Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Le Vallauris

Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.

385 West Tahquitz Canyon Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday and Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Le Vallauris has a policy that requires a credit card for reservations of 8 persons or more. Reservations MUST be cancelled by 9:00AM for LUNCH reservations and by 12:00 noon for DINNER reservations. A charge of $25 per person will be levied for cancellations made AFTER these hours.

Cross Street:
Palm Canyon Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 325-5059

Website:
http://www.levallauris.com/

Entertainment:
Le Vallauris has a pianist in the bar.

Catering:
Le Vallauris has developed a famous reputation for outside caterings from 2 to 500 guests. The key to success is that Chef Jean Paul prepares all the food on site, no pre-cooked food is kept in hot boxes for a whole day! Le Vallauris has catered to parties as far as Laguna Beach at the coast. A professional service staff is used to give unobtrusive and friendly service. Weddings and Corporate events are their specialty. Comprehensive packages are available to accommodate budgets. Le Vallauris includes in its packages for up to 200 guests all the equipment needed except tables and chairs.

Parking Details:
Le Vallauris offers Complimentary Valet Parking strictly on a tipping basis. For private parties hosts may choose to tip the valet exclusively so guest do not feel obliged to tip.

Executive Chef:
Jean Paul Lair

Private Party Facilities:
Le Vallauris has 2 inside dining rooms for private parties each one with a capacity for up to 50 persons. The Patio can also be used on a "buy out" basis for up to 150 persons and a tree shaded Gazebo is available for up to 120 guests. These facilities are able to use an array of "prix fixe" menus.

Private Party Contact:
Omar Haddedou: (866) 971-9532

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Le Vallauris can arrange for private events according to the wishes of the clients. We like to be known to be a "one stop shop!"

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $62.00

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 1, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $62.00

Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 1, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $62.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 28, 2017 - Jul 1, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Le Vallauris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (142)
Great for Outdoor Dining (132)
Romantic (120)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Good for a Date (102)
Fit for Foodies (92)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Notable Wine List (77)
Quiet Conversation (77)
Creative Cuisine (70)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Worth the Drive (56)
Authentic (55)
Cozy (51)
Historic (48)
People Watching (39)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Tasting Menu (32)
Great for Brunch (30)
Live Music (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Business Meals (26)
Local Ingredients (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Seasonal (18)
Scenic View (18)
Fireplace (17)
Fun (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Healthy (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Casual (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Dancing (2)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
1246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Always a special evening-great menu, service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

It's a tradition (for us) to always dine at this very, very special restaurant. It never disappoints and is well known in the desert. One of the most gorgeous patio settings that makes you feel like you're in Europe, especially with the French flair (waiters, host). The food presentation is exquisite and you'll feel like your the most special couple in the world!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Very enjoyable the ambiance was out standing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Every time we visit Palm Springs we have to come to Le Vallauris. We still have not enjoyed the beautiful dining room because we like the patio and majestic Indian Ficus trees and decor. The service is never disappointing and the food is divine. Definitely one of our all-time favorites. And they surprised us with an anniversary dessert too!

Tags: Historic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic. This is annold school French restaurant. The owners were gracious inquiring to each table how the food was. The only negative would be the service. The servers are slow and service cold and indifferent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Anniversary

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The Easter brunch was very special. Champagne added to the occasion; beautiful desserts.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Le Vallauris is the restaurant to go to for special occasions as well as champagne brunch on the patio under the lovely tree canopy. The food is delicious and the waiters are authentic French and wonderful. The service is fantastic and you will never be disappointed. It's my favorite restaurant and I always look forward to celebrating birthdays, holidays and any special celebration there. It's truly special and you are guaranteed to have a great meal and experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Heard about this restaurant from a few different sources and decided to give it a try. Glad we did! This is a very special place that is unassuming from the outside and magnificent as soon as you walk in the door. We ate out on the patio under a canopy of trees and it was delightful.

The service is top notch, the wine list is solid, the food is amazing. We truly enjoyed out evening and will be returning. Note: this is not a dining experience you want to rush through. We spent 2 hours there and that seemed about right; with a group you might want to even plan a little longer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Best restaurant in Palm Springs. We love Bruce the sommelier, and all the servers are excellent. Make sure to request dining on the outdoor patio. Our favorite dishes are the whitefish and she lobster-but everything is exceptional. Valet parking makes life easy.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The Chef prepares an excellent sweetbreads entree. Love the escargot. The service was a little bit over the top.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Most elegant restaurant in Palm Springs with first rate cuisine. The sea bass was perfectly prepared and beautifully plated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Attentive and friendly staff made this a great dinner. Had the 6-course tasting with a sublime bottle of 99 Latour.. each course was generally very good but some elements in some courses were just average. The ambiance consisted of a lively buzz set under a open air canopy of mature trees which we all loved.

Again the standout was the staff. Thanks Fellas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It's a party every night at Le Val. Come join the fun

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance. I was not able to request a table on the patio using open table and so we did not get the table we wanted for my birthday celebration.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Probably the best restraunt in Palm Springs. The owner is delightful. The tasting menu is the best option if you are looking for a food fix. Sadly our waiter was robotic, unfriendly and seemed to be more interested in turning the table than making sure we had a good experience. The owner was 180 degrees the opposite!

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

never fails to impress....love the atmosphere and wait staff...Laine and Jonathan in particular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of the best restaurants. I always enjoy it. The food ,service staff and ambience are exceptional. Wish it were closer to me. I would be there once a week. Looking forward to my next visit. The owner always makes a point of greeting his guests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Beautiful restaurant; treed in patio garden; excellent French and Mediterranean cuisine.
A good place to practice your French.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I have been to the restaurant many times and it has always been a Five Star Experience! However, this time the French gourmet Chef left the Halibut in the oven a minute too long and a it became a little tough -- but everything was good anyway. Our server offered to replace the dish immediately, and I declined; but when we left there was another full dish wrapped up for us to take home and enjoy...which we did! That is the penultimate in service...going beyond expectations! I will return to this restaurant for years to come!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Best restaurant in the desert! If you're into Souffles, there are none better anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

A favorite of ours. We always stop here on our annual trip to Palm Springs. This year we will visit three times (brunch, cooking demonstration and dinner). Food and service are always the very best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The hamachi was light, citrusy and delicious. The sea bass was perfectly seasoned and buttery (but not too buttery). The soufflés were like sweet clouds of perfection. We had a wonderful time. The wait staff was very attentive and professional. PLUS, we got a picture with Barry Manilow!!!! Score!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Place didn't live up to expectations. We had an early reservation. Completely empty. Asked for patio dining but was refused because it was all booked up, though there were empty tables on the patio throughout our meal. There were crumbs all over the seat when we sat down. The wait staff didn't seem prepared for guests. Food was generally good though the foie gras was cold in parts. Could have been a great experience. Our server switched during the course of the meal and we were unaware of the change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Le Vallauris is everything a fine restaurant should be, expensive but worth every dollar from the valet parker to the water pourer. The food is creative and impeccably selected and prepared by a fine chef and pastry chef, the wine list is diverse and deep, the sommelier is knowledgeable, the servers attentive and friendly (many with a French accent because they are really French or Belgian), the menu changes weekly depending on availability of fresh fish, venison, caviar, vegetables, etc, the owners are ALWAYS there to make sure that Everything runs well. The ambience, under centuries-old ficus trees on a quiet comfortable outdoor patio can't be improved. This is the place that everyone in Palm Springs who appreciates fine cuisine can be found, even though they never need to advertise. The location is secluded away from the typical Palm Springs tourist traffic next to the Art Museum. There's always a chance you will have a table next to an international celebrity, like the conductor of the Cleveland Orchestra or Mick Jagger. The Gabor sisters were regulars, one story goes, but ran up a huge tab because they thought their presence in attracting other patrons was payment enough.

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Historic, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Kevin at the bar was fantastic!!
The band - excellent
The food was the best we had in Palm desert or Palm Springs
Thanks Patrice for being so helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Hands down ... the best restaurant in Palm Springs.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was our first visit. The staff, the food, the ambiance were all prefect!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday. The food and service were both outstanding. Le Vallauris is one of the best dining experiences in Palm Springs. The food is authentic French. I love the outdoor patio area. It's perfect for a special occasion. We will be going back soon.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 30, 2017

food was ok.....not that great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We took friends there to experience a wonderful restaurant with delicious food, attentive service and a beautiful courtyard setting

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We love the restaurant and started coming in 2013 and made it a regular! Unfortunately the prices have escalated beyond a good value proposition. A basic glass of wine for $18 is overpriced and for the two of us having a bill of $207.00 for a starter, main course, 3 glasses of wine and no desert is to much out of pocket. We won't return😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 27, 2017

To preface this review I have to say that I have dined at Le Vallauris many times as it is one of my favourite restaurants in Palm Springs, and it has always been very good with excellent service and food unfortunately this time was not the case. I was surprised to find out when I arrived that the entire main out door patio dining area was booked for a large private party so we had to be seated in doors on a beautiful evening not what I was expecting. I would have appreciated being notified in advance that a very large party had taken over the entire out door patio area as I would have willingly booked for another night later in the week. The staff was hurried service was still very good just not quite the same. We ordered the Pricfix menu of the evening and my main course sea bass was presented still raw and very tough. They did offer me another choice for my main dish however by the time I received the meal both my dinner companion and I had lost our appetite and requested the meal be boxed up. Over all a very disappointing lack lustre meal and atmosphere. We left with wine still in our glasses. It will be awhile before I go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Like a blast from the past. Handwritten menu and receipts. Stale, stuffy, HOT interior. Mostly a place for folks to come and relive their memories of decades gone by. Service was very good but the food didn't match the high price tag. Avoid unless you are taking your grandparents out for a trip down memory lane.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Le Vallauris never disappoints! The evening was very memorable. The setting is magical. The service is impeccable. The food is exquisite! We will return again, and again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Vallauris has a very beautiful outdoor terrace for fine dining under lovely shade trees adorned with lights. The menu isn't extensive but what is on offer is imaginative and filled with fine ingredients. The flowers on the tables add that special touch. Service is attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed every minute we spent at Vallauris and would return again and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I have dined at Le Vallauris every time I visit Palm Springs over the years. It never fails to please. This week I was on a trip to La Quinta with a friend who always finds something or many things to complain about with the restaurants we visit. She has heard me rave about this being my very favorite restaurant for many years and I convinced her to be my guest for lunch upon our return home. She was immediately charmed by the outdoor setting of a canopy of trees over formally set tables. The waiters could not be more charming and the staff impressed her at once, one waiter who seemed to speak numerous languages spoke to her in German, her native language. Every meal I have ever had here was superb, and this one even excelled. She ordered the grilled beef filet with fresh black peppercorns and cognac, about which she raved. I gave her a taste of my lobster ravioli which rolled her eyes back and she declared divine. She described her desert of Grand Marnier soufflé as like eating a delicious cloud. I ordered the trio of sorbets which tasted marvelously of their specific fruit--mango and coconut (2) in my case. Although the prices may be higher than most lunches ( which is fine for me as lunch is my main meal), it is well worth it. If you order the prix fixe lunch at $39, your check will remain very reasonable. A valuable aspect of our lunch was that I got to hear my friend raving about the lunch experience most of the way back to La Crescenta, rather than the usual unhappiness with her food and the staff. No one I have ever taken to this restaurant has been disappointed, and I always greatly anticipate my next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We loved the restaurant! The food was outstanding and the service super! The atmosphere was peaceful and we sat under trees. Fabulous all around!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Always a go to place for special guests. Most beautiful ambiance in all of Palm Springs. Attentive and friendly staff. Large continental menu and wonderful wines.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food and service are excellent and dining outdoors is a wonderful option. This visit was as memorable as our previous dinner. A suggestion: get rid of the large menu boards- outdated and block the view in this beautiful setting.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.