About Le Pain Béni

24, Rue Sainte-Anne
Quebec, QC G1R 3X3
View Larger Map

Historic setting, contemporary table


Located in the stone walls of an historic Quebec heritage home, close to the Château Frontenac, a restaurant with timeless and elegant decor and an inventive menu: Le Pain Béni

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, French / Canadian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm

Dinner: tuesday - saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
rue du Trésor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(418) 694-9485

Website:
http://www.painbeni.com/

Executive Chef:
Simon Côté-Tremblay

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Le Pain Béni Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

3.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (2)
romantic (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
See All
notable wine list (1)
special occasion (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
59 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

This restaurant is no longer called Le P ...

Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant is no longer called Le Pain Beni. It is now Chez Jules and has a very diffent menu. The decor although apparently new is jarring - in a sea of neutral tiles, the upholstery is a loud very red vinyl. If it had been in velvet, it would have brought a bordello to mind. The food was okay. The fries and desserts - chocolate mousse and creme brûlée -were quite good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere,friendly, very accommodating

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly, welcoming waiter and staff. Very accommodating, and helpful with our lacking French words. Great service, there to help when needed. Nice location, unique and ambient decor, lighting and music, amazingly delicious food and desert! Great wine and beverage selection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food; great service.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Enjoyed a very nice meal here with my wife. I would definitely recommend; excellent food and a vibrant (somewhat noisy) atmosphere. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Food is amazing, presentation is impecca ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Food is amazing, presentation is impeccable, and my seafood casserole has really good flavour and consistency especially with the white wine I had. Dessert looks amazing, but a bit too minty for my taste, the strawberry sorbet, mint jelly, everywhere...

food4
ambience5
service5

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordin ...

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Onion soup and bruschetta was extraordinary. Bread pudding is like none other. Pizza was also quite good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on October 22, 2015

The food was delicious, atmosphere very nice, wait staff knowledgeable and friendly. Overall a wonderful place for dinner. Would highly recommend when looking for a restaurant in Quebec City.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding service

Dined on September 18, 2015

The food exceeded our expectations, but what made the experience outstanding was the level and quality of service, the friendly, non-intrusive banter and the willingness of the server to make suggestions and share his knowledge with us. For a restaurant located in a busy tourist spot within the old city we were pleasantly surprised with the attention to detail and quality the evening overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food without Portentousness

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

I went there with my wife while visiting Quebec City. The restaurants is a low keyed bistro and has a nice patio. Most importantly, they serve one of my favorite dishes – Foie Gras. The dishes are the chef innovation and the Foie Gras was served with soft boil egg in a bread bowl, liver mousse and bacon jam – an amazing combination. For the main course I had the Atlantic Halibut - another amazing dish. My wife had the roasted chicken loaf and it was excellent. Don’t miss Le Pain Béni when you are in Quebec City.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Andrew

Dined on September 3, 2015

Excellent location, pleasant atmosphere, excellent staff. However, food over complicated in presentation at expense of quantity of main ingredient. Appears to be catering to a price point rather than good food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant deserves its excellent rating!

Dined on August 30, 2015

We selected Le Pain Beni because of its excellent ratings by most previous diners on TripAdvisor. We had a delightful, delicious meal from a creative menu, thoughtfully presented and served by a friendly attentive waiter. We enjoyed the outside seating bordered by pots of flowers to provide some privacy and distance from the walking crowd, musicians and artists on Rue St. Anne. It was a great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Our family of four had a wonderful dinne ...

Dined on August 27, 2015

Our family of four had a wonderful dinner here at Le Pain Béni! It was our first meal in QC. The restaurant has a very nice ambience with both indoor and outdoor seating. Both of our daughters are allergic to nuts, and our server was very attentive to their needs. It was also one of our daughter's 13th birthday, and she was able to enjoy a delicious flourless and nut free chocolate cake adorned with a sparkler! Merci!

food4
ambience4
service4

The steak, chicken loaf and the fish are ...

Dined on August 12, 2015

The steak, chicken loaf and the fish are all well cooked. Quite fancy and contemporary. Many new stuff has been added to the menu from opentable and the price has rised a little bit.

food4
ambience4
service4

Yummy

vip
Dined on August 12, 2015

Deer burger was amazing!!! We sat outside ate under the chandelier and enjoyed every minute.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Beautiful and friendly gluten-free safe restaurant

Dined on August 3, 2015

Going for a late night dinner at Le Pain Béni was a highlight of our trip to Quebec City. Even though it was very busy, we were served quickly and the server took the time to make our visit enjoyable. The atmosphere was great: full of energy but not too loud, and such a beautiful spot one couple walking by stopped to take pictures right next to us. From romance to family fun this restaurant is an excellent choice!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! The onion soup was delicio ...

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

Amazing food! The onion soup was delicious. The filet was one of the best meals I've ever had. Our server was funny and charming. We dined on the patio and enjoyed watching the artists and people walking by. Highly recommend this restaurant!

food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely Vieux Quebec restaurant with eclectic menu

vip
Dined on July 31, 2015

Le Pain Beni was, unexpectedly, a bit modern and funky inside, revealing an eclectic menu with lovely choices around which were guided expertly by our exceptional waiter. We took a vhance and order a Chef's "surprise" appetizer platter to share for dinner and everything, save the bison tartare, was very delicious. While we didn't care for the tartare, it was beautifully prepared and presented, just not a taste we enjoyed. In a city where finding bad food is pretty difficult, Le Pain Beni presented much of what Quebec is known for: fresh tasting, well prepared and presented food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

Dined on July 10, 2015

Was expecting alot, and was still blown away!! Had the bison tartar and bruchetta, it was outrageously amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

Dined on July 8, 2015

Found this place through Open Table and was very pleased. The meals were delicious. The restaurant 's menu differed from the on-line one but they were willing to customize so we're delighted. The wait staff was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Très bien in every way!

Dined on July 5, 2015

I was fortunate Le Pain Beni was in my hotel -- so convenient, and my room rate included free awesome breakfast every day. The "Classic Eggs" prepared with Goat cheese and chives (sans bacon for me) with potatoes and fresh baked bread toast was so yummy. On second day, I asked for fresh fruit instead of potatoes and was warmly accommodated. Excellent coffee and they also provided soy milk upon my request. The staff was so nice and service perfect! Beautiful food presentations. At dinner I had a Salmon salad and a unique veggie pizza, at the waiter's recommendation, -- both wonderful. The Sauvignon Blanc was also très bien! Red accented decor -- very stylish with comfortable red leather chairs and benches; outdoor seating also so enjoyable and cozy with red umbrellas and flower boxes in total bloom! I loved it and highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience at Le Pain Béni

Dined on July 1, 2015

I loved the overall experience- the staff was attentive, helpful with selections and enjoyable! I visited Old Quebec City with family and wanted to experience the local French cuisine and Le Pain Béni delivered. For starters we had the Onion Cream Soup, Waldorf Salad, and Bison Tartare, a new dish for us, and all were delicious. For main courses we shared the Seafood Casserole and steak, each done to our expectation. We finished up with the local Beaver Tail (maple and chocolate decadent dessert) and crème brûlée, to quote my daughter, “perfect”. Thanks for a lovely evening, great food and nice atmosphere. We had a great time in Old Quebec City and will definitely return one day to Le Pain Béni.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great meal in old Quebec

vip
Dined on May 28, 2015

One of the best restaurants we have eaten in. The food was complex and perfectly prepared. My husband had the veal. It was cooked to his preference, and he found it perfect in taste and texture. I am a vegetarian and had the rare pleasure of eating a vegetarian meal that had as much attention paid to it as meat dishes. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Excellent experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique flavours. Friendly staff and a ni ...

Dined on May 22, 2015

Unique flavours. Friendly staff and a nice vibe about the restaurant.

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointing Christmas meal

Dined on December 26, 2014

Had dinner on Christmas. Lovely looking little restaurant, brick walls, busy. We had a pleasant server who gave us a good wine recommendation. Charcuterie plate was outstanding but everything else from the kitchen we felt was heavy handed. A plate of oysters with raspberry jam (?!) and and a lime foam overpowered everything you want in a plate of oysters. We both ordered venison tartare that was almost gluey in consistency with hard chunks of bacon - again a dish that should have been fresh tasting and wasn't. We skipped dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner option in old city.

Dined on December 5, 2014

Wish we had found this on our first visit to old Quebec. Last visit to the city we weren't very impressed with dinner options. But if you are willing spend $100-$150 for dinner for 2 with wine, great place to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Romantic and Delicious

Dined on November 15, 2014

Lovely setting for a romantic dinner. The food was inventive and excellent. The service started slow but finished strong. I'll look forward to going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5

Dinner with two business colleagues

Dined on November 13, 2014

Chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews. It was close to hotel and menu was eclectic. This was the first time we had worked together so I did not know colleagues very well. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals. We shared the charcuterie and bruschetta appetizers and they were both delicious. I had the cabbage soup based on recommendations I had read and it did not disappoint! We all enjoyed our meals so much that we splurged and had dessert. They were all yummy! Service was attentive yet unobtrusive - just the way I like it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent experience. With 7 ...

Dined on November 11, 2014

We had an excellent experience. With 7 girls on a weekend trip to Quebec City, we all agreed that this was the best food we had throughout the entire trip. Service was top notch as a bonus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

old quebec gem

Dined on October 26, 2014

The food was perfect, the waiter was perfect, the table was perfect, the desserts were more than perfect. A gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

One of the best meal I've ever had! Ever ...

Dined on October 23, 2014

One of the best meal I've ever had! Every bite was an expérience. The service was à bit unpersonal but we had good suggestion and great wine as well

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner!

Dined on October 22, 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous meal here while in Old Quebec. I had read about it online and it looked great, then a local cafe owner told us this is where he goes with his wife when they want a good meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

So Good We Ate There Twice

Dined on October 12, 2014

The first night we arrived to discover our reservation had somehow been lost and the restaurant was full. They put us at the bar and everyone gave us the most attentive service ever. We had the fondue which was a real retro treat. The next time we went we were able to get a table and again had amazing service. The food was fantastic and I had the chef's special dessert and it was the best I had ever had in a restaurant. Add this to you "must go" list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

Dined on October 12, 2014

Loved the modern, cute and cozy vibe of the restaurant. The food was all excellent and there were some unique choices. I visited with my Mom and sisters while on a Girls weekend in Quebec City. All of our meals out were excellent but my sister commented that this restaurant was her favorite of all that we visited during our time in the city. She especially enjoyed the French Onion soup. It's in a great location, has wonderful food and a superb serving staff. What more could you ask for?!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

great food, great service, clean environ ...

Dined on October 10, 2014

great food, great service, clean environement and easy to find,

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food

Dined on October 2, 2014

Choice of ingredients is great and the food tastes excellent. This is my 2nd dining in Le Pain Beni and I will come back. It does get noisy at lunch and the acoustics are not great - is the only negative thing I can say.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Very nice food in old Quebec City

vip
Dined on September 28, 2014

We were lucky to be in Quebec on an unseasonably warm day, and dinner on the terrace outside this restaurant was great. Very French, very scenic; would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3

Underperformed

Dined on September 20, 2014

We had a nice enogh time-but the food was mediocre at best. My mushroom ravioli with rabbit liver and peas was fine, but unexciting. My wife's " lightly crusted halibut" was almost certainly a frozen hunk of fish dumped in the deep fryer-soggy and just gross. The restaurant is nice, the servers were attentive, but the food just was not up to Quebecoise standards.

food5
ambience5
service5

Can we go again, please?

Dined on August 31, 2014

My wife and I picked this spot on recommendation from my foodie brother, and it was fabulous. It's small and charming, overlooking one of the artisan walkways in old Quebec. Our waiter was a treat, and we ended up selecting his two suggestions for our entrees. The mushroom ravioli and rabbit was deep and richly flavored, and the halibut was crispy and light and perfectly cooked. A perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

great food, ordinary service

Dined on August 30, 2014

I enjoyed great food especially lamb taste and great soup. Wine is reasonable and not so expensive. I am sorry service is not so good as food. I mean timing of delivery was not so good. I enjoyed dessert but they never brought coffee. They should have asked me timing of coffee. (This was set-menu) I didn't enjoy coffee.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5

Solid choice

vip
Dined on August 8, 2014

Excellent and friendly service. Large portions, rich and delectable. Nice option to make your own 3 course meal for a set price. Best meal I had in Quebec city.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Better the first time

Dined on August 1, 2014

We ate there twice our first night was soo good. This night food was not as good but service was as excellent as the first and they remember us

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.