About Le Vallauris

385 West Tahquitz Canyon Way
Palm Springs, CA 92262
View Larger Map

Established in the heart of Palm Springs since 1973, Le Vallauris located at the foot of San Jacinto Mountains has been the highest rated restaurant in the Palm Springs Valley since its inception. Owned and operated by the well known restaurateur Paul Bruggemans who was also owner of the Famous Le St Germain restaurant in Hollywood. The Historic Landmark was built in 1927 and was owned by the owners of the famous Desert Inn which was The hotel in the Valley. Many grand parties were held in the house for guests such as Duke Ellington, Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong and many more. It was a favorite place for General Patton when he was based in Palm Springs to stage the Battle of the Bulge during World War II. Later on, when the restaurant was established it became a favorite place for Presidents and the Hollywood elite. The renowned Patio lined with Giant Fichus trees is THE place to dine. The Patio is cooled in the Summer and heated in the Winter.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 10:30pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
Le Vallauris has a policy that requires a credit card for reservations of 8 persons or more. Reservations MUST be cancelled by 9:00AM for LUNCH reservations and by 12:00 noon for DINNER reservations. A charge of $25 per person will be levied for cancellations made AFTER these hours.

Cross Street:
North Palm Canyon Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 325-5059

Website:
http://www.levallauris.com/

Entertainment:
Le Vallauris has a pianist in the bar.

Catering:
Le Vallauris has developed a famous reputation for outside caterings from 2 to 500 guests. The key to success is that Chef Jean Paul prepares all the food on site, no pre-cooked food is kept in hot boxes for a whole day! Le Vallauris has catered to parties as far as Laguna Beach at the coast. A professional service staff is used to give unobtrusive and friendly service. Weddings and Corporate events are their specialty. Comprehensive packages are available to accommodate budgets. Le Vallauris includes in its packages for up to 200 guests all the equipment needed except tables and chairs.

Parking Details:
Le Vallauris offers Complimentary Valet Parking strictly on a tipping basis. For private parties hosts may choose to tip the valet exclusively so guest do not feel obliged to tip.

Executive Chef:
Jean Paul Lair

Private Party Facilities:
Le Vallauris has 2 inside dining rooms for private parties each one with a capacity for up to 50 persons. The Patio can also be used on a "buy out" basis for up to 150 persons and a tree shaded Gazebo is available for up to 120 guests. These facilities are able to use an array of "prix fixe" menus.

Private Party Contact:
Omar Haddedou: 8669719532

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Le Vallauris can arrange for private events according to the wishes of the clients. We like to be known to be a "one stop shop!"

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00

Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00

Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Four Course Prix Fixe Meal for $59.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Menu changes every week. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Jul 3, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Happy Father's Day and End of Season...
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Le Vallauris Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
15 More
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Cities
Best Overall
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Food
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Service
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Ambiance
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Fit for Foodies
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Notable Wine List
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Outdoor Dining
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Romantic
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Special Occasion
Palm Springs / Palm Desert
Best Restaurants in Palm Springs ›

great for outdoor dining (214)
romantic (213)
special occasion (212)
See All
fit for foodies (181)
notable wine list (126)
neighborhood gem (81)
great for lunch (60)
great for brunch (51)
good for groups (41)
scenic view (28)
hot spot (18)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful brunch experience. Sund ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

What a wonderful brunch experience. Sunday champagne is comprised of a three course black board offering. Starter entrees included several soups, salads or onion tart. Entrees ranged from eggs Benedict to swordfish to duck. With 4 or 5 excellent dessert choices as well - profiteroles anyone?. It's still an old Hollywood haunt with a vibe to match. If you both respect and enjoy that you won't be disappointed! Oh, and the outdoor patio is just beautiful...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic birthday brunch with superb foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Romantic birthday brunch with superb food, service and ambience and never-stopping champagne!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my first time at the restaurant a ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

It was my first time at the restaurant and the cocktails and food were very good. The service was also very good and attentive. We were a little disappointed in the swordfish, but all in all, it was a delightful evening and we'll be back for another enjoyable evening under the stars.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Vallauris is a wonderful restaurant. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Le Vallauris is a wonderful restaurant. Every meal usually includes a tag that makes it memorable. It is splendid for special occasions. The food is delicious and the service is fine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Again!

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, brunch at Le Vallauris was superb! The service is friendly and prompt but not stuffy, the food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the champagne flowed freely. Can't recommend the experience enough!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Le Vallauris is a great old school spot. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Le Vallauris is a great old school spot. Dining on the patio, in the evening, couldn't be better. The menu, written on a white board and placed table side is full of interesting and very tasty selections. A very nice evening. The only downside was a crispy duck entree that was too dry and a weird confrontation of two waiters fighting over our table. Probably the most frustrating, after making reservations 3 weeks in advance, we were given the worst table on the patio. Live and learn, but would definitely go back again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Le Vallauris does not disappoint. Absolu ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Le Vallauris does not disappoint. Absolutely the best restaurant in the desert in my opinion. Get the whitefish. You will love it. Staff is the epitome of professional. The best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent French in PS

Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a first class french restaurant with excellent service and a great menu. My wife's mother is from france and she is pretty hard to please. But it sure did. A real surprise,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful place, lovely menu, superb win ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful place, lovely menu, superb wine list--old style restaurant (in a good way) with wonderful ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most lovely evening at Le Val ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had the most lovely evening at Le Vallauris! Food was perfect, service friendly and perfectly executed, the terrace is beautiful, we will be back for sure. We had a very good Bordeaux and sweetbreads that were perfectly cooked, which is rarely the case. Escargots, lamb and the Grand Marnier soufflé, everything was delightful! Go and indulge, this restaurant is worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really superb food. My foodie friend sai ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Really superb food. My foodie friend said it was the best pork chop she had ever had in her life ! The wine list is kind of over the top-but you can have a good glass of wine at a reasonable price. This is of course, fine French dining so I suppose one should not gripe about a 300% mark up-- still.. But to the good news- all of our dishes were truly perfect-and the list outside courtyard is lovely and romantic. We would all come back-- in fact, we will come back. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food is predictable but good. The wa ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is predictable but good. The wait staff are serious but not friendly, the owner charming. I feel that this old standard is a bit tired and always pricey. Still the only really French cuisine in town.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend!

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Not only the best restaurant in the desert, one of the finest in the State. Been eating here for at least 35 years. Never disappointed. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Love this place.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service and food. Love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding

Dined on May 8, 2016

THE FINEST IN DINING YET EXPENSIVE - GREAT FOR SPECIAL OCCASIONS

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Le Vallauris

Dined on May 8, 2016

Having eaten there several times over 15 years, I find it to be the best ambiance in Palm Springs for romance. From Canada we only get there twice a year. On our last visit we had a very poor waiter, with slow service and no personality. The food was also mediocre, quite disappointing, but we will return for the great ambiance.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazingly good

Dined on May 8, 2016

The Vallauris is a typical French food restaurant. My wife and I took the degustation menu. Gourmet restaurants in France often have a degustation menu so that you experience multiple flavors and signature dishes. Overall, the food was fantastic for a restaurant this size. Don't miss the "duck foie gras" and pain d'epices The veal was also incredibly flavorful. For dessert, my wife and I always order the soufflé, since it is light after an heavy meal. Here, the grand marnier sauce was a little too sweet but we still scooped up every once of it. The noise level in the restaurant is low, which is great when you want to spend a romantic time around an excellent dinner. Conclusion : do not miss - worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a beautiful dinner here and enjoyed our food and drinks immensely. The restaurant is elegant and very romantic. Definitely a dining experience that you won't forget.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Dining in Palm Springs

Dined on May 7, 2016

Quiet and elegant, great food and atmosphere. We all had something different and each enjoyed our selection. I had veal fillet which came as generous, tender slices over spinach and asparagus. The others ordered crispy duck with cherry sauce, rack of lamb, and sea bass. One entire as good as the next. Service was attentive without being intrusive. The garden day or night is gorgeous with mature trees and subtle lighting. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Evening

Dined on May 6, 2016

We wanted to treat our friends to a beautiful dinner and chose Le Vallauris. It had been a few years since we had been here. It is still well on top of it's game in every aspect. I believe it is the best dining experience in the entire area. If you want a true memory, come here.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find in Palm Springs!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner in Palm Springs. We honeymooned in Palm Springs, 48 yrs ago! Our dinner was terrific, the wine was outstanding, entrees were perfect and the dessert was super! The atmosphere was special and the staff and host were friendly and helpful. Thanks for making it a special night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Palm Springs good find

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We thank you open table for the list of restaurant, We had a great dinner and service including a visit from the owner who has been there for 40 yrs was great. White board menus really cool

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Rack of lamb I've had recently. Coc ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Best Rack of lamb I've had recently. Cocktails were awesome and the corkage fee moderate. Service is outstanding. Great spot for a memorable dinning experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Lovely Dining Experience!

Dined on May 3, 2016

Our meal and the service were exceptional as always! The Grand Marnier Shuffle was oh so delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place at Palm Springs!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Very quite and romantic spot, the food was great. I loved the smoked salmon and the NY steak. We had a great server (Willy I think was his name, I apologize forgetting his name) very friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Foodie friendly brunch in wonderful outdoor space

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We have eaten here a number of times. This time we had Sunday brunch. The menu offered a large number of inventive dishes and and the preparation was excellent. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Will dine here again brunch, dinner or lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

CB.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Good dinner in this restaurant. We appreciate that the chef and the patron were French people, that was seeing in their cuisine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as Usual

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is always wonderful and it was again. Frois gras and rabbit fricasse are phenomenal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always superb

Dined on April 29, 2016

Best restaurant in Palm Springs bar none. Service is impeccable and the cuisine top drawer. Pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

We're always looking for nice places to go for birthdays, anniversaries, etc. Some friends recommended this to us. Karen had been here many years ago, and I'd never been. We were seated in the outdoor patio, which was perfect. Service was great, and so was the food. The owner (he's been there 43 years, since they opened!) came to our table soon after we were seated, and greeted us personally. All in all, a very nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

owner

Dined on April 25, 2016

I appreciated that the owner came to say Hello and to see if everything was ok to every table that was dinning at the time

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Unfortunate

Dined on April 25, 2016

Always ate here when I visited Palm Springs. Food and atmosphere are great, the service is not. On my last visit they swiped my credit card three times. My CC company thought it was fraud and imm immediately cancelled my credit card. What a hassle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite find

Dined on April 25, 2016

There are few restaurants that can offer excellence in all important categories. Le Vallauris achieves it from the exquisite ambience, quality food, excellent service & a charming owner who assures all guests have a memorable experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

If you are in Palm Springs, this is a must. One of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Provence in Palm Springs

Dined on April 24, 2016

Dining outdoors at Le Vallauris on a warm evening reminds me of eating outdoors at many restaurants in Provence. Excellent service, an interesting menu with superb specials (the beet gazpacho is divine), and tremendous ambiance make this long-time desert favorite a wonderful choice for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our second time here and again was wonderful! The service is impecable and the food prepared perfectly. Hubby and I both had the seabass and it melted in our mouths.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Chapeau!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Another very nice meal under the trees! Attentive service and French Cuisine in Palm Springs. Sommelier Bruce even enjoys the nice Temecula Wines being created:) Professional staff and love the menu board presentation. We shall return once again in the future! Merci beaucoup, Chef Dean

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times. This is the first time that I was disappointed in the quality of the food for the prices they charge. Very little creativity...same menu over and over again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

An old-school gem

Dined on April 19, 2016

The quality and selection of appetizers exceeded my expectations. This was old-school French done well. The appetizer selection was so good that it was all we ordered -- ten dishes for 3 people, plus three deserts. All were good to fantastic. Must say that while the wine list was impressive, the prices were over the top, easily running three to four times retail. The food itself was a bit pricy, but in this case you did get what you paid for. No complaints there as it was just one treat followed by another one then another one. Service was strong in that old-school way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wow!

Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant is awesome!! Fine French food on a beautiful patio. Remember to SAVE ROOM for desert!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.