About Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road

30 Forbes Rd
Braintree, MA 02184
View Larger Map

Our new location in Braintree is making a splash. Designed to evoke memories of vintage seafood restaurants, the space offers as many seating options as fish in the sea. Most notable are the three bars – including an oyster bar and food bar along the exposed kitchen – to satisfy any thirst (or hunger) for fun. In warm weather, a glass wall slides back to a large patio.

Our menu includes all the Legal Sea Foods classics, but also some specialties of the house that will reel you in. And our late night menu, available Friday and Saturday, begins two hours before close.

We’re located right off of Route 93 in South Shore Place, across the street from South Shore Plaza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Fish

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 12:00am
Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 817-1292

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/braintree-forbes-road

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Sea Foods - Braintree – Forbes Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Braintree ›

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Groups (68)
Great for Lunch (59)
See All
Fit for Foodies (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Romantic (26)
Kid-friendly (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Hot Spot (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Brunch (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overpriced, overcooked food. I will not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Overpriced, overcooked food. I will not go back. $29 for a lobster roll? Fishermans platter had 3 scallops, 3 shrimp and 1/2 cup of way overcooked tiny clams. I asked the waitress how big the bellies were on the clams before ordering and she told me very large. They were smaller than a dime. My 13 year old who eats anything in his sight, left half his dessert because it was too tart. I tried it and it was terrible. Too many other great seafood restaurants around to waste time here. Unfortunately, I think Legal Seafood has seen better days.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Like usual, I am always impressed with t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Like usual, I am always impressed with the service, food and hospitality of the staff. I should mention how the manager goes around to help staff, mediate any conflicts and ask everyone if there meal and service are to their needs. On the subject of manager, I was touched when he asked my 8 y/o son if his Mac and cheese was to his liking-he(my son) felt special having someone ask his views on something....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Food was amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had a great time! Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legal Seafood has great seafood and the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Legal Seafood has great seafood and the waitstaff always make good wine suggestions. My only issue with the restaurant is the cost of a meal. If I'm paying $28 to $30 for an entree, plus the cost of an appetizer and alcohol, I usually choose a restaurant that has a better atmosphere and is not a chain.

The draw for most diners in the Braintree area is the location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

I have been a fan of Legal Sea Food for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been a fan of Legal Sea Food for many, many years. The quality of food is superior, however, on this visit, my steamers were over cooked. They were breaking apart and gooey. They took them away and brought out a new batch cooked to perfection! They did not credit them off the bill and it took awhile to get them the second time around. The artic char was amazing and their salad was fresh and delicious. love the ambiance there, but the service was under parr that night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

One of the best Legal's, great service, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

One of the best Legal's, great service, atmosphere, and the seafood, drinks, and desserts are exceptional.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I enjoy this particular L ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My husband and I enjoy this particular Legal Sea Foods. He has some dietary restrictions and this restaurant is always able to accommodate him. The food is good with a variety of selections. ,Although the restaurant is a bit pricey, I would recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious, but above all t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was delicious, but above all the staff was friendly and very attentive. I had requested to be seated outdoors and immediately I felt few rain drops the server kindly offered us a spot inside which ended up being much more cozy and very elegant. This was a special occasion for my family which were departing back to PR next day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a disappointing experience. Wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was a disappointing experience. Waitress was not very attentive and had to request several obvious actions such as additional plates for sharing an entree, spoon to serve casserole. Presentation and quality of food was poor. Shrimp was tough. Least expensive wine was $11 which was over priced. This is the first and last time at the Braintree restaurant. My gift card was a waste of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

My friend and I met for a lunch get-toge ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My friend and I met for a lunch get-together because we don't have a chance to see each other often. The food was good and the service was excellent. We appreciated the friendliness and the fact that we were not at all hurried and had a chance to visit and spend time catching up on news.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for 25min despite having reser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We waited for 25min despite having reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Ordered salmon special. Salmon was over ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Ordered salmon special. Salmon was over cooked and very dry. Fettuccine was a solid lump, no ability to separate into individual strands, tasteless and inedible. Very disappointing, especially for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food! The crab dip was really goo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great food! The crab dip was really good, and the halibut was prepared perfectly. The crab cakes were good, but were fairly small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

All around very good food, table, compan ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

All around very good food, table, company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always spot on. Never had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place is always spot on. Never had a bad experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster was great , however, there w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The lobster was great , however, there wasnt a variety with the salmon selection...and being that this was a seafood restaurant, i expected more. I ordered an almond crusted salmon but the almond was really overwhelming, i had to remove the top layer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Crab cake excellent Sea Bass special was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Crab cake excellent

Sea Bass special was ok, not great

Scallops were good but not great

Chowder always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amanda our server was fantastic. I coul ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Amanda our server was fantastic. I couldnt recommend her enough.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the food and service were terr ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I thought the food and service were terrific. It's a very busy place so I would recommend that you make reservations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Fabulous fish! Fresh, cooked perfectly, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Fabulous fish! Fresh, cooked perfectly, all of our meals. Former Mass resident, I have missed Legal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops sat under the heat lamp for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The scallops sat under the heat lamp for 15 min. My husband said something to the manager.

Once replaced, they were very good. Very nice dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was great per usual and t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant was great per usual and the service was amazing. It was a dinner for two friends who haven't chatted in over 3 years so our server was patient with us because we would forget to look at options due to some juicy tea (aka gossip). We traded gossip all through out dinner and a bottle of champagne.

It was the perfect place for our reunion.

Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Chioppino was delicio ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service. Chioppino was delicious. Salmon special was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was terrific as usual. We wer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was terrific as usual. We were celebrating 2 birthdays at once. Great experience. Ron

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Friend was visiting from out-of-town, an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friend was visiting from out-of-town, and wanted to show her the best of New England seafood. This Legal Sea Foods is fabulous! The food was all delicious, and we also enjoyed a great bottle of Rose. Jen, our server, took wonderful care of us. She was friendly, kind, helpful, and knowledgeable. I would definitely request her to be my server on a future visit! The manager Matthew, also stopped by to check on us. Overall it was an amazing dining experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a birthday celebration ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were there for a birthday celebration and gathering. Food and service were good as expected although the waitress disappeared for a long period of time at the beginning after she took our drink order. Took a long time for food to come too... we sat next to the prep area so we saw all the dishes sat on the counter without anyone picking them up for 10-15 mins... which means the waitstaff are too busy.. But overall it was a fun night and I would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Everything was great and I really apprec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Everything was great and I really appreciated how the hostess was welcoming and accommodating when we were late because of traffic. I called ahead to let them know and my entire experience was a great example of what customer service should be: hassle free and pleasant😊

Thank you Legal Seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing experience. We've di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Very disappointing experience. We've dined at Legal Seafood many times and many different locations. The food and service were very disappointing. I'd be hesitant to go again and certainly would not recommend this location to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I always like this restaurant because I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I always like this restaurant because I can count on having excellent quality seafood every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, all food cooked ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food and service, all food cooked spot on .

THANK YOU,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Usually a big fan of Legal, but the Brai ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Usually a big fan of Legal, but the Braintree location has slipped in food quality. Fish was soggy and tasteless and my mother's fried shrimp was over-fried. Other locations appear to be maintaining quality, we'll skip Braintree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A group of five had dinner at the Braint ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A group of five had dinner at the Braintree Legal Sea Foods location recently, and despite it being a busy Saturday night, had a splendid time. The food was excellent, but the service was even better. We had people with two different specific food needs in our party, and someone with accessibility needs, and everything went seamlessly there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always food and service was superior.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always food and service was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Edna was our server. She was very attent ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Edna was our server. She was very attentive yet allowed us to take our time between courses. The food as always was great. I had a flounder special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was served uncooked. the manag ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

the food was served uncooked. the manager unattetive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Beautiful interior, great location, easy ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Beautiful interior, great location, easy parking, great selection of seating and awesome bar. Our server was very personable, kind and helpful making suggestions. Food and drinks were perfect. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 8 and the table couldn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a party of 8 and the table couldn't have been better. Square not rectangle. Was able to converse with everyone. Wait staff was great. Always there when needed but not hovering. We weren't rushed and all enjoyed their meals. The everything tuna was fabulous. It was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was excellent! Most of the seafoo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Server was excellent! Most of the seafood was very good. Seafood tri was just good. Steamers were gigantic. Half the table would not eat them because they were too big. Never have seen such large ones in fifty years. The people that ate them said they tasted fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow, although to their ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The service was slow, although to their defense it was very busy evening. Because we were rushed to place our order my sons pasta was not what we ordered. I also ordered grilled Chicken Caesar Salad and the chicken was inedible! It was unappealing pieces of chicken that should not have been used. They replaced my Chicken Caesar Salad but this time with a rushed semi-uncooked chicken. I've been here before and I've had a pleasant experience. I think it was just a crowded and bad evening overall. I'd go back again on a slower night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a great experience tonight! Our s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We had a great experience tonight! Our server Cassie was spectacular. She was knowledgeable and friendly. She accommodated all of our needs and went above and beyond to make our meal special! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.