Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Le Voltaire

4.7
1038 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine.

On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes.

Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past 15 years.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(402) 934-9374
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Cedric Fichepain
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Cedric Fichepain: (402) 934-9374
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
156th and Dodge rd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking
Additional
Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1038 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.5
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Quiet
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

It is always a special occasion the way we are treated. The food is exceptional. Our server is incredible. We always has an awesome experience when we go to Le Voltaire.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Lamb was a little overdone (no pink at all for a medium rare), but the quail and the crab appetizer we're executed nicely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Excellent meal and service for a special evening with my favorite lady.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Quiche of day excellent. Cup of French onion soup terrific, lots of cheese on top.
Salade niçoise was excellent. Desert special chocolate cake was outstanding.
Wonderful lunch with Friends, along with the wonderful Lisa who was our
server.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Very good. A little feeling of being cramped in terms of seating though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Wife's salmon reported as excellent--wish I could say the same about the Beef Bourgignon.
It appeared to be stew meat in beef broth, one 2 inch slice of firm carrot, slightly more cooked onions. I expected more.
Wine choices were very good by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

They usually have 2 specials. I had the seafood special and my husband had the bison special. Both were delicious. We have never had anything we didn’t like. Food, service and atmosphere are always great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Lis is terrific always knows what I like. The new lamb dish is excellent.
The salted Carmel pot of creme was excellent. The house red is a
wonderful choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

My wife and I decided to go here for our anniversary supper. We had never been here and did not really know what to expect. We were presently surprised.

To start:
While reserving a table online I mentioned in the special request section that it was our anniversary and I asked for if they could make a special plate that meant a lot to my wife. I was not expecting them to be able to make it since it was not in their menu.

While at restaurant:
Waitress seated us immediately and congratulated us on our anniversary. She made us feel like we were known and was very helpful when taking our order.
Ambiance was quiet, low lit, and very well decorated. Made the whole experience feel authentic. Defiantly NOT fast food Italian!! Food was impressive and they made my special request for my wife!
At the end I informed her that I was using a Groupon and she knew exactly what I was talking about and walked me through how the check would be given to me after the Groupon.

All I’m all, VERY GOOD EXPERIENCE! My wife and I WILL be coming back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

Great dinner as always, the service and the food are outstanding, Nick and Lisa are the best. We always go back for more.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 18, 2018

What. A. Disaster. Amber -Lynn is amazing, but the rest? Not so much. I had a reservation for a specific time that was not upheld. So, we sat at the bar. We were told, however, that the particular bar spot at which we sat was "coveted." Yet, other people came in and seemingly had NO problem with their particular reservation. That aside, the service was ok. It was about as good as the service at your local Denny's or Village Inn. The wine was adequate, tho much overpriced (which is to be expected, I guess.) The good was just, well, quite average. Maybe one notch above Denny's. Maybe not. But the price was ridiculous in comparison to the good. In all, I would say that at best, this "French" restaurant is approximately worthy to the strip mall in which it resides. The experience was very subpar, and I would not recommend this establishment to my worst enemy, let alone my best friend. What a disaster.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

One of our very favorite restaurants in Omaha. The Bouillabaisse is fantastic. Their fries (frites) are amazing. The creme brulee is so smooth and delicious with a top caramel glaze that was perfect, and cracked correctly when tapped with a spoon. There are wonderful appetizers, and I suggest getting the Bistro Menu where you can select either an appetizer + entree, entree + dessert, or all three, for a special price. This time I had the Pain plat de Sud Ouest (Bacon-duck confit lavash, oregano-spinach pesto, grilled vegetables, and brie cheese) with the lamb entree. All was wonderful. Husband had the Filet Mignon with brandy peppercorn sauce. He asked for fries instead of the mashed potatoes, and it was no problem. He had the creme brulee for dessert. All entrees come with a lovely salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our waiter was very good! He was informative and didn’t make you feel overwhelmed about all the choices. Food was outstanding. The only thing I would say is that since it’s not a very big restaurant they could work on their ventilation. The kitchen made the restaurant a little bit smoky. We joked that there was a little fog machine going. All in all it was a great experience. I would definitely come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had the duck and chicken, both very good. The staff are nice and professional. I recommend a reservation. Take your time, enjoy the meal and time with whomever you go with and have the lemon tart!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Our waiter, Nick, was very knowledgeable of the food and wine list. He was very nice, too. We have been to France, know good food, this was delicious! We will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Le Voltaire is our favorite restaurant. Authentic French cuisine along with an extensive wine list. The Le Petit Paris Bakery next door is owned by Le Voltaire and they provide incredible bread...yum! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

When we arrived it took a while before someone came to our table, and when they realized the young lady was exceptionally apologetic and offered us all a lovely glass of champagne. It was delightful even though we understood as they were very busy. She responded with 'no, it's not' and proceeded to ensure that the rest of the evening was absolutely spot on with exceptionally attentive service. Will absolutely recommend and we will be back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great menu and wine list.......once you cross the doorway you are in a very comfortable environment. Food and service were terrific

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We have enjoyed this restaurant for the last 10+ years! We plan on returning again next year for our yearly getaway!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Thank you for another wonderful dinner with friends at our favorite Omaha restaurant on Saturday evening during our visit to Omaha.
The food, wine & ambiance were outstanding, as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Le Voltaire never disappoints. If you want real French food, this is the spot. The atmosphere is
cozy. You can dress up or casual. If you want to sit at the bar & eat, that's fun too.
I highly recommend Le Voltaire and don't forget their bakery next door for home made croissants, pastries and breads.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

I can’t say enough good things about Le Voltaire. The staff, especially Carly, were amazing. The food was fantastic and the ambiance was very intimate and inviting. I’d like to see more French beers as I’m not a wine guy but the 1664 hit the spot. I highly recommend Le Voltaire and my wife and I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We come once a year to annual BRK meeting & always enjoy the food at La Voltaire.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Loved, loved the food! Tried escargot and foie grais for the first time...delicious. An experience you have to see for yourself. Definitely will go again. Food reasonably priced. Our waitress was awesome and very knowledgeable of the menu. A 17 year old French jewel.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Overcooked and underseasoned bouillebaise. Cheese was practically flavorless and portions were stingy on the full cheese plate. Overpriced wine. Best thing was the salad with real bleu cheese crumbles. Would avoid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great place for a special night out. Always great service and food. You never feel rushed. Outstanding staff !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

We spent a wonderful 52nd Anniversary dinner here. It just happened that Tuesday is also 1/2 off on many choice bottles of wine and our server helped us pick one that we thought was perfect. It was also nice that since we didn't finish the bottle, they recork it and send it home with you - no need to drink it all!! Our meals were also so very good. We want to return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent value and most importantly the food was amazing . Dessert was fantastic as well . We had to add a fifth to our table at the last minute and they were very welcoming even at our last minute request ! Wine selection is very wide and ranging . Our party had five different menu choices and all raved about their food.
We all would go back again and again .

Nicely done by the wait staff and the Chef !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Very nice. Sweet wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

As always, Le Voltaire did not disappoint. Excellent food, well-trained, friendly staff. The fish special was delicious, as were the duck, and the filet. Made for a memorable birthday dinner. Only distraction was a rather boisterous group at the table next to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Having lived in France 12 years, this was our first "real" restaurant meal in a French restaurant stateside since returning. While many of us need to budget this meal in ahead of time, as it's not cheap, the quality of the food makes the bill more palatable. We were already in Omaha for a weekend, and I had done lots of research to make sure every meal was a winner. Honestly, many of the upscale restaurants with $$ on Trip Advisor would have cost the same price for two courses as Le Voltaire did for three. Pictured are the duck (tasty and tender) and filet mignon (that has an up charge) with crab meat on top and béarnaise sauce- succulent). The brie Josette cheese appetizer with apricot cranberry chutney was sweet but delicious. The Gateaux de Crabe were superb. The dessert of the day, Pot de crème du café, tasted just like the coffee pudding/custard we used to buy in France. The crème brulée was like many I had in France but an even better portion. The decor is a nice balance of fun and lovely, and the tables are not as close together as I had previously seen online. We would highly recommend this for a special occasion. The other thing we appreciated was being able to eat more French, in staggered courses, so that dinner wasn't over in 45 minutes! Chef Cedric had great recipes and good portions. From the vinaigrette down to the crème brulée, we enjoyed every bite. Thanks for an unforgettable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent service and amazing food! This is my favorite restaurant, and the best place in Omaha for escargot. The wine selection is extensive and worth every penny. I always recommend if you want good French food in Omaha. Best creme brule ever!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Delicious with excellent service. What else could you want?!?! We will be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Best food quality/ value in Omaha. Always excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great food, great service and all at a reasonable price. Also, a very good list of old world
wines. Can’t go wrong: highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Great place to celebrate milestones. We love the staff the are so kind and courteous.
We are a fan for life.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

As usual greatvservice and great food in a great ambiance

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Toasted foie gras was amazing but the sauce on pork tenderloin was not what we expected based on menu description - was too sweet. Overall was good meal but table placement is a little too close and noisy. Better suited for expensive friends get-together. Not as well suited for date or special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I made reservations with a few girl friends. We were able to get in quite easily and it was our first time. We all really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was delicious and the noise was minimal which allowed for conversation. I immediately told my boyfriend that we would have to go back together!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
26