About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

We're serving everything from stuffed turkey to stuffed lobster.

8th Annual Oyster Festival

Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details

A 4-week celebration of oysters, with a special feature menu and shell-shocking events. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Sep 15, 2016 - Oct 12, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (54)
Good for Groups (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Hot Spot (18)
Kid-friendly (16)
Casual (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Good for a Date (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love this location and it has become m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

I love this location and it has become my go to restaurant especially for seafood. Cocktails, menu and service is always great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was outstanding with terrific serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was outstanding with terrific service combined with a great time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Love the clean and casual "beach side" f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Love the clean and casual "beach side" feel of the decor. You can have an excellent meal without the standard appetizer/salad/main routine. The appetizers are varied and "share" sized and with lobster bisque or chowder portions and a generous salad you can create any kind of meal to suit your taste. I was tempted to calculate the possible variations but after two great cocktails I decided "work" was not on the menu. The surprise ending of cake and ice cream bon bons brought out for my birthday were, like all their desserts, ample for sharing

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The waitress had to be asked to serve ro ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The waitress had to be asked to serve rolls and water. Table next to ours with a different waitress was greeted with rolls and water. Mussels were in a delicious broth but it was a small portion of broth. Mussels tasted dry and overcooked.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Always love to go to Legal C Bar at Mark ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always love to go to Legal C Bar at Market Street! Cloudy Bay Sauvignon Blanc is hard to find by the glass because it's pricey. I look forward to having a glass upon my arrival! The Bang Bang Cauliflower is the best appetizer ever. The oysters are always fresh and delicious and there are so many kinds to pick from. My favorite meal is Everything Tuna cooked rare.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for the Oyster special and th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went there for the Oyster special and they ran out of them at 7:00pm.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Randy at the bar was great and kept our ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Randy at the bar was great and kept our bottle of wine chilled behind the bar while we waited for our table. We were seated a few minutes early. Our waitress Meredith never skipped a beat. We tried the well fleet oysters - they were crisp, cold and delicious. The salmon pad Thai and the Dover sole entrees were very good and generous portions.

Great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was disappointed. Food was average. Th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I was disappointed. Food was average. The temperature in the restaurant was freezing! The portions were small. The noise level was so loud you could not hear yourself think!!! You had to scream to hear anything! The wine and cocktails were very pricey. I would not go again. I had high expectations and was really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Took my daughter there as she is a diabe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Took my daughter there as she is a diabetic and wanted a healthy choice that we both could fill up on. We really enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to go back again. The food is so delicious it never disappoints along with the wait staff. Thank you

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the place was almost empty and they give ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

the place was almost empty and they give me the worst table with no view and also very dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We came for our anniversary. The food an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We came for our anniversary. The food and service was outstanding! We actually recommended to a few friends the next day!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great night. Sophia our waitre ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

It was a great night. Sophia our waitress was awesome. There was music out by the fire pit that was a very nice touch after dinner. So we got to enjoy another beverage and listen to the group that happened to be playing. It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Sushi is terrible!!!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great service. Sushi is terrible!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Went on Monday evening memorial day. Se ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Went on Monday evening memorial day. Service was so slow.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My husband has not been eating that well ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband has not been eating that well but here he ate everything we ordered.

He espically like the cow hogs and the steamers.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good the waitstaff as always ve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was good the waitstaff as always very friendly and attentive

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service were excellent. Drinks ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Drinks a little pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sushi was bad this time. Also the table ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Sushi was bad this time. Also the table was right at the entrance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent fish dishes - that's why we go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent fish dishes - that's why we go to Legal. The food is always fresh, and the recipes are different from the normal seafood restaurant. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing. I ordered fish & chips a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Disappointing. I ordered fish & chips and have had far better at the 99 restaurant. The french fries were limp. Also, it was rather surprising that our waitress stated there no malt vinegar any where at Legal C. No manager ever came by to apologize. My husband had fish tacos and the fish tasted old, like last week's fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food and amazing g food quality bu ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great food and amazing g food quality but what makes this location great is the level of hospitality given from all members of the staff from management down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Legal C Bar for an anniversar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We went to Legal C Bar for an anniversary date and were not disappointed. We sat on the patio, which was very pleasant and not too noisy. We had the seafood casserole (nice big shrimps and scallops) and shared the yummy bananas foster, which was plenty for the two of us. Mark was our waiter and did a good job -- attentive to our needs, (but not hovering over us) and served us with a smile. Overall, we were very pleased and are looking forward to coming again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sat outside patio dining and another tab ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Sat outside patio dining and another table was served too many drinks, quite loud, drunk , vulgar language , many customers left or went inside, they left drunk and no one seemed concerned that they were driving. Waitress apologized finally and provided us with complimentary dessert. Very nice but very disappointed in service and lack of responsibility for drinking and driving. My husband and I weekly customers and not sure if we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Legal C Bar's Lobster Mac & Cheese is go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Legal C Bar's Lobster Mac & Cheese is good, but they are getting cheap with their lobster. Last year when we first got the dish, the lobster portion was a good size tail & 2 claws. This time I got 2 small claws & no tail at all. I mentioned it to the waitress. She immediately got me more lobster meat, all small sized pieces. It was good, but not worth $27. I am annoyed to have had to pay $27 for a dish of pasta. Not good. Plus, they did take the dinner off the bill, which was good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Surprised by how good this was. Food was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Surprised by how good this was. Food was really good. Great swordfish. Will go back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Legal C Bar has been consistently great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Legal C Bar has been consistently great since it opened. I highly recommend this to anyone that asks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Staff very attentive and made suggestion ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Staff very attentive and made suggestions on meal. Loved the sangria and appetizers. Will be going back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was painfully slow. Drinks (wat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was painfully slow. Drinks (water and 2 sangrias) took 20 minutes to arrive. Our server didn't apprise us that a menu selection wasn't available until 40 minutes after we ordered. By that time the other dinners were ready. We were comped for this. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We've been regularly dining here since i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We've been regularly dining here since it opened having been longtime diners at other Legal Seafood locations.

We've seen a decline at this location - not in the quality of the food overall - always fresh - but in service and follow up and sometimes in consistency of the food.

This is the 2nd time our drinks, which cost about $13/ea weren't filled as much as they should have been.

The Thai chicken wings, for whatever reason, taste different each time now.

The haddock special, while flavorful and fresh, was overcooked.

Servers are always courteous, but we've noticed that many of them seem to fraternize with patrons at the bar - not the ones they are serving - but others.

I watched one server apply lip gloss leaning against the register looking out onto the restaurant floor, then serve food without cleaning her hands.

On a separate note, we had spoken to a manager recently re our take out order on 3 separate occasions missing the lemon caper sauce on a dish.

He was very nice and insisted on taking our contact info for corporate to mail us a gift card or something.

It wasn't necessary, but the gesture was appreciated.

It never came.

We're looking forward to dining at the newly renovated Legal Seafood at the North Shore Mall where we've never been disappointed going on 25 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our favorite Legals to visit! Great menu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our favorite Legals to visit! Great menu, chef, managers and staff. The bartenders work great together anticipating everyone's needs, they seem to know all the regular guests and our experience with Ryan was flawless. I think he is one of the best bartender we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food good service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We had the crab cakes, and they were ver ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had the crab cakes, and they were very good. The prices are high , for a casual restaurant.

We have been there before, and we went back as our friends had a gift certificate .

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Always fresh, always consistent quality ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always fresh, always consistent quality plates of seafoods hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tables are uninviting and set up in the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Tables are uninviting and set up in the middle of traffic. Acoustics are terrible and if noise is a bother, skip this place. Portions are small and prices very high for what you receive. I have eaten there two or three times and each time I hope for a change away from these detractions and leave disappointed again. I guess I am not a Legal fan

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great food and service. Accommodations h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food and service. Accommodations happily made for my requests on my dinner. Excellent martinis. If you go to Market Street be sure to check out this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu selections and the location i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great menu selections and the location is convenient to entertainment or shopping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Legal C Bar is our go-to date night spot ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Legal C Bar is our go-to date night spot. I never cook fish or seafood at home, so it's our place to have it! Our waitress was attentive and very sweet, our meals were delicious and the atmosphere was perfect for dinner and drinks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, amazing apps, & wonderful ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great drinks, amazing apps, & wonderful main courses - what more could anyone want?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined outdoors, was excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Dined outdoors, was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always loved Legal Sea foods and Legal C ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always loved Legal Sea foods and Legal C Bar. Recently they changed their French fries to a batter coated potato. Legals have always had the best and freshest seafood, but I'm disappointed they changed the fries. They are the same fries you can buy in the frozen food section of the supermarket.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.