About Le Voltaire

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: 402-934-9374

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nebraska
Best Value
Nebraska
Notable Wine List
Nebraska
5 More
Best Overall
Omaha
Best Food
Omaha
Best Service
Omaha
Best Value
Omaha
Notable Wine List
Omaha
Best Restaurants in West Omaha ›

special occasion (65)
fit for foodies (57)
romantic (53)
See All
notable wine list (53)
neighborhood gem (45)
good for groups (18)
great for lunch (16)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 3 days ago

Le Voltaire has been one of our favorite dining spots for years. Always cooked to perfection, and very reasonably priced (assuming you don't go overboard on the specialty cocktails/wine). I ordered the appetizer (norwegian salmon) + entree (filet) and loved it. Unfortunately there was no room for dessert, but the creme brulee is ordinarily a must-have.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, good wine ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, excellent service, good wine list and very reasonably priced!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

LeVoltaire is one of our favorite restaurants. The service is always top notch and we look forward to seeing what the specials are. I would highly recommend it for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restau ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Le Voltaire is our favorite Omaha restaurant. Even though it is casual, as in a bistro, the French cuisine is exquisite. There is a in-depth well priced wine list. This time we enjoyed crab/crawfish cakes, shrimp/scallop coquilles and the mahi mahi special. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Restaurant was really warm - seemed a/c wasn't working properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Simply incredible and authentic French f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Simply incredible and authentic French food and outstanding service by servers that have been with this restaurant a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Continues to be one of our favorites .Al ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Continues to be one of our favorites .Also a great place to take people from out of town to show off the Omaha dining scene.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had dinner here as part of ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I had dinner here as part of our celebration of several life events. Server made no inquiry to this as our experiences as often occurs with most of times we attend similar establshiments. While this was dissapointing it was not necessary to our enjoyment. As we were celebrating we sampled dishes from the menu as well as chef special and wine. As a couple we have been to most of the finer and "foodie" restaurants in omaha as well as enjoy dining throughout our travels which I mention for our point of reference. Our experience was hit and miss. There were some plusses such as some of the charcuterie options, wine list and the dessert, but for the most part the food was not as impressive as reviews have indicated. We actually believe the prices were reasonable. Ambiance was nothing special which in part is due to location in a west omaha shopping strip. While we may dine here in the future it would be more due to convenience as in my opinion there are several better options of French influence in Omaha.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing French good. One of the best res ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing French good. One of the best restaurants in Omaha

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arriving early for our reservation,we we ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Arriving early for our reservation,we were warmly welcomed and seated. The hostess answered our questions about the food and wine. The steamed fish, shrimp and mussels were in a delicate paper wrap and garnished by colorful vegetables. The Alsaceian wine was a perfect compliment. The ambiance was European cozy and comfortable. We hope to return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always quality food and service. You ca ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always quality food and service. You can't go wrong with Le Voltaire !!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef went out of his way to prepare ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The chef went out of his way to prepare a dish for my husband without dairy products. My husband loved it. So appreciative of restaurants who go the extra mile to accommodate food allergies. Always a great experience there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and waitress service were outstandi ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food and waitress service were outstanding, kind of an open floor plan, with crowded table arrangement, but was nice and quiet.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Best. Dinner. Ever. We gladly drive from out of town to have dinner here. The specials were very impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overa ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our first visit to Le Voltaire was overall rather positive and we will make a return visit at some point. We wanted to try Le Voltaire for lunch before trying it for dinner. There was only one person doing the seating and waiting tables during this particular afternoon, which is probably why we had to ask for some bread after our meal had been served. On our next visit we definitely would not want to sit at one of the smaller tables along the wall, we could overhear conversations on both sides of us which made our experience a bit crowded.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Le voltaire is one of our favorite place ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Le voltaire is one of our favorite places in Omaha. We try to go often as it is a great

value and the food is outstanding. They are so accommodating and friendly.

I would and have recommended Le Voltaire to many people.

They never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For my birthday (don't ask which one). ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

For my birthday (don't ask which one). Le Voltaire's service is absolutely superb. Lisa, a longtime server, was fabulous as always. The "Menu Bistro" offers an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $34. The escargot were delicious; the salmon died for a great cause; and, the chocolate mousse was most tasty. We will return even though it is a bit distant from our home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt like we were having dinner in Pa ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We felt like we were having dinner in Paris. Excellent food and service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After going to French restaurants in New ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

After going to French restaurants in New York, I expected to be disappointed by this one. After all, how could a small French restaurant in Omaha compare to ones in New York City? I must say that I was impressed. The atmosphere was lovely, and the food was exquisite. The service was attentive. I didn't expect a restaurant like this to sit well with a younger child, but my waiter made sure that the youngest child with us was well taken care of, offering more kid-friendly dipping sauces as a substitute for what would typically be an adult meal anywhere else. The wine list is impressive, and many of the wines are imported. I've been to places with large selections of not very good alcohol, but the wines offered were of the finest. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone for any occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved this restaurant the food was ama ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I loved this restaurant the food was amazing. The waitress was knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was exactly what we experienced in France! I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

leVoltaire

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

What a nice restaurant! Great food set at a decent price. Fabulous wine list. Pretty presentations from the appetizers to the desserts. Attentive servers. I will be proud to take my out of town guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable evening. Great good and servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyable evening. Great good and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent evening's enjoyment

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were meeting out-of-state guests who were staying in a hotel in west Omaha. We live in Iowa and usually don't go that far west for eating. Le Voltaire was an excellent choice--we will make the trip again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wife's 40th Birthday

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I wanted to try a new place for my wife's 40th birthday. Le Voltaire was fantastic. The food was reasonably priced and quite good. Our waiter was attentive without being overbearing. Although I am not a drinker, they had an extensive wine list. Our reservations were for 8, but we were there about a 1/2 hour early. They seated us right away.

All in all, this was a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was excellent. Always very good. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Dinner was excellent. Always very good. It is very consistent . Service was very attentive abnd thorough. Always a pleasure to come here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The Pain plat de Corse appetizer is amazing. I ordered the Steak frites à la Parisienne as my entrée and my husband ordered the Bouillabaisse de Marseille for his. We both thoroughly enjoyed them. Since we were celebrating, we ordered the dessert du jour to share and it was heavenly. The wine list is very extensive and that made it hard to choose!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Le Voltaire twice now and neithe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Been to Le Voltaire twice now and neither time did they disappoint. Atmosphere is inviting. Service is warm, friendly and efficient. Food is absolutely spot on. Whether specials or menu items you can do no wrong. Looks like we'll be back for thirds!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nick is fantastic as always - he remembe ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Nick is fantastic as always - he remembers what we like and offers suggestions perfectly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

No better place. Had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch. They were very busy and the service was still spectacular! Food and wine was delicious. We will be back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always excellent. Veal cheeks were aw ...

vip
 (Omaha)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

As always excellent. Veal cheeks were awesome. Pork tenderloin was perfect. Lisa is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch and will never go back! Nicoi ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Had lunch and will never go back! Nicoise salad was the worst!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

A favorite spot

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I eat here every time I'm in Omaha and it doesn't disappoint. The setting is lovely and the staff wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a wonderful anniversary even better

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner and the whole evening , making our 36 anniversary a very special occasion. Once again you made our special night memorable. I had the salmon in parchment which was moist and delicious. My husband had the filet in wine sauce which was melt in your mouth perfect. Dessert is always a must to top off a wonderful meal. Highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have had better at Dolce, Lot 2 or the F ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Have had better at Dolce, Lot 2 or the French Bulldog (so sad they are closed now). I'd say save your money and go somewhere else. The service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

My opinion has a certain Je ne sais quois.....

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I can't quite put my finger on it. Maybe it's that I expected more - maybe the person who recommended it to me and the YELP and other reviews were too hyped. The ambience/ feel of a place is very important to me and I thought it was lacking (we sat in the back room not the front part, and the front part may have had more of a "french dining" feel). I also notice the small details - like the restrooms - and the ladies room and the hallway to it could use some work. Overall thought, I had a nice time. The food was lovely. The wine was excellent and our server was OUTSTANDING! I would go back, but it won't become a "regular" place for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Delicious food, loved the atmosphere!

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband (who is natively French) and I went here for a date on Friday night. We very much enjoyed the experience over all. All of the food was delicious and the atmosphere was cozy. We would highly recommend this place, and will likely bring his parents here next time they visit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent evening

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

One member of a couple and I share a birthday so we try to have dinner. Le Voltaire is a wonderful choice with a good variety of menu choices, plus interesting specials. I brought wine and their corkage is reasonable. This is a great place for people who want to enjoy good food along with each other's company.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All you want from france

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent, the menu did not have specials that night as it is being changed for the spring and summer menu. The service was great and the wine selection is very good. All you like from France with the friendly midwest touch. Our server was knowledgeable and gve us excellent attention.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was outstanding. Consistently very good. Friendly and dependable service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence starting with food, staff and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Excellence starting with food, staff and value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.