About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We're open and serving up yuletide cheer.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for a ho-ho-holiday feast.

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Give the gift of fish this holiday and get a lobster dinner on us. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're declaring a "Legal" Holiday - get a cup of clam chowder for $1. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid on Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Bar Seating (25)
Business Meals (24)
Healthy (22)
Casual (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Family Style (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great Beer (8)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Legal Seafoods is a professionally manag ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Legal Seafoods is a professionally managed restaurant chain that delivers - the quality and care for clientele is always evident

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu change!! They've done away with fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Menu change!! They've done away with fried pickles, which is disappointing. On the plus, the new rice bowls are delicious. Our server was a newbie. I had to ask for my salad, rather than it coming with meal or before.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My friend "& I arrived at 12:30 and were ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My friend "& I arrived at 12:30 and were shown to anice booth. When the third gal hadn't arrived by 12:40 we checked texts. Turned out she'd arrived before us, given my name, & been seated at a booth in the bar. They never told us this when we arrived. Manager (Tom) came over to apologize, thought he could've comped our wine or something, but nothing was offered except "if you need anything at all let me know"...,very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent. ---had dinner before taking b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent. ---had dinner before taking bus to Logan Airport !!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Family Style, Live Sports, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically, very good. Always reliable. A ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Typically, very good. Always reliable. Always worth a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good location. Food is very consistent a ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good location. Food is very consistent and good. Gluten free is gluten free.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our dish was overcooked and dried out, t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our dish was overcooked and dried out, the wrong side came with it which was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We have only eaten at legal seafoods Bra ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have only eaten at legal seafoods Braintree for thanksgiving in 2015 and 2016. It was fabulous. We all had turkey which was served with perfect traditional sides. wait staff was terrific. our waitress checked in on us periodically and filled our water glasses before we ran out which is appreciated. all in all it is wonderful even on a busy holiday

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food on Thanksgiving. We did n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous food on Thanksgiving. We did not have the turkey bit did look delicious at other tables The service was great, we also celebrated a birthday and received a lovely plate of several ice cream bon bons with a csndle in the whipped cream :)

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were only going to be three of us ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

There were only going to be three of us for Thanksgiving so we decided to eat out and Legal's was close by and open for the holiday. For a restaurant known for fish, the turkey special was exceptional and fairly priced for a Thanksgiving meal. The waitress was well versed in the wine list and we all had the best key lime pie in Boston area for dessert. Very impressed it went so smoothly.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was Great,not happy with waiting ti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was Great,not happy with waiting time. very busy , hard to find bathroom when needed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

We went for dinner last Saturday night. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went for dinner last Saturday night. We had made reservations, but we ended up sitting at the bar for dinner because the bartenders were so good and two seats opened up right in front of us even though it was packed in the bar area. Our meals were excellent, as was the service. It was very busy in the restaurant and bar, so there was lots of fun people watching too. Good vibe and excellent food and service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a few minute early for a rese ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We arrived a few minute early for a reservation and while we were disappointed that the restaurant was running behind, the staff worked hard by bringing out appetizers for those waiting and bending over backwards to make us feel welcome and appreciated. Once seated the food was fantastic and our waiter Brian was outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I frequent this restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

My friend and I frequent this restaurant almost every month. We both love seafood and the waiters/waitresses are great. They don't rush us to leave. We can relax, enjoy our meal and catch up on things.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was very good as usual. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food and service was very good as usual... they accommated us with a handicap accessible table by the entrance.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great gluten-free options, many differen ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great gluten-free options, many different menu items are available gluten-free.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Long time Legal Seafood customers, as we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Long time Legal Seafood customers, as we age, they too have changed. Perhaps the young crowd has different needs. Ours was for good food, at a reasonable value in a gentle atmosphere. The noise level was way up there, so too the prices for lunch. I noted they had Bay Scallops ( available for a short time each year ), delicious but the price billed was $ 33 too much for retirees...The fish chowder was full of broken down fish not the large pieces formerly had....Wish we had a better report.......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

All the seafood items I ordered and tast ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 15, 2016

All the seafood items I ordered and tasted over my last two visits were well prepared, tasty, hot and served graciously and promptly. Would never hesitate to eat here.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to meet friends for a fun an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great place to meet friends for a fun and delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, we got outstanding service an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

As always, we got outstanding service and fresh delicious entrees. Legal never disappoints!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our evening right from the beginning was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our evening right from the beginning was very disappointing. We were not able to have the waitresses we requested because she was waiting on a function. Then we were seated right in front of the food prep area which was a very busy spot. we would have had to wait at leas another 30 minutes for another seat. Our waitress was determined to get rid of us as soon as possible right from the beginning . She rushed all aspects of our dinner and even though we waited to get our appetizers before we ordered our main meal, it was brought to the table before we could even finish them. One of our party ordered a bowl of chowder as that was all he could have, and we could not believe the size of this bowl. It was so large that it was really unappetizing to look at and no one could have possibly finished that. We have been here before and enjoyed it but doubt if we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Tuna was melt in your mouth delicious. A ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Tuna was melt in your mouth delicious. Always fresh seafoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten at several legal seafoods b ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I have eaten at several legal seafoods before. This was by far the noisiest. Our server was attentive and professional. The manager and the other staff members were polite and courteous. My dinner, baked trout, was pleasing. My date had oysters legal which were sufficient for her with six in a serving. In an odd occurance and several minutes after finishing my dinner I ate her last stuffed oyster and drew a allergic reaction. My lower lips swelled, which I managed with Benadryl for two days. My first allergic reaction after eating seafood my entire life. Not sure if it was the oyster or the ingredients in the oyster stuffing and will have to get tested.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed excellent and fresh seafood i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoyed excellent and fresh seafood in our party of 10, and we all enjoyed great food and great service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My Daughter's 21st birthday. Server was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My Daughter's 21st birthday. Server was very pleasant, but took a while to greet out table. Maybe 7 to 10 minutes before acknowledging us. Only ONE glass of water for the FOUR of us. My son, daughter and myself SHARED ONE WATER. After waiting some time for our drinks... my wine got delivered by a hostess (hands on the rim of my glass) minutes later my kids' drinks showed up.

I noticed the food runner delivering the neighboring tables ' food... no smile... no personality. Just annoyed to be there auctioning off fish & chips. When our food arrived...same runner...same bad attitude. Placed our dinners to the side of all of us... not even in front of us!

Very disappointed! Didn't bother with a 2nd glass of wine or dessert. I really didn't want to have pay more to be disappointed again that night.

Not sure if we will go back to that location. Too bad... that's where we have all family members birthday dinners!

Thank uou

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Legal Seafoods has great food, great ser ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Legal Seafoods has great food, great service and great atmosphere. A little pricey.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had dinner @ 5:45 before a movie. I even ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had dinner @ 5:45 before a movie. I even requested a table on the side as the floor is uncomfortable. The table was along side of the bar. The noise was deafening from male patrons. People were in line staring at us through the glass while they waited for a table. Atmosphere is crowded and noisy. I was a frequent patron when you were at SSP; @ the bar and the restaurant.

I've tried this location 3 times and will not go back. Very disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Excellent all around. Great food , grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent all around. Great food , great service. right on time for reservations. Also staff went out of its way to recognize the 60th Anniversary. Great job! thank you

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was incredibly bad. The wait ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The service was incredibly bad. The waitress messed up at least six different things for a party of four. Unlike some of the other Legal's, this just felt like a factory not much better than a 99. Awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Seafood casserole is awesome!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Seafood casserole is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best Legals. Good food, grea ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 2, 2016

One of the best Legals. Good food, great service. Some dishes of those in our party were markedly better than others. Salad was not as good as expected, dressing had too much vinegar, not much imagination. Fish meals and crab cakes were excellent. Worth the trip.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food choices for meat and fish lov ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food choices for meat and fish lovers. Delicious dinner special the night we dined there. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Disappointed with legal had ordere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very Disappointed with legal had ordered the chowder which is always good but when it came to the New Special they where running because of election time THE SO CALLED TRUMP TOWER the ad said it was good for 4 to 6 people it consisted of oysters and shrimp which were good about 6 each also scallop ceviche which was also good but when it came to the smoked mussels as well as the little neck clams you needed a magnifying glass to find them could not believe legal would serve that to a customer also Alaskan crab leg consisted one leg about 3 inches log and one knuckle about 4

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We love this location of Legal's--it is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We love this location of Legal's--it is the best one in the area. Food and service are top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it's perfect for a girls night out - goo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

it's perfect for a girls night out - good bites/drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

If your looking for fresh quality seafoo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

If your looking for fresh quality seafood, this is the place. Was disappointed with the rhode style clamari...way too greasy!! Overall good spot.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food always good there. Great atmosphere ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food always good there. Great atmosphere. Service was great too.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thank You We had a time, Food was delici ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Thank You

We had a time, Food was delicious and our waitress was great!!!!!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from Nicolette

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great service from Nicolette

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had out- of- town family in from Atla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had out- of- town family in from Atlanta and they wanted to sample fresh New England Seafood. Since we were disappointed in our search on Cape Cod, I opted

for Legal knowing that the food choices and quality would be exactly what they

were hoping for. Even though Lobster Rolls were not on the Dinner Menu, our

server made it happen. They were happy with the experience and would recommend it highly to any other visitors.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.