About Legal C Bar - Lynnfield

220 Market Street
Lynnfield, MA 01940
View Larger Map

From Legal Sea Foods, Legal C Bar emerges - a focused yet full-flavored social urban venue, casual in style.

Legal C Bar’s menu complements the bar forward concept and features many items suitable for sharing while also offering options for more traditional coursed dining. Tried-and-true Legal favorites along with exclusive offerings, including sushi and pizza, comprise the menu mix. Oyster lovers will find at least 8 different varieties daily.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Wednesday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 11:00am - 12:30am, Sunday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 406-2500

Website:
http://www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/lynnfield-legal-c-bar-marketstreet

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We're open and serving up yuletide cheer.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us for a ho-ho-holiday feast.

Chowda Day!

Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

We're declaring a "Legal" Holiday - get a cup of clam chowder for $1. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid on Sunday Jan 15, 2017 from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Holiday Fishes!

Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Give the gift of fish this holiday and get a lobster dinner on us. Excludes Tax and Tip. For more information: http://www.legalseafoods.com/. Special valid Dec 6, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Legal C Bar - Lynnfield Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Healthy (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fun (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
People Watching (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Romantic (4)
Fireplace (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food, well served. Wine menu s ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, well served. Wine menu somewhat limited, but menu has Legal favorites like coconut shrimp apoetizer. Not cozy, but cool new decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. Crab cakes are the best! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great as usual. Crab cakes are the best! Managers, Megan & Tim are wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The utmost-most in friendly ,helpful har ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

The utmost-most in friendly ,helpful hard-working staff of a quality restaurant,perhaps one the countries finest seafood bars,

Merry Christmas: rebecca,shannon & the guys at the Cbar

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was excellent!!!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Everything was excellent!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy the Legal C venue and we love y ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We enjoy the Legal C venue and we love your standard dishes, however my sushi was so mushy and not so filled with the fish it was to contain. Next time in ,no sushi for me.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place!

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Excellent ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving dinner. Excellent service. I had a turkey dinner which was good but expensive at $25 (I know it's a holiday). My son had a seafood dish which was good.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We opted to dine out for Thanksgiving di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We opted to dine out for Thanksgiving dinner...my girlfriend, my son and I. Ordered a traditional Turkey dinner and it was excellent! The turkey was moist, the mashed potatoes were perfect. If I had any changes to make it would be to veer away from sausage stuffing to breaded or even crab stuffing. Also was not a fan of the style of cranberry sauce served.

 Realizing there are 35 Legal Seafood Restaurants in 6 states and the District of Columbia, we were quite surprised to see the owner, Roger Berkowitz, visit the restaurant while we were there.  He even came over to our table when he was told it was my girlfriend's birthday and was gracious enough to buy the 3 of us dessert.  A nice touch!
Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great but the last 3 reservat ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Dinner was great but the last 3 reservations I placed with open table (different restaurants)I received the worst seat in the restaurant. My table of 5 was near the door and very drafty.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food and wait staff was very good . Th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food and wait staff was very good .

The only hiccup was, that I made a reservation and arrived about 15 minutes early and was given a pager. After 45 minutes I had to go back to the hostess stand and inquire about my reservation. It turns out my pager didn't work. I was at the bar, no more then twenty feet from the hostess table, and nobody took the time to walk over to even inquire if I was there, after I specifically told the hostess that I will wait in the bar. A little less lazy on the hostess part would go a long way.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The meal was good, but I was disappointe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The meal was good, but I was disappointed in the menu change. No seafood platter and no option for fried haddock or cod. Fish and chips not as good as ordering the schrod. Not sure I will frequent as often due to the menu change.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

This Legal is so different (and not in a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This Legal is so different (and not in a good way) from the others. It is extremely noisy and all the servers seemed to be confused and rushing around. Our table for seven was extremely small, thus we spent a lot of time moving dishes, etc around trying to make room to basically eat. It took "forever" for the waiters to remove dishes, etc that we had already eaten off. Six meals came out together, but my meal seemed to get lost in the kitchen. It finally showed up - incorrectly - was corrected and when I finally got to eat, the clams were - well just strange. No idea what kind of breading was on them, but it was quite unpleasant. This meal was comp'd by management, which was very nice, but I do not believe that I will return to Legal C Bar in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was as I have come to expect fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was as I have come to expect from Legal, Wait staff was attentive. Unfortunately we were not seated at our reservation time closer to 8:45 than 8:15

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I went for a Birthday Party. They let m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I went for a Birthday Party. They let me bring a cake in which I thought was wonderful.

My family and friends had a wonderful time. The waitress was very friendly and did a really nice job.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was excellent, the bar service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was excellent, the bar service quick, sports on TV - what more can you ask for.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They've changed their menu for the worse ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

They've changed their menu for the worse. Favorite items, such as seafood casserole, are no longer available. Disappointing and unnecessary overhaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Usually good. Disappointed on Friday nig ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Usually good. Disappointed on Friday night. Both dinners my husband and I ordered they said they were out of. When my second choice came it wAs just lukewarm

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Took over 10 minutesto get drinks includ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Took over 10 minutesto get drinks including water. Then felt rushed what food came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Food was top notch seafood! Service exce ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was top notch seafood! Service excellent. A little noisy but still a great atmosphere! We ll be back again soon.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Legsl C bar was good. I thought it was p ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Legsl

C bar was good. I thought it was pricey. I will say the serving size was good. The atmosphere was more

Casual than legal's other locations. I think maybe smaller portions and smaller prices for this

Location might be better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to celebrate a birthday which th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday which the reservation desk was made aware of when I called to confirm. She said would 'definitely make a note on that". Well, nothing happened so I don't know why she noted it. Our food for most of us was overdone, over fried(scallops), or just dried out (paella). Had ask several times for a glass of water. water never refilled. not once. Pumpkin shandy no sugar even though the server suggested it. Overall, very disappointing. they did take the cost of the paella off but it didn't matter. We won't be going back.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Made reservations 4 days in advance, for ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Made reservations 4 days in advance, for 7:45, asked for booth if possible. Have been to

the restaurant many times. Was seated at 8:30 pm, after asking hostess several times and her answer several times was we are clearing the table. While waiting saw people walking in getting tables in front of us. Manager gave us free desert on the house . All in all did not like

the long delay for our table.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service is great and the food and dr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service is great and the food and drinks are outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of fun, great drinks and service. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lots of fun, great drinks and service.

I have been there 8 times this year, 7 great meals. 1 time sword fish was totally dry and unedible, didn't have time for a re-do.

I reget not sending it back,,,my bad

Everything else great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, daughter is gluten free ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was great, daughter is gluten free and wait staff supplied her with GF rolls without us even requesting. Very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I requested a booth on my reservation an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I requested a booth on my reservation and this was the second time I was not able to get one. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Usually food is pretty good. This time ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Usually food is pretty good. This time around it was below average....salmon (grilled) was very dry....so was the sword fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We chose Legal C bar for a business lunc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We chose Legal C bar for a business lunch for it's delicious seafood. I especially liked the grilled rainbow trout, tasty but light seasoning. Compared to lunch in some other places, it might be above average in price, but you get a really enjoyable meal, something you can linger over. You can talk and not hear your neighbors' conversations. Service was fast and professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food is always fresh and delicious . Gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food is always fresh and delicious . Great place to go too if your gluten free many options to choose from. Great atmosphere too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food. Though this visit my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always great food. Though this visit my reservation request for a booth was not fulfilled. Rather, we were seated at a VERY busy junction of the restaurant where all the servers passed through, next to the bathroom entrance and wine closet. Not only was this loud an disruptive, but then a customer pushed passed our waiter causing him to dump a beer and soda all over those at our table (not his fault, but way too busy of an area for a table). When the staff cleaned the puddles they neglected to notice/tell me that it had migrated completely under the table to where my handbag was placed - something i din't realize until I picked it up at the end of the meal soaking wet, stained, and sticky. While the manager offered to pay a dry cleaning bill for a coat that was soaked by the spill, I do think that some sort of meal compensation could have been offered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Holy cow, wht a memorable meal. Everyth ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Holy cow, wht a memorable meal. Everything was fabulous - salmon, paella, sushi rolls, scallops. What made this visit stand out was our server, Katie. She was absolutely top notch. She took a pikinn to my daughter and elderly Mom, and pampered us with attention and great service. Great, great job all around.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster roll was delicious and the s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The lobster roll was delicious and the service was excellent. The food is always fresh here and the atmosphere is warm and fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress was friendly but forget things ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Waitress was friendly but forget things we would ask for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was simply spectacular! I have ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was simply spectacular! I have always had the best meals here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute dinner reservation for two. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Last minute dinner reservation for two. We were seated near the back close to the bathroom. The restaurant was full and the noise level was high. DH had the cod special which was very good. I had the seafood paella which was good but the flavor of the sausage overwhelmed the dish a bit. For dessert we had an apple tart with cinnamon ice cream. There was a cherry sauce that was bitter and we ended up draining it off onto a saucer. Overall a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent waiter! Very accomodating.

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent waiter! Very accomodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Every time we go the GM John treats us l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Every time we go the GM John treats us like royalty. This makes our decision to dine there every time so easy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a server who's name is Katie. Thi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

We had a server who's name is Katie. This young lady was as good as it gets in the restaurant business. She should be a manager which. I don't believe she would take. A real Gem don't loose her.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our 6:45pm Saturday night reservation wa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Our 6:45pm Saturday night reservation was seated at 7pm. We were given a round table for 6 right next to the open kitchen and doorway to the outside patio. We were a table of 4 people so the table leaves were folded up and fell down multiple times onto the knees of those seated. Hoodies & sweatpants seemed to be the dress code for the night. Fish was as good as always as was the service but this location seems to be more focused on creating a setting for a bunch of divorcees seeking suburban hookups more than foodies seeing a dining experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

We loved this place. More casual than ot ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We loved this place. More casual than other legals we have been too. Excellent food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.