About Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel

300 Gravier Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Experience the delightful tradition of afternoon tea at Le Salon. Sip from a selection of 30 of the finest loose-leaf variety brews while your ears enjoy soft melodies from a harpist or pianist from the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. Enjoy an assortment of delicious tea sandwiches, scones and sweets as you engage in one of New Orleans locals most beloved and fashionable pastimes.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, English

Hours of Operation:
From July 25th to September 8th, Le Salon will switch to an abbreviated summertime schedule. Le Salon will be closed on Thursdays during this time and tea service will only be held on Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 11am.

**Holiday Tea begins on November 25th ending January 31st. Reservations are currently open.**

Traditional English Tea Thursdays & Fridays at 2:00 PM and Saturdays & Sundays at 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM.

Cross Street:
South Peters

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 596-4773

Website:
http://www.grillroomneworleans.com/le-salon

Entertainment:
Harp or Piano music is enjoyed at every tea service.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the Windsor Court Hotel is validated at $8.00 per vehicle.

Private Party Facilities:
Le Salon can accommodate parties from 1 to 80 guests for afternoon tea.

Additional:
Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Special Occasion
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
1 More
Special Occasion
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Central Business District ›

special occasion (31)
good for groups (23)
great for brunch (16)
See All
romantic (8)
great for lunch (6)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (5)
fit for foodies (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience celebrating my daug ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful experience celebrating my daughter's 50th birthday. The tea party was perfect. Everyone serving us were so professional yet friendly and courteous. Helen took time to chat with us about New Orleans. Better than many tea rooms I have visited in England. Thank you for helping to make a special birthday truly unique.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was amazing. The tea selectio ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Atmosphere was amazing. The tea selection was great. They poured for you every time you ran out-didn't have to worry about running out of tea. It was a little pricey but totally worth it for a special occasion with a loved one(s).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service, great food and beauti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service, great food and beautiful place to be for Afternoon Tea.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had tea on my birthday with three of m ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I had tea on my birthday with three of my closest friends. The tea and the food were delicious and the service was outstanding. I was thrilled when they brought out a tray of desserts to celebrate my birthday. It was above and beyond what I was expecting. Thank you, Windsor Court for making my day extra special.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for mother/daughter day to celeb ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went for mother/daughter day to celebrate my daughter 13 th birthday. She enjoyed being treated like a "grown up" for this special occasion. It was fun to dress up and wear hats and just feel like a girl. They treated my girl to a special birthday plate with chocolate strawberries while playing happy birthday on the piano.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! Especially enjoyed pianist!!! ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Wonderful! Especially enjoyed pianist!!! Service was great! Nice presentation and nice variety.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely experience. 5 stars all around. B ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Lovely experience. 5 stars all around. Blackberry bramble cocktail was refreshing and delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very classy venue for High Te ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was a very classy venue for High Tea. I had a wonderful experience. The occasion should warrant a very dressed-up apparel for attendees, well behaved children (if they must come), and a certain décor. The champagne, tea sandwiches, scones, desserts, and huge variety of teas was absolutely splendid, and equaled my experience in London. The music by an accomplished harpist complimented and made The High Tea experience occasion complete.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Windsor Court never fails to impress. En ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Windsor Court never fails to impress. Enjoyed tea with my 7-year old niece. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxing, didn't feel rushed. Very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very relaxing, didn't feel rushed. Very enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitress was totally out of it. Firs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The waitress was totally out of it. First the staff had to find her in order for us to be seated. Then she would disappear into a back room for great lengths of time (only one other table had people seated). Then we had to send someone to find her in order to get our check. She poured one cup of tea each, put the tea pot our of reach and by the time she reappeared the tea was cold. The food was ordinary for a high tea. The sitting was classic club lounge comfortable. The final straw was the mandatory 20% gratuity. No wonder the waitress didn't bother providing professional service. She go her 20% no matter what she did.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

I have been to Le Salon at the Windsor C ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel many times, and each time I have thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, teas, and food offerings. This is the first time, however, that I felt that the service was very slow. For some reason, other tables seemed to be better served than mine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We did the 11 AM tea on Saturday, 5/28 f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We did the 11 AM tea on Saturday, 5/28 for my bachelorette weekend. The service was impeccable. Our waitress was so funny when some members of our party said they would prefer coffee over tea, apparently a sin when you are going for tea, but the service was perfect! The tea was delicious, and the chocolate covered strawberries as a congratulations for getting married soon were a sweet after tea treat! I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Tea in town

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Went here to celebrate a friends birthday. Everything from the service to the food was top notch! They made us feel very special and it was compleatly worth it!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fantastic and so was the teas and desserts and I liked the plate and that the piano player played happy birthday which was very nice.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea--a little pricy

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I have been to a few afternoon teas at different hotels locally and in other states. I really enjoy the Windsor Court, the service, food, tea and ambiance are wonderful! My only complaint is that we are still charged for parking. If you go to Afternoon Tea at the Ritz (or to the restaurant or lounge any time of day) Valet parking is free. It is validated so you aren't paying as much, but still...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the most elegant tea setting that ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was the most elegant tea setting that my daughters and I have been to. Everything about Le Salon was perfect from the tea sandwiches to the beautiful music played by the harpist on Mother's Day. Great attention was given to detail with an added touch of a charming farewell gift of their Mother's Day tea to all of the Mothers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely setting and food for afternoon tea!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The ambiance, service, food, and music are exceptional! Hostess Helen and server Lisa are professional and attentive. Harpist Rachel VanVoorhees was outstanding! Wonderful experience while visiting with a friend and celebrating Mother's Day!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I enjoyed having tea at the Windsor Court; this was my fifth time to do so. The food was wonderful and the service excellent. It is truly one of my favorite experiences.

This time, however, there was a large group that was entirely too loud for the setting. Their nosiness impeded my conversation. Also, the tea itself was warm, but not hot.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Afternoon Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My friends and I attended afternoon tea at Le Salon. It began with a cocktail and finger sandwiches, then scones and tea, and ended with delicate desserts. We had a wonderful time and felt so fancy!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely Tea

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful tea at the Windsor Court to celebrate my sister's upcoming wedding. The staff was attentive and very knowledgeable about the different types of tea on the menu. She made great suggestions for our tea. All the food was delicious and freshly made (we ate at the 2:00 pm tea), and the cocktails were the best of the trip. The teas was wonderful as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tired Venue

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This hotel used to have the best afternoon tea service in New Orleans. I am not sure if it was just an off day for the staff, but it was not how I remembered it. The room seemed very tired, and the wait staff not there normal sharp appearance. Overall the food was fine and service was good it just seemed a little expensive for what you received. When I left ,it felt like been there done that, check it off the list. Don't need to go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Bad Service

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our overview experience at Le Salon at Windsor Court was awful. It took a very long time to get our glass of champagne after we were seated. After we finally ordered, it took a very long time to get our tea. The sandwiches arrived after a very long time, but still no tea served. The sandwich bread was getting stale and hard before we finally got our tea. We had a hard time catching anyone's attention for more tea. For the price of the tea, the service should have been impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

more servers!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

I've never had a bad experience before at le salon at Windsor Court.... But this time, all the tables were filled and there were only 2 waiters! I'm sure something must've happened to the others - spring allergie perhaps? But we had to wait much longer than usual for service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Family Celebration

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a great time at the Easter tea. Everyone at the Windsor Court was friendly and professional. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable. The tea was perfect, the finger sandwiches, scones and dessert were delicious and the cocktails were festive. We enjoyed being able to celebrate three birthdays, and also enjoyed that our entire family was there. (Our youngest was 2.) If you would like to treat yourself to a great tea, this is the place!!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

needs improvement

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The finger sandwiches were not good. The cucumbers should be peeled and the sandwiches were very dry. The curry sandwiches are not very popular with children. The scones were great and the desserts were great. the salmon sandwiches were great

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Morning tea

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We went for the Victorian Tea, we had a very nice server, the food that was served was just okay. The tea should have been hotter, but there was a large variety to chose from. For over $50 a person, not worth the price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

We had an amazing time at High Tea. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We had an amazing time at High Tea. The servers were amazing, very friendly and on top of things. The food was delicious and filling. It was overall an amazing experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Timer

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had four people having tea for the first time at the Windsor Court this past weekend to celebrate an upcoming wedding. We really enjoyed ourselves and thought the food and service were great. I'd agree with other reviews I saw that the food is not bountiful--you're really given exactly the same number of sandwiches--one of each kind (maybe 6?)--and they're very small. Tasty, but even with the scones and small truffles that followed, it was a pretty insubstantial amount of food compared to other teas I've been to. Still, a lovely setting and our waitress had great recommendations and knew a lot about the tea. We'll be back I'm sure, but might plan on lunch beforehand.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Special Treat

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

If you want to experience something in New Orleans, then try afternoon tea at this place. Traditional, quiet and affordable. Their complete menu is online and offers a cocktail, choice of tea, finger sandwiches, scones and dessert all for $37 per person. It is upscale but not stuffy. A fun diversion from the normal NOLA experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite place to have "Tea" in NOLA

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I have had "Tea" at several New Orleans hotels which serve it and Le Salon at the Windsor Court

is my favorite. Your table is set with China not just regular hotel dishes and the wait staff have

been trained to serve beautifully. You always feel that you have had a special treat when you have tea at Le Salon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A sublime experience

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Tea at Le Salon at the Windsor Court is wonderful. It's old school, charming, formal and really fun. What's not to like when you start with a mimosa or glass of wine and then move on to delectable sandwiches, light as air scones and an array of tiny sweets - oh yes the tea is great. And the people watching is engrossing. We had a lovely time and enjoyed the entire experience from start to finish.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Proper Tea!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Within seconds of booking our hotel stay at The Windsor Court Hotel, we booked our tea. This hotel still understands how to serve a proper tea, and it is a highlight of every trip to The Crescent City. Each delectable and beautifully presented course, a wide selection of outstanding teas, and impeccable service combine for a memorable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awkward pretty tea time

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had reservations for 2 made several weeks ahead. The hostess was away from the station, so it was hard to tell what was tea and what was just lobby couches at first. We were dressed up for our Valentine's date, skirt and petticoats for me, vest and jacket for him. She initally seated us on at a couch and club chair. I, being short, had to either perch on the edge of the chair or sink back then have to bend double to reach the table. My date, a tall man, would've had his knees pulled up under his arms to reach the tea. I asked to be reseated; she offered a 4-top, but I asked for an open 2-top (good, as the 4 top ended up filled shortly).

They do not leave a pot of tea for the table, so after cocktails (an odd choice, but I enjoyed the milk punch) and sandwiches had been put down, we went a stretch with no beverage during first course and again during scones. As the diners thinned, the servers had a better time of it. The salmon and truffled egg sandwiches were delicious. The turkey was dull but filling; the rye bread overpowered on the cucumber sandwiches. Other sandwiches were listed online, but not presented. The scones were excellent, warm and served with the best quality of condiments.

We didn't expect to gorge, but the portion control seemed a little draconian. Oddly, the sandwich plate made for two had odd numbers of items on it. No one should have to negotiate, nor defer, regarding sandwiches. Simple even portions would have been more polite. Upon receiving the dessert, there were only one of several items, so it was uncertain what we had and how best to share without dribbling caramel, or chocolate crumbles, or fruit. When I pointed this out to the waitress, she clearly didn't want to hear it. Possibly a common complaint among patrons.

This was not the "three-tiered tray" traditional tea, but the china was pretty, with a cheerful strawberry pattern. As a note, gratuity is pre-added, so in retrospect, we overtipped but that's not of great concern.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Annual Hats and Gloves Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Several ladies in my family attend an afternoon tea at the Windsor court in honor of a family member who loved to have tea there. We require the wearing of hats and gloves to have the true southern belle experience. This was our third year and we have had the best service each time. The staff there make you feel special by providing an accommodating and pleasant experience. The food is always prepared to perfection. Very attentive. I have never been dissatisfied. We look forward to this special experience next year.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My number 1 problem is upon receiving th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My number 1 problem is upon receiving the bill and after Le Salon adds the 22% gratuity onto the total there is a section on the credit card receipt to add an additional gratuity. If one is not paying attention they could easily tip after the tip is already included. You need to change that or tell the servers to notify the patrons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cups Up

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Will try again. The scones were delicious. The finger sandwiches had been made way in advance and the bread was dry. We had the first seating! The variety of teas was impressive but the water was not hot enough.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved it!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food the service the offerings the music all wonderful all great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Afternoon Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We've been to afternoon tea all over America. This one is very good. The ambiance is nice and the service is impeccable. Nicolas was our delightful server. The harp playing was superior!

The food was excellence. Wonderful little tea sandwiches, great scones and nice little miniature deserts. My only suggestion would be more chocolate in the desserts. A very special treat that sets this tea apart is it starts with a cocktail. One of us had mulled wine and the other had sparkling cranberry wine. Excellent! They have a very extensive collection of teas, one of the best we've found. Plenty of them are caffeine free. One in our party can't tolerate caffeine and he had many from which to chose. The seating is also very nice. This is a great place to have afternoon tea.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Afternoon Tea

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

My daughter and I had a wonderful tea at the Windsor. The food was excellent. The service was wonderful. The atmosphere was delightful and relaxing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.