About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 10pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 11am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available for $16 on Monday - Friday from 7am - 5pm and on Saturday - Sunday from 11am - 5pm; after 5pm daily, valet parking is $18. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/fish market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
We’re serving our regular menu along with festive features. Enjoy a family gathering and leave the cooking to us.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Scenic View
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

scenic view (216)
good for groups (136)
great for outdoor dining (126)
See All
great for lunch (119)
fit for foodies (100)
special occasion (91)
hot spot (85)
vibrant bar scene (78)
kid-friendly (48)
neighborhood gem (45)
romantic (37)
great for brunch (27)
late-night find (18)
notable wine list (14)
Sort By:
Newest
2000 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food never disappoints. Great locat ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The food never disappoints. Great location right on the seaport, especially on a beautiful warm day when the glass doors are open.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, ambiance and view. Refreshin ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great food, ambiance and view. Refreshing cocktails. Lump crab cake has the best flavor and texture I've experienced! Absolutely delicious!

food3
ambience5
service5

Friendly service. Food was bland.

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Friendly service. Food was bland.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated outside. It was great!

Dined 6 days ago

We were seated outside. It was great!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the bathrooms were very bad... it was a ...

Dined 7 days ago

the bathrooms were very bad... it was a busy day at this restaurant, but the bathrooms were a disgrace..

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best meal that I have ever had at a seaf ...

Dined 7 days ago

Best meal that I have ever had at a seafood place. I got the scallops and they were perfectly cooked!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Too expensive for the type of food. We w ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Too expensive for the type of food. We were a party of 8 celebrating a master's celebration from Lessley U. Setting was perfect but service and offerings not good. Lobster roll (looking like a hot dog presentation) was way overpriced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best oysters, great service, awesome ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The best oysters, great service, awesome atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gradutation Celebration

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had four family members surprise us at my daughter's college graduation celebration. Our reservation was for 8 but the hostess was so gracious and accommodated the extra people so that we could keep our dinner reservation. The service was excellent and the view incredible. I truly appreciated the staff ... they went above for us. Dinner was delicious.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service... We were seated righ ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent service... We were seated right away even when we arrived early

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was spot on. The food was fabul ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Service was spot on. The food was fabulous and the atmosphere was energetic and fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was good and the ambience was s ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was good and the ambience was special due to its location and lively conference crowd.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Busy restaurant with great view. The foo ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Busy restaurant with great view. The food is fresh and delicious. The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect Meal

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a perfect choice for a family dinner. There were four of us for dinner, all enjoyed the meals we chose. The table where we sat was perfect, just between being outside and inside. Service fantastic, food fresh. Just Perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a reservation for 7:30pm Thursday ni ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a reservation for 7:30pm Thursday night. Reservation was 1/2hr late but the manager apologized and gave us a complimentary appetizer. Ordered calamari and Hawaiian Roll sushi for appetizers and for the main - fish & chips (fries) and crispy scallops and fries. All were good but the scallops were not worth the $31 price tag. Would recommend all except the scallops only because they are overpriced for the type of dish & presentation.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great meal!

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed dinner outside for our anniversary as we were visiting Boson for the first time. Great food and beautiful view!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night

Dined on May 11, 2016

Service and food were wonderful. Had a drink on the rooftop deck waiting for our table. We sat right at the window overlooking Boston Harbour. Dinner was amazing. Loved everything about the evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for our graduation dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

What a beautiful location for our celebratory dinner! The food was delicious too.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on the very busy Mother's Day. Had to wait a bit past our reservation. Without prompting, the GM came up to us right away and gave us a free appetizer and was very hospitable. Great food, great view, friendly staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was good, but not amazing. Fun pl ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was good, but not amazing. Fun place on the water. Desert (boston cream pie) was great! Our server was a little awkward, but was prompt and nice.

food4
ambience4
service4

Even though we had a reservation, we wer ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we were seated about 20 minutes late, due to the previous table lingering. Otherwise, the view was beautiful, service was good, and everyone in our party of 10 enjoyed the dishes they ordered.

food4
ambience4
service4

Fun, casual atmosphere with lots of ener ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Fun, casual atmosphere with lots of energy on a cool rainy Boston night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and View

Dined on May 5, 2016

Had a table of 9. Service was great and so was the food. No complaints at all! Would definitely go back even though I do not eat seafood/fish.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our server, Lisa was excellent. She knew when to approach us and knew when to give us time. She was professional, yet friendly and fun. Our group of 5 all enjoyed her. Food is great, as are the choices. A go to place for us!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Night

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went for dinner it's was a clear blue sky night. We had a great view of the water. The waitstaff was friendly real up beat atmosphere. The food was delicious had the shrimp cocktail and a lobster salad sandwich. My date had raw oysters and the special lobster crab and shrimp sandwich.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated upon arrival Great seat w ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were seated upon arrival Great seat with a great view Oysters were outstanding as was the special Waiter was awesome Loved it

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Your one stop when in Boston's Seaport!!!!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Everything they do in this restaurant is great. I've eaten here more than I should admit, however I've tried many things and I'm always delighted with the meals & accompaniments.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I just needed to stop in and grab a quic ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I just needed to stop in and grab a quick bite. The waitress was super helpful at getting us and out quick. The view is very nice too!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seafood Lover

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great evening. Our server was very helpful suggesting good oysters that were in season. The food was amazing I ordered a Tuna Steak prepared perfectly. One of the other main reasons I absolutely love going to Legals is the sangria. It is always perfect and a great kick! I can't wait for the weather to start getting nicer to eat outside and enjoy the harbor view.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

The view is fabulous. No debate definite ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The view is fabulous. No debate definitely come here for your seafood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the oysters were fresh, serve ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

As always, the oysters were fresh, served with great sauces. Legals should include jalapeño sauce used for clams, with oysters. Shayna was our server and she was incredibly helpful in picking out oysters we would. She was efficient and she was able to locate the jalapeño sauce. The lobster roll was to die for! Light on the mayo, seasoned perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere and Staff

Dined on April 21, 2016

Never a bad experience at this restaurant. Every time we are in Boston we stop here for Dinner very polite staff and servers. I notified our server of my shellfish allergy and the manager personally delivered my meal to me. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

What's happened to the food??

Dined on April 17, 2016

Have been here many times. This time, food was really bad, verging on inedible (my mussels). As always, great location, fantastic service. Wish they'd do something about the food - too much frying, very old-fashioned ideas on food prep and presentation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, drinks & service!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We ate here 3 times over the Boston Marathon weekend - 1 dinner & 2 lunches!! The food was delish, drinks refreshing & our server Chad was very helpful & knowledgeable about the oysters!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on April 3, 2016

First time at this location. Excellent service, delicious food, great evening.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Near convention center

Dined on March 31, 2016

In town for convention. Walking distance from conventioncenter. Good food, waited about 15 minutes with reservation. View of Harbor. Arctic char special was excellent. Service was excellent, waiter was personable and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. I had the grilled ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was amazing. I had the grilled swordfish and choose the sautéd spinach and jasmine rice. If you're not sure what to get try this combo. We got a bottle of the Malbec they offer and it was a perfect paring.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, i'll recommend it 100%

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good place! Just awesome, good atention, very clean, nice music, great view and delicious food!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Will give it one more chance

Dined on March 26, 2016

We eat here a lot and love it but the last visit was bad. The chowder was excellent as always but the fish and chips were burnt, dry and crusty. Definitely in the fryer way too long. We ate them because we hadn't eaten all day and didn't want the scene of sending it back . No where near the quality level I had come to expect from this house. Patiently listened as the waiter tried to up sell us stuff which was fine and expected but don't totally forget to bring the dinner rolls after that and if you assure us there will be no salt on the fries please insure that is the case when the meal arrives. One bad trip won't put me off this establishment but two will. We'll see.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.