About Le Voltaire

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: 402-934-9374

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Nebraska
Best Service
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
13 More
Fit for Foodies
Nebraska
Neighborhood Gem
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Romantic
Nebraska
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Fit for Foodies
Omaha
Neighborhood Gem
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Romantic
Omaha
Special Occasion
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

Special Occasion (67)
Notable Wine List (59)
Fit for Foodies (55)
See All
Romantic (53)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for Groups (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
738 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been dining at Le Voltaire since ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have been dining at Le Voltaire since their opening. I can tell when Chef Fichpain is in the kitchen. This visit was disappointing for me. The Croque Monsoir was not authentic.

I expected toast with a brush of Dijon , ham and a bechamel sauce with Gruyere and Parmesan. Then placed under the broiler with a dusting of cheese until browned and bubbly. Instead the bread was not toasted, there was a light smear of bechamel on the Breaking, then ham with what looked and tasted like Colby/jack cheese.

This was lunch but should have been prepared correctly

My meal before this was also lunch. However, I asked about an item not on the menu and our server said no problem, we can prepare this for you. It was Duck Confit, and excellent. I would give that visit 5 stars, not this one.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our all time favorite for birthdays, ann ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our all time favorite for birthdays, anniversaries, business and an engagement. Locally owned.

Best duck confit!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was Amazing! He was so knowle ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server was Amazing! He was so knowledgable and helpful!! He had great timing for the different courses. He was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Attentive service and superb food with a ...

 
 (South Dakota)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Attentive service and superb food with an excellent wine list

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent, she was atten ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The service was excellent, she was attentive and very knowledgeable about the wines and the food. She knew what wine we had when we were in last, I liked that. We couldn't remember the name but she knew. The Boulganise was fabulous much better than the time before. However, we remember shrimp and scallops in it and they were missing. Still tasty. The steak was cooked just right tasted very good. There was just the right amount of seasoning. The tomato Provencal was good too. The salad was awesome, love the dressing. The brie cheese appetizer was very good too. The Creme brulle dessert was very good too, perfect amount of burnt sugar on it. The ambiance was nice. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and at a relaxed p ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was excellent and at a relaxed pace. The food was very tasty at a reasonable price. We will go here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice and great service. ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a good choice and great service. Can't go wrong

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation was honored at the chosen ti ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Reservation was honored at the chosen time. Greeted with warmth and professionalism. Great wine list, from reasonable to expensive. Even the reasonable wines were chosen with care. Wonder diversity in the menu. The food is prepared with care and talent. The service was impeccable, even on weekends.

Will return as soon as possible. One of, if not the best places in Omaha.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect place to celebrate our wedding a ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary! Delicious food, excellent service, and an amazing wine list

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had another wonderful dining experience ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Had another wonderful dining experience at Le Voltaire, our go to place in Omaha for fine French inspired cuisine. My wagyu beef special was scrumptious but I should have stuck with the Chef`s choice of sides versus the risotto that was paired with another entree which I had opted for. Overall, we thought the dinner was very good. The foie gras appetizer and the escargot were absolutely to die for. We spent over 3 hours dining, with 3 bottles of wine (2 of which were brought by us even though they have a great wine list), for the 6 of us. The service was generally attentive, although there were times I thought we were forgotten, but I attribute that to them being very busy while we were there. I`d highly recommend this restaurant for foodies and those who love French cuisine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

As always it was fabulous!

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

As always it was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Le Voltaire is always a wonderful experi ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Le Voltaire is always a wonderful experience. My wife and I have been going here for 8 years now--it was our first date actually. We got to know the owner, Cedric, and many of the staff quite well. Lisa you rock! So much so, we had our rehearsal dinner here and had a blast. To say the least, it became our special occasion go to restaurant. After being gone for 4 years and now back, our recent experience was just as amazing: excellent food, extensive wine list, and great service and Ambience. We look forward to Many more dining experiences at Le Voltaire.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was very hard to cut. I could ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The steak was very hard to cut. I could have had this level of food anywhere and paid less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great venue for special occasions.

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great venue for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The bouillabaise is excellent. Overall, ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The bouillabaise is excellent. Overall, everything is very good. I love the salad that comes with the entrees; the dressing is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very good French restaurant. I ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is a very good French restaurant. It is definitely catered toward the Midwest palate versus restaurants I've been to in other parts of the country. Still, no complaints. It was a great place for a celebratory dinner but would still be acceptable for a nice date night as their prices are reasonable. I appreciate the wine list sorted by regions. The charcuterie was particularly memorable. We will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came with my husband to celebrate my Bir ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Came with my husband to celebrate my Birthday and my friends to celebrate their Anniversary.

Food and wine were good and once it thinned out a bit it was not so noisy.

Been here many times and always enjoy the service and wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, the food was excellent. Cedr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

As always, the food was excellent. Cedric's staff does a wonderful job... consistently! We always enjoy catching up with Elizabeth. She does a great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a large wine list. ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food with a large wine list. Wait staff very friendly and helpful. Dinner for two not cheap but it is an excellent value for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite dining spots for years. Always cooked to perfection, and very reasonably priced (assuming you don't go overboard on the specialty cocktails/wine). I ordered the appetizer (norwegian salmon) + entree (filet) and loved it. Unfortunately there was no room for dessert, but the creme brulee is ordinarily a must-have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, good wine ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food, excellent service, good wine list and very reasonably priced!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restaurants. The service is always top notch and we look forward to seeing what the specials are. I would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restau ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restaurant. Even though it is casual, as in a bistro, the French cuisine is exquisite. There is a in-depth well priced wine list. This time we enjoyed crab/crawfish cakes, shrimp/scallop coquilles and the mahi mahi special. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c ...

vip
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c wasn't working properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Simply incredible and authentic French f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply incredible and authentic French food and outstanding service by servers that have been with this restaurant a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Continues to be one of our favorites .Al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Continues to be one of our favorites .Also a great place to take people from out of town to show off the Omaha dining scene.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had dinner here as part of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here as part of our celebration of several life events. Server made no inquiry to this as our experiences as often occurs with most of times we attend similar establshiments. While this was dissapointing it was not necessary to our enjoyment. As we were celebrating we sampled dishes from the menu as well as chef special and wine. As a couple we have been to most of the finer and "foodie" restaurants in omaha as well as enjoy dining throughout our travels which I mention for our point of reference. Our experience was hit and miss. There were some plusses such as some of the charcuterie options, wine list and the dessert, but for the most part the food was not as impressive as reviews have indicated. We actually believe the prices were reasonable. Ambiance was nothing special which in part is due to location in a west omaha shopping strip. While we may dine here in the future it would be more due to convenience as in my opinion there are several better options of French influence in Omaha.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing French good. One of the best res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing French good. One of the best restaurants in Omaha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arriving early for our reservation,we we ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Arriving early for our reservation,we were warmly welcomed and seated. The hostess answered our questions about the food and wine. The steamed fish, shrimp and mussels were in a delicate paper wrap and garnished by colorful vegetables. The Alsaceian wine was a perfect compliment. The ambiance was European cozy and comfortable. We hope to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always quality food and service. You ca ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always quality food and service. You can't go wrong with Le Voltaire !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef went out of his way to prepare ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef went out of his way to prepare a dish for my husband without dairy products. My husband loved it. So appreciative of restaurants who go the extra mile to accommodate food allergies. Always a great experience there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and waitress service were outstandi ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and waitress service were outstanding, kind of an open floor plan, with crowded table arrangement, but was nice and quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from out of town to have dinner here. The specials were very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overa ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overall rather positive and we will make a return visit at some point. We wanted to try Le Voltaire for lunch before trying it for dinner. There was only one person doing the seating and waiting tables during this particular afternoon, which is probably why we had to ask for some bread after our meal had been served. On our next visit we definitely would not want to sit at one of the smaller tables along the wall, we could overhear conversations on both sides of us which made our experience a bit crowded.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Le voltaire is one of our favorite place ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Le voltaire is one of our favorite places in Omaha. We try to go often as it is a great

value and the food is outstanding. They are so accommodating and friendly.

I would and have recommended Le Voltaire to many people.

They never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my birthday (don't ask which one). ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

For my birthday (don't ask which one). Le Voltaire's service is absolutely superb. Lisa, a longtime server, was fabulous as always. The "Menu Bistro" offers an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $34. The escargot were delicious; the salmon died for a great cause; and, the chocolate mousse was most tasty. We will return even though it is a bit distant from our home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt like we were having dinner in Pa ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We felt like we were having dinner in Paris. Excellent food and service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After going to French restaurants in New ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

After going to French restaurants in New York, I expected to be disappointed by this one. After all, how could a small French restaurant in Omaha compare to ones in New York City? I must say that I was impressed. The atmosphere was lovely, and the food was exquisite. The service was attentive. I didn't expect a restaurant like this to sit well with a younger child, but my waiter made sure that the youngest child with us was well taken care of, offering more kid-friendly dipping sauces as a substitute for what would typically be an adult meal anywhere else. The wine list is impressive, and many of the wines are imported. I've been to places with large selections of not very good alcohol, but the wines offered were of the finest. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved this restaurant the food was ama ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I loved this restaurant the food was amazing. The waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was exactly what we experienced in France! I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

leVoltaire

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a nice restaurant! Great food set at a decent price. Fabulous wine list. Pretty presentations from the appetizers to the desserts. Attentive servers. I will be proud to take my out of town guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.