Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.84mi
  2. Distance: 1.80mi
  3. Distance: 1.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.97mi

About Le Voltaire

Recognized as one of Omaha's finest restaurants, Le Voltaire's features classical French cuisine with a flair. The Executive Chef, Owner, Cédric S. Fichepain is committed to providing an atmosphere of understated elegance, fine service and extraordinary cuisine. On the menu, you'll find items such as Lamb, Filet Mignon, Fresh Fish, Duck and other culinary delights, complemented by baguette, cheese plate and desserts. Each dish is prepared using the freshest flavors of the season and ingredients of the highest quality. Some dishes are Chef Cédric S. Fichepain mother's and Grandmother's very own special recipes. Your dining experience will be enhanced by gorgeous interior design with a touch of the southern part of France along with a breath taking floral design of the full bar. The wine list is constantly updated to represent the best wine selections from the regions of France. Le Voltaire has received the Wine Spectator Award for the past five years.

569 N. 155th Plaza
Omaha, NE 68154
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Thursday & Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
156th and Dodge rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(402) 934-9374

Website:
http://www.levoltaireomaha.com/

Parking Details:
Free parking

Executive Chef:
Cedric Fichepain

Private Party Facilities:
. Holds up to 40 people. . Custom made menu. . Large video screen free of charge. . Projector free of charge. . Completely independent room closed to traffic with its own restrooms. . Cozy atmosphere with a view of Le Voltaire’s Award winning wine cellar. . Great for meetings, seminars, prenuptial dinners, special events and presentations. . Ideal for pharmaceutical dinner. . Special menus available for groups.

Private Party Contact:
Cedric Fichepain: (402) 934-9374

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Voltaire Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (24)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (0)
Handcrafted Cocktails (0)
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was with great expectations that we returned to dine. Our first experience was exceptional. Not the case on return. It seemed as if there was no leadership at the restaurant during the dinner period.

We were seated and remained at the table for over 20 mins until a server greeted us. Our drink order was not able to be filled due to the bar being out of a well drink.

Dinner arrived - both were of the same order - with one being noticeably colder than the other.

No, nothing mentioned to the server as the frustrations from the evening had built up. Too good of a restaurant for this experience to happen.

Jim Fry 585.797-8728

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good food and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Great night with friends and dinner was amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I have been going since 2010 and this place has never disappointed and that is after living in western Germany for three years. Nick is one of the best waiters I have ever had and, like the food, he is consistently awesome. Prices are very fair....appetizer, meal, desserts and coffees for 70....no alcohol though

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding food. Great atmosphere for conversation and liesurely dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have dined here many times. Not once have we been disappointed. The food is excellent with a variety of choices available. We've always been both welcomed and well served by Cedric's personable, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Le Voltaire is our very favorite Omaha restaurant. It is a quiet French bistro in a strip mall in west Omaha. Cedric Fichepain, owner and chef, plus his knowledgeable friendly staff, make every visit feel like a special occasion. The food preparation and presentation are flawless, the nightly specials and other menu items are delicious and the wine selection is deep and reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My wife and I enjoy this restaurant for its service and food. The staff is always friendly and the wines are fantastic.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The restaurant was very quaint and romantic. We very much enjoyed our visit.

Tags: Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Reliably fabulous with professional service in the front and back of the house. A true gem in Omaha

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 4, 2017

It just gets better and better! I come to Omaha each May and Le Voltaire is our restaurant of choice for our first dinner. It truly is a french bistro in Omaha - table cloths, french cuisine and a wonderful Bistro Prix Fixe option (which we always do).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had the mussels. Shouldn't have. Never had dry mussels that looked and tasted like they had been sitting there for days and then they dumped some chicken broth on them and called them steamed. Everyone at the table agreed that they were truly awful and, of course, there were about 50 of them!!
Husband had steak with pate and morel sauce. He liked it.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious, wonderful dinner. We had the baked brie and chocolate mousse in addition to our steak dinners - yum!! The service was a bit slow, but the staff was jumping and trying to keep up with the customers as best they could. At least they kept the drinks full. We will definitely go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was wonderful and had a great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The best French restaurant in Omaha.
Love the steak & french fries, ask for them crisp. Wonderful wait staff all been at restaurant for long time. Ask for Lisa or Nic,
you'll not be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, great service!! I had the pheasant, absolutely amazing!!! My wife had the shrimp & scallops, also amazing!!! Prices we're inline with the food and the service, recommend Le Voltaire to anyone wanting an amazing dinner at a reasonable price!!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our party of four was very pleased with everything we experienced.

My only problem is that I enjoy the beef stew so much that I will not try anything else on the menu.

This has become one of our favorite restaurants in a matter of 4 months.

Next time however, I will try the filet.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Voltaire is more expensive than it used to be, and the quality of the food remains more bistro than gourmet. It is no longer a good value for the money. Broad menu and wine list, which is good. Food not exceptional but now pricey. So we will go elsewhere for our next special occasion meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious seafood risotto special! Wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It used to be better. Service was slow. Food not as good as I remember for the price.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food and service have never disappointed us and that night was no exception. Both were very good. On our most recent visit, the kitchen was a little slow due to the number of diners there that evening. It wasn't a big deal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was on point as always! I had the lamb special and my husband had the duck confit. Both were superb. Wine selection was impressive and reasonably priced. Staff was attentive and helpful with suggestions. Will be back soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Authentic French food. The boeuf bourguignon was the best I have ever had. Good wine, too, although the selection is not as extensive as other places.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The new Spring menu is fantastique! And half price wine on Tuesday--splendide!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food and excellent wine list and availability

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 19, 2017

As usual, great reastaurant at a reasonable price and excellent food and wine

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was the first time my wife and I dined at LeVoltaire and the experience was excellent. This felt like going out to dinner instead of a loud, bright , eclectic food dinner. Great Date Night

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome! Love this place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food and service is always great. We always enjoy our dinners and this is our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Charming , authentic , quality food preparation and cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Simply superb cuisine and a vey nice atmosphere. The service is outstanding and the menu is a marvel of great dishes. Must go place. We'll be back!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We've been wanting to try Le Voltaire for a while now and finally decided far enough in advance to reserve a table on a Friday night.

Our bottle of wine was the most expensive thing we ordered and it was worth every sip. If you love wine, don't think twice about trusting their selections and descriptions.

We both ordered the bistro menu, so we were able to try a few different things. Sorry, I don't recall the French names of our selections. I tried the flatbread with duck confit and brie and was blown away. The combinations of flavors with the ginger was amazing. My husband had the escargot and I tried a couple and they were spot on. Buttery and cheesy and piping hot. We also ordered the frites (fries) and they were so crispy and great.

The salads were nice with the added touch of almonds and bleu cheese.

For our entrees, I had the lamb shank which fell off the one and my husband had a dish that had duck confit and sausage on sauerkraut with a mustard sauce. He loved it.

For dessert, we had espresso and he had the creme brulee, which was perfect. I had the pot de creme, which was chocolate that day and it was unbelievable. The rich dark chocolate was like a bowl full of the middle of a truffle.

Considering the bottle of wine we ordered, the check was a nice surprise. I would say that for the level of quality food you will get, which was superior in every way, the value is phenomenal.

Don't wait to discover this gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of our favorite places for any kind of occasion. The food is always excellent and they have unique specials. Seafood is really good as are the traditional French dishes. Servers are friendly and very helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The ambiance was great. It had a small, cozy vibe and was a perfect setting for date night. Unfortunately the meal wasn't nearly as good as the atmosphere. Our server was quite poor, but it appeared that other servers were doing a much better job. We started off with the duck confit flatbread, and it was average at best. The flatbread was borderline soggy. I had the lamb shank for my entrée and it was also disappointing. It was really fatty and over cooked. The best part of my main dish was the mashed potatoes and roasted carrots. We had the bread pudding for dessert and it was good, but not good enough to save the rest of the meal. I would be willing to give this place another try, but I wouldn't recommend it to a friend based on my experience.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

As usual a great value for the food, the wine list is exceptional and the food is excellent, there is no way to gonwring with this restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ask for the specials of the day - the chef is creative

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely some of the best food in Omaha: it is always a pleasure to dine at Le Voltaire.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had a truly outstanding experience and would recommend for special occasions and regular dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We liked the FOOD, Service (And especially the Bartender) & Waitress. We have eaten there many times & have recommended the Restaurant to many of our friends!

Keep up the GOOD work!!

Fred & Kathy Standa
2306 S 105th Street
Omaha, NE 68124

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nice place! The food was great! The waiter was friendly and had excellent knowledge of the menu options and wine selection.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.