About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available for $16 on Monday - Friday from 7am - 5pm and on Saturday - Sunday from 11am - 5pm; after 5pm daily, valet parking is $18. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/fish market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

Scenic View (310)
Great for Outdoor Dining (260)
Good for Groups (172)
See All
Great for Lunch (160)
Special Occasion (151)
Hot Spot (144)
Vibrant Bar Scene (119)
Fit for Foodies (116)
Kid-friendly (61)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Romantic (49)
Great for Brunch (43)
Late-night Find (37)
Notable Wine List (29)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cameron took excellent care of us and ma ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 2 days ago

Cameron took excellent care of us and managed my food allergies. Lobster Roll to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful; oysters and lobst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was wonderful; oysters and lobster were delicious. Would not recommend the clam chowder, though. Also, the view was amazing. Great experience overall.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our favourite places at Seaport t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favourite places at Seaport to dine, requested a harbour view table and we were not disappointed. Great food, great service as always.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In general the food for the table was ve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

In general the food for the table was very good. I had a 1 1/2 pound baked stuffed lobster. This was not your best effort. Compared to others I have had at Legal, this was a 1. Claws were dry and meat was tough. Stuffing was very moist and poor consistency. Unsure what it was stuffed with. The tail meat was in tact and was OK. In the past I have had great lobsters at Legal and went there to enjoy another. This did not do it. I will probably not have that meal again there unless you get better at prepping this signature dish.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

AN absolutely awful experience - celebra ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

AN absolutely awful experience - celebrating my Moms' 84th Birthday, we gave the host a heads up a week, before, the day before and the day of.

Service was awful; the inept hostesses are more interested in their iPhones as opposed to customers and don't even listen.

Food was just blah - wold never recommend returning - total tourist trap, which will, eventually fail, when people realize that there are far better fish restaurants in Boston than Legal Seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful time at dinner the ot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful time at dinner the other evening after our daughters graduation from college! We had a excellent seat closet to the "water" The waiter was excellent! Sons went to get our drinks at the bar on the way in to be seated. They were given grief over this and had to get everyone's ID from them to do so. but it worked out. The food was a great price for Boston. 5 of us ordered fish n chips. I thought the fish was to well done, to crispy. The other 2 meals were excellent. We are looking forward to coming back in a couple of weeks! I am going to try the sangria my daughter had, I had a sip it was so good. I will also have something other then fish n chips. We got many great photos whole there and on the board walk! We look forward to our return perhaps we will bring friends!!

Thank you,

Cheryl

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great waterfront location. Fresh seafood ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great waterfront location. Fresh seafood. Always great oysters. Don't go for the market. It has been downsized to almost nothing.

Good, pro service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was wonderful to dine by the water. I ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was wonderful to dine by the water. I was a little disappointed that I was not able to get the watermelon cocktail that is available at other legal seafood locations. It was recommended by a colleague. However, that being said, I did enjoy the Anjou pear martini!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It felt like the restaurant was operatin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

It felt like the restaurant was operating over its capacity. Even with a reservation, the wait was 40 mins. Likewise, the food quality felt rushed and some items were overcooked. On the positive side, the waiting service was superb, given Saturday night chaos.

Overall, I would recommend this place for a quieter night. On busy nights, I would go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservation time honored, which kept us ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Reservation time honored, which kept us on schedule and able to enjoy leisurely meal before concert next door.

Tags: Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and food were amazing. The atmos ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food were amazing. The atmosphere is incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is always the same in every res ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The menu is always the same in every restaurant of the franchise, but here they seem to also have a sushi bar.

The crab cake are the best i ever had anywhere and the clam choder is very good. The mac and cheese lobster was swiming invsome juice that was unpleasant

The view on the harbor is noce and tge restaurant opens on the dock. The staff is very mice and prompt to help you, they check on you frequently

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Amazing view and amazing seafood. Highl ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing view and amazing seafood. Highly recommend trying the clam chowder. The best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a reservation after the Aretha Frank ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had a reservation after the Aretha Franklin concert at the Pavillion and while the restaurant was very crowded the front desk allowed us to come right back. Have been to Legals many times, and as much as I feel like a tourist, the food can't be beat, freshest seafood around. Wonderful waiter. Very pleasant experience, expensive, but will go again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came to Legal for a friend's birthday ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We came to Legal for a friend's birthday, and had an AWESOME seat inside the restaurant but right on the line between where the doors open to the waterfront. Our waiter, Diego, was super informative, friendly and helpful in recommending food items. The food was delicious, and the birthday surprise dessert was TO DIE FOR. Love this place!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like Legal Harborside quite a lot, bu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We like Legal Harborside quite a lot, but on our last visit, they fell into a trap that many Boston restaurants create for themselves. We arrived on time for a 6:30 dinner reservation and were told it would be another 20 minutes. Normally not a problem but we had a 8:00 concert next door. Luckily we found good seats at the bar. After 25 minutes we decided to just eat at the bar instead. On the plus side, our bartender told the manager of our plight and he came over and gave us his card, apologized and then gave us access to the VIP area at the concert. We had little time to use the access since our dinner was so late, but it is the thought that counts. The low service ranking is on their reservation process, not our bartender.

And we still LOVE the yellow curry mussels!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Very good also for family with children.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Very good also for family with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding food with good service. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding food with good service. The bar was excellent and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this Restraunt to all my friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Legal Harborside has a nice view of the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Legal Harborside has a nice view of the water, but don't expect fabulous food. The food is good, but not great. The restaurant on the first floor is a cavernous space with all hard surfaces (glass, concrete, etc.) so the noise bounces around. It's very loud! I had the salmon sandwich, which was fine, but quite messy to eat. I had a green salad rather than coleslaw with my sandwich, and it was good. Legal Harborside is an OK place for a lunch, but nothing special.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

It was just ok. Definitely a "tourist sp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was just ok. Definitely a "tourist spot". Very busy and our waiter was inexperienced. Food was not up to our expectations.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to celebrate a birthday and it w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday and it was very enjoyable. It all worked well including the valet parking.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is hit or miss at this location. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is hit or miss at this location. The food is always good but value can be an issue. This visit it was raining and had gotten quite chilly out. The outside was still open as people were seated between the inside and outside and they apparently didn't want to ask the people to move as they were almost finished. They hung out for far too long. I was on a date and my dress was wet from the mist blowing in a d I was quite cold. We could not enjoy our meal at all and when you are paying that much is very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

fair to good. The parking (valet) is not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

fair to good. The parking (valet) is not good. The basic fish and chips where very disappointing! The lobster roll good, steamers not so much! the location is excellent... the service is good/excellent. food overall fair to good... pricing fair

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

This was not my first time visiting this ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was not my first time visiting this restaurant and it certainly won't be my last. Everything from the food, to the service, to the view was absolutely amazing. Sadly, I don't live in Boston, but I do make sure to get a reservation for every single time I visit. Be sure to make a reservations a few weeks in advance!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View was amazing. Food overly salty, ser ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

View was amazing. Food overly salty, service poor. did not know who our server was. Bill took forever to come. at other times, felt really rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

A little pricey & noisy, but food was ex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A little pricey & noisy, but food was excellent, ambiance was excellent, & service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoyable. Great vibe. Service ex ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always enjoyable. Great vibe. Service excellent. Secure table with view! Check out the third floor bar and sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Amazing food ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a great experience. Amazing food and outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to several Legals in the past ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We've been to several Legals in the past, but this was our first visit here. A wonderful lunch at a harborside table made our day in Boston memorable. Shrimp and corn chowder was the perfect lead into a crab roll and salad for the two of us. Great service, great atmosphere, no bargain but worth every penny. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent as was the foo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was excellent as was the food and the view. This was a special occasion for us and indeed, the evening was special !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super hot inside, people kept leaving do ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Super hot inside, people kept leaving doors open to outdoor patio, making it uncomfortable inside (98) outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

The food was great, the grilled and frie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great, the grilled and fried shrimps and the scallops could not be better

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice enough but over rated and expensive ...

 
 (Berkshire)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice enough but over rated and expensive. Good view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was good, as expected. However, ou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was good, as expected. However, our waitress was rather "aloof" the entire service. She was very quick to leave our table, but slow to come back. My son could not decide between the lobster mac and cheese or the sausage and shrimp pasta - he asked her which she would recommend and she responded with a quick eye-roll and just re-iterated the menu explanation. We did not feel welcomed or "atteneded -to" by the waitress. I did notice the waitress at the next table was wonderful and wished we could swap. Our biggest suggestion would be to have a larger dinner/lunch serving size of the clam chowder (rather than just a mug). We all would have preferred a very large hearty bowl of clam chowder and specialty salad to go along with it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was excellent as well as the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The service was excellent as well as the food . Everything was hot when we got it and we were never rushed to order or to leave. It was our wedding anniversary and the waiter was so kind that he bought us a desert. The view was fantastic and the weather a perfect balmy summer day.

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect place or day to celebrate our special day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times before w ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been here several times before without issues. This experience was a little off from there standard. Service and food were really slow. We are going to give them another shot in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Glorious day and perfect setting to seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Glorious day and perfect setting to seat on deck viewing Boston harbor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely love the food and the vibe ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I absolutely love the food and the vibe of the restaurant. On the other hand I think the music is a little loud. It would be great if they can give you a pass to access the rooftop if you come for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had dinner on the patio on a beautifu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had dinner on the patio on a beautiful night. We had to wait 45 minutes for an outdoor table but it was worth the wait. We were able to find seats at the bar, which made the time go by quickly. The crab meat roll was as fresh and amazing as ever. The only negative part of the experience was that patrons from the bar kept coming out and hanging around our table like it was part of the bar and not a dining area. The hostess had to continually tell people that the patio is not part of the bar and send them back in. This was annoying for us and for her. Other than that, a great place to eat before a concert at the Pavillion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.