About Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel

300 Gravier Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Experience the delightful tradition of afternoon tea at Le Salon. Sip from a selection of 30 of the finest loose-leaf variety brews while your ears enjoy soft melodies from a harpist or pianist from the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. Enjoy an assortment of delicious tea sandwiches, scones and sweets as you engage in one of New Orleans locals most beloved and fashionable pastimes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, English

Hours of Operation:
From July 25th to September 8th, Le Salon will switch to an abbreviated summertime schedule. Le Salon will be closed on Thursdays during this time and tea service will only be held on Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 11am.

**Holiday Tea begins on November 25th ending January 31st. Reservations are currently open.**

Traditional English Tea Thursdays & Fridays at 2:00 PM and Saturdays & Sundays at 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM.

Cross Street:
South Peters

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 596-4773

Website:
http://www.grillroomneworleans.com/le-salon

Entertainment:
Harp or Piano music is enjoyed at every tea service.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the Windsor Court Hotel is validated at $8.00 per vehicle.

Private Party Facilities:
Le Salon can accommodate parties from 1 to 80 guests for afternoon tea.

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
5 More
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Fun (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wife dragged me to Le Salon for the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The wife dragged me to Le Salon for the High Tea (a la Downton Abbey) at Windsor Court Hotel. There was a bit of confusion over the reservation (I made it for 1:45pm) since its only at 2pm weekdays. It turned out to be a real treat that I am happy I experienced. The high tea is held in a tastefully decorated and comfortable area of the hotel lobby which is quite nice (over sized chairs couches, soft lighting, etc.) that adjoins the bar. The wait staff were extremely pleasant, welcoming, and attentive. Guys will not find the tea sandwiches particularly filling but when you add in the tasty scones and rich desserts it is quite enough. There are also several cocktail specials to choose from and there is the tea. This is one of those things that the ladies love and I was the only fellow in the area. We really didn't need a reservation although its wise to make one. In sum, I had a high time at the high tea. Dress is casual but reserved at the Windsor Court and it's all priced accordingly.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Tea at the Windsor Court is one of the m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Tea at the Windsor Court is one of the most fun outings in the City!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prohibition Tea was delightful! I very m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Prohibition Tea was delightful! I very much enjoyed myself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience at Windsor Court is always ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The ambience at Windsor Court is always great! LeSalon should offer the option of choosing your tea menu. This will help make the experience more personal and enjoyable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

This was my first experience with an aft ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was my first experience with an afternoon tea service and Le Salon exceeded my expectations. The atmosphere, the food, the service was all completely delightful. I will be back to Le Salon at every future trip to NOLA.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Afternoon tea was spectacular at Le Salo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Afternoon tea was spectacular at Le Salon. We were visiting New Orleans and my boyfriend and I just love a tea service. And we were very impressed with service, food, and ambiance. You get a lot for the price, but overall ended up being a little spendy for brunch/lunch. But such a great experience! Definitely would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the piano playing in the backgro ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I loved the piano playing in the background. The service was warm, friendly, and professional. The food was appetizing and presented well. I loved the courses and the options.

My only suggestion would be to make better use of the green back wall. Photos could easily go there or a digital board that allowed people to load their photos or selfies daily. Each day the digital board would change so that images of the current day were only displayed.

If you did not want to provide this option during the day. This would definitely be a great happy hour to late evening option for customers. Great way to get real-time reviews and stay trendy (yet classy during the day.)

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

//////////everything was perfect. The fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

//////////everything was perfect. The food was great and the atmosphere elegant. The music was a nice back drop. My grandchildren and I go often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have invited some friends to tea at th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have invited some friends to tea at the Windsor Court for tea for a few special occasions. I love tea parties and there is an undoubtedly refined, polished, and just plain fun location at this hotel. The themed tea parties are always fun, with a loud and happy rendition of the unbirthday song and even dances with a handsome young mad hatter for the Alice in Wonderland tea.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Private Room, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Le Salon at the Windsor Court in New Orl ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Le Salon at the Windsor Court in New Orleans is the perfect spot for afternoon tea and quiet conversation in a lovely setting and with delicious food! I highly recommend it to everyone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience celebrating my daug ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating my daughter's 50th birthday. The tea party was perfect. Everyone serving us were so professional yet friendly and courteous. Helen took time to chat with us about New Orleans. Better than many tea rooms I have visited in England. Thank you for helping to make a special birthday truly unique.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was amazing. The tea selectio ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Atmosphere was amazing. The tea selection was great. They poured for you every time you ran out-didn't have to worry about running out of tea. It was a little pricey but totally worth it for a special occasion with a loved one(s).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, great food and beauti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service, great food and beautiful place to be for Afternoon Tea.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had tea on my birthday with three of m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I had tea on my birthday with three of my closest friends. The tea and the food were delicious and the service was outstanding. I was thrilled when they brought out a tray of desserts to celebrate my birthday. It was above and beyond what I was expecting. Thank you, Windsor Court for making my day extra special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for mother/daughter day to celeb ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for mother/daughter day to celebrate my daughter 13 th birthday. She enjoyed being treated like a "grown up" for this special occasion. It was fun to dress up and wear hats and just feel like a girl. They treated my girl to a special birthday plate with chocolate strawberries while playing happy birthday on the piano.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! Especially enjoyed pianist!!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful! Especially enjoyed pianist!!! Service was great! Nice presentation and nice variety.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience. 5 stars all around. B ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lovely experience. 5 stars all around. Blackberry bramble cocktail was refreshing and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very classy venue for High Te ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was a very classy venue for High Tea. I had a wonderful experience. The occasion should warrant a very dressed-up apparel for attendees, well behaved children (if they must come), and a certain décor. The champagne, tea sandwiches, scones, desserts, and huge variety of teas was absolutely splendid, and equaled my experience in London. The music by an accomplished harpist complimented and made The High Tea experience occasion complete.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Windsor Court never fails to impress. En ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Windsor Court never fails to impress. Enjoyed tea with my 7-year old niece. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxing, didn't feel rushed. Very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very relaxing, didn't feel rushed. Very enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitress was totally out of it. Firs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The waitress was totally out of it. First the staff had to find her in order for us to be seated. Then she would disappear into a back room for great lengths of time (only one other table had people seated). Then we had to send someone to find her in order to get our check. She poured one cup of tea each, put the tea pot our of reach and by the time she reappeared the tea was cold. The food was ordinary for a high tea. The sitting was classic club lounge comfortable. The final straw was the mandatory 20% gratuity. No wonder the waitress didn't bother providing professional service. She go her 20% no matter what she did.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

I have been to Le Salon at the Windsor C ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel many times, and each time I have thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, teas, and food offerings. This is the first time, however, that I felt that the service was very slow. For some reason, other tables seemed to be better served than mine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food for Afternoon tea are good and yumm ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food for Afternoon tea are good and yummy. But there charged full price for kid. I think is too pricey !! Moreover, our cup of tea always empty and have to wait for server to pour us a cup of tea! It takes like more than 20 minutes to wait for a server to come to our table and pour us the tea. If you don't mind to wait for your tea to be pour then you can go there for afternoon tea. So this is really rude our day. We had been to so many high tea places in the hotel ( NY , Phoenix, Philadelphia) and all those places will leave your pot of tea on the table and you pour it yourself . This place ... Only has two servers are working in the whole afternoon tea room.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

We did the 11 AM tea on Saturday, 5/28 f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We did the 11 AM tea on Saturday, 5/28 for my bachelorette weekend. The service was impeccable. Our waitress was so funny when some members of our party said they would prefer coffee over tea, apparently a sin when you are going for tea, but the service was perfect! The tea was delicious, and the chocolate covered strawberries as a congratulations for getting married soon were a sweet after tea treat! I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Tea in town

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went here to celebrate a friends birthday. Everything from the service to the food was top notch! They made us feel very special and it was compleatly worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fantastic and so was the teas and desserts and I liked the plate and that the piano player played happy birthday which was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea--a little pricy

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I have been to a few afternoon teas at different hotels locally and in other states. I really enjoy the Windsor Court, the service, food, tea and ambiance are wonderful! My only complaint is that we are still charged for parking. If you go to Afternoon Tea at the Ritz (or to the restaurant or lounge any time of day) Valet parking is free. It is validated so you aren't paying as much, but still...

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the most elegant tea setting that ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was the most elegant tea setting that my daughters and I have been to. Everything about Le Salon was perfect from the tea sandwiches to the beautiful music played by the harpist on Mother's Day. Great attention was given to detail with an added touch of a charming farewell gift of their Mother's Day tea to all of the Mothers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting and food for afternoon tea!

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The ambiance, service, food, and music are exceptional! Hostess Helen and server Lisa are professional and attentive. Harpist Rachel VanVoorhees was outstanding! Wonderful experience while visiting with a friend and celebrating Mother's Day!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I enjoyed having tea at the Windsor Court; this was my fifth time to do so. The food was wonderful and the service excellent. It is truly one of my favorite experiences.

This time, however, there was a large group that was entirely too loud for the setting. Their nosiness impeded my conversation. Also, the tea itself was warm, but not hot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My friends and I attended afternoon tea at Le Salon. It began with a cocktail and finger sandwiches, then scones and tea, and ended with delicate desserts. We had a wonderful time and felt so fancy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely Tea

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful tea at the Windsor Court to celebrate my sister's upcoming wedding. The staff was attentive and very knowledgeable about the different types of tea on the menu. She made great suggestions for our tea. All the food was delicious and freshly made (we ate at the 2:00 pm tea), and the cocktails were the best of the trip. The teas was wonderful as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tired Venue

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This hotel used to have the best afternoon tea service in New Orleans. I am not sure if it was just an off day for the staff, but it was not how I remembered it. The room seemed very tired, and the wait staff not there normal sharp appearance. Overall the food was fine and service was good it just seemed a little expensive for what you received. When I left ,it felt like been there done that, check it off the list. Don't need to go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Bad Service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our overview experience at Le Salon at Windsor Court was awful. It took a very long time to get our glass of champagne after we were seated. After we finally ordered, it took a very long time to get our tea. The sandwiches arrived after a very long time, but still no tea served. The sandwich bread was getting stale and hard before we finally got our tea. We had a hard time catching anyone's attention for more tea. For the price of the tea, the service should have been impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

more servers!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I've never had a bad experience before at le salon at Windsor Court.... But this time, all the tables were filled and there were only 2 waiters! I'm sure something must've happened to the others - spring allergie perhaps? But we had to wait much longer than usual for service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Family Celebration

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a great time at the Easter tea. Everyone at the Windsor Court was friendly and professional. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. The tea was perfect, the finger sandwiches, scones and dessert were delicious and the cocktails were festive. We enjoyed being able to celebrate three birthdays, and also enjoyed that our entire family was there. (Our youngest was 2.) If you would like to treat yourself to a great tea, this is the place!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

needs improvement

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The finger sandwiches were not good. The cucumbers should be peeled and the sandwiches were very dry. The curry sandwiches are not very popular with children. The scones were great and the desserts were great. the salmon sandwiches were great

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Morning tea

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We went for the Victorian Tea, we had a very nice server, the food that was served was just okay. The tea should have been hotter, but there was a large variety to chose from. For over $50 a person, not worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

We had an amazing time at High Tea. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We had an amazing time at High Tea. The servers were amazing, very friendly and on top of things. The food was delicious and filling. It was overall an amazing experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Timer

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had four people having tea for the first time at the Windsor Court this past weekend to celebrate an upcoming wedding. We really enjoyed ourselves and thought the food and service were great. I'd agree with other reviews I saw that the food is not bountiful--you're really given exactly the same number of sandwiches--one of each kind (maybe 6?)--and they're very small. Tasty, but even with the scones and small truffles that followed, it was a pretty insubstantial amount of food compared to other teas I've been to. Still, a lovely setting and our waitress had great recommendations and knew a lot about the tea. We'll be back I'm sure, but might plan on lunch beforehand.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.