About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available for $16 on Monday - Friday from 7am - 5pm and on Saturday - Sunday from 11am - 5pm; after 5pm daily, valet parking is $18. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/fish market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Outdoor Dining
Boston
Scenic View
Boston
2 More
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

scenic view (284)
great for outdoor dining (227)
good for groups (162)
See All
great for lunch (153)
special occasion (132)
hot spot (122)
fit for foodies (119)
vibrant bar scene (105)
kid-friendly (59)
neighborhood gem (50)
romantic (43)
great for brunch (34)
late-night find (27)
notable wine list (22)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took about 1 hour and 10 min to get our ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

Took about 1 hour and 10 min to get our appetizers and another hour to get our entree. I have never seen it this slow before. People came after us got food before our appetizers were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

used to go a lot - your recent ad in the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

used to go a lot - your recent ad in the newspaper has me conflicted about coming back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great, unique seafood special. OpenTable ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great, unique seafood special. OpenTable reservation allowed us to be seated right away when there was a 90 minute wait. Reservation was made less than 90 minutes prior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First and foremost, our waiter Bruce was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

First and foremost, our waiter Bruce was superb. We ordered the raw bar special but realized we could not crack the king crablegs ourselves. Our waiter gladly and patiently did this for us, as well as being attentive to us throughout. The shellfish was fresh and came with a variety of condiments. The harbor view and ocean breeze and good food made for a delightful lunch on a broiling hot day.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had fish tacos and a swordfish gyro. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had fish tacos and a swordfish gyro. The food took about 50 minutes to come out. We were put in a corner and surrounded by a much larger party that took up two tables comprised for 30 people. The food was extremely underwhelming. Many folks come for the view, which is very nice, but if you expect good food, this is not your place.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Loud and busy, but fun seafood place wit ...

 
 (Edinburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Loud and busy, but fun seafood place with doors open onto the harbour. Service and food ok, and a bit overpriced, but was a great night out.

Tags: group bookings, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent ambience, full of people even ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent ambience, full of people even though we went for early dinner. A bit pricey comparing to other excellent seafood specialists in Boston but this is a relatively more upmarket version so you would expect the slightly higher mark up. Good view from the first floor restaurant. Overall enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went here with a group of six ladies fro ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went here with a group of six ladies from work. Service was excellent. Food and drinks were great! The view was spectacular and loved the outdoor breeze. Would definitely done here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service! Attentive to our food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service! Attentive to our food allergy needs. Highly recommend making a reservation.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Philomena was our server and she did a f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Philomena was our server and she did a fantastic job. Very nice, knowledgeable, speedy, and an overall great person. She knew exactly what to order for us lol. On top of that, the food was phenomenal. Great seafood and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere to get some seafood. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great atmosphere to get some seafood. They were out of one item we ordered but it worked out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A little bit of an issue for seating but ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A little bit of an issue for seating but the manager came right over to apologize and accommodate us which was very professional.

From that point on everything was bang on! food, ambience, waitress... Everything was excellent!

The charbroiled trout was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible- took 25 mins to ge ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Service was terrible- took 25 mins to get a glass of wine, which arrived after both the entree and all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We had wonderful service and the food wa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We had wonderful service and the food was phenomenal! We would definitely go back next time we were in Boston. A little pricey, but the food is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to take the parents out to lunch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wanted to take the parents out to lunch at a restaurant with a scenic view of the harbor. Legal Harborside was the perfect experience - sunny day, beautiful view of the harbor at a table open to the harbor boardwalk. Food was tasty in a casual fun setting.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My boyfriend and I brought my parents an ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My boyfriend and I brought my parents and sister here when they were visiting last weekend. It was my parent's 33rd wedding anniversary. We were seated on the outdoor boardwalk and it was gorgeous! We were very grateful to be seated in such a beautiful location. Our server was awesome. He worked with me to bring out a couple desserts for my parents without them knowing and I really appreciated it. He was also a very attentive, flexible, and patient. After a weekend of hosting my parents, I definitely needed his help!

My boyfriend and I both had the lobster roll with butter instead of mayo. It was pretty tasty but could have had more butter and a toastier bun. My family said they were happy with their dinners but I didn't taste them.

I haven't been the biggest fan of the other Legal outposts but this location goes above and beyond the rest. The views alone are worth the visit but you won't be disappointed with the service either.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We were a party of 7, 2 parents and 5 te ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were a party of 7, 2 parents and 5 teanagers. We had a 930 seating, they were able to get us in earlier with no issue. Server "eddie" was great with the group. Food was good, not great, from the reputation buildup, still good.

Pricing was expected, about 33 per person, would hate to see the price if anyone had more than tap ice water.

I give his an overall 3 3/4 stars. I would go back, maybe just for lunch this time.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great meal great waitress. The tables we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great meal great waitress. The tables were nice the restaurant was clean, bathrooms were clean

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our bus from Andover broke down and I ap ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our bus from Andover broke down and I appreciate you changing our reservation to a later time.

The meal and view were just as we described to our program participants.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot to sit on the patio with a co ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great spot to sit on the patio with a cocktail and some fresh oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was very good; fish was well pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was very good; fish was well prepared and nicely seasoned. Service was excellent, including accommodating a request for gluten-free choices and not rushing us even though we were among the last to leave the restaurant. I would return next time I am in town.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The clam chowder was excellent, the stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The clam chowder was excellent, the steamed lobster was good and the sides average. I visited others Legal (Seafood) restaurants in Boston many times and the food quality at the Harborside seemed to be at a lower quality level. But the place is nice with a great view on the harbor. The staff is nice as well and tries to do the best!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The occasion was dinner for out of town ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The occasion was dinner for out of town guests. They were thrilled with the experience -- food, service, ambience all outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the atmosphere was good but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The view and the atmosphere was good but not the food. It took us so long to wait for the food, but worse still, the rice I got was undercooked.And the toilet is pretty dirty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The location is great! A view of the har ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The location is great! A view of the harbor with dinner makes a great combination. We enjoy dining by the water whenever we visit coastal cities.

The clam chowder was absolutely divine! Full of tender clams and potatoes, with a rich creamy broth. Some of the best around in our view. The artichoke dip was also outstanding!

My wife had the steamed fish with veggies and it was very flavorful, with a nice fresh, fragrant aroma from the veggies and seasonings that infused the fish.

I had the fish and chips. A large portion of fish, fried perfectly, with enough fries to feed an army. The fish was still light and flaky, and the tartar sauce.....oh man!! Best I have ever had!

A couple of concerns...service was a bit slow for a Monday night, but it was a full house. On a Monday night! Which says a lot about the food. Full on a traditionally slow night says a great deal, but service could have been a little faster.

Wine list was not current. We ordered a 2012 Nickel & Nickel Cabernet, only to be informed 2013 was the most recent available. Wine lists should always be current and up to date, just like the rest of the menu. Very disappointing. But otherwise, a fabulous dinner at a great place.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The harbor view is very nice, but the in ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The harbor view is very nice, but the interior of the dining areas needs some softening to cut down at least a little on the high noise level, which makes conversation difficult.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food is good but the place is very dark ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food is good but the place is very dark and noisy. There is outdoor dining but it was rainy and foggy. Many of the items are marked "market price" so it is hard to make dining decisions unless a waitperson is right there to answer questions regarding price. I think the food is good but pricey. I was taken here for my birthday and will not likely return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It has been so long since I've been to L ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It has been so long since I've been to Legal Harborside and fortunately for me the offering has only improved. I ordered 4 Lucky Lime oysters from the menu and was taken aback by the intensity yet subtle favors coming from this Canadian gem. Following my oysters, I took on a 1.5 lb lobster with a pinch and jasmine rice. The lobster was cooked to perfection so much so that I didn't think of the work to obtain the delectable meat. I polished this all off with a lovely Chardonnay by the glass and once again left Legal in food bliss. Thank you for another great experience. I shall return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were visiting Boston, and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Boston, and we ate here on the recommendation of a friend who is a Boston native. We were not disappointed as we had some of the best food we've had in quite a while. I got the lobster bake which included lobster, clam chowder, mussels, and oysters, and all of it was delicious. My wife got the specialty sushi with lobster, and it was excellent as well. We will be back the next time we are in Boston.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent every time we go there. Unfort ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent every time we go there. Unfortunately, it wasn't a nice day for the beautiful view but still perfect. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a great time. Food was delicious. S ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great time. Food was delicious. Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the the food w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was great and the the food was decent. It could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

All the fish, salmon and swordfish, were ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

All the fish, salmon and swordfish, were great, nicely good. Everyone thought the eggplant was too spicy. Our fried clams were too well done, old oil which never happen in a top seafood restaurant in a seafood city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is the crown jewel of the Legal Sea ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is the crown jewel of the Legal Seafoods Chain. It captures the very best of what they do, in a spectacular setting. Our visit was only marred by the fact that it was chilly and rainy (in mid-July no less), but you can hardly blame them for the weather. This would be a terrific place to take your out-of-town guests.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Stopped by here on our first night in Bo ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Stopped by here on our first night in Boston to eat some fresh seafood and it did not disappoint. Two oysters to start, fried clams appetizer, lobster roll with fries and coleslaw, and bon bons for dessert. The white sangria was also a pleasant option to drink later in the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a typical Legal Seafood where yo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is a typical Legal Seafood where you will get a good but not great meal. I think their quality has slipped over the years as they have expanded. This is not like the Legal I went to years ago. Service was great. Food was good but not great. It fits the bill. I also find it a little pricey for this type of restaurant. Second Floor is even pricier but I prefer First Floor menu. I would definitely return and perhaps I am too critical but this is my honest opinion. Very lively atmosphere. Perhaps I am spoiled by Nova Scotia seafood quality.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a great time with excellent food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a great time with excellent food and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

You can't go wrong with Legal Sea Foods ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

You can't go wrong with Legal Sea Foods - it's a safe place for lunch or dinner. Nice waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Loved everything. Especially our waiter ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Loved everything. Especially our waiter Eddie...great selection suggestions, prompt, courteous, affable. We'll be back several times this summer .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Another terrific time had by all at Lega ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Another terrific time had by all at Legal Harborside! We were seated just inside the open doors to the patio, overlooking Boston Harbor on a beautiful, sunny day! Cherrystones on the half shell, steamers, lobster roll, and fried haddock and chips all so fresh and delish! Our server was friendly and attentive (but not overly so) too - we will be back for sure!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.