About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

special occasion (81)
good for groups (80)
great for lunch (69)
See All
fit for foodies (54)
neighborhood gem (32)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (27)
romantic (27)
great for outdoor dining (25)
kid-friendly (22)
notable wine list (22)
scenic view (15)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience tonight! Our s ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had a great experience tonight! Our server Cassie was spectacular. She was knowledgeable and friendly. She accommodated all of our needs and went above and beyond to make our meal special! We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

As always, Legal Sea Foods does not disa ...

Dined 5 days ago

As always, Legal Sea Foods does not disappoint. Food and service were both spectacular. Of special note was our server Tim. His engaging manner and right-on recommendations really topped off our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service, very good food, no pr ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service, very good food, no pressure to leave the table, but rather pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vanessa was excellent as always. I love ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Vanessa was excellent as always. I love the fried risotto cake. I had it with the almond encrusted nutty Faroe salmon and a salad. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food is always very good and dining outs ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food is always very good and dining outside on the large patio is a plus in summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful to eat outside on the terrace ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful to eat outside on the terrace - clam chowder was not up to Legal's usual standards (kind of bland) - greek salad was OK but blackened salmon on top was great. Service was very attentive.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the food. the quality has not ch ...

Dined 7 days ago

I love the food. the quality has not changed since the first Legal Seafood's opened in Cambridge MA. many years ago.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came into Legal Sea Foods Thursday nig ...

Dined 7 days ago

I came into Legal Sea Foods Thursday night with a friends and my experience was out of this world. Te hostess offered us our choice of patio or the dining room, even though it appeared the restaurant was packed. While I was waiting for my friend I had a drink at the bar where the bartender Ashley recommended a drink for me that was absolutely wonderful. I ended up telling my friend to get it as well. We ended up seating in the lounge, which was actually very quiet and nice for me and my friend to catch up. My servers (yes, plural! There were two servers that made sure we were accommodated!) were awesome. Jose suggested to us a special appetizer that wasn't even on the menu, which was 1/2 of each kind of calamari. It was incredible. I had never had the thai style before and I will continue to get it! Chris was also very attentive and helped us pick out dinner: I got the special salmon and my friend got the regular grilled salmon, and both were cooked perfectly to our liking. I really appreciate getting this kind of great service from a busy restaurant. It really meant a lot to me and my friend that they made sure we had a nice experience. THANK YOU LEGALS!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waitress, Cassandra F. You would ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Great waitress, Cassandra F. You would be lucky to have her as your waitress. She was attentive, but not overly so. Took care of everything. Great person.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

The seafood was fresh and clean. I reall ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

The seafood was fresh and clean. I really enjoyed the crab cakes. The ribs not so much. They were bland and dry.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I asked my boss & he said everything was ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I asked my boss & he said everything was very good. They made the choice to dine outside which he sort of regretted as it got a little too hot on 6/21/16. (retirement lunch for colleague)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I find the food at Legal's inconsistent ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I find the food at Legal's inconsistent in execution these days and overpriced for what it is.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was Molly. Was outstanding ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waitress was Molly. Was outstanding. Took care of all of our needs. They accommodated my requests on the reservation form. Nice to be seated quicky. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, our server, Jose w ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful experience, our server, Jose was spectacular! Well knowledgeable of the food selections and an overall pleasure to deal with.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, friendly wait stuff a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, friendly wait stuff and fresh yummy seafood

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

When you want fresh seafood served in a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

When you want fresh seafood served in a great variety of ways, Legals is the only place to go. Russell, the manager made it a point to visit tables and be sure that his guests were well satisfied. We will return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a reservation for 7:15, table was re ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a reservation for 7:15, table was ready and we had no wait. Manager greeted the table to tell us the server would be right over. Service was excellent, food was delicious and I highly recommend planning your next dinner at Legals Braintree. If you want to guarantee a perfect night, ask for Melanie, she gave us flawless service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Accommodating Flexible Delish Att ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely Accommodating Flexible Delish Attentive service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation for 6:30 and was seat ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:30 and was seated immediately in a big booth in the lounge area. Laura was our server and she was spot on! She was so friendly and had great drink and food recommendations. We just shared apps but it was all amazing. She made us feel right at home.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almond Encrusted Salmon, yes!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a tasty meal and the oysters are fresh. We like the salmon because it is tasty and has spinach and ravioli, so it is a nice variety/combination.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good meals but pricy

Dined on May 28, 2016

The Calamari appetizer was excellent and the entrees (Salmon, Seafood Casserole) very good. Somewhat over priced for the style and ambiance. My entrée was $28. The wait-staff was excellent and we were not rushed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat outside on the patio for dinner with ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Sat outside on the patio for dinner with a friend. Service was terrific, not at all pushy or intrusive, Becka M. never interrupted our conversations but was always there exactly when we needed her for another drink or to order our next round of food. Had the baked stuffed shrimp casserole with the risotto cake, yum!! Friend had the lobster roll, also enjoyed it. Cocktails were great, patio was the perfect temperature, manager Lauren stopped by to make sure everything was flawless, and it was! Thanks for another amazing visit, LSF!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Service great!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent meal. Service great!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was okay. Pricy. Entered the dinin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was okay. Pricy. Entered the dining area after having placed a reservation over 24 hours earlier and was told outside dining was unavailable. With four in my party for a special occasion I was disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good...Very Efficient

Dined on May 7, 2016

I and my friends visited on a Friday evening. I made a reservation late afternoon and was accommodated. We arrived at the time I reserved and was seated immediately. The place was very crowded with a waiting line. The menu was excellent and the service efficient , very pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a wonderful experience, every aspect of our lunch was perfect. We were warmly greeted by the host, who took us to a lovely booth. Our server Vanessa was exceptional- friendly, nice, and helpful with great attention to detail. The food was spectacular- we all had lobsters and they were absolutely delicious and beautifully prepared. The Manager Mark also stopped by to make sure we were having a good time. I will be back again soon, thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here with my husband and two boys. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Dined here with my husband and two boys. It's great they have an extensive children's menu . The wine list is lengthy and the food is really good. I'm up for any place that serves meat, chicken and fish!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A little over

Dined on April 23, 2016

I though my fisherman platter was a little over cooked but it was still good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was very good as usual for my taste, very clean and friendly atmosphere. it was a little too noisy maybe because it was a full house. I can't wait to return again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a good experience. Raw bar is ama ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Always a good experience. Raw bar is amazing. Lobster roll leaves you happy and satisfied

food4
ambience3
service4

Pro: Lunch was very good-fish was outst ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Pro: Lunch was very good-fish was outstanding. We were seated at a booth which was nice after I asked for a good table in my Open Table reservation. :) Con: Traffic and getting to/from the restaurant was so bad that I would have to be persuaded to return to this location. I don't think any attention was given to traffic flow or patterns when this hotel area was transformed to hotel/shopping/restaurant dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious and so many gluten free options!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was delicious and my boyfriend who has a gluten free allergy had plenty of options. Waitress and runners were very attentive and prompt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderul experience

Dined on March 29, 2016

We meet friends at the bar before dinner. Excellent bar staff and incredible drinks. OMG; your Sangria! Our waiter, Brian, who is amazing. All his recommendations where spot on and delicious. I have to say that we have dinner many times at Legals and have never been disappointed. Well done!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always! The server was extr ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Delicious as always! The server was extremely attentive to filling our waters. I love having this type of place and not have to truck to the city!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Accomodating, excellent food and service

Dined on March 27, 2016

excellent food and service. Accommodating when group size changed. Was noisy but that was expected on Easter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Top Spot To Dine

Dined on March 27, 2016

Legals has character and is pleasing to the eye. It almost seems that it is in a big popular/happening city in the way it is setup. You are able to look out with an almost big city view. The clientele are laid back and social. It feels comfortable and it's a great place to bring a date, people from out of town, or a special occasion. Legals is one the few restaurants that has maintained its service and food quality. I'm definitely a constant. Legals will always remain one of my top spots to dine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

3 stars out of 4

Dined on March 24, 2016

The service was excellent, ambiance was nice, bathrooms nice and also clean, but the food was only only so-so.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service. Was able to us ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Good food and service. Was able to use a gift card and that was a real treat.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.