About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lynnfield ›

Great for Lunch (61)
Good for Groups (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Kid-friendly (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Late-night Find (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Brunch (8)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff very attentive and made suggestion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Staff very attentive and made suggestions on meal. Loved the sangria and appetizers. Will be going back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was painfully slow. Drinks (wat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was painfully slow. Drinks (water and 2 sangrias) took 20 minutes to arrive. Our server didn't apprise us that a menu selection wasn't available until 40 minutes after we ordered. By that time the other dinners were ready. We were comped for this. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We've been regularly dining here since i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've been regularly dining here since it opened having been longtime diners at other Legal Seafood locations.

We've seen a decline at this location - not in the quality of the food overall - always fresh - but in service and follow up and sometimes in consistency of the food.

This is the 2nd time our drinks, which cost about $13/ea weren't filled as much as they should have been.

The Thai chicken wings, for whatever reason, taste different each time now.

The haddock special, while flavorful and fresh, was overcooked.

Servers are always courteous, but we've noticed that many of them seem to fraternize with patrons at the bar - not the ones they are serving - but others.

I watched one server apply lip gloss leaning against the register looking out onto the restaurant floor, then serve food without cleaning her hands.

On a separate note, we had spoken to a manager recently re our take out order on 3 separate occasions missing the lemon caper sauce on a dish.

He was very nice and insisted on taking our contact info for corporate to mail us a gift card or something.

It wasn't necessary, but the gesture was appreciated.

It never came.

We're looking forward to dining at the newly renovated Legal Seafood at the North Shore Mall where we've never been disappointed going on 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our favorite Legals to visit! Great menu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our favorite Legals to visit! Great menu, chef, managers and staff. The bartenders work great together anticipating everyone's needs, they seem to know all the regular guests and our experience with Ryan was flawless. I think he is one of the best bartender we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food good service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Always fresh, always consistent quality ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always fresh, always consistent quality plates of seafoods hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tables are uninviting and set up in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tables are uninviting and set up in the middle of traffic. Acoustics are terrible and if noise is a bother, skip this place. Portions are small and prices very high for what you receive. I have eaten there two or three times and each time I hope for a change away from these detractions and leave disappointed again. I guess I am not a Legal fan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food and service. Accommodations h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. Accommodations happily made for my requests on my dinner. Excellent martinis. If you go to Market Street be sure to check out this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu selections and the location i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu selections and the location is convenient to entertainment or shopping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Legal C Bar is our go-to date night spot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Legal C Bar is our go-to date night spot. I never cook fish or seafood at home, so it's our place to have it! Our waitress was attentive and very sweet, our meals were delicious and the atmosphere was perfect for dinner and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, amazing apps, & wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great drinks, amazing apps, & wonderful main courses - what more could anyone want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined outdoors, was excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dined outdoors, was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always loved Legal Sea foods and Legal C ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always loved Legal Sea foods and Legal C Bar. Recently they changed their French fries to a batter coated potato. Legals have always had the best and freshest seafood, but I'm disappointed they changed the fries. They are the same fries you can buy in the frozen food section of the supermarket.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This visit everything was good. Server ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This visit everything was good.

Server could have been more attentive, but overall was good.

If you are going to sit outside make sure you sit in the section with tables under the roof. The tables on the side of the building were very windy.

My son and husband split the fisherman's platter and they were nice to put it on 2 plates. Got my favorite, Soy glazed Salmon, but was a tad bit disappointed this time, the noodles we a bit sticky and it seemed to lake a bit of the "sauce" on it. My daughter always gets the steak tips and they were cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and friendly professional sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and friendly professional staff, definitely recommending to friends

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Food always good.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great experience. Food always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Always great and our go-to!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always great and our go-to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu choice is diverse; seafood I'd ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The menu choice is diverse; seafood I'd fresh. I recommend the New England clam chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This Legal location is better than some ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This Legal location is better than some others. Food presentation was good and fresh. Other locations have served dried out shrimp from the night before. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great Legal option. They're ope ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Another great Legal option. They're opening everywhere and maintaining the same high level of quality. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food at Legal C is delicious and hea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food at Legal C is delicious and healthy. I always get the Jasmine Special, and the broccoli is always cooked to perfection. The shrimp are large and the cheese sauce enhances the flavor of the dish. I often get the meal without the jasmine to save on starch. Service was immediate and attentive. It is the place to be at Market Street Lynnfield. Lively and good for all ages, even mine, 65.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant! I have multiple ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My favorite restaurant! I have multiple food allergies and they are so careful and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate a family member 's bir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went to celebrate a family member 's birthday on Wednesday The service was awful, had to wait 15 minutes to be seated and we got there 30 minutes before our reservation! Waitstaff was slow. Never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food and service are always worth th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service are always worth the wait. They also make a good cocktail.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we had a minor issue, the manag ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although we had a minor issue, the manager was very helpful and generous in solving the issue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the worst drinks ever , I can't believe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

the worst drinks ever , I can't believe they use a measuring glass for their mixed drinks cheap he must not trust the bartenders or every dollar counts I guess ????? You decide /

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Always dependable; great quality food; e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always dependable; great quality food; eat here frequently;

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner. We typically dine at the P ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great dinner. We typically dine at the Peabody MA location but they are closed due to major renovations. Very happy with our decision to try Legal C Bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, we sat outside ..... Windy a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, we sat outside ..... Windy and table was a little wobbly . Waitress fixed the table right away, but the wind made it annoying ( not their fault ) should have sat inside or not on the outside perimeter of the outdoor seating. Can't beat the seafood !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience. Delicious food and gre ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience. Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This bustling Saturday night, our reserv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This bustling Saturday night, our reservation was honored very close to the requested time, and service was terrific. Our drinks and food were served promptly but we were never rushed. My everything tuna was cooked through just as requested, but it remained flavorful and moist. My husband loved his pasta with clans, as usual. By fall shrimp are always a highlight. All in all a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for the first time to cele ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were there for the first time to celebrate my husbands birthday and it was fabulous!

The service, the food, the staff & the bartenders were exceptional. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!! Food and cocktails a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Awesome as always!! Food and cocktails are superb. You can't go wrong with whatever you choose:)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at a Legal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was my first experience at a Legal C Bar and even though it seems to have a nearly identical menu as their parent company - Legal Seafoods, the quality of food, service, and ambience was lacking from my prior exceptional experiences. To start when we arrived and Informed the hostess that I had reservation with Open Table, I was given a pager even though there were several empty tables in view. Normally I feel as though I receive special treatment when I use Open Table, which seemed to be lacking somewhat this time around, though we did receive our table close to our reservation time. Next thing I noticed was that the atmosphere and ambiance was more stark and industrial and not as warm, cozy, and welcoming as my prior experiences. After we were seated and waitress came to the table, I kinda felt like I was at the Road Kill Cafe or Coyote Ugly as she was standoffish and inattentive at best. Yes my daughter was a little difficult but normally the wait staff will try to win her over versus stooping to her level. And last but least, the food was only mediocre at best, not exceptional as I expected from past experiences. However, the price was exceptional and not mediocre, so our overall experience at Legal C Bar was actually disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My friend and I had a wonderful dining e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful dining experience. The food was delicious! I ordered a red snapper on special. I hope this finds its way on the regular menu. Our server was Joe. He was very professional and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was terrific. Cocktails delis ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server was terrific. Cocktails delish. Always enjoy Legal C's. Was a bit noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Beyond the food and ambiance the best th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beyond the food and ambiance the best thing about our visit to Legal C in Lynnfield was our server Meredith. She was outstanding. She was the best server hands down that I have had anywhere. We will definitely return and ask for Meredith.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & prices were good. Service also go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food & prices were good. Service also good. Only issue was being charged to split a salad. Nothing on menu about a charge & server never mentioned it.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was terrible even though the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was terrible even though the restaurant was busy but nothing unnamable. Our waiter never came back to refill our water glasses, or during our dinner. Didn't tell us if any specials, offered any suggestions. He was disengaged. We ordered cocktails, appetizers and dinner so our bill wasn't going to be cheap. I will go back but not straight away. Reservations worked out perfectly well. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.