About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available daily and during full hours of operation for $18 with our validation stamp. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Liberty Wharf Marina link: http://www.libertywharf.co/docks/reservations/

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We're open and serving up yuletide cheer.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for a ho-ho-holiday feast.

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're declaring a "Legal" Holiday - get a cup of clam chowder for $1. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid on Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Give the gift of fish this holiday and get a lobster dinner on us. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Boston
Seafood
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

Waterfront (130)
Scenic View (130)
Great for Outdoor Dining (98)
See All
Great for Lunch (67)
Special Occasion (65)
Casual (60)
Good for a Date (60)
Hot Spot (59)
Good for Groups (59)
Fun (50)
Local Ingredients (46)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Business Meals (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
People Watching (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Healthy (25)
Open Kitchen (24)
Authentic (21)
Family Style (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Kid-friendly (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Seasonal (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Late-night Find (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Historic (8)
Great Beer (7)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again, Legal Harboside proved it wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again, Legal Harboside proved it was the perfect choice. We went her for lunch with my Finace's parents and grandmother. The food was delicious and Emerson, our waiter made the experience a great one. We will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and ambiance; our serv ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service and ambiance; our server, Diego, was extremely attentive, friendly and knowledgeable of the menu options. Will return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience enjoyed by all. I ...

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A wonderful experience enjoyed by all. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxed lunch with great views and very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went on Thanksgiving Day. The food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I went on Thanksgiving Day. The food was amazing, the waitstaff was friendly and cheerful, my parents and I had a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed Thanksgiving here. Excellent ser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Enjoyed Thanksgiving here. Excellent service from Diego. I guess because it was Thanksgiving, it was not packed, so we had a table by the window and the noise level was low enough for conversation. Food was better than expected - Oysters, scallops, even the Thanksgiving special plate was extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Thanksgiving dinner with my family t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner with my family there. Absolutely delightful!

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Emile is great - friendly, profes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Server Emile is great - friendly, professional and remembers prior customers. Food was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Busy restaurant in the Sea Port district ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Busy restaurant in the Sea Port district. Good food and fair (inexperienced) service. High prices are in line with other decent Boston restaurants.

Dishes were nicely prepared and presented, but delivery was not timed well. Staff were very friendly and tried their best given how new some were to the job.

Nice views of the waterfront, noise was reasonable even when full, valet parking ($18) curb side.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was mediocre, at best. Fish and Chi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was mediocre, at best. Fish and Chips was not up to Legal standards. Steak tasted like the bottom of my shoe. Please add Ranch dressing to your inventory. WHY DON'T YOU SELL FISH CHOWDER????

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

I had a great time taking my boyfriend o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I had a great time taking my boyfriend out to dinner for his birthday at Legal's Harborside. It was our first time to that location. The oysters were delicious, as was the sangria & our lobster & salmon dinners. Our waiter was super friendly & it was an enjoyable evening for all! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Our waiter was v ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was delicious. Our waiter was very accommodating. Got a long incomprehensible answer from the front desk staff as to why we had to wait 15 minutes when we had a reservation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best seafood in Boston!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Best seafood in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great views and great cla ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great service, great views and great clam chowder! Would recommend enthusiastically!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is always great and the seafood is ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

food is always great and the seafood is so fresh. The hot rolls are a bonus!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are regular diners at Legal Harborsid ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We are regular diners at Legal Harborside Floor 1. The food is always great; menu varied and affordable; wine and beer lists varied and good; the wautstaff terrific, and the view amazing. What more can a restaurant be?

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Is my favorite Legal in Boston, the loca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Is my favorite Legal in Boston, the location and the setup makes it a very trendy spot in the fairly new Seaport district in Boston. Food was very good, bacon wrap scallops are phenomenal, the lobster roll is fantastic. It is definetly a loud ambiance. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot! Were in from out of town Th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great spot! Were in from out of town The manager was incredible - would recommend this place to anyone! Note to anyone from out of state, bring your passport if you want a drink.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a lovely dinner. I had let the staf ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Such a lovely dinner. I had let the staff know it was my boyfriend's 25th birthday and they went above and beyond. Service was incredible, we got such a perfect table and they sang Happy Birthday. Food was delicious. I got the rainbow trout and brussel sprouts. Drinks were awesome too. It is not cheap but the staff was great and I would go back for a special occasion in a heart beat!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had good time . Seafood was delicious ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had good time . Seafood was delicious, I had lobster and my husband had rainbow trout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's a must when visiting Boston! Each ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It's a must when visiting Boston! Each dish was more unbelievable than the last

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our party does not eat seafood. V ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 11, 2016

One of our party does not eat seafood. Very few other choices and they were out of steak! Never been in a restaurant at 6:30 PM that ran out of steak. Inexcusable.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We thoroughly enjoyed our luncheon there ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our luncheon there. Started with delicious variety of oysters. Cocktail sauce was fresh and tangy. Then steamers, fried clam app and chowder. Steamers were amazing and broth was flavorful. Was hosting a relative from Lisbon who loves seafood. She wasn't disappointed and I was so pleased. Love the creative presentations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy this restaurant very much. It ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We enjoy this restaurant very much. It is our favorite Legal Sea Foods. The food was great, the service, superb, the drinks and dessert was great as well. It is the atmosphere of this particular Legal that keeps luring us to come back.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed lunch here! A good place ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Really enjoyed lunch here! A good place for business or pleasure, and valet parking is a HUGE plus, albeit expensive at 18.00. Will be visiting again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view (even at night). Ordering ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Beautiful view (even at night). Ordering 2 to 3 apps (I recommend the chowder) that can be shared would be smart. The main course I order (Lobster Mac&Cheese to go) was dry and tasteless. The lobster was dry and I couldn't taste the cheese. Seating and wait staff where on point. Atmosphere was also cozy and welcoming. Despite the lack of flavor, I will give Legal Harborside another shot.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife ordered the fish tacos and she s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

My wife ordered the fish tacos and she sent them back-they had been up for the server for some time(we were sitting where we could see the kitchen) and when they arrived they were cold. My oysters were good and the crab salad was ok.

We live locally and have been to several Legal restaurants(many times) over the years. We were in the City for meetings/appointments and wanted to go out to lunch someplace we had not been-this was not a good choice and we feel it definitely caters to tourist/convention crowd.

We will not hurry back to Legal Harborside anytime soon!

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

A clean, friendly, fun environment with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A clean, friendly, fun environment with excellent food choices, great views, and very good service. Great value for the money. A great, great choice.

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Legal at its best (I've been an overseas ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Legal at its best (I've been an overseas customer since the Cambridge days), good food, no-fuss atmosphere, great surroundings, good wine list, noise level OK (though I question the need for music), excellent service.

We did the same thing this time last rear, just as good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We love to keep a special eating experie ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love to keep a special eating experience here. We travel 1 1/2 hrs to enjoy the great view, great food and the great service. The crab and pepperoni pizza is really good. Of course the Oysters! I had the Portuguese soup this time. It was a meal! Delicious. Also the buffalo shrimp is awesome.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for lunch and were ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We made a reservation for lunch and were seated by the window overlooking the harbor. We ordered a sushi roll and fish tacos. Both dishes were superb - fresh and tasty. Service was excellent throughout the meal. Our lunch served as a wonderful respite from the craft show up the street.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took our family for our daughter's 22 ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We took our family for our daughter's 22nd birthday food was good service was great but was very disappointed when we found a bug in one of my drinks ! Waitress was very apologetic but it took some of the fun out of the night !

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Have dined here many times, but this one ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have dined here many times, but this one will be my last. Just too many little things that went wrong. Huge pileup at the hostess stand, we waited for 15 minutes with a reservation we were on time for. We were seated in the middle of the floor where the constant flow of waitstaff balancing cocktails and patrons filing past made it hard to feel relaxed. The food was fine but uninspired. Grilled tuna steak came broken into pieces as if it had fallen on the floor and then picked up. It was well done instead of medium as requested. Sides like sweet and sour eggplant are unappetizing to look at and consistency of mush. Brussel sprouts similarly mediocre. The restaurant also looks more dinged up than it has in the past. The shine is off. Wouldn't recommend even with the waterfront views.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Great service. We ordered several rounds ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great service. We ordered several rounds of drinks and food, and our server took great care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I took an out of town friend to a Friday ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I took an out of town friend to a Friday late lunch, and the restaurant was pleasantly quiet. When I told the receptionist I had a tourist friend, she asked if we wanted benches or chairs, and then sat at right at the window. The waiter, Jamal ? was also wonderful, and did not rush us. As always, the food was delicious, and I thought a really good price for the quality. Salmon was delightful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente service

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excelente service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and the view of the w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was very good and the view of the waterfront made for a beautiful evening. The scallops I had were very tasty, though a bit pricey at $32.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for lunch - started with the short ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Went for lunch - started with the short rib bruschetta, which was very dry and disappointing. Rest of food was delicious - swordfish gyro and Caesar salad with shrimp. Service was excellant!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We were in the Seaport district to see R ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We were in the Seaport district to see Rise of the Jack O'Lanterns, and went here for dinner, as this location is just a few minutes' walk from the convention center. Great view - we asked for harborside seating and got a table at a floor to ceiling window overlooking the water. Nice atmosphere and some creative cocktails. They have a few interesting vegan options, which I much appreciated. The Japanese eggplant was great, savory with a bit of spice to it. I also got the kalamata olive and fig spread with pita, which was all right, but nothing special. The tempura green beans were too fried for my taste - they added a few zucchini blossoms to the dish as well, but the heavy breading and deep frying completely killed their delicate taste.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Usually love LS. Food was uninspired. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Usually love LS. Food was uninspired. Very noisy. Not worth the price.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Our family of 6 had a lovely table by th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Our family of 6 had a lovely table by the windows. Noise level made it hard to converse. We came especially because of the trout fishing pool for children. It was a joke - management threw in kibbles for the two fish to eat and there was no way the kids could tempt a fish to go near their lines or net. Nice idea but frustrating/boring for kids.

Our server was friendly but was very was stretched thin between too many tables and it took awhile to get started or served. Portions were good - sushi was good and huge in size. My shrimp burger was not very good (weird spices) and on a roll the size of a baseball. The charred salmon was cooked as ordered , nothing special and small portion for the price.

Lots of families on that first floor and on a summer's day the deck would be great.

Tags: Waterfront, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.