About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Boston Suburbs
Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

special occasion (79)
good for groups (72)
great for lunch (64)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
great for outdoor dining (29)
neighborhood gem (28)
romantic (27)
vibrant bar scene (22)
hot spot (21)
kid-friendly (21)
notable wine list (19)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (8)
Sort By:
Newest
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Crab cake excellent Sea Bass special was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined a day ago

Crab cake excellent

Sea Bass special was ok, not great

Scallops were good but not great

Chowder always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I thought the food and service were terr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

I thought the food and service were terrific. It's a very busy place so I would recommend that you make reservations.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The scallops sat under the heat lamp for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

The scallops sat under the heat lamp for 15 min. My husband said something to the manager.

Once replaced, they were very good. Very nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great per usual and t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant was great per usual and the service was amazing. It was a dinner for two friends who haven't chatted in over 3 years so our server was patient with us because we would forget to look at options due to some juicy tea (aka gossip). We traded gossip all through out dinner and a bottle of champagne.

It was the perfect place for our reunion.

Thank you

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Chioppino was delicio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service. Chioppino was delicious. Salmon special was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was terrific as usual. We wer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was terrific as usual. We were celebrating 2 birthdays at once. Great experience. Ron

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were there for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were there for a birthday celebration and gathering. Food and service were good as expected although the waitress disappeared for a long period of time at the beginning after she took our drink order. Took a long time for food to come too... we sat next to the prep area so we saw all the dishes sat on the counter without anyone picking them up for 10-15 mins... which means the waitstaff are too busy.. But overall it was a fun night and I would go back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I always like this restaurant because I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I always like this restaurant because I can count on having excellent quality seafood every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, all food cooked ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food and service, all food cooked spot on .

THANK YOU,

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Usually a big fan of Legal, but the Brai ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Usually a big fan of Legal, but the Braintree location has slipped in food quality. Fish was soggy and tasteless and my mother's fried shrimp was over-fried. Other locations appear to be maintaining quality, we'll skip Braintree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A group of five had dinner at the Braint ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A group of five had dinner at the Braintree Legal Sea Foods location recently, and despite it being a busy Saturday night, had a splendid time. The food was excellent, but the service was even better. We had people with two different specific food needs in our party, and someone with accessibility needs, and everything went seamlessly there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always food and service was superior.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always food and service was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Edna was our server. She was very attent ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Edna was our server. She was very attentive yet allowed us to take our time between courses. The food as always was great. I had a flounder special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was served uncooked. the manag ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

the food was served uncooked. the manager unattetive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Beautiful interior, great location, easy ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful interior, great location, easy parking, great selection of seating and awesome bar. Our server was very personable, kind and helpful making suggestions. Food and drinks were perfect. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 8 and the table couldn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a party of 8 and the table couldn't have been better. Square not rectangle. Was able to converse with everyone. Wait staff was great. Always there when needed but not hovering. We weren't rushed and all enjoyed their meals. The everything tuna was fabulous. It was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent! Most of the seafoo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Server was excellent! Most of the seafood was very good. Seafood tri was just good. Steamers were gigantic. Half the table would not eat them because they were too big. Never have seen such large ones in fifty years. The people that ate them said they tasted fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow, although to their ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service was slow, although to their defense it was very busy evening. Because we were rushed to place our order my sons pasta was not what we ordered. I also ordered grilled Chicken Caesar Salad and the chicken was inedible! It was unappealing pieces of chicken that should not have been used. They replaced my Chicken Caesar Salad but this time with a rushed semi-uncooked chicken. I've been here before and I've had a pleasant experience. I think it was just a crowded and bad evening overall. I'd go back again on a slower night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a great experience tonight! Our s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a great experience tonight! Our server Cassie was spectacular. She was knowledgeable and friendly. She accommodated all of our needs and went above and beyond to make our meal special! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to several legals. Much nicer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I've been to several legals. Much nicer than legal c in Dedham. Server was great. I was taken care of. The staff and food were great

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Legal Sea Foods does not disa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As always, Legal Sea Foods does not disappoint. Food and service were both spectacular. Of special note was our server Tim. His engaging manner and right-on recommendations really topped off our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent service, very good food, no pr ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service, very good food, no pressure to leave the table, but rather pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Vanessa was excellent as always. I love ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Vanessa was excellent as always. I love the fried risotto cake. I had it with the almond encrusted nutty Faroe salmon and a salad. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always very good and dining outs ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food is always very good and dining outside on the large patio is a plus in summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful to eat outside on the terrace ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful to eat outside on the terrace - clam chowder was not up to Legal's usual standards (kind of bland) - greek salad was OK but blackened salmon on top was great. Service was very attentive.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

I love the food. the quality has not ch ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I love the food. the quality has not changed since the first Legal Seafood's opened in Cambridge

MA. many years ago.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I came into Legal Sea Foods Thursday nig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I came into Legal Sea Foods Thursday night with a friends and my experience was out of this world. Te hostess offered us our choice of patio or the dining room, even though it appeared the restaurant was packed. While I was waiting for my friend I had a drink at the bar where the bartender Ashley recommended a drink for me that was absolutely wonderful. I ended up telling my friend to get it as well. We ended up seating in the lounge, which was actually very quiet and nice for me and my friend to catch up. My servers (yes, plural! There were two servers that made sure we were accommodated!) were awesome. Jose suggested to us a special appetizer that wasn't even on the menu, which was 1/2 of each kind of calamari. It was incredible. I had never had the thai style before and I will continue to get it! Chris was also very attentive and helped us pick out dinner: I got the special salmon and my friend got the regular grilled salmon, and both were cooked perfectly to our liking.

I really appreciate getting this kind of great service from a busy restaurant. It really meant a lot to me and my friend that they made sure we had a nice experience. THANK YOU LEGALS!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waitress, Cassandra F. You would ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great waitress, Cassandra F. You would be lucky to have her as your waitress. She was attentive, but not overly so. Took care of everything. Great person.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood was fresh and clean. I reall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The seafood was fresh and clean. I really enjoyed the crab cakes. The ribs not so much. They were bland and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I asked my boss & he said everything was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I asked my boss & he said everything was very good. They made the choice to dine outside which he sort of regretted as it got a little too hot on 6/21/16. (retirement lunch for colleague)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I find the food at Legal's inconsistent ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I find the food at Legal's inconsistent in execution these days and overpriced for what it is.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our waitress was Molly. Was outstanding ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waitress was Molly. Was outstanding. Took care of all of our needs. They accommodated my requests on the reservation form. Nice to be seated quicky. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, our server, Jose w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Wonderful experience, our server, Jose was spectacular! Well knowledgeable of the food selections and an overall pleasure to deal with.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, friendly wait stuff a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, friendly wait stuff and fresh yummy seafood

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

When you want fresh seafood served in a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

When you want fresh seafood served in a great variety of ways, Legals is the only place to go.

Russell, the manager made it a point to visit tables and be sure that his guests were well satisfied. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Had a reservation for 7:15, table was re ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a reservation for 7:15, table was ready and we had no wait. Manager greeted the table to tell us the server would be right over. Service was excellent, food was delicious and I highly recommend planning your next dinner at Legals Braintree. If you want to guarantee a perfect night, ask for Melanie, she gave us flawless service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Accommodating Flexible Delish Att ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely

Accommodating

Flexible

Delish

Attentive service

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation for 6:30 and was seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Made a reservation for 6:30 and was seated immediately in a big booth in the lounge area. Laura was our server and she was spot on! She was so friendly and had great drink and food recommendations. We just shared apps but it was all amazing. She made us feel right at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almond Encrusted Salmon, yes!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always a tasty meal and the oysters are fresh. We like the salmon because it is tasty and has spinach and ravioli, so it is a nice variety/combination.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good meals but pricy

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The Calamari appetizer was excellent and the entrees (Salmon, Seafood Casserole) very good. Somewhat over priced for the style and ambiance. My entrée was $28. The wait-staff was excellent and we were not rushed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.