About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available daily and during full hours of operation for $18 with our validation stamp. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Liberty Wharf Marina link: http://www.libertywharf.co/docks/reservations/

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Shrimp Classic

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

The Shrimp Classic

Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Five weeks of shrimptacular menu features. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: https://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Jan 12, 2017 - Feb 8, 2017 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (116)
Scenic View (90)
Casual (53)
See All
Great for Lunch (46)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Groups (43)
Special Occasion (42)
Local Ingredients (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Fun (36)
Modern Decor (31)
Business Meals (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Healthy (21)
Romantic (20)
Family Style (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
People Watching (18)
Open Kitchen (18)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Seasonal (12)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Historic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2502 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our wait staff consisted of Chad and Lis ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Our wait staff consisted of Chad and Lisa which I just surprised myself by remembering their names. Chad was especially affable even though we were forwarded on to a new server, Lisa. He continued to stop by and check on us with a smile and a quip. Lisa took over with another great smile and friendly recommendations for further sightseeing.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sangria and sushi here are fantastic and ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 4 days ago

Sangria and sushi here are fantastic and not badly priced!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great time at Legal Harborside. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great time at Legal Harborside. Our waiter, Randy, was particularly terrific. He was friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive to our needs. We took advantage of the Clam Chowder deal, of course I always order that anyway, but for a buck, one cannot possibly go wring. I had Salmon, my daughter had fish in a bag, my wife had the fig/olive appetizer and a salad and my mother had trout. We were very satisfied with our food and drink choices. My wife and i split a creme brunet for dessert and my mother and daughter split the bon bond for dessert. Great time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Cozy, Wood Oven, Authentic, Family Style, Fun, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great friendly service even with our dem ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great friendly service even with our demanding party of 9. Food never disappoints and it's a good spot for large parties without breaking the bank.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great views, great wine selection, delic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great views, great wine selection, delicious food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our waitress was very good, and the food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our waitress was very good, and the food was fantastic! We had the North Atlantic Char and avocado/crab salad. Delicious! Will be back again!

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Business Meals, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Business dinner for group of 12 on Janua ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Business dinner for group of 12 on January 11th. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Service was (intial order, arrival of entrees) slower than expected given it was not a packed night. As always , a great view of the harbor night scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Bright spotlights from nearby were dist ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Bright spotlights from nearby were distracting. Bench seating was not all that comfortable. Great selection of cocktails and food was fresh and well prepared. One person in our party shared his side of eggplant which got rave reviews. Great service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The noise level is very high- uncomforta ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 10, 2017

The noise level is very high- uncomfortable- food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I came to legal harbor ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My boyfriend and I came to legal harbor side for our anniversary. It was a fantastic night! We arrived a bit early and we're welcome to sit at the bar and wait. Within 10 minutes we were seated. Our waitress was friendly and accommodating without making us feel rushed, as it was a special night out. Delicious food, awesome raw bar and delicious margaritas!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brought some friends from Chicago for th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Brought some friends from Chicago for the weekend and wanted to give them a great seafood experience. We had reservations for the first floor and went up to the 3rd floor for a cocktail. They let us stay on the third floor which is usually only sushi but they let us order off the 1st floor menu. Fantastic service, we took our time with appetizers, then salad then chowda then dinner. Everything was outstanding chowda A+, swordfish was a little dry but the ambiance and service mad it a perfect night!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome server helped out with surprise ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome server helped out with surprise cake. Loved it, very comfortable, everyone just kept ordering apps -almost too full to even order entrees, we were having so much fun. thanks for a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location on the harbor. Cool conte ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great location on the harbor. Cool contemporary room with plenty of views. Fresh yummy seafoods prepared just right. Wait staff was great. Young and cheerful and attentive.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great as always. The raw bar never disap ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great as always. The raw bar never disappoints. Great, attentive service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lobster Roll is one of the best in the c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Lobster Roll is one of the best in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Been here several times and have never b ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Been here several times and have never been disappointed. Great service, food and view!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve - perfect spot for a famil ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve - perfect spot for a family with kids. Food was good and service was excellent . Tight squeeze to get around in between tables and chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The scenery of the water at late on a su ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The scenery of the water at late on a sunny day in winter was great. Watched the sun setting on buildings and ocean. The bar server was so nice. He was pleasant and helpful.

Our table waitress was a real nice, friendly, bright girl who actually seemed to enjoy her hard work and talking kindly with us.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from the moment we walked ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service from the moment we walked in. We did not like the table they showed us and with a smile, changed it right away. Mikayla was our server and she was great. Good food, a little noisy and parents who would not control their kids.

Great view, will return.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Diego was a very kind and attentive serv ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Diego was a very kind and attentive server. He made sure everything was perfect and made our experience fun and memorable.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice meal in the first floor di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a nice meal in the first floor dining room. It was a little bit chaotic however, that we were invited to the bar upstairs, placed an order for drinks and an appetizer, and then were immediately called downstairs to claim our table. We took the drinks with us and the appetizer eventually was brought to us. Nonetheless, it was less than relaxing. Also, the first floor window seats would be much more comfortable if the restaurant offered chairs with backs rather than the backless benches.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Feels like a tourist only restaurant. S ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Feels like a tourist only restaurant. Service extremely slow. Food cold. Other locations do a much better job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The food is always amazing and fish is s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food is always amazing and fish is so fresh! Love it there!

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a consistently excellent place. We ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Such a consistently excellent place. We generally avoid chain restaurants, but Legal Harborside is definitely an exception to the rule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening at Legal Harborside Floor ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great evening at Legal Harborside Floor 1.

Our server, Diego was awesome!

Food was delicious we will be back next rime we are in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was a great place to take our young adul ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Was a great place to take our young adult kids over the holidays. The service was great and the gluten free options made it fun for everyone in our group, not just for those of us who can eat gluten! We'd go again.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time we have had poor service and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time we have had poor service and cold food here been many times before very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful food with even better service, ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wonderful food with even better service, highly recommendable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The wait for our main course was a bit l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The wait for our main course was a bit long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Christmas Eve dinner. Perfect spot with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner. Perfect spot with great view of the harbor. Wonderful server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Both the service and the food were excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Both the service and the food were excellent! This will become a "can't miss" spot on all our future trips to Boston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Authentic, Fun, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Cozy, Late-night Find, Casual, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good as legal sea foods always ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was good as legal sea foods always is, our server was excellent - friendly, informative, fun, and just plain nice. Thanks Jordan for making us feel special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Whenever I come into town, I make it a p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Whenever I come into town, I make it a point to eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, but a few small deta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was excellent, but a few small details were just a bit off, such as grit in the chowder and no utensils with coffee and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Drinks on the roof top bar then downstai ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Drinks on the roof top bar then downstairs to 1st floor for dinner. Legal Seafood always seems to get it right for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Legal Seafood in the Seaport is our go-t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Legal Seafood in the Seaport is our go-to for quality seafood with a great view. We have never had a bad experience here, and that trend continued yesterday!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food, service and ambiance were grea ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were great !

We can't wait to return.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal at a Legals in some time.. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The best meal at a Legals in some time.. will return here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place for a week night out!

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Nice place for a week night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

What a wonderful resturant, we were visi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

What a wonderful resturant, we were visiting daughter in Boston and wanted Seafood before we left for airport. We sat Harbor side as the sun going down and all the lights coming on outside Beautiful! I was dying not for a full meal but had some appetizers and a cobb salad with crab (to die for) shrimp cocktail in spicy sauce, lobster bisque with huge chunks of lobster meat. green bean appetizer all delish. I would highly recommend! I can't wait for my next visit!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.