Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel

Experience the delightful tradition of afternoon tea at Le Salon. Sip from a selection of 30 of the finest loose-leaf variety brews while your ears enjoy soft melodies from a harpist or pianist from the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. Enjoy an assortment of delicious tea sandwiches, scones and sweets as you engage in one of New Orleans locals most beloved and fashionable pastimes.

300 Gravier Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, English

Hours of Operation:
Traditional English Tea Thursdays & Fridays at 2:00 PM and Saturdays & Sundays at 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM.

During the Summer, Le Salon will switch to an abbreviated schedule.
Le Salon will be closed on Thursdays during this time and tea service will only be held on Friday, Saturday and Sunday at 11am. Exact dates of 2017 Summer schedule TBA. **
**Holiday Tea begins on November 24th ending January 31st. Reservations for 2017 Holiday Tea will open March 2017.**


Cross Street:
South Peters

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 596-4773

Website:
http://www.grillroomneworleans.com/le-salon

Entertainment:
Harp or Piano music is enjoyed at every tea service.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the Windsor Court Hotel is validated at $8.00 per vehicle.

Private Party Facilities:
Le Salon can accommodate parties from 1 to 80 guests for afternoon tea.

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (18)
Special Occasion (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
See All
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I make it a goal to have high tea in ever city I visit, and this was SO enjoyable. I'm still thinking about how amazing the food and experience was, and would highly recommend it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I took my 95 year old mother for Windsor Court's High Tea. It was a treat for us both. The harpist was marvelous, service nice and the experience and conversation delightful. It is nice to have a special place to share with those who are special.
Thank you Windsor Court for allowing this tradition to continue.
Doreen M

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was a return visit to have Tea at Windsor Court on a Sunday afternoon after having a great experience there about 15 yrs ago. In my opinion, It has gone downhill since then. First we were 10 minutes late for our seating reservation due to unusually heavy rains that prevented us from getting there on time. When we arrived, there was no one to greet and seat us. We had to search for the wait staff and then wait a long time before being served. Two parties came in after we were seated and received menus and immediate service. Fortunately, our waitress seemed concerned about our long wait, and did a nice job of attending to our needs for the rest of the experience. As for the food, we found it so-so. However, the tea and cocktails were very nice.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I make it a practice to enjoy afternoon tea at home and wherever I travel. Rather disappointed as the sandwiches and other luncheon items lacked freshness and vibrant flavor. The dessert was not overly artful and it seemed Iike they'd been sitting on trays in the fridge for some time. Our waitress was way overbooked and did her best to remain gracious. The tea section was enjoyed by all. Was miffed to learn at the end that there was a higher flat rate that was inclusive of an alcoholic beverage whether you had selected it or not. My niece was under 21. The website offered two price points. Tacky!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed tea with my daughter and granddaughter. It was so civil and fun!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Beautiful upscale setting with a delicious tea spread, and great service!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Really great service and good deal for the money! The tea sandwiches were excellent!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for high tea and it was fantastic. The sandwiches look small but were very filling. The service was impeccable, the tea was excellent, and the custard and jam were to die for. I'd love to go again if I get back to New Orleans in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The salon is supposed to be a "tech free" zone. We had a woman sitting at the table next to us working on a laptop while talking on her cell phone and gesticulating. Not peaceful & relaxing. The attendant refilled my champagne glass, it was not clear to me that there was an extra charge for that.
I had taken my 16 yo daughter and her friend for a special treat. At almost $200, I did not feel it was a good value. Very disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Every service with Lisa is always a pleasure. She really knows her teas, which is especially helpful for a novice tea drinker like myself. The theme on this occasion was Princess Tea, and Le Salon made it such an enjoyable experience for the youngest to oldest of princesses at heart. One star was deducted for food as the desserts missed the mark this time as opposed to the usual tea service. Otherwise, Afternoon Tea at Le Salon is highly recommended and always a joyful experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We come here all the time and have been for years. We love this place and plan to continue going for years to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

High tea, Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Afternoon tea at Windsor Court was perfect for celebrating my daughter's graduation from nursing school! We throughly enjoyed the afternoon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tea was fabulous!
Would've loved a little more food for my buck :$

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went for afternoon tea. It was fantastic! The room was beautiful. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I thought the atmosphere was great however the overall experience could have been better. For $37 per person plus 22% gratuity it includes a harpist, a cocktail, 4 petite finger sandwiches, bottomless teas, 2 scones and various mini desserts that are not equally distributed. There was only one macaroon that my party of 4 each wanted and other desserts that they provided however we didn't finish the tiny extra puff pastry because it was not good being it was flavorless. Overall my party of 4 was seated promptly. We still waited after being seated as there were limited staff. The server was nice but slow. I assumed the food would come out together however we had cocktails first with a delay. Then the sandwichiches arrived which are unsubstantial, the tea arrived after we were done with our sandwiches and the the scones and lastly the desserts. I would have preferred all the food being out to eat with the tea being at the table so we could quickly refill. I will likely not do this again as I can't justify spending this amount of money and still leave unfulfilled.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Favorite setting for Afternoon Tea! Delicious food, lovely ambiance, excellent service, and beautiful music.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was very good for our afternoon tea. We went during Strawberry Weekend and the food and decoration reflected that. We also enjoyed the harpist. Very nice!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

High tea with friends to celebrate a birthday and to wish a good friend adios. As always, the service was wonderful and the sandwiches and sweets were delicious. It was a little bit noisy this time due to a bridal shower/tea right next to us. The weather was frightful and the service delightful. We are looking forward to doing this again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

afternoon tea for my friend and myself birthdays was just great -we had such a good time the whole experience was so special each one of the staff was so helpful and friendly/welcoming the service was perfect and relaxed and the tea itself was very correctly English with the china, choice of teas, scones, finger sandwiches thank you we will be back

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went for afternoon tea. It was beautiful, but maybe a little overpriced. Tea was wonderful, food was delicious. Desserts were ok. Overall a lovely experience. The harpist was a wonderful touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great way to start our vacation before all the craziness of New Orleans

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Practically perfect in every way!!! absolutely enjoyed every moment!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Husband and I decided to have our Valentines Day date here since we would both be working Valentine's Day. He knows I love having tea here and took me to have a nice day in the quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best place to celebrate and enjoy a delicious and elegant tea service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The atmosphere is somewhat formal but not at all stuffy. The staff is friendly and unpretentious.
For the price though, I do think they could do a bit better with the flavor of the finger sandwiches and the candies. One should not have to pay so much for something that could be made much tastier in ones own home. Although the scones are the best I've ever had; no room for improvement there.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was a very nice place to visit for a special occasion. Ambiance, food, service and location was fabulous. Will definitely return in the future. Q

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

GREAT ambiance! Always great service. Hotel is always beautifully decorated for the holidays. Love this annual holiday tradition with myself my mother and another mother/daughter couple.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tea at Le Salon is always a delightful experience. The service, ambience and overall experience is always consistent. Going for Holiday tea with all the decorative trimmings leaves for even better enjoyment of the festivities and happening during the month December. It is always great to see people still dressing for events such as this. I would recommend this for small groups or intimate couples.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I enjoy the tea at Windsor Court. Very enjoyable. Lovely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

A great place for afternoon tea. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Menu featured a large selection of teas and other selections. Price was good for everything included and service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Always an amazing time at high tea! Service was fantastic and we had a beautiful time. Only part we noticed different from usual is the canapés and scones and desserts all seemed a bit drab/stale. Holiday tea is so busy I'm sure they are all made early on but we noticed the difference. Otherwise, amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Have been doing tea at Christmas for over 15 years. Windsor Court is the best. Great tea food, setting, staff. Hope to have many more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Worst tea service ever, I've been going there for 20 + years, terrible. I had a bug in my Devonshire cream, waited 20 minutes for tea. Waitress wasn't even apologetic. Will not be back next year.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Just what I wanted , great service ,parking on site at a reasonable rate. Really good customer service. Food ok but not fabulous. Really good expeience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fantastic tea, ambiance and excellent service. This will definitely be a holiday tradition we keep up. Thank you for such a wonderful day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Absolutely the best afternoon tea experience in the world!!!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Ambiance nice. Costly for amount of food served. Tea included alcoholic drink. Maybe have two separate menu choices with and without alcohol with two price ranges. Server seemed to be stretched thin because sandwiches were served by someone else before our tea order was even taken by her. Therefore, we had food without tea. Top piece of bread on turkey sandwich was slightly stale, like it had sat out a while. But, atmosphere was lovely, piano playing beautiful, Christmas tree very pretty.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Seated promptly; staff helpful and pleasant. Sandwiches left much to be desired as to the size amount; rather have more food than dessert for the Price. Tea not properly brewed (bottomless pot - is what I was told) which meant the hot water was continually added to the same tea leaves! By cup 3 it could not be drunk due to the fact it was terribly bitter. Shame on the Tea Room!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Quite expensive - lovely tea, setting, excellent service but $69 per person is too much. Also they include a 22% tip, which is fine, but then ask for more. Will find another place for tea next time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.