About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Lynnfield ›

great for lunch (65)
good for groups (58)
great for outdoor dining (43)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
neighborhood gem (37)
vibrant bar scene (34)
special occasion (29)
hot spot (21)
kid-friendly (19)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (12)
great for brunch (8)
romantic (5)
Sort By:
Newest
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was great

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite restaurant! I have multiple ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant! I have multiple food allergies and they are so careful and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to celebrate a family member 's bir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Went to celebrate a family member 's birthday on Wednesday The service was awful, had to wait 15 minutes to be seated and we got there 30 minutes before our reservation! Waitstaff was slow. Never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food and service are always worth th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and service are always worth the wait. They also make a good cocktail.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we had a minor issue, the manag ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Although we had a minor issue, the manager was very helpful and generous in solving the issue.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

the worst drinks ever , I can't believe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

the worst drinks ever , I can't believe they use a measuring glass for their mixed drinks cheap he must not trust the bartenders or every dollar counts I guess ????? You decide /

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Always dependable; great quality food; e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Always dependable; great quality food; eat here frequently;

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner. We typically dine at the P ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great dinner. We typically dine at the Peabody MA location but they are closed due to major renovations. Very happy with our decision to try Legal C Bar.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, we sat outside ..... Windy a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, we sat outside ..... Windy and table was a little wobbly . Waitress fixed the table right away, but the wind made it annoying ( not their fault ) should have sat inside or not on the outside perimeter of the outdoor seating. Can't beat the seafood !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great experience. Delicious food and gre ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great experience. Delicious food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This bustling Saturday night, our reserv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This bustling Saturday night, our reservation was honored very close to the requested time, and service was terrific. Our drinks and food were served promptly but we were never rushed. My everything tuna was cooked through just as requested, but it remained flavorful and moist. My husband loved his pasta with clans, as usual. By fall shrimp are always a highlight. All in all a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there for the first time to cele ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were there for the first time to celebrate my husbands birthday and it was fabulous!

The service, the food, the staff & the bartenders were exceptional. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome as always!! Food and cocktails a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Awesome as always!! Food and cocktails are superb. You can't go wrong with whatever you choose:)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first experience at a Legal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

This was my first experience at a Legal C Bar and even though it seems to have a nearly identical menu as their parent company - Legal Seafoods, the quality of food, service, and ambience was lacking from my prior exceptional experiences. To start when we arrived and Informed the hostess that I had reservation with Open Table, I was given a pager even though there were several empty tables in view. Normally I feel as though I receive special treatment when I use Open Table, which seemed to be lacking somewhat this time around, though we did receive our table close to our reservation time. Next thing I noticed was that the atmosphere and ambiance was more stark and industrial and not as warm, cozy, and welcoming as my prior experiences. After we were seated and waitress came to the table, I kinda felt like I was at the Road Kill Cafe or Coyote Ugly as she was standoffish and inattentive at best. Yes my daughter was a little difficult but normally the wait staff will try to win her over versus stooping to her level. And last but least, the food was only mediocre at best, not exceptional as I expected from past experiences. However, the price was exceptional and not mediocre, so our overall experience at Legal C Bar was actually disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

My friend and I had a wonderful dining e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful dining experience. The food was delicious! I ordered a red snapper on special. I hope this finds its way on the regular menu. Our server was Joe. He was very professional and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was terrific. Cocktails delis ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our server was terrific. Cocktails delish. Always enjoy Legal C's. Was a bit noisy though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Beyond the food and ambiance the best th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Beyond the food and ambiance the best thing about our visit to Legal C in Lynnfield was our server Meredith. She was outstanding. She was the best server hands down that I have had anywhere. We will definitely return and ask for Meredith.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food & prices were good. Service also go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food & prices were good. Service also good. Only issue was being charged to split a salad. Nothing on menu about a charge & server never mentioned it.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The service was terrible even though the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was terrible even though the restaurant was busy but nothing unnamable. Our waiter never came back to refill our water glasses, or during our dinner. Didn't tell us if any specials, offered any suggestions. He was disengaged. We ordered cocktails, appetizers and dinner so our bill wasn't going to be cheap. I will go back but not straight away. Reservations worked out perfectly well. Thank you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We dined inside, and the noise level was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We dined inside, and the noise level was a bit much for a 60+ couple celebrating an anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was great, food was good, how ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter was great, food was good, however the hostess was really off this time around. I made a reservation in advance (spoke on the phone with the restaurant and specified that this is a SURPRISE) for my husband's birthday to surprise him with our friends coming to say HB to him (he hasn't seen them in a while). First, the surprise was ruined by the hostess confirming right in front of him the amount of people coming and asking if she understands correctly that this is a birthday celebration. Then I asked to change our table (which was right by the bar and it was noisy) and asked her to inform our guests when they get there. Not only did she not inform our guests, but she also sat them at the wrong table and made them wait for US to come. Good thing my friend called me and I came to get her. Other than that, this was an ok experience. We had an awesome waiter!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Always Great! Host team rocks! Jonathon ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Always Great! Host team rocks! Jonathon the waiter is the best. Jonny the general manager makes you feel like your a king!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I purchased the cauliflower appetizer an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I purchased the cauliflower appetizer and the price on the menu was $6.95. When I received the bill, I was charges $7.50. I did not want to may a scene at the table because I was with friends. But, if you add $.50 to everyone's bills, it adds up. I did not expect this at Legal. But, I guess you never know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Felt rushed by waitress portion of fish ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Felt rushed by waitress portion of fish extremely small didn't feel seating request was even address

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Always a great meal!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The only problem I found was the noise. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The only problem I found was the noise. It was hard to carry on a conversation at our table.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovey outdoor section. Thank you.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Lovey outdoor section. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

C bar has been our go-to place despite i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

C bar has been our go-to place despite its noise level being high. This night was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

resturant was worth going too. had a gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

resturant was worth going too. had a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a handicapped person at our table ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a handicapped person at our table. It was very accessible and they put us near the door. The waiter was fabulous; great sense of humor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Hostess so polite and friendly..server w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Hostess so polite and friendly..server was awesome and the food continues to be consistent and great! General Manager John makes us feel like celebrities. We love this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Warm Weather Outdoor dining.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Love to dine at your outdoor patio during the warm weather. Probably shouldn't shout this to loudly cause there won't be tables available to myself!! Thank you!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Have eaten at the C Bar several times an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Have eaten at the C Bar several times and the food is always fresh and delicious. The service there has been great also!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Not worth the price

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Paid $35 each for two butterflied filet mignions . Went there a previous time and got the creekstone steak and it was delicious and a decent portion. This time they were over cooked and looked tiny. Definitely not worth the $90 bucks spent on dinner that evening for two. Service was okay, nothing special. I told the waitress the steak looked tiny and she just looked and walked away. I had replaced spinach for a side salad, I was told it was $1.95 extra, which I was okay with, but they charged me $7.95 and I had to catch it to have it removed. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Fun atmosphere

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Get together for small group. Had a great time. Highly recommend! Food was good, so were the drinks!!! Fun!!!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Great time

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a Great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Had a business lunch - important meeting ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Had a business lunch - important meeting. They confirmed the reservation prior, asked me my seat preference/table type/location of table. Then they followed through. Service recognized the private chatter and was respectful and "There" with out once interrupting! Food was perfect. Hats off to the management and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine service, fresh sushi rolls, and gre ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fine service, fresh sushi rolls, and great RI style calamari. Also, the cocktails were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good. We were celebra ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was very good. We were celebrating a birthday and it was perfect for the occasion. They were able to accommodate gluten allergy and special request for a lobster pie that was no on the menu. Hours are flexible and close to home.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

though this is normally one of my first ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

though this is normally one of my first choices, the food was simply not up to standard and the service was terrible. I will give it another try but very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.