About Le Muscadin

639 Rue Notre-Dame O
Montreal, QC H3C 1H8
View Larger Map

Le Muscadin is an elegant Italian restaurant located in Old Montreal, in the heart of the upcoming multi-media district. Its professional yet cozy atmosphere makes it the ideal place for business lunches as well as social dinners and special celebrations.

Le Muscadin has an impressive wine cellar that is sure to please both connoisseurs and amateurs alike.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday closed

Cross Street:
McGill

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 842-0588

Website:
http://www.lemuscadin.ca/

Parking Details:
In public Lot

Day: Paying

Night: Free

Public Transit:
Metro Square-Victoria

Executive Chef:
Leonardo and Stefano Iacono

Private Party Contact:
Leo or Charlie Iacono: 5148420588

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
28 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First class service and outstanding food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

We were both a bit under dressed for the restaurant. But at no time, did the staff made us feel any different than the over dressed guests. Just for that level of respect, I will go back when ever I wish for great italian food. Right from the reception to receiving our coats at the end, the service was first class, friendly but with the utmost respect, and a great knowledge of the menu. The wine list is quite extensive, and while we are not into expensive wine, the sommelier selected a delicious wine in accord with our food and our price range. The food was fresh, and simply perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable, food was also ve ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Service was impeccable, food was also very good as usual. Wine list is amazing, great selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food, service, quality, all sensational. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Food, service, quality, all sensational. Go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service in English, French and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Fantastic service in English, French and Italian. Rather extensive menu with plenty of delicious options. Our group was greeted by and chatted with several staff members throughout the meal. Definitely a restaurant I would recommend and return to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food, unusual vibe

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Full disclosure: chose LeMuscadin primarily on proximity to hotel and availability of an early seating. However, previous positive reviews led us to expect a great meal. While greeted warmly and seated promptly, service was otherwise disorganized; we had a string of different servers for every aspect of the meal, each with an agenda. A strolling guitarist did not improve the ambiance, proving more intrusive than entertaining. The food was actually great--fresh, well-dressed salads, a generous chicken parmesan, an excellent pasta dish--but it was almost an afterthought. Did not linger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Excellent Old Italian

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

Professional, courteuos service. Menu mostly traditional. Food, wine excellent. Quiet atmosphere a real pleasure. Don't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

24 K

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Was visiting Montreal and this restaurant was recommended. No cheap was reasonable. Greeted by the owner. Very gracious individual and very talented. Service was impeccable as well as the food. Desserts were also fabulous. The owner serenaded us by playing his guitar along with another guitarist . This man made us feel welcome in a foreign environment . It was our anniversary and we were pleased to celebrate this event in his restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining spot in Old Montreal

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Great Italian restaurant with a diverse menu. Was recommended by a friend and was NOT disappointed. Staff was very responsive and accomodating to my allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Romantic and beautiful

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

The restaurant was beautiful , classy and defenetely my kind of choice for a romantic evening . Waiters are very friendly , the Italian food was amazing. Very good portions and all around one of the best restaurants I've been to

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were good. My main ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

The food and service were good. My main issue was the decor and ambience. The restaurant is dated, nothing modern or contemporary to speak of. It was not the vibe I was hoping for and it was pretty empty on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

great ambiance, fine wine and good food

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 2, 2015

elegant and quiet ambiance. Excellent service. Great wine cellar. Food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had not been to this restaurant for a ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

We had not been to this restaurant for a number of years but found the service and food was still up to the old standards. They have not missed a beat and its not hard to understand why the have been in business for 29 years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and personal attention .....

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2015

No fancy "Nouvelle Cuisine" here, just very generous portions of traditional Italian food, and the personal attention by the staff and owner made it a pleasure to dine at the Muscadin. The antipasto misto is a meal in itself!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Traditional Italian in Old Montreal

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

This long-time Italian in Old Montreal is worth the trip! While not exactly top end New York Italian, the food quality is very good, service is prompt and attentive, and the atmosphere very comfortable. The escargots in a garlic cream sauce were very nice, pasta was done properly and very tasty, the Caesar salad was mild but very good, and the cannoli as a finish were very good, if small. The wine list is a very extensive Italian wine extravaganza! We had the Braccaio 2004 Tuscan Blend and it was superb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Completely charming . . .

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

Excellent food, great wine selection, attentive service. Relaxed dining with great ambience, and well-trained staff. From being warmly greeted at the door after a long day of shopping, to making sure we had a cab drive home. and a private tour of the wine cellar in between, the manager ensured that we had a memorable evening ! Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an old school Italian restaurant ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

This is an old school Italian restaurant - people who know their food and wine and serving it in an excellent manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 4, 2015

Here s to my new favorite restaurant. I would reserve this one for special occasions. Food is exquisite and the staff was super friendly and very accommodating. I will recommend this restaurant to all of my friends and family.

They made the evening very memorable for my dads birthday celebration

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Four of us dined for the first time. We were greeted like old friends when we arrived. Our coats were taken and we were promptly shown to our table. We all chose something from the Table D'Hôte menu. Two had the red snapper, one ordered the calf liver, and I had the linguine infused with truffle oil and red wine. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The fish and liver were cooked to perfection and the linguine was very flavourful. A couple of us had the Caesar salad and it was delicious. The dressing was wonderful. The service was prompt but we didn't feel rushed - the perfect combination. Muscadin has a very impressive wine list and wine cellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely perfect

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

Food was amazing. Steak perfectly cooked and cray fish, simply divine! Everyone was friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was warmly authentic. The drama of table side cooking is not to be missed. A night to remember!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful evening

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

We received a warm welcome to this buzzing restaurant Food was delicious and the service even better. Service was attentive and accommodating. We would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely AMAZING!!!!

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on November 29, 2014

Loved everything! The food was Amazing and the service Outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Time!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 29, 2014

This was our first visit to Montreal and our first visit to Le Muscadin. We are so glad we chose Le Muscadin. From the moment we stepped in the door, we were welcomed by the owners and made to feel right at home! The service was great, and food outstanding. We never felt rushed, and had a very leisurely meal. A special treat was that we were serenaded by the strolling musician with his guitar! How special! If you are looking for a great meal with exceptional service, you must try Le Muscadin. Put it on your "must" list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't miss it!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

My husband and I have dined all over the world. Le Muscadin has been added as one of our favorite restaurants. The service was impeccable. The food was terrific. We can't wait to visit Montreal again and one of our first stops will be Le Muscadin!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a truly magical evening with great food ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on October 18, 2014

a truly magical evening with great food and Salvatore seranading us

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

lotsadeacs

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

Great service, excellent meal, terrific antipasto, fantastic Brunello at a fair price. Had entire inside to ourselves as all other guests ate outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A Night to Remember

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 11, 2014

We had an outstanding experience all around. Atmosphere was quiet and subdued, food was excellent, and we were treated like royalty, right down to the lovely rose I was given on departing. The penne arrabiata, veal with mushrooms, shallots and wine sauce, and the sea bass were all superb. Also, really enjoyed the almond cake. I highly recommend this place for a very special evening out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old World Charm

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 8, 2014

An elegant mix of classic Italian cuisine, enhanced by a touch of brillant imagination, in a quiet and elegant décor, with a warm reception, comfortable seating at large tables, unobstrusive yet highly efficient service, made for a most pleasing anniversary dinner. It is heartwarming to find such a classy establishment where the high quality of to-day's food, prepared in the best tradition, is still served with the attention to details of yesteryear's polish, in the quiet atmosphere of an elegant salon. Add to all of this the pair of long stem roses offered to my wife by the Maître d' as we left, and we could not find a fault to the whole experience. We shall return !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and service

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 12, 2014

The food was fantastic. One of the best Italian restaurants we have been to in Old Montreal. The Service is unobtrusive but impeccable. The wine list is one of the beat I have ever seen. There were bottles priced from $60.00 to $4,000.00.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.