About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Shrimp Classic

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

The Shrimp Classic

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Five weeks of shrimptacular menu features. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Business Meals (31)
See All
Bar Seating (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Healthy (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Open Kitchen (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Family Style (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Cozy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
715 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Manager Gina came over and was very welc ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Manager Gina came over and was very welcoming. Food always consistently good - we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love fish and it is always fresh at Le ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I love fish and it is always fresh at Legal. The clam chowder is a must.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

As always Legal Seafood never disappoint ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

As always Legal Seafood never disappoints. The food is great and the wait staff just as good. Home away from home.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for my Mom's 78th bda ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Made a reservation for my Mom's 78th bday. We arrived and there were many empty tables but still waited 10 min only to be put in the corner by the wait staff stand where a waitress spent my entire meal leaning on the back of our booth talking to her colleagues. The food was mediocre and I have noticed it has declined significantly since this location opened (was much better at the mall). The waitress was great but that's it. My daughter took ill after her meal. They won't see me again. Sad decline of a great institution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

As always, LEGAL serves up reliable, qua ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

As always, LEGAL serves up reliable, quality food-- primarily fish-- which is the draw there. Their preps are simple and somewhat low on creativity, particularly for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

I took my wife to Legal's on our 29th we ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

I took my wife to Legal's on our 29th wedding anniversary. It was exactly what I wanted - the food was spectacular. It was fresh and flavorful from the appetizer to the main course. The excellence of food was exactly what I wanted for the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed--our food arrived bare ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very disappointed--our food arrived barely warm, including a baked potato which should have been piping hot. And such small portions too given the prices. Not up to par with other Legal locations. The waitstaff were courteous and friendly however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Rather overpriced for a piece of greasy, ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Rather overpriced for a piece of greasy, somewhat tasteless salmon. Everything was drowned in oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

As always we had the yummy bang bang cau ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always we had the yummy bang bang cauliflower and our entrees were delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise level is quite high. My guest has ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Noise level is quite high. My guest has hearing problem an had trouble communicating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Use legal for numerous business meetings ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Use legal for numerous business meetings and out of town guests. Everyone always enjoys the experience and the fresh fish. Great value and very dependable. Always have a great meal and experience.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We frequently eat at Legal C. The qualit ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

We frequently eat at Legal C. The quality of the seafood is simply unmatched! It is always outstanding! This particular location feels like dining at a high school cafeteria. If I'm going to spend a hundred dollars per person, I don't want to sit in a loud dining room with no decor, no coziness, and right next to the kitchen. No thanks !

Boston and even Hingham is much better.

Tags: Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Food was delicious and impeccable servic ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious and impeccable services! Will return for sure!

Tags: Open Kitchen, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Legals is a reliable bet for great servi ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Legals is a reliable bet for great service and quality food, Every. Single. Time.

Being the holidays, we've been out to eat a lot over the past couple of weeks and you can tell that service is suffering in many places as servers are tired from the high volume. Not at LSF though-- Vanessa was fantastic, so welcoming and great with my family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Celebrating my daughters birthday. I hav ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrating my daughters birthday. I have a lot of allergies in my family. All were taken very seriously. But none of my family members were frowned upon because of it. We never felt like it was a hassle which was so comforting since I am also in the food business. The best experience overall in dining I have ever had.

Thank you for making it feel special even though we did not announce it was for a special occasion.

Tags: Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined on New Years Eve. Was seated immed ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dined on New Years Eve. Was seated immediately. Our table was in the bar area but that was ok. I selected baked bay scallops from the "daily catch" menu. They were very good. My dining companion chose the broiled halibut from the regular menu. Halibut also deemed very good. Portions are ample. We started our meal with an appetizer of Rhode Island calamari which was just ok. A little bland. Ended the meal with a dessert of maple bread pudding which was good. Our server Vanessa remembered us from a previous visit. As usual Vanessa was on top of her game and provided excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner! ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner! Seafood was delicious including the gluten free choices too! Love the atmosphere and superb dining staff and management!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve dinner at Legal Seafoods. ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve dinner at Legal Seafoods. Service (Robin) was excellent and food was equally excellent. Very crowded, noisy and tables are extremely close together but food makes up for it. Started with 2 mugs of delicious clam chowder and then I had baked stuffed lobster and husband had baked stuffed shrimp with crab stuffing. Boston Cream Pie was awesome. Not your typical Boston Cream Pie. Thankfully we had reservations. Very good dinner.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I was very disappointed on the manager r ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was very disappointed on the manager reaction after I complained to him that my frisée salad I order for lunch, was indeed not washed properly , in fact I pointed to him the sand and dirty clearly visible on the frisée .

He simply stated that it was not sand as salad was washed properly and that in the kitchen they "grind" nuts into a powder added to the dressing.

I never heard of such thing and considering that people have nuts allergies, his answer to me made no sense and was nothing but an insult.

After I kept mentioning to him that I felt the crunchiness of the sand in my mouth the manager simply walked away from my table.

I understand things might happen in the kitchen when a misshapen occurs, but this was obviously visible in several pieces of lettuce when pointed out.

He took half of the salad cost off my check because I already eaten some of it.

My whole lunch was just ruined by an arrogant manager who just seemed pleasured and enjoyed insulting his patrons.

That said I never had problems with food served at any legal seafood locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Legals in Braintree is terrific! Great ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Legals in Braintree is terrific! Great food and wonderful ambiance. It's a bit pricey but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here several times it's always top ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Been here several times it's always top notch. Never had an issue, consistent good food drinks service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a special anniversary dinner. B ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was a special anniversary dinner. But, Legal is our go-to for special dinners. It has become my favorite local restaurant. They understand how to cook and deliver fish as no other restaurant does. I'm sure we'll be back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legal is always good - fresh fish, good ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Legal is always good - fresh fish, good service, predictably good to excellent food. Friendly staff.

Tags: Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food as always. A bit loud and cr ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great food as always. A bit loud and crowded table in the back but food quality made up for the shortcomings.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Legal Seafood 's food is nowhere near as ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Legal Seafood 's food is nowhere near as good as it used to be. Getting more chain like at premium prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As usual the food was great and the serv ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

As usual the food was great and the service superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a wonderful dinner and des ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful dinner and dessert. Friendly staff and excellent service

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent guests at Legal Seafoods ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

We are frequent guests at Legal Seafoods around the Boston area. We went to Braintree for Christmas dinner after going to the movies. The chioppino was excellent. The baked cod and the trout were both very dry. The chicken on the ceasar salad was served on a side plate. Never saw it served like this before. The oysters were good. So basically 3 meals out of 5 were disappointing ESPECIALLY because Legals is quite pricey. We were disappointed to find the fried pickles are no longer on the menu. I also miss the cold seafood antipasto.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service on Christmas Day was wonderful. ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service on Christmas Day was wonderful. My sister had the lobster bake and I had the baked stuff lobster and both were a little tough. We had a party of 8 and all other food, drink and appetizers were excellent.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is bland and the portions are t ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food is bland and the portions are too large.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Cannot say enough good things about our ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Cannot say enough good things about our Christmas dinner at Legal! First, of all Nathan was our server. He was fantastic! Great recommendations. The food was probably the best experience we ever had at any Legal Seafood. All five of us loved our food! Bay scallops, chioppino, tuna, lobster/filet. Bread pudding was to die for. Everyone that was working appeared happy to be there. Thank you all for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered from the menu. Food was good; ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Ordered from the menu. Food was good; not great. Wish they would stop pouring hot water directly into the the cup when you order tea. The hot water should be poured on top of the tea bag from the small tea kettle. Plus, the coffee was muddy and black.

We have eaten here many times and will be back again. Today just seemed a bit off the usual greatness.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great holiday dinner with the family her ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great holiday dinner with the family here! Large portions and super fresh seafood.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Prompt seating

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food. Prompt seating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last two times we used Open Table at ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The last two times we used Open Table at Legal Seafood we were placed at a table that was added for that night. The location of the table was not suitable for our tastes. In this case it was Christmas Eve and we were placed at a card table with rounded chairs (you could not hang your pocketbook on the chair). The table was placed in a high traffic area and right near the door to the kitchen. We had a nice meal but spending $200 for a card table was not what we were expecting. On another occasion (Valentines Day) we were placed in the back room where they added table in the middle of the room side by side so there was no privacy for conversation...not very romantic...I feel that one may get a better reservation by calling the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was delicious, but despite a re ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was delicious, but despite a reservation, we were initially seated in the bar area at a high top sort of table. Having made a reservation, I did not expect to be seated in the bar! That was why we made a 5 pm reservation. The hostess accomodated our request for a table in the dining area, not the bar. But the evening started off with disappointment. Also, when seated in the dining area, open tables and booths were visible. It was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was delish! And service was great! ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was delish! And service was great! Was seated promptly. The new location in Braintree has more room and nice ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice intamite table for two..It was a fi ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice intamite table for two..It was a first date and the waiter was very patient in our lack of attention to the menu.we shared an appitisier, the crab dip, which was delicious.next came the main course with was also tastefully prepared and my date has an allergy to losster and theanager came over to assure there was no cross contamination..Then desert..4 hours we sat and never felt we were pushed..4 hours..Unheard of !!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had reservations with client...was seate ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Had reservations with client...was seated at a table at the bar...my wife's lobster was cold and a ton of Roe ...I had cioppino...what happened to the BIG portion?.. spent $400 very dissapointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

My family loves this restaurant. Legal S ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

My family loves this restaurant. Legal Seafoods is pretty pricey, but the food is excellent and worth the money you pay. Always make reservations!! -- They are ALWAYS busy and reservations really help! :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.