Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel

Experience the delightful tradition of afternoon tea at Le Salon. Sip from a selection of 30 of the finest loose-leaf variety brews while your ears enjoy soft melodies from a harpist or pianist from the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. Enjoy an assortment of delicious tea sandwiches, scones and sweets as you engage in one of New Orleans locals most beloved and fashionable pastimes.

300 Gravier Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, English

Hours of Operation:
Traditional English Tea Service
Thursdays & Fridays at 2:00 PM and
Saturdays & Sundays at 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM.

2018 Themed Tea Event Dates
Themed Tea Services include decor and entertainment that reflect the weekend's theme, as scheduled below.

March 3-4 Superhero Tea *
April 7-8 Wizard Tea*
May 12-13 Mother's Day Tea
June 9-10 Princess Tea*
July 20-21 Prohibition Tea**
August 11-12 Mad Hatter Tea*
September 1-2 LGBTea**
October 20-21 Halloween Tea*

*children's tea service
**21+ONLY, Cocktails will be served in teacups-True Prohibition Style!

Holiday Tea begins on November 23rd, 2018 ending January 4th, 2019.
Reservations for 2018 Holiday Tea will open March 2018!**
Pricing for Holiday Tea is $69.03 per adult and $35.84 for children 12 and under. Prices stated are inclusive of tax and gratuity.



Cross Street:
South Peters

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 596-4773

Website:
http://www.grillroomneworleans.com/le-salon

Entertainment:
Harp or Piano music is enjoyed at every tea service.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the Windsor Court Hotel is validated at $8.00 per vehicle.

Private Party Facilities:
Le Salon can accommodate parties from 1 to 80 guests for afternoon tea. For larger parties, please contact jforbes@windsorcourthotel.com

Private Party Contact:
Jahia Forbes-Public Dining Coordinator: (504) 596-4773

Additional:
Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Seasonal (17)
See All
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort by
S
631 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I have always enjoyed tea parlors but this was my first time at Windsor Court. Not only was the food delicious, but the cozy yet regal atmosphere was worth every penny. I received so many wonderful comments on social media outlets when I shared my Le Salon experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2018

We were there for high tea. The service is top notch. The tea (and everything else) was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2018

This place is great but you probably wouldn’t want to go here every day. It’s a special occasion type of thing and it’s about $37 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Le Salon did a fantastic job helping us celebrate my aunt's 94th birthday. She truly had a wonderful time. Thank you

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Went for afternoon tea for my birthday. Food came long before tea. Tea pot was not on the table, so when you wanted a refill you had to wait for the server to pour. Server was very busy, so long waits for tea. Food okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2018

To clarify service rating. Lisa is 5/5 excellent. She is friendly, professional and very knowledgeable about her craft and teas. However, she seemed to need some help with staffing so she didn’t have to do everything. We love Windsor Court and afternoon tea and can’t wait to get back. As an aside, I would highly recommend fixing the water pressure in the shower. Extremely poor and barely able to get shampoo out of one’s hair. Thanks again...David Berry, MD

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2018

It was a nice way to spend the afternoon enjoying a traditional afternoon tea, with delicious tea sandwiches, scones, and sweets.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2018

My granddaughter and I had a great time at he Mardi Gras tea. The indians danced and played music. There were decorations, balloons, and masks for the guest. The service was prompt and the food delicious. Don't be afraid to bring children. The staff is very accommodating.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Disabled Access, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2018

We enjoyed the first Mardi Gras Tea of the season and were treated to Mardi Gras Indians dancing through the salon. We ordered the spiced vanilla chai tea and really enjoyed it. Typically, you would get a salmon sandwich, but we mentioned that I had a fish allergy and they gave us an extra cucumber, instead. That was so wonderful. The entire afternoon was really great and we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2018

A lovely time to slow down and savor the afternoon. Everyone should do this at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Service was great. The server was excellent. The Windsor poinsettia had a sweet personality with sparkling, bubbly surprise. Tea was fragrant (we had the rose champagne and some pomegranate tea). The sandwiches were delicious. The scones were soft. Loved the sauces, esp. the vanilla bean whipped cream. The custom surprised dessert were small and dainty. We enjoyed our experience! It was lovely!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The seating was prompt and the atmosphere was signature Windsor Court. Our server did an outstanding job of multi-tasking many tables at once without ever letting my cup stay empty for more than a minute or two. The live music was a treat and the food was unique: a few new tea sandwiches such as Curry Chicken along with the classic cucumber/egg. Le Salon's gingerbread and orange/cranberry scones are almost worth fighting over.

Something that could be worked on is a suggested dress code to encourage patrons not to attend tea in sweatshirts and jeans.

Last, but extremely important, is a constant problem which kept me away for a few years: the bill. For some strange reason, every single time I have tea at the Windsor Court, I am overcharged (this time it was by $100.00). I was charged for 4 adults instead of 2 adults and 2 children. By the time tax and gratuity are added on 2 adults, this is an outstanding amount. The Windsor Court has a reputation for this. Worse, after ingratiating themselves to a 22% gratuity by including it in the cost of the tea, there is yet ANOTHER line for "Tip" indicating that the patron should leave ANOTHER tip. This billing procedure appears tacky and downright greedy. All sense of propriety is tossed out of the window when they stick their hand out for a second tip (which they know they're doing - they are the ones who created the receipt!) thus ruining the afternoon tea and sending the guests off on a sour note.

If the Windsor Court would fix this problem it would change everything.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Christmas tea with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Lovely Christmas tea. Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Beautiful and charming! The lobby is spectacular at Christmas time.

3 teenage girls had a blast getting dressed up for tea, and enjoyed the ritual nod the food and of course, the tea. A lovely experience. The food is amazing.

The price is high; 4 people for high tea is over $250. Parking is not included but gratuity is.

It is a wonderful tradition and a gracious 1 and 1/2 hours. I would enthusiastically recommend tea at the Windsor Court for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The Holiday Tea was perfect! It was such a wonderful experience with my granddaughters....everything was beautiful. This has now become a tradition which many of my family members and friends want to join as well!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The Holiday Tea was a wonderful experience! Our waiter, Sean, took excellent care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Le Salon is a great place for high tea at the beautiful Windsor Court Hotel. I loved that they were so accommodating and provided a great atmosphere! They even personalized a little plate for my friend's birthday with one of the items she enjoyed the most!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2017

This could have been a lot nicer had our waitress not waited to pour tea until each food serving. We had to constantly ask for more tea. In addition we had a large party, and they charged 22% gratuity-on top of the taxed total!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Great tradition At Christmas. The tea was delicious and the service was great! I loved the harp music as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2017

The Royal Tea was a lovely Way to spend Christmas Eve with my two daughters. The presentation of the sandwiches and sweets accompanying the tea was perfect. The tea room also set a elegant holiday tone. My only issue was that the service was a bit slow for the high price of the event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Not what we expected. Not worth the time and money !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Christmas tea

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 20, 2017

While I enjoyed the food the music and the ambiance, my favorite part of my experience at Christmas T was my waitress Catalina. There was something special about her that was simply charming and genuine. That meant a lot to me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2017

The holiday afternoon tea was a special and memorable event complimented by the beautiful decor and harp music sweetened by gracious staff and delicious afternoon tea fare. Would definitely recommend as an annual event to share the holiday spirit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Always wonderful but price goes up every year and now a 22% tip added to the bill. Has become very pricey.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Let Salon does a beautiful Holiday Tea. Our server Jane was wonderful, very attentive and we enjoyed talking to her! Love the food and of course our tea!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Lovely holiday experience. For the money, more sandwiches/scones, less sweets. The option to make these selections would be appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The lobby area was absolutely gorgeous decorated for Christmas. Tea with my family was wonderful. Sandwiches, scones, drinks and tea were all awesome. Only one conplaint. Tea could have been served in a more timely manner cause by the time we got our second cup it was cold.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The service was perfect and the ambiance was magical with the tree and Christmas decorations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Service with Lisa was as wonderful as usual. We have been going to tea since 1991 and it has always been absolutely lovely. I go to tea usually 3 -4 times a year any where from 2-8 people in our group. I even gave a bridal shower for about 25 ladies 15 years ago. But, I would never be able to do that again. As the price which has climbed through the years has been noticeable, yesterday's charge was ridiculous. $69 per person! The experience did not match the cost. They served the initial cocktails with the first course, so there is not enough time to just sit and relax and visit with friends. The next 2 courses were brought out while we still had items on the serving dishes, felt rushed. Bread was not fresh and dessert tray was very skimpy. I don't thick you can cut almond cake into smaller pieces. Same for these other 2 little cakes. We split 2 little truffles. Strawberries were nice. As far as the 22% mandatory tip goes, that is unnecessary. This is basically a menu where everyone in the place receives the same thing with the exception of beverages and teas. I have never been to a restaurant where the gratuity was this much and included with the check for less than 6 people. I was actually going to attend tea with 4 people this weekend and with another friend the following day. I chose to call ahead to let my friends know of the current charge and we all decided to forego Windsor Court and choose somewhere else. For myself, to attend tea 3 times was going to cost $210 plus the parking each time and I could not justify the cost and neither could the other ladies. With the constant rise in cost and the quality of the food diminishing over the years, I would have to do my research of reviews before returning. Again, Lisa was a wonderful server.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 13, 2017

We visited for the Holiday Tea, which is one of the special event teas throughout the year. It was wonderful all the way around, and we had such a memorable experience. There was a small group of high school age kids who sang carols and did a bell concert. After that, a lady played Christmas carols on the harp. We were there with my two older relatives and my 3 yr old. Everyone had a ball and the waitstaff was particularly kind and attentive to my 3 yr old. We will definitely be back for another special event tea.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Holiday tea at the Le Salon is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

A wonderful Christmas tradition, the Holiday Tea is a wonderful experience. The decorations are outstanding, and the tea service is outstanding.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 10, 2017

We have been coming to Windsor Court for friend and family special occasion gatherings for decades, including wedding and baby showers. We have seen it change over the years, including expanded options and steep price increases (more than tripled prices over the years), but have continued our traditions, because we love the whole tea ritual, and the ambiance. It is a luxurious experience. This year, however, our party of 4 seasoned Christmas tea celebrants all noticed a marked change. Everything was micro sized! The undersized scones, the onebite sweets, and even the poinsettia champagne cocktail glasses and napkins for the lap were all quite shrunken. We had a good laugh, but it really isn't funny, considering we are paying premium tea prices for a lovely full tea experience. The service was good this year, which has not always been the case in recent years, but the sample sizes made it disappointing.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2017

I went for the Christmas tea service with a friend. It was a nice experience but I felt it was really overpriced. $69 for afternoon tea and cookies was a bit more than I was expecting to pay but the tea was wonderful and the atmosphere was full of Christmas cheer!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 7, 2017

One of my favorite things to do in the City. Always enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful, the music and decorations really gets one in the Christmas spirit. The tea selection is very good, many to select from. The seasonal cocktails delicious. The only mis-step is the food. The sandwiches are good but made a little too far from eating; the turkey bread a little mushy. The baked goods were a little dry and the sweets were either very good (the two tarts) or so so, the two miniature truffles.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 6, 2017

My girlfriends and I get together every December for Christmas tea. It is always fun and the food is delicious. The music is festive and in the background. The salon is decorated beautifully for the holidays adds to the occasion.always enjoy coming here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 3, 2017

I did not get my points for this visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.