but typically about four options for mains. All produce is seasonal and the kitchen shops local. Our waitress made thoughtful recommendations. It was a great meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding dining with creative ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always outstanding dining with creative food options for vegetarians.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Tapas, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent. Our initial waiter s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent. Our initial waiter started taking orders, left suddenly and did not return. Two of us tracked down the hostess and it was 15-20 minutes before another waiter came to take drink orders. He was clearly covering a lot of tables so it was difficult to attract his attention when we wanted something. He was good when he was directly involved in service to our table.

Since I was hosting 10 out of town guests, I was pleased with their enjoyment of the food and disappointed with poor service experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value4

Food was fantastic, service left a lot t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was fantastic, service left a lot to be desired.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

One of the best places to eat in Pittsbu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of the best places to eat in Pittsburgh. Good, real, delicious local food made from the heart.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legume is a consistently great dining ex ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Legume is a consistently great dining experience! I make it a point to eat at Legume every time I am in Pittsburgh.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legume is my favorite spot in Pittsburgh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Legume is my favorite spot in Pittsburgh. I visit every time I'm there. The food is creative, interesting and delicious. Food products are all local to Pennsylvania. It has a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere and a great staff. 5 stars!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night. Stop by Butterjoint next do ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great night. Stop by Butterjoint next door first for good drinks and atmosphere. Can get the same drinks at Legume, but vastly different feel inside each. Service and food was great. Celebrating an anniversary and the restaurant provided champagne and flowers at the table. I requested a few small flowers, but the champagne was unexpected...always great to be surprised. The food was delicious. King mackerel and roasted chicken as entrees, chicken liver and crostini for appetizer. All excellent. I hear the burgers at Butterjoint are some of the best in the city. Thank you!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an exceptionally delicious meal ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This was an exceptionally delicious meal. We had salads, soup and fish dishes.

Dessert was a yummy cobbler we shared.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service - we always e ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent food and service - we always enjoy Legume for a very nice evening dinner out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, but our server was a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was excellent, but our server was amazing. The right balance of attention without interrupting. It was a terrific night for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, deliciously prepared, an ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent food, deliciously prepared, and outstanding service personable service. My husband and I love going here for date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I indicated noise level as moderate - th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I indicated noise level as moderate - this may have been largely due to the fact that we were seated near the kitchen.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually love this restaurant but our ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We usually love this restaurant but our experience was terrible with a one hour wait for our food and inattentive wait staff. Please hire people who care about what they do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Take it from a Frenchman who is used to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Take it from a Frenchman who is used to good food, the modestly called "Bistro Legume" serves delicious dishes. The emphasis here is on the quality of the food, but the atmosphere and the service are very nice as well. My wife and I went there to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with everything: the smoked bluefish pâté (an unusual appetizer that we highly recommend), the striped bass with creative accompaniment, the outstanding veal loin entrée, and finally the remarkable peach and blueberry crisp with vanilla ice cream for dessert. Our wines included an excellent prosecco (much better than most), an interesting capa (spanish bubbly), and a great pinot noir from California. Valet parking is across the street for only $3. The overall price reflects the high quality but you come out feeling that it was well worth the very satisfying experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I absolutely loved Legume - I'd describe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I absolutely loved Legume - I'd describe it as a place with really balanced, delicate flavors, which are pretty rare even in high-end restaurants. Everything we ate was elegantly presented and tasted wonderful.

We were there for dinner for a special occasion, and the staff worked hard to deliver on a dietary restriction and birthday surprise. I can't remember the name of the hostess and the server, but both were friendly, funny, and engaging!

I will be visiting Legume again the next time I'm in Pittsburgh. Would recommend 11/10.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh!!! Grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our favorite place in Pittsburgh!!!

Great for vegetarians & meat-lovers alike.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, creative cocktails....tr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food, creative cocktails....try "Bartender's Choice" and have a tasty surprise well crafted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We both ordered fish for our entree. My ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We both ordered fish for our entree. My fish was good, my husband's was terrible and undercooked. He could barely eat it and left most of it on the plate. We both had the same fish. How could they be so different? This is not the first time we have had bad meals there.

We want to support this local restaurant, but the quality of the food varies too much.

We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

A wonderfully paced meal with special in ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A wonderfully paced meal with special ingredients, prepared thoughtfully and served with profession and care by Jennifer our server. Legume is a special dining experience that has a limited daily menu that provides freshly sourced meals to a discerning diner. It is not the place to rush a meal but to relax, enjoy your company and soak up the niceties in life. Wonderful drinks, wine list and desserts. Without a doubt one of Pittsburgh's gems.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were excellent. Being v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Being vegetarian I was happy to see that I had choices and they were extremely delicious.

The chocolate truffle cake was heaven and just the right size. I dislike large servings and all the servings were appropriate, at least for me.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a disappointing evening. I norma ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was a disappointing evening. I normally visit the restaurant when in Pittsburgh. They were overbooked and understaffed. Dinner took 1 hour and 10 minutes to arrived. People next to us complained and were treated to appetizers. Salad with roasted peaches excellent. Vegetarian platter was very good but a bit too much oil. Desserts looked better than they tasted. Bread always excellent sour dough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

There were some timing issues with the s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

There were some timing issues with the service, but the staff was friendly and the food was delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent farm-fresh simple food. Attent ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent farm-fresh simple food. Attentive service in a relaxing environment.

Great for both vegetarians and carnivores.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and amazing food. Ca ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional service and amazing food. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, atmosphere, service was great. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food, atmosphere, service was great. Very accommodating to my food allergies.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were in Pittsburgh from out of town, and I found Legume on Open Table. A friend then confirmed that it was a good choice. Portion sizes were perfect--not huge--just enough to eat and still have room for a superb dessert. Appreciated the special July vegetarian focus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I st ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was *excellent* and memorable. I still remember the foie gras. Wine choices were excellent. Duck and Red Snapper were cooked to perfection attended by a wonderful sauce. My wife and I had a delightful time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here for dinner on my husband's bir ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Came here for dinner on my husband's birthday and couldn't be happier with the service and food. Great menu selection with a variety of different items. Steak cooked perfectly, chicken nice and juicy, tasty vegetables and grains with each meal. Love seeing Arsenal cider on the drink menu as well! For dessert, our server brought out our peach crisp with a candle on it for the birthday celebration, but nothing more dramatic than that, which was fantastic. A little special treat without being overblown and embarrassing. Thanks Legume!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was wonderful and Jen ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

As always the food was wonderful and Jenn H., our server that evening, kept up the high standards of service that marks Legume. She was very willing to assist in our menu decisions and recommend a good bottle of wine. Keep up the great work. I can't wait to get back and dine again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved the menu. Well prepared, nicely served. We weren't rushed through the meal even on a Friday night. An enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremely noisy party i n next room made ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Extremely noisy party i n next room made it impossible to talk. Very disappointed in the vegetarian choices (for which we came) -- terribly salty, too much pickled stuff, very oily. Pretty bad, considering our non veggie friends had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

My sisters and I ate dinner here before ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My sisters and I ate dinner here before an event. We are not in Oakland very often and were unsure where to go so we typed in the zip code in OT and found a reasonably priced place with an open reservation close to the venue. We were unsure what to expect but Legume impressed us greatly! The service was friendly, helpful and quick. The food was amazing!!! The menu scared us a little because we aren't foodies and were unsure about a lot but we were pleasantly surprised by all 3 of our dishes and the appetizer. Next time we will make sure we save enough time to try dessert. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a delicious meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.