About Legal Oysteria

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Dine Out Legal Oysteria

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Dine Out Legal Oysteria

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Dine Out Legal Oysteria

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
Celebrate Restaurant Week with a 3-course prix fixe lunch for $20.00 and 3-course dinner for $33.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Aug 14, 2016 - Aug 19, 2016 on Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.
Dine Out Legal Oysteria

Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
Celebrate Restaurant Week with a 3-course prix fixe lunch for $20.00 and 3-course dinner for $33.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Aug 21, 2016 - Aug 26, 2016 on Sundays - Fridays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
See All
good for groups (20)
great for lunch (12)
kid-friendly (11)
notable wine list (10)
special occasion (10)
romantic (9)
great for brunch (9)
hot spot (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating for small children! T ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very accommodating for small children! Thanks for your patience and great service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place in Charlestown. Met some of ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place in Charlestown. Met some of the locals who love going there. Although smaller that we thought, there was a great feel to the place. The management works seamlessly to be accommodating to needs of customers. Our appetizers - clam chowder; chickpea spread with focaccia were yummy and the mussels were excellent. The meals were delicious and requests honored. Found parking outside on street across from Legal Oysteria. We will definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

An enjoyable meal with the signature Leg ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

An enjoyable meal with the signature Legal Seafoods touch. It wasn't an outrageous meal full of unexpected surprises, but that's not Legal's brand. They've taken their brand and shifted it a bit with the Oysteria, and it was pleasant. You know what you're getting when you eat there. Some great oysters, an excellent shrimp cocktail, some good quality, nicely prepared seafood as main entrees. We were satisfied, it was the right meal at the right price at the right time.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Mussels very good in slightly spicy brot ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Mussels very good in slightly spicy broth. Scallop pasta was poorly presented with steam table looking vegetables and barely enough scallops to justify the price. Service was attentive until they got busy, and they didn't validate my parking ticket even though I gave it to them. Probably better choices nearby...

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal and the service was excellent.

Dined on June 12, 2016

The meal and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Don't go to the back room

Dined on June 10, 2016

I admit it was our mistake not to take the first table we were offered, but my husband doesn't like to sit at a high-top. When we asked for a non-high table, we were ushered into a back room with essentially no decor (white walls with chipped paint at the corners, cheap furniture) which appeared to be the place they put families with young children. The servers were pleasant but overworked and thus a little slow. Food was excellent. Another time I would insist on sitting in the very pleasant-looking main room.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak was a bit overdone, management ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

The steak was a bit overdone, management and server were quick to respond and graciously comped that portion of the meal. Were I staying local, this would be a regular dining spot for us. Highly recommended, from food to service and ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing, food almost neve ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server was amazing, food almost never disappoints, and the oysters are always well shucked and delicious!

food3
ambience4
service1

We have eaten there before and had bette ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have eaten there before and had better service.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Appetizers were great, but waitstaff was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Appetizers were great, but waitstaff was unknowledgeable about menu items. They offer many of their menu items gluten-free, however, they do not mention that some of the gluten-free option changes the entire dish completely (e.g. shrimp-squid ink linguini in which the substitute was gluten-free noodles with no squid ink). The main courses were over-salted. The pistachio ice-cream dessert was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day brunch spot, not too crowded, delicious oysters and brunch options!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great neighborhood spot

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent oysters, delicious salad, yummy pasta. Can't complain about the food at all. Moderate prices, fun atmosphere, friendly service. Not stuffy, but not TOO casual. Love it and glad it's close to home!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Good Food, terrible service.

Dined on April 18, 2016

I came here with a group of 5 for a small celebration. Unfortunately, the service was terrible. We were sitting for 45 minutes before our drinks arrived. We had to chase our waiter down every time we needed something. We ordered oysters to start and they took another 45 minutes which I didn't understand since they are raw! Luckily our meals were delicious but I can't say I'd go back due to the terrible service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and food were outstanding!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch and had wonderful food and rinks! Service was exceptional and timed perfectly! We will be back! Grilled octopus is a must try!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

Awful service!!! AWFUL. Steak was no ver ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Awful service!!! AWFUL. Steak was no very good either. Usually the food is good but the service continues to be terrible.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Had a very disappointing lunch

Dined on April 15, 2016

Dry tuna burger in huge roll, very greasy onion rings-altogether unappetizing. Service was lackadaisical (to be polite) and very slow despite small crowd. Will not be going back anytime soon...

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Dine Around Week

Dined on March 18, 2016

My second visit to this place. Both times food was great. This time service was not so great. I sat at the bar with no one else on my side. I had to wave to my server several times for service. She was no where to be found when I was looking for my check. The restaurant was not busy, but she was--chatting with other servers.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family dinner in Charlestown, Ma.

Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a three generation family dinner here. The wait staff was great with the kids. We loved our dinners and found the wine flights excellent for tasting and conversational value. It's a perfect stop when you are in Charlestown.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We all ordered the Dining Out Menu. The ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

We all ordered the Dining Out Menu. The crab cakes and shrimp were delicious! Waiter was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner.before bruins game

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service before a Bruins game. Waitress was very conscious of our timing . Will surely return again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Has the feel of a modern small neighborh ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Has the feel of a modern small neighborhood Italian place. Cozy space, great bar, good service. Charred octopus was rustic and very memorable, enjoyed that they had wine flights.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was absolutely horrible!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was mediocre and the service horrible. Absolutely disappointing especially on Valentines Dinner. Just moved to Charlestown and we excited to go. What a disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and many options! The coc ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Delicious food and many options! The cocktails are also very good!

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Major Disappontment

Dined on February 3, 2016

Very disappointed. This place used to be good. Was there for lunch. They messed up both our pasta dishes, Lobster PLT was miserable, and overall service was medical. Will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone goes here for the seafood which ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Everyone goes here for the seafood which I'm sure is amazing but the pizza and meatballs here are unbelievable. This place is awesome.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good food, a pleasurable experience, att ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Good food, a pleasurable experience, attentive and cooperative staff and a lovely place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience
service5

Excellent and consistent

Dined on January 21, 2016

Excellent and consistent

food3
ambience4
service5

Always great service

Dined on January 17, 2016

Always great service

food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Too loud, and too salty, and not cheap

Dined on January 9, 2016

This restaurant was loud, crowded and dark. For appetizers, we got the calamari, which was 17 dollars for about 13 pieces of calamari. We also got the clam cake. We got 1 tiny clam cake with this huge salad and some gross sauce. For our main course, we got a prosciutto pizza, a clam pizza, a the house salad with salmon with dressing on the side, and the squid ink pasta. The clam pizza was way to salty with about 3 mini pieces of clam throughout the whole pizza. The salad came with a boat load of dressing on top the salad. We sent it back then we got the salad with dressing on the side. But, the lettuce still had some dressing on it, not acceptable. The squid ink pasta was all clumped together and under it was just regular penne pasta. That was such a disappointment. The food over all was far to expensive, and too salty. The atmosphere was dark with loud music blasting. Not my kind of place. I would never recommend it. Our waiter was slow and had no knowledge about the menu. I would tell my friends to just go to the regular Legal Seafood's. Overall, we thought this was not up to Legal Seafood's standards.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Although we had asked for a quiet table, ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Although we had asked for a quiet table, we found the noise level a bit difficult regarding having conversation. Please work on this issue!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

New years eve dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had linguini &clams, shared Mediterranean salad & dessert. Everything was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve night out

Dined on December 31, 2015

Great place to start off our NYE celebrations. My friends live right down the street which made this location ideal. The food from appetizers to entrees were delicious and they have a great cocktail list with plenty of options. We were a group of four but I could see this restaurant being great for small or big groups.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

legal osteria

Dined on December 25, 2015

Doted on first visit. Went back. Service OK not great. Xmas eve ? Good food still.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Charlestown!

Dined on December 24, 2015

They have always exceeded my expectations. Great food, excellent service, wonderful value in a convenient location. I purchased many gift certificates for holiday gifts, all of which were greatly appreciated. We love the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food in neighborhood lacking restaurants

Dined on December 24, 2015

I always enjoy myself at Oysteria. I like the ambiance, both in the main room and the small back room as well. I appreciate that the meals and wine are affordable for a casual night out. This past meal we found a little heavy on the olive oil but flavorful and well prepared otherwise. I'm disappointed they have taken off the menu my favorite salad: endive and escarole with a lemony vinaigrette.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not Legal's usual high standard

Dined on December 18, 2015

I am a huge fan of Legal Sea Food and thus I was excited to go to this restaurant for the first time. With my open table reservation they sat us in the back room where there were multiple families with babies. I have nothing against babies but there was a fair amount of screaming and challenge. When it came to the food, the greek salad was excellent as always, but the calamari was all discs and no tentacles. The bolognese, though cheesy really didn't have much flavor. The bronzini, cooked and served whole, didn't provide much fish for a meal. The chowder is always a hit. I think our best dish was the 8 oz steak and a side of brussel sprouts. So the meal was ok, but not the usual excellent I would give a regular Legal Sea Food.

Tags: kid-friendly, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service coupled with seafood with ...

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great service coupled with seafood with an Italian flair. I had the cod in a red broth that is delicious. A couple of others in our group had the Branzino special and they loved it. I wish there were more Legal Oysterias.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a nice lunch. Restaurant very quiet ...

Dined on December 14, 2015

Had a nice lunch. Restaurant very quiet midweek lunch so good to talk business. Food was excellent...........swordfish and seared tuna. A very enjoyable experience and I will return.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Legal quality, great service

Dined on December 2, 2015

Fast, friendly service. Shrimp Caesar was great - generous 6-8 shrimps, fresh romaine, well done dressing with just enough anchovy bite. Chick Pea salad was essential roasted red pepper hummus with delicious focaccia.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The swordfish was cooked to perfection a ...

Dined on November 28, 2015

The swordfish was cooked to perfection as well as the steak and salmon. Our whole party loved the food and drinks as well as exceptional service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.