About Le Voltaire

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: 402-934-9374

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
Best Value
Omaha
1 More
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (49)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (40)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for lunch (14)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from out of town to have dinner here. The specials were very impressive.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overall rather positive and we will make a return visit at some point. We wanted to try Le Voltaire for lunch before trying it for dinner. There was only one person doing the seating and waiting tables during this particular afternoon, which is probably why we had to ask for some bread after our meal had been served. On our next visit we definitely would not want to sit at one of the smaller tables along the wall, we could overhear conversations on both sides of us which made our experience a bit crowded.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le voltaire is one of our favorite place ...

Dined 5 days ago

Le voltaire is one of our favorite places in Omaha. We try to go often as it is a great value and the food is outstanding. They are so accommodating and friendly. I would and have recommended Le Voltaire to many people. They never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my birthday (don't ask which one). ...

Dined 7 days ago

For my birthday (don't ask which one). Le Voltaire's service is absolutely superb. Lisa, a longtime server, was fabulous as always. The "Menu Bistro" offers an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $34. The escargot were delicious; the salmon died for a great cause; and, the chocolate mousse was most tasty. We will return even though it is a bit distant from our home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt like we were having dinner in Pa ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We felt like we were having dinner in Paris. Excellent food and service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After going to French restaurants in New ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

After going to French restaurants in New York, I expected to be disappointed by this one. After all, how could a small French restaurant in Omaha compare to ones in New York City? I must say that I was impressed. The atmosphere was lovely, and the food was exquisite. The service was attentive. I didn't expect a restaurant like this to sit well with a younger child, but my waiter made sure that the youngest child with us was well taken care of, offering more kid-friendly dipping sauces as a substitute for what would typically be an adult meal anywhere else. The wine list is impressive, and many of the wines are imported. I've been to places with large selections of not very good alcohol, but the wines offered were of the finest. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone for any occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant the food was ama ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I loved this restaurant the food was amazing. The waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was exactly what we experienced in France! I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

leVoltaire

Dined on June 11, 2016

What a nice restaurant! Great food set at a decent price. Fabulous wine list. Pretty presentations from the appetizers to the desserts. Attentive servers. I will be proud to take my out of town guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyable evening. Great good and servic ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyable evening. Great good and service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening's enjoyment

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were meeting out-of-state guests who were staying in a hotel in west Omaha. We live in Iowa and usually don't go that far west for eating. Le Voltaire was an excellent choice--we will make the trip again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's 40th Birthday

Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to try a new place for my wife's 40th birthday. Le Voltaire was fantastic. The food was reasonably priced and quite good. Our waiter was attentive without being overbearing. Although I am not a drinker, they had an extensive wine list. Our reservations were for 8, but we were there about a 1/2 hour early. They seated us right away. All in all, this was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent. Always very good. ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Always very good. It is very consistent . Service was very attentive abnd thorough. Always a pleasure to come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious

Dined on May 29, 2016

The Pain plat de Corse appetizer is amazing. I ordered the Steak frites à la Parisienne as my entrée and my husband ordered the Bouillabaisse de Marseille for his. We both thoroughly enjoyed them. Since we were celebrating, we ordered the dessert du jour to share and it was heavenly. The wine list is very extensive and that made it hard to choose!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Been to Le Voltaire twice now and neithe ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Been to Le Voltaire twice now and neither time did they disappoint. Atmosphere is inviting. Service is warm, friendly and efficient. Food is absolutely spot on. Whether specials or menu items you can do no wrong. Looks like we'll be back for thirds!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nick is fantastic as always - he remembe ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Nick is fantastic as always - he remembers what we like and offers suggestions perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 6, 2016

No better place. Had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. They were very busy and the service was still spectacular! Food and wine was delicious. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always excellent. Veal cheeks were aw ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

As always excellent. Veal cheeks were awesome. Pork tenderloin was perfect. Lisa is the best!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had lunch and will never go back! Nicoi ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Had lunch and will never go back! Nicoise salad was the worst!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite spot

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I eat here every time I'm in Omaha and it doesn't disappoint. The setting is lovely and the staff wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made a wonderful anniversary even better

Dined on April 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and the whole evening , making our 36 anniversary a very special occasion. Once again you made our special night memorable. I had the salmon in parchment which was moist and delicious. My husband had the filet in wine sauce which was melt in your mouth perfect. Dessert is always a must to top off a wonderful meal. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Have had better at Dolce, Lot 2 or the F ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Have had better at Dolce, Lot 2 or the French Bulldog (so sad they are closed now). I'd say save your money and go somewhere else. The service was good though.

food4
ambience2
service5
value3

My opinion has a certain Je ne sais quois.....

Dined on April 17, 2016

I can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe it's that I expected more - maybe the person who recommended it to me and the YELP and other reviews were too hyped. The ambience/ feel of a place is very important to me and I thought it was lacking (we sat in the back room not the front part, and the front part may have had more of a "french dining" feel). I also notice the small details - like the restrooms - and the ladies room and the hallway to it could use some work. Overall thought, I had a nice time. The food was lovely. The wine was excellent and our server was OUTSTANDING! I would go back, but it won't become a "regular" place for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food, loved the atmosphere!

Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband (who is natively French) and I went here for a date on Friday night. We very much enjoyed the experience over all. All of the food was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy. We would highly recommend this place, and will likely bring his parents here next time they visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening

Dined on April 3, 2016

One member of a couple and I share a birthday so we try to have dinner. Le Voltaire is a wonderful choice with a good variety of menu choices, plus interesting specials. I brought wine and their corkage is reasonable. This is a great place for people who want to enjoy good food along with each other's company.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All you want from france

Dined on March 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent, the menu did not have specials that night as it is being changed for the spring and summer menu. The service was great and the wine selection is very good. All you like from France with the friendly midwest touch. Our server was knowledgeable and gve us excellent attention.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was outstanding. Consistently very good. Friendly and dependable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellence starting with food, staff and ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellence starting with food, staff and value!

food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place. Great food and people. ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Love this place. Great food and people. Excellent wine list. We love it here for special occasions and every day dinners. Reading some of the other reviews, I had to laugh and shake my head. If you dine out for the decor of a restaurant or won't go back because of decor you don't consider French enough, your probably doing the restaurant and other diners a favor. We will definitely be back and recommend highly to others. Keep up the great work!

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Review

Dined on March 13, 2016

Way too bright. Lacking ambiance Some Fast Food restaurants have the same or better atmosphere. If you are going to be French then be French. I'm sorry but until major changes are made we will not return. Suggestions before it is too late; romantic lighting, waiters in French outfits, light romantic music, etc.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A good restaurant w/ untapped potential

Dined on March 13, 2016

The most important sentence will be the next one. Overall, we enjoyed our evening and will give our rating as 4 out of 5. Now an overall review to give feedback to hopefully help transfer this restaurant from good to great. Our appetizer was the brie and it was fabulous. Our salads were next and while reasonably priced and a value, we found them a bit plain. The addition of some onions, carrots, Cheryl tomatoes, etc or something could have easily elevated this experience. The dressing was great. We were not given any bread we had to ask for it. The entrees were good. My wife had a shrimp and scallops dish. The shrimp were cooked perfectly. The scallops were a bit undercooked unfortunately giving them a bit of a slimy taste where a nice sear would have helped. I had the filet ordered medium. It definitely came out medium rare. I could have sent it back, but it was ok and I was hungry. All sides were cooked perfectly. We were to full for desert, however, the deserts all looked fantastic. This restaurant has the ability to have a romantic feel, however, the lighting was very bright and I virtually had a spotlight right on me. We almost asked for another table, but the restaurant was full. Please do not look at the carpeting. I hate to use the word discussing, but a spade is a spade. We enjoyed our waitress. Thank you. Overall, again 4 out of 5, but potential for a greater rating with the attention to done details. Bon appetite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service top to bottoms. Amazin ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Wonderful service top to bottoms. Amazing wine list. Food was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Restaurant

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

They are now open for lunch on Thursday and Fridays. Also don't forget to stop by the fabulous Le Pettit Bakery next door, take home a wonderful loaf of bread or pastry. Any item you would order for lunch or dinner will always be done to perfection. The service is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have been there numerous t ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

My wife and I have been there numerous times and always had a fantastic meal. Portions were just right...felt very much like the quaint French bistro. I would and will come back anytime.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent food, tremendous service, great experience. Wilson, and staff, do a wonderful job of creating your dinner and making for a nice presentation. Nick provided super, personable service, even during the rush. Whole group enjoyed themselves. Hope to get back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The seafood stew was absolutely amazing.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The seafood stew was absolutely amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fail

Dined on March 3, 2016

I don't know why we only go here for special occasions? I think we need to go here as a once aweek date night. Servers know their stuff & if not they make sure to find out. Love this gem of a place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service1

I've been coming to La Voltaire for seve ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

I've been coming to La Voltaire for several years. Originally it was a nice quiet french cafe with great food. The quality of service and ambience has gone down hill. The servers are course and crude. The noise level is terrible. I could hardly hear my wife speak. I felt like I was in a bar rather than a cafe. I will not be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Valentine dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I made a reservation for 8:30 and they were prepared for our arrival. Since it was valentine Saturday, Le Voltaire was full as you can imagine. They were well prepared for this kind of event. Our server was just a little slow as people adjacent to us were served in a more timely manner, but I would consider It acceptable since we were not in any hurry. Of course the food is great, and plenty of it. I had the lamb shanks which were excellent with a wonderfully seasoned sauce. In addition I believe the prices are reasonable considering the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid as always

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I spent Saturday 2/13 at Le Voltaire to celebrate Valentines day. As soon as we walked in we were escorted to our table that was ready for us. The escargot was excellent (get it with cheese) and we split a cup of the french onion soup which was fantastic! Our salads were good and the blue cheese they offer is creamy not crumbly like I expected. I ordered the scallops and shrimp and my wife ordered the filet with au poivre sauce. The scallops were cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth like butter. My wife who is not a scallop fan, (says they are too rubbery), said she'd eat a plateful of these scallops. My wife's filet was cooked a perfect medium rare and she could literally cut it with a butter knife. Our waitress "Lisa" we have had before and the service and conversation she offered was top notch. We've been to Le Voltaire several times now and it's comforting to see the same staff and experience the same outstanding food each time. Solid as always Cedric!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French Restaurant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Our best to Chef Cedric Fichepain - the beef cheeks Valentine's Day special was exquisite! Incredibly moist and flavorful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.