About Le Voltaire

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: (402) 934-9374

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (28)
Authentic (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Cozy (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Outstanding Value (9)
Casual (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Fun (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (0)
Spicy (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Charming , authentic , quality food preparation and cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply superb cuisine and a vey nice atmosphere. The service is outstanding and the menu is a marvel of great dishes. Must go place. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We've been wanting to try Le Voltaire for a while now and finally decided far enough in advance to reserve a table on a Friday night.

Our bottle of wine was the most expensive thing we ordered and it was worth every sip. If you love wine, don't think twice about trusting their selections and descriptions.

We both ordered the bistro menu, so we were able to try a few different things. Sorry, I don't recall the French names of our selections. I tried the flatbread with duck confit and brie and was blown away. The combinations of flavors with the ginger was amazing. My husband had the escargot and I tried a couple and they were spot on. Buttery and cheesy and piping hot. We also ordered the frites (fries) and they were so crispy and great.

The salads were nice with the added touch of almonds and bleu cheese.

For our entrees, I had the lamb shank which fell off the one and my husband had a dish that had duck confit and sausage on sauerkraut with a mustard sauce. He loved it.

For dessert, we had espresso and he had the creme brulee, which was perfect. I had the pot de creme, which was chocolate that day and it was unbelievable. The rich dark chocolate was like a bowl full of the middle of a truffle.

Considering the bottle of wine we ordered, the check was a nice surprise. I would say that for the level of quality food you will get, which was superior in every way, the value is phenomenal.

Don't wait to discover this gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of our favorite places for any kind of occasion. The food is always excellent and they have unique specials. Seafood is really good as are the traditional French dishes. Servers are friendly and very helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The ambiance was great. It had a small, cozy vibe and was a perfect setting for date night. Unfortunately the meal wasn't nearly as good as the atmosphere. Our server was quite poor, but it appeared that other servers were doing a much better job. We started off with the duck confit flatbread, and it was average at best. The flatbread was borderline soggy. I had the lamb shank for my entrée and it was also disappointing. It was really fatty and over cooked. The best part of my main dish was the mashed potatoes and roasted carrots. We had the bread pudding for dessert and it was good, but not good enough to save the rest of the meal. I would be willing to give this place another try, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend based on my experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual a great value for the food, the wine list is exceptional and the food is excellent, there is no way to gonwring with this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ask for the specials of the day - the chef is creative

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely some of the best food in Omaha: it is always a pleasure to dine at Le Voltaire.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a truly outstanding experience and would recommend for special occasions and regular dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We liked the FOOD, Service (And especially the Bartender) & Waitress. We have eaten there many times & have recommended the Restaurant to many of our friends!

Keep up the GOOD work!!

Fred & Kathy Standa

2306 S 105th Street

Omaha, NE 68124

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice place! The food was great! The waiter was friendly and had excellent knowledge of the menu options and wine selection.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Voltaire is one of our go to places. Reliably excellent.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Dinner was delicious and I plan to go again when I'm back in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fabulous and our waitress was wonderful. We were celebrating my son's birthday and we love trying new things. Neither of us had ever been to a French restaurant and when a friend told me of this one, we decided to try it. We were there nearly 2 hours and enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food great service. Can't wait to return!

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Le Voltaire - Always Excellent. Only drawback is its 25 minutes away.

Excellent Food - Great Value and one of the Best Omaha Wine Lists.

Service is Awesome

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Five stars are a bit too low for this superb restaurant. Fantastic food with an extensive menu at reasonable prices. I had escargot for the appetizer; a fabulous lamb shank entree with mash and carrots; and a special, dense chocolate cake for dessert. She had a veal dish that she praised highly followed by perfect creme brûlée.

Elizabeth provided absolutely superior service all evening.

We only wish it were closer to where we live. :-)

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Le Voltaire is always a treat - great atmosphere, professional service, and French country fare to write home about. Our most recent visit was no different. A busy dining room meant that service was slow to start, but excellent and well-paced once the server came by. One of the few places in Omaha where you can just relax and be guided through a delicious gastronomical wonderland - and leave with a few bucks left in your wallet. We'll be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Everything was wonderful, as usual! Our waiter was was very cordial and very attentive without being intrusive. The food was excellent. They have the best escargot that I have experienced to date. I had lamb loin done to perfection with a tasty sauce and my wife had steelhead trout which she thoroughly enjoyed. We topped the meal off by sharing a decadently succulent creme broule. Le Voltaire, in my opinion, is very hard to beat!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had received a gift certificate a few months ago and decided to use it on my husband's birthday. Features we enjoyed--the wine list, the food quality, small and quiet, personal service. We would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or just a great tasting food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious food!!!! Staff was great, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I went for date night. First time dining here and will definitely be back.

We had escargot to start, house salads and my husband ordered the Duck (Cassoulet de canard ) I ordered the Choucroute de la mer (fish dish). Every dish was incredible, one of our best meals ever, the flavor was amazing! The dishes were also generous, you will leave satisfied. We also had a great server, very knowledgable and fun! Great for Omaha!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 10, 2017

With doubt, one of the best restrauants in Omaha.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always fantastic. Our go-to restaurant. We celebrate our anniversary at Le Voltaire every year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Three of us. One from the east coast. One from Alaska. One from the southwest. We all felt honored to enjoy such a fine meal in a neighborhood establishment. An incredible evening and value!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A great French restaurant in Omaha. Food was great. Server was friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. She made excellent food and wine recommendations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant in Nebraska. Consistently great in all aspects of a French Bistro. It's as good as any we have dined at in France. Their specials are always top notch. Even more their French bistro standards are exceptional. There wine list fits the cuisine and is appropriate for all occasions and budgets. It helps that they have tenured adult staff that know how to customize their serving to the individual diner's needs.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Great value. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I dine our regularly with friends and Le Voltaire is on our regular rotation. The food is always delicious. It is quiet. Service is excellent. Parking is easy. I have always enjoyed dinner at Le Voltaire.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service at Le Voltaire is excellent as a standard, so it says something that Laura went out of her way to go beyond! Thank you , Laura, for an outstanding experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great service, nice meal, good atmosphere. Everything you want in a French bistro! We will go back and bring others!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Made the reservation on Open Table and indicated that it was a birthday dinner but there was no acknowledgement of that by our server. We were seated in a corner of the back dining room and due to other large tables the noise level was high. Food was excellent as always. Service was attentive though the time to get our salads out seemed excessive. I usually like this neighborhood restaurant better on a quiet evening not in the holiday season as it is quieter and more relaxed.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic as always!

We had a wonderful dinner with friends for our Anniversary. The food and service was outstanding!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Dinner was excellent, great wine list, but cocktail was a very short pour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The duck cassoulet was absolutely delicious!!! Great service with wonderful comfort food keeps us coming back. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was awesome, the food was delicious. I enjoyed the pudding at the end, second best I ever had . Kir Blanc drinks were excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was excellent. We had a group of 8 and the service was great. Noise level was reasonable. Only suggestion is that a glass of wine, $14, should get six ounces rather than 4 ounces. Monk fish special was very tasty but very small portion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Le Voltaire's charcuterie with smoked salmon was delicious. We were a table of four and we each tried something different, mock fish, beef bourguignon and char steak. Each were divine.

Julie B.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We return to Le Voltaire as often as we have time for. The food is always delicious and the menu changes yet allowing for some of the favorites. The service is always top notch. I can't say enough how much we enjoy Le Voltaire.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had the 2 specials which were excellent. Very special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 1, 2016

As always we had excellent service, we mixed it up a little this time and had a cocktail, then a couple fabulous appetizers, a cup of the best French Onion Soup, and finished with a desert. Our favorite dinning spot in Omaha.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Absolutely amazing. A "do not miss" in Omaha for sure. The Nutella pot de creme was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a perfect spot for a special romantic occasion. The food was superb and the service unobtrusive. The prices were reasonable enough for a non occasion outing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fun, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was marvelous, as it always is at le Voltaire. The only complaint was that my after dinner latte was served to me at room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the entire dinner and our waitress was friendly and very efficient. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The server was the general manager and, as one would expect, was superb. I had the venison special and would not order it again but the rest of my meal was excellent. My friend enjoyed her meal totally. It is a top restaurant in Omaha and always deserves a repeat trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Classic French comfort food at its finest. The staff is extremely knowledgeable, attentive (without being intrusive), and helpful. I have never been disappointed with either my meal or the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 20, 2016

As always, the food was delicious. The service was great. Overall, a great experience. Everyone should try this place. A real jewel in Omaha.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 11, 2016

I am looking forward to returning to Le Voltaire. This was my first experience there. The food was delicious with pleasing presentation and our waiter was friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Le Voltaire sure delivered! Very tasty crab/crawfish cakes, followed by salmon and seafood special; nice bottle of 100% Sauvignon Blanc and a few delightful leftovers. We will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.