About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Honey Bacon Apricot Cornbread with Maple Ice Cream - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Burger - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Fois Gras + Uni - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Grilled Pigeon "Ratatouille" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras "Hot Brown" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Tartare And Salt & Pepper Squid - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Smoked Rabbit Pie - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Blanquette - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Smoked Artichoke "Carbonara" - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Creme Brulee - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Cheek Bourguignon - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Mango Ice Box Cake - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chicken And Morels, Schmaltz Roasted Carrots, Ramp Pesto, Asparagus - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Fish Of The Day - Wild Salmon - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Pot De Creme With Strawberries - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Bread and Butter - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Columbia River Salmon With Chickpea Fries - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Butter Lettuce Salad - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hamachi, Pineapple Teriyaki, Pickled Jalapeño, Foie Gras Macadamia Nut Butter, Shiso - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Angel Hair Pasta, Clams, Spring Onion Pesto, Parmesan, Roe - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Profiteroles With Caramel And Sea Salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chocolate Vanilla Truffle - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Mache with celery root, brie, almond - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Lamb with green garlic risotto, pepper, fennel - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Steamed Oregon sea bass, New Zealand spinach, guanciale vinaigrette, watermelon almond gazpacho, razor clam ceviche, shaved lobster mushroom - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Thai barbecue pigeon, fish sauce and shrimp paste marinated breast, pigeon heart fried rice, fermented green papaya, chile peanut butter compound butter - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Ginger peach pavlova, meringue, mascarpone, mint - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras ice cream profiteroles, caramel sauce, sea salt - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras & vadouvan curry terrine, tomato foie gras jam, marjoram honey, ratatouille escabeche, grilled bread - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Cuttlefish, apple cider viengar braised chanterelle mushrooms, peach chutney, slice green olives, black olive sauce, rosemary - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Braised and fried rabbit, bacon and Beaujolais creamed corn, tomatoes, plums, thyme pistou - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Purple shiso semifreddo, peaches, plums, mirin, black sesame - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Creamed Rabbit with Polenta and Black Truffles - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Paris Mushroom Carpaccio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Filet With Spätzli, Tripe And Black Trumpets - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Quail Over Risotto, Taleggio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Razor Clams, Manila, Pasta Special - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
pan roasted striped bass - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crab Cakes - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Profiteroles - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Watermelon Radish Orange, Avocado, Poppy Seed  - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Profiterole - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Striped Sea Bass - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Zucchini Cake, Lemon Mousse, Lemon Balm - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crème Brûlée, Pumpkin Pot De Creme, Maple Whip Cream, Molasses Cookie - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Crispy Shrimp, Fermented Mango Salad, Tarragon Goddess, Cashews - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Grilled Venison, Bone Marrow Pumpkin Pie, Onion Chutney, Brussel Slaw - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Steve's Cheese - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Glazed Eel, Figs, Unagi Custard, Bacon Chestnut Fritter, Truffle Vinaigrette - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras, Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak, Potatoes, Steak Sauce - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras, Artichoke, Green Peppercorn, Brioche - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hawai'i - Foie - O - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Tiramisu - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Halibut - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Air Dried Beef Carpaccio - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Veal - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Tongue - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie gras monte cristo - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Chicken And Lobster Tart - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Duck Confit - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Pork Cutlet over mac & cheese - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Corned Lamb Shoulder - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Beef Tartare And Fried Oyster - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Foie Gras Agnolotti Black Truffle, Parmesan - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Escargot & Rice Porridge Chicken-Snail Sausage, Fried Gremolata - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR
Hanger Steak* Pepperoni, Pineapple, Jalapeño - Le Pigeon, Portland, OR

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (49)
Special Occasion (42)
See All
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Open Kitchen (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Tasting Menu (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Romantic (26)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Worth the Drive (16)
Fun (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Authentic (15)
Seasonal (14)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Organic (7)
People Watching (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very creative fare. Great if you want a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Very creative fare. Great if you want a culinary adventure. All the varied tastes and textures clicked in all the dishes except for the foie gras appetizer. That was a bit too sweet / savory different for my palate. Service was impeccable. Very attentive ,but not intrusive. Not a big fan of open seating, but that seems to be the trend. Overall it was a bit spendy, but an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This was my third visit to Le Pigeon. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my third visit to Le Pigeon. We enjoyed the tasting menu food was adventurous, wine paired well. I will definitely will be back for the fourth meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience!

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best meal I had in the last year! I will ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Best meal I had in the last year! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dear husband brought me here for the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My dear husband brought me here for the first time to celebrate my birthday... and we both can honestly say that this was the BEST meal we have ever eaten! Every single aspect of the evening was perfect... from the greeting at the door to the "happy birthday" at the end of the evening, EVERY dish, each wine pairing (we chose to do the 5-course pre fixe with wine pairings) - all could not have gone better! We chose to sit at the bar and watch the chefs preparing the food and will definitely do that the next times we come as well. Xan (one of the chefs) was so friendly and answered our questions cheerfully and informatively. Each course was brought to us with a wonderful description of what we would be enjoying and we were blown away by each and every course! Creative, delicious, presented beautifully. Our MOST wonderful compliments to the chefs of this outstanding restaurant!! Thank you to all of the staff who made our evening just perfect! (we did have to drive home in a snowstorm, but made it safely!)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I are big foodies. We'v ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My boyfriend and I are big foodies. We've been talking about eating at Le Pigeon for a year, and finally got in for his birthday. When the restaurant confirmed the reservation I was able to plan the birthday dessert ahead of time so there was no stress the evening of. The restaurant is small, quaint, warm, and inviting. The people and overall ambiance is very "Portland" in the best way. One of my boyfriend's favorite dishes of all time is foie gras, so it was perfect that this was for dessert and we were able to try some other starter options. We had tuna tartare which was extremely fresh. There was a hint of spice but nothing over powering or too hot. We also had the beef dumplings that were rich in a French onion perfection sort of way, and incredible. This particular dish came with a Parmesan crust that you cannot forget to add to each bite. For entrees we decided on the fish of the evening which was steelhead with baked kimchi. The fish was very good even though we aren't the biggest fans of kimchi. We also had the beef cheek that was wonderful. One of the highlights of this restaurant in my opinion is their wine list. My only regret is not doing a chef tasting. Five or seven courses with wine pairings. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Such a wonderful dining experience! Incr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Such a wonderful dining experience! Incredible food, and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal, the short rib dumplings ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Fantastic meal, the short rib dumplings were a standout hit! Cozy space and TIGHT but worth the squeeze. A little pricey even after factoring in the automatic gratuity, but will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

pass on the tasting menu. order a la car ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

pass on the tasting menu. order a la carte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

I came here for my birthday with my fian ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I came here for my birthday with my fiance. We sat at the chef bar and it was super fun ! We spoke to the chef and it was a great experience! Both of our entrees were FANTASTIC and I will definitely come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm an enthusiastic foodie and cook, and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I'm an enthusiastic foodie and cook, and had wanted to go to Le Pigeon for years. My prior partner refused to go because he'd once gone and had experienced such terrible service he wouldn't go again. I recently managed to go with a new partner. I loved the food--my entree may have been the best entree I've ever had in Portland. I also thought prices were perfectly fair for the quality and volume of food served. BUT I'm unlikely to return, and would only recommend it to a hard-core foodie. Service was decent, but nothing more. Noise verged on intolerable--it might be okay for two people who are louder, but both my date and I are very soft spoken, and with almost-shared-table seating, it was too much. Finally, we went on a freezing cold night (having made our reservation well in advance) and even though we were seated far from the door, I found myself at points too cold even to be able to enjoy my food as much as I should have. I was dressed warmly and eating hearty food, too! For such a small place, it shouldn't be impossible to warm it up a bit!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

This was our first trip to LePigeon and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our first trip to LePigeon and we were very excited to go. When we got there though, we were disappointed to see that we were to be wedged in elbow to elbow at a communal table. The noise level was very high and it was not easy to relax and enjoy ourselves. But when the food and wine came they were mind-blowingly good, and the service was spot on. That made up for most of the uncomfortable atmosphere...and I would definitely go back. Also I love the no-tip policy and I applaud their efforts to pay their staff well in compensation (I hope!!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Had a fantastic Holiday meal with the fa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a fantastic Holiday meal with the family. It was great with the exception of the fish special (Sturgeon). No bar, great wine. $$$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had Foie gras appetizer, beef cheeks ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had Foie gras appetizer, beef cheeks and a pork dish. The main ingredient in all three dishes was lost in an unappetizing mish-mash of waaay too many incongruous ingredients. We literally could not stomach the completion of any of the dishes. The foie-gras (?) was overly sweet and sour, the foie gras was not cleaned properly and I got a mouthful of raw textured sinew/membrane on top of too many ingredients, many unidentifiable. The beef cheeks were very smokey, dry, and clashed with what ever else there was in that dish. The pork dish was also dominated by an unidentifiable pile of something. The first bite was...shrimp(?!!)...this was probably the worst dish of the three. We wanted our 25th anniversary to be memorable and it was! This was one of the worst dinners we have ever had in Portland. My husband was too embarrassed to say anything. There is something very wrong in this kitchen. Who ever is in there is not tasting this yuck before it goes out to diners expecting to experience some of the best food in pdx. I would title this review "The emperor wears no clothes".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

So good!! Make your reservation. Must e ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

So good!! Make your reservation. Must eat when in Pdx.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great like always! Fois gras & Jerusale ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great like always! Fois gras & Jerusalem artichoke soup were lovely. One of our group got the always excellent beef cheeks bourgegogne (she refused to share), two got the pork short ribs, I got the sturgeon. All excellent. Sometimes I think the dishes have too much going on & the flavors get a little muddled, but I would go here every day of the week over any other restaurant in Portland! Service was excellent. First time since tipping removed. Prices reflect this, but we always tipped well anyway. Beware the $30 corkage fee (if you buy 1 of their bottles, they waive the fee)!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was wonderful up until the cheese ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Dinner was wonderful up until the cheese course. The timing was delayed by about 10-15 minutes.

We were seated by the door and the next party of four that was scheduled for our seats arrived. The two desert courses were served to us at almost the same time by an unsmiling female waitperson. There was pressure for us to vacate our seats for the people standing at the door and the unsmiling waitperson. This marred our dining experience. We just didn't expect this behavior from this caliber of dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Probably my favorite restaurant in Port ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Probably my favorite restaurant in Portland. Great food, cozy atmosphere. Love to sit at the counter and watch the chefs work. Recommend the beef bourguignon, but everything is fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted for the 7 course chef tasting m ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We opted for the 7 course chef tasting menu with wine pairings for my partner's birthday. Although it was expensive, every penny was worth it and it was honestly a bargain for the amazing food--an experience I will never forget and I hope it becomes a birthday tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a special birthday. Le Pigeon ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This was a special birthday. Le Pigeon was reputed to be tasty and innovative. It didn't disappoint! Everything from tuna tartare to aged pigeon to foie gras profiteroles was unusual and tickled the taste buds. We were glad we came.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Creative and delicious (but not precious ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Creative and delicious (but not precious or trendy) food, prepared with attention to detail, and presented by an extremely knowlegeable and personable staff.

We enjoyed their well timed tasting menu with unusual but perfectly paired wines, all done in a cozy room with an open kitchen to let you watch the show (super cool copper hood).

Seating was at communal tables, but the people we sat next to were very nice and fun.

The experience is one of fine dinning without any of the accompanying stuffiness or formality. Come as you are and you will be treated like the King of Portland.

The food and the experience was so good that my parents almost seemed to enjoy the Sex Pistols (don't panic, it was just one song) playing on the sound system.

Must have: "Breakfast for dinner" - seared foie gras with peppered pancake, proscuitto, and little "yolks" of pumkin puree, finished with a chestnut, date, and maple compote.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was outstanding in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding in every aspect from the time I entered the restaurant until I departed. The staff was friendly and professional and the food simply remarkable. Well worth the time to explore this amazing place. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb! Love that the kitch ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The food was superb! Love that the kitchen is open. The music stream was a blast from the past, but very fun! We really like the fact that you don't have to pay a gratuity (it's built in to the price of the meals) which equates to higher wages for the staff. This restaurant continues to impress.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed an amazing Birthday dinner here ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Enjoyed an amazing Birthday dinner here with my love and had the best fine dining meal of my life in this cozy, quaint and casual restaurant, because this is Portland after all. I made a reservation the night before on open table and requested to sit at the Chef's Table for my birthday. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and and our seats were waiting for us. We had the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairing and it was the perfect amount of food. I was pretty full by time dessert came out so I'm glad we opted for the 5 course instead of the 7. We were lucky to see Chef Gabe Rucker in action and he was even so kind as to sign my menu. Highly recommended this place and I look forward to coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary here and Ever ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here and Everything was outstanding. We can't to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Le Pigeon and the food did ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

First time at Le Pigeon and the food did not disappoint. Had the five course tasting menu with the paired wines. All were excellent, though very pricey. It is only worth it if you are either rich or very much into fine food, or preferably, both. Service was also excellent. The big shortcoming in my view is the room, including seating and ambiance. Communal seating is not conducive to fine dining, as we were subject to intrusive conversations and little elbow space. The boxy room is not attractive. Shame such good food is served in such a poor environment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Excellent food, relaxed, warm atmosphere ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food, relaxed, warm atmosphere; will be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at Le Pige ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Le Pigeon on a recent Friday night. We sat at the chef's counter and watched them work their magic. We started with tuna tartare with Yuzu ice. Amazing! The sturgeon was another highlight of the meal. The service was attentive and the servers are knowledgeable. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a really nice anniv ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I had a really nice anniversary dinner at Le Pigeon. We did not find the music to be very loud or unappealing as others reviews had suggested. There was a sound check at some point and that was fairly loud, but did not last very long. Also, despite having common tables, the staff seat people so as to space them out. We only people seating on either side of us for the later part of our meal.

The food was delicious. I am a somewhat cautious eater and I found the flavor combinations of the food incredible and well worth the risk of trying things I was not sure I would love. The staff also treated us to a lovely drink to accompany our desert because it was our anniversary.

Overall we had a really lovey experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's rare to find beef cheek, pigeon, an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It's rare to find beef cheek, pigeon, and quail-ducken on a menu and to have them all sound delicious. We had the beef cheek which was fork tender and just melted in your mouth. The famous burger did not disappoint one iota. The ambience was cozy and warm. The communal seating was an interesting touch as well. It's a little pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic as usual. The only problem is ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Fantastic as usual. The only problem is deciding what to order with so many fabulous and unique dishes.

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had two complaints if you wish to say ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had two complaints if you wish to say that a) someone was smoking a cigar outside the restaurant and since we had window seats, the smoke came into the restaurant and bothered one of our party and the second is that the people sitting at the bar didn't seem to care about us who were seated at the window table.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

Great dinner my husband and I had. We s ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Great dinner my husband and I had. We shared a soup which had veal cheek fritters in a mushroom and artichoke base. I had short ribs with a harissa seasoning and truffled yogurt. My husband had the fish special which was mahi mahi. Both entrees were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was as usual on top of his ga ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our server was as usual on top of his game. The 2004 Pierre Moncuit champagne and '13 Judith Beck St. Laurent paired perfectly with apps and entrees. Ahi tartare, chanterelle and sunchoke soup, harissa glazed short ribs and dry aged pigeon were not to be missed. If you leave Le Pigeon without ordering foie gras profiteroles for dessert you've wasted the evening. My only regret is we didn't order seconds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Well worth t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Well worth the wait and the need for reservations!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over rated. Ambiance was terrible. Had t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Over rated. Ambiance was terrible. Had to talk very loud to be heard. Loud music and did not appreciate having a couple with a fussy infant seated at the community table that also happened to be right next to the front door. Really nothing spectacular or memorable about the appetizers or main courses. None of us found the need to insist that the others try their dish. Fish was over cooked. Really not sure what the fuss is all about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The menu was limiting and they seemed li ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The menu was limiting and they seemed like they were trying to hard to achieve a perfectly balanced meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was top notch! Its a must eat i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was top notch! Its a must eat in Portland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My ono was only half cooked: I wasn't su ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My ono was only half cooked: I wasn't sure if this fish was supposed to be seared or not.

The bed of what apperared to be cole slaw in pesto sauce did NOT appeal to my taste buds.

The communal seating along with the Guns and Roses music did nothing to add to my dining experience.

I have made many, many trips to

Paris in the past year and found nothing even closely resembling French cuisine served here.

My husband and I left wondering why this restaurant received high marks.

We were hoping for

much better food and a much nicer atmosphere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We had the 5 course meal with wine pairi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had the 5 course meal with wine pairings and every dish and wine was amazing. My only suggestion would be to assure that a vegetable dish be included in the 5 courses. Every dish except the dessert was a meat or fish dish. All delicious but a bit heavy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.