About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
Portland / Oregon
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

fit for foodies (120)
special occasion (94)
notable wine list (63)
See All
romantic (53)
neighborhood gem (52)
hot spot (38)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 18, 2016

Me & my husband love to visit local restaurants for chef tastings. The menu is Le Pigeon is always changing and bursting with thoughtful and expertly prepared plates. The seating is cozy and the noise level just right. We always try to sit at the bar to watch the chefs at work. They do an excellent job. This is by far the best tasting in Portland with a real eye on the fresher ingredients prepared perfectly. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was great and very attentive. Go ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great and very attentive. Got the five course meal. The price was ok, but feel it was not worth the price. The first two dishes were appetizers, which were very good. However the main course was not so great. The beef cheeks had very little flavor, but the carrots that accompanied it was way salty. The 4th dish was a white fish, again the was under seasoned, but the vegetables and sauce were way too salty.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Go for the food! Love the people you me ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Go for the food! Love the people you meet. Prices reasonable. Just go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprisingly not up to historical standards.

Dined on May 8, 2016

With a broken heart had to send back the first plate. The goat salad was a significant followup disappointment, with the meat far too fried and everything soaked in pickling broth. What happened?!?! We were hungry so didn't dig our heels in.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!

Dined on May 6, 2016

In Portland for a long weekend and enjoyed our dinner at Le Pigeon!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Casual atmosphere, fancy schmancy fare

Dined on May 4, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for dinner. We had the seven course pre-fixe meal. It was all delightful but a bit too much. I'd recommend the five course, that's plenty for anyone. We will go back to order off the regular menu. It was a special occasion, so we played it up big. Memorable experience. Best service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Did not care for seating (long communal ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Did not care for seating (long communal table) but food was wonderful. Well worth the price!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

A great restaurant for a special occasion. Food was really good and very well prepared. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Small intimate space. Entrees were unusu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Small intimate space. Entrees were unusual but well executed. On A Monday the slowest day of the week for most restaurants there was a good crowd no one stormed rushed. Though it is expensive the entrees drinks were not overpriced

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

loved the meal ....dessert pretty uninspired....

Dined on April 25, 2016

not a great setting for an intimate meal....long table seating which is great for some but I prefer a table.... great kitchen .....great staff, well informed on the wines also

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food just maybe trying a little bit too hard

Dined on April 21, 2016

French Food, the inspiration for Le Pigeon, is known for its great sauces. In this, Le Pigeon succeeded admirably. And these great sauces accompanied great ingredients prepared with skill. I enjoyed the meal immensely and had an even more rewarding time perusing the great wine list, ordering from it, and consuming the results. My only criticism, somewhat nebulous, is that the dishes appeared almost too complex. Where an elegant entree, with its great sauces, an accompanying vegetable or starch, would have been enough, there was several times a few more contrasting items on the plate, resulting in some confusion of the effect, of the flavors of the main item. So, great effort, well worth the experience and the expense, but sometimes just a bit over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank God for Le Pigeon

Dined on April 20, 2016

As a fifty-something-before-my-time foodie, I had begun to despair that really great food had disappeared from the scene, being replaced by overpowering trends. After one meal at Le Pigeon my faith has been restored. The cream will always rise to the top and Le Pigeon is the creamiest of the creamy. Wild and organic ingredients are crafted into surprising and delightful world class meals that are subtley disciplined by the classic methods of French cookery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

First visit

Dined on April 19, 2016

We will very likely be back - not inexpensive, but I felt we certainly got our money's worth. Somewhat unusual dishes available for the slightly adventurous. Good, friendly service, and a chance to chat at the communal tables with other diners - a very civilized group when we were there! BTW, parking in the evening on a week night was pretty easy - walked just a couple of blocks from off Burnside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Le Pigeon!! Every ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time at Le Pigeon!! Everything was awesome from the food, our waiter Kevin and the playlist!!! I can see why it's Portland's best restaurant and it will definitely be my go to when I return. Thanks for giving me another reason to come back!!

food1
ambience4
service4

Disappointing. I've been several times a ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Disappointing. I've been several times and always had amazing dinners. It was an off night. The food was inedible. I won't rush back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything about our experience at Le Pigeon was top notch. I've never been treated better at a restaurant - I really felt like family. Everyone from the waitstaff to the cooks were incredibly friendly and always willing to talk about the dishes and answer our questions. The food was incredible. Totally out of this world and like nothing I've ever had before. They're not restricted by any norms and really let their food take creative directions all their own. The best part about it was that the restaurant isn't pretentious at all. Le pigeon is the perfect mix of five-star world class dining with an attitude for the modern age. They don't care if you order a seven course meal with wine pairings or a burger and a coors at the bar - the staff just wants to serve you the best food they can cook without any judgements. I will absolutely recommend Le Pigeon to anyone and everyone looking for the best food and dining experience in Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wish Le Pigeon was in Seattle!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Every item on their small menu looks to be a winner! Unfortunately, we couldn't eat more! We shared an appetizer, salad, two entrées, and dessert (crazy good chocolate ice cream sandwich with Oregon truffles and some killer salted caramel). I'll be heading back to Portland for this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 1, 2016

My spouse has been wanting to dine here almost since they opened. We've been to the owner's other place Little Bird four times and absolutely love everything about it: inventive food, wine list, service, atmosphere all outstanding. We were expecting to have the same type of experience at Le Pigeon so maybe went with too high expectations. We sat at the bar so were able to watch the prep. Didn't expect to be entertained or have a Benihana experience but a question to one cook elicited a quick, no nonsense reply with no smile or apparent joy in the task at hand nor any elaboration. Found the menu to be a bit on the heavy side with none of the inventive dishes we've had at the other place. The food was certainly well executed but it seems over priced by comparison to other establishments in the same category. Service was efficient, perfunctory and to the point. It could be that the place is so small and serving the bar doesn't appear to be easy that all the attention is paid to not dropping or spilling anything and dodging chairs and diners. All in all, a let down and definitely over hyped.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, inventive menu

Dined on March 31, 2016

The restaurant is small with some shared tables. The menu is original, the wine list very good and the service is excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Our meal was delicious, but service was ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was delicious, but service was lacking tonight. Some of the servers seemed standoffish, and one of them kept mispronouncing "latke." My poor Jewish ears couldn't take it!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a special occasion.

Dined on March 22, 2016

What a wonderful place for a special dinner with my wife. they offer an engaging wine/beverage list with knowledgable waiters, the appetizers were fantastic. i went for the burger, which even though the least expensive on the menu, did not disappoint. the pigeon sides were better than the main dish. i did not realize you could walk in and sit at the bar, where you can watch cooking on display

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but not great!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Was really looking forward to our meal at Pigeon (this was a trip with friends who had not been before) as previous experiences had been great. Now that the restaurant has a sister property, other chefs are cooking the food and while the meal was well prepared and interesting, overall it was good but not great. Portland food scene is extremely competitive and must be brutal to maintain that level of excellence and innovation. Service was outstanding and staff is very knowledgeable and professional, no complaints there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, amazing, special.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Foodies, this is a must go place with food only to be rivaled with the NY food scene. Amazing food for a sophisticated palate and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and price variance. ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Great wine selection and price variance. Fun and interesting foo. Amazing cognac

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best Dining in Portland

Dined on March 12, 2016

I've been to Le Pigeon several times and love taking my out of town guests here. The food is amazing and the service outstanding. Le Pigeon never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious treat and adventure!!

Dined on March 12, 2016

I love to watch food prep and the skill used to make the food delicious and beautiful. On the recommendation of other's review I requested a seat at the bar. We started with the scallops. They were beautiful, perfectly seasoned, and disappeared all to quickly. I had the beef cheeks and my husband had the fish. We shared bites of each others food and both were beautiful. For the beef, the crunchy potato underneath was the special gem and the fish had a carrot slaw with smoked salmon? that was a wonderful surprise. For dessert , I had the profiteroles and my husband had a mango pavlova. I thought I was full but managed to finish my dessert because it was the best! Overall just memorable and outstanding!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Inventive and delicious food menu, wide ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Inventive and delicious food menu, wide variety of wine. Service was always courteous and polite, but not over bearing; a perfect compliment to the ambiance. The food and wine speak for themselves and everything else operates quietly in the background.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Pretentious and disappointing

Dined on March 10, 2016

Avoid this place. Food was awful. None of our dishes made any sense. Too many disparate ingredients, overly sweet sauces and too salty fried elements. Very expensive for very poor quality. Do NOT recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Birthday Dinner to Remember

Dined on March 9, 2016

Our first visit to celebrate my partner's birthday. Tried the 5 course sampler. We had our favorites among the offerings, but every dish was an exciting experience for our taste buds. The scallop dish, clams, and petrale sole were favorites. I love it when you can taste all the ingredients in a dish. Simply wonderful! The pastry chef decorated a white plate with HAPPY BIRTHDAY and her NAME. And on that plate, she placed a rich dessert. Beautiful presentation. Wine list offered excellent choices. We were cared for and pampered throughout our meal. This was a luxury experience for us. More than we ever expected. We paid the price and were happy to do so!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

So Disappointed

Dined on March 8, 2016

Had a pork and clam dish the wait person recommended. Not only was it a really poor combination, the pork was dry and overdone and the clams were so tough I couldn't extract one from the shell. If I ever go back it would be for the burger only which looked great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time !!!

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

Been meaning to try Le Pigeon for years...It was a good as everyone says. Service was so friendly and knowledgable. Fun atmosphere and very lively and inviting. I will go back and sit at the bar next time for a switch. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Terrible noise

Dined on March 5, 2016

I took my boyfriend to La Pigeon for his birthday. The restaurant is noisy, in general, but got exceedingly, painfully so when a band started a sound check in the venue above, that continued the entire length of our meal. Management apologized, but told us there was nothing they could do about it. It ruined our meal and evening. We won't ever be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and wonderful service. If ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful service. If you are not familiar with French food, definitely review the menu in advance. Seating is communal, however when you make reservations in advance you get a little more space. Adorable place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had some friends in town from BC and ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We had some friends in town from BC and took them to dinner. Table was ready on arrival, service was excellent, wine list was great as was the food. Even the people sharing our table were interesting. All in all, a first class evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Enjoyable meal, but service lacking

Dined on March 3, 2016

We loved the food. It was all complex and balanced and delicious. The service, however was a bit cold. The hostess was nice, but our waitress was either stressed or in a bad mood. The dessert was also lacking. The sorbet was hard...it had clearly been scooped into bowls earlier and then put in the freezer. It was like trying to break into an ice scuplture, and not very pleasant to try to eat. The communal tables are hip, but not sure it's the best use of the space. We'll return and sit at the bar next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall amazing experience

Dined on March 3, 2016

From start to finish the experience at Le Pigeon was incredible. The wait staff, chefs, and food were pitch perfect. We sat at the bar to watch the chefs prepare our food and they talked with us and I felt even more connected to the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for birthday celebrations

Dined on March 2, 2016

Le pigeon is one of my favorites. It's where I take my friends for their birthdays. I ask to be taken to Little Bird! Just as good, but takes me out of my inner SE neighborhood. You can't go wrong with either one. Atmosphere is great at both. Food is fabulous at both. I had the beef cheeks at Le Pigeon last week and it was to die for, with the latke on top and the reduced beef sauce. Sitting next to us was a party of 4 who ordered almost everything... Including the desserts. I almost took one person up on his offer of a bite. Tempting, but I knew he would regret giving it away.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It is wonderful, my favorite restaurant ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

It is wonderful, my favorite restaurant in Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My dish, the Salisbury Steak, was a bit too salty.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Delicious dessert, it was supreme. We both loved our wine/sherry choices. I put lots of salt on my food in general and I thought my dish was a bit too salty in general. I like my husband's fish dish, but he did not. I think it was an adventurous choice for him and I think it was very well executed. Salad to start was really savory and our service was so friendly, seamless, non-intrusive and professional. We love Le Pigeon and always come to celebrate our anniversary and will go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Night out with the hubby

Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I have talked about going here for quit some time. When we initally got there we were seated quickly to a table in front by the window and door. We were the first ones to our table and were seated at the end close to the door. (I liked this as it would be easier to get in and out). The table sit six and is shared with others. The other four arrived shortly. The staff was very attentive, friendly and professional. The only downside I found was there is a theater next door, and they were warming up the music for the first 10 - 15 minutes and it was REALLY loud~so I ordered a glass of wine right away! :-) Our starters were Butter Lettuce blue cheese, chives, radish and Bay Scallop Crudo**celery root, green apple, jalapeno, mezcal. Both were delicious! My entree was Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak* mushroom & oxtail gravy, foie gras vinaigrette, fried onions. It was tender and seasoned perfectly! Yummy! My hubby choose Beef Cheek Bourguignon ‘2016’potato latke, red onion marmalade,carrots montreal . Wonderful! It was a wonderful night with wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.