About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

We're serving everything from stuffed turkey to stuffed lobster.

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

Special Occasion (70)
Good for Groups (58)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Great for Lunch (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Romantic (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Scenic View (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Family Style (3)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In laws were in town and my father in la ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

In laws were in town and my father in law loves Oysters and it was during oyster festival. Server was great. She gave us time to eat and wasn't intrusive.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had relatives in town from Hawaii and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

we had relatives in town from Hawaii and they had been to legal seafood before and

wanted to go again. we also go for the special handling of the gluten free meals.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

MY FRIEND AND I HAD A GREAT TIME AND A W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

MY FRIEND AND I HAD A GREAT TIME AND A WONDERFUL MEAL

Tags: Great for Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to this Legal's location a few ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Have been to this Legal's location a few times. Wonderful for a special night out or when you just need that seafood fix. Started with an app of some fabulous oysters from the oyster festival menu. I chose the Arctic char with an Asian sauce served on the side which was great. My dining partner selected Scrod which was also very good. Since we were celebrating a birthday we were comped a lovely ice cream dessert. Our server Jose C was very attentive and helpful with menu selections. The ambiance is urban chic without having to drive into the city.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Vanessa was great. She was at ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Vanessa was great. She was attentive and gave us great service. It was a perfect date night

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legal Seafoods in Braintree used to be a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Legal Seafoods in Braintree used to be a great restaurant. The past few times we have gone there the experience has not been good. The food constantly comes out cold, we tell the manager who apologizes and does not charge us for the meal. We appreciate the manager comping the meal however, the evening is now ruined because you have to complain. I have a great idea cook the food right time and work on improving the timing of the courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a terrific night at Legal in Brai ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We had a terrific night at Legal in Braintree. The food was very good and the service was very special. It was my husband's birthday, although we only mentioned it in passing. Brian, our waiter helped us with selecting appetizers and brought a surprise birthday dessert to the table. It made the evening more festive and most enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal and the cosmo martin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great meal and the cosmo martinis and margaritas were delicious! Also, a highlight of the night were my sandyneck oysters- my favorite oysters! Our server was also wonderful- attentive without being overly attentive- she and the rest of the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Strange to say. Too much food in my sele ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Strange to say. Too much food in my selection. Very rich, well prepared, nicely presented, delicious but too much for me

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was wonderful as usual. The baked s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was wonderful as usual. The baked stuffed shrimp now comes in a casserole dish and did not have too much stuffing (a problem in some restaurants). Companion ordered artic char which is always a treat and cooked just right. We like the hot rolls as an appetizer since the portions are just right for us. Also liked that we could order a 1/2 bottle of wine since it is just a bit more than 2 single glasses.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This location is always on point in term ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This location is always on point in terms of food and service. The drinks are great, food is always consistently good, and the service is attentive and friendly. Definitely a great spot to go for a pre or post movie dinner and I love that you can be as casual or as fancy as you wish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Legal Seafoods but for the first ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I love Legal Seafoods but for the first time I received cold food to the table. The other 3 diners food was hot. They took my food back and it wasn't returned for a half hour and by then everyone else was finished eating and my fries were cold! Management volunteered to remove my dinner from the bill (and I was the paying party.) that was nice however since we were there for a celebration I missed being able to enjoy eating with my friends and then had to eat while they were conversing. Would eat there again since it is a treat but I will be careful not to order one of my favorites meals.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

My wife and I have enjoyed Legal Seafood ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed Legal Seafoods for quite a long time. In the recent past we have been using the one in Braintree because we moved here and it is relatively close to us. Also the waterfront and downtown Legals have been used by us on many occasions in the past.

We enjoy the food always and the wait staff are awesome especially in Braintree and Dedham.

We will continue to use Legal Seafood as often as we can.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend Nicole and I went out to Legal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My friend Nicole and I went out to Legal Sea Foods in Braintree, MA to celebrate her recent marriage. Legal Sea Foods provided us with a wonderfully perfect atmosphere to catch up over conversation and enjoy a delicious seafood dinner! Or server was patient with us as we conversed for a while before ordering! Great dining experience, thank you!

Tags: Private Room, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish is always great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fish is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We've been at this Legal twice. Reservat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We've been at this Legal twice. Reservations mandatory unless you want to take your chance and eat at the bar. Good is fantastic as is the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

League Seafood food is prepared to taste ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

League Seafood food is prepared to taste and great options, this if one of Boston's finest seafood places to eat.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Live Sports, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was outstanding as always. The ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The meal was outstanding as always. The best part was the waiter. He was most proffesional and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and service on this visit to Le ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our food and service on this visit to Legal Seafood in Braintree were very good. Our waiter was attentive, friendly, and accommodating. The food was very good. Our only complaint was with regard to our drinks - we both ordered the watermelon crush. We've had this drink many times before, both in Braintree and at Legal C in Hingham. I generally only drink vodka drinks because I don't care for the taste of most other liquors. My dining companion drinks, and enjoys, many other liquors. We both felt that the drinks had been made with something other than vodka and did not have the usual wonderful taste. Too bad because other than that, this would have been a perfect visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The buttered Lobster roll wasn't worth t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The buttered Lobster roll wasn't worth the $28.50 charge

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Overpriced, overcooked food. I will not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Overpriced, overcooked food. I will not go back. $29 for a lobster roll? Fishermans platter had 3 scallops, 3 shrimp and 1/2 cup of way overcooked tiny clams. I asked the waitress how big the bellies were on the clams before ordering and she told me very large. They were smaller than a dime. My 13 year old who eats anything in his sight, left half his dessert because it was too tart. I tried it and it was terrible. Too many other great seafood restaurants around to waste time here. Unfortunately, I think Legal Seafood has seen better days.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Like usual, I am always impressed with t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Like usual, I am always impressed with the service, food and hospitality of the staff. I should mention how the manager goes around to help staff, mediate any conflicts and ask everyone if there meal and service are to their needs. On the subject of manager, I was touched when he asked my 8 y/o son if his Mac and cheese was to his liking-he(my son) felt special having someone ask his views on something....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Food was amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a great time! Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legal Seafood has great seafood and the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Legal Seafood has great seafood and the waitstaff always make good wine suggestions. My only issue with the restaurant is the cost of a meal. If I'm paying $28 to $30 for an entree, plus the cost of an appetizer and alcohol, I usually choose a restaurant that has a better atmosphere and is not a chain.

The draw for most diners in the Braintree area is the location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I have been a fan of Legal Sea Food for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been a fan of Legal Sea Food for many, many years. The quality of food is superior, however, on this visit, my steamers were over cooked. They were breaking apart and gooey. They took them away and brought out a new batch cooked to perfection! They did not credit them off the bill and it took awhile to get them the second time around. The artic char was amazing and their salad was fresh and delicious. love the ambiance there, but the service was under parr that night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

One of the best Legal's, great service, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of the best Legal's, great service, atmosphere, and the seafood, drinks, and desserts are exceptional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy this particular L ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My husband and I enjoy this particular Legal Sea Foods. He has some dietary restrictions and this restaurant is always able to accommodate him. The food is good with a variety of selections. ,Although the restaurant is a bit pricey, I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious, but above all t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious, but above all the staff was friendly and very attentive. I had requested to be seated outdoors and immediately I felt few rain drops the server kindly offered us a spot inside which ended up being much more cozy and very elegant. This was a special occasion for my family which were departing back to PR next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a disappointing experience. Wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a disappointing experience. Waitress was not very attentive and had to request several obvious actions such as additional plates for sharing an entree, spoon to serve casserole. Presentation and quality of food was poor. Shrimp was tough. Least expensive wine was $11 which was over priced. This is the first and last time at the Braintree restaurant. My gift card was a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My friend and I met for a lunch get-toge ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friend and I met for a lunch get-together because we don't have a chance to see each other often. The food was good and the service was excellent. We appreciated the friendliness and the fact that we were not at all hurried and had a chance to visit and spend time catching up on news.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for 25min despite having reser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We waited for 25min despite having reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Ordered salmon special. Salmon was over ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Ordered salmon special. Salmon was over cooked and very dry. Fettuccine was a solid lump, no ability to separate into individual strands, tasteless and inedible. Very disappointing, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food! The crab dip was really goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food! The crab dip was really good, and the halibut was prepared perfectly. The crab cakes were good, but were fairly small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

All around very good food, table, compan ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

All around very good food, table, company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always spot on. Never had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place is always spot on. Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was great , however, there w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The lobster was great , however, there wasnt a variety with the salmon selection...and being that this was a seafood restaurant, i expected more. I ordered an almond crusted salmon but the almond was really overwhelming, i had to remove the top layer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Crab cake excellent Sea Bass special was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Crab cake excellent

Sea Bass special was ok, not great

Scallops were good but not great

Chowder always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amanda our server was fantastic. I coul ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amanda our server was fantastic. I couldnt recommend her enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the food and service were terr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I thought the food and service were terrific. It's a very busy place so I would recommend that you make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous fish! Fresh, cooked perfectly, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fabulous fish! Fresh, cooked perfectly, all of our meals. Former Mass resident, I have missed Legal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.