About Le Voltaire

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: 402-934-9374

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
13 More
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Special Occasion
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

Special Occasion (81)
Notable Wine List (68)
Romantic (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (54)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
753 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Le Voltiaire is a gastronomical delight. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

Le Voltiaire is a gastronomical delight. The wine list is very impressive.

Wonderful cuisine at a great value. You can fine dine here at a moderate price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never disappoints from the specials or o ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappoints from the specials or off the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Another exceptional experience here ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wow! Another exceptional experience here. The food was flavorful, perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The service was perfect, Elizabeth was warm, polite, knowledgeable, timely, and accommodating.

This wonderful experience was provided at an extremely reasonable price given the quality of food and service.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and wine list ! Very good al ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and wine list ! Very good always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastique! We always have a wonderful ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastique! We always have a wonderful time at Le Voltaire. The cuisine is marvelous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good. I enjoyed the qual ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was good. I enjoyed the quality and execution of the food. The decor seems a bit dated, but they are also intentionally trying to create an old style French look, I think :). I'll go back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a very nice dinner, good wine, go ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We had a very nice dinner, good wine, good and friendly service, great value.

Nice French cuisine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unusually long wait to order drinks. We ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Unusually long wait to order drinks. We were seated rapidly per our open table reservation on a busy night. Our waitress asked for our drink order and we decided to get a bottle of wine. She filled our water glasses and brought the wine list and left. We watched her go back and forth to fill water glasses (not ours which we emptied), bring food to other diners, bring drinks to other diners, fill pitchers with water and ice, etc. before we hailed her after a half an hour. We were almost ready to leave. We felt invisible and insulted. She was apologetic and attentive after that. We've never had that happen before at this restaurant. The food was as awesome as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

wonderful food - great wine list excelle ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

wonderful food - great wine list excellent service - as always

our favorite place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a great meal was had by all. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, a great meal was had by all. We had the duck and it was really good.

Nice wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and was our first visit. Very quiet atmosphere to hold a personal and romantic conversation. We started off with the combination appetizer and the escargot was fabulous. The seafood dishes were amazing with a nice, inexpensive paired wine and the service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Voltaire is certainly a gem in Omaha. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Le Voltaire is certainly a gem in Omaha. It has an incredible menu with incredibly authentic French cuisine. This was such a welcome experience, and made me feel at home. The service was outstanding, with servers going out of their way to make sure we were completely satisfied. Here you can dine in the typical French style, taking your time and savoring every bite. A truly lovely atmosphere and wonderful restaurant. Overall it was a perfect night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The f ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The food was great and so was the service. We enjoyed the suggested pairings of wine with the appetizer and the main courses.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great to have a French restaurant in the ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great to have a French restaurant in the region. We have gone many times. Very good wine list with affordable selections. Food is mostly bistro style. Maybe not quite as good as it used to be. But glad thy they have many customers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant was outstanding. Food was ter ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Restaurant was outstanding. Food was terrific and service was as good as the food.

Would highly recomment this to anyone who likes some French food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been dining at Le Voltaire since ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I have been dining at Le Voltaire since their opening. I can tell when Chef Fichpain is in the kitchen. This visit was disappointing for me. The Croque Monsoir was not authentic.

I expected toast with a brush of Dijon , ham and a bechamel sauce with Gruyere and Parmesan. Then placed under the broiler with a dusting of cheese until browned and bubbly. Instead the bread was not toasted, there was a light smear of bechamel on the Breaking, then ham with what looked and tasted like Colby/jack cheese.

This was lunch but should have been prepared correctly

My meal before this was also lunch. However, I asked about an item not on the menu and our server said no problem, we can prepare this for you. It was Duck Confit, and excellent. I would give that visit 5 stars, not this one.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our all time favorite for birthdays, ann ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our all time favorite for birthdays, anniversaries, business and an engagement. Locally owned.

Best duck confit!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Amazing! He was so knowle ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was Amazing! He was so knowledgable and helpful!! He had great timing for the different courses. He was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service and superb food with a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Attentive service and superb food with an excellent wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, she was atten ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was excellent, she was attentive and very knowledgeable about the wines and the food. She knew what wine we had when we were in last, I liked that. We couldn't remember the name but she knew. The Boulganise was fabulous much better than the time before. However, we remember shrimp and scallops in it and they were missing. Still tasty. The steak was cooked just right tasted very good. There was just the right amount of seasoning. The tomato Provencal was good too. The salad was awesome, love the dressing. The brie cheese appetizer was very good too. The Creme brulle dessert was very good too, perfect amount of burnt sugar on it. The ambiance was nice. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and at a relaxed p ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was excellent and at a relaxed pace. The food was very tasty at a reasonable price. We will go here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice and great service. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a good choice and great service. Can't go wrong

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation was honored at the chosen ti ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Reservation was honored at the chosen time. Greeted with warmth and professionalism. Great wine list, from reasonable to expensive. Even the reasonable wines were chosen with care. Wonder diversity in the menu. The food is prepared with care and talent. The service was impeccable, even on weekends.

Will return as soon as possible. One of, if not the best places in Omaha.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect place to celebrate our wedding a ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Delicious food, excellent service, and an amazing wine list

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had another wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had another wonderful dining experience at Le Voltaire, our go to place in Omaha for fine French inspired cuisine. My wagyu beef special was scrumptious but I should have stuck with the Chef`s choice of sides versus the risotto that was paired with another entree which I had opted for. Overall, we thought the dinner was very good. The foie gras appetizer and the escargot were absolutely to die for. We spent over 3 hours dining, with 3 bottles of wine (2 of which were brought by us even though they have a great wine list), for the 6 of us. The service was generally attentive, although there were times I thought we were forgotten, but I attribute that to them being very busy while we were there. I`d highly recommend this restaurant for foodies and those who love French cuisine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

As always it was fabulous!

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As always it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Le Voltaire is always a wonderful experi ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Le Voltaire is always a wonderful experience. My wife and I have been going here for 8 years now--it was our first date actually. We got to know the owner, Cedric, and many of the staff quite well. Lisa you rock! So much so, we had our rehearsal dinner here and had a blast. To say the least, it became our special occasion go to restaurant. After being gone for 4 years and now back, our recent experience was just as amazing: excellent food, extensive wine list, and great service and Ambience. We look forward to Many more dining experiences at Le Voltaire.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was very hard to cut. I could ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The steak was very hard to cut. I could have had this level of food anywhere and paid less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great venue for special occasions.

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great venue for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The bouillabaise is excellent. Overall, ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The bouillabaise is excellent. Overall, everything is very good. I love the salad that comes with the entrees; the dressing is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very good French restaurant. I ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a very good French restaurant. It is definitely catered toward the Midwest palate versus restaurants I've been to in other parts of the country. Still, no complaints. It was a great place for a celebratory dinner but would still be acceptable for a nice date night as their prices are reasonable. I appreciate the wine list sorted by regions. The charcuterie was particularly memorable. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came with my husband to celebrate my Bir ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Came with my husband to celebrate my Birthday and my friends to celebrate their Anniversary.

Food and wine were good and once it thinned out a bit it was not so noisy.

Been here many times and always enjoy the service and wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was excellent. Cedr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. Cedric's staff does a wonderful job... consistently! We always enjoy catching up with Elizabeth. She does a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a large wine list. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food with a large wine list. Wait staff very friendly and helpful. Dinner for two not cheap but it is an excellent value for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite dining spots for years. Always cooked to perfection, and very reasonably priced (assuming you don't go overboard on the specialty cocktails/wine). I ordered the appetizer (norwegian salmon) + entree (filet) and loved it. Unfortunately there was no room for dessert, but the creme brulee is ordinarily a must-have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, good wine ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food, excellent service, good wine list and very reasonably priced!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restaurants. The service is always top notch and we look forward to seeing what the specials are. I would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restau ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restaurant. Even though it is casual, as in a bistro, the French cuisine is exquisite. There is a in-depth well priced wine list. This time we enjoyed crab/crawfish cakes, shrimp/scallop coquilles and the mahi mahi special. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c wasn't working properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Simply incredible and authentic French f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply incredible and authentic French food and outstanding service by servers that have been with this restaurant a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.