About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Honey Bacon Apricot Cornbread with Maple Ice Cream
Foie Gras Profiteroles With Caramel And Sea Salt
Creme Brulee
Beef Cheek Bourguignon
Mango Ice Box Cake
Chicken And Morels, Schmaltz Roasted Carrots, Ramp Pesto, Asparagus
Grilled Pigeon "Ratatouille"
Foie Gras "Hot Brown"
Beef Tartare And Salt & Pepper Squid
Duck Blanquette
Smoked Rabbit Pie
Fish Of The Day - Wild Salmon
Burger
Fois Gras + Uni
Pot De Creme With Strawberries
Bread and Butter
Smoked Artichoke "Carbonara"
Columbia River Salmon With Chickpea Fries
Butter Lettuce Salad
Hamachi, Pineapple Teriyaki, Pickled Jalapeño, Foie Gras Macadamia Nut Butter, Shiso
Angel Hair Pasta, Clams, Spring Onion Pesto, Parmesan, Roe
Chocolate Vanilla Truffle
Profiteroles
Steamed Oregon sea bass, New Zealand spinach, guanciale vinaigrette, watermelon almond gazpacho, razor clam ceviche, shaved lobster mushroom
Foie gras ice cream profiteroles, caramel sauce, sea salt
Purple shiso semifreddo, peaches, plums, mirin, black sesame
Quail With Gouda Salumi Risotto
Ginger peach pavlova, meringue, mascarpone, mint
Thai barbecue pigeon, fish sauce and shrimp paste marinated breast, pigeon heart fried rice, fermented green papaya, chile peanut butter compound butter
Foie gras & vadouvan curry terrine, tomato foie gras jam, marjoram honey, ratatouille escabeche, grilled bread
Cuttlefish, apple cider viengar braised chanterelle mushrooms, peach chutney, slice green olives, black olive sauce, rosemary
Braised and fried rabbit, bacon and Beaujolais creamed corn, tomatoes, plums, thyme pistou
Hawai'i - Foie - O
Veal
Nectarine Pie With Maple Mascarpone
Tiramisu
Foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt
Mache with celery root, brie, almond
Lamb with green garlic risotto, pepper, fennel
Creamed Rabbit with Polenta and Black Truffles
Paris Mushroom Carpaccio
Quail Over Risotto, Taleggio
Duck Filet With Spätzli, Tripe And Black Trumpets
Razor Clams, Manila, Pasta Special
Crab Cakes
pan roasted striped bass
Watermelon Radish Orange, Avocado, Poppy Seed
Crispy Shrimp, Fermented Mango Salad, Tarragon Goddess, Cashews
Foie Gras Profiterole
Crème Brûlée, Pumpkin Pot De Creme, Maple Whip Cream, Molasses Cookie
Foie Gras, Artichoke, Green Peppercorn, Brioche
Zucchini Cake, Lemon Mousse, Lemon Balm
Steve's Cheese
Glazed Eel, Figs, Unagi Custard, Bacon Chestnut Fritter, Truffle Vinaigrette
Grilled Venison, Bone Marrow Pumpkin Pie, Onion Chutney, Brussel Slaw
Foie Gras, Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak, Potatoes, Steak Sauce
Striped Sea Bass
Halibut
Air Dried Beef Carpaccio
Tongue
Foie gras monte cristo
Chicken And Lobster Tart
Corned Lamb Shoulder
Foie Gras
Duck Confit
Pork Cutlet over mac & cheese
Beef Tartare And Fried Oyster
Hanger Steak* Pepperoni, Pineapple, Jalapeño

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Portland
Notable Wine List
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

fit for foodies (118)
special occasion (95)
notable wine list (61)
See All
neighborhood gem (55)
romantic (50)
hot spot (39)
good for groups (19)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overrated faux French cuisine. Service ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Overrated faux French cuisine. Service was excellent but food was mediocre.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXQUISITE!!! This restaurant is amazing ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

EXQUISITE!!! This restaurant is amazing in every way. Exceptional service, truly over the top knowledgeable of menu and ingredients, perfect recommendations. The food was exquisite!! We did the 7 course with wine pairing. Absolutely incredible! Unique combinations, wine pairings were a home run. Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

AMAZING MEAL

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant was on a list of top 100 restaurants in the US and since I was going to be in Portland I just had to try it. It did not disappoint! Three of us went and all had amazing meals. The food is very creative and absolutely delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Time at a French Restaurant

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a great time at Le Pigeon! The food was so different and delicious! It was great to get to try foods I never have and whether I liked them or not, I was glad I did! The Wagyu Brisket was the most amazing for me personally, but I can't say anything wasn't good!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Dinner at Le Pigeon!!!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate at Le Pigeon the other night and had a really fabulous dinner. Everything we ordered was marvelous. The Spring Salmon "Pokey" was not your traditional tartare, but was spread out on the plate with hard boiled eggs and other goodies, lovely. The Seared Foie Gras was spectacular. The Beef Cheek Bourguignon and fish special were both great too. We finished off the meal with an order of Foie Gras Profiteroles (because you just can't get enough Foie Gras). This was a very inventive dessert and a nice complement to the meal. The only small downside of Le Pigeon is the communal tables which make this not so much a "romantic" dining experience. The flipside, you might get to see some dishes served next to you before you order and possibly meet some other interesting diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was very friendly.

Dined on June 6, 2016

The hostess was very friendly.

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Music weird and way too loud

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service very good. however, the music was WAY TOO LOUD and oddly not at all in keeping with the food and ambience. The music was weird retro songs from the 70's and got in the way of a positive experience. We had a hard time hearing eachother talk and we couldn't hear the waiter well when he described the tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Pigeon

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great french inspired menu that is creative and extremely well executed from appetizers to dessert. I had the Beef Cheek Bourguignon and it was fork tender with a deep dark sauce. Fantastique! The Profiteroles with Foie Gras are a beautiful sweet/salt combo you will remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. Cute, small place with community style tables. Service was good. Food was very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again this is one of best dining ex ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Once again this is one of best dining experiences I have ever had. I have been to some amazing restaurants and this one is still at the top of my list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food!

Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been here 4 times now, and each time has been terrific! The food is absolutely amazing! The wait staff are caring and offer advice about wine or other questions we've had. The other guests we've been seated next to, have been an added bonus to a lovely experience. Each time I visit my daughter in Portland, I make a point to visit Le Pigeon - and I've given her gift certificates for birthday and holidays! It really is THAT good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the lamb salad, the beef bourguig ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the lamb salad, the beef bourguignon, the duck entree, and the strawberry shortcake dessert. All of them were amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Lives up to "Keep Portland Wierd" slogan!

Dined on May 27, 2016

We were glad they called us to let us know ahead of time about the communal seating! My husband was put off by that, and I dragged him there anyway. We started with a Foie Gras that was out of this world, so that got us off to a good start. The wine selection was excellent which also helped him adjust to this new experiment. The duck dish with edamame and beans was filled with flavor and the duck was done to perfection. His tortellini was good but he probably should have ordered something a bit different. Overall, a good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS. Hali ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS. Halibut was cooked perfect !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful All Around!

Dined on May 19, 2016

My partner had been telling me her desire to dine at LePigeon ever since she first moved to town. I made a reservation for her birthday and managed to keep it a surprise even though I needed her to supply certain information to make the evening a success. You see, she has an allium allergy, the onion strain, and Le Pigeon called to inquiry if we would be partaking in the Tasting Menu. I had to ask if she preferred a tasting menu or a la carte, we decided upon the five course tasting menu and I also set her pairing to be the premium pairing. When we arrived, we were given the choice of joining a table or sitting at the counter, we took the counter and had no regrets- we got to see the magic happen! The staff was so kind and patient in their concern for my partner's allergy that we got so excited we upped to the seven course tasting menu. We are so grateful to the chef for taking so much time and care in customizing that menu to be onion free, we know with french cuisine how hard that had to have been. Everything was amazing and so very worth it. The evening has become legend as one of my partner's best birthdays ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 18, 2016

Me & my husband love to visit local restaurants for chef tastings. The menu is Le Pigeon is always changing and bursting with thoughtful and expertly prepared plates. The seating is cozy and the noise level just right. We always try to sit at the bar to watch the chefs at work. They do an excellent job. This is by far the best tasting in Portland with a real eye on the fresher ingredients prepared perfectly. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was great and very attentive. Go ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great and very attentive. Got the five course meal. The price was ok, but feel it was not worth the price. The first two dishes were appetizers, which were very good. However the main course was not so great. The beef cheeks had very little flavor, but the carrots that accompanied it was way salty. The 4th dish was a white fish, again the was under seasoned, but the vegetables and sauce were way too salty.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

The food is phenomenal, but the service ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is phenomenal, but the service is very inconsistent, not the strength here...Reserve your table early in the evening to avoid waiting outside on the sidewalk while other diners wrap up. Seems there are some disgruntled employees afoot.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Go for the food! Love the people you me ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Go for the food! Love the people you meet. Prices reasonable. Just go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Surprisingly not up to historical standards.

Dined on May 8, 2016

With a broken heart had to send back the first plate. The goat salad was a significant followup disappointment, with the meat far too fried and everything soaked in pickling broth. What happened?!?! We were hungry so didn't dig our heels in.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!

Dined on May 6, 2016

In Portland for a long weekend and enjoyed our dinner at Le Pigeon!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Casual atmosphere, fancy schmancy fare

Dined on May 4, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for dinner. We had the seven course pre-fixe meal. It was all delightful but a bit too much. I'd recommend the five course, that's plenty for anyone. We will go back to order off the regular menu. It was a special occasion, so we played it up big. Memorable experience. Best service too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Did not care for seating (long communal ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Did not care for seating (long communal table) but food was wonderful. Well worth the price!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on April 28, 2016

A great restaurant for a special occasion. Food was really good and very well prepared. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Small intimate space. Entrees were unusu ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Small intimate space. Entrees were unusual but well executed. On A Monday the slowest day of the week for most restaurants there was a good crowd no one stormed rushed. Though it is expensive the entrees drinks were not overpriced

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

loved the meal ....dessert pretty uninspired....

Dined on April 25, 2016

not a great setting for an intimate meal....long table seating which is great for some but I prefer a table.... great kitchen .....great staff, well informed on the wines also

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food just maybe trying a little bit too hard

Dined on April 21, 2016

French Food, the inspiration for Le Pigeon, is known for its great sauces. In this, Le Pigeon succeeded admirably. And these great sauces accompanied great ingredients prepared with skill. I enjoyed the meal immensely and had an even more rewarding time perusing the great wine list, ordering from it, and consuming the results. My only criticism, somewhat nebulous, is that the dishes appeared almost too complex. Where an elegant entree, with its great sauces, an accompanying vegetable or starch, would have been enough, there was several times a few more contrasting items on the plate, resulting in some confusion of the effect, of the flavors of the main item. So, great effort, well worth the experience and the expense, but sometimes just a bit over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank God for Le Pigeon

Dined on April 20, 2016

As a fifty-something-before-my-time foodie, I had begun to despair that really great food had disappeared from the scene, being replaced by overpowering trends. After one meal at Le Pigeon my faith has been restored. The cream will always rise to the top and Le Pigeon is the creamiest of the creamy. Wild and organic ingredients are crafted into surprising and delightful world class meals that are subtley disciplined by the classic methods of French cookery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

First visit

Dined on April 19, 2016

We will very likely be back - not inexpensive, but I felt we certainly got our money's worth. Somewhat unusual dishes available for the slightly adventurous. Good, friendly service, and a chance to chat at the communal tables with other diners - a very civilized group when we were there! BTW, parking in the evening on a week night was pretty easy - walked just a couple of blocks from off Burnside.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Le Pigeon!! Every ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a great time at Le Pigeon!! Everything was awesome from the food, our waiter Kevin and the playlist!!! I can see why it's Portland's best restaurant and it will definitely be my go to when I return. Thanks for giving me another reason to come back!!

food1
ambience4
service4

Disappointing. I've been several times a ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Disappointing. I've been several times and always had amazing dinners. It was an off night. The food was inedible. I won't rush back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything about our experience at Le Pigeon was top notch. I've never been treated better at a restaurant - I really felt like family. Everyone from the waitstaff to the cooks were incredibly friendly and always willing to talk about the dishes and answer our questions. The food was incredible. Totally out of this world and like nothing I've ever had before. They're not restricted by any norms and really let their food take creative directions all their own. The best part about it was that the restaurant isn't pretentious at all. Le pigeon is the perfect mix of five-star world class dining with an attitude for the modern age. They don't care if you order a seven course meal with wine pairings or a burger and a coors at the bar - the staff just wants to serve you the best food they can cook without any judgements. I will absolutely recommend Le Pigeon to anyone and everyone looking for the best food and dining experience in Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wish Le Pigeon was in Seattle!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Every item on their small menu looks to be a winner! Unfortunately, we couldn't eat more! We shared an appetizer, salad, two entrées, and dessert (crazy good chocolate ice cream sandwich with Oregon truffles and some killer salted caramel). I'll be heading back to Portland for this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 1, 2016

My spouse has been wanting to dine here almost since they opened. We've been to the owner's other place Little Bird four times and absolutely love everything about it: inventive food, wine list, service, atmosphere all outstanding. We were expecting to have the same type of experience at Le Pigeon so maybe went with too high expectations. We sat at the bar so were able to watch the prep. Didn't expect to be entertained or have a Benihana experience but a question to one cook elicited a quick, no nonsense reply with no smile or apparent joy in the task at hand nor any elaboration. Found the menu to be a bit on the heavy side with none of the inventive dishes we've had at the other place. The food was certainly well executed but it seems over priced by comparison to other establishments in the same category. Service was efficient, perfunctory and to the point. It could be that the place is so small and serving the bar doesn't appear to be easy that all the attention is paid to not dropping or spilling anything and dodging chairs and diners. All in all, a let down and definitely over hyped.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, inventive menu

Dined on March 31, 2016

The restaurant is small with some shared tables. The menu is original, the wine list very good and the service is excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Our meal was delicious, but service was ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was delicious, but service was lacking tonight. Some of the servers seemed standoffish, and one of them kept mispronouncing "latke." My poor Jewish ears couldn't take it!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

great for a special occasion.

Dined on March 22, 2016

What a wonderful place for a special dinner with my wife. they offer an engaging wine/beverage list with knowledgable waiters, the appetizers were fantastic. i went for the burger, which even though the least expensive on the menu, did not disappoint. the pigeon sides were better than the main dish. i did not realize you could walk in and sit at the bar, where you can watch cooking on display

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good but not great!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Was really looking forward to our meal at Pigeon (this was a trip with friends who had not been before) as previous experiences had been great. Now that the restaurant has a sister property, other chefs are cooking the food and while the meal was well prepared and interesting, overall it was good but not great. Portland food scene is extremely competitive and must be brutal to maintain that level of excellence and innovation. Service was outstanding and staff is very knowledgeable and professional, no complaints there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, amazing, special.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Foodies, this is a must go place with food only to be rivaled with the NY food scene. Amazing food for a sophisticated palate and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine selection and price variance. ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Great wine selection and price variance. Fun and interesting foo. Amazing cognac

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.