Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Le Vallauris

Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.

385 West Tahquitz Canyon Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday and Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Le Vallauris has a policy that requires a credit card for reservations of 8 persons or more. Reservations MUST be cancelled by 9:00AM for LUNCH reservations and by 12:00 noon for DINNER reservations. A charge of $25 per person will be levied for cancellations made AFTER these hours.

Cross Street:
Palm Canyon Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 325-5059

Website:
http://www.levallauris.com/

Entertainment:
Le Vallauris has a pianist in the bar.

Catering:
Le Vallauris has developed a famous reputation for outside caterings from 2 to 500 guests. The key to success is that Chef Jean Paul prepares all the food on site, no pre-cooked food is kept in hot boxes for a whole day! Le Vallauris has catered to parties as far as Laguna Beach at the coast. A professional service staff is used to give unobtrusive and friendly service. Weddings and Corporate events are their specialty. Comprehensive packages are available to accommodate budgets. Le Vallauris includes in its packages for up to 200 guests all the equipment needed except tables and chairs.

Parking Details:
Le Vallauris offers Complimentary Valet Parking strictly on a tipping basis. For private parties hosts may choose to tip the valet exclusively so guest do not feel obliged to tip.

Executive Chef:
Jean Paul Lair

Private Party Facilities:
Le Vallauris has 2 inside dining rooms for private parties each one with a capacity for up to 50 persons. The Patio can also be used on a "buy out" basis for up to 150 persons and a tree shaded Gazebo is available for up to 120 guests. These facilities are able to use an array of "prix fixe" menus.

Private Party Contact:
Omar Haddedou: (866) 971-9532

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Le Vallauris can arrange for private events according to the wishes of the clients. We like to be known to be a "one stop shop!"

Le Vallauris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (134)
Great for Outdoor Dining (118)
Romantic (110)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (95)
Good for a Date (92)
Fit for Foodies (89)
Notable Wine List (76)
Good for Birthdays (71)
Quiet Conversation (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Worth the Drive (53)
Authentic (51)
Cozy (51)
Historic (38)
People Watching (36)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Tasting Menu (28)
Live Music (28)
Business Meals (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Local Ingredients (21)
Scenic View (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Fireplace (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Fun (13)
Seasonal (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Casual (5)
Private Room (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service are excellent and dining outdoors is a wonderful option. This visit was as memorable as our previous dinner. A suggestion: get rid of the large menu boards- outdated and block the view in this beautiful setting.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and amazing food a must do in the desert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous as it can only be in Palm Springs! The charming european owner in his white dinner jacket drops by your table to welcome you. The meal is delicious, the outdoor atmosphere delightful and the music drifting from the bar classic Palm Springs retro. No where else in the US can you get this vibe.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Dancing, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Le Vallauris is clearly our favorite restaurant in the Valley. Food, service, ambiance are head and shoulders above the rest. Fine dining.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Best in Class always. The outside dining is best atmosphere in Desert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

The patio here is spectacular and the food matches it. Al Fresco dining at it's best. Came here for Sunday lunch/brunch and had prix fix 3 course meal. I try to get here at least once a year. If you are in Palm Springs this is a must visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

An amazing restaurant at a decent price. Must try the escargot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great time and great food. Loved the Foie Gras Ravioli the most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding. Definitely the best dining experience in the Valley!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 14, 2017

When we entered the restaurant we were greeted by a man who was not friendly at all, strange encounter. The rest of the staff was very friendly.

Overall the food was very good, although my wife had the seabass that was served grossly under cooked. They took her plate and over cooked the same piece of fish. I hade the bucheron, it was delicious.

Overall the experience was nice.

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We were late eating lunch - about 1:30 - the crowds were thinning out.
I love this place but the service was not up to par! I loved my dish but my guest's prawn salad was not great for a restaurant of this standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We dined on the patio, and the ambience was beautiful! The menu had a great assortment, and the food was deliciously prepared. The service was excellent! Willy was our waiter, and made our evening very memorable. I definitely recommend Le Vallauris for a special dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Overall great service and food. This visit was different in that I had reserved an outdoor table six weeks out but when we checked in, we were told it was sold out. A little disappointing in that we were celebrating two birthdays, but terrific service as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always the greatest experience! Fabulous venue, delicious food, great service by all, and Bruce the Sommelier is the best!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Omar was gracious, and manny and lane took great efforts to provide excellent service! Dinner was excellent - lamb and duck with pre-fixe menu! We will definitely return!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I had friends visiting from London and wanted to show them a great restaurant. We were ushered to the very back corner of the inside restaurant. When I asked about the patio as I had before I made the reservation, I was rudely told maybe we could have dessert out there. When leaving, I asked for change for a twenty and was literally told with hand gestures (shooing) by one of theee people standing next to the bar counter to just go out and ask the valet. He was very rude and my friends from London were appalled. I've been in the desert for 40 years and am not thinking I want my guests treated rudely nor myself.
I have other friends I've been here with and invariably have seen someone treat people rudely.
The food quality is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Simply stated, Le Vallaurus is the best restaurant in the desert. It's located in a charming building dating back to the early Twentieth Century with a terra cotta roof and the ambaince of a well tended Villa. The wait staff is courteous, efficient and knowledgeable. You'll never be rushed or interrupted while you dine, which is very important to this diner. The beautifully set table with white lenins and gleaming silverware is as luxurious as it is appropriate. The patio is the place to be on a warm night in March and the owners have thoughtfully installed air chillers for the patio which keeps the temperature similiar to coastal norms. In the bar, a talented combo played upbeat songs from the great American songbook. A great sound coming from just a keyboard and a percussionist. Now for the food. We started with two Hendrick's martinis and Petrossian Caviar. It was beautifully presented on a tray with the caviar dish embedded in a mound of shaved ice. The condiments surrounding the caviar were perfectly prepared and farm fresh. Lemons dressed in their yellow netting added a lovely visual accent. For a dish costing $89 it was absolutely delicious and worth every penny. The toast points were crisp and substantial. Every bite was a dream. I had the Crispy Duck with Dark Cherry Sauce. It was mild, crispy and came to my table hot. The portion was so large I took half of it home and we made an inspired Duck Pizza with it the next night. Again, a great value. My partner's Filet Of Sole was very fresh and his comments later made me glad I chose LeV to celebrate his birthday. This is my seventh time there and I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic French cuisine! We had a great dinner and savored true French cuisine!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We Had the Prix Fixe dinner and were impressed with the various choices available, we half expected to have smaller portions but this was not the case, portions were adequate and not too large and the amuse bouche were just right. Very often plates are too large and patrons take home doggie bags.......not here. A great place to have a 3/4 meal with excellent food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is one of my favourite restaurants it never disappoints. I receive their weekly price Fix menu via email that is my go to choice as it is always a great combination and excellent options. Once I see the menu I am hooked.
The service is always very attentive but no intrusive and a beautiful outdoor patio.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Waiter, sommelier and the owner were attentive and professional. Great space! Food was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Loved the enclosed outdoor seating environment. We came based on stellar reviews, but found an environment that felt targeted to an older crowd with heavy sauces, undercooked fish, a green curry coconut milk sauce that wasn't green and tasted (and looked) like just coconut milk with a little chili oil floating in it. It wasn't awful, but it wasn't the "special" meal I expected from the reviews and for the price we paid. The service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of the best anywhere
The food and service is top notch
Ambiance is spectacular

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The food is amazing. The server, ( Carlos), was beyond rude, and made the evening very uncomfortable. Ask for another server. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding food, service & ambience. The patio is amazing. Can't say enough good things about this place. Lane was our server and he is fantastic! Our 2nd time eating there and we will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always magnificent....fabulous food...amazing service...superbe ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Seasonal, Live Music, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 9, 2017

One of the best places in the valley. We go every time we come here.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a great experience to go to this gem of a restaurant with its patio dining, expertly prepared food of the highest quality, and superb attentive service. Don't miss it when you're visiting Palm Springs!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent evening - in all respects!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Overall a very positive experience. The prices are in line with the food quality.

However, $144.00 for a middle of the road bottle of wine with very little else to choose from
is not a very positive memory.

This restaurant should and can do better with wine that is more reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We always include a visit every time we're in Palm Springs. Always an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best place in PS. Pricey, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The bar was terrific. A lot of fun, intimate seating, great live music. The food was wonderful! Unfortunately the service was not!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always A very very enjoyable evening, service was fantastic, food was amazing and great atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Lovely outdoor space and superb food (we can highly recommend the steak au poivre). A personal welcome from the owner and live pianist.

The atmosphere is a little formal so would make a perfect place for an occasion. Great wine list!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Setting is magical -- sommelier was a little insulting when we explained that we'd like to spend around $200 on a bottle of wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Every time we come to Palm Spring we like to have dinner here. The food is good and we love the garden and friendly staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

What a fantastic place. Professional staff; super menu-outstanding meal. Not inexpensive, but memorable

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 3, 2017

What a special place. Great for special occasions. Lobster raviolis are out of this world

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.