About Le Steak Frites St-Paul - Saint-Denis

4167 rue st-Denis
Montreal, QC H2W 2M7
View Larger Map

Le Steak Frites St-Paul est l’endroit rêvé pour les amateurs de viande rouge.
Ce Steak house aux allures de bistrot français, vous charmera avec sa variété de trésors culinaires. Que ce soit pour affaires ou un tête-à tête, le Steak Frites St-Paul offre un service discret et prévenant, le tout dans une ambiance agréable et feutrée.
Apportez votre vin et profitez d’une soirée encore plus mémorable!

Steak Frites St-Paul is the perfect place for meat lovers.
This steakhouse-style French bistro, will charm you with its variety of culinary treasures. Whether for business or pleasure, the Steak Frites St-Paul offers a discreet and attentive service, all in a pleasant and cozy atmosphere.
Bring your own wine and enjoy a more memorable evening!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, French

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 11:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
rue Rachel

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 788-4462

Website:
http://www.steakfrites.ca/

Public Transit:
bus et station de métro Mont-Royal

Additional:
Chef's Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome

Restaurant Photos

  • Foie De Veau Persillé - Veal Liver In Parsley
  • Tuna Tapas
Foie De Veau Persillé - Veal Liver In Parsley
Tuna Tapas

Le Steak Frites St-Paul - Saint-Denis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.0

service

3.4

ambience

3.2

value

2.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (1)
great for lunch (1)
good for groups (1)
See All
special occasion (1)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
12 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good when we went but expensive for kids

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was good, desserts not. They don't have child dishes. Most restaurants nowadays do accomodate. Mixed up reservations. They didn't have replacement for fries, no options given, thus literally a fries place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

As bad as it gets...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Waste of time and money. Food is below any standard. I dont understand that in a city full of good restaurants this can exist. Manu is boring with 5 or 6 meals, and they will not accommodate food requests (due to allergies etc.). Montreal restaurant scene has so much more to offer, stay away from this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect Monday Dinner

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

The restaurants' ambiance was impeccable from the perfect lighting to the sultry romantic music! I was amazed at how knowledgeable and patient the waitress was with our table! Bonus point: YOU CAN BRING YOUR OWN WINE! I recommend this to anyone looking for something smooth, intimate and warm! Will definitely be coming back here!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did my birthday there and we were 20 p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I did my birthday there and we were 20 people. They have accommodated the settings well. Food was delicious ! Great portions except do not take the "petoncle" on the menus cause we my friend got his plate back there was 6pieces. It looked more of an entré than a

Meal . But as for everything else it was a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great night out

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

BYOB, Steak-Frires all share the same menu, you know what to expect.

Great service.

They could accommoda one of us in a wheelchair, cool about it.

We stayed more than 4 hours, talking, having our wine on a quiet Friday.

We'll be back

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fries, mediocre steak

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Beans fries sauces were great . The filet mignon was very medium tasting for a steak place . Marination could solve all this . Nice cut, low on taste

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Perfect Evening with Grandkids

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

We took out grandchildren to Montreal for the weekend and they love Steak and frites. This was the perfect place: The Frites were excellent nd the steak generous Iif perhaps a bit bland on the taste side). The steak was done properly: 3 à point and & saignant.

Service was friendly, attentive without being obtrusive, and helpful: In French when we spoke French and in English when a question was asked in English.

Bring your own wine is a decided plus!!

A bit noisy, but it was a Saturday night, after all.

I had booked Lalou for the evening, but my wife and the kids quite rightly made me change reservations. Lalou will wait till it's just the two of us, but this was perfect for us with the kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great find, all you can eat frites

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2014

We were looking for a simple steak frites bistro- this one was a bit larger, and when we arrived could only be seated in the back immediately, and we were hungry and didn't want to wait for a table up front, that was our only mistake. The food was delicious, onion soup, and steak frites with great sauce choices, and perfectly cooked. And the all you can eat fries was a great addition- at first we thought why so few fries , but our waiter explained he'd refill all we wanted with hot crispy fries…yes we had many refills with delicious aioli sauce to dip!

Delicious dessert as well, chocolate cake with warm melted center!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Got the jod done

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 16, 2014

Nothing spectacular, but adequate for a weekend lunch time byob.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun evening

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 7, 2014

Went to Steak Frites with a multigenerational group. The menu was great and I liked that I could bring mu own wine. The sesame crusted tuna did not seem fresh. Will stick to meat next time. Still, overall I recommend it.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

last minute supper decision

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

Restaurant nicely located on St Denis. Great moderne stylish looking, unfortunately extremely difficult to understand the waiter in both French or English. After asking several times, and unable to comprehend two out of three cuts of meats. I ended up ordering a cut of meat, I really did not want and the cooking grade was not understood as well and I needed to return it for correction. Frustrating to watch our guest eat while I waited for a re-cooked steak St.Paul. Little effort was made to correct or recover the situation, except for the thumb up and smiles from our waiter. Price was not the issue only the experience. For this reason I would would have difficulty recommending this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

good but not great

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 9, 2014

le service etait bon mais on nous pressait de partir et c'était pas agréable. la nourriture etait bonne.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.