About Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites

911 W 36th Street
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Le Garage Beer Bar and Frites, a hardworking little neighborhood bar & restaurant in Hampden serving approachable French cuisine including savory frites with a multitude of creative dipping sauces, and an eclectic list of 14 draft beers. Parking available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Thursday to Sunday 5pm - 11pm (kitchen until 10:45)

Friday and Saturday 5pm - 1am (kitchen until midnight)

Sunday Brunch 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Roland Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 243-6300

Website:
http://www.legaragebaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may access our FREE parking lot by taking Roland Avenue just past 36th and left into the alley where our lot is located.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites
Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites

Promotions

Bottomless Brunch $13 bloodys n mimosa

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 14, 2016 - Nov 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Mussel Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Bottomless Brunch $13 bloodys n mimosa

Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Join us for brunch. Fresh house made doughnuts, 13 dollar bottomless mimosas with fresh oj and french sparkling as well as housemade bloody marys with polish rye vodka. Excludes Tax and Tip. We have a dedicated parking lot in the back alley of our building. Special valid Jul 14, 2016 - Nov 1, 2016 on Sundays from 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 14, 2016 - Nov 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

$3 Select Bottles, $4 Select Drafts, $5 House Wine, $6 Cocktail du Jour. At the bar only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 14, 2016 - Nov 14, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Mussel Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

$12 for Mussels and Frites with your choice of homemade frites sauce $15 for Mussels, frites and a beer. Deal applies to bar only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 14, 2016 - Nov 14, 2016 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (40)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (14)
Late-night Find (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really wish this place had the same spar ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

Really wish this place had the same sparkle as it did when it first opened. This trip was disappointing. The service was good, but the food just wasn't very good or inspired, and because of that, seemed very overpriced. It's a bummer because there are many new places opening up on the street, and it looks like Le Garage just won't be around much longer if they keep this up. The frites are still good though, so maybe the little frites shop will stick around.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The food had very little taste and flavo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food had very little taste and flavor. We had the rockfish and scallops and couldn't finish it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

I was eager to try out this new Hamden s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I was eager to try out this new Hamden spot, and it didn't disappoint. The ambiance was nice, with low lighting (maybe a little too low, but I got what they were going for) and very cosmopolitan vibe. The staff was incredibly attentive, at times maybe a little too much, but I'd rather that. We had both cocktails and wine, all of which was delicious. The delivery of our appetizers and main courses to the table was well timed - we didn't feel rushed, and courses were cleared before more food was put down. The mains were great - steak filet, a lamb special, and tartine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our cocktails and food were amazing! I o ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our cocktails and food were amazing! I ordered the ribeye for my entree and it was the best steak that I have had in a long time. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really helpful service. Loved the craft ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Really helpful service. Loved the craft cocktails and the scallops entree and Brussel sprout appetizer. Sunday was a very quiet dinner scene. This place is worth the trip.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Perhaps it was the influence of Restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Perhaps it was the influence of Restaurant Week but our food was very disappointing. I had asked about the smoked fish and how strongly it flavored the mussels and was told it did not overwhelm the dish. I couldn't eat the dish and the response was "I'm sorry." My daughters shrimp and grits had lovely shrimp but tasteless grits and her salad was average at best. We will not be in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Everything my boyfriend and I had here w ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything my boyfriend and I had here was excellent. This was our first visit and we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the food and service were outstandi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Both the food and service were outstanding. We were there early, but everyone was on their A game and multiple servers helped us, all of whom were outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best mule in Baltimore.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The best mule in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our reserved table was being leaked on f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our reserved table was being leaked on from the ceiling or vent. The only option was to go to the bar area. This could be excused except for the lack of service. It took 1/2 hour for the waitress to come to take our drink order (at my reminder) and even though she and the ?manager? would come to ask if everything was alright, we had to keep giving reminders... an appetizer was forgotten, take the empty plates away, more water please, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The food was amazing as was the comprehe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was amazing as was the comprehensive beer/wine/cocktail list. We will definitely be coming back. The service was very slow, but the waiter was wonderful

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Love this restaurant! Delicious food, g ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love this restaurant! Delicious food, great service, reasonable prices, cool decor, etc. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a cool but casual spot that had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is a cool but casual spot that had wonderful service. Impeccable food and drink selections.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time! Definitely order th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great time! Definitely order the Brussels sprouts and mussels. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very rarely do I write a negative review ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very rarely do I write a negative review. It's always my preference to write about a positive experience but this experience necessitates feedback. We arrived on time for our reservation and were waiting at the desk to be greeted by the person there. We waited to be acknowledged and eventually he looked up and responded with a comment about finishing writing something. I think, perhaps, looking at us and acknowledging our presence by saying 'hello, I'll be right with you' would have been a good choice but apparently not. We were seated and eventually gave drink orders. We were greeted by our server. Orders were taken and out first course didn't arrive until 45 minutes later when we enquired. The bottle of wine we ordered wasn't available and so we ordered a difference bottle. When the bottle arrived it was poured into both glasses, I guess tasting the wine isn't their policy. Our second course arrived while we were still working on our first course. Rather than taking the meals back, the young man stood at our table holding our meals until we realized he wanted us to make room on the table for the plates. We obliged. My mussels were fine, my husbands meal was cool. After waiting 20 minutes for dessert it arrived without silverware and my husband attempted to ask for silverware while our server made a hasty retreat. At that point my husband approaches the person we were told was the owner and asked for part of the meal to be comped. To his credit he did but... Not one single apology. Shame on you guys. There are far too many lovely places to dine for you to be so cavalier about your guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

I was pleasantly surprised by this place ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. We hadn't been before.... really cool ambiance; sort of that "industrial chic" look and laid back. The food was excellent! We've been to all of the best restaurants in Baltimore, and this was right up there. Fries with dipping sauces = fun! I might order the Coq a vin dumplings as my final meal ; seriously great. We both had fish and it was cooked to perfection. If I had any constructive criticism, it would be that the dessert menu needs some refining. Overall, I'd go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really wanted to like this place as t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I really wanted to like this place as the menu looked GREAT and had hoped great things. We arrived to a pretty empty place ( 2 tables seated 3 people at the bar) and we stood there. Watched a employee walk past us without a word and stood there. Someone finally seated us. A little awkward, but ok. My husband and I ordered drinks and the each ordered some frites and he ordered a short rib appetizer and I ordered the French Onion Soup.

Then we waited.

And waited.

Still empty, and we waited.

After a time, someone came along and dropped everything we ordered off on the table and removed the bread plates off the table ( I guess bread wasn't a option, just the plates)

The frites........... well they were less than impressive for a place that advertises itself as a frites place. Mine were under cooked and COLD. The sauce... flavorless.

Huge let down.

My soup? Again a place advertising it's " french cuisine" should understand a basic thing like French Onion Soup.

Lukewarm bowl of overly sweet carmelized onion with very little broth, with a not edible very stale piece of bread as a crouton with some cheese melted on it?

Sorry, no.

My husband's "short ribs"?

It was a piece of pot roast.

The service was perfunctory and uncaring.

Great ambiance, but the food and service aren't worth a second trip.

Won't be returning.

With tip for 2 orders of frites and 2 appetizers, a ice tea and one vodka, this cost us 60 bucks. Not worth it at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was poor and the place was empty ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was poor and the place was empty. Burger was very good, fries were outstanding, but the star of the evening were the Brussel sprouts! Amazing if you enjoy spice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

It was honestly one of the best restaura ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was honestly one of the best restaurants I have been to in a while. Went there for date night and had nothing to complain about. The food and service killed it. I can't believe I hadn't found this gem sooner. Will be coming a lot more often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was well prepared. Portions small., ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food was well prepared. Portions small., considering the prices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Service was very friendly and attentive. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was very friendly and attentive. Food was amazing as were the drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome specialty cocktails and flawless ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Awesome specialty cocktails and flawless , attentive service. The steak frites had superior beef to what one usually gets in this dish, and was a bargain at $25. And don't miss those delicious chicken dumplings. Plan to return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

While Le Garage was pleasant and the ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

While Le Garage was pleasant and the service was excellent, I found the menu to be lacking in options. What I had (sea scallops) was good, but I would have liked some additional choices. The people I was with all liked their food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my first visit... The mussels were plump and flavorful, with enough in the bucket to satisfy a hunger. The frites and dip [rosemary and garlic] yummy! Add a nice cold beer to round out a perfect meal! Our servers were lovely and efficient. Definitely worthy of a return visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fries were Hot; Cocktails were cool

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The neighborhood seems a little hipster. There are several restaurants on 36th St I would like to try on return visits. We (3 of us) shared frites (with 2 sauces); they were crispy and delicious. I could have eaten more, but we applied ourselves to dinner. I had the catfish -- delicious. I particularly liked the vegetables. One person had a burger and spoke highly of it. The third person had pasta with veg -- including fiddleheads (which she was kind enough to let me dive into -- I love them). The wine was decent. I had 2 different cocktails; the waitress had warned me away from one, but I tried it anyway and liked it (Whiskey Sauvage) It was smoky but not over much so. I do like a savory cocktail and requested even more bitters. That was my dessert; my companions opted for creme brulee and licked the container clean.

We had two servers, and they were both great. Solicitous but not over-present. Very knowledgeable about the menu and willing to give recommendations.

Cute place when we wanted to get good food but not spend a ton or be too formal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Can't recommend

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was really disappointing. We had soup, salad, cheeseburger, frites (with 2 sauces) and something else I can't even recall. The frites were big, tasteless , not improved by either of the sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Awesome meal. Waitress was friendly enth ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Awesome meal. Waitress was friendly enthusiastic about our choices and very attentive. We started with the couscous and beet salad and Brussel sprout salad. Fantastic. My main course was the seared tuna salad cooked perfectly to my liking and my son had the wonderful catfish. We splurged on your famous frites and they were spectacular. The dessert was the ultimate delectable finish- profiteroles with honey graham and fudge brownie. The best we've ever had. Loved every bite of everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I came here to the celebrate ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My wife and I came here to the celebrate the fifth anniversary of when we first met. We ordered ham and leek croquettes to start, and then she had the moules frites while I had the soft-shell crab special. For dessert, wife had a coco profiterole with a scoop of blueberry jasmine ice cream, while I had the croissant bread pudding and a coffee. My wife absolutely loved the croquettes; I thought they were good, but maybe could use more of a condiment to cut the richness. My wife also loved her mussels; I had a taste and thought they were fantastic, too. The coconut cream in the broth was a genius touch and helped balance the heat of the dip for the frites. My crabs were just delicious, although I admit my favorite part was the haricots verts accompaniment. However, we both agree that our favorite part of the evening was the enthusiasm of our waiter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Was looking forward to Mother's day brun ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was looking forward to Mother's day brunch because the last time we had brunch here was very good. Not the same experience this time. The Bloody Mary was way to hot and I didn't taste the vodka...even before I asked for more tomato juice to dilute it. It was garnished with two olives and not the traditional celery stick....had to ask for lime as well. Needed salt and asked for that. The coffee, French press, was cold too soon and therefore the rest of the carafe was wasted. Not like pouring fresh hot for the second cup. The bacon was very chewy and greasy and reminded us of beef jerky. My eggs didn't show up when my husbands did but they did comp them when they finally did arrive. We already had salt and pepper ( we asked for it when the Bloody Mary came) but it was way too coarse to put on the eggs. So it was disappointing especially for Mother's Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Friends' dinner

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

It was our first time at Le Garage. We went with a couple of friends and shared a few appetizers and a bottle of wine. We had their signature Belgian frites with 2 sauces: the Samurai and the Green Goddess (by far my favorite; it was fresh and bright). The cheese plate came with 3 cheeses; the Fourme D'Ambert with wet walnuts, was very creamy and delicious. The duck ham tartine was outstanding. However, my favorite plates of the night were the dumplings (with a mushroom, rich earthy broth!) and the ham and leek croquettes (give them a try!!). We had a fabulous time and enjoyed immensely our food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as usual

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

This was my fourth or fifth visit to Le Garage and it seems to get better each time - and the first time was outstanding, The service is efficient and friendly. The food is perfect. I hat the steak fritters. It was done perfectly and the frittes are to die for. The chairs could be a bit more comfortable. I absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent burger and well-prepared frite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent burger and well-prepared frites, service by friendly staff in a quiet bar atmosphere. Great drink selection. Pleasant place for good food, a drink, and conversation with a friend, but equally suitable for a date. Wasn't thrilled with the mussels, but overall a very good choice, and I would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Hamden Gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Pre theater meal was once again delightfully prepared, presented and served by a knowledgeable and attentive waitperson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Fun find

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We went to Le Garage for the first time on Saturday and were happy with the choice. It's got a nice atmosphere and the food was great. The food was interesting. I found getting two appetizers to be a great choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite Unique

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

A few people in my party of 5 got the burgers and really liked them. My daughter got the steak frites but only liked it moderately. (She loves steak frites!) The house-made ketchup they gave her tasted like tomato sauce (don't bother). I got the duck ham tartine. It was very good but not "memorable." The brussels sprouts were great though and had a bit of a kick. It would be nice if the bar menu was available in the restaurant as many items sounded quite delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bad start, good ending

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My husband and I had been wanting to try this restaurant for quite a long time and finally dined there early on a Friday evening. When we arrived, only one table was filled, and we were seated promptly in a semi-private area which we liked. However, we had to wait for over 15 minutes for anyone to approach our table. We watched other diners being seated and their orders taken. When a server finally appeared, she did apologize and blamed a mix-up of some sort. From that point on, our experience was very good! We usually avoid fried food but decided to indulge in sharing an order of Belgian frites with two sauces, very addictive! My husband enjoyed his catfish entree, and I tried the Banh Mi Tartine which had a great combination of flavors and textures. The atmosphere was cozy and informal. We look forward to returning and sampling more dishes.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

super fun, super yummy in super neighborhood….

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

not from baltimore but looking forward to visiting again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A pleasant surprise!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I went to Le Garage for date night, and weren't sure what we were going to find (c'mon, "garage" is in the restaurant name). It was a pleasant surprise: the food was delicious and the crowd was trendy, and we felt younger just being there! We did think it was a bit overpriced, and as they got busier the service slowed down noticeably (getting that second drink was a challenge). However, we would definitely go back. It was a fun and yummy experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Different, delicious, worth a visit. Ent ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Different, delicious, worth a visit. Entree temperature not as hot as it should have been, but otherwise wonderful. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

go for the apps

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The entrees were ok. Next time I would just order more apps. They were fantastic!!! Service was funny and a little slow but it didn't have a major effect on the dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.