About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We’re serving our regular menu along with festive features. Enjoy a family gathering and leave the cooking to us.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

special occasion (93)
good for groups (87)
great for lunch (78)
See All
fit for foodies (61)
vibrant bar scene (37)
neighborhood gem (35)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (31)
romantic (29)
kid-friendly (22)
scenic view (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
late-night find (11)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Service great!

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent meal. Service great!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was okay. Pricy. Entered the dinin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was okay. Pricy. Entered the dining area after having placed a reservation over 24 hours earlier and was told outside dining was unavailable. With four in my party for a special occasion I was disappointed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Good...Very Efficient

Dined on May 7, 2016

I and my friends visited on a Friday evening. I made a reservation late afternoon and was accommodated. We arrived at the time I reserved and was seated immediately. The place was very crowded with a waiting line. The menu was excellent and the service efficient , very pleasant and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a wonderful experience, every aspect of our lunch was perfect. We were warmly greeted by the host, who took us to a lovely booth. Our server Vanessa was exceptional- friendly, nice, and helpful with great attention to detail. The food was spectacular- we all had lobsters and they were absolutely delicious and beautifully prepared. The Manager Mark also stopped by to make sure we were having a good time. I will be back again soon, thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined here with my husband and two boys. ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Dined here with my husband and two boys. It's great they have an extensive children's menu . The wine list is lengthy and the food is really good. I'm up for any place that serves meat, chicken and fish!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A little over

Dined on April 23, 2016

I though my fisherman platter was a little over cooked but it was still good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Good!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was very good as usual for my taste, very clean and friendly atmosphere. it was a little too noisy maybe because it was a full house. I can't wait to return again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a good experience. Raw bar is ama ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Always a good experience. Raw bar is amazing. Lobster roll leaves you happy and satisfied

food4
ambience3
service4

Pro: Lunch was very good-fish was outst ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Pro: Lunch was very good-fish was outstanding. We were seated at a booth which was nice after I asked for a good table in my Open Table reservation. :) Con: Traffic and getting to/from the restaurant was so bad that I would have to be persuaded to return to this location. I don't think any attention was given to traffic flow or patterns when this hotel area was transformed to hotel/shopping/restaurant dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Great service and food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

delicious and so many gluten free options!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The food was delicious and my boyfriend who has a gluten free allergy had plenty of options. Waitress and runners were very attentive and prompt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderul experience

Dined on March 29, 2016

We meet friends at the bar before dinner. Excellent bar staff and incredible drinks. OMG; your Sangria! Our waiter, Brian, who is amazing. All his recommendations where spot on and delicious. I have to say that we have dinner many times at Legals and have never been disappointed. Well done!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always! The server was extr ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Delicious as always! The server was extremely attentive to filling our waters. I love having this type of place and not have to truck to the city!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Accomodating, excellent food and service

Dined on March 27, 2016

excellent food and service. Accommodating when group size changed. Was noisy but that was expected on Easter.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Top Spot To Dine

Dined on March 27, 2016

Legals has character and is pleasing to the eye. It almost seems that it is in a big popular/happening city in the way it is setup. You are able to look out with an almost big city view. The clientele are laid back and social. It feels comfortable and it's a great place to bring a date, people from out of town, or a special occasion. Legals is one the few restaurants that has maintained its service and food quality. I'm definitely a constant. Legals will always remain one of my top spots to dine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

3 stars out of 4

Dined on March 24, 2016

The service was excellent, ambiance was nice, bathrooms nice and also clean, but the food was only only so-so.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service. Was able to us ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Good food and service. Was able to use a gift card and that was a real treat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND PREPARED PROPERLY ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND PREPARED PROPERLY. BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE. THE NOISE LEVEL WAS LOW ENOUGH FOR ENJOYABLE CONVERSATION. OUR WAITRESS WAS ATTENTIVE AND NON- INVASIVE.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great evening out with my spouse. Our server was very friendly. The oysters and grilled calamari were fresh and delicious and we both enjoyed our meals - Seafood Casserole and Nutty Salmon. We wrapped up the meal with the ice cream Bon bons, yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A home run!

Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was very good and the service was even better. I really enjoyed the whole experience of dining at the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Another great meal

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had another enjoyable meal. Food was delicious and served hot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday evening dinner

Dined on March 6, 2016

Had the filet and stuffed shrimp and filet and lobster. Both were excellent and the filets were extremely tender. One of the best meals we have had at Legals. Normally loud when busy however noise level was moderate which was much more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Whatever you do, make sure you get Tim as your waiter. He is so committed to your dining experience. I've never seen anything like it! He made our family dinner spectacular!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The best. Go here every time I'm in the ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

The best. Go here every time I'm in the Boston area.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service

Dined on March 1, 2016

Our waitress for the evening was outstanding and very prompt with our food. Please send out thanks to her.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Meal for High End Dining chain.

Dined on March 1, 2016

It was the leap year lobster deal. $29 gets you 2 lobster entree and 2 sides. What more can you say? It was simply delicious and amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

foodie

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Service could have been a little better but it was very crowded cuz there was a lobster special I always eat at the bar here and the service is excellent hostess stand was great

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go-to place over and over

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was a celebration for our daughter. Five of us met at the designated time. The table was ready. The waitress was ready. We ordered five meals - our favorites. Grilled tuna x 2, shrimp casserole, roasted chicken, seafood casserole. Conversation ceased. Everyone was involved with the meals. Great success. The meal ended with a lit candle presentation with ice cream. We left stuffed and raving about the whole experience. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Vanessa was fabulous!!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Our waitress Vanessa was fabulous!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Laura was great!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was fabulous as always. I had rainbow trout with a salad and grilled polenta. The polenta is mildly spicy and I get it often. The salad could have used a little more dressing, but was good with cranberries, walnuts and a little Gorgonzola. My husband had his usual crab cake combo which includes shrimp, scallops and shrimp along with a salad. Our server was Laura and she was very attentive and friendly. She also make an excellent decaf cappuccino!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Always good.

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Food is always good, ambience is nice, good drinks., service was slow and not as friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Love the open table reservation respect. ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Love the open table reservation respect. Waitress was on point , tipped her 20% The clam chowder was extremely too hot to serve. And the mug portion is sad. Salad was delivered as cream dressing but asked for balsamic, was remedied quickly. The tuna sashimi seemed very small in cut portion size -- has it been reduced as a cost cutting effort? It still tasted great, but felt like it was half the size ... And for a customer that orders it likely twice a month at a minimum at multiple locations. I notice these things. The maple burbon pudding bread needs work, banana flambay with toffee nut Nutella and raspberry compot would help it a ton.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful.

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Food was wonderful.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Date Night

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went here for Valentines Day with my husband. The food and service were very good. We made a reservation and didn't have to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was outstanding!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Evening

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated right away- last time we had reservations, we waited 15 min before seating. Our waitress was very friendly and on her game. A bit noisy by the kitchen so we will request seating along the window in between the bar and kitchen. Food was delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food! Noisy restaurant. Very s ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food! Noisy restaurant. Very small booth.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than usual

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were there on Valentine's Day and it was very busy but they handled the crowd very well. We had a last minute increase in our party and, even though it appeared they would not be able to accommodate us, unexpectedly they did. The food and service was better than it is on a less busy day. We fully enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Reservations seem essential since the wa ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reservations seem essential since the wait was over an hour when we arrived for our 6:45 reservation. We were seated promptly although I wasn't thrilled to get a booth in the bar instead of the dining room. The drink selection and raw bar stood out. Our meals were also very good. Dessert was good but not great. Highly recommend for seafood in the burbs!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.