Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Newell HouseNewell House
(100)
Steakhouse | Carbondale, Southern Illinois
Reserve Now
Rare Chop HouseRare Chop House
(181)
Steakhouse | Mt. Vernon, Southern Illinois
Reserve Now

About Legends at Walkers Bluff

14400 Meridian Rd
Carterville, IL 62918
View Larger Map

The Bluff's fine dining restaurant, Legends, offers the area's most gourmet cuisine, largest selection of fine wines and spirits, Elegant atmosphere and most spectacular service.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Friday, Saturday, & Sunday: 4:00 pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am-3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 559-4893

Website:
http://www.walkersbluff.com/legends-restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Walker's Bluff is an exceptional entertainment venue that strives to delight our guests with a variety of activities. Whether it be an experience in fine dining, a unique shopping opportunity, or beverages that will qualify as a sensory experience, we have something for everyone! From concerts by award winning, nationally recognized artists to local live entertainment, there is something special almost every weekend. Families will enjoy an atmosphere that promotes wholesome fun. Whether it's fishing for the "Big Wonga, enjoying an outdoor movie and popcorn, or two stepping to a Nashville band, we promise you a delightful time. You'll want to sign up for our email blasts and newsletter to stay abreast of all that goes on during the year at www.walkersbluff.com. See you at the Bluff!

Sort By:
Newest
396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

AT BEST.....JUST AVERAGE.....

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

Location is a bit hard to locate. Once there it is very nice. Decorated for Christmas and it was beautiful. Reservations were handled A+. 1. service was spotty. Hard pressed to meet average. We had to ask for bread, salt and pepper. The only thing good was the server who kept our water glasses filled. Food was delivered to our table by a food runner. Had to be auctioned off once it arrived, as he didn't have a clue who got what. NOT GOOD FOR A RESTAURANT CHARGING THESE KIND OF PRICES. 2. Food was just ok. Not terrible but not outstanding. Average to say the least. Pork rib-eye was a cut of pork loin grilled without the bone-in, with mashed potatoes. We had a special menu for graduation at a local university. (not the regular menu) 3. Prices were inflated for this special menu. Prices reflected something in Chicago or New York and not out in the country in Southern Illinois. Two lobster tails $75.00.....The owners have spent a ton of money building this place and it shows, as it is very very nice. The food, the service is just average at best. It would push it to meet the average stage. The prices are quite high for the service and food that you get for your dollar (s)......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Enjoy!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

A little pricey for the region but great dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

romantic 4 her

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

It was the best place I have taken her too...the food was great along with the service the atmosphere was especially amazing...I plan on proposing to my girlfriend their....good job to the staff and cooks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated promptly. However, we wai ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

We were seated promptly. However, we waited at least 20-25 minutes before I decided to go to bar and get myself and my wife a drink.(no server was assigned to our table evidently). Wonder why! People who came after us were served before us.

Giving us free drinks does not solve the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 21, 2014

The salmon I chose was incredible I will never eat it anywhere else because it does not even compare to legend's.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful all around

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

Ate Sunday brunch. Service good, Food good, At 1 P.M. place was almost empty, When we left a small party came in. Don"t know how they can stay open with so few diners. Shame it"s a beautiful place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not a very memorable anniversary

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Our 22nd wedding anniversary dinner wasn't so special at Legend's. The service was very slow, they didn't have the expensive wine I had ordered, the entrees that we had were all very, very salty (ribeye steak, scallops, and strip steak). Our son is a senior at SIU and we had been anticipating visiting Legends for almost 4 years and were very disappointed with the over salty food and slow service. Our waiter Adam wasn't to blame it was the nature of the restaurant. After returning home I had read some reviews of the restaurant and I'm kick my self for not reading them before having dinner at the restaurant. Based on the reviews I have read these issues have been issues for a long time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Disappointment

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 24, 2014

This was our first visit to Walker's Bluff. His prime rib was tough and full of gristle. It was poor quality meat and should have been used for stociklnThe server brought him a second steak which took forever to receive. The quality was even worse. I ordered the pasta of the day. The pasta was overcooked and had the texture of paste.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

A must go in southern Illinois

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 17, 2014

Every time we have visiting family or friends we take them there topically for brunch.... It is definitely the nicest place to celebrate in southern Illinois

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Legends at Walkers Bluff

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

My wife and I drove 2 hours to take 2 other couples to this restaurant for Sunday brunch because we thought is would make a great start to a day of visiting wineries in Southern Illinois. It didn't start out good from the get go. On my Open Table reservation I requested a table in a corner because of our tendency to get a little loud. The maître de did not know about it. Of course, the one table for 6 that fit that requirement was being used by three people.

Then the food took one hour to be served and all of our omelets were not made right and they were cold. On the plus side, the deserts on the desert buffet were pretty good and the salad was very good. Also, the prices are reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2014

WE were a party of four we had drinks, appetizer and dinner.It took quite a while to get appetizer,even longer to get salad,I ordered my steak well done and it was quite pink - red I had to send it back to get it well done.After dinner we ordered dessert we all wanted the choc cake ,they were out!! So we each had something different and it was not good.Quite surprised !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

good food however the service is bad. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2014

good food however the service is bad. They make you wait too long to get your food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

substandard visit

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2014

The food and service did not meet the standards of previous visits, considering the $170+ amount of our check, and we did not have the "fine dining" experience we had anticipated with our special guest from Miami, FL.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Our waiter was AWESOME.......the restaur ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

Our waiter was AWESOME.......the restaurant was very nice, the overall service was AWESOME.....the food on the other hand wasn't what I thought it would be. You could have knocked out a window with the bread we were served, the salad was good, my steak was good but not near as good as what I can get at any local steak house, my wife had the spinach linguine with chicken, the chicken was very good but the sauce and the spinach linguine was nothing to write home about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

fine dining in Sou Il!,

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2014

Thanks, Legends. A welcome relief from the rest of the Southern Illinois scene. We love this place. Marvelous tapas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good times.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

Repeat visit. Perfect as usual. Brunch @ Legends, drinks & blues @ The Tasting Room. Wonderful ending to a long week. Will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow-Slow-Slow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2014

Table wasn't ready at reservation time so waited in bar. Took over 30 min to get a drink.

It took a little over an hour from time seated to get our food.

I think the time was unjustified. Neither the bar or restaurant was full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Good food, slow service

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

We were there nearly three hours! When our meal was finally served, steaks had been resting so long that they were overcooked. Was starving, but sent them back, because when you pay top dollar for a steak, they should be properly cooked. Same thing happened second time. Ate the steaks and even though they were over-done, they were excellent. Filet was extremely tender and tasty. Would return if they had better service. On their behalf, it was July 5 and they had a fireworks show going on later that evening and perhaps their staff was spread too thin?

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Anniversary party

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2014

We had great food and service. It was cold in the room. We wish we had eaten outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

maybe my expectations were too high

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2014

good. not great. apps, drinks and salad were better than the main course. desert was not impressive at all. had a few different servers. all were pretty good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Wonderful

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2014

Adam was a great server and the food was wonderful. We have never had a bad experience at Legends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

Nice facility good staff nice experience a little pricy on entree's

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Fine dining by Carbondale

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

We have limited options for upscale restaurants in the area; this one is nice. For the price, though, I would pretty much love to see perfection. Air conditioning was on high when we arrived, and I was very uncomfortable. Next time will bring a warm sweater. It was fairly noisy. Service was good but not as attentive as top restaurants I have been to. My pasta with chicken was on the edge of too salty, but portion was very generous. Dessert was ephemeral, and the wine the waiter recommended was very good indeed. I'll go back for special occasion dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Anniversary

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2014

Had a great time ...food was excellent...alittle pricey... Great for special night out

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A lasting impression

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2014

My wife and i was very pleased with our dinning experience as it was our twenty fourth wedding anniversary so we chose to try the legends and was not disappointed.We have had the privilege of dinning at many upscale establishments and found yours to be a top the list and look forward to coming back very soon.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just Okay to Me

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

The food and atmosphere was okay. We went for the wine ansd was unable to taste. That was disappointing to me.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Host

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 18, 2014

Ambiance was beautiful. Dinning room decorated for Spring was lovely. Enjoyed the Prime Rib Brunch. Loved the quiet and soft music for easy conversation during our meal. Our company was very impressed with Walker's Bluff. Personally, the pitcher of mimosa was a nice touch. Choices for the brunch was limited but we were all able to find something we liked.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Graduation weekend SIU

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Restaurant setting just gorgeous. We had reservation for graduation dinner and although we had reservation, table was not ready for 15 minutes. Lots of tables were open. Not as though the place was packed.

Food quality good, priced high for quality, though.

Service was great. We had requested in advance a special dessert plate with our son's name and grad details. It was served flawlessly!!

We had a limited graduation menu. It was not advertised. Didn't know we would have limited menu. Was looking forward to other menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food, very busy

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

It was graduation weekend, and they were very busy. In spite of a few service hiccups, our server (Shane) did a nice job taking very good care of us. Both the Salmon and Chicken with pasta were delicious. I appreciated that the bartender actually brought my first cocktail out to the table himself just to make sure it was satisfactory. Nice to see that kind of attention to detail. I've already selected several other entrees that I look forward to enjoying.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A Legend......not.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

After being called not once, not twice, but 3 times to confirm my reservation, and told to arrive early if possible, we were 15 minutes early, and had to wait in the foyer while 2 other couples who had arrived after us were seated,[ mine was not a large party only 5 members] we were finally seated 10 min after our reservation time, only to sit for 30 min before anyone acknowledged our presence or even bring us ice water. As it was a special occasion, my birthday, and mothers day, my fiance, daughter, mother, and grandmother accompanied me to where i was sure they would be impressed and delighted. Instead we were disappointed and the only highlight was the waiter, Ken, who tried to make up for the distressing first impression we received.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Love the new menu offerings!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2014

When I visit my family in the area we always go to Legends. I was very pleased to find an updated menu with a great selection of tapas. What a wonderful way to share the experience and enjoy conversation over a glass of wine and tasty tapas.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

bad service

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 3, 2014

This was the worst restaurant for service and food. This was for prom and the service was very slow, our order wasn't right and the food was cold. For the price of our meal I expect more. Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Wonderful!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2014

Our birthday celebration was a wonderful and perfect evening! We were given special attention by all, service was great, and our entries for four were all delicious, just outstanding! Thank you for giving us this wonderful evening. We did forget to mention it was the women's birthdays--don't know if you served a special dessert for this occasion. We did forget to mention this--- perhaps the waiter could have asked if it was a special occasion. Just a suggestion! Thanks again. We will be happy to dine again. Joyce

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad customer service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2014

After ordering a $50 steak and biting into a lot of gristle, I asked to return it. I was met by a very defensive evening manager who did nothing to solve my problem, but let me know that this would be kitchen waste and that I was causing an issue. My problem was not taken care of and I ended up paying for a dinner I did not even eat. She even had the nerve to return to my table later and ask if I wanted some bread while the rest of my table finished their meals.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great Date Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2014

I took my husband here for a nice date night. The atmosphere was wonderful and staff was excellent. They were able to accommodate that I wanted to dine outside and the food was exquisite. Next time I will be trying the Kobe Beef.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 13, 2014

We had a group for the sunday brunch. The restaurant is a gem in an otherwise backwoods area. The facilities were beautiful and the service was good. What I was disappointed in was the food itself. The highlight of the meal was the wonderful salad that was chill and quite delicious. The rest of the meal was a disappointment. The omelette was greasy and I didn't even get what I had ordered. The potatoes were hard and cold. The most disappointing part of brunch was the dessert buffet. Cold hard cinnamon rolls, sliced fruit, blueberry cupcakes (looked from the local Wal-Mart), and peach pastry. We all would like to try one of the other restaurants, but agreed we would not be returning to Legends anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always have an excellent wait

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 13, 2014

Always have an excellent wait staff and food is delicious!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 12, 2014

I took my sister in law out here for her birthday meal and we had a great time. The service was good and the food was excellent. All around nice evening and she enjoyed herself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 29, 2013

The food, service, and atmosphere can't be beat Great place to go to dine or just for music and drinks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Legends at Walkers Bluff = 5 stars

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 28, 2013

Walkers Bluff is an enjoyable place for an up-scale evening out. A place where you can have a full course relaxing meal, drinks, and a great time. Walkers Bluff itself is stately, with beautiful scenic views all around, along with other attractive venues on the grounds (Seasonal Decorations added a nice warm touch). Our dinners are consistently cooked to our liking, the wines are all so tasty, and the deserts (which you must have) are all so rich and full of flavor. Brandon is our server and he is, as always, a very attentive friendly young man. The manager takes time to ensure her patrons have a pleasurable dining experience. Legends at Walker's Bluff is a place you want to visit and you will surely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.