Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Le TournebrocheLe Tournebroche
(4)
French | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Restaurant Le ContinentalRestaurant Le Continental
(483)
French | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Brasserie Française Chez JulesBrasserie Française Chez Jules
(63)
French | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Restaurant 1640Restaurant 1640
(57)
Contemporary French | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Conti CaffeConti Caffe
(100)
Italian | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Charbon SteakhouseCharbon Steakhouse
(157)
Steakhouse | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
AviaticAviatic
(29)
Seafood | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Côtes à Côtes Resto-GrillCôtes à Côtes Resto-Grill
(13)
French | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
LaurieRaphael - QuebecLaurieRaphael - Quebec
(101)
Quebec | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
SaviniSavini
(2)
Contemporary Italian | Quebec City, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Restaurant Louis HebertRestaurant Louis Hebert
(3)
French | Montreal, Montreal
Reserve Now
Bistro Nordik - Chateau Mont-Sainte-AnneBistro Nordik - Chateau Mont-Sainte-Anne
(20)
Comfort Food | Capitale-Nationale, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now
Auberge Aux Quatre DélicesAuberge Aux Quatre Délices
Reviews Coming Soon
Contemporary French | Capitale-Nationale, Quebec City / Trois-Rivieres
Reserve Now

About Le Patriarche - Permanently Closed

17 Rue Saint-Stanislas
Quebec, QC G1R 4G7
View Larger Map

Nestled in the heart of Old Québec near the Saint-Jean Gate, Le Patriarche beckons with its intimate setting and the refined décor of a beautiful, circa 1827 stone house. Inside, you’ll discover that good things come in threes, as executive chef Stéphane Roth shares his creativity with his celebrated “trilogies from the terroir.” In each of his courses you’ll find products from small livestock farmers, new finds from dedicated foragers, and the most succulent items from area market gardens. The menu gives pride of place to game and other products from the Québec terroir. Add the perfect wine and you have all the makings of an unforgettable culinary experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, European, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm, Monday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Saint Jean

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 692-5488

Website:
http://www.lepatriarche.com/

Parking Details:
Un service de valet est offert au tarif de 8$++

Executive Chef:
Stéphane Roth

Additional:
Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Veal
Veal Cheek
pigeon
veal sweetbreads
Trio of Salmon
Deer
Elk
Trio of Snails
Amuse Bouche
Macaroons
Trio Of Snowcrab
Trio Of Veal
Trio Of Desserts (Death By Chocolate)
Caribou Pate
Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Memorable New Year's Eve dinner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Service was attentive. The flavours on the menu were impressive. One bit of criticism I have would be the hot portions could have been hotter but we sat upstairs so a bit far from the kitchen. Overall it was delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Splendid tasting menu

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

This was a fantastic experience. The restaurant itself, tucked on a side street just off Rue Saint-Jean, was a picturesque slice of Old Quebec.

The menu offered a variety of interesting and delicious flavours. The maple dessert trio was sublime.

All of the servers and staff were very friendly. The meal itself ran a bit long, but one expects this of high-end tasting menu venues.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a fantastic time at Le Patriarch. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We had a fantastic time at Le Patriarch. The menu is innovative and the hostess and chef were exceedingly accommodating to my dietary needs. The place is cozy and intimate and the staff are incredibly attentive. I come every time I'm in Quebec City

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Dining Experience!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2015

From the romantic ambiance, exceptional menu and the wonderful wine parings, our dining experience at Le Patriarche was the perfect place to celebrate our 30th anniversary and last evening in Quebec City. Our server was elegant, demure and warmly answered all our questions regarding the menu. The courses were executed perfectly. Not only was everything included in our menu delicious and beautifully displayed, it was just the perfect amount of food. We left completely satisfied but not overstuffed. A wonderful experience that we look forward to repeating on our next visit to the beautiful City of Quebec.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real disappointment

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2015

We had eaten at Le Patriarche several years ago during our last trip to Quebec City and loved it, but our return visit was a real disappointment. Their prices have become exorbitant and the food, while still interesting in terms of variety and preparation, is not so fantastic as to justify these prices. Some of the portions were so tiny that it was difficult to judge the taste, and only a few of the dishes were what one would expect when paying over $500 for a dinner for two. The fois gras trio appetizer was exceptional, including fois gras ice cream and a fois gras macaroon, but that was about the only thing that really stood out (other than a superb champagne aperitif at $20/glass). We went with the paired wine option, and found ourselves suggesting better pairings to the waiter (some of them just didn't work well at all). We spent 16 days dining in Quebec on this trip, and this meal didn't rank anywhere on our "best meals" list for the trip. The price/quality ratio just isn't there anymore, especially when you leave wanting to go somewhere else for a snack. Unless you're looking to spend a fortune for a meal that has only a few interesting but bite-sized elements, I'd give Le Patriarche a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Delectable Treats

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 26, 2014

This is a very romantic, cozy restaurant with a elegantly earthy kind of feel. Service was very efficient and friendly. Food is served in groups of three items. This a wonderful way of sampling a lot of unusual and delicious preparations -- and experience some of Quebec's traditional fare. The main floor, where we were seated, has only about 6 tables, a good distance apart from each other. Found the restaurant a little cold, but it was a very cold weekend when we visited Quebec. Reservations probably required. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

no better dining experience!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 24, 2013

everything about Patriarche was fantastic. the service and pacing was impeccable, the setting romantic, the food awe inspiring. we dined in three of the top 5 rated restaurants in Quebec, and Patriarche was by far the best. So to me it is the best in Quebec. It was also the most expensive dinner I have ever had. But since it was the best dining experience of my life, I would say it was worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French dining but with a twist

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 9, 2013

This a restaurant of threes. So every course features the same food item but prepared three ways. It sounds odd but really works well. Each course is a culinary adventure and all wonderful. Not your typical French dining but it works. The staff are exceptionally professional and deliver great service. The wine recommendations were perfect for the meals. The interior of the restaurant is wonderful with stone walls, etc. Very quiet and inviting. As a nice touch, the server comes to door and provides the coats and wishes you well. The prices are steep yet a worthwhile experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This fine dining establishment

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on November 9, 2013

This fine dining establishment is unique because each plate takes the signature "trilogy" approach of three different preparations that complement each other. The food is outstanding with deep flavors and is artistically presented. The wait staff is attentive and friendly without being overbearing or intrusive. Our server also made excellent suggestions for our wine choice. My only complaint is that the kitchen was slow getting the food out and there were inappropriately long delays between some of our courses. Glorious food but be prepared to be at the restaurant for a long time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our favorite

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 3, 2013

We always reserve at Patriarche on our annual trips to Quebec City. We enjoy the ambiance, the service, and the imaginative presentation and taste of the trilogies. A thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 24, 2013

A very nice and unique restaurant with remarkable service, food and wonderful ambiance. Each entree was a work of art and tasted as good as it looked. If you try the fixed menu option, which I highly suggest, be sure to include the wine pairing. A great find in Quebec city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 22, 2013

We celebrate our wedding anniversary here! The food was exquisite and the service was amazing. Highly recommended for special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A beautiful, unpretentious

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 17, 2013

A beautiful, unpretentious setting with a very good - although not overwhelming - wine list. We enjoyed the meal so much that we seriously considered cancelling plans the next night and the night after that to go back. If I lived in Quebec City I might eat there once a week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Trilogy

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2013

At La. Patriarche every plate is served in a trilogy, in other words of you order scallops they are served three ways, same with dessert, if you want chocolate, you will have a beautiful plate with three different chocolate desserts. The service is lovely, although at times it felt to us that there were too many decisions to make...the ambience is old world French, very cozy, a tiny place. Great for a special dinner....

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Expensive terrible wine!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 12, 2013

The food is good, the service great but definetely extremely pricey. We ordered a Bordeaux wine and it was a cheap French wine that they sell as a gem. There are much better options in Quebec for half the price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Phenomenal! A MUST for Foodies!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2013

Honestly, neither words nor photos can describe our fabulous experience here. Warning: go hungry, or you won't be able to enjoy it all!

We both ordered the game meat tasting menu, with wine pairings. The presentation and preparation were innovative, beautiful, and absolutely scrumptious. As an added bonus, they were totally accommodating of my husband's need for a gluten free meal...even providing excellent gluten free bread. Speaking of bread, although I usually resist the urge to fill up on bread, their cheddar and bacon roll was indescribably good.

This is a restaurant not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2013

We felt that although the restaurant was elegant, they made us feel like we were important. Each dish was presented with one food item prepared three different ways and it was displayed beautifully. We decided on the prix fixe menu so that we could enjoy more of what was offered. The meal was spread out over about 2 1/2 to 3 hours and was so leisurely that we were able to make an evening out of it. It was a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic spot, complicated food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 11, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal here. Beautiful exposed brick and old beams. Small, intimate rooms. The food was innovative and provided many different tastes on one plate. All were good, some excellent. Overall perhaps a bit too complex. Still a great experience and we would happily return. One thing to note-- this is not quick! 2 hours for 2 courses. This is common in Quebec fine dining but good to be prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A unique experience for which

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 11, 2013

A unique experience for which the entire evening actually exceeded FIVE STARS. Keep it up my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 5, 2013

Nothing here that needs to change. An amazing experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Best!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on October 5, 2013

An absolutely wonderful dining experience - ambiance, service, presentation and the extraordinary culinary tastes.

We can not wait to gi back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good , but it took forever ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on October 3, 2013

The food was good , the staff perfect , the ambience outstanding , but it was very expensive and it took us 2,5 hours to have our dinner !

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Superb food and service -

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 27, 2013

Superb food and service - we would definitely return

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Meal! Excellent service!!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 23, 2013

We celebrated our 12th Anniversary on Saturday night and we had an amazing experience at Le Patriarche. From the food to the table side service everything was out of this world. Thank you so much!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening at Le Patriarche. The restaurant is small, beautiful & cozy. The service was impeccable. The food was delicious. The food presentations were amazing. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2013

The food is fantastic, the service professional but warm, the ambiance quiet, elegant and cozy. We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2013

The restaurant was really cute, tucked in a quiet street off of a busy shopping area (Rue St. Jean). We had a dinner reservation at 5:30 and were promptly greeted/seated. The waitstaff were friendly and accommodating. The dinner took over 2 hours but it was filled with so many beautiful surprises. The presentation, the food, the ambiance... everything was perfect times three!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extraordinary!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 24, 2013

This restaurant had a menu that was incredibly unique! Everything was in "trio" - 3 versions meat, fish, etc. You could have a 3 choice or 5 choice meal - the latter a fixed price. The food was elegantly served and the presentation was beyond reproach. We have never eaten such amazing food prepared in ways that could only be considered art. The service was impeccable. Very quiet, very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Innovative food and perfect service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2013

The restaurant serves intriguing food, made with high attention to detail. We especially liked the lamb as well as the "death by chocolate dessert". We were also happy with the wine pairings. The services was attentive and excellent, to the point that the owner droveus home himself as no taxis were available in the heavy showers that fell onto town.

Not cheap (we spent a bit more than CAD 400, but definetly worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful dining experience.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2013

We picked Le Patriarche to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary, and we are so glad we did. This is a world class restaurant. The service from beginning to end was excellent, and made for a welcoming and relaxing dining experience. The meal was exceptional and the menu inventive. This was our first visit to Le Patriarch and we would recommend without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

amazing food, ok service

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 17, 2013

I would recommand for the food quality and would go back but the service was very normal....suprising considering how much you pay.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Extraordinary

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2013

We love wonderful food and it is hard to make us stop and say WOW, but this restaurant exceeded all of our expectations on every level. The food, presentation, creativity, and ambience were exceptional. The service was impeccable and the restaurant itself was beautiful. Yes, it was pricey, but for a 3 hr dinner of this caliber, it was well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceeded high expectations

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2013

We picked Le Patriarche for a romantic dinner to celebrate a birthday. Not being from Quebec City and wanting to reserve a great place in advance of the weekend trip, I checked out online reviews and decided on Le Patriarche. We arrived on time for our reservation and were seated immediately near a second floor window with a nice view of the historic street below. Service was prompt and cordial. Our server was an expert guide to the interesting menu of locally sourced produce and proteins. We selected the chef's trio tasting menu "Les Eux-Autres" at a fixed price. Each of the five courses arrived with perfect timing. We never felt rushed. The flavors were exquisite and presentation was first rate. I recommend it without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food; Glacial delivery

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2013

Wonderful menu. Each course comes prepared 3 ways. The tasting menus are well balanced.

The restaurant is not that big. The night I was there, it was only half full. Nonetheless, it took 1 1/4 hours to get our appetizers. There were 2 other couples that waited just as long. After that, the food came out at an appropriate pace. I understand that all the food is cooked as ordered, but the wait was unacceptable. Furthermore, no one came out to apologize. Water glasses were not filled promptly. At these prices, service should be prompt but deferential and food should come out at a reasonable pace.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Last night in Quebec

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2013

If you are a fine diner you will be very happy going to Le Patriarche. We both had the prix fixe, with foie gras, and the wine adder. One of the top 3 meals I've ever had and I'm in my 50's!. The service was outstanding, very professional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2013

Wow, what a dinner! We have eaten at many of the finest restaurants throughout the northeastern US and Patriarche ranks among the best. We each had a pre fix meal along with the foie gras and an outstanding bottle of Niagra Syrah. If your in QC and are searching for an outstanding evening, look no further.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Sophisticated and Creative

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 25, 2013

This is a special place and what comes from the kitchen is wonderful. The trilogy concept, while not unique, is certainly very interesting. It takes time to prepare so do not be in a hurry. The wait is worth it. Staff is professional, ambiance is charming and the overall experience is terrific

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Enjoyable evening

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2013

Le Patriarche was a very good start to our first trip to Quebec City. The food was presented well and the service was excellent. We loved the room with our table by the window onto the street.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

July 23, 2013

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 23, 2013

We took 5 friends to Le Patriarche to celebrate our 25th anniversary and my retirement. It was an excellent choice, our friends agreed that it was the best meal they had ever had. Each course was three very different variations of the selected item, each presented artfully. The wine pairings were well done. Expensive but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular, flawless execution

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2013

Great concept, terrific ingredients, top-notch execution. This restaurant compares favorably with Le Bernadin (NYC). We were unfamiliar with most of the available wines, but the several we had were excellent and went well with the various dishes. Many aspects of our meal were outstanding, but the trilogy of young buffalo (tartare, capaccio and terrine) narrowly beat out the lamb as the best dish of the night.

One note: Open Table gave us a later reservation than we really needed, so perhaps just show up a little early. (We were there on a Monday night.) Also, service was a tiny bit on the slow side (very French), but the food more than made up for it. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.