About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available for $16 on Monday - Friday from 7am - 5pm and on Saturday - Sunday from 11am - 5pm; after 5pm daily, valet parking is $18. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/fish market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Scenic View
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

scenic view (243)
great for outdoor dining (180)
good for groups (148)
See All
great for lunch (133)
special occasion (124)
hot spot (111)
fit for foodies (107)
vibrant bar scene (99)
kid-friendly (49)
neighborhood gem (49)
romantic (41)
great for brunch (30)
late-night find (25)
notable wine list (19)
Sort By:
Newest
2034 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was just OK; the shrimp scampi is a ...

Dined 3 days ago

Food was just OK; the shrimp scampi is an unacceptable soup and will avoid in the future; the fish in a bag was a mixed bag. Menu needs a serious revamp. The wine is always excellent. Service is always good.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner was lovely. We had a gorgeous tab ...

Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was lovely. We had a gorgeous table right on the water. Our appetizers, 12 oysters and a caesar salad, took almost 30 mins to get to us!! Tuna burger and trout dinner were wonderful. Manager took the oysters and salad off as they took so long and were very apologetic about it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner then concert at the P ...

Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary dinner then concert at the Pavillon. Sat outside in a gorgeous night. It was great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our hostess was very helpful in getting ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our hostess was very helpful in getting us an outdoor seat right at the waterfront which added to the ambiance of our evening. Our server, Eddie, was enthusiastic and gave us some very helpful recommendations. The food took a bit of time to come up, but we were in no rush. Everything was very good and the atmosphere of the place was vibrant and fun. The Sam Adams Harborside, brewed exclusively for Legals was a bonus. Highly recommend Legal Seafoods Harborside. Great location especially if you are headed for the Blue Hills Pavillion next door.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location for summer evening. Had a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great location for summer evening. Had a drink on the 3 Rd floor followed by dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of us was in a wheel chair. We wer ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

One of us was in a wheel chair. We wer taken up the two stars in an elevator. Our table was next to the ramp an the person who brought us there pulled away a chair and my friend was seated comfortably in his wheel chair with no fuss or problem. We were treated so well and professionally Of course the food is always outstanding

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed my time there, my friend and ...

Dined 5 days ago

I enjoyed my time there, my friend and I went for our birthday. We sat on the deck facing the water and it was beautiful evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing meal. I had lobster and my date ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing meal. I had lobster and my date (daughter) had Lobster Mac & Cheese. Both were outstanding. The truffle oil in the mac&cheese put that dish over the top. Great experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are big fans of Legal Seafood and thi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We are big fans of Legal Seafood and this, to us, is there best location. We opt for the simpler first floor dining room. Ask for a seat outside and you will be right out on the harbor. Just delightful. Seafood is always fresh. Wine program is excellent and fairly priced. We'll eat here every time we come to Boston.

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

the view is magnificent, the menu very e ...

Dined 6 days ago

the view is magnificent, the menu very eclectic. the foru of us somehow spent over $120 for lunch

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Compared to other Legal Seafood restaura ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Compared to other Legal Seafood restaurants, the food was just ok and not great. So I was a bit disappointed. The restaurant is beautiful with expansive views of the Boston Harbor and ambiance was good too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful evening with dining on the har ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Beautiful evening with dining on the harbor. Food very good, not "out of this world" and a bit pricey. Service was fabulous and ambience superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Legal failed to disappoint. D ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

As always, Legal failed to disappoint. Despite there being other restaurants in the area, my friends and I always end up there. The menu has enough to entertain numerous visits and I try to not get the same thing every time. The view is fantastic and the wait staff is friendly, knowledgeable and efficient (without being pushy). We've already put another visit on the calendar for August.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Immense improvement over the faded glory ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Immense improvement over the faded glory of the late Jimmy's Harborside!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service and the food always exceeds ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service and the food always exceeds expectation. The noise level is relatively high but tolerable . It was a Father's Day event and we go back over and over.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Something must had been off when we went ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Something must had been off when we went. Usually we encounter fine service. But not this time. Also, the options for non seafood eaters is too limited. The burger on the menu does not have an option to add cheese to. That is odd. The tomato it was served with was the very top slice, so it was all skin on one side. I also ordered my drink refilled and had to remind the waitstaff again and then she couldn't remember what my drink was. If it weren't for the view, I'd probably never return.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

All the normal expectations. Excellent ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

All the normal expectations. Excellent food, wine and of course, service. It was good to have Aaron again. The food is mostly plain, good, fresh seafood. The wine list is wonderful with great selections no matter your price range, we enjoyed a 1990 Cave Privee, amazing. It's hard to recommend what the restaurant would be recommended for on a day like this. The day was beautiful, the doors were open to the harbor and two masted schooners were sailing by. It's over an hour drive for us to visit and worth it every time. Thank you. Bill and Julie.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was unforgettable. The vi ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was unforgettable. The view down to the service. Every dish was impeccable...the only complaint was that the portion was too big (not that it's a problem for most diners 😉). The seafood was definitely high quality. Unfortunately we forgot our server's name but he was awesome! He knew exactly what to recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Well started out being late for our rese ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Well started out being late for our reservation and was on the phone holding 20 minutes later as I walked in the door for my temporary pause. Then I told someone standing by the staircase who was indifferent. The meal was very good but the service was excessive. TOO many differnt waitstaff covering each other. Managers looking at their I-Pad rather than talking to guests. A young lady hauling a baby highchair over her head while young men were laughing and conversing. News FLASH...chivalry is NOT DEAD. Been here often and won't be going back for a while.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I don't believe you can get fresher seaf ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I don't believe you can get fresher seafood anywhere in the city of Boston. I've been many times, and the quality and freshness of the products are excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Despite having a reservation, was told u ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Despite having a reservation, was told upon arriving we could sit outside or wait. Not impressed with the benches vs. chairs... woukd not recommend the first floor for an evening meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I had a very nice time at yo ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My wife and I had a very nice time at your restaurant. We were in Boston for the weekend celebrating our wedding anniversary and we were at your place on a Sunday evening. Jamel was our waiter and he was fantastic. Very friendly and professional. The food was very good, cooked to perfection. We would absolutely return on our next trip.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

we made a reservation for a table of 6 t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

we made a reservation for a table of 6 to dine at 10pm. After a very long and frustrating wait, we were finally seated at 10:45pm. When being seated, a realization came to eye when we couldn't spot any table that could seat more than 4 except for the one we were sitting at. At this point, the website request to call in when reserving a table for 5+ to confirm made much more sense. We brought our frustration to the attention of the GM, and he handled it with pure professionalism and poise. Our server for the night was fantastic, and the rest of the night went off without a hitch, including wonderful dishes. Would recommend for any group of 4 or less.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night in Boston!

Dined on June 11, 2016

If you're looking for a solid Boston restaurant featuring high quality seafood, look no further! Went for my dad's birthday, his first time in Boston, and it was perfect! Our server was extremely helpful, suggesting popular dishes, the view was incredible, right on the harbor. Overall, exactly what we were looking for. Will be bringing lots of visitors back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful seafood and a real Boston experience

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were advised to come here on our trip to Boston and were not disappointed. The food was excellent--we had oysters, lobster, and lobster mac n' cheese. Prices were a little steep but to be expected for the quality and ambiance. Great service as well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Unpleasant experience

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a reservation and still had to wait 45 minutes. Terrible service after that. Food was OK. Most definitely not worth the price investment. Won't be returning.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Happy

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great table just inside the floor to ceiling windows looking out over Boston Harbor. Spectacular view on a summer day. Quick service, delicious crab cake and salad - the starter portion just perfect for lunch! Add great company, over a business discussion, and I came away having enjoyed a very happy lunch hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Great view with outdoor table, great ser ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Great view with outdoor table, great service, responded to requests in reservations, thanks for memorable birthday dinner

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! Sat outside View beautiful

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food great! View of harbor beautiful. Highly recommend

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service1

Service was extremely slow and the food ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Service was extremely slow and the food tasted like it had been cooked and the reheated. This was my second time and I won't give it another chance. I got the fish and chips and the fries were so over cooked they were hollow. My mom got the baked scrod which had no seasoning and my boyfriend got the burger (not a seafood guy) which was okay. How can a seafood place make better burgers than their fish?!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great taste

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Coming from the Midwest, my party and I were happy to have fresh seafood. Great view. Fills up during lunch time.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Very cool place for lunch: great service ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Very cool place for lunch: great service, nice food & ambience! Our waiter from Bruma made a difference- very attentive, good recommendations on the dishes. Must stop by while in Boston:

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Restaurant!!!!

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was a fabulous place to eat and would highly recommend this establishment for sea food lovers!! Plus the view was stupendous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Mediocre

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Crowded and busy. Service was excellent. Food mediocre, with really the best item the fresh shucked oysters. Lobster potpie had 7 or 8 whole cipollini onions, just too much, fried clams little soggy and stuffed artichokes full of breading

food5
ambience5
service5

The food never disappoints. Great locat ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

The food never disappoints. Great location right on the seaport, especially on a beautiful warm day when the glass doors are open.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, ambiance and view. Refreshin ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great food, ambiance and view. Refreshing cocktails. Lump crab cake has the best flavor and texture I've experienced! Absolutely delicious!

food3
ambience5
service5

Friendly service. Food was bland.

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Friendly service. Food was bland.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated outside. It was great!

Dined on May 23, 2016

We were seated outside. It was great!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the bathrooms were very bad... it was a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

the bathrooms were very bad... it was a busy day at this restaurant, but the bathrooms were a disgrace..

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal that I have ever had at a seaf ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best meal that I have ever had at a seafood place. I got the scallops and they were perfectly cooked!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.