About Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market

270 Northern Ave.
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Legal Sea Foods was born in 1950 as a fish market in Inman Square, Cambridge that expanded in 1968 into a no-frills restaurant where guests sat on picnic tables. The first floor hull of Legal Harborside celebrates this heritage and features a casual restaurant and market.

Here you'll enjoy an all-day menu of seafood favorites with a twist as well as shareable plates, pastas and pizzas made to order in an open kitchen. Choose to eat at one of the picnic tables for an authentic throwback experience or grab a seat at the oyster bar and watch our shuckers at work (up to 14 varieties of oysters are offered daily). A large elliptical bar offers both wine and local beers on tap. Patio seating, along Boston's HarborWalk, affords a clear view of the Boston Fish Pier, the oldest working fish pier in the country, and the city skyline.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Oyster Bar, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday:
11am - 11pm

Friday - Saturday:
11am - 12am

Market Hours Daily:
10am - 10pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 477-2900

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-floor-1

Parking Details:
Our validation will net you a $2/hr discount for up to 2 hours in the Park Lane Garage. Valet parking is available for $16 on Monday - Friday from 7am - 5pm and on Saturday - Sunday from 11am - 5pm; after 5pm daily, valet parking is $18. Park for up to 20 minutes free of charge in the designated on-street spaces for takeout/fish market customers only. And transient docking for boats is available in season at the Liberty Wharf Marina.

Public Transit:
Silver Line Way (Silver Line)

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Halloween on the Harbor

Thursday Oct 6, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wines of Sonoma

Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Presidential Election Fishing Poll

Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 6, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

We're serving everything from stuffed turkey to stuffed lobster.

Halloween on the Harbor

Thursday Oct 6, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Details

We're scaring up some fun with a live pumpkin carver. See the live performance on October 6 from 11am-2pm and 4pm-9pm. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid on Thursday Oct 6, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 9:00 PM.

Wines of Sonoma

Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Take a 'flight' to Sonoma County without leaving your table. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 20, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Presidential Election Fishing Poll

Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 6, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Vote with your taste buds for the Secretary of Steak or Trump Tower. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com. Special valid Oct 24, 2016 - Nov 6, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal Harborside - Floor 1 Restaurant and Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Outdoor Dining
Boston
Scenic View
Boston
2 More
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Seaport ›

Scenic View (285)
Great for Outdoor Dining (264)
Great for Lunch (147)
See All
Hot Spot (141)
Special Occasion (140)
Good for Groups (139)
Vibrant Bar Scene (115)
Fit for Foodies (103)
Kid-friendly (59)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Romantic (52)
Waterfront (50)
Great for Brunch (39)
Late-night Find (38)
Notable Wine List (35)
Casual (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Fun (26)
People Watching (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Healthy (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Business Meals (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Family Style (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2237 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I LOVE everything apart from many of you ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

I LOVE everything apart from many of your side dishes. I don't think the complement the dishes at all.

Otherwise perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Served lobster pot pie without the pie c ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Served lobster pot pie without the pie crust as they were out of crust but didn't explain until after the food was served and we complained. Not much apology. No alternative meal was offered although the pies were deducted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

the location is excellent with a great v ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

the location is excellent with a great view of the water. the food was just okay. my wife's shrimp scampi was surprisingly hot (spicy) and shes couldn't eat it. there was nothing on the menu that indicated it being spicy and the server confirmed it should not have been. to save time and make our experience as positive as possible I ate her meal and gave her my swordfish which she enjoyed, but the romaine wedge salad that came with it was disappointing to both of us. The server let her order a ceasar salad which made things acceptable, but we really didn't go there for acceptable especially on our 35th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Took 40 minutes to get a mug of chowder. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took 40 minutes to get a mug of chowder. Service was deplorable. Food not much better. Do not waste your time or money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We took relatives from Sweden to Legal S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We took relatives from Sweden to Legal Sea Food's Harborside location for a Sunday lunch. It was great as always with Legal Sea Food. Our Swedish guests were thrilled with the sea food and the harbor view. We were grateful for the understanding of the wait staff at our staying long at the table as we only see our Swedes about once a year. We normally eat at the Chestnut mall location on Rt 9, but have been to the Harborside once before. We chose it on purpose and they came through for us as always.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation for 8pm and ultimately ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Made reservation for 8pm and ultimately we were never seated because the people at our table were taking longer than they expected. Terribly run restaurant and extremely disappointing overall. You can't rely on one table for every reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

The waterfront view was amazing

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The waterfront view was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always visit Legal Seafood Harborside ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We always visit Legal Seafood Harborside when we are in Boston. The food is great and the service is always second to none. Hope to be back again soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and ambience. Loud but fun. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and ambience.

Loud but fun.

Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood restaurant: interesting me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Great seafood restaurant: interesting menu selections such as tuna crudo bruschetta. Skillfully prepared and interestingly presented swordfish. Very nice "twist" on Boston Cream Pie. Great waterfront location but non-Boston visitors can easily get lost enroute. Appreciated the valet parking option. Ample seafood options for those with shellfish allergies. A nice experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated my birthday. We were seated p ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Celebrated my birthday. We were seated promptly (given we made a reservation), had spectacular views, and the best waitress and service around. Really cannot find a better place with great hospitality and fresh seafood. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"affordable" seafood by the harborside. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

"affordable" seafood by the harborside. The lobster Mac'n'cheese was on the dry end and the steamed lobster was good but nothing mindblowing to it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and first class service

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent food and first class service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. Our server was in th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was great. Our server was in the weeds a bit and we didn't really see her much after we got our menus. My oysters arrived one too few, which was quickly remedied, and the rest of the food was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

This is a perfect spot to take out of to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is a perfect spot to take out of town business or social visitors to get a taste not only of local seafood but also local color. It is vibrant and has a young feel. It's also fun to walk around the general seaside area behind the restaurant v

Tags: Family Style, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Legal Harborside (as their flagship site ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Legal Harborside (as their flagship site) was better than any other Legal Seafood that I had previously visited. The food was delicious and fresh, and I wish I could have tried their whole menu because everything looked so good! I definitely recommend the lobster roll (no fillers!) and their fried clams. No need to get the meal for the fried clams because the appetizer was enough.

Sit by the water if you can! It's a terrific view of the harbor!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can never go wrong here! It's the be ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

You can never go wrong here! It's the best! The food is fantastic and it's on the water. I highly recommend the shrimp toast and all of the dips (hummus/ olive/ crab).

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The crab cakes here are amazing! We brou ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The crab cakes here are amazing! We brought out of town guests and they raved about the food and the special setting on the harbor. Our server was super accommodating when we wanted to share dishes and sample the tacos. This is one of our go to restaurants in Boston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Believe this is the 2nd or 3rd review bu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Believe this is the 2nd or 3rd review but this time it is different. We were looking for a good seafood restaurant close to the Intercontinental Hotel because our friends from out of town were staying there. Legal Seafood on the harbor (aka Legal Harborside) in the Seaport District was our first choice. We were so happy we got the time slot we wanted through Open Table. We had some of the featured oyster specials and my friend said they were the best fried oysters she has ever had. Three of us had the shrimp and linguine and we all loved it. However, our one friend had clam roll with fries and he said it was just so-so and over-priced. Our waiter was very nice but he had too many tables so he couldn't be as attentive as I am sure he wanted to be. The manager made a special effort to go around and talk to people which was a good idea. It is definitely a touristy place but we had tourists with us so it was OK for us. They really loved the view of the harbor and the boats at sunset.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our food was decent, but not as you woul ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our food was decent, but not as you would expect from Legal Sea Foods. They sell themselves as a high-standard seafood restaurant so I was a little disappointed. The service was a little slow but fine. The AC was on a way too high setting for me and my friends, so we were cold the entire night. The view of the harbor is beautiful and the only reason I would come here again.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service and complimentary dessert ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great service and complimentary dessert for special occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Legal Harborside has a great casual, ups ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Legal Harborside has a great casual, upscale atmosphere with lovely views and terrific service. The lobster roll was one of the best I've ever had and the oysters were terrific. The only downside was that it was crowded (reservations a must!) and therefore a bit on the loud side. Overall, a great place for lunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place! It never disappoints. T ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love this place! It never disappoints. The food and service was great. Try the stuffed artichokes. So good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place with fantastic food! Hig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent place with fantastic food! Highly reccomended.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Waterfront, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great setting, terrific food. Can't wait ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great setting, terrific food. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Didn't seat us where they said they woul ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Didn't seat us where they said they would outside..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

This is our second visit to Legal Harbor ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is our second visit to Legal Harborside and a bit disappointing. The service and food delivery was very slow and food was not very hot. The setting is beautiful and the prices are reasonable. I would give it another chance in future as our first visit was much better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

The view was great, seated right in view ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The view was great, seated right in view of the harbor. The only downside are the boats that dock in that area, due to the loud motors and drunk owners and their rowdy friends.

Other than that, seafood dishes never disappoint. Always consistent and great options available. The service was good, given how busy it was. Our server did forget to bring over tea options, and we ended up of canceling that order due to the long wait, and her forgetting, seeing as we finished the desserts that were brought to us by someone else, the tea wasn't necessary. We did sense we were being rushed out nicely after we had our meals.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday celebration with the girls Wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Birthday celebration with the girls

Waiter was very attentive

Made suggestions

Brought over ice cream chocolate balls to celebrate birthday

Great having valet parking

Beautiful view

Fresh food

Cook perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, good service. Waterfront ta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, good service. Waterfront tables are awesome!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed the lunch that I had there wit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I enjoyed the lunch that I had there with my friends. Overall, the service was great. We expected the food to be a little expensive and it was. Not something I can do on a regular basis. Main reason for going was because the restaurant serves raw clams which are great. Waiter was very good with his suggestions. Especially for me because I have had bypass surgery and cannot eat a large amount of food. All in all, we had a great time! We'll be back again when we save up some more money!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined on patio. Best waterfront ambiance ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Dined on patio. Best waterfront ambiance in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Legal's Harborside is the best seafood ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Legal's Harborside is the best seafood in Boston and has the best waterfront views of the city. Its a terrific place for casual dining and a vibrant bar scene. I always go there anytime I come to Boston. Local fresh seafood - they have all the basics as well as more interesting and exotic options. The wine list is not long but - all great choices and at the best prices I have ever seen - affordable for the 10 person table event!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was friendly & knowledgeable. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wait staff was friendly & knowledgeable. I had a lunch date with out-of-state relatives, and despite the busy hour, we were not hurried and encouraged to take our time knowing the circumstances! Customer service you do not get at all restaurants, and something I truly appreciated! Much to choose from & if you didn't see what you wanted, it was prepared for you -- as was our case! Oh, yes, and the food was fresh, presented well, and tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Amazing food and service as usual! This ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Amazing food and service as usual! This restaurant never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was not a bad restaurant. In fact w ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was not a bad restaurant. In fact we all enjoyed ourselves. But I think that was because of the occasion rather than the food. We were pretty cramped for a table of 10 but it wasn't terrible. The menu was decent, and everyone got something they wanted. The food was good but not memorable. By that I mean the same quality could have been ordered at dozens of other places for about the same price or less. I think one goes here for the location on the water but not the food necessarily. Lobster prices were in line with what we expected. I wanted a traditional surf and turf, a steak and lobster tail. But that option was not available for some reason. I ordered a steak and then they sprinkled lobster meat on top. That seem to be my only choice. That was disappointing but at least it was reasonably priced.

The waiter was excellent and I'm surprised they only assigned one person to us despite our group size, but he kept up pretty well and he was rewarded. All in all I would go here again but I wouldn't go out of my way. With so many great places in Boston to eat, a restaurant really needs to stand out to get four or five stars from me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Legal Sea Foods is always reliable. Cra ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Legal Sea Foods is always reliable. Crab roll was a bit disappointing because it could have used some lettuce, or some kind of garnish, to make it just right. Otherwise, the crab cake appetizer, clam chowder, and fried clams were good as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was one of many visits here and the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was one of many visits here and the food was as good as ever. One technical issue where our order was lost in the kitchen, but the manager made lemonade out of lemons and made the extra wait tolerable. Wait service was attentive and cheery.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to several of the Legal Sea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been to several of the Legal Sea Food Restaurants in the Boston area but never the "Harborside" in the Sea Port District. This was our best experience at a Legal Sea Food Restaurant and we look forward to getting back soon. Excellent service, excellent seating, excellent view, excellent food.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a great place to go for anyon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Definitely a great place to go for anyone who is visiting Boston. It is right on the water and has many great seafood options. The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.