About Legal Oysteria

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We're open and serving up yuletide cheer.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for a ho-ho-holiday feast.

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Give the gift of fish this holiday and get a lobster dinner on us. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're declaring a "Legal" Holiday - get a cup of clam chowder for $1. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid on Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Bar Seating (14)
See All
Casual (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Modern Decor (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Healthy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Fun (5)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was disappointed with the service. Aft ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the service. After making a reservation for what I thought was the main part of the restaurant, they placed our party of five in the back room, which lacks charm and ambience. The service was also lacking. I'm not sure I'd be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was awesome. Always is at a Le ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was awesome. Always is at a Legal Seafood restaurant. This particular restaurant was cold. We did mention it to our waitress but it never warmed up. We had to ask our waitress for the specials, for bread. She really didn't seem confident on the raw oysters. If I'm at a place that offers raw oysters, I'd like the staff to be very familiar with all of them. She seemed very inexperienced. And for us, having a great wait staff is half the experience of eating out.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Eating out on Thanksgiving is not my fir ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Eating out on Thanksgiving is not my first choice, however this year was our first year away from home and my in-laws were visiting for a few days. We decided to eat out due to our small group and tiny apartment. I found Legal on the list of restaurants open for the day which included their Turkey dinner for $25/plate. I made an Open Table reservation for lunch and we enjoyed every bit of it.

I'm usually not much for chain restaurants but learned that each Legal is a different theme/concept. Our server told us this location is more mediterranean in flavors. We were greeted upon arriving, just after walking under the huge oyster on their black facade. The host took us to a corner booth right by the kitchen (which I enjoy and reminds me of when I worked in a restaurant).

The restaurant is not huge and features a bar straight down the middle with lots of natural light coming through the windows. The decor is simple and neutral, allowing you to focus on all the delicious food. Our server went over the oysters of the day and the Thanksgiving meal, then brought us waters and bread for the table.

We ordered a plate of four of each three oysters for the day to share. All were very fresh and the champagne vinaigrette was perfect to add some flavor. My in-laws who visited from KY are from Chile and miss fresh oysters. This was a treat for them!

Most of us ordered the turkey dinner for lunch. It's hard to beat mom's cooking but they came pretty close! The plate came with dark and white meat--juicy and full of flavor. Sausage and sage stuffing was perfectly cooked alongside mashed potatoes and a butternut squash puree. Oh- and they did not forget the homemade cranberry sauce! It was all so delicious and I could barely finish it. Worth the $25 for sure!

We planned to go home for dessert but after the server told us about their pumpkin brulee we ordered one to share and taste. The custard was smooth and the caramelized crunchy topping wonderfully brulee-d.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Waiter was great, Restaurant was not bus ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Waiter was great, Restaurant was not busy. Meal was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service could have been better. Staff se ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service could have been better. Staff seemed overwhelmed. We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation. Food was great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Corey, the server, and his team were exc ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Corey, the server, and his team were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at Legal Oysteria every week. Lov ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We eat at Legal Oysteria every week. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Wonderful as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently avery good meal in a cool, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Consistently avery good meal in a cool, hip location in Charlestown.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very good. I had the swo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was very good. I had the swordfish and it was too salty. But the calamari appetizers were tender

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The seafood/fish selection was good. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The seafood/fish selection was good. The swordfish I had was overcooked, but the restaurant was accomodating and recooked another piece for me. Price for dinner entree was $27 and up. It was on the higher end. The clam pizza was delicious, straight out of the brick oven. The shrimp fritter was ok, didn't really taste the shrimp. The lobster ravioli was really spicy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Oysters! @$3.50each this is no bargain. ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Oysters! @$3.50each this is no bargain. Especially for oyster week.

Other menus items were very good. Trout was excellent. Chick parm was plentiful & good. Pastas were good but not as generous. Cod was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food - Great Service (Natasha) and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great Food - Great Service (Natasha) and great recommendations on oysters!

We visited during the oyster festival and it was great

Lucky Limes (oysters) are fantastic now!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fri at 7:30 was much noisier than weekni ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Fri at 7:30 was much noisier than weeknight. It was hard to have a conversation with friends from Calif. Food was wonderful! Service was friendly and great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday Brunch - Excellent service and li ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Sunday Brunch - Excellent service and liked the ambiance and feel of the restaurant. Food was very good but I was there for Sunday Brunch and was surprised that there were not more seafood/breakfast options....there were a couple of omelettes on the menu but one with prosciutto and the other with just onions. I mean salmon goes great with eggs and I'm sure there are some other more creative options that could incorporate local Boston seafood. Appetizers were more heavy on seafood but for main breakfast dishes I could have been at any restaurant, nothing stood out and let me know I was a a top seafood restaurant that was taking advantage of local fresh catches - seemed like lack of creativity. Also other than the oysters nothing really screamed Boston/New England to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Needed to be near the airport. Great amb ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Needed to be near the airport. Great ambience and twist on standard Legal cuisine, which is always good. Service and food were top notch. If you go, ask to sit in the front area. Back room is quieter but less fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality of the food was excellent. Great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Quality of the food was excellent. Great drinks and wine list too. The waiter we had seemed new to the role though, and a bit clueless. Enjoyed some great oyster dishes, roasted octopus, and fantastic crabcakes. A great spot for a solid meal and the bar scene was hopping before a concert at the TD Garden. BTW - the martinis were spot on!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Had oysters on 1/2 shell-4 different kin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Had oysters on 1/2 shell-4 different kind-and they were great. Chopped Greek salad is one of my favorites. Had the clam pizza-never had it before-very rich and delicious. It was my first time to Oysteria and I will make it a regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding ambience, food and service. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Outstanding ambience, food and service. Food was phenomenal 👍

If u haven't been, you must go. Great date night or casual setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters were fresh and delicious. Al ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The oysters were fresh and delicious. All food items were outstanding . appetizer arrived with the meal instead of before, but it was still hot when I wolfed it down. Meatball pricy but worth it. My wife finished her Tuna Jumbot and she never finishes anything , said it was awesome. It was a pleasant experience .

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fresh and delicious. Crab cakes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious. Crab cakes were real crab with almost (or no) breading--fantastic!!Attentive and friendly service. Made the gin martini to my exact specifications. Note that parking in the area is a bit of a challenge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love this local restaurant!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Love this local restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great raw bar, seafood and drinks. Love ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great raw bar, seafood and drinks. Lovely ambiance in old Charlestown building. We loved the service as well. Highly recommended.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, a great selection of oysters t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

As usual, a great selection of oysters to chose from. Our server was especially helpful, working with the chef to accommodate some dietary limitations.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere....very good food, grea ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great atmosphere....very good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very beautiful scene outside. Nice place ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Very beautiful scene outside. Nice place to eat lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

From the hostess to the Chef every one w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

From the hostess to the Chef every one was very friendly the whole night was a blast food was awesome. The five other people in my group really enjoy it. Will be going back sooner than later

Tags: Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go to Oysteria later in the e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We usually go to Oysteria later in the evening since it is one of Charlestown's only "late" night spots. The food quality has been inconsistent - never bad - but never amazing either. Service at the bar really depends on the bartender; I have waited for nearly ten minutes for a drink in a nearly empty bar but I've also had a good service experience. Very inconsistent and sadly, mediocre, overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

My husband and I had a great dinner at L ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I had a great dinner at Legal Oysteria. We brought our boat to Constitution Marina and this restaurant was highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was terrible and clod. My sist ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was terrible and clod. My sister had to ask them to microwave the pizza so it would be warm. The rest of our party suffered eating nasty cold food. Clearly there was no urgency to run the food while it was still hot. This is probably why it took forever to get the food. Do not waste your money here. Hopefully this place goes out of business so a decent place can open in its place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was average and under-seasoned. Sca ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was average and under-seasoned. Scallop dish with pesto was more like a soup with little personality or flavor. Overall a disappointing experience though our server did a nice job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not realizing it was Restaurant Week, I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not realizing it was Restaurant Week, I made a reservation to eat here before a show at TD Garden. It was very convenient. Our waitperson couldn't have been more professional or helpful; the portions were plentiful, and you can never go wrong with the chowder!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. The service great. W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. The service great. Wonderful staff. However all we can focus on is how poorly the parking was handled. Legal says parking is $5.00 at the Constitution parking area. When we left we had our ticket validated. The parking lot would not honor and charged us $15.00 rather than the advertised $5.00. Legal needs to firm up their relationship with the parking provider before we could consider returning. Without the parking issue our rating would be outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trout was good The linguini and cla

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The trout was good

The linguini and cla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Just after turning 40, my brother visite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Just after turning 40, my brother visited me in Boston for the first time. He insisted on going somewhere nice to celebrate, and we ended up at the Legal Oysteria in Charlestown at a corner table with a clear view to the kitchen. Chef Curtis Taylor greeted us, suggested a number of appetizers before dinner, and explained that we happened to have his best server, Natasha. I had never been there before, so while we expected to eat at a nice restaurant with an unpretentious atmosphere, we did not expect to dine as nicely as we did.

We ordered those appetizers, including the bacon-wrapped scallops, ricotta fritters, some miraculous tasting meatballs, raw oysters, calamari. We played a game to see if we could find something that didn't amaze us, and we lost. One example, I ate a second scallop just to see if I was imagining that the first one was so wonderful. I ordered a sausage pizza, my brother the bolognese, and my girlfriend ordered the swordfish. As we shared our entrees with one another, I realized that they were so good it was distracting us from talking about much else over dinner.

Natasha was equally wonderful, welcoming, prompt, and ready with dependable suggestions. Busy as it was on a Friday night, she and the other servers were not rushed to turn over tables. The dishes are worth every penny. I will definitely go again. The Legal Oysteria made the difference between eating and dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh fish and awesome oysters We ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great fresh fish and awesome oysters

We love having this restaurant in the neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic and a great vibe in t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic and a great vibe in the place! Service could have been a little quicker (although the delivery of food was well timed) as we probably would have drank some more cocktails if it didn't take as long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great menu. Non seafood options very nic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu. Non seafood options very nice. Good wait staff. Music too loud for conversation. No trouble getting same day reservation. Great alternative to going downtown. I would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made a reservation for 5:00 because w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We made a reservation for 5:00 because we were going to a concert at Fenway Park (James Taylor).We wanted to be sure we arrived on time.

When we entered, our table wa waiting. We shared a dozen oysters and each of us had something different. Everything was delicious, served quickly, and elegantly presented.

We would come back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town on a boat trip and picke ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were in town on a boat trip and picked Legal Oysteria because it was close to the marina but likes it so well we went back for a second night Great service and excellent imaginative food for a reasonable price

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.