About Le Pigeon

738 E Burnside St
Portland, OR 97214
View Larger Map

Le Pigeon serves adventurous French-inspired food, along with a varied selection of wines in an intimate dining room on Portland’s East Burnside Street. We take reservations at our communal tables, and offer our chef's counter for walk-ins.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Every Night

Cross Street:
8th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 546-8796

Website:
http://www.lepigeon.com/

Public Transit:
#12 and #20 buses.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Rucker

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Le Pigeon
Honey Bacon Apricot Cornbread with Maple Ice Cream
Foie Gras Profiteroles With Caramel And Sea Salt
Creme Brulee
Beef Cheek Bourguignon
Burger
Fois Gras + Uni
Mango Ice Box Cake
Chicken And Morels, Schmaltz Roasted Carrots, Ramp Pesto, Asparagus
Grilled Pigeon "Ratatouille"
Foie Gras "Hot Brown"
Beef Tartare And Salt & Pepper Squid
Duck Blanquette
Smoked Rabbit Pie
Fish Of The Day - Wild Salmon
Pot De Creme With Strawberries
Bread and Butter
Smoked Artichoke "Carbonara"
Columbia River Salmon With Chickpea Fries
Butter Lettuce Salad
Hamachi, Pineapple Teriyaki, Pickled Jalapeño, Foie Gras Macadamia Nut Butter, Shiso
Angel Hair Pasta, Clams, Spring Onion Pesto, Parmesan, Roe
Chocolate Vanilla Truffle
Quail With Gouda Salumi Risotto
Profiteroles
Steamed Oregon sea bass, New Zealand spinach, guanciale vinaigrette, watermelon almond gazpacho, razor clam ceviche, shaved lobster mushroom
Foie gras ice cream profiteroles, caramel sauce, sea salt
Purple shiso semifreddo, peaches, plums, mirin, black sesame
Ginger peach pavlova, meringue, mascarpone, mint
Thai barbecue pigeon, fish sauce and shrimp paste marinated breast, pigeon heart fried rice, fermented green papaya, chile peanut butter compound butter
Foie gras & vadouvan curry terrine, tomato foie gras jam, marjoram honey, ratatouille escabeche, grilled bread
Cuttlefish, apple cider viengar braised chanterelle mushrooms, peach chutney, slice green olives, black olive sauce, rosemary
Braised and fried rabbit, bacon and Beaujolais creamed corn, tomatoes, plums, thyme pistou
Hawai'i - Foie - O
Veal
Nectarine Pie With Maple Mascarpone
Foie gras profiteroles with caramel sauce and sea salt
Mache with celery root, brie, almond
Lamb with green garlic risotto, pepper, fennel
Creamed Rabbit with Polenta and Black Truffles
Paris Mushroom Carpaccio
Quail Over Risotto, Taleggio
Duck Filet With Spätzli, Tripe And Black Trumpets
Razor Clams, Manila, Pasta Special
Crab Cakes
pan roasted striped bass
Watermelon Radish Orange, Avocado, Poppy Seed
Crispy Shrimp, Fermented Mango Salad, Tarragon Goddess, Cashews
Foie Gras Profiterole
Crème Brûlée, Pumpkin Pot De Creme, Maple Whip Cream, Molasses Cookie
Foie Gras, Artichoke, Green Peppercorn, Brioche
Zucchini Cake, Lemon Mousse, Lemon Balm
Steve's Cheese
Glazed Eel, Figs, Unagi Custard, Bacon Chestnut Fritter, Truffle Vinaigrette
Grilled Venison, Bone Marrow Pumpkin Pie, Onion Chutney, Brussel Slaw
Foie Gras, Kobe Beef Salisbury Steak, Potatoes, Steak Sauce
Striped Sea Bass
Tiramisu
Halibut
Air Dried Beef Carpaccio
Tongue
Foie gras monte cristo
Chicken And Lobster Tart
Corned Lamb Shoulder
Foie Gras
Duck Confit
Pork Cutlet over mac & cheese
Beef Tartare And Fried Oyster
Hanger Steak* Pepperoni, Pineapple, Jalapeño

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 10:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Pigeon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Portland
Best Restaurants in NE Portland ›

fit for foodies (114)
special occasion (91)
notable wine list (53)
See All
neighborhood gem (51)
romantic (44)
hot spot (40)
good for groups (20)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was by far the best food and overal ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was by far the best food and overall dining experience I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and attentive service. Our ser ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent and attentive service. Our server answered our questions and explained the special menu items. He also acknowledged our wedding anniversary and served us champagne. It was a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! As well as our ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding! As well as our waiter, who made some amazing suggestions for us. Also...OMG!...the fois gras profiteroles! Come on!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm still debating if this was the best ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I'm still debating if this was the best meal I ever had or not. So far I can't recall having a better fine dining meal than the one we had here. Really delicate flavors, well-balanced, and just so well thought out. The chefs here are extremely talented.

Service was good, and they have a no-tip policy as it is all included in the price. I think this concept is growing on me, as I thought it would make the Front of House staff less motivated to give great service, but that is not the case here. We did have to share a large table with another family, but the place is pretty small, and it did not bother us.

If we are ever in the portland area again, we will be sure to come back here. Amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in PDX and we have s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Favorite restaurant in PDX and we have so many to choose from.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Given the price point and the talk about ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Given the price point and the talk about Le Pigeon, I was expecting a meal that would really impress. The foie gras appetizer was spectacular. Everything outside of that felt like expected fine dining cuisine. My brother (a chef) and myself agreed: had we not eaten the foie gras with banana miso (again - AMAZING), we would have left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was delicious! Expertly prepar ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was delicious! Expertly prepared, beautifully presented. Unexpected combinations of ingredients yeilded fresh and delightful surprises. The only thing I didn't like is that the party next to us at the shared table was loud and pretentious. I would have preferred a more private table for our quiet party of 2. The space is tight and I was bumped into by servers and patrons numerous times. I would definitely recommend it despite this however, because of the outstanding food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was quite good, however service was ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was quite good, however service was atrocious. Took over 3 hours for 4 people to have appetizers and entrees. The server was non-existent even though the restaurant was half full. I'm assuming he didn't put in the orders but it ruined the evening for us. Would have ordered more wine or drinks but he was nowhere to be found (in a very small restaurant)

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food and wine were memorable creatin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and wine were memorable creating, just amazing. There wasn't a bite that I didn't cherish. The restaurant was a bit loud for my taste, but others might love the energy.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good, not great. No question of che ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very good, not great. No question of chef's technical abilities, just not convinced about execution. Enjoyed non-Oregon wine options on list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wow, somehow the Le Pigeon we read about ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wow, somehow the Le Pigeon we read about and heard of from friends was not the one that we actually ended up eating at. We did a five-course tasting menu, and probably only enjoyed one or two of the courses. I don't know if they always do this, but there was a poorly executed Asian/fusion theme to the chef's tasting menu that night, and we were not fans. We work and live in Asia and eat excellent Asian food all the time - adding a "Chinese sausage" which is a really common and oily street food to a foie gras dish is not at all creative, it's just lazy and kind of cheap (Chinese sausage is about a cent a link, and they served a single link as half the dish). And then to put a large scoop of miso paste next to it, as if you could eat that like mashed potatoes! Another dish had half a pigeon-stuffed fried egg roll, we were rather stunned, given that we were expecting a Northwestern interpretation of French cuisine. And we LOVE well-cooked Asian food or Asian fusion. This, sadly, was not well conceived or well executed.

The fish course was fine, and the dessert (an avocado granita with lime) was quite refreshing and interesting. The foie gras profiteroles were tasty, but overwhelmingly creamy/rich after two bites. Their tasting menu pricing went up, and for 90USD a person, it was not at all a good value for what you're eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We decided not to order ala carte so we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We decided not to order ala carte so we can order more items off the seasonal menu.The appetizers were amazing. The fish of the day, skate, was a definite standout. We should've ordered the pigeon instead of the beef bourginon, which was too rich and sweet for our taste. Make sure to order the Bordeaux with the profiteroles as it helps cut through the richness of the dessert.

Service was on point and watching the chefs prepare the dishes was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was, as it should be, the star ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was, as it should be, the star of the evening. Everything we had was amazing: Scallop starter, brisket and chicken entree and the burger. Wine was also great. Service was so-so. He seemed incredibly rushed and even left in the middle of an order when one of us said "I'll order first so she can have a minute." It was a weekend night and I get the restaurant was busy but the whole meal felt rushed after that, which for the price and how good the food is, felt like a bit of a shame. That being said however, we'll be back because the food is just that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Le Pigeon is at the top of some lists fo ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Le Pigeon is at the top of some lists for Portland dining for a reason. We did the 7-course tasting menu and found that each dish had a beautiful presentation, and a fascinating and delicious combination of flavors and textures. The service was great. The only thing is, I don't love the communal seating scenario. I suppose it saves space and allows them to seat more people, but I'd wait another week for a reservation if I could have my own table. In my particular case, we didn't end up socializing with the people on either side, so it was awkward to be so physically close to people who weren't part of the conversation we were having. Anyway, it was a small price to pay and we knew about it going in, so it didn't ruin the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent. Best food in Portland. The ki ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent. Best food in Portland. The kitchen concept with communal tables was a little weird at first but didn't matter because the food was out of this world. The wines by the glass weren't great and it took our waiter awhile to find the right bottle for us but we did. Everything else was spot on. Can't wait to come back to Portland and eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My party had a great time, food and ambi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My party had a great time, food and ambiance was supurb. Service was prompt. Definitely a highlight of my time in Portland.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. It is n ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food and service were excellent. It is nice to have the gratuity included in the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Best restaurant we went to while in Port ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best restaurant we went to while in Portland that we cancelled reservations at another establishment to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was incredibly attentive. Food was ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Staff was incredibly attentive. Food was delicious. I could feel the love and passion put into this little restaurant. It was an amazing experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best wait staff ever and fine cuisine!! ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Best wait staff ever and fine cuisine!! Fun to try new flavors and menu items not commonly seen elsewhere. Worth the increased $$!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Le Pigeon has been on our list ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Dining at Le Pigeon has been on our list for a while and it did not let us down. Although the menu has details you might want to ask about(because I may not be a refined diner ) but the plates came out beautiful and the tastes were so different. It was definitely in a good way. It was hitting taste buds with notes i was not used to and I liked it. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated faux French cuisine. Service ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Overrated faux French cuisine. Service was excellent but food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

EXQUISITE!!! This restaurant is amazing ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

EXQUISITE!!! This restaurant is amazing in every way. Exceptional service, truly over the top knowledgeable of menu and ingredients, perfect recommendations.

The food was exquisite!! We did the 7 course with wine pairing. Absolutely incredible! Unique combinations, wine pairings were a home run.

Highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AMAZING MEAL

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This restaurant was on a list of top 100 restaurants in the US and since I was going to be in Portland I just had to try it. It did not disappoint! Three of us went and all had amazing meals. The food is very creative and absolutely delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First Time at a French Restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a great time at Le Pigeon! The food was so different and delicious! It was great to get to try foods I never have and whether I liked them or not, I was glad I did! The Wagyu Brisket was the most amazing for me personally, but I can't say anything wasn't good!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Dinner at Le Pigeon!!!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

My girlfriend and I ate at Le Pigeon the other night and had a really fabulous dinner. Everything we ordered was marvelous. The Spring Salmon "Pokey" was not your traditional tartare, but was spread out on the plate with hard boiled eggs and other goodies, lovely. The Seared Foie Gras was spectacular. The Beef Cheek Bourguignon and fish special were both great too. We finished off the meal with an order of Foie Gras Profiteroles (because you just can't get enough Foie Gras). This was a very inventive dessert and a nice complement to the meal.

The only small downside of Le Pigeon is the communal tables which make this not so much a "romantic" dining experience. The flipside, you might get to see some dishes served next to you before you order and possibly meet some other interesting diners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The hostess was very friendly.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The hostess was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Music weird and way too loud

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service very good. however, the music was WAY TOO LOUD and oddly not at all in keeping with the food and ambience. The music was weird retro songs from the 70's and got in the way of a positive experience. We had a hard time hearing eachother talk and we couldn't hear the waiter well when he described the tasting menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Le Pigeon

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Great french inspired menu that is creative and extremely well executed from appetizers to dessert. I had the Beef Cheek Bourguignon and it was fork tender with a deep dark sauce.

Fantastique! The Profiteroles with Foie Gras are a beautiful sweet/salt combo you will remember.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. Cute, small place with community style tables. Service was good. Food was very good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again this is one of best dining ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Once again this is one of best dining experiences I have ever had. I have been to some amazing restaurants and this one is still at the top of my list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I've been here 4 times now, and each time has been terrific! The food is absolutely amazing! The wait staff are caring and offer advice about wine or other questions we've had. The other guests we've been seated next to, have been an added bonus to a lovely experience. Each time I visit my daughter in Portland, I make a point to visit Le Pigeon - and I've given her gift certificates for birthday and holidays! It really is THAT good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the lamb salad, the beef bourguig ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had the lamb salad, the beef bourguignon, the duck entree, and the strawberry shortcake dessert. All of them were amazing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to "Keep Portland Wierd" slogan!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We were glad they called us to let us know ahead of time about the communal seating! My husband was put off by that, and I dragged him there anyway. We started with a Foie Gras that was out of this world, so that got us off to a good start. The wine selection was excellent which also helped him adjust to this new experiment. The duck dish with edamame and beans was filled with flavor and the duck was done to perfection. His tortellini was good but he probably should have ordered something a bit different. Overall, a good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS. Hali ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS. Halibut was cooked perfect !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful All Around!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

My partner had been telling me her desire to dine at LePigeon ever since she first moved to town. I made a reservation for her birthday and managed to keep it a surprise even though I needed her to supply certain information to make the evening a success. You see, she has an allium allergy, the onion strain, and Le Pigeon called to inquiry if we would be partaking in the Tasting Menu. I had to ask if she preferred a tasting menu or a la carte, we decided upon the five course tasting menu and I also set her pairing to be the premium pairing. When we arrived, we were given the choice of joining a table or sitting at the counter, we took the counter and had no regrets- we got to see the magic happen! The staff was so kind and patient in their concern for my partner's allergy that we got so excited we upped to the seven course tasting menu. We are so grateful to the chef for taking so much time and care in customizing that menu to be onion free, we know with french cuisine how hard that had to have been. Everything was amazing and so very worth it. The evening has become legend as one of my partner's best birthdays ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Me & my husband love to visit local restaurants for chef tastings. The menu is Le Pigeon is always changing and bursting with thoughtful and expertly prepared plates. The seating is cozy and the noise level just right. We always try to sit at the bar to watch the chefs at work. They do an excellent job. This is by far the best tasting in Portland with a real eye on the fresher ingredients prepared perfectly. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and very attentive. Go ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great and very attentive. Got the five course meal. The price was ok, but feel it was not worth the price. The first two dishes were appetizers, which were very good. However the main course was not so great. The beef cheeks had very little flavor, but the carrots that accompanied it was way salty. The 4th dish was a white fish, again the was under seasoned, but the vegetables and sauce were way too salty.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The food is phenomenal, but the service ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food is phenomenal, but the service is very inconsistent, not the strength here...Reserve your table early in the evening to avoid waiting outside on the sidewalk while other diners wrap up. Seems there are some disgruntled employees afoot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Go for the food! Love the people you me ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Go for the food! Love the people you meet. Prices reasonable. Just go!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.