Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Le Vallauris

Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.

385 West Tahquitz Canyon Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Friday and Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Le Vallauris has a policy that requires a credit card for reservations of 8 persons or more. Reservations MUST be cancelled by 9:00AM for LUNCH reservations and by 12:00 noon for DINNER reservations. A charge of $25 per person will be levied for cancellations made AFTER these hours.

Cross Street:
Palm Canyon Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 325-5059

Website:
http://www.levallauris.com/

Entertainment:
Le Vallauris has a pianist in the bar.

Catering:
Le Vallauris has developed a famous reputation for outside caterings from 2 to 500 guests. The key to success is that Chef Jean Paul prepares all the food on site, no pre-cooked food is kept in hot boxes for a whole day! Le Vallauris has catered to parties as far as Laguna Beach at the coast. A professional service staff is used to give unobtrusive and friendly service. Weddings and Corporate events are their specialty. Comprehensive packages are available to accommodate budgets. Le Vallauris includes in its packages for up to 200 guests all the equipment needed except tables and chairs.

Parking Details:
Le Vallauris offers Complimentary Valet Parking strictly on a tipping basis. For private parties hosts may choose to tip the valet exclusively so guest do not feel obliged to tip.

Executive Chef:
Jean Paul Lair

Private Party Facilities:
Le Vallauris has 2 inside dining rooms for private parties each one with a capacity for up to 50 persons. The Patio can also be used on a "buy out" basis for up to 150 persons and a tree shaded Gazebo is available for up to 120 guests. These facilities are able to use an array of "prix fixe" menus.

Private Party Contact:
Omar Haddedou: (866) 971-9532

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Le Vallauris can arrange for private events according to the wishes of the clients. We like to be known to be a "one stop shop!"

Le Vallauris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (95)
Great for Outdoor Dining (94)
Romantic (93)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for a Date (65)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Notable Wine List (45)
Worth the Drive (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Authentic (34)
Cozy (30)
Great for Brunch (24)
People Watching (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Historic (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Hot Spot (15)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Live Music (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Scenic View (11)
Fun (10)
Seasonal (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (4)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Another outstanding meal. Great food and great service. We go whenever we're in town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Truly one of the best meals we've had in the last five years. Every dining detail was perfect. Warm and friendly greeting, exceptional wait staff and the food was absolutely amazing. Such a beautiful setting under the trees on the patio too. We cannot wait to dine there again when they re-open in September. Merci.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A magical place for a magical dining experience. One of the best looking places on the planet.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Authentic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I had an outstanding lunch date with my wife. Good wine, great food and a fantastic dessert. It's our favourite restaurant in Palm Springs. The service was also outstanding, as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We have eaten at Le Vallauris a number of times. Most recently we have been to Sunday Brunch on three separate occasions. This restaurant has unquestionably the most innovative (without being too quircky) food in any of the desert cities. The ingredients are impeccable and the cooking and presentation always great as is the wait staff. Although the brunch has standard repeated items on the menu the great thing is that there are always new dishes added so one can return and have variety. Even in the extreme heat we had this past Sunday the beautiful terrace setting was comfortable (it might not have been later in the day).

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A lovely atmosphere with amazing service and beautiful food. I truelly unique experience. Classy and casual.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I gave up on going to "fancy" restaurants a long time ago because my typical experience has been "nicely plated" expensive, but rather tasteless food with an expensive wine list. Le Vallauris has an extensive pricy wine list but there are some worthy less pricy wine options.
My husband and I both had an INCREDIBLE meal experience. The escargot, fois gras, filet mignon and lobster were out of this world. We were in town for business but I think I'm willing to travel back just to experience one of the best meals I've ever had at least one more time.
Cheers

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our evening was flawless...food, wine, service, ambiance were all top-notch. We've enjoyed Le Vallauris on previous occasions and have never been disappointed. We explained to our waiter that we were in no rush, and he orchestrated the meal perfectly. The lobster ravioli was a new treat not previously tried...delicious. The roast duck and lamb chops were perfectly prepared. Our desert soufflés provided the perfect climax to an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Best meal in a long time. Great food and service in a wonderful setting. Despite temp of 107F the garden was cool and comfortable. This is a special place worth the extra money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We were disappointed in this visit to our favorite restaurant. The service and the ambiance are still top notch but the quality of the food has slipped.....for example, the Caesar Salad was not up to par--it was more oily and and the dressing was not creamy as it should be.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Simply elegant and amazing! One of my most favorite restaurants in the US.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I LOVED my experience at Le Vallauris! The atmosphere is enchanting, the food is phenomenal, and the service is superb. It's an absolute treasure in the desert. Definitely a great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Another great night! Thanks again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the best, most romantic, greatest service, best food place in Palm Springs. Our favorite server, Carlos, is outstanding. Food is amazing. It was 109 degrees in Palm Springs. They gave us an outdoor table (very romantic, under a beautiful ancient ficus tree), they have great, quiet air conditioning fans in their garden, temperature in their garden was about 75 degrees. Very nice, very comfortable. We had a fabulous dinner. All the staff is great. The management is wonderful. They all make you feel welcome. We dined like royalty. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This restaurant is clearly surviving on its past reputation. We ate there because of its reputation as a birthday gift for a special friend. The concept of customer service was not one that the restaurant employees were familiar with. When we arrived we were told that parking was valet only despite the parking lot immediately adjacent to the door being empty. I told the attendant that I preferred to self park but would gladly pay the valet fee. The response was that all cars had to be valet parked.

The outdoor dining area is lovely with tables under large Ficus trees and the area was cooled so was quite comfortable and quiet allowing us to converse free of background noise.

Our waiter was clumsy and talkative and promptly let us know that he was actually the sommelier. He was not amenable to our requests. For example we ordered a beet salad with goat cheese and requested that another type of cheese be substituted or that goat cheese be omitted. The waiter responded that this could not be done as the salads were all made ahead. I requested that my duck be prepared on the rare side and was again told that this couldn't be done.

The food quality was fair to good and it was nicely presented. I ordered escargot which were properly cooked in the common butter and garlic; unfortunately two of the seven were gritty indicating improper cleaning prior to harvest.

I knew that dinner at Le Vallauris would be expensive and was not disappointed in that regard! For the merely adequate service and food the prices were not warranted. Would I go back or recommend the restaurant to a friend--A BIG NO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Amazing dinner for my husbands birthday. The ambiance was great and the food delicious

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Le Vallaruis is the best
You are greeted by a gentleman in a Tuxedo
He is the most kind person very personable.

The wait staff is fantastic!!

The food is fabulous. We had the lobster ravioli.
It came with 5 Maine lobster claws!!

Escargot is mouth watering along with the fresh baked bread.
The most important feature is the setting. Under a huge ficus tree that sparkles. Tables draped in white linens adorned with a fresh bouquet of Roses!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Always consistent and wonderful. Truly a 5 star restaurant. Service is impeccable, ambiance incredible and food is devine. Do not hesitate making a reservation at this outstanding restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing cant wait to go back. Our server was the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

What can I say... everything was wonderful. Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We have been here many times and this restaurant NEVER disappoints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always is the most elegant most delicious food around and the service is exceptional.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

A very unique and treasured gem in the Palm Springs downtown area. Ambience is incredible, as well as impeccable food and attentive service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant. I had the best dinner ever in my life, and the atmosphere and service are magical. I will always want to sit on the patio, next to the tree. Deep heart love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everyone could not have been more friendly! Our waiter, Bruce the "wine guy" was delightful, and all of the other servers were just as friendly and sincere. The arrival of each course was timely. We decided to try this restaurant to celebrate a special occasion. The patio is beautiful, in all, an historic restaurant. A truly delightful evening, go!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Unfortunately, our experience of a party of 8 here versus our experience at Lavender Bistro was night and day. LV also participated in restaurant week, but the experience was such that they made us feel as though they were doing us a favor and that we should be grateful. Personally, I haven't been here for 3 years, and that dining experience was 180 degree difference than 2 days ago, and my personal feeling is I don't care if I ever return again...maybe restaurant week isn't LV niche, because their reputation in town is far different from the experience the 8 of us had...too bad...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We went for dinner during restaurant week. It was everything I'd heard and more! There were no disappointments. Food presentation was pretty as a picture an tasted even better. This restaurant is a definite treasure!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere . . . all fantastic! There were three in our party and we all thought our appetizers, entrees, desserts and after-dinner drinks were wonderful. We will be returning!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food. The restaurant is a family tradition of special occasions. Unforetunately we do not live there any more but go there whenever we can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great ambiance and the best lobster ravioli

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The evening was a good experience although I was not please with the ravioli. It was too thin and the inside was non existent. The guests were very pleased with their selection, and provided a birthday desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

NOT HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE. Pricey for outdoor dinning, though food and service were excellent. Dress code seems to be Palm Springs eccentric!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This was our first time dining at Le Valleuris. It was highly recommended, so our expectations may have been elevated. The courtyard was beautiful and it was a very elegant atmosphere, however the food was just ok. We will try it again in the future, because we enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Absolutely Wonderful! They made my wedding anniversary very special and food was beyond delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The food was delicious except for the rolls which were too hard. The service was very professional. Eating in the garden worked well at this time of the year.
Was disappointed, though, that they informed Open Table that our reservation had been cancelled although we arrived right on time. Fortunately, Open Table corrected the error.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Elegant dining with caring service and a friendly ambience. Our favorite in the desert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was my first time and it was a nice experience. The only item of concern was that the sea bass was a little overcooked and the corkage fee was $35 per bottle which seemed a little high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It was spectacular, and well worth the visit. All the staff was very attentive, and the food was divine. There was an issue with the Open Table reservation,, where I booked for 3, but showed in the restaurant registry as 1. It might be worth checking with the restaurant that the software picked up the right number. And yes, I have a confirmation for 3, but the restaurant system showed only 1.
Small hiccup, which didn't affect the quality of the experience and was quickly resolved on the restaurant's end.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The setting was magical. As we sat at our patio table we commented how the tops of the trees formed a delightful canopy. We felt like we were no where near the hustle and bustle of downtown Palm Springs which was only a few short blocks away. The entire staff was gracious and looked after our every need especially our waiter, Jonathan. He was attentive, but was never an intrusion to our romantic date night.
I can not say enough wonderful things about the amazingly delicious food. I had the roasted stuffed duck breast with Medjool dates which was moist, tender and flavorful. My husband had the seared New Zealand sea bass which he said was one of the best fish dishes he has had in the desert.
Thank you for a wonderful evening! We will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Oddly there was a lemon seed in my blue crab, it had a beautiful lemon sauce so I am sure that is how that happened but everything is usually perfect. I am a large women and they always seat us next to a wall at a wobbly table but regardless we always have a fabulous time. The service is exquisite and makes up for the crappy table assignment, as a matter of fact my husband and I feel it is now our table! I think I will always ask for that table now. Plus it is near the Hoover table in the corner ;-) This place is great and the service and food are exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.