About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Honey Bacon Apricot Cornbread with Maple Ice Cream
Foie Gras Profiteroles With Caramel And Sea Salt
Creme Brulee
Beef Cheek Bourguignon
Burger
Fois Gras + Uni
Grilled Pigeon "Ratatouille"
Foie Gras "Hot Brown"
Beef Tartare And Salt & Pepper Squid
Smoked Rabbit Pie
Duck Blanquette
Mango Ice Box Cake
Chicken And Morels, Schmaltz Roasted Carrots, Ramp Pesto, Asparagus
Fish Of The Day - Wild Salmon
Smoked Artichoke "Carbonara"
Pot De Creme With Strawberries
Bread and Butter
Columbia River Salmon With Chickpea Fries
Butter Lettuce Salad
Hamachi, Pineapple Teriyaki, Pickled Jalapeño, Foie Gras Macadamia Nut Butter, Shiso
Angel Hair Pasta, Clams, Spring Onion Pesto, Parmesan, Roe
Chocolate Vanilla Truffle
Quail With Gouda Salumi Risotto
Foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt
Mache with celery root, brie, almond
Lamb with green garlic risotto, pepper, fennel
Steamed Oregon sea bass, New Zealand spinach, guanciale vinaigrette, watermelon almond gazpacho, razor clam ceviche, shaved lobster mushroom
Thai barbecue pigeon, fish sauce and shrimp paste marinated breast, pigeon heart fried rice, fermented green papaya, chile peanut butter compound butter
Ginger peach pavlova, meringue, mascarpone, mint
Foie gras ice cream profiteroles, caramel sauce, sea salt
Foie gras & vadouvan curry terrine, tomato foie gras jam, marjoram honey, ratatouille escabeche, grilled bread
Cuttlefish, apple cider viengar braised chanterelle mushrooms, peach chutney, slice green olives, black olive sauce, rosemary
Braised and fried rabbit, bacon and Beaujolais creamed corn, tomatoes, plums, thyme pistou
Purple shiso semifreddo, peaches, plums, mirin, black sesame
Creamed Rabbit with Polenta and Black Truffles
Paris Mushroom Carpaccio
Duck Filet With Spätzli, Tripe And Black Trumpets
Quail Over Risotto, Taleggio
Razor Clams, Manila, Pasta Special
pan roasted striped bass
Crab Cakes
Profiteroles
Watermelon Radish Orange, Avocado, Poppy Seed
Foie Gras Profiterole
Striped Sea Bass
Zucchini Cake, Lemon Mousse, Lemon Balm
Crème Brûlée, Pumpkin Pot De Creme, Maple Whip Cream, Molasses Cookie
Crispy Shrimp, Fermented Mango Salad, Tarragon Goddess, Cashews
Grilled Venison, Bone Marrow Pumpkin Pie, Onion Chutney, Brussel Slaw
Steve's Cheese
Glazed Eel, Figs, Unagi Custard, Bacon Chestnut Fritter, Truffle Vinaigrette
Foie Gras, Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak, Potatoes, Steak Sauce
Foie Gras, Artichoke, Green Peppercorn, Brioche
Hawai'i - Foie - O
Tiramisu
Halibut
Air Dried Beef Carpaccio
Veal
Tongue
Foie gras monte cristo
Chicken And Lobster Tart
Foie Gras
Duck Confit
Pork Cutlet over mac & cheese
Corned Lamb Shoulder
Beef Tartare And Fried Oyster
Foie Gras Agnolotti Black Truffle, Parmesan
Escargot & Rice Porridge Chicken-Snail Sausage, Fried Gremolata

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (99)
Special Occasion (84)
Notable Wine List (49)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Hot Spot (39)
Romantic (38)
Good for Groups (21)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were lucky enough to get to sit at th ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were lucky enough to get to sit at the bar where we could watch the cooks cook. They interact with customers and it is a treat to sit there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous. I'm not usually muc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fabulous. I'm not usually much for fancy food, but wow!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were not special. Husband had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our meals were not special. Husband had "beef cheeks" and I had daily special, King salmon. There was nothing special about it. Service was very good. Disappointed in no cocktails. Also community seating. There was nothing outstanding, exxept creme brûlée.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

We spent 6 days in Portland and ate at a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We spent 6 days in Portland and ate at a well reviewed restaurant every day. This was by far the most expensive place, but not our absolute favorite.

We were seated at a communal table, next to a friendly couple from Canada; they had been at Le Pigeon before and loved it.

Starting with Butter lettuce, blue cheese and radishes - very, very good.

Albacore crudo was good, just too many different garnishes and sauces, same with Seared foie gras ( octopus, fruit, nuts) and Dry aged pigeon - leg meat dry - (mustard sauce, taleggio, cured egg yolk)

Foie gras profiteroles (3pieces!) with caramel sauce were amazing. Better bring friends with you to share:)

My biggest peeve: we became invisible after paying, no thank you, no goodbye. Staff was the least friendly on our Portland visit.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was innovative and creative, amazin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was innovative and creative, amazing combination of flavors. 7-course is a ton of food, so would go with the 5-course if you're going to do the tasting. I was full 3-courses in. Service is top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best yet we have had as a Portland e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The best yet we have had as a Portland experience.

Technically excellent adventurous food beautifully presented by great staff. We had it all and loved every morsel!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect meal. Duck foie gras, fluke cru ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Perfect meal. Duck foie gras, fluke crudo, brisket, and salmon. All perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was so great, worth the hype, great serv ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Was so great, worth the hype, great service and even better food. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A truly wonderful dining experience! Ma ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

A truly wonderful dining experience! Many thanks to the very knowledgeable and attentive staff, and of course to the hard working and supremely talented chefs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was wonderful Considerated ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was wonderful Considerated there is no tipping required. The food was very differences then I used to dined in Paris but it was very good. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

There are very few James Beard award win ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There are very few James Beard award winners who still work the kitchen, probably even less who devote at least a day to prep. But that's what Gabriel Rucker does. I saw the NY Times food editor speak at Oregon State a while back and she raved about LePigeon, pretty high praise. It's the best restaurant in Portland in my opinion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Complicated food but limited plate appe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Complicated food but limited plate appeal. Several courses not acceptable. Beef cheeks

Cooked way too long. Only good bread was a highlight

Tags: Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The atmosphere at Le Pigeon was cozy and ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The atmosphere at Le Pigeon was cozy and upbeat, sharing a long communal table with others. The service was friendly and warm, and put me at ease very quickly. I enjoyed the grilled lamb starter, and my entrée of fresh salmon with encrusted crab was delicious, cooked to perfection. I asked to try a sample of the seared Foie Gras, not being convinced liver could ever be a desert, and I am now a believer. It's true and you have to try it to believe a desert that good could be liver. I will definitely be back, there are many other 'firsts' I want to try on their menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inspired and highly original food. Appet ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Inspired and highly original food. Appetizers, entrees and desserts equally outstanding. You must order the Spaghetti Pigeon and the foie gras profiteroles. The beef cheeks are to die for. Great wine list. The only detractor is the communal tables. A great couple to our right with whom we spoke for an hour. An extremely loud man to my left who literally screamed across the table to his dinner mates talking nonsense for an hour, drowning out our ability to talk to one another. He ruined the ambience. Where you sit at the communal tables is the luck of the draw and can make or break the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We ordered foise gras , and it was perfe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We ordered foise gras , and it was perfect. We had a vichyssoise that included lobster and smoked oyster. unfortunately, the oysters were somewhat overpowering. We ordered Wagyu beef brisket , beef cheeks bourgignon, and pigeon--all amazing. No room for dessert.

Unfortunately, we had a member in our party who dislikes communal seating, and it is a communal seating restaurant. That's our bad:(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding service. Each dish seems to ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding service. Each dish seems to have a special twist.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Definitely one of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Definitely one of the best restaurants in the Portland area. Not a large location, but great ambience. The service was excellent, very professional and friendly, also appreciated that gratuity is already included in the prices.

Had high expectations for the food and was not disappointed, infact it went beyond my expectation.

If you love food then this is certainly a place not to miss

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to celebrate our anni ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

My wife and I went to celebrate our anniversary, and we were treated to a great experience. The food was excellent, the service was outstanding, and our waiter was knowledgeable without being overbearing. We would definitely make a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food, communal tables suck but m ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food, communal tables suck but makes it a unique experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is cuisine that tries too hard, wit ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is cuisine that tries too hard, with flavors and textures that don't marry well. Lacked nuance, blend of flavor contrast, depth and complexity, with no overall finesse. Truffle pasta was way too salty. Personally found this very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

We did the tasting menu which was a litt ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We did the tasting menu which was a little heavy but good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was by far the best food and overal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was by far the best food and overall dining experience I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and attentive service. Our ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. Our server answered our questions and explained the special menu items. He also acknowledged our wedding anniversary and served us champagne. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! As well as our ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was outstanding! As well as our waiter, who made some amazing suggestions for us. Also...OMG!...the fois gras profiteroles! Come on!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have loved this place. It's been a whi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I have loved this place. It's been a while visiting Le Pigeon. Many things changed, such as tip policy, dish style, and menu (which normally does). Tipping is not required. But, I felt that almost 25-30% tip is included in the food price. This pre-include of high-tipping does not make sense because no one can say Le Pigeon always provides excellent dining experience. Food seems a bit transitioning towards fusion. I liked their French foods. But, what I had was poorly combined French and Korean. Also, foods were very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I'm still debating if this was the best ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'm still debating if this was the best meal I ever had or not. So far I can't recall having a better fine dining meal than the one we had here. Really delicate flavors, well-balanced, and just so well thought out. The chefs here are extremely talented.

Service was good, and they have a no-tip policy as it is all included in the price. I think this concept is growing on me, as I thought it would make the Front of House staff less motivated to give great service, but that is not the case here. We did have to share a large table with another family, but the place is pretty small, and it did not bother us.

If we are ever in the portland area again, we will be sure to come back here. Amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in PDX and we have s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in PDX and we have so many to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Given the price point and the talk about ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Given the price point and the talk about Le Pigeon, I was expecting a meal that would really impress. The foie gras appetizer was spectacular. Everything outside of that felt like expected fine dining cuisine. My brother (a chef) and myself agreed: had we not eaten the foie gras with banana miso (again - AMAZING), we would have left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was delicious! Expertly prepar ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was delicious! Expertly prepared, beautifully presented. Unexpected combinations of ingredients yeilded fresh and delightful surprises. The only thing I didn't like is that the party next to us at the shared table was loud and pretentious. I would have preferred a more private table for our quiet party of 2. The space is tight and I was bumped into by servers and patrons numerous times. I would definitely recommend it despite this however, because of the outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tremendous experience. The staff was inc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Tremendous experience. The staff was incredibly accommodating, tasting menu and accompanying beverages were fantastic, and eating the famed dishes from the cookbook was awesome.

Thank you to the staff for a wonderful meal. I ate at Eleven Madison Park the following week, and I preferred the Dirty Bird. Much Love!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was quite good, however service was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was quite good, however service was atrocious. Took over 3 hours for 4 people to have appetizers and entrees. The server was non-existent even though the restaurant was half full. I'm assuming he didn't put in the orders but it ruined the evening for us. Would have ordered more wine or drinks but he was nowhere to be found (in a very small restaurant)

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food and wine were memorable creatin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and wine were memorable creating, just amazing. There wasn't a bite that I didn't cherish. The restaurant was a bit loud for my taste, but others might love the energy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good, not great. No question of che ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very good, not great. No question of chef's technical abilities, just not convinced about execution. Enjoyed non-Oregon wine options on list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wow, somehow the Le Pigeon we read about ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wow, somehow the Le Pigeon we read about and heard of from friends was not the one that we actually ended up eating at. We did a five-course tasting menu, and probably only enjoyed one or two of the courses. I don't know if they always do this, but there was a poorly executed Asian/fusion theme to the chef's tasting menu that night, and we were not fans. We work and live in Asia and eat excellent Asian food all the time - adding a "Chinese sausage" which is a really common and oily street food to a foie gras dish is not at all creative, it's just lazy and kind of cheap (Chinese sausage is about a cent a link, and they served a single link as half the dish). And then to put a large scoop of miso paste next to it, as if you could eat that like mashed potatoes! Another dish had half a pigeon-stuffed fried egg roll, we were rather stunned, given that we were expecting a Northwestern interpretation of French cuisine. And we LOVE well-cooked Asian food or Asian fusion. This, sadly, was not well conceived or well executed.

The fish course was fine, and the dessert (an avocado granita with lime) was quite refreshing and interesting. The foie gras profiteroles were tasty, but overwhelmingly creamy/rich after two bites. Their tasting menu pricing went up, and for 90USD a person, it was not at all a good value for what you're eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We decided not to order ala carte so we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We decided not to order ala carte so we can order more items off the seasonal menu.The appetizers were amazing. The fish of the day, skate, was a definite standout. We should've ordered the pigeon instead of the beef bourginon, which was too rich and sweet for our taste. Make sure to order the Bordeaux with the profiteroles as it helps cut through the richness of the dessert.

Service was on point and watching the chefs prepare the dishes was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was, as it should be, the star ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was, as it should be, the star of the evening. Everything we had was amazing: Scallop starter, brisket and chicken entree and the burger. Wine was also great. Service was so-so. He seemed incredibly rushed and even left in the middle of an order when one of us said "I'll order first so she can have a minute." It was a weekend night and I get the restaurant was busy but the whole meal felt rushed after that, which for the price and how good the food is, felt like a bit of a shame. That being said however, we'll be back because the food is just that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Le Pigeon is at the top of some lists fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Le Pigeon is at the top of some lists for Portland dining for a reason. We did the 7-course tasting menu and found that each dish had a beautiful presentation, and a fascinating and delicious combination of flavors and textures. The service was great. The only thing is, I don't love the communal seating scenario. I suppose it saves space and allows them to seat more people, but I'd wait another week for a reservation if I could have my own table. In my particular case, we didn't end up socializing with the people on either side, so it was awkward to be so physically close to people who weren't part of the conversation we were having. Anyway, it was a small price to pay and we knew about it going in, so it didn't ruin the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent. Best food in Portland. The ki ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent. Best food in Portland. The kitchen concept with communal tables was a little weird at first but didn't matter because the food was out of this world. The wines by the glass weren't great and it took our waiter awhile to find the right bottle for us but we did. Everything else was spot on. Can't wait to come back to Portland and eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My party had a great time, food and ambi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My party had a great time, food and ambiance was supurb. Service was prompt. Definitely a highlight of my time in Portland.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. It is n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food and service were excellent. It is nice to have the gratuity included in the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.