About Legal Oysteria

10 City Square
Charlestown, MA 02129
View Larger Map

Legal Oysteria is a casual neighborhood restaurant serving coastal Italian-style seafood. Executive Chef Rich Vellante developed a menu based on the food he cooks at home for family and friends.

Legal Oysteria’s menu showcases the freshness and purity of its seafood offerings and other ingredients. Preparations are simple and authentic. A brick oven (with pizza oven and rotisserie) informs the menu. There are options for those who choose to table share or prefer more traditional coursed dining. Our bar program was designed to complement the cuisine. By tradition, an osteria is casual, comfortable and accessible and Legal Oysteria aspires to afford that same experience.

We are located along the Freedom Trail, overlooking City Square Park, and close to landmarks in Charlestown, including the USS Constitution Museum and Bunker Hill Monument. We are also in walking distance to the TD Garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Oyster Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 1:00am

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 712-1988

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/charlestown-legal-oysteria

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you savings. After 5pm daily, park for just $5 at the nearby Constitution Center lot. Before 5pm daily, take $8 off the daytime parking rates. Street parking is also available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Oysteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great atmosphere....very good food, grea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere....very good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very beautiful scene outside. Nice place ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very beautiful scene outside. Nice place to eat lunch.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

From the hostess to the Chef every one w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

From the hostess to the Chef every one was very friendly the whole night was a blast food was awesome. The five other people in my group really enjoy it. Will be going back sooner than later

Tags: Live Sports, Open Kitchen, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great dinner at L ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I had a great dinner at Legal Oysteria. We brought our boat to Constitution Marina and this restaurant was highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was average and under-seasoned. Sca ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was average and under-seasoned. Scallop dish with pesto was more like a soup with little personality or flavor. Overall a disappointing experience though our server did a nice job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not realizing it was Restaurant Week, I ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Not realizing it was Restaurant Week, I made a reservation to eat here before a show at TD Garden. It was very convenient. Our waitperson couldn't have been more professional or helpful; the portions were plentiful, and you can never go wrong with the chowder!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. The service great. W ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. The service great. Wonderful staff. However all we can focus on is how poorly the parking was handled. Legal says parking is $5.00 at the Constitution parking area. When we left we had our ticket validated. The parking lot would not honor and charged us $15.00 rather than the advertised $5.00. Legal needs to firm up their relationship with the parking provider before we could consider returning. Without the parking issue our rating would be outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The trout was good The linguini and cla

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The trout was good

The linguini and cla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Just after turning 40, my brother visite ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Just after turning 40, my brother visited me in Boston for the first time. He insisted on going somewhere nice to celebrate, and we ended up at the Legal Oysteria in Charlestown at a corner table with a clear view to the kitchen. Chef Curtis Taylor greeted us, suggested a number of appetizers before dinner, and explained that we happened to have his best server, Natasha. I had never been there before, so while we expected to eat at a nice restaurant with an unpretentious atmosphere, we did not expect to dine as nicely as we did.

We ordered those appetizers, including the bacon-wrapped scallops, ricotta fritters, some miraculous tasting meatballs, raw oysters, calamari. We played a game to see if we could find something that didn't amaze us, and we lost. One example, I ate a second scallop just to see if I was imagining that the first one was so wonderful. I ordered a sausage pizza, my brother the bolognese, and my girlfriend ordered the swordfish. As we shared our entrees with one another, I realized that they were so good it was distracting us from talking about much else over dinner.

Natasha was equally wonderful, welcoming, prompt, and ready with dependable suggestions. Busy as it was on a Friday night, she and the other servers were not rushed to turn over tables. The dishes are worth every penny. I will definitely go again. The Legal Oysteria made the difference between eating and dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh fish and awesome oysters We ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great fresh fish and awesome oysters

We love having this restaurant in the neighborhood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was fantastic and a great vibe in t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was fantastic and a great vibe in the place! Service could have been a little quicker (although the delivery of food was well timed) as we probably would have drank some more cocktails if it didn't take as long.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great menu. Non seafood options very nic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu. Non seafood options very nice. Good wait staff. Music too loud for conversation. No trouble getting same day reservation. Great alternative to going downtown. I would definitely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We made a reservation for 5:00 because w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We made a reservation for 5:00 because we were going to a concert at Fenway Park (James Taylor).We wanted to be sure we arrived on time.

When we entered, our table wa waiting. We shared a dozen oysters and each of us had something different. Everything was delicious, served quickly, and elegantly presented.

We would come back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town on a boat trip and picke ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were in town on a boat trip and picked Legal Oysteria because it was close to the marina but likes it so well we went back for a second night Great service and excellent imaginative food for a reasonable price

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was completely overcooked. Fried ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Salmon was completely overcooked. Fried oysters were also way overdone. Staff offered free dessert but we were not interested. Also - the white clam pizza was good but every time we have it here it is different, never consistent like it is at Legal Harborside, and never quite the same as that one. They need a chef overseeing the kitchen, not just cooks. I've been here many times for brunch and dinner and its usually ok, a few issues now and then. I will try again, this was just not a good night. I wouldn't really recommend it, jury is still out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent. The food left a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was excellent. The food left a lot to be desired. Great ideas and a good looking menu but poor execution. Everything we ordered was obviously cooked earlier in the day and reheated. The charred octopus appetizer was charred and partially warm with some cold areas. The shrimp entree had the shrimp over cooked and the bean puree barely luke warm. The fish stew had the shrimp so overcooked they were similar to eating rubber. The only think decent on the menu was the calamari. I'd say go for the calamari and don't order anything else. Very disappointing for a Legal Seafoods owned restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value4

Went for my wife's birthday. service was ...

 
 (Angus)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday. service was hit and miss. good in parts bad in parts. waited too long for server when we sat. water and drinks should be pretty quick. we were done with food picks about 5 mins by the time our server arrived. when she did she was very pleasant and personable. wife's dish was not hot when it arrived. had it returned and when we got our food sorted it was good. expected some gesture from the restaurant as an apology but bill was for full amount. nice place, good vibe, reasonable prices and food tastes good but needs to up its game.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our entire dining experience was except ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our entire dining experience was exceptional! Thank you to everyone who made our special birthday celebration so memorable! From our hostess to Michael our server to management to the chef who came out to greet us, this was outstanding! The food was delicious and everyone was so pleased. Everything was prepared perfectly. Thank you!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with 3 adults and 4 kids - very nic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Went with 3 adults and 4 kids - very nice dining space - waiter friendly and service good - food good - drinks good - a solid legal experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not the best food or the best service. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Not the best food or the best service. I've eaten here three times and oddly there is never anyone in the restaurant - I'm not sure how they manage to stay open!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very accommodating for small children! T ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very accommodating for small children! Thanks for your patience and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place in Charlestown. Met some of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place in Charlestown. Met some of the locals who love going there. Although smaller that we thought, there was a great feel to the place. The management works seamlessly to be accommodating to needs of customers. Our appetizers - clam chowder; chickpea spread with focaccia were yummy and the mussels were excellent. The meals were delicious and requests honored. Found parking outside on street across from Legal Oysteria.

We will definitely return again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An enjoyable meal with the signature Leg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

An enjoyable meal with the signature Legal Seafoods touch. It wasn't an outrageous meal full of unexpected surprises, but that's not Legal's brand. They've taken their brand and shifted it a bit with the Oysteria, and it was pleasant. You know what you're getting when you eat there. Some great oysters, an excellent shrimp cocktail, some good quality, nicely prepared seafood as main entrees. We were satisfied, it was the right meal at the right price at the right time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Mussels very good in slightly spicy brot ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Mussels very good in slightly spicy broth. Scallop pasta was poorly presented with steam table looking vegetables and barely enough scallops to justify the price. Service was attentive until they got busy, and they didn't validate my parking ticket even though I gave it to them. Probably better choices nearby...

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

The meal and the service was excellent.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The meal and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't go to the back room

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I admit it was our mistake not to take the first table we were offered, but my husband doesn't like to sit at a high-top. When we asked for a non-high table, we were ushered into a back room with essentially no decor (white walls with chipped paint at the corners, cheap furniture) which appeared to be the place they put families with young children. The servers were pleasant but overworked and thus a little slow. Food was excellent. Another time I would insist on sitting in the very pleasant-looking main room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

The steak was a bit overdone, management ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The steak was a bit overdone, management and server were quick to respond and graciously comped that portion of the meal. Were I staying local, this would be a regular dining spot for us. Highly recommended, from food to service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was amazing, food almost neve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our server was amazing, food almost never disappoints, and the oysters are always well shucked and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten there before and had bette ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have eaten there before and had better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Appetizers were great, but waitstaff was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Appetizers were great, but waitstaff was unknowledgeable about menu items. They offer many of their menu items gluten-free, however, they do not mention that some of the gluten-free option changes the entire dish completely (e.g. shrimp-squid ink linguini in which the substitute was gluten-free noodles with no squid ink). The main courses were over-salted. The pistachio ice-cream dessert was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Mother's Day

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day brunch spot, not too crowded, delicious oysters and brunch options!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great neighborhood spot

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent oysters, delicious salad, yummy pasta. Can't complain about the food at all. Moderate prices, fun atmosphere, friendly service. Not stuffy, but not TOO casual. Love it and glad it's close to home!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food, terrible service.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I came here with a group of 5 for a small celebration. Unfortunately, the service was terrible. We were sitting for 45 minutes before our drinks arrived. We had to chase our waiter down every time we needed something. We ordered oysters to start and they took another 45 minutes which I didn't understand since they are raw! Luckily our meals were delicious but I can't say I'd go back due to the terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service and food were outstanding!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch and had wonderful food and rinks! Service was exceptional and timed perfectly! We will be back! Grilled octopus is a must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awful service!!! AWFUL. Steak was no ver ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Awful service!!! AWFUL. Steak was no very good either. Usually the food is good but the service continues to be terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Had a very disappointing lunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Dry tuna burger in huge roll, very greasy onion rings-altogether unappetizing.

Service was lackadaisical (to be polite) and very slow despite small crowd.

Will not be going back anytime soon...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Dine Around Week

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

My second visit to this place. Both times food was great. This time service was not so great.

I sat at the bar with no one else on my side. I had to wave to my server several times for service. She was no where to be found when I was looking for my check. The restaurant was not busy, but she was--chatting with other servers.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Family dinner in Charlestown, Ma.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a three generation family dinner here. The wait staff was great with the kids. We loved our dinners and found the wine flights excellent for tasting and conversational value. It's a perfect stop when you are in Charlestown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all ordered the Dining Out Menu. The ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We all ordered the Dining Out Menu. The crab cakes and shrimp were delicious! Waiter was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner.before bruins game

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great food and service before a Bruins game. Waitress was very conscious of our timing . Will surely return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.