About Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites

Le Garage Beer Bar and Frites, a hardworking little neighborhood bar & restaurant in Hampden serving approachable French cuisine including savory frites with a multitude of creative dipping sauces, and an eclectic list of 14 draft beers. Parking available.

911 W 36th Street
Baltimore, MD 21211
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French

Hours of Operation:
Thursday to Sunday 5pm - 11pm (kitchen until 10:45)

Friday and Saturday 5pm - 1am (kitchen until midnight)

Sunday Brunch 11am - 3pm

Cross Street:
Roland Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 243-6300

Website:
http://www.legaragebaltimore.com/

Parking Details:
Guests may access our FREE parking lot by taking Roland Avenue just past 36th and left into the alley where our lot is located.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites, Baltimore, MD

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Le Garage Beer Bar & Frites Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great Beer (17)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Bar Seating (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Casual (12)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Fun (8)
Romantic (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The BEST Brussel Sprouts in town, not ki ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The BEST Brussel Sprouts in town, not kidding! Roasted, toasted brussels, with bacon and blue cheese and chili sauce made for the perfect combination. Not kidding, these were bowl licking scrumptious and I'd go back just to have them again paired with a yummy draft Belgian brew.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Le Garage was a wonderful dining experie ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Le Garage was a wonderful dining experience. The Charlemagne egg bourbon cocktail was exceptional as was the braised fennel salad! Mussels and frites as well as the sticky foggy pudding were very good. This was a great pick for restaurant week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A carefully curated and superbly crafted ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

A carefully curated and superbly crafted cocktail selection sets the stage for food that surpasses expectations. A simple steak frites is a delight; the cauliflower fondue is a delight. An enjoyable night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My husband and I loved Le Garage. We wer ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I loved Le Garage. We were asked, "Did we want more or less light, booth or table, more or less private?" Very impressed-never asked that before. Food and service excellent and all staff very friendly. Free parking behind the restaurant a huge plus in this area. Very creative menu and even home-made mayonnaise. We do not drink so can not rate that aspect but many guests were and seemed quite happy. Wanted decaf coffee and it came in a French Press-very nice touch.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and tasty food. What more ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and tasty food. What more can you ask for?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have heard really great things about thi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Have heard really great things about this place so we came here for a double date night for restaurant week. All I can say is - AMAZING! Worth every penny. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went during the Baltimore Restaurant ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We went during the Baltimore Restaurant Week, and very much enjoyed it. We were seated in a room further in the back, a bit secluded from the main dining area which is ideal if you want a more intimate dining experience. The food was excellent, the service attentive, and the cocktails extraordinary. We will be back for steak and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We have dined here multiple times, howev ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We have dined here multiple times, however, this time was a terrible experience, service was incredibly slow, steak was under cooked, sent it back, it came back out where they basically had put it on a grill to make it look cooked on the outside, sent it back again for it to be cooked perfectly and 30 mins later received our meal back. Pork shank for my partner was cold when first delivered, sent it back to be reheated, came back cold, sent it back again and it came back 20 mins later still luke warm. At no time did the waiter apologize for our experience, offer a complimentary glass of wine nor did the manager ever stop by to see what was happening. We weren't the only ones, there were other tables experiencing the same poor service and poor food. We had to take our check to the Manager to get our bill paid, told him of the poor service and he did take small deduction on our check, though disappointing that we had to go and find the manager in order express our disappointment. We will not be returning nor would we recommend this restaurant. We dine out 2-3 nights a week and this was one of the worst experiences in recent memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Horrible service

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Had a terrific experience at Le Garage. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Had a terrific experience at Le Garage. The food was OUTSTANDING. The service was as well. I wish I remembered the server's name - cute young lady with semi-short dark hair. Super knowledgable and helpful - and if she didn't know the answer she found out. We went for Restaurant Week and feel like we robbed the place for the meal we got for $30. I HIGHLY recommend Le Garage for all sorts of occasions.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible service ok food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Horrible service ok food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Some dishes were good and creative (brus ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Some dishes were good and creative (brussels sprouts w/thai chili & bleu cheese, some were ... off (cauliflower fondue), steak frites was just right as were the mussels/frites with truffle aioli. Mixed drinks were "creative" but not necessarily having again; wine was priced very fairly. Service was very nice but rushed - also, timing was off. Profiteroles w/ice cream were excellent. Neat Hampden decor. 2nd time there with similar feelings. Stick with the steak or mussels frites and beer or wine and you'll be very happy, if not rushed.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went here for a New Years prix-fixe dinn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went here for a New Years prix-fixe dinner with my gf. We both loved it, everything we had was delicious. We will be going back to check out the regular menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The frites are amazing. The filet was in ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The frites are amazing. The filet was incredible - tender, flavorful, the sauce was delicious. The pasta was also delicious.

Beer and cocktail selection was great!

We would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Food and ambiance was great. Our wai ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Food and ambiance was great. Our waitress was very nice, but unfortunately forgot about us a few times probably because we were her only table in the side room. Overall though, a nice experience and we would recommend it to others.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went with my family, we shared a bottle ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went with my family, we shared a bottle of wine and the fried oysters. The for of us ate- black pepper fettuccine, seared scallops, seared swordfish, and sauteed shrimp salad- there were no complaints and for very happy people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very dark. Hard to read menu French onio ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very dark. Hard to read menu

French onion soup delicious

Frites okay

Expensive

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Service was terrible

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I don't know what it is but the last few ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I don't know what it is but the last few times we have been here, the service has been awful. The people are nice, but they need to work on lowering those wait times. It took about 20 minutes to get our drinks and they all didn't arrive at the same time. My drink took and extra 5-10. And then when we ordered our food that took WAY too long. We had to immediately ask for "to go" boxes. It's so frustrating because the food is so good and depending on when you go the drinks are delicious. The service leaves much to be desired...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Great fries, above average onion soup. N ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great fries, above average onion soup. Noisy, relaxed fun place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I came here for an anni ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for an anniversary dinner and made reservations online. Luckily we did because the place was packed but we were seated right away. The decor and vibe of this restaurant was really cool. Perfect for a date!

Food

I was very intrigued by the drink menu, they had something for everyone. They unfortunately couldn't make the main drink I wanted (not sure why, waitress just said they can't) so I opted for the mule. Very, very sweet--a little too sweet for a dinner cocktail. The menu itself was diverse and fun. We tried the brussel sprouts side as an appetizer which came with chile sauce, bacon, and bleu cheese crumbles. My boyfriend who doesn't like brussel spouts LOVED this dish and it was definitely our favorite food item of the night. We both ordered the filet which came with frites and a side salad. I ordered Old Bay-aoili with mine and that was fantastic. The salad was very lightly dressed so I definitely wish there was more. Now for the downside...

Accuracy of Order

I ordered my filet medium. When it was served, and it was served already sliced, it was very clear that the steak was completely rare. This basically ruined my appetite. It's frustrating when the steak is clearly cut open but the kitchen/server still served without checking to make sure it matched the cooking request. Our server took it back and they actually brought me an entirely new plate, but it was still a little too late for me to really enjoy anything after seeing how rare the filet was. Unfortunately, this killed it for me.

Service

Our waitress was nice, but that was about it. Our waters were never refilled from when we first sat, she never really checked on us after our food came out so we had to keep flagging her down, she didn't check that our orders were correct before serving them, and we just overall felt very much like an after thought.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Delicious food, yummy drinks, excellent ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Delicious food, yummy drinks, excellent service and great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very cool on the inside. A fun night ou ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very cool on the inside. A fun night out with good food and not the normal variety!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great time at Le Garage, their ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always a great time at Le Garage, their frites are unparalleled and the brunch menu was ultimate and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a place with "Frites" in the name, m ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

For a place with "Frites" in the name, my wife thought the frites were a) too big to be real pommes frites, and b) not that great. (I'm not cultured enough to know the difference, but they seemed like decent fries to me). Other than that, our other dishes were great - scallops and a fettucini dish were both fantastic. I think this place would be good for a "nice but relaxed " date night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and great service - no easier ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great food and great service - no easier way to say it. They sure know how to make French fries!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite nice...good selection, in ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was quite nice...good selection, inventive, well-presented, thoughtful, and nice portions.

Service was none of the above. Whatever happened to servers under 30 who cared about their customers?

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Charming place with available parking. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Charming place with available parking. Excellent selection of beers. Nice cocktails. Steak frites were good, but not spectacular. Smoked corn tartine was excellent. Service was very pleasant but quite slow particularly at first. We were seated in a back room and I think they forgot about us. Forgot one of the sauces with our frites and by the time it arrived, the (smallish) portion of frites were nearly gone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was great we were there for bru ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great we were there for brunch. Portions were good and the mimosa was excellent. The two servers we had were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Fun restaurant with great food and good. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun restaurant with great food and good. Would recommend either for a nice, formal dinner as a special occasion, or as a casual happy hour at the bar (frites + beer).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mostly enjoyed our dining experience. Co ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Mostly enjoyed our dining experience. Cool atmosphere and good wait staff. Menu was interesting but the food was under seasoned. The sauce that came with the fries had no flavor at all - was supposed to be garlic, rosemary and parmesan. Seriously, no flavor. The shrimp dumplings came with a nice tomato sauce that was in dire need of salt. I don't like food particularly salty but I do like a bit of salt to bring out flavors, especially with tomatoes. Would be willing to go back to see if we were just there on an off night because the food has a lot of potential.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Le Garage is a wonderful restaurant with ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Le Garage is a wonderful restaurant with great food and, and a professional, friendly, staff. The Le Garage is located in the eclectic neighborhood of Hampden in north Baltimore. Parking is conveniently located in the rear of the building. I highly recommend Le Garage!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great was service was disappoin ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was great was service was disappointing--Great waitress but very slow service--maybe too many tables for her? Host was not very friendly. We made a reservation and were a few minutes late and was told they had given our table away despite obvious room. Fries are unbelievable , brussel sprouts a bit too much stuff on them.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

This place has terrific food, in both fl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This place has terrific food, in both flavor and options. The only disappointment was the slow and unattentive service from the bartender and busy waitstaff. They seem too far outnumbered by the patrons. Otherwise, definitely worth a visit! Just don't arrive starving.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The red Bordeaux and red Cotes du Rhone ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The red Bordeaux and red Cotes du Rhone wine were excellent. The seared scallops and farro and eggplant caponata were very good. The Camembert was very good. I did not care for the sweet sauce on the walnuts. The frites were excellent with the curry sauce. The mussels and fennel were good. I love the ambiance and the waiters were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Would have liked to have seen the table ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Would have liked to have seen the table cleared a little more when we arrived to sit down - waited ~5+ min before anyone touched the table we requested, and then took at least another ~5+ min. to get a waiter to our table for drinks once we had sat down. Cocktails were excellent Feu de Fleur especially.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Everything was wonderful, especially Lyd ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was wonderful, especially Lydia, our server. She was the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good night. Burger and frites

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good night. Burger and frites

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Le Garage is awesome! We did not know wh ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Le Garage is awesome! We did not know what to expect but whatever they had been, our expectations were exceeded. We loved the service, the ambiance, the drinks, the bread... and then came the fries... Wow! Definitely best of Baltimore! Our entrees were really good, too. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere!! Food and service wer ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great atmosphere!! Food and service were excellent!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.