About Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites

911 W 36th Street
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Le Garage Beer Bar and Frites, a hardworking little neighborhood bar & restaurant in Hampden serving approachable French cuisine including savory frites with a multitude of creative dipping sauces, and an eclectic list of 14 draft beers. Parking available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Thursday to Sunday 5pm - 11pm (kitchen until 10:45)

Friday and Saturday 5pm - 1am (kitchen until midnight)

Sunday Brunch 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Roland Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 243-6300

Website:
http://www.legaragebaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may access our FREE parking lot by taking Roland Avenue just past 36th and left into the alley where our lot is located.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites, Baltimore, MD
Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites, Baltimore, MD

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in the New Year with a special four course prix-fixe dinner for only $65!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great Beer (12)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great time at Le Garage, their ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a great time at Le Garage, their frites are unparalleled and the brunch menu was ultimate and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a place with "Frites" in the name, m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

For a place with "Frites" in the name, my wife thought the frites were a) too big to be real pommes frites, and b) not that great. (I'm not cultured enough to know the difference, but they seemed like decent fries to me). Other than that, our other dishes were great - scallops and a fettucini dish were both fantastic. I think this place would be good for a "nice but relaxed " date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and great service - no easier ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and great service - no easier way to say it. They sure know how to make French fries!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite nice...good selection, in ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was quite nice...good selection, inventive, well-presented, thoughtful, and nice portions.

Service was none of the above. Whatever happened to servers under 30 who cared about their customers?

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Charming place with available parking. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Charming place with available parking. Excellent selection of beers. Nice cocktails. Steak frites were good, but not spectacular. Smoked corn tartine was excellent. Service was very pleasant but quite slow particularly at first. We were seated in a back room and I think they forgot about us. Forgot one of the sauces with our frites and by the time it arrived, the (smallish) portion of frites were nearly gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was great we were there for bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great we were there for brunch. Portions were good and the mimosa was excellent. The two servers we had were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fun restaurant with great food and good. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun restaurant with great food and good. Would recommend either for a nice, formal dinner as a special occasion, or as a casual happy hour at the bar (frites + beer).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mostly enjoyed our dining experience. Co ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mostly enjoyed our dining experience. Cool atmosphere and good wait staff. Menu was interesting but the food was under seasoned. The sauce that came with the fries had no flavor at all - was supposed to be garlic, rosemary and parmesan. Seriously, no flavor. The shrimp dumplings came with a nice tomato sauce that was in dire need of salt. I don't like food particularly salty but I do like a bit of salt to bring out flavors, especially with tomatoes. Would be willing to go back to see if we were just there on an off night because the food has a lot of potential.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Le Garage is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Le Garage is a wonderful restaurant with great food and, and a professional, friendly, staff. The Le Garage is located in the eclectic neighborhood of Hampden in north Baltimore. Parking is conveniently located in the rear of the building. I highly recommend Le Garage!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great was service was disappoin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was great was service was disappointing--Great waitress but very slow service--maybe too many tables for her? Host was not very friendly. We made a reservation and were a few minutes late and was told they had given our table away despite obvious room. Fries are unbelievable , brussel sprouts a bit too much stuff on them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

This place has terrific food, in both fl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place has terrific food, in both flavor and options. The only disappointment was the slow and unattentive service from the bartender and busy waitstaff. They seem too far outnumbered by the patrons. Otherwise, definitely worth a visit! Just don't arrive starving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The red Bordeaux and red Cotes du Rhone ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The red Bordeaux and red Cotes du Rhone wine were excellent. The seared scallops and farro and eggplant caponata were very good. The Camembert was very good. I did not care for the sweet sauce on the walnuts. The frites were excellent with the curry sauce. The mussels and fennel were good. I love the ambiance and the waiters were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would have liked to have seen the table ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Would have liked to have seen the table cleared a little more when we arrived to sit down - waited ~5+ min before anyone touched the table we requested, and then took at least another ~5+ min. to get a waiter to our table for drinks once we had sat down. Cocktails were excellent Feu de Fleur especially.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was wonderful, especially Lyd ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful, especially Lydia, our server. She was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good night. Burger and frites

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good night. Burger and frites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Le Garage is awesome! We did not know wh ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Le Garage is awesome! We did not know what to expect but whatever they had been, our expectations were exceeded. We loved the service, the ambiance, the drinks, the bread... and then came the fries... Wow! Definitely best of Baltimore! Our entrees were really good, too. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere!! Food and service wer ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great atmosphere!! Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my third time dining at Le Gara ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my third time dining at Le Garage. In the past, I have not been disappointed. However, I was less than thrilled with my choice this time- the Shaved Brussels Sprouts Salad. It was not at all what I thought. It was a regular salad with red/green lettuce, with a few pieces of fennel, and no "summer veggies" as described. Then, there were pieces (halves) of raw brussels sprouts that were just inedible. Luckily I was able to enjoy some of my mom's mussels and frites which were, of course, delicious. I will be back but don't plan on ordering a salad next time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Very friendly and attentive server. Nice ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very friendly and attentive server. Nice choice of drafts. So dark that some of us had to use our phone flashlight to see the menu. Food was fine. Nothing to write home about.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Really wish this place had the same spar ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Really wish this place had the same sparkle as it did when it first opened. This trip was disappointing. The service was good, but the food just wasn't very good or inspired, and because of that, seemed very overpriced. It's a bummer because there are many new places opening up on the street, and it looks like Le Garage just won't be around much longer if they keep this up. The frites are still good though, so maybe the little frites shop will stick around.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food had very little taste and flavo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food had very little taste and flavor. We had the rockfish and scallops and couldn't finish it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was eager to try out this new Hamden s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was eager to try out this new Hamden spot, and it didn't disappoint. The ambiance was nice, with low lighting (maybe a little too low, but I got what they were going for) and very cosmopolitan vibe. The staff was incredibly attentive, at times maybe a little too much, but I'd rather that. We had both cocktails and wine, all of which was delicious. The delivery of our appetizers and main courses to the table was well timed - we didn't feel rushed, and courses were cleared before more food was put down. The mains were great - steak filet, a lamb special, and tartine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our cocktails and food were amazing! I o ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our cocktails and food were amazing! I ordered the ribeye for my entree and it was the best steak that I have had in a long time. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really helpful service. Loved the craft ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Really helpful service. Loved the craft cocktails and the scallops entree and Brussel sprout appetizer. Sunday was a very quiet dinner scene. This place is worth the trip.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Perhaps it was the influence of Restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perhaps it was the influence of Restaurant Week but our food was very disappointing. I had asked about the smoked fish and how strongly it flavored the mussels and was told it did not overwhelm the dish. I couldn't eat the dish and the response was "I'm sorry." My daughters shrimp and grits had lovely shrimp but tasteless grits and her salad was average at best. We will not be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Everything my boyfriend and I had here w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything my boyfriend and I had here was excellent. This was our first visit and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the food and service were outstandi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Both the food and service were outstanding. We were there early, but everyone was on their A game and multiple servers helped us, all of whom were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best mule in Baltimore.

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The best mule in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our reserved table was being leaked on f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our reserved table was being leaked on from the ceiling or vent. The only option was to go to the bar area. This could be excused except for the lack of service. It took 1/2 hour for the waitress to come to take our drink order (at my reminder) and even though she and the ?manager? would come to ask if everything was alright, we had to keep giving reminders... an appetizer was forgotten, take the empty plates away, more water please, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was amazing as was the comprehe ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was amazing as was the comprehensive beer/wine/cocktail list. We will definitely be coming back. The service was very slow, but the waiter was wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Love this restaurant! Delicious food, g ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love this restaurant! Delicious food, great service, reasonable prices, cool decor, etc. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a cool but casual spot that had ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a cool but casual spot that had wonderful service. Impeccable food and drink selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Definitely order th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great time! Definitely order the Brussels sprouts and mussels. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very rarely do I write a negative review ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very rarely do I write a negative review. It's always my preference to write about a positive experience but this experience necessitates feedback. We arrived on time for our reservation and were waiting at the desk to be greeted by the person there. We waited to be acknowledged and eventually he looked up and responded with a comment about finishing writing something. I think, perhaps, looking at us and acknowledging our presence by saying 'hello, I'll be right with you' would have been a good choice but apparently not. We were seated and eventually gave drink orders. We were greeted by our server. Orders were taken and out first course didn't arrive until 45 minutes later when we enquired. The bottle of wine we ordered wasn't available and so we ordered a difference bottle. When the bottle arrived it was poured into both glasses, I guess tasting the wine isn't their policy. Our second course arrived while we were still working on our first course. Rather than taking the meals back, the young man stood at our table holding our meals until we realized he wanted us to make room on the table for the plates. We obliged. My mussels were fine, my husbands meal was cool. After waiting 20 minutes for dessert it arrived without silverware and my husband attempted to ask for silverware while our server made a hasty retreat. At that point my husband approaches the person we were told was the owner and asked for part of the meal to be comped. To his credit he did but... Not one single apology. Shame on you guys. There are far too many lovely places to dine for you to be so cavalier about your guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I was pleasantly surprised by this place ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. We hadn't been before.... really cool ambiance; sort of that "industrial chic" look and laid back. The food was excellent! We've been to all of the best restaurants in Baltimore, and this was right up there. Fries with dipping sauces = fun! I might order the Coq a vin dumplings as my final meal ; seriously great. We both had fish and it was cooked to perfection. If I had any constructive criticism, it would be that the dessert menu needs some refining. Overall, I'd go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this place as t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I really wanted to like this place as the menu looked GREAT and had hoped great things. We arrived to a pretty empty place ( 2 tables seated 3 people at the bar) and we stood there. Watched a employee walk past us without a word and stood there. Someone finally seated us. A little awkward, but ok. My husband and I ordered drinks and the each ordered some frites and he ordered a short rib appetizer and I ordered the French Onion Soup.

Then we waited.

And waited.

Still empty, and we waited.

After a time, someone came along and dropped everything we ordered off on the table and removed the bread plates off the table ( I guess bread wasn't a option, just the plates)

The frites........... well they were less than impressive for a place that advertises itself as a frites place. Mine were under cooked and COLD. The sauce... flavorless.

Huge let down.

My soup? Again a place advertising it's " french cuisine" should understand a basic thing like French Onion Soup.

Lukewarm bowl of overly sweet carmelized onion with very little broth, with a not edible very stale piece of bread as a crouton with some cheese melted on it?

Sorry, no.

My husband's "short ribs"?

It was a piece of pot roast.

The service was perfunctory and uncaring.

Great ambiance, but the food and service aren't worth a second trip.

Won't be returning.

With tip for 2 orders of frites and 2 appetizers, a ice tea and one vodka, this cost us 60 bucks. Not worth it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was poor and the place was empty ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was poor and the place was empty. Burger was very good, fries were outstanding, but the star of the evening were the Brussel sprouts! Amazing if you enjoy spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

It was honestly one of the best restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was honestly one of the best restaurants I have been to in a while. Went there for date night and had nothing to complain about. The food and service killed it. I can't believe I hadn't found this gem sooner. Will be coming a lot more often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was well prepared. Portions small., ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was well prepared. Portions small., considering the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was very friendly and attentive. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was very friendly and attentive. Food was amazing as were the drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.