About Le Vallauris

385 West Tahquitz Canyon Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Le Vallauris has a policy that requires a credit card for reservations of 8 persons or more. Reservations MUST be cancelled by 9:00AM for LUNCH reservations and by 12:00 noon for DINNER reservations. A charge of $25 per person will be levied for cancellations made AFTER these hours.

Cross Street:
North Palm Canyon Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 325-5059

Website:
http://www.levallauris.com/

Entertainment:
Le Vallauris has a pianist in the bar.

Catering:
Le Vallauris has developed a famous reputation for outside caterings from 2 to 500 guests. The key to success is that Chef Jean Paul prepares all the food on site, no pre-cooked food is kept in hot boxes for a whole day! Le Vallauris has catered to parties as far as Laguna Beach at the coast. A professional service staff is used to give unobtrusive and friendly service. Weddings and Corporate events are their specialty. Comprehensive packages are available to accommodate budgets. Le Vallauris includes in its packages for up to 200 guests all the equipment needed except tables and chairs.

Parking Details:
Le Vallauris offers Complimentary Valet Parking strictly on a tipping basis. For private parties hosts may choose to tip the valet exclusively so guest do not feel obliged to tip.

Executive Chef:
Jean Paul Lair

Private Party Facilities:
Le Vallauris has 2 inside dining rooms for private parties each one with a capacity for up to 50 persons. The Patio can also be used on a "buy out" basis for up to 150 persons and a tree shaded Gazebo is available for up to 120 guests. These facilities are able to use an array of "prix fixe" menus.

Private Party Contact:
Omar Haddedou: 8669719532

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Le Vallauris can arrange for private events according to the wishes of the clients. We like to be known to be a "one stop shop!"

Restaurant Photos

Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Le Vallauris
Beef Filet
Wild Boar Pâté.
Chilean Sea Bass
Chocolate Lava Cake
Ceaser
Profiterole
Chocolate Mousse
Prosciutto Salad
shrimp salad
Eggs Benedict
White Fish With A Mustard Mousseline
Grilled Salmon
Dark Chocolate Cake
Oysters on the Half Shell
Roasted Sea Bass In Potato Crust
Maine Lobster Raviolis Basil Bisque
Escargot
Seared Venison Tournedos
Russian River Transmountainous Petrosian Caviar
Lobster Ravioli
Crispy Half Duck With Potato Galette
Duck Trio Sampler
Rack of Lamb
Lamb Loin
Maine Lobster With Vanilla Butter
Stuffed Chicken Breast
Bread
Champagne
Iced  Tea
Cream Of Mushroom Soup
Soufflé Grand Marnier
Beef Cheek With Bowtie Pasta
Maine Lobster Cakes With Asparagus
Maine Lobster Raviolis Basil Bisque And Spinach
Vanilla souffle
Petit Ahi Tuna Tartare
Country Pâté
Petite Filet Mignon
Profiteroles
Duck
Salad With Prosciutto, Blue Cheese And Walnuts
Oysters
Pecan Tart With Pistacio Ice Cream
Braised Lamb Shank W/ Cabernet Sauce & Spinach Mashed Potatoes
Roasted Veal Filet, White Port Sauce, Mashed Potatoes & Portobello
Dessert at Le Vallauris
Entree
Lobster Salad
Apetizer
Terrace under the trees
Beautiful and tasty dishes at Le Vallauris
Beautiful garden patio at Le Vallauris in Palm Springs
Swordfish Drizzled With Lemon And Thyme Butter

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00

Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00

Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Menu changes every week. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Le Vallauris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
15 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (176)
special occasion (174)
romantic (172)
See All
fit for foodies (139)
notable wine list (101)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for brunch (52)
great for lunch (49)
good for groups (38)
scenic view (27)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, the service, and the ambiance ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food, the service, and the ambiance were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been on several occasions and every ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Have been on several occasions and everything about Le Vallauris is consistently wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Professional and concerned service with ...

Dined 5 days ago

Professional and concerned service with outstanding food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Palm Springs for our 33 ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were visiting Palm Springs for our 33rd anniversary. The restaurant had been recommended to us and looking at the web site we were excited to try it. When we arrived we were initially seated outside. That same evening a wedding party had arrived and were already in the party mode and the level of noise was over the top. Our romantic dinner we were afraid had disappeared. But we asked the waiter if we could move inside and he and the owners immediately jumped into service getting us inside to an intimate corner. They were so kind to us. Our waiter Lane was fantastic making us feel at ease. Wonderful staff and the food was EXCELLENT. We got the fixed menu with 4 courses and we weren't disappointed with a single course. The decor was also beautiful. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French restaurant ... The food along wit ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

French restaurant ... The food along with the service = Excellent! From the first course to the desert rich with fresh flavors. Had the crispy duck & lobster raviolis . Both a taste of heaven ! This is a great Resturant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly welcome, excellent hosting and ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Friendly welcome, excellent hosting and superb food. Lobster Ravioli have been fingerlicking good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The team did an excellent job with servi ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The team did an excellent job with service and food, thanks Tony

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

I just love this restaurant. We have bee ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I just love this restaurant. We have been there multiple times and it has never disappointed. Went for the Father's Day champagne brunch, and it was a fixed price 3 course lunch with many options for each course, some classic, some nouveau. Had the seared octopus and watermelon cocktail - served like a ceviche - and it was wonderful. But even more impressive was the seared ahi with nicoise salsa. It was far and away the best seared ahi I have ever had. And the champagne just kept coming - a great deal and a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

This is a true gem! From the food to the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a true gem! From the food to the wine to owners to the music - everything is always perfection!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Vallauris NEVER disappoints! The won ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Le Vallauris NEVER disappoints! The wonderful ambience takes you to another place and time, while the food and pampered service ensure you will be back again. I hope to get in one more visit before they close for the summer season.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Le Vallauris is not to be missed if you ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Le Vallauris is not to be missed if you are in the desert. The food changes frequently, but everything we've had has always been nothing short of spectacular. Innovative, without being too out there. This time we enjoyed the Veal with sweet breads and the rack of lamb. Both were fantastic. The setting is gorgeous and the drinks aren't to be missed either. It's a fantastic stop for date night or to mark a special occasion. You won't be sorry!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

When there's a special occasion, this i ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

When there's a special occasion, this is the place to go in Palm Springs. This is alfresco dining at its finest!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the finest restaurant in the Des ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the finest restaurant in the Desert. A must for all visitors to our town or locals who have heard of but never been. How Le Valleuris makes the evening so special includes the ambiance, the food, but its also the longtime employees who over the decades have made Le Valleuris what it is... Good things don't last forever, dine here while you can, you'll truly be missing out on something magical if you don't.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly magical

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined here to celebrate our move to the desert from the Bay Area. Because we were so busy with our move-in, we had to reschedule twice before we finally made it. It was definitely worth the wait. Our meal was outstanding from start to finish. Along with the regular menu, a hand-written board is presented with the daily special preparations. There is flexibility with all of the selections for each course. The wine list is outstanding, and we enjoyed becoming acquainted with the sommelier. Lovely service; attentive and anticipatory. Our server, Lane, was so entertaining and engaging, while at the same time incredibly professional and detail-oriented. This is the kind of place that could easily be stuffy because everything is so perfectly and beautifully done, but it is actually very warm and personal. The perfect combination.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous as always

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Le Vallauris never fails. Great setting, great food, and great service. Assuredly one of the top dining spots in Palm Springs and not to be missed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical Evening

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is the place for special celebrations. The food is delicious (scallops divine! I would also order the vichyssoise after the taste I was given), and the courtyard is lovely, even on a June night at 100 degrees. Our waiter Lane is my new best friend. I can't wait for our next trip to Palm Springs and Le Vallauris.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always returning

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our most favorite restaurant - and we've been all over not just the US but also Europe. The service is top notch (same level as in the best French restaurants in Paris, France). We've been returning to Le Vallauris several times every year in the past 15+ years. The food is excellent and the sommelier, Bruce always get us something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent French Dining

Dined on June 1, 2016

We always look forward to our visit to Le Vallauris each time visiting Palm Springs. The food, service and atmosphere never disappoint. The "Crispy Duck" is one of my favorites but look forward to new or seasonal dishes. I can't leave without having the soufflé for desert !!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

My first time at Le Vallauris, it is now at the top of my list for fine dining in Palm Springs. Incredible setting, wonderful staff, delicious food, all done in a subtle way. A very memorable evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Finally I get to visit

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have been told of this restaurant for years by a good friend who has been many times. I finally was able to experience dining at such a great restaurant. The food was amazing, but unfortunately the service was lacking. For a restaurant of this caliber, I would expect the service to be outstanding. I will come back, and give it a second chance, especially for the cuisine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

We arrived 30 minutes earlier and was sitting at the same minute on table outside under the tree with lights.Atmosphere was amazing with live music on background.Our servant (originally from Belgium)was really professional,and attentive.Cocktails,salad,calf liver were super!!!!The owner of the restaurant greeting us.Atmosphere,food,service ,everything together were magical!!!We will come again and highly recommended to our friends!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

. Huge dissappointment

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was a huge dissappointment! It was Actually awful! Amazing place with great lounge

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Palm springs weekend

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was delicious, the sommelier was knowledgeable, wine nice but overpriced (when checked with Vivino). Service was fair. No one seemed to know who our server was and we seemed to get passed around. We booked a table for the pretty outside patio, and they said they were going to put us inside. We had to wait at the bar and got a table under the air conditioner (noisy). Halibut and Lamb chops were delicious. The grand mariner soufflé was undercooked. The reason to go to this dated old time French restaurant is for the twinkly lights in the trees of the pretty patio, and for the history behind this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My lunch was perfect for me. I started w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My lunch was perfect for me. I started with oysters,Sancerre, Beet salad and Liver. All a test of a good restaurant. Satisfaction with food, company & ambiance!&

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful brunch experience. Sund ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

What a wonderful brunch experience. Sunday champagne brunch is comprised of a three course black board offering. Starters included several soups, salads or onion tart. Entrees ranged from eggs Benedict to swordfish to duck. With 4 or 5 excellent dessert choices as well - profiteroles anyone? It's still an old Hollywood haunt with a vibe to match. If you both respect and enjoy that you won't be disappointed! Oh, and the outdoor patio is just beautiful...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic birthday brunch with superb foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Romantic birthday brunch with superb food, service and ambience and never-stopping champagne!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Outstanding service. However, this resta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding service. However, this restaurant is very dated, and the food was extremely overpriced for what it was. My date and I got there around 9pm on a Friday night, and we were soon the only people there. The music was turned off. We were sitting at a big table for 6 people just the two of us, in an empty dining area where all other tables were cleared. It was awkward. And stuck in the 80's. Service was amazing though.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my first time at the restaurant a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was my first time at the restaurant and the cocktails and food were very good. The service was also very good and attentive. We were a little disappointed in the swordfish, but all in all, it was a delightful evening and we'll be back for another enjoyable evening under the stars.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Vallauris is a wonderful restaurant. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Le Vallauris is a wonderful restaurant. Every meal usually includes a tag that makes it memorable. It is splendid for special occasions. The food is delicious and the service is fine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Again!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, brunch at Le Vallauris was superb! The service is friendly and prompt but not stuffy, the food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the champagne flowed freely. Can't recommend the experience enough!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Le Vallauris is a great old school spot. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Le Vallauris is a great old school spot. Dining on the patio, in the evening, couldn't be better. The menu, written on a white board and placed table side is full of interesting and very tasty selections. A very nice evening. The only downside was a crispy duck entree that was too dry and a weird confrontation of two waiters fighting over our table. Probably the most frustrating, after making reservations 3 weeks in advance, we were given the worst table on the patio. Live and learn, but would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Le Vallauris does not disappoint. Absolu ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Le Vallauris does not disappoint. Absolutely the best restaurant in the desert in my opinion. Get the whitefish. You will love it. Staff is the epitome of professional. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French in PS

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a first class french restaurant with excellent service and a great menu. My wife's mother is from france and she is pretty hard to please. But it sure did. A real surprise,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place, lovely menu, superb win ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful place, lovely menu, superb wine list--old style restaurant (in a good way) with wonderful ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most lovely evening at Le Val ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had the most lovely evening at Le Vallauris! Food was perfect, service friendly and perfectly executed, the terrace is beautiful, we will be back for sure. We had a very good Bordeaux and sweetbreads that were perfectly cooked, which is rarely the case. Escargots, lamb and the Grand Marnier soufflé, everything was delightful! Go and indulge, this restaurant is worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really superb food. My foodie friend sai ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Really superb food. My foodie friend said it was the best pork chop she had ever had in her life ! The wine list is kind of over the top-but you can have a good glass of wine at a reasonable price. This is of course, fine French dining so I suppose one should not gripe about a 300% mark up-- still.. But to the good news- all of our dishes were truly perfect-and the list outside courtyard is lovely and romantic. We would all come back-- in fact, we will come back. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food is predictable but good. The wa ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is predictable but good. The wait staff are serious but not friendly, the owner charming. I feel that this old standard is a bit tired and always pricey. Still the only really French cuisine in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Not only the best restaurant in the desert, one of the finest in the State. Been eating here for at least 35 years. Never disappointed. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Love this place.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service and food. Love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding

Dined on May 8, 2016

THE FINEST IN DINING YET EXPENSIVE - GREAT FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.