Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel

Experience the delightful tradition of afternoon tea at Le Salon. Sip from a selection of 30 of the finest loose-leaf variety brews while your ears enjoy soft melodies from a harpist or pianist from the LA Philharmonic Orchestra. Enjoy an assortment of delicious tea sandwiches, scones and sweets as you engage in one of New Orleans locals most beloved and fashionable pastimes.

300 Gravier Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Afternoon Tea, English

Hours of Operation:
Traditional English Tea
Thursdays & Fridays at 2:00 PM and
Saturdays & Sundays at 11:00 AM & 2:00 PM.

Special Tea Events:


SEPTEMBER 2 - 3 | LGBTea (21+)
Traditional Tea will not be available on September 2nd & 3rd 12:30 PM

**COCKTAILS WILL BE SERVED IN TRUE PROHIBITION STYLE – IN TEA CUPS!
(Reservation by Phone ONLY. Please contact us)

OCTOBER 21 - 22 | HALLOWEEN *LITTLE ONES WELCOME!


During the Summer, Le Salon will switch to an abbreviated schedule.
Le Salon will be closed on Thursdays during this time and tea service will only be held on Friday at 2pm, Saturday and Sunday at 11am & 2pm.

**Holiday Tea begins on November 24th ending January 31st.
Reservations for 2017 Holiday Tea are now open!**

Cross Street:
South Peters

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 596-4773

Website:
http://www.grillroomneworleans.com/le-salon

Entertainment:
Harp or Piano music is enjoyed at every tea service.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking at the Windsor Court Hotel is validated at $8.00 per vehicle.

Private Party Facilities:
Le Salon can accommodate parties from 1 to 80 guests for afternoon tea.

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Le Salon at the Windsor Court Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Tea (19)
Special Occasion (12)
Cozy (10)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Live Music (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

My daughter and I had a lovely time, doing tea to celebrate her birthday. The server was very attentive, the sandwiches were especially delicious - scones and desserts were great too, and it all felt very special and not rushed. A very nice day!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was very disappointed. I went last weekend with my mom and everything was splendid. So I wanted to take my friend as a birthday treat and it was not as wonderful as I had hoped this time around and had an entirely different experience. The drinks took a really long time, the courses started really slowly and then everything got really rushed. We had to wait a long time with empty cups before getting refills on our tea. They never offered us additional rounds of cocktails. They kept wishing me a happy birthday when I specifically told them that it was my friend's birthday. I felt because we were younger they didn't pay that much attention to us and didn't give the same service as other tables. They very much catered to the moms with kids and the larger groups of older, richer looking women. If I go again I'll definitely skip the morning tea time. It felt rushed and stressful. Maybe the afternoons are more peaceful and relaxed. (And have less rowdy children running into my chair). The food is good as are the drinks but the service was seriously lacking. If you've got kiddos or are with a large group they will take excellent care of you. I'd be cautious to go though in the morning or with a smaller group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Kimberly was our server. She was polite, helpful, attentive, and wonderful with my daughter (who is 3 years old). She helped make our experience amazing. She encouraged my friend and I to try something different and both suggestions were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Tea at Windsor Court is always fabulous! The tea selection is excellent and scones are divine. Great spot to celebrate with ladies and children (they offer children's tea service).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Absolutely lovely experience with some of the best tea sandwiches I've ever had. The service was top-notch and the ambiance was, too.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The afternoon Tea was very English! Many choices of tea. The menu of Sandwiches and savories was quite English and a little exotic. It is a lovely atmosphere. Our granddaughter was thrilled to have her birthday recognized. It was the highlight

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was our first "formal" afternoon tea and it was delightful. Our server, Jean, was attentive and engaging but not overbearing. She shared our enthusiasm for the occasion of my birthday and our first visit to New Orleans. The prearranged seating to accommodate each party was a good fit, and the live piano music set a lovely tone for the afternoon. Although there was a lot of energetic conversation among the larger parties, my husband and I still experienced an intimate setting at our table for two. The elegant presentation and classic choice of the food made the "tea" extra special. We highly recommend Le Salon for a memorable afternoon treat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

A truly special way to enjoy an afternoon with dear people in your life.

Tags: Live Music, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Lovely atmosphere and enjoyed the tea, sandwiches, an sweets. Be mindful that a 22% gratuity is added to the bill regardless of the size of your party.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have enjoyed afternoon tea several times and I'm never disappointed! I highly recommend for special occasions or just an afternoon with friends!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I make it a goal to have high tea in ever city I visit, and this was SO enjoyable. I'm still thinking about how amazing the food and experience was, and would highly recommend it!!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I took my 95 year old mother for Windsor Court's High Tea. It was a treat for us both. The harpist was marvelous, service nice and the experience and conversation delightful. It is nice to have a special place to share with those who are special.
Thank you Windsor Court for allowing this tradition to continue.
Doreen M

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This was a return visit to have Tea at Windsor Court on a Sunday afternoon after having a great experience there about 15 yrs ago. In my opinion, It has gone downhill since then. First we were 10 minutes late for our seating reservation due to unusually heavy rains that prevented us from getting there on time. When we arrived, there was no one to greet and seat us. We had to search for the wait staff and then wait a long time before being served. Two parties came in after we were seated and received menus and immediate service. Fortunately, our waitress seemed concerned about our long wait, and did a nice job of attending to our needs for the rest of the experience. As for the food, we found it so-so. However, the tea and cocktails were very nice.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I make it a practice to enjoy afternoon tea at home and wherever I travel. Rather disappointed as the sandwiches and other luncheon items lacked freshness and vibrant flavor. The dessert was not overly artful and it seemed Iike they'd been sitting on trays in the fridge for some time. Our waitress was way overbooked and did her best to remain gracious. The tea section was enjoyed by all. Was miffed to learn at the end that there was a higher flat rate that was inclusive of an alcoholic beverage whether you had selected it or not. My niece was under 21. The website offered two price points. Tacky!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Enjoyed tea with my daughter and granddaughter. It was so civil and fun!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Beautiful upscale setting with a delicious tea spread, and great service!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Really great service and good deal for the money! The tea sandwiches were excellent!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for high tea and it was fantastic. The sandwiches look small but were very filling. The service was impeccable, the tea was excellent, and the custard and jam were to die for. I'd love to go again if I get back to New Orleans in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The salon is supposed to be a "tech free" zone. We had a woman sitting at the table next to us working on a laptop while talking on her cell phone and gesticulating. Not peaceful & relaxing. The attendant refilled my champagne glass, it was not clear to me that there was an extra charge for that.
I had taken my 16 yo daughter and her friend for a special treat. At almost $200, I did not feel it was a good value. Very disappointed.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Every service with Lisa is always a pleasure. She really knows her teas, which is especially helpful for a novice tea drinker like myself. The theme on this occasion was Princess Tea, and Le Salon made it such an enjoyable experience for the youngest to oldest of princesses at heart. One star was deducted for food as the desserts missed the mark this time as opposed to the usual tea service. Otherwise, Afternoon Tea at Le Salon is highly recommended and always a joyful experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We come here all the time and have been for years. We love this place and plan to continue going for years to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

High tea, Mother's Day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Afternoon tea at Windsor Court was perfect for celebrating my daughter's graduation from nursing school! We throughly enjoyed the afternoon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tea was fabulous!
Would've loved a little more food for my buck :$

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went for afternoon tea. It was fantastic! The room was beautiful. The atmosphere was relaxing and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I thought the atmosphere was great however the overall experience could have been better. For $37 per person plus 22% gratuity it includes a harpist, a cocktail, 4 petite finger sandwiches, bottomless teas, 2 scones and various mini desserts that are not equally distributed. There was only one macaroon that my party of 4 each wanted and other desserts that they provided however we didn't finish the tiny extra puff pastry because it was not good being it was flavorless. Overall my party of 4 was seated promptly. We still waited after being seated as there were limited staff. The server was nice but slow. I assumed the food would come out together however we had cocktails first with a delay. Then the sandwichiches arrived which are unsubstantial, the tea arrived after we were done with our sandwiches and the the scones and lastly the desserts. I would have preferred all the food being out to eat with the tea being at the table so we could quickly refill. I will likely not do this again as I can't justify spending this amount of money and still leave unfulfilled.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Favorite setting for Afternoon Tea! Delicious food, lovely ambiance, excellent service, and beautiful music.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service was very good for our afternoon tea. We went during Strawberry Weekend and the food and decoration reflected that. We also enjoyed the harpist. Very nice!

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 25, 2017

High tea with friends to celebrate a birthday and to wish a good friend adios. As always, the service was wonderful and the sandwiches and sweets were delicious. It was a little bit noisy this time due to a bridal shower/tea right next to us. The weather was frightful and the service delightful. We are looking forward to doing this again.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

afternoon tea for my friend and myself birthdays was just great -we had such a good time the whole experience was so special each one of the staff was so helpful and friendly/welcoming the service was perfect and relaxed and the tea itself was very correctly English with the china, choice of teas, scones, finger sandwiches thank you we will be back

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went for afternoon tea. It was beautiful, but maybe a little overpriced. Tea was wonderful, food was delicious. Desserts were ok. Overall a lovely experience. The harpist was a wonderful touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great way to start our vacation before all the craziness of New Orleans

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Practically perfect in every way!!! absolutely enjoyed every moment!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Husband and I decided to have our Valentines Day date here since we would both be working Valentine's Day. He knows I love having tea here and took me to have a nice day in the quarter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best place to celebrate and enjoy a delicious and elegant tea service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The atmosphere is somewhat formal but not at all stuffy. The staff is friendly and unpretentious.
For the price though, I do think they could do a bit better with the flavor of the finger sandwiches and the candies. One should not have to pay so much for something that could be made much tastier in ones own home. Although the scones are the best I've ever had; no room for improvement there.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was a very nice place to visit for a special occasion. Ambiance, food, service and location was fabulous. Will definitely return in the future. Q

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

GREAT ambiance! Always great service. Hotel is always beautifully decorated for the holidays. Love this annual holiday tradition with myself my mother and another mother/daughter couple.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tea at Le Salon is always a delightful experience. The service, ambience and overall experience is always consistent. Going for Holiday tea with all the decorative trimmings leaves for even better enjoyment of the festivities and happening during the month December. It is always great to see people still dressing for events such as this. I would recommend this for small groups or intimate couples.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I enjoy the tea at Windsor Court. Very enjoyable. Lovely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.