About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Honey Bacon Apricot Cornbread with Maple Ice Cream - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Burger - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Fois Gras + Uni - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Profiteroles With Caramel And Sea Salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Creme Brulee - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Cheek Bourguignon - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Grilled Pigeon "Ratatouille" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras "Hot Brown" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Tartare And Salt & Pepper Squid - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Smoked Rabbit Pie - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Blanquette - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Smoked Artichoke "Carbonara" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Mango Ice Box Cake - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chicken And Morels, Schmaltz Roasted Carrots, Ramp Pesto, Asparagus - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Fish Of The Day - Wild Salmon - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Pot De Creme With Strawberries - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Bread and Butter - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Columbia River Salmon With Chickpea Fries - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce Salad - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hamachi, Pineapple Teriyaki, Pickled Jalapeño, Foie Gras Macadamia Nut Butter, Shiso - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Angel Hair Pasta, Clams, Spring Onion Pesto, Parmesan, Roe - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chocolate Vanilla Truffle - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Mache with celery root, brie, almond - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Lamb with green garlic risotto, pepper, fennel - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Steamed Oregon sea bass, New Zealand spinach, guanciale vinaigrette, watermelon almond gazpacho, razor clam ceviche, shaved lobster mushroom - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Thai barbecue pigeon, fish sauce and shrimp paste marinated breast, pigeon heart fried rice, fermented green papaya, chile peanut butter compound butter - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Ginger peach pavlova, meringue, mascarpone, mint - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras ice cream profiteroles, caramel sauce, sea salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras & vadouvan curry terrine, tomato foie gras jam, marjoram honey, ratatouille escabeche, grilled bread - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Cuttlefish, apple cider viengar braised chanterelle mushrooms, peach chutney, slice green olives, black olive sauce, rosemary - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Braised and fried rabbit, bacon and Beaujolais creamed corn, tomatoes, plums, thyme pistou - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Purple shiso semifreddo, peaches, plums, mirin, black sesame - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Creamed Rabbit with Polenta and Black Truffles - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Paris Mushroom Carpaccio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Filet With Spätzli, Tripe And Black Trumpets - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Quail Over Risotto, Taleggio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Razor Clams, Manila, Pasta Special - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
pan roasted striped bass - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crab Cakes - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Profiteroles - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Watermelon Radish Orange, Avocado, Poppy Seed  - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Profiterole - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Striped Sea Bass - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Zucchini Cake, Lemon Mousse, Lemon Balm - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crème Brûlée, Pumpkin Pot De Creme, Maple Whip Cream, Molasses Cookie - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crispy Shrimp, Fermented Mango Salad, Tarragon Goddess, Cashews - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Grilled Venison, Bone Marrow Pumpkin Pie, Onion Chutney, Brussel Slaw - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Steve's Cheese - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Glazed Eel, Figs, Unagi Custard, Bacon Chestnut Fritter, Truffle Vinaigrette - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras, Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak, Potatoes, Steak Sauce - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras, Artichoke, Green Peppercorn, Brioche - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hawai'i - Foie - O - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Tiramisu - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Halibut - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Air Dried Beef Carpaccio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Veal - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Tongue - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras monte cristo - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chicken And Lobster Tart - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Confit - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Pork Cutlet over mac & cheese - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Corned Lamb Shoulder - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Tartare And Fried Oyster - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Agnolotti Black Truffle, Parmesan - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Escargot & Rice Porridge Chicken-Snail Sausage, Fried Gremolata - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hanger Steak* Pepperoni, Pineapple, Jalapeño - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (55)
Creative Cuisine (50)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Open Kitchen (33)
Local Ingredients (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Tasting Menu (30)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (17)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (15)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Organic (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at Le Pigeon and the food did ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

First time at Le Pigeon and the food did not disappoint. Had the five course tasting menu with the paired wines. All were excellent, though very pricey. It is only worth it if you are either rich or very much into fine food, or preferably, both. Service was also excellent. The big shortcoming in my view is the room, including seating and ambiance. Communal seating is not conducive to fine dining, as we were subject to intrusive conversations and little elbow space. The boxy room is not attractive. Shame such good food is served in such a poor environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent food, relaxed, warm atmosphere ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, relaxed, warm atmosphere; will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I had a really nice anniv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had a really nice anniversary dinner at Le Pigeon. We did not find the music to be very loud or unappealing as others reviews had suggested. There was a sound check at some point and that was fairly loud, but did not last very long. Also, despite having common tables, the staff seat people so as to space them out. We only people seating on either side of us for the later part of our meal.

The food was delicious. I am a somewhat cautious eater and I found the flavor combinations of the food incredible and well worth the risk of trying things I was not sure I would love. The staff also treated us to a lovely drink to accompany our desert because it was our anniversary.

Overall we had a really lovey experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's rare to find beef cheek, pigeon, an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

It's rare to find beef cheek, pigeon, and quail-ducken on a menu and to have them all sound delicious. We had the beef cheek which was fork tender and just melted in your mouth. The famous burger did not disappoint one iota. The ambience was cozy and warm. The communal seating was an interesting touch as well. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic as usual. The only problem is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic as usual. The only problem is deciding what to order with so many fabulous and unique dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had two complaints if you wish to say ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had two complaints if you wish to say that a) someone was smoking a cigar outside the restaurant and since we had window seats, the smoke came into the restaurant and bothered one of our party and the second is that the people sitting at the bar didn't seem to care about us who were seated at the window table.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Great dinner my husband and I had. We s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great dinner my husband and I had. We shared a soup which had veal cheek fritters in a mushroom and artichoke base. I had short ribs with a harissa seasoning and truffled yogurt. My husband had the fish special which was mahi mahi. Both entrees were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was as usual on top of his ga ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was as usual on top of his game. The 2004 Pierre Moncuit champagne and '13 Judith Beck St. Laurent paired perfectly with apps and entrees. Ahi tartare, chanterelle and sunchoke soup, harissa glazed short ribs and dry aged pigeon were not to be missed. If you leave Le Pigeon without ordering foie gras profiteroles for dessert you've wasted the evening. My only regret is we didn't order seconds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Well worth t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Well worth the wait and the need for reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over rated. Ambiance was terrible. Had t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Over rated. Ambiance was terrible. Had to talk very loud to be heard. Loud music and did not appreciate having a couple with a fussy infant seated at the community table that also happened to be right next to the front door. Really nothing spectacular or memorable about the appetizers or main courses. None of us found the need to insist that the others try their dish. Fish was over cooked. Really not sure what the fuss is all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The menu was limiting and they seemed li ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The menu was limiting and they seemed like they were trying to hard to achieve a perfectly balanced meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was top notch! Its a must eat i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was top notch! Its a must eat in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My ono was only half cooked: I wasn't su ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My ono was only half cooked: I wasn't sure if this fish was supposed to be seared or not.

The bed of what apperared to be cole slaw in pesto sauce did NOT appeal to my taste buds.

The communal seating along with the Guns and Roses music did nothing to add to my dining experience.

I have made many, many trips to

Paris in the past year and found nothing even closely resembling French cuisine served here.

My husband and I left wondering why this restaurant received high marks.

We were hoping for

much better food and a much nicer atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had the 5 course meal with wine pairi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had the 5 course meal with wine pairings and every dish and wine was amazing. My only suggestion would be to assure that a vegetable dish be included in the 5 courses. Every dish except the dessert was a meat or fish dish. All delicious but a bit heavy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food presentation and taste was divi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food presentation and taste was divine and the service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service were top notch!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first experience at Le Pige ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first experience at Le Pigeon, we sat at a large communal table with people on either side, it was terribly awkward and we found ourselves not even able to talk to each other across the table because it was so loud. I asked one of the wait staff what the loud music was and where it was coming from, it seems there is a night club that runs sound checks so loud it was causing our water glasses to shake. Once the sound check was over the restaurant music was almost as bad.

The couple next to us were on their cell phones the entire time they were dining, and what made it completely unbearable was the gentleman across from me was coughing and was clearly sick, being in such close proximity to people during the meal was miserable. Towards the end of our seven course meal I started covering my face with my napkin because the coughing kept getting worse.

Most courses were ok but for the price not what I would have expected but we were impressed with the reserve wines. Won't go back anytime soon, not a great experience and definitely not a relaxing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

This is an incredible exploration of dec ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is an incredible exploration of decadent eating, with plenty of delicious plays on fat and super rich flavors. However, it feels like this indulgence is done with intelligence and intention, as opposed to an over-reaching chef throwing a bunch of buzz-ingredients at a dish. Really good wines as well, and don't miss dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We did the five course tasting menu with ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We did the five course tasting menu with wine parings. The server was fantastic, very knowledgeable about the food and wine. The food was exquisite! Best food i have had in Portland and in the US so far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a perfect place for quality food ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always a perfect place for quality food and fantastic service. The new foie gras and beef cheek bourguignon was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, wonderful service in a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Incredible food, wonderful service in a cozy atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences ever! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever!! Makes my top ten list

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were super knowledgeable and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The servers were super knowledgeable and professional. Our favourite dish was the steak tartare, unbelievable!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our experience was over the t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

As always, our experience was over the top! Special thanks to the chef's and staff for making sure my birthday dinner was extraordinary. The dishes prepared blew us away!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! Atmosphere so rel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food was outstanding! Atmosphere so relaxed and staff amazingly friendly and engaging. I would recommend highly when in Portland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! That's all I have to say. Oh, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Fabulous! That's all I have to say. Oh, and get a reservation!

Tags: Fun, Organic, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the old building this tiny restaur ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the old building this tiny restaurant is in. The Qauilducken was my fav of the evening. I ordered the special of the night, a king salmon with octopus fried rice. The fried rice was crispy and delicious, but the salmon was barely cooked. This barely cooked trend sucks! Usually a waiter will say, "The chef recommends medium-rare on the salmon." Not this time so I was thrown off when the fish arrived somewhere south of medium-rare, closer to seared sushi. I love salmon sushi, but when I order cooked salmon it should be cooked. A restaurant should not assume a diner wants nearly raw fish. Yes, I could have sent it back, but that interrupts a meal and the experience further so I ate what was more done around the edges and left the rest for the garbage. What a waste of the best salmon in the world.

Lucky for us dessert made up for the raw fish. The banana split was creative and tasty.

We would consider coming back but would be on guard for raw foods disguised as cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible! Have been wanting to eat her ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Incredible! Have been wanting to eat here for A LONG TIME and finally made it happen. The food had so many complex flavors- I sampled 3 other friends' dishes. Wine pairings were spot on. Staff weren't pretentious like some similar restaurants I've been to can be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Taking friend for birthday dinner who wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Taking friend for birthday dinner who was visiting from out of town. We are both in our sixties. Restaurant had blaring rockisic playing. Ruined the evening for my friend. I finally asked that the.music be turned.down. Was disappointed to have to share the evening with"Lola"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

I would've given it a 4.5 stars except t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I would've given it a 4.5 stars except that my pigeon was a little bit undercooked. The wine pairing (not part of the tasting menu) was excellent. Our server did a great job with his recommendations.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Although I had little to complain about ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Although I had little to complain about the food and service, I feel the atmosphere is not appropriate for an elegant dining experience. Reasons I feel this way are the communal tables and very small space. Furthermore the background music was a bit too loud and rock genre isn't appropriate for a sophisticated restaurant. In my opinion, ambience is equally as important as the food and service so Le Pigeon provides 2 of the 3.

Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

We had an amazing time trying the five c ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We had an amazing time trying the five course chef's tasting menu. Each dish was amazingly presented, and insanely delicious. Ingredients were combined that I would never think to order on my own, but we trusted the chef, and it paid off in dividends. Highly recommend this adventure to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved our dinner at Le Pigeon! The bee ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I loved our dinner at Le Pigeon! The beef cheek bourguignon was spectacular and the special salmon rocked too! The service was attentive while not over-bearing. I'll return soon I hope!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first experience and would ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This was our first experience and would not likely have gone had our daughter not have given us a gift certificate. Very glad she did...and we did. We eat out a lot and I have to say this was a unique dining experience. The combination of flavors and textures was outstanding. The service was great and they did a nice job of explaining each course as they brought it. My wife did the non alcoholic pairing and I have to say, because I cheated and tasted some of her drinks, there were some unusual, but very refreshing, flavor combinations that went very well with the dishes being served. The local cider the waiter recommended for me was very good. Not a cheap date, but a very enjoyable one. We will definitely be going again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the best in Portland. Creative me ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

By far the best in Portland. Creative menu.

Only negative, comunal table takes away from privacy.

Try profiteroles for dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

A fantastic, wonderfully fresh meal with ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A fantastic, wonderfully fresh meal with exquisite ingredients. Food at a very high level. I can only highly recommend this place.

We had a wonderful experience, and we'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent and innovative food pairings. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Excellent and innovative food pairings. Even better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, but not 5* in my ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was very good, but not 5* in my opinion. Had the tartare as an appetizer and felt is was trying to be to fancy for its own good. The meat really didn't come through the way it does in a classic tartare. Had the coq + belly for an entree. too much chicken and too little pork belly. not quite hot enough. I like that they have lots of demi bottles of wine, although they are somewhat overprized. had one very good one (cristom 2014 pinot noire) and then a really disappointing barolo. the Barolo ($ 75 for a demi bottle) should not be on the wine list of a restaurant of this caliber. Service was good. Noise level high.

All in all, a good restaurant, but I am not anxious to go back any time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place makes us go back again and ag ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 17, 2016

This place makes us go back again and again every time we visit Portland. Small dining area with an interesting counter overlooking the action in the petite kitchen.

The communal table is always a challenge due to space. You have to have a loud conversation in order to hear each other. But it doesn't bother us anymore, we looked at it as fun!

Ratatouille is sooooo good! Complex flavors that matches the wine! Halibut was perfectly cooked. Love love the short ribs!

Overall our experience and love for good food is always met by Le Pigeon. Will still come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Burger, fish special (king salmo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Amazing Burger, fish special (king salmon) was delicious. Only complaint, no cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.